# Opposition Brief — Oahu Gas Service, Inc. v. Pacific Resources, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1927%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 870

## Text

No. 87-2096 onresee

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

OAHU GAS SERVICE, INC.,
Petitioner,

VS.

PACIFIC RESOURCES INC. and GASco, INC.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
To The United States Court of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

JOHN E. SPARKS
Counsel of Record

WILLIAM S. BoyD

WILLIAM J. TAYLOR

BROBECK, PHLEGER & HARRISON

2900 Spear Street Tower
One Market Plaza

San Francisco, California 94105

Telephone: (415) 442-0900
Counsel for Respondents

BOWNE OF SAN FRANCISCO. INC + 190 NINTH ST. « SF... CA 94103 « (415) 864-2300

i

LIST OF PARENT COMPANIES, SUBSIDIARIES
AND AFFILIATES PURSUANT TO RULE 28.1

Pacific Resources, Inc.

Gasco, Inc.

Enerco, Inc.

PRI Energy Systems, Inc.

Promana, Inc.

Hawaii Energy Resources, Inc.
Hawaiian Independent Refinery, Inc.
PRI International, Inc.

PRI Northwest, Inc.
Pacific Resources Terminals, Inc.
Petroterm, Inc.

International Solarpanel, Inc.

PRI Marine, Inc.

PRI South Pacific, Inc.

South Pacific Resources, Inc.
Triad Pacific Petroleum Limited
Tonga Pacific Limited

Trans Pacific Resources (Fiii) Ltd.

Mid Pacific Resources, Inc.
Paramount Petroleum Corporation

Energy Factors, Incorporated

PRI ASIA PTE LTD.

PRI Eastern Limited

PRI International Limited
PRI Finance Limited
PRI Pacific Limited

Societe Polynesienne de Distribution
D’Hydrocarbures
ASIAN PACIFIC RESOURCES SDN BHD

P.R.I.N. Limited
Pacific Resources (Liberia) Limited
Pacific Resources Limited

Brewer Pacific Agronomics Co.

Pacific Energy Resources, Inc.
Pacific Texas Resources, Inc.

PRI Leasing, Inc.

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
List of Parent Companies, Subsidiaries and Affiliates Pursu-

2 3 5 ear ara wl Paneer rel ry ire i
Tit AMS 3 iis ce ee eee ill
IRUNER OE TRO LONE i oe ee ee l

J
SN GE TGS eo. sce oe eo ee eee F

Pi.) en I ese 6 a kas 5 oe ee eae eee 2

Te PVG BONO... cc Qizeke ee 2

C. Federal Government Regulation................. 3

D. Modification of HIRI’s Refinery................. 5

E. Gasco’s 1982 Marketing Program................ 7

II

The District Court Proceedings... ... 3. 6.000064 65 cas eaes 8
Ill]

The Proceedings in the Court of Appeals ............... 9

Reasons for Denying the Writ... 02.0.0... 0000s ccuesaud 10
]

The Question Proposed for Review Is Vague, Fact Specific
and Devoid of any Reason for Invoking This Court’s
PI gk eo aks 0 y7n eta ns 4a nee a et 1]

I]

The Court of Appeals Followed Traditional Section 2 Analy-
sis and Correctly Rejected Petitioner's Aberrant Legal

ANNE nce ck keane sdsa sk eee 14
A. Section 2 Does Not Require Manufacture of an
brmiicoent Mew Product... ...ccsucecsnscecdanes 14

B. Section 2 Does Not Prohibit Price Reductions Above
Average Total Cost in the Absence of Injury to
CANON oc as Sb oo enn ee tee ee 18

Conclusion....... cukveesiavadeeested ee 20

iil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Page

Airweld, Inc. v. Airco, Inc., 742 F.2d 1184 (9th cir. 1984),

oor, meme, 467 US. 1213 (1985) ................... 20
Arthur S. Lagenderfer, Inc. v. S.E. Johnson Co., 729 F.2d
1050 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1036 (1984) .... 13
Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen Highlands Skiing Corp.,
a i ay 86, 37
Barry Wright Corp. v. ITT Grinnell Corp., 724 F.2d 227 (Ist
ey Sey ence cveesceesseaes's 13
Berkey Photo Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 603 F.2d 263
(2nd Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 1093 (1980) ... 12

Brown Shoe Co. v. United States, 370 U.S. 294 (1962)... 20
California Computer Products, Inc. v. International Business

Machines Corp., 613 F.2d 727 (9th Cir. 1979) ....... 12, 20
Cargill Inc. v. Montfort of Colorado, Inc., 479 U.S. 104;

8 19, 20
Drinkwine v. Federated Publications, Inc., 780 F.2d 735 (9th

Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 106 S.Ct. 1471 (1986)........ 20
Foremost Pro Color Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 703 F.2d

534 (9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1038 (1984). 12
GAF Corp. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 519 F.Supp. 1203

EE 17
Gasco Inc., 1 Federal Energy Administration {| 20,724
EE 3
Matshushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp.,
ee 13, 18
Mobil Oil Corp. v. Federal Energy Admin., 566 F.2d 87
hs cece bss auncdbesecns 16
MCI Communications Corp. v. AT&T, 708 F.2d 1081 (7th
Cir.), cert. denied, 470 U.S. 1005 (1983) ............. 13
Northeastern Tel. Co. v. AT&T, 651 F.2d 76 (2nd Cir.),
cert. denied, 454 U.S. 968 (1981) ................... 13

Oahu LP Gas Service, Inc., 2 FEA ¥ 85,009 (Feb. 11,1975) 16

Olympia Equipment Leasing Co. v. Western Union Tele.
Co., 797 F.2d 370 (7th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 107 S.Ct.
ed. a sks eceaceessens 16, 20

iV
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
Page

Standard Oil Co. of Calif., 2 FEA ¥ 80,618 (June 26, 1975) 16

Southern Pacific Comunic. Co. v. AT&T, 740 F.2d 980
(D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 470 U.S. 1005 (1984) ....... 13

Transamerica Computer Co. v. International Business
Machines Corp., 698 F.2d 1377 (9th Cir.) cert. denied,

ee ee I eda ee uloe re ocd 13, 19, 20
United States v. Grinnell Corp., 384 U.S. 563 (1966) ...12, 15
United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 200 (1925) ......... 14

Western Concrete Structures v. Mitsui & Co. (USA), Inc.,
760 F.2d 1013 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 903
SO vey ok ee a oer, Ore. 1]
William Inglis & Sons Baking Co. v. “ITT Continental
Baking Co., 668 F.2d 1014 (9th Cir. 1981), cert. denied,
ae Aa CE id cosa noe etn ed dae kaa 20

Statutes and Regulations
15 United States Code:

BU dane chi k Oh solace ek pled babeaen eens 8
FRIES POU PES ON Pee PEE Ee Oe SE ROO EL passim
§ 3 of Clayton Act ..... Sipe please uptrend pe cag ha Reply: 8
Re Dre AAS arr re rare ere 3
10 Code of Federal Regulations:
Ee niga gre ease aaa aon aah awe 5
PE eee Mee SLC UL sh dase euoaleee ache ee sna ceeds 3
subpart E, § 212.81 ef sem... 2. ccc ccc cece ceee 5
ge ee eer rere 5
Other Authorites
Areeda, P. & Turner, D., III Antitrust Law (1987) ...... 13
Easterbrook, F., On Identifying Exclusionary Conduct, 61
Notre Dame L. Rev. 972 (1986) .................... 18

Liebler, W., Whither Predatory Pricing? From Areeda and
Turner to Matsushita, 61 Notre Dame L. Rev. 1052
REED *s-s.0' bnlae pire a Os ange Eee 13

No. 87-2096

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

OaHu GAS SERVICE, INC.,
Petitioner,

VS.

PaciFic RESOURCES INC. and Gasco, INC.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
To The United States Court of Appeals
For The Ninth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petition for Certiorari (“Petition”) presents a question for
review that is entirely fact specific, relating to the individual
“circumstances” of this case, and raises no important issue of law
that is worthy of consideration by this Court. We accept the
question as stated. However, the statements of facts and proceed-
ings before the Court of Appeals are incomplete and inaccurate.
We set forth below a statement of uncontroverted facts supported
by references to the. record before the Court of Appeals and a
summary of the proceedings below.

' The record references are to the record before the Court of Appeals.
We cite the Appendix to the Petition as “App. A”, etc. and the
Appendix to this brief as “App. 1”, etc. Emphasis is added in quoted
matter unless otherwise stated.

2

I
STATEMENT OF FACTS

A. The Parties

Respondent Gasco, Inc. (“Gasco”) is the wholly owned sub-
sidiary of Respondent Pacific Resources, Inc. (“PRI”) (C.R.
265, p.6). Gasco is, and has been since the 1950's, engaged in the
retail distribution and sale of propane and SNG in Hawaii
(RT3:67, 13:13). Petitioner Oahu Gas Service, Inc. (“OGS”)
was formed in late 1972 by a former officer and director of Gasco
and PRI, James Fransden, to engage in the distribution and sale
of propane on the Island of Oahu (C.R. 265, pp.8-9).

B. The Propane Markets

Prior to 1982, Standard Oil Company of California (“Chev-
ron’) was the sole manufacturer of propane in Hawaii, and prior
to 1972, Chevron operated the only petroleum refinery in Hawaii
(RT13:13). At all relevant times, Chevron and the federal gov-
ernment have dominated wholesale propane sales in Hawaii
(App. C, p.20). In 1972 PRI's subsidiary, Hawaiian Independent
Refinery, Inc. (“HIRI”), completed construction of, and intro-
duced into commercial operation, a small refinery on Oahu for
manufacture of petroleum products, not including propane. As
discussed below, HIRI considered entering the wholesale propane
market by adding a propane unit to its refinery prior to the
initiation of federal price control in late 1973, but delayed that
investment until 1982 after the end of price control.

Chevron was for many years the major retail distributor of
propane in Hawaii. Chevron withdrew from that business in the
1950’s and thereafter sold propane to Gasco, which became the
sole retail distributor of propane in Hawaii until the entry of OGS
in 1972. (RT3:67, 13:13.) OGS was conceived to target Gasco’s
large commercial, industrial and multi-family unit customers on
the Island of Oahu. Frandsen recognized that these large volume
propane users, as compared to residential users, required less
handling, less investment and were the “key to this type of
business and always will be” (RT9:142). As the Petition states
(p.4), “Chevron encouraged James Frandsen to form OGS, and

3

eventually contracted with OGS for propane supplies” (Exs. 958,
2074). As Frandsen testified, “they [Chevron] had already estab-
lished the fact that they were going to have a second distributor
out here” (RT9:99). OGS did not enter the less lucrative propane
distribution business on the Neighbor Islands of Hawaii, where
Gasco continued to be the sole propane distributor. After its entry
in 1972, OGS increased market share every year. By 1983 OGS
had 30% of propane retail sales on Oahu (RT4:155-56; Ex. 1318)
and 78% of the sub-market of large commercial and industrial
users (RT3:68-69). A third retail propane marketer, Aloha Gas,
commenced operations on Oahu in 1983 (RT12:107-08).

C. Federal Government Regulation

The Emergency Petroleum Allocation Act was enacted in
November 1973, governing petroleum prices and supply relation-
ships. The federal government (ultimately through the Depart-
ment of Energy (“DOE”)) exercised complete control over both
propane prices and the allocation of propane supplies until 1981]
with the purpose and effect of displacing “normal market forces”
(RT14:193, 194, 198).

The federal regulations superseded the contractual supply rela-
tionship between Chevron and its customers, Gasco and OGS. In
place of a contractual supply commitment from Chevron, DOE
assigned OGS an allocation of a portion of Chevron’s supply to
Gasco during the base period (RT14:205-6). Because price
controls made propane production less profitable than using the
components of propane to produce other products, Chevron
limited its production of propane to the minimum required by
DOE. (E.g., Gasco Inc, 1 FEA § 20,724 (Dec. 6, 1974).) Gasco
was not able to obtain the quantity of Chevron propane necessary
to supply its customers and imported foreign propane at a signifi-
cantly higher cost (RT2:78). OGS obtained all of its supplies

715 USC. §751 et seg. (1973); 10 C.F.R. Part 211 (Mandatory
Petroleum Allocation Regulations) and Part 212 (Mandatory Petroleum
Price Regulations)

4

from Chevron and enjoyed a cost advantage over Gasco.’ This
cost advantage permitted OGS’s business to grow at an even more
rapid rate than OGS predicted in its initial business projections
(RT9:168-69, 15:84-86; Exs. 2120, 2149, 2191).

Even with its rapid growth and cost advantage, OGS did not
utilize all of the propane made available to it by Chevron under
the regulations until 1976 (Exs. 2633, 2822). Over the next
six years, OGS petitioned DOE on numerous occasions seeking
an order requiring Chevron to provide more propane to OGS.
Gasco opposed OGS’s requests on the ground that providing
OGS with a greater percentage of the low price Chevron propane
would only require Gasco to import greater quantities of more
expensive foreign propane and thus increase the cost advantage
that OGS already enjoyed. Based primarily on this reasoning, the
DOE regularly denied OGS's requests.* Finally, in July, 1979,
DOE increased OGS’s supply of domestic propane on the condi-
tion that OGS pay an amount necessary to offset partially the
additional costs Gasco would incur to import more foreign
propane.°

Mr. Frandsen admitted, as the DOE had determined. that OGS
enjoyed a competitive advantage over Gasco in the cost of propane
because OGS purchased only price controlled domestic propane from
Chevron while Gasco purchased additional supplies at higher prices on
the world market (RT12:107-08). The DOE stated (Ex. 110, p.7):

Since OGS purchases only the lower cost domestic propane, its
product cost is considerably less than Gasco’s product costs

“In its Order dated September 20, 1978, the DOE stated (Ex. 97.
p.6):
OGS enjoys a substantial cost advantage over Gasco, a cost
advantage which would certainly be increased by the approval of an
increased base period allocation to OGS.

However, consumers will not necessarily benefit from “competi-
tion” in a market in which one firm enjoys a particular advantage.

’ Ex. 97, pp.26-27. The $163,108 OGS paid in accordance with this
DOE order was awarded trebled to OGS as damages as the “World
Price Adjustment.” OGS also was awarded as damages the $375,000

5

D. Modification of HIRI’s Refinery

The government regulatory program also played a decisive role
in HIRI’s consideration of adding a propane recovery unit to its
refinery in the mid-1970's. The HIRI refinery, which had com-
menced operations in 1972, was constructed to produce fuels for
military uses. In early 1973, HIRI began to consider possible
refinery modifications, including installation of new equipment to
permit production of gasoline and commercial grade propane.
HIRI commissioned both internal and external studies of these
possibilities. (RT13:92, 99-100.) In 1973, HIRI anticipated that
the refinery modifications would be completed by 1976 and that
Gasco would be the primary purchaser of the new propane
(Exs. 243, 381).

The 1973-74 government regulations, enacted after the Arab
oil embargo in September 1973, impacted HIRI’s plans by fixing
a maximum wholesale price that could be charged by a refiner for
propane. Since HIRI had never before produced propane, the
price HIRI could charge would be determined under the “New
Item Rule” (10 C.F.R. § 212.11), which limited HIRI to Chev-
ron’s maximum price for propane in Hawaii. (RT14:216-217.)°

The government ceiling price dramatically altered the eco-
nomic viability of the proposed HIRI investment. As Joseph
Pelletier, Executive Vice President of PRI, testified (RT13:101-
02):

The effect on our propane unit was that as we analyzed the
cost. the investment we would have to put in...and we
looked at and determined through contacts with the Depart-
ment of Energy... what the pricing might be that we could

which Mr. Frandsen “estimated” OGS spent in the various proceedings
before the DOE

° For refiners such as Chevron and HIRI the calculation of maximum
ceiling prices it could charge for gasoline and propane were calculated
under two separate and different formulas. Compare Subpart K, 10
C.F.R. § 212.161 et seg. (Mandatory Petroleum Price Regula-
tions—Natural Gas Liquids) with Subpart E, 10 C.F.R. § 212.81 et seq.
(Mandatory Petroleum Price Regulations—Refiners )

6

sell that propane from the refinery, we found out that it was
not economical.

In fact, we’d have to make an investment in which we’d
have a negative return on it. And so it just did not make
sense to us to go ahead and proceed with it at that time.

Propane production was also uneconomic for Chevron, which
was, nonetheless, required by DOE regulations to continue pro-
pane production and sale at regulated prices (Ex. 2656). How-
ever, HIRI was not required by DOE to construct a propane
production unit and to commence propane production, and HIRI
postponed its plans to do so in the interest of avoiding production
of an uneconomic product. Mr. James Gary, the President and
Chairman of PRI as well as President of HIRI, confirmed that
propane production by HIRI did not make economic sense
(RT:5:85):

{I]t appeared that we would be tied to what Standard of
California, for the allocation period, was being required to
sell propane for also. And there’s no way you could build a
new facility and charge the Standard of California price and
make the thing pay.

The foregoing evidence was uncontroverted. At trial, OGS did
not dispute this evidence but elected instead to attack defendants’
“lack of morality” in allowing Chevron to be saddled alone with
the obligation of refining a commodity on which it was losing
money. (RT18:152.)

Defendants acknowledged that HIRI would be required to sell
propane to OGS if it made the investment to produce propane.’
This was cited by OGS as “evidence” that HIRI’s intent was to
“starve” OGS. However, since HIRI modified its refinery and

” (RT7:165; Exhibits 776, 778, 550.) There was no evidence that
HIRI ever tried to avoid any obligation to supply OGS. To the contrary,
PRI's Chairman, Mr. James Gary, testified that HIRI was prepared to
supply propane to others (RT5:86-87.) He later reiterated that HIRI
would “sell to them [OGS] today. In fact, I think we’ve offered to at
one point or another” (RTS:90). OGS has never even asked to purchase
HIRI propane (RT13:122).

7

commenced propane production in 1982 after the end of price
controls in 1981, it has sold propane to Aloha L.P. Gas, a new
entrant, to Gasco, and has expressed willingness to sell to OGS
(RT6:87-89).

E. Gasco’s 1982 Marketing Program

In late 1981 with the end of federal regulation, propane became
more plentiful, and Gasco was beset by declining sales volume
resulting from the installation of alternative energy devices such
as electric heat pumps and solar powered water heating systems.*
In response to these changing conditions, Gasco undertook a
market analysis and developed a pricing and marketing strategy to
compete with the substitute energy sources and with OGS for the
high volume commercial and industrial users.

In March and April, 1982, Gasco sent more than 3900 letters to
present and potential industrial and commercial users of propane,
including some being supplied under long term contracts with
OGS, offering long term contracts at reduced prices (Exs. 2812,
2813; RT7:50-57). OGS conceded at trial that the prices offered
by Gasco were above Gasco's average tota! costs of supplying
propane.”

In response to Gasco’s offers, OGS immediately instituted
what it called a “temporary voluntary allowance” or “TVA,”
reducing its price to each of its contract customers (RT9:189-
90).'° As a result of the TVA, none of the OGS customers
accepted Gasco’s proposed contract, although all of them bene-

* E.g., Exhibit 2808. Gasco lost 2 to 3 million gallons of propane sales,
approximately 10% of its business, to heat pumps between 1980 and
1985. (RT2:160-161.)

” OGS’s assertion in its complaint that the prices offered by Gasco
were below cost as well as its claims that these offers violated the
Robinson-Patman Act and Hawaii state law were abandoned at trial
(C.R. 310, 341).

'° Mr. Fransden’s unsupported conclusory testimony that the TVA’s
“almost” forced OGS into bankruptcy was belied by the fact that OGS
was profitable throughout the period at issue (RT9:168-69; Ex. 662,
p.33).

8

fited from the lower prices resulting from this competition
(RT9:191). Some existing Gasco customers accepted Gasco’s
contracts, and they also enjoyed reduced propane prices (RT
7:14-17).

II
THE DISTRICT COURT PROCEEDINGS

The complaint was filed in 1977, asserting violations of Sec-
tions 1 and 2 of the Sherman Act, Section 3 of the Clayton Act
and various Hawaii statutes. In 1982 petitioner obtained a prelim-
inary injunction restraining Gasco from soliciting petitioner’s
contract customers (C.R. 184). Thereafter, the court ordered
petitioner to desist from misrepresenting the injunction to poten-
tial and existing customers (C.R. 246).

Throughout the many years of pretrial proceedings in this case,
petitioner’s principal contentions were that respondents had vio-
lated Section 2 by conducting sham proceedings before DOE and
engaging in predatory pricing. At trial, however, petitioner ab-
ruptly abandoned those theories and asserted, instead, that the
violation of Section 2 consists of (1) HIRI’s decision not to invest
in and construct a propane recovery unit at its refinery in 1974 and
1975 and (2) “sham” offers of reduced prices to OGS’s custom-
ers in 1982. (See RT1:9-97, 131; RT17:69, 89; RT18:165; C.R.
363, p.7.) As the District Court noted, “the case which was tried
was entirely different from the case which was filed” (C.R. 379,

p. 8).

The jury returned a verdict in favor of petitioner awarding
damages of $4,963,998 ($1,654,666 trebled).

Following the trial, respondents filed a motion for judgment
n.o.v. on three separate and independent grounds: (1) that the
evidence was insufficient to permit a conclusion that distribution
of propane was susceptible to monopolization by PRI-Gasco;
(2) that petitioner failed to offer sufficient proof of conduct
violative of the standards of competition imposed by Section 2;
and (3) that the evidence of injury and damage was too specula-
tive to go to the jury. On June 2, 1986, the District Court, inter
alia, denied respondents’ motions for a judgment n.o.v. and

9

granted petitioner $873,324 in attorneys’ fees (C.R. 358, 359, 362,
372, 379). The District Court’s memorandum and order devoted
one paragraph to respondents’ motion (C.R. 379):

While the Court had indicated that it might well have found
a different result, or at least made inquiry beyond that
presented to the jury had the case been tried to the Court,
there is substantial evidence to support the jury’s verdict.
The Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict is
denied.

Ill
THE PROCEEDINGS IN THE COURT OF APPEALS

The Opinion issued October 9, 1987, (1) reversed the portion
of the judgment based on the refinery modification contention on
the ground that respondents had established undisputed efficiency
justifications for delay of its refinery modification (App. A, p.10);
(2) affirmed the portion based on the 1981 price reductions on
the ground that there was “clear and convincing evidence” to
support the jury’s verdict that respordents’ reduced price offers
were predatory (id. p.12); and (3) remanded to the District
Court to “recalculate” the award of attorneys’ fees (id., p.14).

On October 23, 1987, respondents filed a petition for rehearing,
contending, inter alia, that Gasco’s offers of reduced prices above
average total cost were lawful, regardless of the existence of
predatory intent, in the absence of clear and convincing evidence
of an injury to competition (App. E, p.3). Petitioner did not file a
petition for rehearing but did file a petition for clarification
(App. 1), which urged that the Opinion be “clarified” in two
respects: (1) by defining the term “uneconomical” as used in the
discussion of the refinery modification issue to mean “unprofita-
ble” and (2) by deleting reference to the “clear and convincing”
evidence standard from the discussion of Gasco’s 1982 marketing
campaign.

On November 27, 1987, the Court of Appeals issued its
Amended Opinion, which contains essentially two changes:
(1) the discussion of the refinery modification issue is revised to

10

state, among other things, that the investment required to produce
propane in the HIRI refinery would have resulted in a “negative
return” in the light of “price controls” and, therefore, was “not
economically efficient” (App. B, p.10); and (2) the discussion of
the 1982 marketing program was revised to eliminate the clear
and convincing evidence standard applied in the Ninth Circuit in
predatory pricing cases. The Amended Opinion holds that
“sham” or “fraudulent” offers of reduced prices “whose only
rationale is a desire to drive rivals out of the market” are illegal
under Section 2 and that “the evidence reasonably supported the
jury’s finding of a predatory rationale” (App. B, p.13). The
Amended Opinion does not address, or purport to rule upon,
respondents’ petition for rehearing.

On February 1, 1988, the Court of Appeals issued its Order and
Opinion (App. C). The Order withdraws the earlier two opinions,
and the Opinion reverses the judgment below in its entirety. The
February 1 Opinion contains an expanded discussion of market
power and relevant markets (App. C, pp.8-16), republishes the
Amended Opinion’s discussion of the refinery expansion issue
(App. C., pp.17-20), and reverses the judgment based on the
1982 marketing campaign on the basis of the traditional Section 2
concept that the correct test for predatory conduct arising from
offers of prices above average total cost is whether the offers
“unreasonably restrict competition” (App. C, pp.21-22).

Subsequent to the issuance of the February 1 Opinion, the
Court of Appeals denied respondents’ petition for rehearing as
moot. Petitioner filed a timely petition for rehearing limited to the
issue of the 1982 marketing campaign (App. 2). Consistent with
its position on the October opinion, petitioner did not seek
rehearing with respect to the refinery expansion issue. Petitioner
now seeks to have this Court review the Opinion’s analysis of
Section 2 conduct in toto, claiming that it involves the jury’s
proper role and function in a Section 2 case.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

The Opinion applies settled principles of antitrust law to
particular facts. It is highly specific to the particular circum-

11

stances of the case, which occurred, in part, under the discarded
framework of federal regulation over the supply and pricing of
propane. The Petition points to no conflict among the Circuits, no
issue of antitrust law or important aspect of this particular case
that should prompt this Court to entertain a discretionary review.

I

THE QUESTION PROPOSED FOR REVIEW IS VAGUE,
FACT SPECIFIC AND DEVOID OF ANY REASON FOR
INVOKING THIS COURT’S REVIEW

Petitioner seeks to have this Court review an amorphous, open-
ended question, asking (Petition, p.i):

Given monopoly power in properly defined relevant product
and geographic markets, under what circumstances can an
appellate court determine that the monopolist’s conduct is
procompetitive as a matter of law and under what circum-
stances must the appellate court abide the fact finder’s
determination if supported by substantial evidence?

This question is so vague as to ke meaningless and does not
present any issue on which the Circuits are in conflict or any
question of overriding importance of statutory interpretation justi-
fying this Court’s review. The relevant legal standards for review
are set forth in the Opinion,'' and the Petition does not take issue
with them. Rather, the Petition contends that under the circum-
stances of this particular case the Court of Appeals improperly set
aside the verdict of the jury, which, petitioner contends, was
supported by substantial evidence. Even if that were so, which it
is not, review would entail and require a detailed inquiry into the
trial record and would involve only questions of fact and evidence.

'! The Opinion states the standards of review, applicable to species of
conduct found to violate Section 2 (App. C, p.16):
These determinations that specific conduct was anticompetitive in
violation of the Sherman Act are questions of law that we review de
novo. Western Concrete Structures Co. v. Mitsui & Company
(U.S.A.), Inc., 760 F.2d 1013, 1016 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 474
U.S. 903 (1985).

12

The Petition suggests that by reviewing this case, the Court will
be able to draw a bright line between “what monopolistic behav-
ior can be held procompetitive as a matter of law” and “what
monopolistic behavior presents for a jury a justiciable fact issue”
(Petition, p.12). This suggestion simply does not bear analysis.
The two courses of conduct that were here challenged to be in
violation of Section 2 are well within the zone conceded by the
Petition to be “permissible acts even if done by a monopolist”
(Petition, p.12).

The first was the decision of HIRI about the timing of “entry”
into the “market” of manufacture and wholesale of propane,
which is a market concededly not dominated by respondents
(App. C, p.20). Consistent with the Court’s decision in United
States v. Grinnell Corp., 384 U.S. 563, 571 (1966), the lower
federal courts have refused to second-guess even a monopolist’s
decisions about the timing of market entry. E.g., Berkey Photo,
Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 603 F.2d 263, 286 (2d Cir. 1979)
cert. denied 444 U.S. 1093 (1980) (“Any firm, even a monopo-
list, may generally bring its product to market whenever and
however it chooses. ...”); Foremost Pro Color, Inc. v. Eastman
Kodak Co., 703 F.2d 534, 545 (9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465
U.S. 1038 (1984) (“Without more, it is not unlawful for any
competitor in any market to delay the introduction of a new
product or an entire line of new products until . . . the competition
forces such introduction.”). And a related line of cases holds that
a monopolist may make product changes justified by efficiency.
E.g., California Computer Products, v. International Business
Machines Corp., 613 F.2d 727, 744 (9th Cir. 1979) (Cost-
justified changes in product design “did not present a jury
issue.” ). Compare, Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen Highlands Skiing
Corp., 472 U.S. 585 (1985), where the Court upheld a verdict for
the plaintiff based on conduct by a monopolist cancelling a long-
standing market relationship, which effected an “important
change” in the character of the market, on the ground that there
was no business justification (id. at 604-5). Here, the Court of
Appeals refused to permit the jury to second-guess HIRI’s
decision not to invest in propane manufacturing facilities when
propane production was economically inefficient and when the
decision left the existing retail propane markets and supply

13

relationships exactly as they were. Rather than challenging the
formulation of the permissible conduct, the Petition (16-20)
quibbles with the Court of Appeals’ analysis of the economic facts
of record.

The second course of challenged conduct was Gasco’s 1982
marketing program, consisting of offers of reduced prices above
average total cost to high volume propane consumers. Economic
theory and reported decisions suggest that price-cutting in this
range presents no danger to competition and consumer welfare.
E.g., Areeda, P. & Turner D., III Antitrust Law 4714 (1978
ed.) and 9711.1 (Suppl. 1987); Arthur S. Langenderfer, Inc. v.
S.E. Johnson Co., 729 F.2d 1050, 1056 (6th Cir.) cert. denied,
469 U.S. 1036 (1984); Barry Wright Corp. v. ITT Grinnell Corp.,
724 F.2d 227, 232-36 (1st Cir. 1983); Northeastern Tel. Co. v.
AT&T, 651 F.2d 76 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 968 (1981);
MCI Communic. Corp. v. AT&T, 708 F.2d 1081, 1111-1123 (7th
Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 891 (1983); Southern Pacific Com-
munic. Co. v. AT&T, 740 F.2d 980, 1005 (D.C. Cir.), cert.
denied, 470 U.S. 1005 (1984) (conclusive legality for prices
above average cost is “relatively uncontroversial”); see also Mat-
shushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574,
589 (1986) (“there is consensus among commentators that
predatory pricing schemes are rarely tried, and even more rarely
successful.”); W. Liebler, Whither Predatory Pricing? From
Areeda and Turner to Matshushita, 61 Notre Dame L. Rev. 1052
(1986).'? Again, the Petition does not challenge the rule of law
applied but argues that the Court of Appeals has incorrectly
concluded that Gasco’s price reductions did no injury to
competition.

The Petition in effect suggests that this Court review every
appellate decision arising under Section 2 of the Sherman Act to
assure that the Court of Appeals correctly analyzed the facts and
did not invade the province of the jury. Such a review is not a

\2 In the Ninth Circuit price reductions above average total cost are
predatory only if injury to competition is demonstrated by clear and
convincing evidence. Transamerica Computer Co. v. International Busi-
ness Machines Corp., 698 F.2d 1377, 1387 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 464
U.S. 955 (1983).

14

suitable exercise of this Court’s discretionary jurisdiction. United
States v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 200, 227 (1925) (“We do not grant a
certiorari to review evidence and discuss specific facts.’’).

Il

THE COURT OF APPEALS FOLLOWED TRADITIONAL
SECTION 2 ANALYSIS AND CORRECTLY REJECTED
PETITIONER’S ABERRANT LEGAL CONTENTIONS

A review of the Opinion below discloses a proper disposition of
the case. The appellate court cited and followed the proper
standard for review of a jury verdict on a j.n.o.v. motion. It also
properly applied mainstream Section 2 principles.

As noted above, petitioner’s disagreement with the Opinion is
in its application of settled law to the specific facts of this case.
Beyond that, the Petition addresses a general lament about the
development of law under Section 2 and invites this Court to
undertake a reversal of field, starting with this fact-specific case.

A. Section 2 Does Not Require Manufacture Of An Inefficient
New Product

As stated above, petitioner’s theory of the case, based upon a
presumed obligation by respondents to invest in refinery improve-
ments for the benefit of petitioner, was advanced on the eve of
trial. It is unprecedented and contrary to the principles of compe-
tition underlying the antitrust laws. It should have been rejected
by the District Court, and reversal by the Court of Appeals did
not even present a close question.’

' Petitioner's show of indignation here is somewhat suspect in the
light of the failure below to raise the issues here presented in a petition
for rehearing. Rather, in its motion for clarification petitioner simply
requested the Court to specify that the refinery construction would have
been uneconomic because “unprofitable.” There was no suggestion of an
evidentiary controversy about such a conclusion, and petitioner’s subse-
quent petition for rehearing (App. 2) does not mention the refinery
modification issue.

15

In attacking that reversal here, petitioner erroneously portrays
the Opinion below as relying solely on the business “acumen”
exception referred to in United States v. Grinnell, 384 U.S. 563,
571 (1966). The Opinion also cites and relies upon the cases,
cited p.19 supra, holding that a monopolist may decide when to
bring a product to market and upon Aspen Skiing Co., supra, and
other cases holding that conduct justified by “efficiency” is
generally exempt from further Section 2 scrutiny. All of these
cases support the conclusion of the Court of Appeals that respon-
dents were not required by Section 2 to begin manufacture of a
new product to assist petitioners, particularly when there is an
efficiency justification for not doing so.

Petitioner’s argument below was based on a misguided exten-
sion of Aspen Skiing and an effort to find support in a line of
supply restriction cases. The Court of Appeals’ analysis is entirely
consistent with those cases, none of which supports petitioner’s
argument.

The basic problem with both analogies is that respondents were
not engaged in the production of propane and had no conceivable
monopoly power in the wholesale propane market. Respondents’
alleged market power was at the next level, retail distribution.'* In
contrast, the monopolist in Aspen Skiing exercised monopoly
power in the same market (the supply of ski lift tickets) from
which plaintiff was excluded. Similarly, in the supply restriction
cases, monopoly power was exercised in the market in which
supply was restricted. This basic distinction is relied upon by the
Opinion below.'°

'* The Opinion (App. C, 12) expresses doubt about the correctness of
the jury’s finding that Gasco exercises monopoly power in a relevant
market for retail distribution of propane.

'S “A theory of liability based on ‘supply restriction’ must fail because
Pacific Resources had no monopoly power over supplies of propane
to Hawaii. Chevron produced all Hawaiian propane until 1982.
Contrary to Oahu’s argument, the regulatory scheme in place in
the 70’s did not give Pacific Resources control over propane
supplies. Oahu appealed to the Department of Energy for larger

16

Aspen Skiing does not support petitioner's theory for a second
important reason. The monopolist in that case, as Justice Stevens’
Opinion carefully notes (475 U.S. at 603), did not merely refuse
to enter into “a cooperative venture” proposed by a competitor.
“Rather, the monopolist elected to make an important change in
a pattern of distribution that had originated in a competitive
market and had persisted for several years.” (/bid.) Here, HIRI’s
election not to commence manufacture of propane made no
change whatsoever in the pattern of distribution or competitive
market. Compare, Olympic Equipment Leasing Co. v. Western
Union Tel. Co., 797 F.2d 370, 375-76 (7th Cir. 1986) cert
denied, 1075 S.Ct. 1574 (1987) (“ ‘There is a difference between
positive and negative duties, and the antitrust laws, like other
legal doctrines sounding in tort, have generally been understood to
impose only the latter.” USM Corp. v. SPS Technologies Inc., 694
F.2d 505, 512-13 (7th Cir. 1982).”).

The fundamental tenet of the Opinion on this issue is that here,
unlike Aspen Skiing, as a matter of law there was an efficiency
justification for delaying investment in the propane unit. This
justification was created by the price control regulations imposed
by the federal government on the manufacture of propane at a
time when HIRI was evaluating proposed refinery modifica-
tions.'° After consulting with DOE and concluding that HIRI
would be tied to Chevron’s pricing under the DOE New Item
Rule and that the investment in a prepane unit would produce a
negative return, HIRI deferred investment in the propane recov-
ery unit until after price controls of propane were discontinued in
early 1981. As stated in the Opinion (App. C, p.18), “in light of

allocations of propane, and it was ultimately successful.” (App. C,
p.20.)

'© The regulatory scheme for propane and natural gases was different
under the regulations from that applicable to gasoline. Because propane
is a heating fuel essential in remote areas and has special importance in
drying crops, there were special concerns about maintaining a lower
price. See Mobil Oil Corp. v. Federal Energy Admin., 566 F.2d 87, 94-97
(TECA 1977). Thus, it was profitable to manufacture gasoline, but not
propane. See Oahu LP Gas Service, Inc. 2 FEA § 85,009 at 85,002 (Feb
11, 1975); Standard Oil Co. of Calif, 2 FEA § 80,618 (June 26, 1975)

17

the then-existent price controls, it was not economically efficient”
to produce propane. Hence, “as a matter of law,” respondents’
“decision to refrain from producing propane because it was not
economically efficient is sufficient justification to preclude anti-
trust liability” (id. at p.20).

The Petition suggests that the Court of Appeals was obligated
to go beyond respondents’ prima facie evidence of efficiency
justification and “ensure” that the justification for the delay in
refinery modification had “the net effect of producing better
products at lower prices or otherwise benefiting consumers”
(Petition, p.19). This assertion is contrary to this Court's state-
ment in Aspen Skiing that any valid business justification for the
exclusionary conduct would exonerate it from further Section 2
scrutiny (472 U.S. at 605)."’ It is axiomatic that demonstration of
efficiency justification will tend to confer economic benefits on
consumers and result in better products and lower prices. Here,
HIRI was a new entrant into the refining market in competition
with Chevron. Decisions designed to avoid money-losing products
would tend to greater efficiency and competitiveness in the
market for other products.

Petitioner points to the evidence that Gasco imported propane
at a higher cost than domestic propane and that the refinery

"” Judge Pierce rejected a similar contention in GAF Corp. v. Eastman
Kodak Co., 519 F.Supp. 1203, 1231-32 (S.D.N.Y. 1981), that Kodak
could be liable under Section 2 for failure to market in the United States
a film being sold by Kodak in other countries, stating as follows:

To create the possibility that treble damages might be awarded on
the basis of a finding (made with the benefit of hindsight) that a
firm’s failure to introduce a product was anticompetitive would
impose a significant chilling effect on innovation and research not
envisioned by §2....The chilling effect on innovation would
encourage the very industrial sluggishness the Sherman Act was
designed to prevent. Notably, so far as this Court is aware, no court
has yet found a monopolist’s failure to market a product as
satisfying § 2's conduct requirement.

Secondly,...the ability of the judicial system to determine
whether a product should have been marketed, and, if so, when is
severely limited . ...

18

modification cost more in 1982 dollars than it would have cost in
1973 dollars, and speculates that HIRI’s investment decision may
not have been in the /ong-run combined economic interests of
HIRI-PRI-Gasco, but petitioner offered no demonstration to the
courts below to substantiate the truth of its speculation. If
petitioner's speculation were accepted as true, it is nonetheless
irrelevant. The essence of predation is action taken that is not
profit-maximizing in the short run and that depends on long-run
recoupment through future monopoly pricing to make it rational
economic behavior. See Matshushita, supra, 475 U.S. at 588-89.
It is perverse for petitioner to argue that a decision not to invest in
propane production equipnrent is predation in violation of Sec-
tion 2 because the investor thereby maximized short run profits at
the expense of unpredictable, uncertain long run benefits. See
generally, F. Easterbrook, On identifying Exclusionary Conduct,
61 Notre Dame iL. Rev. 972 (1986). Moreover, interjecting
retrospective review of events subsequent to the conduct in
question as an element of the test for liability would arbitrarily
punish decision makers with treble damages, would distort invest-
ment decisions and deter investment and would invite antitrust
defendants to argue that adjudication of classic predatory acts
should await excuse through evaluation of their long-run effects.
In short, petitioner advances an aberrant, erroneous theory

B. Section 2 Does Not Prohibit Price Reductions Above Aver-
age Total Cost In The Absence Of Injury To Competition

The 1982 marketing campaign was also adequately addressed
by the Opinion below. Under proper j.n.o.v. standards the Opinion
finds that the parties did not dispute that the price levels of the
offers were above Gasco’s average total cost (App. C, pp.7, 21).""
The Opinion accepts petitioner's contention that the jury found
that the offers were insincerely made for the purpose of inducing
OGS to lower its prices and were for that reason “shams” (ibid)
and then addresses petitioner's contention that sham offers at
levels above average total cost are predatory conduct under

* Petitioner also remained profitable under the new prices. Ex. 662
shows petitioner's pretax profit per gallon to. be 1980-12.05¢, 1981-
17.64¢, 1982-15. 48¢, 1983-15. S8¢

19

Section 2. The Opinion concludes that there was no evidence of
an injury to competition from Gasco’s offers and that the resulting
reduced prices to OGS’s customers were, if anything, procompeti-
tive (id., p.22-25).'* Applying the antitrust axiom that anticom-
petitive intent alone does not establish predatory conduct and
refusing “to turn our back on a large body of case law” (App. C,
p.22) requiring injury to competition for Section 2 liability, the
Court of Appeals reversed the judgment below on the ground that
Gasco’s offers were not illegal under Section 2 as a matter of law.

The Petition argues that the change of position by the Court of
Appeals between its vacated October 9, 1987 Opinion and No-
vember 27, 1987 Amended Opinion and the final February |,
1988 Opinion is “unexplainable” (Petition, p.20). In fact, the
change is readily. explained by the sequence of events described
above (pp.9-10). The first Opinion erroneously held that the jury
had found that Gasco’s conduct amounted to predatory pricing
under the clear and convincing evidence standard that governs
price reductions above average total cost in the Ninth Circuit.”
Inasmuch as the jury had been given no such instruction because
OGS contended that this is not a predatory pricing case, peti-
tioner’s petition for clarification requested that the Opinion be
modified by elimination of the clear and convincing evidence
standard (App. 1, pp.3-4). The November 27, 1987 Amended
Opinion was in fact so modified and was thereby rendered facially
erroneous under traditional Section 2 analysis because respon-
dents’ conduct patently caused no injury to competition. The final
Opinion corrected this error and, belatedly perhaps, reached the

’ Petitioner's argument that it could have made more profits by
maintaining its high prices and pouring the profits back into expanding
its business is not evidence of anticompetitive effect. Every business is
presuined to have a limitless desire for higher profits and to grow and to
evolve as a business. However, the fact that events in the marketplace
may place some limits on the desires of OGS does not make those
events of concern under the antitrust laws where the focus is on injury to
competition and not on injury to a competitor. Cargill, Inc. v. Montfort
of Colorado, Inc., 479 U.S. 104, 107 S.Ct. 484, 492 (1986)

* Transamerica Computer Co. v. International Business Machines
Corp., 698 F.2d 1377, 1388 (9th Cir: 1983)

20

correct conclusion that even a monopolist is entitled to engage in
price reductions, so long as there is no injury to competition.
Cargill, Inc. v. Montfort of Colorado, Inc., 479 U.S. 104, 107
S.Ct. 484, 492 (1986); Drinkwine v. Federated Publications, Inc.,
780 F.2d 735, 739 (9th Cir. 1985), cert. denied 106 S.Ct. 1471
(1986); Airweld, Inc. v. Airco, Inc., 742 F.2d 1184, 1192 (9th Cir.
i984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1213 (1985); Transamerica Com-
puter Co. v. International Business Machines Corp., 698 F.2d
1377, 1388 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 955 (1983); William
Inglis & Sons Baking Co. v. ITT Continental Baking Co., 668
F.2d 1014, 1028 (9th Cir. 1981) cert. denied, 459 U.S. 825
(1982); California Computer Products, Inc. v. International Busi-
ness Machines Corp., 613 F.2d 727, 740-47 (9th Cir. 1979);
Olympia Equipment Leasing Co. v. Western Union & Tele. Co.,
797 F.2d 370, 379 (7th Cir. 1986) cert. denied 107 S.Ct 1524
(1987): Cf. Brown Shoe Co. v. United States, 370 U.S. 294, 320
(1962).

CONCLUSION

There is no issue of the role and function of the jury in
monopolization cases here worthy of review by the Court. The
Court of Appeals applied conventional Section 2 principles and
standards of appellate review. Its garden-variety reversal of denial
of a j.n.o.v. motion in a Section 2 case does not merit this Court’s
attention. The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

Dated: July 21, 1988.
Respectfully submitted

JOHN E. SPARKS
Counsel of Record

WILLIAM S. Boyp

WILLIAM J. TAYLOR

BROBECK, PHLEGER & HARRISON

Counsel for Respondents

Pacific Resources, Inc. and
Gasco, Inc.

APPENDIX 1
No. 86-2250

IN THE

United States Court of Appeals
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

OAHU GAS SERVICE, INC.,
Plaintiff-Appellee,

VS.

PACIFIC RESOURCES, INC. and C asco, INC.
Defendants-Appellants.

APPELLEE’S PETITION FOR CLARIFICATION

GARY G. GRIMMER
CARLSMITH, WICHMAN, CASE,
MUKAI & ICHIKI
1001 Bishop Street
Pacific Tower, Suite 2200
Honolulu, Hawaii 96813

MAXWELL M. BLECHER

NORMAN PINE

ANN I. JONES

BLECHER & COLLINS, P.C.
611 W. 6TH STREET, SUITE 2800
Los ANGELES, CALIFORNIA 90017
(213) 622-4222

Attorneys for Plaintiff-Appellee
Oahu Gas Service, Inc.

A-2

The Court’s decision in Oahu Gas Service, Inc. v. Pacific
Resources, Inc., slip. op. 86-2250 (October 9, 1987) constitutes
an important new precedent in Section 2 antitrust case law. This
opinion will undoubtedly be looked to by lower courts in deter-
mining what conduct, when taken by a monopolist, violates the
Sherman Act. It is essential, therefore, that its holding be clearly
delineated. Accordingly, without seeking to affect the result
reached, the appellee Oahu Gas Service, Inc. (“OGS”) respect-
fully calls to the Court’s attention two aspects of its opinion which
merit further clarification.

1. Clarification of the term ‘‘uneconomical”’

In its discussion of the appellants’ decision not to expand its
refinery, the Court observed that “[b]ecause producing propane
would have been uneconomical at the time, Pacific Resources’
decision to forego propane production did not exclude competi-
tion unnecessarily.” Jd. at 9. See also id. at 9 n.2, 10 (use of term
“uneconomical”’). The term “uneconomical,” however, is not
defined.

Accepting the Court’s decision that the monopolist’s duty to
cooperate with a competitor is vitiated where the cooperation in
“uneconomical,” id. at 10, there is a real need to delineate
carefully what is encompassed within that term. Clearly, a sweep-
ing definition of “uneconomical” to embrace any reduction of
revenues or profits would emasculate the Court’s basic holding
that in some cases “the antitrust laws impose what may be
characterized as affirmative duties.” /d. at 9. Seldom, if ever, will
cooperating with a competitor be completely without cost. In the
usual case, curtailment of conduct unnecessarily restrictive of
competition will result in the monopolist having to forego at least
some opportunity for increased sales and increased profits. As the
Supreme Court acknowledged in Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen
Highlands Skiing Corp., 472 U.S. 585, 105 S.Ct. 2847 (1985),
such lost revenues and profits cannot constitute a business justifi-
cation sufficient to save a non-cooperating monopolist from liabil-
ity. Jd. at 2852.

Unfortunately, if not clarified, the term “uneconomical” may
be construed by lower courts to encompass any diminution of a
monopolist’s revenues or profits, thus vitiating the rule of Aspen
and rendering this Court’s notion of a monopolist’s affirmative
duties a nullity.

A-3

OGS, therefore, respectfully requests the Court to specify that
“uneconomical” means “unprofitable.” Such a definition com-
ports with the appellants’ contentions as to the reasons why it
postponed construction of its propane refinery. See Appellants’
Opening Brief at 9. See also RT 13:101-102 (the refinery invest-
ment would have produced a “negative return.”) Defined as
“unprofitable,” the term “uneconomical” encompasses the partic-
ular facts of this case and provides lower courts with a specific
guide with which to assess the scope of permissible conduct for a
monoplist.

2. Deletion of the opinion’s ‘clear and convincing’ language

In its opinion, the Court stated that “a plaintiff in Oahu’s
position must show by clear and convincing evidence that the
defendant’s pricing policy had a predatory rationale.” Jd. at 12.
(Emphasis added.) In that same paragraph, however, the Court
observed that the relevant evidence was not the prices Gasco
offered but rather the contracts themselves. Jd. Thus, the conduct
challenged in this litigation and found actionable by the Court
was not Gasco pricing practices, but instead its offer of sham
contracts.

The clear and convincing standard articulated in Airweld, Inc.
v. Airco, Inc., 742 F.2d 1184, 1193 (9th Cir. 1984), cert. denied,
469 U.S. 1213 (1985), has been reserved for those cases where
the challenged conduct involves the level at which the defendant
has set its prices, i.e., its pricing policy. See also Transamerica -
Computer Co. v. International Business Machines Corp., 698 F.2d
1377 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 955, 104 S.Ct. 370
(1983).' OGS knows of no case, however, where this heightened
standard was applied to non-predatory pricing cases where con-
sumer benefits from lower prices are not implicated.

' The Court limited its holding to cases where the alleged predatory
price is above defendant’s average total cost:

“Therefore, it is appropriate to impose on the plaintiff a greater
burden of proving that prices above average total cost are predatory
than the burden imposed by /nglis to prove that prices between
average variable and average total cost are predatory. We therefore
hold that if the challenged prices exceed average total cost, the
plaintiff must prove by clear and convincing evidence—i.e., that it
is highly probably true—that the defendant’s pricing policy was
predatory.” 698 F.2d at 1388.

A-4

While OGS agrees with the Court’s finding that Gasco’s 1982
Marketing Campaign constitutes “clear and convincing” evi-
dence, it does not agree that this modestly more stringent stan-
dard of proof should be extended to non-predatory pricing cases.
Instead, OGS urges the court to reserve that standard of proof for
cases where the defendant’s pricing policies constitute the essence
of the Section 2 offense. As this is not such a case, OGS
respectfully asks the Court to delete the requirement of “clear
and convincing” evidence set forth in its opinion.’

Dated: October 22, 1987
Respectfully submitted,
By /s/ MAxXweELL M. BLECHER

Attorney for Plaintiff-Appellee
Oahu Gas Service, Inc.

> Additionally OGS respectfully calls the Court’s attention to a factual
inaccuracy in the opinion which should be amended. On page 8 of the
slip opinion the Court states: “The jury could reasonably have concluded
that Oahu’s success in capturing a significant market share on Oahu
may have been due to the ‘insider’ status of its founder, once an
executive with Gasco, who took some large accounts with him when he
left Gasco.”’ The last clause of this sentence is incorrect. Although OGS’
President, James Frandsen had been employed by Gasco prior to
founding the new company, he did not take any accounts with him when
he left. Approximately one year elapsed between the time Mr. Frandsen
left Gasco and when OGS began delivering to customers. OGS, in fact,
did not even solicit customers until mid-1972, over half a year after
leaving Gasco. While it is true that because Gasco had 100% monopoly
of the Oahu propane market all of OGS’ customers were former
customers of Gasco, it was not contended by either party on appeal that
Frandsen took customers with him when he left his former employ.
More accurately. Mr. Frandsen’s long years in the propane business in
Hawaii and his intimate familiarity with that business facilitated OGS’
entry into the propane market. The unintended implications of the
Court’s misstatement that Mr. Frandsen somehow misappropriated
customers from his former employer is not consistent with the record
presented on appeal. OGS, therefore, respectfully requests this Court to
amend this statement striking the last clause.

A-5
APPENDIX 2

No. 86-2250
(USDC Hawaii: Civil No. 77-0444)
IN THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

OAHU GAS SERVICE, INC.,
Plaintiff-Appellee,
vs.
PACIFIC RESOURCES, INC. and GASCO, INC.,
Defendants-Appellants.

PETITION FOR REHEARING
WITH SUGGESTION OF REHEARING EN BANC

|
STATEMENT OF COUNSEL

Oahu Gas Service, Inc. (“OGS’’) respectfully petitions the
Court for reconsideration of the opinion filed on February 1, 1988.
In abruptly reversing its two prior rulings, the Court adopted in
material part the arguments asserted by defendants Pacific Re-
sources, Inc. (“PRI”) and Gasco, Inc. (““Gasco”) in their Octo-
ber 27, 1987 petition for rehearing. OGS, however, was not
afforded an opportunity to respond to the factual and legal
contentions presented in defendants’ petition. OGS, therefore,
now seeks an opportunity to reply.

OGS specifically seeks rehearing on that part of Oahu Gas
Service, Inc. v. Pacific Resources, Inc., No. 86-2250, slip. op. (9th
Cir. February 1, (1988) (“OGS III’) that addresses Gasco’s 1982
marketing campaign against OGS. In early 1982, Gasco imple-
mented a plan to approach OGS customers with offers of prices
substantially below those contained in the customers’ existing
long-term contracts with OGS. In making these offers, ““Gasco’s
true goal was not to attract customers,” but rather to force its
smaller rival to lower significantly the price terms of its existing
contracts. OGS II] at 1275 (“true goal was... to cut into Oahu’s
profits.”). OGS, faced with Gasco’s sudden, intense and repetitive
overtures to its customer base, responded by renegotiating many

A-6

contracts mid-term. By lowering the prices contained in these
contracts, OGS was able to retain its customers, but lost over
$400,000 in revenues as a result.

The Court, while acknowledging that Gasco’s conduct in inter-
fering with OGS’ customers “smacks of unfair competition,” held
that absent proof of anticompetitive effect such conduct did not
violate Section 2. Jd. at 1276. Defining such anticompetitive effect
as “the transfer of resources or patronage away from the rival and
to the monopolist,” the Court concluded that no such anticompe-
titive effect had been shown. /d. at 1277.

OGS respectfully requests reconsideration of the Court’s find-
ing that Gasco’s 1982 marketing program resulted in no anticom-
petitive effect on two grounds:

(1) OGS respectfully submits that the Court’s requirement
that anticompetitive effect be shown by a diversion of resources or
customers from the rival to the monopolist is unduly restrictive
and inconsistent with the case law of this Circuit;

(2) Applying the appropriate analysis of anticompetitive ef-
fect, OGS respectfully submits that there was evidence sufficient
to support the jury’s inference that Gasco’s 1982 marketing
program in fact diminished competition in the Hawaiian propane
market. In holding to the contrary, the Court has overlooked
substantial evidence supporting the jury’s finding.

II

ARGUMENT

A. The Court’s Definition Of Anticompetitive Effect Is Too
Restrictive.

The Court’s reversal of its previous position regarding the
illegality of Gasco’s 1982 marketing campaign is grounded in its
belief that, although reprehensible and arguably tortious, the
defendants’ conduct resulted in no proved anticompetitive ef-
fects.’ Jd. The Court notes that the net effect of Gasco’s sham
offers was merely a lowering of OGS’ prices—an inference based

' It is well-established that competitive torts, when used to achieve or
maintain a monopoly, fall within the ambit of the Sherman Act. Boone,
“Single Corporation Competitive Torts and the Sherman Act,” 2 Ga. L.

f

A-7

on the testimony that Gasco did not obtain OGS customers as a
result of its marketing program. /d. at 1275-76. Thus, the opinion
reasons, because the plaintiff could not demonstrate that the
defendants’ conduct resulted in a diversion of resources or cus-
tomers from OGS to the monopolist, it could not satisfy Sections
2’s requirement of provable anticompetitive effect. Jd. at 1277.
Citing the oft-quoted aphorism that antitrust laws protect compe-
tition and not competitors, OGS I/II rejects plaintiff's claim of
antitrust injury and reverses the jury’s verdict. Jd. at 1276-77.

To require an antitrust plaintiff to prove either a transfer of
resources or patronage in order to establish anticompetitive effect,
however, is both unjustified and contrary to existing authority.
The inquiry into anticompetitive effect is singularly fact-based.
Aydin Corp. v. Loral Corp., 718 F.2d 897, 902 (9th Cir. 1983).
See also Hasbrouck v. Texaco, Inc., 830 F.2d 1513, 1519 (9th
Cir. 1987). Thus, it is not susceptible to a characterization as a
matter of law as suggested by OGS III. Rather, the requirement of
anticompetitive effect mandates that the plaintiff demonstrate,
based on the factual attributes of the market and the particular
conduct at issue, that the vigor of marketplace rivalry, as opposed
merely to the health of individual rivals, has been impaired. See
Kaplan v. Burroughs Corp., 611 F.2d 286, 291 (9th Cir. 1979),
cert. denied, 447 U.S. 924 (1980). See also Brunswick Corp. v.
Pueblo Bowl-O-Mat, Inc., 429 U.S. 477, 489 97 S.Ct. 690, 697
(1977).

That the focus is on competition, as opposed to individual
competitors, however, does not mean that the harm incurred by
an individual rival is eliminated from the analysis. To quote from
a recent Ninth Circuit opinion:

The oft-quoted chestnut distinguishing between protecting
competition and protecting competitors has been miscon-
strued with some regularity by antitrust defendants who
appear to argue in all types of antitrust cases that the effect
of unlawful conduct on competitors is irrelevant. The pur-
pose of drawing a distinction between harm to competition
and harm to competitors is to point out that not all acts that

Rev. 372, 374 (1968) See also L. Sullivan, Handbook of the Law of
Antitrust, 112-13 (1977).

A-&

harm competitors harm competition. However, the converse
is not true. Injury to competition necessarily entails injury to
at least some competitors. Competition does not exist in a
vacuum; it consists of rivalry among competitors. Clearly,
injury to competitors may be probative of harm to competi-
tion, although the weight to be attached to such evidence
depends on its nature and on the nature of the challenged
conduct. The aphorism may not be invoked blindly in re-
sponse to a showing that competitors have been harmed;
otherwise it would often serve to shield unlawful conduct
that adversely affects competition.

Hasbrouck, 830 F.2d at 1518 (emphasis added)

Antitrust plaintiffs in the Circuit and in others have demon-
strated anticompetitive effect in a myriad of ways. For example,
proof that the defendant’s conduct has resulted in a diversion of
resources or customers away from the rival and to the monopolist
may evidence that the defendant’s conduct has actualiy lessened
competition. See Western Concrete Structures Co. v. Mitsui & Co.,
760 F.2d 1013, 1018 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 903
(i985); Havoco of America, Ltd. v. Shell Oil Co., 626 F.2d 549,
556 (7th Cir. 1980). Such a showing, however, is not the only
way to demonstrate anticompetitive effect. Other recognized
indicia of anticompetitive effect include: raised barriers to entry as
a result of defendant’s conduct (Helix Milling Co. v. Terminal
Flour Mills Co., 523 F.2d 1317, 1322 (9th Cir. 1975), cert
denied, 423 U.S. 1053 (1976); Woods Exploration & Producing
Co. v. Aluminum Company of America, 438 F.2d 1286, 1307 (Sth
Cir. 1971), cert. denied, 404 U.S. 1047 (1972)); increased costs
incurred by a rival because of the monopolist’s actions (Handg-
ards, Inc. v. Ethicon, Inc., 743 F.2d 1282, 1296 (9th Cir. 1984),
cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1190 (1985); Grip-Pak, Inc. v. Illinois Tool
Works, Inc., 694 F.2d 466, 472 (7th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 461
U.S. 958 (1983)); and lost profits incurred by a plaintiff due to
the defendant’s manipulation of otherwise competitive prices
(Malcolm v. Marathon Oil Co., 642 F.2d 845, 856-57 (Sth Cir.),
cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1125 (1981); General Industries Corp. \
Hartz Mountain Corp., 810 F.2d 795, 807 (8th Cir. 1987).)

Notably, these latter three manifestations of anticompetitive
effect do not require that the monopolist be the direct beneficiary

A-9

of its rival’s lost patrons or revenues. In these situations, the
defendant's reward is indirect. By impairing the ability of a rival
to challenge its monopoly, the defendant reduces competition in
the relevant market despite the fact that no sales or customers are
diverted to it.

OGS Ill, by rejecting any indicia of anticompetitive effect
absent proof of a diversion of resources or customers away from
the rival, overlooks the substantial body of authority mandating a
broader viewpoint. As established in Brunswick, it is not necessary
for an antitrust plaintiff to demonstrate an actual lessening of
competition in order to recover. Brunswick, 429 U.S. at 489 n. 14,
97 S.Ct. at 698 n. 14. See also Lee-Moore Oil Co. v. Union Oil
Co., 599 F.2d 1299, 1304-05 (4th Cir. 1979).

OGS IITs holding that only those anticompetitive effects result-
ing in direct and provable benefits to the monopolist satisfy
Section 2 is not only impermissibly restrictive but it also directly
contradicts the well-established rule requiring a plaintiff to miti-
gate its loss. Golf City, Inc. v. Wilson Sporting Goods Co., 555
F.2d 426, 436 (Sth Cir. 1977). This tension is demonstrated by
the facts presented in this case. Gasco approached OGS’ custom-
ers with sham offers. OGS had two choices: it could either stand
idly by and see how many customers would be drawn away by
Gasco; or, it could seek to mitigate its loss by lowering its
contractual price terms and by seeking a temporary injunction to
halt Gasco’s interference. Had OGS chosen not to respond at all,
it is likely that it would have lost customers and even gone
completely out of business. Ironically, such dramatic losses would
satisfy OGS IITs rigid definition of provable anticompetitive
effect. OGS’ ability to recover for these direct effects, however,
would have been vitiated by a claimed failure to mitigate. Con-
versely, by choosing to mitigate those losses caused by the
monopolist and enabling itself to survive, OGS became ineligible
for recovery under the narrow anticompetitive effect requirement
of OGS III. To create such a catch-22 for the victims of predation
by a monopolist is wholly inequitable and requires, plaintiff
respectfully submits, reconsideration by this Court.

A-10

B. OGS Adduced Ample Evidence from Which the Jury Could
Reasonably Infer that Gasco’s Conduct Caused Anticompe-
titive Effects

Once the analysis of anticompetitive effect is recognized to
include consideration of conduct which impairs competition with-
out directly transferring resources to the monopolist, it is apparent
that the jury could reasonably infer that Gasco’s 1982 marketing
Strategy negatively impacted both OGS and competition in the
Hawaiian propane market.’ Specifically, the jury could have
reasonably inferred that the purpose and effect of Gasco’s con-
duct, i.e., reducing OGS’ revenues, resulted in both a lessening of
competition in Oahu and the absolute prohibition of competition
in the Neighbor Islands.

1. Gasco’s Conduct Reduced Competition in Oahu

An assessment of anticompetitive effect requires an examina-
tion of the market in which the defendant's conduct occurred. See
Kaplan, 611 F.2d at 291. The propane market in Oahu consisted
essentially of two competitors—Gasco and OGS. Until OGS’
entry in 1972, Gasco was the sole supplier of propane in Hawaii.
OGS III at 1259. Other than OGS, there were no other competi-
tors in the Oahu market who could realistically challenge Gasco’s
position.’ /d. at 1269. In addition, OGS proved that entry barriers
in this isolated marketplace were high, thus permitting a reasona-
ble inference by the jury that were OGS’ competitive viability to
be significantly impaired, no other rival would be likely to enter
tire Oahu market to take its place. /d.

* In order for this Court to reverse the jury's finding on this issue, it
must conclude that the plaintiff failed to adduce sufficient evidence from
which a reasonable mind could infer that Gasco’s marketing program
had a negative effect upon competition. See California Computer
Products, Inc. v. International Business Machines Corp., 613 F.2d 727,
733-34 (9th Cir. 1979).

*The jury could reasonably infer that a third supplier of propane,
Aloha Gas, did not qualify as a viable challenger to Gasco’s monopoly
(T.R. 14:109-10.) Aloha’s market share was less than one-tenth of one
percent (Ex. 1318), a fact which even OGS II] acknowledges supports
plaintiff's contention that Aloha’s presence did not evidence a break-
down of entry barriers in this market. OGS /// at 1269.

A-1]

Given an Oahu market occupied by only two rivals, the jury
could reasonably infer that any program undertaken to eliminate
or handicap OGS would inevitably result in a reduction in
competition. See, e.g. D & S Redi-Mix v. Sierra Redi-Mix &
Contracting Co., 692 F.2d 1245, 1249 (9th Cir. 1982); Helix
Milling, 523 F.2d at 1320. See also H. J. Heinz Co. v. Beech-Nut
Life Savers, Inc., 181 F.Supp. 452, 464 (S.D.N.Y. 1960) (recog-
nizing the anticompetitive effect inherent in eliminating or crip-
pling one of only three competitors in market.)

So too could the jury infer, based on substantial evidence, that
the purpose and actual effect of Gasco’s campaign was to cripple
its only effective rival. As shown by the testimony, the purpose of
Gasco’s 1982 campaign was to lessen the revenues and profits of
OGS. (Ex. 1161) (T.R. 2:199). “Where, as here, the defendants
have acted with intent to eliminate competition, the proof of
resulting injury need not be overwhelming.” D & S, 692 F.2d at
1249. Also in the trial record is the fact that OGS lost over
$400,000 in revenues as a result of Gasco’s conduct. The jury was
entitled to infer that had these revenues been available, OGS
would have been able to finance a variety of activities, such as
inprovements in its plant and equipment, expansion of its cus-
tomer base or enhancement of services offered to its customers. A
reasonable jury could permissibly infer, therefore, that Gasco’s
depression of OGS’ revenues and the attendant prohibition of
these activities effectively diminished the vigor of competition in
the Oahu marketplace.

2. Gasco’s Conduct Eliminated Competition in the Neigh-
bor Islands

In addition, the jury could have reasonably inferred that
Gasco’s reduction of OGS’ revenues resulted in provable an-
ticompetitive effects in the Neighbor Islands. At the time it
planned the 1982 Blitz, Gasco knew that OGS was positioned to
expand to the outer islands. (T.R. 2:187-88.) One of the stated
goals of Gasco’s campaign, in fact, was to prevent OGS from
obtaining the revenues necessary to finance such entry. (Ex.
1161.) In addition, the jury heard testimony that between 1982
and 1985 OGS did not enter the Neighbor Islands. (Ex. 1318)
(T.R. 9:192). From this evidence, the jury could reasonably infer
that Gasco’s reduction of OGS’ revenues had the effect of

A-12

eliminating OGS as a potential competitor on the Neighbecr
Islands. Such an elimination of competition satisfies even the
most stringent definition of cognizable anticompetitive effect. See
Western Concrete Structures, 760 F.2d at 1018.

Based on the testimony regarding the structural dimensions of
the Hawaiian propane market, and the evidence regarding the
purpose and actual negative effect of Gasco’s sham offers on
OGS, it was wholly reasonable for the jury to infer that Gasco’s
infliction of financial loss of OGS necessarily translated into a
diminution in competition. The marketplace at issue in this case
was not one populated with rivals so that the loss or handicapping
of a single competitor would not adversely impact competition.
Rather, it was a two-competitor marketplace in an isolated
geographic area with little or no possibility of further entry. OGS
III at 1269. Given the facts of this particular market, the jury
could reasonably conclude that injury to a competitor was synony-
mous with injury to competition.’

Il]
CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, we respectfully request that the
petition be granted and that rehearing beheld by the Court sitting
en banc.

Dated: February 16, 1988

Respectfully submitted,

By /s/ ANN I. JONES
Attorney for Plaintiff-Appellee
Oahu Gas Service, Inc.

* While it is arguable that the jury could have alternatively inferred
that OGS’ injury as a competitor did not result in a lessening of
competition, it is not for this Court to substitute inferences where, as
here, the plaintiff has adduced sufficient evidence to support the jury’s
conclusions. Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum Commission v. National
Football League, 726 F.2d 1381, 1392 (9th Cir.), cert. denied sub nom
National Football League v. Oakland Raiders, Ltd, 469 U.S. 990
(1984).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1927%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
