# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Fisher v. Krajewski

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0379%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1990
- **Citation:** 493 U.S. 1020

## Text

‘| JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, UR,

___ ‘CeERK
SS a
IN THE
] SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

LLOYD B. FISHER,
Petitioner,
Vv.
JUDGE JAMES J. KRAJEWSKI,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

| GILBERT KING, JR.,* MACARTHUR DRAKE

| Atty. for Petnr. Atty. for Petnr.
1109 Broadway 504 Bdwy., Ste. 506
Gary, IN 46407 Gary, IN 46402
219/886-2403 219/882-6004

*Counsel of Record

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Seventh Circuit Court of
Appeals incorrectly relied upon F.R.A.P.
3(a) in stating its belief that it was
appropriate to impose sanctions against
Appellant and his counsel for their failure
to strictly follow F.R.A.P. 10(b) and
publicly reprimanding them by specifically
naming them in the body of the Opinion and
referring this case to the Indiana
Disciplinary Board, without prior notice,
and without a finding of bad faith, or a
showing of prejudice to the Appellee in
contravention of the law of other circuits
and this Court.+

2. Whether the Seventh Circuit Court of
Appeals approved a departure by the trial
court from the accepted and usual course of
judicial proceedings in determining that
Appellant raised no objection to the trial
court's Jury Instruction 24, when no
transcript of the entire conference was
made and when Appellant's claim in his Rule
59 motion, supporting memoranda, and on
appeal was that the jury should have been
provided with two sets of jury verdict
forms, so that the jury could have decided,
separately, his first claim regarding his
December, 1985 discharge and his’~ second
claim regarding his October, 1987
constructive discharge.

1 At least one (1) petition for
certiorari involving this question is
presently pending before this Court, to
wit: L. Steven Platt v. U.S. Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Cir., No. 88-1756.

i.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ‘are Ros
TABLE OF CONTENTS ch Se
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES Evie Roe
TITLE PAGE ye: wlché toe
OPINIONS BELOW ob See
JURISDICTION - oi tear eice
CONSTITUTIONAL PRO- » &03 wees
VISICNS INVCLVED

RULES INVOLVED ‘Sebue

STATEMENT OF THE CASE shiéd) a A
REASONS FCR GRANTING THE WRIT . .

A. The Seventh Circuit Court
of Appeals incorrectly relied upon
F.R.A.P. 3(a) in stating its belief
that it was appropriate to impose
sanctions against Appellant and his
counsel for their failure to
strictly follow F.R.A.P. 10(b) and
publicly reprimanding them by
specifically naming them in _ the
body of the Opinion and referring
this case to the Indiana
Disciplinary Board, without prior
notice, and without a finding of
bad faith, or a showing of
prejudice to the Appellee in
contravention of the law of
other circuits and this circuit.

B. The Seventh Circuit Court
of Appeals approved a departure by
the trial court from the accepted
and usual course of judicial
proceedings in determining that
Appellant raised no objection to
the trial court's

ii

Page
i

ii -iii
iv-vi

11-19

jury Instruction 24, when no
transcript of the entire
conference was made and when
Appellant's claim in his Rule 59
motion, supporting memoranda, and
on appeal was that the jury
should have been provided with
two sets of jury verdict forms,
so that the jury could have
decided, separately, his’ first
claim regarding his December,
1985 discharge and his’~ second
claim regarding his October, 1987
constructive discharge.

CONCLUSION ° Su .

APPENDIX A Order of the U.S.
Court of Appeals
for the 7th Circuit
denying Suggestion

APPENDIX B Opinion of the U.S.
Court of Appeals
for the 7th Circuit

affirming District
Court's
Decision

APPENDIX C Order of the
District Court

denying Motion For
New Trial

APPENDIX D Judgment and Order
of the U.S.
District Court

APPENDIX E Court's Instruction
No. 24

iii

20-30

30

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Acevedo v. Immigration & Naturali-
zation Service, 538 F2d 918 (2nd
Cir. 1976)

Alloy Intern. Co. v. Hoover-NSK
Bearing Co., 635 F2d 1222 (7th
Cir. 1980)

American Watch Corp. v. Princess
Ermine Jewels, 786 F2d 1447 (9th
Cir. 1986).

Baskin v. Hawley, 847, F.2d 1120,
1134 (2nd Cir. 1986).

Bowley v. Stotler & Co., 751 F.2d
641, 647-648 (3rd Cir. 1985);

Brown v. Avemco Inv. Corp., 603
F.2d 1367, 1375 (9th Cir. 1979)

Burlington Northern R. Co. Vv.
B.M.W.E., 7/33 F.2d 792 (6th Cir.
1986 )

City of Newport v. Fact Concerts,
Inc, 101 S.Ct. 2748 (1981).

Dawson v. Lennon, 799 F2d 934 (llth
Cir. 1986);

Gulf Water Benefaction Co. v.
Public Utility Comm'n, 674 F2d.
462, 466 (5th Cir. 1982)

iv

PAGE

16

26

16

21

21

21

24

26

16

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (CONT. )

Inryco, Inc. v. Metropolitan
Engineering Co., Inc., 705 F.2d
1225 (7th Cir. 1983)

Kramar v. Securities Gas And Oil
Inc., 671 F.2d 766, 769 (9th Cir.

Kurowski, et al. v. Krajewski, 848
F.2d 767, (7th Cir. 1988)

Martin v. City of New Orleans, 678
F2d 14 1321, 1325 (5th Cir. 1982)

N.L.R.B. v. Smith & Wesson, 424 F2d
1072 (ist Cir. 1970)

Platt v. U.S. Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Cir., No. 88-1756

Pryor v. Gulf Oil Corp., 704 F2d
1366 (5th Cir. 1983)

Reid v. United States 715 F2d 1148
at 1155 (7th Cir. 1983).

Roadway Express, Inc. v. Piper,
447 U.S. 752 100 S.Ct. 2455 (1979)

Scherer v.Kelly, 584 F.2d 170
at 174 (7th Cir. 1978)

United States v. One Motor Yacht
Named Mercury, 527 F.2d, 1112
(lst Cir. 1975)

PAGE

21

29

16

29

15

16

14

14,

15

RULES

F.R.A.P. 10(b)

F.R.A.P. 3(a)

F.R.A.P. 46(c)
ARTICLES

Fed. Ct. Management Statistics

Adm. Office of the U.S. Courts
(1988 )

vi

4, 12, 19

6, 12, 13
14, 19

12, 17

18

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1989

LLOYD B. FISHER,
Petitioner,
Vv.
JUDGE JAMES J. KRAKEWSKI,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT
Petitioner petitions for a writ of
certiorari to review the judgment in this

case of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Order of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit (App. A.,
infra) denying Petiticner's Suggestion for
Rehearing is not’ reported. The judgment
and opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit (App. B,
infra) is not reported. The order of the
District Court denying Petitioner's Motion
For New Trial (Appx. C, infra) is not
reported. The judgment of the United
States District Court for the Northern
District of Indiana, Hammond Division,

(App. D, infra) is not reported.

JURISDICTION

The Order of the Unitea States Court of

2.

_Appeals for the Seventh Circuit, affirming
the judgment of the United States District
Court for the Northern District of Indiana,
Hammond Division, was entered on May 2,
1989. The Order of the United States Court
of Appeals denying the Petition for
rehearing was entered on June 13, 1989.
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked
under 26 U.S.C. Section 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The United States Constitution, 5th
Amendment, in its pertinent part, provides
as follows:

“No person shall be ° . °
deprived of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of
law; nor shall private property be
taken for public use, without just
compensation."

RULES INVOLVED
F.R.A.P. 46(c), in its pertinent part

states:

"(c) Disciplinary Power of the
Court Over Attorneys. A court of
appeals may, after reasonable
notice and an opportunity to show
cause to the contrary, and after
hearing, if requested, take any
appropriate disciplinary action
against any attorney who practices
before it for conduct unbecoming a
member of the bar or for failure
to comply with these rules or any
rule of the court."

P.R.A.P. IOCH}, in its pertinent part,

states:

*(b) The Transcript of
Proceedings; Duty of Appellant to
Order; Notice to Appellee if
Partial Transcript is Ordered.

(1) Within 10 days after filing
the notice of appeal the appellant
shall order from the reporter a
transcript of such parts of the
proceedings not already on file as
the appellant deems necessary,
subject to local rules of the
courts of appeals. The order
shall be in writing and within the
same period a copy shall be filed
with the clerk of the district
court. If funding is to come from
the United States under the
Criminal Justice Act, the order
shall so state. If no such parts
of the proceedings are -to be
ordered, within the same _ period
the appellant shall file a
certificate to that effect.

4.

(2) If the appellant intends to
urge on appeal that a finding or
conclusion is unsupported by the
evidence or is contrary to the
evidence, the appellant shall
include in the record a transcript
of all evidence relevant to such
finding or conclusion.

(3) Unless the entire transcript
is to be included, the appellant
shall, within the 10 days time
provided in (b)(1) of this Rule
10, file a statement of the issues
the appellant intends to present
on the appeal and shall serve on
the appellee a copy of the order
or certificate and of the
statement. If the appellee deems
a transcripr or other parts of the
proceedings to be necessary, the
appellee shall, within 10 days
after the service of the order or
certificate and the statement of
the appellant, file and serve on
the appellant a designation of
additional parts to be inciuded.
Unless within 10 days after
service of such designation the
appellant has ordered such parts,
and has so notified the appellee,
the appellee may within the
following 10 days either order the
parts or move in the district
court for an order requiring the
appellant to do so.

(4) At the time of ordering, a
party must make satisfactory
arrangements with the reporter for
payment of the cost of the
transcript.

De

F.R.A.P. 3(a), in its pertinent part,
states:
Appeals as of Right - How Taken

(a) Filing the Notice of Appeal.
An appeal permitted by law as of
right from a district court to a
court of appeals shall be taken by
filing a notice of appeal with the
clerk of the district court within
the time allowed by Rule 4.
Failure of an appellant to take
any step other than the timely
filing of a notice of appeal does
not affect the validity of the
appeal, but is ground only for
such action as the court of
appeals deems appropriate, which
may include dismissal of the
appeal.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is an action instituted in the
United States Federal Court for the
Northern District Of Indiana, Hammond
Division. The Plaintiff/Appellant, LLOYD
B. FISHER, alleged that in December, 1985,
the Defendant/Appellee, JUDGE JAMES J.
KRAJEWSKI, fired him from his position as
Public Defender in Lake County Court, Div.
III, effective January 1, 1986, because of

6.

his political association in violation of
the First Amendment to the United States
Constitution. ¥£zThe Defendant, Krajewski, a
Republican, claimed that: (1) the
Plaintiff was fired because of his
association with the former Democratic
Judge, Orval W. Anderson, a convicted
felon; and (2) the Plaintiff served
inadequately when he was asked to serve as
Judge Pro Tempore.

Democrats Dave Nicholls and Steve
Kurowski, two other Public Defenders, were
discharged along with the Plaintiff in
December 1985. All three were reinstated
by the Defendant, Krajewski, On October 19,
1987. This was as a result of a judgment
against Defendant Krajewski in a lawsuit
filed by Public Defenders Nicholls’ and
Kurowski and tried without a jury in
September, 1987. Defendant Krajewski,
then, constructively discharged all three

7.

(3) public defenders, resulting in a
contempt of court order as to Nicholls and

Kurowski. (Kurowski et. al. v. Krajewski,

848 F.2d 767 (7th Cir. 1988) cert denied,
109 §.Ct. 309 (1988). The Plaintiff
amended his complaint to add a claim that
in October 1987, the Defendant, Krajewski,
constructively discharged him, as well as
Nicholls and Kurowski, in retaliation
because of the seis by the Plaintiffs of
their constitutiional rights by way of the
District Court proceedings.

The jury, on February 10, 1988,
returned a verdict in favor of the
Appellee, JAMES J. KRAJEWSKI, and against
the Appellant, LLOYD B. FISHER. (See Appx.
D). A motion for a new trial was filed by
the Plaintiff on February 22, 1988 and said
motion was denied on March 3l, 1988 (See
Appx. C). Appellant appealed.

On May 2, 1989, the Seventh Circuit

8.

Court of Appeals issued an opinion
affirming the jury verdict and the
magistrate's denial of the Appellant's
motion for a new trial. (See Appx. B).

On appeal, the Appellant contended,
inter alia, that the jury should have been
given two (2) seperate sets of verdict
forms: one (1) relating, to his January l,
1986 discharge, and one (1) relating to
his October 19, 1987 constructive
discharge. The Appellant contends that the
fact that he did not specifically object to
Jury Instruction No. 24, which contained
one set of jury verdict forms, allowing for
one verdict in favor of the Appellee
Krajewski or one verdict in fazvor of the
Appellant Fisher, did not constitute a
waiver of that objection. (See, Appx. E).
Appellant/Plaintiff contended that his
attorney's quiery "The jury verdicts, it
will be two separate verdicts" indicates

9.

that the court's attention was sufficiently
called to the necessity for two - such
seperate jury verdict forms.

Further, the Appellate Court's Opinion
indicated as follows:

Furthermore, we believe that it
is appropriate, pursuant to Fed.
R. App. P. 3(a), to impose
sanctions in the total amount of
$1,500.00 to be borne in equal
measure by the plaintiff/appellant
Attorney Lloyd B. Fisher and each
of his attorneys of record on
appeal, Gilbert King, Jr. and
Macarthur Drake, for their failure
to submit any part of the
transcript of the lower court
proceedings; failure to file a
certification showing that’ they
did not intend to do so; failure
to notify the Appellee of their
intention not to file the
transcript, all in violation of
Fed. R. App. P. 10(b). In
addition, we refer this case to
the Indiana Disciplinary Board for
investigation, review and any
action they deem appropriate under
the circumstances.

Id., at p. 22; Appx. B-22.

Appellant's Suggestion For Rehearing In
Banc was filed June 2, 1989 and denied June
13, 1989. (See, Appx. A).

10.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

tect lee

A. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT COURT OF
APPEALS INCORRECTLY RELIED UPON
F.R.A.P. 3(a) -IN STATING ITS BELIEF
THAT IT WAS APPRCPRIATE TO IMPOSE
SANCTIONS AGAINST APPELLANT AND HIS
COUNSEL FOR THEIR FAILURE TO STRICTLY
FOLLOW F.R.A.P. 10(b) AND PUBLICLY
REPRIMANDING ‘THEM BY SPECIFICALLY
NAMING THEN IN THE BODY OF THE OPINION
AND REFERRING THIS CASE TO THE INDIANA
DISCIPLINARY BOARD, WITHOUT PRIOR
NOTICE, AND WITHOUT A FINDING OF BAD
FAITH, OR A SHOWING OF PREJUDICE TO
THE APPELLEE IN CONTRAVENTION OF THE
LAW OF OTHER CIRCUITS AND THIS COURT.

This Petition For Writ of Certiorari is
of exceptional importance because the
Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals_ has
departed so far from the accepted and usual
course of judicial proceedings as to call
for this Court's power of supervision.
Without any evidence of bad faith or undue
prejudice to the Appellee, the appellate
Court indicated that it was appropriate to
impose sanctions in the total amount of
$1,500.00, to be borne in equal measure by

ll.

ES

the Appeliant, an attorney, and each of his
two attorneys of record, in addition to
referring this case to the Indiana
Disciplinary Board for investigation
because Appellant failed to follow F.R.A.P.
10(b). As a basis’ for’ the sunegeeted
imposition of sanctions, the appellate court
misapprehended F.R.A.P. 3(a) and its ruling
conflicts with the applicable substantive
standards for the imposition of sanctions
as established by the Seventh Circuit, as
well as other circuits and the United
States Supreme Court, thereby establishing
new precedent in the circuit which would
seem to allow the imposition of sanctions
on litigants and their counsel for a single
rule. All of this was done without regard
to the pclicy and procedure established by
Fed. R. App. P. 46(c).

At page 5 of the Opinion, (Appx. B-5),
the appellate court indicated:

12.

—_

‘ :

Judge Krajewski, after filing the
transcript, maintains that we
should dismiss the appeal because
the appellant failed to comply with
Rule (10)b. While Rule 10 does
speak of sanctions for violation ot
its requirements, Fed. R. App. R.
3(a) states:

Failure of an appellant
to take any step other
than the timely filing
of a notice of appeal
does not affect the
validity of the appeal,
but is ground only for
such action as the court
of appeals deems
appropriate which may
include dismissal of the
appeal.

This rule, by its title, "Filing the
Notice of Appeal", applies to the notice of
appeal only. The rule sets forth those
procedures an appellant must follow in-
order to transfer his case from a federal
district court to a court of appeals. It
specifically applies to the timeliness and
contents of the notice.

Moreover, Fed. R. App. P. 3(a) has been

given a liberal construction as it applies

13.

hatte crenata

to the notice of appeal in the Seventh

Circuit, (See Scherer v. Kelly, 584 F.2d

170 at 174 (7th Cir. 1978). The literal
intent and obvious purpose of this rule is
to avoid the necessity for dismissing
appeals on technical grounds when the court
can reach a decision on the merits.
It is not intended to be ae catchall
provision for any transgression of the
appellate rules.

The appellate court, in relying on Gulf

Water Benefaction Co. v. Public Utility

Commission, 674 F.2d 462 (5th Cir. 1982)

and United States v. One Motor Yacht Naned —

Mercury, 527 F.2d 1112 (lst Cir. 1975),

erroneously concluded that pursuant to Fed.
R. App. P. 3(a) an appeal may be dismissed
for failure to comply with Rule 10(b).
These cases are distinguishabvle from the
one at bar. In each of those cases there
was a local rule relative to a violation of

14.

tie nt Be

Fed. R. App. P. 10. In Gulf, supra, there

was a bankruptcy rule 806 and in One Motor

Yacht, supra, there was local rule 7.
There is no such local rule in the Seventh
Circuit.

In determining whether a case is an
appropriate one for the imposition of
sanctions, the Seventh Circuit
traditionally looks for some indication of
the appellant's “bad faith" suggesting that
the appeal was prosecuted with no
reasonable expectation of altering the
district court's judgment and for purposes
of delay or harassment or out of sheer

obstinancy. Reid v. United States, 715

F.2d 1148 at 1155 (7th Cir. 1983). An even
higher standard is used to support direct

action against a party. Inryco, Inc. v.

Metropolitan Engineering Co., Inc., 705 F2d

1225 (7th Cir. 1983).

Other circuits have looked for some

15.

indication of “bad faith" prior to the

imposition of sanctions. See, Acevedo v.

Immigration & Naturalization Service, 538

F.2d 918 (2nd Cir. 1976); N.L.R.B. v. Smith

& Wesson, 424 F.2d 1072 (lst Cir. 1970);

Dawson v. Lennon, 799 F.2d 934 (llth Cir.

1986); American Watch Corp. v. Princess

Ermine Jewels, 786 F.2d 1447 (9th Cir.

1986).

Similarly, this Court has consistently
indicated that a finding of bad faith
should precede sanctions of counsel.

Roadway Exp., Inc. v. Piper, 447 U.S. 752,

100 S.Ct. 2455 (1979).

Since there was no finding of bad faith
as to the Appellant or his counsel, this
diecision contradicts decisions in_ the
Seventh Circuit, other circuits and this
Court. Plaintiff was not even a counsel of
record.

The federal appellate rules for

16.

—~

imposition of sanctions provide some
fundamental Fifth Amendment constitutional
Guarantees not afforded Appellant and/or
his attorneys in the instant case. Fed. R.
App. P. 46(c) provides, in pertinent part,

as follows:

(c) Disciplinary Power of the
Court Over Attorneys. A court of
appeals may, after reasonable

notice and an opportunity to show

cause to the contrary, and after

hearing, if requested, take any
appropriate disciplinary action
against any attorneys who practices

before it for conduct unbecoming a

member of the bar or for failure to

comply with these rules or any rule

of the court.

Prior to the receipt of the Opinion
herein, neither the Appellant nor his
attorneys had any notice that they would be
publicly reprimanded by their names being
specified in the body of the Opinion. They
did not have notice that this case would be
referred to the Disciplinary Board for the
State of Indiana, nor has there been an

opportunity to show cause why these actions

17.

-=

should not be taken. 7

The Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals
has issued a disproportionate number of
sanctions in relation to the number of
cneiin handled by that circuit. For
example, since January 1, 1986, the Seventh
Circuit Court of Appeals has imposed
sanctions in 37 reported cases, more than
any other circuit. During this same period
of time, the Fifth Circuit had 24 sanctions
cases and the Ninth Circuit had as
However, the most astonishing fact is that

both circuits handled twice as many appeals

as the Seventh Circuit.

2 Caseload figures are drawn from
Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts,
Federal Court Management Statistics, 12,
16, 20 (1988). See, Petition in Platt,
supra, at p. 20. i

18.

Yet Petitioner has been unable to find any
other reported opinion in which a court

of appeals has approved sanctions for an
alleged violation of F.R.A.P. 10(b).

The misapplication of Fed. R. App. P.
3(a), and the pubiication of the belief
that sanctions should be imposed, virtually
public reprimand, without a finding of bad
faith or an opportunity to be heard are
clear violations of the rights guaranteed
to litigants and their counsel by the Fifth
Anendment. These violations warrant the
Granting of this Petition For Writ of
Certiorari. This Court could then clarify
the standards for the imposition of
sanctions and the application of the
appellate rules. Also, it could resolve

the split in this regard among the circuits

and any variance with the opinions of this

B. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT COURT OF
APPEALS APPROVED A DEPARTURE BY THE
TRIAL COURT FROM THE ACCEPTED AND
USUAL COURSE OF JUDICIAL PROCEEDINGS
IN DETERMINING APPELLANT RAISED NO
OBJECTION TO THE TRIAL COURT'S JURY
INSTRUCTION 24 WHEN NO TRANSCRIPT OF
THE ENTIRE CONFERENCE WAS MADE AND
WHEN APPELLANT'S CLAIM IN HIS RULE 59
MOTION, SUPPORTING MEMORANDA, AND ON
APPEAL WAS THAT THE JURY SHOULD HAVE
BEEN PROVIDED WITH TWO JURY VERDICT
FORMS, SO THAT THE JURY COULD HAVE
DECIDED, SEPARATELY, HIS FIRST CLAIM
REGARDING HIS DECEMBER, 1985 DISCHARGE
AND HIS SECOND CLAIM REGARDING HIS
OCTOBER, 1987 CONSTRUCTIVE DISCHARGE.

There is a difference of opinion among
the circuits as to the duty of the trial
court to fully instruct the jury, as
Opposed to the duty of the litigant's
counsel to object or offer curative
instructions when the trial court does not
fully instruct the jury.

The Ninth Circuit has held that a
formal objection to a jury instruction is
not necessarily required when the appellant
has previously made his position

sufficiently clear to the trial court.

20.

See, Kramar v. Securities Gas and (Cil,

Inc., 671 F.2d 766, 769 (9th Cir. 1982);

and Brown v. Avemco Inv. Corp., 603 F.2d

1367, 1375 (9th Cir. 1979).

The Third Circuit has followed these
cases in holding that even if a plaintiff
did not formally object to a jury
instruction on a fundamental issue, it is
appropriate for tne Court of Appeals to
consider the instruction in the context of

the record on that issue. See, Bowley v.

Stotler & Co., 751 F.2d 641, 647-648 (3rd

Cir. 1965).

The Second Circuit has held that its
trial court properly set aside a jury
verdict on the ground that the jury had
received inadequate instructions, although
not objected to, on a fundamental issue
causing substantial injustice. See, Baskin

v. Hawley, 847, F.2d 1120, 1134 (2nd Cir.

1986).

In the instant case, the record of the
Court of Appeals and of the District Court
clearly show that Appellant/Plaintiff filed
two separate and distinct claims of First
Amendment rights violations. In fact, on
page ll of Defendant Krajewski's
Memorandum, filed February 29, 1988,
opposing Plaintiff's Rule 59 Motion for a
new trial, Defendant states:

“Indeed, as aeresult of the

instruction conference Court's

instruction 18 was modified to

make it clear that there were two

separate issues of fact based upon

two separate legal claims."

(Deft.'s Memo. In Opp. to New Triai,
Appellant's Appellate Court Appx. 20, p.
146). Thus, each discharge had _ been
clearly raised and each constituted a
fundamental issue requiring the central
focus of the jury and the jury instructions.
Apparently, the Court of Appeals

misapprehended that there was an unrecorded

jury instruction conference. It concluded

22.

in its Opinion that:

The appellant failed to object to
the court's instruction number
24. However, the appellant's
counsel queried the. magistrate:
"The jury verdicts, it will be two
separate verdicts?" to which the
magistrate responded affirmatively.

Judge Krajewski contends on appeal
that the appellant waived the
right to object to the verdict
form on appeal because he failed
to object in the trial court. We
agree. The appellant failed to
object to instruction 24, and it
contains "two separate verdicts."
as his query sought to confirm.
Thus, his question to the
magistrate does not even suggest
he was in disagreement with the
verdict from contained in the
instruction. Nor did the
appellant ever clearly explain to
the magistrate that he wanted
separate verdict forms relating to
his January 1, 1986, discharge and
his alleged constructive discharge
of October 19, 1987, and he failed
to submit any such proposed
verdict form.

Krajewski II, supra, Slip Op. at pg. 20;
Appx. B-20.

Nothing in the transcribed jury
instruction discussion makes mention of the
modification of Court Instruction 18.

23.

ee

(See, Trial Trscp. Vol. III, pgs. 375-379. )
Thus, the modification of Court Instruction
18 could have only occurred off the record,
Apparently, the trial court did not take
into account this off-the-record jury
instruction conference in its order denying
Plaintiff's motion for a new trial.

Burlington Northern R. Co. v. B.M.W.E., 793

F.2d 792 (6th Cir. 1986)

Although, Appellant believed the entire
trial transcript was not necessary on
appeal, due to the trial court's detailed
order denying his Motion for New Trial, the
transcript is revealing on this point.

What the trial transcript reveals is
further evidence that the entire jury
instruction conference was not
transcribed. At the end of the second
trial day, the transcript indicates that
all the evidence was in, the jury was

recessed overnight and counsel for the

24.

parties were to meet with the court for a
Giscussion prior to the jury recommencing
at 9:30 the following’ morning. (Trial
Transcript, Vol. II, pgs. 371-372).

The beginning of the transcript of
proceedings for the third day states as
follows:

THE COURT: Okay. After

discussing the instructions with

the attorneys on behalf of the

plaintiff, who wants to speak?

Mr. Drake, Mr. King, do you have

any objections to the wording of

any of the instructions that I

have indicated that I will give,

Instructions 1 through 25?

(Te. Teeépt., Vol. I12, pg. 375).

Clearly, the District Court's ". : °
discussing the instructions with the
attorneys . . -", as referred to above,
took place outside the transcribed record.
Thus, not all of the jury instruction
conference was transcribed, contrary to the
apprehension of the Court of Appeals.

Under these circumstances, the Court of

25.

Ol

Appeals should have been set on an inquiry
of the trial record as a whole to determine
if seperate verdict forms for each of the
two (2) alleged wrongful discharges were

required. See, Alloy Intern. Co. v.

cr?

Hoover-NSK Bearing Co., 635 F2d 1222 (7th

Cir. 1980): and B.M.V.E., supra.

Even if the “seperate verdict

W

rt

reference by Plaintiff's counsel was no
sufficient as an objection or request

modification of Court Instruction No. 24,

j
ct

the error in omitting seperate verdic
forms for each discharge was so plain and
the injustice so obvious that it warrants

reversal by this Court. City of Newport v.

} = +

Fact Concerts, Inc, 10l S.C

However, Plaintiff contends that his
“separate verdicts reference was
sufficient notice to the trial court, given
the contex

appeal.

Z20-e

The context within which Plaintiff's
counsel asked the Magistrate about the "two
separate verdicts," and the Magistrate's
answer makes it clear that counsel's
inguiry sought confirmation of a prior
understanding. The question and answer
came at the end of the Magistrate's
transcribed request for objections to Court
Instructions 1-25, which had already been
discussed with counsel for both parties, as
illustrated above. The transcription reads
as follows:

THE COURT: Any other
instructions in 1 through 25 that
you have an objection to?

MR. KING: I think that -- that --

just one other point, Your Honor.
The jury verdicts, it will be two
separate verdicts?

THE COURT: That is correct.

MR. KING: Okay. We won't --
that's the substance of our
objection to the instructions that
the Couct has indicated it will
instruct the jury.

27.

(Tr. Trscp., Vol. III, pg. 376).

Clearly, the reason for this part of the
proceeding was to record differences that
had not been worked out between the court
and the parties' counsel at the earlier

“instruction conference,’ Thus, the

affirmative response to the question about

two separate verdicts would leave
Plaintiff's counsel with the impression
that there was no further objection,

modification or instruction proposal to be

made. This was sufficient to alert the
court of Plaintiff's bjection to the
Court's Instruction No. 24 as it was
Originally proposed.

where, as here, 2 Single set af
Anstructions fails to convey correct

guidance to the jury as to two seperate

Ty)

Claims, the single set 2} < instructions

constitute reversible error.

Also, if a review of the charge, as a

28.

whole, leaves the reviewing court with
substantial and ineradicable doubt as to
whether the jury has been properly guided

in its deliberations, then the jury's

verdict cannot stand. Martin v. City of

New Orleans, 678 F2d 1321, 1325 (5th Cir.

1982). In Pryor v. Gulf Oil Corp., 704 F2d

1366 (5th Cir. 1983), that court reversed a
district court case where a gneral jury
verdict form was submitted to the jury
which had at least two central issues to
decide. Requests for separate verdict
forms for each central issue were not
necessary to preserve the error in that
case.

Likewise, in the instant case, the only
inference available to the jury from the
Single set of verdict forms the District
Court provided is that: (a) Defendant was
guilty each of the two (2) times Plaintiff

was discharged; or (b) Defendant was

29. ‘

innocent each of those times. This all or
none limitation precluded the jury, in its
verdict, from distinguishing the first
discharge from the second.

III.

CONCLUSION

For all of the above reasons, the °
Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be
granted and Judgment and Order of the Court

of Appeals should be reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

. — 2 7 Af +

LL r ] WA tote oy th
LEC Nena /o ACT CCH BAKE

GILBERT KING, aR 7 -- “MACARTHUR DRAKE

Attorney for * Attorney for

Petitioners Petitioners

30,

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS 60604

a ee)

June 13, 1989.
Before
Hon. WALTER J. CUMMINGS, Circuit Judge
Hon. JOHN L. COFFEY, Circuit Judge
Hon. DANIEL A. MANION, Circuit Judge

LLCYD B. FISHER,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

Appeal from
the United

States Dis-
trict Court

for the
Northern
NO. 87-1827 vs. District of
Indiana,
JUDGE JAMES J. KRAJEWSKI, Hammond
Defendant -Appellee. Division

No. 86 C 882
Andrew P.
Rodovich
Magistrate

wee ee eee ee ee ee ee ee

ORDE R

On consideration of the petition for
rehearing and suggestion for rehearing in
banc filed by counsel for

Flaintiff-Appellant, no judge in active

A-1l

service has requested a vote thereon, and
all of the judges on the Original pdnel
have voted to deny a rehearing.
Accordingly,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the aforesaid

petition for rehearing be, and the same ls,

DENIED.

= tin elem De atti RELI yw eb Ml, allan

Se ee ea li at My, PD, A a al ay wise

RE CMI iw tN wR a NN a i eg ee a hl ll te a cl AB ta a

APPENDIX 8
n the

United States Court of Appeals
For the Seventh Circuit

No. 88-1827

LLoyD B. FISHER,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

JUDGE JAMES J. KRAJEWSKI,
Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Northern Distnct of Indiana, Hammond Division.
No. 86 C 882—Andrew P. Rodovich, Magistrate.

ArcuEeD DrecemBEeR 9, 1988—DeciDED May 2, 1989

Before CUMMINGS, COFFEY, MANION, Circuit Judges.

CorFrey, Circuit Judge. On January 1, 1986, Judge
James J. Krajewski discharged the appellant Lloyd Fisher
from his position as an assistant public defender in Lake
County, Indiana, prompting Fisher to file a lawsuit under
the United States Constitution and 42 U.S.C. § 1983.
Fisher appeals the jury verdict and the denial of his mo-
tion for a new trial. We affirm.

In June 1985 the defendant/appellee Krajewski, a Re-
publican, was appointed to fill a vacancy in the Lake
County (Indiana) Court, Division III, after the resigna-
tion of Judge Orval W. Anderson, a Democrat. On or
about December 12, 1985, Judge Krajewski informed Lake

B-1

2 No. 88-1827

County assistant public defenders Steve Kurowski, Dave
Nicholls and Lloyd Fisher, all of whom were Iemocratic
appointees of Anderson, that they would be terminated
effective January 1, 1986.

Subsequent to their termination Kurowsli and Nicholls
filed suit against Judge Krajewski in the United States
District Court for the Northern District of Indiana, con-
tending their discharge was politically motivated in viola-
tion of their first amendment right to freedom of speech.
Lloyd Fisher, the plaintiff/appellant in this action, did not
join in that suit.!

The parties in Krajewski I consented to a final disposi-
tion before a magistrate pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(c).
Magistrate Andrew P. Rodovich presided over the trial
dealing with the question of whether Judge Krajewski ter-
minated Kurowski and Nicholls because of their politics,
and ruled in their favor.? In October 1987 Judge Kra-
jewski reinstated Nicholls and Kurowski, as well as Lloyd
Fisher, to their former positions as assistant Lake Coun-
ty, Indiana public defenders and directed them to report
to work on October 19, 1987, at 8:30 a.m.

On that day, Judge Krajewski issued a “Memorandum”
containing a “description of the job of public defender,
Lake County Court, Division III” and various employment
rules (relating, for example, to office hours, length of cof.
fee breaks and work assignments), copies of which were
provided to Fisher, Kurowski and Nicholls. The same day,
Judge Krajewski issued a “‘rider” to the above memoran-
dum informing Fisher, Kurowski and Nicholls ‘that pur-
suant to the employment rules as listed that your first
notice of being late has been filed because of your lute
arrival on October 19, 1987.” Judge Krajewski issued a

' We will hereafter refer to the Kurowski and Nicholls lawsuit
as Arayewski I.

2 The magistrate’s decision was later affirmed by this court in
Kurowski v. Krajewski, 848 F.2d 767 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 109
S. Ct. 309 (1988).

B-2

”™ y

ON en Ae PO Bre COR, Alla tava satis i

Se A Ae eal ts Aap

No. 88-1827 3

second memorandum the same day, notifying the three
public defenders of ‘‘a second violation of the employee
rules of the Lake County Court” because they had changed
their work assignments without the Judge’s prior approval,
and imposed a one-week suspension for the rule violations.
In a letter dated October 28, 1987, Fisher informed Judge
Krajewski as follows: “‘Due to the current hostile, intol-
erable and retaliatory working conditions existing in and
around your courtroom, I am constrained, upon the ad-
vice of counsel, to decline your invitation to return to
work there on Thursday, October 29, 1987, or at any time
thereafter until further notice.”’

Following their October 19, 1987, suspension, Kurowski
and Nicholls filed a petition in the district court seeking
a contempt citation against Judge Krajewski for violation
of the magistrate’s Krajewski ] reinstatement order. After
hearing testimony on November 4, 1987, Magistrate Rodo-
vich made certified findings of fact, pursuant to 28 U.S.C.
§ 636(e), to district judge James Moody relating to the
events of October 19, 1987. The magistrate found that
Nicholls and Kurowski were not late for work on October
19 and that the written public defender empluyment rules
issued that day were designed ‘“‘to harass and possibly
trap [Kurowski and Nicholls] and give the defendant a rea-
son to discipline [them].” The district judge concluded that
the magistrate’s findings of fact were proper and found
Judge Krajewski in contempt of court for “disobedience or
resistance to [a] lawful order... .”" 28 U.S.C. § 636(e\1).

Fisher filed his lawsuit in the United States District
Court for the Northern District of Indiana, alleging that
he was discharged on January 1, 1986, because he was
a Democrat and Judge KrajewS8ki was interested in ap-
pointing a Republican to the position. Shortly before trial
Fisher amended his complaint, adding a claim that Judge
Krajewski imposed discriminatory terms and conditions
on his employment following his reinstatement on October
19, 1987. Fisher and Judge Krajewski consented to trial
before Magistrate Rodovich. The case was tried before
a jury, and the jury returned a verdict in favor of the
defendant/appellee Krajewski.

B-3

4 \ No. 88-1827

On appeal, Fisher argues that the magistrate erred in
barring any reference during trial to the findings of fact
made in Krajewski I and during Judge Krajewski’s con-
tempt hearing relating to his October 19, 1987, conduct.
He also alleges errors in the magistrate’s jury instruc-
tions and further contends that two separate verdicts
should have been presented to the jury, reflecting the
two counts in his amended complaint, one asking whether
Fisher’s January 1, 1986, discharge violated his first
amendment rights and the other asking whether he was
constructively discharged on October 19, 1987.

Initially we point out that the plaintiff/appellant, At-
torney Lloyd B. Fisher, failed to submit any part of the
transcript of the lower court proceedings; failed to file
a certificate stating that he did not intend to clo so; failed
to file a statement of the issues presented for review and
further failed to notify the appellee of his intention not
to file a transcript, all in violation of Fed. R. App. P.
10(b). Fed. R. App. P. 10(b) provides:

‘“(b) The Transcript of Proceedings; Duty of Ap-
pellant to Order; Notice to Appellee if Partial
Transcript is Ordered.

(1) Within 10 days after filing the notice of appeal
the appellant shall order from the reporter « tran-
script of such parts of the proceedings not already
on file as the appellant deems necessary, subject to
local rules of the courts of uppeals. .. . If no such
parts of the proceedings are to be ordered, within
the same period the appellant shall file u certificate
to that effect.

(2) If the appellant intends to urge on appeal that
a finding or conclusion is unsupported by the evidence
or is contrary to the evidence, the appellant shall in-
clude in the record a transcript of all evidence rele-
vant to such finding or conclusion.

(3) Unless the entire transcript is to be included,
the appellant shall, within the 10 days time provided
in (b) (1) of this Rule 10, file a statement of the issues

B-4

No. 88-1827 5

the appellant intends to present on the appeal and
shal] serve on the appellee a copy of the order or
certificate and of the statement... .”

Fisher’s counsel attempted to explain at oral argument
that the transcript was unnecessary to decide the issues
presented on review. We di e. In the absence of the
transcript or an agreed, certified statement of facts (see
Fed. R. App. P. 10(d)) it is impossible to review the trial
court’s rulings, particularly the magistrate’s bench ruling
excluding findings of fact and credibility determinations
made in Krajewski I and during Judge Krajewski's con-
tempt hearing. Fortunately, the appellee Judge Krajewski
ordered and filed a complete trunscnpt of the lower court
proceedings, realizing, as we do, that the transcript is re-
quired for meaningful review.

Judge Krajewski, after filing the transcript, maintains
that we should dismiss the appeal because the appellant
failed to comply with Rule 10(b). While Rule 10 does not
speak of sanctions for violation of its requirements, Fed.
R. App. P. 3(a) states:

“Failure of an appellant to take any step other than
the timely filing of a notice of appeal does not affect
the validity of the appeal, but is ground only for such
action as the court of appeals deems appropriate,
which may include dismissal of the appeal.”

It is obvious that an appellate court has no alternative
but to dismiss an appeal if the absence of the transcript
precludes meaningful review. Confronted with this situa-
tion, several courts of appeal have decided that the failure
tu file a transcript of the lower court proceedings war-
rants dismissal of the appeal. Thomas v. Computaz Corp.,
631 F.2d 139, 143 (9th Cir. 1980); Southwest Admin., Inc.
v. Lopez, 781 F.2d 1378, 1380 (9th Cir. 1986); Brattrud
v. Town of Exline, 628 F.2d 1098, 1099 (8th Cir. 1980);
Abood v. Block, 752 F.2d 548, 550 (11th Cir. 1985). See
also In re Plankinton Bldg. Co., 133 F.2d 900 (7th Cir.
1943) (dismissing an appeal because the appellant failed
to fulfill the requirements of former Fed. R. Civ. P. 75,

B-5

6 No. 88-1827

the predecessor to Fed. R. App. P. 10.) Two other cir-
cuits, while acknowledging their authority to dismiss the
appeals, have decided cases on the merits to the extent
it is practical and possible in the absence of a transcript.
Gulf Water Benefaction Co. v. Public Utility Comni'n,
674 F.2d 462, 466 (5th Cir. 1982); United States v. One
Motor Yacht Named Mercury, 527 F.2d 1112, 1113 (1st
Cir. 1975).

It is plain under Fed. R. App. P. 3(a) and the cases cited
above that an appeal may be dismissed for failure to com-
ply with Rule 10(b). However, in each of the cases re-
ferred to a judgment of dismissal was entered because
the courts were unable to engage in meaningful review
of the lower court proceedings based on the lack of a
record before them. That is not the situation here, as the
appellee properly took it upon himself at his own expense
and filed the transcript. Thus, meaningful review is possi-
ble, and we reach the merits in this case—although, us
we will discuss, we are troubled by the plaintiff-appellant
Attorney Lloyd B. Fisher’s, as well as his attorneys’ lack
of respect in failing to comply with the rules of the court
in neglecting to file a transcript they well knew or should
have realized was necessary for the proper adjudication
of the issues presented and in order that the justice sy-
stem they took an oath to uphold and respect might
operate properly.

EVIDENCE OF THE DECISION
RENDERED IN KRAJEWSKI I AND
OF THE CONTEMPT CITATION

Initially, the appellant challenges the magistrate’s rul-
ing excluding evidence of Judge Krajewski’s contempt
citation for his treatment of the Krajewski I plaintiffs
after their October 19, 1987, reinstatement. He also con-
tends that the jury should have been informed that the
magistrate had previously ruled against Judge Krajewski
in Krajewski I. Approximately one week prior to trial,
the appellee Judge Krajewski filed a motion in limine

B-6

-
‘

No. 88-1827

seeking exclusion of evidence of his contempt citation and
of the hearings and orders pertaining thereto, and fur-
ther requesting ‘‘that there be no reference to the deci-
sion in cause no. H 86-586 [Krajewski J],” on the grounds
that the evidence was irrelevant and likely to confuse and
prejudice the jurors.? On the day the trial commenced,
the appellant filed a motion captioned “Motion Requesting
This Court Take Judicial Notice of its Orders and Find-
ings in [Krajewski J},” asking that the court conclude as
a matter of law, based on Krajewski J, that Judge Kra-
jewski was entitled to neither absolute nor qualified im-
munity; and that the appellant’s public defender position
was neither a confidential nor a policymaking position and
therefore the appellant could not be discharged for politi-
cal reasons. See Branti v. Finkel, 445 U.S. 507, 517-20
(1980); Elrod v. Burns, 427 U.S. 347 (1976). The appellant
also requested that the court rule as a matter of law, based
on findings of fact made in connection with the contempt
proceeding, that Judge Krajewski discriminated against
Fisher in the terms and conditions of his employment fol-
lowing his reinstatement on October 19, 1987.

Ruling from the bench, the magistrate granted the ap-
pellant’s motion in part. However, the magistrate denied

3? The motion sought exclusion of Magistrate Rodovich’s decision
in Krajewski J, not this court’s affirmance, the motion having been
filed on February 2, 1988, four months prior to our June 2, 1988,
decision in Kurowski v. Krajewski, 848 F.2d 767.

‘ Specifically, the magistrate ruled as a matter of law that the
appellant did not hold a policymaking position and therefore could
not be discharged for political reasons, stating:

“Although there has not been a motion for summary judg-
ment filed in this ease, I will apply the same law in this case
us I have applied in the Nicholls and Kurowski case. In other
words, 1 already have ruled as a matter of law that | will
incorporate the orders in the previous case that the position
of public defender is not a quote, policy making position, or
a confidential position or a position whose political affiliation
is needed for the effective performance of the job as those
words are used in the various cases.

(Fvotnote continued on following page)

B-7

8 No. 88-1827

that part of the motion asking that the court “take judicial
notice” of Judge Krajewski’s contempt citation and of the
decision in Krajewski /, explaining that doing so would
usurp and interfere with the jury’s freedum “to assess
the credibility of each and every witness and to deter-
mine whether or not there was a political firing in this
case .... This entire dispute is up to the jury to decide
one way or the other.” The magistrate therefore granted
Judge Krajewski’s motion in limine excluding reference
to the previous Krajewski / decisions. On appeal, Fisher
urges that evidence of the contempt citation and the deci-
sion in Krajewski I should have been admitted because
it is highly probative of the defendant/appellee’s motives
with respect to Fisher’s January 1, 1986, discharge and
the alleged constructive discharge uf October 19, 1987.5
We will reverse a district court’s decision to exclude evi-
dence only upon demonstration of an abuse of discretion,
Schultz v. Thomas, 832 F.2d 108, 110 (7th Cir. 1987).

The magistrate ruled that the jury shouid not be in-
formed that he had previously ruled against Judge Kra-
jewski in Krajewski / or that Judge Krajewski had been
found to be in contempt of court for his treatment of the
Krajewski I plaintiffs on the theory that the evidence
would undermine the jury’s role as factfinder in Fisher's

suit. He explained:

* continued
_ So the only issue in this case is the motivation of Judge Kra-
Jewski at the time that this was—this decision was mace.”
Though the a ruling on the appellant’s motion does nut
refer to Judge Krajewski’s entitlement to absolute or qualified im-
munity, he had previously denied Judge Krujewski’s motion to dis-
miss Fisher's lawsuit on those grounds.
* As noted supra p. 5, it is impossible to review the magistrate’s
ruling in the absence of the transcript, a» we would be left to spec-
ulate as to the magistrate’s reasoning in excluding evidence of the
findings in the previous Krajewski / proceedings.

B-8

No. 88-1827 9

“There was the question as to my decision in the
Nicholls and Kurowski case. I will grant the defen-
dant’s motion in limine in that respect.

In other words, these are two separate cases with
two separate finders of facts. As in every case pre-
sented, there is the—always the possibility that the
finder of fact will choose to judge the credibility dif-
ferently than I did.

So I will grant the motion in limine to exclude any
reference to the fact that on a previous occasion that
I ruled in favor of the plaintiffs, Nicholls and Kurow-
ski, and inst the defendant, Judge Krajewski. In
other oor this jury is free to assess the credibility
of each and every witness and to determine whether
or not there was a political firing in this case.

I also will grant the motion in limine as to the con-
tempt citation that was presented to me; my recom-
mendation to Judge Moody in that; Judge Moody’s
accepting the recommendation and imposing sanc-
tions. I do not believe that that is a matter that can
come in by way of impeachment or any other matter.

s. * *

So, you know, our legal system is not perfect and
I have seen numerous cases, for example, where two
criminal defendants are tried separately and one
winds up being found guilty and the other winds up
being found not guilty and both convictions certain-
ly have to be affirmed or both jury verdicts certain-
ly have to be affirmed and this is the same case.

If this jury chooses to find in favor of the plain-
tiffs, that’s their prerogative. If they choose to find
in favor of the defendant, that is the jury’s preroga-
tive. But any prior rulings that I have made, any
pnor findings of facts that I have made are not res
judicata in these proceedings. This entire dispute is
up to the jury to decide one way or the other.”

B-9

19 No. 88-1827

The plaintiffs in Krajyewski / alleged that Judge Kra-
jewski discharged them effective January 1, 1986, because
of their political affiliation. Acting as trier of fact, the
magistrate “had to choose between competing stories”
regarding Judge Krajewski’s motive in discharging the
plaintiffs and “‘{had] to decide who to believe.” Kurowski
v. Krajewski, 848 F.2d at 771. Thus, in reaching his de-
cision in Krajewski I the magistrate made a number
of credibility determinations and rejected Judge Krajew
ski’s testimony positing a lawful basis for the plaintiffs’
discharge. See id. In this lawsuit Lloyd Fisher (like the
plaintiffs in Krajewski I) alleged that Judge Krajewski dis-
charged him effective January 1, 1986, for political rea-
sons. The jury in this case (like the magistrate in Kra-
jewski I) was called upon to determine the credibility of
Judge Krajewski’s testimony concerning whether or not
the discharge was politically motivated.

Similarly, the contempt citation turned on the credibility
of witnesses relating the events of October 19, 1987. We
do not have the transcript of the contempt hearing, but
Judge Krajewski stated during his deposition in this law-
suit that the magistrate found at the conclusion of the
contempt hearing that Kurowski and Nicholls were not
late for work on October 19, 1987, thut there were no
written public defender rules prior to that date and
further, the rules were designed to harass the public
defenders. The jury in this case also heard testimony con-
cerning the events of October 19, 1987, and had to deter-
mine whether the public defender rules were promulgated
and applied to the appellant Fisher in a discriminatory
fashion, in order to decide Fisher’s claim of constructive
discharge. It is plain that the roles of the factfinders in
Krajewski I, the contempt proceeding and this case over-
lapped to a significant extent.

We were confronted with a similar situation in Schultz
v. Thomas, 832 F.2d 108 (7th Cir. 1987). In that case, the
plaintiff filed a civil rights action against two Racine, Wis-
consin, police officers alleging false arrest and excessive
use of force in connection with plaintiff's arrest for disor-

B-10

No. 88-1827 }}

derly conduct. The plaintiff had previously Deen acquitted
of the disorderly conduct charge after a trial to the cuurt,
and the trial judge found that the police officers’ testi-
mony was not credible. The circuit court trial judge was
allowed to testify in a subsequent civil rights action to
the findings of fact and conclusions of law contained in
his opinion on the state charge, and a transcript of the
judge’s opinion was also admitted in evidence. We dis-
agreed with the judge’s ruling in the civil mghts case in
allowing the original trial judge to testify and remanded
that case for a new trial, holding that ‘(the judge’s| testi-
mony was irrelevant and tended to usurp the jury’s func-
tion in assessing the credibility of testifying witnesses.”
832 F.2d at 111. We explained our holding as follows:

“Obviously, the occurrence upon which Judge Flynn
decided the disorderly conduci charge was the same
as that placed before the civil rights jury. In deter-
mining whether the defendants violated Schultz’s civil
rights by falsely arresting him and then giving willful-
ly false testimony in order to secure his cenviction,
the jury was required to observe and listen to many
of the same witnesses giving the identical testimony
as that which formed the basis for Judge Flynn’s dis-
orderly conduct decision. Indeed, the afurequoted ex-
cerpts from Judge Flynn’s opinion so unavoidably
overlapped the jury’s role in assessing the credibility
of the key witness as to unfairly prejudice the defen-
dants by denying them the right tu have a jury de-
cide the facts which formed the claims against them.
See Wilmington v. J. I. Case Co., 793 F.2d 909, 919
(8th Cir. 1986) (upholding a district court’s refusal to
admit the text of an arbitration decision because it
would ‘either usurp the jury’s role in assessing cred-
ibility or would be unfairly prejudicial’).”’

832 F.2d at 110-11. As in Schultz, evidence underlying
Judge Krajewski’s contempt citation and the mayistrate’s
decision in Krajewski ] was the same as the evidence
placed before the jury in Fisher’s lawsuit. Because we
ure confident that admission of this evidence would usurp

B-11

12 No. 88-1827

the jurv’s freedom ‘“‘to assess the creclibility of each and
every witness and to determine whether or not there was
a political firing in this case,”” and would unfairly prejudice
Judge Krajewski in denying him the right to have a fair
and impartial jury decide the facts, we hold that the mag-
istrate did not abuse his discretion in excluding the
evidence.®

COURT'S INSTRUCTIONS 15, 16 AND 17

Fisher claims that the magistrate erred in giving the
court’s instructions 15, 16 and 17. The court’s instruction

15 states:

“You are instructed that evidence that political con-
siderations were, in general terms, important to the
defendant and that the defendant was displeased with
the plaintiff because of his political affiliation is not
sufficient evidence to meet the plaintiff's burden of
proof. Evidence that others were hired for purely
political reasons also is not sufficient by itself to meet
the plaintiff's burden. The plaintiff must establish that
his political affiliation was a motivating or substan-
tial factor in the decision to terminate his employ-
ment.”

$ We find no merit to the appellant's claim that the magistrate’s
ruling limited Fisher's ability to impeach Judge Krajewski based
on his testimony or admissions during Krajewak: I or the contempt
proceedings. The appellant has failed to cite, and we have been
unable to find, any portion of the transcript or record supporting
his contention that the magistrate precluded use of admissions or
inconsistent statements made during the previous pruceedings.
Moreover, the issue is moot as the appellant has also failed to iden-
tify any adverse admissions or inconsistent statements made in
the prior proceedings. Therefore, this argument also fails to con-
vince us that the magistrate abused his discretion in excluding
evidence of the contempt citation and the decision in Arajewski /.

B -12

oe ee

No. 88-1827 | 13

The court’s instruction 16 states:

“You are also instructed that to the extent that
the defendant as an employer lacked confidence in
the public defenders that he had inherited from the
prior administration for some reason other than their
political affiliation, he was free to discharge them.”

The court’s instruction 17 states:

“You are instructed that the plaintiff was an em-
loyee at will, which means that the plaintiff had no
egitimate claim of entitlement to continued employ-
ment as a public defender and could be terminated
for any reason or no reason, but he could not be ter-
a for exercising a constitutionaliy protected
right.”

We review a challenge to a jury instruction “both in
the context of the other instructions given and in light
of the allegations of the complaint, opening and closing
arguments and the evidence of record.” General Lease-
ways v. National Truck Leasing Ass'n, 830 F.2d 716, 725
(7th Cir. 1987). This inquiry must be undertaken “ ‘in a
common sense manner, avoiding fastidiousness, [and] in-
quiring whether the correct message was conveyed to the
jury reasonably well.’”’ General Leaseways, 830 F.2d at
725 (quoting Wilk v. American Medical Ass'n, 719 F.2d
207, 218 (7th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1210 (1984)).

The appellant does not take issue with the last sentence
of instruction 15: “‘The plaintiff must establish that his
political affiliation was a motivating or substantial factor
in the decision to terminate his employment.” Nor does
he challenge the court’s instruction 13, which makes the
same point. Instruction 13 reads:

“Initially the burden is on the plaintiff to show that
his conduct was constitutionally protected and that
his conduct was a substantial or motivating factor in
the defendant’s actions toward him. If you find that
the plaintiff has met this burden, then the defendant
has the burden to establish by a preponderance of

B-13

—
14 No. %8-1827

the evidence that he would have reached the same
decision as to the plaintiff's employment even in the
absence of the protected conduct.”

Both the last sentence in instruction 15 and all of instruc-
tion 13 are derived from Mt. Heulthy City Schvol Dist.
Bd. of Ed. v. Doyle, 429 U.S. 274, 287 (1977). This court
has held that the Mt. Healthy analysis applies where there
is a dispute, as in this case, regarding an employer’s moti-
vation in discharging an employee. Wren v. Jones, 635
F.2d 1277, 1286 (7th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 382
(1981); Nekolny v. Painter, 653 F.2d 1164, 1167 (7th Cir.
1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1021 (1982).

The appellant argues that the first two sentences in in-
struction 15 added to his initial burden of demonstrating
that politics was a motivating factor in his discharge. in
suggesting that he also had to prove that political consid-
erations were important to Judge Krujewski or that Judge
Krajewski was displeased with Fisher’s political affiliation.
We disagree. Instruction 15 did not modify Fisher’s bur-
den of proving that politics was a substantial or moti-
vating factor in his discharge, rather it explained to the
jury that Fisher could not satisfy his burden merely by
demonstrating that Judge Krajewski was “displeased”
that Fisher is a Dernocrat or that Fisher’s political af-
filiation was “important” to Judge Krajewski. That ex-
planation of the meaning of the phrase “substantial and
motivating factor” reflects our observation in McClure v.
Cywinski, 686 F.2d 541, 545 (7th Cir. 1982), that a plain-
tiff cannot establish that politics is a motivating or sub-
stantial factor in his discharge simply by alleging that
politics is important to the employer or that the employer
is not wholly satisfied with the emp!oyee. See also
Nekolny v. Painter, 6535 F.2d at 1168. Therefore. instruc-
tion 15 was proper.

The appellant also alleges that instruction 16 incorrcct-
ly advised the jury that a public defender may be dis-

charged simply because his employer “lacks confidence”
in him. However, instruction 16 was lifted virtually verhba-

B-14

:
:
j
4
3
:
J

No. 88-1827 15

tim from the Supreme Court’s majority opinion in Brant:
v. Finkel, 445 U.S. 507, 520 n. 14 (1980), a case invoiv-
ing the discharge of a competent assistant public defender
because of his political beliefs, and is a proper statement
of the law. Moreover, Judge Krajewski’s testimony sup-
ports a finding that he “lacked confidence” in Fisher for
reasons other than his political affiliation. Judge Krajewski
testified that he terminated Fisher’s employment, not
becuuse of his political affiliation, but to restore public
respect for the Lake County court following the criminal
convictions of former Judge Orval Anderson and the for-
mer chief public defender Lee Christakis (see infra p. 26).
The same defense was presented in Krajewski J, and we
explained there that “If Judge Krajewski in fact thought
Kurowski and Nicholls [the two assistant public defenders
discharged along with Fisher] a blot on the court’s es-
cutcheon, he could fire them, whether they were or not.”
848 F.2d at 771. We also observed: “Since a public official
may fire subordinates for a good, bad, or indifferent rea-
son—any but an unconstitutional reason—the actual moral
stundards of Kurowski and Nicholls are irrelevant. /t was
enough that he had lost confidence in them.” Id. (emphasis
added) (citation omitted). We agree that instruction 16 ac-
curately reflects the law as recited in Branti v. Finkel
and Krajewski I.

The transcript of the jury instruction conference before
the magistrate reveals that the appellant raised no objec-
tion to the court’s instruction 17. The law is clear in this
circuit that an objection to a district court’s proposed jury
instruction is waived on appeal unless the — ob-
jected on the record in the district court and clearly stated
the reasons for the objection. See, e.g., United States v.
Marrinson, 832 F.2d 1465, 1473 (7th Cir. 1987). Having
failed to object to instruction 17 in the district court, the
appellant has waived the right to object on appeal.

FISHER’S INSTRUCTIONS B, C, C-1 AND D

The appellant also contends that the magistrate erred
in failing to give the appellant’s requested jury instruc-

B-15

16 No. 88-1827

tions B, C, C-1 and D. He argues that without these in-
structions the jury could not properly evaluate Judge Kra-
jewski’s defense that he discharged the appellant, not for
political reasons, but because Fisher was tainted with the
criminal convictions of former Lake County Judge Orval
Anderson and former Lake County Chief Prosecutor Lee
Christakis. Fisher’s requested instruction B states:

“The Defendant Judge Krajewski terminated the
Plaintiff Lloyd B. Fisher because of his association
with former Judge Orval Anderson.

If you find that this association between Mr. Fisher
and former Judge Orval Anderson is protected by the
lst Amendment to the United States Constitution;
and if you further find that this conduct was a sub-
stantial or motivating factor in Judge Krajewski’s
decision to terminate his employment, then

The Defendant James Krajewski must show by a
preponderance of the evidence that he would have
reached the same decision as to ther [sic] termina-
tion of Mr. Fisher even in [the] absence of the pro-
tected conduct.”

The appellant maintains that he has a constitutional
right of free association in the work place. Specifically,
he claims a right of free association with former Judge
Anderson and contends that instruction B properly ad-
vises the jury of that right. We have several problems
with the appellant’s argument. Initially, the first sentence
of instruction B advises the jury that Judge Krajewski
discharged the appellant “because of his association with
former Judge Orval Anderson.” That charge is an im-
proper attempt to direct the jury to resolve the central
issue in the case (the reason for the appellant’s discharge)
in a particular manner. Moreover, a fair reading of the
appellant’s complaint and amended complaint reveals that
he failed to allege that he was discharged because of his
“association” with former Judge Anderson. Instead,
Fisher claimed his employment was terminated because
of his political affiliation. Fisher’s instruction B alters his

B-16

No. 88-1827 17

theory of the case and would have confused the jurors.
Second. contrary to the appellant’s contention, Judge Kra-
jewski did not argue that ot discharged the appellant be-
cause of his “‘association’”’ with former Judge Anderson.
Rather, Judge Krajewski testified that he discharged the
appellant in response to public pressure to “clean up” the
Lake County Court and to improve the public’s percep-
tiun of the court. He testified that there was a public
perception “‘that the public defenders in conjunction with
the judge had these scams like going on,” in light of
“what had happened previously with the judge [Ander-
son] and... the chief public defender having been in-
dicted and convicted for criminal acts done while members
uf the court.” He also said that Lloyd Fisher was part
of the “old guard” that the public distrusted. Lastly, as
we stated in Krajewski I, Judge Krajewski was at liber-
ty to discharge the appellant if he believed the appellant’s
association with former Judge Anderson to be “‘a blot on
the court’s escutcheon.” 848 F.2d at 771. For these rea-
sons, we hold that the district court properly rejected the
appellant’s proposed instruction B.

Fisher’s instruction C states:
“You have heard evidence that:

Plaintiff's association with the former Judge Orval
Anderson was the reason for Plaintiff's discharge be-
cause of Defendant’s desire to clean the Court follow-
ing the resignation and conviction of Judge Orval
Anderson, for activities which did not involve Plain-
tiff.

The Plaintiff's freedom of association with Judge
Orval Anderson in the work place is also an associa-
tion protected by the First Amendment.

If you find that Plaintiff's freedom to associate in
the work place was infringed upon by his discharge,
then you must determine whether the Government
official’s interest in furthering a legitimate goal in
discharging Plaintiff was outweighed by Plaintiff's in-

B-17

18 No. 88-1827

terest in exercising his freedom of association in the
work place.

If you find that Defendant did not have a legimate
[sic] governmental interest in discharging Plaintiff or
if you find that the Plaintiff's interest in exercising
his freedom of association in the work place [sic], then
= must find for the Plaintiff and against the Defen-

ant.”

Fisher’s instruction C-1 is identical to instruction C above,
except that language is added to the final paragraph. We
set forth below the final paragraph of Fisher's instruc-
tion C-1, highlighting the added language:

“If you find that Defendant did not have a legimate
[sic] governmental interest in discharging Plaintiff, or
if vou find that the Plaintiff's interest in exercising
his freedom of association in the work place outweigh-
ed Defendant’s stated legitimate interest, then you
must find for the Plaintiff and against the Defendant.
If, however, you find that Defendant did have a legit-
imate governmental interest that outweighed Plain-
tiffs interest in exercising his freedom of association
in the workplace, then you must determine whether
or not Defendant had other means available to him
to accomplish that objective that would have caused
a lesser infringement on Plaintiffs First Amendment
rights.”

Instructions C and C-1 advise the jury to consider
whether Judge Krajewski discharged the appellant be-
cause he exercised his “freedom to associate in the work
place.’’ However, as noted above, the appellant filed this
suit claiming his employment was terminated because he
exercised his constitutional right to be a Democrat, not
because he “associated” with former Judge Anderson. The
appellant’s proffered instructions C and C-l, like his re-
quested instruction B, contradict his theory of the case
as presented in his pleadings and would have occasioned
considerable juror confusion. Furthermore, instructions C
and C-1 conflict with the court’s instruction 13, to which

B-18

No. 88-1827 19

the appellant did not object, reciting the parties’ respec-
tive burdens of proof under Mt. Healthy City School Dist.
Bd. of Ed. v. Doyle. As previously noted, the Mt. Healthy
analysis applies in this case, as there is a dispute regard-
ing Judge Krajewski’s motivation in discharging the ap-
pellant (see supra pp. 19-20). Mt. Healthy does not require
the factfinder to determine whether the employer’s in-
terests outweigh the interests of the employee, as the ap-
pellant’s proferred instructions C and C-1 advise. See
Wren v. Jones, 635 F.2d 1277, 1286 (7th Cir. 1980), cert.
denied, 454 U.S. 832 (1981). Therefore, instructions C and
C-1 were properly rejected because they fail to state the
law correctly, they contradict other approved jury instruc-
tions and would have confused the jury. Unfortunately,
we cannot say that we are surprised by the inconsisten-
cies and contradictions contained in the appellant’s re-
quested instructions, as the appellant’s trial attorneys also
filed this appeal—without a transcript of the district court
proceedings.
The appellant’s requested instruction D states:

“If you find that Defendant has borne his burden
of producing evidence of legitimate, non-political rea-
sons for terminating Plaintiff, then you must deter-
mine whether Plaintiff has established that it is more
likely than not that Defendant’s stated reasons are
pretextual, that is, not the real reasons for Plaintiff's

termination.

If you determine that Defendant’s stated non-politi-
cal reasons for Plaintiff's discharge were pretextual,
then you must find for the Plaintiff and against De-
fendant.”’

The instruction, as submitted in the district court, cites
as its source Texas Dep’t of Community Affairs v. Bur-
dine, 450 U.S.248 (1981), which established the allocation
of burdens and order of proof in discrimination actions
filed under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (42
U.S.C. § 2000e et seqg.). The instruction was inappropriate
Bg case, as Fisher did not allege a violation of Title

B-19

20 No. 88-1827

SPECIAL VERDICT

The appellant also contends that the jury should have
been given separate verdict forms relating, respectively,
to his January 1, 1986, discharge and his alleged October
19, 1987, constructive discharge. The language of the ver-
dict actually presented to the jury was contained in the
court’s jury instruction 24, stating:

“The forms of verdict read as follows:

‘We, the jury, find in favor of the defendant, James
J. Krajewski, and against the plaintiff, Lloyd B.
Fisher.’

‘We, the jury, find in favor of the plaintiff, Lloyd
B. Fisher, and against the defendant, James J. Kra-
jewski, and assess actual damages in the amount of
______ Dollars and punitive damages in the amount
— eg

Counsel for both parties were provided with copies of the
court’s proposed instructions 1-25 and were given the op-
portunity to object to them during a jury instruction con-
ference. The appellant failed to object to the court’s in-
struction number 24. However, the appellant’s counsel
queried the magistrate: “The jury verdicts, it will be two
separate verdicts?” to which the magistrate responded af-
firmatively.

Judge Krajewski contends on appeal that the appellant
waived the right to object to the verdict form on appeal
because he failed to object in the trial court. We ayree.
The appellant failed to object to instruction 24, and it con-
tains “two separate verdicts,”’ as his query sought to con-
firm. Thus, his question to the magistrate does not even
suggest he was in disagreement with the verdict form con-
tained in the instruction. Nor did the appellant ever clear-
ly explain to the magistrate that he wanted separate ver-
dict forms relating to his January 1, 1986, discharge and
his alleged constructive discharge of October 19, 1987, and
he failed to submit any such proposed verdict form.

B-20

No. 88-1827 21

As noted above, the appellant failed to file a transcript
of the proceedings before the magistrate, and also failed
to comply with the other requirements of Fed. R. App.
P. 10(b) (see supra p. 7). Contrary to the appellant’s con-
tention at oral argument, we could not have decided the
issues presented in this appeal without the court tran-
script. The transcript of the jury instruction conference
was certainly necessary in determining whether there had
been a waiver of objection to the court’s instruction 17
and to the form of verdict. In addition, the appellant, in
his brief and oral argument, challenged the magistrate’s
bench ruling excluding findings of fact and credibility
determinations made in Krajewski J and during Judge
Krajewski’s contempt hearing. It is impossible to properly
review a ruling made during the course of trial without
a transcript of the proceeding, particularly where, as here,
the parties disagree as to the scope and the specific
grounds for the ruling. in the absence of the transcript,
we are left to speculate as to the reasoning the trial court
wr ps8. in excluding the evidence at issue. This court
will not render a judicial decision founded on speculation.

It goes without saying that we expect and are entitled
to strict compliance with the appellate rules of procedure.
The appellant’s failure to comply with Rule 10(b) is par-
ticularly disturbing, as he is an attorney duly licensed to
practice in Indiana, as well as admitted to practice before
this court. In addition, he is represented by counsel on
appeal, and their default and conduct would have pre-
vented this court from engaging in meaningful review of
all of the challenges to the lower court’s rulings. More-
over, this is not a case where the appellant even at-
tempted to conform to the rules but was unsuccessful with
respect to timeliness or form. The record reveals no evi-
dence that Fisher attempted to adhere to Rule 10(b), as
he failed to file the transcript or perform any of the alter-
native acts set forth in the rule.

If, as the appellant’s counsel contended during oral argu-
ment, the plaintiff/appellant could not afford the cost of
transcribing all of the lower court proceedings, he had

B-21

29 No. 88-1827

three alternatives: he could have ordered the transcrip-
tion of only the relevant portions of the record, as Fed.
R. App. P. 10(b) permits, or filed an agreed, certified
statement of facts pursuant to Fed. R. App. P. 10(d), or
he could have sought authorization from the district court
to appeal in forma pauperis under 28 U.S.C. § 1915a)
(see Thomas v. Computax Corp., 631 F.2d at 143; see also
Fed. R. App. P. 24).

Because it is the appellant’s responsibility to file the
transcript of the lower court proceeding, and the appellant
failed to satisfy that obligation in this case, it is hereby
ordered, pursuant to Fed. R. App. P. 3Xe), that the costs
of appeal shall include the cost incurred in the prepara-
tion of the transcript.

Furthermore, we believe that it is appropriate, pursuant
to Fed. R. App. P. 3(a),”7 to impose sanctions in the total
amount of $1,500.00 to be borne in equal measure by the
plaintiff/appellant Attorney Lloyd B. Fisher and each of
his attorneys of record on appeal, Gilbert King, Jr. and
MacArthur Drake, for their failure to submit any part of
the transcript of the lower court proceedings; failure to
file a certification showing that they did not intend to do
so; failure to file a statement of the issues presented for
review; and failure to notify the appellee of their inten-
tion not to file the transcript, all in violation of Fed. R.
App. P. 10(b). In addition, we refer this case to the In-
diana Disciplinary Board for investigation, review and any
action they deem appropriate under the circumstances.

The judgment on the jury’s verdict and the magistrate’s

denial of the appellants’ motion for a new trial are hereby
AFFIRMED.

7 Fed. R. App. P. 3a) provides: “Failure of an appellant to tuke
any step other than the timely filing of a notice of appeal dues
not affect the validity of the appeal, but is ground only for such
action as the court of appeals deems appropriate, which may in-
clude dismissal of the appeal.”

B-22

No. 88-1827 23

A true Copy:
Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

USCA 79004—Midwest Law Printing Co., Inc., Chicago—5-2-89—500
B-23

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA
HAMMOND DIVISION

LLOYD B. FISHER, ay
Plaintiff, )

)

Vv. Civil No. H86-882

JUDGE JAMES J. KRAJEWSKI
Defendant.

)
)
)
)

ORDER

This matter is before the court on a
lotion for New Trial filed by the
plaintiff, Lloyd B. Fisher (hereafter
Fisher), on February 22, 1988. For the
reasons set forth below, the motion is
DENIED.

This motion arises out of a trial
ending on February 10, 1988, in which the
jury found in favor of the defendant, Judge
James J. Krajewski (hereafter Krajewski) on
all issues and claims. Fisher contends
that the Court's Instructions 15, 16 and 17

were incorrect: that the Court committed

C-1

error in refusing to submit two separate
verdict forms to the jury; that the Court
erred in refusing to take judicial notice

of a prior bench trial, Kurowski Vv.

Krajewski, Civil No. H86-586, decided

October 1, 1987, and contempt’ findings
against Krajewski entered in that action;
that the Court erred in granting
Krajewski's motion in limine’ regarding

evidence of the findins in Kurowski v.

Krajewski; that the Court erred in refusing

Fisher's proposed Instructions A through D,
including C-l; and that the Court erred in
refusing to permit Fisher to withdraw his
jury demand.

Krajewski, however, contends that
Fisher did not object to Instructions 15,
lo and 17 and has waived the right to do
sO; that in the alternative, the
instructions were correct; that Fisher's
proposed Instructions A through D, including

C=-2

C-l1 should be refused because they were not
timely; that, in the alternative,
InstructionA was covered by the Court's
instructions; that instructions B through D
were improper; that Fisher failed to object
to use of one verdict form and has waived
the right to do so; that it would have been
improper for the ‘Court to take judicial
notice of the prior proceedings; and that
Krajewski had a right to a jury trial.
Court's Instruction 15 provided:

You are instructed that evidence
that political considerations were,
in general terms, important to the
Gefendant and that the defendant was
displeased with the plaintiff
because of his political affiliation
is not sufficiant evidence to meet
the plaintiff's burden of proof.
Evidence that others were hired for
purely political reasons also is not
sufficient to meet the plaintiff's
burden. The plaintiff must
establish that his political
affiliation was a motivating or
substantial factor in the decision
to terminate his employment.

The instruction correctly states the
burden of proof-the plaintiff must establish

C-3

that political affiliation was a
substantial or motivating factor in the
decision to terminate his employment. Mt.

Healthy City School District Board of

Education, 429 U.S. 274, 287, 97 S.Ct. 568,

576, 50 L.Ed.2d 471, 484 (1977). The
Seventh Circuit explained that this burden
is not satisfied by showing "Ct jJhat
politics was important to the defendant."

McClure v. Cywinski, 686 F.2d 541, 545 (7th

Civ... 21962}; See Also Grossart v. Dinaso,

758 F.2d 1221, 1235 n.23 (7th Cir. 1985).

In McClure, the court clearly held that:

This standard is not satisfied if

the plaintiff shows only that
elimination of the protected

activity may have been welcomed by
the defendant or even that such
activity played some minor role in
the discharge decision.
686 F.2d at 546.

The instruction was proper.

Court's Instruction 16 provided:

Cc-4

You are instructed that to the
extent that the defendant as an
employer lacked confidence in the
public defenders that he had
inherited from the prior
administration for some reason other
than their political affiliation, he
was free tc discharge then.

This instruction is a correct statement
of the law, and there was evidence to
support giving the instruction. Krajewski
testified that Fisher had made mistakes

when he sat aS a judge pro tempore.

Krajewski was justified in terminating
Fisher if he lacked confidence in Fisher's
abilities as a public defender, and the
jury was entitled to an instruction to that
effect.

The Court's Instruction 17 provided:

You are instructed that the
plaintiff was an employee at will,
which means that the plaintiff had
no legitimate claim to entitlement
to continued employment as a public
Gefender and could be terminated for
any reason or no reason, but he
could not be terminated for
exercising a constitutionally
protected right.

A review of the transcript reveals that
Fisher did not object to this instruction
and has waived the right to object at this

stage in the proceedings. U.S. Vv.

Marinson, 832 F.2d 1465, 1473 (7th Cir.

1987). Fisher was an employee at will, and
the instruction correctly stated the
Indiana employee at will doctrine and was
the only sueh instruction given to the

jury. Miller v. Review Board, 436 N.E.2d

804, 807 (Ind. App. 1982). As such, the
instruction was proper.

Fisher did ask whether there would be
Separate verdict forms. The Court
responded in the affirmative because there
were two verdict forms: one in favor of
the defendant on all claims and the other
in favor of the plaintiff on all claims.
Apparently, Fisher wanted one verdict form
for the initial discharge effective January
1, 1986 and a second verdict for the October

C-6

19, 1987 incident. However, Fisher was
provided with a copy of the Court's
instructions including Court's Instruction
24 which in pertinent part provided:
The forms of verdict read as follows:
"We, the jury, find in favor of the
defendant, James J. Krajewski, and
aainst the plaintiff, Lloyd B.
Fisher.”
"We, the jury, find in favor of the
plaintiff, Lloyd B. Fisher, and

against the defendant, James J.
Krajewski, and assess actual damages

in the amount of Dollars
and punitive damages in the amount
of Dollars.”

Fisher did not object to Court's

Instruction 24, and did not submit any
proposed verdict forms or any _~ special
interrogatories. As such, Fisher has
waived the right to object.

Fisher also claims that the Court erred

in failing to take judicial notice of a

prior bench trial, Kurowski- v. Krajewski,

Civil No. H 86-586. In the Kurowski trial,

C-7

the Court was the trier of fact. In this
case, the jury was the trier of fact. If

this Court had admitted the Kurowski

decision into evidence or had taken
judicial notice of the decision, it
effectively would have usurped the jury's
role in assessing the credibility of
witnesses and determining the facts. It
also sould have been unduly prejudicial.

See Schultz _ v. Thomas, 832 F.2d 108,

110-111 (7th Cir. 1987); and Wilmington v.
J.L. Case Co., 793 F.2d 909, 919 (8th Cir.
1986). That evidence properly was excluded.

Fisher also objects to the Court's
failure to give plaintiff's proposed

Instructions A th[rJough D, including C-l.

Instructions A and B address the Mt.

Healthy standard and are covered by the

Court's Instructions 13, 14, 15 and 18.

Mt. Healthy, 429 U.S. at 287, 97 S.Ct. at

576, 50 L.Ed.2d at 484. See also

C-&

—-

Liquid Air Corp. v. Rogers, 834 F.2d 1297,

1308 (7th Cir. 1984). Instructions C and
C-1 discuss Fisher's right to associate in
the work place with former judge Orval
Anderson. “Fisher did not raise this claim
in the Complaint or in the Pretrial Order.
Fisher's claims were based on the right of
political affiliation and the jury was
instructed accordingly. Instruction B is
based on Title VII. The shifting burden of
production and pretext analysis are not
applicable in a First Amendment political
firing case.

Finally, Fisher contends that he should
have been allowed to withdraw his jury
demand. Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
38(d) provides that:

A demand for trial by jury made as

herein provided may not be withdraw

without the consent of the parties.
Fisher had demanded a sury and both parties
were entitled to a jury trial. That demand

C-9

could not be withdrawn without Krajewski's

consent. Travelers Indemnity Co. v. State

Farm Mutual Auto Insurance Co., 330 F.2d

250, 259 (9th Cir. 1964). Krajewski did
not consent, and the case properly was
submitted to the jury.

Based on the foregoing, the Motion for
New Trial is DENIED.

ENTERED this 3lst day of March, 1988.

/s/

Andrew P. Rodovich
United States Magistrate

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

HAMMOND DIVISION

LLOYD B. FISHER,

JUDGMENT IN A
CIVIL CASE
Ve

JUDGE JAMES J. KRAJEWSKI) CASE NO. H86-882
Individually and in his )
capacity as Judge of the)
Lake County Court, Div. )
Ese )

Jury Verdict: This action came before the
Court for atrial by jury. The issues have
been tried and the jury has rendered its

verdict.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that judgment is
entered in favor of the Defendant, Judge
James J. Krajewski, and against the

D-1

Plaintiff, Lloyd B. Fisher.

It was ORDERED on June 8, 1987 that
Defendant, The Board of Commissioners of
County of Lake be DISMISSED.

It was ORDERED on November 10, 1987
that Defendant, Lake County Council be

DISMISSED.

Date: February 10, 1988

Clerk: Richard E. Timmons

/s/

NOEL HERNANDEZ

Deputy Clerk

APPENDIX E

COURT'S INSTRUCTION NC. 24

Upon retiring to the jury room you
Should first select One of your number to
act as your foreman who will preside Over
your deliberations and will be your
Spokesman here in court. Forms of verdict
have been Prepared for your convenience,

The forms of verdict read as follows:

"We, the jury, find in favor of the
defendant, James J. Krajewski, and against
the plaintiff, Lloyd B. Fisher."

“We, the jury, find in favor of the
Plaintiff, Lloyd B. Fisher, ana against the
defendant, James J. Krajewski, and assess

actual damages in the amount of

Dollars and punitive damages in the amount

of Dollars,"

You will take the verdict forms to the
jury room and when you have reached

E-1

unanimous agreement as to your verdict, you
will have your foreman select, fill in (if
necessary, date, and Sign the appropriate
verdict form and then return to the

courtroom.

pO ee ee ee a © aa i eT a en Ss - aloe = 2. =a | a

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0379%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
