# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Burton ex rel. Burton v. Wilcox

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_2354%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 484 U.S. 849

## Text

%

THE SUPREME COURT OF THE, UNITED STATES

in a
— —_—-

October, 1986 Term

MIRANDA MITZI BURTON, by her father, next
friend, and natural guardian, Carlyle

Burton; CARLYLE BURTON; and NATHANIEL
DENMAN, Petitioners

Ve

GUS WILCOX; ALLOO DARA BAPUJI PEDERSEN
BURTON ADAMS; JERRY D. ADAMS; ADAM, FLAKE
& HRNCIR, a Law Partnership; FRENY BAPUJI;
JOHN HRNCIR; JOE E. KELLY; PHILIP E. MOKE;
DON E. POLLACK; B. WELDON PONDER; TOM RIC-
KOFF; RAUL RIVERA; ALLAN L. WATKINS; LORR-
AINE WELLEMS; and JOHN YATES, Respondents.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR CERTIORARI

Carlyle Burton,

Nathaniel Denman

Miranda Mitzi Burton Pro Se
Pro Se P.O. Box 689
P.O. Box 34321 Falmouth MA 02541

San Antonio TX 78265 617-548-3295

A. QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
1. WaS a pro se, out-of-state litigant in
a state civil trial denied his right to
put on witnesses in his behalf and was a
witness denied due process and held in
double jeopaidy, when the state rule for
sequestration of witnesses was invoked at
a hearing, both his witnesses left the
courtroom, and heard no testimony, and
discussed none, meeting the requirements
of the "Rule" but, during a recess, one
of the witnesses was called into the
Judge's chambers and told that the
witness had violated the "Rule", was
reprimanded, and an Order made that the
witness would not be allowed to testify
for the litigant, and at the end of the
hearing, after the other unreprimanded
witnesses had been allowed to testify,
while walking down the corridor outside

the courtroom, the reprimanded witness

was verbally and physically attacked by

the lawyer for the opposition, the judge
stepped out of a doorway, and ordered two
bailiffs, who had not seen the attack, to
take the witness to his chambers, where,
without a lawyer as asked for by the
witness, court reporter, notice of any
charges, witnesses or time to prepare, as
asked for by the witness, or warning of
his Miranda rights (Texas C.C.P. 15.17),
the witness was accused of attacking the
opposition lawyer, told that the
Opposition lawyer was a friend of the
judge and they had gone thru law school
and Assistant District Attorneyships
together, the opposition lawyer made a
false statement, the witness made a
recorded statement about the attack on
the witness denying the accusation, the
judge then stated again that the witness
had violated the witness "rule" and

sentenced him to three days imprisonment

for violating the "rule," which chilled

~

i Le

crete NS

Pe) all

the witness's ardor to travel in
interstate commerce to give his
testimony?

2. Did the state trial court, Appeals
Court and state Supreme Court violate the

'

Pro Se Litigant's right to an appeal when
he mailed within the 30 days allowed,
with a Certificate of Mailing, a Notice
of Appeal and a Money Order $500 maximum
Filing Fee, although he had previously
Danae e275 f£0£ @ trenscript, an
approximate $180 overcharge, the Appeals
Clerk lost or destroyed the $500 Money
Order, the litigant sent a second notice
of appeal and a letter in lieu of a
Motion for Extension of Time, which was
not forwarded to the appeals court, then
the litigant sent another $500, in the
form of a Cashier's Check, at great
personal financial damage, within the 30
days, plus 15 day extension, plus three

days allowed for mailing under the Texas

Rule of Civil Procedure No. 2la, and then
the trial court Appeals Clerk claimed the
second payment was not mailed on time,
the Appeal was not docketed, the State
Appeals Court denied his appeal and the
Pexae Supreme Court refused to review the
case?

3. Was the pro se litigant denied equal

protection of the law when he was

required to provide first a Money Order,

then a Cashier's Check, for the appeal
costs although lawyers' personal checks
were accepted as payment by the Appeals
Clerk?

4. Was the state trial court's practice
of falsely informing pro se Litigants
that the verbal order of the trial court
had not been entered, and that the Pro Se
Litigants could not file appeals until
the order was entered, a violation of due

process of law?

5. Since the Texas Appeals Courts have

- _

meen RR RTE — » : rer)

ruled that litigants cannot be forced to
pay opponents' legal fees by threat of
imprisonment for contempt, was
extortionate pressure brought on the
Litigant by the trial judge's order that
he pay the opponent's legal fees in 30
days or go to jail and the Trial Court
Clerk's informing the Litigant for 30
days that the legal fees order had not
been entered, and the state appeal court
would not allow him to file a Notice of
Appeal or Motion for Stay of Execution
until the Order Kad been entered?

6. Did the District Court err in
dismissing, with prejudice, a pro se
Further Amended Verified Complaint that
claimed violation of 28 U.S. Code, Sec.
1738A and V.T.C.A. Texas Family Code
Sections 11.05 fabs. 21.52 t2¢S¢80ah b75
ruled enforcible in United States Courts

by the Fifth CfIrcuit, and state torts

against the pro se plaintiffs which could

be considered under the pendent '

jurisdiction principle and diversity of

a PDIP,

citizenship [all the plaintiffs had
different state cestdnice: tees all the
defendants], including the claim of
iacheki tinea infliction of emotional
distress caused by one of the defendants
taking the child plaintiff out of the
state and concealing the child, to this
date, from the plaintiff parent, denying
both the parent and the child the court
ordered mutual care, company, love and
affection to which they are entitled?

¥a Since the defendants committed
several acts to injure the plaintiffs,
within a 10-year period, for which they
could be indicted under state or federal
law and the plaintiffs were Pro Se, did
the District Court err in not finding
that it had jurisdiction of the Complaint

under the “RICO" Act, 18 USC Sec. 1961?

a

B. TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
A. Questions Presented for Review .... 1
Da REEe OE CORGGRES o6 4d e244 2 68 Kee eS 7
C«- FORO CE AVSCHOSCTCOS ssh icuk ewe ee se 7

D. Reports of the Decisions below .... 10

E. Grounds on which Jurisdiction of
this Court is Invoked ...ccccecr 10

F. Constitutional provisions, U.S.

Statutes, and Texas Constitutional
provisions and statute involved ... 11

G.- Statement Gf Che CASE «sis sess snce ss 24
Pe 8 Sa eer renee ar eee 39
C. TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Case Page

Armco Industrial Credit Corp. v. SLT
Warehouse CO., 782 F.2d 475
Po PE oN Pers cerTeT errr ere 53

Couture v. Hyatt,
748 Pua Bane {23905. 5S Creche) «cee 54
Crowe v. Lucas, 595 F.2d 985, 993
Boe, Se Sp SS Bee ea eae ae eee 46

Cunningham v. Ingram,
Pree. bei we soa be eee ee eee ee 43

Davis v. Broughton,
Le oe ie SS eee ee ere a ee ee 49

Escobedo v. Illinois, 378 U.S. 478

Gault,

Application of,

BF Bceee BEZE, £438 - casas 39, 41,
Griffen v. Breckenridge,

es eee Se hwahanshacdises ckdatas
Griffen v. Illinois

(i We Fo; PO CO oe eee ee eee
Haines v. Kerner, '

oa Mak es 594 2 So 4 ear ere
Heartfield v. Heartfield,

749 F.2d 1 138 (1985, 5 C.A.)
Hoffman-La Roche v. Greenberg,

Lees? Se ee Pe |: | See
Holstien v. Grier,

202 SeMs2G S956 {1954) cconescese

Howell

Petroleum Corp. v. Weaver,

7

Hunt Vv.
62

76 PizG@ 1302 (2965, 5 Ck.)
weatnerbe:,
® FP. Bape. 1097 (1986) dcsccuns

James v. Mienke,

T78 F.2d. 200 (1965; -6-CiA,)

Hayperry v.- Pomna.,. 91. S.Ct. 499 acaas
‘Miranda v. Arizona,
SO Del Ga, +h 2 5o ecko sae

Prevost

,» Bx Parte,

598 S.W.2d 310, (2979), su... 35,

Pulliam v. Allen, 104 S.Ct. L3TG swves 52

Raftery v. Scott,
a8 F.aa@ 335 (1905, 4 €.A.) «+ 44, 33

Ridgeway v. Baker,

720 F.2d 1409, 1415 (1983, 5 C.A.)
sa eae es ara si. . 3a
Sedima SPRL v. Imrex Co. Inc.,
Ee a od SS yy Le a ee 53

U.S. v. Price,

86 S.Ct. 1152, 1130, Fuhet? save $9

Statute Page
Sth AMENGMENE cdccecedecsnecwnanccesees La
6th AMENGMOENE ciovedecesenescsceews 12, 41
L4tH AMONGMENE cecsccescsecess igs 41, 49
to UVuiSshin. 2. sr cactaaketsseccecivcanses 36
Ld 0.3. EPOL) sawiwes sasns ewes S&, 372.22
is ¥.8.¢ POL hsb eu sesisdens ensue iy 22
26 98.8.C Fi. Bec e Tee CECE TC CTT 11
28 Ushsc. 4 TIGA. -c00kxe oe boy Sie ase 2A
42 U.S.C 7. & ee ee eee i>; 326
42 4.3.C oo a or ee ee i>, a6
2 ae oe Oe 2) ee ee ee 2 ee ee 36
ae a eee E.G) ar eee ee 7%: ‘29

Texas Rule of Civil Procedure #2la

Texas Rule of Civil Procedure #267
a.k.a. "Rule"

teks is Ge Bale BOs ate aee SB, 41

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure i14.01
Sera ae ee ee 18, 44, 45

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure 14.02
a ee ee ee 18, 44, 45

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure 15.17
eee ee ee ee ee y me fe
TOROS Civil Statute 3200-1 .ccccvsvcoss zi

D. REPORTS OF DECISIONS BELOW
The final decision of the United States
District Court in Burton, et al v.
Wilcox, et al, No. SA-81-CA-275 was not
reported. The Decision of the United
States Court of Appeals for the 5th
Circuit in the Appeal Burton et al vv.
Wilcox et al, was ordered not to be
reported. They are reproduced in the
Appendix, as is the Denial of the
Petition for Rehearing.
E. GROUNDS ON WHICH THE JURISDICTION
OF THIS COURT IS INVOKED.

(i) The Order of the United States

District Court for the Western District
of Texas dismissing the action with
prejudice was entered May 15, 1985.

(ii). The Order of the United States
Court of Appeals for the 5th Circuit
affirming the judgment of the United
States District Court without hearing was
dated June 30, 1986 and entered August
iS, i996.

(iii). The Order denying the
Appellants' Motion for Rehesrine was
dated August 15, 1986 and entered August
15, 1986, the Mandate was issued on
August 18, 1986. This Court granted an
extension of time in which to petition
for certiorari to December 12, 1986.

(iv). Title 28, U.S. Code, Section
1254 confers jurisdiction on this Court
to review the Mandate and other decisions
of the United States Court of Appeals.

F. CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS,

U.S. STATUTES, AND
TEXAS CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

1]

AND STATUTES INVOLVED.

1. United States Constitution Articles
and Amendments

Article VI. Section 3. «e+ ail
executive and judicial officers, both of
the United States,and the of the several
states shall be bound by oath or
affirmation to support this Constitution,

Amendment V. ..., nor shall any

person be subject for the same offense to

be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb,

Amendment XIV. Section I. .... No
state shall make or enforce any law which
Shall abridge the privileges or
immunities of citizens of the United
States; nor shall any state deprive any
person of life, liberty or property,
without due process of law, nor deny to

any person within its jurisdiction the

equal protection of the law.

2. TITLE 28, UNITED STATES CODE

Section 1738A ~- Parental Kidnapping

(a) The appropriate authorities of every
State shall enforce according to its
terms and shall not modify except as
provided in subsection (f) of this
section, any child custody determination
made consistentiy with the provisions of

this section by a court of another State.

(c) A child custody determination made by
acovrt of a State is consistent iwth the
provisions of this section only if --

(1) such court has jurisdiction under the
law of such state; and

(2) one of the following conditions is
met:

(A) Such state (1) is the home state of
the child on the date of the commencement
of the proceedings, .... and the child is

absent from such State because of his

removal or retention by a contestant or

for other reasons, and a contestant
continues to live in such State; ....

(ad) The jurisdiction of a court of a
State which has made a child custody
determination consistently with the
provisions of this section continues as
longs as the requirement of subsection
(c) (1) of this section continues to be
met and such State remains the residence
of the child or of any contestent.

(e) Before a child custody determination
is made, reasonable notice and
opportunity to beheard shall be given to
the contestants, .... and any person who
as physical custody of the child,

(g) A court of a State shall not exercise
TEL ASSGLCEICN Af. OOH ... vas custody
determination commenced during the
pendency of a proceeding in a court of
another State where such court of that
State is exercising jurisdicition

consistently with the provisions of this

14

SOctian «<<.

3. TITLE 42, UNITED STATES CODE

Section 1983 - Civil Action For
Deprivation of Rights

' Every person who, under color of
any statute, ordinance, regulation,
custom, Or usage, of any State or
Territory, subjects, or causes to be
Subjected, any citizen of the United
States or other person within the
jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation
of any rights, privileges, or immunities
secured by the Constitution and laws,
Shall be liable to the party injured in
‘an action at law, suit in equity, or
other proper proceeding for redress.

Section 1985 - Conspiracy to Interfere in
Civil Rights

(2) Obstructing justice; intimidating
party, witness, or juror. senate SE AE
two Or more persons conspire- for’ the

purpose of impeding, hindering,

a

obstructing, or defeating, in any
manner, the due course of justice in any
State or Territory, with intent to deny
to any citizen the equal protection of
the laws, or to injure him or his
property for lawfully enforcing, or
attempting to enforce, the right of any
person, or class of persons, to the equal
protection of the law.

(3) Depriving persons of rights or
privileges.

If two or more persons in any state or
Territory conspire, or go in disguise on
the highway or on the premises of
another, for the purpose of depriving,
either directly or indirectly, any person
or class of persons of the equal
protection of the laws, or of any equal
privileges or immunities under the laws,
or for the purpose of preventing or
hindering the constituted authorities of

any state or Territory from giving or

securing to all persons within such State

=
16

Or Territory equal protection of the
laws; eee; In any case of conspiracy
set forth in the section, if one or more
persons engaged therein do, or cause to
be done, any act in furtherance or the
object of such conspiracy, whereby
another is injured in his person or
property, or deprived of having and
exercising any right or privilege of a
citizen of the United States, the party
so injured or deprived may have an action
for the recovery of damages, occasioned
by such injury or deprivation, against
any one or more of the conspirators.

Section 1988 - Proceedings in Vindication
of Civil Rights.

The jurisdiction in civil and criminal
matters conferred on the district courts
by the provisions of this chapter and
Title 18, for the protection of all

persons in the United States in their

Civil rights, and for their vindication,

shall be exercised and enforced in
conformity with the laws of the United
States so far as such laws are suitable
to carry the same into effect; but in all
cases where they are not adapted to the
object, or are deficient in the
provisions necessary to furnish suitable
remedies and punish offenses against law,
the common law, as modified and changed
by the constitution and statutes of the
State wherein the court having
jurisdiction of such civil and criminal
cause is held, so far as the same is not
inconsistent with the Constitution and
laws of the United States, shall be
extended to and govern the said courts in
the trial and disposition of the cause,
and, if it is of a criminal nature, in
the infliction of punishment on the party

found guilty.

4. TEXAS CODE OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE-

ARTICLE 14.01 - Offense Within View

(a) A peace officer or any other
person, may, without a waseuek arrest an
offender when the offense is committed in
his presence or within his view, if the
offense is one classed as a felony or as
an offense against the public peace.

(b) A peace officer may arrest an
offender without a warrant for ary
offense committed in his presence or
within his view.

ARTICLE 14.02 - Within View of Magistrate
A peace officer may arrest, without
warrant, when a felony or breach of the
peace has been committed in the presence
Or within the view of a magistrate, and
such magistrate verbally orders the

arrest of the offender.

ARTICLE 15.17 Duties of Arresting Officer
and Magistrate

(A) In each case enumerated in this Code,

the person making the arrest shall

without necessary delay take the person

|

arrested or have him taken before some
magistrate of the county where the
accused was arrested. The magistrate
shall inform in clear language the person
arrested of the accusation against him
and of any affidavit filed therewith, of
his right to retain counsel, of his right
to remain silent, of his right to have an
attorney present during any interview
with peace officers or attorneys
representing the state, of his right to
terminate the interview at any time, of
his right to request the appointment of
counsel if he is indigent and cannot
afford counsel, and of his right to have
an examining trial. He shall also inform
the person arrested that he is not
required to make a statement and that any
statement made by him may be used against
him. The magistrate shall allow the

person arrested reasonable time and

opportunity to consult counsel and shall

admit the person arrested to bail if
,
allowed by law.

5. TEXAS CIVIL STATUTES

ARTICLE 320a-1 - State Bar Act

Section 2. The State Bar of Texas
established under the laws of this state
is continued as a public corporation and
an administrative agency of the judicial
department of government. it is
designated as the State Bar. This
va

legislation is in aid of the judicial
department's powers under the
constitution to regulate the practice of
law and not to the exclusion of those
powers. The Supreme Court of Texas, on
behalf of the judicial department, shall
exercise administrative control over the

State Bar under this Act.

Section 4. - Seal; suits and contracts;
gifts.

The State Bar may sue and be sued in its
Own name. For the purpose of carrying

into effect and promoting objectives of

21

this Act, the State Bar may enter into
contracts and do ail other acts
incidental to the foregoing that are
necessary or expedient for the
administration of its affairs and'‘the
'
attainment of its purposes. ....
6. TEXAS RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE
Rule #2la - Notice.
oeeee Whenever a party has the right
Or is seinived to do some act or take
some proceedings within a prescribed
period after service of a notice or other
paper upon him and the notice or paper is
served upon him by mail, three days shall

be added to the prescribed period. .....

Rule #267 - Witnesses Placed Under the
Rule

At the request of either party, in a
Civil case, the witnesses on both sides
may be sworn and removed out of the court

room to some place where they cannot

hear the testimony as delivered by any

other witness in the cause. This is
termed placing witnesses under the rule.
Neither party to the suit shall be placed
under the rule. Where a corporation is a
party to the suit, the court may exempt
from the rule an officer or other
representative of such corporation to aid
counsel in the presentation of the case.
If any party be absent the court in its
discretion may exempt from the rule a
representative of such party. Witnesses,
when placed under the rule, shall be
instructed by the court that they aie not
to converse with each other or with any
person about the case other than the
attorneys in the case, except by
permission of the court, and that they
are not to read any report of or comment
upon the testimony in the case while
under the rule. Any person violating such

instructions may be punished for contempt

of court.

BEST AVAILABLE COPY

G. STATEMENT OF THE CASE.

(1) Facts of the Case.

As stated in the Verified Further
Amended Complaint, Respondent Alloo Dara
Bapuji Pedersen Burton Adams, hereinafter
Alloo Adams, took Petitioner Miranda
Burton, hereinafter the minor child,
daughter of Petitioner Carlyle Burton,
hereinafter Burton, from Georgia to
England, dagsobeying the Georgia court
order providing for visitation between
Burton and his 5-year old daughter. When
Burton went to England in 1976, to see
his child, who was alleged to have
English citizenship, he was allowed only
1 hour per day with his child, in the
presence of Respondent Alloo Adams,
COntrary to the court order fer
visitation, after he was forced to loan
Respondent Alloo Adams $2,200 to get to
see his child, which sum Alloo Adams has

refused to fully repay. After his return

to Air Force duty in Georgia, Respondent
Alloo Adams wrote false statements to his
Commanding Officer in an attempt to have
a him punished by discharge, demotion or
other punishment. Burton retired from the
Air Force in 1979, and moved to
Connecticut. Respondent Gus Wilcox,
hereinafter Wilcox, filed a motion in the
Bexar county divorce court for an
increase in child support payments,
without adequate notice to Burton. He
retained a Texas lawyer, Respondent B.
Weldon Ponder, who failed to tell Burton
he could enforce the favorable Georgia
court order in Texas, but instead had
him submit to the jurisdiction of the
Bexar County, Texas divorce court in
order to get reasonable visitation with
his child. Respondent Ponder only filed a
general answer to the motion, and failed
to protest the inadequate notice of the

motion. Burton could not afford other

counsel, so Burton-had to proceed pro se.

On January 26, 1981, Burton
accompanied by his wife, Patricia Burton,
and Petitioner Nathaniel Denman, of
Massachusetts, went to the Bexar County
Texas Courthouse, and they observed
Respondent Wilcox go to the assignment
clerk's desk and shift case folders
about. It was then announced that the
case had been assigned to Respondent
Judge John Yates, hereinafter Yates, for
trial. AS soon as the hearing commenced,
Respondent Wilcox stated he was invoking
the "Rule", which the Petitioners learned
later was T.R.C.P. #267. Without any
explanation of what the Rule was,
Respondent Yates ordered Petitioner
Denman and Patricia Burton out of the
courtroom before any evidence had been
presented. Denman and Patricia Burton did
not discuss any evidence while waiting

out in the corridor to be called.

P
26

-

In the courtroom, Respondent Wilcox
prompted his witness, Respondent Alloo
Adams, while she was on the stand under
oath, passed her notes on the stand, and
interrupted Burton in his testimony,
protested by Burton, all without
correction from Respondent Yates.

During the recess for lunch,
Respondent Yates and Respondent Wilcox
took Burton to the court chambers and
threatened him with reduced visitation
and increased support if he did not agree
to an immediate settlement of the case.
When Burton refused, Respondent Yates
ordered Denman brought into his chambers
from the courthouse corridor, informed
him that he had violated the "Rule";
Denman stated that he could not have, and
did not, discuss any evidence with
Patricia Burton, but Respondent Yates was

adamant, reprimanded Denman, and ordered

that Burton was denied Denman's

testimony.

The hearing continued in the
afternoon, with further interruptions and
prompting of witnesses by Respondent
Wilcox. After the testimony, Respondent
Yates announced that he would rule that
Burton must pay $250.00 per month child
support, up from $150.00, and ordered
Burton to pay attorney fees of $300.00 to
Respondent Wilcox, increased the
visitation, and stated that Respondent
Wilcox was to write the order.

In the corridor, late in the
afternoon after the hearing, Respondent
Wilcox started talking to Burton and
Denman, and made false statements about
Denman, Denman asked him to retract them,
| and Respondent Wilcox attacked Denman,
shoving him off balance and attempting to
strangle him with his tie. Court
spectators and Burton separated them;

Respondent Yates then appeared out of the

28

courtroom doorway, and instructed Bailiff
Respondent Moke, hereinafter Moke, who
had not seen the incident, but started an
investigation of the incident as a deputy
sheriff, to take Denman into custody, and
into 'the Judge's chambers, where
Respondent Yates, in the presence of
Respondent Wilcox {who had not been
required or requested to come along},
after the Bailiff left, told Denman that
he and Respondent Wilcox had been very
good friends for years, had gone to law
school together, been Bexar County
Assistant District Attorneys together,
and that he was not going to allow Denman
to interfere. He then had Respondent
Wilcox make a statement. without
recording Respondent Wilcox's’ false
statements, and, without warning of any
Miranda Rights, told Denman to make a
statement. A court reporter, Respondent

Don Pollack, hereinafter Pollack, was

eS

brought in and Denman made a statement,
correcting Respondent Wilcox's statement
about what happened in the courthouse
corridor. Respondent Yates then
criticized Denman again for violating the
"Rule" about sequestered witnesses, and
sentenced Denman to three days
imprisonment for violating the "Rule".
Denman pointed out that he wanted to
appeal and move for stay of execution of
the sentence pending appeal, but
Respondent Yates stated that he would
have to serve the sentence immediately.
Respondent Watkins arrived in the Jury
room and begin to assist Respondent Moke
in preparation of Denman for jail when
Denman was taken to the unused jury room
by Respondent Moke and ordered to give up
his belt, tie and all funds. Denman did
so, and "informed" the Respondents/
Defendants Moke and Watkins of two

previous incidents of false arrest and

unconstitutional detention which Denman,
in the course of his civil rights work,
had taken to Federal court and won. One
of the bailiff left the jury room, and
came back, stating the Judge (Respondent
Yates) wanted to see him (Denman) again;
Denman went, sans belt and tie.
Respondent Yates informed him that he had
reconsidered, and would not require
Denman to serve the three days if he
"apologized" to Respondent Wilcox.
Denman, who had obtained scarce
reservations from San Antonio to Mexico
City to see his son, daughter-in-law, and
granddaughter Iolante, who he hadn't seen
in over two years, and his new
ereadtausnter.. Tanya, he had never seen,
and in fear of additional false charges
and incarceration, was coerced into
agreeing.

Burton returned to Connecticut, and,

failing to get the copy of the Order

Respondent Wilcox was ordered to prepare
and send to Burton for acceptance as to
form, called the Bexar County District
Clerk's office often, to find out if the
Order had been filed; each time he was
told it hadn't been filed. The order was
filed February 11, 1981, despite recorded
telephone statements from the Bexar
County indexing clerk that the Order had
not been filed and entered, and that
Burton, unlike lawyers, could not
deposit a personal check for the appeal
costs. Burton then filed by mail, with a
Certificate of Mailing, a notice of
appeal accompanied by a Money Order for
$500.00 on February 27, 1982, although
the $500.00 was more than he was supposed
to pay. The Appeals Clerk, Respondent
Wellems, hereinafter Wellems, stated she
had not received a "Money Order" for
$500.00, and Burton, within 30 days pius

15 days extension of time plus 3 days for

service by mail as allowed in the Texas
Rules of Civil Procedure, No. 2la, mailed
a second notice of appeal and letter in
lieu of Motion for Extension of Time to
file the costs. No action was ever taken
on the Motion for Extension of Time in
the Texas courts. On March 27, 1981,
Burton mailed a timely Cashier's Check
for $500.00, secured at great financial
hardship. Respondent Pollack, the court
reporter, charged $2.75 per page, when
the lawful charge was $.84 per page for
the transcript of the hearing of January
26, 1981 and Denman's second “trial”.
This was another financial hardship on
Burton, who was earning a modest income
as a computer programmer.

Respondent Wellems and Bexar County
District Clerk Tom Rickoff, hereinafter
Rickoff, refused to file the Notice of
Appeal, and Burton appealed this to the

Texas Appeals Court, where his appeal was

Fe

denied because of his alleged failure to

pay the $500.00 on time. Burton sought a
Writ of Error from the Texas Supreme
Court, which was denied without comment.

Burton and his wife, Patricia
Burton, moved from Connecticut to Texas
to be near his daughter because of the
continued denial of court ordered
visitation and filed a writ of habeas
corpus to gain visitation with his
daughter. Respondent attorney John
Bracir, hereinafter Hrncir, and
Respondent Judge Joe Kelly, hereinafter
Kelly, denied the application for writ
of habeas corpus without allowing the
entry of evidence. Prior to court
beginning Burton saw Respondent Hrncir
leave the court chambers of Respondent
Kelly only seconds before Respondent
Kelly went to the courtroom and denied
the application for writ of habeas

corpus.

|

Prior to the beginning of a hearing

.

before Respondent Judge Raul Rivera,

hereinafter Rivera, Burton saw Respondent

Wilcox exit the chambers of Respondent
Rivera just prior to the contempt being
assigned to Rivera on September 10, 1981.
Burton attempted to invoke.the principle
that he could not be forced to pay the
ordered lawyer's fee by threat of jail,
but this was denied, and he was ordered
to pay an attorney's fee to Respondent
Wilcox within 30 days on pain of jail.
Burton sought to appeal, under the ruling
Of Ex Parte Prevost, 598 S.W.2d 310
(1979), that he could not be held in
contempt for nonpayment of legal fees,
but was told that he could not file the
notice of appeal until the Order of
Respondent Rivera was entered, and it had
not been entered. On the 29th day of his
grace period, in fear of losing his job

and because of his poor health, he paid

| )

the legal fees, and Rivera's order was
entered, but changed, deleting the order
that Burton pay the legal fee.

(2) Statement of the Proceedings in the
Courts Below.

On May 29, 1981, Burton, on behalf
of himself and his daughter Miranda, then
7 years old and his wife, Patricia, and
Denman filed suit in the United States
District Court, Western District of
Texas, San Antonio Division, seeking
redress of these grievances, against the
defendants, all residing in Texas. The
adult Burtons resided in Connecticut,
Miranda had English citizenship, and
Denman is a Massachusetts resident. The
Verified Complaint, and the later amended
Complaints, which were all verified by
affidavit, made claims for injunctive
relief and money damages under 42 U.S.C.
Sections, 1983, 1985, 1986 and 1988 and
Title 15 U.S.C. Sections 1 et seq.

Sufficient factual statements were made

36

showing the District Court also had
diversity jurisdiction and jurisdiction
under the R.I.C.0. Act, 18 U.S.C. 1961,
1962. On December 7, 1981, a hearing on
defendants' motions to dismiss was held.
Later the presiding United States
District Judge disqualified himself and
the plaintiffs submitted a Verified
Amended Complaint.

Respondent Alloo Adams then
disappeared with Petitioner Miranda
Burton, in February 1982, and is believed
to have gone to Alaska, violating the
court-ordered visitation between
Petitioners Carlyle and Miranda Burton,
and 28 U.S.C. 1738A. Defendant Jerry
Adams went to Hawaii. Plaintiffs stated
this in a Verified Further Amended
Complaint, which was accepted by the
District Court. Petitioner Burton was
told that a state habeas corpus action

could not be brought against Respondent

. 37

atlanta

Alloo Adams to reguire that Petitioner
Miranda Burton be returned to Texas
without personal service Om Respondent
Alloo Adams, which was impossible, her
whereabouts being unknown.

_ Petitioner Burton and his wife,

Patricia, sought to locate petitioner

Miranda Burton, but have been

unsuccessful to date. They were not

allowed to have Respondent Alloo Adams,
represented in the state and federal
courts by Respondent Wilcox, charged with
failure to return Miranda to the District
Court"’s jurisdiction, aithnoagn 28
U.S.Code, Section. 1738A provided for
enforcement of the Texas Family Court
orders in Texas.

On November 1, 1984, attorneys for
Defendants/Respondent Moke and Watkins
had an unrecorded ex parte "conference"
lasting an hour with the District Judge's

law clerk, of which none of the

oT

Petitioners were notified, and the next
day, November 2, 1984, a United States
Magistrate was assigned the case for
review. He recommended that the Verified
Amended Complaint be dismissed, although
it had been superseded by the Verified
Further Amended Complaint. Plaintiffs
fiied an Opposition to the
recommendation, but, without a hearing,
the Verified Further Amended Complaint
was dismissed with prejudice; the
plaintiffs appealed and the appeal was
denied without a hearing. Plaintiffs/
Appellants petitioned for rehearing, aad

this was denied.

H. ARGUMENT

QUESTION 1 ARGUMENTS

A litigant has a due process right
to the testimony of witnesses in his
behalf. Application of Gault, 87 S. Ct.

1428,. 1435. Burton and his daughter

Go
Wo

Miranda, were denied this right when his
witness, Denman, was wrongfully accused
of violating Texas Rules of Civil
Procedure No. 267, (the "“Rule"), by
discussing testimony Denman had never
heard, since he was excluded from the
courtroom before the testimony began.
Also, it has been ruled in Texas that the
litigant is not to be punished for any
alleged wrongdoing of a witness under the
"Rule" (Holstien v. Grier, 262 S.W.2d 954
(1954)). Burton was wrongfully denied
testimony from Denman; Burton was not

permitted in the chambers to protect his
rights, pro se, an tee District Court
should have set aside the state court
decision for these denials, rather than
dismissing the federal complaint.

Denman was improperly punished by a
‘reprimand, in his first “in chambers"

hearing because he had not violated the

rule. In the second "trial" of Denman, he

40

was again denied counsel ((Escobedo v.
Illinois, 378 U.S. 478 (1964); Miranda v.
Arizona, 86 S.Ct. 1602 (1966); Ridgway v.
Baker, 720 F.2d 1409 (1983, 5 C.A.});
notice, any production of witnesses in
Nis behalf, a transcript of all
proceedings, and an effective appeal
(Application of Gault, supra, at 1435.)
He was held in double jeopardy of the
alleged "Rule" violation, contrary to the
6th Amendment, made binding on the States
by the 14th Amendment. This was the
intentional infliction of emotional
distress, as was the taking of his belt,
tie, and money, and the sentence of 3
days imprisonment. Raftery v. Scott, 756
v. £28 395:

Respondent Yates' informing Denman
that he and Respondent Wilcox had gone to
law school together, and were Assistant
District Attorneys together, and were

very good friends, and that Yates was

41

displeased with Denman for acting
contrary to Wilcox's interests by
attempting to help a pro se litigant,
Burton, was also very emotionally painful
to Denman, since Denman was aware that
Yates should have disqualified himself
before the Burton trial, under Mayberry
v. Penna, 91S Ct 499.

The denial of a "impartial tribunal"
to Burton, after Wilcox's shifting of the
case folders on the assignment clerk's
desk, was an overt act in the conspiracy
to deny Burton (and Denman) due process
of law. The offer of vacation or
suspension of the unjust sentence did not
mitigate the emotional distress of
Denman, who was shocked more than the
average person, since he had participated
in several civil rights causes, including
voting rights work in the South (See
Congressional Record, Jan. 17, 1963) and

was aware of not only his rights, but of

9
H
z
7]
‘
2
3
€

the distressing effect on litigants' and
children's rights in general if the
actions of Yates and Wilcox were not
corrected. The District Court should have
permitted the Burtons and Denman to prove
these verified allegations in discovery
and trial. The plaintiffs should have
been permitted to prove at trial that the
illegal and unconstitutional behavior of
Yates and Wilcox was also done to
discourage Denman and chill his ardor to
give testimony, Cunningham v. Ingram

F. 8Upp. _. » @ee@ Graktin V¥.
Breckinridge, 91 S.Ct. 1790. This Court
should take into consideration that what
was done to Burton and Denman by Wilcox
and Yates, and to Burton by Respondents
J. Riviera and Wilcox, inasmall way was
what Deputy Sheriff Price and his
Civilian henchmen did to discourage the

brave young people who were helping

blacks to register to vote in the South.

u. S. Vv Price, 86 S. €t. 1232, 28365
footnote 7.

The United States Court of
Appeals for the 5th Circuit, in its
review of the facts, stated that there
was a "scuffle" in the hallway. Denman
should have been permitted to prove at a

trial that Respondent Wilcox had attacked

him with no justification, instead of
having the Complaint dismissed with
prejudice.

Respondents Bailiff Moke and Watkins
had no written authority to take Denman
to jail, as required by. Texas Code of
Criminal Procedure C.C.P. 14.01 and
14.02. They had not witnessed the
incident in the corridor, and since court
was not in session, and certainly not
held in a corridor, they should have
declined to take Denman into custody, but
required Yates or Wilcox or Denman to

Swear out a complaint according to Texas

eee ee

9 wt a a ON SRT A NES.

a eine She Sa et A ee aha estiny & dD

AN ae Sta Se ST Sh Se

Pata AL Seats AW

law for misdemeanors, since the act was
not witnessed as required by C.C.P. 14.01
and 14.02, or permitted Denman an
opportunity to swear out a cross
complaint. Since they were Bailiffs and
Deputy Sheriffs, they should have been
held responsible, in the U.S. District
Court, to a knowledge of Texas criminal
law that made their actions illegal.
They knew, or should have known, that
Respondent Yates could not be a witness,
then instant prosecutor, then instant
court clerk issuing a nonexistent
Criminal complaint and warrant against
Denman, then prosecutor and judge and
jury (Denman was never asked if he waived
the right to trial by jury), and that
even if Yates could do all that, he
should have given Denman some opportunity
to obtain counsel, witnesses, and
research the law as best he could before

he was tried. That the bailiffs went

45

along with this travesty shows that at
least a tacit understanding, a
conspiracy, existed. Denman and Burton
should have been given the opportunity,
by the District Court, to show that the
defendants agreed to commit an illegal
act(s).

"This requirement must often be

met by circumstantial evidence;

conspirators rarely formulate

their plans in ways susceptible

of proof by direct evidence.

Hoffman-La Roche v. Greenberg,

447 F. 2d 872, 875 ... From this

evidence and the testimony

regarding the defendants' course

of conduct toward Crowe, the

jury could reasonably have

inferred that a conspiracy

existed." Crowe v. Lucas 595 F.

24 965, 993 (Sth Cir. 1379).

The Sth Circuit should give the
Burtons and Denman the same opportunity
to prove to the jury that a conspiracy
existed. That Denman was denied a

transcript of all proceedings against him

is indisputable, and therefore the 5th

Circuit dismissal should be reversed.

Griffin v. State of Illinois 76 S.Ct. 585
(1956).
QUESTION 2 ARGUMENT.

Since the Appeals Clerk, Respondent
Wellems, refused to accept the second
$500 mailed in the form of a Cashier's
check, in the 30 days allowed for receipt
of the appeals costs, and stated that she
had never received a "Money Order" while
Claiming no knowledge that the first
appeal costs payment was inthe form of a
Money Order, it is obvious that
plaintiffs might be able to prove, toa
jury, that the Appeals Clerk had
improperly received or concealed the
first payment of the appeals cost, and
deliberately misapplied the rules by
denying the appeal notice and costs were
filed on time. The Appeals Court, by
denying the appeal because the notice was

allegedly not filed in time, also ignored

the "3 days extra for notice by mail"

Se ee ee

Rule unconstitutionally, denying Burton
his due process right of appeal.
Application of Gault, Supra.
QUESTIONS 3 and 4 ARGUMENT.

Since the pro se prospective
appellant's personal check was not
accepted by the Appeals Clerk, Wellems,-
when she accepted personal checks for
"cost bonds" and other filing fees from
lawyers, and accepted personal checks
from pro se Burton for payment of motion
filing fees, it is obvious that she was
denying Burton the equal protection of
the law. Pro se's must be given at least
the same consideration as lawyers (Haines
v. Kerner 92 S.Ct. 594 (1972)) and pro se
pleadings must be considered without
regard to technicality. Picking v. Penna
Ry, 151 F.2d 240 (1945, 3 C.A.}); Puckett
¥,. Con, 456 P.2G@ 233, (1972, 6 C.Ac). The

false denial, to a pro se litigant, that

the judge's decision was entered, and the

4

sai eet aU Se neh te or aie a

refusal to docket his notice of appeal
because the Order was allegedly not
entered, done to deny the pro se litigant
the same treatment as a lawyer, who would
not have been lied to, are forbidden by
the 14th Amendment's prohibition against
denial of due process and equal
protection and the decisions, cited above
in this paragraph, that pro se litigants
must be treated like lawyers for all
purposes in their own cases.
QUESTION 5 ARGUMENT.

The Texas Appeals Courts have ruled
in Ex Parte Prevost, 598 S.W.2d 310,
(1979), and the Missouri Supreme Court
has ruled in Davis v. Broughton, 382
S.W.2d 219, that lawyers' fees are not
enforcable by contempt procedures,
therefore respondent Rivera's oral order,
that Burton pay Respondent Wilcox a legal

fee of $250.00 or be jailed for contempt,

was improper. The scheme whereby Burton

was. faced with extortionate pressure (the
threat of jailing) if he did not pay the
$250.00 legal fees in 30 days, combined
with the denial of the filing of his
appeal on the order and a motion for stay
of execution because the "judge has not
entered the order" for 29 days, out of an
appeal notice period of 30 days, Burton's
payment of the legal fee, and the
subsequent written order deleting the
oral order to pay the legal fees, were
overt acts of the conspiracy to deprive a
pro se litigant, on a medical pension
from the Veterans Administration for
multiple service-connected disabilities,
of the due process right of appeal, and
of his property, the $250.00 fee,
illegally and unconstitutionally, and the
District Court should have allowed the
Claims to be heard.

QUESTION 6 ARGUMENT.

The District Court should not have

50

iti Celt belgie tcc a

dismissed with prejudice, nor the Appeals
Court uphold the dismissal, of the
Verified Further Amended Complaint, since
it stated claims of the Verified Further
Amended Complaint, since it states claims
of: denial of Texas family court orders
for father-daughter visitation in Texas,
enforcible under 28 U.S. Code, Sec.
LISSA, upheld in Heartfield v.
Heartfield, 749 F.2d 1138 (1985, 5 C.A.),
conflicting -with the Fifth Circuit's
upholding of the dismissal of the instant
case; denial of witnesses; denial of
counsel which the 5th Circuit forbade in
contempt cases in Ridgeway v. Baker, 720
F.2d 1409, 1415 (1983); and denial of
equal protection of the law, all verified
by affidavit, and which were not
contradicted in the affidavits submitted
by Respondents Moke and Watkins.

Yates submitted no affidavit at all;

his acts, including his ordering bailiff

~ 7
JL

Moke arrest Denman and take him into

chambers, were entirely outside his
jurisdiction, the incident he used as a
pretext having taken place outside the
courtroom when court was not in session
and not in his view. He has no immunity
for nonjudicial acts outside the
courtroom, and should have none for
conducting a hearing against Denman
without notice, proper arrest,
documentation, or jury. For those acts
for which he may have judicial immunity,
and which were improper, he has no
immunity against the requirement that he
pay attorney fees. Pulliam v. Allen, 80
L.Ed.2d 565, 104 S.Ct. 1970 (1984).

The claims against other
respondents, such as false statements by
Respondent Alloo Adams to Burton's
commanding officer, the failure to repay
the $3,000.00 loan, and most tragic, the

deprivation of Miranda's care, company,

Biase sans caheeet

love and affection, which had been ruted.
as being in the best interest of Miranda
(Raftery v. Scott, supra.), were all
under the jurisdiction of the District
Court under the pendent jurisdiction
principle and because of diversity of
citizenship between the plaintiffs and
defendants.

QUESTION 7 ARGUMENT.

This Court has ruled, in Sedima SPRL
¥. Imperx Co... Inc... 195 S.Ct. 2273 CHAt
when a person suffers damage to his
business or property by the defendant's
indictable acts occurring within 10
years, the injured party may sue under
the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt
Organization Act, hereinafter R.I.C.O.
Act, 18 U.S.C. 1961-1968. The 5th Circuit
has foliowed this decision in Armco
Industrial Credit Corp. v. SLT Warehouse
Co., 782 F.22@ 475 (1986), James v¥.

Mienke, 778 F.2d 200 (1985), Howell

ae

Petroleum Corp. v. Weaver, 776 F.2d 1302
(1985) and Couture v. Hyatt, 774 F.2d
1350 (1985). The First Circuit has ruled
the same in Hunt v. Weatherbee, 626 F.
Supp. 1097 (Mass., 1986). The Plaintiffs/
Petitioners in the instant case have
suffered in their property, including
Burton's forced payment of legal fees,
and their businesses, since both Burton
and Denman have been forced to take time
from their regular work to defend their
liberty and their business and _ personai
reputations, and therefore the District
Court should have taken jurisdiction

under the R.I.C.0. Act.

By the Plaintiffs, pro se

Carlyle Burton, Nathaniel Denman
individually and P.O. Box 689
for Miranda Mitzi Falmouth, Ma
Burton, a minor 02541
P.O. Box 34321 617-548-3295

San Antonio, Tx 78265

U1
>

————————ee

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

ke , herewith certify that
I have mailed, first class, postage
prepaid, copies of the above

"Petition for Writ of Certiorari" to the
last known counsel of record for the
Appellees; Weldon Ponder, 1000 Capitol
Center, 919 Congress Avenue, Austin,
Texas 78701; District Attorney's Office,
Keith Burris, Joe Frazier Brown, Michael
Hodge, William Crow, Bexar County
Courthouse, San Antonio, Texas, 78205;
Charles L. Smith, Susan E. Callaway,
2000 Frost Bank Tower, San Antonio,
Texas, 78205; Adams, Flake & Hrncir, 1001
Pat Booker Road, Suite 200, Universal
City, Texas, 78148 on the day of
1987.

Nathaniel Denman

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_2354%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
