# Opposition Brief — Vacanti v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1803%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 488 U.S. 821

## Text

Supreme Court, US, na

(2) FILED

AUG 16 188
No. 87-1949

JOSEPH F. rs IR.
In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

NATHAN VACANTI, PETITIONER
v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General
EDWARD S.G. DENNIS, JR.
Acting Assistant Attorney General
PATTY MERKAMP STEMLER
Attorney

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. .20530
(202) 633-2217

ih see

ergy

idles ke es
Fe
a

S

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether, by sending petitioner a _ newsletter
containing advertisements pertaining to sexually explicit
materials, the government engaged in outrageous conduct
that violated petitioner’s right to due process.

2. Whether petitioner was entrapped as a matter of
law.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

eae ds span pu da eee eda vee nes
En ARES Se RO ee ee
EGS ER RSS DDR PR a RA ley ene
a seen ls Gh oc cd xe 4 aU ORM OR ORS OD wee 9 82
eee ose NS eae a ae 46a 6 Sam hen 8

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Mathews v. United States, No. 86-6109 (Feb. 24,
ES 9! 9 22 MS RP year ee
New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747 (1982) ..............
Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557 (1969) ................
United States v. Orito, 413 U.S. 139 (1973) .............
United States v. Reidel, 402 U.S. 351 (1971) ............
United States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423 (1973) ...........
United States v. Thirty-Seven Photographs, 402 U.S.
ee aa aiden Ww ws 4-b vow on 4s
United States v. Thoma, 726 F.2d 1191 (7th Cir.), cert.
ome, SEr U.S. TARO (IGOR) «os ccc ccc ccs ceccee
United States v. 12 200-Ft. Reels of Super 8mm. Film,
es oud wake kek ee iine seas’

Statutes:

EE as 05 oad dhe sce cbacendsees naw hee
EE EE oh Sanaa seach dae sannsieben taaes

(Lil)

DVAANnNWN DW

Jn the Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1988

No. 87-1949
NATHAN VACANTI, PETITIONER
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES IN OPPOSITION

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 12-16) is
unreported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
February 18, 1988. The petition for a writ of certiorari was
filed on April 18, 1988. The jurisdiction of this Court is in-
voked under 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT

Following a jury trial in the United States District Court
for the Eastern District of Washington, petitioner was
convicted on two counts of transporting material depicting
a minor engaged in sexually explicit conduct, in violation

(1)

2

of 18 U.S.C. 2252(a)(1). He was sentenced to five years’
imprisonment, all but 30 days of which was suspended in
favor of probation. The court of appeals affirmed.

1. In 1983 or early 1984, the Postal Inspection Service
was informed by the Danish government that petitioner
had ordered films involving child pornography from a
Danish organization, “Les Young Club” (1 Tr. 14-17; GXs
1-3). In 1985, the Postal Service published a newsletter en-
titled “Love Land,” which contained advertisements aimed
at individuals interested in child pornography. In light of
petitioner’s correspondence with “Les Young Club,” the
Service sent a copy of “Love Land” to petitioner along
with an application blank. In July 1985, petitioner re-
sponded to “Love Land’s” invitation to become a member
by sending in a four dollar membership fee. That fee en-
titled him to the quarterly “Love Land” newsletter, and it
gave him a membership number that he could use in his
correspondence with the individuals or companies that
advertised in the newsletter. Petitioner voluntarily sent an
additional four dollars to “Love Land,” which he ex-
plained was “for the good job you are doing.” | Tr. 20-28;
GXs 4-6.

In January 1986, the postal service accepted petitioner’s
application and sent him a number. In May 1986, peti-
tioner responded to five advertisements in “Love Land,”
using his assigned number. Two of the advertisements had
been written by postal inspectors; one of those two adver-
tisements sought films of “young girls 7-16 fully, partially
clothed, nude, revealing action.” 1 Tr. 29; GX 5. Peti-
tioner’s responses to the two advertisements were virtually
identical. They stated (GX 7-8):

Hi there,

Saw your ad, and have some of the items you will be
interested in. Most of my magazines, and films are on

*- =.¢

3

V.H.S. I have a process that I discovered and all my
pictures, magazines etc.—I’ve transferred to video.
The idea of having a small picture and looking at it on
a big TV screen is great, also being able to zoom in on
special parts of the picture. Black & white or color,
they all look great. I will not sell any copies, as I am
not in that business. But, I will share them with you as
long as you share your collection with me. Also I can
put your pictures and films and magazines on video
for you. All you have to do is supply the video tape. A
lot of guys have done that, and we all get the best of
all the collections. If you are interested let me know,

Looking to hear from you.
Number 000207.

Postal inspectors drafted fictitious replies to two of peti-
tioner’s letters (GXs 9-10). The purported author of one of
the replies expressed an interest in sharing pornographic
materials with petitioner. And both authors provided peti-
tioner with a blank VHS tape on which he could copy
samples of his pornography collection. On June 27, 1986,
the postal service received two packages from petitioner.
The packages contained identical videotapes depicting
child pornography (GXs 11-12). Accompanying the tapes
were letters explaining the “time-consuming” process that
petitioner had used to make the tapes. Petitioner in-
structed the persons with whom he was corresponding to
use U.P.S. to send the pornographic materials. Petitioner
explained that he does “not trust the mails,” and that he
used a private carrier for deliveries and a mailing service to
collect his mail.* Petitioner enclosed his name and address
and advised the other party to “disregard” the address on
the envelope “for obvious reasons.” /bid.

* Petitioner lived in California but used a mailing service in Seattle,
Washington. 2 Tr. 93-94.

4

2. At the close of the government’s case, petitioner
moved for a judgment of acquittal on the grounds that he
was entrapped as a matter of law and that the govern-
ment’s involvement in the commission of the crime con-
stituted outrageous government misconduct. The district
court denied the motion. 2 Tr. 84-85, 87.

Petitioner then testified in his own behalf. He stated
that he had begun his pornography collection in 1973, and
he acknowledged that he had ordered child pornography
from Denmark in 1982. He explained that he had sent
“Love Land” four dollars more than the required member-
ship fee because “Love Land” was the “first club that I
have ever seen that would be so intent on sending out
regularly these brochures.” 2 Tr. 96-98, 103. He admitted
that he had answered five advertisements in “Love Land.”
He claimed that the newsletters from “Love Land”
rekindled his interest in putting his pornography collection
back together after he had lost interest in the collection for
almost two years. 2 Tr. 104, 108-109. The jury convicted
petitioner on both counts.

3. The court of appeals affirmed in an unpublished
opinion (Pet. App. 12-16). The court rejected petitioner’s
argument that the government engaged in outrageous con-
duct by sending him the “Love Land” newsletters. The
court stated that the government’s involvement did not
shock its “sense of justice,” and it noted that the newsletter
itself did not involve any criminal activity prohibited by 18
U.S.C. 2252. Moreover, the court held that the inspector’s
conduct in drafting ads and writing letters requesting or
offering child pornography was a legitimate means of in-
filtrating the ranks of child pornographers. Finally, the
court concluded that although the postal inspector invited
petitioner to mail the objectionable material, “he did not
coerce [petitioner] to do so.” Pet. App. 14.

5

The court further held that petitioner was not entrapped
as a matter of law. Petitioner’s order of child pornography
from a Danish distributor indicated his predisposition to
receive child pornography through the mail. Pet. App. 15.
Also, petitioner’s use of a false return address and his in-
sistence that further dealings with other traders in child
pornography be conducted through a private carrier rather
than through the mails indicated that the government did
no more than provide petitioner with an opportunity to
commit a crime that he was already fully predisposed to
commit. Ibid.

ARGUMENT

1. Petitioner first contends (Pet. 6-7) that by sending
him issues of “Love Land,” the government interfered
with his right to collect child pornography in the privacy
of his home, a right, he maintains, that is recognized in
this Court’s decision in Stanley v. Georgia, 394 U.S. 557
(1969). Petitioner argues that in so doing the government
was involved in his crime to an “outrageous degree.” There
is no merit to this claim.

In Stanley, this Court held that the mere possession of
obscene material in the privacy of one’s home cannot con-
stitutionally be made a crime (394 U.S. at 568). Whether
or not Stanley applies to child pornography (see New York
v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747 (1982) (recognizing that the pre-
vention of sexual exploitation and abuse of children war-
rants treating child pornography differently than obscene,
adult-oriented material)), it is well settled that Stanley
does not give one the right to import, distribute, sell, or
transport such material. See United States v. 12 200-Ft.
Reels of Super 8mm. Film, 413 U.S. 123, 125-129 (1973);
United States v. Orito, 413 U.S. 139, 141-144 (1973);
United States v. Reidel, 402 U.S. 351, 355-356 (1971); see

6

United States v. Thirty-Seven Photographs, 402 U.S. 363,
376 (1971) (plurality opinion). Moreoyer, there is nothing
“shocking” or “outrageous” about sending a newsletter
like “Love Land” to an individual who is known to have
ordered child pornography through the mail. Petitioner
had already evidenced his willingness to engage in ac-
tivities that are not protected by Stanley. The government
did not offend petitioner’s right to due process simply by
conducting an undercover investigation of his activities.
United States v. Russell, 411 U.S. 423, 430-432 (1973);
United States v. Thoma, 726 F.2d 1191, 1198-1199 (7th
Cir.), cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1228 (1984).

2. Petitioner’s claim that he was entrapped as a matter
of law is frivolous. The record is replete with evidence of
petitioner’s predisposition to commit the charged offenses.
See Mathews v. United States, No. 86-6109 (Feb. 24,
1988), slip op. 4 (lack of predisposition is an essential ele-
ment of an entrapment defense). Petitioner had previously
used the mails to order child pornography from Denmark.
He had been collecting child pornography for more than a
decade. Moreover, contrary to petitioner’s claim, there
was evidence that petitioner’s willingness to trade in child
pornography was not simply a response provoked entirely
by the postal inspector’s invitation. In his replies to the
postal inspector’s letters, petitioner explained that he had
devised a modus operandi for avoiding detection — he used
a delivery service rather than the mails, and he used an
out-of-state mailing service to collect his mail. And in his
letters to the postal inspector, petitioner stated (GX 8):

I will share [my collection] with you as long as you
will share your collection with me. Also I can put
your pics and books on video for you. All you have to
do is supply the video tape. A Jot of the guys have
done that and we all get the best of all the collections.

7

On the basis of this evidence, the jury was clearly entitled
to conclude that petitioner was predisposed to commit the
offense of distributing materials depicting children en-
gaged in sexually explicit conduct.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General

EDWARD S.G. DENNIS, JR.
Acting Assistant Attorney General

PATTY MERKAMP STEMLER
Attorney

AUGUST 1988

vr U.S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1988— 202-037/60603

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1803%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
