# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Miles v. General Motors Corp.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1952%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 828

## Text

(\) Supreme Court, U.S.
g 4 9 1 9 5 ee Be
No.

JUN 28 1988

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.
CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1987

gtk. MILES, JR., III,

egg _

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

To the United States Court of Appeals
For the Sixth Circuit

HARLAND M. BritTz
Counsel of Record
BRITZ AND ZEMMELMAN
414 N. Erie Street
Suite 100
Toledo, Ohio 43624
(419) 242-7415

Attorney for Petitioner

THE GATES LEGAL PUBLISHING CO., CLEVELAND, OHIO—TEL. (216) 621-5647

4

I.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Where a District Judge has made a factual finding
of racial discrimination in employment, can the Court of
Appeals reverse this finding as ‘‘clearly erroneous’”’
where the District Court believes that the decision
makers were prejudiced against the employee in making
their employment decision and there are numerous facts
upon which he relies in making this decision?

II. Should the rule of United States v. United
States Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364, 395 (1948) authorizing
a reversal where “the reviewing court on the entire
evidence is left with the definite and firm conviction that
a mistake has been committed” be construed so as to
prohibit the weighing of the evidence by appellate
courts?

II.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Questions Presented ;.... 0... ccc cess csc ccecce I
Tobin of AgMONIOR.. ..o6 occ ste sthenne acess beeen III
Gplahate Be sos oss ki dies ce eusdgaasves eet
A Perr r eee Pere re Te ee
Statutory Provisions Involved...................

Shabemses of eb Gees os 6c. 58s ba eee

co -, OO WH WW

Reasons for Granting the Writ ..................
a ree ey ree ee ee ea 14
Appendix: .

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Sixth Circuit (March 31, 1988)............ Al

Opinion and Order of the United States District
Court (January 15, ROD < x scsccdvicedurusaees All

Final Judgment Entry of the United States
District Court (September 13, 1985)........... A22

Oe pe

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, 470 US.
FRE errr re eer eT ree eT eee eee eee 9,10,11,13

Batts v. NLT Corp., 844 F.2d 331 (April 12,
EE ere 9,10,11,13

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792
ee es es euadelbeaicees 12

Pullman-Standard v. Swint, 456 U.S. 273 (1982).... 9
United States v. United States Gypsum Co., 333

EE Ee 13
Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977).......... 12,13
Statutes
U.S.C., Title 42, Section 2000e-2(a)(1)............. 3,4
ES 4
Rule

ee ons oretles 560% 6d cr nbeceesee 3,13

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1987

WILLIAM C. MILES, JR.., III,
Petitioner,

vs.

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
To the United States Court of Appeals
For the Sixth Circuit

The petitioner William C. Miles, Jr., III respectfully
prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the
judgment and opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

2

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals appears in the
appendix. It is not reported and that fact is reflected in
843 F.2d 1391. The opinion of the District Court for the
Northern District of Ohio is unreported and appears in
the Appendix hereto.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth
Circuit was entered on March 31, 1988, and this petition
was filed within ninety (90) days of that date. This
Court's jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. Section
1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED
Rule 52(a) Federal Rules of Civil Procedure:

which constitute the grounds of its action. Requests
for findings are not necessary

credibility of the witnesses.

:

conclusions of law are
motions under Rules 12 or 56 or any other motion

except as provided in Rule 41(b).
United States Code, Title 42; Section 2000e-2(a)(1):

conditions, or privi of employment, because of
such individual's race, color, religion, sex, or
national origin; or . . .

4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

After having exhausted his administrative remedies,
petitioner brought suit against respondent General
Motors Corporation pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 2000e-5(f)3 for
a violation of 28 U.S.C. 2000e-2(a)(1).

Petitioner, a black male, just shy of a bachelor’s
degree in college, obtained a position with respondent
through a minority recruiter, Ludot (T.12). After a
training program, which included a period of work in the
foundry, petitioner became a foundry supervisor for
respondent at its Central Foundry facility at Defiance,
Ohio.

Although he began working as a foreman on
December 3, 1973 petitioner was reduced to the hourly
ranks once due to layoffs. But he served primarily as a
foreman until he was demoted to the hourly ranks in
June of 1977. This demotion formed the basis of this
suit.

When petitioner was foreman there was only one
other black foreman in a work force of 5000. There was
only one black above supervision, a certain Terry Lee
from “the office’ (T.97).

The Company claimed that petitioner failed to
require his workers to comply with safety and
quality/production rules; that he had excessive down
time and performed ‘“‘work’’ of hourly employees in
violation of the collective bargaining agreement. But the
procedures which the respondent described as ‘‘auditing”’
his operations to assist him to improve were in fact very
disruptive to the efficient functioning of his production
line and actually, in his case, were a form of racial
harassment (T.4-5). As petitioner testified:

5

A. Tom McLenon would come around in my
area during work and he would stand there. Quite
naturally my employees is going to look at him. So
when the line employees noticed him he was
jumping me because they were looking up from the
job, which is the normal reaction.

Q. Did you notice whether he was doing that to
the white foremen.

A. He noticed my people pouring iron; it was
only me getting the criticism. He noticed the other
shifts, too, but I got the criticism.

Q. And the foremen on the other shifts were
white?
A. Yes.

Later, he noted that there was a quality audit.
Supervision was supposed to come by once a day. For
petitioner they did it two to three times a day ‘‘to make
sure they got it’’ (T.25).

Q. After auditing you three times maybe one
(of) them would be a bad audit?

A. Yes.
Q. Did they do that on the other shifts?

A. I was the only one receiving that kind of

treatment (T.25).

Earl Jones, who had poured iron for five years, had
earlier testified that petitioner compared favorably with
other foremen for whom he had worked (T.6-7). Further,
he was not aware that there were any greater number of
line breakdowns under petitioner than under other
foremen (T.7).

Petitioner also contended that supervision
undermined his discipline over his workers while at the
same time criticized him for inadequate discipline.

6

Q. Did you ever discipline any men under you
for not wearing goggles?

A. Yes.
Q. What would happen then?

A. I would send a person out for so many days
and McLenon would pay him for the time he was
out. What is the good of sending him out; it was
nothing but a vacation.

Q. Did that happen on more than one occasion?

A. In just about every case. I can’t remember
one that I put out that didn’t get paid.

There was testimony that petitioner's immediate
supervisor, Thomas McLenon, told petitioner that he
intended to make him quit (T.26).

Why don’t you quit? If you don’t, eventually you

will be put back.
On one occasion after another black foreman, John
Harris, was demoted, McLenon said to petitioner ‘“There
is one more to go.” (T.40). This was not denied by
McLenon. On cross-examination, McLenon admitted
telling petitioner on three or four occasions that he
should quit being a foreman (T.102). This was
purportedly done ‘‘to motivate him”’ (T.102).

Witness Jones had also testified that iron pouring was
done in extremely hot conditions making people irritable
and causing absentee problems (T.5). He noted that as
the result of this petitioner sometimes ‘‘worked’”’,
meaning did some work that only hourly employees were
supposed to do. However, he testified that all foremen do
this on occasion (T.6). Every other witness, who testified
on this point, including respondent’s own supervision,
concurred with this statement. Yet, one of the criticisms
of petitioner was that he “‘worked”’.

7

Witness Files also testified that petitioner supervised
in a difficult area (T.61) but that he ran the department
as well as could be expected (T.61). He also said, when
asked if McLenon treated petitioner any differently than
he treated other foremen, that

he put a lot of pressure on Miles, I would say this
would be quite noticeable (T.63).

Petitioner testified that he was demoted shortly after
he posted an invitation on the Company’s bulletin board
to a fish fry to which all employees were welcome.

I believe this kind of rushed things on me; it
happened the same week.

Petitioner, a large man who played college football,
was also known as “Big Daddy” (Exhibit 1) (T.44).

The District Judge noted that in the conservative
and lily-white environment of Defiance, “such activities
were not viewed with pleasure by those in position of
authority.”’

The petitioner testified that he broke all kinds of
production records as foreman (T.29). Management tried
to rebut this but their records were no longer available.

Although there was considerable testimony
concerning safety laxity, petitioner testified that there
were no lost time accidents under his supervision (T.32).

He also noted that he once ran 100% production on
one line but a different person got credit in the house
organ (T.29). When this was called to management’s
attention, petitioner was told that they ‘“‘forgot’’ (T.30).
He never got the recognition he deserved. When
management testified on this, it was blamed on
“inadvertence” (T.105).

8

Finally, despite efforts by management to show the
contrary, petitioner indicated from personal knowledge
that his replacement was white—one Isaac Sheldon
(T.159). (The Court of Appeals disregarded this
testimony, making its own finding that he was replaced
by another black [Opinion p. A3)).

The District Judge ruled that the demotion to the
hourly ranks was racially motivated and granted relief on
January 13, 1985. On March 31, 1988 the Court of
Appeals reversed, found the decision ‘clearly erroneous’’
and ordered final judgment to be entered for respondent.

9
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The decision below is one of two decisions within a
two-week period wherein the Sixth Circuit found District
Court decisions of racial discrimination ‘‘clearly
erroneous ...”. In both cases, there was ample evidence
to justify the District Judges’ findings of racial
discrimination.

In addition to the case at bar, decided March 31,
1988, the Sixth Circuit decided Batts v. NLT Corp. on
April 12, 1988. That case can be found at 844 F.2d 331.

Petitioner is not unmindful of the reluctance of the
Court to review cases having little significance to the
public at large but primarily to the litigants. Perhaps the
fact the two lower court decisions finding racial
discrimination were reversed as clearly erroneous within
a two-week period will prompt this Court to examine
whether the Sixth Circuit is following precedent in this
area.

The leading case in this area is Pullman-Standard v.
Swint, 456 U.S. 273, 290 (1982):

a court of appeals may only reverse a district court’s
finding on discriminatory intent if it concludes that
the finding is clearly erroneous under Rule 52(a).

Later, in Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, 470 U.S.
564, this Court ruled at page 573 that:

This standard plainly does not entitle a reviewing
court to reverse the finding of the trier of fact
simply because it is convinced that it would have
decided the case differently. The reviewing court
oversteps the bounds of its duty under Rule 52 if it
undertakes to duplicate the role of the lower court.
“In applying the clearly erroneous standard to the
findings of a district court sitting without a jury,
appellate courts must constantly have in mind that
their function is not to decide factual issues de
novo.”

aii |

10

Petitioner believes that in both the case at bar and in
Batts, the Sixth Circuit substituted its judgment for
that of District Court and that this trend justifies this
Court’s intervention. Since in most situations the Courts
of Appeal are the courts of last resort, it is critical that
these courts be reminded that they must resist the
impulse of becoming the ultimate fact finder.

This is particularly critical in an area where a court
infers intent. Intent being within the mind can be
exposed in a variety of ways. One of these ways is in the
manner of giving testimony. In addressing this, this
Court stated in Anderson, supra, at page 580:

In so holding, we do not assert that our
knowledge of what happened 10 years ago in
Bessemer City is superior to that of the Court of
Appeals; nor do we claim to have greater insight
than the Court of Appeals into the state of mind of
the men on the selection committee who rejected
petitioner for the position of Recreation Director.
Even the trial judge, who has heard the witnesses
directly and who is more closely in touch than the
appeals court with the milieu out of which the
controversy before him arises, cannot always be
confident that he ‘“‘knows’’ what happened. Often, he
can only determine whether the plaintiff has
succeeded in presenting an account of the facts that
is more likely to be true than not. Our task—and the
task of appellate tribunals generally—is more limited
still: we must determine whether the trial judge’s
conclusions are clearly erroneous.

In both Batts and the case at bar, there were some
facts which the District Judge could consider in
concluding that there was discriminatory intent.
Furthermore, both District Judges saw and heard all the
witnesses and were in the singular position of being able
to weigh the sincerity of their views. As stated in
Anderson, supra, at p. 575:

11

for only the trial judge can be aware of the varieties

in demeanor and tone of voice that bear so heavily

on the listener’s understanding of and belief in what
is said.

The opinions in the case at bar and in Batts resemble
district court decisions weighing evidence, forming
conclusions, accepting and rejecting arguments. They
reveal a court more interested in the trial court’s
function than in the appellate function. The statement in
Batts that “these incidents cannot possibly support a
charge of intentional discrimination” (p. 334) is clear
evidence of the appellate judges’ substituting their
judgment for that of the district judge. In Batts a
Nashville judge heard Nashville witnesses and
presumedly was well acquainted with the atmosphere in
Nashville. In the case at bar the trial judge, from rural
Huron County, Ohio, in Northwest Ohio, sitting in
Toledo, in Northwest Ohio, and hearing witnesses from
rural Defiance, Ohio, presumedly was well acquainted
with the atmosphere in his own area.

The appellate court challenged the district judge's
finding that Defiance was a “lily white environment.”
Counsel did not request the district judge to make this
finding and, accordingly, did not employ Fed. R. Evid.
201(e) relating to notice. Rule 201(c) permits the trial
judge to take judicial notice ‘“‘whether requested or not’”’.
Whether or not this remark falls into the category of
‘judicial notice’’, the district judge was evincing his own
knowledge of his own district. This is one of the reasons
why deference is given to the findings of fact by federal
trial judges. Perhaps this is the kind of “expertise”
alluded to by the Court in Anderson, supra, at p. 574.

In the case at bar the trial judge believed that
petitioner’s demotion to the ranks was racially
motivated. It is clear from the district court’s opinion

12

that the judge believed petitioner had satisfied the test
to prove a prima facie case of discrimination as set forth
in McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792
(1973). As applied to the case at bar the petitioner was
qualified, black, was demoted, and was replaced by a
white. The burden would then shift to respondent to
establish non-discriminatory reasons for its actions. It is
clear that the trial judge believed the reasons stated by
the respondent were, indeed, pretextual. But the
appellate court felt they were not. This is an example of
how the appellate court substituted its judgment for that
of the petitioner.

Furthermore, there was direct evidence of
discrimination. In particular there is the undenied
statement by the supervisor that there was one more to
go, meaning petitioner, after another black foreman
suffered a nervous breakdown.

The supervisor to whom these remarks were
attributed was alleged to have harassed and undermined
petitioner. Petitioner asked to be transferred to another
department but was refused.

Once, when the foundry had an _ exceptionally
productive period, respondent issued a_ bulletin
congratulating its supervisors by name. Petitioner's
name was omitted and when he complained, nothing was
done to correct this.

There was ample evidence upon which a trier of fact
could base a finding of discrimination. Likewise, another
finder of fact might have come to a different conclusion.
A reading of the appellate decision reflects that the panel
was unconvinced that there was discrimination. But this
is not its function. As reflected in Wainwright v. Sykes,

emma,

13

433 U.S. 72, 90 (1977) the trial on the merits was the
main event, rather than a tryout on the road. And as
stated in Anderson, supra, at p. 575:

the parties to a case on appeal have already been
forced to concentrate their energies and resources on
persuading the trial judge that their account of the
facts is the correct one; requiring them to persuade
three more judges at the appellate level is requiring
too much.
Likewise, in Batts, the court of appeals reversed a
carefully thought out 93-page memorandum and order of
the district court, after a twelve (12) day trial. In Batts
the district judge found for some plaintiffs and against
others. Yet the court of appeals found error for the trial
court to find a discriminatory animus from the facts.
Instead it attributed the actions to the ‘‘normal frictions
that occur in any employment relationship’ Counsel does
not represent the losing plaintiffs in Batts and there is
no appeal pending from that case. Yet these two
decisions, handed down back-to-back within two weeks
of each other, cause concern to practitioners in the Sixth
Circuit who handle these kinds of cases.

In both cases, the appeals court relies upon this
court’s language in United States v. United States
Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364, 395 (1948) relating to a
reversal where “the reviewing court on the entire
evidence is left with the definite and firm conviction that
a mistake has been committed’’. This language has been
translated in these two cases into a license to weigh
evidence rather than to apply the classic language of
Rule 52(a)—the clearly erroneous test.

This language is subjective in nature and is being
used by the appellate court to substitute its judgment
for that of the trial court. To the extent that this is
being done, the rule should be construed so as to prohibit
such weighing of evidence by appellate courts.

14
CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue to
review the judgment and opinion of the Sixth Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

HARLAND M. BRITzZz
Counsel of Record
BRITZ AND ZEMMELMAN
414 N. Erie Street
Suite 100
Toledo, Ohio 43624
(419) 242-7415

Attorney for Petitioner

Date: June, 1988

Al
_ APPENDIX

OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

(Filed March 31, 1988)

[NOT RECOMMENDED FOR FULL-TEXT
PUBLICATION]

Case No. 85-3856

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

WILLIAM C. MILES, JR.., III,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

vs.

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,
Defendant-Appellant.

On APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT
CouRT FOR NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

Before: MILBURN and BocGs, Circuit Judges, and
HARVEY,* Senior District Judge.

Per Curiam. William C. Miles, Jr., III, is a black man
who was employed by the General Motors Corporation
(GM) at its Defiance, Ohio, foundry beginning in March
1973. For much of his employment there he worked as a

* The Honorable James Harvey, United States District Senior Judge
for the Eastern District of Michigan, sitting by designation.

A2

foreman, although he also worked as a production worker,
or was laid off entirely. In June 1977, after serving as a
foreman for the preceding twenty-one months, Miles was
demoted to hourly production worker. Miles sued GM
under VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.
§2000e et seq., contending that this demotion was based
on his race. GM contends that the demotion was
entirely proper, based on his working record, and that
Miles was in no way treated differently because of his
race.

After a one-day bench trial in September 1980, the
case was taken under advisement. In January 1985, the
district court found in favor of Miles, resting its opinion
on a number of specific factual findings as to practices at
the Defiance foundry and events involving Miles. In the
district court’s view, these findings discounted GM's
stated reasons for demoting Miles.

Upon careful consideration of the record, we find a
number of important instances where the district court's
findings are directly contradicted by the record,
unsupported by the record, or otherwise clearly erroneous.
In the absence of these erroneous findings, plaintiff has
not sustained his burden of showing that the defendant's
reasons for the demotion are pretextual and that he
suffered from disparate treatment on account of his race,
in violation of Title VII. We therefore reverse the
judgment of the district court.

Miles was first hired at the Defiance foundry in
March 1973. After four months of training in a pre-
management program, he served as foreman from
December 1973 until February 1974, when he was laid
off for five months because of business conditions. In
July 1974, he was recalled as a foreman and worked in

A3

that position for six months. From January to
September 1975, he worked as an hourly production
worker because of a reduction in work force. In
September 1975, Miles was again made a foreman and
worked in that position until his demotion in June 1977.

During that time Miles’s work performance, as
reflected by contemporaneous job evaluations from two
supervisors, was consistently marginal. On _ three
performance evaluations from 1975 to 1977, out of forty-
nine rating areas, forty-one were below average. Direct
testimony from supervisors and from company records
indicated: (1) that the shift which Miles supervised had
twice as much “‘down time’”’ as a comparable shift which
he did not supervise; (2) that he received twenty-six
grievances from employees during a period when a
comparable supervisor received three grievances; and (3)
that during his period of employment as supervisor from
1975 to 1977 his shift had sixty-two injuries compared to
twenty injuries on the comparable shift. Further,
supervisors repeatedly observed substantial violations of
safety and work practices on Miles’s shift beyond those
which occurred on other shifts.

The record shows, and the judge made no finding or
indication to the contrary, that Miles was replaced by a
Mr. Jordan, a black man.

None of the above matters was contradicted, or
found not credible by any of the district court’s findings.

Rather, the district court discounted this evidence
based on a series of findings disparaging the general
management and atmosphere of the plant, and the
specific actions of Miles’s final supervisor, Thomas
McClennan. This included such determinations as:

1. That the Defiance plant was a ‘“lily-white
environment’”’;

A4

2. That plaintiff “drove sporty cars” and “played
hard,"’ which was “not viewed with pleasure by those in
positions of authority;”

3. That defendant's arguments based on Miles’s
work performance were unsupportable because ‘‘such
things should be shown by [work] records, and no such
records were provided,”’ so that it must be taken that
“the records would ... refute the claims of the
defendant;”

4. That the shift preceding Miles’s ‘‘usually did not
clean up the pouring line and the ladles before they left,”’
adding to the difficulties of Miles’s shift;

5. That a fellow foreman, Mr. Files, the ‘‘only ...
witness who can be considered as being disinterested,”
had been treated differently than Miles and that Files
thought Miles “‘did exceptionally well at [his work]’’;

6. That McClennan, plaintiff's last supervisor, had
made derogatory remarks after the resignation of
another black foreman, “who was subjected to the same
treatment as plaintiff.”

However, upon our consideration of the record, each
of these items is not supported by the record and is
clearly erroneous.

There was no evidence that the Defiance foundry
was a “‘lily-white environment.’ The evidence instead
supports GM's contention that there not only were there
many black employees, but a significant number of black
foremen were employed. McClennan testified, without
contradiction, that three of six foremen under his
supervision were black. The judge made no specific
findings to support his general assertion. Plaintiff

A5

contends on appeal that his finding could have been
supported based on judicial notice. However, judicial
notice only applies to facts ‘not subject to reasonable
dispute,’’ Fed. R. Evid. 201(b), and only applies where
the opposing party has notice that judicial notice is
being taken. Fed R. Evid. 201(e).

There was absolutely no _ evidence indicating
displeasure by the company at the fact that Miles drove
a Cadillac, a GM product.

Further, the uncontradicted testimony in the record
was that detailed production records are routinely
destroyed after one year. No request was made by the
plaintiff for the preservation or production of the
records. Heretofore, the so-called “missing documents
rule’’ cannot be applied against GM in this situation.
Before the missing document rule will be applied the
missing document must be within the power of the party
to produce, and a demand for the document must have
been made. 2 J. Wigmore, Evidence, $291, at 226 (1979).
See also Layne v. Vinzant, 657 F.2d 468 (1st Cir. 1981).
Therefore the district court erroneously used this rule to
determine conclusively the issue of Miles’s work
performance.

A thorough search of the record has revealed only
one piece of evidence in the entire record regarding any
exacerbation of Miles’s difficulties by sloppiness of the
first shift. In response to a different question, Miles
added that there was a time when “my equipment was in
a big mess and it had to be cleaned up in order to pour
good iron and there was down time, which should have
been charged to the first shift.’ There was no
elaboration, or any intimation that it ever happened
again. There is simply no support in the record for the
district court's finding that the first shift “usually did
not clean up.”

A6

It is particularly strange that the district court
makes no reference to the fact that Mr. Files, its
exemplar of a disinterested witness and of a foreman
who was treated properly and in a fashion disparate from
that of Miles, is black. Thus, the distinction between
Miles and Files was not that one was black and one was
white, but that one was doing an acceptable job and the
other was not.

Ill

The district court correctly set out the analysis
established in McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411
U.S. 792 (1973), in which a plaintiff must first produce a
prima facie case of discrimination, after which the
employer bears the burden of producing a legitimate non-
discriminatory reason for its action, after which
defendant must establish that defendant’s articulated
reason is pretextual. Jd. at 802-805. Accord, Williams v.
Hevi-Duty Electric Co., 819 F.2d 620, 629 (6th Cir. 1987);
Grubb v. W.A. Foote Memorial Hospital Inc., 791 F.2d
1486, 1492-93 (6th Cir. 1984). However, rather than
conducting this analysis, the court noted that since it
had “heard all the evidence, it would address the
ultimate factual issue, rather than engaging in the
foregoing three-tiered evidentiary analysis.’’ The court
thus did not directly examine the question of whether
management’s reasons were in fact pretext. The court
appeared to rest on a general feeling that Miles had been
treated shabbily, rather than on any evidence that would
justify the conclusion that management’s stated reasons
were non-existent or pretextual. As set forth above, the
court’s specific statements on most of the important
issues go well beyond the record.

The district court did not distinguish its findings of
facts from conclusions of law. It specifically noted that it
would “not make any minute analysis of the evidence

A7

offered, but will resolve the dispute of fact by stating its
ultimate factual conclusion.’”’ However, we have set out
above the major factual statements the judge made in
support of his conclusion that Miles’s demotion had been
based on racial discrimination. After our careful
consideration of the record supporting the above
findings, this court is confident that those findings do
not meet the standard of United States v. United States
Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364 (1948). The Supreme Court
there stated that ‘‘[a] finding is ‘clearly erroneous’ when
although there is evidence to support it, the reviewing
court on the entire evidence is left with the definite and
firm conviction that a mistake has been committed.”’ Id.
at 395.

Nor are the district court’s findings insulated from
review by its statement that its findings rested on
‘those little subtleties and variations in the manner and
appearance of the witnesses on the stand, and the way in
which they spoke and responded to questions ...’’ As
' the Supreme Court recently emphasized in Anderson v.
City of Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564, 575 (1985),

“It]his is not to suggest that the trial judge may
insulate his findings from review by denominating
them credibility determinations, for factors others
than demeanor and inflection go into the decision
whether or not to believe a witness. Documents or
objective evidence may contradict the witness’
story; or the story itself may be so internally
inconsistent or implausible on its face that a
reasonable fact finder would not credit it. Where
such factors are present, the court of appeals may
find clear error even in a finding purportedly based
on a credibility determination.”

In this case the district court did not rely on
believing Miles as opposed to other witnesses in direct
contradictions, as, for example, whether a particular

A8

remark was made to Miles. Miles’s testimony conceded
that he had made nospecific complaints of discrimination,
and he was unable to relate any specific incidents
purporting to display racial animus, with the exception
of one incident.

That incident related to Miles’s hearsay narrative of
a black foreman who apparently left because of mental
difficulties (‘there was one guy who was talking to an
apple’). Miles stated that McClennan had said “‘there is
one more to go,” which Miles apparently understood to
mean one more black foreman who should be disposed of.
However, Miles did not hear the remark himself, gave no
indication that anyone else had made the same
interpretation of the remark, and gave no indication that
he had conveyed his interpretation to anyone else. We
note that it is uncontradicted that there were three black
foremen who worked for McClennan at this time. There
was no evidence whatsoever concerning the relations
between the unnamed foreman and McClennan, so the
court is clearly erroneous in finding that the foreman was
treated the same as Miles, or, indeed, in any particular
manner.

There is no credibility determination involved in the
consideration of Miles’s performance appraisals, which
were uniformly below standards, or the grievance or
injury reports. In particular, despite Miles’s repeated
assertions that he had a “perfect safety record,”’
management could legitimately be concerned about a
significantly higher injury rate as an indication of poor
supervision. Management particularly testified to his
failure to ensure that his workers wore their goggles as
an example of failure to supervise those items that were
most easily supervised. The court also misstates the
record in finding that Mr. Files had testified that Miles

le aor a maha cali De

A9

ran his unit “exceptionally well.’’ The actual statement
in the record is that Miles ran it ‘‘as well as could be
expected,’’ hardly a ringing endorsement.

In short, the district court’s findings display a
consistent overstating of the record to present items
favorable to Miles, with no clear consideration of the key
issue of whether the management concerns were in fact
pretextual. Although GM’s relation to Miles may not
stand as a monument of enlightened employee relations,
the record as a whole simply will not bear the
interpretation that the district court placed on it.

It is possible for there to be racial animus against
one worker even though none is displayed against other
comparably situated workers of that worker’s group.
However, the claim that its actions were based on a
competency determination, and were not a pretext for
discrimination, is certainly buttressed by the fact that
Mr. Files, the court’s star witness, and Mr. Jordan, who
at the time of trial had held Mr. Miles’s job for several
years, are both black.

In this case there is some evidence, which the court
could have credited, that McClennan did not particularly
like Miles and that management was not always
responsive to Miles’s concerns. The court found it
significant that Miles’s name had been left off a
recognition list when the plant had good production.
Despite a protest, no correction was published. However,
after examining all of the evidence, including Miles’s
ratings over a period of time including ratings*not by
McClennan, the consistent pattern of the problems with
his performance, the documentation of greater injuries
and grievances on his shift, and the clear evidence of
appropriate recognition of other black foremen such as

Al0

Files and Jordan, we are left with the definite and firm
conviction that the court erred in finding that racial
discrimination was responsible for Miles’s demotion.

In the absence of the factual findings which have
been found above to be clearly erroneous, there is
insufficient evidence to sustain plaintiff's burden of
showing that his demotion was not based on performance
but rather was a pretext for racial discrimination.
Therefore, judgment of the district court is REVERSED
and REMANDED with instructions to dismiss the
complaint.

All
OPINION AND ORDER OF THE UNITED
STATES DISTRICT COURT
(Filed January 18, 1985)
Case No. C 78-116

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FoR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO
WESTERN DIVISION

WILLIAM C. MILES, JR.., III,
Plaintiff,

vs.

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,
Defendant.

OPINION AND ORDER
YOUNG, J:

This is an action under Title VII of the Civil Rights
Act of 1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C. $2000e et seg.,
alleging racial discrimination in employment. The
plaintiff took the necessary steps to bring the matter
before the Equal Employment Opportunities
Commission, which issued a “right to sue’’ letter, after
which a complaint was filed in this Court. The defendant
answered in the form of a general denial. This Court has
jurisdiction pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §2000e-5{f).

The case was tried to the Court sitting without a
jury, and was submitted to the Court upon oral
argument. The trial commenced on September 24, 1980,
and concluded on the same day. This Opinion will serve
as the Court’s findings of fact and conclusions of law.
Fed.R.Civ.P. 52(a).

Al2

The major factual matters are not disputed, but the
conclusions to be drawn from them are very much in
dispute. Basically, the case falls into the so-called
‘disparate treatment” category. While this allegation
has been described as “‘the most easily understood type
of discrimination [because] [t]he employer simply treats
some people less favorably than others because of their
race, color, religion, sex or national origin,” International
Bhd. of Teamsters v. United States, 431 U.S. 324, 335
n.15 (1977), the plaintiff also has the burden of
establishing intentional discrimination by the defendant.
See, e.g., United States Postal Serv. Bd. of Governors v.
Aikens, 460 U.S. 711, 715 (1983), quoting Texas Dept. of
Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248, 253 (1981);
Teamsters, 431 U.S. at 335 n.15; Field v. Bolger, 723
F.2d 1216, 1219 (6th Cir. 1984).

In order to prevail on his claim, plaintiff first must
establish a prima facie case of discrimination. The Court
may then infer that the discrimination was intentional.
Burdine, 450 U.S. at 254, quoting Furnco Constr. Co. v.
Waters, 438 U.S. 567, 577 (1978) (“the prima facie case
‘raises an inference of discrimination only because we
presume these acts if otherwise unexplained, are more
likely than not based on the consideration of
impermissible factors’”’). Once the prima facie case is
established, the burden shifts to the employer to
“articulate some legitimate, nondiscriminatory reason”
for the alleged disparate treatment. Burdine, 450 U.S.
at 253; McDonnell-Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792,
802 (1973); Fields, 723 F.2d at 1219. If the defendant
meets this burden of production, the plaintiff then must
be given the opportunity to establish that defendant’s
articulated reason is pretextual. Burdine, 450 U.S. at
253-56; Green, 411 U.S. at 804; Fields, 723 F.2d at 1219.

na an San ashe re -

Al3

Since the Court has heard all the evidence, it will
now address the ultimate factual issue, rather than
engaging in the foregoing three-tiered evidentiary
analysis. See Aikens, 460 U.S. at 715; Fields, 723 F.2d at
1219; Talley v. United States Postal Service, 720 F.2d
505 (8th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 104 S.Ct. 2155 (1984);
Jones v. International Paper Co., 720 F.2d 496 (8th Cir.
1983). Additionally, in setting forth its findings of fact,
the Court will not make any minute analysis of the
evidence offered, but will resolve the dispute of fact by
stating its ultimate factual conclusions.

The plaintiff at the time of trial was an unmarried
black male of the age of thirty-two years. He had
completed most of the course work for the college degree
of Bachelor of Arts, with a major in Physical Education
and Recreation. He had attended college on a football
scholarship.

The defendant operates a large foundry at Defiance,
Ohio, which at the times involved, employed
approximately five thousand people.

After leaving college in 1972, plaintiff worked for a
short time for a loan company, and then went to an
employment agency, which soon referred him to the
defendant. He was immediately engaged by the
defendant. :

On March 15, 1973, plaintiff began working for
defendant at the Defiance Foundry as an hourly worker.
On August 6, 1973, he was entered into a pre-
management training program. In the course of this
program he worked in several departments at various
locations. On December 3, 1973, he became a foreman at
Defiance. In February, 1974, because of economic
conditions, plaintiff was reduced to an hourly worker,
and remained in that status, with some lay-offs, until

Al4

September 13, 1975. He then returned to his position as
foreman, which he retained until June, 1977, when he
was discharged as a foreman and returned to the position
of an hourly worker, in which he continued until the time
of trial.

The defendant contends that plaintiff never
performed adequately as a foreman, and built a file
documenting the deficiencies in his performance, and
defendant’s efforts to get him to improve. Basically, the
defendant’s evidence charges the plaintiff with inability
to require the workers under him to comply with rules
designed to prevent injuries and insure efficient and
quality production. Plaintiff is also accused of having
excessive amounts of down time in his production line,
and of doing the work of hourly employees very
frequently, in violation of the union contract.

The plaintiff points out that in spite of its large
numbers of employees, the defendant has almost no
blacks in supervisory positions in its Defiance Foundry;
that the procedures which the defendant describes as
“auditing” his operations to assist him to improve them
were in fact very disruptive to the efficient functioning
of his production line and actually, in his case, were a
form of racial harassment; that white foremen were not
subject to such treatment; that his immediate
supervisor, Thomas McLennon, told him he intended to
make him quit; and that when another black foreman,
who was subjected to the same treatment as plaintiff,
suffered a nervous breakdown and was forced to resign,
McLennon said that was another one down, but there
was still another to go, meaning the plaintiff. As to these
last two matters, McLennon didn’t deny the ‘’still one to
go’’ statement, and admitted that several times he told
plaintiff he should quit as foreman, in order, he said, to
“motivate” him to improve his performance.

naan Sk a

Al5

As is always the case in employment discrimination
cases, it is difficult in this case to weigh the testimony of
the parties, who are highly interested, and unconsciously
shade their testimony to make themselves appear in the
best light. Usually there are few really disinterested
witnesses who can throw light on the situation, and the
circumstantial evidence is often ambiguous.

However, by taking all of these matters into
consideration, and recalling those little subtleties and
variations in the manner and appearance of the witnesses
on the stand, and the way in which they spoke and
responded to questioning, it is possible to reach
conclusions.

The picture that the totality of the evidence in this
case shows is that the plaintiff, during the times in
question, was young and exuberant. He worked hard,
and he played hard. He drove sporty cars, and he gave
parties to which all of defendant’s employees were
invited. In such a conservative and _lily-white
environment as Defiance, such activities were not viewed
with pleasure by those in positions of authority.

An iron foundry is a very hard and dangerous place
to work. The defendant’s Defiance plant cast engine
blocks for automobiles. This requires pouring molten iron
out of ladles which are so heavy they must be moved by
cranes. The molten iron must be poured accurately into
openings in the molds which are called ‘’sprue cups.” The
quality of the casting is affected by the manner in which
the metal is poured; including the height from which it is
poured. It is extremely hot, often above one hundred
degrees Fahrenheit in the foundry, and molten iron is
dangerous if it is spilled, as well as being expensive if it
is wasted, either by spillage or defective castings.

Al6

The plaintiff was foreman on the second shift,
working under these hard conditions. All newly employed
iron-pourers started on his shift, and he had to train
them, a process requiring some three weeks time. In
addition, he had to take over after the first shift, which
usually did not clean up the pouring line and the ladles
before they left, leaving those chores to the plaintiff and
his crew. When the plaintiff did discipline his men, his
actions were not always upheld by bis superiors.

The result of this was that riaintiff's line sometimes
had more down time, when it was not moving, than it
should have had. These factors also required the plaintiff
to take a hand at doing the work of hourly workers more
frequently than some other foremen did. Although
section 215 of the union contract forbade foremen from
doing hourly workers’ tasks, and grievances sometimes
resulted from violations, the evidence leaves no doubt

that it was something that very commonly happened.
Every foreman did it, and was grieved of because of it.

While the work rules required iron pourers to keep
their eyes fixed on the sprue cup at all times while
pouring, in fact it is difficult to do so, and not entirely
necessary.

Although the defendant contends that there were
deficiencies in the quantity and quality of the production
on the plaintiff's lines, such things should be shown by
the defendant’s records, and no such records were
produced. Since the plaintiff testified that both in quality
and in quantity, especially the latter, his lines’
production was higher than others, the failure of the
defendant to produce its records must be taken to show
that if produced, the records would support the
testimony of the plaintiff, and refute the claims of the
defendant.

Al7

On the matter of production, one very significant
point was shown in the evidence. On one particular
occasion, the foundry had had an_ exceptionally
productive period. The defendant issued a bulletin
congratulating its supervisors by name. The plaintiff's
name was not listed. Naturally, he was hurt by this, and
complained to defendant’s management. The top
manager told plaintiff he was sorry that his name had
been omitted, but he did nothing to correct the record.
While the defendant's rules provided that a foreman who
could not perform adequately in a particular department
had the right, before demotion, to be transferred to other
areas, the plaintiff's request for such a transfer was
ignored. He was demoted without being given a chance
in a different department.

There was only one witness who can be considered as
being disinterested, William Files, Jr., a foreman in
defendant’s foundry for many years. Mr. Files was
acquainted with plaintiff and his work, and testified that
he did exceptionally well at it. He also knew that there
were difficulties between plaintiff and Mr. McLennon.
The latter put a lot of pressure on the plaintiff and
treated the plaintiff differently than he did the witness
Files.

Files also testified that while foremen were not
supposed to do line employees’ work, it sometimes is
necessary on the spur of the moment to go in and do it.
He had done so, and grievances had been filed against
him because of it.

After considering the evidence as a whole, the Court
is left with no doubt that the plaintiff's demotion was
the result of intentional racial discrimination against him
by defendant's employees, for which the defendant is
responsible.

ie

Al8

The remaining problems in the case concern the relief
to be granted.

A successful Title VII plaintiff generally is entitled
to reinstatement and an award of back pay. The statute,
however, does not countenance the award of legal
damages such as compensatory or punitive damages. See
Harrington v. Vandalia-Butler Bd. of Education, 585
F.2d 192 (6th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 441 U.S. 932
(1979); Adler v. John Carroll University, 543 F.Supp. 652
(N.D. Ohio 1982); Elis v. Logan, 543 F.Supp. 586 (W.D.
Ky. 1982).

With respect to reinstatement, it seems clear that
once a finding of discrimination has been made,
reinstatement should be granted as a matter of course.
See, e.g., George v. Farmers Elec. Coop, Inc., 715 F.2d
175, 178 (5th Cir. 1983) (after finding of discrimination,
“reinstatement should be granted in all but unusual
cases”). See also Sorrells v. Veterans Admin., 576
F.Supp. 1254, 1265 (S.D. Ohio 1983) (court ordered
reinstatement as an appropriate remedy under Title VII).
The Court finds, therefore, that plaintiff is entitled to be
reinstated to his former position as a foreman.

As to an award of back pay, the law in Title VII
employment discrimination cases now is fairly settled in
this circuit. A back pay award should put the
discriminatee in the same position he would have been in
but for the unlawful discrimination and, absent
<xceptional circumstances, always should be awarded if a
Title VII violation is found. Rasimus v. Michigan Dept.
of Mental Health, 714 F.2d 614 (6th Cir. 1983), cert.
denied, 104 S.Ct. 2151 (1984). A successful Title VII
plaintiff is entitled to receive his salary, including raises,
he would have received absent the discrimination.
Rasimus, 714 F.2d at 626. Further, sick pay, vacation

Al9

pay, pension and other fringe benefits which would have
been received by the plaintiff were it not for
discrimination also should be included in the back pay
award. Jd. Income taxes and social security taxes which
would have been deducted from the wages the plaintiff
would have received absent discrimination should not
serve to reduce any back pay award. Id. at 627.

While it is true that back pay awards are the rule,
not the exception, once there has been a finding of
discrimination, the twin purposes of Title VII should
never be lost on the Court. In the words of the Supreme
Court,

[Given a finding of unlawful discrimination, back
pay should be denied only for reasons which, if
applied generally, would not frustrate the central
statutory purpose of eradicating discrimination
throughout the economy and making persons whole
for injuries suffered for past discrimination.

Rasimus, 714 F.2d at 626 (quoting Albemarle Paper Co.

v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405, 421 (1975)). See also Ford Motor
Co. v. EEOC, 458 U.S. 219 (1982).

Further, Title VII claimants are required to mitigate
their damages by the express language of §706(g), which
provides in pertinent part that:

[interim earnings or amounts earnable with

reasonable diligence by the person .. . discriminated

against shall operate to reduce the back pay
otherwise allowable.

42 U.S.C. $2000e-5(g). This duty to minimize damages is
“rooted in an ancient principle of law,’’ Ford Motor Co.,
458 U.S. at 231; Rasimus, 714 F.2d at 623, and operates
to reduce proper back pay awards otherwise allowable.
Rasimus, 714 F.2d at 623.

A20

In light of the foregoing principles, the Court must
examine the evidence presented to determine whether or
not plaintiff suffered any loss of earnings as a result of
his demotion from foreman to hourly worker. The loss of
earnings in this cause encompass two different areas,
actual wages and salary paid and fringe benefits.

As to the matter of fringe benefits, the only one to
which any reference was made in the evidence is the
right to purchase General Motors automobiles at a
discount. However, no evidence was offered as to the
plaintiff's automobile purchases or what the discount
upon them would have amounted to in money. Hence no
money damages may be awarded for loss of fringe
benefits.

On the matter of wage and salary loss, defendant’s
exhibits U and Y show that plaintiff's earnings as a
salaried worker for June 20, 1977 to June 6, 1980 were
$61,984.73. Had he continued to work as a foreman on
salary, his earnings would have been $60,784.25. Thus
plaintiff suffered no loss of earnings during the period.
Projecting the figures from June 6, 1980 to September
24, 1980, the date of trial, would not change this
situation. The Court thus concludes that the plaintiff had
shown no loss of earnings as the result of the
discrimination practices by the defendant.

In Title VII cases, money damages are limited to the
plaintiff's actual loss of earnings. See Harrington, 585
F.2d at 197. However, since the Court has ordered
plaintiff's reinstatement, if the actual wages he earned
for the entire period from June 7, 1977 to the date of his
reinstatement are less than the salary he would have
earned as a foreman over that period, he is entitled to
judgment for the difference. The parties shall attempt to
agree on the amount to be awarded, if any, and to

A21

stipulate to the amount, employing the standards
enunciated by the Sixth Circuit in Rasimus. The parties
are to bear in mind that any doubts about the amount a
successful plaintiff would have received had there been
no discrimination should be resolved against the
discriminators. Rasimus, 714 F.2d at 628.

As the prevailing party, the plaintiff is entitled to
recover his attorney’s fees and expenses in the case. The
law is now clear as to the method of calculating attorney
fees, and that counsel are expected to work this out
without the necessity of hearing by the Court. The Court
therefore will leave the matter of the amount of
attorney’s fees to be fixed by the parties. However,
should counsel be unable to do so, they should inform
the Court, and the matter of attorney’s fees will be set
for hearing.

Finally, counsel for the plaintiff shall, pursuant to
Local Civil Rule 5.02, prepare and submit a draft of an
order cf judgment expressive of the Court’s findings and
conclusions in this Opinion and Order.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Don J. YOUNG
Sr. United States District Judge

Toledo, Ohio

A22
FINAL JUDGMENT ENTRY OF THE UNITED
STATES DISTRICT COURT
(Filed September 13, 1985)
Case No. C 78-116

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO
WESTERN DIVISION

WILLIAM C. MILES, JR., III,
Plaintiff

Wa

GENERAL MOTORS CORP.,
Defendant.

FINAL JUDGMENT ENTRY

On January 18, 1985, this court issued its opinion
and order finding for the plaintiff and against the
defendant on the issue of liability, which finding is
hereby confirmed.

The parties have agreed on calculations of damages
with the defendant reserving its exceptions to the court’s
determination of liability. The parties have agreed that
back pay through April 7, 1985 is in the amount of
seventy-nine thousand thirty-eight dollars and 14/100
($79,038.14).

The parties have agreed that there are no damages
for health insurance.

A23

The parties have agreed that the plaintiff is to
receive life insurance benefits equal to twice his annual
base, the same as all salaried employees.

The parties have agreed that the plaintiff has waived
his claim for any damages for company contribution to
the stock purchase plan.

The parties have agreed that interest on the back
pay is in the amount of twenty-four thousand three
hundred seventy-eight dollars and 25/100 ($24,378.25)
through April 7, 1985.

The parties have agreed that the attorney fees and
expenses are five thousand three hundred twenty-eight
dollars and 30/100 ($5,328.30) together with sixty dollars
($60.00) in court costs.

The parties have agreed that an order of
reinstatement shall issue together with an order that
back pay will be added from April 7, 1985 through the
date of reinstatement, which sum is to be calculated at a
later date.

It is therefore, ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND
DECREED, that plaintiff should be and he hereby is
granted a judgment against the defendant in the sum of
one hundred eight thousand eight hundred four dollars
and 69/100 ($108,804.69).

It is FURTHER ORDERED that the plaintiff shall
be reinstated to his former position of foreman and shall
be awarded further back pay from April 7, 1985 through
the date of reinstatement.

It is FURTHER ORDERED that the plaintiff is to
receive life insurance benefits equal to twice his annual
base, the same as all salaried employees.

To all of which the defendant specifically excepts.

/s) Don J. YOUNG
Senior U.S. District Judge

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1952%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
