# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — National Right to Work Legal Defense & Education Foundation, Inc. v. American Federation of State, County & Municipal Employees

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0177%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 493 U.S. 917

## Text

ES EE I Fae on ne

ee Eee

89-2925)

No. i CLERK

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Gniled States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

ESTATE OF JACK GILPIN

Petitioner,
v.

AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE,
COUNTY AND MUNICIPAL
EMPLOYEES, AFL-CIO, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

MILTON L. CHAPPELL
c/o National Right to Work
Legal Defense Foundation, Inc.
8001 Braddock Road, Suite 600
Springfield, Virginia 22160
(703) 321-8510

Counsel for Petitioner

August 21, 1989

FILED
1] AUG 22 3098
JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

’ SS ET Tere ge ne a Per? © Fe) 2) Cee oo , - oe aah

ea
QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the judgment and opinion of the court of
appeals should be vacated because the case has become
moot by the unilateral action of the respondent union
several weeks prior to the filing of the petition for a writ
of certiorari?

~ =
PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

The parties to the proceedings below were:

Plaintiffs: Jack Gilpin (now deceased), Stephen A.
Petrilli, Jerome [Jeanne] A. Dietrich, Margaret E.
Dailey, Sandra S. Coe, Karen Hirstein, Ray Anderson,
Gail Mueller [Micheletta], and Scott Mauck.'

Defendants: American Federation of State, County
and Municipal Employees, AFL-CIO ("AFSCME");
and in their official capacities,?> Roland Burris,
Comptroller of the STATE OF ILLINOIS; Richard
McClure, Director of the ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT
OF CENTRAL MANAGEMENT SERVICES;
Gregory L. Coler, Director of the ILLINOIS
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC AID; Edward Duffy,
Director of the ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF
ALCOHOLISM AND SUBSTANCE ABUSE; David
W. Hardwick, Director of the ILLINOIS
DEPARTMENT OF VETERAN’S AFFAIRS; Larry
Werries, Director of the ILLINCIS DEPARTMENT
OF AGRICULTURE; Brad Evilsizer, Director of the
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF MINES AND
MINERALS; Gregory W. Baise, Director of the
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION;
Bernard J. Turnock, Director of the ILLINOIS
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH; Michael B.

‘In light of the recent decisions of Torres v. Oakland Scavenger
Co., __ U.S. __, 108 S. Ct. 2405 (1988); Allen Archery, Inc. v. Precision
Shooting Equipment, Inc., 857 F.2d 1176 (7th Cir. 1988); this petition
is filed only on behalf of the Estate of Jack Gilpin, whose decedent
was, in retrospect, the only appellant in the court of appeals.

>The real party in interest in an official-capacity suit is the entity
repzesented and not the individual office holder. Karcher v. May, 484
U.S. 72, 108 S. Ct. 388, 393 (1987); Kentucky v. Graham, 473 U.S.
159, 166 (1985).

see
- lil -

Witte, Director of the ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF
CONSERVATION; John E. Washburn, Director of
the ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF INSURANCE;
James B. Zagel, Director of the ILLINOIS
DEPARTMENT OF LAW ENFORCEMENT; J.
Thomas Johnson, Director of the ILLINOIS
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE; Michael Fryzel,
Director of the ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF
FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS; Mike Woelffer,
Director of the ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF
COMMERCE AND COMMUNITY AFFAIRS; Terry
Lash, Director of the ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF
NUCLEAR SAFETY; Michael Belletire, Director of
the ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL
HEALTH AND) DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES;
Gary L. Clayton, Director of the ILLINOIS
DEPARTMENT OF REGISTRATION AND
EDUCATION; Michael P. Lane, Director of the
ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS;
Gordon Johnson, Director of the ILLINOIS
DEPARTMENT OF CHILDREN AND FAMILY
SERVICES; Janet Otwell, Director of the ILLINOIS
DEPARTMENT OF AGING; Joyce E. Tucker, Direc-
tor of the ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN
RIGHTS; Susan Suter, Director of the ILLINOIS
DEPARTMENT OF REHABILITATION SERVICES;
‘Dr. Donald Etchison, Director of the I'.LINOIS
DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY AND NATURAL
RESOURCES; Sally Ward, Director of the ILLINOIS
DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT SECURITY;
and Richard Carlson, Director of the ILLINOIS
ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION AGENCY.

-IvV-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED ............

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

ee ear Tee TREES e ee
TABLE OF CONTENTS ......cccccace
TABLE OF AUTHIORITIES ...........
og ge ee
Pe ee ee
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..........

SUGGESTION OF MOOTNESS ........

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE

ee re

REE 6. 04.666 5% 0 KG 58 66 008650:

APPENDIX

Opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit (May 24, 1989) .....

-V- =
TABLE OF CONTENTS—CONTINUED

Page

Order (and opinion) of the
United States District
Court for the Central
District of Illinois
eds 65 kas oe ese ge ye os aoe

Order (and opinion) of the j
United States District
Court for the Central
District of Illinois
CCE So cesessencceess ees 24a

Order (and opinion) of the
United States District
Court for the Central
_ District of Illinois
PLS ead eb ae esas cedeus 30a

Judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit (May 24, 1989)........ 35a

- Vi -
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page

Allen Archery, Inc. v. Precision
Shooting Equipment, Inc.,
S57 F.20 1176 (7th Cer. ISSR) 0. ww wwe ii

Board of License Commissioners
v. Pastore, 469 U.S. 238 (1985) ............ 4

Chicago Teachers Union, Local No. 1
v. Hudson, 475 U.S. 292 (1986) ........... 3, 4

Commodity Futures Trading Commission
v. Chicago Board of Trace, 701 F.2d

EE eee 6
Deakins v. Monaghan, 484 U.S. 193,

fF Bee Le | AAP ree eee eee 4, 5, 6
Fusari v. Steinberg, 419 U.S. 379 (1975) ........ 4

Gibney v. Toledo Federation of Teachers,
Oe Gee Gk Oe EPO CRP bocce were necnes 4

Great Western Sugar Co. v. Nelson,
ee eee 6

Honig v. Students of California School
for the Blind, 471 U.S. 148 (1985) .......... 4

Karcher v. May, 484 U.S. 72,
ee eee eee ee ce ii

Kentucky v. Graham, 473 U.S. 159 (1985) ...... ii

- Vii -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—CONTINUED

Page
North Carolina v. Rice, 404 U.S. 244
ee gee ig oa ey od 5
Onwuasoanya v. United States, ____ U.S. __,
EE ch bec eek eweeneeadess 6
Powell,v. McCormack, 395 U.S. 486 (1969) ..... 5
Preiser v. Newkirk, 422 U.S. 395 (1975) ........ 5
Sibron v. New York, 392 U.S. 40 (1968) ....... 5

Tierney v. City of Toledo, 824 F.2d 1497
Ce Se SE 6 OF CARER Sek So eh cee cence

Torres v. Oakland Scavenger Co.,
a Var .., see & CL 20 (1988) ......... ii

United States v. Munsingwear, Inc.,
ok eee eee ee 1, 6, 7

Weinstein v. Bradford, 423 U.S. 147
Ep a pe ae re ee ee 6

STATUTES
Judicial Code
NS os osc ncn cunsnenns 2
ogg ow ks ksncksasawias 3

pe ee ee eee 3

- Vill -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—CONTINUED

Page

Rk er ee 2

SP PEE e.cbe.000 ee cecensencsces 3

PE ptiwr wets we Vkeecew hs 3
Civil Rights Act .

I 6 an A's 6's bw o'0-6 05 6a 846408 3

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Note, Collateral_-Estoppel Effects of
Judgments Vacated Pursuant to
Settlement, 1987 U. ILL. L.
re Se Ree E Tee 6

No. 89-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited DStales
OCTOBER TERM, 1989

ESTATE OF JACK GILPIN,
Petitioner,
Vv.

AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE, COUNTY
AND MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES, AFL-CIO, et ai.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Estate of Jack Gilpin, respectfully prays that
a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and
opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Seventh Circuit entered on May 24, 1989, and that said
judgment and opinion in the above-entitled case be
vacated and remanded with instructions to dismiss the
cause as moot. United States v. Munsingwear, Inc., 340
U.S. 36, 38-39 (1950).

x
OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Appendix
("App.") la) is reported at 875 F.2d 1310. The district
court’s first opinion, entered on July 30, 1986 (App. 13a),
is reported at 643 F. Supp. 733.° The district court’s last
two unreported opinions, entered on June 29, 1987, and
June 14, 1988, are reproduced at App. 24a; 30a. -

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
May 24, 1989. This petition is being filed within ninety
days from the date the judgment sought to be reviewed,
vacated and remanded was rendered. This Court has
jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §§ 1254(1) and 2101(c).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner’s decedent, Jack Gilpin, appellant below,
and eight other nonunion employees, all of whom were
employed by Illinois state and local agencies, were subject
to a collective bargaining agreement, entered into pursuant
to Illinois law, requiring them to pay compulsory agency
fees to the American Federation of State, County and
Municipal Employees, AFL-CIO ("AFSCME") as a
condition of employment. By law, AFSCME was required
to certify the amount of such compulsory fees, and the
State then deducted the fees from the employees’
paychecks, remitting the amounts collected to AFSCME.

The nine nonunion employees brought suit in
September 1985 to contest the collection of such

None of the parties appealed from the first opinion.

a

compulsory fees.‘ After some preliminary hearings and
rulings, the district court on July 30, 1986, determined that
a "notice" concerning the fees, sent by AFSCME to
employees in 1985, and the procedures for challenging the
fees, were constitutionally defective under Chicago Teachers
Union, Local No. 1 v. Hudson, 475 U.S. 292 (1986) (App.
13a). The next notice, sent by AFSCME in 1986, was also
found to be constitutionally defective by Order entered
June 29, 1987 (App. 24a). About three years after the
case was filed, the district court finally ruled that a 1987
version of the notice was constitutionally sufficient (App.
30a).

Notwithstanding its previous findings of constitutional
violations, the court determined there were no damages,
denied restitution of fees for the two years the notice was
found constitutionally defective, denied certification of a
class for a second time, and dismissed the case (App. 30a).
Jack Gilpin appealed.

Jack Gilpin raised four issues on appeal! which the
court of appeals said "merit discussion" (875 F.2d at 1313;
App. 4a). They were whether the district court: (1) should
have certified the suit as a class action; (2) should have
issued a preliminary injunction against collection of the
1985 fees; (3) should have ordered restitution of fees
collected in 1985 and 1986; and (4) should have, as it did,
found the 1987 notice adequate.” Nonetheless, the court
of appeals rejected all four issues and "dismissed [the

‘jurisdic.:on in the district court was based on 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331,
1343, 2201-02 and 42 U.S.C. § 1983.

5See note 1, supra, at ii.
°Gilpin also raised in his brief the issue whether, at least, nominal!

damages should have been awarded for the adjudicated constitutional
violations. The court of appeals did not discuss this issue.

ee

appeal] insofar as it challenges the denial of the plaintiffs’
motion for a preliminary injunction [and o]therwise .. .
affirmed [the judgment]." (875 F.2d at 1316-17; App. 12a.)

SUGGESTION OF MOOTNESS

While it is probably rare for the petitioner to suggest
mootness, nevertheless, this Court has reminded counsel
that they have a duty to inform the Court of any
development that would suggest mootness. See Board of
License Commissioners v. Pastore, 469 U.S. 238, 240 (1985);
Fusan v. Steinberg, 419 U.S. 379, 391 (1975) (Burger, C-_J.,
concurring); cf. Honig v. Students of California School for
the Blind, 471 U.S. 148, 152 (1985) (Marshall, J.,
dissenting).

“When a claim is rendered moot while awaiting review
by this Court," Deakins v. Monaghan, 484 U.S. 193, 108 S.
Ct. 523, 528 (1988), it falls upon the petitioner to suggest
that the cause is moot. Such is the case here.

The prospective equitable issues and requested relief
became moot upon Jack Gilpin’s recent death. However,
the issue of restitution’ still existed because union dues and
fees had been automatically deducted from Jack Gilpin’s
salary during the two years the district court had
determined the necessary constitutional procedures for
such collections were absent.

Then, a month before this petition for certiorari was
due, AFSCME unexpectedly and _ unilaterally sent

7The court of appeals’ denial of restitution conflicts with the
allowance of restitution by the Sixth Circuit and the Ohio Supreme
Court when the required Hudson safeguards are absent. Tierney v.
City of Toledo, 824 F.2d 1497 (6th Cir. 1987); Gibney v. Toledo
Federation of Teachers, 40 Ohio St. 3d 152 (1988).

=

petitioner and the other eight nonunion plaintiffs checks in
amounts that exceeded the amount of restitution petitioner
had planned to request this Court to order.*

Petitioner has accepted this payment as complete
settlement of all outstanding claims. Consequently, there
no longer is a live controversy between the parties, nor any
questions that can affect the rights of the litigants in this
case, nor the concreteness and kind of adversariness which
assures a presentation with requisite diligence and fervor
that is necessary for a Federal court to decide a case. See
Deakins, 108 S. Ct. at 528; Preiser v. Newkirk, 422 U.S. 395,
461 (1975); North Carolina v. Rice, 404 U.S. 244, 246
(1971); Powell v. McCormack, 395 U.S. 486, 496 (1969);
Sibron v. New York, 392 U.S. 40, 57 (1968).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Since the issues in this case are now moot, this Court
should grant the Estate of Jack Gilpin’s petition for a writ
of certiorari, vacate the judgment and opinion of the court
of appeals, and remand with instructions to dismiss the
Cause as moot.

When events occurring after the court of appeals has
decided a case but before the Supreme Court has acted on
a petition for certiorari have, as here, eliminated any
possibility that the Court’s order may grant meaningful
relief affecting the controversy that precipitated the
litigation, it is the duty and established practice of this
Court to grant the petition for writ of certiorari, vacate the

SRather than the 1% of the amount deducted in 1986, which the
court of appeals noted AFSCME had promised to return and upon
which the court based its denial of any additional restitution (875 F.2d
at 1312, 1313-15; App. 3a, 6a-7a), AFSCME returned 120% of that
year’s deduction!

.

decree below and remand the cause with directions to
dismiss the complaint as moot. Onwuasoanya v. United
States, ____ U.S. ___, 109 S. Ct. 299 (1988); Deakins, 108
S. Ct. at 526-29 & nn. 4&5; Great Western Sugar Co. v.
Nelson, 442 U.S. 92 (1979); Weinstein v. Bradford, 423 U.S.
147 (1975); Munsingwear, 340 U.S. at 39-41; Commodity
Futures Trading Commission v. Chicago Board of Trade, 701
F.2d 653, 656-57 (7th Cir. 1983); Note, Collateral Estoppel
Effects of Judgments Vacated Pursuant to Settlement, 1987
U. ILL. L. REV. 731, 745-49.

One of the reasons for vacating the lower court’s
decision when the case becomes moot during the appeal
process is to ensure that a decision, of which the losing
party, the Estate of Jack Gilpin, was denied appellate
review because of happenstance and the unilateral action
of the winning party below, will not have a preclusive
effect in subsequent litigation. The Court also vacates
lower court decisions that subsequently become moot
because such interim findings lack the stamp of reliability
that comes from surviving appellate review. /d. Both
reasons are applicable herein.

a
CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it is therefore respectfully
submitted that the Court should grant the petition for writ
of certiorari, vacate the judgment and opinion of the court
of appeals, and remand with instructions to dismiss the
cause as moot. United States v. Munsingwear, Inc., 340
U.S. 36, 39-40 (1950).

Respectfully submitted,

MILTON L. CHAPPELL, ESQUIRE
c/o National Right to Work
Legal Defense Foundation, Inc.
~ 8001 Braddock Road, Suite 600
Springfield, Virginia 22160
(703) 321-8510

Altomey for Petitioner,
Estate of Jack Gilpin

August 21, 1989

ee ee eee ee ee ee ee ee ee

|
9

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0177%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
