# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Manzo v. Manzo

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_2094%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 853

## Text

way

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UN TROSERTA BAGuon, ue,
October Term, 1988

ANDREW C. MANZO, Petitioner
Vv

LORRAINE M. MANZO, Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

COURT OF SPECIAL APPEALS OF MARYLAND

ae oi, -_ ae

. oe ~£Z ‘4
DREW C. MANZO
755 Elmhurst Road
Severn, MD 21144

(310) 969-1786

-

July 22, 1988 Attorney in Fact

VU

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the procedure of the
Maryland Circuit Court is violative of
the Free Speech Clause of the First
Amendment of the Constitution of the
United States when applied to deny a
citizen his right to present evidence and
state facts which are germane to the
issue before that court, especially as it
pertains to the Court's rationale that it
does not have the time to hear the merits
of the issue and pertains to the court
not wanting to be bothered adjudicating
certain issues.

2. Whether the procedure of the
Maryland Circuit Court is violative of
the Due Process clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment of the Constitution when
applied to disregard a state law and
violate that state law and deprive a
citizen of property and also deny him
egual protection of the laws.

i

3. Whether the actions, procedures and
rationale of Maryland Circuit Court are
violative of the Unusual Punishment
clause of the Eighth Amendment of the
Constitution of the United States as
applied to denying a citizen equal
protection under the law because he was
married for 30 years and did not have a
property settlement agreement.

4. Whether the actions, procedures
and rationale of a Maryland@ Circuit Court
of Special Appeals of Maryland are
violative of the Deprivation of Property
Clause, the Due Process Clause, and the
Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth
Amendment of the constitution of the
United States when applied to
disregarding the stipulations of a
Federal Statute and depriving a citizen

of those rights and property guaranteed

to him by that Statute.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED... .cccccccccee i

OPINIONS BELOW. eoeeneeeegeserererskhe#ee#s e*ee#eersekfeesee. 1
JURISDICTION... cc cccccvce ccoccccces 2
STATUTE INVOLVED...... coccccccsese SF

STATEMENT OF THE CASE...ccccccccee 7

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT..... 18

CONCLUSION o-oo 2-2 & eeeeseeenst#ee#ee#e#treeenree#eer#28fe#ee#s¢ 21

APPENDIX..... ae & & F&F Fe e*eeee*ee@eseses#e@eertke#e# 22

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page
Arthur V. Arthur, Ind. CtApp 2 Dist 16

No. 49102-8610 CV-382, 2/18/88

Bender v. Bender 282 Md. 525, 386 A.2d 1

ur

772 (1978)

Crawford v. Crawford Md. 443 A.2d 13,15
599, (1982)

Harper v. Harper 294 Md. 54 448 15
A.2a 916 (1982)

Mazigqgue v. Mazicue 356 F.2d 801 123 16
US App D.C.

Orr v. Orr (1979) 440 US 268, 99 S 16
Ct 1102, 59 L Ed 2d 306

Wallace v. U.S. 309 F. Supp 748 16

Ward v. Ward 52 Md. App 336, 449 15

K.2a 443 (1982)

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1988

ANDREW C. MANZO, Petitioner
Ve

LORRAINE M. MANZO, Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

COURT OF SPECIAL APPEAI:S OF MARYLAND

The Petitioner Andrew C. Manzo
respectfully prays that a writ of
certiorari issue to review the judgment
and opinion of the Court of Special
Appeals of Maryland, entered in the above

entitled proceeding on December 3, 1987.

IV

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Special
Appeals of Maryland is not reported and
is reprinted in the appendix hereto,

p. 4a infra.

The judgment of Divorce of the

Circuit Court for Anne Arundel County

appears in the appendix hereto, p. 8a

inftfa.:

No. A-972

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1988

ANDREW C. MANZO, Petitioner
4

LORRAINE M. MANZO, Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

COURT OF SPECIAL APPEALS OF MARYLAND

“4 4
ES a edhe =< /. ‘

ANDREW C. MANZO

755 Elmhurst Road

Severn, MD 21144

(310) 969-1786

July 22, 1988 Attorney in Fact

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of Special
Appeals of Maryland, affirming the
judgment of the Circuit Court was entered
December 3, 1987. See Appendix p. 4a,
infra. A petition for a Writ of
Certiorari to the Court of Appeals of
Maryland was filed and denied on March 8,
1988.

A supplemetary notice of appeal to
this Court was timely filed in the Court
of Appeals of Maryland on March 31, 1988.

This Petition for Writ of
Certiorari. (30 day extension was granted
by Justice Rhenguist on June 22, 1988).
The Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 26 U.&.C. #1257 (3}.

STATUTES AND RULES
The Constitution of the United States
First Amendment
Ninth Amendment
Eighth Amendment
Fourteenth Amendment
Public Law 97-252 (10 USC - $ 1408)
Maryland Marital Property Act
Annotated Code of Maryland:
$3-6A-02
$3-6A-03
$3-6A-04
$3-6A-05
$3-6A-06

$3-6A-08

HOW THE FEDERAL QUESTIONS ARE RAISED
At the earliest stage of the

proceedings the petitioner raised the
claims, ina letter to the presiding
judge, (app. p. 6a), in a motion for a
rehearing, and in his appeal to the
Special Court of Appeals that the Judge's
refusal to let the petitioner speak on
his own behalf was unconstitutional as to
the free speech provision of the First
Amendment. Prior to the initial
proceedings, Petitioner was informed by
both attorneys that he did not want to
hear from the Petitioner regarding
property since the petitioner had been
married for 30 years-during which time he
should have been able to complete a
property settlement agreement with his
wife! Does this not violate the Eighth
Amendment, cruel and unusual punishment,

not even for a crime, but simply for

having been married for 30 years? Also,

in not allowing the Petitioner Free
Speech, he denied him Equal Protection
and Due Process in violation of the Ninth

and Fourteenth Amendments.

The Fourteenth Amendment claim was
reiterated with respect to a rehearing

with the same judge. Here the court
indicated that he divides property his
way, regardless of any laws indicating to
the contrary - in this case the Maryland
Marital Property Act. The Constitution
of the United States does not allow a
state to deprive a person of property
without due process of law.

The Petitioner reiterated his claims

_
-~
+

to the Ninth and Fourteenth Amendments in
the Court of Special Appeals and the
Maryland Court of Appeals. The Court of

Appeals refused to review P.L.

rh

97-252 for legality, stating only that

~

the payment is illegal, the Federal

Government will not make payment.
Z

This again was a deprivation of Due
Process since the Military pay centers do
not review for legality, they only pay

the amount that is stipulated. They do

not adjudicate the legality of the

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The petitioner, Andrew C. Manzo, was
married to the respondent, Lorraine M. Manzo
in Los Angeles, California on April 1,
1955. In June 1956 she deserted her home
and a new born child. After three weeks,
he allowed her to return. Respondent
again deserted in May, 1957. After a few
weeks, he again allowed her to return to
the home. She again deserted in 1960.
Again, he listened to her pleadings and
her promises, felt sorry for her and let
her return to the family.

The fourth time that respondent
deserted was December 20, 1971. This was
10 days before petitioner was to retire
from the Air Force. This time, she
returned to her home in Canada, attended
college, attained degrees and commenced
teaching school in Nova Scotia. During
this period, petitioner attempted to

obtain a divorce but whenever service was

7

attempted respondent hid from the server.

In 1975, Petitioner was raising his
four children, 2 girls ages 13 and 15 and
2 boys, ages 18 and 19. The children
introduced him to a woman, their Sunday
school teacher. They were desirous of
having her for a mother and she felt that
way toward the children. In order to get
married, the petitioner obtained a
unilateral Haitian divorce.

In October 1976, Respondent came to
Maryland and succeeded in having the
Haitian divorce declared null and void.
Petitioner was not desirous of living in
sin in front of his four young children.
He discussed this with them and severed
the relationship with their 'new' mother.

In June 1977, Respondent contacted
the Petitioner and begged for him to let
her reconcile. She promised that she had
changed, had grown up and would not hurt

him or the children anymore. He allowed

8

her to return to the home.

In May 1982, Petitioner was in
Williamsburg, Virginia attending his
daughter's college graduation. When he
returned home, everything of value was
gone (approx. value: $40,000.00). She
left a note saying that she had moved out
and upon her lawyer's advice, had taken
all items of value.

Above is a broad chronology, the
relevant facts are summarized as follows:
Before the marriage, Petitioner

advised Respondent that he desired
children. She said that was all right as
long as he agreed to be responsible for
raising them. He agreed. However, each
time that she became pregnant she
attempted to abort. She succeeded once.
After having the children, although he
was doing most of the work in raising
them, she continually badgered the

Petitioner to adopt the children out.

9

Of course, he refused. Each time that she
deserted, she said that she did not walk
out on him, but the children because she
could not stand them.

From April 1955 until August 1962,
Petitioner was a civilian. In August
1962 he was recalled to active duty with
the U.S. Air Force and was assigned to
Travis AF Base, California. They
immediately moved into quarters on the
base. There was no hardship involved.
In 1964, he was transferred to Misawa,
Japan. The family joined him in three
months and had quarters on the base.

During the period, the Petitioner's
commander told him that it would be
beneficial to his career if his wife
would join the officers' wives club.
Upon asking her she refused and nothing
more was said. After that, he was passed
over three times for promotion. Later

she did join the wives club. When he

10

tried to thank her, she stated that she
did not join for his benefit, but she
joined in order to take a class in
pattern making!

In 1967 the family was transferred
to Fort Meade, Maryland. Again, they
moved into government quarters on the
post. In 1969, he was on orders for Viet
Nam. Respondent told him that if he
went, she would kill the kids and run
away. Petitioner was given a
humanitarian deferment from the
assignment.

Petitioner was scheduled for
retirement on 31 December, 1971. On
December 20, when he returned from work,
respondent was gone. She left no note.
Later he found out that she went to
Canada to her parent's home. When the
children asked about her, he told them
that she was not feeling well and had

gone to Canada to be with her mother and

11

father. They did not seem to be
disturbed about her leaving.

In 1974, Petitioner sought a divorce
in order to marry his childrens’ Sunday
school teacher. His daughters especially
said that they wanted a mother and they
wished this woman to be their mother. He
was unable to effect service and upon the
advice of an attorney he obtained a
Haitian divorce. He bought a new home in
Severn, Maryland and moved in with his
children and new wife.

n 1976 Respondent traveled to
Maryland and succeeded in having the
Haitian divorce invalidated. Petitioner
then split with his former new wife
because, as the trial judge put it, he
was living in sin and he did not want any
part of that because he was raising two
young daughters.

In 1977, Respondent contacted the

Petitioner and begged to come back into

12

the home. Again, he allowed her to
return.

The last desertion was in May 1982.

Petitioner started divorce
proceedings again in 1983. The first
indications that he was going to be
denied due process occurred on April 4,
1986 when we finally went to court.

Petitioner was approached in the
hallway of the court house by both his
attorney and that of the Respondent. He
was told that the judge was in a hurry
and did not have time to be involved in
dividing up the property. (In the
previous three years, attempts to meet
with respondent for discussion proved
fruitless). The judge, in chambers, had
told the attorneys that the litigants had
been married long enough and should, by
this time have arrived at a property
settlement agreement. If they did not

agree on a settlement, he would just have

13

all the property brought into the house
and sold at auction and the proceeds
Givided fifty percent to each.

There was no mention of the Maryland
Marital Property Act which states that it
is Maryland's policy to adjust the
property interests of spouses fairly and
equitably upon the dissolution of their
marriage, and to give careful
consideration to both monetary and non
monetary contributions by the spouses to
the we \|-being of the family. In this
case, the court's refusal to recognize
this law deprived the Petitioner of
property without due process in violation
of the Fourteenth Amendment and also
denied him equal protection of the law.

Both attorneys continued to badger
and coerce the Petitioner telling him
that he better give her everything and
anything that she wanted and fast, so

that they could "get out of there"!

14

3

All through this hallway proceeding it

was a matter of the lawyer for the
respondent saying “we want this and

that", and the other lawyer saying, "yeh,
give them this and that because the judge
is waiting and he is going to give them
this and that anyway". In reality,
everything that transpired was the
absolute opposite of the letter of the
Maryland Statutes. (Crawford v. Crawford,
Md. 443 A.2d. 599, 1982).

As the result of personal research
after the hearing, Petitioner questioned
the legality of being deprived of his
retired pay since the respondent had not
served the required 10 years with him on
active duty. In the rehearing, the court
stated that the Federal Government would
have to rectify that since it was a
Federal Problem!

In the rehearing on September 10,

1986, the same court admitted that he had

=

his way of doing things, regardless of
the fact that that way may not be in
accordance with state statutes. The
Petitioner was deprived of any part of
his personal property that had already
been taken from him and he was deprived,
without due process of half of what
little he had left, including his
military retired pay, and his house which
he had bought alone during the period
when he had the Haitian divorce.

The case was argued in the Court of
Special Appeals of Maryland on December 3,
1987. Judgment was affirmed.

Again in this instance there was no
mention of the stipulations of the
Maryland Marital Property Act, and no
relief was offered. This court also
declined to research further into the
legality of the disposition of the
military retired pay with respect to the

Former Spouses Protection Act.

16

A petition for a writ of certiorari
to the Court of Appeals of Maryland was

Genied on March 28, 1988.

17

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Circuit Court's method of
conducting the proceedings was in
conflict with the Constitution of the
United States which guarantees equality
and fairness under the law for everyone.
Previous cases which were in violation of
the Maryland Marital Property act were
subsequently reversed in Appeal. (Bender
v. Bender 2828 Md. 525, 386 A.2d 772
(1978); Ward v. Ward 52 Md. App 336 449
A.2d 443 (1982), and Harper v. Harper
294, Md. 54, 448 A. 2d 916 (1982). There
are undoubtedly many similar cases which
are not or have not been filed with the
Court of Appeals and such a disparity of
judgments, in spite of the clarity of
the Maryland Marital Property act
deserve this Court's attention.

The Maryland Marital Property act is
a good, fair, just law and in passing

this law the Maryland legislature demands

18

3

equitable distribution of marital
property upon the dissolution of a
marriage (Crawford v. Crawford, Md. 443,
A.2d, 599, (1982). This philosophy was
substantiated and reiterated in Orr v.
Orr (1979) US 268, 99 S Ct 1102, 59 L Ed
2c 306; Mazigque v. Mazigue 356 F.2d 801
123 US App D.C.; and Wallace v. U.S. 309
R. Supp. 748. Since equality under the
law is guaranteed by the Fourteenth
Amendment of the constitution of the
United States, I believe that this case
deserves this Court’s attention.

Public Law 97-252, the Former
Spouses’ Protection Act allows the states
to consider Military Retirement pay as
marital property within certain
guidelines and stipulations. The
arbitrary disregard of these guidelines
can spell problems for millions of
retired servicemen and women. The

granting of this Writ will give guidance

19

to the lower courts. One state court has
recently decided that the statute can
only be decided prospectively and not
retroactively. (Arthur b. Arthur, Ind Ct
App 2d Dist, No 49102-8610-CV-382,
2/18/88.

Laws are written to serve justice
and if the laws are not followed in the
courts then justice is not served. To
deny the common man the blanket of the
court is to deny him the guidance and
protection which is guaranteed by the
Constitution of the United States. It is
not fair to arbitrarily discriminate as
to which case will get the full time and
attention of the court and which case
will not. The full protection of the
laws involving domestic cases are as
important to that litigant as the
criminal laws are to the person who
deliberately breaks a law by committing a

crime.

20

CONCLUSION

For the various reasons mentioned,
this petition for certiorari should be
granted. Petitioner has worked his way
up the legal ladder and now he approaches
his last opportunity for review and
relief. If he is successful and correct
in arguing that the Circuit Court
arbitrarily denied him his Constitutional
rights, the matter should be remanded to
the Circuit Court for appropriate
disposition.

Respectfully submitted

, S& Le
wr xc = «

Andrew C. Manzo
755 Elmhurst Road
Severn, MD 21144
(310) 969-1786
Attorney in Fact

21

APPENDIX

Order extending time to file
Petition for Writ of Certiorari
Notice of Appeal to the Supreme
Court of the United States

Denial of writ of certiorari

from Court of Appeals of Maryland
Opinion of the Court of Special
Appeals of Maryland. No. 535
Letter from Judge Martin A. Wolff
Letter to Judge Martin A. Wolff
Letter from Kenneth MacFadyn to
Judge Martin A. Wolff

Judgment of Divorce

22

Page

la

2a

8a

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
No. A-972
ANDREW C. MANZO,
Applicant,
Vv.

LORRAINE M. MANZO

ORDER EXTENDING TIME TO FILE PETITION FOR
WRIT OF CERTIORARI

UPON CONSIDERATION of the application
of the applicant,

IT IS ORDERED that the time for filing a

petition for a writ of certiorari in the

above-entitled cause be, and the same is

hereby, extended to and including

July 26, 1988.

s/ William H. Rehnquist
Chief Justice of the United States

Dated this 22nd

day of June, 1988.

la

In the Court of Appeals of the
State of MARYLAND
ANDREW C. MANZO, Appelant
Vv. No. 595
LORRAINE M. MANZO, Appellee,
NOTICE OF APPEAL TO THE SUPREME COURT
OF THE UNITED STATES
Notice is hereby given that
ANDREW C. MANZO, the appellant above named,
hereby appeals to the Supreme Court of
the United States from the final judgment
of the Court of Appeals of the State of
Maryland, denying a Writ of Certiorari,
entered in this action on March 28, 1988.
This appeal is taken pursuant to 28

U.S.C. $1254 (2) and $1257 (1) and (2).

Attorney in fact for Appellant

Andrew C. Manzo

755 Elmhurst Road
Severn, Maryland 21144
(310) 9696-1786

2a

Proof of Service

I HEREBY CERTIFY that on this 31 day

of March, 1988 a copy of the foregoing

Notice of Appeal to the Supreme Court of
the United States was mailed, postage
prepaid, to Fred Howard Silverstein,
Counsel for the Appellee, 835 Court

Avenue, Ellicott City, Maryland 21043.

Andrew C. Manzo
Attorney in Fact

755 Elmhurst Road
Severn, Maryland 21144

2a

ANDREW C. MANZO In the
Vv. Court of Appeals
LORRAINE M. MANZO of Maryland
Petition Docket No. 595
September Term, 187

(No. 535, September Term, 1987
Court of Special Appeals)

ORDER

Upon consideration of the petition
for a writ of certiorari and the answer
filed thereto, to the Court of Special
Appeals/in the above entitled case, it is

ORDERED, by the Court of Appeals of
Maryland, that the petition be, and it is
hereby, denied as there has been no
showing that review by certiorari is
desirable and in the public interest.

/s/ Robert C. Murphy
Chief Judge

Date: March 28, 1988

3a

UNREPORTED

IN THE COURT OF SPECIAL APPEALS

OF MARYLAND

NO. 535

September Term, 1987

ANDREW C. MANZO

Ve.

LORRAINE M. MANZO

Gilbert, C.J.
Karwacki
Wenner

JJ.

PER CURIAM

4a

Andrew C. Manzo seeks to set aside
the terms of a separation agreement which
was entered on the record in open court
in the Circuit Court for Anne Arundel
County.

Following the decree incorporating
the agreement, Manzo moved to Alter or
Amend on the ground that he was acting
under duress at the time he entered into
the agreement. Judge Wolfe, who had
heard the divorce case together with the
agreement, ruled otherwise. This appeal
ensued.

In this Court Manzo raised three
issues, namely:

"I. The trial court erred in
refusing to set aside the
separation agreement
between the parties on the
grounds of coercion and

duress.

4a

II. It was clearly erroneous
for the court to order
direct payment to appellee
of a percentage of
appellant's military
pension.

III. The essential terms of the
separation agreement were
SO vague and uncertain as
to render the agreement
unenforceable."
I.

A review of the record discloses
that the trial judge heard the evidence
relative to the alleged duress. He also
had the advantage of recalling the
appearance and demeanor of appellant when
the parties entered into the open court
property ee ee agreement. A trial
judge's fact finding, in a non-jury
trial, may only be set aside if it is
Clearly erroneous. Md. Rule 1086.

4a

From our vantage point we are unable to
Geclare that Judge Wolfe's fact finding
was clearly erroneous.

o

Even if we assume arguendo that the

circuit court erred in directing payment
to the former Mrs. Manzo of a percentage
of a military pension due Mr. Manzo, the
assumption means naught to appellant. If
the payment is illegal under federal law,
the federal government will not make
payment. Consequently, Manzo will not be
harmed by an erroneous decree. On the
other hand, if the appellee's position is
right that the pension was properly
divided, provided reserve time is
counted, the decree will be correct.
Moreover, if the decree is subsequently
determined to be illegal, either party
may petition the circuit court to strike
the illegal portion of the decree. In

any event, Mr. Manzo would still be bound

4a

to pay personally the percentage he

agreed in open court to pay.
Iii.

Neither the circuit court nor we
believe that the property agreement, as
dictated into the record of the trial, is
"so vague and uncertain as to be
unenforceable." We have read the record
of the April 1986 hearing, and we believe
the agreement dictated into the record
and assented to by the parties is clear
in its terms.

JUDGMENT AFFIRMED.

COST TO BE PAID BY APPELLANT.

$a

State of Maryland
FIFTH CuDICIAL CIRCUIT
Anne Arundel County Courthouse
Annapolis
21401

June 24, 1986

Andrew C. Manzo
755 Elmhurst Road
Severn, Maryland 21144

RE: Manzo v. Manzo
Divorce No. 3206925

Dear Mr. Manzo:

I received your letter of June 23,
1986 in which you outlined as to how you
were pressured to reaching an agreement
in your divorce case. I have no
Knowledge of what took place between you
and the attorneys and, in fact, do not
have a clear recollection of what took
place in court on April 4. If you wish
to have the agreement set aside I suggest

that you contact an attorney for advice

5a

as to how you may proceed.
Because this is an adversary

proceeding, I am not allowed to give you

any advice.

Andrew C. Manzo

755 Elmhurst Road
Severn, Maryland 21144
June 23, 1988

Circuit Court for Anne Arundel County
Court House

Annapolis, Maryland 21401

ATTN: The Honorable Martin A. Wolff

RE: Manzo v. Manzo
Divorce No. 3206925

Dear Judge Wolff:

My attorney, upon my querry, has
informed me that it is within the realm
of decorum for me to write a letter
directly to you.

My case was heard on April 4, 1986,
or, at least, part of the case was heard.
Before the time for the hearing, my
attorney, kenneth MacFadyen, accompanied
by my wife's attorney, Fred Silverstein,
approached me in the crowded hallway of
the court house and pounced upon me and
hurriedly told me that you refused to

hear the case in regards to a property

6a

settlement and you gave us a few minutes
to arrive at a property settlement or
else you were going to have Mrs. Manzo
bring back every thing that she had
removed from the house back to the house,
put it in the middle of the living room,
call in an auctioneer and have everything
auctioned off and split the proceeds
fifty-fifty. My attorney then kept
telling me that I better give them
everything that they want or else I will
not get anything. Neither one of them
gave me a chance to think. The way that
they kept coming at me I was numb and
dumbfounded. Any issues of my rights in
my house or my military pension were cast
aside and both of them kept pushing me to
give Silverstein anything that he wanted
and to this, MacFadyen agreed readily.

He never argued anything that Silverstein
asked for, or rather, told me to give to

him. All the while, Mrs. Manzo was not seen.

6a

In prior consultations with
MacFadyen, he said that he was going to
research all the laws because he thought
that under the circumstances, those of my
wife having a history of not helping me
raise the children and then continually
deserting and abandoning them and always
refusing in anyway to be a good wife and
a good mother, that I could get credit
for all the payments and improvements
which I had put into the house. Also
that I could get half credit for the
$40,000 worth of personal property which
she had removed from the house.

I also kept asking him to look into
the State and Federal law regarding my
military retirement pay. We had less
than 10years on active duty while married
and because of her conduct as a wife and
the intent of the law, I probably would
not lose any of my pension because of her

conduct. She walked out on the security

6a

ee

EO —~™

ieee aE be ES shies

and did not deserve to be awarded any of
it. As it is, she earns as much as I do
and has less liabilities. Later, Mr.
MacFadyen told me that he did not have
time to research the laws and he took me
into the hearing unprepared for the
hearing and was evidently quite happy
when you laid out your ultimatum.

Later, after consulting with other
attorneys, I realized that I had been sold
down the river. One of the worst matters
was when I was expecting to be consulted
regarding the judgment and I discovered
that the other attorney had written it.
MacFadyen told me that he had "sloughed
off the work" onto Silverstein. Of
course, it was not written in accordance
with what had been decided. Primarily
that since we had less than ten years on
active duty, I would send the check.
Secondly, that the correct percentage

was closer to 17%, since my reserve time-

6a

out of marriage - gave me 26 years for
pay wai according to page 1087 of the
Family Law Reporter, benefits earned out
of marriage are not good. These matters
I mentioned to MacFadyen before he
"sloughed off the work"!

Mr. MacFadyen for the last year has
paid no attention to me or my case. I
told him that I did not agree with

anything and I was coerced into the so

called agreement. He told me, in effect,

to forget about it and lay down and die
peacefully!

Mr. Silverstein had continually
refused to bring Mrs. Manzo and me
together to discuss a property settlement
even though 90 percent of the property,
including the house, was purchased at one
time or another while Mrs. Manzo was in
one of her 5 states of desertion and

abandonment, so I never did get a day in

court. I am sure that under all the laws

6a

I am entitled to at least 50 percent of
what I bought. She brought nothing into
the home of material value and very
little in the way of love or family
harmony, (she always stated that she
hated the children), but I stuck it out
for many years and suffered because I
believed in the sanctity of marriage.
Now I am made to suffer two-fold.

All I ask is a' little justice but .
everyone appears to want to deny me that
also. It took me a while, after the
shock of the numbness wore off to realize
how I had been coerced and made under
duress to agree to give away everything
that I had worked so hard for for so many
years with absolutely no help form my
Spouse. In fact, she deserted in 1971,
five days before Christmas and ten days
before I was to retire from the military,
leaving me with four children ages 9 and

15. I struggled and raised them myself

6a

and today they are all good successful
citizens. One of my daughters just
graduated from Law school at William and
Mary and is working as an attorney in
Richmond, Virginia.

I was foolish enough to let her
talk me into letting her back into the
household in 1977. (She promised that she
had grown up and wouid be happy because
the children were grown up). She
deserted again in 1982 when all of a
sudden she started hating all men and all
people named Manzo! She even denies the
existence of our granddaughter.

Your honor, I am not asking for
anything that I do not deserve, only
eguality. I would like to have the so
called agreement set aside, for Mrs.
Manzo gave up nothing and I was made to

give everything away-what little I had

left.

I will appreciate some fairness and

justice.

Respectfully yours,

Andrew C. Manzo

6a

ye 6
=o ed

~ = “¥
ee ed

> . 7 . . © .

Ce Sata wees AO A em _——

re te

1a ON

Ss ee
oy ue, eT E “ be wousye ALY” OTEL

Ta a weeny a wr:

ee 2 # Boe” a

FRIEDMAN, GLORIOSA, COHEN & MACFADYEN, P.A.
Eighth Floor - INA Building
303 East Fayette Street

Baltimore, Maryland 21202

June 12, 1986
Circuit Court for Anne Arundel County
Court House

Annapolis, Maryland 21401

ATTN: The Honorable Martin A. Wolff

RE: Manzo v. Manzo
Divorce NO. 3206925

Dear Judge Wolff:

In supplement to a letter to the
Clerk of the Court dated June 4, 11986
from Mr. Silverstein, my client has
advised me that I may not sign the Order
in the form proposed by Mr. Silverstein
for two reasons. First, he believes he
did not agree to having a portion of his
Air Force check set forth in the
agreement sent directly to Mr.

Silvertein's client. Second, he believes

7a

——————

PAW NE BS POPS aN Waa gn

I have misadvised him with respect to his
pension and has indicated to me that he
has received advice from military
advisors that there is a requirement of
ten (10) years of marriage before
military pension may be considered as
marital property by the states.

At the moment, it appears I am still
representing Mr. Manzo, and if an Order
is signed in the form presented, I am
instructed by Mr. Manzo to file @
Petition for Reconsideration.

I shall wait to hear from you after
your consideration of Mr. Silverstein's
Order.

Very truly yours,

Kenneth J. MacFadyen

KJM/cab

7a

FON DR pA VP ON IS ye PCS) NED PAG
|

ANDREW C. MANZO IN THE
Plaintiff CIRCUIT COURT

vs. FOR

LORRAIN M. MANZO ANNE ARUNDEL COUNTY
Defendant DIVORCE #3206925

es

JUDGMENT OF DIVORCE

This cause having been duly
submitted to the Court on the 4th day of
April, 1986, and testimony having been
taken thereon,

It is thereupon, this 16 day of
June, 1986, by the Ciruit Court for Anne

Arundel County.

ORDERED that the said ANDREW C.
MANZO, the above-named Plaintiff, be and
he is granted a DIVORCE A VINCULO
MATRIMONTIT from the Defendant,

WORRAINE My Manae,

TT 18 FURTHERED ORDERED that the
Agreement set forth en the reeerd in epen
eourt en the 4th day of April, 1986,

fa

relative to alimony, property rights,
Court costs, etc., be and the same is
hereby approved and made a part thereof
and incorporated in the Judgment, having
the same force and effect as if fully set
forth herein.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that no right
of alimony shall accrue onto either of
the parties hereto, by virtue of their
express waiver thereof.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that this is a
gualified domestic relations order as
defined in Article 10 Section 1408 of the
United States code, as from time to time
amended. In accordance therewith, the
military retirement payment of retired or
retained benefits, from the disposable
retired or retainer pay of a former
member of the armed serviced, the actual
payment thereof coming from the Air Force
Accounting and Finance Center RPT located

in Denver, Colorado 80279 to

8a

Andrew C. Manzo, social security
#04418709, the participant in the
retirement program who is presently
living at 755 Elmhurst Road, Severn,
Maryland 21144 is the retirement plan
which is subject to this Order. The
alternate payee is Lorraine M. Manzo who
presently resides at 8073 Green Orchard
Road, Apartment 22, Glen Burnie, Maryland
21061. The Defendant/Alternate payee's
eguitable interest in said retirement
program is hereby declared to be 25.5% of
the disposable retired or retainer pay,
form the disposable retired or retainer
pay of the Plaintiff. The Defendant,
LORRAINE M. MANZO, shall receive 25.5% of
the aforesaid retirement benefit payments

made from the disposable retired or

retainer pay to the participant, ANDREW
C. MANZO, including any death benefits,
if, as, and when, such payments are made.

The Defendant presently being a retired

8a

i

member of the armed services, any rights
which might otherwise accrue under the
Sailors’ and Soldiers’ Civil Relief Act
of 1940 are inapplicable.

AND IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, that the
Plaintiff and the Defendant shall equally

bear the cost of these proceedings.

JUDGE

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Kenneth J. MacFadyen, Esquire
Attoney for Plaintiff
Andrew C. Manzo

Fred Howard Silverstein, Esquire
Attorney for Defendant
Lorraine M. Manzo

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_2094%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
