# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wilson v. Armstrong World Industries, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0439%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 493 U.S. 977

## Text

eo — ° we

89-583

NO. 89-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

CLARENCE J. WILSON, ET AL,
Petitioners

~, % >> Vv

ARMSTRONG WORLD INDUSTRIES, INC., ET AL,
Respondents

On Writ of Certiorari From The United States
Court of Appeals For the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ROBERT E. BALLARD

ABRAHAM, WATKINS, NICHOLS,
BALLARD, ONSTAD & FRIEND

800 Commerce Street

Houston, Texas 77002

(713) 222-7211

LAWRENCE MADEKSHO

LAW OFFICES OF
LAWRENCE MADEKSHO

8320 Gulf Freeway

Houston, Texas 77087

(713) 641-0251

CLINARD J. HANBY
ESSMYER & HANBY
4300 Scotland

Houston, Texas 77007
(713) 868-1111
Counsel of Record

Attorneys for Plaintiffs-A ppellants

ee ee
Alpha Law Brief Co., Inc.— 8748 Westpark — Houston, Texas 77063 — 789-2000

I
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Do allegations and proof of a widespread conspiracy
involving hundreds of lawsuits to suppress evidence,
destroy documents, and commit perjury state a claim
for “fraud of the court” under the savings provision
of Rule 60(b)?

Should a proceeding alleging “fraud on the court”
be treated procedurally as an “independent action”
rather than as a mere motion for purposes of judg-
ment on the pleadings, summary judgment, etc.?

Ul

LIST OF ALL PARTIES

PLAINTIFFS-PETITIONERS:

Belinge, Robert G.
Botter, Vernon W.
Brannen, Lloyd B.
Brown, B. C.
Campbell, John W.
Cash, Russell F.
Childers, Robert R.
Childers, Leslie B.
Cimerhanzel, Edwin E.
Copeland, John W.
Crosby, Marshall
Daigle, Ralph

Davis, Gilbert P.
Easley, Tommie L.
Greene, Billy

Grein, Edward ~~
Grein, Johnny (Sr.) Pi
Grein, Leo V.

Grein, Marvin

Grimes, Wilford
Harrison, James C.
Hartwell, Earnest
Howard, William (Sr.)
Jones, William C.
Kramer, Charles
Massey, Michael
Massey, William J.
Moeller, Carl
Murphree, Tommy L.
Naquin, Luke
Oldham, Louis

Oliver, Robert
Pennington, Leemon
Ross, Joel B.

Ross, Ralph

Rudy, Wilson

Sanford, Alton B.

Shrader, Jesse

Steed, Jeff

Strebeck, David E.
Taylor, William C.
Thompson, Harvey Lee
Todd, Johnnie C.
Turner, Victor E.
Wilkening, Murray E.
Williams, Vernon T.
Wilson, Clarence J.
Wishard, Frank H.
Zarate, Augustin

DEFENDANTS-RESPONDENTS:

ARMSTRONG WORLD INDUSTRIES, INC.
c/o Mr. John Boswell

Boswell & Hallmark

2100 InterFirst Plaza

Houston, Texas 77002

EAGLE-PINCHER INDUSTRIES, INC.
c/o Mr. Frank Bean

Bean & Manning

24 Greenway Plaza

1611 Weslayan Tower

Houston, Texas 77046

FIBREBOARD CORPORATION
c/o Mr. R. Lyn Stevens
Wells, Wheelus, & Green ~
Sth Floor, Petroleum Bldg.
Beaumont, Texas 77701

OWENS-CORNING FIBERGLASS CORP.
OWENS-ILLINOIS, INC.
c/o Mr. Jim Crosby

Crosby & Saad

Suite 210

2970 Cottage Hill Road

Mobile, Alabama 36606

STANDARD INSULATIONS, INC.
c/o

IV

DEFENDANTS IN THE DISTRICT COURT
WHO, TECHNICALLY, ARE NOT PARTIES:

CELOTEX CORPORATION

c/o Ms. Gail Jenkins
Benckenstein, Norvell, Bernsen & Nathan
P.O. Box 551
Beaumont, Texas 77704

PITTSBURGH CORNING CORPORATION
c/o Mr. Ron Cook

Mayor, Day & Caldwell

1900 RepublicBank Center

Houston, Texas 77002

RAYMARK INDUSTRIES, INC.
c/o Mr. Jeff McClure

Butler & Binion

Allied Bank Plaza

Houston, Texas 77002

OTHER INTERESTED PERSONS:

TRAVELERS INSURANCE COMPANY
Mr. Jerry L. Beane

Strasburger & Price

4300 First RepublicBank Plaza

Dallas, Texas 75202

THE JIM WALTER CORPORATION
Ms. Gail C. Jenkins

Benckenstein, Norvell, Bernsen & Nathan
P.O. Box 551

Beaumont, Texas 77704

COMMERCIAL UNION INSURANCE COMPANY
Mr. Don Martinson

Fannin, Harper & Martinson

8117 Preston Road

Dallas, Texas 75225

KEENE CORPORATION

Mr. Gene M. Williams

Mehaffy, Weber, Keith & Gonsoulin
2516 Calder Ave.

Beaumont, Texas 77704

GAF CORPORATION
Orgain, Bell & Tucker
470 Orleans St.
Beaumont, Texas 77701

ZURICH INSURANCE COMPANY
Mr. J. Hampton Skelton

Akin, Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld
2100 One Congress Plaza

111 Congress Ave.

Austin, Texas 78701 |

LIBERTY MUTUAL INSURANCE COMPANY -
Mr. Frank Bean

Bean & Manning

24 Greenway Plaza

1611 Weslayan Tower

Houston, Texas 77046

INSURANCE ‘COMPANY OF NORTH AMERICA
Mr. Randall Wilson

Susman, Godfrey & McGowan

2400 Allied Bank Plaza

Houston, Texas 77002

H. CORWIN HINSHAW, M.D.,
~HARRY DEMOPOULOS, M_.D., and
HEALTH MAINTENANCE PROGRAMS, INC.
Mr. John C. Landa, Jr.
Hill, Parker, Franklin, Cardwell & Jones
5300 Memorial, Suite 700
Houston, Texas 77007

VI

UNITED STATES GYPSUM COMPANY
Mr. Stephen S. Andrews

Woodard, Hall & Primm

4700 Texas Commerce Tower

Houston, Texas 77002

AETNA LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY
Fulbright & Jaworski

Mr. L. S. Carsey

1301 McKinney

Houston, Texas 77010

KEITH WILSON, M.D.

Mr. David A. Livingston

Dunn, Kacal, Adams, Livingston, Pappas & Law
2929 Allen Parkway

Houston, Texas 77019

Plaintiffs-Appellants believe that most if not all casualty
and indemnity companies in the United States will be

affected by the outcome of this proceeding.

VII

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ............
ow

REFERENCES TO REPORTS OF OPINIONS BELOW .
GROUNDS OF JURISDICTION ..o......ccccccscess
Pe id dss ta lawcecceseceascues

Do allegations and proof of a widespread conspiracy
involving hundred of lawsuits suppress evidence,
destroy documents, and commit prejury state a claim
for “fraud of the court” under the savings provision
of Rule 60(b)?

Should a proceeding alleging “fraud on the court” be
treated procedurally as an “independent action”
rather than as a mere motion for purposes of judgment
on the pleadings, summary judgment, etc.?

ee a
APPENDIX A— Opinion of the Court of Appeals .......

APPENDIX B — Order of the Court of Appeals Overruling
Motion for Rehearing .................

APPENDIX C — Opinion of the District Court .........

13

16
A-1

B-1
C-1

vill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page
Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 106 S. Ct.

Bs OE ee BE COED no sc cen ckedsvanssveces 13
Bullock v. United States, 763 F.2d 1115 (10th Cir. 1985)

{ 2 POPP TITTI ECPI T Ere eee 13
Carr v. District of Columbia, 543 F.2d 917 (D.C. Cir. 1976) 6
Cleveland Demolition Co., Inc. v. Azcon Scrap Corp., 827

ae We CUE GO. BOOED ce sccnvancudecanccsteseces 11
Conley v. Gibson, 355 US. 41, 78 S. Ct. 99, 2 L.Ed.2d 80

CREED 6 ASaks Behe kndh6e65 000 asc cnn peheead 06 60's 00> 13,14
Davsuel v. Davsuel, 195 F.2d 774 (D.C. Cir. 1952) ...... 11
Exploration Co. v. United States, 247 U.S. 435, 38 S. Ct.

SUE, GE EAE: BORD CORRE) cn cnncccwsssasscccscvess 6

Federal Deposit Ins. Co. v. Alker, 30 F.R.D. 527 (E.D. Pa.

1962), aff’'d., 316 F.2d 236 (3rd Cir.), cert. denied, 375

SE, SU EE 6 4's Aibo ss ine snescdeneccdaceadtdcees 6
Great Coastal Express, Inc. v. International Brotherhood,

675 F.2d 1349 (4th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 459 USS.

SORE AUMUND RANA eebuew aden csisccnsdcscdsysecess 7,8,9, 10, 11
Hawkins v. Lindsley, 327 F.2d 356 (2d Cir. 1964) ...... 11
Hazel-Atlas Co. v. Hartford-Empire Co., 322 US. 238, 64

ee m® Fe SB) Fe Trier eee 7,10
H. K. Porter Co., Inc. v Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., 536

ie A Me I ou ccc cas aee ak ss 11
Jungerson v. Axel Bros., Inc., 121 F.Supp. 712 (S.D.N.Y.),

affd., 217 F.2d 646 (2d Cir. 1954) ..........eeeeeee 11
Kerwit Med. Products v. N & H Instruments, 616 F.2d 833

(oo SE ererrrTere? Tr te eet T eee 7
Kupferman v. Consolidated Research & Manufacturing Co.,

r Bp &® 8. Bo SS: errr Tree 7, 22

_ Mandouna v. United States, 878 F.2d 62 (2d Cir. 1989) .. 14
Matter of Met-L-Wood Corp., 861 F.2d 1012 (7th Cir. 1988) 11
Olson v. Arctic Enterprises, Inc., 21 F.R. Serv. 2d 423

CR, FE TITER aw aik wien bee doesasenccsccances ses 11
Serzysko v. Chase Manhattan Bank, 461 F.2d 699 (2d

Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 883 (1972) .........505-- 10
Synanon Church v. United States, 579 F.Supp. 967 (D.C.

BE, TED che hence cincensstccnevacecncestesvececs 11
Travelers Indemnity Co. v. Gore, 761 F.2d 1549 (11th Cir.

REE nrrT eT TSTTITT IT LTT Leek 11
Wilkin v. Sunbeam Corp., 466 F.2d 714 (10th Cir. 1972),

cert. denied, 409 U.S. 1126 (1973) .........e ee ee eens

OTHER AUTHORITIES
Fed. R. Civ. Proc. G0(b) .......ccccceccccccvccccecees passim
37 Am. Jur. 2d, Fraud and Deceit § 405 (1968) ......... 6

NO. 89-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Mnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

CLARENCE J. WILSON, ET AL,
Petitioners

V.

ARMSTRONG WORLD INDUSTRIES, INC., ET AL,
Respondents

On Writ of Certiorari From The United States
Court of Appeals For the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To The Honorable Supreme Court:

Clarence J. Wilson, et al, seek a Writ of Certiorari to
the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit:

—

REFERENCES TO REPORTS OF
OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Fifth Circuit is reported at 873
F.2d 869. The opinion of the district court is unreported.

2

GROUNDS OF JURISDICTION

The judgment sought to be reviewed is dated May 30,
1989 and was entered the same day. Petitioners’ Motion
for Rehearing was overruled on July 11, 1989. This
Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b) provides:

(b.) Mistakes: Inadvertence; Excusable Neglect;
Newly Discovered Evidence; Fraud, etc. On motion
and upon such terms as are just, the court may
relieve a party or a party’s legal representative from
a final judgment, order or proceeding for the fol-
lowing reasons: (1) mistake, inadvertence, surprise,
or excusable neglect; (2) newly discovered evidence
which by due diligence could not have been dis-
covered in time to move for a new trial under Rule
69(b); (3) fraud (whether heretofore denominated
intrinsic or extrinsic), misrepresentation, or other
misconduct of an adverse party; (4) the judgment
is void; (5) the judgment has been satisfied, re-
leased, or discharged, or a prior judgment upon
which it is based has been reversed or otherwise
vacated, or it is no longer equitable that the judg-
ment should have prospective application or (6)
any Other reason justifying relief from the operation
_of the judgment. The motion shall be made within
a reasonable time, and for reasons (1), (2), and
(3) not more than one year after the judgment,
order, or proceeding was entered or taken. A mo-
tion under this subdivision (b) does not affect the

3

finality of a judgment or suspend its operation. This
rule does not limit the power of a court to entertain
an independent action to relieve a party from a
judgment, order, or proceeding, or to grant relief
to a defendant not actually personally notified as
provided in Title 28, U.S.C), § 1655, or to set
aside a judgment for fraud upon the court. Writs
of coram nobis, coram vobis, audita querela, and
bills of review and bills in the nature of a bill of
review, are abolished, and the procedure for obtain-
ing any relief from a judgment shall be by motion
as prescribed in these rules or by an independent
action.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The original litigation involved fifty plaintiffs who
suffered asbestos-related injuries. Jurisdiction was based
on diversity of citizenship. The district court consolidated
all fifty cases then ordered separate trials on the issues
of liability and damages. The jury found that the hazards
presented by asbestos to insulators and construction
tradesmen were not known and could not have been
known to these defendants prior to August 1, 1966.
As a result, three of the defendants, Celotex, Pittsburgh-
Corning, and Raymark Industries were potentially liable.
The remaining six defendants (the Respondents here)
were absolved of liability. The district court found no
just reason for delay and entered final judgment in favor
of these six defendants. See 107 F.R.D. 250. The Court
of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit affirmed. 810 F.2d 1358.
This Court denied certiorari. 108 S. Ct. 97.

sii ai

4

Petitioners then filed a proceeding to set aside the
judgment under Rule 60(b).’ Petitioners alleged that the
original judgment had been obtained through a “scheme
to defraud . . . accomplished through the use of mis-
representations, concealment, fraud, and the intentional
sponsoring of perjurous testimony.” (Application for
Permission to File a Rule 60(b) Motion to Set Aside
Final Judgments, Appendix 1 (to that Motion) at 6-7.)
The pleading went on to allege that a conspiracy in-
volving numerous-—parties and their insurers had formed
in the mid-1970s to defeat asbestos-related claims by
“affirmatively misrepresent[ing] the truth of the ‘state of
the art.’” (Jd. at 8.) The overt acts of this conspiracy
included: (a) “preparing and presenting false and mis-
leading factual evidence” to Courts and juries in hundreds
of asbestos-related cases, (c) employing “lawyers and
others to destroy, secrete, or misrepresent damaging evi-
dence;” and (f) organizing “a consortium of a number of
lawyers in a number of states” to present the fraudulent
evidence. (Id. at 14.) Petitioners sought relief for “de-
liberate fraud upon the Court . . . as contemplated by
Rule 60(b)(6).”

Petitioners presented numerous exhibits to the district
court which tended to prove their allegations. The ex-
hibits showed, among other particulars too lengthy to
state in detail here, that thousands of relevant documents
had been deliberately destroyed. (PX-B, 40-41), that
reports dating from as early as the 1940’s which con-
nected asbestos to cancer had been uniformly suppressed

1. In accordance with earlier circuit precedent, this proceeding
was originally filed in the Court of Appeals. See, Bros, Inc. v. W.E.
Grace Mfg. Co., 320 F.2d 594 (5th Cir. 1963). The Court of Appeals
then transferred the proceeding to the district court.

\

5

in the face of numerous production orders in numerous
lawsuits (PX-23), and that many of the defendants had
uniformly lied in numerous lawsuits about the extent
and length of time of their involvement with asbestos.
(PX-S-15; PX-K).

Based on the pleadings and the exhibits, without per-
mitting any evidentiary hearing, the district court denied
petitioners any relief. Appendix C at 4. The district court
first ruled that, if the proceeding was based on Rule
60(b)(3), it was-untimely. Appendix C at 3. The dis-
trict court then rejected petitioners’ “fraud on the court”
contention by holding, that defendants’ conduct “in no
way rises to the level of fraud or misrepresentation
contemplated by Rule 60(b).” Appendix C at 4.

Petitioners then appealed to the Fifth Circuit. That
court held that, to the extent petitioners’ allegations fell
within Rule 60(b)(3), they were time-barred. Appendix
A at 5. Next, the court ruled that Rule 60(b)(6) could not be
used to raise contentions which could have been raised un-
der Rule 60(b)(3). Appendix A at 5-6. Finally, the court
ruled that petitioners’ “allegations do not rise to the level
of ‘fraud on the court’ necessary to obtain relief under
the savings clause of Rule 60(b).” Appendix A at 7.
Instead, the court ruled that “fraud on the court” re-
quires “an unconscionable plan or scheme which is de-
signed to improperly influence the court in its decision.”
Appendix A at 6. This concept, according to the court,
should “embrace only the species of fraud which does,
or attempts to, defile the court itself, or is a fraud per-
petuated by officers of the court so that the judicial
machinery cannot perform in the usual manner its im-
partial task of adjudging cases. .. .” Id. As a result,

6

the court found that “the district court did not abuse
its discretion” and affirmed. Appendix A at 7. Petitioners’
Motion for Rehearing was denied without opinion.
Appendix B.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

ISSUE 1:

Do allegations and proof of a widespread con-
spiracy involving hundreds of lawsuits suppress
evidence, destroy documents,-and commit per-
jury state a claim for “fraud of the court” under
the savings provision of Rule 60(b)?

The main portion of Rule 60(b) empowers the dis-
trict court to set aside its judgment for “fraud (whether
heretofore denominated intrinsic or extrinsic), misrepre-
sentations, or other misconduct of an adverse party.”
Rule 60(b)(3). However, the viability of this provision
for setting aside a judgment procured by fraud is serious-
ly impaired by the requirement that the motion be made
“not more than one year after the judgment, order, or
proceeding was entered or taken.” The lower courts have
uniformly held that the one year time limit is absolute.
Carr v. District of Columbia, 543 F.2d 917 (D.C. Cir.
1976); Federal Deposit Ins. Co. v. Alker, 30 F.R.D.
527 (E.D. Pa. 1962), aff'd, 316 F.2d 236 (3rd Cir.),
cert. denied, 375 U.S. 880 (1963). Thus, a litigant who
has been deceived cannot take advantage of the “discovery
rule” which applies to cases of fraud in most jurisdictions
and which delays the beginning of the applicable time
limit until the litigant does or should have discovered
the deception. See e.g., Exploration Co. v. United States,
247 U.S. 435, 446-448, 38 S. Ct. 571, 62 L.Ed. 1200
(1918); 37 Am. Jur. 2d, Fraud and Deceit § 405 (1968).

7

Thus, many litigants who believe a judgment was
obtained against them by fraud or deception are relegated
to the savings provision of Rule 60(b): “This rule does
not limit the power of a court to entertain an independent
action to relieve a party from a judgment, order, or
proceeding .. . or to set aside a judgment for fraud on
the court.” Unfortunately, it is far from clear what is
needed to constitute “fraud on the court” and what
essential element differentiates “fraud on the court” from
the ordinary fraud to which the one-year time limit
applies. Thus, many of the lower courts have found
themselves in agreement with Judge Friendly’s remark
that: “The meaning of the quoted phrase [fraud on the
court] has not been much elucidated by decisions.”
Kupferman v. Consolidated Research & Manufacturing
Co., 459 F.2d 1072, 1078 (2d Cir. 1972); See also
Great Coastal Express, Inc. v. International Brotherhood,
675 F.2d 1349, 1356 (4th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 459
U.S. 1128 (1983) (“The federal courts that have strug-
gled with the definition of ‘fraud on the court’ in the
context of Rule 60(b) have found such a definition
elusive.”); Kerwit Med. Products v. N&H Instruments,
616 F.2d 833, 837 (Sth Cir. 1980); Wilkin v. Sunbeam
Corp., 466 F.2d 714, 717 (10th Cir. 1972), cert. denied,
409 U.S. 1126 (1973) (“The term ‘fraud on the court’
is a nebulous concept.”).

The only guidance yet provided by this Court concern-
ing the meaning of the term “fraud on the court” is
Hazel-Atlas Co. v. Hartford-Empire Co., 322 U.S. 238,
64 S. Ct. 997, 88 L.Ed. 1250 (1944), a case which
actually pre-dates Rule 60(b). There, Hartford procured
the publication of a spurious trade journal article, sup-
posedly written by a disinterested expert, which was

8

first used to persuade the Patent Office to issue a patent
and later used to persuade the Third Circuit to find the
patent valid and infringed.

Twelve years later, after the true nature of the article
had been revealed, this Court was faced with the question
of whether the judgment could be reopened. This Court
first recognized that the rule of finality of judgments is
not absolute. Instead, courts have “universally recog-
nized need for correcting injustices which, in certain
‘instances, are deemed sufficiently gross to demand a
departure from rigid adherence to the term rule.” 322
U.S. at 244. This Court then held that the “deliberately
planned and carefully executed scheme to defraud not
only the Patent Office but the Circuit Court of Appeals”
required that the earlier judgment be set aside. Id. at
245-246. However, this Court provided little guideline for
determining what species of fraud must be shown to set
aside a judgment other than the general statement that
enforcement of the judgment must be “manifestly un-
conscionable.” Id. at 244-245.

In the absence of recent guidance from this Court,
lower court authority can be found to support a wide
variety of theories of what constitutes “fraud on the
court.” Note, for example, the divergence of opinion
between the majority and the dissent in Great Coastal
Express, Inc. v. International Brotherhood, supra. The
facts of that case presented a compelling case for relief
from prior judgment. In 1970 the International Brother-
hood (IBT) brought a strike against Great Coastal.
Great Coastal then sued IBT on two theories: (1) dam-
ages caused by union violence; and (2) lost business
caused by an illegal secondary boycott. At the trial of

9

this case Great Coastal presented witnesses who testified
to widespread acts of violence directed towards its em-
ployees and property. Two of these witnesses were
Robert Seward, who testified that when he was driving
for the company in October of 1970 a brick came through
his windshield and he saw men running away through
the woods, and William Funai, who testified that he saw
Seward’s company truck with the front windshield broken
and a small hole caused by a small caliber gun in the
trailer. Although the violence was never adequately con-
nected to IBT, and Great Coastal suffered a directed
verdict on the damages for violence portion of the case,
the Company did recover a judgment for over $800,000
for the secondary boycott.

In 1978 IBT filed an action to set aside this judgment.
After a two-day evidentiary hearing, the district court
found that Robert Seward had, in fact, been ordered by
William Funai to take a company truck out on the road
and “tear it up some.” Seward then broke the windshield
of the truck with a brick and fired shots into the trailer
of the truck with a small caliber gun. Both Seward and
Funai admitted at the hearing that their earlier testimony
had been false. The district court further found that
much of the other testimony from the earlier trial con-
cerning violence had been perjured.

The majority of the Court of Appeals adopted a very
- narrow reading of “fraud on the court” and held that
- such fraud “is typically confined to the most egregious
cases, such as bribery of a judge or juror, or improper
influence exerted on the court by an attorney. . . .” 675
F.2d at 1356. Thus, the majority could not say “that
the fraud in this case presents a deliberate scheme to

10

directly subvert the judicial process sufficient to con-
stitute fraud on the court.” Jd.

The dissenting judge was_simply unable to see any
reasoned distinction between the case before him and
Hazel-Atlas. The judge rejected the notion that “fraud
on the court” requires wrongdoing by an attorney or
other officer of the court. Instead, he identified two
elements necessary to constitute “fraud on the court”;
(1) that the matter be of some public importance; and
(2) that the case involve “a deliberately planned and
carefully executed scheme to aeons the court. 675
F.2d at 1364.

The dissenting judge certainly had a strong point. It
is simply impossible to draw a distinction that is less
the arbitrary between manufacturing evidence by means
of a bogus technical article (Hazel-Atlas) and manu-
facturing evidence by damaging a truck (Great Coastal).
See also, Matter of Met-L-Wood Corp., 861 F.2d 1012,
1018 (7th Cir. 1988) (attempting to distinguish Hazel-
Atlas from other cases of manufacturing evidence on
the ground that the concept of “fraud on the court” is
broader in patent cases.)

The numerous other lower court opinions on the sub-
ject are equally unsatisfactory for ascertaining any work-
able test that distinguishes “ordinary” fraud from “fraud
on the court.” For example, most courts state that run-
of-the-mill perjury is mere ordinary fraud. See, e.g.
Serzysko v. Chase Manhattan Bank, 461 F.2d 699, 702
(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 409 U.S. 883 (1972); H.K.
Porter Co., Inc. v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., 536
F.2d 1115, 1118 (6th Cir. 1976); Travelers Indemnity
Co. v. Gore, 761 F.2d 1549, 1551 (11th Cir. 1985);

11

Olson v. Arctic Enterprises, Inc., 21 F.R. Serv. 2d 423
(Dist. N.D. 1976). But see Davsuel v. Davsuel, 195
F.2d 774 (D.C. Cir. 1952). However, some of the courts
State that, at some point perjury can be sufficiently
aggravated to constitute “fraud on the court.” Perhaps,
the most common suggested aggravating element is in-
volvement by an attorney. See Kupferman v. Consolidated
Research & Mfg. Co., supra at 1078; Travelers Indemnity
Co. v. Gore, supra at 1552. Another court has held that
mere circumstantial evidence indicating that an attorney
should have known that certain testimony was perjured
is insufficient to show “fraud on the cotrt.” Cleveland
Demolition Co., Inc. v. Azcon Scrap Corp., 827 F.2d
984 (4th Cir. 1987). Yet another court would apparently
hold that any sort of deliberate subornation is sufficient
to elevate ordinary perjury to “fraud on the court.”
Jungerson v. Axel Bros., Inc., 121 F.Supp. 712, 715
(S.D.N.Y.), aff'd, 217 F.2d 646 (2d Cir. 1954).

The law is also in a state of confusion regarding the
extent to which suppression or manufacturing of evidence
can constitute “fraud on the court.” For example, in
Hawkins v. Lindsley, 327 F.2d 356, 359 (2d Cir. 1964)
the court indicated a showing “that officers of the court
attempted to secure action of the court on the basis of
a document known by them to be false” would be suf-
ficient to constitute “fraud on the court.”-Another court
has stated in a silghtly different context that systematic
destruction of tapes and documents coristitutes “fraud
on the court.” Synanon Church v. United States, 579 F.
Supp. 967 (D.C. Dist. 1984). Neither of these cases
can be easily reconciled with Great Coastal Express, Inc.
v. International Brotherhood, supra, which held that
intentional manufacturing of physical evidence by vandal-
izing a truck does not constitute fraud on the court.

!

12

The allegations in the district court in this case (which
have been substantiated by documentary evidence, but
have not yet been the subject of a trial) present a strong
case for relief. This is not a case of a single witness
perjuring himself in a single trial. Instead, the evidence
indicated concerted action by numerous litigants and
their attorneys in this and hundreds of other lawsuits
to suppress documents and misrepresent the facts. A few
examples of this will suffice. Armstrong World Industries
represented in the Wilson case and in numerous other
cases that it had only manufactured two products con-
taining asbestos, a cork covering made from 1956 to
1959 and a spray made from 1966 to 1968. (Px-S-15).
The truth turns out to be that Armstrong has been in-
volved with the manufacture of insulation containing
asbestos since at least 1910! (Px-K). This information
was of central importance considering that the entire
Wilson trial centered on when these defendants knew
or should have known of dangers associated with asbestos.
If a single litigant had done this in a single lawsuit, it
would not amount to “fraud on the court.” However,
a second litigant, Celotex Corporation has done prac-
tically the same thing. Celotex has represented in hun-
dreds of lawsuits that it was first involved with asbestos
in 1972. (Px-E). The truth turns out to be that it has
been involved in the asbestos industry since at least 1947.
(/d.).

This Court should grant the writ of certiorari in order
to provide further guidance on the difficult question of
what constitutes “fraud on the court” and what distin-
guishes “fraud on the court” from “ordinary” fraud for
purposes of Rule 60(b).

13

ISSUE 2:

Should a proceeding alleging “fraud on the
court be treated procedurally as an “independent
action” rather than as a mere motion for pur-
poses of judgment on the pleadings, regmmenad
judgment, etc.?

A second exceedingly difficult question is how an
action to reopen a judgment for “fraud on the court”
should be treated procedurally. The Court of Appeals
in the present case restricted its review to an “abuse
of discretion” standard. The court applied this standard
despite the fact that no evidence was heard and no trial
occurred in the district court. If this proceeding was
truly an “independent action” as Rule 60(b) states, the
proper standard of review was to review the pleadings
to determine whether “it appears beyond doubt that
plaintiff can prove no set of facts in support of his claim
which would entitle him to relief.” Conley v. Gibson,
355 U.S. 41, 45-46, 78 S. Ct. 99, 2 L.Ed.2d 80 (1957).
Alternatively, in light of the documentary evidence sub-
mitted to the district court, the proper standard was to
review the evidence in a light most favorable to the
plaintiff to determine whether there was any genuine
issue of material fact. See Anderson v. Liberty Lobby,
Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 106 S. Ct. 2505, 91 L.Ed.2d 202
(1986).

The confusion in the lower courts over how this action
should have been treated procedurally is best illustrated
by Bullock v. United States, 763 F.2d 1115 (10th Cir.
1985) (en banc). There, plaintiffs unsuccessfully sued
the United States in the 1950s for the deaths of livestock
allegedly caused by radiation poisoning as a result of
nuclear tests. Twenty-five years later plaintiff sued to

—inneakiatiaiidi tia a i a

14

set aside the earlier judgment on the basis of fraud. The
district court held a hearing, found that the government
was guilty of suppressing vital information, highly decep-
tive responses to discovery, and “pressuring” witnesses
to alter their testimony, and set aside the judgment.

The majority of the Court of Appeals did not specify
what standard of review applied. Instead, it seemed to
review the evidence de novo, rejected most of the district
court’s findings, and reversed.. The dissenting Judges
chastised the majority for failing to give strong deference
to the district court’s fact-findings under the “clearly
erroneous” standard. Surely, if a proceeding to set aside
a judgment is, in fact, an independent action, it should
have reviewed it under the same standards as any other
lawsuit. Thus, the dissenting judges were right, and the
Court of Appeals in the present case erred by not apply-
ing the standard applicable to dismissals on the pleadings
or summary judgments. See also Madonna v. United
States, 878 F.2d 62 (2d Cir. 1989) (applying Conley
v. Gibson to an independent action to set aside a judg-
ment. )

This Court should also grant review to resolve the
confusion over how an action to set aside a judgment
for “fraud on the court” should be treated procedurally.

15

Respectfully submitted,

ABRAHAM, WATKINS, NICHOLS,
BALLARD, ONSTAD & FRIEND

ROBERT E. BALLARD
800 Commerce Street
Houston, Texas 77002
713/222-7211

LAw OFFICES OF
LAWRENCE MADEKSHO

LAWRENCE MADEKSHO
8320 Gulf Freeway
Houston, Texas 77087
713/641-0251

ESSMYER & HANBY

“ZL 4 blo

CLINARD J. Zo
4300 Scotland
Houston, Texas 77007
713/869-1155

Attorneys for Plaintiffs-A ppellants

16

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

This is to certify that three (3) copies of the foregoing
Petition for Writ of Certiorari have been duly served
on all the parties listed earlier or their attorneys of record
in accordance with Rule 28.3.

APPENDIX

A-1
APPENDIX A

Clarence J. WILSON,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

JOHNS-MANVILLE SALES CORP., et al.,
Defendants,

Armstrong World Industries, Inc., et al.,
Defendants-Appellees.

United States Court of Appeals,
Fifth Circuit.

May 30, 1989.

Appeal was taken from order of the United States
District Court for the Southern District of Texas, Hugh
Gibson, J., denying motion for relief from judgment
entered in favor of asbestos products manufacturers in
products liability action. The Court of Appeals held that
motion to set aside judgment in favor of six asbestos
products manufacturers in products liability action was
required to be filed within one year of entry of judgment,
rather than within a reasonable time.

Affirmed.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas.

Before CLARK, Chief Judge, RUBIN and DAVIS,
Circuit Judges.

A-2

- PER CURIAM:

_ This appeal involves a consolidated products liability
action brought by fifty plaintiffs against nine defendants.
More than two years after a judgment was entered in
favor of six of the defendants, and following an affirmance
of that judgment by this court, plaintiffs filed a motion
under Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b) to set aside the judgment.
The district court denied the motion as time-barred.
We affirm.

I.

Fifty plaintiffs brought a products liability action
against nine manufacturers of products containing as-
bestos. The district court ordered separate trials on the
issues of liability and damages. During the jury trial
on general liability, the defendants made a “state of the
art” defense based on Borel v. Fibreboard Paper Products
Corp., 493 F.2d 1076 (Sth Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 419
U.S.. 889, 95 S. Ct. 127, 42 L.Ed.2d 107 (1978),
arguing that they did not know of the dangers of asbestos
prior to the 1960’s. The jury returned a take-nothing
verdict against six of the defendants: Armstrong World
Industries, Inc., Eagle-Picher Industries, Inc., Fobreboard
Corp., Owens-Corning Fiberglass Corp., Owens-Illinois,
Inc., and Standard Insulations, Inc. The jury found that
the remaining three defendants (Celotex , Corporation,
Pittsburg Corning Corp., and Raymark Industries, Inc.)
were potentially liable for product exposure only after
August 1, 1966.

The district court retained jurisdiction as to the three
remaining defendants to conduct further proceedings re-
garding individual damages. As to the six defendants

ili. I

A-3

exonerated from liability, the district court found that
there was no just reason for delay and on August 27,
1985 directed the entry of final judgment as to those six
defendants. This court affirmed the final judgment as to
the six defendants in Wilson v. Johns-Manville Sales
Corp., 810 F.2d 1358 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, ____US.
—___., 108 S. Ct. 97, 98 L.Ed.2d 58 (1987).

More than two years after the district court entered
judgment, the plaintiffs requested this court to set aside
the prior judgment under Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b) on
grounds of fraud committed by the defendants. We trans-
ferred the motion to the district court, which denied the
motion as barred by the one-year time limit incorporated
in Rule 60(b)(3). The district court subsequently en-
tered an order pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(b) certify-
ing that the denial of the Rule 60(b) motion was a final
judgment. The plaintiffs appeal from the district court’s
denial of the Rule 60(b) motion.

Il.

Rule 60(b) provides a court may relieve a party from
a final judgment, order, or proceeding. It does not afford
relief from interim or interlocutory judgments.

The addition of the word “final” emphasizes the
character of the judgment, orders or proceedings
from which Rule 60(b) affords relief; and hence
interlocutory judgments are not brought within the
restrictions of the rule, but rather they are left sub-
ject to the complete power of the court rendering
them to afford such relief from them as justice
requires.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b) advisory committee’s note.

A-4

The August 27, 1985 judgment to which the Rule 60
(b) motion is addressed was final only as to six de-
fendants. No judgment of any sort was entered with
respect to the remaining three defendants. One of these
three defendants, Raymark Industries, Inc., has advised
this court that it is in bankruptcy proceedings. The jury
verdict finding them potentially liable has not been com-
pleted by proceedings to set the amount of any damages.
' Accordingly, the plaintiffs’ Rule 60(b) motion and the
district court’s denial of the motion must relate only to
the final judgment with respect to the six defendants who
were found not liable to plaintiffs. Although language
does appear in plaintiffs’ motion and in the district court’s
opinion and certificate with respect to the three remain-
ing defendants, such language is beyond the scope of
Rule 60(b). We treat it as surplusage. Our adjudication
in the present appeal does not affect any of the three
defendants as to which no final judgment was entered.

[1] A district court’s denial of a Rule 60(b) motion
will be reversed only for abuse of discretion. Schauss v.
Metals Depository Corp., 757 F.2d 649 (Sth Cir. 1985).
We find no abuse ‘of discretion here.

In their Rule 60(b) motion, plaintiffs alleged that they
were entitled to relief from the August 27, 1985 judgment
because the defendants fraudulently concealed and mis-
represented the fact that they knew of the hazards of
asbestos as far back as the 1930’s. The district court
properly noted that the plaintiffs’ motion must come
under the auspices of either Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b)(3)
or 60(b) (6). Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b) provides in pertinent
part:

On motion and upon such terms as are just, the
court may relieve a party or a party’s legal repre-

A-5

sentative from a final judgment, order, or proceeding
for the following reasons:

(3) fraud (whether heretofore denominated intrinsic
or extrinsic), misrepresentation, or other misconduct
or an adverse party; . . . or (6) any other reason
justifying relief from the operation of the judgment.

The motion shall be made within a reasonable
time, and for reasons (1), (2), and (3) not more
than one year after the judgment, order, or proceed-
ing was entered or taken. . . . This rule does not
limit the power of a court to . . . set aside a judg-
ment for fraud upon the court.

Under Rule 60(b)(3), plaintiffs’ motion is subject to
the one-year time limit incorporated in the rule. The
time runs from the date the district court entered final
judgment. Gulf Coast Building & Supply Co. v. Int'l.
Bhd. of Electrical Workers, Local 480, AFL-CIO, 460
F.2d 105, 108 (Sth Cir. 1972). The district court entered
a final judgment as to six defendants on August 27, 1985,
and the Rule 60(b) motion was not brought until more
than two years later. The district court correctly con-
cluded that the motion is time barred under Rule 60(b)(3).

The plaintiffs attempt to bring their motion under the
residual clause of 60(b)(6). Plaintiffs cite Liljeberg v.
Health Services Acquisition Corp., U.S , 108
S. Ct. 2194, 100 L.Ed.2d 855 (1988) for the proposition
that a Rule 60(b)(6) motion is timely if made “within
a reasonabie time.” 7d. 108 S. Ct. at 2204. However,
the Supreme Court’s complete statement reads that a
Rule 60(b)(6) motion may be granted “provided that
the motion is made within a reasonable time and is not
premised on one of the grounds for relief enumerated in
clauses (b)(1) through (b)(5).” Id. We have held that
“Relief under subsection (6) is not available to a movant

A-6

where . . . the relief sought would have been, if not for
the Rule’s time limits, within the coverage of another of
the subsections of the Rule.” Kerwit Medical Products,
Inc. v. N & H Instruments, Inc., 616 F.2d 833, 836 n. 8
(Sth Cir. 1980). See also, William Skillings & Associates
v. Cunard Transp. Ltd., 594 F.2d 1078 (5th Cir. 1979).
The district court correctly found that the plaintiffs’ mo-
tion came within the coverage of Rule 60(b)(3), and
thus relief under Rule 60(b)(6) is unavailable to
plaintiffs. |

Plaintiffs attempt to characterize the defendants’ con-
duct as an “attack upon the judicial machinery” amount-
ing to a fraud on the court. “Fraud upon the court” is
grounds for relief under the savings clause of Rule 60(b)
and is distinguishable from the “fraud . . . misrepresenta-
tion, or other misconduct” under subsection (b)(3).
Rozier v. Ford Motor Co., 573 F.2d 1332, 1338 (Sth
Cir. 1978). However, 60(b) relief based on “fraud upon
the’ court” is reserved for only the most egregious mis-
conduct, and requires a showing of “an unconscionable
plan or scheme which is designed to improperly influence
the court in its decision.” Jd. at 1338 (quoting England
v. Doyle, 281 F.2d 304, 309 (9th Cir. 1960)). The
narrow concept should “embrace only the species of fraud
which does or attempts to, defile the court itself, or is a
fraud perpetrated by officers of the court so that the
judicial machinery cannot perform in the usual manner
its impartial task of adjudging cases that are presented
for adjudication.” Kerwit Medical Products, 616 F.2d at
837 (quoting 7 Moore, Federal Practice § 60.33 at 511
(1971 ed.)). Less egregious misconduct comes within
the scope of Rule 60(b)(3). Id.; Rozier v. Ford Motor
Co., 573 F.2d at 1332.

iki...

A-7

The district court construed the plaintiffs’ allegations
~ as follows:

In short, movants object to the defendants’ “state
of the art” defense because of the existence of various
studies and reports allegedly reporting the dangers
of asbestos as far back as the 1930’s and because
of the contrary position taken by some defendants
in other lawsuits that the dangers of asbestos were
known prior to the mid-1960s.

Plaintiffs did not object to this construction in the district
court, but instead immediately filed their notice of appeal.

Such allegations do not rise to the level of “fraud on
the court” necessary to obtain relief under the savings
clause of Rule 60(b). “[T]he mere nondisclosure to an
adverse party and to the court of facts pertinent to a
controversy before the court does not add up to ‘fraud
upon the court’ for purposes of vacating a judgment
under Rule 60(b).” Kermit Medical Products, 616 F.2d
at 837. The district court correctly found that plaintiffs’
motion came under Rule 60(b)(3). As such, the plain-
tiffs’ motion is time barred.

[2] Plaintiffs also assert that the district court should
have held a hearing regarding the Rule 60(b) motion.
However, a decision to hear oral testimony .on motions
is within the sound discretion of the distriet court. Gary
W. v. Louisiana, 601 F.2d 240, 244 (Sth Cir. 1979).
Here the district court liberally allowed the plaintiffs to
supplement their Rule 60(b) motion to the extent that
the plaintiffs’ total pleadings before the court consisted
of the following: the original application with appendix
and 34 exhibits, a reply of plaintiffs with 51 exhibits,
and a supplemental reply with 41 exhibits. Considering

A-8

the extensive pleadings and the failure of the plaintiffs to
adequately indicate how a hearing would have aided the
court’s determination, we find that the district court did
not abuse its discretion in not holding a hearing. See
Scutieri v. Paige, 808 F.2d 785, 795 (11th Cir. 1987).

Til.

The district court did not abuse its discretion in deny-
ing the plaintiffs’ Rule 60(b) motion. We pretermit any
ruling on the effect, if any, this decision may have on
future proceedings involving the three remaining defend-
ants. The judgment of the district court is

AFFIRMED.

B-1
APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 88-2798

CLARENCE J. WILSON,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

JOHNS-MANVILLE SALES CORP., ET AL.,
Defendants,

ARMSTRONG WCRLD INDUSTRIES, INC., ET AL.,
Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING
(July 11, 1989)

Before CLARK, Chief Judge, RUBIN and DAVIS, Cir-
cuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing filed
in the above entitled and numbered cause be and the
same is hereby DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

/s/ CHARLES CLARK
United States Circuit Judge

a

C-1
APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
GALVESTON DIVISION

C.A. G-81-168

CLARENCE J. WILSON, ET AL
V.
JOHNS-MANVILLE SALES CORPORATION, ET AL

(Filed August 9, 1988)

ORDER

In Borel v. Fibreboard Paper Products Corporation,
et al, the Fifth Circuit established the rights of plaintiffs
to recover for asbestos related diseases. 493 F.2d 1076,
1102. Sometime after September 10, 1973, the date of
the Borel decision, movants state that insurance com-
panies, their insured manufacturers and various medical
experts created the “state of the art” defense. This de-
fense, according to movants, is outright fraud.

The basis of the fraud, and thus movants’ 60(b)
motion, is that the asbestos manufacturers and their
insurance companies knew of the hazards of asbestos
as far back as the 1930’s. Therefore, anytime a fact
finder, as in the case sub judice, finds that manufacturers
did not know of the hazards of asbestos until after the
1930’s, the manufacturers and the insurance companies
have engaged in fraudulent concealment of their knowl-
edge. Movants support this proposition with various

C-2

studies and reports that have existed in the United States
since the 1930’s allegedly warning of the dangers of
asbestos.’ Movants believe that the insurance companies,
manufacturers and their experts should not have been
allowed to assert lack of knowledge of asbestos related
dangers before the mid 1960's in light of the previous—
mentioned studies and reports.

Beyond the studies and reports concerning asbestos,
movants rely on the case of Pittsburgh Corning Corpora-
tion v. The Travelers Indemnity Company, G-84-3985
(E.D. Penn. 1984), in which Pittsburgh Corning sued
Travelers for alleged failure to honor policies presumed
to cover asbestos related injuries. During the course of
the litigation, a prior works manager (Carl Olm) at
Pittsburgh Corning’s facility at Port Allegany, Pittsburgh
testified that he witnessed the shredding of Pittsburgh
Corning asbestos related documents in either 1971 or
1972. Movants. further rely on the case of Fibreboard
Corporation v. The United States, No. 514-84 C (CI.
Ct. 1984), in which Fibreboard alleged that the United
States Government impliedly agreed to reimburse and
indemnify Fibreboard for asbestos related injuries. Part
of the basis of Fibreboard’s argument was that the U. S.
Government knew of the dangers of asbestos as far back
as 1934. Fibreboard cited various studies including the
U. S. Public Health Services Report of 1935 purporting

1. A sample of these reports includes the following: A 1932 US.
Bureau of Mines report to Eagle Picher concerning a limited in-
spection of their rock wool plant in Joplin, Missouri, a 1936 National
Safety Council Report entitled “The Lesser Known Facts About
Common Occupational Diseases” by Dr. Robert B. Hunt and a 1939
Surgeon General’s report entitled “Statistics of Diseases and Injuries
In the United States Navy.” Movants assert that some of these
reports were actively concealed by the asbestos manufacturers but
present them as evidence in support of their 60(b) motion.

eee

C-3

to support Fibreboard’s position that the Government,
by way of these studies and report, must have known of
the dangers of asbestosis in the 1930’s. Fibreboard and
the remaining defendants in the current case asserted that
they did not and could not have known of the dangers
of asbestos prior to the mid 1960’s. Movants find the
above actions by Pittsburgh Corning, Fibreboard, and
the other defendants fraudulent and, therefore, rich soil
) for their Rule 60(b) motion.

In short, movants object to the defendants’ “state of
the art” defense because of the existence of various
studies and reports allegedly reporting the dangers of
asbestos as far back as the 1930’s and because of the
contrary position taken by some defendants in other
lawsuits that the dangers of asbestos were known prior
to the mid 1960’s.

Movants’ Rule 60(b) motion, based on alleged fraud
and misrepresentation,, must come under the auspices of
either Rule 60(b)(3) or Rule 60(b)(6). As to Rule
60(b)(3), movants’ motion fails to meet the one year
time requirement’ and, therefore, must be denied when
considered under Rule 60(b)(3). Under movants’ alter-
native, Rule 60(b)(6), the “residual clause,” a movant
may not use this clause where relief sought would have
been, if not for the time limits, within the coverage of
another of the Rule’s subsections, here 60(b) (3). Kerwitt
Medical Products v. N & H Instruments, 616 F.2d 833,
836 n.8 (Sth Cir. 1980). Thus, movants’ motion also
fails under 60(b)(6). Even if the Court were to consider

2. The one year time limit runs from the date the district court
enters judgment. Gulf Coast Bldg. & Supply Co. v. International
Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Local 480, 460 F.2d 105, 108
(5th Cir. 1972)

C-4

movants’ grounds of fraud and misrepresentation under
Rule 60(b)(6), movants fail to meet the stringent re-
quirements of Rule 60(b)(6). Bros. Inc. v. W. E. Grace
Mfg. Co., 320 F.2d 594, 609 (Sth Cir. 1963). The
“state of the art” defense profferred by defendants may
be unpalatable to movants but in no way rises to the
level of fraud or misrepresentation contemplated by Rule
60(b). See generally Wright and Miller, Federal Practice
and Procedure, §§ 2860-61 and § 2864. For the above
reasons, movants’ motion is DENIED.

DONE at Galveston, Texas, this the 9th day of August,
1988.

/s/ HUGH GIBSON
United States District Judge

ne,

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0439%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
