# Opposition Brief — Pinney Dock & Transport Co. v. Norfolk & Western Railway Co.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_2024%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 880

## Text

No. 88-72

IN THE
Suprene Court of the United §

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

PINNEY Dock & TRANSPORT Co.,

Petitioner,

NORFOLK & WESTERN RAILWAY Co., et al.

LITTON INDUSTRIES, INC., e¢ al.,

“ Petitioners,

NORFOLK & WESTERN RAILWAY Co., et al.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

DONALD L. FLEXNER RICHARD J. FLYNN
WM. RANDOLPH SMITH (Counsel of Record)
CLIFTON S. ELGARTEN STEPHEN S. HILL
CROWELL & MORING MERINDA D. WILSON
1001 Pennsylvania Avenue,N.W. Sm.LeY & AUSTIN
Washington, D.C. 20004-2505 1722 Eye Street, N.W.
(202) 624-2500 Washington, D.C. 20006
Counsel for Respondents (202) 429-4000
Chesapeake & Ohio Railway Counsel for Respondent
Company, Norfolk & Western Railway
Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Company
Company and .
CSX Corporation a

TIMOTHY W. BERGIN
SQUIRE, SANDERS & DEMPSEY
1201 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20004
(202) 626-6600

Counsel for Respondent
Bessemer and Lake Erie

August 10, 1988 Railroad Company

WILSON - Epes PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

20

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
ee Ge MIU eieiiciceicicteecis a nciaicennctdenbexdecacics i
py DOF BR me Sine 5 yy) ERE neNe rT enCmN ii
COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE ................... 1
A ER a EE a er
EET ITIE 1 FOAL RET 3
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ...................... 6
rm Ct 0 cacao babuaiatmiceenntl 7
a 12
Iti. Agpetete Jurisdiction ......................................... 18
I a od 24
APPENDIX A—Rule 28.1 Information .............0.......... la

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page
Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242
GSR enemy pace seem rerio icone Metre ed nedes) Keio 20
Arrow Transportation Co. v. Southern Railway
Co, S08 GE. Re (ID miei 15

Associated General Contractors of California, Inc.

v. California State Council of Carpenters, 459

eB TOR. 6 ED oiiinccccncniicnacensoremapicemnciinieaeseanembiens 4
Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Co. v. Air-

coach Transportation Association, 253 F.2d 877

PEE, Sa BOUED siceasecnsssicatcinininclpcienseecparnneestuapspacaiiaasiaailys 10, 11
City of Groton v. Connecticut Light & Power Co.,

CGE Fe GEE COG Cie. RORY ccc cssicsrccricsicicntnions 17
Clipper Exxpress v. Rocky Mountain Motor Tariff

Bureau, Inc., 690 F.2d 1240 (9th Cir. 1982) -....... 18
Essential Communications Systems, Inc. v. AT&T,

ClO F.DE TERE COR GOR. TOG settee 16, 17
Garcia v. United States, 469 U.S. 70 (1984) -........... 12
Georgia v. Pennsylvania Railroad Co., 324 U.S.

CGD asncvireincticce iri 11, 15, 16
Keogh v. Chicago & Northwestern Railway. 260

TER. BUR CE ncssncogpsissscinaincins espe ae passim
Litton Systems, Inc. v. AT&T, 700 F.2d 785 (2d

TR, RID ies icsndn chacisssennnsnsuiiesusbicntigieuncian aan anna 17

Noerr Motor Freight, Inc. v. Eastern Railroads
Presidents Conference, 155 F. Supp. 768 (E.D.
Pa. 1957), aff'd, 273 F.2d 218 (3d Cir. 1959),

we'd, BG TS. TET CERRY osvvenccesssscivineetceoen 11
Nuclear Engineering Co. v. Scott, 660 F.2d 241

kh. Ch SE |) eee eg Cee SS 20
Seatrain Lines, Inc. v. Pennsylvania Railroad Co.,

207 F.2G BBG (B68 Che. BOGS D ccccitcnic tne 17
Square D Co. v. Niagara Frontier Tariff Bureau,

Fone, 476 UR 40D CABG) anna cnncivnincavccnccen 11, 16, 17, 18
Terminal Warehouse Co. v. Pennsylvania Railroad

Cag BOT UB: BOD CIGD ececssstiscicctesctientnaachioe 15
l/nited Mine Workers v. Pennington, 381 U.S. 657

CTD iasviinincctniacccnyocsoichieisencdteienaiiesin baleen 9, 10
United States v. Bessemer & Lake Erie Railroad,

TIT Fe OES CEC. Cie. TBD nieces 10

a

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
United States v. Oregon, 366 U.S. 643 (1961) ........ 12
United States v. Stanley, 107 S. Ct. 3054 (1987) .... 20, 24
STATUTES:
Clayton Act, Ch. 323, 38 Stat. 730 (1914), codified
as amended at 15 U.S.C. §§ 14, 15, 15b (1982)... 7
Hepburn Act of 1906, Ch. 3591, 34 Stat. 584
a csadanedasusanosnsees 13
Interstate Commerce Act of 1887, Ch. 104, 24 Stat.
Cee ies cs catnnsaneinabanssoccs 14
Railroad Revitalization and Regulatory Reform
Act of 1976, Pub. L. No. 94-210, 90 Stat. 31
Ea ee a TAS ile 12
Reed-Bulwinkle Act of 1948, Pub. L. No. 80-662,
EE passim

Sherman Act, Ch. 647, 26 Stat. 209 (1890), codi-
fied as amended at 15 U.S.C. §§ 1 and 2 (1982).. 6,11
Staggers Rail Act of 1980, Pub. L. No. 96-448, 94

i snerenensnssannsisenioonensen 12
28 U.S.C. § 1292 (b) ............. i paaidinanicnneitnbbaseeseseih 3, 19, 20, 21
49 U.S.C. §$5b(9) (1976) ........................ inlenstlnadtines 8
RE ID ooo... csnncecncennnceanvennceneseenss 13
|) EERE 14
re nc ene cnsscnsennennseee 8
49 U.S.C. § 10761(a) (1982) .........00000..... Siemcthicaaie east 13
eae ERED COGS) |...............20..-.20.002c00c00.-2 14

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS:
S. 443, 100th Cong., Ist Sess., 133 Cong. Rec.

$1595, 1614 (daily ed. Feb. 3, 1987) —.......00000...... 18
H.R. 941, 100th Cong., Ist Sess., 133 Cong. Rec.
oes caer OG. Fen. 8, 1967) ................................ 18
ADMINISTRATIVE ‘MATERIALS:
Iron Ore Rate Cases, 41 I.C.C. 181 (1916) .............. 17
Shaw Warehouse Co. v. Southern Railway, 308
Ne a ennscenncanees 15
U.S. Phosphoric Products Corp. v. Atlantic Coast
Line Railroad, 206 I.C.C. 411 (1935) .........0000...... 15
MISCELLANEOUS:
C. Wright, The Law of Federal Courts (1983)........ 20

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988
No. 88-72

PINNEY DocK & TRANSPORT Co.,

. Petitioner,

NORFOLK & WESTERN RAILWAY Co., et al.

LITTON INDUSTRIES, INC., et al.,

. Petitioners,

NORFOLK & WESTERN RAILWAY Co., et al.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Sixth Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE
1. Introduction

These cases involve an antitrust challenge to railroad
rates that were set over thirty years ago. The rates in
question were the product of a legal system that dis-
placed the antitrust norm by promoting, immunizing and

2

regulating agreements among competitors. This legal
system, which below justified dismissal of Petitioners’
rate claims on alternative grounds, was largely disman-
tled by Congress eight years ago, and the collective rate
setting disputed here is ancient history.

The Petitioners are Pinney Dock and Litton, respec-
tively a dock company and a shipbuilding company. Each
alleges that the Respondent railroads committed anti-
trust violations in the iron ore transportation industry
dating back to the mid-1950’s.' In particular, Petitioners’
complaints describe two categories of unlawful acts: rate
actions arising out of Respondents’ participation in a
collective ratemaking organization approved and admin-
istered by the Interstate Commerce Commission: and,
to a lesser extent, non-rate actions. With respect to iron
ore rates, Petitioners allege that the Respondent rail-
roads (1) charged inland (line-haul) rail rates from
private docks that were too high, and (2) set handling
charges for self-unloader vessels unloaded at railroad
docks that also were too high. Pet. App. at 8a. As for
non-rate allegations, Petitioners complain about refusals
to sell or lease land suitable for dock operations and un-
specified “harassment” of trucking. Pet. at 3-4. Accord-
ing to Petitioners, “but for” these actions, industries
would have been transformed: steel companies in Ohio
and Pennsylvania would have shifted their iron ore trans-
portation from bulker vessels, railroad docks and rail
service to self-unloading vessels (some of which would
have been built by Litton), private docks (such as Pin-
ney) and trucking. Pet. App. at 10a-1la.

It is undisputed that throughout the twenty-five year
period at issue here Respondents’ rail rates and dock
handling charges were subject to the plenary authority of
the ICC under the standards of the Interstate Commerce

1 The identity of the Respondents and other information required
by Rule 28.1 are set forth in Appendix A.

a ©

3

Act (“ICA”). It is also undisputed that the Respondents
were parties to an ICC-approved rate bureau agreement
and that rates made in accordance with the agreement
were expressly “relieved from the operation of the anti-
trust laws” by statute. See id. at 4a-7a.

2. The Decision Below

The Court of Appeals dismissed Petitioners’ “rate-
related” claims on three independent grounds, and further
held that the statute of limitations barred all federal
claims that occurred more than four years before the
actions were commenced. Pet. App. at 75a-76a. The
court reversed the district court’s orders on these issues
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b).?

The Court of Appeals held that Petitioners’ rate claims
were barred by the express antitrust immunity Congress
provided for collective ratemaking in the Reed-Bulwinkle
Act of 1948. The court based its decision on the statu-
tory language, which exempts the “making” and the
“carrying out” of an ICC-approved rate bureau agree-
ment. Pet. App. at 23a-24a. It also relied on the fact
that Respondents were parties to such an agreement and
that Petitioners had waived any claim that Respondents
did not comply with the terms of the ICC-approved rate
bureau agreement. /d. at Ta, 28a. Consequently, the
legal issue on appeal was whether, as Petitioners argued,
the court should create an exception to the express im-
munity for collective ratemaking which, though squarely
within the statutory protection, allegedly was accom-
panied by “anti-competitive intent.” The Court of Ap-
peals rejected this argument on the grounds that it was
not consistent with the plain language of the statute and

2 The district court previously had denied Respondents’ motions
for summary judgment, but certified its orders for interlocutory
appeal as involving legal issues “as to which there is substantial
ground for difference of opinion.” The Court of Appeals agreed to
review the orders. Pet. App. at 243a, 255a, 315a, 317a.

4

that a judicially-implied exception based on anti-competi-
tive motive would be unworkable since the process of joint
ratemaking endorsed by Congress was itself “undeniably
anti-competitive.” Jd. at 24a.

The Court of Appeals also held that, wholly apart from
the express statutory immunity, the Keogh doctrine pro-
vided an alternative basis for striking the rate claims.
Id. at 16a-22a. Closely following the rationale of this
Court’s opinion in Keogh, the court barred Petitioners’
damages claims “insofar as these claims are based either
on defendants’ own handling charges or on the line-haul
rate that was applied from Pinney Dock.” ZJd. at 16a-
17a, 21a. The court expressly held, however, that Keogh
did not bar Petitioners’ non-rate claims, including the
alleged refusal to sell or lease land and the alleged harass-
ment. Jd. at 2la-22a, 75a-76a.

As a third independent basis for dismissing certain
of Petitioners’ rate claims, the Court of Appeals applied
the principles of antitrust standing established in Asso-
ciated General Contractors of California, Inc. v. Cali-
fornia State Council of Carpenters, 459 U.S. 519 (1983)
(“AGC”). After carefully balancing the factors which
supported and negated Petitioners’ standing, focusing
particularly on the speculative and attenuated chain of
causation underlying Petitioners’ theories, the court held
that “the AGC factors clearly favor defendants.” Pet.
App. at 36a. Accordingly, as a matter of law based on
the complaint allegations, the court dismissed the subject
rate claims on this alternative ground."

The final section of the Court of Appeals’ opinion at
issue here addressed the question whether Petitioners
had raised a triable issue with respect to their assertion
that the four-year limitations period should be tolled on

* Specifically, the court held that “all rate-related claims except
for Pinney’s claim that defendants did not grant it a commodity
line-haul rate [which Respondents did not challenge] are subject to
dismissal on the alternative basis of standing.” Pet. App. at 76a.

henna

5

account of “fraudulent concealment.”* The court care-
fully reviewed the fraudulent concealment standards that
Petitioners were required to satisfy.’ After deciding the
legal standard for “actual concealment,” the court con-
cluded that there might be a genuine factual dispute on
this issue. Pet. App. at 64a. However, with respect to
Petitioners’ separate burden of establishing both lack of
knowledge of, and due diligence in pursuing, their claims,
the court held that there was no escaping the fact that Pe-
titioners had gained sufficient knowledge of the elements
of their claims well more than four years before their
complaints were filed:

[T]he time eventually arrived when the “alleged
conspiracy was no longer concealed and could have
been discovered by due diligence well within the
statutory period for bringing suit.”
Id. Indeed, as to Petitioner Pinney, the court found that
fully twelve years prior to filing its complaint, it had
been advised by counsel to file an antitrust suit “to fight
this combination,” but did not pursue the matter then
because it concluded it would be better to wait until there
was more self-unloader capacity. Jd. at 64a-65a. Having
found no genuine issue of material fact on these essential
elements of the fraudulent concealment doctrine, the court
held that the statute of limitations could not be tolled,
and that Petitioners could only pursue federal claims
arising within the four-year period. Jd. at 76a.

*The Court of Appeals also reversed the district court on the
issue of preemption of state law, holding that the federal four-year
limitations period for antitrust actions does not preempt the appli-
cation of the no-limitation provision in Ohio’s state antitrust stat-
ute. Pet. App. at 7la-75a.

5 It is well-established, and not in dispute here, that an antitrust
plaintiff seeking to avoid the four-year statute of limitations has
the burden of proving three elements: (1) actual concealment of
the unlawful conduct by defendants; (2) lack of knowledge of the
underlying conduct on the part of the plaintiff; and (3) due dili-
gence in seeking to discover its claim. Pet. App. at 37a.

6

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

To change the result below, Petitioners necessarily have
sought review (and will seek reversal) on at least four
issues. Pet. at i, Questions 1, 2, 3(a) and 3(b). The
Court of Appeals, as explained above, found that three
separate and distinct legal grounds required dismissal of
Petitioners’ rate claims. These alternative holdings are
addressed by Petitioners in Questions 1, 2 and 3(a).®
Thus, to reinstate the essential elements of Petitioners’
Sherman Act claim, this Court would have to grant
certiorari (and ultimately reverse) on all of the questions
presented.

Petitioners’ effort to gain review in this Court begins
with two mischaracterizations. Petitioners contend that
this case presents “important and recurring questions
concerning immunity,” without mentioning that the col-
lective ratemaking by railroads to which the statutory
immunity applied has been a dead letter since shortly
after the 1980 railroad deregulation legislation. Pet. at
10. Petitioners also vastly overstate the holding of the
Court of Appeals as having “conjured up” a broad im-
munity, which “effectively nullified the federal antitrust
laws,” without noting that it was. Congress, not the
court below, that created the express antitrust immunity
for railroad rate agreements during the time period
at issue here, and that the decision below applies this
immunity only to rate actions clearly within the letter of
the statutory provision. Jd. at 10, 12.

The Court of Appeals did not depart from legal prece-
dent, but instead properly applied the governing statu-
tory provisions and decisions of this Court. It most as-

®In their Question 3, Petitioners blend issues relating to both
the statute of limitations and standing holdings below. The stand-
ing element pertains primarily to the rate claims, while the statute
of limitations ruling permits Petitioners to pursue only those fed-
eral claims arising within four years of institution of suit.

7

suredly did not, as Petitioners repeatedly imply, extend its
immunity or Keogh holdings beyond the rate claims to
which Congress and this Court have declared them applic-
able. Jd. On the contrary, Petitioners’ non-rate-based
theories were preserved to the extent such claims were
not otherwise barred by the Clayton Act’s four-year
statute of limitations or standing principles. The ques-
tions presented in the Petition do not warrant this Court’s
attention, either individually or collectively, and the writ
should not issue.

I. Statutory Immunity (Question 1)
Petitioners say that the question presented is

Whether, as the court of appeals held (in conflict
with the District of Columbia Circuit’s decision in
the criminal case against respondents for the same
conduct), the participants in a conspiracy to elimi-
nate direct competitors are immune from antitrust
accountability in the federal courts because they are
regulated by a federal administrative agency.

Pet. at i (emphasis added). This question is not pre-
sented here for the simple reason that it is based on a
totally inaccurate portrayal of the Court of Appeals’
decision. Deferring for the moment the supposed con-
flict in the circuits, it is important to make clear that
the immunity applied by the Court of Appeals is not,
as Petitioners suggest, derived by implication from some
amorphous penumbra of federal regulation. Rather, the
court’s decision is based solely on an explicit statutory
provision by which Congress conferred an express anti-
trust immunity upon railroads for collective ratemaking.
Pet. App. at 22a-28a.

a. The Court of Appeals relied, not merely on the fact
of regulation, but on the plain language of the Reed-
Bulwinkle Act. This immunity statute provided that the
parties to an ICC-approved rate bureau agreement are

8

relieved from the operation of the antitrust laws
with respect to the making of such agreement, and
with respect to the carrying out of such agreement
in conformity with its provisions and in conformity
with the terms and conditions prescribed by the
Commission.*

Properly focusing on the statutory language, the court
recognized that the rate activity Petitioners challenge was
within the statutory protection for “carrying out” the
rate bureau agreement. Pet. App. at 24a-25a. The pur-
pose of the ICC-approved agreement, the court noted, was
“the establishing of rates,” and the ICC contemplated
“concerted activity” when it approved the ratemaking
agreement. Jd. The court’s decision simply acknowledges
that, by jointly deciding upon rates and then charging
those rates, Respondents were engaging in conduct to
“carry out” the agreement.

The Court of Appeals further held that the challenged
rate decisions were made “in conformity with” the agree-
ment approved by the ICC. Indeed, because Petitioners
waived any claim of noncompliance with the Commis-
sion’s authorized ratemaking procedures, this holding was
unavoidable. Pet. App. at 28a.* While Petitioners now
appear to be uncomfortable with that waiver and try to
escape from it, Pet. at 13 n.10, the waiver of all claims
of procedural noncompliance is unambiguous in Petition-
ers’ pleadings before the district court. They repeatedly
represented that they “will not claim that defendants in-
curred antitrust liability by failing to adhere to formal

7™Ch. 491, 62 Stat. 472-73 (1948), codified at 49 U.S.C. § 5b(9)
(1976), recodified, as amended, at 49 U.S.C. § 10706 (1982); Pet.
App. 324a-326a.

8 The Court of Appeals recognized that Petitioners’ waiver of the
procedural compliance issue was made to avoid an otherwise neces-
sary referral (under the primary jurisdiction doctrine) to the ICC
of questions involving interpretation of the Commission’s 5a agree-
ment and orders. Pet. App. 28a.

9

practices or procedures mandated by their 5a agreement
or by the ICC.” C.A. App. 590, 597-98. This case there-
fore does not present any question concerning the anti-
trust implications of failing to follow the rate bureau
procedures upon which the statutory immunity is based.°

b. The Petition seeks to avoid the plain language of
the Reed-Bulwinkle immunity by suggesting that the
Court of Appeals broadened the immunity beyond the
bounds established by Congress. Pet. at 12.

(i) To the contrary, the decision below limited its im-
munity holding to the “rate-related” claims; it did not
confer a general antitrust immunity on the railroads, or
extend this holding to non-rate activities. Pet. App. at
28a, 75a.

(ii) To the extent Petitioners argue that the immunity
should not be given effect as to covered ratemaking be-
cause Petitioners have also alleged that Respondents en-
gaged in other, non-rate conduct which was not subject
to the express immunity, their argument finds no sup-
port in either the language of the statute or its purposes.
The Court of Appeals simply recognized that the con-
duct covered by the express statutory immunity is not
deprived of that immunity because of other conduct al-
leged by Petitioners. Where conduct is immune from
antitrust scrutiny, and even where it is “intended to
eliminate competition,” that conduct remains immune
“either standing alone or as part of a broader scheme
itself violative of the Sherman Act.” United Mine Work-
ers v. Pennington, 381 U.S. 657, 670 (1965). On the
other hand, the decision below properly excluded non-rate
claims from the immunity holding, because they are not
covered by the statutory protection.

® Petitioners’ unseemly attempt to create a belated dispute over
the scope of the waiver is not worthy of this Court’s attention.

10

(iii) Petitioners’ further contention regarding the
“right of independent action,” Pet. at 12, is unavailing
not simply because Petitioners never argued it to the
Court of Appeals, but because it is yet another issue of
compliance with the rate bureau agreement that would
require the referral to the ICC which Petitioners avoided
with their waiver.

ec. As to the conflict in the circuits that Petitioners
advertise in their question presented, it is entirely il-
lusory. Pet. at i, 12-18. The decision on which Peti-
tioners rely, United States v. Bessemer & Lake Erie Rail-
road, 717 F.2d 593 (D.C. Cir. 1983), was on appeal from
a nolo contendere plea in a criminal case, and, as such,
the court had to accept all indictment allegations as true.
Id. at 598. In that posture, the court ruled that the ex-
press immunity did not apply because the indictment made
allegations both of ratemaking that did not conform to
the ICC-approved rate bureau procedures and of non-rate
conduct, which by definition was subject matter “not
within the scope of a Section 5a agreement.” Jd. at 601-
602. Thus, the Bessemer case stands only for the unre-
markable proposition that the immunity is unavailable
for conduct outside the statutory provision, a holding
that is entirely consistent with the Sixth Circuit decision
below.?°

10 Petitioners apparently have abandoned their central argument
below that, based on Atchison, Topeka & S.F. Ry. Co. v. Aircoach
Transp. Ass’n, 253 F.2d 877 (D.C. Cir. 1958), ratemaking explicitly
protected by Congress somehow loses its immunity if it is under-
taken with an “unlawful purpose.” See Pet. at 13 n.9. The Court
of Appeals properly rejected this argument on the grounds that no
such motive exception appeared in the statute, and that to imply
one would defeat the legislative intent to immunize collective rate-
making that was “undeniably anti-competitive.” Pet. App. at 24a.
Moreover, virtually all of the cases cited by Petitioners on this
issue (Pet. at 13 n.9) were decided prior to this Court’s decision in
United Mine Workers v. Pennington, which held that immune ac-
tivity cannot violate the antitrust laws, “either standing alone or

il

d. Petitioners’ final contention on the immunity issue
is difficult to discern, but appears to be that, despite the
plain language of the statute, Congress really meant to
exclude from the Reed-Bulwinkle immunity either all
“eonspiracies,” or at least a “conspiracy to eliminate a
competitor.” Pet. at i, 13-15. Their argument proves
too much, however, for every rate decision collectively
made by competing railroads could be characterized as
a “conspiracy” within the meaning of the Sherman Act,
and, as the Court of Appeals recognized, the scheme of
collective ratemaking Congress intended to promote was
“undeniably anti-competitive.” Pet. App. at 24a. More-
over, Petitioners’ view on this point is refuted flatly by
this Court’s statement in Square D that the Reed-Bul-
winkle Act “created an absolute immunity from the anti-
trust laws for approved collective ratemaking activities.”
Square D Co. v. Niagara Frontier Tariff Bureau, 476
U.S. 409, 419 (1986) (emphasis added). The Court of
Appeals therefore correctly declined Petitioners’ invita-
tion to rewrite the statute in a manner inconsistent with
the clear legislative purpose.”

as part of a broader scheme itself violative of the Sherman Act.”
381 U.S. at 670. Indeed, Aircoach relied on the district court deci-
sion in Noerr, a decision that was ultimately overturned by this
Court. 253 F.2d at 887. See Noerr Motor Freight, Inc. v. Eastern
R.R. Pres. Conf., 155 F.Supp. 768 (E.D. Pa. 1957), aff'd, 273 F.2d
218 (3d Cir. 1959), rev’d, 365 U.S. 127 (1961). It is not surprising
therefore that, contrary to Petitioners’ assertion, the court in
Bessemer pointedly declined to rest its decision upon Aircoach, but
instead evaluated the allegations of the indictment under the
language of the statute. 717 F.2d at 600.

11 Petitioners’ reliance on selected excerpts from the Reed-
Bulwinkle legislative history for a “conspiracy” exception is mis-
placed. Pet. at 14. All the House report says is that the Act would
not affect the outcome of Georgia v. Pennsylvania Railroad Co., 324
U.S. 439 (1945), which predated passage of the Act. The smatter-
ing of comments from the floor debate indicate only that certain
legislators did not intend to immunize certain kinds of conspiracies,
such as ones outside the rate bureau or involving non-rate conduct.
There is nothing in any of this history inconsistent with the judg-

12

e. By the standards that this Court employs to deter-
mine the importance of an issue for certiorari, Petition-
ers’ statutory immunity question is decidedly unimpor-
tant in either a practical or a jurisprudential sense. The
proper scope and construction of the Reed-Bulwinkle im-
munity is now largely beside the point. With the pas-
sage of the Staggers Rail Act of 1980, Congress not only
deregulated many aspects of railroad rates, but substan-
tially restricted antitrust immunity.” As a result, the
railroads’ rate bureau ceased operations many years ago.
Thus, not only was the Court of Appeals correct, but it
is virtually inconceivable that the issue that Petitioners
ask this Court to review will arise ever again.

II. Keogh (Question 2)

Petitioners’ challenge to the Court of Appeals’ alterna-
tive holding, which follows this Court’s decision in Keogh
v. Chicago & Northwestern Railway, 260 U.S. 156
(1922), simply ignores the rationale of that case. The
decision below rejected Petitioners’ argument that the
application of Keogh should depend on who the plaintiff
is in a given case (¢é.g., shipper vs. competitor), because
such a distinction would be inconsistent with Keogh’s
rationale. Pet. App. at 19a-20a. The court recognized
that Keogh focuses on rates and the nature of the anti-
trust claim being made, not the identity of the party

ment below that Respondents’ ratemaking, carried out “in conform-
ity with” their ICC-approved rate bureau agreement, was protected
by the statute. In any event, floor statements, even by a sponsor,
“have never been regarded as sufficientiy compelling to justify a
deviation from the plain language of a statute.” United States v.
Oregon, 366 U.S. 643, 648 (1961). See also Garcia v. United States,
469 U.S. 70, 76-79 (1984) (giving effect to statutory language
despite an inconsistent statement by the floor manager).

12 Pub. L. No. 96-448, 94 Stat. 1895 (1980). Neither the Staggers
Act, nor the earlier Railroad Revitalization and Regulatory Reform
Act of 1976, Pub. L. No. 94-210, 90 Stat. 31 (1976), was claimed to
be applicable to the facts of the instant case. Pet. App. at 7a n.8.

13

making it. If the plaintiff claims that something other
than the filed rate should have been the rate that was
actually charged, then the claim is inconsistent with
Keogh’s holding regarding the legal significance of filed
rates within the framework of the Interstate Commerce
Act and the antitrust laws.

a. In Keogh, this Court held that, having vested the
Interstate Commerce Commission with control and au-
thority over railroad rates, Congress did not intend a
plaintiff to use the antitrust laws to attack existing rates
as unlawful and thereby obtain the benefit of a different
rate than the rate actually filed and authorized under
the ICA. Thus, Keogh concluded that an antitrust claim
could not be maintained where rates were “the instru-
ment by which [the plaintiff] is alleged to have been dam-
aged.” 260 U.S. at 161. Rather, Congress intended the
lawfulness of regulated rates to be the sole province of
the ICA:

A rate is not necessarily illegal because it is the
result of a conspiracy in restraint of trade in viola-
tion of the Anti-Trust Act. What rates are legal is
determined by the Act to Regulate Commerce.

Id. at 162.

This Court reasoned that “[i]njury implies violation
of a legal right,” id. at 163, but the law (the Interstate
Commerce Act) provides that, once a rate is filed with
the ICC and published in the tariff, a carrier may not
charge anything else.’** Unless a filed rate is suspended
or set aside by the Commission, no one may complain
that its legal rights were violated when all that was paid,

13 “N Jor shall any carrier charge ... or receive a greater or less
or different compensation for [the] transportation ... or service
. . . than the rates, fares, or charges which are specified in the
tariff filed and in effect at the time.” Hepburn Act of 1906, ch. 3591,
§ 2, 34 Stat. 584, 586 (1906), codified at 49 U.S.C. § 6(7) (1976),
recodified at 49 U.S.C. § 10761(a) (1982).

14

or charged, was the rate in the filed tariff. Jd. Given the
statutory framework of the Interstate Commerce Act,
a jury empanelled to hear an antitrust case cannot be
allowed as a predicate for condemning existing rates to
speculate about what hypothetical rates might otherwise
have been filed by the carriers and authorized under the
ICA. To permit such speculation about rates that might
have been permissible under the ICA would undermine
the Commission’s ability to preserve a uniform and non-
discriminatory rate structure, as Congress intended. /d.
at 163-64."

Indeed, at the practical core of Keogh is the under-
standing that Congress intended anyone who believes that
rates are too high or otherwise unlawful to take the com-
plaint about those rates to the ICC, which has exclusive
authority to ensure that rates are both reasonable and
non-discriminatory. The shipper in Keogh had the statu-
tory right to take any grievances it had about rates to
the Interstate Commerce Commission, which entertained
such complaints. Here, the Court of Appeals read the
statute and quite properly found that competitors had
exactly the same access to the Commission to complain
about rates as did the shipper in Keogh. Pet. App. at
20a.

14 As a separate element of its reasoning in that case, the Keogh
Court also noted that an award of damages to one shipper might
create discrimination prohibited by the ICA. 260 U.S. at 163. The
Court of Appeals acknowledged that this aspect of the rationale
loses force in a competitor context, but correctly held that the
remaining three prongs of the Keogh rationale were fully applicable.
Pet. App. at 21a.

15 Congress expressly provided that “any person” could file a
complaint at the ICC, and could address “unything done or omitted
to be done” by a railroad in violation of the ICA. Interstate Com-
merce Act of 1887, ch. 104, Pt. I, § 13, 24 Stat. 379, 383-84 (1887),
codified as amended at 49 U.S.C. §$13(1) (19/6), recodified at
49 U.S.C. § 11701(b) (1982) (emphasis added). Recognizing the
breadth of its jurisdiction, the ICC has held that “a complainant,

ee Ny

15

In short, while it is true that the plaintiff in Keogh
was a Shipper, not a competitor, the rationale of the
Keogh decision forces Petitioners to argue for the pro-
verbial distinction without a difference. Indeed, this
Court’s prior decisions properly attribute no significance
under the ICA to the identity of the plaintiff. Terminal
Warehouse Co. v. Pennsylvania Railroad Co., 297 U.S.
500, 514-15 (1936) (relying in part on Keogh to hold
that a private warehouse could not pursue antitrust dam-
ages based on preferential rail rates granted to a com-
peting warehouse); Arrow Transportation Co. v. South-
ern Railway Co., 372 U.S. 658 (1963) (holding without
reference to Keogh that a barge line competing with a
railroad cannot collaterally attack an ICC-regulated rate
in a judicial proceeding) ."*

without regard to the nature of its interests, has a right to com-
plain of anything done or attempted to be done in contravention
of the provisions of the act, and to have its complaint considered on
its merits.” Shaw Warehouse Co. v. Southern Railway, 308 I.C.C.
609, 612 (1959). The ICC has regularly heard complaints of parties
claiming to be competitors, including private docks. See, e.g., U.S.
Phosphoric Products Corp. v. Atlantic Coast Line Railroad, 206
I.C.C. 411 (1935) (ICC considered and rejected complaint of private
dock operator that railroad violated ICA by failing to offer competi-
tive service). In this regard, the Court of Appeals was well aware
that Pinney Dock had carefully considered, threatened and then
rejected making a formal complaint to the ICC about the rates
disputed here. Pet. App. at 64a-65a.

16 Petitioners’ challenge to the Court of Appeals’ reliance on
Georgia as a case applying Keogh where the plaintiff was both a
shipper and a competitor misses the mark. They argue that the
State’s amended complaint reveals that Georgia was seeking dam-
ages only as a shipper, and not in its role as proprietor of a compet-
ing railroad. Pet. at 16-17. This Court’s opinion states, however,
that “Georgia sues as a proprietor to redress wrongs suffered by it
as the owner of a railroad and as the owner and operator of various
public institutions.” 324 U.S. at 447 (emphasis added). The notion
that the Court would have applied Keogh to dismiss Georgia’s ship-
per damage claims, but would not have done so for damage claims
lodged by Georgia as a competitor against the very same rates is

16

Petitioners argue for a limit on Keogh based on their
characterization of Square D as a begrudging reaffirma-
tion, resting more on stare decisis (so Petitioners as-
sert) than on an embrace of its rationale. Pet. at 17.
While the Square D opinion focuses on stare decisis, as
one would expect in a case involving a request to over-
rule a long-standing decision, in fact this Court recog-
nized the breadth of the Keogh doctrine and its historic
significance. Thus, the Court both rejected an attempt to
limit Keogh to its facts, noting that the decision does not
admit of such a “narrow reading,” 476 U.S. at 417 n.19,
and confirmed Keogh’s importance as an “essential ele-
ment of the settled legal context” where the antitrust
and interstate commerce laws intersect. /d. at 423 (em-
phasis added). As the Court of Appeals properly held,
so long as Keogh is good law (and it will be good law
unless Congress acts to overturn it), it simply cannot be
stripped of its rationale and artificiaily confined to its
precise facts.

b. To attract this Court’s attention to Keogh, Peti-
tioners once again mistakenly claim a conflict in the
circuits. The three cases upon which they principally
rely did not involve the Interstate Commerce Act at all,
but related to entirely different regulatory schemes with
different provisions and different legislative intent. See
Essential Communications Systems, Inc. v. AT&T, 610
F.2d 1114, 1120 (8d Cir. 1970) (“The [Communications]
Act does not impose . . . the kind of comprehensive regu-
lation which, after 1920, the ICC exercised over the rail-

unsupported in the decision and implausible in light of Keogh’s
broad rationale and this Court’s refusal, over forty years after
Georgia and sixty years after Keogh, to limit Keogh strictly to its
facts. Square D, 476 U.S. at 417 n.19. But, regardless of how one
interprets the Georgia pleadings, it is clear that there is ample
precedent in this Court for barring a competitor from using the
courts to attack ICC-regulated rates, which is precisely what the
court below did.

17

roads); Litton Systems, Inc. v. AT&T, 700 F.2d 785
(2d Cir. 1983) (Communications Act); City of Groton
v. Connecticut Light & Power Co., 662 F.2d 921 (2d Cir.
1981) (Federal Power Act).’ It is one thing to apply
Keogh according to its terms and rationale to cases sub-
ject to the same regulatory scheme involved in Keogh—
which is what the Court of Appeals did here. However,
it would be quite another thing, and quite improper under
Square D, to seek to undermine Keogh’s rationale on the
bases of dissimilar (and weaker) regulatory schemes, as
Petitioners invite this Court to do. Pet. at 15-16; Square
D, 476 U.S. at 422-23 n.29 (rejecting the proposition
that a decision in the context of maritime regulation
undermines Keogh, because the Federal Maritime Commis-
sion has “far more limited authority over rates than the

‘7 Petitioners’ cases are distinguishable in other important re-
spects. First, in Essential Communications, the “instrument” of in-
jury and damages was not a rate, but a requirement that customers
purchase a piece of equipment. 610 F.2d at 1116. Thus, unlike the
instant cases, the claim did not require the court to make any forbid-
den rate determination. Precisely the same equipment purchase re-
quirement was challenged in Litton, where the Second Circuit held
“this case can be distinguished from Keogh . . . because the issue
here is not the reasonableness of the interface tariff rate as compared
to some other rate that might have been charged, but instead
whether the PCA requirement itself was reasonable.” 700 F.2d at
820. Second, in Essential Communications, the FCC had expressly
“suspended its judgment” on the propriety of the tariff provision in
issue “pending further study,” 610 F.2d at 1124, and, in City of
Groton, the agency had expressly disapproved the tariffs in question.
662 F.2d at 930-31. By contrast, the iron ore rates and rate relation-
ships herein were prescribed by the ICC in 1916 (41 I.C.C. 181) and
changed only by periodic ICC-approved rate increases. Third, unlike
the instant cases, the Third Circuit in Essential Communications
was confronted with an argument by the defendant that FCC regu-
lation provided an implied blanket immunity from the antitrust laws.
610 F.2d at 1116-17. Indeed, when that Court of Appeals faced an
ICA case, it held that a competitor plaintiff could not challenge filed
rates under the antitrust laws, a result wholly consistent with
Keogh and with the decision below. Seatrain Lines, Inc. v. Pennsyl-
vania R. Co., 207 F.2d 255, 260-61 (3d Cir. 1953).

18

Interstate Commerce Act gives the Interstate Commerce
Commission” ).

In addition, Petitioners mention Clipper Exxpress v.
Rocky Mountain Motor Tariff Bureau, 690 F.2d 1240
(9th Cir. 1982). That case did involve the ICA, but the
issue decided there had little to do with the question
presented here. Rather, the focus was on allegations that,
through meritless and sham litigation before the ICC,
a freight forwarder had been prevented from filing a
lower rate for two years. Jd. at 1246-47. Because the
instrument of antitrust injury was frivolous litigation,
not an existing rate (as Petitioners here claim), the
Keogh rationale was not implicated and the Ninth Cir-
cuit panel declined to bar the damage claim. /d. at 1266-
67. The issue decided by that case simply had nothing to
do with the identity of the antitrust plaintiff—the point
that Petitioners press here.

ce. In short, the Keogh issue, like the immunity ques-
tion, is not worthy of certiorari. The decision below
closely and properly followed this Court’s Keogh deci-
sion, and no other circuit has reached a conflicting result
in construing the ICA. Moreover, Congress, to which this
Court in its Square D decision referred the Keogh issue,
is currently considering legislation that would repeal the
doctrine."* For all of these reasons, this Court need not
review Question 2.

Ill. Appellate Jurisdiction (Questions 3(a) and (b))

In the third question presented, while Petitioners do
not raise any issue of the substantive correctness of the
Court of Appeals’ rulings on standing and statute of
limitations, they do complain that the court somehow
treated these two legal issues incorrectly. Their principal
complaint seems to involve the Court of Appeals’ deter-

18S. 443, 100th Cong., Ist Sess. and H.R. 941, 100th Cong., Ist
Sess., 133 Cong. Rec. $1595 and H528 (daily ed. Feb. 3, 1987).

te a AC AEE ol ee

19

mination that the district court should have granted sum-
mary judgment to Respondents on the basis of the statute
of limitations. Pet. at 20-25. Petitioners assert that the
handling of the summary judgment issue was a “jurisdic-
tional error.” Jd. at 20. It is difficult to see any “juris-
dictional” dimension to this issue, but, however denomi-
nated, it is clear that the Court of Appeals handled the
issue properly.

a. In the district court, Respondents moved for sum-
mary judgment dismissing all claims arising prior to the
four-year limitations period. After the completion of
extensive discovery, the district court held that a “self-
concealing” conspiracy suffices to toll the statute of lim-
itations; that even if affirmative acts of concealment
were required, there had been such acts; and that there
were genuine issues of fact that prevented it from find-
ing that Petitioners’ knowledge of the railroads’ actions,
and active consideration of suit many years before ac-
tually bringing suit, warranted the entry of summary
judgment.” The district court denied Respondents’ mo-
tion for summary judgment and certified its order to the
Court of Appeals pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b). This
was precisely what § 1292(b) requires:

When a district judge, in making in a civil action
an order not otherwise appealable under this section,
shall be of the opinion that such order involves a
controlling question of law ... and that an im-
mediate appeal from the order may materially ad-
vance the ultimate termination of the litigation, he
shall so state in writing in such order. The Court
of Appeals which would have jurisdiction of an ap-

1 Because statute of limitations/fraudulent concealment was an
important threshold issue, the district court ordered discovery
focused on knowledge and concealment issues, during which over
60 depositions were completed. Only after the conclusion of that
discovery were summary judgment motions filed.

20

peal. ..may... permit an appeal to be taken
from such order ....

28 U.S.C. § 1292(b) (19&2) ‘emphasis added).

Petitioners challenge the Court of Appeals’ “jurisdic-
tion’ on the contentions that “there was no ‘controlling’
legal issue on fraudulent concealment [and] the court of
appeals’ de novo resolution of that issue did nothing to
‘materially advance the ultimate termination’ of this
protracted litigation.” Pet. at 22. The answer to their
first point, quite simply, is that the question whether
the district court erred in declining to grant summary
judgment is an issue of law. The question whether there
are material factual issues of record that preclude the
grant of summary judgment is also a question of law.”’
Indeed, beyond the obvious fact that these ultimate deter-
minations are themselves legal issues, the district court’s
order “involved” (in the words of §1292(b)) other
legal issues, theretofore unsettled in the Sixth Circuit,
concerning the kinds of actions that would amount to
fraudulent concealment—issues that the Court of Appeals
treated and clarified at length in its opinion, rejecting
the district court’s view that a self-concealing conspiracy

20TIt is orders, not issues, that are certified under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1292(b). United States v. Stanley, 107 S. Ct. 3054, 3060 (1987)
(“the Court of Appeals’ jurisdiction is not confined to the precise
question certified by the lower court (because the statute brings the
‘order’, not the question, before the court)”). See also Nuclear Engi-
neering Co. v. Scott, 660 F.2d 241, 246 (7th Cir. 1981) (under Section
1292(b), “all questions material to the order are properly before the
court of appeals”). For this reason, Petitioners’ repeated reference
to the uncertainty over what particular questions had been certified
(Pet. at 19-20) is of no consequence.

21 As the Supreme Court has repeatedly recognized in recent deci-
sions, Rule 56 requires the grant of summary judgment where there
are no material factual disputes such that “the moving party is
entitled to judgment as a matter of law.” See, e.g., Anderson v.
Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 247 (1986). See also C. Wright,
The Law of Federal Courts 663-64 (1983).

minamna iii nti ll

21

is sufficient, but upholding the district court’s finding
that there was enough in the record to allow a jury to
find that there was actual concealment. See Pet. App. at
39a-52a, 64a. In finding that Petitioners’ clear knowl-
edge of the railroads’ actions, and in Pinney’s case con-
sideration of an antitrust action twelve years before ac-
tually commencing this suit, precluded tolling the statute
under the separate knowledge and due diligence stand-
ards, the court was also deciding an issue of law that
was unquestionably dispositive and that certainly was
“involved” in the district court’s “order.”

er osc ec on

Petitioners argue—remarkably, we think—that the
court’s disposition of the issue did not materially advance
the case. They say that the disposition of

fraudulent concealment did absolutely nothing to ad-

| vance the litigation because the court simultaneously

held that Ohio’s Valentine Act, providing that ‘“‘no
statute of limitations” would bar an action under
state law was not preempted .... Since the same
facts form the basis for the state and federal causes
of action, the court’s foraging through the facts on
fraudulent concealment was a pointless abuse of
Section 1292 (b) jurisdiction.

Pet. at 22. Not only is their position based on the sur-
prising suggestion that eliminating a federal antitrust
claim is insignificant, but it presupposes a _ prescience
with respect to the outcome of the court’s review that
the interlocutory appeal statute does not expect or re-
quire. The determination of what questions “may mate-
rially advance the ultimate termination of the litigation”
is made at the time the order is certified. The fact that
one of several questions contained in certified orders ul-
timately does not shorten the trial as much as originally
anticipated is irrelevant.”

22 Indeed, Petitioners’ arguments in this respect are disingenuous.
At the time these orders were certified for interlocutory review, the
district court had held that the Valentine Act’s perpetual limitations

22

Finally, Petitioners thoroughly misstate the Court of
Appeals’ holding in an effort to show that the Court of
Appeals “usurped the role of the factfinder.” Pet. at 23.
Petitioners say:

Although concluding that the record “may contain
the seeds of support for the finding of the district
judge that a factual question of actual concealment
was presented’”—a perception that, under the correct
standard of review, requires affirmance—the court of
appeals simply reached a different factual conclusion.

Pet. at 23. The Court of Appeals did no such thing.
What the Court of Appeals found “seeds of support” for
was the district judge’s view that a triable issue existed
as to one element of the fraudulent concealment doc-
trine—the issue of actual concealment by Respondents.
But this was not the dispositive issue. Rather, the ques-
tion of concealment was irrelevant in light of the fact
that both Petitioners possessed sufficient information to
have pursued their claims much sooner, and consciously
elected to sit on their rights: As to Petitioner Pinney,
the court held that “the time eventually arrived when
‘the alleged conspiracy was no longer concealed and could
have been discovered by due diligence well within the
statutory period for bringing suit.’” Pet. App. at 64a.
The court reached the same conclusion with respect to
Litton: “[E]ven if the defendants might conceivably
have misled Litton initially, no reasonable person in the
position of Litton could have long relied on such impres-
sions nor have been dissuaded from exercising due dili-

period was preempted. In light of that ruling, the Court of Appeals’
determination of the federal statute of limitations issue plainly
would have furthered the litigation, for it would have precluded
proof involving 21 years of the alleged 25-year conspiracy. The only
reason that the Court of Appeals’ determination on the federal stat-
ute of limitations issue was not dispositive of a potentially broader
trial is that these very Petitioners sought and obtained interlocutory
review and reversal of the Valentine Act issue that they now claim
rendered the Court of Appeals’ actions improper.

23

gence in investigating possible antitrust liability within
the statutory period.” Jd. at 70a (emphasis added).
Thus, the decision below was fully consistent with court’s
role on interlocutory appeal.**

In short, there was nothing extraordinary or unusual
about the way in which the Court of Appeals addressed
the statute of limitations issue.

b. The other part of Petitioners’ question is their
complaint that the Court of Appeals erred in reaching
the issue of Litton’s standing to bring its rate challenge,
which had not been briefed or decided in the district
court. Respondents had initially suggested in their appeal
brief that it was proper for the appellate court to decide
such an issue of law, and Litton had responded both to
the procedural suggestion and on the merits. Having con-
sidered the legal issue regarding Petitioner Pinney’s
standing to sue, the Court of Appeals realized that the
legal issue was, as a practical matter, fully dispositive

of the issue of Litton’s standing as well. Pet. App. at
32a-37a.

Indeed, there is no practical difference between the
Court of Appeals simply holding that Litton’s claim was
barred on the analysis of standing principles found ap-
plicable to Pinney and remanding to the district court,
which would then have had to dismiss those claims on
the basis of the same analysis. Moreover, the same re-
sult—dismissal of Litton’s rate claims—was_ independ-
ently required by statutory immunity and application of

i

*3 Petitioners complain that the court somehow ignored the appel-
late “abuse of discretion” standard (Pet. at 23) even though, in
reaching its conclusion, the court clearly referred to precisely that
standard. Pet. App. at 52a-53a. Their further chiding of the deci-
sion below as holding that knowledge of unilateral action is sufficient
to toll the statute, and their reliance on cases to the contrary (Pet.
at 22 n.18), are irrelevant here, where the Court of Appeals plainly
found that Petitioners had actual knowledge of collective activity
as well. Pet. App. at 58a-59a, 64a-65a.

24

Keogh. Thus, the error that Petitioners identify—if error
there is—was meaningless as a matter of fact, and al-
ready addressed and settled as a matter of law by this
Court’s recent decision in Stanley. This is certainly not
the kind of issue, without either practical or legal effect,
that this Court should consider as an appropriate basis
for granting certiorari.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, the Petition for Writ
of Certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

DONALD L. FLEXNER RICHARD J. FLYNN
WM. RANDOLPH SMITH (Counsel of Record)
CLIFTON S. ELGARTEN STEPHEN S. HILL
CROWELL & MORING MERINDA D. WILSON
1001 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. SMLEY & AUSTIN
Washington, D.C. 20004-2505 1722 Eye Street, N.W.
(202) 624-2500 Washington, D.C. 20006
Counsel for Respondents (202) 429-4000
Chesapeake & Ohio Railway Counsel for Respondent
Company, Norfolk & Western Railway
Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Company
Company and

KENNETH C. ANDERSON

JAMES V. DICK

TIMOTHY W. BERGIN
SQUIRE, SANDERS & DEMPSEY
1201 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20004
(202) 626-6600

Counsel for Respondent
Bessemer and Lake Erie

August 10, 1988 Railroad Company

CSX Corporation

Se arate. Nahe Eh Nate ales Mate NB

la
APPENDIX A

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 28.1, Respondents
provide the following information:

1. Respondent CSX Corporation has the following non-
wholly-owned subsidiaries and affiliates: Country Wide
Transport Services, Inc.; Baronial Transportation Corpo-
ration; Akron and Barberton Belt Railroad Company
(The) ; Akron Union Passenger Depot Company (The) ;
Allegheny and Western Railway Company; Wesjax De-
velopment Company; Augusta and Summerville Railroad
Company; Baltimore and Philadelphia Railroad Company
(The); Beaver Street Tower Company; Belt Railway
Company of Chicago; Central Florida Pipeline Corpora-
tion; Central Railroad Company of South Carolina
(The) ; Central Transfer Railway and Storage Company;
Chatham Terminal Company; Chicago and Western In-
diana Railroad Company; Clearfield and Mahoning Rail-
way Company; Cleveland Terminal & Valley Railroad
Company (The); CSX Services, Inc.; Dayton and Michi-
gan Railroad Company; Dayton and Union Railroad
Company; Delaware and Bound Brook Railroad Com-
pany; First Georgia Development Corporation; Home
Avenue Railroad Company (The); Lakefront Dock and
Railroad Terminal Company (The); Monongahela Rail-
wav Company (The); Norfolk and Portsmouth Belt Line
Railroad Company; North Charleston Terminal Com-
pany; Paducah & Illinois Railroad Company; Richmond-
Washington Company; RF&P Corporation; Terminal
Railroad Association of St. Louis; Trailer Train Com-
pany; Baltimore and Cumberland Valley Rail Road Ex-
tension Company (The); Winston-Salem Southbound
Railway Company; Woodstock & Blocton Railway Com-
pany; Energy Dominion; Gemetal Distribution Services
Company; Yukon Pacific Corporation; Green’s Creek
Joint Venture; High Island Offshore System; Norbritex
Joint Venture; Poles Limited; Lanai Resort Partners;

2a

James Center Development Company; Mid Allegheny
Corporation; Staten Island-Cranford, Inc.; Glebe Road
Associates; Glebe Road II Associates; Glebe Road III
Associates; Glenway Associates; Richmond Center Asso-
ciates; St. George Seaport Associates; and LightNet.

2. The Bessemer and Lake Erie Railroad Company is
wholly-owned (except for directors’ qualifying shares)
by USX Corporation, with no subsidiaries of its own. Non-
wholly-owned subsidiaries and affiliates of USX Corpora-
tion are: ACE Holdings, Ltd.; Adela Investment Com-
pany, S8.A.; Altos Hornos de Vizeaya, S.A. (AHV); Asso-
ciated Manganese Mines of South Africa, Ltd.; Associated
Ore & Metal Corporation, Ltd.; Athione Prospecting & De-
velopment Corporation, Ltd.; Avateel SWA, Ltd.; Blue
Grass Phosphate Company; Kapps Mining & Prospecting
Co., Ltd.; La Pointe Iron Company; Navios Shipping
Corp., Oresteel Investments (Proprietary), Ltd.; Prieska
Copper Mines (Pty.) Ltd.; Société Des Mines De Fer De
Guinée Pour L’Exploitation Des Monts Nimba ( Mifergui
Nimba) ; Tilden Iron Mining Company; The West Union
Canal Company; U.S. Steel France; and Zuari Agro
Chemicals Ltd.

3. Respondent Norfolk and Western Railway Company
has the following non-wholly-owned subsidiaries: The
Wabash Railroad Company and The Wheeling and Lake
Erie Railway Company. Norfolk and Western is a
wholly-owned subsidiary of Norfolk Southern Corpora-
tion. Norfolk Southern has the following non-wholly-owned
subsidiary whose stock is publicly traded: Southern Rail-
way Company. The Southern Railway Company has the
following non-wholly-owned subsidiaries: High Point,
Randleman, Asheboro and Southern Railroad Company;
Mobile and Birmingham Railroad Company; The North
Carolina Midland Railroad Company; The South Western
Rail Road Company; State University Railroad Com-
pany; Yadkin Railroad Company.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_2024%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
