# Reply Brief — Lyons v. Rhode Island Public Employees Council 94

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0122%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 493 U.S. 892

## Text

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

RHODE ISLAND

PI

and AMERICAN FEI

AND MUNICIPAL EM

No. 89-229

BLIC EMPLOYEES ¢

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorars

to the Supreme Court of Rhode Island

PETETIONER’S REPLY MEVORANDUMW

Da fan nr nee erties
PACKARD PRESS, 1025 Connecticu

( rrsel kK
Sc [.. Nels
MILLER, ¢
X% | | \A
SSS M Street, N.W 5
Washins “hy oR
202) 29° 3 ()0)
( Ld7ISC ? rf 4 }
NW Suite 905. Washinaton

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page(s)

Bose Corp. v. Consumers Union,
SOG. UB. SBS (hPSepccccccesses passim

Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc.
v7. Connaughton, 109 S.Ct.
i ee | haere Te eT eee 7s ae

Lewisohn v. Dial Press, Inc.,
264 A.D. 370, 35 N.Y.S.2d
BRE CARO UOPE 4 6446440646560 6406 Owes 12

Lyons v. Policemen's Association
of the District of Columbia,
C.A. No. 74-441 (D.5.C.
Fed. 20, 1976) .cccceseersB, 9, 10, 12

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032
Cl hh RPPPPPT TILL CT ELT ETT Tee 4

Mills v. Alabama, 284 U.S. 214
6). | } rrr e*eeees eeeee#eee#e#ee#eee#t#e#e#ee#*#*# 3

New York Times Co. v. Sullivan,
5, oF Me eels aeprerrrrrrT 5, 6

Ocala Star-Banner Co. v. Damron,
SOG Dalen SOO CEPT e eee cceececsceseces 3

Old Dominion Branch No. 496,
National Association of Letter
Carriers v. Austin, 418 U.S.
gt 5. | RE reer. Fae |

Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc.
v. Hepps, 475 U.S. 767 (1986)...2, 4

Reilly v. Gillen, 176 N.J.
Super. 321, 423 A.2d 3li
(App. Div. 1960) ....c02ee-10, ll, 12

- ii-

Tavoulareas v. Piro, 817 F.2d 762
(D.c. Cir.), cert denied,
108 S.Ct. 200 (1987). cee ceneeeeeees

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1989

No. 89-229

KENNETH T. LYONS and NATIONAL ale da
OF GOVERNMENT EMPLOYEES, INC.,

Petitioners,

Vs.
RHODE ISLAND PUBLIC EMPLOYEES COUNCIL 94
and AMERICAN FEDERATION OF STATE,
COUNTY, AND MUNICIPAL EMPLOYEES,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to
the Supreme Court of Rhode Island

PETITIONERS' REPLY MEMORANDUM

1. Respondents' contention that the
Rhode Island Supreme Court's holding on

the decisive issue of falsity was based

i/ Information concerning petitioner
NAGE as required by Rule 28.1 is set forth
in the Petition for Certiorari, at p.ii.

- io
solely on state law is manifestly
incorrect. In their briefs to the Rhode
Island Supreme Court, respondents argued
that proof of falsity in a libel action is
constitutionally mandated, citing

Tavoulareas v. Piro, 817 F.2d 762 (D.C.

Cir.), cert. denied, 108 S.Ct. 200 (1987),

and that the constitutional requirement of
searching appellate review under Bose

Corp. v. Consumers Union, 466 U.S. 485

(1984), extends to the issue of falsity.
Further, it is clear that the Rhode Island
Supreme Court was convinced that the
determination of falsity in this case was
governed by constitutional principles, as
is revealed by its explicit reliance on

Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc. v. Hepps,

475 U.S. 767 (1986), as well as by the
fact that the court's holding on the
falsity issue is immediately preceded by a
discussion of its review obligations under

Bose, culminating in the observation that,

-3-
under Bose, the record must “independently
Support the assertion that the alleged
defamatory material contains a false and
defamatory statement of fact." Petn. App.
A-10. Moreover, as even respondents
acknowledge, the Rhode Island Supreme
Court bolstered its finding that the
Anderson reprint was not false by
citations to this Court's First Amendment

rulings in Ocala Star-Banner Co. v.

Damron, 401 U.S. 295 (1971), and Mills v.

Alabama, 384 U.S. 214 (1966). The Rhode
Island Supreme Court's opinion thus makes
clear that in holding that the Anderson
reprints were, as a matter of law, not
"false," the court perceived itself to be
exercising a reviewing function required
by the First Amendment and to be affording
constitutional. protection to respondents'

speech. The correctness of the Rhode

= 4 _

Island court's holding thus presents a
question of federal constitutional law.

That the Rhode Island court also
cited opinions based on Rhode _ Islana
common law does not insulate its holding
from review by this Court. "([W]hen, as in
this case, a state court decision fairly
appears to rest primarily on federal law,

or to be interwoven with the federal law,

and when the adequacy and independence of
any possible state law ground is not clear
from the face of the opinion, we will
accept as the most reasonable explanation
that the state court decided the case the
way it did because it believed that
federal law required it to do so."

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032, 1040-41

(1983) (emphasis added). The Rhode Island
Supreme Court's primary reliance on Bose
and Hepps as the basis for its review of
the question of falsity renders’ the

court's citation of state-court authority

- 5 -

insufficient to provide an adequate and
independent State-law basis for its
holding. At the very least, the Rhode
Island court's ruling on falsity is
"interwoven" with federal constitutional
law, and thus may be reviewed by this
Court.

2. Respondents’ reliance on cases
applying federal labor policy to libel

actions, such as Old Dominion Branch No.

496, National Association of Letter

Cacriers v. Austin, 418 U.S. 264 (1974),

is misplaced. Unlike the labor dispute in
Austin, the labor election in which
respondents libeled petitioners did not
even implicate federal labor policy, as it
involved state and local governmental
employees not subject to the NLRA or to
Executive Order 11491. In any event,
Austin holds only that, where it is appli-
cable, federal labor policy imposes on

libel plaintiffs the standards of New York

Limes SS va ‘
P .
ne + ; ‘ + non? ‘
(1964), and 1a Ct staceme
_ ~ + ms > + > > ‘
Cannot 5 € as ¢ Da
rc ~+ < ; } .
vercic . Ne c . 4 2
i \ ‘
y De ‘ € t
a r . > ~~ —
bh LA A 4 I V4 e a et — .
~ ‘ + A
apt N . Gk y Yew « t
r
. ney at Imnre x ¢ ~ ‘
c > Ss ae) “ ¢ ,
stateme : e a é

ract concerning tne governne Cc a
ana investigatil : [r wt ote g
in the Anders ts

Cc sncer nr T ¥ ry Pe¢ Spee r 4 om
nigqnest _s a tne ase

campaigns the First Amendment

2 The language respondents
Austin does not represent the
holding, but is merely a quota
government official concerning
on regulation of labor campaigns.

- J) -
bar imposition of liability for knowing

false statements of fact. See, e€.g.,

Harte-Hanks Communications, Inc. Vv.

Connaughton, 109 S.Ct. 2678 (1989).

3. Respondents attempt to minimize
the significance of the Rhode Island
Supreme Court's ruling on the issue of
falsity by suggesting that it amounts to
little more than a factual finding. But
the facts -- as found by the properly
instructed jury -- were that respondents'
Statements would be reasonably understocd
by the average reader as stating a defama-
tory falsehood. The Rhode Island court's

holding was that, as a matter of law,

respondents' republication of Jack
Anderson's account of false allegations of
wrongdoing made in the course of
terminated investigations could not be
found false simply because the
investigations were ongoing when the

article was first written. As

~ i>
Gemonstrated in the Petition for
Certiorari, this holding is inconsistent
with settled principles of libel law, 3/
as well as with numerous decisions of
other state and federal courts.
Respondents attempt to distinguish
only two of those decisions, while
ignoring or raising trivial objections to
our characterizations of the rest. But
even where respondents attempt to address
directly the cases cited in the Petition,
their efforts to identify genuine distinc-
tions fall short. Respondents purport to

distinguish Lyons Vv. Policemen's

3/ Respondents contend that the
discussion in the Petition of the
doctrines of republication and privilege
is "irrelevant" and that these issues were
not raised below. The relevance of that
discussion, as set forth in the Petition,
is that the breadch of the lower court's
misunderstanding of the meaning of falsity
would render chese settled doctrines
useless and superfluous. The discussion
thus bears directly on the correctness of
the lower court's ruling on the issue of
falsity, which was of course fully
litigated and decided telow.
‘

- 9 -

Association of the District of Columbia,

Civil Action No. 74-441 (D.D.C. Feb. 20,
1976), on the basis of the failure of the
defendants in that case to- reprint
portions of the Anderson article that
contained Mr. Lyons' denial of the
charges. But this distinction is
irrelevant, since the court below did not
rely on the inclusion of this material in
holding the article to be truthful: under
the Rhode Island court's analysis, even
the truncated version published in

Policemen's Association would have

remained "truthful." Respondents) also

Suggest that Policemen's Association is

distinguishable because the defendants in
that case added to some of their reprints
the false statement that they were unaware
whether the investigations of Mr. Lyons
were ongoing. But the District Court in

the Policemen's Association case did not

rely on this disclaimer in finding the

=— =
reprints false; rather, it explicitly held
that other reprints distributed by the
defendants without the disclaimer were
equally or even more false, because they
suggested by omission that the investi-
gations definitely were ongoing. Finally,
respondents' statement that the

Policemen's Association reprint contained

a headline not composed by Jack Anderson
does not even amount to a factual distinc-
tion, since the same was true of respon-
dents' "EXPOSE" reprint.

Simiarly unavailing is respondents’

effort to distinguish Reilly v. Gillen,

176 N.J. Super. 321, 423 A.2d 311 (App.
Div. 1980), on the ground that it is not
clear that the 23-year-old article
reprinted in that case was dated, as was
the Anderson’. reprint distributed by
respondents. But there is also no basis
for concluding that the article

republished in Reilly was not dated, and

EO

—
the Reilly court's opinion nowhere
Suggests that its holding depended in any
way on whether the article was dated or
not. Nor did the court rely on the
trivial factual errors in the article as
the basis for holding that its republi-
cation was false once the charges it
described had been dropped. Even more
irrelevant is respondents' observation
that the Reilly reprint was distributed on
the eve of an election, whereas’ the
Anderson reprint was not. While these
facts might relate to the relative out-
rageousness of the misconduct of respon-
dents and the Reilly defendants, they have
no logical conrection to the issue of
whether the reprints distributed in each
case were false.

The Rhode Island court's'holding that
the publication or republication of stale.

incomplete and unfair accounts of

terminated investigations into discredited

- 12 -

allegations is "truthful" as long as the
allegations and investigations were in
fact pending at some time in the past is
inconsistent with the decisions in Reilly,

Policemen's Association, and the other

cases cited in the Petition: if the Rhode
Island court is correct, these decisions

are constitutionally defective. See also

Lewisohn v. Dial Press, Inc., 264 A.D.

370, 35 N.Y.S.2d 551 (1942) (distribution
of book libelous where post-publication
events render account of judicial pro-
ceedings "no longer true"). The conflict
between the Rhode Island court's ruling
and the decisions of other courts that
have recognized the falsity of efforts to
resurrect and spread outdated charges
renders review by certiorari appropriate
in this case.

4. Finally, respondents suggest that
there is no reason to review the Rhode

Island court's application of Bose in

- 13 -

light of this Court's recent decision in

Connaughton. Respondents understandably
make little effort to defend the Rhode
Island Supreme Court's de novo weighing of
the evidence with respect to the factual
issues of knowlege and falsity, as the

court's procedure was plainly at odds with

the deference commanded by Connaughton to

the jury's inferences and its resolution
of evidentiary contradictions. Instead,
respondents argue simply that the Rhode
Island court's error may be overlooked
because the Court has so recently visited
the issue of the scope of Bose review.

Were the Bose/Connaughton issue the

only one raised by the case, respondents'
argument might have some force. But the
Rhode Island Supreme Court's misapplica-
tion of Bose was intertwined with and
compounded the error in its ruling on the
question of falsity, which is, as we have

demonstrated, an issue of constituticnal

—) we
import with respect to which the Rhode
Island court's ruling has worked a signif-
icant distortion of libel principles and
created a conflict with the decisions of
other courts. Viewed in conjunction with
the falsity question, the court's misap-
plication of Bose presents an additional
reason for allowing the writ.

For the foregoing reasons, as well as
those set forth in the Petition itself,
the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

THOMAS B. CARR

SCOTT L. NELSON

MILLER, CASSIDY, LARROCA
& LEWIN

2555 M Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20037

Counsel for Petitioners.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0122%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
