# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Parten v. Ford Motor Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0291%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 493 U.S. 936

## Text

BO oa Sheet, us,
FILED

') 89-4 16 sep 7 1989

~~ wre

No. CLERK

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,

ee te ee

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED
STATES

October Term, 1988

LINDA PARTEN,

Petitioner,

Vv.

FORD MOTOR COMPANY, a Delaware
Corporation, and UNITED AUTOMOBILE,
AEROSPACE AND AGRICULTURAL
IMPLEMENT WORKERS OF AMERICA (UAW),
LOCAL NO. 1895,

Respondents.

On Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Tenth Circuit

Petition for Certiorari

Earl W. Wolfe

Attorney for Petitioner

110 South Hartford, Suite 123
Tulsa, Oklahoma 74120-1834

Telephone: (918) 582-3168

Preliminary Matter
Questions Presented

Did the District Court and the
Court of Appeals err in holding that a
Single instance of the grabbing and
clinching of petitioner's buttocks by a
co-worker, verbal inquiries by a
Supervisor into _petitioner's sex life
with her former husband and exposure to
sex-related horseplay between other
fellow employees did not constitute a
hostile, intimidating and offensive
work environment in violation of Title
VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964?

Did the District Court and the
Court of Appeals err in holding that
respondent, Ford Motor Company took
reasonable and immediate action to
discipline the co-worker who had
grabbed and clinched petitioner's
buttocks?*

*The co-worker, Joe Lundy, was a
party to this action in the District

Court. He was not a party in the Court
of Appeals.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinions Below

Jurisdictional Grounds
in This Court

Statutory Provisions

Statement of the Case

Existence of Jurisdiction Below
Reasons for Granting the Writ
Conclusion

Appendix

Opinions Below

Related Decision Below

Judgment Appealed From

Statutes

PAGE

13
25

- + “i
- mn b
Pi = "

be

— =

!
¢
“s
Ye
}
™ e a hea) = s
2 . =
‘

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Carrero v. New York Housing
Authority, 668 F.Supp.
(S.D.N.Y. 1987)

Hall v. Gus Construction Company
Inc., 842 F.2d 1010 (8th
Cir. 1988)

Henson v. City of Dundee, 682
F.2d 697 (llth Cir. 1982)

Hicks v. Gates Rubber Company
833 F.2d 1405 (10th Cir.
1987)

Katz v. Dole, 709 F.2d 251 (4th
Cir. 1983)

McKinney v. Dole, 765 F.2d
1129 (B.C. Cir. 1985)

Meritor Savings Bank v. Vinson,
106 S.Ct. 2399 (1986) 15

Moylan v. Maries County, 792
F.2d 746 (8th Cir. 1986)

Statutory Provisions

28 U.S.C. §1254(1)

28 U.S.C. §1291

28 U.S.C. §1331

28 U.S.C. §1343

42 U.S.C. §2000e

42 U.S.C. §2000e-2

42 U.S.C. §2000e-5(f) (1)
29 C.F.R. §1604.11

PAGE

18

19

20

16

19

18

, 16,20

19

PAGE

eee
He WwW

-= = *

NNN NN DN ND NY
=
~
~

Other Government Documents

PAGE

Rule 56, Fed.R.Civ.P. 12

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED
STATES

October Term, 1988

LINDA PARTEN,
Petitioner,
Vv.
FORD MOTOR COMPANY, a Delaware
Corporation, and UNITED AUTOMOBILE,
AEROSPACE AND AGRICULTURAL

IMPLEMENT WORKERS OF AMERICA (UAW)
LOCAL NO. 1895,

Respondents.

Petition for Certiorari

Opinion Below
The opinion of the Court of Appeals
(Appendix A, infra, pp A-1 to A-6) is
unreported. The order of the District
Court (Appendix B, infra, pp B-1 to
B-10) is unreported. The judgment of
the District Court appears in Appendix

C, infra, pp C-1l and C-2.

ote

Jurisdiction

The order and judgment of the
United States Court of Appeals for the
Tenth Circuit was entered on June 9,
1989. No rehearing was sought nor was
there any order granting an extension
of time within which to petition for
certiorari. The jurisdiction of this
Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§1254(1).

Statutory Provision Involved

The pertinent provisions of the
Statutes and regulations involved are
set forth in Appendix D, infra, pp. D-1l
to D-21). They include 28 U.S.C.
§1254(1), 28 U.S.C. §1291, 28 U.S.C.
§1331, 28 U.S.C. §1343, 42 U.S.C.
§2000e, 42 U.S.C. §2000e-2, 42 U.S.C.
§2000e-5(£)(1) and 29 C.F.R. §1604.11.

Statement of the Case

l. Background:

pa es

-3-

Petitioner, Linda Parten is a
female who was, on December 5, 1986, of
the age of thirty-five years. She had
commenced her employment with respon-
dent, Ford Motor Company, on January
29, 1979 as a glass handler at the Ford
Motor Company Tulsa Glass Plant. At
the same time, she became a member of
United Automobile, Aerospace and
Agricultural Implement Workers of
America (UAW), Local No. 1895, the
exclusive bargaining representative at
the Ford Glass Plant. Joe Lundy, one
of petitioner's co-workers and a
defendant in the District Court has
worked at the Ford Glass Plant in Tulsa
for approximately fourteen years and is
also a member of the UAW.

On Friday, December 5, 1986,
petitioner reported for work on the

11:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m. shift at the

-~4-
Ford Glass Plant. At that time she was
asked by her supervisor to report to a
different work station, being told she
was needed to inspect and clean glass.
While petitioner was at her work
Station talking with a co-worker, J.B.
Redus, who was taking a break from his
work, Lundy, who was working on the
same production line as a glass
handler, walked up behind Petitioner
and clinched her left buttocks.
Petitioner's testimony concerning the
incident was that "Joe Lundy walked up
behind me and grabbed me by my left
cheek, to the inside. If I hadn't had
jeans on, he would have --I-- his
fingers would have penetrated me."
Immediately prior to the incident,
Lundy indicated to J.B. Redus what he
intended to do. Redus had told Lundy

"Don't do it, Joe, Linda doesn't put up

-5-

with that shit, she'll knock the hell
out of you." After the incident,
petitioner turned and shoved or hit
Lundy and immediately reported the
incident to her supervisor Terry
Kirkland. RN

Petitioner requested that Kirkland
inform the UAW representative on duty
of the incident. Kirkland, however,
was unable to do so because there was
no union representative available at
that time. Petitioner then reported
the incident to Tom Sparks, a
Supervisor, press form operations, who
sought to calm her down and comfort her
and then attempted to have an
investigation conducted. After seating
Petitioner in his office, Sparks
attempted to locate Kay Wilson,
Superintendant of the No. 1 Shift

Operation, Fabrication. Wilson arrived

»G-

and interviewed petitioner regarding
the incident. Wilson then told
Petitioner that an investigation would
be conducted and that the proper
discipline would be carried out and
allowed her to go home because of her
emotional state following the incident.
Over the next few days management
conducted an investigation during which
time Lundy was represented by UAW
representatives. At the conclusion of
the investigation Lundy was given two
weeks off without pay for improper
conduct directed toward a fellow
employee but one week of that
Suspension was suspended in order that
Lundy could attend a one week workshop
that he had been scheduled to attend
during the disciplinary period.
Petitioner testified that after the

incident her supervisor harassed her by

=

constantly watching her. She contended
that it is the practice of Ford
management to ignore sexual harassment
and in fact condones harassment
inasmuch as Ford foremen themselves
participate in the sexual antics that
occur in the plant while they are on
duty.

. Those sexual antics include men
"hunching" women from behind in
simulated intercourse, a female
employee who grabs male employees in
the crotch, a male putting his face
down the _ front of the blouse worn by a
female employee, women employees
rubbing their breasts on male
employees, and numerous other sexually
oriented activities.

Petitioner testified that she did
not believe that Ford had properly

punished Lundy because other physical

-8-

conduct between employees at the plant
such as fighting resulted in 30 day
suspensions or in termination.

Also after the incident the
aiternate union representative, Les
Johnson sought out petitioner and
attempted to discourage her from
pursuing her complaint.

In a previous incident petitioner
had filed a written charge against
another supervisor, Doyle Simmons,
arising out of that supervisor saying
lewd things to her, asking about her
sex life with her former husband and
her divorce from her former husband.

Petitioner testified that she did
not know what had happened to her
complaint after it was filed but that
the supervisor was not disciplined and
is still employed at the Tulsa Glass

Plant.

oG-

Petitioner further contended that
the Union had assisted Lundy in
changing his description of the
incident during the course of the
investigation. Petitioner further
contended that the Union had assisted
Lundy in securing light punishment for
his harassment of petitioner and that
the Union had failed to properly
investigate the incident.

After the minimal punishment had
been imposed upon Lundy, Ford adjusted
the work schedule of Lundy and
Petitioner so that contact between the
two was a necessary job function for
the petitioner.

As a result of the sexual
harassment, petitioner incurred serious
emotional distress and mental
suffering. She testified that she had,

almost immediately following the

a}$-

incident, sought medical attention from
a family practitioner, Dr. Zulkey, and
in January or February of 1987 had
become a patient of Dr. Bruce Stanton,
a psychiatrist. who had been treating
her on a regular basis ever since. In
addition to the regtlar individual and
group psychiatric treatment, she has
been hospitalized for a period of forty
days in the psychiatric care unit of
St. Francis Hospital in 1987 and again
for a period of several weeks in the
summer of 1988. The psychiatric
treatment is attributable to the sexual
harassment of petitioner by Lundy.

2 Agency action:

Petitioner contacted the Oklahoma
Human Rights Commission, the Section
706 designated state agency of the
Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

and filed complaints against both

-ll-

respondents on December 27, 1986.
After the 180 day period for
investigation had expired, petitioner
requested Notices of Right to Sue. The
EEOC issued Notices of Right to Sue on
August 20, 1987, as to both
respondents.

Existence of Jurisdiction Below

Petitioner timely filed her Title
VII action in the United States
District Court for the Northern
District of Oklahoma on November 23,
1987. Jurisdiction was alleged under
42 U.S.C. §2000e-5(f)(1) and 28 U.S.C.
§§1331 and 1343. In her Title VII
claim petitioner sought to redress
violations of Title VII alleging that
she had been sexually harassed by
respondents and by Joe Lundy in
violation of Title VII and that the
sexual harassment had created a hostile

and offensive work environment.

«l2<

The respondents filed answers and
after discovery had been conducted both
defendants filed motions for summary
judgment under Rule 56, Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure. After being fully
briefed, the Court, on August 9, 1988,
entered its order sustaining
respondents motions for summary
judgment as to the Title VII claim only
and dimissed without prejudice the
pendent causes of action for lack of
subject matter jurisdiction. That
Order appears in Appendix B. On the
Same day the District Court entered its
judgment in favor of the respondents
and that judgment appears in Appendix
Cc.

Petitioner timely filed notice of
appeal and appealed the District
Court's Order and Judgment to the

United States Court of Appeals to the

-13-

Tenth Circuit as provided in 28 U.S.C.
§1291. After full briefing a panel of
the Tenth Circuit, in an unpublished
order affirmed the District Court.
That order and judgment dated June 9,
1989, appear in Appendix A.

Reasons for Granting the Writ

In this case the Court of Appeals
for the Tenth Circuit has held that the
sexual contact made by Lundy toward the
petitioner together with the previous
inquiries by a supervisor concerning
petitioner's sexual relationship with
her former husband and the exposure to
the sexual antics occurring within the
plant on a regular basis do not
constitute a hostile, intimidating and
offensive work environment in violation
of Title VII. In so doing the Court of
Appeals has not only found itself at

variance with its own leading decision

y
a
?

¥

-14-

in the field of hostile work environ-
ment resulting from sexual harassment
in Title VII but also finds itself at
variance with the holdings of other
circuits, this Court and the regula-
tions promulgated by the Equal
Employment Opportunity Commission for
the handling of sexual harassment
cases.

Petitioner submits that the Court
of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit has
rendered a decision in this case which
is in conflict with the decisions of
other federal courts of appeals on the
same matter and has decided an
important question of federal law which
has not been fully settled by this
Court and, in fact, is in conflict with
the applicable decisions of this
Court. For those reasons, which will

be more fully amplified in this

=) S-

section of this Petition for
Certiorari, the petitioner requests
that the Supreme Court grant Certiorari
and review the decision of the Tenth
Circuit in this case.

The leading decision of the Supreme
Court in the field of sexual harassment

is Meritor Savings Bank v. Vinson, 106

S.Ct. 2399 (1986). In that decision
this Court held that a claim of
"hostile environment” sexual harassment
is a form of sex discrimination that is
actionable under Title VII. This Court
further held that the Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission Guidelines fully
Support the view that sexual harassment
leading to non-economic injury can

violate Title VII and that Vinson's

allegations were sufficient to state a
Claim for hostile environment sexual

harassment. The Court agreed that the

o16<

case should be remanded for consider-
ation under the hostile environment
theory and held that the the proper
inguiry focuses on the unwelcomeness of
the conduct rather than the voluntar-
iness of the victim's participation.
This Court further held that the Court
of Appeals in that case had erred in
concluding that employers are always
automatically liable for sexual
harassment by their supervisor/
employees.

Curiously the Tenth Circuit cited

its decision in Hicks v. Gates Rubber

Company, 833 F.2d 1405 (10th Cir. 1987)
as authority for its decision in this
case in addition to this Court's

decision in Meritor Savings Bank vs.

Vinson, Supra. In Hicks the sexual
harassment complained of by Hicks was
that her supervisor, Gleason, squeezed

her buttocks one time and touched her

RE ie

rT WU aes o, ‘

on} Fen
breasts on another occasion. She also
produced evidence that a number of
other employees had been sexually
harassed by the same supervisor. That
evidence adduced by Hicks in her case
is not remarkably dissimilar to the
evidence introduced by the petitioner
in response to the motions for summary
judgment. Here petitioner had been
grabbed or clinched in the buttocks
area by Lundy, had been subjected to a
Supervisor's lewd remarks and inquiries
concerning her sex life with her iaidiieae
husband and had been exposed to a
pervasive atmosphere of sexual antics
within the Ford Glass Plant involving
other employees, including both
Supervisors and union members. There
is not a sufficient dissimilarity
between the facts in the Hicks case and

the facts in this case to warrant the

3
5

-18-
finding of a hostile environment on the
one hand and the the finding of no
hostile environment on the other.

Other circuits have likewise found
similar conduct to be actionable under
Title VII as hostile environment sexual
harassment. Thus, the Court of Appeals
for the District of Columbia Circuit,

in McKinney v. Dole, 765 F.2d 1129

(B,¢. Car. 1985) found a hostile
environment where an FAA supervisor had
exposed himself to a female employee on
One occasion and on another occasion
had rubbed up against her and asked for
sexual favors.

In Carrero v. New York City Housing

Authority, 668 F.Supp. (S.D. N.Y. 1987)

the District Court found a hostile
environment where a supervisor had
fondled an employee's knee, kissed her

on the neck and attempted to kiss her

on the lips.

Nt! Cana ii Sa Ritalin oe laliad

a SS tes Tate Death ias Lea inl De a ae tithig irhathen 2 ce

=19-

In Katz v. Dole, 709 F.2d. 251 (4th

Cir. 1983) the Court of Appeals found
evidence of sexual slurs, insult and
innuendo in the work place and verbal
sexual harassment sufficient to
constitute a hostile environment sexual
harassment under Title VII.

The Eighth Circuit in Hall v. Gus

Construction Company, Inc., 842 F.2d

1010 (8th Cir. 1988), found a hostile
environment where female traffic
controllers at a road construction site
had been subjected to verbal sexual
harassment by male employees’ and had
been subjected to physical touching and
other indignities in the work place
with knowledge of the supervisory
personnel. Also in the Eighth Circuit

case of Moylan v. Maries County, 792

F.2d 74€ (8th Cir. 1986), hostile

environment sexual harassment was found

=IRe

in sexual advances upon an ambulance
district employee by the county sheriff
including an alleged rape.

In Henson v. City of Dundee, 682

F.2d 697 (llth Cir. 1982), relied upon
by the trial court in its order
appearing at Appendix B and by this

Court in Meritor Savings Bank v.

Vinson, supra, the hostile environment
was held to be sufficient where the
evidence pevenied daily inquiries by
Supervisory personnel _ into the sexual
habits and proclivities of two female
employees.

The Court of Appeals in this. case
appeared to rely heavily upon the idea
that this was a Single isolated
incident that was dealt with swiftly,
reasonably and appropriately. The

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

%
4
&

-2li-

=

issued Notice No. N-915.035 on October
25, 1988, under the subject "Policy
Guidance on Current Issues of Sexual
Harassment." At pages 14-16 the
commission said, in part, as follows:
"Isolated Instances of
Harassment- Unless the conduct
is quite severe, a single

incident or isolated incidents
of offensive sexual conduct or

remarks generally do not
create an abusive environ-
ment. As the Court noted in

Vinson "mere utterance of an
ethnic or racial epithet which
engenders offensive feelings
in the employee would not
affect the conditions of
employees to a sufficiently
Significant degree to violate
Title VII." 106 S.Ct. at 2406
(quoting Rogers _v. EEOC, 454
F.2d 234, 4&£E.P.D. 7597 (5th
Cir. 1971), cert denied, 406
U.S. 957, 4 E.P.D.

7838 (1972) ***,

But a single, unusually severe
incident of harassment may be
sufficient to constitute a
Title VII violation; the more
severe the harassment, the
less need to show a repetitive
series of incidents. This is
particularly true when the
harassment is physical. Thus,
in Barrett v. Omaha National

~22@

Bank, 584 F.Supp. 22, 35
F.E.P. cases 585 (D. Neb.
1883), aff'd, 726 F.2d 424, 33
E.P.D. 34,132 (8th Cir. 1984),
one incident consituted
actionable sexual harassment.
The harasser talked to the
plaintiff about sexual act-
ivities and touched her in an
offensive manner while they
were inside a vehicle from
which she could not escape.

The Commission will
presume that the unwelcome,
‘ intentional touching of a
5 charging parties intimate body
areas is sufficiently offen-
Sive to alter the condition of
: her working environment and
A constitute a violation of
: Title VII. More so than in
the case of verbal advances or
remarks, a single unwelcome
physical advance can seriously
poison the viccim's working

3
4
%
=
‘
:
3
ot

*
4

:

PIAS

environment. eek When the
victim is the target of both
verbal and non-intimate

physical conduct, the hosti-
lity of the environment is
exacerbated and a violation is
more likely to be found.
Similarly, incidents of sexual
harassment directed at other
employees in addition to the
charging parties are relevant
to a showing of hostile work
environment. ***"

The Court of Appeals found that the

petitioner's employer, Ford Motor

~23-

Company, further relocated plaintiff so
that she would not have to contact the
offending person. That finding is
directly and diametrically opposed to
the evidence that was presented which
indicated that after the period of
Lundy's punishment was over he had
indeed been placed in an area where
petitioner had to come in constant
contact with Lundy in the performance
of her duties.

While - recognizing that the contact
Lundy made upon petitioner was indeed
offensive, the Court of Appeals found
that Ford had acted reasonably and
immediately to protect the environment
in which plaintiff works and to insure
that such an incident would not be
repeated. That again is diametrically
opposed to the fact that petitioner was
watched by her supervisors, that she

was placed in a position where she was

-24-
to be in contact with Lundy in the
daily performance of her duties and
that Lundy got off with what could at
best be described as a slap on the
wrist.

Finally, the Court of Appeals
stated that Ford could not be said to
have condoned the activities of other
employees because Ford was unaware that
it occurred. The extensive and
pervasive activities described by J.B.
Redus and petitioner in their
deposition testimony which was called
to both the attention of the District
Court and the Court of Appeals clearly
show that Ford Motor Company could only
have been approaching its work place
with an ostrich-like attitude if it was
unaware of the sexual activities
occurring in its own plant and
participated in by its own supervisory

personnel.

pe so “4, su 5 ES Bye sca

oe Cate astm tne tig age eat 7,

atiu

Petitioner therefore submits’ that
this Court should grant certiorari to
the United States Court of Appeals for
the Tenth Circuit and review the
decision of that Court in this case.
Upon such review petitioner suggests to
the Court that the Court will be able
to resolve the different approaches
being taken by the various circuit
courts and to some extent the district
courts in their determination of what
constitutes hostile environment sexual
harassment under Title VII of the Civil
Rights Act of 1964.

Conclusion

Petitioner submits that it is a
matter of substantial public importance
and concern that the protection
intended by the Congress in adopting
Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of

1964 insofar as it pertains to sexual

x
harassment and as set forth in the EEOC
guidelines as well as this Court's

decision in Meritor Savings Bank v.

Vinson, supra, not be eroded by
decisions of the lower courts that are
inconsistent therewith. For these
reasons it is respectfully submitted
that this petition for writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Earl W. Wolfe ,
Attorney for the Petitioner
Hartford Building, Suite 123
110 South Hartford *

Tulsa, Oklahoma 74120-1834
(918) 582-3168

CERTIFICATE OF MAILING

I hereby certify that on this 7th
day of September, 1989, a true and
correct copy of the above and foregoing
Petition for Writ of Certiorari was
deposited in the U.S. Mail First Class,
having postage prepaid to the following
attorney:

J. Ronald Petrikin

Attorney for Ford Motor Company
2000 4th National Bank Bldg.
Tulsa, Oklahoma 74119

and

a2F~

Joseph R. Farris
Attorney for UAW

525 South Main

Suite 1400

Tulsa, Oklahoma 74103

En» og—

Earl W. Wolfe

I

RESIS IRE NL os SGA RENE LS. CPPS CNIS te SIDER ae aaa

A-1

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

LINDA PARTEN,

)
)

Plaintiff- )

Appellant, )
)

vs. ) No. 88-2376

) (D.C. No. 87-C-
) 987-B)
)

(N.D. Oklahoma)
FORD MOTOR COMPANY, )
a Delaware Corpora-)
tion; UNITED AUTO- )
MOBILE, AEROSPACE )
AND AGRICULTURE )
IMPLEMENT WORKERS )
OF AMERICA (UWA), )
LOCAL 1895; JOE )
LUNDY, )
)
)
)

Defendants-
Appellees.

ORDER AND JUDGMENT*

Submitted on the Briefs:

*This order and judgment has no
precedential value and shall not be
cited, or used by any court within the
Tenth Circuit, except for purposes of
establishing the doctrines of the law
of the case, res judicata, or
eaten estoppel. 10th Cir. R.
6.3.

Before MOORE, ANDERSON, and _ BRORBY,
Circuit Judges.

After Z examining the briefs and
appellate pbaeel, this panel has
determined ‘unanimously that oral
argument would not materially assist
the determination of this appeal. See
Fed. R. App. P. 34(a); 10th Cir. R
34.1.3. The cause is therefore ordered
submitted without oral argument.

This is an appeal from the granting
of a motion for summary judgment.
Plaintiff contended defendants were
liable under Title VII for actions
resulting in- the creation of a hostile
working environment. Plaintiff
asserted an offensive touching of her
by a fellow employee constituting
sexual harassment was improperly
investigated and punished by the

defendants.

A-3

The trial court concluded plaintiff
could not establish, as a matter of
law, that the isolated instances of
which plaintiff complained were
sufficient to constitute an actionable
claim; therefore, the court granted
summary judgment for the defendants.
We agree with the trial court's
analysis.

There is no dispute that the
precipitating event was an isolated
incident. Defendant Ford Motor Company
dealt with the offending employee
swiftly and severely. Ford further
relocated plaintiff so that she would
not have to contact the offending
person.

Plaintiff argues, however, that
Placing this incident in context with
other circumstances shows there is a
genuine controversy over the nature of

the environment in the workplace. She

A-4

asserts that on an occasion prior to
the touching incident, another employee
made comments to her that had sexual
overtones. Plaintiff also asserts Ford
ignores sexual harassment because it
condones "sexual antics [between
employees] in the plant while on duty."

Whether the question of the
suggestive comments was presented in
the motion for summary judgment is
problematic. The trial court did not
specifically rule upon the issue, but
the record shows plaintiff's admission
she did not report the incident to her
employer, and that she "felt [the
incident) was over with.” The trial
court did hold, however, that plaintiff
was not personally involved in the
"sexual antics” other than as an
observer, and no one, including
Plaintiff or those directly involved,

complained to Ford about the conduct.

A-5

We agree with the district court
that to be actionable under Title VII,
sexual harassment must be “severe,”
“pervasive,” and it must result in the
alteration of the conditions of the

victim's working environment. Meritor

Savings Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57

(1986); Hicks v. Gates Rubber Co., 833

F.2d 1405 (10th Cir. 1987). Neither of
the incidents which personally involved
plaintiff could be described as
"pervasive," nor was plaintiff's
working environment adversely affected
as a consequence of offensive ‘conduct.
In the one instance in which the
employer was made aware of the offense,
it took immediate curative action. In

the other instance, plaintiff took no

steps to bring the offensive conduct to
the attention of her employer. Like
the instances of horseplay between

consenting persons, it cannot -be said

i

A-6

Ford "condoned" this activity because
Ford was unaware it occurred.

The touching which plaintiff

endured was without question
offensive. Notwithstanding, the
defendants took reasonable and
immediate action to protect the

environment within which plaintiff
works and to insure this or a similar
incident will not be repeated. Asa
consequence, plaintiff has no-
legitimate Title VII claim against her
employer or union, and the trial court
correctly granted summary judgment.
AFFIRMED.
Entered for the Court

John P. Moore
Circuit Judge

- PEO BS tae: AC OE AN

B-1

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

LINDA PARTEN,

Plaintiff,

V- No. 87-C-987-B

eee ee ee ee ee

FORD MOTOR COMPANY,
a Delaware Corporation; )
UNITED AUTOMOBILE, )
AEROSPACE AND AGRICUL- )
TURAL IMPLEMENT WORKERS )
OF AMERICA (UAW), LOCAL)
#1985; and JOE LUNDY, )
)

Defendants. )

ORDER

This matter comes before the Court
on Defendants' Motion for Summary
Judgment, on Defendants’ Motion to
Strike, and on Defendants’ motion under
Local Rule 15(a) to enter summary
judgment based on Plaintiff's failure
to respond. Also before the Court is
Plaintiff's request to have the pendent
state claims remanded to the _ state
court if the Court grants Defendants'

Motion for Summary Judgment on

Plaintiff's Title VII cause of action.

—————L | = Re ee en a ee eo ee ee 2 a ° et ake tae _

B-2
Because this Court finds that the
Motion for Summary Judgment on
Plaintiff's Title VII claim should be
granted on the merits, Defendants'
other two motions are moot.

Plaintiff Linda Parten began
working at Defendant Ford Motor Company
glass plant in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and
became a member of the Defendant United
Automobile Aerospace and Agricultural
Implement Workers of America (UAW) on
January 29, 1979. On Friday, December
S, 1986, Plaintiff reported for work on
the 11 P.M. to 7 A.M. shift at the
plant. Plaintiff contends that during
her shift and while she was working, a
co-worker, Defendant Lundy, came up
behind her and grabbed and clinched her
buttocks. Plaintiff shoved Defendant
Lundy and immediately reported the

incident to Supervisor Terry Kirkland.

Defendant Lundy contends his touching

ee ee

B-3

was nothing more than a coach's pat to
get Plaintiff's attention to move out
of his way in the aisle. For the
purpose of this analysis, the
Plaintiff's description of the incident
will be considered true. Plaintiff was
told by supervisors that an
investigation would be conducted and
that proper discipline would follow.

In imposing discipline, management
considered that Lundy had been an
employee for thirteen years and had no
previous disciplinary record.
(Affidavit of Gene Hines, 415). Lundy
was disciplined by Management’ for
improper conduct concerning a_ fellow
employee with two weeks suspension
without pay. However, one week of the
Suspension, Lundy was permitted to
attend a job-related seminar away from
the Ford plant. Plaintiff is now

working in another division of the

B-4

plant where she is not in close contact

with Defendant Lundy.

Plaintiff herein alleges (1) sexual
harassment in violation of Title VII of
the Civil Fights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.
§$2000e, (2) assault and battery, and
(3) intentional infliction of emotional
distress; counts (2) and (3) are

pendent claims.

Defendants have moved for summary
judgment on Plaintiff's Title VII
claim. Summary judgment pursuant to
Fed.R.Civ.P. 56 is appropriate where
"there is no genuine issue as to any
material fact and that the moving party
is entitled to judgment as a matter of
law.” Where there is an absence of
material issues of fact, then the
movant is entitled to judgment as a

matter of law. Celotex Corp. vy.

Catrett, 477 U.S. 317. 106 S.Ct. 2548,
91 L.£d.26 265, 274 (1986); Anderson v.

B-5

Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 106

S.Ct. 2505, 91 L.E.2d 202 (1986);

Windon Third Oil and Gas vy. Federai

Deposit Insurance Corporation, 805 F.2d

342 (10th Cir. 1986); Commercial Iron &

Metal Co. v. Bache & Co., Inc., 478

F.2d 39, 41 (10th Cir. 1973); and Ando

v. Great Western Sugar Company, 475

F.2d 531, 535 (10th Cir. 1973).
"Title VII of the Civil Rights Act
of 1964 makes it ‘an unlawful

employment practice for an employer. .

° to discriminate against any
individual with respect to his
compensation, terms, conditions, or

privileges of employment, because of
such individual's race, color,
religion, sex, or National origin.’ 42

U.S.C. §2000e(a)(1).* Meritor Savings

Bank, FSB v. Vinson, 106 S.Ct. 2399

(1986). Although there may be many

forms of sexual harassment, the courts

a

B-6
seem to classify two categories: (1)
harassment in which a supervisor
demands sexual favors in exchange for
job benefits (quid pro quo), and (2)
harassment that creates an offensive

environment. Katz v. Dole, 709 F.2d

251 (4th Cir. 1983); Henson v. City of

Dundee, 682 F.2d 897 (llth Cit. 1982),

and Meritor Savings Bank, FSB vy.

Vinson, supra.

Plaintiff contends that she falls
within the second category because she
was required to work in “an abusive
environment.” Plaintiff cites several
references to depositions which
reflects that she was visually exposed
to certain co-workers, both male and
female, occasionally engaging in

incidents of sex-related horseplay such

as: Fellow union employees, often on
the instigation of particular female

employees, would grab each other's

| i

B-7

crotches (James B- Redus deposition, p.

57; Linda Parten deposition, p. 157).

The employees who participated in such

conduct did so without complaint and

Plaintiff made no complaint nor was she
Girectly involved prior to the Lundy
incident.

Occasional crude sex-related
behavior which creates an unpleasant,
if not disruptive work environment,
does not necessarily constitute a
violation of Title VII. The facts and
circumstances of each case must be
examined because the hostile work
environment which creates a violation
of Title VII must exist because of

Giscrimination. Barnes v. Costle, 561

F.2d 983 (9.¢.Cifc. 1977); Meritor

Savings Bank, FSB v. Vinson, supra.

The harassment which creates the
abusive environment must be for the

purpose of singling out a particular

NN ff ET

B-8
person or group of persons for adverse

treatment based on their sex. Henson

v. City of Dundee, supra. The Henson
case asks the question, but for her
sex, would plaintiff have been singled
out? In her seven years of employment
with Ford Motor Company, except for two
possible isolated instances, she was
not singled out for sexual harassment.*
The Court has examined the _ two
alleged instances where Plaintiff
contends she was singled out and
harassed based on her sex. The Court
holds these two instances do not rise
to "an intimidating, hostile and

offensive working environment.” Katz

v. ~Dole, 709 F.2d 251 (4th Cir. 1983).

*The two alleged instances are _ the
grabbing incident concerning this suit
and a prior incident when a supervisor
asked her about her sex life with her
ex-husband.

B-9
These instances, although offensive,

were isolated and not sufficiently

pervasive and persistent to
unreasonably interfere with an
individual's performance. Arnold v.

City of Seminole, 614 F.Supp. 853 (N.D.

Okla. 1985); Henson v. Dundee, supra.

Defendants' Motion for Summary Judgment
on Plaintiff's Title VII claim is
hereby granted.

Plaintiff has requested the Court
to "remand" the pendant claims to the
state court. Plaintiff cites no
authority for this Court to transfer a
case to the state court which was
originally filed in federal court. The

request is denied. See, McLaughlin v.

Arco, 721 F.2d 426 (3rd Cit. 1983).
Plaintiff's pendent state claims are
dismissed without prejudice for lack of

subject matter jurisdiction.

B-10
DATED this 8th day of August, 1988.

s/Thomas R. Brett

THOMAS R. BRETT
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

C-1

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

LINDA PARTEN,

Plaintiff,

FORD MOTOR COMPANY, a
Delaware Corporation;
UNITED AUTOMOBILE
_AEROSPACE AND AGRICUL-
TURAL IMPLEMENT WORKERS )
OF AMERICA (UAW), LOCAL)
#1895, and JOE LUNDY, )

)
)
)
)
Vv. ) No. 87-C-987-B
)
)
)
)
)

)
Defendants. )

JUDGMENT

Pursuant to the Order Sustaining
the Motions for Summary Judgment on
Plaintiff's Title VII claim entered
this date, Judgment is hereby entered
in favor of. Defendants, Ford Motor
Company, _ a Delaware corporation, United
Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural
Implement Workers of American (UAW),
Local #1895, and JOE LUNDY, and against
Plaintiff, Linda Parten, on the Title
VII claim. The pendent state claims

are dismissed without prejudice for

C-2
want of subject matter jurisdiction.

The parties are directed to pay
their own respective costs and attorney
fees.

DATED this 8th day of August, 1988.

s/Thomas R. Brett

THOMAS R. BRETT
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

28 U.S.C. §1254:

Cases in the courts of appeals may
be reviewed by the Supreme Court by the
following methods:

(1) By writ of certiorari granted

upon the petition of any party to

any civil or criminal case, before
or after rendition of judgment or
decree;

ek

28 U.S.C. §1291:

The courts of appeals (other than
the United States Court of Appeals for
the Federal Circuit) shall have
jurisdiction of appeals from all final
decisions of the district courts of the
United States, the United States
District Court for the District of the
Canal Zone, the District Court of Guam,
and the District Court of the Virgin

Islands, except where a direct review

D-2

may be had in the Supreme Court. The
jurisdiction of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Federal Circuit
shall be limited to the jurisdiction
described in sections 129l(c) and (d)
and 1295 of this title.

28 U.S.C. §1331:

The district courts shall have
original jurisdiction of all -civil
actions arising under the Constitution,
laws, Or treaties of the United States.
28 U.S.C. §1343:

(a) The district‘courts shall have
original jurisdiction of any civil
action authorized by law to be
commenced by any person:

(1) To recover damages for injury
to his person or property, or because
of the deprivation of any right or

privilege of a citizen of the United

D-3

States, by any act ae furtherance
of any conspiracy mentioned in section
1985 of Title 42;

| (2) To recover damages from any
person who fails to prevent or to aid
in preventing any wrongs mentioned in
section 1985 of Title 42 which he had
knowledge were about to occur and power
to prevent;

(3) To redress the deprivation,
under color of any State law, statute,
ordinance, regulation, custom /or usage,
of any right, privilege or immunity
secured by the Constitution of the
United States or by any Act of Congress
providing for equal rights of citizens
or of all persons within the
jurisdiction of the United States;

(4) To recover damages or to secure
equitable or other relief under any Act

of Congress providing for the

D-4

protection of civil rights, including
the right to vote.

(b) For purposes of this section -

(1) the District of Columbia shall
be considered to be a State; and

(2) any Act of Congress applicable
exclusively to the District of Columbia
shall be considered to be a statute of
the District of Columbia.

42 U.S.C. §2000e:

(a) The term “person" includes one
Or more individuals, governments,
governmental agencies, political sub-
divisions, labor unions, partnerships,
associations, corporations, legal
representative, mutual companies,
joint-stock companies, trusts, un-
incorporated Organizations, trustees,
trustees in cases under Title ll, or

receivers.

(b) The term “employer” means a

D-5
person engaged in an industry affecting
commerce who has fifteen or more
employees for each working day in each
of twenty or more calendar weeks in the
current or preceding calendar year, and
any agent of such a person, but such
term does not include (1) the United
States, a corporation wholly owned by
the Government of the United States, an
Indian tribe, or any department or
agency of the District of Columbia
subject by statute to procedures of the
competitive service (as defined in
section 2102 of Title 5), or (2) a bona
fide private membership club (other
than a labor organization) which is
exempt from taxation under. section
50l(c) of Title 26, except that during
the first year after March 24, 1972,
persons having fewer than twenty-five
employees (and their agents) shall not

be considered employers.

kkk

(d) The term "“labor organization"
means a labor organization engaged in
an industry affecting commerce, and any
agent of such an organization, and
includes any organization of any kind,
any agency, or employee representation
committee, group, association, or plan
so engaged in which employees
participate and which exists for the
purpose, in whole or in part, of
dealing with employers concerning
grievances, labor disputes, wages,
rates of pay, hours, or other terms or
conditions of employment, and any
conference,’ general committee, joint or
system board, Or joint council so
engaged which is subordinate to a
national Or international labor

Organization.

i},

D-7

(e) A labor organization shall be
deemed to be engaged in all industry
affecting commerce if (1) it maintains
Or operates a hiring hall or hiring
office which procures employees for an
employer or procures for employees
opportunities to work for an employer,
or (2) the number of its member (or,
where it is a labor organization
composed of other labor organizations
or their representatives, if the
aggregate number of the members of such
other labor organization) is (A)
twenty-five or more during the first
year after March 24, 1972, or (8B)
fifteen or more thereafter, and such
labor organization -

(1) is the certified representative
of employees under the provisions of
the National Labor Relations Act, as

amended, or the Railway Labor Act, as

amended;

D-8

(2) although not certified, isa
national Or international labor
Organization or a local labor
Organization recognized or acting as
the representative of employees of an
employer or employers engaged in an
industry affecting commerce; or

(3) has chartered a local labor
Organization or subsidiary body which
is representing or actively seeking to
represent employees of employers within
the meaning of paragraph (1) or (2); or

(4) has been chartered by a labor
Organization representing or actively
seeking to represent employees within
the meaning of paragraph (1) or (2) as
the local or subordinate body through
which such employees may enjoy
membership or become affiliated with

such labor organization; or

D-9

(5) is a conference, general
committee, joint or system board, or
joint council subordinate to a national
or international labor organization,
which includes a labor organization
engaged in an industry affecting
commerce within the meaning of any, of
the preceding paragraphs of this
subsection.

(f) The term "employee" means an
individual employed by an employer,
except that the term "employee" shall
not include any person elected to
public office in any State or political
subdivision of any State by the
qualified voters thereof, or any person >
chosen by such officer to be on such
officer's personal staff, or an
appointee on the policy making level or

an immediate adviser with respect to

the exercise of the constitutional or

~~.

D-10
legal powers of the office. The
exemption set forth in the preceding
sentence shall _not include employees
subject to the civil service laws of a
State government, governmental agency
Or political subdivision.

(g) The term : "commerce" means
trade, traffic, commerce, transporta-
tion, transmission, or communication
among the several States; or between a
State and any place outside thereof; or
within the District of Columbia, or a
possession of the United States; or
between points in the same State but
through a point outside thereof.

(h) The term "“irddustry affecting
commerce" means any activity, business,
Or industry in plone ox in which a
labor dispute would hinder or obstruct
commerce or the free flow of commerce

and includes any activity or industry

D-11

"affecting commerce” within the meaning
of the Labor-Management Reporting and
Disclosure Act of 1959, and ‘further
includes any governmental industry,
business, or activity.

eke

(k) The terms “because of sex" or
"on the basis of sex" include, but are
not limited to, because of or on the
basis of pregnancy, childbirth, or
related medical conditions shall be
treated the same for all employment-
related purposes, including receipt of
benefits under fringe benefit programs,
as other persons not. so affected but
Similar in their ability or inability
to work, and nothing in section
2000e-2(h) of this title shall be
interpreted to permit otherwise. This
subsection shall not require an

employer to pay for health insurance

D-12

benefits for abortion, except where the
life of the mother would be endangered
if the fetus were carried to term, or
except where medical complications have
arisen from an abortion: Provided,
That nothing herein shall preclude an
employer from ‘providing abortion
benefits or otherwise affect bargaining
agreements in regard to abortion.

42 U.S.C. §2000e-2:

(a) It shail be an unlawful
employment practice for an employer -

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to
discharge any individual, or otherwise
to / discriminate against any individual
with respect to his compensation,
terms, conditions, or privileges of
employment, because of such
individual's race, color, religion,

sex, Or national origin; or

(2) to limit, segregate, or

D-13

Classify his employees or applicants
for employment in any way which would
deprive or tend to deprive any
individual of employment opportunities
or otherwise adversely affect his
status as an employee, because of such
individual's race, color, religion,
sex, or national origin.

(c) It shall be an unlawful
employment practice for a labor
Organization -

kkk

(3) to cause or attempt to cause an
employer to discriminate against an
individual in violation of this
section.

42 U.S.C. §2000e-5(f)(1): -

If within thirty days after a
charge is filed with the Commission or
within thirty days after expiration of

any period of reference under. sub-

D-14
section (c) or (d) of this section, the
Commission has been unable to secure
from the respondent a conciliation
agreement acceptable to the Commission,
the Commission may bring a civil action
against any respondent not a govern-
ment, governmental agency, or political
subdivision, named in the charge. In
the case of a respondent which is a
government, governmental agency, or
political subdivision, if the
Commission has been unable to secure
from the respondent a conciliation
agreement acceptable to the Commission,
the Commission shall take no further
action and shall refer the case to the
Attorney General who may bring a civil
action against such respondent in the
appropriate United States district
court. The person or persons aggrieved

shall have the right to intervene ina

D-15
civil action brought by the Commission
or the Attorney General in a case
involving a government, governmental
agency, or political subdivision. If a
charge filed with the Commission
pursuant to subsection (b) of this
section is dismissed by the Commission,
or if within one hundred and eighty
days from the filing of such charge or
the expiration of any period of
reference under subsection (c) or (d)
of this section, whichever is later,
the Commission has not filed a civil
action under this section or _the
Attorney General has not filed a civil
action in a case involving a
government, governmental agency, or
political subdivision, Or the
Commission has not entered into a

conciliation agreement to which the

person aggrieved is a party, the

D-16€
Commission or the Attorney General in a
case involving a government, govern-
mental agency, or political subdivi-
sion, shall so notify the person
aggrieved and within ninety days after
the giving of such notice a civil
action may be brought against the
respondent named in the charge (A) by
the person claiming to be aggrieved or
(B) if such charge was filed by a
member of the Commission, by any person
whom the charge alleges was aggrieved
by the alleged unlawful employment
practice. Upon application by the
complainant and in such circumstances
as the court may deem just, the court
may appoint an attorney for such
complainant and may authorize the
commencement of the action without the
payment of fees, costs, or security.

Upon timely application, the court may,

D-17

in its discretion, permit the
Commission, or the Attorney General in
a case involving a government,
governmental agency, or political
subdivision, to intervene in such civil
action upon certification that the case
is of general public importance. Upon
request, the court may, in its
discretion, stay further proceedings
for not more than sixty days, pending
the termination of State or local
proceedings described in subsection (c)
or (d) of this section or further
efforts of the Commission to obtain
voluntary compliance.

29 C.F.R. §1604.11:

(a) Harassment on the basis of sex
is a violation of Sec. 703 of Title
VII.* Unwelcomed sexual advances,
requests, for sexual favors, and other
verbal or physical conduct of a sexual

nature constitute sexual harassment

D-18

when (1) submission to such conduct is
made either explicitly or implicitly a
term or condition of an individual's
employment, (2) submission to or
rejection of such conduct by an
individual is used as the basis for
employment decisions affecting such
individual, or (3) such conduct has the
purpose or effect of unreasonably
interfering with an individual's work
performance or creating an intimi-
dating, hostile, or offensive working
environment.

(b) In determining whether alleged
conduct constitutes sexual harassment,
the Commission will look at the record
as a whole and at the totality of the
circumstances, such as the nature of
the sexual advances and the context in
which the alleged incidents occurred.

The determination of the legality of a

S cesiihies D-19
particular action will be made from the
facts, on a case by case basis.

(c) Applying general Title VII
principles, an employer, employment
agency, joint apprenticeship committee
Or labor organization (hereinafter
collectively referred to as "“employer")
is responsible for its acts and those
of its agents and supervisory employees
with respect to sexual harassment
regardless of whether the specific acts
complained of were authorized or even
forbidden by the employer and
regardless of whether the employer knew
or should have known of their
occurence. The Commission will examine
the circumstances of the particular
employment relationship and the job
functions performed by the individual

acts in either a supervisory or agency

capacity.

D-20

(d) With respect to conduct between
fellow employees, an employer is
responsible for ects of sexual harass-
ment in the workplace where the
employer (or its agents or supervisory
employees) knows or should have known
of the conduct. Unless it can show
that it took-immediate and appropriate
corrective action.

(e) An employer may also be
responsible for the acts of
non-employees, with respect to sexual
harassment of employees in the
workplace, where the employer (or its
agents or supervisory employees) knows
or should have known of the conduct and
fails to take immediate and appropriate
corrective action. In reviewing these
cases the Commission will consider the
extent of the employer's control and

any other legal responsibility which

D-21
the employer may have with respect to
the conduct of such non-employees.

(£) Prevention is the best tool for
the elimination of sexual harassment.
An employer should take all steps
necessary to prevent sexual harassment
from occurring, such as affirmatively
raising the subject, expressing strong
disapproval, developing appropriate
sanctions, informing employees of their
right to raise and how to raise the
issue of harassment under Title VII,
and developing methods to sensitize all
concerned.

(g) Other related practices: Where
employment opportunities or benefits
are granted because of an individual’s
submission to the employer's’ sexual
advances or requests for sexual favors,
the employer may be held liable for

unlawful sex discrimination against

D-22

other persons who were qualified for

but denied

or benefit.

that employment opportunity

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0291%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
