# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Martinez v. Raske

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0474%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 493 U.S. 993

## Text

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1989

BOB MARTINEZ, et al.,
Petitioners,
Vv.
JEFFREY RASKE,

Respondent.

‘ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

ROBERT A. BUTTERWORTH
ATTORNEY GENERAL OF FLORIDA

SUSAN A. MAHER
ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL
(Counsel of Record)

DEPARTMENT OF LEGAL AFFAIRS
The Capitol Sai
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1050
(904) 488-9935

COUNSEL FOR PETITIONERS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does the Statutory amendment to Section
944.275, Florida Statutes (1983), reducing
the number of days of discretionary
gaintime available from a potential of 37
days to a potential of 20 days, violates
the ex post facto prohibition of the
federal constitution as applied to a
prisoner who had been convicted of an
offense occurring prior to the effective
date, where the award of gain time is
discretionary and conditioned upon factors
other than good behavior and where the
underlying purpose of . the statutory
provision is administrative rather than
penal.

2. Do the prohibitions of the ex post
facto clause of the United States Constitu-
tion extend to matters of a state's prison
administration which utilize gain time

awards to accomplish administrative goals.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

The following is a list of all parties
appearing in the proceedings before the
United States Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit who are petitioners or

respondents before this Court:

Petitioners

Bob Martinez, Governor,
State of Florida

Richard L. Dugger, Secretary,
Florida Department of
Corrections

Respondent

Jeffrey Raske, a prisoner in
the custody of the Florida
Department of Corrections

— =

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Questions Presented i

Parties to the Proceedings Below ii

‘Table of Contents iii
Table of Authorities ae iv
Opinions Below 2
Jurisidiction 2

Constitutional and Statutory

Provisions Involved | ¥
Statement of the Case 3
Reasons for Granting the Writ 12.
Conclusion | 27
Certificate of Service | 28

- 444. -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGES
Blankenship v. Du er,
521 So.2d 1091 (Fla. 1988) 22

Calder v. Bull,
3 U.S. (3 Dall.) 386 (1798) 14, 15, 25

Dobbert v. Florida,
432 U.S. 282 (1977) 15, 18

Fletcher v. Peck,
10 U.S (6 Cranch) 87 (1810) 15

Kennedy v. Mendoza-Martinez,
372 U.S. 144 (1963) 16, 17, 18

Miller v. Florida,
482 U.S. (1987) 15

Portley v. Grossman,
444 U.S. 1311 (1980) 18

Raske v. Martinez,
876 F.2d 1496 (llth Cir. 1989) 9, 10,

ll, 21
Weaver v..Graham,
450 U.S. 24 (1981) passim
OTHERS
Ch. 131, §8, 1983 Fla. Laws 6
Ch. 304, §1, 1978 Fla. Laws 6

-iv-

Section 944.275,
Florida Statutes

Section 944.275(1),
Florida Statutes (1979-1981)

Section 944.275(2)(a),
Florida Statutes (1979-1981)

Section 944.275(3)(a),
Florida Statutes (1979-1981)

Section 944.275(1),
Florida Statutes (1983)

Section 944.275(4)(a),
Florida Statutes (1983)

Section 944.275(4)(b),
Florida Statutes (1983)

Section 944.276,
Florida Statutes (1987)

Section 944.277,
Florida Statutes (1988 Supp.)

Supreme Court Rule 20
28 U.S.C. §1254(1)
28 U.S.C. §2101(c) -

United States Constitution
Article I, Section 9

United States Constitution
Article I, Section 10

- V-

IN THE SUPREME OURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1989

BOB MARTINEZ, et al.,
Petitioners,
Vv.
JEFFREY RASKE,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners, Bob Martinez, Governor of
Florida, and Richard L. Dugger, Secretary
of the Florida Department of Corrections,
petition this Court for a writ of
certiorari to review a judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals for the

Eleventh Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The July 11, 1989, decision of the
United States Court of Appeals for the
Eleventh Circuit affirming the district
court is reported at 876 F.2d 1496 (llth
Cir. 1989). (App. A-1.)

The opinion and judgment of the United
States District Court for the Middle
District of Florida is not reported. (App.

A-28.)

JURISDICTION

The decision of the court of appeals
was entered on July 11, 1989. This
petition has been filed and docketed within
the period established by the Supreme Court
Rule 20 and 28 U.S.C. 210l(c).

This Court has jurisdiction pursuant to

28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The constitutional and statutory
provisions involved are:

United States Constitution
Article I, Section 10

Section 944.275,
Florida Statutes (1983)

Section 944.275,
Florida Statutes (1981)

The pertinent text of the foregoing
constitutional provisions and statutes is

reproduced in the appendix.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The facts pertinent to consideration of
this petition appear in the decision of the
Circuit court.

~The respondent, Jeffrey Raske, is an
inmate in the Florida prison- system,
presently serving three concurrent twenty-

five year prison sentences imposed by the

circuit court of Broward County, Florida,
for a series of robberies that occurred in
1982. At the time of Raske's offenses,
Florida law provided the following formula
for the calculation of gain time:

(1) The [Department of
Corrections] shall grant’ the
following deductions for gain-
time on a monthly basis, as
earned, from the sentences of
every prisoner who has
committed no infraction of the
rules of the department or of
the laws of the state and who
has performed in a satisfactory
and acceptable manner the work,
duties, and tasks assigned, as
follows:

(a) Three days per month off
the first and second years of
the sentence;

(b) Six days per month off
the third and fourth years of
the sentence; and

(c) Nine days per month off
the fifth and all succeeding
years of the sentence. ...

(2)(b) The department is
authorized to grant additional
gain-time allowances on a
monthly basis, as earned, up to
1 day for each day of
productive or institutional
labor performed by any prisoner
who has committed no infraction
of the rules of the department
or of the laws of this state
and who has accomplished, in a
satisfactory and acceptable
manner, the work, duties, and
tasks assigned. Such gain-time
allowances under this section
shall be awarded on the basis
of diligence of the inmate, the
quality and quantity of work
performed, and the skill
required for performance of the
work.

(3) (a) An inmate who
faithfully performs the
assignments given to him in a
conscientious manner over and
above that which may normally
be expected of him, against
whom no disciplinary report has
been filed within the preceding
6 months, and whose conduct,
personal adjustment, and
individual effort toward his
own rehabilitation show his
desire to be a better than
average inmate or who
diligently participates in an
approved course of academic or
vocational study may be

granted, on an individual
basis, from 1 to 6 days per
month extra gain-time to be
deducted from the term of his
sentence.

Ch. 304, §1, 1978 Fla. Laws 870, 870-71,
codified, as amended, at Fla. Stat.
§944.275(1), (2)(a), (3)(a) (1979-1981).

In 1983, the Florida legislature
amended section 944.275 to provide as
follows:

(1) The [department] is

authorized to grant deductions
from sentence in the form of

gain-time to encourage
satisfactory prisoner behavior,
to provide incentive for

prisoners to participate in
productive activities and to
reward prisoners who perform
outstanding deeds or services.

(4)(a) As a means of
encouraging satisfactory
behavior, the department shall

-grant basic gain-time at the
rate of 10 days for each monthy
of each sentence imposed on a
prisoner. .. .

(b) For each month a prisoner
works diligently . . . the
department may grant up to 20
days of incentive gain-time,
which shall be credited and
applied monthly.

Ch. 131, §8, 1983 Fla. Laws 442, 442-43,
codified at Fla. Stat. 944.275(1), (4)(a)-
(b) (1983).

The 1983 revisions to the gain time
statute increased the amount of basic gain
time inmates were to be awarded for general
good behavior from a three/six/nine day
variable rate to ten days per month; the
potential incentive gain time available to
prisoners, however, decreased from thirty-
seven to twenty days per month.

The Florida Department of Corrections
has applied the method of awarding
incentive gain time adopted in 1983 to all
inmates, including those convicted prior to
the 1983 enectaent .

Raske sought a writ of habeas corpus,

Claiming that the 1983 statute which

altered the amount and calculation of gain
time constituted an ex post facto law as
applied to prisoners such as himself who
were convicted of offenses that occurred
prior to the statute's passage. The
district court granted the writ. (App. A-
28.) Relying primarily on this Court's

decision in Weaver v. Graham, 450 U.S. 24

(1981), the district court found that the
1983 statute substantially altered the
consequences attached to a crime already
completed by changing’ the quantum of
punishment. (App. A-38.) The . district
court rejected the Department's argument
that the potential for earning’ work
(incentive) gain time was speculative and,
therefore, did not affect the quantum of
punishment which can be assessed at the
time a crime is committed. (App. A-40,

41.) The district court further

specifically declared that the procedures

for awarding work (incentive) gain time
were no more discretionary than the
procedures for awarding automatic gain time

in Weaver v Graham, supra. (App. A-4l,

42.)
A panel of the court of appeals
affirmed the district court decision.

Raske v. Martinez, 876 F.2d 1496 (llth Cir.

1989). (App. A-1l.) The appeals court,
like the district court, found the

principles announced in Weaver v. Graham,

Supra, to be controlling. Raske, 876 F.2d
at 1498. (App. A-9.) Relying on dicta in
Weaver specifically directed to the nature
and purpose of extra gain time, the State
of Florida raised several arguments to
distinguish between the automatic (basic)
gain time addressed in Weaver and the
discretionary work (incentive) gain time at
issued in Raske. Id. at 1499. (App. A-1l-

21.) Specifically noting that the Weaver

MI "9
~
:

court observed that the award of extra gain
time is “purely discretionary", Weaver, 450
U.S. at. 35, the State of Florida argued
that the award of such gain time is too
speculative to substantialiy affect the
quantum of punishment which can be assessed
at the time a crime is committed and thus
cannot satisfy the second prong of the
Weaver test. The appeals court conceded
that a prisoner may be less likely to earn
work (incentive) gain time than automatic
(basic) gain time and further that a
prisoner who performs his duties only in an
adequate manner may indeed be better off
under the 1983 act. Raske, 876 F.2d at
1500, 1501. (App. A-19, 23.)
Nevertheless, the circuit court determined
that even though a prisoner may diligently
perform his assigned duties so as to earn
the full thirty-seven days previously

available, the elimination of the

- 10 -

opportunity to do so is sufficient to make
the 1983 amendments ex post facto as
applied to Raske. Id. at 1500. (App. aA-
21-21.)

The State of- Florida also contended
that wrone underlying purpose of incentive or
work gain time is not punitive or penal in
nature and, therefore, outside the
prohibitions of the ex post facto clause.
The appeals court did not address this

argument.

- ll -

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals
has decided an important question of
federal law which has not been, but should
be, settled by this Court. The initial
question before the Sant is.» whether the
1983 amendment of Florida Statute 944.275,
reducing work or incentive gain time from a
potential of 37 days per month to a
potental of 20 days, violates the ex post
facto prohibition of the federal
constitution as applied to a prisoner who
had been convicted prior to the effective
date, where the award of gain time is
discretionary and conditioned upon factors
other than good behavior and where the
underlying purpose of the statutory
provision is administrative rather than
penal. However, the Petitioners suggest
that the ultimate question before this

Court, and the one which should be settled,

-12--

is whether the ex post facto prohibition of —
the United States Constitution extends to
matters of prison administration which are
accomplished through the - discretionary
award of gaintime. If so, then the ability
for Florida (and other states) to
effectively administer the burgeoning
prison ceili niin will be eroded in that
legislative and departmental mechanisms
designed to motivate, manage, rehabilitate,
Or control the ever-expanding population
will be constrained merely because they are
predicated upon awards which reduce prison
time.

The framers of the Constitution
considered the ex post facto prohibition so
important that it appears twice -- once in
Article I, Section 9, forbidding’ the
Congress from passing any ex -post facto
law, and again in Article I, Section 10,

placing the same limitation upon. the

- 13-

states. Obviously, the framers, in their
providence and not far removed from the
excesses of tyranny, included the ex post
facto clauses as an added precaution to
future oppression. However, as noted by

Justice Chase in Calder v. Bull, 3 U.S. (3

Dall.) 386, 390 (1798), the seminal case in
ex post facto analysis:

The prohibition, “that no state
shall, pass any ex post facto
law," necessarily requires some
explanation; for, naked _ and
without explanation, it is
unintelligible, and means
nothing.

Justice Chase went on to state what
laws he considered to be ex post facto
laws, "within the words and the intent of
the prohibition":

lst. Every law that makes an
action done before the passing
of the law, and which was
innocent when done, criminal;
and punishes such action. 2d.
Every law <hat aggravates a
crime or makes it greater than
it was, when committed. 3d.
Every law that changes’ the

- 14 -

a a -

punishment, and inflicts a
greater punishment, than the
law annexed to the crime, when
committed. 4th. Every law that
alters the legal rules. of
evidence, and receives less, or
different testimony, than the
law required at the time of the
commission of the offense, in
order to convict the offender.

Id. at 390.

There is no doubt that one of the
objectives underlying the ex post facto
prohibitions is to provide fair notice and
to foster governmental restraint when a
legislature increases punishment beyond
what was prescribed when the crime was

consummated. Calder v. Bull, 3 U.S. (3

Dall) at 387-388; Fletcher v. Peck, 10 U.S.

(6 Cranch) 87, 138 (1810); Dobbert v.

Florida, 432 U.S. 282, 298 ‘1977); Weaver

v. Graham, 450 U.S. 24, 28-29 (1981);

Miller v. Florida, 482 U.S. , 107 S.Ct.
2446 (1987). The Raske court holds that

the 1983 amendment to Section 944.275,

Florida Statutes, lowering the potential to
earn additional gaintime for labor
performed, violates the third prohibition
enumerated by Justice Chase -- that is, the
reduced availability of incentive gaintime
somehow changes the "punishment", and
inflicts a greater "punishment" than
provided for at the time Petitioner
committed his crime. The logical inquiry
which follows is "What constitutes
‘punishment '?".,

In Kennedy v. Mendoza-Martinez, 372

U.S. 144, 168-69, 83 S.Ct. 554, 567-68, 9
L.Ed.2d 644 (1963), this Court described
the standards traditionally applied to
determine whether a statute is punitive or
penal in nature:
Whether the sanction involves
an affirmative disability or
restraint, whether it has
historically been regarded as a
punishment, whether it comes

into play only on a finding of
scienter, whether its operation

- 16 -

will promote the traditional
aims of punishment--retribution
and deterrence, whether’ the
behavior to which it applies is
already a crime, whether an
alternative purpose to which it
may rationally be connected is
assignable for it, and whether
it appears excessive in
relation to the alternative
purpose assigned are all
relevant to the inquiry, and
may often point in differing
directions.

Id. (Emphasis in original.)

The underlying purpose of the incentive
Or work gain time provision is to encourage
positive and rehabilitative behavior. It
is used as a daily management tool by
prison officials. Unlike automatic or
basic gaintime, incentive gaintime does not
automatically attach and incorporate itself
as an integral part of a prisoner's
sentence at the time the offense occurs.
Rather, it is contingent upon the wishes of

correctional authorities and the _ special

affirmative behavior of the prisoner once

- 17 -

he is within the prison walls. Indeed, if
the underlying purposes of the provisions
governing the awards of basic and incentive
gain time were not separate and distinct,
and utilized to achieve different goals,
there would be no need for the Florida
Legislature to have enacted separate gain
time provisions.

In Dobbert v. Florida, 432 U.S. 282,

293, 97 S.Ct. 2290, 2298, 53 L.Ed.2d 344
(1977), this Court held that the
prohibition of ex post facto laws does not
extend to every change of law that "may

work to the disadvantage of a defendant."

It is intended to secure
"substantial personal rights"
from retroactive deprivation
and does not "limit the
legislative control of remedies
and modes of procedure which do
not affect matters of
substance."

Portley v. Grossman, 444 U.S. 1311, 1312,
100 S.Ct. 714, 715 (1980), citing Dobbert,

Supra.

- 18 -

The critical question, as
Florida has often acknowledged,
is whether the new provision
imposes greater punishment
after the commission of the
offense, not merely whether it
increases a criminal sentence.

Weaver, 450 U.S. at 32, n.17, citations
omitted.

The incentive gaintime provision does
not impose a greater punishment on a
prisoner after the commission of his
offense. Indeed, it does not increase his
Original sentence at all. Instead, the
provision merely affords a prisoner an
opportunity to reduce his prison time if he
is willing to exert additional, affirmative
behavior. However, because the award of
incentive gaintime is purely discretionary
and because it is contingent on the
availability of a work assignment, the
wishes of correctional authorities and the

special behavior of the prisoner, incentive

- 19 -

gaintime can be viewed as no more than a
“mere expectancy". The fact that the 1983
amendment to Section 944.275 diminished the
potential benefits accruing to that
expectancy, if and when the expectancy
became reality, does not create an ex post
facto violation. Indeed, the speculative

nature of incentive gaintime was readily

recognized by this Court in Weaver, supra,

when it treated the ameliorative provisions
increasing the availability of
discretionary gaintime as incapable of
offsetting the reduced awards of basic
gaintime. Weaver, 450 U.S. at 35. It thus
appears from the Weaver decision, that this
Court did not believe discretionary

gaintime to be a determinant of a

prisoner's term of incarceration which
could "substantially alter the consequences
attached to a crime already completed."

450 U.S. at 32-35.

- 20 -

‘
aR AA CS a nee

The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals
has rejected the arguments which have been
presented above. In short, the Eleventh
Circuit has refused to recognize a
distinction between the nature and purpose
of automatic (basic) and work (incentive)
qnietiness: While conceding that incentive
gaintime is ' discretionary in a limited
sense and that a prisoner may be less
likely to earn incentive gaintime than
basic gaintime, the Raske court’ has
concluded that the Weaver decision limits
the ex post facto examination solely to
whether a prisoner is “disadvantaged by the
reduced opportunity to shorten his time in
prison." Raske, 876 F.2d at 1500, citing

to Weaver v. Graham, 450 U.S. 24, 33-34,

101 S.Ct. 960, 966-967 (emphasis in
Original). However, if the sole
determinant for the purposes of ex post

facto analysis is the ability or

- ae

opportunity for a prisoner to shorten his
prison term, then no legislative enactment
which effectively reduces a prisoner's term
of incarceration, even if solely for the ;
purpose of prison administration, and which
is later changed to restrict or eliminate
that opportunity, could withstand ex post
facto scrutiny.

For example, the State of Florida has
enacted a number of early release statutes
which provide mechanisms for early release
through the award of gain time or

credits. See Fla. Stat. 944.276 (1987);

Fla. Stat. 944.277 (1988 Supp.). In

Blankenship v. Dugger, 521 So.2d 1097 (Fla.

1988), the Florida Supreme Court considered
whether changes in the early’ release
Statutes enacted for the purpose of
alleviating prison overcrowding ran afoul
of the ex post facto clause of the

Constitution. In Blankenship, the Florida

- 22 -

Supreme Court distinguished between the
Mature and purpose of administrative gain
time awarded for early release and the
basic or automatic gain time which was
considered in Weaver. The Florida Supreme
Court concluded that early release statute
enacted to modify eligibility for the early
release awards was not an invalid ex post

facto law. Blankenship, 521 So.2d at

1099. However, under the analysis
presented in Raske, any changes in
eligibility for administrative gain time
would necessarily disadvantage the excluded
prisoner by removing his potential for
early release and thus fall within the
prohibitions of the ex post facto clause.
This issue has now reached this Court in

Woolworth v. Dugger, Docket No. 88-6976, in

which a Petition for Writ of Certiorari is
pending consideration. The time appears

ripe to address to what extent the ex post

- 23-

facto clause should extend into matters of
prison administration.

For the reasons cited above,
Petitioners submit that the decision in
Raske impermissibly expands the
prohibitions of the ex post facto clause
beyond its intent and purpose. This is not
to suggest that the decision in Weaver is
erroneous; however, the Weaver decision is,
as described by some members of that court,
"a close one". Weaver, 450 U.S. at 36-38,
concurring opinions of Blackmun, Jes
Burger, C.J., and Rehnquist, J. Certainly,
the framers of the Constitution did not
intend for the ex post facto prohibitions
to prevent a state from effectively
managing its prison system. Indeed, it is
unlikely the framers, in all of their
providence, could have forseen the special
problems inherent in managing the prison

systems of today. Unfortunately, there are

- 24 -

few tools available by which the states and
the state correctional systems may
accomplish this goal. The award of various
forms of gaintime is one _ such _ tool.
Petitioners submit that the statutory
provisions governing the award of the
various types of gaintime must be
scrutinized carefully to determine whether,
under the standards illuminated in Kennedy

v. Mendoza-Martinez, supra, the statute is

truly punitive or penal in nature rather
than a matter of prison administration. If
the latter, then the prohibitions of the ex
post facto clause should not apply.

As noted in Calder v. Bull, 3 U.S. (3

Dall.) 386, 390 (1798), “{t]Jhe prohibition,
‘that no state shall pass any ex post facto
law, ' necessarily requires some
explanation. . . ." While the definitions
of “ex post facto law" have evolved over

the years, they are far from precise.

- 25 =

Petitioners submit that the Raske decision
now extends the prohibitions of the ex post
facto clause beyond that contemplated by
the framers when they included the
prohibition in the Constitution.
Petitioners further suggest that the time
is ripe to refine the definition of ex post
facto law with regard to matters which are

purely related to prison administration.

- 26 -

CONCLUSION

For these various reasons, the petition

for certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT A . BUTTERWORTH
A ney G al

SUSAN A. MAHER
Assistant Attorney General

DEPARTMENT OF LEGAL AFFAIRS

The Capitol - Suite 1502
Tallahassee, Florida 32399-1050

- 27 -

-

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that the foregoing
Petition for Writ of Certiorari was served
in accordance with Rule 28.1 of the Rules
of the Supreme Court of the United States
by depositing three true copies in a United
States post office or mailbox, with first-
class postage prepaid, addressed to:

Baya nusxteen: III
Attorney at Law
The Murphy House

317 East Park Avenue
Talla e, rida 32301

chew

SUSAN A. MAHER

- 28 -

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0474%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
