# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Poss v. Howard

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0266%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 493 U.S. 1002

## Text

F. SPANIOL, JR.

, CLERK

rl

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1989

ROBERT POSS, et al.
Petitioners-Appellants

MICHAEL HOWARD, et al.,
Plaintiffs-Respondents

™e

JOHN L. McLUCAS, et al.,

Defendants-Respondents

"™
-

~ PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

ns
—

Epwarb T. M. GarLAND
The Garland Firm, P.C.
92 Luckie Street, N.W.
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
(404) 577-2225

Counsel of Record

Of Counsel:

Hunter R. HUGHES
Rogers & Hardin

2700 Cain Tower

229 Peachtree Street, N.E.
Atlania, Georgia 30303
(404) 522-4700

August 31, 1989

Rosin N. Loes

The Garland Firm, P.C.

92 Luckie Street, N.W.

Atlanta, Georgia 30303
(404) 577-2225

Counsel for Petitioner

Lex Publishing Company, 2161 Monroe Dr., Atlanta, Georgia 30324 (404) 875-5140

“ln >

- s 7 ew 7 an fs ~ a = 7 = “|S Phy tone fn oe i A
s
—,
-
» mF
- r #

QUESTIONS PRESENTED
1. Whether a consent decree which sets aside promotional positions
solely for blacks based upon a predicate of a statistically significant
underutilization of blacks violates Title VII and the Constitution?

2. If such statistical underutilization is a sufficient predicate to
permit a racial set-aside, was this consent decree sufficiently nar-
rowly drawn to comply with Title VII and the Constitution?

ii
LIST OF PARTIES

Trial Judge
Wilbur D. Owens, Jr.

Attorneys
Jack Greenberg
Ronald L. Ellis
Bill Lann Lee
Thomas M. Jackson
Charles A. Mathis, Jr.
Anne L. Weismann
John L. Lynch
Joseph F. Henderson
Perry L. Anderson
Michael A. Deep
Edward T. M. Garland
Robin N. Loeb
Hunter R. Hughes

Organizations Representing Parties

NAACP Legal Defense Educational Fund

Center for Law In The Public Interest

Erion, Exum, Mathis & Wootan

U. S. Department of Justice

The Garland Firm, P.C.

Rogers & Hardin

American Federation of Govemment Employees,
AFL-CIO

U. S. Air Force

The Wamer Robins Constitutional Rights Fund, Inc.
(A nonprofit organization containing over 1100
members)

Parties
Michael Howard, Named Plaintiffs and Class of Black Employ-
ees of Wamer Robins Air Logistics Center (WR-ALC)

vac!

iii
Robert Poss, 137 Named Intervenors-Appellants, and other

Non-Black Employees of Wamer Robins Air Logistics Center
(WR-ALC) Affected by the Consent Decree

The United States of America
The United States Air Force

Vv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
II... cssscaisaecreiiacniaiacanaiedll i
a ccessssnanciinleouameseiaieiall ii
I ooo ca ca cnc cccnsncncessecessosescevencecennnenns v
a. cssamssionsecninninuamnnaneld vii
OPINIONS BELOW ...0.......cccscsseesseeeenee RTE ta eR k 2
a ccleccdla destinies 2
STAR a eee LE. 3
CI a siciicscisccennsnk ens cscscnssscerenerearnernes 3
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .......ccssssecssssesssseeeseees 11

I. The Decision Below Presents an Important Federa! Ques-
tion That Has Not Been, But Should Be, Decided
Nadas iattnsnienlsiitiseaateinebinniseieniedibadinhaintnibiageepentinhneens 11

II. The Decision Below Conflicts With The Decisions Of
This Court With Regard To The Predicate Required
gE RE ARTE EE AC 14

A. The Decision of the Eleventh Circuit is In-
consistent With The Constitutional Standards

SRS Ty THIS CIE ...xscnrsccsresccreescscscsiiscccscsees 14
1. This Court’s Prior Constitutional

Affirmative Action Decisions ....................cc0e 14

2. The Eleventh Circuit Decision ...................00008 17

B. The Decision Of The Eleventh Circuit Is In-
consistent With The Title VII Standards Es-

I Ie IN INU acencaceticdcednbaiicstnnneeniniennsnnrnse 19
1. This Court’s Prior Title VII Affirma-
I I sala caesiattiatiniteeciaconanceedcennn 19

2. The Eleventh Circuit Decision ..................000 21

vi

III. The Decision Below Conflicts With The Decisions of

This Court With Regard To Narrow Tailoving ................

A. The Consent Decree Is Unconstitutional

Because It Is Not Narrowly Tailored ....................

1. The Eleventh Circuit's Failure to Con-
sider Race-Neutral Altematives
Violates Constitutional Standards Set

er NN sppceriddhaicentntannnnsatnaneemencnencsee

2. The Consent Decree Does Not Satisfy
Constitutional Standards For Identi-
fying Victims Of Racial Discrimina-

B. The Consent Decree Violates Title VII Because

It Is Not Sufficiently Narrowly Drawn. .................

APPENDIX A. Opinion of the Court of Appeals .................
APPENDIX B. Opinion of the District Court ...............e
APPENDIX C. Judgment of the Court of Appeals...............

APPENDIX D. Order Denying Motion for Rehearing and
Suggestion for Hearing En Banc.................

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Barhold v. Rodriquez, 863 F.2d 233

i ccncesenideenenansaheaneiianiin 22
Brown v. General Services Administration,

ER A 18
City of Richmond v. J. A. Croson Company, 488 U.S. ,

2 10-16, 22, 23, 24, 25
Croson v. City of Richmond,

INTEL MOMEED scsacetvsaccrsssnenasenessniabesatetaneesenisants 20
Davis v. Passman, 7

SRE I RO RN TE AERA 18
DeFunis v. Odegaard,

inca in cicimmmembaneseinhneeenenliamabean 10
Doe v. U. S. Postal Service, 37 F.E.P. Cases 1867

ai seeenapininetsnniannnntnncstansiien 18
EEOC v. Local 28 of the Sheet Metal Workers

International Association,

I EE 16
Franks v. Bowman,

SET EEE ET 24
Frontero v. Richardson,

cma senalusimennedeininialial 26
Fullilove v. Klutznick,

TNE CO TER 12, 15, 22, 24
Hammon vy. Barry,

OD a rsstmisbenmnstinalehalllica 18
Hammon v. Barry,

ST in aiescaiedintaanehnemmanninnnnnniniehibdl 27

Hammon vy. Barry,
ee ey ties acti CUPID Ge cesdnsencinenersivcinennenssnnannntsiacsonbnesn 13

viii

Hildreth v. Union News Co., 315 F.2d 548

I SII ieilslacteicncisesisimepnseunstebicidiienanteserenmnasennesnemanenennens 10
Howard v. McLucas, 597 F. Supp. 1501

I iain eaincnnsahennnernnncipngeenemnnnnnd 4,5,6
Howard v. McLucas, 671 F. Supp. 756

SN IIE sti eiieciasheeeehchlanatnnnnnangnernemnesennne 2, 6, 7, 9, 10
Howard v. McLucas, 782 F.2d 956

EE ee 2,4,9
Howard v. McLucas, 871 F.2d 1000

(En 2, 3, 4, 9, 10, 23, 25
International Brotherhood of Teamsters v.

Cesbanl Saban, SSE UB. SB6 CRG) o.accceecvsecvecevevevscsccscecscesesess 24
Johnson v. Transporiation Agency, Santa Clara County,

California, 480 U.S. 616 (1987) ............... 11-14, 19-21, 27, 28
Krenzer v. Ford, 429 F. Supp. 499

I sas ensneemsecbenuenntinedtnetio 18
Local 28, Sheet Metal Workers v. EEOC,

SO UE, ae CI icecncstscenntcnsecreseess 12, 14-17, 19, 20, 23, 26

Local 93, International Association of
Firefighters v. City of Cleveland,

I iia ce cscrnnnssennnsenasscnbinensinaition 12, 20, 23
Martin v. Wilks, US. ,

109 S.Ct. 2180 (1989) .00... iansigsivaciedadetbadidasiuainysinninbaiaiiions 14
Personnel Administrator of Massachusetts v.

as iccarstnenmannneninnecnaoncanatncen 15
Regents of the University of California v. Bakke,

EE a 10, 11, 15

San Francisco Police Officers Assn v.
San Francisco, 812 F.2d 1125 (9th Cir. 1987)... 20, 21

A’

ix

Shurberg Broadcasting of Hartford, Inc. v.
Federal Communications Commission,
SS 24

Steelworkers v. Weber,
EE 12, 20, 27

Thompson v. Sawyer, 678 F.2d 257
ne nen cnt nineeseescnnnesannciennesesssnenens 27

United States v. City of Chicago,
RI TIE, IDE sacicncececccensecssssnsesnssnsnsncesecusevesese 27

United States v. Paradise,
eB IO cxcetncecasenecenecenccecseeeeees 10, 12, 14, 16, 17, 22

Wygant v. Jackson Board of Education,
_ ee 11, 12

Youngblood v. Dalzell, 804 F.2d 360
TIT ti iat ntiaenennnchnennindnstnenananasninetnssenedbpecteanens 23

Statutes:

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,
Re NID, areccsnsccntnesececsscsenscecnensocsnensesensien passim

CS CR 23
Constitutional Amendments:

The Fifth Amendinent to the
CRISS SUMS COMSUATION ......n.....cssececsscsessecssessescossesecssess passim

Articles:

Abram, Affirmative Action: Fair Shakers and
Social Engineers, 99 Harv. L. Rev. 1312 (1986) ................... 15

Days, D., Fullilove, 96 Yale L.J. 453, 459
Sa ueTnTTInT sisbsiiieielisdeishsttietehceasheltelihadeibinabdestnainenantinasuiannensssnensnsensenees 22

Ruthieglen & Ortiz, Affirmative Action Under the
Constitition and Title Vil: From Confusion to
Convenience, 35 U.C.L.A. L. Rev. 467 (1988) .........000cccc00 27

xX

Schwartz, The 1986 and 1987 Affirmative Action
Cases: It’s All Over But The Shouting,

No.

a
~~

In The
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1989

ys
-

ROBERT POSS, et al.

Petitioners-Appellants

MICHAEL HOWARD, et al.,
Plaintiffs-Respondents
vs

JOHN L. McLUCAS, et al.,

Defendants-Respondents

ys
~~

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

La
>

The Petitioners, Robert Poss and other non-black employees of
the Warmer Robins Air Logistics Center, respectfully pray that a writ
of certiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit entered on April 27,
1989. The Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for ‘Hearing En Banc
of that opinion was denicd on Junc 2, 1989.

;
70g

2
OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit is
reported at 871 F.2d 1000 (1989), and is reprinted in the Appendix A,
infra.

The opinion of the United States District Court for the Middle
District of Georgia is reported at 671 F. Supp. 756 (1987), and is
reprinted in the Appendix B, infra.

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit
is reprinted in the Appendix C, infra. The Order Denying the Petition
for Rehearing and Suggestion of Rehearing En Banc is reprinted in
the Appendix D, infra.

JURISDICTION

The original action in this case as brought by Plaintiffs/ Re-
spondents alleges violation of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of
1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e et seq. (“Title VII’’); the Thir-
teenth Amendment and § 1 of the Civil Rights Act of 1866, 42 U.S.C.
§ 1981; the Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution (the
“Fifth Amendment”); 5 U.S.C. § 7151 and Executive Order 11478;
and 5 CFR Part 713. It was brought in the United States District
Court for the Middle District of Georgia on October 21, 1975. Sub-
ject matter jurisdiction was based on 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331, 1343(4),
1346(a), 1361, 2201, 2202 and 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-16(c). In June,
1984, a consent order and decree was executed and filed. On July 31,
1984, Petitioners moved to intervene alleging that the consent order
and decree violated their rights under Title VII and the Fifth Amend-
ment.

The District Court denied Petitioners’ motion and Petitioners
appealed to the Eleventh Circuit. The Eleventh Circuit reversed in
1986 and the case was remanded to the District Court. Howard v.
McLucas, 782 F.2d 956 (11th Cir. 1986). Petitioners thereafter moved
to vacate the promotion provisions of the consent decree. The Dis-
trict Court denied Petitioners’ motion on September 30, 1987. How-
ard v. McLucas, 671 F. Supp. 756 (M.D. Ga. 1987). See Appendix B,
infra. Intervenors appealed and on April 27, 1989, the Eleventh Cir-
Cuit entered an opinion affirming the district court’s order granting

3

full approval to the consent decree. Howard v. McLucas, 871 F.2d
1000 (11th Cir. 1989). See Appendix A, infra.

On May 17, 1989, Petitioners moved for rehearing and sugges-
tion of rehearing en banc, which motion was denied on June 2, 1989-
See Appendix D, infra.

Jurisdiction of the United States Supreme Court to review the
judgment of the Eleventh Circuit exists under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

1. The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution provides,
in pertinent part:

No person shall . . . be deprived of life, liberty, or prop-
erty without due process of law... .

2. Section 703(a)(1) and (2) of Title VII provide:

(703(a)] It shall be an unlawful employment practice
for an employer ——

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge an indi-
vidual, or otherwise to discriminate against any individ-
ual with respect to his compensation, terms, conditions,
or privileges of employment, because of such individ-
ual’s race, color, religion, sex, or national origin; or

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify his employees
or applicants for employment in any way which would
deprive or tend to deprive any individual of employ-
ment opportunitics or otherwise adverscly affect his status
as an employee, because of such individual’s race, color,
religion, sex, Or national origin.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arises from the affirmance by the Eleventh Circuit
Court of Appeals of the District Court’s denial of the Petitioners’
motion to vacate the terms of a consent decrce entered in a race dis-
crimination case which scts aside 240 promotions solely for black
employees. The Petitioners are non-black intervenors who protested
the entry of the decree alleging that it violated their rights under Title

4

VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e et seq., and
the Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution.

The original Complaint in this action was filed by a class of
black employees (the “Plaintiffs’’) alleging discrimination by the United
States (the “Government’”’) at Wamer Robins Air Logistics Center
(“WR-ALC’”). In June, 1984, a consent order and decree was filed
by the Plaintiffs and the Government. The decree set aside 240 pro-
motions solely for black employees, foreclosing all non-black em-
ployees from competing or being considered for promotion to any of
those positions. Non-black employees (the “Petitioners” or “Interve-
nors’’) sought and were denied intervention. Howard v. McLucas,
597 F. Supp. 1501 (M.D. Ga. 1984).

The District Court approved the entry of the proposed consent
order and decree, including the exclusion of the intervenors from
consideration for promotion to the 240 black-only positions. How-
ard v. McLucas, 597 F. Supp. 1504 (M.D. Ga. 1984). Intervenors
appealed and the Eleventh Circuit reversed the District Court’s de-
nial of intervention. Howard v. McLucas, 782 F.2d 956 (11th Cir.
1986).

On remand, the Petitioners’ moved to vacate the promotion
provisions of the decree. The District Court denied the motion and
approved the promotional provisions of the decree on September 30,
1987. Howard v. McLucas, 671 F. Supp. 756. Petitioner’s appealed,
challenging the decree on the basis that it violated both Title VII and
the Fifth Amendment of the Constitution. The Eleventh Circuit up-
held the race-conscious set-aside finding that it violated neither the
Constitution nor Title VII. Howard v. McLucas, 871 F.2d 1000 (11th
Cir. 1989).

The Predicate For Relief

The consent decree in dispute was founded upon a record which
contains no evidence of intentional or cgregious discrimination. To
establish a factual basis for the Court’s approval of the proposed decree,
the parties to the settlement placed before the Court certain agreed-
upon stipulations of fact. The Court’s order approving the consent
decree, reported as Howard v. McLucas, 671 F. Supp. 756 (M.D. Ga.
1987), notes that Plaintiffs’ analysis, controlling for occupational se-
ries, showed statistical dispantics in WG grade groupings 1-4, 5-8,

~~

5

9-12, and G3 grade groupings 1-4 for blacks employed from 1971
through 1979, but no statistically significant disparities in any GS
grade grouping. The Plaintiffs concluded from this analysis that 234
jobs had been lost to blacks. 671 F. Supp. at 760, 761. The record re-
veals no year-by-year breakdown of promotions indicating whether
the promotion shortfall was attributable to only one or two years or
whether the rates of promoting blacks out of the source jobs were
consistent over the relevant years.

The Goverment had earlier developed statistical evidence which
it contended reflected that no pattem existed which would indicate
that blacks were treated in a substantially different manner than non-
blacks with regard to promotions. Because the Government decided
to settle the matter and supported the decree, it did not cross-exam-
ine Plaintiffs’ experts, nor did it present its rebuttal experts to contest
the figures provided by the Plaintiffs. At no time, however, did the
Government ever admit to any discrimination. At page 2 of the con-
sent decree, it is recited that:

In agreeing to the settlement of this litigation, defen-
dants are not admitting liability, or any past or present
discrimination; but to the contrary, assert the validity of
their denial of the allegations of the complaints as well
as the validity of the defenses they asscried in connec-
tion with this litigation.

Further, in paragraph 8 of the decree, it is stated that:

Neither the terms of this settlement nor defendants’ agree-
ment to enter herein shall be interpreted as an admis-
sion or a finding by the Court that defendants’ person-
nel policies, practices, or procedures have resulted in
adverse impact on any class member or have not been
validated in a manner consistent with appropriate guide-
lines.

No evidence was presenied at any time that the statistical defi-
ciency asserted by the Plaintiffs in a small number of job categories
had anything to do with “old patterns of segregation and hierarchy.”
Indeed, the Goverment had an active affirmative action program at
WR-ALC pursuant to which special programs were implemented with
the goal that all minority groups be provided the opportunity to par-

6

ticipate fully in all employment opportunities provided at WR-ALC.
Additionally, WR-ALC had maintained an “upward mobility” pro-
gram to provide training and encouragement for all individuals in
lower-level positions to develop the skills and confidence to move
on to higher-level and better-paying jobs. Inasmuch as blacks held a
greater proportion of GS-8 positions and below, they clearly had been
the primary beneficiaries of the “upward mobility” program.

Based upon Plaintiffs’ unrebutted statistics, the Court found
that a prima facie case of discrimination existed and approved the
consent decree stating that the non-victim race-conscious relief was
clearly authorized. 671 F. Supp. at 766.

~ The Terms of the Decree

The decree entered by the Court had, among other things, the
following provisions:

(1) 240 black class members are to be promoted into 38 differ-
ent target positions from 38 specially-constructed registers consist-
ing solely of black class members;

(2) For each of the 240 promotions, ony black class members
are eligible for consideration;

(3) The promotions to be awarded on the basis of race alter-
nate with merit-based promotions of both blacks and non-blacks, such
that every other promotion is from the black-only promotion regis-
ter,

(4) Each race-conscious promotion register was created by rank-
ordering class members pursuant to a system established by the de-
cree.

The class consists of approximatcly 3,200 black employees who
were hired prior to January 1, 1980. None of these employees were
identified as having been denied any promotion to any particular position
or having been the victim of discrimination. Indeed, paragraph 15 of
the conclusions of law contained in the District Court’s order origi-
nally approving the consent decree states that:

The actual victims cannot be identified due to the very
nature of the Wamer Robins promotion scheme, i.e., there
are no applicants for promotions.

597 F. Supp. at 1514.

ll

7

Further, the parties to the decree contended that they could not
identify victims because sufficient records had not been maintained
by the Government to identify class members excluded from promo-
tion unfairly. 671 F. Supp. at 763. Unable to identify actual victims,
plaintiffs and defendants settled upon the process whereby they would
seek to approximate victim spccificity.

First, the promotions were to go to blacks who had been em-
ployed on a part- or full-time basis for at least one day between 1971
and 1979. The decree did not take into account the length of time that
the individual was employed at WR-ALC and so did not consider the
length of time to which any employee was exposed to the allegedly
discriminatory practice. a

After identifying that individual as a potential promotee, the
consent decree specifies the process by which the individual would
be rank-ordered for promotion. First, the Govemment was to iden-
tify all class members who met the minimum eligibility requirements
for the promotions as of 1983. There was no requirement, however,
that the employees be identified who met minimum eligibility re-
quirements for the positions during the 1971 through 1979 relevant
period when (s)he might be have been discriminatorily denied a promotion.

The class member is then re-ranked by weighing supervisory
appraisals as of 1983 (and not appraisals during the 1971 through
1979-relevant period). Finally, the employce is to be ranked pursuant
to his or her seniority. The seniority sstilized was the “service compu-
tation date” which is the date on which an individual first makes a
contribution toward a federal pension. This seniority includes mili-
tary service and work for any federal agency or facility. It generally
applies to any time during which onc is a federal employee. Accord-
ingly, the seniority utilized for the rank-ordering of class members
includes the employment time at WR-ALC (where the discrimina-
tion was alleged to have occurred) and other federal goverment em-
ployment including military service.

The consent decree failed to consider when a class member
moved into or out of a source position so as to be exposed to the
factors giving risc to the statistical shortfall in promotions. Class members
who were in a source position for a short period of time where there

8

was a Statistical imbalance found were given the same ranking as
class members who had been in a such a position throughout most or
all of the relevant time. The decree also did not take into account
special circumstances such as leaves of absence from WR-ALC where
a class member might not even have worked at WR-ALC for most or
all of the 1971-1979 period.

These failings could have been addressed in the decree, but
were not. To do so, the parties to the decree needed only to review
personnel files and computer records to determine the personnel actions
such as the date of hire at WR-ALC; date of promotion or demotion
out of or into a source position;~and date of any leave of absence,
suspension, or other break of service in a source position. The accu-
mulation of that data would have resulicd in a WR-ALC seniority
date bearing a close relationship to the underutilization in the case.
While it would not identify victims, it would have ensured that indi-
viduals not exposed to the offending practices were not highly ranked
for set-aside positions.

The decree agreed upon by the Plaintiffs and the Govemment
causes some of the Petitioners to be denied consideration for 50% of
the next 480 promotions to the target positions. Some Petitioners, in
fact, did receive promotions and, of necessity, those promotions were
delayed for unidentifiable periods of time, while others are being
postponed in on-going promotional processes. These postponements
reduce the compensation of affected Petitioners at the estimated value
of $1,500 per year. Additionally, the postponements affect the pen-
sion payments petitioners reccive upon retirement because, under
the Civil Service Retirement System Act and the Federal Employees
Retirement System Act of 1986, retirement benefits are computed by
averaging the high 3-years’ salary and multiplying that base by the
appropriate number of years in service. Further, if layoffs occur, delayed
promotions may mean that certain petitioners will be layed off or
downgraded who would otherwise retain their jobs. Competing employees
at WR-ALC are released for a reduction in force in inverse order of
the ranking on retention registers. Finally, because merit based pro-
motional registers are reconstituted with regularity, a promotion de-
layed is often a promotion denicd. Under the consent decree, special
promotions from the black-only promotion list are substituted for
half of the merit promotions until the number of black-only promo-

9

tional slots are filled. The promotion roster of rankings set by the
decree never changes once set. The merit promotion roster, however,
changes as often as every six months. The result of these two rosters
working in tandem is that some non-black employees who would
have been promoted but for the consent decree may be permanently
denied promotions.

Finally, there is no evidence that the parties to the decree con-
sidered any race-neutral alternatives which would have reduced the
burden of the operation of the decree upon the Petitioners. They did
not consult with the Intervenors as to alterative relief proposals but
instead went forward on the basis that race-conscious set-asides were
mandatory. i

The Ruling of the District Court

The District Court approved the decree on two grounds. First,
it found that notwithstanding the settling parties’ failure to identify
any victim of discrimination, the decree was valid as make-whole
relief. Alternatively, the District Court upheld the decree as satisfy-
ing both Title VII and constitutional requirements on the theory that
a manifest imbalance had been established and the consent decree
ensured fair treatment of minonitics and non-minorities. 671 F. Supp.
756.

The Ruling of the Court of Appeals

The Eleventh Circuit pancl first addressed the Intervenors’
constitutional challenge to the decree, finding that the decree “must
be considered equivalent to a voluntary affirmative action plan” (871
F.2d at 1006) and, therefore, a factual determination had to be made
that the government had a strong basis of evidence for its conclusion
that the plan as set out in the decree was necessary (871 F.2d at 1007).'

' Surprising!y, the panel bricfly addressed the issue of standing, stating that Peti-
tioners had tenuous standing w contest the decree because they did not prove that
any particular Intervenor was denicd a specific promotion by the operation of the
decree. In Howard v. McLucas, 782 F.2d 956 (11th Cir. 1986), the panel allowing
intervention concluded without reservation that Intervenors had standing. “Interve-
nors-Appellants claim they are incligible for these promotions solely on account of
race because non-discriminatce class members are cligible for the target positions.

10

The panel stated that the strong basis was satisfied when the district
court found that a prima facie case had been established by the statis-
tical showing. /d. Using that statistical imbalance as a predicate, the
panel found that under strict scrutiny, the racial preference was suffi-
ciently narrowly tailored to meet the requirements established by United
States v. Paradise, 480 U.S. 149 (1987).

The panel then summarily disposed of the Intervenors’ Title
VII challenge, holding that because the set-aside passed constitu-
tional muster, it could not violate Title VII.

Although the panel’s decision was issued on April 27, 1989,
the Court did not consider the Supreme Court’s January 23, 1988
decision in City of Richmond v. J. A. Croson, 109 S.Ct. 706 (1989)
assessing the constitutionality of a governmental affirmative action
plan and discussing the predicate required before a racial preference
may be approved.

\

We hold that this is sufficient to confer standing to intervene.” /d. at 959. This deci-
sion is the law of this case. See //ildreth v. Union News Co., 315 F.2d 548 (6th Cir.
1963).

no

It is not disputed thast the Intervenors have suffered some injury: both the Dis-
trict Court and the pancl found that at least 30 of the 137 named Intervenors had been
promoted to and so clearly were qualified for the target positions. See Howard v.
McLucas, 671 F. Supp. at 767 n. 4; /loward v. McLucas, 871 F.2d at 2204 n. 6. By
operation of the decree and because of their race, however, the Intervenors could
only be promoted to 50% of the target positions available. Those merit register pro-
motions were made only to every other available target position; a fortiori positions
of the Intervenors who have been promoted to target positions were delayed. See
Howard v. McLucas, 671 F. Supp. at 767; //oward v. McLucas, 871 F.2d at 1005.
This injury confers standing. Furthermore, Intcrvenors did not need to prove they
would have been promoted but for the decree: their injury arises from the decree’s
mandate that they cannot even compete for 50% of the promotions solely because of
their race. See Regents of the University of California v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265, 280 at
n. 14(1978). Such an exclusion was also found to be impermissible in City of Richmond
v. JA. Croson Company, supra, where the court found that the plan denied “certain
citizens the opportunity to compete for a fixed percentage of public contracts based
solely upon their race.” 109 S. Ct. at 721. (Emphasis added) See also DeFunis v.
Odegaard, 416 U.S. 312, 337 (1974) (Douglas, J., dissenting) (“Whatever his race,
he had a constitutional right to have his application considered on its merits in a
racially neutral manner.”)

11
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Decision Below Presents an Important Federal
Question That Has Not Been, But Should Be, Decided
By This Court.

- This case first presents an important question of federal consti-

tutional (Fifth Amendment) and Title VI! [42 U.S.C. § 2000(e) et
seq.) law which has not been, but should be, expressly decided by
this Court:

Whether a consent decree which sets aside promotional
positions solely for blacks based upon a predicate of a
statistically significant underutilization of blacks vio-
lates Title VII and the Constitution.

This Court has now firmly established the constitutional and
Title VII standard that some form of race-conscious affirmative ac-
tion relief may be based upon a sufficiently strong evidentiary predi-
cate of discrimination. Wygant v. Jackson Board of Education, 476
U.S. 267 (1986); Johnson v. Transportation Agency, Santa Clara County,
California, 480 U.S. 616 (1987).

In the constitutional sctting, this Court has on several occa-
sions considered whether the evidence in the record would support a
race-conscious set-aside. In three such cases, governmental set-aside
plans were rejected as unconstitutional because there was insuffi-
cient probative evidence of any discrimination and therefore no predi-
cate for any relief, much less race-conscious set-asides or quotas.
City of Richmond v. J.A. Croson Company, ____. U.S. ___, 109 S.
Ct. 706 (1989); Wygant v. Jackson Board of Editation, supra; Re-
gents of the University of California v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265 (1978).

The set-asides were approved by this Court in two other cases
where the race-conscious governmental action was predicated upon
a prior finding of long-standing, deliberate and egregious discrimi-
nation, punctuated by intransigent resistance to cflorts aimed at remedying

12

such discriminatory conduct. United States v. Paradise, 480 U.S. 149
(1987); Local 28, Sheet Metal Workers v. EEOC, 478 U.S. 421 (1986).?

This petition presents an issue which falls squarely between
this Court’s rulings in Paradise and Sheet Metal Workers on the one
hand and Croson, Weant, and Bakke on the other. In this case, de-
spite no finding of long-standing, egregious or deliberate discrimi-
nation by recalcitrant discriminators as in Paradise and Sheet Metal
Workers, the Eleventh Circuit approved the constitutionality of a racial
set-aside based simply upon a prima facie statistical case. Thus, un-
like previous constitutional affirmative action cases addressed by this
Court, this case presents the question of whether consent decrees
providing for racial set-asides are constitutionally permissible based
upon a statistical predicate, without any showing of egregious, delib-
erate discrimination by a recalcitrant discriminator.

This same issue is presented under Title VII. In Sheet Metal
Workers, this Court also found that egregious, long-standing and deliberate
discrimination and a refusal to comply with remedial! court orders
was a sufficient predicate to permit a racial set-aside under Title VII.°
This Court has also addressed, and upheld under Title VII, two vol-
untary affirmative action plans where the predicate consisted of sta-
tistical evidence. Johnson v. Transportation Agency, supra, Steel-
workers v. Weber, 433 U.S. 193 (1979). However, unlike the raw
promotional racial sct-asides approved by the Eleventh Circuit in

2 In Fullilove v. Klutznick, 448 U.S. 448 (1986), this Court reveiwed a federal gov-
ernment minority set-aside program, upholding it, inter alia, on the grounds that
Congress had made a finding that a nation-wide history of past discrimination had
reduced minority participation in federal construction grants and that the Congress
had the power under § § of the Fourteenth Amendment to employ race-conscious
remedial relief. Because this case does not involve any Congressional action such as
found in Fullilove, the Court's analysis in that case is not directly applicable to or
contro!ling of this case.

> In so holding, this Court stated “{w]hether there might be other circumstances that
justify the use of court-ordered affirmative action is a matter which we need not
decide here.” Local 28, Sheet Metal Workers v. EEOC, supra at 476. In Local 93,
International Association of Firefighters v. City of Cleveland, 478 U.S. 501, 526
(1988), this Court indicated that a consent decree could possibly provide broader
relief than could a court under § 706(g) of Title VII, but went on to provide that
parties to a decree could not take any action that violates Title VII or the Constitution.

13

this case, the Johnson and Weber plans only permitted treating race
as a “plus factor” in promotional decisions or gave limited racial
priorities in newly established affirmative action training programs.

This case thus presents in both the Constitutional and the Tide
VII setting an issue that has yet to be decided by this Court — whether
the remedy of racial set-asides or quotas is permissible under either
the Constitution or Title VII based solely upon the predicate of statis-
tically significant underutilization. This question is an important one
deserving review by this Court.

The question of what predicate is necessary under Title VII and
the Constitution before a sct-aside remedy may be considered lawful
is an important question of affirmative action law that should be addressed
for ai least two fundamental reasons.

First, the consequences of a mistaken standard can be extremely
costly to both public and private employcrs and to society as a whole.
See Hammon vy. Barry, 841 F.2d 426 (D.C. Cir. 1988). Racial prefer-
ences, by their very nature, involve the most central and sensitive
area of employment law — the empioyee selection processes. The
ability of a public or private entity to favor one race over another
goes to the very core of the employment process. These decisions
affect and, in many cases, control not only the financial well-being
and seif-esteem of the parties involved, but of necessity affect the
resulting relations between cmployces of difference race, national
origin or gender. Employment decisions which are made pursuant to
a standard which improperly favors one class of employees over another
based upon immutable characteristics inevitably lead to business and
social ills ranging from production issucs to employee strife. This
Court, therefore, should address this question and establish a stan-
dard which resolves this fundamental issue of employment law.

Second, litigants who seck to scttle employment cases also need
a Clear standard upon which to base such settlements. In a substantial
portion of employment litigation today, plainu Ts’ proof consists pnmarily
of statistical evidence of undcrutilization. While this Court has held
that under both the Constitution (City of Richmond v. Croson, supra)
and Tide VII Johnson v. Transportation Agency, supra) some form
of voluntary relicf may be predicated upon a statistical showing, this

cee eee

14

Court has yet to make a definitive holding approving or disapprov-
ing set-asides such as those sanctioned by the lower court in this case
without proof of long-standing, egregious or deliberate discrimina-
tion.

The absence of a definitive standard is particularly important in
this area given this Court’s holding in Martin v. Wilks, ___ U.S.
__, 109 S.Ct. 2180 (1989). In Wilks, this Court held that non-par-
ties to settlement agreements and consent decrees may attack racial
set-asides or quotas for substantial periods after the agreements have
been entered. Following the Wilks decision, parties to employment
litigations have been and will continue to be very reluctant to settle
cases presenting affirmative action issues absent express guidance
from this Court as to the strength of the evidence necessary to sup-
port racial set-asides. If the parties settle without this guidance and
include any form of racial set-asides, they expose themselves to years
of further collateral litigation, despite attempts to buy peace through
settling the original case. This, of course, undercuts the basic public
policy favoring settlements and provides a further strong basis upon
which this writ should be granted. Johnson v. Transportation Agency,
supra at 640, 641.

Il. The Decision Below Conflicts With The Decisions Of
This Court With Regard To The Predicate Required
for Racial Set-Asides.

A. The Decision of the Eleventh Circuit is In-
consistent With The Constitutional Standards
Established By This Court.

1. This Court's Prior C onstitutional Affirma-
tive Action Decisions.

While this Court has not expressly decided whether racial set-
asides may be predicated upon simple proof of a statistical under-
utilization, it has made it clear that racial preferences are remedies of
the last resort and are to be used only in the most “extreme” circumstances.
City of Richmond v. Croson, supra at 729.

In rejecting the city’s racial set-aside plan in Croson, this Court
reaffirmed its decisions in Paradise and Sheet Metal Workers that

fat ee ye 4

15

“some sort of narrowly tailored racial preference” was constitution-
ally permissible in “extreme” circumstances. /d. In Croson, how-
ever, this Court decided that ail racial classifications, regardless of
victims or beneficiaries, are suspect and require strict judicial scru-
tiny. Accordingly, governmental racial classifications of every type
are required to be analyzed on a strict scrutiny basis, and will be
upheld only if they are both justified by a compelling purpose and
are narrowly tailored. /d. at 721.

Under the first prong of the strict scrutiny test, this Court made
it clear that a compelling governmental purpose is critical in analyz-
ing all racial classifications because “preferential programs may only
reinforce common stercotype holdings that certain groups are unable
to achieve success without special protection based upon a factor
having no relation to individual worth.” Regents of the University of
California v. Bakke, supra at 298. Stated otherwise, “(c}lassifications
based upon race carry a danger of stigmatic harm. Unless they are
strictly reserved for remcdial settings, they may in fact promote no-
tions of racial inferiority and lead to politics of racial hostility.” City
of Richmond v. Croson, supra at 721. Yet again Justice Stevens ob-
served in Fullilove that “because classifications based on race are
potentially so harmful to the entire body politic, it is especially im-
portant that reasons for such classifications be Clearly identified and
unquestionably legitimate.” Fullilove v. Klutznick, supra at 534, 535
(Stevens, J., dissenting). It is for this reason that this Court has de-
clared racial classifications “presumptively invalid.” Personnel
Administrator of Massachusetts v. F eeney, 442 U.S. 254, 272 (1979).

Not only do these racial classifications Carry with them an in-
herent danger of stigmatic harm to the beneficiaries, those disadvan-
taged by the racial classifications are often simply innocent victims
themselves whose individual rights as guaranteed by the Constitution
are being abused. Regents of the University of California v. Bakke,
supra at 320. See Abram, Affirmative Action: Fair Shakers and So-
cial Engineers, 99 Harv. L. Rev. 1312 (1986).

This Court, having made it clear that racial classifications are
inherently dangerous when used in non-remedial settings which do
not constitute a compelling govermmental purposc, has several times

16

spoken as to what must be establishedrto constitute a sufriciently
compelling basis for such race-conscious affirmative action relief.

In United States v. Paradise, supra, a compelling interest was
found and the narrowly tailored race-conscious relief was sanctioned
by the Court where there was a judicial finding of pervasive, sys-
temic, and intentional discrimination by the Alabama Department of
Public Safety, and a consistent history by the Department of resis-
tance to court orders and failure to comply with judicially approved
commitments. Similarly, in Local 28, Sheet Metal Workers v. EEOC,
supra, the union was repeatedly found guilty of discriminating against
minorities and held in civil contempt for its bad faith refusal to comply
with numerous remedial court orders. The Court of Appeals in that
case found that the union had “‘consistently and egregiously violated
Title VII.” EEOC v. Local 28 of the Sheet Metal Workers Interna-
tional Association, 753 F.2d 1172 at 1186 (2d Cir. 1985). With dis-
crimination predicates established at those extreme levels, this Court
held in each case that narrowly tailored racial classifications could
be constitutional. Local 28, Sheet Metal Workers v. EEOC, supra.

To make it clear, however, that racial preferences and classifi-
cations were to be limited only to factual circumstances as compel-
ling as Paradise and Sheet Metal Workers, the plurality opinion in
Croson reaffirmed the limitation the Constitution places on use of
racial classifications. Specifically, the plurality opinion in Croson
states: x

In extreme cases, some form of narrowly tailored racial
preference might be necessary to break down patterns
of deliberate exclusion.

109 S. Ct. at 729 (emphasis added).

The Croson decision thus left little doubt but that racial prefer-
ence affirmative action decrees are constitutionally limited to ex-
treme cases of deliberate discrimination in the mold of Paradise and
Sheet Metal Workers.

Furthermore, the plurality opinion in Croson underscored that
point when it addressed the question of whether statistical under-
utilization — as found in this case — may serve as a predicate for

ee ek as ai Re

17

racial set-asides. 109 S. Ct. at 729. Justice O’Connor’s opinion Clearly
provides that cases merely presenting proof of statistical underutili-
zation do not constitute the extreme deliberate cases of discrimina-
tion that would authorize narrowly tailored racial preferences; and,
therefore, where proof is limited to statistics, the settling parties are
to avoid racial set-asides and quotas in shaping remedies to dismantle
the system giving rise to the discrimination.

2. The Eleventh Circuit Decision.

Notwithstanding this clear road map, the Eleventh Circuit chose
to create its own trail — a trail that Petitioners submit ends in uncon-
stitutional racial set-asides. The record below reveals nothing in the
way of egregious, pervasive, extreme, or deliberate discrimination
on the part of the governmental defendant and there was certainly no
resistance to ur refusal by the Government to comply with any court
orders. The Eleventh Circuit relied solely upon statistical imbalance
found at significant levels in 10 of 51 job groups. Such a finding
carries with it no inference that the undcrutilization was intentional
or deliberate.

Indeed, the record reflects quitc the contrary. The Govemment
had in place its own affirmative action plan, an outreach program for
minorities, an equal opportunity office for complaints and a griev-
ance procedure. The testing program claimed to be discriminatory
by the plaintiffs had been replaced and the Goverment had offered a
fund for payments to class members. The record here bears no rela-
tionship to the conduct of the defendants in either Paradise or Sheet
Metal Workers.

Yet, in the face of this record, the Eleventh Circuit sanctioned
the consent decree and in doing so established a standard for affirma-
tive action plans in this Circuit that permits a statistically significant
showing of underutilization of blacks standing alone to constitute a
predicate that is equivalent to an “extreme case” of “deliberate” dis-
crimination. It is a decree not aimed at dismantling a system that
gives rise to statistical underutilization; but rather is a decree having
as its purpose the promotion of blacks regardless of effects of the
system upon them.

18

To permit race-conscious relief in the form of set-asides and
quotas based upon this record is to open the door for such relief in all
cases where statistically significant underutilization is found. Under
the Eleventh Circuit’s standard, racial preferences become the rule
— not the remedy of last resort. The Eleventh Circuit's interpreta-
tion is a perverse twisting of this Court's prior constitutional rulings
and merits this Court’s review.‘

4 Plaintiffs, earlier in this litigation, argued that Title VI is the exclusive remedy for
Federal employees alleging discrimination, relying upon Brown v. General Services
Administration, 425 U.S. 820 (1976). In Brown, a federal employee filed a discrimi-
nation action asserting claims pursuant to Title VII, the Declaratory Judgment Act,
and 42 U.S.C. § 1981. The Court held that Title VII was the plaintiff's exclusive
remedy. The plaintiff did not, however, assert a constitutional challenge and so the
issue presented in this case was never addressed by the Court. The only question
before the Court in Brown was the viability of the claim pursuant to 42 USC. §
1981.

Recognizing this, the court in Krenzer v. Ford, 429 F. Supp. 499, 501 n. 1 (D.D.C.
1977), found that while Brown “establishe[d] Title VII as the sole statutory remedy
against the Government for race . . . discrimination in employment . . . [it] does not
foreclose plaintiff s constitutional rights”. (Emphasis added.)

The logic supporting this distinction is obvious: As all parties to this case readily
acknowledge, constitutional claims, like the ones presented by Appellants, stand
apart from Title VII claims because the standards and the analysis under the Fifth
Amendment are different from that under Title VII. In //ammon v. Barry, 813 F.2d
412 (D.C. Cir. 1987). the court found that constitutional standards requiring that
- race-conscious actions by employers be narrowly tailored to meet compelling gov-
ernmental interests apply to the federal government cven in employment cases. It is
clear, therefore, that a court could find a federal government employee to have been
discriminated against in violation of the Constitution when that same employee has
not been found to be a victim of Title VII discrimination. Moreover, with respect to
those claims of appellants who have not yet been adversely affected by the decree
and whose claims are still prospective in nature, Title VII procedures may not yet be
available. To the extent that such claimants are “expressly unprotected by the stat-
ute,” their Fifth Amendment claims are very much alive and should be protected by
the Constitution. Doe v. U.S. Postal Service, 37 F.E.P. Cases 1867 (D.D.C. 1985),
citing Davis v. Passman, 442 U.S. 228 (1978).

19

B. The Decision Of The Eleventh Circuit Is
Inconsistent With The Title VII Standards
Established By This Court.

1. This Court's Prior Title VII Affirmative
Action Decisions.

While the Eleventh Circuit opinion did not provide a specific
framework for analyzing the Title VII issues of this case, it did hold
that because the consent decree was constitutional, it necessarily did
not violate Title VII. In doing so it, of necessity, held that Title VII
permits a racial set-aside remedy based upon a predicate of statisti-
cally significant underutilization. This Court has never sanctioned
such a standard under Title VII and such a holding is inconsistent
with this Court’s teachings in Johnson v. Transportation Agency, su-
pra.

As previously noted, this Court has sanctioned as nonviolative
of Title VII race-conscious goals based on proof of long-standing,
egregious, deliberate and pervasive discrimination. Local 28, Sheet
Metal Workers v. EEOC, supra. In Johnson v. Transportation Agency,
supra, it also approved the use of race as a “plus factor” based upon
a predicate of “manifest imbalance.” It has not, however, sanctioned
racial set-asides or quotas based solely upon a manifest imbalance or
Statistical prima facie case. A review of Johnson demonstrates that
such a predicate will not support racial set-asides or quotas.

The affirmative action plan reviewed by this Court in Johnson
was based upon a statistical underrepresentation of minorities and
females in certain job groups at the defendant agency. Unlike the
consent decree here at issue, that plan did not set aside any position
solely for minorities or females. In approving the plan, this Court
made it clear that a fundamental factor in its approval was the fact
that sex was only one of several factors — including test scores,
expertise, prior performance and other realistic factors — to be taken
into consideration in the promotional process and that the plan did
not guarantee any promotion based solely on gender. 480 U.S. at
637, 638.

The Court in Johnson also spokc to the type of relief that would
not be approved where the predicate is a statistical imbalance. In

20

reply to Justice Scalia’s contention in his dissent that the majority
adopted the standard that underutilization is a sufficient predicate for
all types of affirmative action relief, the majority states:

Firefighters [Local 93, International Association of Fire-

fighters v. City of Cleveland, where egregious, deliber-
ate discrimination was the predicate] raised the issue of
conditions under which parties could enter into a con-
sent decree providing for explicit numerical quotas. By
contrast, the affirmative action plan in this case sets aside
no positions for minorities or women.

Johnson v. Transportation Agency, 480 U.S. at 631 n. 8.

Thus, this Court made it clear in Johnson that the predicate that
will support the explicit numerical quotas found in this decree is egregious,
deliberate discrimination, not simply the underutilization predicate
found in Johnson. J.A. Croson v. City of Richmond, 822 F.2d 1355,
1362 (4th Cir. 1987).

Throughout Johnson, this Court repeatedly reaffirms this point.
For example, the Johnson opinion spccifically states that this Court
would reject, as violative of Title VII, a plan that had mere under-
utilization as its predicate, if that plan did not permit taking into
consideration distinctions and qualifications of all candidates for
promotion. A plan that simply calculated underutilization and then
set aside positions based on the shortfall would impermissibly “dic-
tate mere blind hiring by the numbers” and would, in effect, consti-
tute the quota found unacceptable by Justice O’Connor in Sheet Metal
Workers. Johnson v. Transportation Agency, supra at 636. The Court
also reaffirms this point where it provides that the Johnson plan would
not have been acceptable if it had becn implemented “solely by ref-
erence to statistics”. /d. at 637.°

5 Weber is consistent with the holdings of Johnson. The Weber plan arose when the
employer, who had a statistical imbalance in its work force, agreed to establish anew
apprenticeship training program and reserved fifty percent of the new training slots
for blacks. The actual hiring process, however, was unaffected by the nev. training
program. As stated by the Ninth Circuit, the Weber plan did not adversely affect
white employees at all because “it created additional opportunities by establishing
new training programs for both blacks and whites.” San Francisco Police Officers

21

2. The Eleventh Circuit Decision.

In finding that Title VII is not violated by the imposition of
racial set-asides without a finding of egregious, deliberate discrimi-
nation, the Eleventh Circuit has disregarded this Court’s Title VII
admonitions announced in Johnson. It approved a consent decree
that has as a predicate a determination that in 10 of 51 job groups the
promotion rate of biacks was statistically lower than would have been
expected had selections been strictly random. The settling parties
then calculated the shortfall and set a black-oniy quota based on that
shortfall, setting aside 240 positions solely for blacks and barring
non-blacks from any consideration for those positions.

By approving this racial set-aside plan, the Eleventh Circuit
has permitted that which Johnson disapproved — it approved the
calculation of imbalances in certain job groups according to the population
of blacks in the labor pools, and then directed that promotions be
blindly implemented based on such statistics. This process was spe-
cifically rejected in Johnson. Id. at 637. In so holding, the Eleventh
Circuit sets a standard that is not only inconsistent with this Court’s
prior decisions, but also a standard that pennits racial set-asides to be
the rule and not the exception reserved for extreme cases.

Ill. The Decision Below Conflicts With The Decisions of
This Court With Regard To Narrow Tailoring.

A second important question is presented by this petition:

If such statistical underutilization is a sufficient predi-
Cate to permit a racial set-aside, was this consent decree
sufficiently narrowly drawn to comply with Title VII
and the Constitution?

Assn. v. San Francisco, 812 F.2d 1125, 1132 (9th Cir. 1987). Thus, through the
program mew opportunities were created for whites, not lost. Furthermore, the com-
pany could consider all employees, black and white, for each new hire position that
opened up. There was no obligation for the employer to hire minorities at any rate.
Its only obliation was to leave the training program in place until the statistical im-
balance in its workforce was remedicd.

22
A. The Consent Decree Is Unconstitutional
Because It Is Not Narrowly Tailored.

1. The Eleventh Circuit's Failure to Consider
Race-Neutral Alternatives Violates Con-
stitutional Standards Set by This Court.

This Court has repeatedly stated that in determining whether
race-conscious remedies may be appropriately employed, there must,
prior to the implementation of the affirmative action, be at least some
meaningful consideration of the circumstances justifying such relief.

For example, in United States v. Paradise, supra, this Court
held that in considering whether the relief was narrowly tailored, the
district court was required to make a determination of the “efficacy
of alternative remedies” before its approval of a racial quota. 480
USS. at 171. In Fullilove v. Klutznick, supra, this Court’s principal
opinion noted that Congress had actually unsuccessfully tried some
race-neutral alternatives and had “carefully examined and rejected
[other] race-neutral alternatives” before analyzing the set-asides. 448
US. at 463-467. In City of Richmond v. Croson, supra, this Court
expressly considered whether race-neutral objectives had been con-
sidered prior to the City’s enacting its set-aside plan and noted that
“there is no evidence in this record that the Richmond City Council
has considered any alternatives to a race-based quota.” 109 S.Ct. at
728.

These cases unquestionably stand for the proposition that be-
cause race-conscious remedies are so disfavored, prior to their im-
plementation, race-neutral remedics must be thoroughly explored;
and, if rejected, such a conclusion be reached only after a careful
determination that such remedies offer no likelihood of success. Barhold
v. Rodriquez, 863 F.2d 233 (2d Cir. 1988); Days, D., F ullilove, 96
Yale L.J. 453, 459 (1987).

Despite this clear direction from this Court, the Eleventh Cir-
cuit chose to ignore the failure of the Goverment and the Plaintiffs
to undertake any consideration of several available race-neutral remedies.
Further, it did so under circumstances where race-neutral alterna-
tives could have been successful in increasing the utilization rates of

23

minorities. Changes in job description or in the promotion process
itself could have been used as alternatives that could lead to greater
minority participation. Special training and apprenticeship programs
funded by the Government were other options that would assist mi-
norities to increase their promotion rates. See generally 41 CFR 60-
2.20-2.26.

Furthermore, even using set-asides, there were alternatives that
would have ameliorated the effects of the race-conscious relief on
innocent non-blacks. For example, simultaneously with the promo-
tion of blacks from the black-only promotion list, promotions could
have been made off the merit promotion list [see Youngblood v. Dalzell,
804 F.2d 360 (6th Cir. 1986)]; or the number of overall promotions
could have been increased (see Local 93, International Association
of Firefighters v. City of Cleveland, supra); or pay increases or sen-
iority could have been provided to those individuals on the merit
promotion list who were adverscly affected by the racial set-asides.

None of these alternatives were considered or implemented.
Despite this Court’s criticism of the City of Richmond in Croson that
“there is no evidence thai [the Goverment or the Plaintiffs] consid-
ered any alternatives to a race-based quota,” (109 S.Ct. at 728), the
Eleventh Circuit simply ignored the parties’ failure to tailor this decree
narrowly. Instead, the pancl deemed that failure irrelevant.

Further, the Eleventh Circuit rejected Petitioners’ alternatives
— which were raised during the litigation simply to demonstrate that
rational race-neutral alternatives were available to the settling par-
ties — finding that they did not “place plaintiffs in the rightful place
nor do they do so expeditiously.” 871 F.2d at 1009. In so holding, the
Eleventh Circuit erroneous!y adopted a new standard that requires
the race-neutral affirmative action alternatives expeditiously to “place
plaintiffs in their rightful place.” Such a standard is flatly inconsis-
tent with this Court’s ruling in Sheet Metal Workers, where this Court
pointed out that “(t]he purpose of affirmative action is not to make
identified victims whole, but rather to dismantle prior pattems of
employment discrimination and to prevent discrimination in the future.”
Local 28, Sheet Metal Workers v. EEOC, supra at 474.

Under this erroncous standard, not only is no consideration of
race-neutral alternatives required, but any race-neutral altemmatives

24

adopted would have to provide make-whole or immediate rightful
place relief. If this Court permits such a standard to survive, race-
conscious relief in the Eleventh Circuit will become the remedy of
first rather than last resort. Virtually no race-neutral relief ever expe-
ditiously provides “rightful place” or “make-whole” relief as man-
dated by the lower Court. Such relief is reserved for cases where a
victim of discrimination is identified, thereby making the appropri-
ate remedy his/her immediate placement into the position he/she would
have held absent the discrimination. /nternational Brotherhood of
Teamsters v. United States, 431 U.S. 324 (1977); Franks v. Bowman,
424 U.S. 747 (1976). But where no victim can be identified, as in
this case, affirmative action relief must be aimed at dismantling dis-
criminatory systems and preventing further violations of the laws.
The Eleventh Circuit opinion sets a standard that distorts this funda-
mental concept. ‘ee

2. The Consent Decree Does Not Satisfy Con-
stitutional Standards For Identifying Vic-
tims Of Racial Discrimination.

Where employment decisions such as the promotions at issue
can be made on a case-by-case basis, the plan or decree should treat
all candidates individually, taking into consideration whether the
beneficiary of the racial preference has suffered from the effects of
discrimination. City of Richmond v. Croson, supra at 729, Fullilove
v. Klutznick, supra at 515. In that regard, Croson further provides
that where selections can be made on an individual basis, the relief
should be made available to those “who truly have suffered the ef-
fects of prior discrimination.” City of Richmond v. Croson, supra at
729; see Shurberg Broadcasting of Hartford, Inc. v. Federal Com-
munications Commission, 876 F.2d 902, 915-16 (D.C. Cir. 1989).
Administrative convenience will not justify either arbitrarily includ-
ing or excluding class members from the benefits of the remedial ac-
tion. Thus, under Croson, in order for relicf to be narrowly tailored,
the decree must, to the extent feasible, treat candidates for promo-
tions and other selections individually, rather than solely on the basis
of race, and must use all available administrative tools to insure that
the beneficiaries of the remedial action are persons “who truly have
suffered the effects of prior discrimination.” City of Richmond v. Croson,
supra at 729; see Fullilove v. Klutznick, supra at 469-71.

25

The process which the Eleventh Circuit approved for providing
race-conscious relief conflicts with Croson. In approving the decree,
the Eleventh Circuit ignored this Court’s directive that as the review-
ing Court, it had an independent duty to examine the decree in accor-
dance with the strict scrutiny standard and determine whether the
selection mechanisms of the consent decree awarded relief to class
members on a constitutionally permissible basis. City of Richmond v.
Croson, 109 S. Ct. at 721. That duty included a de novo determina-
tion by the Eleventh Circuit of whether any failure of the consent
decree’s process to identify victims was driven by administrative con-
venience or simply unavoidable under the circumstances.

The Eleventh Circuit did not make such a de novo determina-
tion. Instead it improperly adopted a “clearly erroneous” standard
(Howard v. McLucas, 871 F.2d at 1010) and applied that standard to
uphold the district court’s findings.

If it had adopted the rroper standard and made a de novo re-
view of the record as required by Croson, it wouid have concluded
that the decree’s methodology for finding proxies for actual victims
(actual victims not being ascertainable) did not meet constitution-
ally-mandated narrow-tailoring standards.

Arnong the decrec’s failures is its method of selecting class members
who were to receive promotions from the black-only set-aside list.
The decree allowed any black who had been at WR-ALC one or
more days during the relevant 1971-1979 period to be eligible for
promotion. Rather than analyzing each individual on a promotion-
by-promotion basis and seeking to determine at least whether the
individual was eligible for promotion during the relevant period, the
decree ranked class members for promotion by their governmental
(not WR-ALC) seniority and performance ia 1983.

In structuring the decree in this fashion, the authors of the de-
cree theorized that those class members who had the greatest senior-
ity at the facility during the 1971-1979 period under consideration
would have had the greatest probability of being affected by the challenged
promotional practices, and that they should therefore be given prior-
ity ranking on the black-only promotion list. However, the parties to
the decree chose, for administrative reasons, not to determine for
what period each class member was actually employed in a relevant

26

position at WR-ALC. Instead they used the retirement seniority date
for each class member already in the government computers — i.é.,
overall federal governmental seniority — not WR-ALC seniority.
This meant that a black who transferred to WR-ALC on December
31, 1979 after, for example, 20 years of employment in the military,
postal service, or some other federal service, was ranked higher on
the black-only promotion list than a class member who had the same
evaluation in 1983 but who worked in a relevant position during the
entire 1971-1979 period.

Clearly the decree’s selection process was not narrowly tailored
to identify those class members who had suffered the effects of past
discrimination at WR-ALC during the relevant 1971-1979 period.
The decree’s terms are driven by administrative convenience, not by
an effort to identify those who suffered the effects of discrimination.

In approving this decree, the Eleventh Circuit has again adopted
an *ncorrect standard which is inconsistent with the mandate of this
Court to reject administrative convenience as an excuse for not iden-
tifying those who actually experienced the effects of discrimination.
See Frontero v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677, 690 (1973). This Court
should accept this writ to prevent the perpetuation of this error.

B. The Consent Decree Violates Title VII Be-
cause It Is Not Sufficiently Narrowly Drawn.

Failure of the settling parties to consider race-neutral alterna-
tives appears not only to be violative of constitutional narrow tailor-
ing requirements, but also of Title VII requirements that the race-
conscious relief be narrowly drawn. While this Court has not been as
explicit in requiring consideration of race-neutral alternatives in the
Title VII setting as in the constitutional sctting, it appears that such
considerations have been considered a prerequisite under Tide VII.
Indeed, in Local 28, Sheet Metal Workers v. EEOC, supra, in dis-
cussing the reasons why the Court-ordered relief was sufficiently
narrowly drawn, this Court noted that the record was replete with in-
stances where lesser remedics had been tried, but failed. 478 U.S. at
476, 477.

The District of Columbia Court of Appeals has also addressed
this issue specifically and found that “because available race-neutral

a

27

altematives were not considered, the District's race-based hiring methods
were not properly tailored to its remedial purposes . . . . Its use of the
AAP thus stands condemned under Title VII for this reason as well.”
Hammon v. Barry, 826 F.2d 73, $1 (D.C. Cir. 1987). See also Th-
ompson v. Sawyer, 678 F.2d 257, 294 (D.C. Cir. 1982); United States
v. City of Chicago, 663 F.2d 1354 (7th Cir. 1981).

Indeed, since the precise harms flowing from the inappropriate
use of racial preferences noted by this Court in the constitutional
cases are present when this issue rises in the Title VII setting, the
Hammon decision is undoubtedly correct. See Ruthieglen & Ortiz,
Affirmative Action Under the Constitition and Title VII: From Con-
fusion to Convenience, 35 U.C.L.A. L. Rev. 467 (1988); Schwartz,
The 1986 and 1987 Affirmative Action Cases: It's All Over But The
Shouting, 86 Mich. L. Rev. 524 (1987). See also Johnson v. Trans-
portation Agency, supra at 648, 649, 650.

Nevertheless, Petitioners note that neither Weber nor Johnson
expressly addressed the issue of whether the proponents of the re-
spective plans considered race-neutral altematives prior to adopting
the pian at issue. To the extent that this issue has not been defini-
tively decided under Title VII as it has for constitutional cases, this
Case presents an opportunity for the Court to decide this issue.®

Irrespective of whether race-neutral altemmatives are to be con-
sidered prior to adoption of a plan, the Eleventh Circuit erred in hold-
ing that the consent decree at issuc passed Title VII muster.

Under Johnson v. Transportation Agency, supra, to be suffi-
ciently narrowly drawn, this decree had to be “a moderate, gradual,
approach to eliminating the imbalance in its work force, one which
establishes a realistic (and flexible) guide for [case-by-case] employ-
ment decisions, and which visits minimal intrusion upon the Iegiti-
mate expectations of other cmployces.” 480 U.S. at 640.

\

* In Johnson v. Transportatic.. Agency, 107 S. Ct. 1442, 1461, 1463 (O'Connor, J.
concurring) Justice O'Connor suggests that the standards for affirmative action under
Title VII and the Equal Protection Clause should be the same, at least in regard to

public employers.

28

Among other failings, this decree is neither “realistic” nor “flexible.”
It is unrealistic because it provides no sensible guidance to the em-
ployer in determining who to promote. As noted, unlike Johnson,
where the selection process was based upon test scores, expertise,
background, and other relevant factors, the selection process here for
the 240 set-aside positions is two-pronged. To be eligible for one of
the set-aside positions, one must be black and one must have met
minimal qualifications by sometime after 1984 and worked at WR-
ALC for at least one day during the period from 197i-1979. Where a
black has sufficient govemment (not WR-ALC) seniority and he or
she was evaluated highly in 1983 (performance in the relevant 1971-
1979 period was not considered), it is presumed that the class mem-
ber was a victim of discrimination between 1971 and 1979 and en-
titled to a priority promotion. Neither the scniority component nor
the appraisal component is a realistic measure of either exposure to
allegedly discriminatory practices or qualification for promotion during
the 1971-1979 period.

The decree also has no provisions that make it akin to the case-
by-case approach required by Johnson. The plan in Johnson stressed
that its percentages were goals, not sct-asidcs, and should not be construed
as quotas that must be met. The Johnson plan set forth reasonable
aspirations aimed at correcting the statistical imbalances in the agency’s
workforce. Johnson v. Transportation Agency, supra at 635. Accord-
ingly, the plan administrators and supervisors were to use sex as only
one factor along with other criteria in making a promotion selection.
Sex was nothing more than a plus in a particular applicant’s file. The
agency’s plan required women to compcte with all other qualified
applicants, and no persons were automatically excluded from con-
sideration. Unlike the subject decree, all persons, regardless of race
or sex, were able to have their qualifications weighed against those
of other applicants. Here, non-blacks are barred from even compet-
ing for the set-aside positions. For every other promotion within the
target groups, blacks compete only against cach other and non-blacks
are excluded from considcration. There is no doubt but that the de-
cree’s untempered set-aside provisions fly in the face of the require-
ments of the case-by-case analysis required by Johnson.

29

It is apparent that the parties to the decree created a plan aimed
at eliminating statistical workforce imbalances within a very limited
number of job categories, and then established a racial set-aside which
requires blind promotion by the numbers to achieve the desired ra-
Cial mix in 38 job groups. That type of plan is condemned by Johnson
and violates Title VII.

30
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, Petitioners respectfully pray that a
writ of certiorari issue to review the decision of the Eleventh Circuit
in this case.

Respectfully submitted,

Epwarp T. M. GARLAND
The Garland Firm, P.C.
92 Luckie Street, N.W.
Auanta, Georgia 30303
(404) 577-2225

Counsel of Record

Of Counsel:
Rosin N. Logs
Hunter R. HUGHES .
: The Garland Firm, P.C.
Rogers & Hardin 92 Luckie Street, N.W
2700 Cain Tower atx pian

229 Peachtree Street, N.E. anaes 30303
Atanta, Georgia 30303 :
(404) 522-4700 Counsel for Petitioner

August 31, 1989

la
Appendix A

Michael HOWARD, et al.,
Plaintiffs-A ppellees,

Vv.

John L. McLUCAS, et al.,
Defendants-A ppellees,

Robert Poss, et al.,
Intervenors-Appelilants.

AMERICAN FEDERATION OF
GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES,
et al., Plaintiffs-Appellees,

Vv.

John C. STETSON, etc.,
Defendant-Appellee,

Robert Poss, et al.,
Intervenors-Appellants.

No. 87-8817.

United States Court of Appeals,
Eleventh Circuit

April 27, 1989
Appeal from the United States District Court for the Middle
District of Georgia.
Before RONEY, Chicf Judge, CLARK, Circuit Judge, and
MORGAN, Senior Circuit Judge.
CLARK, Circuit Judge:

This is the second time this case has been before us. In Howard
v. McLucas, 782 F.2d 956, 960-61 (11th Cir.1986) (Howard III), we
held that white and nonminority employees (the intervenors) at the
Wamer Robins Air Logistics Center (Wamer Robins) could inter-
vene to challenge race-conscious promotional relief in a consent decree
entered into by black employees (the plaintiffs) at Wamer Robins

id

2a

and the Secretary of the Air Force and others (the govemment). We
admit that the issue presented in this appeal is problematic. While we
decide the question of whether the promotional relief violates either
Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 or the Fifth Amendment, we
do so with the explicit recognition that the intervenors did not, on
remand, present any evidence to the district court that the consent
decree either had or would bave an adverse impact upon any of their
promotional expectations. Nonetheless, because this court specifi-
cally granted the intervenors the right to challenge the promotional
remedy portion of the consent decree, we address the constitutional-
ity of that relief. We agree with the district court, see Howard v.McLucas,
671 F.Supp. 756, 762-67 (M.D.Ga.1987) (Howard IV), that the pro-
motional relief is not unlawful, and affirm its approval of the consent
decree.

I. BACKGROUND

A. Facts

Wamer Robins, which is part of the Air Force Logistics Com-
mand, is located at Robins Air Force Base near Macon, Georgia. It
employs 15,000 civilians to manage logistics for assigned aircraft
and commodities, repair aircraft and technologies, receive, store, issue,
and transport spare parts and systems, and award annual contracts
for Air Force procurement responsibilities. Howard v. McLucas, 597
F.Supp. 1504, 1508 (M.D.Ga.1984) (Howard I).

Wamer Robins’ blue collar employees are classified under the
Wage Grade (WG) pay plan, which has fourteen grade levels.' Its
white collar employees are classified under the General Schedule
(GS) pay plan, which has sixteen grade levels: Under Wamer Rob-
ins’ intemal promotion policy, employees in lower grades receive

' Employees in WG 1-4 generally perform unskilled labor. Employees in WG 5 are
helpers in skilled mechanical trades or full performance journeymen in other fields
of work. Employees in WG 6 are ordinary journcymen outside the skilled mechani-
cal trades. Employees in WG 7-8 are journcymen or have intermediate positions in
skilled mechanical trades. Employees in WG 9-11 are journeymen in skilled me-
chanical trades. Record, Vol. 5, Tab 285 at 3.

3a

the first opportunity to fill higher level positions. Except for job openings
at GS 14 and above, all employees at Wamer Robins are initially
considered for all vacancies. /d. at 1508-09; Faimess Hearing, Rec-
ord, Vol. 11 at 61 (testimony of Gary Carter, Civilian Personnel Offi-
cer at We-ner Robins). Candidates for competitive promotions at Warner
Robins are identified through the use of skills locator systems which,
unlike announcement or posting systems, do not require employees
to apply to fill an individual vacancy. The E426 system, which was
used until 1978, generated promotion registers of all qualified candi-
dates and ranked the candidates based on qualification requirements.
Under the E426 system, primary factors such as experience, written
examinations, and written appraisals were used to determine basic
eligibility for a promotion, while secondary factors such as awards
and self-development activities were used to determine the final ranking
within a register and evaluate the top five candidates. The PPRS system,
which replaced the E426 system, screens all employees for potential
eligibility on the basis of such factors as pay, type of appointment,
and basic skills from information entered into a computer through a
comprehensive series of skills code. Employees who satisfy the test
of basic eligibility are then subject to progression level ranking. The
number of progression levels is determined by the type and grade of
the position to be filled. Each progression level contains up to five
factors identifying general and specific skills, knov/ledge, and char-
acteristics. Advancement from one level to another occurs only when
the requirements of the previous level have been satisfied. A series
of tiebreakers—which include supervisory appraisals, awards, and
seniority—are used to rank employees within a given level and gen-
erate promotion registers which usually last ninety days. /d.

Consonant with the operation of a skills locator system, em-
ployees at Wamer Robins do not apply for promotions and are not
notified that they have been considered for vacancies unless they are
at the top of a register. The E246 and PPRS systems do not maintain
records of employees who are initially considered for a specific pro-
motion. The systems only gencrate records of candidates who are
found to be qualified. /d. at 1509. Under both systems, only the most
current supervisory appraisals are used, and as they are updated, the
old appraisals are destroyed. There are therefore no existing supervi-
sory appraisals for the 1971-1978 period. Record, Vol. 5, Tab 285 at

4a

8. Because test scores are maintained only for current examinations
and many examinations used by Wamer Robins prior to 1979 have
been discontinued, test score data for the 1971-1978 period is incomplete.
Id.

B. Proceedings Leading to a Consent Decree

In 1975 the plaintiffs? filed an action against the government,
seeking injunctive and monetary relief to redress alleged discrimi-
natory employment practices at Warmer Robins. Evidence gamered
by the plaintiffs indicated that blacks “were concentrated in low level
jobs and certain occupations.” Howard I], 597 F.Supp. at 1513. In
1973, the average grade of white WG employees was 9.2, while the
average grade of black WG employees was 6.7. In 1975, the average
grade of white WG employees was 9.3, while the average grade of
‘black WG employees was 6.8. /d. at 1510. Despite comprising ap-
proximately 15% of the workforce at Wamer Robins, blacks consti-
tuted 86% of all janitors, 81% of all laborers, 76% of all packers,
76% of all motor vehicle operators, 71% of all woodcrafters, and
67% of all parts and equipment operators. Faimess Hearing, Record,
Vol. II at 27.

Statistics compiled by the plaintiffs “demonstrated that black
employees were promoted in proportions less than their representa-
tion in the workforce or in lower grades.” Howard II, 597 F.Supp. at
1510. In 1973, 14.5% of minority employees received supervisory
appraisals below 80, while only 6.2% of nonminority employees received
such appraisals. In i979, 38.3% of black employees received super-
visory appraisals over 96, while 49% of white employees received
such appraisals. Faimess Hearing, Record, Vol. II at 29-30. The plain-
tiffs’ initial statistical analysis showed disparities in promotion rates
out of grade in WG 1-4 (6.01 standard deviations—67.98 expected
promotions lost), WG 5-8 (16.03 standard deviations—-362 expected
promotions lost), WG 9-12 (4.08 standard deviatioris—S0.06 expected
promotions lost), and GS 1-4 (3.56 standard deviations—72.67 pro-

? The plaintiffs’ class, which numbers approximately 3,200, consists of blacks who
were employed at Warmer Robins during the 1972-1979 period. Howard III, 782
F.2d at 958 & n. 2.

ea!

Sa

motions lost).? From this analysis the plaintiffs concluded that blacks
at Wamer Robins had lost a total of 553 promotions during the 1971-
1979 period. Howard II, 597 F.Supp. at 1510. A more conservative
analysis, controlling for occupational series, showed smaller dispari-
ties in promotion rates out of grade in WG 1-4 (3.53 standard devia-
tions—36.68 expected promotions lost), WG 5-8 (8.19 standard
deviations—162.84 expected promotions lost), and WG 9-12 (3.75
standard deviation—34.74 expected promotions lost). From this more
conservative analysis, ihe plaintiffs concluded that blacks at Warmer
Robins had lost a total of 234 promotions during the 1971-1979 period.
Id.

In 1984, after years of litigation, the parties entered into a con-
sent decree, which was meant to ensure “that black employees were
promoted internally [at Wamer Robins] on a fair and equal basis.”
Consent Decree, Record, Vol. 4, Tab 256 at 5.* The decree awards
$3.75 million in back pay to the plainfiffs and provides that 240 of
the plaintiffs are to be promoted into 38 target positions (in WG 3-
11) from special promotion registers made up only of qualified plain-
tiffs. The special promotion registers are to be created by ranking
plaintiffs who are qualified under Federal Civil Service standards
and meet “basic eligibility requirements” by equally weighing sen-
iority and supervisory appraisals. The 240 promotions alternate with
general promotions so that every other promotion io the target posi-

3 Fluctuations of more than 2 or 3 standard deviations undercut the hypothesis that
selections for promotions were being made randomly without regard to race. See
Castaneda v. Partida, 430 U.S. 482, 496 n. 17,97 S.Ct. 1272, 1281 n. 17, 51 L.Ed.2d
498 (1977).

“ The consent decree provided that the government's settlement of the litigation did
not constitute an admission of liability for past or present discrimination. Consent
Decree, Record, Vol. 4, Tab 256 at 2.

> The figure of 240 promotions was determined by using positions in WG 2, WG S5-
6, WG 8, and WG 10 as source grades. The 240 promotions were then apportioned
across target positions to which blacks could be expected to be promoted, based on
historical career progression patterns at Warner Robins, to determine the most likely
jobs lost by blacks during 1971-1979 period. Once the jobs lost by blacks had been
identified, the occupational : eries for those jobs were identified based on the projec-
tion of vacancies at Warner Robins in 1982 and 1983. Record, Vol. 5, Tab 285 at 16.

6a

tions is from the special promotion registers. The decree limits the
240 race-conscious promotions at Wamer Robins to the 38 target po-
sitions. /d. at 7-9 & Exhibit A.

C. The Challenge to the Consent Decree

The district court, after denying the intervenors leave to intervene,
see Howard v. McLucas, 597 F.Supp. 1501, 1504 (M.D.Ga. 1984)
(Howard I), approved the consent decree in Howard II. We reversed
the district court’s decision in Howard | and remanded the case to the
district court, holding that the intervenors were entitled to intervene,
but only in order to challenge certain portions of the consent decree:

[The] [i]ntervenors are limited to challenging the
portion of the remedy that reserves 240 target position
promotional opportunities to [the plaintiffs]. They have
no standing to contest the existence of past discrimina-
tion or any other issue concerning the merits of the dis-
pute and no standing to contest the backpay award or
veto remedial measures in general. The only issue [the]
intervenors shall be permitted to raise on remand is their
contention that [they] will not be considered for promo-
tion to the 240 target positions on an equal basis with
non-discriminatee black employees solely on account
of race.

Howard II1, 782 F.2d at 960-61. We also recognized that the
intervenors failed to show any direct injury as a result of the promo-
tional remedy. We nonetheless held that they should be heard on the
issue: “If the implementation (of the promotional remedy] would have
an adverse impact upon the promotional expectations of intervenors,
they should be granted the opportunity to demonstrate that and should
be heard in opposition to these provisions.” /d. at 961 n. 5. Finally,
we Suggested that the district court detemine whether the interve-
nors’ claims, or any part thereof, had become moot because of the
implementation of the decree’s promotiorial relief. /d. at 961 n. 4.

On remand, the intervenors mounted a two-pronged attack on
the promotional relief in the consent decree. First, they argued that
there was no basis for the promotional relief because the plaintiffs

7a

had not demonstrated any discrimination by the government and the
government had not admitted any discrimination on its part. Second,
they argued that even if discrimination had oeen shown, the promo-
tional relief was unlawful.

Before addressing the intervenors’ arguments, the district court
held that the propriety of the promotional relief had been mooted to
the extent that the targeted positions had been filled. According to
the district court, by the time we issued our opinion in Howard III,
169 of the positions had been filled. Howard IV, 671 F.Supp. at 758.
As to the intervenors’ first contention, the district court, pointing to
its previous findings of facts in Howard I], 597 F.Supp at 1S09—10,
held that the plaintiffs had “‘made out a prima facie case of employ-
ment discrimination through the use of statistical evidence of dispro-
portionate racial impact.” Howard IV, 671 F.Supp. at 760. The dis-
trict court also held that for purposes of Title VII the fact that the
government had entered into the decree without rebutting the plain-
tiffs’ prima facie case amounted to an admission of unlawful dis-
crimination. /d. at 761 (citing Kirkland v. New York State Dept. of
Correctional Servs., 711 F.2d 1117, 1130-31 (2d Cir.1983), cert. de-
nied, 465 U.S. 1005, 104 S.Ct. 997, 79 L.Ed.2d 230 (1984)). As to
the intervenors’ second contention, the district court first held that
the promotional relief was not unlawful because it provided a rem-
edy to actual victims of discrimination: the consent decree utilized
the best method of determining actual victims in light of the fact that
the skills locator systems did not require any employees at Wamer
Robins to apply for promotions. /d. at 762-66: The district court then
held that the promotional relief was narrowly tailored because it was
directed only toward the grades where pervasive discnmination had
been shown, was “ephemeral in nature,” and was flexible in that the
remedial promotions given to qualified plaintiffs were made to every
other next available vacancy in the specified positions. The district
court also found that the relief did not unnecessarily trammel the
intervenors’ rights because the 169 promotions which had already
been given to qualified plaintiffs since the implementation of the
decree constituted only 4.3% of the total! number of promotions made

8a

at Warmer Robins during that period of time. /d. at 766-67.° Finally,
the district court held that a mere racial preference would not pro-
vide the “‘full relief recessary to remove promptly the remaining vestiges
of discrimination at Wamer Robins.” /d. at 767.

D. The Intervenors’ Standing

Before commencing a discussion of the constitutionality of the
promotional relief portion of the consent decree, we feel it incum-
bent upon us to address the confusion that the intervenors’ challenge
has engendered. Traditionally, a party seeking intervention must
demonstrate a “direct, substantial, legally protectable interest in the
proceeding” before that party will be granted intervenor status. See,
e.g., Athens Lumber Company, Inc. v. Federal Election Commission,
690 F.2d 1364, 1366 (11th Cir.1982). The intervenors were not and
have not been certified as a class. Thus, they should demonstrate
some cognizable injury to themselves in order to challenge the con-
sent decree.

As noted above, our earlier opinion granting the night to inter-
vene recognized that the intervenors were not relieved of their bur-
den of demonstrating that the promotional remedy would have an
adverse impact on their promotional expectations. In addition, our
earlier opinion specifically stated that the intervenors could only challenge
the promotional relief on the basis that “‘[they}will not be considered
for promotion to one of the 240 targeted positions on an equal basis
. .. Solely on account of race.” Howard I//, 782 F.2d at 961 (empha-
sis added). On remand to the district court, however, the intervenors
presented no evidence of injury. The district court noted:

As of July, 1984, there were 137 Intervenors identified
by name. Defendants have presented evidence that of
the 137 named Intervenors, forty-three (43) have subse-
quently been promoted ... ; forty (40) are not eligible
for promotion to any of the target positions; one (1) claimed

6 In discussing the impact of the promotional relicf on white employees, the district
court also noted that 43 of the 137 named intervenors had been promoted and that
another 56 were not eligible for promotions to the target positions for one reason or
another. Howard IV, 671 F.Supp. at 767 n. 4.

9a

eligibility for a position that she already held; five (5)
subsequently requested changes to lower grades in other
occupations, thereby indicating that they did not aspire
to one of the target positions, and ten (10) are no tonger
employed by Wamer Robins. Intervenors do not dispute
these figures, rather, they merely assert that they are ir-
relevant so long as one Intervenor is eligible for a target
position.
671 F.Supp. at 767 n. 4 (Record Cites omitted).

The intervenors’ above argument to the district court is mis-
placed because they did not present any evidence that any one of
them otherwise eligible for a target position was denied that position.
Employment, in and of itse!f, does not confer the right to challenge
an affirmative action plan. For example, in /n re Birmingham Re-
verse Discrimination Employment Litigation, 833 F.2d 1492 (11th
Cir. 1987), an opinion that postdates our remand in this case, we held
that claims that a consent decree resulted in reverse discrimination
could not accrue until these secking redress were denied promotions.
Id. at 1498-99.

Aithough the intervenors in this case argue they have suffered
injury because those among their ranks who received promotions
necessarily received them later than they normally would have due
to the structure of the promotional remedy, none of the iitervenors
have presented evidence on the issue. In addition, the intervenors’
claim of delay is undercut in light of the fact that all those who have
been promoted have received their promotions within a short time
period resulting in a marginal effect on whites, if any. We recognize,
however, that a fortiori some delay may have occurred. See Howard
IV, 671 F.Supp. at 767. Therefore, despite the intervenors’ tenuous
position to contest the consent decree, we proceed to discuss the
constitutionality of the promotional remedy in accordance with our
previous opinion granting the intervenors leave to launch such a chal-
lenge.

ieee

10a
Il. THE MERITS

A. Standard of Review

In the past several years, the Supreme Court has had three
Opportunities to addess the constitutionality of race-conscious pro-
grams or orders.’ See United States v. Paradise, 480 U.S. 149, 169-
85, 107 S.Ct. 1053, 1066-74, 94 L.Ed.2d 203 (1987) (plurality opin-
ion) (upholding temporary district court order requiring that equal
number of blacks and whites be promoted to state trooper positions
whenever promotions were required because order was necessary to
ensure compliance with previous decrees and did not require gratui-
tous promotions); Local 28 v. EEOC, 478 U.S. 421, 475-79, 106 S.Ct.
3019, 3050-52, 92 L.Ed.2d 344 (1986) (plurality opinion) (uphold-
ing temporary district court order imposing nonwhite membership
goal on union and its apprenticeship committee because order was
necessary to combat the lingering effects of past discrimination, was
not used to achieve and maintain racial balance, and had only a marginal
effect on whites); Wygant v. Jackson Bd. of Education, 476 U.S. 267,
274-84, 106 S.Ct 1842, 1847-52, 90 L.Ed.2d 260 (1986) (plurality
opinion) (striking down school board's policy of extending preferen-
tial protection against layoffs to minority employees because alter-
native means of remedying present effects of past discrimination,
such as hiring goals, were available). Despite these recent opinions,
the Supreme Court has yet to establish the standard by which to re-
view equal protection challenges to governmental affirmative action
programs. See Paradise, 107 S.Ct. at 1064. Some members of the
Court believe that the remedial use of race is permissible only if it is
justified by a compelling governmental interest and the means cho-
sen to effectuate the government’s purpose are narrowly tailored. See

” Attempts by nonminority employees to challenge consent decrees which provide
for race-conscivus relief have engendered a good deal of academic commentary.
See, e.g., Cooper, The Collateral Attack Doctrine and the Rules of intervention: A
Judicial Pincer Movement on Due Process, 1987 U.Chi. Legal F. 103; Schwarzschild,
Public Law by Private Bargain: Title VIl Consent Decrees and the Fairness of Negotiated
Institutional Reform, 1984 Duke L.J. 887; Note, Voluntary Public Employer Affirma-
tive Action: Reconciling Title Vil Consent Decress with the Equal Protection Claims
of Majority Employees, 28 B.C.L.Rev. 1007 (1987).

lla

Wygant, 106 S.Ct at 1846 (opinion of Powell, Rehnquist, Burger,
and O’Connor, JJ.). Others contend that it is permissible if it serves
important governmental objectives and is substantially related to the
achievement of those objectives. See Regents of University of Cali-
fornia v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265, 359, 98 S.Ct 2733, 2783, 57 L.Ed.2d
750 (1978) (opinion of Brennan, White, Marshall, and Blackmun,
JJ.). Justice O’Connor has observed, however, that

the disparities between the two tests do not preclude a

-fair measure of consensus. In particular, as regards cer-
tain [governmental] interests commonly relied upon in
formulating affirmative action programs, the distinction
between a “compelling” and an “important” govemmen-
tal purpose may be a negligible one. The Court is in
agreement that, whatever the formulation employed,
remedying past or present racial discrimination by a
[government] actor is a sufficiently weighty [govern-
mental] interest to warrant the remedial use of a care-
fully censtructed affirmative action r:ogram.

Wygant, 106 S. Ci. at 1853 (O'Connor, J., concurring in part and
concurring in the judgment).®

We need not delincate what standard of review should be em-
ployed, for ve find that on this appeal the promotional relief in the
consent decree “survives even strict scrutiny analysis: it is ‘narrowly
tailored’ to serve a ‘compelling governmental purpose.” ” Paradise,
107 S.Ct. at 1064. Before addressing the merits, we emphasize that
the intervenors bear the burden proving that the promotional relief is
unconstitutional. Wygant, 106 S.Ct. at 1848.

* The due process clause of the Fifth Amendment contains an equal protection component.
Washington v. Davis, 426 U.S. 229, 239, 96 S.Ct. 2040, 2047, 48 L.Ed.2d 597 (1976).
Although Local 28, Wygant, and Paradise involved state affirmative action pro-
grams challenged under the cqual protection clause of the Fourteenth Amendment,
they are fully applicable in this case because the equa! protection guarantee of the
Fifth Amendment is co-extensive with that of the Fourteenth Amendment. Paradise,
107 S.Ct. at 1064 n. 16.

12a
B. Compelling/Important Interest

The consent decree in this case “must be considered equivalent
to a voluntary affirmative action plan for purposes of equal protec-
tion analysis.” Birmingham Reverse Discrimination, 833 F.2d at 1501
n.23 (11th Cir.1987). Before a public employer such as the govern-
ment embarks on an affirmative action program, it must have “con-
vincing evidence that remedial action is warranted. That is, it must
have sufficient evidence to justify the conclusion that there has been
prior discrimination.” Wygant, 106 S.Ct. at 1848. But a “contempo-
raneous or antecedent finding of past discrimination by a court or
other competent body is not a constitutional prerequisite to a public
employer’s voluntary agreement to an affirmative action plan.” /d. at
1855 (O’Connor, J., concurring in part and concurring in the judg-
ment), 1863 (Marshall, Brennan, and Blackmun, JJ., dissenting), 1867
(Stevens, J., dissenting). As Justice O’Connor has explained,

[t]he imposition of a requirement that public employers
make findings that they have engaged in illegal discrimi-
nation before they engage in affirmative action programs
would severely undermine public employers’ incentive
to meet voluntarily their civil nghts obligations. This
result would clearly be at odds with [the Supreme] Court’s
and Congress’ consistent emphasis on “the value of vol-
untary efforts to further the objectives of the law.” The
value of voluntary compliance is doubly important when
it is a public employer that acts, both because of the
example its voluntary assumption of responsibility sets
and because the remediation of governmental discrimi-
nation is of unique importance.

Id. at 1855 (O’Connor, J., concurring in part and concurring in the
judgment). Thus, when a pubic employer’s aifirmative action pro-
gram ur a consent decree providing race-conscious relief is challenged
as unconstitutional, the district court “must make a factual determi-
nation that the [public] employer had a strong basis in evidence for
its conclusion that remedial action was necessary.” /d. at 1848. Once
the public employer

13a

introduces its statistical proof as evidence of its reme-
dial purpose, thereby supplying the [district] court with
the means for determining that [it] had a firm basis for
concluding that remedial action was appropriate, it is
incumbent upon the nonminority [employees] to prove
their case; they continue to bear the ultimate burden of
persuading the [district] court that the [public employer’s]
evidence did not support an inference of prior discrimi-
nation and thus a remedial purpose, or that the plan in-
stituted on the basis of this evidence was not sufficiently
“narrowly tailored.”

Id. at 1856 (O’Connor, J., concurring in part and concurring in the
judgment).

Assuming that our limited remand allowed the intervenors to
challenge the legal effect of the plaintiffs’ statistical evidence, we
hold that the government had a sufficient basis for concluding that
remedial action was necessary. The district court’s finding that the
plaintiffs had established a prima facie case of discrimination, How-
ard IV, 671 F.Supp. at 760-61, was amply supported by the record.
First, although blacks comprised 14% of the workforce at Wamer
Robins in 1973, when the plaintiffs’ administrative charges were filed,
they held only 3.3% of supervisory positions. Record, Vol. 5, Tab
285 at 9. Second, the average grade of white WG employees in 1973
and 1975 was two and half grades higher than that of black WG em-
ployees (9.2 to 6.7 and 9.3 to 6.8). Howard IV, 671 F.Supp. at 760.
Third, in 1973 approximately 75% of black WG employees were in
grades 1-8 compared to less than 33% of white WG employees. /d.
Fourth, as of November of 1974, black WG employees spent more
time in lower grade positions than did white WG employees and the
average length of service for blacks in WG source positions was greater
than the average length of services for whites in those same positions
(e.g., the average length of service for blacks and whites in WG 5
was 8.4 years and 2.7 years respectively). Record, Vol. 5, Tab 285 at
11-12. Fifth, EEO documents and computer data demonstrated sta-
tistical disparities in the ranking factors (i.e., experience and train-
ing, Supervisory appraisals, written examinations, and awards) used
in both skills locators systems. /d. at 11; Faimess Hearing, Record,

14a

Vol. 11 at 29-31. Sixth, conservative statistical studies for the 1971-
1978 period indicated standard deviations of 3.53 to 8.19 in the pro-
motion rates for blacks out of WG source grades. Howard IV, 671
F.Supp. at 761.

The intervenors argue that a showing of past discrimination must
precede the implementation of the promotional relief and that this
showing may be made only through the employer’s own admittance
of such discrimination or through a judicial finding of past discrimi-
nation. The intervenors argue that there was an insufficient predicate
for the relief in this case because the consent decree contained a denial
of liability and because Birmingham Reverse Discrimination, 833
F.2d at 1501 n. 22, forecloses the prima facie statistical showing from
Operating as a judicial finding of discrimination. We find their argu-
ment unpersuasive.

First, as noted above, Wygant demonstrates that an employer’s
denial of liability in the consent decree does not preclude approval of
the decree. The govermment’s denial of liability did not bind the dis-
trict court which was required to examine the consent decree, ascer-
tain whether it represented a reasonable factual and legal determina-
tion based on the record, and ensure that it did not violate federal
law. See United States v. City of Miami, 664 F.2d 435, 441 (Sth Cir.1981)
(Rubin, J., concurring); Cotton v. Hinton, 559 F.2d 1326, 1330-31
(Sth Cir.1977). Wygant also makes it clear that a judicial finding is
not required before a public employer adopts an affirmative action
program or enters into a consent decrec that provides race-conscious
relief.

Second, the footnote in Birmingham Reverse Discrimination,

relied on by the intervenors, is inapposite and indeed irrelevant to the
issue presented in this case. The footnote merely states that no judi-
cial determination of discrimination had been made in that case, thereby
distinguishing the affirmative action consent decree at issue in that
case from court orders requiring affirmative action to remedy past
discrimination. The footnote did not address the effect of a denial of
liability in a consent decree nor did it state that a judicial determina-
tion of discrimination was a necessary component of a constitutional
consent decree. We therefore hold that the goverment had a com-
pelling and/or important interest in taking remedial action because it

15a

had sufficient evidence to justify a conclusion that there had been
prior discrimination against blacks at Warmer Robins.

C. Narrowly Tailored

To satisfy strict scrutiny, the promotional relief in the consent
decree must be narrowly tailored. As we previously explained, the
promotional relief provides that 240 qualified plaintiffs, who were
employed at Wamer Robins during the 1971-1979 period and are
listed in special promotion registers, are to be promoted into 38 tar-
get positions. The promotions from this list alternate with promo-
tions from the general list so that every other promotion to the target
positions is filled from the special promotion registers. In determin-
ing whether the promotional relief is appropriate, we must look to
several factors.These factors include the “necessity for the relief and
the efficacy of alternative remedies,” the “flexibility and duration of
the relief, including the availability of waiver provisions,” the “‘rela-
tionship of numerical goals to the relevant labor market,” and the
“impact of the relief on the rights of [the intervenors].” Paradise,
107 S.Ct at 1067.

1. Necessity for particular relief.

The district court determined that the promotional relief was
the only way of providing the “full relief necessary to remove promptly
the remaining vestiges of discrimination at Wamer Robins,”’ espe-
cially in light of the decade-long delay in the case, and noted that it
had not been presented with any other less intrusive approach that
might provide full relief to the plaintiffs within a reasonable time.
Howard IV, 671 F.Supp. at 767. To evaluate the district court’s deter-
mination that the promotional relief was necessary, “we must exam-
ine the purposes the [relief] was intended to serve.” Paradise, 107
S.Ct at 1067. The consent decree was entered into to ensure the expeditious
equal promotion of blacks at Wamer Robins and remedy the effects
of years of discrimination. The district court found that “discrimina-
tion in [the WG] source positions was pervasive throughout the en-
tire period [in question],” and noted that the promotional relief was
directed only to the wage grades where discrimination had occurred.
Howard IV, 671 F.Supp. at 763. Cf. Paradise, 107 S.Ct. at 1067-70
(order requiring promotion of equal number of blacks and whites to

—

16a

state trooper positions in Alabama Department of Public Safety was
necessary to eliminate the effects of the Department’s previous dis-
crimination, to ensure expeditious compliance with previous decrees
pertaining to that discrimination, and to eliminate the possible ef-
fects of the Department’s delay in developing a procedure without
adverse impact on blacks).

The intervenors contend that the theory behind the number of
promotions which are reserved for qualified plaintiffs is wrong be-
cause the 6.5% attrition rate at Wamer Robins indicates that only 122
of the 240 plaintiffs who were discriminated against on the median
date of January 1, 1975 remain in the workforce. Brief for Interve-
nors at 42-43 & n. 18. We dismiss this argument as improperly raised.
Our remand limited the issucs that the intervenors could raise and
specifically denied them standing to challenge the existence of past
discrimination or any other issue conceming the merits of the dispute.
Howard III, 782 F.2d at 960-61.

The intervenors also argue that the promotional relief was
unnecessary because other remedial altcmatives were available. According
to the intervenors, the relief could have been spread out over a longer
period of time and double promotions (i.e., promoting off both the
» gular register and the special promotion register) could have been
used. These alternatives, however, are not feasible because they do
not place the plaintiffs in their rightful place or do not do so as expe-
ditiously.? The district court, which has been invoived with the litiga-
tion between the govemment and the plaintiffs since its inception in
1975, did not err in finding that the promotional relief was necessary.
The government’s efforts to eliminate the effects of past discrimina-
tion would have been thwarted unless 240 qualified plaintiffs were
promoted to the 38 target positions.

9 The intervenors’ argument that the promotional relief should have been tempered
by red-circling of pay rates or seniority for white employees who would have been
promoted but for the 240 promotions, Brief for Intervenors at 44, is unpersuasive.
Those employees, like all others at Warner Robins, do not have a legitimate expecta-
tion of being promoted, Howard IV, 671 F.Supp. at 766 n. 3, and, as we indicated
earlier, there is no evidence that any given intervenor would have received a promo-
tion but for the promotional relicf.

17a
2. Flexibility of relief.

The flexibility and short duration of the promotional relief cannot
seriously be called into question. First, the relief does not prevent
white employees from being promoted to the affected wage grades
because promotions to qualified plaintiffs alternate with general pro-
motions so that every other promotion to a targeted position is from
the special promotion registers. White employees are at most de-
layed in receiving a promotion to a limited number of specified posi-
tions. Second, to be promoted under the terms of the consent decree,
the plaintiffs must meet certain qualification criteria. To be included
on the special list the class member had to (1) “first meet the normal, basic
eligibility requirements for the position sought; (2) the class member
must have higher supervisory ratings in late 1984 than other blacks
evaluated by the same supervisor, and (3) the seniority of the em-
ployee as determined by his service computation date must be considered.”
Howard IV, 671 F.Supp. at 763 (Record Cites omitted). Third, the
government is not required to make a promotion unless one is neces-
sary. Fourth, the relief is not meant to set employment percentage
goals or ensure a racially balanced workforce, and it evaporates when
the 240 promotions are made. Howard IV, 671 F.Supp. at 766-67.
Simply put, the promotional relief does not constitute blind hiring by
the numbers and does not amount to a rigid ard impermissible quota
system. See Paradise, 107 S.Ct. at 1070-71 (order requiring promo-
tion of equal number of blacks and whites was flexible and tempo-
rary because it could be waived if there were no qualified blacks, and
no gratuitous promotions had to be made).

3. Numerical goals.

The relationship of the numerical goal of the promotional relief
to the percentage of blacks in the labor force is not a relevant factor
in this case. The 240 special promotions do not represent or achieve
any aggregate proportionality. Once the 240 promotions are made,
the promotional relief ceases, regardless of the percentage of blacks
or whites in higher wage gradcs.

18a
4. Impact of the relief.

We agree with the district court that the impact of the promo-
tional relief on the intervenors is “relatively diffuse.” Howard IV,
671 F.Supp. at 767. To begin with, the relief does not have the drastic
impact of layoff requirements found constitutionally impermissible
in Wygant, and it does not impose a bar to the intervenors’ advancement.
See Paradise, 107 S.Ct at 1073; Local 28, 106 S.Ct. at 3052-53. While
the relief may delay the promotions of certain intervenors (those who
are actually promoted) to the target positions, it does so only for a
limited time. Moreover, “[a]lthough some white [employees] will
have their promotions delayed, it is uncertain whether any individual
[employee], white or black, would have achieved a different [grade],
or would have achieved it at a different time, but for the promotion
requirement.” Paradise, 107 S.Ct. at 1076 (Powell, J., concurring).

Furthermore, the intervenors and other white employees who
are delayed in possible promotions to the target positions are still
eligible for other promotions. The 169 promotions that were made
from December of 1984 to October of 1986 comprised only 4.3% of
the promotions made at Wamer Robins during that period of time.
Howard IV, 671 F.Supp. at 767. See also Howard II, 597 F.Supp. at
1503 (special promotions are expected to constitute only 6.5% of all
promotions made during period of implementation of the consent
decree). The diffused impact of the promotional relief on the interve-
nors is further highlighted by the fact that 56 of ihe 137 named inter-
venors are not eligible or otherwise unable to be promoted to the tar-
get positions and that of the remaining 83 intervenors, 43 have been
promoted. Howard IV, 671 F.Supp. at 767 n. 4.

The intervenors assert that the promotional relief is not diffuse
because it applies only to 38 target positions at Warner Robins and
therefore burdens a small segment of the workforce. Brief for Inter-
venors at 43. We disagree. As the government pointed out in the dis-
trict court, over 8,000 whites are qualified for promotions to the tar-
get positions. Government’s Memorandum in Opposition to Interve-
nors’ Motion to Vacate Promotional Provisions of Consent Decree,
Record, Vol. 7, Tab 323 at 25. See Workforce Statistics Exhibit, In-
dex #275 at E2-3 (indicating the number and percentage of black and
nonblack employcces qualified for promotions to each of the 38 target

19a

positions). The burden imposed by the promotional relief does not
fall upon a narrow segment of the workforce. Putting aside the numbers
we have just mentioned, the intervenors’ argument proves too much.
If the promotional relief extended to all positions at Warmer Robins,
thereby satisfying the intervenors’ concems, it would be criticized
on the ground that it was not narrowly tailored because it was not
limited to those positions in which the plaintiffs had been denied
promotions. Given the difficulties inherent in fashioning a proper
remedy in this case, the promotion relief strikes the proper balance.

5. Actual victims.

The intervenors argue that the best procedures were not used to
determine which black employees were discriminatorily denied pro-
motions. As we noted in part I. A., due to the nature of Wamer Rob-
ins’ promotion system, there are no records that would permit such
identification. It would also have been futile to inquire which of the
plaintiffs applied for promotions, since all employees at Wamer Robins
are initially considered for all vacancies without having to apply for
them. The district court’s finding that the best method of determin-
ing the actual victims of discrimination at Wamer Robins was util-
ized in the consent decree, Howard IV, 671 F.Supp. at 763, is not
clearly erroneous. See Association Against Discrimination in Em-
ployment, Inc. v. City of Bridgeport, 479 F.Supp. 101, 115-16
(D.Conn.1979) (affirmative action program for nonvictims would be
devised if identification process could not identify enough actual victims
of discrimination to fill 102 positions which had been set aside), aff” d
in part and vacated in part on other grounds, 647 F.2d 256 (2d Cir.1981),
cert. denied, 455 U.S. 988, 102 S.Ct. 1611, 71 L.Ed.2d 847 (1982).
Cf. Pettway v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co., 494 F.2d 211, 261 (Sth
Cir. 1974) (individualized hearings to determine which employees were
actual victims of discrimination entitled to award of back pay are not
required when “the ambiguity of promotion or hiring practices or the
multiple effects of discriminatory practices . . . calls forth the quag-
mire of hypothetical judgment”). Our conclusion that the promotional
relief is narrowly tailored is buttressed by the intervenors’ failure to
show that any of the plaintiffs were not discriminated against.

20a
Ill. TITLE VII CLAIM

The Supreme Court has held that Title VII’s limits on a public
employer’s adoption of affirmative programs or race-conscious re-
lief embodied in consent decrees do not extend as far as those of the
Constitution. See Johnson v. Transportation Agency, 480 U.S. 616,
627 n. 6, 107 S.Ct. 1442, 1449 n. 6, 94 L.Ed.2d 615 (1987); Steel-
workers of America v. Weber, 443 U.S. 193, 206 n. 6, 99 S.Ct. 2721,
2729 n. 6, 61 L.Ed.2d 480 (1979). Our determination that the promo-
tional relief does not violate the Fifth Amendment therefore means
that it satisfies § 703 of Title VII, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a), which
makes it unlawful for employers to discriminate on the basis of race,
color, religion, sex, or national origin but does not completely pro-
hibit all affirmative action programs. See Weber, 443 U.S. at 208, 99
S.Ct. at 2729.'°

IV. CONCLUSION

» We acknowledge that the two Icgal grounds upon which we
base our opinion may be considered dicta. The intervenors’ argu-
ment that the plaintiffs’ showing of past discrimination was insuffi-
cient to overcome the intervenors’ Fifth Amendment nghts was ar-
guably foreclosed by our opinion in Howard III. To foreclose that
argument, we have answered it.

'© Because a consent decree is not an “order” within the enforcement provisions of
Title VI, it cannot be challenged on the ground that it violates § 706(g) of Title VII,
42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(g) which prohibits a court from entering an order requiring an
employer to give relief to an employee who suffers adverse job action if the action
was taken for any reason other than discrimination on account of race, color, reli-
gion, sex, or national origin. Local No. 93 v. City of Cleveland, 478 U.S. 501, 521-
24, 106 S.Ct. 3063, 3075-77, 92 L.Ed.2d 405 (1996). Even § 706(g), however, per-
mits, in certain circumstances, remedies which are not limited to actual victims of
discrimination. Local 28, 106 S.Ct. at 3047-49 (plurality opinion), 3054 (Powell, J.,
concurring).

21a

The remand in Howard III as we interpret it gave intervenors
the opportunity to prove that implementation of the decree would
have an adverse impact on them and if so intervenors could attack
the remedial provisions awarded to plaintiffs. Although intervenors
failed to show any adverse impact, we nevertheless approve the
promotional remedy based on the record in the case and the district
court findings."

AFFIRMED.

"' Given our decision, we necd not address whether the intervenors’ challenge to the
promotional relief was rendered moot to the extent that 169 plaintiffs had already
been promoted by the time we rendered our opinion in Howard II].

23a
Appendix B
IN THE UNITED STATES COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF GEORGIA
MACON DIVISION

MICHAEL HOWARD, et al., _—)
Plaintiffs, )
) CIVIL ACTION
) 75-168-MAC (WDO)
VS. )
)
JOHN L. McLUCAS, et al., )
Defendants. )

OWENS, Chief Judge:

The court’s duty at this moment is clear. It must once and for all
put to rest the question of whether the proposed consent decree sub-
mitted in this case by the plaintiffs and defendants is a fair, adequate,
reasonable, and lawful resolution of this class action controversy.
This court’s previous determination that the consent decree was, in
fact, a fair, adequate, reasonable, and lawful resolution of this case
has been set aside in part by the decision of the Eleventh Circuit
Court of Appeals in Howard v. McLucas, 782 F.2d 956 (11th Cir.
1986). That decision, however, was not a finding by the Circuit Court
that the decree in question was unreasonable or unlawful. The Cir-
cuit Court merely required that before this court could grant final ap-
proval to the consent decree, Intervenors, white and non-black mi-
nority employees at Warmer Robins Air Logistics Center (“Wamer
Robins’’), must be allowed to intervene so that they may have an op-
portunity to challenge the relief provided by the consent decree. In
allowing the intervention, however, the Circuit Court limited Inter-
venors’ challenge of the proposed consent decree soleiy to that por-
tion of the decree that reserves 240 target position promotional op-
portunities to class members. /d. at 960. Intervenors have no stand-
ing to contest the backpay award or other remedial measures pro-

24a

vided for in the consent decree. /d. at 960-61. Because of this limita-
tion, the court’s previous determinations with regard to the appropri-
ateness of the non- promotional relief provided for in the consent decree
are hereby readopted and made a part of this order for the reasons
stated in the court’s order dated November 20, 1984. The court next
tums the issue of the adequacy and legality of the promotional relief.

Appropriateness of the Promotional Relief

Before discussing the legal issues raised by the granting of
promotional relief, it is important to point out the additional limita-
tions imposed on Intervenors by the Eleventh Circuit that they must
face in disputing the appropriateness of the promotional relief. First,
the Eleventh Circuit’s decision makes clear that Intervenors may not
contest “the existence of past discrimination or any other issue con-
ceming the merits of the dispute” between plaintiffs and defendants.
Id. at 961. The second, and perhaps most important limitation, is the
fact that the Eleventh Circuit refused to stay the implementation of
the consent decree. By the time the Circuit court issued its decision,
169 target positions had been filled by members of the plaintiff class.
To the extent that the targeted promotional positions have been filled,
the issue of whether the promotional relief is appropriate has been
mooted. /d. at 961 n.4. With these limitations thus stated, the court
must now proceed to the merits of Intervenors challenge.

The court begins its analysis by recognizing that voluntary set-
tlement of Titie VII employment discrimination suits is pre

[Text truncated at 120,000 characters. The full text is on the page linked above.]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0266%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
