# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Missouri v. Continental Insurance Cos.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1807%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 821

## Text

Supreme Court, US
87-1953 | Freep
MAY ?7 1988

No. } JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.
—-._ aie

In the Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

CONTINENTAL INSURANCE COMPANIES,
Plaintiff-Respondent,

VS.
NORTHEASTERN PHARMACEUTICAL AND

CHEMICAL COMPANY, INC., et al.,
Defendants,

and

STATE OF MISSOURI,
Intervenor-Petitioner.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
EIGHTH CIRCUIT

WILLIAM A. WEBSTER
Attorney General
MiIcHAFL L. BoIcourt*
Chiet Counsel,
Special Litigation Division
SHELLEY A. Woops
Assistant Attorney General
P.O. Box 899
Jefferson City, Missouri 65101
Attorneys for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

E. L. Menpenuatt, Inc., 926 Cherry Street, Kansas City, Mo. 64196, (816) 421-3030

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Whether the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals erred
under Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c) in making its summary
finding, without evidentiary support and without re-
manding to the district court for the development of
facts, that the term “damages” appearing in standard-
form comprehensive general liability insurance pol-
icies has a narrow, technical meaning in the insurance
context that differs from its broader meaning to lay
policyholders, thereby precluding coverage under the
policies for environmental cleanup costs incurred by
state and federal governments?

2. Whether the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals, in a case
based on diversity jurisdiction, erred in failing to follow
the rule of decision in Missouri that insurance policy
terms are construed as they would be understood by
laypersons, and instead, following a conflicting rule of
other forums, thereby holding that the term “damages”
in standard-form comprehensive general liability insur-
ance policies does not include policyholders’ liability for
environmental cleanup costs incurred by state and fed-
eral governments?

THE PARTIES

Petitioner is the state of Missouri. Respondent is
Continental Insurance Companies (‘Continental’), a New
Hampshire corporation. Additional parties include North-
eastern Pharmaceutical & Chemical Co., a Delaware cor-
poration, and Milton Turkel, Edwin B. Michaels, and
John W. Lee, all residents of Connecticut.

II

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

THE PARTI nia ciecccnscocsseectscan caps gteets ere

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .........02...-4.

OPINIONS OF THE DISTRICT COURT AND Cu 'RT
OF APPEREAIS. ..........:60nceeee ee hee

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT ...................

PROVISIONS OF STATUTES AND RULES _IN-
VOLVED IN THIS CABS... ees

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...................... Ree et eer

5.

The Underlying Claims Against NEPACCO

Based Upon Environmental Damage —...........

2. NEPACCO’s Insurance Coverage .
3. Proceedings in the District Court

a. Continental's Declaratory Judgment Action

b. State of Missouri Action to Intervene ......
c. The District Court Decision .................... ms

. Proceedings in the Court of Appeals .............

a. The Panel Decision ....... .... PA OY yR i KS

b. Rehearing En SRR... eee

ARGUMENTS AND AUTHORITIES .. ........................

I.

The Court Of Appeals’ Summary Finding
That “Damages” Has An Unambiguous Nar-
row, Technical Meaning In The Insurance
Industry Is A Factual Determination Which
Cannot Be Made In An Evidentiary Void On
A Motion For Summary Judgment

A. It Was Improper For The Eighth Circuit
To Affirm Summary Judgment On The

Ill

Basis Of An Argument Presented For
The First Time On Appeal For Which
There Is No Support In The Record .... 10

B. Remand To The Trial Court For A Fac-
tual Determination Is Necessary Before
Any Court Can Conclude That The Term
“Damages” Has A Narrow, Technical
“Plain Meaning” In The Insurance Con-
text That Differs From Its Broader, Am-
biguous Meaning To Lay Policyholders 13

C. Insurers Regularly Have Described Envi-
ronmental Cleanup Costs And CERCLA
Cost Recovery Claims As “Damages,”
Precluding A Finding That In The In-
surance Context The Term Has A “Plain
Meaning” That Excludes Those Costs 15

II. The Eighth Circuit Misapplied the Erie Doc-
trine By Ignoring Missouri Rules Of Insur-
ance Policy Construction Under Which Policy
Terms Are Interpreted As They Would Be
Understood By A Layperson And _ Instead,
Interpreting The Term “Damages” According
To A Technical Meaning Applied By Laws
OR ns |

III. The Issues Presented In This Case Are Mate-
rial And Of Substantial Importance To The
State Of Missouri As A Claimant Seeking
To Recover Environmental Cleanup Costs
From NEPACCO And Others, And To The
Federal And State Governments Who Have
Similar Claims Pending 6. tsi.

om Oto. SAA onan Ae 24

IV

APPENDIX. ......---2:0-cscc00scs0-c000-n.-...0..-......... Separate Cover

Opinion, United States Court of Appeals, Eighth
Circuit (Filed February 26, 1988) —............... Al
Opinion, United States Court of Appeals, Eighth
Circuit (Filed January 22, 1987) ....................A81
Order, United States District Court, Western
District of Missouri, Southern Division (Filed
June 25, 1985) ..... RecctahdedertakPasdieacanbsanictoten skapeine A63
Order, United States District Court, Western
District of Missouri, Southern Division (Filed
I TI ED arcneiites checingsxnatnnneansasaaseneeshasaiocbinastenrenaane A83
Order Denying Rehearing, United States Court of
Appeals, Eighth Circuit (Filed May 4, 1988) ....A84
Complaint for Declaratory Judgment (Filed Feb-
> dR SR} ERI er ier Onne No CoMeOn eum e Nar EDS eee A85
Excerpts From Suggestions in Support of Plain-
tiffs Motion for Summary Judgment (Filed
November 14, 1984) .... Sine oes A196
Agenda and Minutes - cabs: of the Sanne
Liability Governing Committee - October 28,
aa an Ieenae rent ee Jasna iabetbi iokanaloebtadanielsa ee ae
Commercial General! Liability Coverage Form ...A120
Excerpts From Reporters’ Transcript of Proceed-
ings March 7, 1988 _..... aickcleteie tate penton
Excerpts From Reporters’ Transcript of Proceed-
ings March 8, 1988 . iis cali ahiee tame males A124

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases
Aetna Chsualty & Surety Company v. Haas, 422
S.W.2q 316 (Mo. 1968) piebade sansiiieschpolipsne eae anenaat 16

American\ Home Products Corp. v. Liberty Mu- |
tual Ins. Co., 565 F. Supp. 1485 (S.D.N.Y. 1983),
aff'd as modified, 748 F.2d 760 (2d Cir. 1984) 16-17

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, 477 U.S. 242, 106

DAA. Bee CHD see eee 12
Bellamy v. Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co., 651 S.W.
26 400 CE estiitietnea ee a 20

Broadwell Realty Services, Inc. v. Fidelity & Ca-
sualty Co., 218 N.J. Super. 516, 528 A.2d 76

(iG. TOR REY sitet cee 17, 21
Busch & Latta Painting Corp. v. State Highway
Comm'n, 597 S.W.2d 189 (Mo. App. 1980) _.......... 14
Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 106 S.Ct.
Se (ie ee Skee ota 12,13
Continental Insurance Cos. v. NEPACCO, 842
F.2d 977 (8th Cir. en banc 1988) ................ Aiea, l

Continental Insurance Cos. v. NEPACCO, No. 84-
9034-CV-S-4 (W.D. Mo. filed June 25, 1985) ... 5,6
Continental Insurance Companies v. Northeastern
Pharmaceutical & Chemical Co., Inc., 811 F.2d
L300 (Oth Col. 200) ee l
CPS Chemical Co., Inc. v. Continental Ins. Co.,
222 N.J. Super. 175, 536 A.2d 311 (App. Div.
| RRM ODM eee AEE Saetes sb WM RN abate 17
Denis v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 791 F.2d 846 (ilth
Cir. 1986) ee cer aa acre hated dc Pob sin 11

vi

Erie Railroad Co. v. Tompkins, 304 US. 64, 58

S.Ct. 817 11938) ; 19, 25

Federal Deposit Ins. Co. v. Lauterbach, 626 F.2d
1327 «(7th Cir. 1980) a

Frank C. Bailey Enterprises, Inc. v. Cargill, Inc.,
582 F.2d 333 (5th Cir. 1978)

Greer v. Zurich Ins. Co., 441 S.W2d 15 (Mo.
1969) odes seeuhahnbenepentelianabkehaesaanseeaneleanenanennaiaan

Haines v. St. Paul Fire & pent Ins. Co., 428
F. Supp. 435 (D. Md. 1977) .........-.-.-..---.sseee0

Home Ins. Co. v. Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co., 528 F.2d
1388 (2d Cir. 1976) ° +5

Huddleston v. Dwyer, 322 U.S. 232, 64 S.Ct. 1015
(1944)

Jack L. Baker Co., Inc. v. Pasley Mig. & Distrib.
Co., 413 S.W.2d 268 ‘Mo. 1967)

Katter v. Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co., 765 F.2d
730 (8th Cir, 1985) ae. al

Kipin Industries, Inc. v. American Daieniil Ins.
Co., No. C-860658 (Ohio App., Aug. 12, 1987) .

Lacey v. Lumber Mutual Fire Ins. Co. of Boston,
554 F.2d 1204 (1st Cir. 1977)

Maryland Casualty Co. v. Armco, Inc., 822 “F2¢
1348 (4th Cir. ai. cert. denied, _... US.

. 108 S.Ct. 703 11988)

Munoz v. International Alliance of Theatrical
Stage Emp. & Moving Picture Mach. Operators,
563 F.2d 205 (5th Cir. 1977)

New Castle County v. Hartford Accident & In-

demnity Co., 673 F. Supp. 1359 (D. Del. 1987) (17, 2

Order of Ry. Conductors v. Pitney, 326 U.S. 561,
66 S.Ct. 322 (1946)

il

11

20

21

13

19

21

11

17

il

20

VIL

Parker v. Provident Life & Acc. Ins. Co., 582 S.W.

2d 380 (Tenn. 1979) Si apkesbipcesaschielenaneananeinal 4
Robin v. Blue Cross Hospital Services, Inc., 637

S.W.2d 695 (Mo. en banc 1982) 220000... 19, 20
Ross v. Communications Satellite Corp., 759 F.2d

Be Cle Se MINI aocibaneasidissatetsciaceentartaenadionns ll
Singleton v. Wulff, 428 U.S. 106, 96 S.Ct. 2868,

Sy Rees CU. OOD hits cieenbcccdecneccceteaienoetadcanicuts 12
Stafford v. Travelers Ins. Co., 530 S.W.2d 23

(Mo. App. 1975) as pace ueaeatecenhanas 20
Transportation-Commun. mie U. v. Union Pac.

R. Co., 385 U.S. 157, 87 S.Ct. 369 (1966) ....... 13
Truck Ins. Exchange v. Marks Rentals, Inc., 288

Md. 428, 418 A.2d 1187 (Md. App. 1980) _. 20
U.S. Aviex Co. v. Travelers Ins. Co., 125 Mich.

App. 579, 336 N.W.2d 838 (1983) 000000000... 21

United States v. Northeastern Pharmaceutical &
Chemical Co., 579 F. Supp. 823 (W.D. Mo.
1984). aff'd in part, rev'd in part and remanded,

810 F.2d 726 (8th Cir. 1986), cert. den.,
US. . , 108 S.Ct. 146 (1987) moe SS

West v. AT&T, 311 US. 223, 61 S.Ct. 179 (1940) i9

Wheeling Stamping Co. v. Birdsboro Steel
Foundry & Machine Co., 245 F.2d 752 (3d Cir.

1957) eae . 20
Zipkin v. Freeman, 436 S.W.2d 753 (Mo. en banc
1968 ) aciiebaia evince 21

ee

VII!

Statutes and Rules

Comprehensive Environmental Response, Com-
pensation and Liability Act, 42 U.S.C. § 9601
et seq. and the following sections thereof: 104
(c)(3)(C) (42 USC. § 9604(c)(3)(C)), 107
(a) (42 U.S.C. § 9607(a)), and 111 (42 USC.

§ 9611) eceestaeeaenine sasselly Oy 6
Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56 5, 14,15
Section 260.480.1 R.S.Mo. (1986) 22
Section 260.440 R.S.Mo. (1986) 23
28 U.S.C. § 1332 +

Other Authorities
Abandoned and Uncontrolled Hazardous Waste

Disposal Sites in Missouri, Fiscal Year 1987

Annual Report (Missouri Department of Nat-

ural Resources 1988) 23
J. Appleman & J. Appleman, Insurance Law and

Practice, § 7388 (1986) anes by 34
Chesler, Rodburg & Smith, Patterns of Judicial

Interpretation of Insurance Coverage for Haz-

ardous Waste Site Liability, 18 Rutgers L.J. 9

(1986) . rh eke he Steere 17
52 Fed. Reg. 27,620 et seq. (July 21, 1987) 24
Restatement (Second) Contracts § 219, comment

a and § 220, comment a 13

10A Wright, Miller & Kane, Federal Practice and
Procedure, $ 2730.1

OPINIONS OF THE DISTRICT COURT AND
COURT OF APPEALS

The district court’s opinion in Continental Insurance
Cos. v. Northeastern Pharmaceutical & Chemical Co., Inc.,
No. 5034-CV-S-4 (W.D. Mo.), was filed June 25, 1985
(Appendix at A63-82). That opinion is not officially re-
ported.

The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals panel decision
issued Jan. 22, 1987 is reported at 811 F.2d 1180 (8th Cir.
1987). Petitions for rehearing en banc were granted,
and the order granting rehearing is reported at 815 F.2d
51 (8th Cir. 1987). The Eighth Circuit’s en banc decision
dated February 26, 1988 is reported at 842 F.2d 977 (8th
Cir. 1988).

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

This petition for writ of certiorari seeks review of the
opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Eighth Circuit in Continental Insurance Cos. v. North-
eastern Pharmaceutical & Chem. Co., Inc., et al., 842 F.2d
977 (8th Cir. en banc 1988). The Eighth Circuit denied
petitioner’s petition for rehearing on May 4, 1988. Peti-
tioner state of Missouri seeks a writ of certiorari pursuant
to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

PROVISIONS OF STATUTES AND RULES
INVOLVED IN THIS CASE

This case involves a dispute concerning insurance
coverage for liability asserted by the state of Missouri
against a comprehensive general liability imsurance
policyholder pursuant to section 107(a) of the Compre-
hensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Lia-
bility Act (“CERCLA”), 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a). This case
also involves the application of Rule 56(c) of the Federal
Rules of Civil Procedure. Pursuant to Supreme Court
Rule 21(f), the text of CERCLA section 107(a) and Rule
56(c) are set out below.

COMPREHENSIVE ENVIRONMENTAL RESPONSE,
COMPENSATION AND LIABILITY ACT

Sec. 107. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision
or rule of law, and subject only to the defenses set forth
in subsection (b) of this section—

(1) the owner and operator of a vessel or a
facility,

(2) any person who at the time of disposal of
any hazardous substance owned or operated any
facility at which such hazardous substances were
disposed of,

(3) any person who by contract, agreement, or
otherwise arranged for disposal or treatment, or ar-
ranged with a transporter for transport for disposal
or treatment, of hazardous substances owned or pos-
sessed by such person, by any other party or entity,
at any facility or incineration vessel owned or oper-
ated by another party or entity and containing such
hazardous substances, and

ee

XI

(4) any person who accepts or accepted any
hazardous substances for transport to disposal or
treatment facilities, incineration vessels or sites se-
lected by such person, from which there is a release,
or a threatened release which cause the incurrence
of response costs, of hazardous substance, shall be
liable for—

(A) all costs of removal or remedial action
incurred by the United States Government or
a State or an Indian tribe not inconsistent with
the national contingency plan;

(B) any other necessary costs of response
incurred by any other person consistent with the
national contingency plan;

(C) damages for injury to, destruction of,
or loss of natural resources, including the rea-
sonable costs of assessing such injury, destruc-
tion, or loss resulting from such a release: and

(D) the costs of any health assessment or
health effects study carried out under section
104(i).

42 U.S.C. § 9607(a).

XII

FEDERAL RULE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE 56

(c) Motion and Proceedings Thereon. The motion
(for summary judgment] shall be served at least 10 days
before the time fixed for the hearing. The adverse party
prior to the day of hearing may serve opposing affidavits.
The judgment sought shail be rendered forthwith if the
pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and
admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any,
show that there is no genuine issue as to any material
fact and that the moving party is entitled to a judgment
as a matter of law. A summary judgment, interlocutory
in character, may be rendered on the issue of liability
alone although there is a genuine issue as to the amount
of damages.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE’

This case arises out of standard-form comprehensive
general liability (“(CGL’’) insurance policies issued from
1970 to 1972 to Northeastern Pharmaceutical & Chemical
Co. (“NEPACCO”) and involves NEPACCO’s insurance
coverage for costs incurred by the United States and the
state of Missouri to clean up environmental contamination
pursuant to the Comprehensive Environmental Response,
Compensation and Liability Act (“CERCLA”), 42 U.S.C.
3 9601, et seg., and other provisions of statutory and com-
mon law.

At issue in this appeal is the manner in which the
Eighth Circuit, in reviewing an entry of summary judg-
ment, interpreted a critical, disputed standard-form in-
surance policy term: “damages.” In affirming summary
judgment on grounds other than those relied upon by the
trial court the Eighth Circuit held that to a lay policy-
holder the term “damages” is ambiguous and broad enough
to cover CERCLA environmental cleanup costs, but con-
cluded that “damages” has a narrower, technical “plain
meaning” in the insurance context that excludes such
costs. Continental Insurance Cos. v. Northeastern Phar-
maceutical & Chemical Co., 842 F.2d 977, 985-86 (8th
Cir., en banc 1988). Appendix at A18-19.

In the trial court Continental conceded that govern-
mental claims for reimbursement of CERCLA hazardous
waste site cleanup costs were “damages.” See note 10,
infra. The Eighth Circuit’s finding that “damages’’ has
a “plain meaning” in the insurance context that differs
from its meaning to the layperson was not presented
to the trial court and has no factual support in the record.

—

1. Extensive discussions of the factual and procedural history
of this case are found in the en banc order, Continental Insur-
ance Cos. v. NEPACCO, 842 F.2d 977 (8th Cir. en banc 1988)
(Appendix at Al-30) and in the panel decision, Continental In-
surance Cos. v. Northeastern Pharmaceutical & Chemical Co.,
Inc., 811 F.2d 1180 (8th Cir. 1987). Appendix at A31-62.

9

~

Moreover, in this action based upon diversity jurisdic-
tion in which the law of Missouri is conceded by all to
apply. the Eighth Circuit interpreted the disputed policy
term by relying upon the law of other jurisdictions while
failing to apply Missouri’s rule of insurance policy con-
struction requiring that an insurance policy term be in-
terpreted as it would be understood by the lay policy-
holder.

1. The Underlying Claims Against NEPACCO
Based Upon Environmental Damage.

From 1970 to 1972 NEPACCO produced hexachloro-
phene at a chemical plant in Verona, Missouri. The pro-
cess produced a variety of wastes, including dioxin. In
July 1971 NEPACCO arranged to dispose of at least 85
55-gallon drums of these wastes in a trench on a farm near
Verona, Missouri, which has come to be known as the
‘Denney Farm site.”

Later in 1971 or 1972 NEPACCO hired Independent
Petrochemical Corporation (“IPC”) which, in turn, hired
Russell Bliss to dispose of more dioxin-contaminated
wastes. In 1971, 1972, and 1973, these wastes were spread
on the Bubbling Springs Stables in Fenton, Missouri and
on the roads of Times Beach, Missouri. In 1974 a Mr.
Minker purchased contaminated dirt from the Bubbling
Springs Ranch and used it as landfill on his property,
which came to be known as the ‘‘Minker/Stout/Romaine
Creek site.”

In 1980 the United States Environmental Protection
Agency (“EPA”) investigated the Denney Farm site and
found dioxin from the NEPACCO wastes. It cleaned up
the site and then sought to recover its costs through a
lawsuit against NEPACCO and others. United States v.
Northeastern Pharmaceutical & Chemical Co., 579 F. Supp.
823 (W.D. Mo. 1984), aff'd in part, rev'd in part and re-
manded, 810 F.2d 726 (8th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, ........

3

MEA occas 108 S.Ct. 146 (1987). This lawsuit is referred
to in the decisions below as the “EPA suit.” Asa result of
that lawsuit, NEPACCO and the other defendants have
been held jointly and severally liable for cleanup costs
of more than $150,000.”

2. NEPACCO’s Insurance Coverage.

From 1970 to 1972 NEPACCO was insured under
three standard-form comprehensive general liability
(“CGL”) insurance policies issued by Continental Insur-
ance Company. Each policy requires Continental to:

Pay on behalf of the insured all sums which the in-

sured shall become legally obligated to pay as damages

because of . . . property damage to which this in-

surance applies caused by an occurrence... .

(Emphasis added.) Although several policy clauses have
been the subject of contention in this action, this clause is
the only one at issue in this petition.®

2. CERCLA establishes a trust fund—typically referred to
simply as the “Superfund’’—administered by EPA to pay for a
variety of activities to identify, investigate and clean up where
necessary sites at which hazardous substances are posing a health
or environmental threat. CERCLA § 111, 42 U.S.C. § 9611.
Often these sites are old, abandoned hazardous waste disposal
sites.

When EPA incurs costs to clean up a hazardous waste dis-
posal site it may sue pursuant to CERCLA § 107(a) (1-4) (A),
42 U.S.C. § 9607(a) (1-4) (A), any of several classes of poten-
tially responsible parties to reimburse it for its cleanup costs,
sometimes referred to as “response costs.” See, e.g., U.S. v.
NEPACCO, 810 F.2d 726, 731.

States, including the state of Missouri, also frequently under-
take their own hazardous waste site cleanup activities. States
also may sue potentially responsible parties pursuant to CERCLA
§ 107(a) (1-4) (A) to recover their cleanup expenses.

Such state and federal governmenis’ cost recovery claims
pursuant to CERCLA § 107 and pursuant to other statutes or
common law seeking reimbursement for their costs incurred in
cleaning up hazardous waste site contamination are at the heart
of this insurance coverage dispute.

3. The Eighth Circuit expressly stated that because of its
ruling on the meaning of the word “damages” in this clause,
it did not need to reach the other numerous issues raised on ap-
peal. Appendix at Al3-14.

4

3. Proceedings in the District Court.

a. Continental’s Declaratory Judgment Ac-
tion.

In February 1984 Continental filed in the United
States District Court for the Western District of Missouri
this action against NEPACCO and its former officers and
directors. Continental Insurance Cos. v. NEPACCO, No.
84-5034-CV-S-4 (W.D. Mo. filed Feb. 9, 1984). Continental
sought a declaratory judgment that it had no duty to de-
fend or to indemnify NEPACCO or its former officers for
liability arising out of NEPACCO’s waste disposal, includ-
ing the judgment in the EPA suit.

The district court’s jurisdiction was invoked by diver-
sity of citizenship, with an amount in controversy exceed-
ing $10,000, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1332.4. Throughout the
district and appellate court proceedings, all parties have
agreed that Missouri law applies.

NEPACCO and the other defendants failed to enter an
appearance or file an answer.® Rather than seeking a
default judgment against NEPACCO and the other defen-
dants, in November 1984 Continental moved for summary
judgment pursuant to Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of
Civil Procedure.

b. State of Missouri Action to Intervene.

In December 1984 the state of Missouri moved to in-
tervene in the present case to protect its interest as a

4. The plaintiff, Continental, was a New Hampshire cor-
poration with its principal place of business in New York. De-
fendant NEPACCO had been a Delaware corporation with its
principal place of business in Connecticut (U.S. v. NEPACCO,
810 F.2d at 729). Defendants Turkel, Michaels, and Lee,
NEPACCO’s former officers, were residents of Connecticut.

5. By 1984 NEPACCO essentially had been defunct for ten
vears. See United States v. Northeastern Pharmaceutical & Chem-
ical Co., 579 F. Supp. 823, 827 (W.D. Mo. 1984).

B)
potential judgment creditor of NEPACCO.’ The district
ccurt granted the state’s motion.

The state filed suggestions opposing Continental’s mo-
tion for summary judgment. Among other grounds, the
state asserted that disputed issues of material fact, includ-
ing the parties’ intent in entering the contracts for insur-
ance coverage, precluded summary judgment under Rule
56(c).‘ At the time the district court entered summary
judgment, discovery was pending.*

In the district court proceedings Continental did not
raise the contention—later adopted by the Eighth Circuit
in its en banc decision—that the term “damages” in the
standard-form policies issued to NEPACCO excluded gov-
ernmental claims for reimbursement of environmental
cleanup costs asserted against NEPACCO pursuant to
CERCLA. Although its complaint in this action contains
23 pages of detailed allegations stating why Continental
believed it should not be required to provide coverage, and

6. The state of Missouri has filed three actions against
NEPACCO and others as a result of costs incurred in cleaning up
dioxin contamination in Times Beach, the Minker/Stout/Romaine
Creek site, and the Bliss farm site (at which Mr. Bliss also al-
legediy sprayed dioxin-contaminated oil). Missouri v. Syntex
U.S.A., Inc. et al., No. 85-2856-C-6 (E.D. Mo. filed Nov. 27,
1985); Missouri v. Independent Petrochemical Corp., et al., No.
83-3670 (E.D. Mo. filed Nov. 23, 1983) (referred to as the “IPC
Suit” in the district court and court of appeals opinions) ; Missouri
v. Bliss, et al., No. 84-1447-C(4) (E.D. Mo. filed June 20, 1984).

As of November 1986 the state of Missouri already had
spent nearly $3 million to clean up the dioxin contamination at
these sites, and cleanup is ongoing. The state’s projected share of
the cost to clean up the four primary dioxin-contaminated sites
in Missouri (Times Beach, the Minker/Stout/Romaine Creek site,
Quail Run, and Castlewood) is $20 million.

7. Defendant-Intervenor State of Missouri’s Suggestions in
Opposition to Plaintiff's Motion for Summary Judgment, at pp.
6-7, served March 8, 1985.

8. Continental Insurance Cos. v. NEPACCO, No. 84-5034-
CV-S-4 (W.D. Mo. filed June 25, 1985). Appendix at A66-67.

6

cites no fewer than 9 policy terms and provisions, no-
where does the complaint assert that costs at issue are not
“damages.” Indeed, Continental conceded that the en-
vironmental cleanup cost recovery claims asserted against
NEPACCO and its former officers in the EPA suit con-
stituted claims for “damages.’”®

c. The District Court Decision.

In June 1985 the district court granted summary
judgment in favor of Continental.'' Among its rulings,
the court held that the environmental cleanup costs sought
by the United States and the state were not “property dam-
age” as that term is defined in the CGL policies. Appen-
dix at A75. Moreover, the court held that “no
damages were incurred by the governmental entities
during the time of the policies’ effective dates” because
the policies were in effect only from 1970 to 1972, where-
as the cleanup costs were incurred many years later,
in 1980 and 1982, after the policies had expired. Appendix
at A68, 74-76.%

9. Continental’s complaint is supplied in the Appendix at
A85-105.

10. See Suggestions in Support of Plaintiff's Motion for
Summary Judgment in Continental Insurance Cos. v. NEPACCO,
No. 84-5034-CV-S-4 (W.D. Mo. filed Nov. 14, 1984). Con-
tinental said, “CERCLA authorizes the government to seek
as damages the reimbursement of hazardous waste clean-
up costs .’ (emphasis added) at 38; and, “All damages
claimed [in the EPA suit] are in the nature of ‘clean-up’ costs”
(emphasis added) at 42. See also id. at 19-20, 29, 32, 38 and
52 (characterizing CERCLA cost recovery actions as seeking
“damages”). Excerpts are supplied in Appendix at A106-14;
see particularly, pp. Al08-09, 111, 113.

11. Continental Insurance Cos. v. NEPACCO, No. 84-5034-
CV-S-4 (W.D. Mo. June 25, 1985). Appendix at A63-83.

12. Notably, the district court concluded, without discus-
sion, that the state and federal government CERCLA cost re-
covery claims sought “damages” against NEPACCO. Appendix
at A71-72, 74 (referring to such claims as “damages’’) and
A75-76 (referring to such claims as claims for “loss or dam-
age’).

7
4. Proceedings in the Court of Appeals.
a. The Panel Decision.

The state of Missouri appealed the district court’s
order. The argument that environmental cleanup costs
under CERCLA do not constitute “damages” under the
standard-form CGL policy was raised for the first time
—by amicus curiue American Insurance Association
(“AIA”)—before the Eighth Circuit panel.

The majority rejected the district court’s rationale
for holding that insurance coverage did not apply to the
EPA suit. The majority rejected the view that the fed-
eral and state governments did not suffer any loss or
damage until cleanup costs actually were incurred. Ap-
pendix at A42-44. The panel also rejected the argument
advanced by AIA that cleanup costs under CERCLA
were not “damages.” Appendix at A44-49.

The court discussed the events that trigger coverage
under standard-form CGL policies (Appendix at A77-81),
but that discussion is not the subject of this petition.

b. Rehearing En Banc.

The Eighth Circuit granted motions for rehearing
en banc and in a 5-to-3 decision reversed the panel opin-
ion. In doing so the court stated, “The dispositive issue
is whether the term ‘damages’ in the standard-form CGL
policy includes cleanup costs.” Appendix at A13.

The court held that the term “damages” is ambig-
uous to laypersons and would be interpreted by the pol-
icyholder to include governmental claims for reimburse-
ment of hazardous waste site cleanup costs. Neverthe-
less, the court found—-without any basis in the factual
record before the court—that in the insurance context
the term “damages” is not ambiguous and has a nar-
rower, technical meaning that precludes coverage for such

8

costs. The court noted that claims for these costs are
considered “equitable” claims for monetary relief, and
stated that CGL policies do not provide coverage for
equitable relief. Appendix at A17-18.

The court did not cite any Missouri cases for these
propositions, but cited cases applying the law of Maryland,
Florida and New Hampshire. Appendix at A18-20.

The state of Missouri now brings this petition seeking
review of the Eighth Circuit’s en banc order.

ARGUMENT AND AUTHORITIES

I. The Court of Appeals’ Summary Finding That
‘‘Damages’’ Has An Unambiguous Narrow, Tech-
nical Meaning In The Insurance Industry Is A
Factual Determination Which Cannot Be Made
In An Evidentiary Void On A Motion For Sum-
mary Judgment.

The Eighth Circuit's result is premised upon its con-
clusion on page 16 of its February 26, 1988 order:

|T}he plain meaning of the term “damages” as used
in the insurance context refers to legal damages and
does not include equitable monetary relief.

Appendix at 18. Although stated in a conclusory fashion,
this determination is based upon the implicit factual find-
ing'* that the term “damages” has a meaning in the in-

13. While the court attempted to frame its finding as a mat-
ter of law, it was a factual finding First, the court stated
that the term “damages” excludes claims for equitable reliei
as a matter of “[bJlack letter insurance law.” Appendix at
Al8. As the dissent notes, however, the conflict in the courts
renders this characterization inappropriate. Appendix at 26.

Moreover, while courts may impart a particular meaning
to a contract term, this does not create a presumption that
such a meaning was intended unless courts repeatedly have
interpreted certain words as having a particular meaning and

(Continued on following page)

]

surance context that differs from its meaning elsewhere.
In the preceding paragraph of its opinion the court held
that

outside the insurance context, the term “damages” is
ambiguous .. . [F]rom the viewpoint of the lay in-
sured, the term “damages” could reasonably include
all monetary claims, whether such claims are de-
scribed as damages, expenses, costs or losses.

Appendix at Al7-18. Thus, the court drew a clear dis-
tinction between the manner in which laypersons inter-
pret the term “damages” and what the court perceived
to be a narrower interpretation of that term in the
“insurance context.” The only basis asserted for creating
this distinction is the fact that governmental claims under
CERCLA for reimbursement of hazardous waste site clean-
up costs have been held to be “equitable,” rather than
“‘legal,’’ monetary claims for restitution. Appendix at Al7-
18."*

Footnote continued—

drafters continue to use such words with knowledge of the
courts’ interpretation. See, e.g., Parker wv. Provident Life &
Acc. Ins. Co., 582 S.W.2d 380, 383 (Tenn. 1979).

In addition, as discussed in Subpart 1B., infra, the court
implicitly found a custom and usage in the insurance industry.
This is a factual determination requiring factual support.

Finally, the authorities on which the court relied do not
adequately support its conclusion that “damages” has a specialized
meaning in the insurance context. This determination, in the
first instance, must be based on factual evidence. None of the
courts cited by the majority conducted any factual inquiry re-
garding the manner in which insurers interpret the term “dam-
ages." Absent such an inquiry and a well-supported factual
finding, the issue cannot be disposed of as a matter of law.

14. Courts which have discussed the “equitable” nature
of environmental cost recovery claims under CERCLA have
done so in the context of ruling that defendants in actions brought
pursuant to CERCLA do not have a right to a trial by jury
guaranteed by the Seventh Amendment to the United States
Constitution. See U.S. v. NEPACCO, 810 F.2d at 749 and cases
cited therein.

10

The argument that the term “damages” does not in-
clude governments’ CERCLA cost recovery claims was not
presented to the trial court, however, and there is not a
single fact in the record to support the conclusion that the
term “damages” in the insurance industry is interpreted
any differently than it is understood by lay policyholders.
It was improper for the Eighth Circuit to affirm summary
judgment on the basis of an argument which was not
presented to the trial court and which is not supported by
the record. Moreover, it was improper for the court of
appeals, on summary judgment pursuant to Rule 56 and
without the benefit of any evidence, to make the factual
determination that the term “damages” has a “plain mean-
ing” in the insurance industry that differs from its meaning
elsewhere. Indeed, a substantial body of evidence makes
clear that both the insurance industry and Continental con-
sistently use the term “damages” to include environmental
cleanup and CERCLA response costs. Because of the
procedural posture of this case, the state never had an
opportunity to develop or present that evidence. Its
existence makes clear, however, that judgment in Con-
tinental’s favor was inappropriate because there remained
at least one disputed issue of raaterial fact.

A. It Was Improper For The Eighth Circuit To
Affirm Summary Judgment On The Basis Of
An Argument Presented For The First Time
On Appeal For Which There Is No Support In
The Record.

The Eighth Circuit rejected the rationale of the dis-
trict court, but elected to affirm summary judgment be-
cause of the appellate court’s narrow interpretation of the
term “damages” in the insurance context. The issue
whether “damages” includes governmental claims for re-

imbursement of environmental cleanup cecsts first was
raised by amicus AIA on appeal. The issue was not

ll

raised by a party until Continental filed its supplemental
brief for rehearing en banc. Appendix at Al5. Undoubt-
edly based upon Continental's concessions on the matter,
the district court assumed without discussion that those
claims were “damages.’** Needless to say, no evidence
was presented to the district court to support AIA’s asser-
tion. It was, therefore, inappropriate for the Eighth Cir-
cuit to affirm summary judgment on this ground.

A court reviewing an entry of summary judgment is
“merely authorized to review the propriety of the grant
on the basis of matters of record at the time the summary
judgment was entered.” Munoz v. International Alliance
of Theatrical Stage Emp. & Moving Picture Mach. Opera-
tors, 5963 F.2d 205, 209 (Sth Cir. 1977) (emphasis supplied).
Evidence and factual assertions not presented to the trial
court will not be considered on appellate review. Id. at
209; Denis v. Liberty Mutual Ins. Co., 791 F.2d 846, 849
(llth Cir. 1986). “Failure to raise an issue, objection or
theory of relief in .. . the trial court generally is fatal.”
Denis, 791 F.2d at 849."*

A reviewing court may affirm summary judgment on
grounds which differ from those of the trial court. Ross
v. Communications Satellite Corp., 759 F.2d 355, 363 (4th
Cir. 1985). At least one court has held that the ground
for affirmance need not have been addressed by the trial
court, but it must be supported by the record. Katter v.
Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co., 765 F.2d 730, 734-35 (8th Cir.
1985). In the present case, the court affirmed summary
judgment on grounds for which there is no record and

15. See discussions at notes 10 and 12, supra.

16. See also, Federal Deposit Ins. Co. v. Lauterbach, 626
F.2d 1327, 1331 n.8 (7th Cir. 1980) (objections); Frank C. Bailey
Enterprises, Inc. v. Cargill, Inc., 582 F.2d 333, 334 (5th Cir.
1978) (allegations); Lacey v. Lumber Mutual Fire Ins. Co. of
Boston, 554 F.2d 1204, 1205 (ist Cir. 1977) (arguments).

ee

a a

12

—

which were conceded away in the trial court. See Appen-
dix A108-09, 111, 113.

The Eleventh Circuit has held that “the appellate
court has the discretion to resolve a question for the first
time on appeal, especially if the issue is legal in nature
and failure to consider it would result in a miscarriage
of justice.” Denis, 791 F.2d at 849. This Court also
has recognized the appellate court’s discretion to consider
questions not presented to the trial court but only when
“the proper resolution is beyond any doubt [citation
omitted| or where ‘injustice might otherwise result.’”’
Singleton v. Wulff, 428 U.S. 106, 121, 96 S.Ct. 2868, 2877
(1976).

As discussed in note 13, supra, this case involves a
factual question, not a legal issue. Moreover, the state
has not had the opportunity to contest, in an appropriate
forum, the factual conclusion that the term ‘“damages’’
has a specialized meaning in the insurance industry. The
state is prepared to contest this finding, however, as dis-
cussed, infra, Subpart I.C. Thus, the existence of a “plain
meaning” of the term “damages” in the insurance context

not “beyond any doubt,” as required by this Court’s rul-
ng in Singleton. Finally, as in Singleton, “injustice [is]
more likely to be caused than avoided by deciding the issue
petitioner's having had an opportunity to be
heard 428 U.S. at 121, 96 S.Ct. at 2877. Because evi-
fer oe which directly controverts the Eighth Cir-
iit # finding (Appendix at Al106-27), this case must be
ernanded to the trial court to avoid manifest injustice.

This Court recently has reaffirmed the non-movant’s
responsibility to come forward with sufficient evidence
to require the fact finder to resolve the issue at trial.

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, 447 U.S. 242, ......, 106 S.Ct.
2505, 2510 (1986). See also, Celotex Corp. v. Catrett,
677 U.S. S17, ......:, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2553 (1986). The non-

rr el

13

moving party, however, is entitled to adequate time for
discovery. Celotex, 106 S.Ct. at 2552-53. When a non-
movant is presented with an issue for the first time on
appeal, the non-movant is denied not only adequate time
for discovery, but also access to a proper forum in which
to present evidence of a factual dispute. The state is
prepared to present sufficient evidence to demonstrate
the existence of a factual dispute regarding the meaning
of ‘damages’ in the insurance industry. Remand to the
trial court is necessary to provide this opportunity.

B. Remand To The Trial Court For A Factual
Determination Is Necessary Before Any Court
Can Conclude That The Term ‘‘Damages”’
Has A Narrow, Technical ‘‘Plain Meaning’’
In The Insurance Context That Differs From
Its Broader, Ambiguous Meaning To Lay
Policyholders.

The Eighth Circuit’s ruling amounts to a decision
that in the insurance industry there is a special custom
and usage of interpreting the term “damages’’ differently
than in other contexts.'"' The existence of custom and
usage in a particular context, however, is a factual in-
quiry. Transportation-Commun. Emp. U. v. Union Pac.
R. Co., 385 U.S. 157, 163, 87 S.Ct. 369, 373 (1966) (quoting
Order of Ry. Conductors v, Pitney, 326 U.S. 561, 566-67,
66 S.Ct. 322, 325 (1946)) (interpreting collective bar-
gaining agreements). This includes the insurance con-
text. Home Ins. Co. v. Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co., 528 F.2d
1388 (2d Cir. 1976) (understanding and custom of the
insurance industry regarding the meaning of “batch

17. See, Restatement (Second) Contracts § 219, comment
a and § 220, comment a (“usage” is a habitual or customary
practice of interpretation that may prevail in a special trade
or other group; usage gives particular meaning to an agree-
ment). See also, J. Appleman & J. Appleman, Insurance Law
and Practice, § 7388 at 187 (1976) (discussing practices in the
insurance industry as usage of trade).

14

clauses” are issues of material fact precluding summary
judgment).’* Putting aside the question whether it was
appropriate for the court of appeals to apply an inter-
pretation peculiar to the insurance industry after finding
that to a layperson the term would include the cleanup
costs at issue,’ the existence and effect of a custom
and usage in the insurance context requires factual sup-
port.*°

The Eighth Circuit fails to cite a single fact sup-
porting its decision to treat the term “damages” in the
insurance context differently than in other contexts. This
failure is not surprising because no factual record was
developed on this point in the trial court. None was ap-
propriate. Continental did not raise any issue in the
trial court about the meaning of “damages” and conceded
numerous times that the claims in question were “dam-
ages,”

Under Rule 56(c), summary judgment may be en-
tered only if the facts and evidence before the trial
court demonstrate that there is no “genuine issue as to
any material fact.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c). In the ab-
sence of essential factual support it was inappropriate
for the Eighth Circuit to affirm summary judgment based
on the assumption that the term “damages” has a nar-
row, technical meaning in the insurance context.

18. See J. Appleman, supra, § 7388 (“Where no evidence
as to custom is shown or where no custom is found to exist
the rights of the parties will be determined strictly from the
contract.”” Id. at 184-85. “[W]ords used in insurance “con-
tracts are to be understood according to their ordinary scope
and meaning unless a more restricted use is established by gen-
eral mercantile usage, or expressly brought to the notice of both
‘parties.””” Id. at 185).

19. See discussion in Part II., infra.

20. Under Missouri law, parol evidence is appropriate to
determine the technical meanings of contract terms that are
peculiar to certain occupations. Busch & Latta Painting Corp.
v. State Highway Comm’n, 597 S.W.2d 189, 202-03 (Mo. App.
1980).

21. See note 10, supra.

ee

15

Indeed, summary judgment frequently is denied in
insurance coverage cases because of issues of fact about
whether the underlying claim is within the scope of the
insurance policy. Determining coverage frequently in-
volves “questions requiring the construction of the policy
in light of the parties’ understanding and customs of
the insurance industry.” 10A Wright, Miller & Kane,
Federal Practice and Procedure, § 2730.1 at 293. “When
evidence of the custom and usage of the trade is required
in order to interpret an agreement, the Rule 56 motion
will be denied.” Id. at 284.

The Eighth Circuit circumvented these long-standing
principles by affirming summary judgment on the basis
of a factual finding for which it had no factual support.
The state is prepared to contest the court’s finding, how-
ever, as discussed in Subpart I.C. The existence of this
disputed factual issue renders summary judgment im-
proper under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56(c).
The cause should be remanded to the trial court for a
factual hearing to determine whether, indeed, there ex-
ists in the insurance industry a custom and usage or
technical meaning of the term “damages.”

C. Insurers Regularly Have Described Environ-
mental Cleanup Costs And CERCLA Cost Re-
covery Claims As “‘Damages,’’ Precluding A
Finding That In The Insurance Context The
Term Has A ‘‘Plain Meaning’’ That Excludes
Those Costs.

Available evidence* demonstrates that the insurance
industry as a whole and Continental in particularghave

22. This Court, of course, is not the appropriate forum in
which to present mew evidence to resolve this factual dispute.
This discussion of evidence is presented to demonstrate the types
of facts, documents and testimony that are available to determine.
upon remand to the district court, whether the insurance in-
dustry has attached a narrow, technical meaning to the term
“damages.”

16

interpreted the term “damages” to include equitable
monetary relief such as environmental cleanup costs. Thus,
the term does not have a specialized, narrow “plain mean-
ing’’ in the insurance context that differs from its broader
meaning to laypersons.

Continental itself in the trial court explicitly referred
to the underlying claims as claims for “damages.”** Con-
tinental did not even raise the question whether govern-
mental claims under CERCLA for reimbursement of haz-
ardous waste site cleanup costs constituted “damages”
until rehearing before the Eighth Circuit. Certainly Con-
tinental has not attached a “plain meaning” to the term
“damages” that precludes its application to such claims.**

The insurance industry as a whole also has not ap-
plied the narrow, technical “plain meaning” of the term
“damages” attributed to it by the Eighth Circuit that
would preclude the term from providing coverage for
environmental cleanup costs.*® The minutes of an Octo-
ber 28, 1969 meeting of the Insurance Rating Board
General Liability Governing Committee*® describe a dis-

23. See note 10, supra.

24. Under Missouri law, such a practical construction by the
insurer of the meaning of a policy term is given great weight in
interpreting the policy and is binding upon the insurer. Aetna
Casualty & Surety Company v. Haas, 422 S.W.2d 316, 320 (Mo.
1968).

25. The court stated, “The dispositive issue is whether the
term ‘damages’ in the standard-form CGL policy includes cleanup
costs.”” Appendix at Al3.

26. The Insurance Rating Board was the successor to the
National Bureau of Casualty Underwriters and the predecessor
to the current Insurance Services Office. These organzations for
decades have developed standard-form CGL policies that are
used throughout the property and casualty insurance industry.
For a discussion of the drafting history of standard-form CGL
insurance policies, see American Home Products Corp. v. Liberty

(Continued on following page)

17

cussion of pollution exclusion clauses then being pro-
posed for inclusion in the insurance industry’s standard-
form CGL policies. Expressing concern about the effect
on the insurance industry of several then-recent off-shore
oil spills, the minutes state, “Damages, including the cost
to clean up, may be catastrophic.” Appendix at A115.
(Emphasis added.) Clearly, in 1969 the insurance in-
dustry understood that environmental cleanup costs were
“damages.””**

This understanding continues today. The 1984 In-
surance Services Office Commercial General Liability
Occurrence Form includes a specific exclusion for envi-
ronmental cleanup costs (Appendix at A120) which would
not be necessary if the industry had a clear understanding
that the “plain meaning” of the term “damages” does
not include environmental cleanup costs.”

In addition, Richard E. Stewart, who formerly was
a Senior Vice-President and Director and Chief Financial
Officer of the Chubb Group of Insurance Companies

Footnote continued—

Mutual Ins. Co., 565 F. Supp. 1485, 1500-03 (S.D.N.Y. 1983),
aff'd as modified, 748 F.2d 760 (2d Cir. 1984), and Chesler,
Rodburg, and Smith, Patterns of Judicial Interpretation of In-
surance Coverage for Hazardous Waste Site Liability, 18 Rutgers
L.J. 9, 14-16 (1986).

Expressions by the policy drafters of the terms’ intent have
been accepted as evidence of policy meaning in numerous cases.
American Home Products, supra; Broadwell Realty Services,
Inc. v. Fidelity & Casualty Co., 528 A.2d 76 (N.J. Super. Ct.
App. Div. 1987); New Castle County v. Hartford Accident &
Indemnity Co., 673 F. Supp. 1359 (D. Del. 1987); Kipin Indus-
tries, Inc. v. American Universal Ins. Co., No. C-860658 (Ohio
Ct. App., Ist Dist. Aug. 12, 1987) (Available in Westlaw and
Lexis databases).

27. This is but one of thousands of pages of documents
containing expressions of the insurance industry’s understanding
of the meaning of its standard policy forms.

28. Cf. CPS Chemical Co., Inc. v. Continental Ins. Co., 222
N.J. Super. 175, 536 A.2d 311 (App. Div. 1988).

18

and a former Superintendent of Insurance for the state
of New York, on March 7 and 8, 1988 testified that the
term “damages” in standard-form CGL insurance _pol-
icies includes environmental cleanup and CERCLA re-
sponse costs and that such expenses are covered under
the policies. Appendix at A121-27.

This evidence, along with other evidence that is avail-
able and can be developed through discovery, makes
clear that, like the lay policyholders described by the
Kighth Circuit, both Continental and the insurance in-
dustry use the term “damages” to “include all monetary
claims, whether those claims are described as damages,
expenses, costs or losses.” Appendix at A1l7-18. Like the
policyholders’ understanding, the insurance industry’s
meaning of “damages” certainly is broad enough to en-
compass equitable monetary claims under CERCLA to
reimburse governmental hazardous waste site cleanup
costs.

This evidence provides significant support for the
state's interpretation of the term “damages” in Continen-
tal’s policies. It need not be conclusive: it demonstrates
that facts supporting the state’s interpretation exist. At
the very least, the evidence raises an issue of mate
rial fact, making improper summary judgment under
Rule 56(c).

It would be unfair in the face of this available evi-
dence to deny the state the opportunity to develop such
evidence and present it to a fact finder. The unfairness
particularly is acute here because the state had no indi-
cation in the district court that Continental would assert
this basis as a limitation on its coverage to NEPACCO.
Accordingly, this case should be remanded to the trial
court for a factual determination.

19

Il. The Eighth Circuit Misapplied the Erie Doctrine
By Ignoring Missouri Rules Of Insurance Policy
Construction Under Which Policy Terms Are
Interpreted As They Would Be Understood By
A Layperson And Instead, Interpreting The Term
‘Damages’ According To A Technical Mean-
ing Applied By Laws Of Other Jurisdictions.

As agreed by all parties and the Eighth Circuit, and
under the choice of law doctrine set out in Erie Railroad
Co. v. Tompkins, 304 U.S. 64, 58 S.Ct. 817 (1938), the
Eighth Circuit was bound to apply the substantive law
of Missouri to determine whether the term “damages”
includes environmental cleanup costs. Missouri prin-
ciples of insurance policy construction lead inarguably
to the conclusion that such claims come within the
term “damages.” The Eighth Circuit, however, did not
follow Missouri law. Instead, it followed conflicting law
of other jurisdictions. This violated the Eighth Circuit’s
duty under Erie and imposed the law of a foreign juris-
diction upon the state of Missouri.

In a diversity action, a federal appellate court must
ascertain and apply state substantive law whenever it
is controlling. Huddleston v. Dwyer, 322 U.S. 232, 64
S.Ct. 1015 (1944). The Eighth Circuit should have applied
Missouri law even if it believed the law was wrong or
contrary to the great weight of authority elsewhere. West
v. AT&T, 311 U.S. 223, 235-36, 61 S.Ct. 179, 182-83 (1940).

In Missouri, the rules of insurance policy construc-
tion are clear. Policy terms are interpreted as they
would be understood by a lay policyholder, not as they
might be interpreted by persons well-versed in the in-
surance industry. Robin v. Blue Cross Hospital Services,

20

Inc., 637 S.W.2d 695, 698 (Mo. en banc 1982); Greer v.
Zurich Ins. Co., 441 S.W.2d 15, 27 (Mo. 1969) (layman’s
definition will be applied over a technical definition) ;
Stafford v. Travelers Ins. Co., 530 S.W.2d 23, 25 (Mo.
App. 1975) (same principle). Moreover, ambiguous pol-
icy terms are construed against the insurer, Robin, supra,
and “fa|n insurance contract reasonably susceptible of
any interpretation favorable to the insured will be so
construed.” Bellamy wv. Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co., 651
S.W.2d 490, 495 (Mo. 1983) (emphasis added).

The Eighth Circuit correctly noted that the term
“damages” is ambiguous to laypersons outside the insur-
ance industry and broad enough to include governmental
claims for reimbursement of CERCLA hazardous waste site
cleanup costs. Appendix at Al7-18. Based upon Mis-
souri’s rules of insurance policy construction, this should
have ended the inquiry. The court should have ignored
the narrow, technical definition. Wheeling Stamping Co.
v. Birdsboro Steel Foundry & Machine Co., 245 F.2d 752
(3d Cir. 1957) (state rules of construction are to be used
by federal court when state law applies).

In choosing to adopt the narrow, technical definition of
“damages,” the Eighth Circuit did not cite a single Mis-
souri case. Primarily, the court relied upon Maryland
Casualty Co. v. Armco Inc., 822 F.2d 1348 (4th Cir. 1987),
cert. denied, ........ US. ........, 108 S.Ct. 703 (1988), decided
under Maryland law. Maryland does not apply the rule,
applicable in Missouri and elsewhere, that insurance policy
terms are construed most strongly against the insurer.”
Moreover, the Fourth Circuit in Armco noted that “Mary-

29. Compare Robin, 637 S.W.2d at 698, with Truck Ins. Ex-
change v. Marks Rentals, Inc., 288 Md. 428, 418 A.2d 1187, 1191
(1980).

i

2i

land law ... has . . . adopted the somewhat narrow,
technical definition of damages.” Id. at 1352 (citing
Haines v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 428 F. Supp. 435
(D. Md. 1977)). The Eighth Circuit also cited cases ap-
plying the laws of Florida and New Hampshire. Reliance
on these cases is an abandonment of controlling Missouri
law in favor of law established in other jurisdictions.

Regardless of how other jurisdictions have ruled,*” the
Missouri Supreme Court would include cleanup costs with-
in the term “damages.” Indeed, the Missouri Supreme
Court has held that restoration costs incurred to put prop-
erty in its former condition, which are analogous to costs
incurred to clean up environmental contamination, are
recoverable as damages. Jack L. Baker Co., Inc. v. Pasley
Mfg. & Distrib. Co., 413 S.W.2d 268 (Mo. 1967). See also,
Zipkin v. Freeman, 436 S.W.2d 753, 761 (Mo. en banc
1968) (“The word ‘damages’ is not limited to any par-
ticular kind of damage or injury ...”’). Given these
principles, and given Missouri’s rule of construing insur-
ance policies as they would be understood by the lay
policyholder, there is no basis upon which to conclude
that the Missouri Supreme Court would rule that govern-
mental claims for reimbursement of hazardous waste site

30. As the dissent correctly notes, there is a split in au-
thority among those jurisdictions that have considered whether
the CGL policy term ‘damages’ includes governmental claims
for reimbursement of hazardous waste site cleanup costs. Ap-
pendix at A25-26. The majority also recognizes this split, citing
cases contrary to its decision here. Appendix at Al18-19 (citing
New Castle County v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co., 673
F. Supp. 1359 (D. Del. 1987); U.S. Aviex Co. v. Travelers Ins.
Co., 125 Mich. App. 579, 336 N.W.2d 838, 843 (1983); Broadwell
Realty Services Inc. v. Fidelity & Casualty Co., 218 N.J. Super.
516, 528 A.2d 76, 82-83 (App. Div. 1987)). Thus, the issue of
whether monetary claims for equitable relief can be claims for
“damages” under liability insurance contracts is by no means
a settled point of “black letter law’’ as characterized by the ma-
jority. Appendix at Al8g.

99

cleanup costs are not “damages” under standard-form
CGL policies merely because such claims have been char-
acterized as “equitable.”’

Clearly, the Eighth Circuit's abandonment of Missouri
law was improper and constituted reversible error. There-
fore, this Court should grant this petition, reverse and re-
mand for an appropriate application of Missouri law.

Ill. The Issues Presented In This Case Are Material
And Of Substantial Importance To The State Of
Missouri As A Claimant Seeking To Recover
Environmental Cleanup Costs From NEPACCO
And Others, And To The Federal And State
Governments Who Have Similar Claims Pending.

The state of Missouri has established a hazardous
waste remedial fund administered by the Missouri Depart-
ment of Natural Resources. Section 260.480.1 R.S.Mo.
(1986). Missouri uses this fund to pay for the costs of
conducting hazardous waste site cleanup activities when
no responsible party will undertake the cleanup. In ad-
dition, this fund pays for Missouri’s share of the cost
of cleanups financed by the federal Superfund.’ When
Missouri is compelled to spend money from its hazardous
waste remedial fund, it seeks to replenish its fund by
recovering those costs from responsible parties pursuant
to state and federal law, including CERCLA.

The circumstances surrounding NEPACCO provide
a good example. To recover its costs in responding to
contamination caused by NEPACCO’s wastes at Times
Beach, Missouri, the Minker/Stout/Romaine Creek site,

31. Under CERCLA, states must pay at least 10 percent of
the cost of many environmental cleanup activities conducted
within their borders and paid for by the Superfund. CERCLA §
104(c)(3)(C), 42 U.S.C. § 9604(c)(3)(C).

23

and the Russell Bliss farm site, the state of Missouri
has pursued claims against NEPACCO and others in three
lawsuits. See note 6, supra. NEPACCO is defunct,” and
the only known sources from which NEPACCO’s liability
to Missouri can be paid and the state’s fund replenished
are NEPACCO’s insurance policies.

As of January 1, 1988, 51 hazardous waste disposal
sites throughout the state of Missouri had been classified
as abandoned or uncontrolled hazardous waste disposal
sites pursuant to Missouri law.“ Like NEPACCO, the
liable parties at many of these sites are defunct and
their standard-form CGL insurance policies containing
the same provisions as NEPACCO’s are the only source
from which Missouri can recover even a portion of its
cleanup costs. Under the Eighth Circuit’s interpretation
of the term “damages” in the standard-form CGL insur-
ance policy, those potential sources of reimbursement
suddenly have evaporated.

The adverse effect of the Eighth Circuit’s decision
is not limited to the state of Missouri, or even to states
within the Eighth Circuit's jurisdiction. The Eighth Cir-
cuit’s factual finding that in the insurance context the
term “damages” has a narrow, technical meaning that
does not include governmental claims under CERCLA
for reimbursement of hazardous waste site cleanup costs
already is being cited by insurance companies through-
out the nation seeking to avoid providing coverage under .
the standard-form policies they issued to companies liable

32. See discussion at note 5, supra, and Appendix at A&8.

33. Section 260.440 R.S.Mo. (1986). See Confirmed Aban-
doned and Uncontrolled Hazardous Waste Disposal Sites in Mis-
souri, Fiscal Year 1987 Annual Report (Missouri Department of
Natural Resources 1988).

24

for such costs.** It is improper and unfair to allow to
stand the factual finding—undeveloped in the trial court
and unsupported by any record before the district court
or the Eighth Circuit—that in the insurance context there
is a narrow, technical “plain meaning” of the term “dam-
ages” that differs substantially from the term's broader,
ambiguous meaning to the public at-large.

CONCLUSION

There can be no doubt that the Eighth Circuit in
this action committed error. First, it leaped to an un-
supported—and unsupportable—factual conclusion that in
the insurance context the term “damages” has a nar-
row, technical meaning that does not include environ-
mental cleanup costs. Even if the Eighth Circuit had
been inclined to believe that “damages” should have a
specialized meaning in the insurance context, it is not
the role of the appellate court to hold that such a meaning
exists until presented with a trial court finding and with
testimony, documents and other evidence developed in
the trial court to support such a factual finding. The
Eighth Circuit should have remanded to the district court
for development of evidence to determine whether, in-
deed, there exists a narrow, specialized meaning of the

ee —

34. See, eg.. “Appellate Court Denies Cover for Cleanup
Costs,’ Business Insurance, March 7, 1988, pp. 1, 100 (statement of
Barry Ostrager). The potentially widespread effect of this decision
is demonstrated by noting that the U.S. Environmental Protection
Agency has listed or proposed for listing more than 1,000 haz-
ardous waste disposal) sites in al) fifty states on its National
Priorities List. a list of sites potentially eligible for cleanup with
money from the Superfund, 52 Fed. Reg. 27,620. et seq. (July
21, 1987). For a discussion of the pervasive nature of asserted
and potential claims based on hazardous waste site liability costs,
and the role of insurance coverage in helping to shoulder the
burdens of that liability, see Chesler, at note 21, supra.

25

term that differs from its broader, ambiguous meaning
to laypersons. Permitting appellate courts to affirm a
drastic remedy such as summary judgment on the basis
of a factual issue never presented to the trial court and
a factual finding unsupported by the record denies the
non-moving party the opportunity to respond to the fac-
tual issue in the proper forum. Such action circumvents
the basic principles of appellate review and renders
summary judgment a tool to unfairly and permanently
foreclose the opportunity to a full and fair hearing.

Second, the Eighth Circuit failed to follow the re-
quirements of the Erie doctrine. It did not apply the
Missouri rule of insurance policy construction under
which an insurance policy must be interpreted as a lay-
person would understand it. The Eighth Circuit con-
ceded that to a layperson the term “damages” is ambig-
vous and would include environmental cleanup costs.
Under the Missouri rule of insurance policy construction,
that finding should have ended the inquiry. Instead,
the court reached out to find and apply the laws of other
forums which rely on different rules of interpretation.
In so doing, the Eighth Circuit ignored the fundamental
principles set forth by this Court in Erie.

The cost of these errors is high. The rule established
by the Eighth Circuit denies the state of Missouri any
opportunity to replenish its hazardous waste remedial
fund for costs it has incurred for which NEPACCO is
responsible. Moreover, it adversely affects the ability
of Missouri, other state governments and the federal
government to secure reimbursement from proceeds of
CGL insurance policies with identical terms issued to
companies throughout the country.

26

WHEREFORE, the state of Missouri prays this Court
grant the state’s petition for certtoran to review the
Eighth Circuit’s judgment.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM A. WEBSTER
Attorney General
MICHAEL L. Botcourt*
Chief Counsel,
Special Litigation Division
SHELLEY A. Woops
Assistant Attorney General
P.O. Box 899
Jefferson City. Missouri 65101

Attorneys for Petitioner

“Counsel of Record

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1807%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
