# Opposition Brief — Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services v. Mid-Florida Growers, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1950%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 870

## Text

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United

OCTOBER TERM 1987

No. 87-2123

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
AND CONSUMER SERVICES,
an agency of the State of Florida,
Petitioner,
v.

MID-FLORIDA GROWERS, INC. and
HIMROD & HIMROD CITRUS NURSERY,
Respondents.

RESPONDENTS' BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

CERTIORARI AND APPENDIX
_- ¥
M. STEPHEN TURNER
Davip K. Miter*
BROAD and CASSEL
2 820 East Park Avenue

P. O. Drawer 11300
Tallahassee, Florida 32302
904/681-6810

Bruce S. Rocow

Nova University Law Center
3100 S.W. 9th Avenue

Fort Lauderdale, Florida 33315
305/524-2465

*Counsel of Record

i
QUESTION PRESENTED
The Petition misstates the question presented. We
restate the question, presenting reasons for the clarification

and reserving the jurisdictional arguments below.

Is there a taking of private property for which
compensation must be paid when the State, acting under its
police power to promote state economic interests, unilaterally
declares an emergency and destroys valuable citrus trees
which were healthy and harmless, and when no imminent

danger actually existed to warrant destruction?

Question Presented

Table of Authorities

Statement of the Case

Summary of Argument

Argument in Opposition to Writ of Certiorari

I. The Decision Below Presents No Case
or Controversy For this Court

II. The Decision Below Rests Upon an
Adequate and Independent State
Ground

III. The Decision Below is Not Inconsistent
with Federal and Other State Decisions
and Merits No Review

Conclusion

i4
24

iii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE
149 P. 496, 499 (Mont. 1915) 21
95 So.2d 1 (Fla. 1957) 1,9, 10
et al., 521 So.2d 101 (Fla. 1988)
399 So.2d 1374, 1381 (Fla), cert denied
sub nom. Taylor v. Graham,
454 U.S. 1083, 102 S.Ct. 640, 70
L.Ed.2d 618 (1981) 2

=

416 U.S. 312, 316 (1974) 8
383 So.2d. 285 (Fla Sth DCA 1980) 20
DeBenedictus,__ U.S. __, 107

S.Ct. 1232, 94 L.Ed.2d 472 (1987) 18, 19, 20
458 U.S. 417 (1982) "17, 20, 21
463 U.S. 1032 (1983) 11, 13

Miller v. Schoene,

276 U.S. 272 (1927) 19

a
404 U.S. 244, 246 (1971) 8

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (continued)

PAGE
;
a ay RT Se Servi Mid-Florid

", 505 So.2d 592
(Fla. 2d DCA 1987)

110 So.2d 401 (Fla. 1959) 9, 10

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Florida Department of Agriculture and
Consumer Services (the “Department") seeks certiorari to
review a decision of the Florida Supreme Court that required
it to compensate owners of healthy citrus trees which had
been destroyed by the state's canker eradication program.
r ¢ Agricul Te Servi Mid-
Florida Growers, Inc., et al., 521 So.2d 101 (Fla. 1988)
(Petition Appendix A-6). The Florida Supreme Court
affirmed a Florida District Court of Appeal decision which,
in turn, had affirmed a state trial court's decision that the
destroyed trees were healthy and that their taking required
compensation. State of Florida, Department of Agriculture

iC Servi Mid-Florida G
al., 505 So. 2d 592 (Fla. 2d DCA 1987) (Petition Appendix
A-10).

The Florida Supreme Court found that compensation
was required because the destruction of the healthy trees was
not ultimately a disease control measure to prevent public
harm, but a measure to maintain public confidence in the

State citrus industry where a bacterial disease was suspected,

a

2

but never actually present at Respondents’ nurseries. The

Court held:

The Department contends that no taking
occurred in the instant case because the trees
were destroyed in order to prevent a public
harm. We, however, agree with the district
court's conclusion that destruction of the
healthy trees benefitted the entire citrus
industry and, in turn, Florida's economy,
thereby conferring a public benefit rather than
preventing a public harm. . . . Although this
factor alone may not be conclusive, we have
previously recognized that if a regulation
creates a public benefit it is more likely that

there is a taking. See Graham v. Estuary
i , 399 So.2d 1374, 1381
(Fla.), i

cert, denied sub nom. Taylor _v
Graham, 454 U.S. 1083, 102 S.Ct. 640, 70
L.Ed.2d 618 (1981)... . A taking of private
property for a public purpose which requires
compensation may consist of an entirely
negative act, such as destruction. See, e.g.,
Corneal _v. State Plant Board, 95 So.2d 1
(Fla. 1957) (destruction of healthy citrus
trees required compensation).

Petition Appendix A-3.

The Department attempts to squeeze an important
federal question from that decision. The Petition's long
discussion of the "facts," (Petition at 7-14) including

references to the United States Department of Agriculture!

Z 1The Petition mentions the role of the United States Department of
Agriculture (USDA) in helping to fund canker eradication measures and adopting

3

and to other pending suits,2 is irrelevant. The Florida
Supreme Court's opinion alone is the focal point for
certiorari. As we demonstrate below, that opinion, and
subsequent state court proceedings based solely on state
constitutional grounds, present no conflict of authorities on
important federal questions, and warrant no review by this

Court.

rules regulating interstate movement of citrus products. (Petition at 11-13, 18).
These observations form no part of the record or the issues presented in the
Florida courts. Even if properly raised below, however, the USDA's role would
not create a federal issue since no challenge to its powers or duties is presented,
and no relief of any kind is or could be sought against USDA in state court.
2The Department's potential liability in other cases likewise forms no
part of the record or issues presented here. If the Department's precipitous
destruction of healthy and harmless citrus plants inflected losses of this
magnitude on Florida businesses, destroying investments and employment, and
these businesses remain uncompensated after four years, then the Department's
concern should naturally lie with the victims of this action. As the Florida
Supreme Court observed in oral argument, whatever liability is established is
likely to be borne by the state citrus industry as a whole in the form of an
additional tax. Is it possible that the impetus for this Petition comes from
powerful interests in the state citrus industry, who benefited economically from
the eradication program but do not want to share the resulting economic burden?

4

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Certiorari should be denied because:

1. This case presents no case or controversy for
this Court. The trial on the issue of compensation due has
already taken place in the state trial court, and the amount of
compensation has been determined there under state law
alone. Whatever review this Court may make cannot affect
the parties’ rights as determined in this case under state law.

a The decision below rests upon adequate and
independent state grounds. The Florida Supreme Court cited
primarily to state court decisions, and to the state
constitution, as freestanding authority for its holding. Other
proceedings in the record, as well as reference to Florida law
on condemnation generally, support the proposition that
State law supplied the rule of decision here.

3. The decision below is not inconsistent with
other decisions on the taking issue. The burning of
Respondents’ healthy citrus trees was not undertaken to
control disease, because there was no showing that they
were diseased or even that they were exposed to disease and

presented imminent danger. The purpose of the burning was

5

to restore public confidence in the state citrus industry. The
physical destruction of valuable property for such a purpose
presents a clear case for compensation, and does not merit
review.

Each of these reasons is sufficient in itself to justify

denial of the writ.

6

ARGUMENT IN OPPOSITION TO WRIT

I. The Decision Below Presents no Case or
Controversy for This Court

The Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be denied
because this case is moot for purposes of review by this
Court.

On January 21, 1988 the Florida Supreme Court
rendered its opinion that the Department is required to pay
full and just compensation to these Respondents. Petition
Appendix A-6. The Florida Supreme Court did not stay its
decision, however, but permitted the trial on compensation
to proceed. On March 22 and 23, 1988, the trial to
determine the amount of compensation, based solely on the
Florida Constitution, was held in the state trial court. On
April 1, 1988, the Florida Supreme Court denied rehearing.
Petition Appendix A-9. On April 26, 1988, the trial court
entered its judgment in the amount of $1,943,458.00. See
Respondents’ Appendix A- 26. The Department has
appealed that judgment to the District Court of Appeal.

The Department has acknowledged the existence of
these proceedings:

7

In March of 1988, a Pre-Trial Order was
entered [in the state trial court] which
provided that Petitioner was obligated as a
matter of law to pay full and just
compensation to Respondents for their losses
in accordance with the Constitution of the
State of Florida. As a result, at the trial for
damages held in March 1988, the damages
issue was tried without reference to the Fifth
Amendment and the Jury Instructions were
based exclusively on the Florida
Constitution.

Petition at 5.9

Consequently any decision by this Court would not
affect the rights of the Department and Respondents in this
case. The Respondents have already prevailed at trial on
non-federal grounds. If this Court granted certiorari and
reversed the Florida Supreme Court ruling, the
Respondents’ state constitutional damage judgment would
still stand.

Article III, Section 2 of the United States

Constitution requires a case or controversy. “[F]ederal

3 The Pretrial Order contained the following statement which was read
to the jury:

The State of Florida, Department of Agriculture and Consumer
Services is therefore obligated, as a matter of law, to pay full and just
compensation to the Plaintiffs for their losses in accordance with the
Constitution of the State of Florida. This determination. . . may not be
questioned in this proceeding.

Respondents’ Appendix A- 23.

,

8

courts are without power to decide questions that cannot
affect the rights of litigants in the case before them." North
Carolina v. Rice, 404 U.S. 244, 246 (1971); DeFunis v.
Odegaard, 416 U.S. 312, 316 (1974).

In DeFunis the Court declined to decide the merits
because “without regard to the ultimate resolution of the
issues in this case, DeFunis will remain a student in the Law
School... ." 416 U.S. at 316-17. Here, without regard to
the ultimate resolution of the issues presented by the
Department, the Respondents’ right to compensation has
already been decided solely upon state: 1*~ and state law will
remain the applicable standard in the dispute in all further
proceedings.

The Department apparently recognizes the case it is
presenting here is moot. It concedes "no federal issue was
raised in the subsequent trial on damages." Petition at 6.
Nevertheless, it asks this Court to grant certiorari based
upon the fact that the "Department is already defending
eleven citrus canker cases," and it may have substantial
liability “to these plaintiffs and other potential plaintiffs.. . ."

Petition at 6.

9

Respondents have already established and won their
claim under the state constitution. If the Department raises
and preserves federal questions in its other cases, perhaps
one of them may present an actual case or controversy for
this Court's consideration. This case does not meet the
requirements of Article III, Section 2.

II. The Decision Below Rests Upon An

Adequate and Independent State Ground

The certified question before the Florida Supreme
Court was whether the state could "destroy healthy but
suspect citrus plants without compensation." The Court said
no, relying on two state cases:

[C]onsistent with our decisions in State Plant

Board andCorneal, we answer the certified
question in the negative.

Petition Appendix A-5.

This passage refers to State Plant Board v. Smith,

110 So.2d 401 (Fla. 1959), and Corneal v. State Plant
Board, 95 So.2d 2 (Fla. 1957). These cases held that

compensation is due the owner when the State destroys

healthy citrus trees that do not present any imminent danger,

10

for the purpose of protecting other trees of the same species.
Both Smith and Corneal expressly construed the predecessor
of current Article X, Section 6, Florida Constitution, which
guarantees "full compensation" for private property taken.
Smith, passim; Corneal,95 So.2d at 4.

The Court observed that Smith was "a case involving
circumstances similar to the present case." Petition
Appendix A-4. The Court rejected the Department's attempt
to distinguish Smith, noting:

Because Article X, Section 6, Fla. Const. is

self-executing, it is immaterial that there is no

statute specifically authorizing recovery for

loss.

Petition Appendix A-4.

This citation to the Florida Constitution confirms that an
adequate and independent state constitutional basis exists for
the decision.

The Florida Supreme Court's opinion does cite to
four federal cases, in addition to nine state cases. None of
the federal cases is cited as freestanding authority for any

holding. Each federal citation serves an explanatory, as

opposed to expositive, purpose in the opinion. The presence

11

of such citations does not establish that federal law was
dispositive.4

In Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032 (1983), this
Court held that when a state court decision fairly appears, on
its face, to rest primarily on federal law or to be interwoven
with federal law, and there is no "plain statement"
enunciating adequate and independent state grounds, this
Court may assume, as the most reasonable explanation, that
the decision was based on federal grounds. In Michigan y.
Long, this Court's assumption that no independent state law
ground existed was based on the face of the state court's
opinion. It noted that the state court's only reference to state

law cited state and federal constitutional provisions together.

4the absence of controlling federal issues is reflected in other portions
of the record in the Florida courts. The Respondents’ Second Amended
Complaint (Respondents’ Appendix A-1) the Department's Answer (A-7), the
Pretrial Stipulation (A-10), and the certified question considered by the Florida
appellate courts a. discuss compensation with out reference to federal grounds.
This Court has held that a demand for compensation which does not specify
federal or state grounds is not deemed to raise a federal issue. Consolidated

Tumpike Co, v. Norfolk & O. V, Ry, Co,.228 U.S. 326 (1913).

Moreover, Respondents requested attorney's fees in the Florida courts
based solely on state law grounds (A -115). The Florida Supreme Court's order
granting attorney's fees, Petition Appendix A-9, could only have been based on a
determination of liability for taking under state law.

Finally, as noted above the trial court's Pretrial Order relies solely on
the Florida Constitution as the basis for awarding compensation (A -23) , as did
the entire trial proceeding.

12

Id. at 1037. It noted that the state courts relied exclusively
on federal cases (such as Terry vy. Ohio) and did not cite a
single state case. Id. at 1043. It noted that the state court
declared that the lower state court's decision was based on a
misapplication of Terry v. Ohio principles. Id. at 1044.

No such features appear in the instant opinion of the
Florida Supreme Court. On the contrary, state court
decisions and the state constitution are cited as freestanding
authority for the holding. This decision does not appear on
its face to rest primarily on federal law or to be interwoven
with federal law, and thus affords no grounds for the

assumption that it is based on federal law.

Sn evaluation of the context of state law also reveals that Florida law
provides greater protection to property owners than the United States
Constitution requires. Compare the Fifth Amendmeni ("just compensation")
with Article X, Section 6, Florida Constitution (“full compensation”). See
Sheppard, Compensation in Florida Condemnation Proceedings, 14
U.Fla.L.Rev. 28, 29 (1961) (citing to dissenting opinion comparing "just" and
“full” compensation standards in Central Hanover Bank and Trust Co, v. Pan
American Airways, 137 Fla. 808, 824, 188 So. 820, 826 (1939)). Florida
practitioners consider state law to be more favorable to the property owner in
condemnation actions than federal law. See Weiner, “Distinctions Between
Florida and Federal Practice," Florida Eminent Domain Practice and Procedures
(Fla. Bar 4th Ed. 1988). In this jurisprudential context, it is commonplace for
condemnees to seek redress in state courts under state law, but highly irregular
that a state agency condemnor would seek refuge under federal law. There is no
requirement, of course, that reduces State property rights guarantees to the
minimum standard requird by the United States Constitution. Brennnan, State

Constitutions and the Protection of Individual Rights, 90 Harv. L.Rev. 489
(1977).

13

The permissible assumption under Michigan v. Long

does not displace the petitioner's normal burden to
demonstrate the basis for jurisdiction. Id., n. 8 at 1042. In
this case, no jurisdiction is shown, either because any
possible federal issue is moot, or because there is an

adequate and independent state ground.®

III. The Decision Below is Not Inconsistent
with Federal and Other State Decisions
and Merits No Review
The Florida Supreme Court's decision is not
inconsistent with decisions of other courts on similar issues,

and presents no special occasion for the exercise of

discretionary review. The Department's assertions about the

6The Petition argues that the Florida Supreme Court's decision
determining liability is final for review purposes, contrary to Grays Harbor Co.
v Coats-Fordney Co., 243 U.S. 251 (1917). Modern decisions construing the
finality requirement have preserved the Grays Harbor rule. See Cox Broadcasting
Co, v, Cohn, 420 U.S. 469, n.6 at 477-78 (1975); San Diego Gas & Electric
Co. v, City of San Diego, 450 U.S. 621, 633 (1981). Adherence to precedent
would require that certiorari be denied on this basis as well.

The Department's discussion of the finality issue relies on Cox
Broadcasting. Unlike Cox Broadcasting, however, this case does not involve a
potential future trial that might foreclose important federal issues from review.
That trial has already taken place here, and the only appellate review available
now is on state law grounds that governed the final judgment of the trial court.
If a dispositive federal issue had existed, the opportunity to present it for review
in this Court has passed.

14

novelty, importance and inconsistency of this decision are
based entirely on mischaracterizations of the issues
presented. It is necessary at this point to clarify and
supplement the Department's discussion of the factual
background.

The Department's diagnosis of citrus disease at
Ward's Nursery in August 1984 was based on inadequate
information and false assumptions about the nature of the
disease founti. The disease found was not the virulent "A"
strain canker originally suspected, but a mild strain called
“nursery” or "E” strain canker that posed no threat to the
citrus industry. The undisputed expert testmony at the trial
on liability established this fact. The Department's witnesses
acknowledged that they did not know what disease had been
found. They simply assumed that it was the virulent "A"

strain.”

7 The United States Department of Agriculture recently confirmed that
the “nursery” strain found at Ward's Nursery posed no danger to the industry.
The report found:

There is insufficient evidence to support the contention that even the
most virulent strains (also referred to as aggressive strains), are a serious threat
to citrus production in Florida.

15

The Department followed its assumption that the
disease was dangerous with a unilateral declaration of
emergency and peremptory destruction of citrus trees. The
Department rejected less drastic alternatives, such as
quarantine and spraying. Under Florida law, the owners of
the condemned property had no opportunity to contest the
factual basis for the emergency administrative "Immediate
Final Orders," or to establish the healthiness of the
condemned treees until this inverse condemnation
proceeding.®

Respondents’ trees were never infected or infested
with, or even exposed to, citrus canker of any kind, not even

the "nursery" strain found at Ward's Nursery. They were

No positive evidence exists to suggest that the Xanthomonas nursery
strains pose a threat of significant losses or reduction in quality to bearing citrus
in groves. Thus, it is not clear to us that any control will be required.

Report of the Scientific Review Panel -- Citrus Canker Nurser Strains at 2, 3
(U.S.D.A., May 11, 1988).

The report found that even the “A” or “Asiatic” strain can be controlled by
spraying, cultural practices, and sanitation. [d. at 4.

8See State Plant Board v, Smith, above, and Conner v, Carlton, 223
So.2d 324 (Fla. 1969). In the instant case, the Department began burning
Respondents’ citrus plants on October 7, 1984, and did not issue its “Immediate
Final Orders” until the burning was nearly complete, on October 16, 1984.
Petition Appendix A 44-51. The orders make no findings concerning the
incidence of canker at Respondents’ nurseries.

513

16

healthy and valuable plants posing no threat to other plants.

The Department burned Respondents’ plants
pursuant to the eradication program only because they had
purchased budwood from Ward's Nursery some four
months before any infection there. The Courts below did
not find that the burning was a disease control measure to
protect public health and safety, but rather that it was
perceived necessary to promote or protect the industry's
economic interests. The trial court held that "A police
power circumstance existed to protect the economic public
welfare. ..." Petition Appendix A-17. The Second District
Court of Appeal quoted this finding with approval, and held
that:

Destruction of the healthy trees, however,

assured the continued vitality of Florida's

most valuable citrus industry. Because

destruction of the healthy trees benefited the

entire citrus industry and, in turn, Florida's

economy, the cost is more properly spread

among the many rather than the few who

were unfortunate enough to have purchased
budsticks from the infected nursery.

9 The state courts have upheld police power measures undertaken
topromote the economic interests of the state citrus industry. See Coca-Cola v,
State Dept, of Citrus, 406 So.2d 1079 (Fla. 1982), app. dismissed sub nom Kraft
Inc. v, Florida Dept, of Citrus, 456 U.S. 1002 (1982). That was the purpose of
the eradication program as applied in this case.

17

Petition Appendix A-16.

The Florida Supreme Court also upheld the trial court's
findings, and quoted this conclusion of the District Court of
Appeal with approval. Petition Appendix A-3, A-6.

The authorities cited by the Department for conflict
do not concern the destruction of healthy plants for economic
benefit to the industry. Once that factual situation is
understood, the alleged inconsistencies vanish.

The Florida Supreme Court's reasoning is not
inconsistent with that used by this Court in taking cases.
First, it considered the nature of the Department's action,
especially the physical invasion of the property. A physical
invasion deprives the owner of all use and benefit of the
property, and impairs the ability to dispose of the property.
Loretto v. Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp., 458 U.S.
417 (1982). The physical destruction of personal property
has the same effect as the physical invasion of real property.

A second factor is the governmental purpose or

justification for implementing the regulation in question.

This factor was emphasized in Keystone Bituminous Coal

a - |

18

eee US. a NOT SAM.
1232, 94 L.Ed.2d 472 (1987). There is no question that
where government takes property that is inherently harmful
or dangerous -- such as diseased plants or livestock,
adulterated drugs, contraband weapons or mining rights that
by their exercise would endanger the community -- it
addresses a nuisance and prevents grave public harm. In
Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass'n, there was no serious
question that the prohibitive regulation was necessary to
prevent land subsidence and related dangers. There no
compensation is required. On the other hand, when the
government takes property that is harmless in itself and
poses no public danger, compensation is required. The
instant case, involving the burning of healthy and harmless
citrus plants to maintain public confidence in state citrus
products, clearly falls in the latter category for which
compensation is required.

The third factor cited by this Court is the extent to
which regulation interferes with investment-backed

expectations. This factor was discussed in both Loretto and
Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass'n. Keystone Bituminous

19

Coal Ass'n concerned a prohibitive regulation that, on the
record presented, did not significantly diminish property
value or profitable operations thereon. Id., 94 L.Ed.2d at
488, 493. This case concerns a confiscation that destroyed
the entire value of the property. Here the nursery owners
had every right to expect that their investments would bear
fruit. The Department's total destruction of the healthy trees
clearly interfered with Respondents’ legitimate investment-
backed expectations, and justified an award of
compensation. The award of compensation would be due
under either federal or state constitutional law.

Miller v. Schoene, 276 U.S. 272 (1927), is the only
decision from this Court cited by Petitioner that concerns
taking of plants. In Miller, this Court held no compensation
was required under the United States Constitution when the
state felled cedar trees infected with a fungus dangerous to
apple trees. Miller is inapplicable for several reasons. First,

the cedar trees were felled, not burned as in this case, so

their entire value was not destroyed. This distinction was

recognized in Keystone Bituminous Coal Ass'n, above, 94
L.Ed.2d at 506 (dissent of four justices). Second, the cedar

20

trees were actually infected and dangerous, whereas the
citrus plants here were healthy and harmless. Third, the
cedar wood had little economic value compared to the apple
trees on were saved, so the owner's investment-backed
expectations were not substantially impaired. In the instant
case, the healthy citrus stock had substantial value, and was
destroyed only to prevent perceived danger to other citrus
stock. Miller is distinguishable from this case on each of the
three Loretto-Keystone tests.

Finally, the Department cites two lower federal court
decisions and numerous decisions of other state courts that it
claims conflict with the instant decision. These decisions fall
into two categories. There are decisions that authorize
destruction of diseased or dangerous plants or livestock -- a
Situation not applicable here. There are also decisions that
uphold quarantines of suspect plants, where full value is not
destroyed. Florida law recognizes that such reasonable
quarantines do not constitute takings See Flake v. State,
383 So.2d 285 (Fla 5th DCA 1980). Had the cases cited by
the Department considered destruction of healthy crops, they

could reasonably have reached a different result. See, e.g.,

21

Colvill v. Fox, 149 P. 496, 499 (Mont.1915) (if owner's
apples destroyed by state fruit pest inspector were not
affected with apple scab, his right to recover "could not be
questioned.")

The determination of whether a police power exercise
results in a taking involves an ad hoc factual inquiry.
Loretto, above at 426. The District Court of Appeal cited
this principle once, Petition Appendix A-12, and the Florida
Supreme Court cited it twice. Petition Appendix A-2, A-5.
The decision is clearly not an unruly precedent impairing a
wide range of state police powers, as the Department
contends, but is expressly limited to the unique factual
record carefully summarized in the opinions. In short, the
decision furnishes no basis for generalized concern among
State regulatory authorities.

The key point is that the Department inflicted
irreversible damage on healthy and harmless citrus stock,
destroying all use or benefit therein, in order restore public
confidence in Florida citrus products, for the benefit of the
entire citrus industry. The Florida Supreme Court's decision

allows the state to undertake such measures on an emergency

22

basis where perceived necessary, but spreads the burden of
loss to the whole economy where such measures overshoot
their mark by destroying valuable property that poses no
danger. This is a fair, sensible and standard application of

the compensation requirement. Nothing in the decision

merits this Court's review.

23

CONCLUSION
Respondents pray that the Court will deny the
petition for writ of certiorari.

M. Stephen Turner
David K. Miller
(Counsel of Record)
BROAD andCASSEL
P. O. Drawer 11300
820 E. Park Avenue
Tallahassee, FL 32302
904/68 1-68 10

and

Bruce S. Rogow

Nova University Law Center
3100 S.W. 9th Avenue

Ft. Lauderdale, FL 33315
305/524-2465

? ;

A-i
INDEX TO APPENDIX

PAGE
Second Amended Complaint A-1
Answer A-7
Pretrial Stipulation A-10
Respondents’ Motion for Attorneys’ Fees A-15
Pretrial Order A-19

Final Judgment A-26

:
FE
sy
:

A-1

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF
TENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

IN AND FOR HARDEE COUNTY
FLORIDA

MID-FLORIDA GROWERS, INC., and

HIMROD & HIMROD CITRUS NURSERY,

a Partnership composed of Joe Himrod

and Joe B. Himrod,

Plaintiffs,

vs. CASE NO. G-85-275

STATE OF FLORIDA, DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER SERVICES,

Defendants.

SECOND AMENDED COMPLAINT

Plaintiffs, Mid-Florida Growers, Inc. ("Mid-Florida") and
Himrod & Himrod Citrus Nursery ("Himrod & Himrod"),
sue the State of Florida, Department of Agriculture and
Consumer Services ("Department"), an agency of the State
of Florida, and allege:

1. This is an action for money damages exceeding
$5,000.00 for unconstitutional taking of Plaintiffs’

property without just compensation.

A-2

2. Mid-Florida is a Florida corporation, doing
business as a nursery located in Hardee County, Florida.

3. Himrod & Himrod Citrus Nursery is a

partnership composed of Joe Himrod and Joe B. Himrod,

doing business as a nursery located in Hardee County,
Florida.

4. The Department is an agency of the State of
Florida responsible for enforcing state laws relating to
agriculture pursuant to Chapters 570 and 581, Florida
Statutes.

5. In April of 1984, Mid-Florida and Himrod &
Himrod received citrus budwood from, or propagated
from, Ward's Nursery, a citrus nursery located in Polk
County, Florida.

6. On August 27, 1984, citrus canker
(Xanthomonas campestris pv. citri) was detected in
Ward's Nursery.

7. Citrus canker is a bacterial disease causing
damage to leaves, shoots, and fruit of susceptible plants in

the Rutaceae (citrus) family.

el S
ee ee — EE ee

A-3

8. Because the records of Ward's Nursery revealed
that Mid-Florida and Himrod & Himrod had obtained
budwood from Ward's Nursery, Department inspectors on
September 6, 1984, obtained samples of the citrus trees
from Mid-Florida and Himrod & Himrod to test whether
their trees were infected with the citrus canker.

9. On September 10, 1984, the Department
informed that the tests conducted on trees from Mid-
Florida and Himrod & Himrod's nurseries were
“negative,” meaning that their trees were not infested with,
or carriers of, citrus canker.

10. Despite this finding, the Department advised
Plaintiff on October 2, 1984, that their citrus trees and
budwood must be burned and that a quarantine of their
nurseries was not an acceptable alternative.

11. |The Department advised Plaintiffs, however, that
they would be paid full and just compensation for the
destruction of their trees, and Plaintiffs thereupon
cooperated with the Department in scheduling their trees

for burning.

A-4

12. From Monday, October 7, 1984, until
Wednesday, October 17, 1984, the Department destroyed
by burning 137,880 of Mid-Florida’s and 143,594 of
Himrod & Himrod's citrus trees and budwood.

13.0n October 16, 1984, the Department entered a
confirmatory order that designated the nurseries of Mid-
Florida and Himrod & Himrod as eradication or treatment
areas pursuant to Emergency Rules SBER84-8 and
SBER84-9 and directed that their budwoods received from
Ward's Nursery and all their citrus trees within 125 feet be
immediately destroyed by burning or other approved
method.

14. Despite statements by Department officials,
including the Commissioner of Agriculture, that citrus tree
owners would be paid full and fair compensation for their
destroyed trees, Plaintiffs were paid, under reservation of
rights, only 30% to 60% of their actual invested dollars,
which was 30% to 40% of the market value of their

destroyed trees. This amount was substantially less than

full and fair compensation for the property destroyed.

A-5

16. Pursuant to its regulatory power to take
reasonable measures to protect the citrus industry in
Florida as a whole, the Department could order the
immediate destruction of Plaintiffs’ non-infected citrus
trees and budwood because a small number of budwood
were bought from a nursery that had some infected stock.

17. Nevertheless, in destroying such trees and
budwood that were not infected by, or carriers of, citrus
canker or other disease, the Department thereby took
Plaintiffs’ property for a public use or purpose, and was
obligated to pay just compensation to Plaintiffs.

1®. The Department inversely condemned Plaintiffs’
property by ordering the destruction thereof without
paying full and fair compensation.

19. Plaintiffs are entitled to recover damages for the
unconstitutional taking of their property in the amount of
the uncompensated value thereof, plus interest.

20. Plaintiffs have retained counsel to represent them

in these proceedings and are also entitled to recover

reasonable attorneys’ fees.

A-6

Wherefore, Plaintiffs pray for entry of Judgment
against Defendant for compensatory damages, attorneys’
fees and costs. Plaintiffs demand trial by jury.

Dated this 10th day of October, 1985.

CULPEPPER, PELHAM, TURNER
& MANNHEIMER
300 East Park Avenue
Post Office Drawer 11300
Tallahassee, Florida 32302
904/68 1-68 10

By: /s/ M. Stephen Turner
M. Stephen Turner

And

ls/ William L. Hyde
William L. Hyde

ATTORNEYS FOR PLAINTIFFS

R F SERVI

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a copy of the foregoing
has been furnished to Robert A. Chastain, General
Counsel, Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer
Services, Room 515, May Building, Tallahassee, Florida
32301; by U.S. Mail this 10th day of October, 1985.

[s/ M. Stephen Turner

A-7

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT,
TENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT,
HARDEE COUNTY, FLORIDA

MID-FLORIDA GROWERS, INC. and

HIMROD & HIMROD CITRUS NURSERY,

a Partnership composed of

Joe Himrod and Joe B. Himrod,

Plaintiffs,

VS. Case No. CA-G-85-275
STATE OF FLORIDA, DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER

SERVICES,

Defendant.

ANSWER

Defendant, State of Florida, Department of
Agriculture and Consumer Services answers the Second
Amended Complaint and says:

F Defendant admits the averments contained in
paragrahs 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 12, 13 and 16.

2. Defendant denies the averments contained in
paragraphs 11, 17, 18 and 19.

3. Answering paragraph 20, defendant is

without knowledge as to whether or not plaintiffs have

a
Ss

A-8
retained counsel to represent them in these proceedings, but
denies that plaintiffs are entitled to recover attorneys’ fees.

4. Answering paragraph 9, defendant admits
that it informed plaintiffs that the tests conducted on the trees
from the nurseries were "negative," but denies telling
plaintiffs that their trees were not infested with, or carriers
of, citrus canker.

3 Answering paragraph 14, defendant denies
that its Commissioner or any other officials made statements
that citrus tree owners would be full and fair compensation
for their destroyed trees. Defendant admits that plaintiffs
received financial assistance, but is without knowledge as to
the further averments in that paragraph.

6. Defendant is unable to locate within the
bounds of the Second Amended Complaint a paragraph
number 15, and therefore, does not at this time respond to
such a paragraph.

/s/ ROBERT A. CHASTAIN
ROBERT A. CHASTAIN

General Counsel

Florida Department of Agriculture
and Consumer Services

Room 515, Mayo Building

Tallahassee, Florida 32301

Phone: 904/488-6853

A-9

Attorney for Defendant

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that a copy hereof has been furnished to
M. Stephen Turner, Esquire and William L. Hyde, Esquire,
attorneys for plaintiffs, by mail this 3rd day of January,
1986.

Frank A. Graham, Jr.
Attorney

A-10
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR THE
TENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT, IN
AND FOR HARDEE COUNTY,
FLORIDA

MID-FLORIDA GROWERS, INC., and

HIMROD & HIMROD CITRUS NURSERY,

a Partnership composed of Joe

Himrod and Joe B. Himrod,

Plaintiffs,

vs. Case No. CA-G-85-275
STATE OF FLORIDA, DEPARTMENT

OF AGRICULTURAL AND CONSUMER

SERVICES,

Defendant.

PRETRIAL STIPULATION

Plaintiffs and Defendants, pursuant to Order for
Pretrial Conference dated June 17, 1986, hereby stipulate
and agree as follows with regard to the non-jury trial
scheduled for September 24, 1986.

(a) i i will i
Plaintiffs’ Second Amended Complaint dated October 10,
1985 (deemed filed by Order of December 20, 1985), and
Defendant's Answer to Second Amended Complaint dated

January 3, 1986.

A-ll

(b) Concise statement of action: Inverse
condemnation suit with request for jury trial to determine just
compensation if Court finds that taking occurred. Plaintiffs
contend thai the Defendant State Agency destroyed by
burning their nursery stock which was not infected or
diseased, thereby resulting in a taking for public purpose.
Defendant contends that the destruction occurred pursuant to
regulatory and police power and therefore cannot constitute a
taking.

(c) Admitted facts: Action is for damages
exceeding $5,000. Plaintiffs do business in Hardee County.
Defendant is charged to enforce state agriculture laws. In
April 1984, Plaintiffs received citrus budwood from Ward's
Nursery in Polk County. On August 27, 1984, a form of
citrus canker was detected at Ward's Nursery. Citrus canker
is a bacterial disease that can cause damage to certain citrus
plants. Defendant obtained samples from Plaintiffs’ Nursery
on September 6, 1984, to determine whether their stock was
infected. On September 10, 1984, Defendant informed
Plaintiff the tests were negative, that is, did not establish that

any of their stock was infected by or infested with citrus

A-12

canker. However, on October 2, 1984, Defendant advised
Plaintiffs that their nursery stock must be burned and that
quarantine was not an acceptable alternative. From October
7, to October 19, 1984, Defendant burned some 137,880 of
Plaintiff Mid-Florida's and 143,594 of Plaintiff Himrod's
trees and budwood. On October 16, 1984, Defendant
entered a emergency confirmatory order designating
Plaintiffs’ Nurseries as eradication areas and directing
destruction of Plaintiffs’ stock within 125 feet of budwoods
from Ward's Nursery.

Disputed facts to be litigated: Whether Defendant
assured that Plaintiffs would be fully compensated upon
cooperation in scheduling their stock for burning, and
whether under the circumstances present, the burning was a
taking of property for which full and just compensation is
due.

(d) Legal issue for court determination: Whether
eminent domain power was exercised and just compensation
is due in the circumstances of this case, or whether there was
a proper exercise of the police power that would not require

full compensation. Defendant also contends that Plaintiffs’

A-13

release of liability resolved all claims for compensation.

Plaintiffs do not agree this is an issue in the case. All parties

stipulate and agree that only liability will be resolved by the

Court at the scheduled September 24, 1986 hearing, and that

if liability is determined in favor of Plaintiffs, the amount of

damages will be heard at a later jury trial.

(e)
liabili

2
3
4
a
6
7
8

wi wh ll

For Plaintiffs:
1.

Bill Lambert

. Joe Himrod
. Joe B. Himrod

. Stan Pelham

E. L. Civerola

. Chan Hannon

. Jim Griffith

Richard Gaskella and Dr. Sal Alfieri

(Defendant's representatives as adverse witnesses)

For Defendant:
1. Dr. Calvin Schoulties

1. Cassette film of canker and burnings in
1984.

2. Citrus Canker Action Plan for the State of
Florida, November 1984, Revised 1985, Revised 1986.

3. Exhibits from Gaskalla deposition.

4. Materials produced and copied from
Defendant's files pursuant to notice regarding exposed
plants, inventory, and destroyed plants and specimen tests at
Plaintiffs’ Nurseries.

For Defendant:
1. All Exhibits to original complaint.

(g) | Motions or other pending matters: None.

ls/ M, Stephen Turner _/s/ Robert A. Chastain
CULPEPPER, PELHAM, ROBERT A. CHASTAIN
TURNER & MANNHEIMER Florida Department of

Post Office Drawer 11300 Agriculture
Tallahassee, FL 32302-3300 Room 515, Mayo Building
904/68 1-68 10 Tallahassee, FL 32301

904/488-6853

Wi te FWP Bieties 0S a eaa oh

A-15
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

STATE OF FLORIDA, DEPARTMENT
OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
SERVICES,

Petitioner,

vs. CASE NO. 70-524
MID-FLORIDA GROWERS, INC. AND

HIMROD & HIMROD CITRUS NURSERY,

a partnership composed of

Joe Himrod and Joe B. Himrod,

Respondents.

RESPONDENT'S MOTION FOR ATTORNEYS' FEE

Respondents, Mid-Florida Growers, Inc. and
Himrod & Himrod Citrus Nursery, pursuant to Rule 9.400,
Florida Rules of Appellate Procedure, move the Court for an
order awarding them attorneys’ fees for services in these
proceedings, and as grounds in support thereof says:

3. Under §73.131(2), Florida Statutes (1985),
in a condemnation proceedings, the condemning authority is
required to "pay all reasonable costs of the proceeding in the
appellate court, including reasonable attorneys’ fees to be

assessed by that court, except upon an appeal taken by a

A-16

defendant in which that judgment of the trial court shall be

affirmed."

y 2 Respondents have not initiated proceedings in
this court, but have been obliged to protect the decisions
below finding Petitioner obligated to pay just compensation
for inversely condemning their property. Respondents are
therefore entitled to attorneys’ fees which should be granted
to a property owner except when he unsuccessfully appeals.

. The appellate court below granted
Respondents’ Motion for Attorneys’ Fees as shown by the
attached copy of the Order of April 10, 1987.

4. Suggestion is made to allow the trial court to
determine reasonable attorneys’ fees for services in this

Court when fees and costs for trial and DCA proceedings are

determined. See Boynton v. Canal Authority, 311 So.2d

412 (Fla. lst DCA 1975); State Road Dept. of Florida v.
Hancock, 250 So.2d 307 (Fla. 2nd DCA 1971).

ls/ M. Stephen Turner

M. Stephen Turner of

BROAD AND CASSEL

P. O. Drawer 11300

Tallahassee, FL 32302

904/68 1-6810

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENTS

A-17

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a copy of the foregoing
has been furnished to FRANK G. GRAHAM, JR., Florida
Department of Agriculture, Room 515, Mayo Building,
Tallahassee, FL 32301, by U.S. Mail, this 29th day of
June, 1987.

M. Stephen Turner

A-18

IN THE SECOND DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
LAKELAND, FLORIDA

APRIL 10, 1987
STATE, DEPARTMENT OF
AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
SERVICES,
Appellant,
Vv. Case No. 86-2785

MID-FLORIDA GROWERS, INC.,
et al.,

Appellees.

The attorney for Appellees having filed a motion for
attorneys fees in the above-styled appeal, upon
consideration, it is,

Ordered that said motion is hereby granted in an
amount to be set by the trial court.

A TRUE COPY
ATTEST:

CLERK, DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
SECOND DISTRICT

-
M. Stephen Turner, Esq.

Harry L. Michaels, Esq.
Hon. Coleman W. Best

EE

A-19
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR THE TENTH JUDICIAL
CIRCUIT
IN AND FOR HARDEE COUNTY, FLORIDA
MID-FLORIDA GROWERS, INC., and
HIMROD & HIMROD CITRUS NURSERY,
a Partnership composd of
Joe Himrod and Joe B. Himrod,
Plaintiffs,
vs. Case Number CA-G-85-275
STATE OF FLORIDA, DEPARTMENT
OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
SERVICES,

Defendant.
PRETRIAL ORDER

THIS CAUSE came on for pretrial hearing in
Chambers on March 2, 1988. M. Stephen Turner, C. A.
Boswell, Jr., Dabney L. Conner were present with their
clients, William Lambert of Mid-Florida Growers, Inc., Joe
Himrod and Joe Himrod, Jr., of Himrod and Himrod Citrus
Nursery, Plaintiffs, Mygnon Evans, of counsel to Plaintiffs
was also present. Harry Michaels was present for the
Defendant, State of Florida, Department of Agriculture and
Consumer Services. The Court having reviewed Plaintiffs’

Unilateral Pretrial Submission on Damages and received the

A-20

argument of counsel and otherwise being advised of the
premises, it is hereby ordered:

Ri Defendant's ore tenus motion to stay trial
proceedings pending possible review of the determination of
liability of Defendant for damages on re-hearing in the
Supreme Court of Florida or before the United States
Supreme Court is hereby denied because this Court has not
received notice of any stay of proceedings or recall of the
mandate of the Second District Court of Appeal.

a. Defendant's ore tenus motion to continue the
trial now set in this cause on March 22, 1988, for sixty (60)
days is hereby denied.

a Plaintiffs’ Unilateral Pretrial Submission on
Damages is adopted as the Pretrial Stipulation in this cause
and is incorporated by this order because the Defendant has
chosen not to participate in the preparation of a Pretrial
Stipulation as required by the Court's order setting trial and
pretrial conference.

4, Plaintiffs’ pending Motions for Leave to
Amend the Second Amended Complaint to seek additional

compensation for loss of productivity of their business for a

A-21

temporary period and for additional unnecessary expenses
and relocation costs is hereby granted. These claims are
considered part of the matters that may be submitted for
determination by the jury on the issue of Plaintiff's damages.

De Defendant has undertaken to and shall be
obligated to acquire the attendance of a court reporter at the
trial proceedings.

6. The parties shall exchange all exhibits to be
offered into evidence at trial within ten (10) days from the
date of this order.

7. Counsel will meet with the Clerk at 8:30 a.m.
on the morning of the trial to pre-mark exhibits.

8. The parties shall specify within ten (10) days
of the pretrial conference all witnesses they intend to use at
trial bearing in mind the Court's admonition against the use
of cumulative testimony.

9. All discovery shall be concluded by the close
of business on Friday, March 18, 1988. If any person is to
appear by deposition, counsel intending to use such
deposition(s) shall inform opposing counsel by the

discovery cut off date.

A-22

10. Plaintiffs shall submit a complete set of
proposed jury instructions five (5) days prior to trial.
Defendant shall submit its proposed jury instructions on the
morning of the day trial begins.

11. The Statement of the Case set forth below
shall be read by the Court to the Jury. No other statement
of the nature of the case may be made to the jury by either
party.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE:

On October 7, 1984, the State of Florida, Department
of Agriculture and Consumer Services, as a part of their
canker eradication program, commenced burning 137,980
citrus nursery trees belonging to Plaintiff, Mid-Florida
Growers, Inc. and 143,594 citrus nursery trees belonging to
Himrod and Himrod Citrus Nursery. This destruction
continued until October 17, 1988, when all of Plaintiffs’
trees had been destroyed.

Based on competent substantial evidence previously
heard in this matter it has already been determined that no

citrus canker was present at these Plaintiffs’ nurseries and

Ne OPERA ACORN 7

A-23

that their citrus nursery trees were healthy and not
contaminated with canker.

The State of Florida, Department of Agriculture and
Consumer Services is therefore obligated, as a matter of law,
to pay full and just compensation to the Plaintiffs for their
losses in accordance with the Constitution of the State of
Florida. This determination of the Court has been affirmed
by the Second District Court of Appeal of Florida and
Supreme Court of Florida and may not be questioned in this
proceeding.

Your duty will be to determine in this portion of the
case, the losses sustained by these Plaintiffs as a result of the
Department's actions. The only issue for your determination
in this proceeding on damages will be to decide the value of
the trees destroyed and the amount of other compensible
losses associated with this taking by the Department
pursuant to proper instructions given to you by the Court.

12. Plaintiffs and Defendant have agreed that a
six person jury with one alternate will be empaneled and that
each side shall have three peremptory challenges. Each side

A-24

shall have one peremptory challenge in the selection of the
alternate juror.

13. The Plaintiffs shall present their cases first
and shall be entitled to proceed first on opening statement
and closing argument.

14. If the rule of sequestration is invoked at trial,
the attorneys for each party shall be responsible for
instructing and controlling their witnesses on the obligations
of this rule.

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers at Bartow,
Polk County, Florida, this 8th day of March, 1988.

J. Tim Strickland

J. TIM STRICKLAND

Circuit Judge

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE
I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and correct

copy of the above and foregoing was forwarded by regular
United States Mail this 8th day of March, 1988, to M.
Stephen Turner, Esquire, Post Office Drawer 11300,
Tallahassee, FL 32302; Harry Lewis Michaels, Esquire,
Room 515 Mayo Building, Tallahassee, FL 32399-0800;

and to Dabney L. Conner, Esquire, Post Office Box 1578,
Bartow, FL 33830.

ls/ Polly Rogers
POLLY ROGERS
JUDICIAL ASSISTANT

A-25
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE

MID-FLORIDA GROWESS, INC. and
HIMROD & HIMROD CITRUS NURSERY,

a composed of Joe

Himrod and Joe B. Himrod,

Plaintiffs,

vs. Case No. CA-G-85-275

STATE OF FLORIDA, DEPARTMENT
OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
SERVICES,

Defendant.

FINAL JUDGMENT

Based on the jury verdict and the requirements of
law, it is hereby ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that:

1. Defendant, STATE OF FLORIDA,
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
SERVICES, is liable to and shall pay Plaintiff, MID-
FLORIDA GROWERS, INC., the sum of Nine Hundred
S:xty-six Thousand One Hundred Seventy-seven Dollars
and ninety-five cents ($966,177.95), plus 12% interest per
annum from date hereof, for which let execution issue.

A-26

2. Defendant, STATE OF FLORIDA,
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
SERVICES, is liable to and shall pay Plaintiff HIMROD &
HIMROD CITRUS NURSERY, the sum of Nine Hundred
Seventy-seven Thousand Two Hundred Eighty-one Dollars
($977,281.00), plus 12% interest per annum from date
hereof, for which let execution issue.

The Court reserves jurisdiction to award attorneys

fees and costs of this case.
DONE AND ORDERED this 26th day of April 1988.
s/J. Tim Strickland
J. Tim Strickland
Circuit Judge
Copies furnished to:
M. Stephen Turner

Harry Mic haels
Mallory Home

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1950%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
