# Opposition Brief — Johnson v. Park Shore Marina

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0057%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 493 U.S. 853

## Text

No. 89-159

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1989

»
aa

HERBERT H. JOHNSON, JR.,

Petitioner
VS.

PARK SHORE MARINA, et al.,

Respondents.

»
~

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

a
il

| RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

—
.

|AMES, DARK AND BrILI

Journ C. Fist (P28918)
Attorneys for Respondents
Park Shore Marina; John L.
Landow, d/b/a Park Shore
Viartina; Steven M. Palatines,
i/b/a Park Shore Marina

500 Comerica Building
Kalamazoo, MI 49007

; FAN 199%
H10) 545-1556

Ae,

QUESTION PRESENTED

Issue: THE SIXTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS
PROPERLY CONCLUDED THAT MICHIGAN
PRODUCT LIABILITY LAW PROVIDES THAT
IN THE CASE OF SIMPLE PRODUCTS OR
TOOLS THERE IS NO DUTY TO WARN OF
KNOWN OR OBVIOUS PRODUCT-CON-
NECTED DANGERS WHERE THE PRODUCT
ITSELF IS NOT DEFECTIVE OR DANGEROUS.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED: ...0.4 000720 oon See ee i
TABLE OF CONTENTS. . 2... csas aaa eerste ii
INDEX OF AUTHORITIES... - 2.00 eee anes il
PRELIMINARY STATEMENT ...........---.0+0000%
STATEMENT OF THE CASE... + -eas eee 2
SUMMARY OF REASONS WHY THE PETITION
SHOULD BE DENIED... .:.2557-5 3 oe 6
ARGUMENT 3)... 2020505 0 Race 7

I. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS
PROPERLY CONCLUDED THAT MICHIGAN
PRODUCT LIABILITY LAW PROVIDES
THAT IN THE CASE OF SIMPLE PRODUCTS
OR TOOLS THERE IS NO DUTY TO WARN
OF KNOWN OR OBVIOUS PRODUCT-CON-
NECTED DANGERS WHERE THE PRODUCT
ITSELF IS NOT DEFECTIVE OR DAN-
GEROUS |. i... 6.5: 0500 7

Il. PROCEDURAL RULES FOR SUMMARY
JUDGMENT WERE PROPERLY FOLLOWED
BY THE TRIAL COURT AND THE SIXTH
CIRCUIT ON APPEAL... 15

Il. THIS ACTION DOES NOT COME WITHIN
THE “SPECIAL AND IMPORTANT REA-
SONS” REQUIREMENT FOR GRANTING
THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI SET FORTH IN
SUPREME COURT RULE 17-........ 1. 16

CONCLUSION . .. 00.25 ks eee 17
APPENDIX . 0... sncd ie App. 1

ill

INDEX OF AUTHORITIES

Page
Antcliff v State Employees Credit Union, 414 Mich.
Gna, S27 W.W.20 614 (1982)............ 10:3); 423. 15
Fisher v Johnson Milk Company, Inc., 383 Mich. 158,
ees Gree 9 SEG) |) ae ee Mee ae
Glittenburg v Wilcenski, 174 Mich. App. 321, 435
oe OG) ar 12, 13, 14
Hill v Huskey Briquetting, Inc., 54 Mich. App. 17,
ee En 14
Horen v Coleco Industries, Inc., 169 Mich. App. 725,
Be” Gea 6) a rn ig, 43, 18
Jamieson v Woodward & Lothrop, 101 App. DC 32,
Eo Saar a 8
Mach v General Motors Corporation, 112 Mich. App.
Se OPE OE CNIOL) kes ceca e epee ees 15

Michigan Mutual Insurance Company v Heaiilator
Fireplace, 422 Mich. 148, 366 N.W.2d 202 (1985) .11, 14

Moning v Alfono, 400 Mich. 425, 254 N.W.2d 759
Ee Ae een eee eer 15

Owens v Allis Chalmers Corp., 414 Mich. 399, 327
NT RROD 5 yc ey vec ed senses venees 7, 9, 10

Pettis v Nalco Chemical Co., 150 Mich. App. 294, 388
EE ROO ya vere cena se eencs 1M, 42733

Rice v Sioux City Memorial Park Cemetery, Inc., 349
US 70, 75 Supreme Court 614 (1955).............. 16

Ross v Jaybird Automation, Inc., 177 Mich. App. 603,
i eg GS 6 |) Sea a 1]

INDEX OF AUTHORITIES (Cont.)

Page
Smith v E.R. Squibb and Sons, Inc., 405 Mich. 79, 273
ek ee n,n te er cine, phe eer Tee 13
Spencer v Ford Motor Company, 141 Mich. App. 356,
ee Pe ee RES cw cca ce uwancwssancee : 14

Thomas v International Harvester Co., 57 Mich. App.
79, 225 N.W.2d 175 (1974) .. ee 13

No. 89-159

y%
_

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1989

HERBERT H. JOHNSON, JR.,

Petitioner,
VS.

PARK SHORE MARINA, et al.,

Respondents.

,
a di

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

,
_

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

7.
a

PRELIMINARY STATEMENT

Respondents Park Shore Marina, John L. Landow,
d/b/a Park Shore Marina and Steven M. Palatinas, d/b/a
Park Shore Marina respectfully request that this court
deny the Petition for Writ of Certiorari seeking review of
the decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Sixth Circuit in this case.

>

é

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In 1984, Arthur Anderson, Joann Anderson, Gerald
Connor and Kathryn Conner (all third party defendants
who are not respondents in this case) purchased a cottage
on Diamond Lake, Cassoplis, Michigan. The property
came with a dock. The dock would be put in the water

every spring and removed in the fall.

After purchasing the cottage, Mr. Anderson called
Respondent Park Shore Marina and talked with Respon
dent John Landow. Mr. Landow and Respondent Steven
Palatinas are partners doing business as the Park Shore
Marina. Mr. Anderson requested the marina install the
dock for the season (Landow, at TR 8). This would have

been in the spring of 1984.

Mr. Landow refused to install the dock as the wood
decking material had rotted and was therefore unsafe
(Landow, at TR 9). Mr. Anderson requested a price on
new wood decking material. The price was given and
accepted (Landow, at TR 8-14). Park Shore Marina
ordered the replacement wood decking sections from
Respondent Lake Shore Products. Lake Shore Products
delivered the replacement decking to Park Shore Marina
(Landow, at TR 10-14). The replacement wood decking
consisted of eight 3’ x 12’ sections and three 4’ x 10’

sections.

Park Shore Marina put the dock into the water in the
spring of 1984 (Landow, at TR 17-19). The eight 3’ x 12’
sections each overlapped the other a foot and thus the
dock extended approximately 80’ into the lake. The three

4’ x 10’ sections were placed on the lake end of the dock

to forma “L’ shape (Landow, at TR 16-25)

Park Shore Marina did not design the dock. It only

sold replacement wood deck sections to the property
owners. When Park Shore Marina installed the dock, the
property owners’ existing steel cross members and
sleeves were used to support the decking. The steel cross
members slid into steel sleeves which were pipes perma-
nently buried in the lake bed. The sleeves remained in the

water all year. (Landow, at TR 16-25).

Park Shore Marina removed the wood decking and
steel supports in the fall of 1984 and reinstalled the wood
decking and supports in the spring of 1985.

In the summer of 1985 Joann Anderson decided to
have a party at the cottage for her coworkers. Petitioner
Herbert Johnson is a resident of Chicago and is employed
by Amtrak in Chicago as a reservations supervisor. Mrs.
Anderson in the director of the department in which
Petitioner Johnson is employed.

On June 22, 1985 Petitioner Johnson arrived at the
party approximately 2:00 PM Michigan time. He claims to
have consumed one beer in the car on the way to the
party (Johnson, at TR 18). Petitioner Johnson has testified
that after his arrival at the party he went fishing, pur-
posely/playfully bumped a child off the dock into the
water near the shoreline (Johnson, at TR 50), drank
another beer (Johnson, at TR 36) and discussed with
Arthur Anderson the feasibility of pushing a particular
adult into the water (Johnson, at TR 37, 44). Mr. Johnson
then sat on the end of the dock and dangled his feet in

the water

Petitioner Johnson then decided to go swimming.

According to Mr. Johnson’s testimony, he got to his feet

and went to a ladder which was attached to the end of the
dock. He grabbed the ladder and put one foot in the
water. Mr. Johnson decided the water was too cold to
enter slowly by descending the ladder so he decided to
dive into the lake.

Petitioner Johnson walked back to the end of the
dock. He states that he bent his knees and crouched to
dive. As he did so he noticed Mr. Anderson quickly
coming towards him from the left. Due to his earlier
conversation with Mr. Anderson about pushing people in
the water, Petitioner Johnson believed Anderson was
about to push him in. Petitioner Johnson states he was
distracted and hurried his dive into the water (Johnson at
TR 61-77, 141-142).

Petitioner Johnson claims that he struck his head on
the lake bottom and fractured his neck. As a result, he is
quadriplegic. It is claimed the depth of the water was less
than four (4) foot at the end of the dock.

Petitioner Johnson was transported to a local hospital
where a blood alcohol test was performed. His blood
alcohol level was tested at .192 (Henry Guzzo, M.D.., at
TR 13).

Mr. Johnson has testified at deposition that he never
checked the depth of the water, did not see the lake
bottom, never looked down into the water before he dove
and did nothing to determine the depth of the water
before his dive (Johnson at TR 78, 82-84, 175, 180). Peti
tioner Johnson has been swimming and diving since he

was 9 or 10 years of age (Johnson, at TR 183-185). Peti

tioner Johnson admitted at deposition that if he had given

it any thought he knew that he could fracture his neck by
diving into shallow water (Johnson, at TR 175-178).

Petitioner filed a product liability action in the
United States District Court for the Western District of
Michigan. Petitioner alleged thai Respondents Park Shore
Marina, Palatinas and Landow breached implied warran-
ties and also were negligent. In reality, however, all par-
ties agree that substantively this was a perfectly fine
dock. Petitioner’s only theory is that warnings should

have been posted on the dock.

“Johnson agrees with Lake Shore Products’ first
assertion that “the actual construction of the
dock, i.e., the wood, the nails and the manner in
which the wood was fastened together, played
no role in this accident.” (R. 108: Brief by Plain-
tiff/Petitioner opposing Respondents’ motion
for summary judgment filed in the trial court at
p. 4).

The trial court grarited the motions for summary
judgment filed by Respondents Park Shore Marina,
Landow, Palatinas and Lake Shore Products, Inc. The
court granted the motions on two basis: First, the Peti-
tioner was unable to produce any evidence that the
Respondents’ product, the dock, was a cause of his inju
ries. Secondly, even assuming the dock caused petitioners
injuries, the Respondents had no duty to warn in situa-
tions involving know or obvious product-connected dan-
gers where the product itself is not defective or
dangerous, i.e. the dock was not defective and the danger
of diving into shallow water is well known and obvious.

The Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed finding

that under Michigan law there is no duty to warn of

known or obvious product-connected dangers where the
product itself is not defective or dangerous. As there is no
dispute that the dock itself was not defective or dan-
gerous (absent the warning) and because the dangers of
diving into unknown waters are known and obvious (as
Petitioner himself conceded in his deposition testimony)
there was no duty by Respondents to warn about the

danger.

Petitioner now brings a petition for a writ of cer-

tiorari seeking review by this court.

>
>

SUMMARY OF REASONS WHY THE
PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

1. Michigan Product Liability Law provides that in
the case of simple products there is no duty to warn of
known or obvious product-connected dangers where the
product itself is not defective or dangerous. The wood
deck sections sold by Respondents was a very simple
product. It was simply a wood platform.

Michigan Law was correctly interpreted and applied
by the trial court in granting Respondents summary judg-
ment. The Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals correctly inter-
preted and applied Michigan law in affirming the trial
court.

2. Procedural rules for summary judgment were
properly followed by the trial court and the Sixth Circuit
on appeal. Michigan law provides that the question of
duty is one of law for the court to decide. Petitioner was
admittedly aware of the possibility of serious injury when

diving off a dock into water whose depth is unknown

The danger of such a dive was obvious. As a matter of

law there was no duty to warn [etitioner of this known
or obvious product-connected danger.

3. This action does not come within the “special and
important reasons” standard for granting the writ of cer-
tiorari. This is not a case involving principles, the settle-
ment of which is of importance to the public as
distinguished from that of the parties.

&
7.

ARGUMENT

I. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS
PROPERLY CONCLUDED THAT MICHIGAN
PRODUCT LIABILITY LAW PROVIDES THAT
IN THE CASE OF SIMPLE PRODUCTS OR
TOOLS THERE IS NO DUTY TO WARN OF
KNOWN OR OBVIOUS PRODUCT-CON-
NECTED DANGERS WHERE THE PRODUCT
ITSELF 1S NOT DEFECTIVE OR DANGEROUS.

Petitioner argues the 1982 Michigan Supreme Court
Case of Owens v Allis Chalmers Corp., 414 Mich 399, 327
N.W. 2d 222 (1982) completely did away with Michigan
law which provides there is no duty to warn of known or
obvious product-connected dangers where the product
itself is not defective or dangerous. This simply is not the
case.

The leading case in Michigan setting forth this rule is
Fisher v Johnson Milk Company, Inc., 383 Mich. 158, 174
N.W. 2d 752 (1970). Fisher involved a defendant who sold
a wire carrier made to carry bottles of milk. The plaintiff
dropped the carrier on an icy sidewalk, slipped and fell
on the broken glass and was injured.

‘There was no inherent, hidden or concealed
defect in the wire carrier. Its manner of con
Struction, how the bottles would rest in it, and
what might happen if it were dropped, upright
on a hard surface below, with the possibility

——that the contained bottles might break, was

plain enough to be seen by anyone including «
patent attorney as well as a milk dealer. There is
no duty to warn or protect against dangers
obvious to all. Jamieson v Woodward & Lothrop
(1957), 101 App DC 32 (247 F2d 23). In so hold
ing in support of the trial court’s summary judg
ment for defendant that court said:

“there are * * * on the market vast numbers of
potentially dangerous products as to which the
manufacturer owes no duty of warning or other
protection. The law does not require that an
article be accident-proof or incapable of doing
harm. It would be totally unreasonable to
require that a manufacturer warn or protect
against every injury which may ensue from
mishap in the use of his product. Almost every
physical object can be inherently dangerous or
potentially dangerous in a sense. A lead pencil
can stab a man to the heart or puncture his
jugular vein, and due to that Soong itis an
‘inherently dangerous’ object; but, if < a person
accidently slips and falls on a pencil point in his
pocket , the manufacturer of the pencil is not
liable for the injury. He has no obligation to put
a safety guard on a lead pencil or to issue a
warning with its sale. A tack, a hammer, a pane
of glass, a chair, a rug, a rubber band, and
myriads of other objects are truly ‘inherently
dangerous’ because they might slip dee
hammer is not of defective design because it
may hurt the user if it slips. A manufacturer
cannot manufacture a knife that will not cut ora
TT r tnat willl I t mash a thumb ra if

asi ca ATLA LITE Vt a SU

} hyyarry » tinacor } —T / , }

require him to warn of such common dangers
Fisher at p. 160-161

Owens v Allis Chalmers, supra, relied upon by peti
tioner was decided November 23, 1982. The plaintiffs’
husband was killed operating a forklift manufactured by
defendant. It was claimed the forklift was improperly
pe
of a driver’s restraint so the driver would not be thrown

designed, was unstable and failed to provide some ty

out in a rollover. Various possibilities were offered: a
cage, seatbelts or various types, a bar, and an encapsulat
ing seat with arms. There would be issues such as cost
involved, safety effectiveness, the driver utility of each or
any of the devices, the practicality of the design, the
ability of the driver to perform necessary work with the
devices in place, etc. In other words, Owens involved a
complicated design for a complicated product. The court
indicated the test was whether the risks were unreason
able in light of the foreseeable injuries, i.e. look at the
magnitude of the risk and the reasonableness of the pro
posed design. However, the court explicitly realized that
in cases involving simple products the Fisher obvious risk

test continues to apply:

“Our Court of Appeals has essentially limited
the language in Fisher by the fact that Fisher
involved a simple product or tool. * * * (citations
deleted) We believe that such a limitation is
proper.”

Owens at p. 425.

The court further noted Owens was nota “duty to

warn case’. Owens at p 27

10

Obviously, the Owens case did not completely do
away with the Fisher test which indicates there is no duty
to warn or protect against dangers which are obvious.
Two weeks after Owens was decided, the Michigan
Supreme Court decided Antcliff v. State Employees Credit
Union, 414 Mich. 624, 327 N.W. 2d 814 (December 7,
1982). In Antcliff the plaintiff was injured when a pow-
ered scaffold on which he was working gave way and he
fell to the ground. It was claimed the manufacturer and
seller of the scaffold had a duty to instruct or give direc-
tions for the safe rigging of the scaffold.

“In sum, our prior decisions support a policy
that a manufacturer’s standard of care includes
the dissemination of such information, whether
styled as warnings or instructions, as is appro-
priate for the safe use of its product. If warnings
or instructions are required, the information
provided must be adequate, accurate and
effective.

Although this policy has found expression in a
variety of contexts, most often involving warn-
ings, it is not limited to warnings. It is broad
enough to encompass instructions for use. To
conclude otherwise would be to restrict the
sweep of the law of negligence in this state.

This policy has limits. It has been applied in
instances where the product itself had dangerous
propensities. Out of recognition that the manufac-
turer's interests are also entitled to protection, this
policy has not been applied in situations involving
known or obvious product connected dangers where
the product itself is not defective or dangerous.
Fisher v Johnson Milk Co., Inc., 383 Mich 158; 174
N.W.2d 752 (1970) (wire milk bottle carrier). See
also, Anno: Products liability-duty to warn, 76

11

ALR2d 9, 28-37, and cases cited therein”
(Emphasis added.) Antcliff, at 638-639.

The scaffold itself was not found to be defective. The
plaintiff was charged with full appreciation of the danger
of inadequately supporting the scaffold.

“As a result, the circumstances here (a non-
defective product lacking in dangerous propen-
sities and a known or obvious product-con-
nected danger) do not support application of the
policy which would require Spider to provide
instructions for the safe rigging of its product.”
Antcliff, at 639.

In Michigan Mutual Insurance Company v. Heatilator
Fireplace, 422 Mich. 148, 366 N.W.2d 202 (1985) the Michi-
gan Supreme Court again confirmed the Fisher obvious
danger test still exists for simple products or tools. How-
ever, the Heatilator case did not involve an obvious or
known danger or a simple tool. It involved a complex
prefabricated fireplace with glass doors, various air
vents, an inner metal fire chamber and a second and
larger outer shell with an inner space designed to keep
the outer shell sufficiently cool.

See also Ross v Jaybird Automation, Inc., 172 Mich.
App. 603, 432 N.W.2d 374 (1988) where as late as Novem-
ber, 1988 the Michigan Court of Appeals stated:

“A seller or manufacturer is generally liable in
negligence for failure to warn purchasers or
users of its product about dangers associated
with intended uses and foreseeable misuses.
Antcliff v. State Employees Credit Union, 414 Mich
624, 637; 327 N.W.2d 814 (1982), reh den 417
Mich 1103 (1983); Pettis v Nalco Chemical Co., 150

12

Mich App 294, 301; 388 N.W.2d 343 (1986), lv
den 426 Mich 881 (1986). This standard of care
includes dissemination of information, either
warnings o7 instructions, as is appropriate for
the safe use of the product; such information
must be adequate, accurate, and effective. Pettis,
supra, 392, However, there is no duty to warn of
known or obvious product-connected dangers where
the product itself is not defective or dangerous.
Antcliff, supra, p 639. Whether a manufacturer owes
a duty to warn or to instruct is a question of law for
the court to decide. Id., ¢ 640.” Ross at 606-607.
(Emphasis added.)

Nowhere does a Michigan court restrict this rule to a
product distributed only to highly skilled employees
charged with particular knowledge of a product. How-
ever, the rule does apply equally to a danger obvious to
the expert’s eye.

Petitioner cites two Michigan Court of Appeals deci-
sions involving swimming pools as standing for the prop-
osition that the Fisher test (no duty to warn of a known or
obvious danger inherent in a simple tool or product) no
longer exists. The cases cited are Horen v Coleco Industries,
Inc., 169 Mich. App. 725, 426 N.W.2d 794 (1988) and
Glittenburg v Wilcenski, 274 Mich. App. 321, 435 N.W.2d
480 (1989). These cases simply are not applicable.

First, a swimming pool is not a simple product. A
swimming pool requires grading, necessarily has sides
and a bottom, plumbing, concrete, tile, a liner, circulating
motor, filter, heater, chemicals and involves intricate
design and manufacture.

13

Park Shore Marina simply provided perfectly fine
and simple wood deck sections off of which the Peti-
tioner, with a blood alcohol level of over .19, rushed to
dive into the water head first believing his friend was
about to push him into the water.

Secondly, a pool manufacturer has control over the
depth of the pool. This is part of the pool design. Respon-
dent Park Shore Marina on the other hand had absolutely
no control over the depth of Diamond Lake. The lake
bottom on which the Plaintiff apparently struck his head,
causing the injury, was not part of the product sold by
Park Shore Marina.

Furthermore, neither Horen nor Glittenburg are deci-
sions of the Michigan Supreme Court.

Petitioner cites various cases to support the theory
that a manufacturer may have a duty to warn even
though a product is perfectly made. These cases do not
involve a simple product or tool which is neither defec-
tive nor dangerous with a risk known or obvious.

Smith v E.R. Squibb and Sons, Inc., 405 Mich. 79,
273 N.W.2d 476 (1979) involved a decedent who
died as a result of an allergic reaction to an x-ray
dye.

Pettis v Nalco Chemical Co., 150 Mich. App. 294,
388 N.W.2d 343 (1986) involved a chemical used
to coat molds which caused an explosion when
contacted by molten steel.

Thomas v International Harvester, Co., 57 Mich.
App. 79, 225 N.W.2d 175 (1974) involved a ball-
bearing which was made of very hard steel and
chipped when struck with a hammer.

14

Hill v Huskey Briquetting, Inc., 54 Mich. App. 17,
220 N.W.2d 137 (1974) involved a decedent who
was killed by fumes when charcoal briquettes
were lit.

Furthermore, these case together with the Heatilator,
Horen and Glittenburg decisions all have something in
common which is lacking in Petitioner Johnson’s case.
The product involved was the proximate cause of the
injury. The injury was caused by some element of the
product-over which the manufacturer has control and is
charged with responsibility. Opposed to all of these cases
is the situation of Petitioner Johnson. Petitioner was not
struck by the dock, did not slip on the dock or was
otherwise injured by the dock or from any by-product of
the dock. There is simply no evidence of a causal connec-
tion between the dock and his injury. The injury was
caused by the shallow depth of Diamond Lake. The lake
bottom was not part of this product.

“Product liability actions grounded in negli-
gence or breach of implied warranty require a
causal connection between the manufacturer’s
negligence | or product defect and the plaintiff’s
injury . . Spencer v Ford Motor Company, 141
Mich. App. 356, 361, 367 N.W.2d 393 (1985).

To require Respondents, sellers and installers of the ~
decking material, to place a warning sign on the dock
would require the paver of the driveway at the cottage to
post a sign at the end of the drive stating: “DANGER: DO
NOT EXIT DRIVEWAY IN FRONT OF ONCOMING
VEHICLE.” Michigan law does not require such a
warning.

15

Il. PROCEDURAL RULES FOR SUMMARY
JUDGMENT WERE PROPERLY FOLLOWED
BY THE TRIAL COURT AND THE SIXTH CIR-
CUIT ON APPEAL.

The theory Petitioner has pursued at the trial level,
Court of Appeals and before this Honorable Court has
been that Respondents had a duty to post signs on the
dock warning of the lake’s shallow water.

The question of duty is one of law for the court to
decide. Moning v Alfono, 400 Mich 425, 254 N.W.2d 759,
(1977); Mach v General Motors Corporation, 112 Mich. App.
158, 315 N.W.2d 561 (1982); Antcliff v State Employees
Credit Union, supra.

As stated earlier, as this wood decking material is not
defective or dangerous, the manufacturer/seller is not
required to warn of situations involving known or
obvious product-connected dangers. Reasonable minds
could only conclude that there in an obvious danger with
diving head first into a lake, the depth of which is
unknown. Petitioner Johnson was properly charged with
this knowledge. He had been swimming and diving since
9 or 10 years of age. Petitioner admitted at deposition
that he never checked the depth of the water, did not see
the lake bottom, never looked down into the water before
he dove and did nothing to determine the depth of the
water before his dive (Johnson, at TR 78, 82-84, 175, 180).
Petitioner further admitted that if he had given it any
thought he knew that he could fracture his neck diving
into the shallow water (Johnson, at TR 175-178).

Petitioner was admittedly aware of the possibility of
serious injury when diving off of a dock into water whose

16

depth was unknown. Furthermore, the danger of such a
dive was obvious. As a matter of law, there was no duty
to warn Petitioner Johnson or to protect him from the
shallow lake bed.

Ill. THIS ACTION DOES NOT COME WITHIN
THE “SPECIAL AND IMPORTANT REA-
SONS” REQUIREMENT SET FORTH IN
SUPREME COURT RULE 17 FOR GRANTING
REVIEW ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

Finally, the petition should be denied based upon
Supreme Court Rule 17. This action does not come within
the “special and important reasons” requirement for
granting the writ of certiorari. The court does not sit to
satisfy scholarly interest in intellectually interesting prob-
lems nor for the benefit of particular litigants.

* * *

4é

. it is very important that we be consistent
in not granting the writ of certiorari except in
cases involving principles the settlement of
which is of importance to the public, as distin-
guished from that of the parties, and in cases
where there is a real and embarrassing conflict
of opinion and authority between the circuit
courts of appeals.” Rice v Sioux City Memorial
Park Cemetery, Inc., 349 U.S. 70, 75 Sup. Ct. 614,
619-620 (1955)

Petitioner’s argument is without merit and does not
meet the Rule 17 threshold.

17

CONCLUSION

The Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals properly con-
cluded that Respondents had no duty to warn Petitioner
about the dangers posed by diving off a dock into shal-
low water. Respondents Park Shore Marina, Landow and
Palatinas respectfully request that the petition for a writ
of certiorari be denied and Respondents awarded appro-
priate damages pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 49.2 on
the grounds the instant petition is frivolous.

DATED: August 25, 1989
Respectfully submitted,
James, Dark AND BRILL

By: Joun C. Fist: (P28918)
Attorney for Respondents
Park Shore Marina, Landow
and Palatinas

App. 1

APPENDIX

LIST OF PARENT COMPANIES SUBSIDIARIES
AND AFFILIATES, PURSUANT TO RULE 28.1.

Petitioner Park Shore Marina is not a corporation. It
is a partnership wholly owned by Respondents John L.
Landow and Steven M. Palatinas.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385020_0057%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
