# Opposition Brief — George v. Connecticut

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0185%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 493 U.S. 893

## Text

Supreme Oeurt, U.S.
FILED
ey, SEP 5 1989
oan oe oe ee 4 —JOSERH E.SPANIOL, JR.
. CLERK
No. 89-300
IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

WILLIAM GEORGE,
Petitioner,

Ve

STATE OF CONNECTICUT,
Respondent.

On Writ of Certiorari to the

Appellate Court of the State of Connecticut

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION
FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JOHN A. CONNELLY, Counsel of Record
JOAN K. ALEXANDER, Of Counsel
Office of State's Attorney

30 Bank Street

P.O. Box 2157

Waterbury, CT 06722-2157

(203) 756-4431

Counsel for Respondent
August 14, 1989

3% P

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

oe whether tne decision of the
Appellate LCourt of Lonnecticut in the case
at Dar presents an important question of
jaw which has not been settled, but snouid
be settled, Dy this Court?

e. Whether the decision by the
Appellate Court of Connecticut in the case
at bar presents a decided federal question
and in its decision contlicts with
applicable tederal decisions?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
BT TOE PRESENTED... . 22... c0ecccaseeces 1
POEM MITER ITICS. . 25 ccc. cc cece eces 111
DUT OF THE GAGE... 2.0... 02 ccs cccse \
REASONS FOR OPPOSING THE WRIT.........06. 3
oe eect ew eee ec awns y

oe BS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Aguilar v. lexas, 378 U.S. 108
EL) eee weer CC CCT Ce eo Se ee ee Ay

Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S. 154
Saxe, eee rre eT Cee Tee eee RAR Se 1

Giles v. Maryland. 87 S.Ct. 793
Ty Yi Perera e Tere eee Tee ee 6

Spinelli v. United States, 393 U.S. 410
eh. see TCC Cee Ce Se ee ee ee +

State v. Enright, 17 Conn. App. i4e, 550
A.B 1095 (19GB) ~.cccvcescccesesnense 4

State v. Evans, 165 Conn. 61, 327 A.ed 376
Si sp Pee eee eee ee easy 9

State v. Telesca. 199 Conn. 571, 508 A.cd
Vee. Cee eee a eee ee ee 4

-iii-

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

fhe detendant, William George, was
errested on intormation received froma
wiretap communication and subsequently was
convicted on a plee of noio contendere of
tne crimes of gambling and professional
Gambling in violation of C.G.S. 853-
e78bia) and (Db) and transmitting or
recel —__gambling information by
telephone in violation of €.G.S.. 853-
278d(4). Following the filing of Part Il
of the intormation on May ee, 1985, Mr.
George was also charged with being a

persistent of fender in violation of
Section S53-e78(f) of the Connecticut
beneral States and aiso pled to that
count. The judgment of conviction was
affirmed by the Appellate Court. 17
Conn.App. S87 (1989). A Motion for
Reargument En Banc was denied on April 6,
1989. The Connecticut Supreme Court

denied certification on May 19, 1989.

In reviewing the Franks hearing
transcript, the Appellate Court found no
error by the trial court in allowing in

the disputed evidence and that the
detendant failed to prove a claim of error
under the principles ot Franks Vv.
Delaware, 438 U.S. 154 (1978). The
Appellate Court held that “Fennessy 'sS
testimony ° ° »- waS equivocal at best.’
17 Conn.App at 593. The Appellate Court

further tound, that even after excising
Brown's allegediy false statements, the
remaining attidavit statements had
“sutticient indicia of reliability upon
which tne wiretap panel cou:id tind tne
affidavit estabiisned that the intormant
was credible." 17 Conn.App. at 600.

‘ine Appellate Court noted that

re on

Cgjliven some of the events that

occurred following Speers*
arrest such as the labeling of
Fennessy as an informant,

Fennessy's admission of having
felt intimidated by Speers'
driving him to a meeting with
state police officers at which
time he was questioned about
intormation he had given Brown
about Speers, and Fennessy's
arrest by the state police

that it was not

implausible that the trial court

would discredit Fennessy's
testimony for the purpose of
deciding whether Brown's
statement was false and
intentionally or recklessly

made, on one hand, and, on the
other, find that tre wiretap
panel had sufficient indicia of
reliability to credit Brown's
statement that Fennessy was in
Brown's estimation, a reliable
informant.

17 Conn.App. at 600.

The defendant sought to introduce the

contents) of the case file, State of
Connecticut Ve Thomas Brown. The
prosecution objected to the admission of
the file, arguing that it contained
hearsay and inc luded conclusory and
irrelevant intormation. The Court

sustained the objection, but stated that

because Brown was not available‘ it would
allow the introduction of the transcript
of his testimony before tne grand jury.
The defendants declined the court's offer
and again requested that the entire case
file be introduced. The Court refused,
and the defendants withdrew their request.
17 Conn. App. at 601.

In reviewing the Confrontation Clause
issue, the Appellate Court found that the

detendant failed to raise the
argument below and Cdidj not

~ seek review under State v.
Evans, 165 Conn. 61, 3e7 A.ed
576 (1973), or claim that the
ruling constituted plain error
reviewable under Prac. Book.
84185;

therefore, his claim that he was unable to
properly confront and cross-examine his
chief accuser, Brown, was not entitled to
review. 17 Conn.App. at 602.

REASONS FOR OPPOSING THE WRIT

1. The Franks Issue.

The Appellate Court concluded that
the trial court was correct in determining
that, even absent the allegediy false
statements in the atfidavit, there was

‘At the suppression hearing, tne
State's Attorney ofttered the witness
immunity from prosecution, thus

technicaliy making him available as a
witness.

sufficient information to provide a basis
for the wiretap panel to determine that
the affidavits satisfied the Aguilar-
Spinelli test and tne requirements of
C.G.S. $54-4ic.

In reaching this conclusion, the
Appellate Court correctly found that

CinJ] a suppression hearing, the
trial court serves as the trier
of fact, and it 1S ax1lOmatic

that "the trier of the facts
determines witn finality the
credibility of witnesses and the
weight to ‘be accorded their

testimony."

17 Conn.App. at S9e. Absent a clearly
erroneous decision in light of the
evidence, the decision of the trial court
should not be disturbed. Conn.Pract.Book
64061; State v. Enright, 17 Conn.App. i¢e,
330 A.2d 1095 (19866).

The Appellate Court reviewed the
United States Supreme Court standard in
determining probable cause as set out in
Aguilar v. texas, 378 U.S. 108 (1964) and
Spinelli v. United States, 393 U.S. 410
(1969) which was incorporated by the
Connecticut Supreme in State v. Telesca,
199 Conn. 591, SOB A.ed 1367 (1986) and
adopted this standard for its review of
affidavits for wiretap investigations.

The Appellate Court found that in the
instant matter the Aguilar-Spinelili

standard was met, to wit: that

the wiretap panel that issues
the wiretap order (Cbel] “intormed
OF: 3) some oft the underlying
circumstances reiied on by the

=

person providing the information
to the aftiant; and (ec) some ot
the underlying circumstances
from which the affiant conciuded
(a) that the informant, whose

identity needa not even be
disclosed, was credible, or (b)
that his information was

reliable."
17 Conn.App. at S96.
in light of the Appellate Court's

conclusion that there was no abuse of
discretion by the trial court and its

appropriate applicetion of the well-
defined legal standards, the holding in
the instant decision should not be

disturbed.

2. The Confrontation Clause Issue.

The Appellate Court was correct in

declining to review the defendant's
allegation of confrontation clause
violations. The defendant did not raise

the argument below, did not seek review
under State v. Evans, supra, and did not
claim plain error under Conn.Prac.Book
84185. It was not an abuse of discretion
to decline review, ang the extraordinary
circumstances relied upon by the defendant
to entitle him to such review do not exist
in the instant petition.

A criminal prosecution 1s not a game
in which the State's function 1s to outwit
and entrap its Quarry. The State's
pursuit 1S justice, not a victim. Giles
v. Maryland, 87 S.Ct. 793, 8190 (1967). It
the State had in its exclusive possession
specific, concrete evidence which was not
merely cumulative or embellishing ang

ae

which would nave exonerated the defendant,

the State 1s obliged and would have
brought it to the attention of both the
Court and the defense. The record on

review demonstrates that no constitutional
violations occurred at any time during
Petitioner's proceedings. Petitioner has
failed to make even a minimal showing of
harm. Upon an inquiry to determine
whether due process principles nave been
transgressed in a particular factual
frame, there is no precise iine of
demarcation or calibrated measuring rod
with a mathematical solution. Each
instance in which a deprivation 1s
asserted requires its own testing in the
light of fundamental and necessarily
general but pliant postulates. All
components complained of must be
scrutinized; notwithstanding such
scrutiny, Petitioner's claims are without
merit.

CONCLUSION

The Appellate Court's decision is in
accord and does not conflict with
applicable Supreme LCourt decisions.

The issues presented do not involve
any questions of great public importance
and, therefore do not form ae basis for
certiorari.

WHEREFORE, for the reasons asserted
above, the Respondent respectfully
requests that the writ of certiorari be
denied.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED,

THE STATE OF CONNECTICUT

Counsel for Respondent:

John A. Connelly, Counsel of Record
State's Attorney

Joan kK. Alexander, Uf Counsel
Deputy Assistant State's Attorney
Office of State's Attorney
Judicial District of WITBY

P.0. Box 21357

Waterbury, CIT O67e2e-e157

(203) 756-4431

August 14, 1989

No. 89-300

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

WILLIAM GEORGE,
Petitioner,

Ve

STATE OF CONNECTICUT,
Respondent.

APPENDIX

APPENDIX TABLE OF CONTENTS

OPINION OF CONNECTICUT

APPELLATE COURT

iA

17 Conn. App. 587 587

State v. Speers

STATE OF CONNECTICUT v. THOMAS SPEERS
(6385)

STATE OF CONNECTICUT v. WILLIAM GEORGE
(6738)

Dupont, C. J., STOUGHTON and Norcotr, Js.

Convicted, following conditional pieas of nolo contendere, of the crimes of
gambling, professional gambling and transmitting or receiving gam-
bling information by telephone, the defendants appealed to this court
claiming, inter alia, that the trial court erred in denying their motion
to suppress certain evidence seized in a wiretap of their telephones.
They alleged that a police officer, B, in applying for the warrant, had
made false statements and given misleading information and that B
had omitted significant facts from the affidavit. The trial court con-
cluded that there was sufficient other information contained in the app!i-
cation to support the approval of the wiretap request. Held:

1. The trial court correctly determined that, even absent the allegedly false
statements in the affidavit, the affidavit was sufficient to establish prob-
able cause that the defendants were involved in illegal gambling
activities.

2. There was ne merit to the defendants’ claim that the trial court erred
in refusing to take judicial notice of the court file pertaining to B’s arrest
for perjury in connection with the warrant application after B refused,
on fifth amendment grounds, to testify at their suppression hearing;
that court did offer to allow a transcript of B’s testimony into evidence
at the hearing and it did not abuse its discretion in determining that
the file contained inadmissible hearsay and double hearsay.

Argued November 18, 1988—decision released March 7, 1989

Information charging the defendant in each case with
the crimes of professional gambling, gambling and

1A

588 17 Conn. App. 587

State v. Speers

transmitting or receiving gambling information,
brought to the Superior Court in the judicial district
of Waterbury, where the court, Flynn, J., denied the
defendants’ motions to suppress certain evidence and
to dismiss; thereafter, the matters were presented to
the court on pleas of nolo contendere; judgments of
guilty from which the defendants filed separate appeals
to this court. No error.

Timothy C. Moynahan, with whom, on the brief, were
John M. Loconsolo, Jr., and Theresa M. Dalton, for the
appellant (defendant in the finst case).

Frederick D. Paoletti, Jr., with whom, on the brief,
were John M. Loconsolo, Jr., Timothy C. Moynahan
and Theresa M. Dalton, for the appellant (defendant
in the second case).

James K. Robertson, Jr., special assistant state's
attorney, with whom, on the brief, was John A. Con-
nelly, state’s attorney, for the appellee (state).

Norcotrt, J. The defendants, Thomas W. Speers and
William George,! appeal from judgments of conviction
following their conditional pleas of nolo contendere? to
the crimes of gambling and professional gambling in
violation of General Statutes § 53-278b (a) and (b)* and

1 The same criminal investigation led to the arrests of both defendants.
Their appeals were argued together and raise the same claims of error.

2 General Statutes § 54-94a and Practice Book § 4003 (a) authorize defend-
ants to condition their entry of a plea of nolo contendere on the nght to
take an appeal from the trial court’s denial of a motion to supress evidence
based on an unreasonable search or seizure or motion to dismiss. The issue
before this court is “limited to whether it was proper for the court to have
denied the motion to suppress or the motion to dismiss.” Practice Book
§ 4003 (a).

* “(General Statutes] Sec. 53-278b. GAMBLING; PROFESSIONAL GAMBLING;
PENALTIES. (a) Any person who engages in gambling, or solicits or induces
another to engage in gambling, or is present when another person or per-
sons are engaged in gambling, shall be guilty of a class B misdemeanor;
provided natural persons shal] be exempt from prosecution and punishment

2A

17 Conn. App. 587 589

State v. Speers

transmitting or receiving gambling information by tel-
ephone in violation of General Statutes § 53-278d (a).¢
They claim the trial court erred in denying their motion
to suppress evidence obtained through a wiretap inves-
tigation, and their motion to dismiss the charges
against them, (1) by determining that the defendants
did not prove that allegedly false statements and mis-
leading omissions, made by an affiant to obtain
approval of a wiretap application, voided the basis for
probable cause to issue the arrest warrant, and (2) by
refusing to admit into evidence, during a Franks hear-
ing,® documents concerning the allegedly false infor-
mation provided by the warrant application affiant,
Lieutenant Thomas R. Brown of the Waterbury police
department. They also claim that their inability to cross-
examine Brown constitutes a violation of their constitu-
tional right to confrontation. We find no error.

The record reveals the following facts. On March 15,
1985, the state’s attorney for the judicial district of
Waterbury applied to a panel of judges, by authority
of General Statutes § 54-41b, for an order authorizing
interception of the telephonic communications of the
defendants. The application was accompanied by the
supporting affidavits of Connecticut state police Detec-
tive Ronald W. Kamens and Brown, alleging that the

under this subsection for any game, wager or transaction which is inciden-
tal to a bona fide social relationship, is participated in by natural persons
only and in which no person is participating, directly or indirectly, in profes-
siona] gambling.

‘(o) Any person who engages in professional gambling shall be guilty
of a class A misdemeanor.”’

* General Statutes § 53-278d provides in pertinent part: ‘(a) Any person
who knowingly transmits or receives gambling information by telephone,
telegraph, radio, semaphore, or other means, or knowingly installs or main-
tains equipment for the transmission or receipt of gambling information,
shall be guilty of a class A misdemeanor.”

* Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S. 154, 98 S. Ct. 2674, 57 L. Ed. 2d 667
(1978).

3A

590 17 Conn. App. 587
State v. Speers

defendants were engaged in professional gambling. By
order dated March 19, 1985, the three judge panel
authorized a limited telephonic interception for a period
of fifteen days. On the basis of information obtained
through the wiretap, the defendants were arrested pur-
suant to warrants issued on May 2, 1985.

Following the defendants’ arrests, Brown was
arrested and charged with perjury for allegedly falsely
stating in the affidavit in support of the wiretap appli-
cation that the informant who had supplied him with
information about the defendants’ illegal activities had
previously given him information that had resulted in
two arrests and two convictions. The defendants filed
a motion to suppress the evidence obtained through the
wiretap and a motion to dismiss the charges against
them. They claimed that the arrest warrant was invalid
because Brown’s statement regarding the informant
was false and intentionally or recklessly made and
because he had omitted significant facts from the affi-
davit. On July 21, 1987, the trial court granted the .
defendants’ motion for an evidentiary hearing as pro-
vided by Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S. 154, 98 S. Ct.
2674, 57 L. Ed. 2d 667 (1978), and State v. Dolphin,
195 Conn. 444, 456-57, 488 A.2d 812, cert. denied, 474
U.S. 833, 106 S. Ct. 103, 88 L. Ed. 2d 84 (1985). At
the conclusion of the hearing, the court denied the
defendants’ motions to suppress and dismiss, conclud-
ing that the defendants had failed to prove, by a prepon-
derance of the evidence, that Brown’s statement was
false and was made intentionally or recklessly or that
any omissions materially affected the accuracy of the
affidavit. The court also concluded that the defendants
had failed to prove that the warrant application, even
when viewed without the challenged statement by
Brown, and considering the alleged omissions, was

4A

17 Conn. App. 587 591
State v. Speers

insufficient to establish probable cause.* The defend-
ants withdrew their pleas of not guilty, pleaded nolo
contendere, and appealed the trial court’s rulings.

I

The defendants first claim that the trial court erred
in determining that they had failed to prove that
Brown’s statement regarding the informant was false
and made intentionally or recklessly, that there were
material omissions and that there was insufficient other
information to support the approval of the wiretap
request.

After the trial court granted the defendants a Franks
hearing, it became the defendants’ burden to establish,
by a preponderance of the evidence, either that Brown
deliberately falsified information contained in the wire-
tap affidavit or prepared the affidavit with reckless dis-
regard for the truth, and that any intentionally false
statements or material omissions were necessary to a
finding of probable cause. See State v. Telesca, 199
Conn. 591, 608, 508 A.2d 1367 (1986).

Brown, exercising his privilege against compulsory
self-incrimination, refused to testify at the F’ranks hear-
ing. The defendants, in attempting to prove that the
statement by Brown was false or recklessly made, prin-

* In their briefs, the defendants argue that the trial court’s actions in
granting the Franks hearing, and then ultimately deciding that Brown's
alleged false statement was not necessary for a finding of probable cause,
are contradictory. Although it is true that suppression hearings under
Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S. 154, 98S. Ct. 2674, 57 L. Ed. 2d 667 (1978),
are commonly granted when ‘‘the defendant makes a substantial prelimi-
nary showing that a false statement knowingly and intentionally, or with
reckless disregard for the truth, was included by the affiant in the war-
rant affidavit, and . . . the allegedly false statement is necessary to the
finding of probable cause ’’; (emphasis added) id., 155-56; it is also true that
in this case the tral court granted the hearing expressly reserving any deter
mination of whether the challenged statement was false and whether the
statement substantially affected the basis for a finding of probable cause.

5A

592 17 Conn. App. 587

State v. Speers

cipally depended upon the testimony of the informant,
Robert ‘‘Gus’’ Fennessy, from whom Brown had
received information about the defendants’ gambling.
Fennessy testified that, inter alia, he had nct served
as an informant against others in the past and that no
information that he may have passed on to police had
ever contributed to arrests and convictions. The court,
however, in its memorandum of decision, discredited
Fennessy’s testimony and, relying upon a number of
other factors, elicited through testimony at the hear-
ing, held that the defendants had failed to prove that
it was more likely than not that Brown’s statement was
false and intentionally or recklessly made.

In a suppression hearing, the trial court serves as the
trier of fact, and it is axiomatic that “ ‘[t]he trier of
the facts determines with finality the credibility of wit-
nesses and the weight to be accorded their testimony.
“We cannot retry the facts or pass upon the credibil-
ity of the witnesses.” ’ State v. Penland, 174 Conn. 153,
157-58, 384 A.2d 356, cert. denied, 436 U.S. 906, 98
S. Ct. 2237, 56 L. Ed. 2d 404 (1978), [quoting Johnson
v. Flammia, 169 Conn. 491, 497, 363 A.2d 1048
(1975).]” State v. Kimbro, 197 Conn. 219, 222-23, 496
A.2d 498 (1985). Our role as a reviewing court is limited
to deciding whether the trial court’s decision was
clearly erroneous in light of the evidence in the whole
record. Practice Book § 4061; State v. Enright, 17
Conn. App. 142, 146, 550 A.2d 1095 (1988).

A review of the record and transcript of testimony
given by the witnesses called at the Franks hearing
reveals an adequate basis for the trial court’s decision.
Detective Kamens, the other affiant in the wiretap
application, testified that Brown had told him that Fen-
nessy’s testimony had led to two arrests and convic-
tions in the past, and that he believed that Brown's
statement was reliable. Lieutenant Bruce Haines of the
state police also testified that when he met with Brown

6A

17 Conn. App. 587 593

State r. Speers

and state’s attorney John Connelly at the time of the
wiretap investigation, he stated that he did not belieVe
Brown was dishonest. Although the defendants
asserted that Brown’s motive for intentionally making
a false statement and omitting material facts from his
affidavit was a personal] vendetta against Speers, Fen-
nessy admitted that, although Brown may have had a
personal motive for having Speers arrested, he also had
a professional motive to see that a person he suspected
of involvement in criminal activity was arrested. The
transcript strongly supports the trial] court’s conclu-
sion that Fennessy’s testimony, on which the defend-
ants so heavily relied, was equivocal at best and that
he often contradicted statements he had made earlier
in the hearing and before the grand jury.’ On this rec-
ord, we conclude that the trial court had a sufficient
basis upon which to discredit Fennessy’s testimony and,
without credible evidence that Brown’s statement was
false and intentionally or recklessly made, did not err
in concluding that the defendants failed to meet their
burden of proof.

The defendants also alleged that Brown omitted
material information from his affidavit. They claim that
he failed to inform the wiretap panel (1) of the exis-
tence of a tape of a conversation in which Fennessy
allegedly placed bets with Speers, (2) that Brown, as
Fennessy’s landlord, permitted him to live rent free,
(3) of Brown's alleged persona] grudge against Speers,
and (4) that Brown gave Fennessy money from the city
of Waterbury with which to place bets with Speers.

’ We spec.tically note the trial court's reference in its memorandum of
decision to Fennessy’s testimony about informing police, including Brown.
of gambling activity taking place at the Mattatuck Newsstand when Fen-
nessy was a bartender At the suppression hearing. Fennessy claimed he
had never provided the police with such information When shown a grand
jury transcript of his testimony. however. he reversed his answer and
responded to a number of questions about his involvement in that situation

7A

594 “17 Conn. App. 587

State v. Speers

“Although the court in Franks mentioned only ‘false
statements ... included .. . in the warrant affi-
davit,’ material omissions from such an affidavit also
fall within the rule if the defendant proves that the
omissions were knowingly and intentionally made, or
were made with reckless disregard for the accuracy of
the affidavit. United States v. Martin, 615 F.2d 318,
328 (5th Cir. 1980).”’ State v. Stepney, 191 Conn. 233,
238, 464 A.2d 758 (1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1084,
104 S. Ct. 1455, 79 L. Ed. 2d 772 (1984).

The trial court, found that concern for the personal
safety of the informant gave the police a legitimate rea-
son for withholding the tape.® The state has a legiti-
mate interest in protecting informants. See State v.
Richardson, 204 Conn. 654, 657, 529 A.2d 1236 (1987).
Given the other information provided in the affidavit,
and the fact that the trial court credited Kamen’s tes-
timony that Brown had decided not to submit the tape
when Kamens had told him he would be risking expos-
ing the identity of his informant, we find no error in
the trial court’s determination that the tape was not
necessary to a finding of probable cause.

As to the claims that Brown forgave Fennessy’s pay-
ment of back rent and that Brown had a personal
grudge against Speers, the trial court determined that
those allegations were not proved by a preponderance
of the evidence. Our review of the transcript supports
this holding. As the court notes, Fennessy’s testimony
at the hearing that Brown forgave rent payments was
equivoca] and contradicted his testimony before the

* In addition to claiming that the omitted taped conversation was mate-
rial to the affidavit, the defendants cite General! Statutes § 54-41c (13) in
support of their argument that the tape should have been presented to the
wiretap panel with the affidavit. The defendants have done little more than
cite the statutory provision. Because the issue has not been properly briefed,
we decline to address the defendants’ statutory claim. See Morning Star
Holding Co. v. Kostopoulos, 12 Conn. App. 593, 595, 533 A.2d 569 (1987).

8A

17 Conn. App. 587 595

State rv. Speers

grand jury. At various times he testified that he still
owed Brown rent money, that he didn’t pay him
because he didn’t have the money, and that he had paid
Brown but the check was returned for insufficient
funds. The court did not find his testimony at the hear-
ing credible.

The defendants also alleged that Brown had a per-
sonal grudge against Speers that arose when David
Linsky, for whom Brown had cosigned a loan, allegedly
defaulted on the loan. The defendants claimed that
Linskey’s default was caused by Speers’ failure to pay
a losing illegal bet he had placed with Linsky. Linsky’s
testimony at trial, which the trial court found credi-
ble, was that he had never taken a bet from Speers and
that, although he may have been late on several pay-
ments, he had never defaulted on the loan. Again, we
defer to the trial court’s assessment of the credibility
of witnesses and find no error in the court’s ruling that
these allegations were not proved by a preponderance
of the evidence.

The trial court also found that the failure to include
in the affidavit the fact that Fennessy had used city
money to place bets did not materially affect the validity
of the affidavit. The defendants did not present the tral
cuurt with any support for their claim that this infor-
mation was material to a determination of probable
cause. On our review of this claim, we conclude that
the trial court did not err in determining that the
defendants failed to meet their burden of proving that
this omission materially affected the validity of that affi-
davit.

The third part of the defendants’ claim of error is
the assertion that the trial court erred when it deter-
mined that, regardless of the alleged false statement
or omissions by Brown, the affidavit was sufficient to
establish probable cause that the defendants were

9A

596 17 Conn. App. 587

State rv. Speers

involved in illegal gambling activities. The defendants
assert that the requisite elements for determining prob-
able cause have not been met. We disagree.

Our Supreme Court has held that the standard for
determining probable cause as set out in Aguilar v.
Texas, 378 U.S. 108, 84 S. Ct. 1509, 12 L. Ed. 2d 723
(1964), and »inelli v. United States, 393 U.S. 410, 89
S. Ct. 584, z1 L. Ed. 2d 637 (1969), applies to cases
involving the sufficiency of affidavits for wiretap inves-
tigations. See State v. Telesca, 199 Conn. 591, 601, 508
A.2d 1367 (1986);? State v. Ross, 194 Conn. 447, 463,
481 A.2d 730 (1984). Under the Aguilar-Spinelli stan-
dard, ‘‘the wiretap panel that issues the wiretap order
must be ‘ “informed of (1) some of the underlying cir-
cumstances relied on by the person providing the infor-
mation to the affiant; and (2) some of the underlying
circumstances from which the affiant concluded (a) that
the informant, whose identity need not even be dis-
closed, was credible, or (b) that his information was reli-
able.”’’ State v. Delmonaco, 194 Conn. 331, 338, 481
A.2d 40, cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1036, 105 S. Ct. 511,
83 L. Ed. 2d 401 (1984) . . . State v. Jackson, 162
Conn. 440, 446, 294 A.2d 517, cert. denied, 409 U.S.
870, 93 S. Ct. 198, 34 L. Ed. 2d 121 (1972).”’ (Citations
omitted.) State v. Telesca, supra, 601-602.

We conclude that the triai court properly held that
the Brown affidavit contained information sufficient
to satisfy the first or ‘‘basis of knowledge” element of
the Aguilar-Spinelli standard. The affidavit declares
that Fennessy had been placing bets with the defend-
ant Speers for at least two or three months, using one

* In State v. Telesca, 199 Conn. 591, 601 n.7, 508 A.2d 1367 (1986), the
court noted that the statute listing the requirements of a proper wiretap
application, now General Statutes § 54-4l1c, ‘‘incorporates the standards
enunciated in Aguilar v. Tezas, 378 U.S. 108, 84 S. Ct. 1509, 12 L. Ed.
2d 723 (1964), and Spinelli v. United States, 393 U.S. 410, 89 S. Ct. 584,
21 L. Ed. 2d 637 (1969).””

10A

17 Conn. App. 587 597

State r. Speers

of Speers’ telephone numbers. The affidavit contains
detailed information, including telephone numbers used
and specific times and dates related to sports wager-
ing, and identifies college basketball teams on which
the informant placed bets with the defendants. This
information satisfied the requirement that the affida-
vit ‘‘relate sufficient facts from which a judge reason-
ably could conclude that the informants based their
allegations of criminal activity on sufficient underly-
ing circumstances.’’ State v. Delmonaco, supra, 339.

We also conclude that the trial court properly deter-
mined that the second or “‘reliability’’ element of the
standard was met, because sufficient evidence of the
circumstances from which Brown concluded that Fen-
nessy was a credible informant, or that his informa-
tion was reliable, was presented to the wiretap panel.
The second part of the Aguilar-Spinelli standard is
satisfied if the affidavit includes sufficient evidence
showing either why the affiant concluded the informant
was credible, or that the information was reliable. An
affiant is not required, however, to convince a wire-
tap panel of an informant’s credibility by a display of
unequivocal proof based on specific details. ‘‘An affi-
ant need not recite the precise factors on which he
judged his informant credible and reliable. Aguilar v.
Texas ... requires only that the magistrate be
informed of some of these underlying circumstances.
If they are apparent to the commonsense reader of the
affidavit—whether by necessary implication or
recital—it is enough.” State v. Jackson, supra, 452-53.
We note that, on the basis of the information provided
by the affiants, the three judge wiretap panel unani-
mously decided to issue the wiretap order and con-
cluded that the application met the requirements of
Genera] Statutes § 54-41c.!° The trial court proceeded

© General Statutes § 54-41c provides: “‘Each application for an order
authorizitig the interception of a wire communication shall be made in writ-

11A

598 17 Conn. App. 587

State v. Speers

from a presumption that the affidavits supporting the
search warrant were valid; State v. Dolphin, supra, 457;
restricted its review to the record before the wiretap

ing upon oath or affirmation to a panel of judges. Each application shall
include the following information: (1) The identity of the applicant and his
authority to make such application; (2) the identity and qualifications of
the investigative officers or agency for whom the authority to intercept
a wire communication is sought; (3) the identity and quaiifications of the
investigative or law enforcement officers to whom disclosure of the con-
tents of any intercepted wire communication or evidence derived there-
from might be made; (4) a statement of the use to which the contents of
any intercepted wire communication or any evidence derived therefrom
will be put; (5) a full and complete statement of the facts and circumstances
relied upon by the applicant, to justify his reasonable belief that the wire
communication of a particularly described person wil] constitute evidence
of a crime enumerated in section 54-41b that has been or is being committed
or that such communication will materially aid in the apprehension of the
perpetrator of such crime and that an order should be issued, including
(A) details as to the particular offense that has been or is being committed,
(B) a particular description of the nature and location of the facilities from
which or the place where the communication is to be intercepted, (C) a par-
ticular description of the type of communications sought to be intercepted,
(D) the identity of the person, if known, who has committed or is commit-
ting the offense and whose communications are to be intercepted, (E) the
time and date when the facts and circumstances relied upon by the appli-
cant were first received by him or by the investigative or law enforcement
officer conducting the investigation, whichever is earlier, (F) the way in
which the intercepted wire communication will constitute material evidence
of the particularly described offense or will materially aid in the apprehen-
sion of the perpetrator of such offense, (G) the hours of the day or night
during which wire communication may be reasonably expected to occur;
(6) a full and complete statement of facts showing that ether normal inves-
tigative procedures with respect to the offense have been tried and have
failed or reasonably appear to be unlikely to succeed if tried or to be too
dangerous to employ; (7) a statement of the period of time for which the
interception is required to be maintained. No order authorizing or approv-
ing the interception of a wire communication shall be issued if the facts
and circumstances relied upon by the applicant were discovered more than
twenty days next preceding the date of the application. If the nature of
the investigation is such that the authorization for interception should not
automatically terminate when the described type of communication has been
first obtained, a particular description of facts establishing probable cause
to believe that additional communications of the same type will occur there-
after; (8) a full and complete statement of the facts concerning all previ-
ous applications known to the individual making the application, made to
any panel of judges, for authorization to intercept. or for approval of inter-

12A

17 Conn. App. 587 599

State v. Speers

panel; State v. Ross, 194 Conn. 447, 459, 481 A.2d 730
(1984); and accorded deference to the decision made
by the wiretap panel. Id.; State v. Couture, 194 Conn.

eeptions of, wire communications involving any of the same persons, facil-
ities or places specified in the application, and the action taken by the panel
on each such application; (9) a statement that the wire communications
sought are material to a particularly described investigation or prosecu-
tion and that such communications are not legally privileged; (10) if it is
reasonably necessary to make a secret entry upon a private place or prem-
ises in order to install an intercepting device to effectuate the intercep-
tion, a statement to that effect and to the effect that no practicable
aliernative method of executing the order which will preserve the secrecy
of its execution exists; (11) where the application is for the extension of
an order, a statement setting forth the results thus far obtained from the
interception, or a reasonable explanation of the failure to obtain such results;
(12) where the application is for an order authorizing interception in excess
of thirty-five orders previously issued by all panels in a calendar year, a
statement setting forth the nature of the emergency situation which may
result in imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare, and the nature
of that imminent peril, which requires the issuance of an additional inter-
ception order. The state’s attorney shall inform the governor and the joint
standing committee of the general assembly having cognizance of matters
relating to criminal law and procedure of the nature of the emergency sit-
uation which may result in imminent peril to the public health, safety or
welfare, and the natrre of that imminent peril; (13) such additional testi-
mony or documentary evidence in support of fact in the application as the
panel of judges may require. Allegations of fact in the application may be
based either upon the personal knowledge of the applicant or upon infor-
mation and belief. If the applicant personaliy knows the facts alleged, it
must be so stated. If the facts establishing such probable cause are derived
in whole or part from the statements of persons other than the applicant,
the sources of such information and belief shall be either disclosed or
described, and the application shall contain facts establishing the existence
and reliability of the informant, or the reliability of the inforraation sup-
plied by him. The application shall also state the basis of the informant's
knowledge or belief. If the applicant's information and belief are derived
from tangible evidence or recorded oral evidence, a copy or detailed descrip-
tion thereof shall be annexed to or included ip the application. Affidavits
of persons other than the applicant may be submitted in conjunction with
the application if they tend to support any fact or conclusion alleged therein.
Such accompanying affidavits may be based either on personal knowledge
of the affiant, or information and belief with the source thereof and rea-
son therefor specified.”

13A

600 17 Conn. App. 587
State v. Speers

530, 536, 482 A.2d 300 (1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S.
1192, 105 S. Ct. 967, 83 L. Ed. 971 (1985).

After excising Brown’s allegedly false statement that
the informant’s past information had led to two arrests
and convictions, the trial court found that Brown’s
remaining affidavit statements—(1) that he had known
Fennessy for about four years; (2) that Fennessy had
no arrest record; and (3) that Fennessy was gainfully
employed and enjoyed a good reputation within the
community in which he lived—were sufficient indicia
of reliability upon which the wiretap panel could find
the affidavit established that the informant was credi-
ble. The court also determined that Fennessy-s infor-
mation was reliable on the basis of statements in the
affidavit that Fennessy had provided Brown with infor-
mation in the past that had proved both truthful and
accurate, that Fennessy was knowledgeable in the area
of sports betting, and that Fennessy himself had
engaged in illegal gambling with the defendants.

Given some of the events that occurred following
Speers’ arrest such as the labeling of Fennessy as an
informant, Fennessy’s admission of having felt intimi-
dated by Speers’ driving him to a meeting with state
police officers at which he was questioned about the
information he had given Brown about Speers, and
Fennessy’s arrest by the state police, we do not find
it implausible that the trial court would discredit Fen-
nessy’s testimony for the purpose of deciding whether
Brown’s statement was false and intentionally or reck-
lessly made, on one hand, and, on the other, find that
the wiretap panel had sufficient indicia of reliability to
credit Brown’s statement that Fennessy was, in
Brown’s estimation, a reliable informant. We conclude
that the trial court was correct in determining that,
even absent the allegedly false statements in the affi-
davit, there was sufficient information to provide a
basis for the wiretap panel to determine that the affi-

14A

17 Conn. App. 587 601

State r. Speers

davits satisfied the second element of Aguilar-Spinelli
and the requirements of General Statutes § 54-41c, and
to approve the wiretap application.

II

The defendants also claim that the trial court erred
in failing to take judicial notice of Brown’s perjury case
court file after Brown refused to testify. This argument
is without merit.

During the suppression hearing, the defendants
sought to introduce the entire case file pertaining to
Brown’s perjury arrest. In addition to general infor-
mation concerning Brown’s arrest, this file contained
the transcripts of Brown’s testimony before the grand
jury and a lengthy affidavit by Inspector Frank
D’ Amico of the chief state’s attorney’s office that was
used to establish probable cause to arrest Brown and
contained references to the grand jury testimony of
others. The prosecution objected to the admission of
the file, arguing that it contained hearsay and included
conclusory and irrelevant information. The court sus-
tained the objection, but stated that because Brown was
not available it would allow the introduction of the tran-
script of his testimony before the grand jury. The
defendants declined the court’s offer and again
requested that the entire case file be introduced. The
court refused, and the defendants withdrew their
request. The defendants have not provided any legal
authority supporting the admission of the file but argue
only that the court should have admitted it because of
the unique situation in which the defendants found
themselves after Brown refused to testify.

A court has the power to take judicial notice of a file
in another pending court case. State v. Bunkley, 202
Conn. 629, 648, 572 A.2d 795 (1987). A trial court, how-
ever, also has broad discretion in determining the
admissibility of evidence. Id., 648-49. Trial court rul-

15A

602 17 Conn. App. 602

ings on evidence are accorded great deference on
appeal, and such rulings will be disturbed only upon
a showing of clear abuse of discretion. State v. Boucino,
199 Conn. 207, 225, 506 A.2d 125 (1986). Our review
of the record leads us to conclude that the trial court
did not err in refusing to admit the entire case file
because it contained inadmissible hearsay and double
hearsay.

III

The defendant also argues, for the first time on
appeal, that his inability to cross-examine his chief
accuser, Brown, violated his sixth amendment right of
confrontation and should have mandated a dismissal
of all charges. Because the defendants failed to raise
the argument below and do not seek review under State
v. Evans, 165 Conn. 61, 327 A.2d 576 (1973), or claim
that the ruling constituted plain error reviewab’e under
Practice Book § 4185, we decline to review the claim.
See State v. Maisonet, 16 Conn. App. 89, 546 A.2d 951
(1988).

There is no error.

In this opinion the other judges concurred.

16A

——<ecdl

SUPREME COURT
STATE OF CONNECTICUT
NO. PSC-88-1169
State of Connecticut
v.
Thomas Speers

ORDER ON PETITION FOR
CERTIFICATION TO APPEAL

On consideration of the petition by the defendant for cer-
tification to appeal from the Appellate Court (17 Conn. App.
587) it is hereby ordered that said petition be, and the same
is hereby denied.

BY THE COURT,

/s/ Alan M. Gannuscio
Assistant Clerk — Appellate

Dated: May 18, 1989

Notice to: May 18, 1989

Clerk, Superior Court, Waterbury,
#CR4-117660, CR4117663

Clerk, Appellate Court

Frederick D. Paoletti

Timothy Moynahan

John Connelly, S.A.

Carmody & Torrance

Frederick D. Paoletti in support of petition — John A.
Connelly, State's Attorney and Joan K. Alexander, Assistant
State’s Attorney, in opposition

17A

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

Fifth Amendment

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, c. other-
wise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or
indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in
the land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in actual
service in time of War or public danger; nor shall any
person be subject for the same offense to be twice put
in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be compelled in any
criminal case to be a witness against himself, nor be
deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process
of law; nor shall private property be taken for public use,
without just compensation.

Sixth Amendment

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy the
right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury
of the State and district wherein the crime shall have been
committed, which district shall have been previously
ascertained by law, and to be informed of the nature and
cause of the accusation; to be confronted with the wit-
nesses against him; to have compulsory process for
obtaining witnesses in his favor, and to have the assis-
tance of counsel for his defense.

Fourteenth Amendment

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the United
States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens
of the United States and of the State wherein they reside.
No State shall make or enforce any law which shall
abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the
United States; nor shall any State deprive any person
of life, liberty or property, without due process of law;
nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the equal
protection of the laws.

18A

CONNECTICUT GENERAL STATUTES

Sec. 54-41b. Application for order authorizing intercep-
tion. The chief state’s attorney or the state’s attorney for the
judicial district in which the interception is to be conducted
may make application to a panel of judges for an order autho-
rizing the interception of any wire communication by
investigative officers having responsibility for the investiga-
tion of offenses as to which the application is made when such
interception may provide evidence of the commission of
offenses involving gambling, bribery, violations of section
53-395, violations of section 21a-277 or felonious crimes of
violence.

Sec. 54-41c. Information in application. wach applica:
tion for an order authorizing the interception of a wire
communication shall be made in writing upon oath or affir-
mation to a panel of judges. Each application shall include
the following information: (1) The identity of the applicant
and his authority to make such application; (2) the identity
and qualifications of the investigative officers or agency for
whom the authority to intercept a wire communication is
sought; (3) the identity and qualifications of the investiga-
tive or law enforcement officers to whom disclosure of the
contents of an intercepted wire communication or evidence
derived therefrom might be made; (4) a statement of the use
to which the contents of any intercepted wire communica-
tion or any evidence derived therefrom will be put; (5) a full
and complete statement of the facts and circumstances relied
upon by the applicant, to justify his reasonable belief that
the wire communication of a particularly described person
will constitute evidence of a crime enumerated in section
54-41b that has been or is being committed or that such com-
munication will materially aid in the apprehension of the
perpetrator of such crime and that an crder should be issued,
including (A) details as to the particular offense that has been

19A

or is being committed, (B) a particular description of the
nature and location of the facilities from which or the place
where the communication is to be intercepted, (C) a partic-
ular description of the type of communications sought to be
intercepted, (D) the identity of the person, if known, who has
committed or is committing the offense and whose commu-
nications are to be intercepted, (E) the time and date when
the facts and circumstances relied upon by the applicant were
first received by him or by the investigative or law enforce-
meat officer conducting the investigation, whichever is earlier,
(F) the way in which the intercepted wire communication will
constitute material evidence of the particularly described -
offense or will materially aid in the apprehension of the per-
petrator of such offense, (G) the hours of the day or night
during which wire communication may be reasonably
expected to occur; (6) a full and complete statement of facts
showing that other normal investigative procedures with
respect to the offense have been tried and have failed or
reasonably appear to be unlikely to succeed if tried or to be
too dangerous to employ; (7) a statement of the period of time
for which the interception is required to be maintained. No
order authorizing or approving the interception of a wire com-
munication shall be issued if the facts and circumstances
relied upon by the applicant were discovered more than
twenty days next preceding the date of the application. If
the nature of the investigation is such that the authoriza-
tion for interception should not automatically terminate when
the described type of communication has been first obtained,
a particular description of facts establishing probable cause
to believe that additional communications of the same type
will occur thereafter; (8) a full and complete statement of the
facts concerning all previous applications known to the indi-
vidual making the application, made to any panel of judges,
for authorization to intercept, or for approval of interceptions
of, wire communications involving any of the same persons,
facilities or places specified in the application, and the action
taken by the panel on each such application; (9) a statement
that the wire communications sought are material to a par-
ticularly described investigation or prosecution and that such

20A

communications are not legally privileged; (10) if it is
reasonably necessary to make a secret entry upon a private
place or premises in order to install an intercepting device
to effectuate the interception, a statement to that effect and
to the effect that no practicable alternative method of
executing the order which will preserve the secrecy of its exe-
cution exists; (11) where the application is for the extension
of an order, a statement setting forth the results thus far
obtained from the interception, or a reasonable explanation
of the failure to obtain such results; (12) where the applica-
tion is for an order authorizing interception in excess of
thirty-five orders previously issued by all panels in a calendar
year, a statement setting forth the.nature of the emergency
situation which may result in imminent peril to the public
health, safety or welfare, and the nature of that imminent
peril, which requires the issuance of an additional intercep-
tion order. The state’s attorney shall inform the governor and
the joint standing committee of the general assembly having
cognizance of matters relating to criminal law and procedure
of the nature of the emergency situation which may result
in imminent peril to the public health, safety or welfare, and
the nature of that imminent peril; (13) such additional tes-
timony or documentary evidence in support of fact in the
application as the panel of judges may require. Allegations
of fact in the application may be based either upon the per-
- sonal knowledge of the applicant or upon information and
belief. If the applicant personally knows the facts alleged,
it must be so stated. If the facts establishing such probable
cause are derived in whole or part from the statements of
persons other than the applicant, the sources of such infor-
mation and belief shall be either disclosed or described, and
the application shall contain facts establishing the existence
and reliability of the informant, or the reliability of the infor-
mation supplied by him. The application shall also state the
basis of the informant’s knowledge or belief. If the applicant’s
information and belief are derived from tangible evidence or
recorded oral evidence, a copy or detailed description thereof
shall be annexed to or included in the application. Affida-
vits of persons other than the applicant may be submitted in

21A

conjunction with the application if they tend to support any
fact or conclusion alleged therein. Such accompanying affi-
davits may be based either on personal knowledge of the
affiant, or information and belief with the source thereof and
reason therefor specified.

Sec. 54-41m. Motion to suppress. Any aggrieved person
in any trial, hearing or proceeding in or before any court,
department, officer, agency, regulatory body or other
authority of the state of Connecticut, or of a political subdi-
vision thereof, may move to suppress the contents of any
intercepted wire communication, or evidence derived there-
from, on the grounds that the communication was unlawfully
intercepted under the provisions of this chapter; the order
of authorization or approval under which it was intercepted
is insufficient on its face; or the interception was not made
in conformity with the order of authorization or approval.
Such motion shall be made before the trial, hearing or
proceeding unless there was no opportunity to make such
motion or the person was not aware of the grounds of the
motion, in which case such motion may be made at any time
during the course of such trial, hearing or proceeding. If the
motion is granted, the contents of the intercepted wire com-
munication, or evidence derived therefrom, shall be treated
as having been obtained in violation of this chapter and shall
not be received in evidence in any such trial, hearing or
proceeding. The panel, upon the filing of such motion by the
aggrieved person, shall make available to the aggrieved
person or his counsel for inspection the intercepted commu-
nication and evidence derived therefrom.

Sec. 53-278a. Gambling: Definitions. As used in sec-
tions 53-278a to 53-278g, inclusive:

(1) ‘“‘“Gain’’ means the direct realization of winnings;
‘‘profit’”’ means any other realized or unrealized benefit, direct
or indirect, including without limitation benefits from
proprietcrship, management or unequal advantage in a series
of transactions;

22A

(2) “Gambling” means risking any money, credit, deposit
or other thing of value for gain contingent in whole or in part
upon lot, chance or the operation of a gambling device, but
does not include: Legal contests of skill, speed, strength or
endurance in which awards are made only to entrants or the
owners of entries; legal business transactions which are valid
under the law of contracts; activity legal under the provisions
of sections 7-169 to 7-186l, inclusive; any lottery or contest
conducted by or under the authority of any state of the
United States, commonwealth of Puerto Rico or any posses-
sion or territory of the United States; and other acts or
transactions expressly authorized by law on or after October
1, 1973;

(3) ‘‘Professional gambling”’ means accepting or offering
to accept, for profit, money, credits, deposits or other things
of value risked in gambling, or any claim thereon or interest
therein. Without limiting the generality of this definition, the
following shall be included: Pool-selling and bookmaking;
maintaining slot machines, one-ball machines or variants
thereof, pinball machines, which award anything other than
an immediate and unrecorded right of replay, roulette wheels,
dice tables, or money or merchandise pushcards, punch-
boards, jars or spindles, in any place accessible to the public;
and except as provided in sections 7-169 to 7-186m, con-
ducting lotteries, gift enterprises, disposal or sale of property
by lottery or hazard or policy or numbers games, or selling
chances therein; and the following shall be presumed to be
included: Conducting any banking game played with cards,
dice or counters, or accepting any fixed share of the stakes
therein;

(4) ‘“‘“Gambling device’ means any device or mechanism
by the operation of which a right to money, credits, deposits
or other things of value may be created, as the result of the
operation of an element of chance; any device or mechanism
which, when operated for a consideration, does not return the
same value or thing of value for the same consideration upon
each operation thereof; any device, mechanism, furniture or

23A

fixture designed primarily for use in connection with profes-
sional gambling; and any subassembly or essential part
designed or intended for use in connection with any such
device, mechanism, furniture, fixture, construction or instal-
lation, provided an immediate and unrecorded right of replay
mechanically conferred on players of pinball machines and
similar amusement devices shall be presumed to be without
value;

(5) ‘Gambling record’”’ means any record, receipt, ticket,
certificate, token, slip or notation given, made, used or
intended to be used in connection with professional gambling;

(6) ‘““Gambling information’’ means a communication
with respect to any wager made in the course of, and any infor-
mation intended to be used for, professional gambling.
Information as to wagers, betting odds or changes in bet-
ting odds shall be presumed to be intended for use in
professional gambling;

(7) “Gambling premise’ means any building, room,
enclosure, vehicle, vessel or other place, whether open or
enclosed, used or intended to be used for professional gam-
bling. Any place where a gambling device is found shall be
presumed to be intended to be used for professional gambling,
except a place wherein a bazaar or raffle for which a permit
has been issued under sections 7-170 to 7-186, inclusive, or
bingo for which a permit has been issued under section 7-169
or games of chance for which a permit has been issued under
sections 7-186a to 7-186m, inclusive, is to be conducted;

(8) ‘‘Person’”’ includes natural persons, partnerships and
associations of persons and corporations; and any corporate
officer, director or stockholder who authorizes, participates
in or knowingly accepts benefits from any violation of sec-
tions 53-278a to 53-278g, inclusive, committed by his
corporation;

24A

(9) ‘*Peace officer’’ means a municipal or state police
officer, sheriff, deputy sheriff or chief inspector or inspector
in the division of criminal justice;

(10) ‘“‘Court’’ means the superior court.

Sec. 53-278b. Gambling; professional gambling; penal-
ties. (a) Any person who engages in gambling, or solicits or
induces another to engage in gambling, or is present when
another person or persons are engaged in gambling, shall be
guilty of a class B misdemeanor; provided natural persons
shall be exempt from prosecution and punishment under this
subsection for any game, wager or transaction which is
incidental to a bona fide social relationship, is participated
in by natural persons only and in which no person is partici-
pating, directly or indirectly, in professional gambling.

(b) Any person who engages in professional gambling
shall be guilty of a class A misdemeanor.

Sec. 53-278f. Persistent offenders. Any person who has
been convicted of a violation of subsection (b) of section
53-278b, subsection (d) of section 53-278c, subsection (a) of
section 53-278d, or subsection (d) of section 53-278e or any
statute predecessor thereto may, upon any subsequent vio-
lation of said subsections, be prosecuted as a persistent
offender and on conviction may be subjected to the penalty
of the next most serious classification of offense, provided
it shall be an affirmative defense to the charge of being a per-
sistent offender under this section if the defendant was
pardoned on the ground of innocence with respect to the prior
conviction on which the state is relying.

25A

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0185%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
