# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Onett v. Florida Bar

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_2360%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 484 U.S. 850

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

87-961 : FILED

JUL 141987
JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.
gx CLERK
NO.
in the
Supreme Court
of the
United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1986
GEORGE L. ONETT,
Petitioner,
US.
THE FLORIDA BAR,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

SHALLE STEPHEN FINE
(Counsel of Record)

46 S. W. First Street
Miami, Florida 33130
305/358-1515

Attorney for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1

IT WAS A DENIAL OF FUNDAMENTAL
DUE PROCESS TO REFUSE THE PETI-
TIONER’S APPLICATION FOR SUBPOE-
NAES AND TO DENY HIM THE RIGHT TO
COMPULSORY PROCESS AND THE
PRESENTATION OF WITNESSES.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

All parties to the proceeding are named in the title
of the case.

ii

od

TABLE OF CONTENTS AND
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW:

IT WAS A DENIAL OF FUNDAMENTAL
DUE PROCESS TO REFUSE THE
PETITIONER’S APPLICATION FOR
SUBPOENAS AND TO DENY HIM THE
RIGHT TO COMPULSORY PROCESS AND
THE PRESENTATION OF WITNESSES .. i

PARTIES TO-THE PROCEEDING........... il

TABLE OF CONTENTS AND
TABLE OF AUTHORITINES................. iii

og ER 8 6s yr Vv
GROUNDS ON WHICH JURISDICTION
en ds abe ieie sap so 000 62 vi
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS,

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS........... vil
STATEMENT OF THE CASE............... 1
ES 10

ili

. Page
CITATIONS

Accardi us. Shaughnessy,
347 U. S. 260 74 S. Ct. 499,
ee Re ee I cs a ec cce keene o 10

Drogaise vs. Martine’s Incorporated,
118 So. 2d 95 (1 DCA Fla. 1960).......... 10

Florida Bar vs. Quick,
5. g Ff Me. | Sara enaen ere: 10

Re Ruffalo,
390 U. S. 544, 88 S. Ct. 1222,
oe Se Regt. | ar eS

Service us. Dulles,
362 U. 8S. 363, T7 3. Ct. 1152,

ee Ge 6 Ly a errr 10
State Ex Rel Florida Bar vs. Evans,
' % & by RS: y ) rere 11
United States of America vs. George L. Onett,
EE SE EE 5 ek oo bak oo Ae een ele was 3
STATUTES

28 United States Code, §1257 (3) ............ vi

iv

OFFICIAL REPORTS

The Florida Bar vs. George Onett, 504 So. 2d 388
(Fla. 1987)

GROUNDS ON WHICH JURISDICTION
IS INVOKED

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Florida herein
sought to be reviewed was entered February 26, 1987.
A timely filed Petition for Rehearing was denied by
order entered April 15, 1987.

The statutory provision believed to confer on this
court jurisdiction to review the judgment and opinion
in question by Writ of Certiorari is 28 United States
Code, §1257 (3)

vi

enorme. =

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES
AND REGULATIONS

1) Constitution of the United States, Article XIV,
§1. No state shall make or enforce any law which shall
abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the
United States; nor shall any state deprive any person
of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law;
nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction equal
protection of the laws.

Pertinent portions of the Florida Bar integration

rule are quoted in the Statement of the Case and
Argument as appropriate.

vii

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This cause comes to this court on the Petition of
George L. Onett for review of a judgment disbarring him
entered in the Supreme Court of Florida. (Appendix 1
et seq.; further references in this Petition to the
appendix hereto will be made by use of the symbol “‘A”’
with appropriate page number.)

The parties will be referred to herein by proper name
or by standing here or below as appropriate.

The Petitioner, George L. Onett, was admitted to the
Florida Bar on November 4, 1966. He had never been
disciplined by the Bar prior to the instant case.

The Florida Bar is an integrated Bar created by the
Supreme Court of Florida under an integration rule
promulgated by the Supreme Court. The Preamble to
the integration rule specifically states in pertinent part:

“. . . the following principles are expressly
adopted by this court:

(a) The Florida Bar, a body created by and
existing under the authority of this court, is
charged with the maintenance of the highest
standards and obligations of the profession of
law, and to that end is vested by this court, in
the exercise of its inherent powers over the
Florida Bar as an official arm of this court, with
the necessary powers and authority. . .

(d) This court has the inherent power and
duty ... to determine what constitutes

grounds for discipline of lawyers, to discipline
for cause attorneys admitted to practice law in
Florida, and to revoke the license of every
lawyer whose unfitness to practice law has
been duly established.”

The exclusive jurisdiction of the Supreme Court over
discipline of persons admitted to the practice of law is
administered pursuant to Article XI of the integration
rule. Pursuant to Article XI, the Florida Bar commenced
the proceedings under review here by filing a complaint
against Petitioner Onett in the Supreme Court of
Florida. Under the integration rule, disciplinary
proceedings such as this are original proceedings in the
Supreme Court of Florida.

That complaint (A. 6 et seq.; amendment A. 10)
charged that Onett:

a) Sought to extort $15,000.00 from a Jacksonville,
Florida restauranter in connection with the
restauranter’s efforts to obtain a liquor license for his
restaurant; and

b) Sought to defraud the citizens of the State of
Florida, the Department of Business Regulation and the
Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco with regard
to their review and approval of the restauranter’s liquor
license application by concealing relevant information;
and

c) Perjured himself before a Federal Grand Jury;
and

d) Asa result of the foregoing was convicted of six
felony counts by the United States District Court for
the Middle District of Florida.

The Supreme Court of Florida appointed a referee
to hear the matter and pursuant to notice, the matter
was brought on for hearing.

The Bar produced no live witnesses in its main case.
It introduced three exhibits and rested. Exhibit No. 1
was a copy of the indictment against the Respondent
in the United States District Court for the Middle
District of Florida. Exhibit 2 was a certified copy of the
judgment and commitment order in the United States
District Court In and For The Middle District of Florida
evidencing Mr. Onett’s conviction on several criminal
charges. Exhibit 3 was a copy of the initial appeal in
the criminal case, United States of America vs. George
L. Onett, 725 F.2d 1561 where the Eleventh Circuit
affirmed the conviction.

Mr. Onett called as his witness Charles L. Nuzum
who testified that immediately prior to his retirement
he was director of the Division of Alcoholic Beverages
and Tobacco of the State of Florida. Prior to that time
he was special agent for the Federal Bureau of
Investigation for 22 years and at the time he retired
from the Bureau he was deputy chief of the white collar
crime section of the general investigative division at FBI
Headquarters in Wshington. In the Beverage
Department, the only person he reported to was Richard
Burroughs, the head of the Department of Business
Regulation. It was Mr. Nuzum’s duty to pass on
applications for liquor licenses where there was a

problem. Mr. Nuzum’s approval or disapproval was final
administrative action subject only to appeal to the
courts. Mr. Nuzum, when he took his post with the State
of Florida, took an oath of office and was an officer of
the State of Florida.

Mr. Nuzum, in 1979 or 1980, was made aware of a
liquor license application for a place called Abbott’s
Restaurant in Jacksonville, Florida. It was brought to
his attention by his chief of licensing. The problem was
that an application had been made for Abbott’s
Restaurant by Mrs. Peter Abbott, and the problem
which they envisioned was that Mr. Peter Abbott should
be on the application too.

Mr. Nuzum then had a visit from Michael Collins,
an agent with the Federal Bureau of Investigation, and
they discussed Abbott’s Restaurant. Collins told Nuzum
that the Bureau was conducting a sting operation at
Abbott’s Restaurant, that the investigation then dealt
with alleged corruption in public life and among public
officials in the Jacksonville area. He further told Nuzum
that there was electronic surveillance and other
technical surveillance at the Abbott’s Restaurant and
that information had been obtained that there would
be an effort made to obtain a liquor license, a special
restaurant license for Abbott’s Restaurant through
influence of some nature with the Department of
Business Regulation. Mr. Collins told Mr. Nuzum that
Mr. Abbott was a convicted felon and that Abbott was
not actually his correct name but a name given to him
under the witness protection program and he showed
Mr. Nuzum a copy of Abbott’s rap sheet.

sienna

Subsequent to this, Mr. Nuzum was visited by Mr.
Onett. Mr. Nuzum told Mr. Onett that Mr. Abbott would
have to be on the application. There was some discussion
as to whether Abbott should be on the application and
by the end of the meeting, Onett told Nuzum that Abbott
would be disclosed.

The application was then amended at Mr. Onett’s
instance to include Peter Abbott as an accommodation
endorser and Mr. Nuzum testified that after the
amendment, the man was obviously an applicant within
every sense of the word. Mr. Nuzum’s legal counsel
reviewed the amended application for Mr. Nuzum and
told him that Abbott was an applicant and an interested
party.

Abbott was then fingerprinted and his fingerprint
card was processed through the FBI. When Abbott’s
fingerprint card was returned to the Bureau, there was
no record because Abbott was under the witness
protection program.

Nuzum testified that from the time Onett put Abbott
on the application, Nuzum was in a position to deny the
liquor license on the basis that Abbott was a convicted
felon which he knew from his conversation with Collins.
Nuzum did not do this because he was accommodating
the FBI. No improper influence was exerted or
attempted to be exerted on Nuzum by Onett.

Onett had asked in writing that subpoenaes be
issued by the referee (A. 28 et seq.). One of the
subpoenaes to Mr. Nuzum was in fact issued and Mr.
Nuzum testified. The other subpoenaes where to be
directed—one to the Honorable John Rawls and the

other to Honorable John Moore, the Federal District
Judge who presided over Respondent’s non-jury trial.
The court refused to issue this process and renewed his
ruling at hearing (A. 44.).

Onett, through counsel, then proffered (A. 35 et seq.).

The substance of the proffer was that Judge Rawls
was general counsel and custodian of the records of the
Florida Judicial Qualifications Commission, an agency
established under the Florida Constitution to review the
conduct of judicial officers and, if necessary, to discipline
them. Judge Rawls’ testimony and the records of that
commission would reflect that Judge Moore, the trial
judge who tried and convicted Mr. Onett in a non-jury
trial, had been the chairman of the Florida Judicial
Qualifications Commission prior to his ascent to the
federal bench. Those records would also reflect that
Judge Moore had pre-trial contact with the FBI
investigation which produced Mr. Onett’s indictment.
This contact, as reflected in those records, would have
been sufficient under the present federal recusal statute
to make it appear to a reasonable man that Judge Moore
could not have been impartial in Onett’s trial, even if
the case were tried with a jury and was not tried non-
jury. Onett further proferred that Judge Moore, in a
chambers conference held in his chambers on July 12,
1983, had indicated that he had some peripheral contact
with the investigation and he also indicated that he had
totally forgotten about it and at the trial of Onett, he
did not have time to think about the past because of the
pressure of his cases. Onett further proferred that Judge
Moore would, if he had the opportunity to review Judge
Rawls’ evidence and the documents of the Judicial
Qualifications Commission concede candidly that he did

TOF

not meet the standard of the recusal statute. Of course,
upon this admission, the conviction would have to be '
voided.

\

Mr. Onett took the stand and testified that he had
not offered anyone anything improper in connection
with the Abbott license application and further, there
was never any evidence adduced at trial before Judge
Moore that he had made such an offer. He testified that
he had received a $7,500.00 fee for his participation in
the license application as a lawyer and that fee was
reported on his federal income tax return and income
tax was paid on that fee and it was not divided with
anyone for any reason in any way, shape or form. Mr.
Onett testified that he did not know that Peter Abbott
was a convicted felon at the time of the amended
application which Onett procured after talking with
Nuzum.

In fact, at the time the amended application was
filed, Mr. Onett had never met Peter Abbott or Mrs.
Abbott. He was hired by another lawyer (who was
representing the Abbotts) through a telephone
conversation. He never met Peter Abbott until three
months after the amended application was filed and
never met Jean Abbott, Peter’s wife. He never had any
financial interest in Abbott’s Restaurant or the liquor
license except as a lawyer.

The referee filed a report (A. 15 et seq.) which is
essentially a bare bones report which tracks the
complaint word for word and recommends disbarment.

Onett petitioned for review of the referee’s report
by the Supreme Court of Florida (A. 22).

Briefs were submitted by Onett and by the Bar and
Onett requested oral argument. Notwithstanding this,
and notwithstanding that the integration rule provides
for oral argument in terms as follows:

“Rule 11.09: Review by Supreme Court (3Xd)
Oral Argument. Requests for oral argument
shall be filed in every case wherein a petition
for review is filed at the time of filing the first
brief. If no request is filed, the case will be
disposed of without oral agreement unless the
court orders otherwise.”

Notwithstanding the request for oral argument, at
the direction of the chief justice, the case was submitted
to the court without oral argument (A. 24).

The court rendered the opinion to which certiorari
is here sought (A. 1 et seq.). A timely filed Petition for
Rehearing (A. 25 et seq.) was denied (A. 5) and this
Petition follows:

In his Answer and Affirmative Defenses to the
Complaint filed before the referee (A. 12 et seq.) your
Petitioner raises the validity of his conviction by saying:

“2. . . . but denies that he has been validly
convicted thereof. Answering the third
sentence thereof, he admits the authenticity of
the judgment and commitment order attached
as Exhibit “A” but denies that it serves as
conclusive proof of his misconduct. On the
contrary, he incorporates his affirmative
defenses set forth below.

' nee |

3) Affirmatively answering, he avers that his
asserted conviction in the case identified in
Exhibit ““A” to the complaint, was had after
waiver of jury trial by a court who in
respondent’s belief was disqualified from
sitting as judge in his cause. Further
affirmatively answering, Respondent asserts
and avers that for the Florida Bar to attempt
to proceed to impose any punishment or
sanction upon him resulting from that
conviction and proceeding, his civil rights as
preserved to him by the constitution of the
United States and by federal statutes,
specifically including without limitation, Title
28 United States Code, §1983 and would
subject the Florida Bar to an action for an
injunction pursuant to that statute and other
available remedies.”

After the filing of the referee’s report and Onett’s
Petition for Review to the Supreme Court, he raised the
question in the following terms as recited by the court
in its opinion (A. 2):

“In support, Respondent argues that he was
denied due process before the referee because
he was not permitted to subpoena witnesses
whose evidence would have vitiated the federal
convictions and shown that he was guilty of no
wrongdoing.”’

He reiterated this position in his Petition for
Rehearing (A. 25 et seq.).

; ARGUMENT
I

IT WAS A DENIAL OF FUNDAMENTAL
DUE PROCESS TO REFUSE THE
PETITIONER’S APPLICATION FOR
SUBPOENAES AND TO DENY HIM THE
RIGHT TO COMPULSORY PROCESS AND
THE PRESENTATION OF WITNESSES.

This court has held that a lawyer is entitled to
procedural due process in a state disbarment proceeding.
Re Ruffalo, 390 U.S. 544, 88 S. Ct. 1222, 20 L. Ed. 2d
117 (1968). Indeed, even if this were an administrative |
proceeding instead of a proceeding in the judicial
branch, due process would require that rules
promulgated and established be complied with. See
Accardi us. Shaughnessy, 347 U.S. 260 74 S. Ct. 499,
98 L. Ed. 681 (1954); Service vs. Dulles, 352 U.S. 363,
77 S. Ct. 1152, 1 L. Ed. 2d 1403 (1957).

In like manner, the Supreme Court of Florida has
held that a disciplinary proceeding by the Florida Bar
is a penal (although not criminal) proceeding and that
due process requirements must be observed. Florida Bar
us. Quick, 279 So. 2d 4 (Fla. 1973).

As part of due process, a Florida Court of last resort
has held that compulsory process is a vital part of the
American concept of due process and a fair hearing, even
in a quasi judicial proceeding, Drogaise vs. Martine’s
Incorporated, 118 So. 2d 95 (1 DCA Fla. 1960).

10

aie,

The Florida Supreme Court in State Ex Rel Florida
Bar vs. Evans, 94 So. 2d 730 (Fla. 1957) said in pertinent
part:

‘“. . . In a disbarment proceeding based on
conviction of a crime, the proof of conviction
and an adjudication of guilt are sufficient to
establish a prima facie case for disciplinary
action. Due process, however, requires that the
accused lawyer shall be given full opportunity
to explain the circumstances and otherwise
offer testimony in excuse or mitigation of the
penalty.”

In the case at bar, the judgment of conviction is the
only evidence upon which your Petitioner could be
adjudged guilty of any wrongdoing. The indictment is
certainly not evidence. The testimony of Mr. Nuzum
does not implicate your Petitioner but exonerates him
and of course your Petitioner’s testimony does not harm
him. This disbarment must be sustained on the basis
of the judgment of conviction.

Under the terms of the proffer as made, it is clear
that the judgment of conviction could not stand and
would be vitiated if this Petitioner had been afforded
his due process rights to subpoena Judge Rawls and the
records of the JQC and to subpoena Judge Moore and
present him with the record of his pre-trial contact with
this investigation. The refusal of the referee to issue
process and its sanctification by the opinion to which
certiorari is here sought deprives your Petitioner of the
essential right to rebut by evidence the document upon
which the charge against him is based. Furthermore,
it deprives him of the right given to him to explain the

11 x

circumstances and otherwise offer testimony in excuse
or mitigation of the penalty.

It must be emphasized in this case that on the record
as adduced, Judge Moore has admitted pre-trial contact
with the investigation. The question that remains to be
decided is not whether Judge Moore had contact with
the investigation before he ascended the federal bench,
but the extent of that contact. We urge that if Judge
Moore were in fact presented with the evidence of that
contact and its extent, he would do the right thing. We
are not asserting that he is corrupt (although we think
it is a makable argument that he is bullheaded). Quite
the contrary. What we asked and were deprived of was
the opportunity to let Judge Moore see the full record,
hear the evidence of Judge Rawls and do the right thing
which would be on the basis of the proffer and could only
be to state on the record that the conviction should be
vitiated and to in fact vitiate that conviction.

We are not attempting here to retry the criminal
case. We are attempting here to bring into focus the facts
which developed post judgment which bear on the
judgment of conviction.

We respectfully suggest that this case goes to the
fundamental quality of the judicial system and its
functioning. The manner in which it has been handled
and swept under the rug creates an aura ill suited to
the executive branch, much less to the judicial. Either
the Supreme Court of Florida denied Onett fundamental
due process when it denied him the subpoenaes he
needed to establish that the charge against him could
not stand or at least to mitigate and explain it, or on
the other hand if we take the record in its present

12

ii i |

condition with the proffer, there can be no disbarment
of Onett because there can be no valid conviction. We
respectfully suggest that to hold that a judgment of
conviction entered by a judge clearly disqualified on the’
record can be the basis of a penal action against Onett
without a hearing on the merits of Onett’s contention
is more than an exaltation of form over substance, it
is a denial of the basic right to present an effective
defense.

13

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that a copy of the foregoing was mailed to
James N. Watson, Jr., Esq., Branch Staff Counsel, The
Florida Bar, Tallahassee, Fl 32301, this 14th day of
July, 1987.

SHALLE STEPHEN FINE

14

Appendix

SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

No. 67,622
THE FLORIDA BAR
Complainant,
US.
GEORGE ONETT
Respondent.

[February 26, 1987]

PER CURIAM.

This disciplinary proceeding against George L.
Onett is before us on complaint of The Florida Bar and
the report of the referee. The referee recommends that
Onett be disbarred. Onett petitions this Court for review
of the referee’s findings of fact and recommendations
of guilt and discipline. We have jurisdiction, article V,
section 15, Florida Constitution, and approve the
referee’s findings and recommendations.

Respondent was convicted in federal district court
of six felony charges: mai! fraud conspiracy, conspiracy
to obstruct interstate commerce by extortion,
obstruction and attempted obstruction of interstate
commerce by extortion, mail fraud, and two counts of
perjury. Respondent was suspended from the practice
of law effective October 18, 1982, under Florida Bar
Integration Rule, article XI, rule 11.07(3). Based on

App. 1

these convictions, the referee recommended that
respondent be found guilty of violating Florida Bar Code
of Professional Responsibility Disciplinary Rules
1-102(AX1) (violating a disciplinary rule), 1-102(AX3)
(illegal conduct involving moral turpitude), 1-102(AX4)
(conduct involving dishonesty, fraud, deceit, or
misrepresentation), 1-102(A\X5) (conduct prejudicial to
the administration of justice), 1-102(AX6) (conduct that
adversely reflect on fitness to practice law), as well as
Florida Bar Integration Rule, article XI, Rule 11.02(3Xa)
(commission of an act contrary to honesty, justice or good
morals).

Respondent urges that the referee’s recom-
mendations of guilt and disbarment should be
disapproved. In support, respondent argues that he was
denied due process before the referee because he was
not permitted to subpoena witnesses whose evidence
would have vitiated the federal convictions and shown
that he was guilty of no wrongdoing. Moreover,
respondent urges, it was harmful error to introduce into
evidence the federal indictment because it contained
counts and allegations which were not proven at trial.

Respondent’s argument merits only brief comment.
Respondent attempted to subpoena the presiding judge
in the federal trial and the general counsel of the Florida
Judicial Qualifications Commission, purportedly for the
purpose of showing that the presiding judge should have
recused himself from the trial. Respondent does not deny
that he has been convicted and those convictions
affirmed on appeal, United States v. Haimowitz, 725 F.2d
1561 (11th Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1077 (1984).
Instead, he asks that we go behind those convictions

App. 2

and, essentially, retry these criminal charges. The
uncontroverted presence of a felony conviction is
conclusive proof of guilt of the offense charged for
disciplinary purposes. Fla. Bar Integr. Rule, art. XI,
Rule 11.07(1). A referee is not empowered to go behind
a criminal conviction. The Fla. Bar v. Heller, 473 So.2d
1250 (Fla. 1985): The Fla. Bar v. Vernell, 374 So.2d 473
(Fla. 1979). The denial of the subpoena and the refusal
of the profferred evidence was not error and did not
violate due process.

Respondent’s argument on introduction of the
indictment is also meritless. The judgment of conviction
was conclusive proof of the commission of the felonies.
The indictment merely showed that the convictions were
obtained based on charges brought. The trier-of-fact
normally has access to such charges even though they
are not evidence of guilt.

We approve the referee’s findings of facts and
recommendations of guilt and discipline. Onett is
disbarred effective immediately. Judgment for costs in
the amount of $603.86 is hereby entered against Onett,
for which sum let execution issue.

It is so ordered.

McDONALD, C.J., and OVERTON, EHRLICH, SHAW,
BARKETT, GRIMES and KOGAN, JJ., Concur

NOT FINAL UNTIL TIME EXPIRES TO FILE
REHEARING MOTION AND, IF _ FILED,
DETERMINED. THE FILING OF A MOTION FOR
REHEARING SHALL NOT ALTER THE EFFECTIVE
DATE OF THIS DISBARMENT.

App. 3

Original Proceeding—The Florida Bar

John F. Harkness, Jr., Executive. Director, John T.
Berry, Staff Counsel and James N. Watson, Jr., Bar
Counsel, Tallahassee, Florida.

for Complainant

Shalle Stephen Fine, Miami, Florida,
for Respondent

App. 4

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA
WEDNESDAY, APRIL 15, 1987
CASE NO. 67,622

THE FLORIDA BAR,

Complainant,
US.

GEORGE L. ONETT,
Respondent.

On consideration of the motion for rehearing filed
by attorney for respondent, and response thereto,

IT IS ORDERED by the Court that said motion be
and the same is hereby denied.

A True Copy

Sid J. White

Clerk of Supreme Court
[Supreme Court Seal]

C
cc: Shalle Stephen Fine, Esquire
John T. Berry, Esquire

James N. Watson, Jr., Esquire
Hon. Stephan P. Mickle, Judge

App. 5

Exhibit C
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA
(Before a Referee)
CONFIDENTIAL

Case Nu.
(TFB Case No. 04B86N18)

THE FLORIDA BAR,
Complainant,

Vv.

GEORGE L. ONETT,
Respondent.

COMPLAINT

THE FLORIDA BAR, Complainant, files this
complaint against GEORGE L. ONETT, Respondent,
pursuant to article XI of the Integration Rule of The

._ Florida Bar, as amended, and alleges:

1. Respondent is, and at all times mentioned in this
complaint was, a member of The Florida Bar, subject
to the jurisdiction and Disciplinary Rules of the
Supreme Court of Florida.

in 1981, Respondent and Harold B. Haimowitz, along
with others, sought to extort $15,000 from a local
Jacksonville restaurateur in his efforts to obtain a liquor

2. From on or about November, 1979, to sometime

App. 6 |

ii sic

license for his restaurant. Respondent accepted $7,500
cash as a partial payment towards the total extortionate
amount.

3. During this same time period, Respondent and
his co-extortionists sought to defraud the citizens of the
State of Florida, the Department of Business
Regulation, and the Division of Alcoholic Beverages and
Towvacco with regard to their review and approval of the

“restauranteur’s liquor license application. Respondent
perpetrated the fraud through intentional
misrepresentation and concealment of relevant
information.

4. During the investigation of these crimes,
Respondent perjured himself before a federal grand jury.

5. As a result of the actions referenced to in
paragraphs 2-4, Respondent was convicted of six felony
counts by United States District Court for the Middle
District of Florida. These felonies included conspiracy
to use and cause to be used the U.S. Postal Service to
execute a scheme to defraud and for obtaining property
by means of false and fraudulent pretenses and
representations; conspiracy to obstruct interstate
commerce by extortion; obstructing interstate commerce
by extortion; mail fraud; and making false declarations
while under oath before a Federal Grand Jury; all in
violation of Title 18, U.S.C., Sections 371, 1341, 1623,
1951 and 2. A copy of the Judgment and Commitment
Order is attached as Exhibit A and serves as conclusive
proof of Respondent’s misconduct referenced in
paragraphs 2-4.

App. 7

\

6. By reason of the foregoing, Respondent has
violated Disciplinary Rules 1-102(AX1) (a lawyer shall
not violate a disciplinary rule); 1-102(AX3) (a lawyer
shall not engage in illegal conduct involving moral
turpitude); 1-102(AX4) (a lawyer shall not engage in
conduct involving dishonesty, fraud, deceit, or
misrepresentation); 1-102(AX5) (a lawyer shall not
engage in conduct that is prejudicial to the
administration of justice); and 1-102(AX6) (a lawyer shall
not engage in any other conduct that adversely reflects
on his fitness to practice law.).

NOTICE REGARDING WAIVER
OF CONFIDENTIALITY

Please note pursuant to Florida Bar Integration
Rule, article XI, Rule 11.12(1Xd) effective October 1,
1979, the Respondent in these proceedings may file a
Motion to Maintain Confidentiality for the protection
of a client with the court or appointed referee within
twenty (20) days of this filing or confidentiality is
automatically waived as to the Complaint and all
further proceedings in this case.

United otal Fy Disthicl Cource
MilAc? Dt errata

w ee et a
COGS L. Gait
a ED TEED Re Se vem swe. Pe. Ob-b-Cr- Joe:

S55 SLT ET ee 4
Tee ERENT :
In the presence wf the atturney fur the guvcenment ; Sonte Cav Stan
the de tremens apacared in perwn ya thn daic ae i JUL 2 1962_
see" Lu wiltiOul COUNSCL MNewrert We court ebemed Gelendant of tight te coun! 06 svhed whether Eelendent dewia &
Rene ce emul eppurnte dé By Te cuurt and the Grleadent theseupur wae? sveestiense Ut coven!
As wirmcoussee w _ Arthur W. Tifford and Shalle S. Fine (Retained) ’
(Nome of cuveret)
; \ Ci GUILTY, ang the court meing satinied that t jy NOLO CONTCNULRE, eX NOT GUILTY

There os ¢ Lectual buns fue the ples,

-

Li NOT CUILTY. Uctendent ao dehsyed

Ttagec Peong & teeme* at

3 DOO enue

+ Pate co lsts ieee Ioree: gtenemied av Charged wl the livmwint el Conspiracy to use and causo to be used the

»G& \U.S. Fostal Scrvice to execute « scheme to defraud and for obtaining property by moss
taut ( Of false and fraudulent pretensegand representations; conspiracy to obstruct
interstate commorce by extortion; obstructing interstate commerce by extortion;
rail fraud; and making false Ceclarations while under oath before a Federal Grand Jey;
all in violation of Title 18, U.S.C., Sections 371, 1341, 1623, 1951 and 2, as charcd
} in Counts 1, 2, ¢, 9, 18, and 19 of the Indictment.

TT) Ter ce eet hed wmener delendens had sey thing te sey why ped pmens chad net be pemneunses. Wet cue Au weellens. oot conse bf: “
wee ee By te ape eted be a Greet, tee Comet steered the Relemdent gulltg a0 charsed aud Comes.te @ and sm dered Wane bee aeten se:
. aT bt thee geen y od thn Attemncre Coens d me tein aethowened ters weed steng Meet emp treets tee sees tee FIVE (5)
YEARS ard FINED $7,500.00 on Count 1; FIVE (5S) YEARS and FINED $7,500.00 on Count 2,
said tem of inprisorment to run concurrently with the sentence imposed on Count 1;
FIVE (S) YEARS and FRED $7,500.00 on t 18, said tema of imprisonment to run

— SST Sieh the sentences imposed on Counts ard 2; and on condition that as +0
‘Shee ats 1,2.ard 18, the defendant be confined in a jail-type or treatrent institutio-
26a for a pericd of SIX (6) MONTHS, the execution of the reninder of the sentence c!

imprisonment is suspended and the defendant is placed on probation for a period of
FOUR #5 ONE-HALF (%4) YEARS, coo the standing conditions of probation, to comu:ce
inrediacely upon éefendant's release from confinenent.

IT IS FURTHER ADJUDGED that the imposition of sentence on Counts 4, 9 and 19 hercir.
is ve.senied ant the defendant is placed on probation for a period of FOUR KD A=-
vike Hel? (34) YEARS os each count, to run concurrently, upon the standlipj conditions

"HUES | Of prchation. Said periods of probation Tun consecutive. to tle tern of
6 inv: isoment, but concurrently with the period of probation inzosed on Counts 1,2, awd

“105 118, and shall commence immediately upon defendant's release fron confinement.

IT IS FUXER ADJUDGED that the defendant shall stand comitted until the fines
inzoscd herein are paid, or until the defendant is otherwise discharged by due course
of law. Tne order that the defencant stand committed is stayed until July 2, 1933.

(Foual confinwent sentence is SIX (6) MOVTHS, total protetion is FOUR AND QE-ivur
One ($5). YESS, and total fine is TWENTY-TWO THOUSNWD, FIVE HUNDRED ($22,500.00) DOLLS).

ce FA en Od Peter artes esapeart DT obered, ot an bw tad y cede oe b thet tha were! Te temete ce

@ Got 0ee e wet Mey ripen S. Vt Cewed thee oF ate Hy wertelttowers oF peta tots, te Cotes wel elated Utes footed ab ptt #
ot bets BP pete et ate foe tind ant wifes 2 setae beveeem potel-st we matin’ wl bee yeete in ttatiod By bee tet en a wetter ane
mS Ts be ee ee eee eo
ya Ths Genet ergo eemmitment ty the Custuty of the Attorney Geacral sad 1¢ wernnn ads, - {
jx . ee ee
" Ce. ee oe |
Sueeut Msmktbriwiee so i
UNE Re. eel eet wt at wnat 4 dat ote =
whos
COMTI Dat A Dees COMrw or
'; 9 13°94
ae eaeer Jut 2 ee
‘oer by . - re) s.
on be aah pai ee AA. > —— esti J oe eA net o Lf Fee F
JG. HK. HOORE, 11 JULY 2, 1982 4 3Caceen
Vim Ma eermr ane Gere : —! Ai livute

App. 9

Exhibit D
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA
(Before a Referee)
CONFIDENTIAL

Case No. 67,622
(TFB No. 04B86N18)

THE FLORIDA BAR,

Complainant,

VU.

GEORGE L. ONETT,
Respondent.

MOTION TO AMEND COMPLAINT

COMES NOW The Florida Bar, by and through its
undersigned counsel, moves the Referee to issue an
order pursuant to Rule 1.190(a) of the Florida Rules of
Civil Procedure allowing Complainant to amend its
complaint in the following manner:

1. Respondent’s actions alleged in the complaint
violated Integration Rule 11.02(3Xb) (the commission by
a lawyer of any act contrary to honesty, justice, or good
morals, whether the act is committed in the course of
his relations as an attorney, whether committed within
or outside the State of Florida, and whether the act is
a felony or misdemeanor, constitutes a cause for

App. 10

discipline) in addition to those violations alleged in
paragraph 5 of the original complaint.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ James N. Watson, Jr.

James N. Watson, Jr.
Branch Staff Counsel

The Florida Bar
Tallahassee, Florida 32301
(904) 222-5286

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a copy of the foregoing
has been mailed by certified mail #640178, return
receipt requested, to George L. Onett, Respondent, at
his Bar address of 950 N.E. 96th Street, Miami Shores,
Florida 33138, and by U.S. Mail to Shalle Stephen Fine,
attorney for Respondent at the address of 46 Southwest
First Street, Miami, Florida 33130 on this 18th day of
November, 1985.

/s/ James N. Watson, Jr.

James N. Watson, Jr.
Branch Staff Counsel

App. 11

Exhibit E
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

(Before a Referee)

CONFIDENTIAL

CASE NO. 67,622

THE FLORIDA BAR,

Complainant,
US.

GEORGE L. ONETT,
Respondent.

ANSWER AND AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSES
FL Bar No..024694

Respondent files his Answer and Affirmative
Defenses to the Complaint in this case and says:

1. He denies the allegations of paragraphs 2, 3, 4
and 6 of the Complaint.

2. Answering paragraph 5, he says that he denies
the allegation of the first sentence thereof. Further
answering, he admits so much of the second sentence
thereof as recites the titles of crimes prescribed by the
various sections of Title 18, U.S. Codes referred to
therein, but denies that he has been validly convicted
thereof. Answering the third sentence thereof, he admits
the authenticity of the Judgment and Commitment

App. 12

Order attached as Exhibit “‘A’’, but denies that it serves
as conclusive proof of his misconduct. On the contrary,
he incorporates his Affirmative Defenses set forth below.

3. Affirmatively answering, he avers that his
asserted conviction in the case identified in Exhibit “A”’
to the Complaint, was had after waiver of jury trial by
a Court who in Respondent’s belief was disqualified from
sitting as Judge in his cause. Further Affirmatively
answering, Respondent asserts and avers that for the
Florida Bar to attempt to proceed to impose any
punishment or sanction upon him resulting from that
conviction and proceeding, his civil rights as preserved
to him by the Constitution of the United States and by
Federal Statutes, specifically including without
limitations, Title 28, U.S. Code §1983 and would subject
the Florida Bar to an action for injunction pursuant to
that statute and other available remedies.

WHEREBY having fully answered, Respondent
prays that the Complaint be dismissed.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Shalle Stephen Fine

SHALLE STEPHEN FINE
Attorney for Respondent
370 Minorca, Suite 15
Coral Gables, Florida 33134
(305) 444-8845

App. 13

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that a copy of the foregoing has been
furnished by mail to: James R. Watson, Jr., Esquire, The

Florida Bar, Tallahassee, Florida 32301, this 27th day
of September, 1985.

/s/ Shalle Stephen Fine
SHALLE STEPHEN FINE

App. 14

OL Pane WN eating cE MO ES. 9 tte ~

Exhibit B
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA
(Before a Referee)
CONFIDENTIAL

CASE NO. 67,622
(TFB NO. 04B86N18)

~ THE FLORIDA BAR,
Complainant,
US.

GEORGE L. ONETT,
Respondent.

REPORT OF THE REFEREE

I. SUMMARY OF THE PROCEEDINGS

Pursuant to the undersigned being duly appointed
as referee to conduct disciplinary proceedings herein
according to The Florida Bar Integration Rule, article
XI, the following occurred:

On September 10, 1985, the Florida Bar filed its
complaint against Respondent and on September 27,
1985 Respondent filed his answer. On November 1,
1985, The Florida Bar filed its Response to the Motion
to Maintain Confidentiality in response to Respondent’s
Motion to Maintain Confidentiality which was filed on
September 27, 1985. The Florida Bar filed its Request
for Admissions and a Motion to Amend Complaint on
November 18, 1985. Respondent filed an Objection to

App. 15

Request for Admissions on December 18, 1985. The Bar
responded to the Objection on January 2, 1986. The
aforementioned pleadings and this report constitute the
record in this case and are forwarded to the Supreme
Court of Florida.

Il. FINDINGS OF FACT AS TO EACH ITEM OF
MISCONDUCT OF WHICH RESPONDENT IS
CHARGED.

1. Respondent is, and at a'! times mentioned in this
complaint was, a member of The Florida Bar, subject
to the jurisdiction and Disciplinary Rules of the
Supreme Court of Florida.

2. From on or about November, 1979, to sometime
in 1981, Respondent and Harold B. Haimowitz, along
with others, sought to extort $15,000 from a local
Jacksonville restaurateur in his efforts to obtain a liquor
license for his restaurant. Respondent accepted $7,500
cash as a partial payment towards the total extortionate
amount.

3. During this same time period, Respondent
and his co-extortionists sought to defraud the citizens
of the State of Florida, the Department of Business
Regulation, and the Division of Alcoholic Beverages and
Tobacco with regard to their review and approval of the
restaurateur’s liquor license application. Respondent
perpetrated the fraud through intentional
misrepresentation and concealment of relevant
information.

4. During the investigation of these crimes,
Respondent perjured himself before a federal grand jury.

App. 16

5. As a result of the actions referenced to in
paragraphs 2-4, Respondent was convicted of six felony
counts by United States District Court for the Middle
District of Florida. These felonies included conspiracy
to use and cause to be used, the U.S. Postal Service to
execute a scheme to defraud and for obtaining property
by means of false and fraudulent pretenses and
representations; conspiracy to obstruct interstate
commerce by extortion; obstructing interstate commerce
by extortion; mail fraud; and making false declarations
while under oath before a Federal Grand Jury; all in
violation of Title 18, U.S.C., Sections 371, 1341, 1623,
1951 and 2. A copy of the Judgment and Commitment
Order is attached as Exhibit A and serves as conclusive
proof of Respondent’s misconduct referenced in
paragraphs 2-4.

6. By reason of the foregoing, Respondent has
violated Disciplinary Rules 1-102(AX1) (a lawyer shall
not violate a disciplinary rule); 1-102(AX3) (a lawyer
shall not engage in illegal conduct involving moral
turpitude); 1-102(A\4) (a lawyer shall not engage in
conduct involving dishonesty, fraud, deceit, or
misrepresentation); 1-102(AX5) (a lawyer shall not
engage in conduct that is prejudicial to the
administration of justice; and 1-102(AX6) (a lawyer shall
not engage in any other conduct that adversely reflects
on his fitness to practice law)..

Ill. RECOMMENDATIONS AS TO WHETHER
RESPONDENT SHOULD BE FOUND GUILTY

DR 1-102(AXa) (a lawyer shall not violate a
disciplinary rule).

App. 17

DR 1-102(AX3) (a lawyer shall not engage in illegal
conduct involving moral turpitude).

DR 1-102(AX4) (a lawyer shall not engage in
conduct involving dishonesty, fraud, deceit, or
misrepresentation).

DR 1-102(AX5) (a lawyer shall not engage in
conduct that is prejudicial to the administration of
justice).

DR 1-102(AX6) (a lawyer shall not engage in any
other conduct that adversely reflects on his fitness to
practice law.

Integration Rule 11.02(3Xb) (the commission by a
lawyer of any act contrary to honesty, justice, or good
morals, whether the act is committed in the course of
his relations as an attorney, whether committed within
or outside the State of Florida, and whether the act is
a felony or misdemeanor, constitutes a cause for
discipline).

IV. RECOMMENDATION AS TO DISCIPLINARY
MEASURES TO BE APPLIED

A) Disbarment from The Florida Bar;
B) Payment of $603.86 to The Florida Bar,
representing its costs in bringing this action. Such costs

shall be paid within thirty (30) days of the date of the
Supreme Court’s Order imposing discipline.

App. 18

ina NA aS CLA BCs Md a ROR DIONE Set

V. PERSONAL HISTORY AND PAST
DISCIPLINARY RECORD

Prior to recommending discipline pursuant to article
XI, Rule 11.06(9XaX4), I considered the following
personal history of Respondent, to wit:

Age: 56 years old

Date Admitted to Bar: November 4, 1966

Prior Discipline: None

VI. STATEMENT OF COSTS AND MANNER IN
WHICH COSTS SHOULD BE TAXED

I find the following costs were reasonably incurred
by The Florida Bar:

Referee Level
1. Administrative Costs $150.00
2. Court Reporter and Transcript Costs 320.36

3. Bar Counsel Travel and Expenses 133.50

TOTAL $603.86

It is recommended that such costs be charged to
Respondent and that interest at the statutory rate shall
accrue and be payable beginning 30 days after the
judgment on this case becomes final unless a waiver is
granted by the Board of Governors of The Florida Bar.

App. 19

DATED this 20th day of August, 1986.

/s/ Stephan P. Mickle

STEPHAN P. MICKLE
Referee

Copies to:

James N. Watson, Jr., Bar Counsel of The Florida Bar
George L. Onett, Respondent

Shalle Stephen Fine, Attorney for Respondent

App. 20

i he itt ee tes Ce

EXHIBIT A

— i a ate

Beet eee : United ues Distvret Court
aay Bite DE ter Peete
ind : Lo Sea a IS,
COATE L. OST
Ee Ce Ee OS ESE ee fey 100 wens ne. P= L_ Ol-6-Cr-J-t?

tn the presence uf the ativeney fur the government Sonn cay Tae
the ds tendent appeased in perwn ya thir date —| guy 2 1902

LJ WITHOUT COUNSEL — Haweees tne cnurt sbened Crlendont Of tight te count 6nd sehee whether Erlendent Gruen te.
Reve cegmul cppurnied By Ihe cuust and the Gilemdent thertupun waned aretomse oI sevewl.

Xu wimmcoussee i. Athur W. Tifford and Shalle S. Fine (Retainod) )

\ Wi GUILTY, ang the court neing saiinfied tht t JNOLOCONTCNUERE, ~XyNOTCUILTY
f there © @ Lag tual huis fue the plea,

Le NOT GUILTY. Delendent oy dimhorged

Tne Beng a tendens GQ00R af
— LX Guy.

6 be te ie tree Barat: geeeieg ted as Chatged uf the ellenve|s) al conspiracy to use and causo to be used the
“Ca \u. S. Fostal Service to execute a schema to defraud and for obtaining property by moss
tiat ( Of false and fraudulent pretenses and representations; conspiracy to obstruct
interstate conmarce by extortion; obstructing interstate commerce by extortion;
rail fraud; and making false declarations while under oath before a Federal Grand Jwy;
all in violation of Title 18, U.S.C., Sections 371, 1341, 1623, 1951 and 2, as charced
in Counts 1, 2, 4, 9, 18, and 19 of the Indictment.

a _—

TT) Tie cera ated mneadar elena sat Bad sey thing te Ley why judyment chauid not he Froneunie’. Ketouee Py walla sit secs ew
woe ee Ry te alt ated he he Greet, tht Coutl adpud sed Whe delendent guilty a whatzed smd Conri.u 6 ana sodered wat” bee atone
+ dhe hoe em atnty od thn Rttewnry Gonas d ae tein ruthowese d spre seed tens Hoet repr eemmncts tee ase tee ~PIVE (5)
YEARS ard FIND $7,500.00 on Count 1; FIVE (5) YEARS and FINED $7,500.00 on Count 2,
s3ic term of imprisonment to run concurrently with the sentence imposed on Count 1;
’ FIVE (5S) YEARS and FRED $7,500.00 on Count 18, said tema of imprisonment to run
¢ concurrently with the sentences imposed on Counts 1 and 2; and on condition that as +.
$ ALS ard 18, the defendant be confined in a jail-type or trcatrent institutio-
for a pericd of SIX (6) MONTHS, the execution of the rensinder of the sentence c!
imprisonment is suspended and the defendant is placed on probation for a period of
FOS Spe O.E-iHALF ($4) YEARS, upon the standing conditions of probation, to commence
isrediacely upon defendant's release fram confinewent.

IT IS FUNT<ER ADIZDGED that the izposition of sentence on Counts 4, 9 and 19 hercir.

is aonitestie anc the defendant is placed on probstion for a period of FOUR AD A=-
a Heit (34) YEARS on each count, to run concurrently, upon the standlip3 conditions
ph Le castion. Seid periods of pretation Tun consecutive. to tte tera of

| irs isontent, but concurrently with the period of of probstion tnvosed on Counts 1,2, and
“NOS | 48, end shall commence immediately upon defendant's release fraa confinennt.

IT 1S FUMTER ADJUDGED that the defendant shall stand committed until the fines
inzoscd herein are paid, or until the defendant is otherwise discharged by due course
of law. The order that the defendant stand committed is stayed until July 2, 1933.

(Jowal confirmant sentence is SIX (6) MOVIMS, total protetion is FOUR AND GQt-ivur
iT ian 8 Se YEAS, and total fine is TWENTY-TWO THOUSAND, FIVE HUNDRED ($22, 300. 00) CALS).

f.ttUns < wro.f4 m0 of ptafestons ome rent chwret, anton, we. + 0 eet hee Cate ogee tee cet fied foment
ne Ge rr0ee ce%0 « weet te peed. The Cowed ee of ewe Da ceebaiae 4F p-nbulol ibis whansad ta Gomanl ut gree '

© t Be See tee te te Be ok net we Titel 2 cena s berereee predal wn patind wl bee yeets pn ttetin’d By Lee tut an ae tte ase
valegyu fore stare Bes See lee eeerea, Seems Ot preb stow poten.

The Geel wrgses Commiteneat ty the custydy of the Attorney General ond 14 orrnn nds, -
i y ?
ad We mwronre sO ot te hates |

4 ee, ee ee
eR 2 tee rete et te tte & * a

eet ot wl at wet a det ote J

“ued
ULMER

COMI MD mL A Theat COPE ur

any ULE DE
pied , - KA \ Waa Q7 , Aiea. GF ¥

88 ee be emt swe Fi —— thé a é ha %
° ‘ at: ¥ Il ° AS Steowocs ¥

JULY 2, 1982 - ( besten 7

4 Vm Me carne gee Oste Ah laevie

App. 21

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

CASE NO. 67,622

(CONFIDENTIAL)
THE FLORIDA BAR, |
Complainant, |
US.
GEORGE L. ONETT,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR REVIEW

The Respondent George L. Onett petitions for review
of the Report of the Referee dated August 20, 1986, and
mailed August 21, 1986, and specifies the following
portions of the Referee’s Report sought to be reviewed:

Section II, paragraphs 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6; ;
Section IV, subsections A and B;

Section VI, (Petitioner does not contest the amounts
of costs but rather entitlement thereto based on his
challenge to the findings).

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Shalle Stephen Fine

SHALLE STEPHEN FINE
Attorney for Petitioner

46 S.W. First Street, Suite 201
Miami, Florida 33130

Tel. (8305) 358-1515

App. 22

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct of the
foregoing was furnished by mail to JAMES N.
WATSON, JR., Bar Counsel of the Florida Bar, The
Florida Bar, Tallahasse, Florida 32301, this 16 day of
September, 1986.

/s/ Shalle Stephen Fine
SHALLE STEPHEN FINE

App. 23

Supreme Court of Florida
Tallahassee 32301
SID J. WHITE . TELEPHONE
CLERK 904-488-0125
DEBBIE CAUSSEAUX
CHIEF DEPUTY CLERK

December 4, 1986
Shalle Stephen Fine, Esquire
46 S. W. First Street, Suite 201
Miami, Florida 33130

Re: The Florida Bar vs. George L. Onett
Case No. 67,622

Dear Mr. Fine:

At the direction of the Chief Justice, the above case
has been submitted to the Court without oral argument.

Most cordially,
/s/ Sid J. White

Sid J. White
Clerk Supreme Court.

SJW:sg

cc: James N. Watson, Jr., Esquire

App. 24

ee

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA
CONFIDENTIAL
CASE NO. 67,622

THE FLORIDA BAR,

Complainant,
US.

GEORGE L. ONETT,
Respondent,

PETITION FOR REHEARING

The Petitioner/Respondent, GEORGE L. ONETT, by
and through counsel undersigned, petitions for
rehearing directed to the Opinion of the Supreme Court
of Florida dated February 26, 1987 and in support
thereof shows that the Supreme Court of Florida
everlooked or failed to consider each of the following
separate and several points:

1. In deciding this case without the benefit of Oral
Argument (although Oral Argument was requested), the
Court takes the position that the Judgment of
Conviction was not subject to attack and that
consequently, the Subpoenas requested by your
Petitioner did not have to be issued. In taking this
position and assuming that it were correct, which it is
clearly not, based on the arguments advanced in the
briefs, nevertheless, it is a denial of fundamental due
process to deny Petitioner the subpoenas he requested.
The Supreme Court of Florida in State Ex Rel Florida

App. 25

Bar us. Evans, 94 So.2 730 (Fla. 1957) specifically held
that due process requires that the accused lawyer shall
be given full opportunity to explain the circumstances
and otherwise offer testimony in excuse or mitigation
of the penalty. We suggest that the testimony proffered
would certainly go to excuse or mitigate the penalty if
it did nothing else. Your own cases require that we be
given the opportunity to present this testimony.

2. This case is obviously an awkward case. It raises
the spectre of a tainted conviction by a Federal Court
presided over by a judge of outstanding reputation and
ability. It is not a pleasant subject. Nevertheless, we
respectfully suggest that it will not go away. To
perpetuate this state of affairs is unfair to Mr. Onett
and it must be said, unfair to the judiciary and to Judge
Moore. It perpetuates an aura of secrecy and an air of
suspicion which stains the entire judicial process. That
it hurts Mr. Onett is clear. But it is also evident that
it casts an undeserved shadow on Judge Moore. While
we have asserted and do assert that he may be in error,
and while we would conclude that he may be stubborn,
we have never charged, nor do we assert now that he
is corrupt. To the contrary, we believe, as we have
asserted, that if presented with the facts, and if the facts
bear out what we assert in our proffer, Judge Moore
would forthwith do the correct thing. If Mr. Onett did
not receive the cold neutrality of an impartial judge in
his trial, he ought not suffer for it. We respectfully
suggest that the Supreme Court of Florida ought settle
this case once, finally and forever. This matter should
be opened up, examined and disposed of under the
sunlight of the truth and not the cloud of suspicion.

App. 26

WHEREFORE, Movant respectfully requests that
this Court grant rehearing, set this cause for Oral
Argument and quash the referee’s report with directions
to comply with the requirements of fundamental due
process as requested and expressed herein and in our
briefs.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Shalle Stephen Fine
SHALLE STEPHEN FINE
Attorney for Respondent
46 S. W. First Street
Suite 201

Miami, FL 33130

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that a copy of the foregoing was mailed to
James N. Watson, Jr., Esq., Branch Staff Counsel, The
Florida Bar, Tallahassee, FL 32301, this 12 day of
March, 1987.

/s/ Shalle Stephen Fine
SHALLE STEPHEN FINE

=
—_

a

a

App. 27

EXHIBIT F

SHALLE STEPHEN FINE
ATTORNEY AT LAW
46 S. W. FIRST STREET, SUITE 201
MIAMI, FLORIDA 33130
(305) 358-1515

July 1, 1986
VIA FEDERAL EXPRESS—CONF. # TMB 340

The Honorable Stephan P. Mickle
Circuit Judge (Referee)

Allachua County Courthouse
Gainesville, Florida 32601

Re: The Florida Bar v. George L. Onett
Case No. 67,622 (Confidential)

Dear Judge Mickle:

Pursuant to your Honor’s rules at Pre-Trial
Conference, I enclose herewith the following in the
referenced case:

1. Response to Pre-Trial Order.

2. Three Subpoenas for service by your office. With
respect to those subpoenas, the one for Mr.
Nuzum will, I presume, issue as of course. With
respect to the subpoenas for Judge Rawls and
Moore, we suggest that those subpoenas ought
issue as of course also. If either Judge Rawls or

App. 28

ace a al SR ask IY Bana ekki oO le 0 RA

Judge Moore feel that-there is a privilege which
ought be asserted, that privilege belongs to them
and they will, of course, have the opportunity to
assert. If they do not. assert it, it will be waived
like any other privilege.

I would like, of course, to get the subpoenas served
as quickly as possible so, if your secretary will call me
collect I will arrange to have them picked up at your
chambers for service.

Thank you for your kind attention to this matter.
Very truly yours,

/s/ Shalle Stephen Fine
SHALLE STEPHEN FINE

SSF/Ip
cc: James R. Watson, Jr., Esquire

via Federal Express
CONF. # TMB 340

App. 29

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA
(Before a Referee)

CONFIDENTIAL

CASE NO. 67,622
(TFB No. 024694)

THE FLORIDA BAR,

Complainant,
US.

GEORGE L. ONETT,
Respondent.

SUBPOENA
DUCES TECUM

TO: THE FLORIDA JUDICIAL
QUALIFICATIONS COMMISSION

By and through the HONORABLE JOHN S.
RAWLS

Old Capitol Building
Tallahassee, Florida

YOU ARE HEREBY COMMANDED to appear
before the Honorable STEPHAN P. MICKLE, Referee,
at the Allachua County Courthouse in Gainesville,
Florida on July 9, 1986 at 9:30 a.m. to testify in the
above-styled cause and have with you at the said time
and place the following:

1. Minutes of the meeting of the Florida Judicial

Qualifications Commission from January 1, 1979
through December 31, 1980.

App. 30

a heal WS uiecseceaes

‘

2. Transcripts of meetings of the Florida Judicial
Qualifications Commission for the period January 1,
1979 through December 31, 1980.

3. Any and all memoranda, notes, correspondence,
records of telephone conversations or oral discussions,
memos to file or other written material in the files or
possession of the Judicial Qualifications Commission or
its officers or employees respecting any report,
complaint, investigation or proceeding of the
Commission or of any other person, firm, corporation
or agency reporting to or having contact with the
Commission or any of its officers, agents or employees
and resulting from any act, deed, complaint or
occurrence had or allegedly had in Duval County,
Florida during the period of 1-1-79 through 12-31-80.

If you fail to appear, you may be in contempt of
court.

You are subpoenaed to appear by the following
attorneys unless excused from this subpoena by these
attorneys or the Court, you shall respond to this
subpoena as directed.

WITNESS my hand and seal as Referee on July _,
1986.

(SEAL)

STEPHAN P. MICKLE
Circuit Judge (Referee)

SHALLE STEPHEN FINE, ESQUIRE
Attorney for Respondent

46 S. W. First Street

Miami, Florida 33130

(305) 358-1515
App. 31

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA
(Before a Referee)

CONFIDENTIAL

CASE NO. 67,622 |
TFB No. 024694 |

THE FLORIDA BAR,
Complainant,
US.

GEORGE L. ONETT,
Respondent.

SUBPOENA

TO: THE HONORABLE JOHN H. MOORE, II
UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE |
MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA |
JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA

YOU ARE HEREBY COMMANDED to appear
before the Honorable STEPHAN P. MICKLE, Referee,
at the Allachua County Courthouse in Gainesville,
Florida on July 9, 1986 at 9:30 a.m. to testify in the |
above-styled cause and have with you at the said time
and place the following: |

Not Applicable

If you fail to appear, you may be in contempt of
court.

App. 32

You are subpoenaed to appear by the following
attorneys unless excused from this subpoena by these
attorneys or the Court, you shall respond to this
subpoena as directed.

WITNESS my hand and seal as Referee on July __,
1986.

(SEAL)

STEPHAN P. MICKLE
Circuit Judge (Referee)

SHALLE STEPHEN FINE, ESQUIRE
Attorney for Respondent

46 S. W. First Street

Miami, Florida 33130

(305) 358-1515

App. 33

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA .
(Before a Referee)

CASE NO. 67,622
TFB No. 024694

THE FLORIDA BAR

Complainant,
US.

GEORGE L. ONETT,
Respondent.

CONFIDENTIAL

DISCIPLINARY MATTER CONDUCTED UNDER
AUTHORITY OF THE INTEGRATION RULE
OF THE FLORIDA BAR

Pursuant to Notice, the matter contained herein
came on for hearing before THE HONORABLE
STEPHAN P. MICKLE, duly appointed Referee, at
the Alachua County Courthouse, Gainesville,
Florida, on Wednesday, July 9, 1986, commencing
at 10:45 a.m. and in the presence of Lori Williams,
Court Reporter, Gainesville, Florida.

APPEARANCES:
(See Page 2)

MR. FINE: That’s it, Judge, as far as direct.

JUDGE MICKLE: Any cross?

App. 34

MR. WATSON: No cross.

MR. FINE: May Mr. Nuzum be excused to return
to his dinner party tonight? We do appreciate your
coming.

JUDGE MICKLE: Certainly. All right.
(Witness excused)

MR. FINE: Judge, I would like to take about a five-
minute recess, because I now have a judgment to make—

JUDGE MICKLE: All right.

MR. FINE: —with respect to how we are going to
proceed.

JUDGE MICKLE: Very well. We’ll recess for five
minutes.

MR. FINE: Thank you.

(Whereupon, a short recess was held.)

JUDGE MICKLE: Ready to proceed, Mr. Fine?
MR. FINE: Yes, sir.

If the Court please, at this time, I would like to take
up the question of the subpoenas which we tendered,
one to the Honorable John Rawls, and the other to the
Honorable John Moore, the Federal District Judge who
presided over Mr. Onett’s trial, which were not issued

App. 35

by the Court, and I would like, for the purposes at least
of preserving my record, assert by way of proffer that
if subpoenaed and if required to testify to produce the
records of the Judicial Qualifications Commission,
Judge Rawls testimony and those records would reflect
that Judge Moore, while the Chairman of the Florida
Judicial Qualifications Commission, had had pre-trial
contact with the investigation which produced the FBI
investigation, which produced Mr. Onett’s indictment,
which would have been sufficient under the present
Federal Recusal Statute to make it appear to a
reasonable man that Judge Moore could not have been
impartial in that trial, even if the case were tried with
a jury and not tried non-jury.

And in support thereof, I would point out that Judge
Moore, in a Chambers conference, held in his Chambers,
on July 12, 1983, indicated that he had some pre-trial
contact with the investigation, and further indicated —I
think probably the thing to do is offer into evidence, on
our behalf, the transcript of that Chambers conference
in Case No. 81-65-CR-J-16, in the United States District
Court, Middle District of Florida, United States of
America vs. Onett, and we would offer that as our
exhibit, Your Honor.

JUDGE MICKLE: Are you offering this as part of
your proffer?

MR. FINE: Yes, sir. As part of our proffer
And during that Chambers conference, Judge Moore
indicated that he had had some peripheral contact with

the investigation. And I’m characterizing it as
peripheral, I think there is no question it was

App. 36

peripheral. And he also indicated that he had totally
forgotten about it, and at the time of the trial, in his
own words, on page 10, it looks like:

“The Court: Listen, I got bombarded with so many
cases here, I didn’t have time to think about the past.”’

I may say, Judge Moore had just ascended the
Federal bench and this was his first major trial, and he
had concededly a new evidence code, a new set of
procedural rules and whatnot, not to mention five
lawyers clammering at him all the time.

But nevertheless, there is no question but that there
was pre-trial contact. The real question is, the extent
of it, and whether that extent was so disabling as to
require that the conviction be vitiated.

And what we are saying is, that the evidence, which
would be presented by Judge Rawls, and the records of
the Judicial Qualifications Commission, would establish
that. And we believe and proffer that Judge Moore, if
he had the opportunity to review that evidence and
those documents, would concede candidly, because he
was candid in the Chambers conference to the extent
of his recollection and his ability at that moment. And
this was the first that it had been approached to him,
that he would concede that he did not meet the standard
of the statute in light of his review of that evidence.

So we think that is essential, obviously, to Mr.

Onett’s position in this cause, because the whole case
hinges here on the conviction.

App. 37

If you take the conviction out—if you take that
judgment of conviction away from this record, there is
just nothing to charge Mr. Onett with. That’s the only
thing that prevents it, is that judgment of conviction,
and I suggest to you that in a situation where the State
of Florida is trying to take Mr. Onett to a disciplinary
proceeding through the Supreme Court and the Florida
Bar, and where the State of Florida, through the
Judicial Qualifications Commission, is sitting on
evidence that would vitiate the conviction, that they are
trying to beat him over the head with here, that that
is not only not fair play, but that the State is actively
prevented from doing it.

I would suggest to you, by way of analogy, if this
were a criminal case and they were trying to prosecute
Mr. Onett, and it developed that another department
of the State was sitting on evidence that was made
secret by whatever process, and that evidence would
exonerate or tend to exonerate or exculpate Mr. Onett,
that Your Honor wouldn’t consider for a moment
allowing the State to prosecute through one arm and
conceal through the other. And I suggest to you that
the same ought to be true here, and this is a penal
proceeding; that if the State wants to penalize Mr.
Onett, they are entitled to do it, Judge, if they can prove
it; but they can’t sit on the evidence that would
excuipate Mr. Onett, that would allow us to say to the
Judge who produced the document, that they want to
hit him over the head with, I really shouldn’t have been
the one to make that decision, and go back to square
one. And that’s particularly true of Mr. Nuzum, who
was the critical factor in the government’s case, because
he obviously was the man sitting at the neck of this
bottle and whom this application had to pass through.

App. 38

a ee eS eS ee Oe ee

Number one is, Mr. Clean of the FBI, the guy who
they picked to head up the Watergate investigation, he’s
brought into the department and placed just in the
critical position where you can’t get the license unless
you go through him. He testified there wasn’t the
slightest attempt of anything out of the ordinary with
respect to him. He testified he was aware of this
application. He testified that Onett appeared after it was
ongoing and Onett asked him what he had to do and

he told him, and he recalled his testimony. He told him
you have got to get Abbott on this license and Onett put
Abbott on the license; and as soon as he did that, as soon
as Onett put him on the license, as far as Nuzum was
concerned, he was an applicant and he could be dealt
with.

And the reason why he wasn’t dealt with was not
because of anything Onett did or didn’t do. It was
because Nuzum was accommodating the fellows in his
old shop. You know, really, what happened here is, and
it’s a tight squeak for Nuzum, but Nuzum was in a

- situation where he’s got an obligation to the people of
the State of Florida to use his judgment and deny this
application and he’s got—and I feel for him, because I
know something about old school ties and old friends
and old shops—he’s got this tie to his old shop. And he
decided he was going to go with his old shop, and that’s
basically how this case came down.

If Nuzum had said to these fellows, “Hey, you run
any sting you want, but I have got a job to do here and
I’m going to get this guy. You just told me he’s a felon
and he’s bad. I’m going to blow him out.” That would
have been the end of this whole thing.

App. 39

ral

So what I’m saying to you is, and this is stated in
the record, it seems to me before we go any further, we
ought to be entitled to inquire as to what the JQC has
in its files, and let me point something out to you about
the JQC and the constitutional provision with respect
to the JQC.

Your Honor knows, and we all know, that there is
a provision saying that the proceedings of the JQC are
secret until the time when they file a charge and it
becomes public. But there is an exception to that in the
constitutional provision.

The constitutional provision says that either the
Speaker of the House of Representatives, in his capacity
with respect to impeachment proceedings, or the
Governor, because he has the ability to remove a judicial
officer from office on his own, can request and must be
given that supposedly secret information for the purpose
of making an investigation into the possibilities of
impeachment or removal from office, and there is no
constraint on the Speaker or the House or the Governor
or the Governor’s office to keep any of that information
secret once it passes to them. In other words, there is
a built in—two built in gigantic breaches in that wall
of secrecy.

Now, that provision was enacted, obviously, for the
purpose of protecting an innocent judicial officer who
is sitting from the attack of anyone who wants to write
some wacky letter to the JQC saying, “Oh, Judge Smith
is doing this and that and the other.” And that’s a valid
purpose. But I suggest to you that keeping secret what
would help Onett with respect to Judge Moore in his
capacity as chairman here was never envisioned as part

App. 40

of that purpose, and I’m suggesting to you that both
purposes—the purpose of doing justice in this case and
the purpose of protecting innocent judicial officers—can
be accomplished and accomplished easily.

And the way it would be done is that I presume Your
Honor or counsel would make an in camera inspection.
And we are not interested in any judges names, who
cares what those names were. They are immaterial to
us and to this case. They can be inked out, scratched
out, blacked out, removed totally.

What we are interested in is what those records and
Judge Rawis testimony was, which at the moment—of
course, it would also be totally confidential—would tell
Your Honor about Judge Moore’s relationship to the
investigation so that we can, as I say, refresh Judge
Moore’s recollection, either directly, if he will respond
to the subpoena, or indirectly through a motion, once
we develop this information and give—all I have been
trying to do for three years is to get the records to Moore
so that he can make a determination that he was or he
wasn’t in possession of the full record, because once he
does that, then we can—if we don’t like that, we can take
it somewhere else and get the Eleventh Circuit to say
we’re right or we’re wrong. And if we’re wrong, we’re
wrong, and this case is, you know, that aspect of this
case is dead.

But if we are right, if we are right, it’s really more
than an injustice. It’s an outrage, that this fellow can
face the loss of his professional license based on a
conviction that may very well be subject to being
quashed; and as I say, where there is an indication in
the record by Judge Moore.

App. 41

iia

&

This isn’t something that’s coming out of the blue
that I’m fishing out of the St. John’s River. I mean,
here’s a situation where Judge Moore himself recalled
and candidly acknowledged that he had some contact.
So I say, now what we are talking about is the extent
of the contact, and the extent to which his recollection
will be refreshed and the record will refresh his
recollection.

JUDGE MICKLE: Mr. Fine, I think we’ve moved
from your proffer of evidence into your argument on
whether or not the subpoena should be issued.

MR. FINE: Yes, sir. I combined them both,
obviously.

JUDGE MICKLE: You had a document there you
wanted to—

MR. FINE: Yes, sir.
JUDGE MICKEL: —attach to the proffer?

MR. FINE: Yes, sir.

JUDGE MICKLE: You want to make a proffer of
Judge Rawls’ testimony?

MR. FINE: Yes, sir. What Judge Rawl’s testimony
would be, if he were called.

That he is the legal counsel, the general counsel for
the Florida Judicial Qualifications Commission; that he
was the general counsel at all times that are material
to us here; that as general counsel, he has access to and

App. 42

custody of the papers, records, minutes and documents
of the Florida Judicial Qualifications Commission; that
he knows, which I can’t conceive to be an issue, that
Judge Moore was, in fact, the Chairman of that
Commission prior to his acceding to the Federal bench;
and that the documents in his possession, custody and
control would show that Judge Moore had had pre-trial
contact with the investigation which produced the
indictments relating to Abbott’s Restaurant and Mr.
Onett, Haimowitz, Scarborough and Ritter; and that the
extent of that pre-trial contact, as indicated, would be
such that Judge Moore should not, under the present
Federal statute, have sat on the case. And I’m saying
that is what his testimony would show if he were
permitted to come here and testify.

I may say when I make that statement, I’m not
trying to cast dispersions on Judge Moore, because the
reason why I wanted Judge Moore to come here is that,
in my judgment, if he were presented with the evidence
that Judge Rawls could produce and have the
opportunity to review it, Judge Moore would tell you
candidly, that having had his memory refreshed and
having had an opportunity to go over the record and
having had an opportunity to place himself back in the
situation, that he would agree with the position and
would grant the motion that we would obviously make
immediately, termination of this hearing before him,
to vacate this conviction under the provision of—I
believe it’s titled 28, Section 2255, but I wouldn’t want
to be held to the Section number. But there is an
appropriate provision in the Federal statute, as there
is in ours, for the vacation of this, and if not, coram nobis
would rule in any event.

App. 43

That’s our position. That’s what we think the
evidence would show.

JUDGE MICKLE: Is there any other evidence that
you would like to present?

MR. FINE: Well, may I have a ruling on that?

I can’t force Your Honor, but how Your Honor rules
on that is obviously going to be impactive.

JUDGE MICKLE: The request you made—

MR. FINE: Yes, sir.

JUDGE MICKLE: —in your letter and that you sent
up to my office, a subpoena duces tecum for Judge Rawls
and Judge Moore, was denied by the Court.

MR. FINE: All right.

JUDGE MICKLE: Andforthe record, I’m going to
reconfirm that denial.

MR. FINE: All right, sir.

JUDGE MICKLE: Any other evidence you would
like to present?

MR. FINE: Yes. I think I would like to call Mr.
Onett.

JUDGE MICKLE: All right.

App. 44

(Thereupon, GEORGE L. ONETT, having been
called as a witness on behalf of the Respondent, and
being first duly sworn by the Referee, testified as

follows:)

App. 45

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_2360%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
