# Opposition Brief — Dugger v. Mann

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1904%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1989
- **Citation:** 489 U.S. 1071

## Text

EDITOR'S NOTE

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY
AT THE TIME OF FILMING. IF AND WHEN A
BETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE
WILL BE ISSUED.

as

LARRY HELM SPALDING
Capital Collateral Representative

_ #BILLY H. NOLAS
je. Staff Attorney |

a

~ OFFICE OF THE CAPITAL COLLATERAL
REPRESENTATIVE

1533 South Monroe Street

_ Tallahassee, Florida 32301

(904). $07-$3765

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1987
NO. 87-2073

RICHARD L. DUGGER,
Petitioner,
¥.
LARRY EUGENE MANN,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

LARRY HELM SPALDING
Capital Collateral Representative

*BILLY H. NOLAS
Staff Attorney

OFFICE OF THE CAPITAL COLLATERAL
REPRESENTATIVE

1533 South Monroe Street

Tallahassee, Florida 32301

(904) 487-4376

*Counsel of Record

QUESTION PRESENTED

WHETHER CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO REVIEW AN EN BANC
COURT OF APPEALS DECISION WHICH PROPERLY APPLIED THIS COURT'S
SETTLED PRECEDENTS IN DETERMINING THAT FEDERAL REVIEW OF THE
M*'PITS OF A HABEAS CORPUS PETITIONER'S CONSTITUTIONAL CLAIM WAS
WARRANTED IN A CASE IN WHICH THE STATE SUPREME COURT HAD RULED ON
THE MERITS OF THE CLAIM, AND WHETHER CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED
WHERE THE EN BANC COURT OF APPEALS CORRECTLY DETERMINED THAT THE
ANALYSIS OF CALDWELL V. MISSISSIPPI, 472 U.S. 320 (1985), APPLIED
TO THE HABEAS APPLICANT'S CLAIM AND THAT RELIEF WAS APPROPRIATE
UNDER CALDWELL.

QUESTIONS PRESENIED «cee cten vs in see eaeneeas

TAREE OF Ciraeee 6 6 Sa ee ae SD Se ee Se

TABLE OF AUTHORITI ES . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

OPENEGEE DUN é. 46 645d. 6 oR KS De Se 6 ae

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED... .

PROCEDURAL HISTORY AND STATEMENT OF THE CASE .... .

REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED ......

A. THE DECISION BELOW CORRECTLY APPLIED THIS COURT'S
PRECEDENTS AND WAS IN ACCORD WITH ALL OTHER CIRCUIT
COURTS OF APPEAL IN DETERMINING THAT MR. MANN'S
CALDWELL CLAIM WAS NOT PROCEDURALLY BARRED ....
i. The circumstances surrounding Mr. Mann's

presentation of the Caldwell] claim to the
SERCO COGTOS 6 oo Ne es ee ae ee
2. The Eleventh Circuit correctly determined
that the Florida Supreme Court ruled on the
merits of Mr. Mann's Caldwell] claim and thus
properly recognized that a Sykes "cause" and
"prejudice" analysis was unnecessary in Mr.
MOG @ COG a se 8 OS ER a ee ee 8 8
3. The Florida Supreme Court has not consistently
applied a procedural bar to Saldweall Claims in
collateral proceedings. ... ° “a i far ar
4. Neither Adams nor Harris will control the
disposition of Mr. Mann's Caldwell claim.

B. THE DECISION BELOW CORRECTLY DETERMINED THAT
CALDWELL V. MISSISSIPPI APPLIES TO THE FLORIDA
CAPITAL SENTENCING SCHEME ....-+ + « « « °

Cc. THE COURT BELOW CORRECTLY DETERMINED THAT MR. MANN'S
CALDWELL CLAIM REQUIRED RELIEF ........ “ae
1. The jurors were told by prosecutor and judge

that their role in sentencing was not
MLGUSTIGHGE.. 6 8 ke 8s eS ey aes pare
2. The proceedings in Mr. Mann's case violated
Cera. kw a ea we we RS SS a
COvGCIAEeGrM « « % & 6 «ew 4 le kw Se 4 Ow ae OS Be

ii

. ii

16

19

22

30

30

34

38

,
816 F.2d 1493 (11th Cir. 1987) ........... 19, 29
’
rn OOGG 6000 60000; , . . 5c cccencse nee 6
€04 F.2d 1526 (11th Cir. 1986) ........... 29, 36

’
eens ¢ sss 6 se 4 tat es et ee 6 eh By

’
ee ee en ne 6 6 kt ek klk lk tl kt eel ee 16
a ers BOD 6 « te 6 6 ek ee ee 24
ora Ceres + 6 «se 6 6 6 et ee we we le 16

’
O72 Webs 240 (A9ES) 2 es sc tc we sce eee we on oo os ts PSSSIN

von Beme pore (200m Cif. 1964) . «. « « « « « BG 42, 13, 14

v ’
§ 8 ED A a |
,

a ae meee Crees BOOS) 2. csc tcpwvrsseen BRB, BM BD
v ’

ee 2 Oe 27

of Ulster County v. Allen,

G62 Uses B48 (2979) ss ws ssw sw nw seen nsnvne s + OOO

ec er eee Cem, S008) . ss « & 0 tt 8 8 eee a we
v ,

a re)
v. Wai j r

a ee Cee. SS 6 ws 6 ew es ee e 6 ee ee

gg Oe re ar

108 S. Ct. 1106 a ee a oe

456 U.S. 107 0 ee a es ae ee

iii

675 F.2d 1007 (8th Cir. 1982) .....

507 So. 24 1373 (Fila. 1987) . . .««« «

’
425 U.S. S36 (1976) . . 2 ws we we woe
’
OS | ee a ee ee a
’
492 So. 2d 360 (Fla. 1986) ......

844 F.2d 1464 (11th Cir. 1988) (en banc)

’
ge oe TT a) |

Vv. ’
822 F.2d 684 (7th Cir. 1987) ....

’
437 U.S. 235 (1982) . . 2. «© «© 2 © « @

’
466 U.S. 341 (1984) . . . 2. «2. «we

;
56 U.S.L.W. 4561 (June 13, 1988) ..

303 So. 2d 17 (Fla. Bpre) 6 s+ sb oe 4

’
683 F.2d 1332 (llth Cir. 1982) ....

’
365 So. 2d 149 (Fla. 1978) os ae + *

'
844 F.2d 1446 (llth Cir. 1988) .
bs ,
828 F.2d 1498 (llth Cir. 1987) as
817 F.2d 1471 (llth Cir. 1987)

’
482 So. 2d 1360 (Fia. 1986) .... .-
453 So. 2a 784 (Fla. 1984) ee ee a We ee

“22;

420 So. 2d 578 (Fla. 1982) sha 4

675 F.2d 51 (2nd Cir. 1982) ......

iv

9,

» « 25,2
a ae 27
a 8
a 27
s « 46, 30
29, 30

6, 20, 37
“a 21

. 16
9, 10, 16
10, 16, 19
‘2. 4 25
. 35
o4 25

+ passim
re

° o be @
- passim

° 3
o * 3
“oe 14

108 S. Ct. 1853 (1988)
’
421 So. 2d 1072 (Fla. 1982) ....
,

829 F.2d 1035 (11th Cir. 1987)

,
463 U.S. 1032 (1983)

,
los S. Ct. 1860 (1988)
795 F.2d 1524 (11th Cir. 1986)
496 So. 2d 798 (Fla. 1986)

,
705 F.2d 113 (Sth Cir. 1983)
706 F.2d 161 (6th Cir. 1983)

517 So. 2d 656 (Fla. 1987)

673 F.2d 1185 (11th Cir. 1982)
820 F.2d 52 (2nd Cir. 1987)

442 U.S. 510 (1979) ..

771 F.2d 962 (6th Cir. 1985)
515 So. 2d 182 (Fla. 1987)
468 U.S. 447 (1984)
760 F.2d 40 (2nd Cir. 1985)
’
378 So. 2d 765 (Fla. 1980)
’
322 So. 2d 908 (Fla. 1975)

821 F.2d 1080 (5th Cir. 1987) .

’
802 F.2d 1293 (11th Cir. 1986) (en banc)

16
24
35

17

12
30
15
15
27
12
14
23
15
25
24
14
25
26
15

35

¥#

wi

106 S. Ct. 634 (1986) . .
433 U.S. 72 (1977)
505 So. 24 1314 (Fla. 1987)

391 U.S. 510 (1968)

vi

+ passin

passin

24

27

a <

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1987
NO. 87-2073

RICHARD L. DUGGER,
Petitioner,

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

The Respondent, Larry Eugene Mann, respectfully requests
that this Court deny the Petition for Writ of Certiorari, seeking
review of the opinion of the en banc Eleventh Circuit Court of
Appeals in this case. That opinion is reported at 844 F.2d 1446
(1ith Cir. 1988).

QPINIONS BELOW

Before the en banc decision in Mann v. Dugger, 844 F.2d 1446
(llth Cir. 1988), a panel of the Eleventh Circuit issued an
opinion ordering sentencing relief on the basis of the violations
of Caldwell] _v. Mississippi, 472 U.S. 320 (1985), which occurred
in Mr. Mann's case. Mann v. Dugger, 817 F.2d 1471 (l1ith Cir.
1987). The State petitioned for rehearing, and the Court of
Appeals vacated the panel opinion and granted rehearing. Mann v.
Dugger, 828 F.2d 1498 (llth Cir. 1987). Following the en banc
decision of the Eleventh Circuit, this Court granted the State's

motion to stay the Eleventh Circuit's mandate, and the State
filed a petition for a writ of certiorari.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

In its petition, the State correctly recited the eighth
amendment and section 921.141, Florida Statutes (1981) as
controlling. Mr. Mann agrees that the eighth amendment and
section 921.141, Florida Statutes (1981) are involved, as is the
fourteenth amendment.

PROCEDURAL HISTORY AND STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is a habeas corpus action by a Florida death-sentenced
inmate. Summary dismissal by the district court was reversed by
the Court of Appeals based upon Caldwel] v. Mississippi, 472 U.s.
320 (1985), and the matter was remanded with instructions to
issue the writ setting aside Mr. Mann's death sentence unless the
State provided Mr. Mann with a new sentencing proceeding before a
newly empaneled jury. Mann yv. Dugger, 844 F.2d 1446, 1458-59
(llth Cir. 1988)(en banc). The State has petitioned this Court
for a writ of certiorari, alleging that the Eleventh Circuit
erroneously determined that Mr. Mann's Caldwell) claim was not
procedurally barred and that the Eleventh Circuit erroneously
found Mr. Mann's Caldwe)) claim to be meritorious.

Mr. Mann's capital trial and sentencing proceedings occurred
in 1981. During the penalty phase of trial, counsel for Mr. Mann
requested that Mr. Mann's capital jury be instructed that the
trial judge was required to give their penalty recommendation
great weight in determining an appropriate sentence (R. 2357).
The requested instruction was denied (Jg.). The trial prosecutor
thereafter made innumerable misleading, inaccurate, and false
comments to Mr. Mann's sentencing jury, comments whose apparent
purpose was to and which did in fact serve to diminish the
jurors’ sense of responsibility for the sentencing task that

——

Florida law would call on them to perform. The trial judge,
through his own comments and instructions, not only failed to
correct the prosecutor's persistent improper and inaccurate
statements, but approved them and took them a step further, thus
enhancing the harm. The prosecutor's and trial judge's
statements were discussed at length in Mr. Mann's en banc
Eleventh Circuit initial and reply briefs (Respondent's
Supplemental Appendix, 1 and 3); excerpts from the record
reflecting the statements, comments, and instructions herein at
issue were appended to Mr. Mann's initial en banc brief and are
reproduced in the supplemental appendix filed with this brief in
opposition (Respondent's Supplemental Appendix, 2).3 Those
matters will not be detailed again herein. In this regard, Mr.
Mann respectfully refers the Court to his supplemental appendix.

On direct appeal, the Florida Supreme Court affirmed Mr.
Mann's conviction, but vacated the death sentence and remanded
the matter to the trial court for resentencing. Mann v. State,
420 So. 2d 578, 581 (Fla. 1982). At resentencing, counsel for
Mr. Mann requested that a new sentencing jury be empaneled (R. 3-
4), because Florida law required the trial judge to give great
weight to the jury recommendation and the prior jury
recommendation was tainted by consideration of an aggravating
circumstance invalidated by the Florida Supreme Court (R. 34-36).
That motion was denied (R. 7, 36), and Mr. Mann was resentenced
to death by the judge (R. 14-15).

On direct appeal from resentencing, the Florida Supreme
Court affirmed the death sentence, without addressing Mr. Mann's
claim that a new jury should have been empareled for

resentencing. Mann v. State, 453 So. 2d 784 (Fla. 1984).

lror the Court's convenience the en banc Eleventh Circuit
briefs and the record excerpts attached to Mr. Mann's initial en
banc brief are being filed with this Court and are included in
the supplemental appendix to this brief in opposition.

After the issuance of this Court's 1985 Caldwell] v.
Mississippi decision, in January of 1986, Mr. Mann filed a Motion
to Vacate Judgments and Sentences pursuant to Fla. R. Crim. P.
3.850, in which he claimed, inter alia, that his sentence of
death was obtained in violation of Caldwell v. Mississippi, 472
U.S. 320 (1985). This issue was raised as ineffective assistance
of counsel, as prosecutorial misconduct, and as an independent
claim (See Motion to Vacate, Claims IV, VI, and VII). At the
same time, Mr. Mann also filed an Original Petition for Writ of
Habeas Corpus in the Florida Supreme Court, raising the Caldwell]
claim as both fundamental error and ineffective assistance of
appellate counsel (See Petition for Writ of/Habeas Corpus, Claims
I and IX). The State did not file a response to either the
Motion to Vacate or the Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus.

Neither the trial court nor the Florida Supreme Court held
oral argument on the motion or petition. See Mann v. State, 482
So. 2d 1360, 1361 and n.* (Fla. 1986). After the trial court's
summary denial, in a single opinion involving both the appeal
from the denial of the Motion to Vacate and the Petition for Writ
of Habeas Corpus, the Florida Supreme Court found Mr. Mann's
post-conviction claims, including the Caldwell claim, to be
without merit:

- « » A comparison of the original trial

record clearly and conclusively refutes any

claim that there was any constitutional

infirmity in the trial. The same is true of

the appellate process. Although Mann urges

vehemently numerous grounds for habeas corpus

relief, each is either refuted or is

insufficient for relief.

In conclusion, we are satisfied that

this was a well and conscientiously tried

case by counsel, the trial judge, and the

jury. Appellate counsel and this Court have

zealously fulfilled their review

responsibilities.
Mann v. State, 482 So. 2d 1360, 1362 (Fla. 1986). The Court then
denied Rule 3.850 and habeas corpus relief, and stated that no

petition for rehearing would be entertained. [d.

Following the Florida Supreme Court's denial of relief, Mr.
Mann filed a Petition for Writ of Habeas Corpus in the United
States District Court for the Middle District of Florida. That
court denied all relief, and Mr. Mann appealed to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit. A panel of the
Eleventh Circuit affirmed the District Court's denial of relief
as to the conviction, but held that Mr. Mann was entitled to
resentencing under Caldwell]. Mann v. Dugger, 817 F.2d 1471 (11th
Cir. 1987). In reaching the merits of Mr. Mann's Caldwel] claim
the panel opinion noted that the Florida Supreme Court had ruled
on the merits of Mr. Mann's claim. Id. at 1481.

The Eleventh Circuit granted the State's petition for
rehearing, vacated the panel opinion, and set the case for
rehearing en banc. Mann v. Dugger, 828 F.2d 1498 (llth Cir.
1987). The en banc Eleventh Circuit found that Mr. Mann's
Caldwel] claim was not procedurally defaulted because the Florida
Supreme Court had disposed of it on the merits, Mann v. Dugger,
844 F.2d 1446, 1448 n.4 (11th Cir. 1988), and held that Mr. Mann
was entitled to resentencing under Caldwell]. Id., 844 F.2d at
1448. The State has petitioned this Court for a writ of

certiorari to review the judgment of the Eleventh Circuit.

REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

A. THE DECISION BELOW CORRECTLY APPLIED THIS COURT'S

PRECEDENTS AND WAS IN ACCORD WITH ALL OTHER CIRCUIT

COURTS OF APPEAL IN DETERMINING THAT MR. MANN'S

CALDWELL CLAIM WAS NOT PROCEDURALLY BARRED

The bulk of the State's Petition for Writ of Certiorari
asserts that the Eleventh Circuit erroneously determined that Mr.
Mann's Caldwel] claim was not procedurally barred. Thus, the
State argues, this Court should review the Eleventh Circuit's
judgment in order to (1) "preserve" the doctrine of Wainwright v.
Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977), and (2) reconcile a purported conflict

between the Circuit Courts of Appeal regarding "what constitutes

a discussion of the merits of a constitutional claim in a state
appellate opinion so as to allow federal courts to entertain a
procedurally defaulted issue." (Petition for Writ of Certiorari,

“p. 16). The State contends that this Court's pending review in
Dugger v. Adams, 108 S. Ct. 1106 (1988), and Harris v. Reed, 108
S. Ct. 1107 (1988), support a grant of certiorari review in Mr.
Mann's case. For the reasons discussed below, Mr. Mann
respectfully submits that Adams and Harris are inapposite to the
en banc Eleventh Circuit's decision in Mann, and that therefore
this Court should deny the State's petition.

Adams and Harris involve the disposition of procedural
questions which are simply not involved in Mr. Mann's case. In
Adams, this Court has been asked to determine whether the federal
habeas corpus abuse of the writ doctrine precluded consideration
of the merits of Mr. Adams' claim under Caldwel] v. Mississippi,
472 U.S. 320, 105 S. Ct. 2633 (1985), and whether the state
Supreme Court's reliance on a procedural bar also precluded
federal review of the Caldwel] claim. In Harris, this Court has
been asked to determine whether federal habeas corpus review of a
claim is proper when the state court addresses both procedural
default and the merits of a claim in denying relief. Harris v.
Reed, 108 S. Ct. 1107 (1988).

None of these questions was or is at issue in Mr. Mann's
case. To the contrary, Mr. Mann's case involves the
straightforward federal review of a constitutional claim which
was decided on the merits in the state courts. The claim was
presented in Mr. Mann's first and only federal habeas corpus
petition, and therefore abuse of the writ is clearly not
involved. Moreover, the Florida Supreme Court reviewed Mr.
Mann's claim on its merits, without mentioning a procedural bar,
Mann v. State, 482 So. 2d 1360, 1361-62 (Fla. 1986), and the en
banc Eleventh Circuit therefore found federal habeas corpus

merits review proper:

We find that the claim is not procedurally
barred. Although petitioner failed to raise
the claim on direct appeal, he did raise it
in his Rule 3.850 motion. The circuit court
denied that motion and petitioner appealed to
the Supreme Court of Florida. In disposing
of the appeal, the supreme court stated that
its review of the record "clearly and
conclusively refute[{d] any claim that there
was any constitutional infirmity in the
trial." Mann v. State 482 So. 2d 1360, 1362
(Fla. 1986) (emphasis added). We interpret
this statement as indicating that the supreme
court considered the merits of each claim in
petitioner's Rule 3.850 motion, including the

claim. Since the Supreme Court of
Florida therefore chose not to enforce its
own procedural default rule, federal habeas
review of the claim is not barred.

Mann v. Dugger, 844 F.2d at 1448 n.4. It is in this context that

the Petitioner's bald assertions should be considered.

1. The circumstances surrounding Mr. Mann's
presentation of the Caldwell claim to the
state courts

The Florida Supreme Court ruled only on the merits of Mr.
Mann's Caldwell] claim, without even mentioning a procedural bar.
Mr. Mann had presented the merits of his Caldwell claim to the
Florida state courts in his Motion to Vacate (Fla. R. Crim. P.
3.850) as well as in his state habeas corpus petition before the
Florida Supreme Court.

The State did not file a response to either the Motion to
Vacate or the state habeas corpus petition. Neither the trial
court nor the Florida Supreme Court held oral argument on the
motion or the petition. In its combined ruling on the appeal
from the denial of the Motion to Vacate and the state habeas
petition, the Florida Supreme Court denied relief on the merits
of various claims presented by Mr. Mann, including the Caldwell
Claim, writing:

It is obvious and clear that present
counsel's complaint of trial counsel's
handling of the trial would not have affected
the truth-seeking process, the evaluation of
the evidence, the proper application of the

law, or the outcome of the case. A

; .
pg gg gy CT OTS

Mann v. State, 482 So. 2d 1360, 1361-62 (Fla. 1986) (emphasis
added).
Ss The Eleventh Circuit correctly determined
that the Florida Supreme Court ruled on the
merits of Mr. Mann's Caldwell claim and thus
properly recognized that a Sykes "cause" and

“prejudice” analysis was unnecessary in Mr.
Mann's case

Under Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977), federal
habeas corpus review is not available when a state prisoner's
constitutional claim has been procedurally barred by the state
courts unless the petitioner can demonstrate cause for and
prejudice resulting from the procedural bar. Sykes, 433 U.S. at
87. As Sykes itself explains, however, its rule applies only to
"contentions of federal law which were not resolved on the merits
in the state proceeding . . ." Id. at 87 (emphasis in original).

The Wainwright v. Sykes procedural default analysis is based
on the understanding that "considerations of comity" require that
federal courts give appropriate respect to an "adequate and
independent state ground" on which a state court has relisd to
reject a federal claim. 433 U.S. 72, 78-79, 84 (1977), quoting
Francis v. Henderson, 425 U.S. 536, 538-39 (1976). However, when
the state court does not "indicate that a federal constitutional
claim is barred by some state procedural rule, a federal court
implies no disrespect for the State by entertaining the claim."
County Court of Ulster County v. Allen, 442 U.S. 140, 154 (1979).
See also Wainwright v. Greenfield, 106 S. Ct. 634, 637 n.3
(1986) (noting, in habeas corpus case, that because the state

appellate court addressed the issue on the merits, the State's

procedural bar arguments would be rejected); Engle v. Isaac, 456
U.S. 107, 135 n.44 (1982) (federal review appropriate when state
courts exercise, the right to waive state procedural rule).

A similar analysis is applied when this Court is asked to
review state court opinions by petition for writ of certiorari.
See, e.g., Mills v. Maryland, 108 S. Ct. 1860, 1863 n.3
(1988) (federal jurisdiction over federal constitutional question
established when state appellate court opinion speaks to merits
review); see also Ake v. Oklahoma, 470 U.S. 68, 74-75 (1985);
James v. Kentucky, 466 U.S. 341, 348-49 (1984); Johnson v.
Mississippi, 56 U.S.L.W. 4561, 4563 (June 13, 1988). As the
Court explained in Caldwell itself:

The mere existence of a basis for a
state procedural bar does not deprive this
Court of jurisdiction;

the case. See Ulster County Court v. Allen,
442 U.S. 140, 152-154, 99 S. Ct. 2213, 2222-
2223, 60 L.Ed.2d 777 (1979). Moreover, we
will not assume that a state-court decision
rests on adequate and independent state
grounds when the "state court decision fairly
appears to rest primarily on federal law, or
to be interwoven with the federal law, and
when the adequacy and independence of any
possible state law ground is not clear from
the face of the opinion." ichi v

463 U.S. 1032, 1040-1041, 103 S.Ct. 3469,
3476, 77 L.Ed.2d 1201 (1983). “If the state
court decision indicates clearly and
expressly that it is alternatively based on
bona fide separate, adequate, and independent
grounds, we, of course, will not undertake to
review the decision." JId., at 1041, 103 S.
Ct., at 3476.

Caldwell _v. Mississippi, 472 U.S. at 327 (emphasis added).
Under this Court's settled precedents, see, e.g., County

Court of Ulster County v. Allen, supra; Wainwright v. Greenfeld,
supra, it is now well-established that before reaching the Sykes

cause and prejudice analysis, a federal habeas court must
determine whether the state appellate court invoked a procedural
bar or whether the state court opinion spoke only to merits
review. In making this determination, a federal habeas court
should look to the law of the state and the history of the
litigation. Allen, 442 U.S. at 149. Factors to examine include
whether the State argued a procedural bar to the state courts and
whether the state court opinion relied upon procedural default or
the court's view of the merits of the claim. Allen, 442 U.S. at
152-53; see also Wainwright v. Greenfield, supra, 106 S. Ct. at
637 n.3. This Court's precedents also make clear that of
greatest significance is whether the state appellate opinion
contains a "plain statement" indicating "clearly and expressly"
that the state court relied on an adequate and independent state
procedural ground barring federal review. Michigan v. Long, 463
U.S. 1032, 1041 (1983). The state court must "actually have
relied on the procedural bar as an independent basis for its
disposition of the case" in order to foreclose federal review.
Caldwell] _v. Mississippi, 472 U.S. at 327, citing Ulster County
Court v. Alien and Michigan v. Long. Absolutely no such "plain
statement" or express and clear reliance on a state procedural
rule is reflected in the Florida Supreme Court's Mann opinion.
See 482 So. 2d at 1361-62. Moreover, as discussed below, the
Petitioner never argued procedural default before the state
courts, the history of the litigation of Mr. Mann's case reveals
that the state appellate court disposed of Mr. Mann's claim on
the merits, and the history of the Florida Supreme Court's
treatment of post-conviction litigants' Caldwell claims -- both
before and after Mr. Mann's state court pleadings were disposed
of -- reveals that the procedural bar which the Petitioner now
asserts before this Court is neither "firmly established," nor

"regularly" and "strictly" enforced or followed. See James v.
Kentucky, 466 U.S. 341, 348-49 (1984); Johnson v. Mississippi, 56

10

U.S.L.W. 4561, 4563 (June 13, 1988); Ake v. Oklahoma, 470 U.S.
68, 74-75 (1985).

The Eleventh Circuit applies the Allen analysis when
determining whether a state court has ruled on the merits of a
claim, and did so in Mr. Mann's case. Regarding the State's

contention that Mr. Mann's Caldwe]] claim was barred by
procedural default, the Eleventh Circuit explained:

We find that the claim is not procedurally
barred. Although petitioner failed to raise
the claim on direct appeal, he did raise it
in his Rule 3.850 motion. The circuit court
denied that motion and petitioner appealed to
the Supreme Court of Florida. In disposing
of the appeal, the supreme court stated that
its review of the record "clearly and
conclusively refute[d] any claim that there
was any constitutional infirmity in the
trial." Mann v. State, 482 So. 2d 1360, 1362
(Fla. 1986) (emphasis added). We interpret
this statement as indicating that the supreme
court considered the merits of each claim in
petitioner's Rule 3.850 motion, including the
Claim. Since the Supreme Court of
Florida therefore chose not to enforce its
own procedural default rule, federal habeas
review of the claim is not barred. See Oliver
v. Wainwright, 795 F.2d 1524, 1528-29 (lith
Cir. 1986), cert. denied, U.S. __, 107
S. Ct. 1380, 94 L.Ed.2d 694 ( (1987); Ca
v. Wainwright, 738 F.2d 1573, 1576-77 (ith
Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1126, 106
S. Ct. 1652, 90 L.Ed.2d 195 (1986); Rogers
‘Vv. McMullen, 673 F.2d 1185, 1188 (llth Cir.
1982), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1110, 103 S.
Ct. 740, 74 L.Ed.2d 961 (1983).

Mann v. Dugger, 844 F.2d 1446, 1448 n.4 (llth Cir. 1988) (en
banc).

In finding that Mr. Mann's Caldwel]] claim was not barred by
procedural default, the Eleventh Circuit relied upon and properly
followed this Court's settled precedents. The authorities
recited in the Eleventh Circuit's opinion follow the Sykes rule
that the cause and prejudice test applies only to claims which
are barred by the state courts' application of an adequate and
independent state procedural rule; those authorities follow the
Long requirement that the state court opinion must contain a
"plain statement" that the state court relied upon an adequate

and independent state ground barring federal review; and, those

11

authorities also follow the Allen rule that federal review is
proper when a federal constitutional claim has been disposed of
on the merits by the state appellate court.

Thus, in Oliver v. Wainwright, 795 F.2d 1524 (11th Cir.
1986), the court found it unnecessary to decide whether the Sykes
cause and prejudice standard applied to the petitioner's claim
because the federal court's analysis demonstrated that the state
court had ruled on the merits of the claim. Id. at 1528-29. The
court determined that the state court opinion provided no
indication that the state court relied upon a procedural bar;
thus Allen permitted the federal court to review the claim on the
merits. Oliver, supra, at 1528-29. Similarly, in Campbel] v.
Wainwricht, 738 F.2d 1573 (llth Cir. 1984), the court found that
a state court ruling which stated that some claims were
procedurally barred while others were without merit permitted
federal habeas review of the claims because the ruling did not
expressly state which claims were barred and which were not. Id.
at 1577. Finally, Rogers v. McMullen, 673 F.2d 1185 (11th Cir.
1982), followed Sykes in holding that where the state supreme
court reached the merits of a constitutional claim, Sykes did not
foreclose federal habeas review. Id., 675 F.2d at 1188.

Contrary to the Petitioner's assertions, this is not a case
where the Florida Supreme Court summarily denied relief without
an opinion, where that court spoke in the alternative, or even

where the court's holding was ambiguous. * In fact, the Florida

2In this latter situation, of course, federal review would
not be barred, given the Florida Supreme Court's history of
excusing its procedural rules and reaching the merits of post-
conviction capital litigants' claims in a number of cases. See
Amicus curiae brief of National Legal Aid and Defenders
Association, Dugger v. Adams, No. 87-121 (summarizing Florida
Supreme Court opinions). If the Florida Supreme Court opinion
were to be characterized as "ambiguous" -- an unlikely
proposition given the opinion's lack of any express reliance on a
state procedural rule and the fact that the state appellate

(footnote continued on next page)

12

Supreme Court's opinion could not be more "plain": the court said
that the record "refutes any [Rule 3.850) claim that there was
any constitutional infirmity” in the trial; the court said that
each claim in the state habeas petition "is either refuted or is
insufficient for relief." Mann, 482 So. 2d at 1362 (emphasis
supplied) .? Mr. Mann's Caldwel] claim was presented in his Rule
3.850 motion and in his state court habeas corpus action. with
regard to each pleading, the Florida Supreme Court denied the
claim on the merits. Thus, the cases recited by the State in
support of its contention that the Eleventh Circuit wrongly
interpreted a “silent” or “ambiguous” state court opinion are
absolutely inapplicable to this case. The Florida Supreme Court
was not silent or ambiguous, but unmistakably clear -- it
believed Mr. Mann's Caldwell] claims to be without merit.

Further, even under the analyses employed by other Circuit
Courts of Appeal -- with which the State argues the Eleventh
Circuit is in conflict -- the Flerida Supreme Court's opinion
would be determined to be a merits ruling. Fer example, the
State contends that the Second Circuit "interprets a silent state
opinion as a decision resting on procedural grounds ... while
treating ambiguous language in a state opinion as a ruling on the
merits. .. ." (Petition for Writ of Certiorari, p. 17). Setting
aside for the moment the fact that the Florida Supreme Court

opinion in Mann was neither silent nor ambiguous, the State's

(footnote continued from previous page)

court's opinion spoke only to a rejection of the merits of Mr.
Mann's claims -- the very ambiguity would defeat any adequacy and
independence which could be ascribed to the Petitioner's asserted
procedural rule. See Oliver, supra: Campbell, supra; County
Court of Ulster County v. Allen, supra. This is especially so
given the Florida Supreme Court's history of inconsistently
applying its procedural rules in post-conviction cases such as
Mr. Mann's. See section A(3), infra.

3The Florida Supreme Court's opinion in Mr. Mann's case does

not even come close to the Michigan appellate court's opinion
found insufficient to foreclose federal review in Long.

13

Bes.

description of the Second Circuit's analysis is too facile.‘
When faced with a “silent” state court affirmance, the Second
Circuit looks to other factors to determine whether the state
court invoked a procedural bar or ruled on the merits of the
case: its determination depends upon how the State responded to
claims which might be subject to a procedural bar. Martinez y.
Harris, 675 F.2d 51, 54 (24 Cir. 1982). The State may argue that
the claim is subject to procedural default; the State may only
address the merits of the claim: or the State may argue in the
alternative. Ig. If the State calls the procedural bar to the
attention of the state court, the Second Circuit interprets a
“silent” affirmance as resting on procedural grounds. Id.: gee
also Stepney v. Lopes, 760 F.2d 40, 44 (2d Cir. 1985). However,
this analysis does not apply where the state appellate court
issues a written opinion. In that case, "the grounds stated in
the written opinion control a federal court's inquiry." Rosenfeld
v¥. Dunham, 820 F.2d 52, 54 (2@ Cir. 1987). In the Second
Circuit, Mr. Mann's Caldwel) claim would be determined on the
merits: The State filed no responsive pleadings in the state

courts and no oral arguments were held. Even if the Florida

‘when the Second Circuit refers to “silent” affirmances it
is discussing cases in which the state appellate court does not
write an opinion, but rather affirms a conviction in a one-word
or one-line summary order. Counsel's research has disclosed no
case in which the Second Circuit has applied its “silent”
affirmance rule where, as in Mann, the state appellate court
issues a written opinion. The Second Circuit would not apply its
“silent” affirmance rule to Mr. Mann's case, but would review the
case in accordance with the Eleventh Circuit's analysis. See
Rosenfeld vy. Dunham, 820 F.2d 52, 54 (2d Cir. 1987). The
Eleventh Circuit has, in fact, adopted the Second Circuit's
analysis with regard to “silent” (one-word/one-line summary
affirmance) state appellate court affirmances. See Campbell) vy.

+ 738 F.2d at 1578 (adopting Second Circuit's Martinez
vy. Harris, 675 F.2d 51 (2d Cir. 1982), analysis). Of course, Mr.
Mann's case does not involve a one-word/one-line summary
affirmance, but rather involves a formal state appellate court
opinion. The Second and Eleventh Circuits’ “silent” affirmance
rule is therefore inapplicable to Mr. Mann's case. Rather, the
appropriate analysis is that of Allen. Leng. Caldwell, and
Greenfield. That is the analysis that the Eleventh Circuit
applied.

14

Supreme Court had issued a “silent” affirmance in Mr. Mann's
case, that Court had no grounds before it except the merits of
Mr. Mann's claims. But the Florida Supreme Court was not
"silent", and its written opinion clearly discusses only the
merits of Mr. Mann's Motion to Vacate and state habeas petition,
applying no procedural bar to Mr. Mann's Caldwe)) claiz.

Similarly, the Fifth Circuit looks to the history of the
case to determine whether a state court was aware of a procedural
default when the state court issues a “silent" affirmance and
looks to the opinion itself when the state court writes. Preston
¥. Maggio, 705 F.2d 213, 116 (Sth Cir. 1983); see also Thompson
v. Lynaugh, $21 F.2d 1080, 1082 (Sth Cir. 1987). The same is
true in the Sixth Circuit, Shepard v. Foltz, 771 F.24 962, 965
(6th Cir. 1985); Baper v. Mintzes, 706 F.2d 161, 164 (6th Cir.
1983), and in the Eighth Circuit, Evel] v. Wyrick, 675 F.2d 1007,
1008-09 (8th Cir. 1982). In fact, all of the Circuits are
consistent in this regard. Under the analysis of any circuit,
Mr. Mann's Caldwe)) claim would be deemed to have been determined
on the merits by the state appellate court.

In accord with this Court's precedents and with the analyses
employed in the other Circuit Courts of Appeal, the Eleventh
Circuit correctly determined that the Florida Supreme Court ruled
on the merits of Mr. Mann's Caldwe)) claim and thus that federal
habeas review was proper. The Eleventh Circuit examined the
Florida Supreme Court's Mann opinion and correctly found that it
discussed only merits, without mentioning a procedural ba-.> The

Sim Maynard v. Cartwright, 108 S. Ct. 1853 (1988), this
Court recently noted, “We normally defer to Courts of Appeals in
their interpretation of state law. . . ." Ig. at 1857. Mr. Mann

fully notes that the ep banc Eleventh Circuit reviews all
federal habeas actions arising from Florida convictions, and has
among its ranks federal jurists from the state of Florida
(including former Florida state court judges); that Court is
therefore intimately familiar with the practice of Florida's
courts and especially with the practice of the Florida Supreme

(footnote continued on next page)

15

Eleventh Circuit's ruling does not denigrate the doctrine of
Sykes, with which it is clearly in accord, and does not conflict
with the analysis employed by any other circuit.
3. The Florida Supreme Court has not consistently
applied a procedural bar to Caldwel) claims in
collateral proceedings
In order to preclude a federal court from reviewing a state
prisoner's constitutional claim, any state procedural bar invoked
by the state court must be “adequate” and "independent". County
Court of Ulster County v. Allen, 442 U.S. 140, 147 (1979). Thus,
only a “firmly established and regularly followed state practice
can prevent implementation of federal constitutional rights."
James v. Kentucky, 466 U.S. 341, 348-49 (1984) (citation omitted) ;
gee also Barr v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 146, 149 (1964) ("We
have often pointed out that state procedural requirements which
are not strictly or regularly followed cannot deprive us of the
right of review"); Hathorn v. Lovorn, 457 U.S. 255, 262-63 (1982)
("State courts may not avoid deciding federal issues by invoking

procedural rules that they do not apply evenhandedly"). As this
Court has again recently explained: "“[(A) state procedural ground

is not ‘adequate’ unless the procedural rule is ‘strictly or

regularly followed.'" Johnson v. Mississippi, 56 U.S.L.W. 4561,

4563 (June 13, 1988) (citations omitted). Caldwel] itself makes

the same point. Jd, 472 U.S. at 327-28 (Mere existence of state

procedural rule is insufficient to preclude federal review; rule

must be strictly and regularly followed and must be actually

(footnote continued from previous page)

Court. The Eleventh Circuit is thus in a much better position to
discern the largely factually-based question of whether the state
Supreme Court intended to reach the merits of a federal
constitutional claim or apply a procedural bar.

Cartwright. supra: see also Butner v. United States, 440 U.S. 48,
58 (1979) ("(Fljederal judges who regularly deal with questions of
state law in their respective districts and circuits are ina
better position than we to determine how local courts would
dispose of comparable issues.")

16

relied upon “as an independent basis for (the state appellate
court's) disposition of the case"), citing Ulster County Court v.
Allen and Michigan vy. Leng.

The State's petition broadly asserts that "the Florida
Supreme Court has, without exception, held that either the
failure to object at th. trial level or the failure to raise the
matter on direct appeal results in a procedural default of (a)
Caldwell) claim.” (Petition for Writ of Certiorari, p. 8%) (emphasis
supplied). This statement is a gross oversimplification, to say
the least, of the status of Caldwell] claims in Florida collateral
proceedings.

This Court issued its Caldwe)] opinion on June 11, 1985.
Caldwell, 105 S. Ct. 2633 (1985). Three months later, the
Florida Supreme Court ruled on the merits of a Caldwel] claim
raised in a successive motion for post-conviction relief. Dardes
v. State, 475 So. 2d 217, 221 (Fla. 1985) .° In February, 1986,
the Florida Supreme Court denied Mr. Mann's Motion to Vacate and
state habeas Caldwel)] claims on the merits. Mann, 482 So. 2d at
1361-62. Since that time, the Florida Supreme Court has been far
from consistent in addressing Caldwel] claims raised in
collateral proceedings.

The Florida Supreme Court has several times indicated that
Caldwell claims would be entertained in initial collateral
proceedings, but are not available in successive motions or
petitions. For example, in Card v. Dugger, 512 So. 2d 829 (Fla.
1987), in response to a Caldwel] claim raised in a successive
state habeas corpus petition, the court held:

Card filed his first petition for habeas
corpus on June 2, 1986, and Caldwell] was

decided by the United States Supreme Court in
1985. .. . {A} second petition filed after

Sthis Court thereafter also ruled on the merits of that
post-conviction litigant's Caldwell] claim. See
Wainwright, 106 S. Ct. 2464, 2473 n.15 (1986).

17

which raises this issue for the
first time constitutes an abuse of the writ.

Id. at 831. Similarly, in Delap v. State, 513 So. 2d 1050 (Fla.
1987), in response to a Caldwell] claim raised ina successive
motion for post-conviction relief, the court held:

Delap's third claim, predicated upon Caldwell]
» 472 U.S. 320, 105 8. Ct.
2633, 86 L. Ed. 2d 231 (1985), should have
been raised, if at all, in Delap's first
motion for postconviction relief which was
filed more than six months after the United
States Supreme Court's opinion in Caldwell.

Id. at 1051.

In Combs v. State, 525 So. 2d 853 (Fla. 1988), decided in
February of this year -- a case involving the presentation of a
Caldwel] claim in a capital litigant's initial state court post-
conviction action -- the Florida Supreme Court ruled on the
merits of the Caldwel]l] claim and analyzed the issue at length in
an effort to demonstrate that the issue in Mr. Combs' case was
without merit. Combs, 525 So. 2d at 855-58. Cf. id. at 861
(Barkett, J., specially concurring) ("Mann was based not on some
fault inherent in the instructions themselves, but on the
prosecutor's misleading remarks and the judge's failure to

correct them.")

Most recently, in Darden v. Dugger, 521 So. 2d 1103 (Fla.
1988) (Darden II), in response to a Caldwell claim raised ina
successive state habeas corpus petition, the court held:

Darden's second claim, that the jury was
mislead as to its sentencing role in
violation of Caldwell _v. Mississippi, 472
U.S. 320 (1985), was previously rejected by
this Court in Darden v. State, 475 So. 2d at
221. .. . Darden takes the position that
because "this very issue is now pending
before the United States Supreme Court in

, No. 87-121" .. . this Court
should issue a stay of execution and preserve
its jurisdiction to address this claim after
the issuance of Adams. If this were the
first time Darden presented this Caldwel]
claim to this Court, such a stay may be
warranted. However, because this claim was
previously reject(ed] by this court, we

18

decline to issue a stay to reconsider the
issue.

Id. at 1104-05 (footnotes and citations omitted).

As is apparent from the Florida Supreme Court's holdings
regarding the availability of collateral proceedings for raising
Caldwell] claims, had any procedural bar been applied to Mr.
Mann's Caldwel] claim, such a bar could not be deemed adequate
and independent. Prior to Mr. Mann's state collateral
proceedings, the Florida Supreme Court reviewed a Caldwell] claim
on the merits, Darden, supra, and since Mr. Mann's state
proceedings, the Florida Supreme Court has been inconsistent in
applying a procedural bar to Caldwe]] claims. Combs; Card;
Delap: Darden II, supra. Under Florida's law, see Allen, 442
U.S. at 149, claims such as Mr. Mann's are not clearly subject to
a procedural bar. See Adams v. Dugger, 816 F.2d 1493, 1497 (llth
Cir. 1987) ("Adams' Caldwe]] claim is the very type of claim for
which Florida created the Rule 3.850 procedure.") Under the
Florida Supreme Court's practice, discussed above, there exists
no “firmly established and regularly followed state practice

- + prevent{ing)" federal review, see James, 466 U.S. at 348-
49, with regard to Caldwe]] claims such as Mr. Mann's, nor does
the Florida Supreme Court "strictly and regularly” apply a
procedural bar to such issues. Johnson, supra, 56 U.S.L.W. at
4563. Prior to Mr. Mann's state court collateral proceedings,
Darden, supra, and after Mr. Mann's state court collateral
proceedings, Combs, supra, the Florida Supreme Court has reviewed
the merits of post-conviction litigants' Caldwell] claims. Of
course, the Florida Supreme Court reviewed the merits in Mr.
Mann's case, see sections A(1l) and (2), supra, a ruling in
conformity with its practice in other cases.

4. Neither Adams nor Harris will control the

disposition of Mr. Mann's Caldwell] claim.
Both cases relied upon in the Petition for Writ of

Certiorari involve the disposition of procedural questions which

19

are not at issue in Mr. Mann's case. In Dugger v. Adams, 108 Ss.
Ct. 1106 (1988), this Court has been asked to determine whether
the federal habeas corpus abuse of the writ doctrine precluded
consideration of the merits of Mr. Adams' Caldwel] claim, and
whether the state Supreme Court's reliance on a procedural bar
also precluded federal review of the Caldwel] claim. Neither of
these questions was or is at issue here. Rather, Mr. Mann's case
involves the straightforward federal review of a constitutional
claim which was decided on the merits in the state courts. As
stated in the introduction to this section, Mr. Mann's claim was
presented in his first and only federal habeas corpus petition;
abuse of the writ is therefore clearly not involved. Further, in
Adams, the Florida Supreme Court clearly and unequivocally found
Mr. Adams' claim an abuse of the post-conviction process and
barred by procedural default. Adams v. State, 484 So. 2d 1216,
1217 (Fla. 1986). The Florida Supreme Court, on the other hand,
reviewed Mr. Mann's claim on the merits, without even mentioning
a procedural bar. Mann, 482 So. 2d at 1361-62. Thus, the
Eleventh Circuit correctly considered the federal constitutional
questions involved in Mr. Mann's claim, and the disposition of
the abuse and default questions presented to this Court in Adams
will not affect correctness of that decision.

In Harris v. Reed, 108 S. Ct. 1107 (1988), this Court has
been asked to determine whether federal habeas corpus review of a
claim is proper when the state court applies a procedural bar and
discusses the merits of a claim in denying relief. The lower
court in Harris described the state court opinion as follows:

In examining Harris' post-conviction
petition, the state court noted that failure
to present an issue on direct appeal
precludes post-conviction review unless the
nature of the issue is such that it could not
have been raised on direct appeal. The
district court then examined the trial court
record and found that all grounds, save that

relating to the alibi witnesses, could have
been presented on direct appeal. Without

20

a ee

expressly finding that all other grounds

were waived, the court then proceeded to a

short discussion of general standards for

judging a claim of ineffective counsel.

Next, the court analyzed both trial counsel's

failure to call alibi witnesses, as well as

other grounds that could have been raised on

direct appeal and concluded that Harris had

received the effective assistance of his

trial counsel.
Harris v. Reed, 822 F.2d 684, 687 (7th Cir. 1987).’ The Seventh
Circuit distinguished this state court opinion from those which
“completely ignored waiver" and those which "expressly relied, in
part, on waiver," jid., concluding that, although the state court
opinion was "ambiguous", the state court intended to find all but
one claim waived and only alternatively rejected the claims on
the merits. Id. Federal habeas review was therefore precluded.
Id. As is apparent from the discussion in the preceding section,
this is not the situation in Mr. Mann's case, where the Florida
Supreme Court spoke only in terms of merits review and denied Mr.
Mann's claim on the basis of such review. The Florida Supreme
Court neither expressly relied on any procedural bar nor made
alternative rulings with regard to Mr. Mann's Caldwell] claim.
Its opinion was unambiguous: relief was denied on the merits.
Accordingly, the Eleventh Circuit properly exercised its
authority to review the federal questions involved in Mr. Mann's

claim, and the disposition of Harris before this Court will not

affect the propriety of that decision.

7It is noteworthy that nowhere in its Mann opinion, 482
So. 2d at 1361-62, does the Florida Supreme Court state that it
would decline to consider Mr. Mann's Caldwell claims, on the
basis of standard procedural grounds such as the failure to urge
the issue on direct appeal. The Florida Supreme Court's opinion
speaks only to merits review. As discussed throughout this brief
in opposition, the central question which the Eleventh Circuit
properly resolved is not whether a state procedural ground
existed, but whether the state appellate court itself expressly
indicated that the federal claim would be rejected because of a
state court procedural default. Allen, supra; Caldwell,
After all, "(t]he federal court's task is not to apply state
procedural rules as though it stood in the state court's shoes,"
Evel] _v. Wyrick, 675 F.2d 1007, 1008 (8th Cir. 1982), but to
determine if federal review would be appropriate. Allen;
Caldwell; Engle v. Isaac; Wainwright v. Greenfield.

21

B. THE DECISION BELOW CORRECTLY DETERMINED THAT
CALDWELL V. MISSISSIPPI APPLIES TO THE FLORIDA

CAPITAL SENTENCING SCHEME

The Petition for Writ of Certiorari also urges this Court to
grant certiorari review in order to correct what the Petitioner
perceives as an “express and irreconcilable conflict" between the
Eleventh Circuit's analysis of the application of Caldwell to the
Florida capital sentencing scheme and the Florida Supreme Court's
analysis. Significantly, the State does not argue that a Florida
capital jury is not an integral part of the Florida capital
sentencing scheme, but simply asserts broadly that the Eleventh
Circuit's holding in Mann is "in irreconcilable conflict with
every decision of the Florida Supreme Court on this point."
(Petition for Writ of Certiorari, p. 8) (emphasis supplied). The
State is wrong to assert that Caldwel] does not apply to the
Florida capital sentencing scheme and is wrong to assert that
“every decision" of the Florida Supreme Court has so held; the
Florida Supreme Court's own opinions make undeniably plain.

Initially, Mr. Mann notes, as did the Eleventh Circuit, that
the federal courts, not state courts, are the arbiters of claims
grounded on the federal constitution. Thus, although the Florida
Supreme Court has thus far refused to grant relief on a Caldwell
claim, the Eleventh Circuit is not required to follow the Florida
Supreme Court's interpretation of the federal constitution:

To date, the Supreme Court of Florida has
refused to grant relief on Caldwell claims.

- « « We do not read these cases as
necessarily holding that a Caldwell violation
could never occur in a Florida case. ...

In any event, we are not bound by a state
court's application of federal constitutional
principles. We look to that court's
pronouncements only to determine the nature
of the sentencing process; we independently
decide how the federal Constitution applies
to claims pertaining to that process as thus
defined.

Mann, 844 F.2d at 1455 n.10. Cf. Sandstrom v. Montana, 442 U.S.
510, 516-17 (1979) ("The Supreme Court of Montana is, of course,

the final authority on the legal weight to be given a presumption

22

under Montana law, but it is not the final authority on the
interpretation which a jury could have given the instruction.").
See also Caldwell], supra, 472 U.S. at 326 (relief granted
pursuant to eighth and fourteenth amendments notwithstanding
state Supreme Court opinion which "flatly rejected the contention
that the prosecutor's comments could constitute a violation of
the Eighth Amendment .. .").

After examining the Florida Supreme Court's pronouncements
to determine the nature of Florida's capital sentencing process, ®
cf. Sandstrom, supra, 442 U.S. at 516-17, the en banc decision of
the Eleventh Circuit in Mann carefully set out why Caldwell is
applicable in Florida, despite the fact that Florida juries are
not the "final" sentencers as they are in Mississippi. The court
identified two factors evident from the Florida Supreme Court's
case law which demonstrate that although Florida capital juries
recommend a sentence to the trial judge, who then imposes
sentence, the jury's recommendation is of such significance that
Caldwell's concerns are undeniably applicable:

In light of the case law, we conclude that
the Florida jury plays an important role in
the Florida capital sentencing scheme. The
‘case law reflects an interpretation of the
death penalty statute that requires the trial
court to give significant weight to the
jury's recommendation, whether it be a
recommendation of life imprisonment or a
recommendation of death. The case law also
reflects, we think, an insightful normative
judgment that a jury recommendation of death
has an inherently powerful impact on the

trial judge.

Because the jury's recommendation is
significant in these ways, the concerns

8mr. Mann's en banc briefs to the Eleventh Circuit presented
a detailed analysis of Florida's capital sentencing process and
of the Florida Supreme Court's opinions construing that process
and the critical nature of the jury's role. In the interests of
brevity, that analysis will not be repeated again herein. Mr.
Mann's supplemental appendix filed with this brief in opposition
includes Mr. Mann's initial and reply en banc Eleventh Circuit
briefs (Apps. 1 and 3). With regard to these issues Mr. Mann
respectfully refers the Court to that discussion and specifically
to pages 1 through 11 of his en banc Eleventh Circuit reply brief
(App. 3).

23

voiced in Caldwell] are triggered when a
Florida sentencing jury is misled into
believing that its role is unimportant.
Under such circumstances, a real danger
exists that a resulting death sentence will
be based at least in part on the
determination of a decisionmaker that has
been misled as to the nature of its
responsibility. Such a sentence, because it
results from a formula involving a factor
that is tainted by an impermissible bias in
favor of death, necessarily violates the
eighth amendment requirement of reliability
in capital sentencing.

Mann, 844 F.2d at 1454-55.

In coming to its first conclusion -- that the sentencing
jury has a significant role in the Florida capital sentencing
scheme -- the Eleventh Circuit relied upon four basic principles
to which the Florida Supreme Court adheres regarding the
administration of the capital sentencing statute. First, the
Florida Supreme Court "has severely limited the trial judge's
authority to override a jury recommendation of life
imprisonment," Mann, 844 F.2d at 1450, steadfastly holding that a
trial judge may override a jury's life recommendation only when
"the facts [are] so clear and convincing that virtually no
reasonable person could differ." See Mann, 844 F.2d at 1450-51
(and cases cited therein); see also en banc Eleventh Circuit
Initial and Reply Briefs, Mann v. Dugger, Respondent's
Supplemental Appendix 1 and 3 (and cases cited therein). The
Eleventh Circuit's opinion discussed the various Florida Supreme

Court cases, e.g., inter alia, Tedder v. State, 322 So. 2d 908,

910 (Fla. 1975); Wasko v. State, 505 So. 2d 1314, 1318 (Fla.
1987); McCampbell v. State, 421 So. 2d 1072, 1075-76 (Fla. 1982);
Brookings v. State, 495 So. 2d 135, 142-43 (Fla. 1986), applying

this longstanding principle of Florida capital sentencing law.
The "Tedder standard" has in fact been recognized by this Court
as providing a "significant safeguard" to a capital defendant.
Spaziano v. Florida, 468 U.S. 447, 465 (1984).

Second, the Florida Supreme Court also accords a jury's

death recommendation great deference, holding that "a jury

24

ee

bs

recommendation of death is entitled to great weight." See Mann,
844 F.2d at 1451-52 (and cases cited therein); see also Smith v.
State, 515 So. 2a 182, 185 (Fla. 1987); en banc Eleventh Circuit
Reply Brief of Appellant, App. 3, pp. 5-6 (and cases cited
therein). The Florida Supreme Court has consistently applied
this principle of Florida capital semtencing law as well. See
Smith, supra; Stone v. State, 378 So. 2d 765, 773 (Fla. 1980);
LeDuc v. State, 365 So. 2d 149, 151 (Fla. 1978).

In fact, as the en banc Eleventh Circuit explained, the
Florida Supreme Court has "been inflwenced by a normative
judgment that a jury recommendation of death carries great force
in the mind of the judge." Mann, 844 F.2d at 1453. Thus, as
discussed in the Eleventh Circuit's opinion, the Florida Supreme
Court consistently orders resentencing in cases in which
sentencing error has occurred before the jury, even if the trial
judge has stated that the error did not affect his or her
imposition of the death sentence. Mann, 844 F.2d 1453-54 (and
cases cited therein). These cases make clear that the Florida
Supreme Court "has recognized that a jury recommendation of death
has a sui generis impact on the trial judge, an impact so
powerful as to nullify the general presumption that a trial judge
is capable of putting aside error." Id. at 1454.

Third, the Eleventh Circuit pointed out that the Florida
Supreme Court's treatment of sentencing error illustrates the
importance of the jury recommendation to the sentencing process:
in cases in which sentencing error occurs before the jury, the
Florida Supreme Court vacates the death sentence and orders
resentencing before a new jury. See Mann, 844 F.2d at 1452-53
(and cases cited therein). As the Florida Supreme Court itself
has explained:

This Court has long held that a Florida
capital sentencing jury's recommendation is
an integral part of the death sentencing

process. Lamadline v. State, 303 So.2d 17,
20 (Fla.1974) (jury recommendation can be

25

ae eR ee re

"critical factor" in determining whether or
not death penalty should be imposed). Under

, 322 So.2d 908, 910
(Fla.1975), a jury's recommendation of life
must be given “great weight" by the
sentencing judge. A recommendation of life
may be overturned only if "the facts
suggestirig a sentence of death [are] so clear
and convincing that virtually no reasonable
person could differ." Id.

Riley v. Wainwright, 517 So. 2d 656, 657 (Fla. 1987). Thus,

(ijf the jury's recommendation, upon which
the judge must rely, results from an
unconstitutional procedure, then the entire
sentencing process necessarily is tainted by
that procedure.

Id. at 659. The Florida Supreme Court's precedents have gone
even further than the Eleventh Circuit's Mann opinion in
stressing the critical role of the capital sentencing jury in

Florida and demonstrating Caldwel]'s application to the Florida

capital sentencing scheme:

Appellant's eighth point is that the trial
court erred in giving the jury's
recommendation of death greater weight than
that to which it was entitled. In
instructing the jury, the trial court
stressed that the jury recommendation could
not be taken lightly and would not be
overruled unless there was no reasonable
basis for it. In its sentencing order the
judge noted he was imposing the sentence
“"independent of, but in agreement with" the
jury recommendation. There is no error; this

is the law. It is appropriate to stress to

Vv. Vv
weight. To do otherwise would be contrary to
Ww v j i, 472 U.S. 320, 105

S.Ct. 2633, 86 L.Ed.2d 231 (1985), and Tedder
v. State, 322 So.2d 908 (Fla. 1975).

Garcia v. State, 492 So. 2d 360, 367 (Fla. 1986) (emphasis added).

The Florida Supreme Court has also explained:

The state .. . suggests that the override
was proper here because the trial court judge
is the ultimate sentencer and his sentencing
order represents a reasonable weighing of the
relevant aggravating and mitigating
circumstances. According to the state's
theory, this Court should view a trial
court's sentencing order with a presumption
of correctness and, when the order is
reasonable, this Court should uphold the
trial court's sentence of death. We reject
the state's suggestion. Under the state's

26

jury's advisory recommendation since this

Court would need to focus only on whether the

sentence imposed _by_the trial court was

judice, the jury's recommendation of life was

reasonably based on valid mitigating factors.

The fact that reasonable people could differ

on what penalty should be imposed in this

case renders the override improper.
Ferry v. State, 507 So. 2d 1373, 1376-77 (Fla. 1987) (emphasis
supplied). Moreoever, the Florida Supreme Court has
unequivocally held that the jury's sentencing role is central and
"fundamental", Riley, supra, 517 So. 2d at 657-58, while the
sentencing judge's role is to serve as "a buffer where the jury
allows emotion to override the duty of a deliberate
determination" of the defendant's proper sentence. Cooper v.
State, 336 So. 2d 1133, 1140 (Fla. 1976). Clearly, contrary to
the Petitioner's assertions before this Court, the Florida
Supreme Court's precedents make clear that Caldwell's concerns
apply in Florida. The Petitioner's assertions regarding the role
of the jury in Florida's post-Furman capital sentencing scheme
would assuredly not be recognized by the Florida Supreme Court.
See Ferry, supra, 507 So. 2d at 1376-77.

Finally, the Eleventh Circuit pointed out that the Florida

Supreme Court has ordered resentencing when prospective jurors

have been excused in violation of Witherspoon v. Illinois, 391
U.S. 510 (1968), a case which “assumes .. . that the jury will

play a substantive role in the sentencing decision." Mann, 844
F.2d at 1453. This is significant as well, and again
demonstrates Caldwell's applicability to the Florida captial
sentencing scheme.
Having evaluated all of these factors, the Eleventh Circuit

concluded:

The fact of the matter is .. . that under

the existing scheme in Florida the jury does

share in capital sentencing responsibility.

Because the jury's recommendation is a

critical factor in the ultimate sentencing

decision, the jury's function, like the
function of any capital sentencer, must be

27

evaluated pursuant to eighth amendment
standards.

Mann, 844 F.2d at 1454 n.10 (emphasis in original).

As the Eleventh Circuit's analysis demonstrates, the State's
contention that Caldwel] is not applicable to the Florida capital
sentencing scheme is belied by the Florida Supreme Court's
pronouncements regarding the integral and critical function of
the jury in that scheme. Further, the Florida Supreme Court
opinions which directly address Caldwe]] claims also belie the
State's assertion that the Florida Supreme Court has
categorically rejected Caldwell's application in Florida.

The Florida Supreme Court has not said that providing
misleading, inaccurate, and/or false information to a Florida
capital jury regarding its role in sentencing is acceptable. On
the contrary, in rejecting Caldwe)) claims, the court has pointed
out that the jurors in those cases were provided accurate
instructions. The Florida Supreme Court has in fact emphasized
that the jury should be informed of the importance of its
recommendation. In Mr. Mann's case, as in Caldwel] itself and
unlike the various challenges to standard jury instructions based
upon Caldwe)] decided by the Florida Supreme Court and cited in
the State's petition, the prosecutor presented the sentencing
jury with inaccurate, misleading, and false information regarding
its sentencing role; the prosecutor's comments were then approved
of and uncorrected by the trial judge's instructions. Mr. Mann's
case, unlike those cited in the State's petition, falls squarely
within Caldwel]. As the en banc Eleventh Circuit's opinion makes
clear, here as in Caldwell], “the prosecutor's remarks ... were
inaccurate and misleading in a manner that diminished the jury's
sense of responsibility,” Caldwel], 472 U.S. at 342 (O'Connor,
J., concurring), and were then approved by the court. In Mr.
Mann's case, the prosecutor's and judge's statements

misle(d) the jury as to its role in the
sentencing process in a way that allow(ed)

28

the jury to feel less responsible than it
should for the sentencing decision.

Darden v. Wainwright, 106 S. Ct. 2464, 2473 n.15 (1986).

The @n banc Eleventh Circuit's opinion also demonstrates
that Mr. Mann's case involves far more than a simple challenge to
Florida's standard instructions, cf. Combs v. State, 525 So. 24
853, 861 (Fla. 1988) (Barkett, J., specially concurring)(". . .
Mann was based not on some fault inherent in the instructions
themselves, but on the prosecutor's misleading remarks, and the
judge's failure to correct them."), and is thus far different
than those cases involving challenges to standard jury
instructions based upon Caldwe]] which the federal appeals court
and the Florida Supreme Court have reviewed. Compare Mann v.
Dugger, supra, with Harich v. Dugger, 844 F.2d 1464 (11th Cir.
1988) (en banc) (upholding penalty phase standard jury
instructions against a challenge based upon Caldwe))).?

Again, as the Florida Supreme Court itself has stated:

We find nothing erroneous about informing the
jury of the limits of its sentencing
responsibility, as long as the significance
of its recommendation is adequately stressed.

- « Informing a jury of its advisory
function does not unreasonably diminish the
jury's sense of responsibility. Certainly
the reliability of the jury's recommendation
is in no way undermined by such non-

misleading and accurate information.
(T)he jury's role was adequately portrayed

9caldwell's impact on Florida's death penalty scheme has
been far from sweeping. Mr. Mann is in fact only the second
Florida capital inmate to have been granted relief pursuant to

- Clearly, the two cases in which relief has been

granted, Mann v. Dugger: afene,x._Malancians. 604 F.2d 1526 (11th
Cir. 1986), » 816
F.2d 1493 (llth Cir. 1987), cert. granted, "108 S. Ct. 1106
(1988), involve clear and egregious Caldwe)]) error which is a far
cry from a challenge to Florida's standard jury instructions.
Mr. Mann's case, more than any other, falls squarely within the
rubric of Caldwell: it involves a prosecutor's systematic
misleading, inaccurate, and false statements which served to
diminish the jury's sense of responsibility for its sentencing
task and a trial judge's adoption of those remarks and failure to
cure the harz in his instructions.

29

and they were in no way misled as to the
importance of their role.

Pope vy. Wainwright, 496 So. 24 798, 805 (Fla. 1986). Cf. Garcia |
v. State, 492 So. 24 360, 367 (Fla. 1986)("It is appropriate to
stress to the jury the seriousness which it should attach to its |
recommendation and, when the recommendation is received, to give
it weight. To do otherwise would be contrary to Caldwe))] .
and Tedder") .
Most Caldwel) claims reviewed by the Florida Supreme Court
have focused on Florida's standard jury instructions. That
court's rejection of jury instruction based claims is not in
conflict with the Eleventh Circuit's en banc standards, Mann,
supra: Harich., supra, and is assuredly not in conflict with the
specific holding of the en banc Eleventh Circuit in Mann.

c. THE COURT BELOW CORRECTLY DETERMINED THAT MR. MANN'S
CALDWELL CLAIM REQUIRED RELIEF

1. The jurors were told by prosecutor and judge
that their role in sentencing was not
significant

The State's petition presents no coherent argument
demonstrating that Caldwel) was not violated in Mr. Mann's case.
Nor could it, as the prosecutor's misleading, inaccurate, and
false statements without doubt served to diminish Mr. Mann's
jurors’ sense of responsibility for the capital sentencing task
which Florida law called on them to perform, and the trial
judge's comments and instructions then failed to correct and
enhanced the harm (See App. 2 [record excerpts]; see also App. i
{Eleventh Circuit en banc Initial Brief of Appellant, pp. 3-10,
18-43)). Moreoever, the State's Petition absolutely fails to
explain how it is that the prosecutor's “effort(s) had no effect
on the sentencing decision..." Caldwell, supra, 472 U.S. at

341. Pursuant to Caldwell], the Eleventh Circuit properly granted

relief in Mr. Mann's case.

30

The various misleading, improper, inaccurate, and false
prosecutorial comments to Mr. Mann's capital jury were discussed
at length in Mr. Mann's initial Eleventh Circuit en bance brief
(App. 1: gee also, App. 2 [record excerpts)}). That detailed
discussion will not be repeated again herein. The prosecutor's
statements and approving judicial comments and instructions were
summarized by the Eleventh Circuit, which “thorough(ly) examined)

+ « the trial record,” Mann, 844 F.2d at 1455, as follows:

The first reference to the jury's role
was made as the jury was being selected,
during counsel's voir dire of the venire.
The prosecutor said the following:

The recommendation that you make to
Judge Federico in (the sentencing)
portion of the trial is simply a
recommendation, and he is not bound by
it. He may impose whatever sentence the
law permits. He will have been here and
will have listened to all the testimony
himself.

A few moments later, the prosecutor repeated
this point in stronger terms:

You understand you do not impose the
death penalty; that is not on your
shoulders.... Again, that decision
rests up here with the law, with Judge
Federico. You will have the opportunity
after you have heard everything there is
to hear to make a recommendation to hin.
But it is not legally on your shoulders,
though. It is not your ultimate
decision. You act in that regard in an
advisory capacity only.

The prosecutor repeated the point again that
afternoon, in a dialogue with two veniremen:

You ... understand that the ultimate
responsibility rests with the Court;
that it's not the jury's responsibility?

During closing argument at the conclusion of
the guilt phase of the trial, the prosecutor
once again informed the jury that “([t)he
matter of sentencing ultimately rests with
{the) Court.”

After the jury rendered its verdict of
guilty, the jurors were temporarily excused
from the courtroom while the court and
counsel made preliminary preparations for the
sentencing phase of the trial. At that time,
defense counsel requested that the jury, when
it returned, be instructed by the court that
its sentencing recommendation would be

31

“entitled to great weight." The court
refused to grant the request:

THE COURT: Well, I think that goes
without saying. I don't know if I need
to instruct them that that is so.

(DEFENSE COUNSEL]: I think it is.
The reason we would ask--

THE COURT: That's something that I
need to do after they make their
recommendation, and I will give it great
weight.

(DEFENSE COUNSEL): I know, but
they need to know that so they know
we're not up there just--

THE COURT: I think the standard
instructions bring home to them that it
is very important that they, you know,
{[djo not act hastily or without due
regard to the gravity of these
proceedings, that they should carefully
weigh and sift and consider the
evidence. I think that's sufficient.

Notwithstanding his apparent understanding of
the sentencing jury's function, the judge
informed the jurors when they returned to the
courtroom that "(tjhe final decision as to
what punishment shall be imposed rests solely
with the judge of this court." The
prosecutor repeated the point in the final
statement of his closing argument at the
conclusion of the sentencing phase:

What I'm suggesting to you is that the
ultimate responsibility for the
imposition of the sentence rests with
Judge Philip Federico. That is his
sworn position in the system. He's
heard everything you have heard. He may
have the opportunity to learn more
before he imposes a sentence. I think
this community, as represented by this
jury, should give to him the prerogative
of imposing the death penalty, if that's
what he ultimately feels is required in
this case.

The court then read its instructions to the
jury. The instructions included the
following statements regarding the jury's
sentencing function:

Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, it is
now your duty to advise the Court as to
what punishment should be imposed on the
Defendant for his crime of murder in the
first degree. As you have been told,
the final decision as to what punishment
shall be imposed is the responsibility
of the judge. However, it is your duty
to follow the law which will now be

32

given to you by the Court and render to
the Court an advisory opinion based upon
your determination as to whether
sufficient aggravating circumstances
exist to justify the imposition of the
death penalty, whether sufficient
mitigating circumstances exist to
outweigh any aggravating circumstances
found to exist.

The court's instructions also included the
following statements:

The fact that the determination of
whether or not a majority of you
recommend a sentence of death or
sentence of life imprisonment in this
case can be reached by a single ballot
should not influence you to act hastily
or without due regard to the gravity of
these proceedings. Before you ballot,
you should carefully weigh, sift and
consider the evidence, and all of it,
realizing that a human life is at stake,
and bring to bear your best judgment
upon the sole issue which is submitted
to you at this time, of whether a
majority of your number recommend that
the Defendant be sentenced to death or
to life imprisonment.

After the court finished reading the
instructions, it ordered the jury to retire
and make a decision. When the jury returned,
it announced a recommendation of death. The
jury was polled and then dismissed. After
the bailiff had declared that "[t]jhe jury has
left the courtroom," the judge remarked, for
the record, that "(t]he court, as required by
law, will give great weight to the
recommendation of the jury."

Mann, 844 F.2d at 1455-56.

The State Petitioner, of course, can provide no rational
explanation demonstrating that statements such as "thie] decision
rests up here with the law, with Judge Federico" (R. 1218); "it
is not legally on your shoulders" (R. 1218-19); “you do not
impose the death penalty . . . the Court would impose it should
you find the Defendant guilty and should he find it necessary and
proper in this case" (R. 1363) (emphasis added); "you both
understand that the ultimate responsibility rests with the Court;
that it's not the jury's responsibility?" (R. 1393); and

What I'm suggesting to you is that the
; 3
Federico.

33

That is his main position in this systen.
He's heard everything you have heard.

He may have the opportunity to learn more
before he imposes a sentence.

I think this community, as represented by
this jury,

of imposing the death penalty, if that's what
he ultimately feels is required in this case.

Thank you.
(R. 2439) (emphasis added) were anything other than inaccurate,
misleading, improper, and false. Neither can the State explain
how these comments did not diminish the jurors' sense of
responsibility. Neither does the State even attempt to explain
how judicial instructions such as

Ladies and gentlemen of the jury, it is now

your duty to advise the court as to what

punishment should be imposed on the Defendant

for his crime of murder in the first degree.

As you have been told, the final decision as

to what punishment shall be imposed is the

responsibility of the judge. However, it is

your duty to follow the law which will now be

given to you by the Court and render to the

Court an advisory opinion.
(R. 2453-54), served to cure the harm caused by the prosecutor's
statements rather than approving and compounding the error.

Finally, the State makes no effort whatsoever to explain why

the errors herein at issue "had no,effect on the sentencing
decision . . ." Caldwe)], 472 U.S. at 341. The State Petitioner

can explain none of this, for Mr. Mann's case falls squarely

within Caldwell.
2. The proceedings in Mr. Mann's case violated

After examining the record, Judge Tjoflat's opinion for the
en banc Eleventh Circuit explained:

In reviewing Caldwe)] claims, our task
is twofold. First, we must determine whether
a the prosecutor's comments to the jury were
such that they would "minimize the jury's
sense of responsibility for determining the
appropriateness of death." Caldwel], 472 U.S.
at 341, 105 S.Ct. at 2646. Second, if the
comments would have such effect, we must
determine “whether the trial judge in this

34

case sufficiently corrected the impression
left by the prosecutor.”
Kemp, 829 F.2d 1035, 1037 (11th Cir. 1987).

When a trial court does not correct
misleading comments as to the jury's
sentencing role, the state has violated the
defendant's eighth amendment rights because
the court has given the state's imprimatur to
those comments; the effect is the same as if
the trial court had actually instructed the
jury that the prosecutor's comments
represented a correct statement of the law.
See Tucker v. Kemp, 802 F.2d 1293, 1295 (11th
Cir.1986) (en banc), cert. denied, --- U.S.
---, 107 S.Ct. 1359, 94 L.Ed.2d 529 (1987).
When a trial court does make some attempt to
correct the prosecutor's misleading comments,
the question becomes whether the corrective
statement would, in the mind of a reasonable
juror who had been exposed to the misleading
comments, correct the misapprehension that
the comments would induce. Because our focus
is ultimately on the trial court's actions,
cur mode of review is similar to that used to
review claims based on erroneous jury
instructions. Cf. Lamb v. Jernigan, 683 F.2d
1332, 1339-40 (11th Cir.1982) (court must
consider effect of erroneous instruction on
reasonable juror "in light of the remainder
of the charge and the entire trial"), cert.

j - £60 U.S. 1024, 103 S.Ct. 1276, 75
L.Ed.2d 496 (1983).

In this case, the comments by the
prosecutor were such that they would mislead
or at least confuse the jury as to the nature
of its sentencing responsibility under
Florida law. It bears emphasizing that the
‘prosecutor in Caldwell] stated only that the
jury's verdict would be “automatically
reviewable." Technically, this statement was
an accurate statement of Mississippi law--
death sentences are automatically reviewed by
the Supreme Court of Mississippi under
Miss.Code Ann Sec. 99-19-105. The mischief
was that the statement, unexplained, would
have likely been misunderstood by the jurors
as meaning that their judgment call on the
appropriateness of a death sentence did not
really matter. We are faced with a similar
situation here. The prosecutor repeatedly
told the jury that its task was to render an
"advisory" recommendation. As with
“automatically reviewable" in Caldwell], this
characterization is technically accurate, at
least in the sense that the Florida death
penalty statute contains the term “advisory.”
However, the danger exists that the jurors,
because they were unaware of the body of law
that requires the trial judge to give weight
to the jury recommendation, were misinformed
as to the importance of their judgment call.
The danger is particularly strong here,
because nothing in the common meaning of the
term "advisory" would suggest to the layman

35

that the trial judge would in any way be
bound by the recommendation; indeed, the
common meaning of the term would suggest
precisely the contrary.

Moreover, here the prosecutor stated to
the jurors twice that the burden of imposing
the death penalty was "not on your
shoulders." He repeatedly told the jurors
that the responsibility for imposing sentence
rested with the trial judge. Additionally,
we note that the prosecutor suggested to the
jurors that the trial judge, because of his
position as a legal authority, was more able
than the jury to make the appropriate
sentencing decision. As the Supreme Court
noted in Caldwell], this kind of suggestion
induces jurors, who are "placed in a very
unfamiliar situation and called on to make a
very difficult and uncomfortable choice," to
delegate wrongly their sentencing
responsibility. Caldwell], 472 U.S. at 333,
105 S.Ct. at 2641-42. We conclude that the
prosecutor's statements, considered together,
misrepresent the nature of the jury's
critical role under the Florida capital
sentencing scheme. Such comments, if
uncorrected, would undoubtedly minimize a
juror's sense of responsibility, thus
creating "a danger of bias in favor of the
death penalty." Adams, 804 F.2d at 1532.

Turning to the second prong of our
inquiry, we conclude that the trial judge's
comments did not correct the false impression
left by the prosecutor. The trial court
specifically denied defense counsel's request
that the jury be properly informed as to its
role. Moreover, the judge himse stated
that the final sentencing decisio:. rested
"solely with the judge of this court." The ~-
trial judge expressly put the court's
imprimatur on the prosecutor's previous
misleading statements by saying to the jurors
that “[als you have been told, the final
decision as to what punishment shall be
imposed is the responsibility of the judge."

The only potentially corrective
statement by the court came when the court
instructed the jurors that they should
proceed with “due regard to the gravity" of
the matter and should "carefully weigh, sift
and consider the evidence, and all of it,
realizing that a human life is at stake, and
bring to bear your best judgment." This
statement, we conclude, did not cure the harm
posed by the court's other actions. The
statement would do little if anything to
change a juror's misapprehension about the
effect of the jury's decision; it only
instructs the jurors that they should
approach their task with care and
deliberation. At best, it likely left some
jurors confused as to their proper role. We
therefore conclude that the court's actions,

36

as considered by a reasonable juror who had

been exposed to the prosecutor's misleading

comments, did not correct the false

impression created by those comments. Cf.

, 472 U.s. at 340 n. 7, 105 S.Ct. at

2645 n. 7 (prosecutor's later statements did

not retract or undermine the misimpression

created by the earlier statements). Because

the overall effect of the court's actions was

to diminish the jury's sense of

responsibility with regard to its sentencing

role, petitioner's sentence is invalid under

the eighth amendment.
Mann, 844 F.2d at 1456-58 (emphasis in original) (footnotes
omitted).

As is more than plain, the Eleventh Circuit applied the

appropriate eighth amendment analysis to Mr. Mann's claim -- the
analysis established by this Court in Caldwell]. The State

Petitioner has failed to show why the Eleventh Circuit was wrong.
CONCLUSION

The en banc Eleventh Circuit's strict holding and ultimate
determination in Mr. Mann's case is neither in conflict with this
Court's precedents, nor with other federal courts of appeal, nor
even with the Florida Supreme Court. The Eleventh Circuit's
opinion in Mr. Mann's case procedurally and substantively is in
conformity with this Court's well-settled precedents. The two
cases now before this Court upon which the Petitioner relies,
Dugger v. Adams; Harris v. Reed, are inapposite to Mr. Mann's and
will not affect the Eleventh Circuit's ultimate disposition of
this action. The Eleventh Circuit's sound en bane opinion should
not be disturbed and the petition for writ of certiorari should

be denied.

37

WHEREFORE, Respondent, LARRY EUGENE MANN, respectfully prays
that the Court deny Petitioner's Application for a Writ of

Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

LARRY HELM SPALDING :
Capital Collateral Representative

*BILLY H. NOLAS
Staff Attorney

OFFICE OF THE CAPITAL COLLATERAL
REPRESENTATIVE

1533 South Monroe street

Tallahassee, Florida 32301

(904) 487-4376

By: Bin WL

_ | Attorney

*Counsel of Record

38

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1904%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
