# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kelley v. Ohio

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_2194%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 891

## Text

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED saan F. SPANIOL, JR.

CLAIRE KELLEY, Petitioner

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

No.

Supreme Court, U.S.
FILED

October Term 1988

AUG 12 1986

CLERK

—

Ve

STATE OF OHIO,

Respondent

COUNSEL IN PRO SE

OPPOSING COUNSEL

JOHN J.
466 So.

PLOUGH, Pros.
CHESTNUT

RAVENNA, OHIO

#44266
PHONE:

(216) 296-4593

CLAIRE KELLEY (Ms.)
6605 Sutton Dr.
N.OLMSTED, OHIO
#44070

(216) 779-8854

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I
DID THE TRIAL COURT DENY DUE PROCESS
TO PETITIONER KELLEY BY REFUSING ANY
MEANINGFUL CONSIDERATION OF THE CON-
STITUTIONAL ISSUES SHE RAISED IN HER
MOTION TO DISMISS AND RE-NEWED MOTION
TO DISMISS BY LEAVING IT TO THE APP-
ELLATE COURT TO SETTLE BECAUSE THE
TRIAL COURT DECLINED TO "MAKE POLICY"
IN CONSTITUTIONAL ISSUES?
II
WAS PETITIONER DENIED A FAIR TRIAL BY
THE TRIAL COURT'S OVERRULING HER MO-
TION TO STRIKE RADAR EVIDENCE, EVEN
THOUGH THE TRIAL COURT SAID IT WAS NOT
THE BASIS OF HER ARREST AND THE RE-
SULTING SURPRISE CAUSED HER TO FORGET
TO CALL HER TWO WITNESSES ON RADAR OB-
STRUCTION?
Ii!
IS AN ARREST QUOTA SYSTEM AN UNFAIR

BASIS FOR ENFORCEMENT OF THE 55 MPH
SPEEDING LAW? |
IV
WAS IT ERROR TO ASCRIBE CREDIBILITY
TO THE ARRESTING OFFICER WHEN HE GAVE
CONFLICTING TESTIMONY?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

JOHN J PLOUGH, Prosecutor
466 S. Chestnut Street
Ravenna, Ohio - 44266

CHARLES FRIED, Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. = 20530

CLAIRE KELLEY, Petitioner

6605 Sutton Dr.
N.Olmsted, Ohio - 44070

afin

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW.....
TABLE OF Fy 9 4 + ee

Pg.

OPINIONS Deseo ecco cceeoele‘esceses 1
Ft gra

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS & .
Dee OS CoS COCO OEEC OOOO OOOO OCCS

_ STATEMENT & if. \
REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT..........

Argument b6656060068 6600006006

Argument 8 PPT TT TTTTrTrTrTT

Argument Ss 66060 60660666006066
Argument 66666606600 6666066066%

0 Ee

A-1

Constitutional Provisions &
Statute Din a6666066666060066

Ohio Supreme Court Order of
Denial #87-1665,Rehearing...

Ohio Supreme Court Order of
Denial #87-1666,Rehearing...

Ohio Supreme CourtOrder of
Dismissal, #87-1665/1666....

Judgment Entry from Ohio
Court of Appeals-llth Dist..

-iii-

53

58

A-6 Opinion from Ohio Court
of Appeals-llth DESC ccccccce

A-7 Kelley I.D. - Front Side.....
A-8 Kelley I.D. = Back SLGGcccece
DECLARATION OF SERVICE.....ccccccecs

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Pg.
CONSTITUTIONAL LAW

Ordinance of PPT Prrr Tr TTT To

Art. VI, U.S.Constitution.......2,16

lst Amend.U.S.Constitution......2,7,17,
34,36,37,
38,42

5th Amend.U.S.Constitution......2,7,17,
34,36,
37,42,
48,49,
50,51

9th Amend.U.S.Constitution......2,11,15,
17,34,36,
37,42

10th Amend.U.S.Constitution.....2,10,26,
27,29

14th Amend.U.S.Constitution.....2,7,16,
17,23,26,
34,36,42,
48,49,50,
51
STATUTE LAW
23 0.8.6. 194¢a) 6 CE) (CS) cccesesdgatet

23 U.S.C. 154(e) & (£)(1)-(5)...13

O.BeGe S667 GR ccccsccscssceeteaes
25,35,
44

O.R.C. 4522-2000) «00 ccreseesosstetea@e

-Ve

Pg.
CASE LAW

F Vv. pda teaetandaat ates

Grand River Dam Authority v.
Coing, (1939) 29 F.Supp. SIE... ..28

Griswold v. Conn., (1965).......36,37

Kansas Ci So. R.Ry Co v.
Anderson, TISTiy ck Sete 20sec 8?

Maryland v. Wirtz, (1968).......27

Miller Vv. U.S MPYTTITYTITTTriiTT

730 ¥. 266

Nashville C. & St. Louis Ry. v.
yy Se

Norris v. Alabama, (1935).......23,24,25

Robb v. Connally, (1884)........23,24
Sherar v. Cullen, (1973).......+43
Smith v. Thompson, (1930).......37
reer VW. U.8.~_. C1B9S) cccccccccccds

OTHER

Diary of John ASGOMBcccecceeeeseeas

Case & Commem@ecccccccccsocecseese

-vi-

LS

l6a Am. Jur. 2dowssceccccccceeeee 26
Cleveland Plain Dealer...........3l
Wigmore, Evidence......seeeeeeeesI34
Chase Trial Pre cane ees eeererme

Declaration of Independence......46

ABBREVIATIONS

a - Appendix
MD - Motion to Dismiss
MH - Motions Hearing (transcript)

T.Tr. - Trial Transcript
Tr. Ex. - Trial Exhibit

Ex. - Exhibit
AB - Appellate Brief
App. Op. - Appellate Opinion

NOTE
All emphasis is Petitioner's

-vii-

No.
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term 1988

CLAIRE KELLEY, Petitioner
v-

STATE OF OHIO, Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
SUPREME COURT OF OHIO

TO THE HONORABLE CHIEF JUSTICE AND
ASSOCIATE JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME
COURT OF THE UNITED STATES:

Petitioner, CLAIRE KELLEY, respect-
fully prays that a Writ of Certiorari
issue to review the judgment of the
Supreme Court of Ohio, entered in this
proceeding June 15, 1988.

OPINIONS BELOW
There was no Opinion’ from the Ohio

sie

a

Supreme Court. It's Orders of Denial
are included in the Appendix as A-2,
A-3 & A-4.

The Opinion from the Ohio Court of
Appeals for the Eleventh District, Por-
tage County, is included herein as A-5.

JURISDICTION

The Judgment of the Ohio Supreme
Court was entered on May 11, 1988.

A timely Motion for Re-hearing
was denied June 15, 1988. (No time
given.) This Petition for Certiorari
is filed within (60 days of that
date. This Court's jurisdiction is

invoked under 28 U.S.C. 1257(3).
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

The full text is set forth in the
Appendix as A-l, with citations below:
U.S.CONSTITUTION: Art. VI, Amend-
ments 1,5,9,10,14; Ordinance of 1787.

U.S.STATUTE: 23 U.S.C. 154(a),(£) (5).
OHIO STATUTES: 0.R.C. 4507.02 &

O.R.C. 4511.21(D)
-2-

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Driving on the Ohio Turnpike, Sunday,
October 8, 1985, Petitioner was on her
way to church, in Pennsylvania, when she
was arrested a few miles from the Ohio/
Penna. border for (1) allegedly speed-
ing at 68 mph, O.R.C. 4511.21(D),/ p57

and (2) for operating a motor vehicle,
without a valid driver's license, 0.R.C.
4507.02, p. 56 herein.

Petitioner had been a licensed driver
with a clean record and chose not to re-
new her license in July 1985, because she
believed that a license cannot be crea-
ted out of a common right and that pri-
vate use of streets and highways, is a
right, not a privilege.

When asked for her license, she gave
the otttese an I.D. card, with her
signed claim of her constitutional

right to travel unimpeded, unless in-

_£n.] - Ohio Revised Code

«$e

jury or property damage occurs, and
supporting law, on the back. (p./07)

After a yy in custody at the
Highway Patrol station, she was allowed
to drive home, but not to church.It was
an hour's drive during which she was
followed by an officer, almost to her
Turnpike exit.

At her initial appearance, Ms. KELLEY
appeared specially and respectfully de-
clined to plead, not wishing to admit
the jurisdiction of the court. The
court refused to plead her and was visi-
bly angry, and threatening.

At a second appearance, the court pled
her ‘not guilty’ to both charges.

On December 2, 1985 she filed a Mo-
tion To Suppress all radar evidence and
on December 27, 1985 she filed a Motion
to Dismiss both charges. A later hear-

ing was held and both Motions were denied.

On February 28, 1986 Petitioner was

tried on the speeding charge and found
guilty. She was fined $50 and costs.

On May 20, 1986 Petitioner was tried
by the court (no jury) and found guilty
of driving without a valid license. She
was fined $500 and costs. Sentence was
suspended on condition that she obtain
a valid Ohio driver's license. She
then moved for and was granted, a stay
pending appeal.

Both convictions were appealed to
the Court of Appeals For Ohio, Eleventh
Appellate District. An Opinion was
filed August 3, 1987 at 9:22 A.M.,
consolidating both cases (#1677/speeding
& #1745/no valid license), and affirm-
ing judgment of the trial courtp. ¢/ .

Said Appellate Opinion was appealed
to the Ohio Supreme Court, which dis-
missed both cases, sua sponte, without
reason or opinion. Petitioner's Motion
for Re-Hearing of both cases (87-1665
& 87-1666)was denied June 15, 1988.

The federal questions sought to be
revirwed here, were raised pre-trial,
in the Portage County Municipal Court
of first instance by:(1) a written Mo-
tion To Dismiss both charges, based up-
on constitutional grounds and federal
statutes (2) written Motion To Suppress
radar evidence (3) re-newed oral Motion
To Suppress radar evidence mid-trial
when Court ruled it irrelevant at speed-

renewal of
ing trial (4) oral/Motion To Dismiss
no driver's license charge, immediately
due to a new
preceding trial/ constitutional ground.

of
Denials/ these Motions were raised

upon appeal and are contained in the

Appellate Court's OPINION which lists

the Assignment of Errors in both cases,

tre od And ad 8 £3 AG Rd he

set forth herein,at A-_& , p-6A2.,
along with appealed trial errors.

They were raised as 14 propositions

of law to the Ohio Supreme Court and

appear in Petitioner's Memorandum In

Support of Jurisdiction filed in said

Court, in the Index, p.i to iv, in said

Memorandum, p.3 to 16 and in the App-

6sy

endix p.24 and again at p.4¢in the

attached Appellate Court's Opinion.
Petitioner would add here that she

raised the lst, 5th, and 14th Amend-

ments even prior to Municipal Court,
when she presented her I.D. to the
Highway Patrol Officer, at the time of
her arrest, See: A-7¥@ herein, at p.4e7.
These constitutional issues were

dealt with as follows:
MUNICIPAL COURT - The Trial Court

refused to consider any constitutional
defenses } tue presented by Ms. KELLEY
and heard arguments on them only to
enter them in the record so they could
be denied and passed on to the Appellate
Court who have more time and staff to

“get into the constitutional areas of

the issue", therefore, they were summ-

ate

arily denied. The Trial Court's remarks
part,in
appear in/the Motions Hearing Transcript

(MHT), at p.13 & 14 as follows:

"THE COURT: ...Normally it is not the
trial court's province to declare un-
constitutionality. Certainly they can
do it, but the trial court is follow-
ing the presumption and being the
settler of a dispute between parties,
which is one of the primary functions
of the trial court, to settle the
factual matters and settle the dispute
as opposed to making a policy matter.

MS.KELLEY: I understand.

THE COURT: Declaring a statute uncon-
stitutional creates a policy issue.
Most policy matters are better done
by Appellate Court with all the re-
sources that they have available in
Law Clerks’ research time, to better
get into the constitutional areas of
the issue.

I am not saying they don't do it.
I'm simply saying that the constitu-
tional questions are better raised
and better handled as a general rule,
in the Appellate Courts, than they
are in the trial courts." MHT-p.13-14

MS. KELLEY: It seems to me the law
should be settled. I really feel
that I should not be put at jeopardy.

THE COURT: You are at jeopardy in a
trial.

MS, KELLEY:That's right;that's right.

oe

On an issue of law, if the issue of
law cannot, in some sensible way be
litigated at re-trial, or at trial
--I mean if there is no lawin lower
Court and you og. to go to higher
Court to get any law, it boggles my
mind,” MHT-p. 18 sad

The above remarks were quoted in both
Ms. KELLEY's Opening Briefs to the App-
ellate Court. There was also a remark,
off the record, possibly after court was
adjourned at the Motions Hearing, by the
Judge who explained co} eee as was
not the ‘policy’ of the Ohio Judiciary
to handle constitutional issues in lower

courts.

It was the same with the Motion to

Suppress, which raised a constitutional

issue. Then at trial, after the radar
evidence was given by the arresting Offi-
cer, while Petitioner was cross-examining
him, the Trial Court interrupted and
stated :

THE COURT: The radar is not the basis

of ke arrest in shrigins | County.
Tr. Trans. 2/28/86 - 4,last line

However, the Court denied Ms. KELLEY's

ate

Motion to Strike the radar evidence.

Tr. Trans. supra, p.25, 2/28/86.

The oral,re-newed Motion to Dismiss,
based on a new constitutional ground,
just prior to trial #2, May 20, 1986
was also ‘allowed into the record’,

thereby
summarily denied and/relegated to the
Appellate Court.

APPELLATE COURT:

—fssues
ae—presented, leaving some—totatty—eun -
addressed while eonvolutingotheres—and
arguing statute law-over constitutional
teu-enh-ta-ceuplete contradicttor-of

No mention was made of Petitioner's
argument that the claim of a constitu-
tional right cannot be made into a crime,
(First raised in written Motion to Dis-
miss p.1ll and raised on appeal in Case
No.1745 (no license) in Opening Brief,

nor
p-6 & 11); of her lOth Amend. argument

-10-

that State sovereignty is reserved as
(speed limits)
to police matters/and that her law and

arguments on this, if read, were ignor-
written
ed - (First raised in/Motion To Dis-

miss p.6 to 9 and on appeal in Case No.
nor

1677, speeding-p.8);;of her common law
rights as to corpus delecti and mens rea,
protected by the 9th Amend. and the Ord-

rdinance
inance of 1787, which/also declares in

its sec. 14 that the following Articles

“forever remain unalterable, unless by
common consent..." that Article II says

"The inhabitants of the said
territory shall always be entitled
to the benefits of...judicial pro-
ceedings according to the course
of common law."

Corpus delecti and mens rea are required
under the common law.

The Appellate Court states on p._75_
of its Opinion herein (A-4 ), that Peti-
tioner said she was surprised by something

the arresting officer said making her for-
to

get /call her two witnesses. This is a
truth.

half / The record clearly states that it

- al

was what the Trial Court said that blew

her mind. After the arresting Officer
testified that the radar evidence was
recorded in a different County, then
the Trial Court said,
"COURT: The radar is not the
basis of your arrest in Por-
tage County. It is the pace

clock not the radar." T.Trans.
p.24,25 = 2/28/86

This was the first Petitioner had heard
of this material fact,as it was not re-
vealed in her request for Discovery.
She moved to strike the radar evidence,
the Progecution objected. The Trial
(T.TR.p.25)
Court sustained the objection./This is
what ‘cnseeiaindlt eu ein she forgot to
call her two witnesses to testify to
their observation of the radar obstruc-
tions in the area where Ms. KELLEY's
speed was allegedly clocked at 73 mph.
She didn't even realize her oversight
until the trial was over and she was

on her way back home. The Appellate

Court contends that since Ms. KELLEY

o12<

scene

did not correct this at the trial level,
before appeal, that the Appellate Court
is now “precluded from reviewing the
matter on appeal." (p. 7G herein, A- 6)
Ms. KELLEY also raised the issue of
a quota system. The arresting Officer
denied knowledge of any such system (T.Tr.
p.-32, 1n.1,2). Ms. KELLEY introduced as
evidence 23 U.S.C.S, 154 (e) & (f£)(1)
through (5), which mandates a quota sys-
tem. If enough arrests aren't made,
the State loses funds. (App.Br.p.60 with
Argument at p.17-18). The Appellate Court
ruled that since it was put into effect
by the federal government, under the
commerce clause, it is not open to dis-
pute, and that ~~, not clear-
ly mandate a quota system, anyhow. AB-p.__
Appellate Court convoluted Ms. KELLEY's
argument that it is error to ascribe
credibility to a witness who gives con-
tradictory testimony.(p. #1! herein, A-_G )
Ms. KELLEY did not refer to the differ-

oi Se

cel

ence between the alleged radar clocked
speed (73 mph) and the paced speed (68-
70 mph). She referred to the fact that
the Officer testified that he locked his
radar in at 73 mph and yet checked his
radar,to verify the accuracy of his 68-
70 mph paced estimate. This was not
possible because the radar would still
have read "73",since it was locked in
73 mph
and/was what Ms. KELLEY observed when she
she checked it shortly after her arrest.
T.TR.P.8,9,15. The Officer testified:
"...at one point (I) even acti-
vated the radar to check the
speedometer against the radar."
T.TR.-p.28, (2/28/86-speeding)
How could he check a 68-70mph. pace esti-

against radar,
mate,/if the radar was locked in at 73

mph.?

The Appellate Court further concluded
that Ms. KELLEY's contention that she was
denied due process because the Trial
Court .refused to ‘rule’ on her consti-

tutional issues was ‘without merit’

“

because the Trial Court's action in
overruling her Motion To Dismiss was
a ‘ruling’ and thereby her claims of

unconstitutionality as to the 55 mph
were put to rest by the Trial Court.
fy we Court totally ignored her
claims of constitutional rights, to
which she was entitled to substance
in the Trial Court's ruling, not mere
‘form’. See: A-_@ at p. 68,69 6/83.
ciaime
The overruling of her/constitutional

rights, by the Trial Court with said
Court's admission that it would not
actually consider them, before she
even argued them to the Court and

would leave them to the Appellate Court
to pass upon,was not addressed in the
Appellate Opinion. Nor was her right of
"free passage’ under her common law
rights secured in the Ninth Amendment,
discussed by the Appellate Court. Said
right is also secured by the Ordinacce

of 1787, which, in 1789 was incorpora-

oie

iain caeenaemenieiiiiiiaaiaadial

ted into Article VIof the U.S.Constitu-
tion. Motion To Dismiss,p.4,5 also App.
in #1745 p.7,8.
Brief #1677,/The Appellate Court held
that the statute (0.R.C.4511.21(D) )
didn't contain any such element as a
demand for a corpus delecti.(p. 70,
herein A- G_) Constitutional law

was completely ignored.

Ms. KELLEY wrote a 2 page letter and
affidavit
/to the Ohio Registrar of Motor Vehicles,

against licensing

stating her position/and the law in supp-
ort, including the 14th Amend., U.S.Const.
in 1982 (Ex. 7 = Motion To Dismiss-p.29)
There was no indication whatever from the
response by Staff Attorney, W.W.Holmes,
that Petitioner was wrong. (Ex.8 - Motion

To Dismiss - p.32), therefore when her

T=

license expired in July 1985, she decided
not to renew it. Petitioner believes that
failure of the Staff Attorney to NOTICE
Ms. KELLEY that she was wrong,was a denial

of due process. The Appellate Court im-
permissably
/broadened Ms. KELLEY's argument to include

everybody. It held:

“Further, we know of no constitu-
tional, statutory, or common law
duty on the part of the state to
notify members of the public in-
dividually, that certain conduct

on their part will subject them to
sanction. Hence we hold this stat-
tute (4507.02-licensing) to be con-
stitutional in this regard." p. 54
herein - A- 6.

Petitioner's argument did not address the

constitutionality of aaid statute, but a
denial of due process,from the Motor Ve-

hicle Bureau itself, when contacted by her.

In answer to Petitioner's argument
that driving is a fundamental constitu-

tional right, based upon lst, 5th, 9th

& 14th Amendments the Appellate Court re-

sponded with an argument which blurs the

line between private use and public use,

nite

failing to differentiate between the two.
p. 97 herein (A- 6 ).

Ms. KELLEY -wae—on—her-—way to—ehurech
and was prevented from going to church,
as a letter by her minister showed. (Mo-
tion To Dismiss p.28 - Ex.6)

The Appellate Court cited the denial
to a minister of a license which he
needed in his work and equated that the
right to deny,implied the right to "pen-
alize for failure to obtain." p./O0O, here-
in (A-_@_), and found the assignment of

error without merit.

Lastly, in the license sehal ) whisk
Petitioner had originally asked and been
granted a jury trial, she was forced to
waive this right when the Trial Court
made it very clear to her that the jury
could only judge the fact, not the law
and that if she wanted to argue the law
she would have to have a Court Trial,

which she did.

-18-

Immediately preceding the Court Trial,

Ms. KELLEY orally raised and pled a Re-
newed Motion To Dismiss For Inability to
Obtain A Fair Trialbased upon the ground
that she did have a constitutional right
to argue the law, to the. jury, as well
as the fact. T.Tr.-p.l to 12 -5/20/86
She submitted to the Court as Exhibit A,
an exerpt from en trial of
U.$.Supreme Court Justice Samuel Chase,
pub. by Da Capo Press, N.Y.C. in 1970.
T.Tr. supra - p.7
(Trial Ex. A),

The Chase transcript/was relied upon

at p.12,13 of her Appellate Brief, along
which

with other sources / support her argu-
ment that she had a constitutional right
to argue the law to the jury and they
had a constitutional right to hear the
law argued.

Also attached to her Appellate Open-

ing Brief were exerpts from the Diary of

John Adams (p.27 - A-5) proving the intent

of the Founding Fathers on jury nullifi-
1%

tion.

",...is it not an Absurdity to
suppose that the Law would oblige
them to find a Verdict according
to the Direction of the Court,
against their own opinion, Judgment
and Conscience.

It is not only his right but his
Duty in that Case to find the Verdict
according to his own best understand-
ing, Judgment and Conscience, tho in
Direct opposition to the Direction
of the Court." Legal Papers of John
Adams, p. 230 dated Feb. 12, 1771
T.Tr. supra - p.29

Also included in the Appellate Brief as
A-6, at p.30 to 34 was an article from

the Law Journal, Case & Comment, March/

April, 1975 by Russell C. Richardson, en-
titled, “Jury Nullification: Justice or
Anarchy?" and other persuasive, pertinent
law and argument, NONE of which is men-
tioned in the Appellate Opinion, even
though 3% pages were devoted to this
Assignment #3 in her Appellate Brief.
pitiuadle ebekitece Court quoted Ohio
Jurisprudence 2d and a Ohio Supreme Court
case from 1928 (p./o¥herein, A-_6 ) and

called Petitioner arguments "provocative"

=20-

and “novel”, admitted that in our early
history juries may have had “greater in-
volvement in determining the law of the
pe
case",/Ohio changed all of that, "many
(ore
years ago".(p.j03,herein A- 6 )

The Appellate Court also accused Ms.
KELLEY of using quotes "out of context"
but gave no examples. She does not believe
she used any quotes out of context, so
as to distort their meaning. (p./o3

herein)
/ Said Court then decided, that this 3d

Assignment was lacking in merit.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

As To Argument I: State Court in conflict

The Municipal Court of first instance,
declined to give any opinion as to
whether federal rights were or were not
denied Petitioner, rather leaving that
to the Appellate Court. (See: STATEMENT
OF THE CASE herein at p. 7, 5 ¥7.

But the Appellate Court never didadd-
ress two of the constitutional issues

often

raised, convoluted others, argued stat-
ute law above constitutional law and
found all her arguments either "without
merit" or "not well taken". The trial
Court disagreed. The Trial Court said,
2
“Either way in this case/, the
issue probably ought to go up, no
matter how the Court finds."
MH-1/7/86 ~ p.14.
The Ohio State Supreme Court dismisse-
"sua sponte” A- ‘t herein at p.

60 indicating it did not

,

believe there were any constitutional
issues involved. But again the Muni-
cipal Court seems to have differed. Re-
garding the "no license" charge, it
commented:

"Well, you have made some in-
teresting arguments and obviously
you've ached very hard at the
preparation of this material. I
appreciate that and I'm not un-
sympathetic with a lot of the arg-
uments that you have made. I think

fn. 2 - Case R85 TRD 15065 S which in
Cluded both charges in the Municipal
Court.

, -22-

a lot of the things you say make
good sense and it’s always a
pleasure to see = exercising
their constitutional rights etc..."
T.Tr. =- 5/20/86 - p.60

The Trial Court further commented at the
Motions Hearing that,

",..some of the questions you
have raised as to the no opera-
tor's license are —s fairly sub-
— issues." MH - 1/7/86 -

P

The State courts have appeared to settle
an
/important question of federal law,as to

Petitioner's substantive 14th Amendment

right to due process in the State Court
of first instance, as to the constitu-
tional issues which she raised there,
in conflict with applicable decisions of
the U.S.Supreme Court. Petitioner's due
argument
process / was raised as to both cases,
on appeal, but
in both Courts /was deemed to be without
wines See: App. Op.herein, A-6, -p. 66 +
f
Both the Robb, and Norris cases in-
fra, support Ms. KELLEY's claim of due

process.

«29

Petitioner argues that ske was en-
titled to a meaningful consideration of
her timely raised constitutional defenses,
in the court of first instance.

"A State court of mage juris-
diction...may consistently with ex-
isting federal legislation, determine
cases at law or equity, arising under
the Constitution or laws of the United
States, or involving rights dependent
upon such constitution or laws. Upon
State courts, ey with the courts
of the Union rests the obligation to
guard, enforce and Lag every right
granted or secured by the Constitution
of the United States and the laws made
in pursuance thereof, whenever those
rights are involved in an suit or

roceedingbefore then." v. Conn-
olly, (1884) 111 U.S. 624,638
t

ed in App. Brief No. 1677,p.6

Then there is the Norris case, which is

on point in principle, even though it
deals with a different constitutional
right (systematic exclusion from jury, of
Defendant's racial group). The Court said:

"That the question is one of fact
does not relieve us of the duty to
determine whether in truth a federal
right has been denied. When a federal
right has been specially set up and
claimed in a state court, it is our
province to inquirehot merely whether

}

-24-

it was denied in express terms but
also whether it was denied in sub-
stance and effect. If this requires
an examination of evidence, that ex-
amination must be made. Otherwise,
review by this Court would fail of
its purpose in safeguarding consti-
tutional rights." Norris v. Alabama,
(1935) 294 U.S. 587, 589-90, °° ~=~—

The Appellate Court held that the over-
ruling of Petitioner's Motion To Dismiss
was "responsive" (App. Opinion A-_6 ,p.
67 _ herein) and that Ms. KELLEY ,

"...tacitly admitted...in the
very language employed by her in
her second Assignment of Error
where she expressly states that
the trial court erred in denying
Ms. Kelly's motion to dismiss as
to 4507.02." " (App. Opinion supra,

p. $3)
Obviously, Ms. KELLEY was referring to a

denial without substance.

If it is the practice of the Ohio Ju-
diciary to deny a meaningful hearing of
constitutional issues in ‘lower’ courts
so as to reserve the making of ‘policy'
for the Appellate Courts, then it would
appear that denial of due process is the

‘standard’ of Ohio courts. (Also see:

a%Se

Motions Hearing Transcript 1/7/86 at p.
1l to 15 for Petitioner's objections and
Trial Court's dictum). Such '‘policy'
violates the Fourteenth Amendment, U.S.

Constitution, under due process clause.

The six constitutional issues remain-
ing from said Motion are:
O.R.C. 4511.21(D) = 55mph speed limit

1. The State Appellate Court has de-
cided, and the State Supreme Court let
stand, an important question of federal
law,which Petitioner believes has not
been settled by this Court, on the
grounds raised by Petitioner.

Petitioner raised the Tenth Amend-
ment and State sovereignty, 16a Am. Jur.

2d, sec. 360 et seq. re. State's sov-
ereignty to determine most police matt-
ers, five U.S.Supreme Court cases with
java two U.S.District Court

cases and one N.Y.Supreme Court case

also with supporting arguments.

Appellate Court's answer was,

"Notwithstanding appellant's
assertions to the contrary, the
power of the federal government
under the commerce clause of the
United States Constitution, to
enact a speed limit law, and to
effect any programs to aid in
the enforcement of this law, is
well established and not subject
to dispute.” App. Op. (A-_6&
herein at p. 7#-

But a statute valid as to one set of
facts may be invalid as to another.

Kansas City So.R.Ry. Co. v. Anderson,

(1914), 233 U.S. 325.
The 55 mph limit is unconstitutional,

because Congress exceeded their author-
ity under the commerce clause and usurped
power, by making an ‘end run’ around the
Tenth Amendment, so as to accomplish in-
directly what they cannot do directly.

“This Court has never doubted
thatthere are limits upon the power
of Congress to override State sover-
eignty, even when exercising its
otherwise plenary powers to tax or
to regulate commerce which are con-
ferred by Art. I of the Constitution.”

Maryland v. Wirtz, (1968) 392 U.S.
, ; ee -p.7

-27-

eee

In 1975 the U.S.Supreme Court recognized,

"While the Tenth Amendment has been
characterized as a ‘truism'...(cites
om.) it is not without significance.
The Amendment expressly declares the
constitutional policy that Congress
may not exercise power in a fashion
that airs the States’ integrity or
their ability to function effectively

in a federal systen.™ Fry v. U.S.,
9 421 U.S. 542, 54/; from MD-p.
If Congress could regulate any indiv-
idual activity merely by exercising the
‘power of the purse’, State sovereignty
would be a myth! See MD-p.6 to 9.
Ours is a government of limited powers

and that includes the commerce clause.

(Also see: App. Brief #1677-p.3 & 8)

An anology may be made, to the
extent of Congress’ power over the
waterways.

"It may be that all waterways
untimately connect with the sea, or
with other, larger waterways, that
are undoubtedly used by shippers in
interstate commerce, but Congress
cannot exercise r over all water-
ways. In Grand River Dam Authorit
v. Going, (I939) 29 F. Supp. T1b- the
United Rates District Court for the
District of Oklahoma noted that the

federal government's power over wa-
terways stops at the tributaries of
navigable streams." MD-p.8
If this and other cases cited by Peti-
tioner properly state the law, it can
be said that it is not within the power
of Congress to enact boating laws that
would apply to all rivers creeks and
streams in the country. Neither can
they do so with highways, private roads
such as the Ohio Turnpike etc. This is
beyond the delegated powers of Congress
and is limited by the Tenth Amendment.
2. IF constitutional, then the 55
mph speed limit is now void. The App-
ellate Courtddecided this federal ques-
tion in conflict with an applicable

decision of this Court, Nashville C. &

St. Louis Ry, infra.

Petitioner believes that 23 U.S.C.154

(a) has been rendered invalid because
the conditions for which it was passed

i.e.a fuel shortage, no longer existed

-29-

Dee

at the time of Ms. KELLEY's arrest. It
public
was /knowledge, that the entire nation

was in the middle of a fuel ‘glut’.
There was so much fuel, they were beginn-
ing to have ‘storage’ problems.

"A statute valid when enacted
may become invalid by change in the
conditions to which it is applied."
Nashville C. & St. Louis R

ters, 5

-p.

The Appellate Court argues (A-_ G ,p.¢7

herein) that because Petitioner failed
to introduce,
the
",..-evidence that/challenged
law is unrelated to the public
health, safety, welfare or morals.”
A- @ , supra.
that she has not met her burden of prov-
ing unconstitutionality. But said Court
completely ignored the U.S.Supreme Court
holding, about the intent of the law in
the Nashville case, supra.
Further, if the 55 mph limit was
passed for ‘safety and health’ are we
Ohio
to assume then, that the former/speed

limit of 70 mph was an endangerment to

-30-

"safety and health’ for all the years it
was enforced, prior to the 55 mph? If
so, that would make Ohio culpable in

all property damage, injuries and deaths
due to contributory negligence in ever
allowing a 70 mph speed limit.

Petitioner also draws this Court's
attention to an article written after
the Ohio speed limit was raised to 65
mph (bypermission of Congress). It reads:

"By PAULINE THOMA
Staff Writer

Contrary to predictions, the
number of highway fatalities in
Ohio has not increased substanti-
ally since the speed limit on rural
interstate highways was boosted to
65 mph in July.

One state official who had warned
of more deaths was William N. Deni-
han, director of the Ohio Depart-
ment of Highway Safety. He said
statistics from the State Highway
Patrol showed no change in the num-
ber of Fatalities on rural interstate
highways." The Plain Dealer - Cleveland
Ohio - 11/15787; See Petitioner's
Me. of Juris. to Ohio Sup. Ct. at p.
65

Neither health, safety, welfare or morals

had anything to do with the 55 mph. speed
oSie

limit. If ‘public safety considerations'
was the basis of the law, then it was
irresponsible to raise the speed limit
to 65 mph. Petitioner argues that this
‘safety, health. etc. are false stan-
dards in this particular issue. There

is no question that the purpose of the
55 mph limit was to conserve fuel.

When that situation changed and a gas
glut existed, the law became void but

¥ s retained,because such a speed limit
proved to be very helpful in the raising
of revenue. Money, not safety, was the
purpose of maintaining a law for which
there was no longer any purpose.

If the 55 leas wad then either
there was no speed limit at the time of
Ms. KELLEY's arrest - or the limit re-
verted to the former limit of 70 mph,
in which case she was deprived of her
property, the $50.00 fine, unfairly, by
canis: Fie police power and the process

of the court to enhance the treasuries

-32-

=

of Portage County and of Ohio. (See:MD-

PY PED.
"The police power is subject
to the constitutional limitation
mei ae oer ceuatly * Meee.
supra at p.415; See MD-p.3; AB-p.9
The enforcement of a 55 mph speed limit
that was, in fact, void, was an arbi-
and unconstitutional
trary, unreasonable / exerceise,of the
police power of the State.
3.The defense of no due process
based upon no mens rea or corpus dececti
in the speeding charge was not addressed
by the Appellate Court.
Petitioner argued it in her Motion
to Dismiss at p.4 & 5 and in her Appellate
Brief, it was inclusive in her First Assi-

gnment of Error at p.l & 5.

One of the original safeguards of
due process in criminal cases, was the
necessity of criminal intent and a cor-
pus delecti.

"The term ‘due process'cannot be

-33-

;
3
3

re-defined by the State from its
original meaning, simply because
it inds that meaning ‘inconven-
i for a victimless crime. MD-
The doctrine of ‘mala prohibita’
could not possibly epply here because
it is the result of a statute and a
statute cannot overrule constitutional
law. Said doctrine, violates Petitioner's
unwritten right to proceed unimpeded, un-
less there is injury or damage to some-
one or their property.This right, which
is inalienable, from the Sovereign of °
the Universe, is protected in the Ninth
Amendment Fe a part of Petitioner's lib-

erty under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amend-

ments of the U.S.Constitution. It also
infringes her First Amendment right to
travel. MD-p.4. A corpus delecti requires,

"..-first the occurance of the
specific kind of injury or loss;
secondly, somebody's criminality
as the source of the loss." 7 Wig-
more, Evidence, sec.2072, 3d am
MD-p.4

To require corpus delecti and mens rea in

alee

some crimes and not in others,smacks of

a denial of equal protection of the law.

Motorists aren't given the same protec-
alleged |

tion as other/criminals.

Speeding laws are the only ‘crimes’
that profit government to a _ large de-
gree, No doubt that is why there are
hundreds of officers on ‘traffic detail'
while only very few, by comparison, are
assigned to auto theft, fraud, rape, etc.
which are the real crimes. |

The Bill of Rights was also to pro- .
tect us from some of the inequities of

the common law, such as'mala prohibita’.

O.R.C.4507.02 - No valid license.

4, The ‘no due process’ argument was
also made in defense of this charge and
Petitioner. incorporates herein,the above
Defense #3,to avoid repetition.

The Appellate Court did address this
defense at A-_6 ,p. ¥9-7/_, herein.
Also see MD-p.16-17; AB- #1745 - p.7-8

i
:
4
%
;

Petitioner believes that the denial
of a corpus delecti and mens rea as nece-
ssary components of her alleged crime,
violated her unwritten common law rights

under the Ninth Amendment and was in

conflict with this Court's recognition

of same, in Griswold v. Conn., (1965)

381 U.S.479, in both charges, #3 and #4
herein.

5.Driving is a right, not a 'privil-
ege’. Petitioner believes that the State
Courts decided this question in con-
flict with applicable decisions of this
Court, bearing on Petitioner's First,
Fifth, Ninth and Fourteenth Amendment

rights.

There is a difference between private
and commercial use of the public high-
ways. The State may indeed license such
use for profit, but it may not license
private parties to go about their ordin-

ary errands and private ov. siness.

-36-

State denied
In essence, the/ Petitioner has a First

Ghag
Amendment right to travel andsit is also

part of her ‘liberty’ under the Fifth Am-

endment to the U.S.Constitution. She be-
lieves this right is also protected by

the Ninth Amendment which protects her

unwritten common-law rights. Griswold,

supra. (See also J.
Goldberg's consenting opinion which elab-
orates upon unwritten rights.)

"The right of a citizen to travel
upon the public highways and to trans-
port his property thereon, in the or-
dinary course of life and business,
is a COMMON LAW RIGHT, which he has
under his right to enjoy life and lib-
erty, to acquire and possess property
and to pursue happiness and safety.

It includes the right in so doing,
to use the ordinary and usual convey-
ancesof the day and under existing
modes of travel, INCLUDES THE RIGHT to

drive a horsedrawn carriage or wagon
thereon, or TO OPERATE AN AUTOMOBILE

thereon, for the usual and ordinary
purpose of life and business. It is
NOT a mere PRIVILEGE, like the priv-
Tlege of moving a house in the street,
or of operating a business stand in
the street, or of transporting persons
or property for hire along the street,
which a city may permit or prohibit at
will." Smith v, Thompson, (1930) 154
$.5. 579; MD-p.15

a. A

The right to travel is inherent in

the First Amendment, for it is vital
to the operation of those rights.
Ms. KELLEY was denied the right to
the free exercise of her religion
because she didn’t have a government
‘license’ to go to church.That is
exactly what licensing amounts to.
To take an inalienable right,
which government was established to
protect, call it a ‘privilege’ and
license it,is unconstitutional.

"A license is sopeuetesiy the
granting of a special privil-
ege to one or more persons, not
enjoyed by the citizens generally,
or, at least not enjoyed by a
class of citizens to which the
license belongs. A COMMON Bscut
is NOT THE TIO
ENSE, er v. tbdeck,
672,674; 4&4 Ohio 539; HD-p. 14;
AB-p.9; See “i Op. .A=_ 5 _»P-
erein

The public safety can be well protected
by certification which does not bear the
legal implications of ‘licensing’. Said

certification can, and should, be done

-38-

by private agencies, such as the Ameri-
can Automobile Assoc. (AAA) and others.
Going to church, a person's job,
grocery shopping, voting, visiting
friends, going to the doctor or dentist,
going to a public library, to public
meetings etc. are all dependent upon a
‘license’ from government, which can be
revoked for receiving a certain number
of traffic tickets according to ‘govern-
ment standards’ which do not necessarily
involve any corpus delecti, whatever.
It is an awesome power. It is the right
to revoke ALL of our constitutional
rights. This should not be. Another
can and
way/must be found, to protect the pub-

lic safety.

Before automobiles, we had horses.
There were millions of them and they
killed lots of people, but the right to
ride a horse and who was capable was
never licensed and the decision was left

to the individual or the family, because

-39-

ee

eee a

it was they who were liable for any danm-
age they caused. (See AB-p.9-10; MD-p.10-
11)

As matters stand now, Americans are
really under nationwide ‘house arrest’
unless and until, they apply for and re-
ceive government permission to leave their
neighborhoods via a driver's license.
Neither a car, an adult or child, or even
a dog can lawfully leave the home without
government permission, i.e. a ‘license’.

Licensing is simply out of control.

"The right to travel is a part
of the ‘liberty’ of which the citi-
zen cannot be deprived without due
process of law under the Fifth Anm-
endment. ... In Anglo-Saxon law,
that right was emerging as early
as Magna Carta." Kent v. Dulles,

Pp.

Truly, a driver's license can form
the basis of a government dossier because
either a social security number or a
birthdate can give the police entree to

all kinds of information which should

o40e

not be in their hands. (See T.Tr.- 5/20/
86 at p.53- 1n.8 to p.54- 1n.16;)

Even the Trial Court referred to the
driver's license as an “information re-
trieval system" citing such a system as
an aid to the police. T.Tr.- 5/20/86-p.
62, 1n.18-20. Unfortunately, it can ‘re-
trieve' more than driver performance. It
is an invaluable tool in a police state.
The driver's license is destructive of
our privacy and an infringement upon our
liberty.

There is no due process whatever,
ae to confining a person to their home
or/walking distance of it, until they get
a driver's license. This is a depriva-
tion of our liberty.

6. The claim and exercise of a consti-
tutional right, cannot be converted into

a crime.MD-p.1l1 to 13; AB - p.1,#1,5 to 9.

Because this defense had no sub-
stantive ruling in the Municipal Court,
was not specifically dealt with by the

effec

Appellate Court, (not mentioned in the
App. Op. A-6,p.¢2a herein) nor by the
Ohio Supreme Court, Petitioner's griev-
ance in this matter has actually not
been redressed by the State Courts and
therefore she believes she has been de-
nied due process of law in this de-
fense.

Ms. Kelley's claim and exercise of a
constitutional right was converted into
a crime. The Ohio Statute was given pre-
cedence over constitutional law, under
which she was driving, That ‘preference’
violated the Fourteenth Amendment, U.S.C.

“The claim and exercise of a
constitutional right cannot be
converted into a crime.” Miller

, 230 F.486,489; also aee:
oe AB#1745 at et T.Tr.-
p.45, 1ln.I to p.50, 1n.11

Because Petitioner was driving under the

protection of her constitutional rights,

as to the First, Fifth, Ninth and Eour-
teenth Amendments of the U.5,Constitu-

tion, she was not subject to the penal-

-42<

ties of statute law. Jurisdiction could
personal
attach only upon property damage or/injury.
“There can be no sanction or
penalty imposed upon one because
of his exercise of constitutional
rights." Sherar v. Cullen, (1973)
481 F.2d 926.
Both the Miller and Sherar cases were sub-
mitted to the Trial Court,in full,as Ex-
hibits. (Ms. KELLEY's Exhibits A thru F
were admitted into evidence. T.Tr.- 5/20/
86 = p.57)

Ms. KELLEY was a licensed driver and
did know the rules of the road. That she
did not re-new her driver's ‘license’ in
July, 1985, did not diminish her knowledge
of driving. (See: A-7 & A-§ herein at p.
1& & 107).

Petitioner did not refuse to identi-

fy herself and presented her constitu-

tional claims to the arresting officer,

when she was first stopped. (See: T.Tr.
5/20/86 at p.19 to 22; MD-p.13.Also A-7
& A-g herein, p.JOG & 107)
Further, Petitioner believes that
-43-

O.R.C,. 4507.02 is void for vagueness be-
cause it says in paragraph #l that no per-

son shall operate a motor vehicle,

"...unless such person, upon
application, has been licensed
as an operator. ..."

Paragraph #2 says,

"No person shall permit the op-
eration of a motor vehicle upon any
public or private property...know-
ing such operator does not have a
valid license as an operator...”

#1 is written in past tense. Ms. KELLEY
has been licensed. But #2 is written in
present tense, “does not have..." These
paragraphs are not consistent but seem
almost contradictory. See MD-p.13; AB-
p.ll. Ms. KELLEY "has been” licensed
but did not”have"a license when stopped.
RE-NEWED MOTION TO DISMISS
Defendant believes that the denial of
her right to argue the law, as well as
the fact to the jury, confirmed by the
State courts, conflicted with the orig-
inal intent of the founding fathers as

to the meaning of ‘due process! con-

firmed by the Chase franscript. Tr. Ex.

A. Petitioner believes that she was de-
/a fair trial, by jury, which she desired,
but so
/her case was one of only law,/she had no
choice but to opt for a Court Trial.
Petitioner's STATEMENT OF THE CASE
sets this forth in some detail. See: p.
/79-2/ herein.

Ms. KELLEY only wishes to add that

the government itself, argued in the in-
peachment case of Mr. J. Chase,that it
was Mr. Fried's/RIGHT to ergue the law to
the jury and he was denied that right by
Mr. J. Chase, who agreed with the govern-
ment that it was Defendant Fried's con-
stitutional right and that he would never
deprive him of it.(J. Chase was acquitted)
In Petitioner's Exhibit A, a partial
transcript of the Chase trial, ARTICLE I
charges that J. Chase conducted himself

"...in a manner highly arbitrary
oppressive and unjust, viz.

2.'In restricting counsel for the

o45-

said Fries...from citing certain stat-
utes of the United States, which they
deemed illustrative of their positions,
upon which they intended to rest the
defence of their client:

In debarring the prisoner from his
CONSTITUTIONAL PRIVILEGE of addressing
the jury (through his counsel) on the
law, as well as on the fact...endeav-
oring to wrest from the jury their IN-
DISPUTABLE RIGHT to hear argument, and
determine upon the question of law, as
well as the question of fact,involved
in the verdict which they were re
quired to give: ... " Tr. Ex. A,p.l

The government further argued that to deny
this constitutional right was"dangerous to
our liberties", was a “disgrace of the
character of the American bench, in manifest
violation of law and iistkce*, feat such a
practice was "in open contempt of the rights
of juries as well as defendants. The govern-
ment argued throughout, about the indisput-
able right of Mr. Fries to argue the law to
his jury. J. Chase was acquitted because he
proved he did not do this grave injustice.
When Thomas Jefferson complained in
the Declaration of Independence about the

colonists being deprived: of certain bene-

etka

fits of trial by jury, he was talking in

part, about a defendant's right to argue
the law to the jury. Due process MEANS the
right to argue the law to the jury. With-
out this right, there is no due process.
(The Appellate Court was not happy about
Petitioner's arguments on this ground.)
See: T.Tr.- 5/20/86 - p.1,1n.20 to p.12,
1n.12;748 - p.12 to 19; App. Op., A-_@_

herein at p. /00-/05,.

If it was known and admitted in 1805,
and before,that it was a constitutional
right to argue the law to the jury, how
could Sparf v. U.S.,(1895) 156 U.S.1 amend

the Constitution? Why have the state and
federal judiciaries tolerated this usur-
pation for so long? Isn't it time for a

re-consideration of the Sparf case?

fn.3 - CORRECTION: T.Tr. for 5/20/86 = p.1ll
Badly garbled - at 1n.7 mis-spelled Judge
Bazelon's name and quoted Ms. K. as saying
he was not a = judge, when she said he
was a good judge, even brilliant.

ae

as eont:

ta i

ARGUMENT II

At the speeding trial, Feburary 28,
1986, it was revealed for the first time
that Ms. KELLEY's car was recorded by ra-
dar in one county and was ‘paced’ in an-
other county. This is gone over in the

STATEMENT OF THE CASE herein at p. //-/2,

Petitioner believes she was denied a
fair trial on this account,in violation

of her Fifth and Fourteenth Amendment right

right to due process.

She was predjudiced by this because

she did not properly prepare to meet the
evidence,

*‘pacing'/but concentrated rather,on the
radar evidence. Ms. KELLEY had two wit-
nesses to testify as to the multiple ob-
structions to the accuracy of a radar read-
ing, but was so surprised by the Judge's
statement that it wasn't the cause of her
arrest and then his refusal to strike the
radar evidence and testimony of the arrest-

ing officer she totally forgot to call

said witnesses. She believes this denied

her
/a fair trial, denying her due process of

law. 5th Am. & 14th Am., U.S.Const. See:
T.Tr.- 2/28/86 - p. 25,26

In addition, the radar is a fatally
flawed system, since there is no way a
motorist can verify that the ‘locked in
speed’ they see,was actually theirs. It
could be left over from another motorist.
It rests only on the Officer's word and if
he is under a quota system, he may be
tempted to cheat on a'slow'day.T.Tr.-2/

28/86 - p.26.

ARGUMENT III

Petitioner believes that 23 U.S.C.154

(£)(5) mandates a quota system. (See T.Tr.-
2/28/86-p.34 to 36). The Appellate Court
disagrees.See App. Op. A- & ,p 79-80 here-

on.

If it does mandate a quota system,
it is unfair, denying due process, creat-
ing an

/incentive for false arrests, through the

threat to withhold federal highway funds

if there aren't a sufficient number of
"speeders' caught. Again, this is a de-
nial of due process by its inherent un-
fairness. 5th Am. & 14th Am., U.S.Const.
Coupled with the ‘fatally flawed'

radar system, the leeway here for false
charges, in order to obtain federal
funds is far too great.
ARGUMENT IV
The Highway Patrol Officer's credi-

bility is on the line because he testified
that he ‘checked’ his ‘pace clock’ which
he testified was between 68 mph and 70 mph,
with the radar which was locked in at 73
mph. and 73mph is the reading that Ms.
Kelley observed when she asked to look at
it. HOW could he check a 68-70 mph speed
with a locked in speed of 73 and claim
they matched?See T.Tr. -, 2/28/86 - p.28

"I would say I probably looked
down three or four times and at one
point even activated the radar to
check the speedometer against the
radar." Officer's testimony T.Tr.
supra p.28 4 areas

This also goes to a denial of due pro-
_cess under Petitioner's Fifth and Four-
teenth Amendment rights.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a Writ of Certi-
orari should issue, to review the judg-
ment and opinion of the Ohio Court of
Appeals for the Eleventh District, con-

firmed by the Ohio Supreme Court.

DATED: Ligunl Uf ,1988.

Respectfully submitted,

nike peer In Pro Se
6605 Sutton Dr.
N. Olmsted, Ohio

#44070
(216) 779-9954

APPENDIX

@$2<

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
AND STATUTES =—S

U.S.CONSTITUTION

Article VI (pertinent part only)

All...Engagements entered into,
before the Adoption of this Con-
stitution, shall be as valid
against the United States under
this Constitution, as under the
Confederation. ...

lst Amendment
Congress shall make no law re-
specting an establishment of re-
ligion, or prohibiting the free
exercise thereof; or abridging
freedom of speech, or of the
press; or the right of the people
to peaceably to assemble, and to
petition the Government for a re-
dress of grievances.

5th Amendment (pertinent part only)

No person shall be...deprdived of
..-Liberty or property, without

due process of law, --- A-\
aBSa

9th Amendment

The enumeration in the Constitu-
tion of certain rights, shall not
be construed to deny or disparage

others retained by the people.

10th Amendment

The powers not delegated to the

United States by the Constitution,
nor prohibited to it by the States,
are reserved to the States respec-

tively, or to the people.

14th Amendment (pertinent part only)
-»-No State shall make or enforce
any law which shall abridge the
privileges or immunities of citi-

zens of the United States; nor

shall any State deprive any per-
son of...liberty, or property,
without due process of law;...

Ordinance of 1787 (pertinent part
only)

§14 It is hereby ordained and de-

clared, by the authority afore-

-54-

jurisdiction in excess of fifty-
five miles per hour,...

(£)(GS) (pertinent part only)
For the twelveemonth period ending
September 30, 1983 and for each
succeeding twelve-month period
thereafter, if the data submitted
by a State pursuant to subsection
(c) of this section for that year
show the percentage of motor ve-
hicles exceeding fifty-five miles
per hour is greater than 30 per
centum, the Secretary shall reduce
the State's approtionment of Fed-
eral-aid highway funds under each
of sections 104(b)(1), 104(b) (2)
and 104(b)(6) of this title (23
usCcU 8104(b)(1),(2) and (6) in an
aggregate amount of up to 10 per
centum of the amount to be appor-
tioned for the fiscal year ending
September 30, 1985 and for each

succeeding fiscal year thereafter.

-54a-

said, that the following articles
shall be considered as articles
of compact, between the original
States and the people and States
in said territory, and forever
remain unalterable, unless by
common consent, to wit:

ARTICLE IV (pertinent part only)
The navigable waters leading into
the Mississippi and Saint Lawrence,

and the carrying places between

the same, shall be common highways,

and forever free...without any tax
impost or duty therefore.
U.S.STATUTES

23 U.S.C. 154{a) (Pertinent part

only)
National iaximum speed limit - The

Secretary of Transportation shall

not approve any project under sec-
tion 106 (23.USCS 8106)in any State
which has(1) a maximum speed limit

on any public highway within its
-55-

OHIO STATUTES

4507.02 (pertinent part only)

License required as operator or
chauffeur; prohibition against un-
licensed operation on private prop-
erty

No person,except those expressly
exempted under sections 4507.03,
4507.04, and 4507.05 of the Revised
Code shall operate any motor vehicle
upon a highway or any public or pri-
vate property used by the public for
purposes of vehicular travel or park-
ing in this state unless such person,
upon application, has been licensed
as an operator or chauffeur by the
registrar of motor vehicles under sec-
tions 4507.01 to 4507.39, inclusive,
of the Revised Code.

No person shall permit the opera-
tion of a motor vehicle upon any pub-
lic or private property used by the
public for purposes of vehicular

travel or parking knowing such op-

erator does not have a valid license,

as an operator or chauffeur, issued
to such operator by the registrar of
motor vehicles under sections 4507.01
to 4507.39, inclusive, of the Rev-
ised Code.

4511.21 Speed limit modifications

(D) No person shall operate a
motor vehicle, trackless trolley, or

streetcar upon the streets or high-
ways at a speed exceeding fifty-five

miles per hour.

THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO
COLUMBUS

1988 TERM
To wit: June 15, 1988

State of Ohio, :
Appellee, : Case No. 87-1665

Vv. : REHEARING ENTRY
Claire Kelley, : (Portage County)
Appellant. :

IT IS ORDERED by the Court that rehear-
ing in this case be, and the same is here-

by, denied.

THOMAS J. MOYER
Chief Justice

I, Marcia J. Mengel, Clerk of the Su-

preme Court of Ohio, do hereby certify
that the foregoing order was correctly
copied from the records of said Court,
to wit, from the Journal.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto
subscribed my name and affixed the seal

of said Supreme Court, on this 15th day

of June, 1988. MARCIA MENGEL CLERK
A-2

=$he

THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO
COLUMBUS

1988 TERM
To wit: June 15, 1988

State of Ohio, :
Appellee, : Case No. 87-1666

Vv. : REHEARING ENTRY
Claire Kelley, : (Portage County)
Appellant. :

IT IS ORDERED by the Court that rehear-
ing in this case be, and the same is here-
by, denied.

THOMAS J. MOYER
ef Justice

I, Marcia J. Mengel, Clerk of the Su-

preme Court of Ohio, do hereby certify
that the foregoing order was correctly
copied from the records of said Court,
to wit, from the Journal.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto
subscribed my name and affixed the seal

of said Supreme Court, on this 15th day

of June, 1988. MARCIA MENGEL CLERK
A-3

«Ste

THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO
COLUMBUS

1988 TERM
To wit: May 11, 1988
State of Ohio, :
Appellee, : Case Nos. 87-1665
and 87-1666
Vv.

Claire Kelley, : ENTRY
Appellant. :

These causes are pending before the
Court on the filing of motions for
leave to appeal from the Court of
Appeals for Portage County and as
appeals as of right from said Court.
Upon consideration thereof,

IT IS ORDERED by the Court, sua
sponte, that these causes be and the
same are hereby, dismissed.

COSTS: Motion Fee, $20.00, paid by
Claire Kelley

COSTS: Motion Fee, $20.00, paid by
Claire Kelley

A-4 THOMAS J. MOYER
Chief Justice

aie

Ne tle et A eT DL Sts OME, bm bai Mammy

Pease th

FILED
COURT OF APPEALS
AUG 3 9 22 AM ’87
IN THE COURT OF APPEALS
DELORES REED, CLERK
ELEVENTH DISTRICT

STATE OF OHIO )
SS.
COUNTY OF PORTAGE )

STATE OF QHIO ’
Plaintiff—Appel lee
~ wa «

CLAIRE KELLEY ’

Defendant—Appe! lant
JUDGMENT ENTRY
CASE NO. 1677/1745
For the reasons stated in the
opinion of this court, it fs the
judgment and order of this court that
the judgment of the trial court is

affirmed.

DONALD R. FORD

PRESIDING JUDGE
FOR THE COURT

JRIS PG 286 A- t

-6l-

FILED
COURT OF APPEALS
AUG 3 9 22 AM ’87
DELORES REED
CLERK

COURT OF APPEALS
ELEVENTH DISTRICT

PORTAGE COUNTY

JUOGES
HON. DONALD R. FORD, P.J.
HON. ROBERT E. COOK, J.
HON. JUDITH A. CHRISTLEY,J.

STATE OF OHIO ’
Plaintiff—-Appel lee

CLAIRE KELLEY :

Defendant—Appe! lant

CASE NOS. 1677 & 1745

OP IN ION

JUL 31 1987

CHARACTER OF PROCEEDINGS:
Criminal Appeal from Portage
County Municipal Court
Case No. R 85 TRD 15065 S

JUDGMENT: AFFIRMED. A-l

@62-

ne ren

cea seo

JOHN PLOUGH, PROSECUTING ATTORNEY
KEVIN POLAND, ASSISTANT PROSECUTOR
466 South Chestnut street

Ravenna, Ohio 44266

(for Plaintiff—-Appel lee)

CLAIRE KELLEY, PRO SE

6605 Sutton Drive

North Olmsted, Ohio 44070
(for Defendant—Appe!l lant )

FORD, P.J.,

On October 8, 1985,
defendant-appel lant, Claire Kelley,
was arrested for speeding, R.C.
4511.21(D), and for operating a motor
vehicle without a valid driver’s
license, R.C. 4507.02. At her initial
appearance in the Portage County
Municipal Court, appellant entered a
plea of not guilty to the charges.

On December 2, 1985, appellant
filed a motion to suppress ali

evidence resulting from the use of a

radar speed measuring device and, on

December 27, 1985, appellant filed a

motion to dismiss the charges against

her. Both of the subject motions were
grounded upon various constitutional
arguments advanced by appellant. A
hearing was subsequently conducted on
appellant’s motions, at the conclusion
of which the trial court overruled
them.

Thereafter, on February 28, 1986,
appellant was tried before the court
on the speeding violation, found
guilty, and fined $50.00, plus court
costs. Appellant appealed the trial
court’s judgment in Case No. 1677.
With respect to the driver’s license
violation, the record reflects that a
bench trial commenced on the matter on
May 20, 1986. Appellant was
ultimately adjudged guilty of the
charged offense and fined $500.00 and
costs. The trial court then suspended
the sentence on condition that

appellant obtain a valid Ohio driver’s

afin

license. Appellant appealed this
conviction in Case No. 1745. These
cases were consolidated for submission
to this court. The appellant presents
the following assignments of error In

each case.

1677

1. The municipal court erred in
refusing to rule on the constitutional
issues presented by Ms. Kelley’s
motion to dismiss thereby denying her
due process of law.

2. The municipal court erred in
denying Ms. Kelley’s motion to
suppress radar evidence.

3. Due process was denied Ms. Kel ley
due to the element of surprise by the
court and the prosecution.

4. It is error to have a mandated
quota system.

5. It {is error to ascribe credibility
to a witness who gives conflicting
testimony.

1745

1. The municipal court erred in
refusing to rule on the constitutions!
issues presented by Ms. Kelley’s

o6S$<

motion to dismiss as to ORC 4507.02
thereby denying her due process of
law.

2. The municipal court erred in
denying Ms. Kelley’s motion tc dismiss
as to 4507.02.

3. The municipal court erred in
denying Ms. Kelley’s renewed motion to
dismiss for inability to obtain a fair

trial, presented orally to the court
immediately preceding trial.

1677

In the first assignment of error,
appellant argues that the trial court
erred in refusing to rule on the
various constitutional arguments made
by appellant with respect to the
validity of the 55 m.p.h. speed
limit. The assignment is without
merit.

Generally, the party challenging
the constitutionality of a statute
bears the burden of demonstrating the
alleged unconstitutionality. Here

appellant had the onus of

demonstrating any such infirmity with

erica OA CoP nity AAI A Nl vis eS as

respect te che statutory 55 m.p.h.
speed limit, by introducing evidence
that the challenged law is unrelated
to the public health, safety, weifare,
or morals. 16 Ohio Jurisprudence 3d
(1979), Constitutional Law, Section

148, states:

"It is well established that
the burden of showing the
unconstitutionality of a statute
or ordinance is upon the one
challenging its validity. This
is In consequence of the genera!
presumption in favor of the
validity of legislation. The
proof of unconstitutionality must
be clear and beyond a reasonable
doubt.”

The record reflects that, prior
to overruling appellant’s motion to
dismiss, the trial court correctly
informed appellant that:

"THE COURT: The presumption is

that legislation ifs

constitutional. You can raise
the constitutional question, but

the legal presumption is that any
ordinance, anything that is

-67-

passed, is presumed to be
constitutional.”

Appellant has not met this
burden. She merely argues that since
the primary underlying rationale for
the 55 m.p.h. speed limit was the
energy crisis of the late 1970’s with
emphasis on fuel conservation, which
for many years has not had economic
and marketing impact, R.C. 4511.21
should not be enforced. This
argument, however, fails to
acknowledge the public safety
considerations upon which this speed
limit law was based, which is clearly
within the realm of valid legislative
purview.

With express specificity to
appellant’s first assignment, an
examination of the record in this case
clearly manifests that the trial!

court’s action in overruling

-68-

A ee

appellant’s motion to dismiss was
directly responsive to appellant’s
arguments dealing with her claims of
unconstitutional ity.

Appellant articulates the
applicability of the Northwest
Ordinance to buttress her
constitutional violation claims
regarding a lack of a showing of the
corpus delecti of the traffic
infringement involved here.
Appellant’s logic regarding the
Northwest Ordinance !s misplaced as
will be demonstrated infra. A reading
of R.C. 4511.21(D) discloses that it
does not contain any element which
provides that injury to property or
person must occur before it is
violated. Consequently, appel lant’s
contention that the finding of guilty
for speeding under this statute

violates Art.II of the Northwest

-69-

Ordinance, Art.I., Section 16 of the
Ohio Constitution and Fifth and
Fourteenth Amendments of the United
States Constitution because the state
did not submit evidence and prove that
the speeding act of the appellant did
not injure @ person or property as
part of the corpus delecti is without
substance.

Appellant also includes a
jurisdictional argument under this
assignment, which deals primarily with
her constitutional claims. Her logic
and analysis here is at best obscure
and federal law gives rise to origina!
jurisdiction in the United States
District Court. She urges that a
federal! question arises under 23
U.S.C. 154(A)(7). Her litany here
continues with her observation that
“these joint regulatory endeavors

involving both state and federa!

-70-

government and federal! funds give
original jurisdiction to the United
States District Court." She cites
Maine v. Thiboutot (1980), 444 U.S.
1042, pertaining to civil rights
actions, and also 28 U.S.C. 1355(A) (8)
{mn support of this position. The
record here clearly shows that the
alleged speeding violation in question
occurred on a public highway in the
State of Ohio, which, in fact, was a
portion of the Ohio Turnpike. The
principle that a state may reasonably
regulate the speed of motor vehicles
on public highways within its
boundaries is so well entrenched that
this court feels it is wholly
unnecessary to cite authority for this
proposition. Simply stated, the trial
court had jurisdiction over both the
subject matter and person here.

In view of appellant’s failure to

Pia

establish the alleged
unconstitutionality of the continued
enforcement of the 55 m.p.h. speed
limit, her argument must fall.

Appellant’s second assignment of
error challenges the constitutional ity
of R.C. 4511.091, authorizing the use
of radar devices. Again, however,
appellant fails to meet her burden of
demonstrating the purported invalidity
of the challenged legislation.

While appellant directs this
court’s attention to Florida v.
Aquilera (May 7, 1979) Dade County,
the cited case is neither applicable
to nor controlling of the present
facts. Aquilera was a consolidation
of approximately 100 cases brought by
defendants challenging the use of
various radar devices in Dade County,
Florida. In granting the numerous

motions to exclude or suppress

o72@

ee

evidence, the trial court specifically
noted that the challenged devices were
being employed by law enforcement
officers {in the absence of any
training as to the manner or method of
use and any proof that the operators
of these devices were qualified to do
the same. Since training and
experience are prerequisite to the
admissibility of a radar testing
device’s result in Ohio, Aquilera does
not have significant materiality or
impact in this case. Further,
appellant’s position in support of
this issue ignores the fact that there
was other speed measuring evidence
introduced by the state through the
patrolman’s testimony independent of
the radar device employed here that

would provide a separate basis for a

finding of guilty. See Kirtland Hills
v. Logan (1986), 21 Ohio App. 3d 67.

Again, appellant contends that
there was a violation of Art.II of the
Northwest Ordinance of 1787, Article
I, Section 10 of the Ohio Constitution
and the Fifth and Fourteenth
Amendments of the United States
Constitution by virtue of the creation
of statutory presumption pertaining to
a K-55 radar device, which fs
irrational and arbitrary. A reading
of the statute fails to show that it
contains a statutory presumption.
Thus, there is no violation of the
doctrine expressed in U.S. v. Tot
(1943), 319 U.S. 463 of the “rational
connection test."

It is pertinent to note that in
an analysis as to the scientific
accuracy of a moving radar device that
evidence of the presence or absence of
devices that may interdict its

reliability fs not only relevant, but

aPdn

most probative. In the Aquilera tenor
and that of its progeny, we observe
lack of such input {fn the record
before us, although we are aware of
appellant’s rationalization for a
failure to produce evidence on this
point which will be discussed next.

Appellant’s third assignment of
error claims a denial of due process,
advancing that certain statements made
by the arresting officer surprised
appellant to the extent that she
forgot to call two witnesses on her
behalf. The assignment is not wel!
taken.

While it is recognized that
appellant had proceeded pro se
throughout the course of lower court
litigation, this court fs bound by the
rules of criminal and appellate

procedure. Since appellant could and

should have attempted to correct this

purported omission at the trial court
level, but did not, this court is
precluded from reviewing the matter on
appeal.

4 Ohio Jurisprudence 3d (1978)
299-300, Appellate Review, Section
137, provides:

"It is axiomatic that in an
appeal the reviewing court may
consider only that which was

considered by the trial court and
nothing more." Id. at fn. 11.

See, also, Stores Realty Co. v.
Clevelan ar ¢ BB ndards

Bldg. Appeals (1975), 41 Ohio St. 2d
41.

Appel lant’s fourth assignment of
error is predicated on her argument
that the federal government has
imposed a mandated quota system on the
State of Ohio, requiring state law
enforcement officers to arrest a
specified percentage of speed limit

violators per year to insure federally

aFie~

funded aid for highways. See, Section

154, Title 23, U.S. Code. The

pertinent portions of the federal
statute at issue are:

"(1)* * * Cijf the data submitted
by a State pursuant to subsection
(e) of this section show that the
percentage of motor vehicles
exceeding fifty-five miles per

r h " rt ionment

| of Federal-aid highway funds
| under each of sections 104(b)(1),
| 104(b) (2), and 104(b)(6) of this

(a) * *.° £33) t ubmitted

#** show t th ercentage of
motor vehicles excees:ng
fifty-five miles per ieur is
greater than 60 per centum, the
Secretary shal) reduce the
State’s apportionment of
Federal-aid highway funds* * *"

"(5) For the twelve-month period
ndin a nd
for h n we | ve-month

period thereafter, if the data
ubmitt t r nt to

subsection (e) of this section
for th r_show that the
percentage of motor vehicles _
exceeding fifty-five miles per
hour _i r r_than r

centum, the Secretary shal!

reduce th tate’s a rtionment
of Federal-aid highway funds

-J7-

C 4 n
an_aggregate amount of up to 10_
per _centum of the amount to be_
apportioned for the fiscal year

ending September 30, 1985, and
for each succeeding fiscal year _
thereafter.”

In the first instance, the record
does not appear to reflect that
appellant raised this issue at the
trial court level, resulting ina
waiver of the argument on appeal.

Stores Realty, supra.

Further, and assuming arquendo,
that appellant raised this issue at
the proper time, appellant’s objection
to the purported quota system is
wholly without merit. The challenged
quota system was put into effect by
the federal government to insure state
enforcement of the 55 m.p.h. speed
limit law. Notwithstanding
appellant’s assertions to the

contrary, the power of the federa!

» IOs

1 hte SI aD ceri atleast

government, under the commerce clause
(of the U.S. Constitution, to enact a
speed limit law, and to effect any
programs to aid in the enforcement of
this law, is well established and not
subject to dispute.

Finally, appellant has failed to
demonstrate that she was prejudiced as
a result of the alleged quota system.
Appe! lant did not establish, even by
allegation, that the police officer’s
actions in arresting her for exceeding
the 55 m.p.h. law were the result of
the officer’s desire to secure
compliance with the purported quota
system.

A close examination of this
statute does not support appellant’s
position that a literal quota system
for citations is prescribed in
citations and/or arrests by the

federal government for the states at

-79-

the risk of monetary sanctions.
Admittedly, the legislative directives
call for annual reports certifying the
percentage of vehicles exceeding the
posted speed limit of 55 m.p.h. on
public highways. However, there is no
portion of this statute that provides
that this certified information is to
be compiled as a result of actual
citations issued by state law
enforcement officers, or that this is
to be the exclusive method to be
employed by the states to determine
this information.

In view of the foregoing
reasoning, appellant’s fourth
assignment of error is not well taken.

Appellant’s final assignment of
error contends that the arresting
officer’s testimony as to appellant’s
speed of travel! was allegedly

conflicting and, as such, was

-80-

insufficient to support her

conviction. Here, the record
discloses that Sergeant Veppert
testified that when he first observed
appellant’s vehicle at the time in
question she was clocked’ by a moving
radar device at 73 m.p.h., and that
when he pursued her immediately after
this radar clocking, he paced her
speed for approximately one mile at
between sixty-eight to seventy m.p.h..
It is obvious that this testimony is
not conflicting or inconsistent. It
simply is testimonial matter
describing different speed
observations through different
detection techniques at separate time
intervals and places. Again,
appellant fails to establish her
argument in this assignment. Since
the burden of demonstrating the

purported error has not been met by

-8l-

appellant, this assignment is also
found to be without merit.

1745

Appellant’s first assignment of
error in this case !s premised on her
assertion that the trial court refused
to rule on the constitutional
arguments raised by appellant with
respect to appellant’s arrest for
driving witheut @ valid Onfo license.

The record before this court does
not support appel lant’s contention on
this fssue. Rather, the transcript
reflects that, prior to overruling
appellant’s motion to dismiss,
appellant was given ample opportunity
to voice her objections to the
state-imposed driver’s license
requirement. Further, the trial court
correctly informed appellant that:

“THE COURT: The presumption is

that legislation is

constitutional. You can raise
the constitutional question, but

-82-

the llega! presumption is that any

ordinance, anything that is

passed, is presumed to be
constitutional.”

Finally. the record demonstrates
that, after considering appel lant’s
arguments on the issues raised is
appellant’s motion to dismiss, the

trial court determined that appe! lant

. failed to establish the alleged

unconstitutionality of the driver’s

license requirement and overruled

appellant’s motion to dismiss on this
ground. This point appears to be

tacitly admitted by the appellant in
the very language employed by her in

her second assignment of error where

she expressly states that the trial

court “erred in denying Ms. Kelly’s

motion to dismiss as to 4507.02."
Since the record does not support

appellant’s contention in this

assignment, it is determined to be

without merit.

Appellant’s second assignment of
error, which as we have mentioned is
somewhat in conflict with her first
assignment of error, contends that the
trial court erred in overruling her
motion to dismiss. The assignment is
not well taken.

Attention is directed to the
statute which forms the basis of
appellant’s conviction and whose
constitutionality appellant new
challenges.

"No person, except those

expressly exempted uner sections

4507.03, 4507.04, and 4507.05 of

the Revised Code, shal! operate

any motor vehicle upon a highway

“7 any public or private prorerty

used by the public for purposes

of vehicular travel or parking in
this state unless the person hes

@ valid license as an operator or

chauffeur, which license was

fssued upon application by the
registrar of motor vehicles under
sections 4507.01 to 4507.39 of

the Revised Code.” R.C.
4507.02(A)(1).

-84-

Pursuant to R.C. 4507.99,
violation of R.C. 4507.02 constitutes
@ misdemeanor of the first degree.

Appellant first challenges her
conviction under the foregoing statute
on the ground that she did not possess
the requisite intent to violate the
statute, nor did her actions in so
violating it result in harm to any
person or property. Appellant further
challenges her conviction the basis of
due process, asserting that she did
not have notice that it was illegal to
drive in Ohio without a license.

Contrary to appellant’s arguments
on the issues of notice and intent,
the record demonstrates that appe! lant
had previously been issued an
operator’s license but that she let it
expire. In view of this prior
licensing status, it is difficult to

perceive how appellant can contend

af3e

that she did not know it was illegal
to drive in Ohio without a valid

license, or that she did not intend to

violate R.C. 4507.02.
Appellant’s argument regarding
the fact that she was not notified by

legal counsel for the Ohio Bureau of

Motor Vehicles, or by anyone else who
was an agent of the state, nor by any
other appropriate state agency that to
operate a motor vehicle in Ohio
without @ valid operator’s license was
“wrong or impermissible” {is spurious.
Ihis position of appellant applies to
the time sequel after the expiration
of her Ohio operator’s license, and
when she received her citation for
this alleged infraction.

Generally, it is well estab! ished
that notice requirements to the public
or potential offenders, with respect

to a criminal statute, or one that is

~86-

an exercise under the police power,
with respect to the First and
Fourteenth Amendments, are aptly
satisfied when the legislative
enactment informs the citizen with
reasonable precision what act it
intends to prohibit, so that he may
have a certain understandable rule of
conduct and know what acts it is his
duty to avoid. See, 21 American
Jurisprudence 2d (1981) 130, Criminal
Law, section 17. Closely integrated
with this postulate is the requirement
that such legislative enactments in
their syntax be so clear and explicit
that all persons of ordinary
intelligence who are subject to their
penalties will understand their
provisions. State v. Kosloff

Fisheries, Inc. (1960), 16 0.0. 2d

367. This rule is the fundamental!

proscription against language which is

-87-

improperly vague.

Applying the "plain, ordinary,

and natural meaning" standard to the
language contained in R.C. 4507.02, we
fail to see where it does not comply
with constitutional statutory notice
requirements. On the contrary, it is

our view that it clearly indicates the

activity which it intends to prohibit,
namely operating a motor vehicle in
Ohio without a proper and valid
operator’s license. Unequivocally, a
member of the public is being told not
to do that. The appellant’s act of
fashioning her own operator’s license
or I.D. for display purposes after her

Ohio operator’s license expired cannot

satisfy the dictates of this section
of the code that an Ohio resident must
obtain such license issued upon

application by the registrar of motor

vehicles. Nor {s her argument that

having passed the operator’s test
once, the same is sufficient for life,
persuasive either.

Further, we know of no
constitutional, statutory, or common
law duty on the part of the state to
notify members of the public
individually that certain conduct on
their part will subject them to
sanction. Hence, we hold this statute
to be constitutional in this regard.

As stated previously, appellant
also argues that she did not intend to
violate R.C. 4507.02(A)(1), or to
cause injury or damage to person and
property. Again, her position on this
point is misplaced in her analysis of
mens rea, and it indicates a lack of
understanding of the concepts of mala
in se and mala prohibita. Mala
prohibita is defined as fol lows:

"Prohibited wrongs or offenses,
acts which are made offenses by

-89-

positive laws, and prohibited as
such. Acts or omissions which
are made criminal by statute but
which, of themselves, are not
criminal. Generally, no criminal
{ntent or mens rea is required
and the mere accomplishment of
the act or omission is sufficient
for criminal liability. Term is
used in contrast to mala in se
which are acts which are wrongs
in themselves such as robbery."
(Black’s Law Dictionary, Fifth
Edition).

No language is contained in R.C.
4507.02 that specifies any requirement
of intent or culpability. Generally,
the classification of acts as mala in
se or mala prohibita has bearing on
questions raised regarding the degree
or status of intent, culpability, if
any, which may be required to be
established before a valid finding of
guilty may be made. With regard to
mala prohibita matters, it is often
said that no fntent may be necessary

as an element of a given offense, or

at best a general intent rather than a

specific one.

25 Ohio Jurisprudence 3d,
Criminal Law (1981), Section 54,
states, in part:

“ne * *And, while it was said that
the doctrine of crime without
intent applied only to a limited
class of acta mala prohibita,
within this limited field it was
held that when an act was
prohibited by statute, without
including the element of
knowledge or intent, the courts
would not by judicial
construction include such element
@s a necessary part of the

crime. It was also held that
where a statute defining an
offense was silent on the
question of intent, it thereby
indicated the purpose of the
General Assembly to make proof of
@ specific intent unnecessary and
proof of a general intent to do
the proscribed act sufficient.* *

Since intent or culpability is
not an element under R.C.
4507.02(A)(1), it was unnecessary to
prove it, even though there is
sufficient evidence in the record

before us to conclude that the

afin

appellant did, in fact, intend to
operate a motor vehicle in Ohio
without a valid Ohio operator’s
license.

With respect to appel lant’s
position that she could not be
criminally convicted absent a showing
of injury to another person or
property, the statute in question is a
valid legislative attempt to regulate
and maintain public health and safety
on the highway. Obviously, this
statute does not contain any language
that imposes any requirement that
actual injury to person or property
occur in order for it to be violated.
Therefore, appellant’s contention that
the corpus delecti is not satisfied
here is without substance, and we
perceive no violation of the Fifth or

Fourteenth Amendments here nor of

-92-

Article VI of the United States
Constitution or Article I, Section 10
and 16 of the Ohio Constitution, let
alone Article II of the Northwest
Ordinance of 1787, which we wil!
address infra. Pertinently, as aptly
stated by the trial court, one of the
underlying reasons for the licensing
requirement is to insure that those
individuals who are operating motor
vehicies within this state are
competent and capable of doing so. In
view of the legislative power to enact
legislation for the public health,
welfare, safety, and morals, as wel!
as the corresponding ability to enact
legislation to insure compliance with
the relevant law, appellant’s argument
on this fssue must fail.

Appellant finally challenges her
conviction on the ground that driving

an automobile is an implied

-93-

fundamental constitutional right which
cannot be infringed by the state
through the requirement of a driver’s
license.

In support of this particular
constitutional challenge, appellant
relies in part on Article IV of the
Northwest Ordinance:

"The navigable waters leading

into the Mississippi and Saint

Lawrence, AND THE CARRYING PLACES

BETWEEN THE SAME, shal! be common
highways, and FOREVER FREE ***

without ANY tax, impost or duty

therefor.” (Emphasis added).

Her logic here asserts the
syllogism that the operator’s license
fee {s a tax for the right of
travelling the common highways, and
that the substance of this provision
was made a part of Article VI of the
Federal Constitution. It is true that
the Northwest Ordinance holds a

cherished position as a most

progressive document, which had much

-94-

impact on the development and
advancement of many of our basic
rights and freedom. Many of its
features have found continued life in
other tomes. It is equally clear that
the literal legal effectiveness of the
ordinance concluded when Ohio become a
state and adopted its own constitution

which was accepted by the congress of

the United States. State ex rel.

Donahey v. Edmondson (1913), 89 Ohio
St. 93, 101, 105. Nor are we

impressed with appellant’s suggestion
that Ohio did not officially become a
state in 1803. Therefore, we conclude
that this ordinance has no direct,
precedential role in this case.
Turning to her other
constitutional *rguments appellant

states that she is not

constitutionally required to obtain

and possess a valid Ohio operator’s

a§Se

————a—eeeor

license tn order to drive on the
highways of this state since driving
an automobile in this country Is a
constitutional right based on the
First, Fifth, Ninth and Fourteenth
Amendments.

In the first Instance. appellant
faitis to direct this court’s attention
to any case law establishing that the
operation of ae motor vehicie on ea
state highway ifs a constitutional
right that cannot be regulated by the
state. On the contrary. the United
States Supreme Court has stated that:

"The use of the public highways

by motor vehicies, with its

consequent dangers. renders the
reasonableness and necessity of
regulation apparent. The
univereal practice is to register
ownership of automobiles and to
license drivers. Any appropriate
means adopted by the states to
insure competence and due care on
the pert of its licensees and

protect others using the highway
fs consonant with due process.”

Reitz v. Mealey (1941), 314 U.S.
33, 36.

In Bibb v. Navajo Freignt Lines
(1959). 359 U.S. 520. 523-24, the
court stated:

"The power of the State to
regulate the use of its highways
's broad and pervasive. We have
recognized the peculiarly loca!
nature of this subject of safety,
and have upheld state statutes
applicable alike to interstate
and intrastate commerce, despite
the fact that they may have an
impact on interstate commerce ***
The regulation of highways ‘is
akin to quarantine measures, game
laws. and itke local regulations
of rivers, harbors, piers, and
docks, with respect to which the
state has exceptional scope for
the exercise of its regulatory
power, and which, Congress not
acting. have been sustained***’”

It should be noted that the
appellant has inappropriately
convoluted the common-law right to
travel. Smith v. Thompson (1930), 154
S.E. 579, with the privilege to
operate a motor vehicie.

In Onto, the prevailing view has
been thet the operation of a motor

vehicie jurisprudentially has been

-™

viewed as a privilege rather than ea

right. Smith v. Hayes (1955), 60 0.0.

112; Wilsch v. Bencar (1966), 7 Ohio
App. 20 165, 167, 168. The Smith case

held that the state hes an absolute
right under its sovereign police power
to contro! automobile traffic by
regulating the circumstances under
which citizens may be licensed to
operate motor vehicies. It has also
been field In Ohio that one of the
primary purposes of a system of driver
licensing laws in Ohio tis to protect
street users from the dangers of the
conduct of incompetent drivers.

Watson v. Osborne (1948), 51 Ohio Law
Abs. 569. This is a legitimate
compelling interest and exercise under
the police power. There is certainly
@ rational! connection between the
licensing exercise and the activity to

be controlled. Although {ft has been

-98-

held that a driver’s license is an
important property right itself, that
does not control! the outcome here, and
there is no derivative consiusion from
this property right to the effect that
the right to drive an automobile is
fundamental in the constitutiona!
sense. Wells v. Mollay (1975), 402 F.
Supp. 856, 858.

Certainly the denial of an
operator’s license, or its suspension,
is subject to procedural due process.
Panatt v. Taylor (1980), 451 U.S. 527,
540. However, this is not a viable or
contested issue here since there was a
court trial on the subject of
operation without a license afforded.

Touching briefly on appellant’s
freedom of religion argument, in Bell
v. Burson (1971), 407 U.S. 535, 539,
the petitioner was a clergyman whose

ministry reauired him to travel by car

-99-

to cover three rural communities. The
court held that an operator may be
denied a license for appropriate
reasons so long as procedural due
process required by the Fourteenth
Amendment is observed. Surely the
power to deny here is part of the
power phylum to grant, withhold, or
penalize for failure to obtain.

For all of the foregoing reasons,
we find that R.C. 4507.02 is
constitutional in its application to
all facets of this case, and that this
assignment of error is without merit.

The diction employed by appellant
does not state succinctly the gravamen
of her specific claim of error under
her third assignment in this case. It
is her position in this argument that
she filed a motion to dismiss the
citation because of her anticipation

that the jury would not be permitted

-100-

to receive her arguments on what the
law was and how it should apply, as
well as the facts, and make
conclusions on both of these
subjects. In essence, her claim is
that the position taken by the the
trial court with respect to her jury
trial request forced her to waive a
jury trial and submit her case to the
court alone. She urges that this
emasculation of the jury role denies
her a fair trial - hence due process.
She also submits that the proper
constitutional framework for the jury
function is that it should not only be
apprised of the applicable law by the
trial judge, but that fit should have
the power to be instructed that it
"can nullify the law, {f, for any
reason, they believe it to be unjust
or unfair." She further contends in

her brief:

-101-

"The criminal trials referred to
by the Ohio Constitution (Art.lI,
sec.10), and the U.S.
Constitution (Fifth and Sixth
Amendments) were trials ‘per
pais’, that is, a trial ‘by
country’ or trial by ‘the
people’, where they are the
judges, not a trial by
government, where the court is
the judge." (Emphasis in
original).

Thus, she takes the position that
a criminal defendant should be able to
argue to a jury what the applicable
law is and how it should be applied -
that "no judicial fiat can alter that
right.” She also orques that in
courts today “jurors ure lied to by
the court and made to believe they
must take the law as the judge gives
it to them."

While it may have been the

practice in the earlier years of our
country to have permitted juries to
have greater involvement in

determining the law of the case as

-102-

suggested in U.S. v. Moylan (1969),
417 F. 2d 1002, 1006, the Supreme
Court of Ohio had occasion many years
ago to pronounce the law as to the
role of the jury and the trial judge
in a jury trial in Ohio.
52 Ohio Jurisprudence 2d (1962),
Trial, Section 90, at 578, states:
"It is the exclusive province and
solemn duty of the trial court to
determine in every case what the
law is in whatever form
presented, and so advise the jury
and direct the application of the
law to the facts of the case at
bar. An evasion of this duty is
the very negation of law ***"
[and cases cited therein].
Although appellant’s argument
under this assignment is provocative
and somewhat novel, it is not
pristine. This court is not unmindful
that some of the references cited by
appellant here are applied out of

context, and included material that

supports the contra position is

-103-

conveniently ignored.

We remind the appellant that it
is the role of an appellate court
under Ohio law to apply the law as
declared by the Supreme Court of this
state on a given subject. It is most
evident that the Supreme Court of Ohio
has had occasion to declare and
redeclare the law on this topic as
evidenced by the foregoing quotation
and citations found in reference to it
as well in Scaccuto v. State (1928),
118 Ohio St. 397, and its progeny.

The rationale behind this approach is
based on an extensive experience table
which has as its goal the salutory aim
of having a system which will provide
@ greater probability of insuring a
consistent and fairer administration
of the law, instead of leaving it to
the determination by a jury on any

given occasion with the spectrum of

-104-

unpredictable interpretation in view.
Since a basic precept of criminal
justice is the orderly, efficient, and
reliable application of the law,
appellant’s third assignment is wholly
lacking {in merit.

The judgment of the trial court

is affirmed in both cases.

DONALD R. FORD

PRESIDING JUDGE

COOK, J.->
CHRISTLEY, J.» concur

-105-

FRONT SIDE

OHIO DRIVER

CLAIRE KELLEY
6605 SUTTON DR.
NORTH OLMSTED-OH 44070

ignature

icense ae li

RTOOO0001 GLASSES

Date issued |Endorsement

7/30/85 |U.S.CONSTITUTION
AMENDMENTS 1,

5,14

er |Sex
F

e + t
NABILITY |000/{ 00 |0000 5 |8

Wt
140

Hai
L.B

r Eyes
BLU

*CRT - Constitutional Right

-106-

BACK SIDE

NOTICE
1. lst. Amend.: The right to travel

by any means is a constitutional right,
not a state granted privilege. Kent v.
Dulles, (1958) 357 U.S. 1; Slaughter-
House Cases, (1873)16 Wall. 36.

2. 5th Amend.:Constitutional "lib-

erty” embraces the right of all per-
sons to be free from governmental in-
terference with their movements, un-
less they have injured someone in their
person and/or property.

3. 14th Amend.: Prohibits the depri-
vation of constitutional rights, by
making or enforcing any state law which
abridges then.

4. Any interference with said rights,
can subject a person to a Civil Rights
suit (42 USC 1983, 1985(3) & 1986) and/

or to criminal prosecution (18 USC 241,
242.)

5. The undersigned hereby claims

her above-stated rights.
f

Basie ellen.

-108-

No.

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term - 1988

CLAIRE KELLEY, Petitioner,
Vv.

STATE OF OHIO, Respondent

DECLARATION OF SERVICE
(28 U.S.C. 1746 (2) )

I, CLAIRE KELLEY, declare as follows:

1. That my home address is 6605
Sutton Dr., N. Olmsted, Ohio - 44070;

2. That I am a citizen of the United
States, over eighteen years of age;

3. That on ZeeagueZ // 1988
V

I timely mailed, first-class, prepaid,

one copy of PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERT-
IORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT OF OHIO &

~109-

APPENDIX

to each of the following parties, by
United States mail addressed as follows:
JOHN J. PLOUGH, Prosecutor
466 S. Chestnut St.
Ravenna, Ohio - 44266
CHARLES FRIED, Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. = 20530

4, That Mr. FRIED is being served
because 28 U.S.C. 2403(a) may be appli-

cable;

5. That all parties required to be
served have been served;

6. That there is regular communica-
tion between the place of mailing and
the place so addressed;

7. I declare under penalty of per-
jury, that the foregoing is true and

“correct.

EXECUTED On: Laser //___ 1988.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_2194%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
