# Appendix — Bo-Mick Construction Construction Co. v. LaFleur (Nos. 89-164, 88-2126)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0061%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Appendix
- **Published:** January 1, 1989

## Text

Supreme Court us
FILED

JUL 20 {989

. SPANIOL, JR,
CLERK

89-164
NO.

ees

In the
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1989

BO-MICK CONSTRUCTION CO., INC.
Petitioner
Vv.
MANSEL J. LAFLEUR

Respondent

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF
THE STATE OF LOUISIANA

APPENDIX TO
PETITION FOR
A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

J. WALTER WARD, JR.

Of

CHRISTOVICH & KEARNEY

Pan American Life Center, Suite 2300
601 Poydras Street

New Orleans, Louisiana 70130
Telephone: (504) 561-5700

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER

A B Letter Service, Inc., 327 Chartres St., New Orleans, La. (504) 581-5555

INDEX
APPENDIX A
Order, the Supreme Court of

the State of Louisiana,
Oe

APPENDIX B

Order, the Supreme Court of
the State of Louisiana,
Maren 27, 1989 . . « »«

APPENDIX C

Opinion, Fourth Circuit Court
of Appeal, State of Louisiana,
December 13, 1988 ..... .

APPENDIX D

Judgment on Motion for Summary
Judgment, Twenty-Fifth Judicial
District Court, Parish of
Plaquemines, State of Louisiana
January 15, 1988 .. +e. >.

APPENDIX E

Excerpts from Deposition of
Mansel J. LaFleur .

APPENDIX F

Excerpts from Deposition of
COpCaIn- Cree. « + 2 2 ss

APPENDIX G

Excerpts from Deposition of
Donald Michael Dean .....

Page

7
~
©

t
N
ce)

Ai
APPENDIX A

THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF LOUISIANA

MANSEL J. LAFLEUR
vs. NO. 89-C-0425

P & S WELL SERVICE NO. 5,
INC. ET AL (BO-MICK CON-
STRUCTION COMPANY, INC.,
ET ALS)

IN RE: BO-MICK CONSTRUCTION CO., INC.,
applying for Rehearing of this Court's Order
of March 27, 1989; 4th Circuit Court of
Appeal, No. 88CA-0686; 25th Judicial District
Court, Div. A, Parish of Plaquemines, No. 28-
208

April 21, 1989

Rehearing denied.
LFC

JAD
WFM
JLD
JCW

CALOGERO, J., wceuld grant the rehearing.

A-2

Supreme Court of Louisiana
April 21, 1989

Frans J. LaBranche, Jr.
Clerk of Court
For the Court

APPENDIX B

THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF LOUISIANA
MANSEL J. LAFLEUR
VS. NO. 89-C - 0425

P & S WELL SERVICE NO. 5 INC. et al

IN RE: LaFleur, Mansel J.; - Piaintiff(s);
Applying for Writ of Certiorari and/or
Review; to the Court of Appeal, Fourth
Circuit, Number 88CA-0686; Parish of
Plaquemines 25th Judicial District Court
Div."A" Number 28-208

March 27, 1989
Granted. Summary judgment vacated. Case
remanded to trial court for further
proceedings.

J CW

JAD

WFM

LFC

CALOGERO, J., would grant and docket for
argument.

Supreme Court of Louisiana
March 27, 1989

Frans J. LaBranche, Jr.

Clerk of Court
For the Court

APPENDIX C

MANSEL J. LAFLEUR NO. 89-CA-0686

COURT OF APPEAL
VERSUS

FOURTH CIRCUIT
P & S WELL SERVICE
NO. 5, INC., ET AL STATE OF LOUISIANA

APPEAL FROM
TWENTY-FIFTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT
PARISH OF PLAQUEMINES
DIVISION A, NO. 28-208
HONORABLE MICHAEL E. KIRBY, JUDGE

STEVEN R. PLOTKIN
JUDGE

(Court composed of Chief Judge Patrick M.
Schott and Judges Robert J. Klees, and
Steven R. Plotkin

A-6

Plaintiff has appealed from a summary
judgment denying his Jones Act claim. We
affirm.

Plaintiff Mansel J. LaFleur was
injured October 10, 1984, while working as
a painter/sandblaster for defendant Bo-Mick
Construction Company, Inc. (hereinafter Bo-
Mick). He alleges his injuries occurred
while he was stepping from a vessel, the
L/B Gear Elevator, to the fixed platform on
which his duties were performed. He
brought suit based upon 46 U.S.C. 688 (the
Jones Act) and General Maritime Laws of the
United States, or, in the alternative, 33
U.S.C. 901 (the Longshoremen's’) and
Harborworkers' Compensation Act), against
Bo-Mick, his employer, P & S Well Service
NO. 5, Inc., owner of the vessel; and Gulf

Oil Company, Inc., platform owner. He

later amended his petition to include

Liberty Mutual Insurance Co., Bo-Mick's
insurer, and certain underwriters of Lloyds
of London, Bo-Mick's excess coverage
insurer. Bo-Mick and Lloyds of London
filed motions for summary judgment.

On November 25, 1987, the parties
agreed to submit the matter to the trial
court on written briefs. On January 15,
1988, judgment was rendered dismissing
plaintiff's Jones Act and General Maritime
Law claims and reserving to plaintiff his
claims under the Longshoremen's’) and
Harborworkers' Compensation Act or
Louisiana Worker's Compensation Act.

I.

Mansel J. LaFleur, who worked for Bo-
Mick approximately six months prior to the
accident, sandblasted and painted fixed

platforms owned by Gulf Oil Company in

Black Bay, in Plaquemines’ Parish,

A-8

Louisiana. The work did not require that
LaFleur stay overnight on a vessel; each
morning he met a crewboat which took him to
the jack-up barge containing his
sandblasting and painting equipment. The
barge could move under its own power but it
was slow and cumbersome; its' primary
function was to hold the compressor and
sandblasting pots used in maintaining the
platforms. When plaintiff left the crew
boat and boarded the barge each morning,
the barge traveled a short distance and
positioned itself adjacent to the platform.
The plaintiff's job required that he use an
air hose from the barge on the platform and
that he go back and forth between the barge
and the platform many times a day.

On the day of the accident, the jack-
up barge was positioned about four feet

above the platform. In going from the

A-9

barge to the platform, plaintiff attempted
to step onto a piling but slipped and fell
to the platform and then into the water.
Plaintiff alleges he suffered injuries that
have prevented him from working since that
time.

Plaintiff argues that summary
judgment is rarely proper in Jones Act
cases and that it is improper in this. case
because there is a reasonable evidentiary
basis to support a finding that the
plaintiff is a seaman.

LAs

Under the Jones Act, "any seaman who
shall suffer a personal injury in the
course of his employment" has a right to
claim damages in an action alleging that
his employer was negligent. 46 U.S.C.A.
section 688. This court recently reviewed

the question of when a question of seaman

A-10

status could be resolved by summary

judgment. In Fayard v. Contifleeting Inc.,

511 S0.2d 3, 4 (La. App. 4th Cir.), writ

denied, 514 So.2d 461 (La. 1987), we
noted:

(w)hile summary judgment on seaman
status in Jones Act is rarely proper,
and even in marginal cases should go
to the jury, it is in some
circumstances possible to rule as a
matter of law that a worker is not a
seaman. Bouvier v. Krenz, 702 F.2d
89, at 90 (5th Cir. 1983), and cases
cited therein; cf. Pizzitolo v.
Electro-Cool Transfer Corp., 812 F.2d
977 (5th Cir.1987), where the appeals
court affirmed the district court's
decision on the issue as a matter of
law in rendering a judgment
notwithstanding the verdict.

As in Fayard, here the facts of the
plaintiff's duties are not in dispute and
the only issue is whether the facts meet
the requirements for seaman status.

The test for seaman status was

established in Offshore Company v.

A-1i

Robison, 266 F.2d 769, 779 (5th Cir.,
1959). The Robison court stated:

there is an evidentiary basis for a
Jones Act case to go to the jury: (1)
if there is evidence that the injured
workman was assigned permanently to a
vessel ... or performed a substantial
part of his work on the vessel; and
(2) if the capacity in which he was
employed or the duties which he
performed contributed to the function
of the vessel or to the
accompiishment of its mission, or to
the operation or welfare of the
vessel in terms of its maintenance
during its movement or during
anchorage for its future trips.

Recently the Robison test was reaffirmed in

Barrett v. Chevron, U.S.A. fo. , 261 F.2d

1067 (5th Cir. 1986).

Applying the Robison test to the
case at hand, we find that LaFleur did not
satisfy the first element of the standard.
LaFleur admitted in his deposition that all
his work was done on fixed platforms and
he had no duties on the barge. The fifth

Civeuss in Birk vy, Land & Marine

Applicators, Inc., 555 F.2d 481 (5th Cir.

1977), addressed the question of whether a
sandblaster/painter working on a fixed
platform was a seaman for Jones’) Act
purposes. The court found that although
the plaintiff had incidental ties to a
support vessel (he lived aboard one), his
principal duties as a sandblaster and
painter were performed on the _ fixed
platform and therefore he did not satisfy
the first element of the Robison test. The
plaintiff in Kirk had a stronger tie to a
vessel than LaFleur because he ate, slept
and did minor chores aboard it; LaFleur's
only relationship with the vessel was that
it provided him with transportation to the
platform and storage space for his gear.
Moreover, recent cases have held
that workers whose duties occur primarily

on fixed platforms are not to be considered

De aa

Bis

seaman on the basis of their connection
with vessels offering mainly support

services for the platform. Longmire v. Sea

Drilling Corp., 610 F.2d 1342 (5th Cir.

1980) (a roughneck assigned to a drilling
platform who occasionally performed tasks
on the support vessel was not a seaman even
though he was injured while stowing the

anchor chain); Billings v. Chevron, U.S.A.,

INC., 618 F.2d 1108 (5th Cir. 1980) (a
roustabout on a fixed platform rig whose
duties included loading and _ unloading
tenders onto the platform was not a

seaman); Golden v. Rowan Companies, Inc.,

778 F.2d 1022 (5th Cir. 1985) (worker who
maintained motors on a rig and performed
various jobs of short duration on a vessel

was denied seaman status); Miller v. Rowan

Companies, Inc., 815 F.2d 1021 (5th Cir.

1987) (worker whose job entailed retrieving

NN

A~-14

drilling tools from a well and who lived
aboard an adjacent vessel which served as
bunkhouse for the crew was not a seaman).
Because plaintiff fails to meet the
first element of the Robison test--that he
was assigned permanently to a vessel or
performed a substantial part of his work on
a vessel--and therefore cannot be
considered a seaman for purposes of the
Jones Act, it is not necessary for us to
examine the second element of Robison.
Accordingly, the judgment of the

district court is affirmed.

AFFIRMED

APPENDIX D
TWENTY-FIFTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT
PARISH OF PLAQUEMINES .
STATE OF LOUISIANA
NO. 28-208 DIVISION "A"
MANSEL J. LAFLEUR
vs.
P & S WELL SERVICE #5, INC., ET AL

FILED: JAN 15, 1988 Candace Dufrene
DEPUTY CLERK

JUDGMENT ON MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

This matter was set for hearing on
November 25, 1987. All parties agreed to
submit the matter.

IT IS ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND DECREED
that there be judgment herein in favor of
Robert Murray Collins and John Richard

Ludbrooke Youell, as representative of

Certain Underwriters at Lloyd's’ London
severally subscribing each for himself and
not one for the other, to certain maritime
employer's liability coverage, and against
plaintiff Mansel J. LaFleur finding that
said plaintiff is not a seaman within the
meaning of the Jones Act or the General
Maritime Law of the United States and
dismissing those claims of plaintiff as to
all defendants.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND
DECREED that there be judgment herein in
favor of defendant Bo-Mick Construction
Company, Inc. and against plaintiff, Mansel
J. LaFleur, dismissing the plaintiff's
Jones Act and General Maritime Law claims
as to Bo-Mick Construction Company, [nc.,
specifically reserving to plaintiff any

claim he may have under the Longshoreman's

A-17

and Harbor Worker's Act, or the Louisiana
Worker's Compensation Act, or both, if any.

JUDGMENT READ, RENDERED AND SIGNED at
Pointe-ala-Hache, Louisiana this 15th day

of January, 1988.

M. Kirby
JUDGE

APPENDIX E

Excerpts from Deposition of
MANSEL J. LAFLEUR

Deposition of LaFleur - page 37

captain in jacking the barge up?

A. No.

Q. Did you ever assist in tying the
barge up or untying the barge?

A. Huh-uh (negative response).

Q. You have to say yes or no.

A. No.

Q. Did you ever work on the engines

on the barge?

A. No.

Q. Did you ever clean or paint the
barge?

A. No.

Q. Did you ever do any work on the
barge, other than work on _ Bo-Mick's

equipment that would be on the barge? In

A-19

other words, did you ever do any mechanic's

work on the barge or help the captain with

anything?
A. No.
Q. Did you every drive the barge,

steer the barge anywhere?

A. No.

Q. I suppose you would take your
lunch on the barge during the day?

Deposition of LaFleur - page 43

Q. Are the structures pretty close
together out there?

A. Yeah, they're not far apart.

Q. And the work on all of these was
sandblasting and then painting; is that
correct?

A. Yes.

Q. Now, as far as the crewboat ride,
you didn't have to drive the crewboat at

all, did you.

A. No, sir.

Q. Now, the sandblasting and
painting work that you did on the
structures during the time you worked for
Bo-Mick in the Black Bay field, did you
ever have to work on the barge itself,
stand on the barge itself to do the work on
the platform, or did you get off of the
barge to do your work?

A. Most of the time you just -- you
don't work on the barge. You have to paint
on the platform. I don't remember ever
working off of the barge to get to nothing.

Q. Now, when you got to a
Deposition of LaFleur - page 45
small two-gallon paint pot. We had to take
them on the platform with us.

Q. As far as the sandblasting is
concerned, the sandblast pots and the

compressor would remain on the barge?

>
!

21

A. Yes, sir.

Q. And I suppose there would be
rubber hoses that went across to. the
platform, to the guns themselves?

A. Right.

Q. Did the helper ever do any
sandblasting or painting?

A. No.

Q. Was his job just to keep the pots
filled and make sure the equipment was
running?

A. Yes, sir. He shoveled sand, he
tailed our paint lines, helped us tape
gauges and stuff, and then when we
sandblasted, he had to run the pot on the
barge.

Q. So he would make sure the pot was
full of sand?

A. Yeah, fill it up and turn it on

and off.

A-22

Deposition of LaFleur - page 47

Q. When did you do that? That's
something you had a regular time every day
that you would do it?

A. When sandblasting, we usually
stop a couple of hours before knock-off
time to blow it down. We blow it down with
the hose as much as we could.

Q. By blowing it down, you mean the
structure you just got done sandblasting?

A. Yes, so we could paint it.

And sometimes if it was too heavy, we had
to shovel it off of there. We done that
every day. But we both done it. I helped
him do it.

Q. What about the sand that got on
the barge during the operation? I'm sure
some sand must have blown on the barge.

Who cleaned that?

A-23

A. The skipper, as far as I know, he
would wash it. I mean I don't know. I
never did clean it.

Q. All right. Now, at the time of
the accident or the day of the accident, do
you know the name or the number of the

Deposition of LaFleur - page 129

A. She's married to him, yes.
MR. WARD:
Thank you very much,
Mr. LaFleur.
EXAMINATION BY MR SACKS:

Q. I have just a few questions for
you, please. Did you state that you had
been working for Bo-Mick approximately six
months by the time you had this injury?

A. Yes.

Q. All right. And during that six

months, can you give me a general

A-24

description of the kind of work you were
doing there?

A. Sandblast and paint.

Q. Was all the sandblasting and
painting you did in connection with oil
field type projects?

A. Toe, Oat.

QO. Was the work that you did only
for Gulf or was there work for other oil
companies, as well?

A. As far as I can remember, it was
for Gulf, Gulf Oil.

Deposition of LaFleur - page 130

Q. And did it consist mostly of
painting and sandblasting offshore
‘production facilities?

A. Yes.

Q. How did you learn of where you
had to go or what particular platforms had

to be painted?

n“2S

A. Them boat captains knows the name

of them platforms and how to get to then,

and that's how we -- I mean I'm not
navigator.
Q. Where would you report in the

mornings, generally speaking? Would you go
to the Bo-Mick office every morning?

A. No, sir, we would go to the boat
docks in Buras where they dock their
crewboats and catch our boat there every
morning, and it let us back down that
night.

Q. I'm a little confused about the
Situation ot the structure and the barge.
Now, you sugyested that the little porch
was about five steps or so below the main

deck of the platform; is that correct?

APPENDIX F

Excerpts from Deposition

CAPTAIN CREEL

Deposition of Creel - page 8

or could you describe that for me?

A. Sometimes we'd come

sometimes we'd stay out.

according to how the weather was.

ft

in, and

It's just

Q. You had quarters, sleeping
quarters, on the --

A. No. We come home every night
with a crew boat.

QO. There are no facilities on that
barge to sleep?

A. BO, O18:

Q. What about a galley? Does it
have that?

A. No. It don't have anything.

Just a little house on it.

Q. You say at the present time this

barge is being used for welding support?
A. Right now. We've got a welder on

there working for Chevron out there right

now.

o. Does the barge have a name?

A. Yes. GEAR ELEVATOR.

Q. Is that like a gear on a car?

A. GEAR ELEVATOR.

OG, Is that on the bow of the barge
or
Deposition of Creel - page 10

particular platform was from the
headquarters?

A. I guess a couple of thousand
yards, I imagine.

Q. How did you get back and forth to

work each day?

A. Well, sometimes on my barge and

A-28

sometimes a crew boat would pick us up if I
had to leave my barge on location.

Q. Did you go back and forth on this
jack-up barge to work?

A. Well, at times, yeah, if I didn't
leave it on tocation.

Q. Was your normal routine to leave
it on location until you completed a job?

A. No. It was left up to us, if we
wanted to leave it there or take it in.

Q. Well, at the time Mr. LaFleur was
working there, did ya'll normally leave it
on the platform site at night?

A. No, not particularly.

Q. Could you give me an idea, say,
in the previous -- the week prior to this

accident how many times you may have

Deposition of Creel - page 53

Q. Yes. That particular platform

that you were working on.

A-29

A. About two or three minutes from
the barge. Maybe four. Something like
that.

Q. And would Mr. LaFleur ride on the
GEAR ELEVATOR during that trip?

A. Right.

Q. Did he assist you in positioning
the GEAR ELEVATOR next to the platform?

A. No, sir. He never did assist me
in nothing.

Q. That would be your. docking
maneuvers yourself?

A. “ight.

Q. And there is no need to tie off
or anything, you just start spudding down?

A. That's right.

Q. What would he do during that

period when you were traveling from the

wirehouse to the platform?

A-30

A. Oh, he would set in the cabin
with me then and maybe stand outside, you
know.

Deposition of Creel - page 57

A. Right.

Q. And with Bo-M;ck?

A. Right.

Q. Did Mr. LaFleur or his helper
ever assist you in any of the operation of
the barge?

A. No, sir. Never did.

G. To your knowledge, is the only
work that they were involved in was the

painting and sandblasting of the platform?

A. Right.
MR. SACKS:
That's all I have.
Thank you.

BY MR. WRIGHT:

a. What is your source of

information about the GEAR ELEVATOR working
for Gulf and then getting laid off? How do
you know about that?

A. Well, they run out of work for us
out there.

Q. But how do you know that; from
Mr. Ritchie?

A. Right. Well, they tell me. They

tell

A-32

APPENDIX G
xc s
Donald Michael Dean
Deposition of Dean - page 17
A. No.
Q. Did you ever see him paint or chip

on the crewboat?
A. No.
Q. Did you ever see him do anything

else regarding the crewboat except ride on it?

A. On the crewboat? :

Q. Yes.

A. No.

Q. When you got to the warehouse, I

believe you said that was where the crewboat

took you?

A. That's correct.

Q. Describe the warehouse, if you
would.

A. It's just a big tin building on four

legs out in the water.

a a no eee

A-33

Q. Were these legs apparently sticking
down into the bed of the water?

A. It is a little piece of land there.
And it's got a little like dock running around
it where all the boats park around it and all
the other barges and work barges and stuff.
Deposition of Dean - page 20
platform on that jack-up barge?

A. Right.

Q. And did either you or Mr. Lafleur
operate the barge?

A. No.

Q. Did you untie the barge at the dock,
at the warehouse?

A. No.

Q. Did either of you tie it on when you
got to the platform where you were going to

work?

| No. We don't tie them on.

Q.

A-34

Well, did either you or Mr. Lafleur

have anything to do with either the movement

of the barge or its positioning by the

platform?

A.

Q.

No.

Did Mr. Lafleur have anything to do

with any painting of any part of the lift

barge?
A.
Q.
A.

Q.

No.
Any chipping?
No.

Did you ever see him do anything to

any of the structural members

siti = 7 >}

of that barge while you worked with him?

A.
Q.
A.

Q.

No.
Did you do any such thing? -
No.

Where did the jack-up barge position

itself when it got to this platform you

A-35
previously described where you were working?

A. I'm not too sure because I don't
know the directions. I believe it was on the
south side of the platforn.

Q. By what, if anything, did it
position itself?

A. The grating walkway there.

Q. About how high off the water level
was the grating walkway?

A. About four foot.

Q. Now, other than the three days of
work shown by the tickets Dean 1, 2 and 3, do
you recall ever working with Mr. Lafleur on
any other occasion?

A. No, not besides one time he was
running a cherry picker down when we was
putting the tanks in, but I didn't work around

him. <i£ didn't have nothing to

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0061%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
