# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Reshard v. Burnley

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1772%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 487 U.S. 1237

## Text

87%~1978

NO. |

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM, 1987

Connie Reshard,
Petitioner,

V.

Jim Burnely, Secretary

U.S. Department of Transportation,
Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Connie Reshard, Esq.
700 Seventh Street,SW
No. 725

Washington, D.C.
20024

202-488-3832

Petitioner Pro Se

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Is the availability of interim injunc-
tive relief or declaratory judgment during
the pendency of litigation absolutely barred
under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act
of 1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C. 2000e, et
seq., against racial harassment, discrimination
and retaliation with loss of tangible job
benefits, e.g., suspensions without pay,
discharge, verbal abuse, where the employer
knows and sanctions such acts by a supervisor.
ii. Is it reversible error that the
District Court made clearly erroneous findings
of material facts regarding the nature of
derogatory statements with racial overtones,
racial harassment, and retaliation, which
clearly are not supported by the record.

rit, The Court of Appeals clearly
erred by granting summary affirmance to

the Respondent.

TABLE OF
QUESTIONS PRESENTED

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES iii
OPINIONS BELOW 1
JURISDICTION D
STATUTES INVOLVED 3
STATEMENT OF THE CASE 3
REASONS FOR ALLOWING THE WRIT 21
CONCLUSION 41
APPENDIX eae

CONTENTS

Order of U.S. Court of Appeals Granting

Summary Affirmance.

App. 1-4

Order of U.S. Court of Appeals Denying
Petitioner's Motion for Stay. App. 5-6

U.S. District Court Order Denying Petition-
er's Motions for Stay, Temporary Restrain-
ing Order, Preliminary Injunction and
Declaratory Relief App. 7-15

U.S. District Court Order Denying Petition-
er's Motion for Temporary Restraining

Order App. 16-18

Excerpts from 42 U.S.C. 2000-e (2), (3),

(5), (16) App. 19-23

Section 1613.203 of 29 C.F.R. Ch.XIV (1987)

App. 24-25

DOT Procedures for Processing Complaints of
Discrimination in Employment Practices,

APP. 25

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES:

Albermarle Paper Co. v. Mooody,
4Z U.S. 405, 95 S.Ct. 2562,
45 L.Ed.2s 280 (1975)

Brown v. G.S.A.,
425 U.S. 820 (1976)

DeMedina v. Reinhart,

686 F.2d 997, 222 U.S.App.D.C.
371 (D.C.Cir 1982)

Denton v. Secretary of the Air Force,
483 F.2d 21 (9th Cir 19/73), cert.
denied, 414 U.S. 1146, 94 S.Ct.

900, 39 L.Ed.2d 102 (1974)

EEOC v. Anchor Hocking Corp.,
66 F.2d 1037 (6th Cir. 1981)

EEOC v. City of Janesville,
630 Fd 1254 (7th Cir. 1980)

EEOC v. Pacific Press Publishers,
935 F.2d 1182 (9th Cir. 19/6)

Firefighters Institute for Racial
Equality v. City of St. Louis,
329 F.2d S06 (8th Cir. 1977)

Garcia v. Lawn,
805 F.2d 609 (9th Cir. 1986)

Gibson v. U.S. Immigration and
Naturalization Service,
3241 F.Supp 1311 (S.D.N.Y. 1982)

Holt v. Continental Group, Inc.,
708 F.2d 8/ (2d Cir. 1983), cert.

PAGE

24
38

25

30, 32

30

30

23

28

denied, 465 U.S. 1038, 104 S.Ct.

T316, 79 L.Ed.2d 712 (1984)

iii

CASES CONTINUED

Hyland v. Kenner products Co.
10 F.E.P. 36/7 (S.D.OH 1974)

Los Angeles Department of Water and

Power v. Manhart,
38/7 F.Supp 980 (D.C.CA 1975);
435 U.S. 702, 985 S.Ct. 1370,
55 L.Ed.2d 657 (1978)

Meritor Savings Bank, FSB v. Vinson,

106 S.Ct. 2399 (1986)

Metropolitan Area Transit Comm'n v.

Holiday Tours Inc.,
959 F.2d 841 (1971)

Middleton-Keirn v. Stone,
655 F.2d 609 (5th Cir. 1981)

National Assoc. of Greeting Cards
Publishers v. U.S. Postal Service,
662 F.2d /6/ (D.C.Cir. 1976)

Parker v. Baltimore & O.R. Co.,
652 F.2d 1012 (D.C.Cir. 1981)

Payne v. McLemore's Wholesale & Retail,

654 F.2d 1130 (5th Cir. 1981),

rehearing denied, 660 F.2d 497,
cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1000, 102
S.Ct. 1630, 71 L.Ed.2d 866 (1982)

Porter v. Adams,
639 F.2d 273 (5th Cir. 1981)

Rogers v. EEOC,
454 F.2d 234 (5th Cir. 1971)

Texas Department of Community Affairs

v. Burdine,
450 U.S. 248, 101 S.Ct. 1089,
L.Ed.2d 207 (1981)

iv

PAGE

29

24, 28

24

27

31

36

30

23

37

CASES CONTINUED

Walker v. Washington,

——< 697 F.2d 541 (D.C. Cir. 1980)
(per cuiram), cert. denied, 449
U.S. 994 (1980)

Womack v. Munson,
$10 F.2d 1292 (8th Cir. 1980)

STATUTES

Title VII, Civil Rights Act of
1964, 42 U.S.C. 2000e, et seq-

5 U.S.C. 7513(a)

29 C.F.R., Ch XIV, section
1613.203

MISCELLANEOUS

DOT Procedures for Processing
Complaints of Discrimination
in Employment Practices, DOT
T000.8A, paragraph 8(a) (3)
(7-10-76)

H.R. Rep. NO. 238, 92nd Cong. 2d
Sess., 2 reprinted in 1972 U.S.

Code Cong. & Ad. News, 215/

PAGE

33, 34

31

Passim

37
38

38

32

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
October Term, 1987

NO.

CONNIE RESHARD,

Petitioner,

JIM BURNLEY, SECRETARY
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Connie Reshard, petitions

for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States

(1)

Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia
Circuit to review the order filed April

6, 1988, in Reshard v. Burnley, D.C.Cir.

No. 88 - 5035.
OPINIONS BELOW

The order of the District Court filed
January 29, 1988, in C.A. No. 87-2794 (Penn,
J.), denying petitioner's Motion for Stay,
Temporary Restraining Order, Preliminary
Injunction, and Declaratory Relief in favor
of Defendant and Respondent, is unreported
and reproduced in the Appendix filed herein
("APP."), at 7-15.

The Order of the Court of Appeals fiied
April 6, 1988, in No. 88 - 5035 (Robinson,
S., Silberman, L., and Williams, S.), granting
Respondent 's Motion for Summary Affirmance
is unreported and reproduced at App. 1-4.

JURISDICTION

This Court's jurisdiction is invoked

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

The order sought to be reviewed was

entered on April 6, 1988.

STATUTES INVOLVED

Pertinent portions of Title VII of
the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended,
42 U.S.C. 2000e, et seq. (1982) are reproduced
at App. 19-23. Section 7513, 5 U.S.C. is
quoted in the text. [section 1613.203 of
29 C.F.R. Ch.XIV (1987) and paragraph 8(a) (3)
of DOT Procedures for Processing Complaints
of Discrimination in Employment Practices,
DOT Order 1000.8A, (7-10-76) are reproduced
in the App. at 24-25]

STATEMENT OF CASE

Petitioner Connie Reshard ("Reshard"),
a black female, was hired by the U.S. Depart-
ment of Transportation, Office of the Secretary
Office of the Assistant Secretary for Policy
and International Affairs (air transportation),

on September 6, 1977 as an Economist, G.S.

(3)

0110 - 11. Reshard has an advanced degree
in Economics.

In August 1981, after Reshard began
law school in the evening program at Georgetown
University Law Center, her first and second
level supervisor, Edward Oppler, undertook
certain harassment tactics against Reshard
because he believed that law school was
too ambitious an undertaking for a Black
person. He would check-up on uer when she
was on leave, questioned her ability to
do her job, be a single parent and attend
law school.

While on leave with her sick son on
March 15, 1982, Mr. Oppler and, at his in-
struction, a colleague telephoned Reshard
at home to give her one last chance to come
in and attend an impromptu meeting which
was being covered by Edward Robinson. When
Reshard raised the issue with Oppler, he
withdrew a pending promotion to the G.M.
14 on March 16, 1982, Ic had just been

[4]

=

resubmitted to the Office of Personnel after
an administrative delay (11/81 - 3/82) on
or about March 1, 1982. His reasons for
this act was that my job performances had
deteriorated because of law _ school. My
race was the reason.

Another factor played a role. Reshard
had raised concerns about her work assignments
being given to or taken credit for then,
by Rosalind Ellingsworth, a white consultant
with only a high school diploma. (G.S.
14) She was being trained to become a G.M.
- 15 supervisor in our unit.

Regarding the promotion, I complained

to Mr. Oppler's superior and to senior offi-

Cials, but sitll the promotion was delayed
until November 1982. As a result of the
promotion issue, the job situation worsen
and never recovered. A Black person could
not raise such issues. My white peers did,

and they were accommodated with joint foreign
travel along with Ellingsworth; Joint arrange-

[5]

ments for promotion to G.M. - 15 for Edward

Robinson and Ellingsworth. She was made
permanent in May 1984 at G.M. - 15, and
became my official supervisor. Robinson's

promotion soon followed.

Although part of the job function was
the negotiation of transportation treaties,
all my white peers conducted negotiations
in foreign countries, but I was not allowed
to travel. Some choice assignments were
directed from me to others, and myparticipation
was carefully conrolled. Mr. Oppler created
an appearance that this discriminatory treat-
ment was due to my poor job performance,
in one way, by co-authoring nearly all of
my work regardless of the degree of his
contribution. Later, I would learn that
Ellingsworth and Oppler actually told senior

officials that I could not do my job although

there was no legitimate basis for their
Statements. These actions were based on
racial discrimination and harassment. Ellings-

[6]

worth attempted to have me transferred to
another unit in 1984.

Between late 1984 and March 1985, virtu-
ally all of the major countries assigned
to me were given to a white male, G.M. -
L2, Edward Wilbur, despite the fact that
I had done an exceptional job, especially
with Japan. I considered a reassignment
and was forced to seek one because of an
escalation in harassment from my supervisors,
on April 14, 1985.

The reassignment was temporary in order

to determine whether we liked each other.

Immediately, Director Joe Canny told me
I could "camp out"' in the storage room
for an office. I was not wanted because

my former supervisors black listed me.

In June 1985, I applied for a G.M.
- 15 supervisory position under Oppler and
Ellingsworth, but I was not selected and
told that I did not rank high enough to

be referred for consideration. The candidate

(7 J

a

selected had no prior experience in treaty

negotiations and less formal education.
I had just graduated from law school in
May 1985. I had good job evaluations, above
the minimum fully meets requirements, and

I had broad overview of economic regulation
of interstate transportation as well.

In August 1985, Ellingsworth and Oppler
would use the performance based merit system
to effectuate racial discrimination. I
would receive a substantially lower rating
and certain due process violations occurred.
My temporary job was deliberately excluded
in the rating that covered August 1984 -
July 31, 1985. Salary increases are based
on these ratings and promotions or lateral
transfer require a current valid ienceise!
for consideration for a job in the merit
System for managers in G.M. 13 - G.M. -
14. Despite my protestations through oral
and written memoranda to my _ supervisors,

Office of Personnel, and even to Assistant

[8]

Secretary Matthew Scocozza, no relief was
granted and the appraisal was placed in
my personnel folder.

Because I was not wanted in Joe Canny's
office, I sought to return to my permanent
job; I was not allowed to do so. Instead,

I had to interview throughout the Office

cf the Assistant Secretary fo Policy and
International Affairs, just as if I were
a new hire. No unit would take me. As
a result, I was assigned to the immediate

staff of the Assistant Secretary Scocozza
in January 1986, a more prestigious assignment
on the special projects staff. This was
resented by many staff, including Cindy
Burbank who was my peer on the staff and
new supervisor. For example, Canny's office
requested my signature approval before Canny

rather than the reverse which was customary

for the higher level office. I became Bur-
bank's assistant and was given no major
assignment until May 1986, a position on

[9]

Secretary's Dole's task force on the national

air space plan by Scocozza. Deputy Assistant
Secretary for Budget Raymond Karam was the
chair of the group and would not take me.
My professional reputation had been impugned
because of my race.

Burbank wanted me transferred because
she did not consider a Black superior enough
for the position. My job evaluation criteria
and assessment for 1986 (August 1985 - July
31, 1986) would be conducted in secret by
Burbank and Canny, then handed to me when
it was due in the personnel office in September
1986. I refused to sign it and personnel
Chief, Vicki Novak, would extend the review
period to December 31, 1986. During this
period, Patrick Murphy, the new director
and my new supervisor beginning in August
1986 would not’ give me any work to do during
this period. In November, he advised that
I would be transferred to the Transportation
and Trade unit. He too did not want a black

on his staff. Again aT to Scocozza,

Director of Personnel Diana Ziedel and Secretary
Dole. Meanwhile, I had been physically
moved out by Murphy. I complied and continued

the protest. I complied with Bruce Butterworth

who was to be. my new supervisor, when he
requested that I complete new performance
standards on December 8, or forfeit prior

approved leave for the following day to
appear in court, not knowing that he was
withholding a memo for me from. personnel
authorizing my transfer to his division
on December 14 and giving me ninety days
from that time to be evaluated retroactively
for the August 1985 - July 31, 1986 period.
When I continued to object, I was threatened
with discipline and later given a letter
of warning on December 18, 1986, covering
failure to meet and communicate between
December 11 and i2. _I was not yet officially
on his” staff. I renewed contact with an
equal employment counselor on December 18,

1986. I had consulted counselors in 1984

[11]

and 1985.

The employment relationship steadily

deteriorated. It was extremely stressful
and humiliating. I was asked to do legal
analysis and, in return, I asked for a small

stipend to my salary in recognition of the
J.D. and enlargement of my job functions.
I was told that I was compelled to do the
work and I could leave. I was given assignment
by a peer and I was given itemized numeric
calculations as if I were a G.S.- 9. My
name was listed on division rosters at the
bottom after the lowest level employee.
Work submitted for typing was not returned
for review, but issued with errors or my
name would not be reflected as the author.
I sustained verbal abuse from Butterworth.
I was given the same assignment as a peer,
creating my embarassment when I _ contacted
industry persons or other agencies. Butter-
worth gave assignments deliberately with

impossible deadlines so I would have to

[12]

ask for an _ extension. In order to make
out a case of excessive leave use, he delib-
erately falsified my leave use on two occasions
in December 1986 and January 1987. He refused
to change one of them, despite the fact
that he did not report to work on the day
in question, and did not correct it until
June. This account demonstrates the collective
nature of harassment directed to me because
of my race and in retaliation.

Specifically, about the end of January
1987, while attending a staff meeting, Butter-
worth compared my ability to perform an
assignment on competitiveness in trade,
by stating that may be I could do the job
because may be I was as good as Dennis Marvich,
a white economist, G.M. - 13. I was embarassed
and humiliated in front of the _ staff. A
request for an apology in private was ignored.
In protest, I did not attend staff meetings
which were more social events than the actual

conducting of work.

A few days after my exit interview

with the equal employment counselor ended
informal settlement of my complaints, I
received a second letter of warning on March
10, 1987, for failure to attend staff meetings
and to perform legal work. I had actually
completed one legal task and asked to discuss
the inclusion of legal work. The outcome
was take it or leave.

On March 18, 1987, I filed a complaint
with DOT, setting forth these facts contained
here. After the complaint was accepted
in April, I would be threaten with discharge
if I did not accept DOT's proposed resolution
on the job evaluations, by an Office of
Civil Rights staff.

In June 1987, the Office of Personnel
withdrew the retroactive job evaluation
but insisted that I accept a six month review
for 1987. Past efforts to agree by stipulation
between the parties was not accepted by
DOT. On June 16, 1987, I received a letter

of reprimand incorporaf ing the two letters

of warning. The staff meeting issue and

failure to perform an assignment in which
I had actually completed were cited. On
June 25, 1987, I responded to the letter
of reprimand, again explaining the _ staff
meeting incident. I attached a copy of
the discrimination complaint. On or about
July 20, I attempted to discuss the issues
in the reprimand with Director Arnold Levine.
He declined, stating that he had not seen
it. I gave him a copy.

On July 20, 1987, I met with Assistant
Secretary Scocozza to seek permission to
apply for a G.M. - 15 trade policy analyst
position, which had been designed for Florie
Liser, a black recruited by Butterworth
in February 1987. A job evaluation no more
than one year old is a standard requirement
for vacancy in the merit’ system. I have
not had one since 1984. I raised the issues
in the letter of reprimand and the harassing
work environment. Scocozza agreed that

the staff meeting incident constituted miscon-
[15]

rl

duct by Butterworth and promised to correct
the various problems. I was allowed to apply
for the trade position and used the 1984 file.

Only Liser and I applied. I was never
seriously considered even though I am the
more qualified candidate. I was not even
notified of the selection on August 3, 1987,
but inquired on August 17. No explanation
was given despite my superior legal and
economic expertise. I had been discriminated
against in retaliation for filing a complaint.
I amended my complaint on August 17 and
asked Secretary Dole to intervene. She
referred me to the discrimination process
on August 25, 1987. I was emotionally devas-
tated and took about 11 days of sick leave
in early September. I was physically ill and
humiliated. Butterworth asked for a doctor's
slip, that I provided to Levine who told
me I would be sorry I had not cooperated
with their arrangements since December 1986.

When I took sick leave during the last

(16)

ete encanta

week of September, I was placed on restrictive
leave policy even though I[ had not taken
vacation leave, without notice of a change
in the general policy. On September 30,
Levine was supposed to give me notice but
did not because I left the office when the
day ended at 5:35. I had no knowledge of

the new policy when I left with a stress

headache. I was placed on absence without
leave for the next two days. On October
5, I asked Levine to meet with Butterworth

and Scocozza in order to call anend to the
state of affairs. I was suspended on October
6, 1987 for failure to attend staff meetings.
I requested leave for October 7, in order
to prepare a response and was again placed
on absence without leave.

In response to the rapidly deteriorating
situation, I filed this civil action in
United States District Court on October

a>. 1987; racial discrimination, harassment

/

and retaliation under 42 U.S.C. 2000e-16,

et seq. On October 19, 1987, I moved for
interim injunctive relief to enjoin DOT
from continuing Systematic and deliberate
harassment from December 1986 forward.
Immediately on October 21, DOT proposed
to suspend me for 14 days. All of the alleged
infractions had occured by October 7, except
the staff meeting issue. Butterworth claimed
rude and disrespectful behavior toward him
and Levine; failure to accept official corre-
spondence, violation of restrictive leave
policy mentioned above (5 days without pay),
locked myself in the office (told Butterworth
I was not in building, invertently locked
door), among other things. The district
court denied the Temporary Restraining Order

on October 21, Sua sponte.

On October 23, I responded to the proposed
14 day suspension by supplementing submissions

to the Motion for Preliminary Injunction.

I notified Butterworth and Levine. I denied or
explained the allegations. It was not rude
(18)

—————————

or disrespectful to return papers including
the invalid performance appraisal. In fact
the October 19 filing included explanations
for each of the incidents. The stress was
increasingly difficult.

On November 30, the District Court
held a hearing on the Preliminary Injunction
but tcok no action nor did it make any super-
visory comments, despite the fact DOT suspended
me for the 14 days in November.

On December 2, 1987, DOT proposed to
remove me from the competitive service for
not attending staff meetings, claiming insubor-
dination. I filed comments on December
18 through Assistant U.S. Attorney William
Dempster, repeating the staff meeting issue
and included another incident where Butterworth
gave me a complicated assignment, directing
me to get instructions on how to do it from
a peer. I asked Dempster to transmit the
decision and notified Levine of the same.

I never received the notice before it was

[19 ]

to become effective on January 4, 1988 from

Levine, the third level supervisor. [Dr.
Voyce Mack, Deputy Director and second level
supervisor did not sign any of the disciplinary
actions. He is Black. |

I asserted that I had not been removed..
DOT secured my office on January 5, and
confiscated my belongings. I was threaten

with arrest for trespass if I attempted

to enter the facility on January 6. My
long discriminatory treatment and hostile
work environment had been imposed to force
me to leave. When I did not comply, I was
fired.

The District Court still had not acted

on the preliminary injunction even though
adverse actions continued. The emotional
distress worsen. A status hearing on January
11, only resulted in a request for DOT

to explain its allegded removal, even though
it was the same issue that DOT had not denied
or explained. I supplemented my Motion

for Preliminary ss 7") Ne renewed a Temporary
20

Restraining Order, Moved for a stay and
sought declaratory judgment on these issues.
In its January 22, submission, DOT denied
the staff meeting account, stating that
I was asked to confer with Dennis Marvich.
App. at 8-9. A hearing was held that day
and on January 29, 1988, the District Court
denied all Motions. App. 7.

Petitioner filed an appeal on February
Js 1988, and moved for a mandatory stay
of the dismissal on February 8. The Court
of Appeals denied the’ stay on March 7, 1988.
Respondent's motion for summary affirmance
was granted on April 6, 1988, to which the

petition for review by writ of certiorari

is made.

REASONS FOR GRANTING WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Whether interim injunction or declaratory
judgment is available under Title VII has
lead a controversial history. The Circuits

have taken differing views and the issue

[21]

should be settled and explained by this
Court, especially since some courts are

treating Sampson v. Murray as a complete

bar to the grant of preliminary injunction
during the pendency of the litigation on
the merits. 94 S.Ct. 937 (1974), discussion
infra. Petitioner's case presents a hostile
work environment saturated with retaliation.
Here the issues include employee discharge
and other tangible adverse actionas as well
as intangible harassment which were known
and apparently sanctioned by senior officials.
Serious abuse of discretion and appli-
cation of improper principles of law governing
the hostile work environment and retaliation
were made, in part, because the findings
of material fact are not supported by the

record and are clearly erroneous, constituting

reversible error.

I. TITLE VIZ PROTECTS AGAINST EMPLOYER

HARASSMENT AND RETALIATION WHICH CAN

BE ENJOINED ON AN INTERIM AND PERMANENT

BASIS THROUGH APPROPRIATE EQUITABLE RELIEF.

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of
1964 prohibits discrimination against any
individual with respect to his compensation,
terms, conditions, or privileges of employment,
because of such individual's race, color,
religion, sex, or national origin. 42 U.S.C.
2000e-2 (a) (1) (1982). These provisions
were extended to Federal workers under section
2000e-16. Courts have long recognized that
an offensive work environment because of
race can completely destroy the emotional
and psychological stability of the target

employee or group. Roger v. EEOC, 454 F.2d

234 (5th Cir. 1971); Firefighters Institute

for Racial Equality v. City of St. Louis,

949 F.2d 506, 514-515 (8th Cir. 1977).
This Court has recognized the hostile

work environment violates Title VII, noting
[23]

that Congress manifest an intent to include

the noneconomic psychological effects of

1/

unlawful discrimination.— Meritor Savings

Bank, FSB v. Vinson, 106 S+GEs. 2599, 2s

(1986) ; Los Angeles Department of Water

and Power v. Manhart, 435 U.S. 702; 707,

m. - 18, “SO S.Ce. 1370, 3573; 123, 35 Li Be.2e
657 (1978). In Meritor, this Court recognized
that the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
("EEOC") administrative guidelines [on sex

discrimination] fully support the view that

harassment leading to noneconomic injury
can violate Title VII. Meritor cited EEOC
conclusion, "that Title VII affords employees

the right to work in an environment free

from discriminatory intimidation, ridicule,

and insult." Id. at 2405.

Surely a hostile work environment directed

1 For Federal employees, Title VII is the exclusive

remedy and monetary damages for emotional distress are
not permitted. [This strongly suggest that interim relief
should be available to these workers.] See Brown v.
General Services Administration, 425 U.S. 820 at 826
(1976).

[24]

eeeenieenenneeeteeimeatsinn

at Reshard because of her race and in retali-
ation is actionable under Title VII. The
seriousness of continuous violations during
the pendency of litigation before her discharge
should have been enjoined or declared invalid
by the District Court.

A. Congress Intended that

Interim Injunctive Relier Would Be

Available to Employees In Order To
Presesye the Integrity of Title
VII

Under section 2000e-5(g), 42 _U.S.C.,
“12 the Court finds that the respondent
has intentionally engaged in or is intention-
ally engaging in an unlawful practice charged
in the complaint, the court may enjoin

ee such conduct by injunction, appropriate

affirmative action; equitable relief, back

e/

~ The declaratory judgment is not specifically
mentioned but the arguments made are generally applicable.
No showing of irreparable harm is required to grant such
relief on the discharge and other issues. See Denton v.
Secretary of the Air Force, 483 F.2d 21 (9th Cir. 1973),
cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1146, 94 S.Ct. 900, 39 L.Ed.2d
102 (1974).

Nh
ui

a

pay, and reinstatement. This Court has

long recognized the equitable nature of
this remedy and the District Court must
fashion a remedy which will make the employee

whole. Albermarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422

U.S. 405, 421, 95 S.Ct. 2362, 2373, 45 L.Ed.2d
280 (1975). The psychological effects of
a hostile work environment can only be remedied
through interim injunctive relief in order
to prevent permanent scars. Otherwise potential
litigants and witnesses in plaintiff's case
would be afraid to testify truthfully in
fear of retaliation against them. The integri-
ty of eliminating unlawful discrimination
under Title VII is compromised by the denial
of interim injunctive relief was not recognized
by the Court of Appeals in this case.

In the Title VII context, courts have
applied the traditional requirements for
injunctive relief - likelihood of success
on the merits, showing of irreparable harm,

adverse impact against others, and a showing

(26 |

en

that the relief is in the public interest.

Garcia v. Lawn, 805 F.2d 609 (9th Cir. 1986);

See Metropolitan Area Transit Comm'n. v.

Holiday Tours, Inc., 559 F.2d 841, 843 (1977).

While the District Court has discretion
in deciding whether to grant interim injunctive

relief, National Assoc. of Greeting Cards

Publishers v. U.S. Postal Service, 662 F.2d

767 (D.C. Cir. 1976), this discretion must
be guided by the overriding ameliorative
goals of Title VII, to discourage employers
from discriminating and to compensate discrimi-
nation victims as fully as_ possible. 95

S.Ct. at 2371.

B. Courts Are Divided On The
Availability Of The Interim
injunctive Device In Title VII
Cases.

Where retaliation is present, some
courts have not hesitated in granting interim

injunctive relief. Garcia v. Lawn, 805

F.2d 1400; Middleton-Keirn v. Stone, 655

F.2d 609, 612 (5th Cir. 1981); Gibson v.

[27]

U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service,

541 F.Supp 1311 (S.D.N.Y. 1982); Manhart

v. City of Los Angeles Department of Water

and Power, 387 F.Supp 980 (D.C.CA. 1975).

These courts have found that a retaliatory
discharge or other adverse personnel action
carries a distinct rick that other employees
may be deterred from protecting their rights
under Title VII or in providing testimony
for the Plaintiff. Such risk are not specu-
lative and have been found to. constitute
irreparable harm against both private sector
and government sector defendants. In Garcia,
the Ninth Circuit stated, "retaliatory conduct
would have [adverse affect] on the exercise
of Title VII rights by other government
employees, a factor which courts and commen-
tators have deemed important in considering
the appropriateness of injunctive relief

under Title VII. citing, Holt v. Continental

Group, Inc., 708 F.2d 87, 91 (2d Cir. 1983),

cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1038, 104 S.Ct. 1316,

[28]

79 L.Ed.2d 712 (1984)(private sector case,
failure to exhaust state remedies )2/ ; Hyland
v. Kenner Products Co., id F.E&.P. 367, 3378

(S.D. OH. 1974); B. Schlei & P. Grossman,

Employment Discrimination Law 1063 (2d.

ed. 1983). 805 F.2d 1400, 1405. That court
noted, "The harm is a continuing one _ so
long as the retaliation remains in effect
Id at 1505-6. emphasis added. Every day
Petitioner's remains unemployed, the more
severe the chilling effect will be on witnesses
and potential litigants.

While the Second circuit has not directly
ruled on the issue, it has recognized that
retaliation can meet the requirements of
irreparable harm. 708 F.2d 87, 91.

The Ninth Circuit has granted interim
injunctive relief in the private sector

without a showing of irreparable harm.

3/

~ Petitioner exhausted administrative
remedies under 42 U.S.C. 2000e-16(c), because
the agency had not made a final decision after
the expiration of 180 days after the complaint.

[29]

ee

EEOC v. Pacific Pres Publishers, 535 F.2d

1182 (9th Cir. 1976). Other Circuits have
been reluctant to grant such relief in
either the private or public sector case.

See EEOC v. Anchor Hocking Corp., 66 F.2d

1037 (6th Cir. 1981); Porter v. Adams,

639 F.2d 273 (5th Cir. 1981) (decided after

Middleton-Keirn v. Stone)

The Seventh Circuit rejected a non-
retaliatory claim in an age discrimination
claim because the involuntary retirement
conferred retirement benefits, which, in
its view, removed the loss of morale or
skill factor (noneconomic loss). EEOC

v. City of Janesville, 630 F.2d 1254, 1259

(7th Cir. 1980). Quite the contrary, Reshard
has no source of income and because of
DOT's illegal conduct regarding her job
evaluations, she cannot meet that part
of the criteria for similar jobs in the
Federal service.

Some courts have distinguished those

[30]

plaintiffs who have had prior successfully
adjudicated discrimination claims, granted
interim injunctive relief for subsequent
retaliation claims. 805 F.2d 1400; 541
F.Supp 1311. This comparison should be
irrelevant because the underlying Title
VII claim is unimportant in a retaliation

case. Parker v. Baltimore & O. R. Co.,

652 F.2d 1012, 1018-19 (D.C. Cir. 1981);

Womack v. Munson, 619 F.2d 1292, 1297

(8th Cir. 1980).
The reason for the complexiity and
varying views on the availability of interim

injunctive relief is Sampson v. Murray,

415 U.S. 61. That Court held that courts
should not ordinarily interfere with internal
government processes in an employment discharge
case during the pendency of administrative
process. The case involved the discharge
of a temporary employee who had few vested
rights to Federal employment, unlike Reshard

who has ten years of service. That plaintiff

(31]

el

objected to procedures applied in her dismiss-
al. Still, some courts have applied Sampson
as if it were a per se rule againstinterim

injunctive relief in employee discharge

cases. EEOC v. Anchor Hocking Corp., 666
F.2d 1037. Other courts have taken the
better view. Garcia states, "In Title VII

Congress has clearly lessened the latitude
traditionally granted the government in
conducting its internal affairs. 805 F.2d

at 1405; See also, Gibson_v. U.S. Immigration

and Naturalization Service, 541 F.Supp 1311.

A per se rule under Sampson would preclude
all interim injunctive relief and that is
not what Congress intended under section
2000e-5. The legislative history is suppor-
tive.

"The Federal Service is an area where
equal employment opportunity is of para-
mount significance. Americans rely
upon the maxim, "government of the people,"
and traditionally measure the quality
of their democracy by the opportunity
they have to participate in governmental
processes. It is therefore imperative
that equal opportunity be the _ touch-

[32]

nate eereeeeesil

stone of the Federal System." H.R.
Rep. No. 238, 92d Cong., 2d Sess. 2
reprinted in 1972 U.S. Code Cong. & Ad.

News, at 215/.
Under the present state of the law
in the Circuits, this Court should grant

the Writ of Certiorari in order to settle

the law and give perscriptive guidance to

lower courts.

II. GRANTING SUMMARY AFFIRMANCE WAS ABUSE

OF DISCRETION.

The Court of Appeals summarily affirmed
the District Court's decision which is permitted
only if it is clear that further proceedings
will materially benefit the review. Walker

v. Washington, 627 F.2d 541, 545 (D.C.Cir.

(per curiam), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 994

(1980). Here the District Court made erroneous
findings of fact which are not’ supported
by the record, and applied the wrong law
and abused its discretion. The court's
action yields an unjust result - justice

delayed is justice denied.

[33]

a _—
4
‘

A. Erroneous Findings of Fact.

The District Court states that Mr.

Butterworth asked Ms. Reshard to confer
with Mr. Marvich. App. at 8 That statement
was made by Mr. Butterworth and Mr. Marvich

which is contained in their Affidavits first
made on January 22, 1988 on the basis of
their knowledge and belief. The record
reflects this account. With respect to
the discharge, Petitioner had a legitimate
reason for mot attending staff meetings.
The facts reflect the same for other findings
made by the District Court. Further, Reshard
repeatedly responded to DOT on all of the
allegations of misconduct; the implementation
of the adverse personnel actions underscore
the conclusion that DOT did not’ consider
her comments. These facts contrast dramatically

with the facts in Walker v. Washington,

that plaintiff refused to submit records
which were required to be conducted as a

part of his job. He had no legitimate reason

[34 ]

}

se ee

to refuse to complete them. Id. at 545.

The District Court ruled that constructive

notice of the decision to discharge had
been made. App. at 11. Petitioner did
not have actual notice before January 5,
1°88. Soth DOT and Assistant U.S. Attorney

Dempster could have delivered the notice
through Dempster. Comments were submitted
through Dempster and he discussed such arrange-
ment with Reshard.

The District Court made no findings
of fact regarding the hostile environment
with respect to the various examples’ provided
by Reshard. Retaliation was not mentioned.
App. at 7-15.

These examples of clearly erroneous
findings of fact are prejudicial and the
decision shoulc be reversed.

2. Improver Law Was Appled.
——

It has been held that to engage in
protective activity under section 2000e-

3, 42 U.S.C., bars the discnarge, suspensions,

(35)

harassment, and retaliation. Payne v. McLe-

more's Wholesale &Retail Stores, 654 F.2d

1130 (5th Cir. 1981), rehearing denied,

660 F.2d 497, cert. denied, 455 U.S. 1000,

102 S.Ct. 1630, 4/1 L.Ed.2d 866 (1982).
Reshard engaged in protective protestations
in the matter of the adverse personnel actions.
Yet, the District Court found that Petitioner

would be a disruption to the DOT. App. at

13. It was DOT whose conduct over the years
has been designed to constructively force
Reshard to resign. She did not, and the
DOT illegally discharged her. It was DOT

which attempted to force Reshard to accept
another invalid job evaluation for 1987,
prepared over six months rather than 12.
It has been placed in her personnel file.
DOT was aware of the state of affairs at
the highest level within the agency and
apparently sanctioned this conduct, by not
taking action to resolve.

Even in the absence of racial harassment

[ 36 ]

and retaliation, the discharge was inconsistent

with 5 U.S.C. 7513 (a). It states that the
decision to remove or suspend an employee
for 14 days or more can only be done, "for
such cause as will promote the efficiency
of the service." The staff meetings did
not affect Reshard's work or that of other -
employees. Her assignments from Butterworth
were submitted “n writing on most occasions.
The decision to remove was not timely, and
it was arbitrary and capricious. In fact
DOT states that Reshard disobeyed a direct
order of her supervisor. Who was harmed?

Here, petitioner engaged in protective
activity and suffered adverse actions and
treatment, and a causal connection existed
between petitioner's protestations and _ the

adverse actions. See Texas Department of

Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248,

254 ne/, 101 &.CO. 1085, 16M n.7, 67 L. 8d. 26
207 (1981). The manifestation of racial
harassment and discrimination can be inferred

[37]

from these facts pursuant to sections 2000e-

3, 5, and 16, 42 u.s.c.4/ Id; App. at 19-

While employment discrimination cases
are viewed under a clearly erroneous standard,
if findings of fact are based on mistaken
impression, the Court of Appeals was
not bound by clearly erroneous’~ standard.

De Medina v. Reinhardt, 686 F.2G@ 397, ° 222

U.S.App.D.C. 371, 375 (D.C.Cir. 1982).

C. Court Abused Its Discretion.

In this case, the Court of Appeals
and the District Court’ state that they
relied on the principles for granting interim

injunctive relief set forth in Washington

Metropolitan Area Transit Comm'n. v. Holiday

Tours, Inc., 559 F.2d 841. App. at 2 and

4/ sdditionally, section 1613.203, 29 C.F.R. Ch. XIV
(1987) requires that the Secretary Burley take personal
leadershipin Title VII issues. App. at 24. The
action to discharge should have been reviewed by
him or the equal employment opportunity officer pursuant
to paragraph &(a)(3) of DOT Procedures for Processing

Complaints of Discrimination in Employment Practices,

DOT Order 1000.8A a eae p. at 25.
L

Re ee a eee eT

12, respectively. In sustaining the grant
of a Stay against permanent injunction,
that court rejected a strict probability
of success in favor of an,

"Analysis under which the necessary
showing on the merits is governed by

the balance of equities as_ revealed
through an examination of the other
three factors."" Id. at 844.

# # # #

"Generally, such relief is preventative

or protective; it seeks to maintain
the status quo pending a final determi-
nation of the merits of the suit.

An order maintaining the status quo
is appropriate when serious legal question
is presented, when little if any harm
will befall other interested persons
or the public and when denial of the
order would inflict irreparable injury
on the movant. There is substantial
equity, and need for judicial protection,
whether or not movant has shown a math-
ematical probability of success."
Id.

Here the baiance of equities must fall decidely
in favor of Reshard. Not only did she Lose
her income, she can not obtain comparable
job in the Federal service because of DOT's
clearly illegal conduct in not providing

the required current job evaluation. This

[39]

is a serious matter raised in this lawsuit.

The stress of unemployment coupled with
the distinct advantage conferred to DOT
by reducing Reshard's financial ability
to wage this litigation.

Additionally, petitioner made a substantial
showing on the merits that she was the victim
of retaliation and harassment. She applied
for injunctive relief on October 19, 1987,
long before she was discharged, and immediately
suspended for 14 days on October 21, 1987.
The closeness in time and space of the adverse
actions supports the retaliation charge.
The District Court took no action. DOT
was aware of all these issues Reshard raised
in her lawsuit. It should not be affored
protection by claiming that it would be
harmed by Reshard's reinstatement, back
pay, and an unhostile work environment free
from harassment and retaliation. The chilling
effect of the retaliatory acts on potential

complainants and witnesses in my case is

[40 ]

real and substantial. App. at 5. Accordingly,

the Court of Appeals erred by granting Respond-
ent's Motion for Summary Affirmance.
CONCLUSIONS

The availability of interim equitable
relief in Title VII cases would benefit
many persons, without flooding the courts
with an increase in lawsuits. Instead,
its availability, whether injunctive or

declaratory relief, would act as a deterrent

to employer abuse (self policing carries
an inherent conflict of interest at the
agency). More often than not, the employer

is motivated to undertake harassment, with
the intent of discouraging present and future
litigants. The law needs to be clarified
in order to correct this usage. An unjust

result in this case should be removed.

Respectfully submitted,
Dated May 23, 1988 Connie Reshard, Esq.
Washington, D.C. 700-725 Seventh St., SW

Washington, D.C. 20024
202-488-3832

[41]

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

NO. 88-5035 SEPTEMBER TERM, 1987
C.A. No. 87-02794

Connie Reshard, Filed Apr.6 1988
Appellant,

V.

Jim Burnley, Secretary,
U.S. Department of Transportation,

Appellee.

BEFORE: Robinson, Silberman and
Williams, Circuit Judges

ORDER

Upon consideration of appellee's Motion
for Summary Affirmance, and the response
thereto, it is

ORDERED by the court that the motion
be granted for the reasons stated in the
accompanying memorandum. The district court's
order filed January 29, 1988 is summarily

affirmed.
[1la

The clerk is directed to withhold issuance
of the mandate herein until seven days after
disposition of any timely petition for re-

hearing. See D.C. Cir. Rule 15.

Per Curiam

# # # #

MEMORANDUM -
The district court's decision denying
the temporary restraining order, preliminary

injunction, and stay motions is reversible

only for an abuse of discretion. See National

Audubon Soc. v. Hester, 801 F.2d 405, 407

(D.C. Cir. 1986) (per curiam). Although
this standard is deferential, the district
court's decision may be reversed if it is
based on an erroneous view of the law.
Id. Here, the district has properly applied

the law for consideration of these motions.

See Washington Metropolitan Area Transit
Comm'n v. Holiday Tours, Inc., 559 F.2d

No. 88-5035 - Reshard v. Burnley
[2]a

—— ————————OOOOeeeeeeeeeeeee—eeee—eeeEeEeeEeEeEeEOEe—=eeeeeee

No. 88-5035 - Reshard v. Burnley

841, 843 (D.C. Cir. 1977). All of the factors
were considered carefully, and an evaluation
made based on the court's review of two
days of testimony. We conclude that the
district court has not abused its discretion
in denying preliminary relief.

The district court's decision on the
motion for declaratory judgement is reversible
only for abuse of discretion as well; that
the district court has considerable discretion
to withhold such relief is clearly established.

See National Wildlife Federation v. U.S.,

626 F.2d 917, 923 (D.C. Cir. 1980). It
appears that Reshard is attempting to obtain
the remedy of a declaratory judgment as
a final adjudication on the merits. Because
the case on the merits is still pending,
however, such a determination would be pre-
mature. Therefore, such a remedy would
be inappropriate at this stage, and the

district court was well within its discretion

[3]a

to deny the motion.

Because the merits of this appeal are
so clear as to justify expedited action,
we summarily affirm the district court's

decision. See Walker v. Washington, 627

F.2d 541, 545 (D.C. Cir.) (per curiam), cert.
denied, 449 U.S. 994 (1980).

No. 88-5035 - Reshard v. Burnley

[4]a

a a

ad

ee eM 6 ta

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

No. 88-5035 SEPTEMBER TERM, 1987
C.A. No. 87-02794

Connie Reshard, FILED Mar 7 1988
Appellant,
V.

Jim Burnley, Secretary
U.S. Department of Transportation,

Appellee.

BEFORE: Robinson, Silberman and
Williams, Circuit Judges

ORDER

Upon consideration of appellant's
Emergency Motion for Stay of Order, and
the response thereto, and appellant's Motion
to Expedite, it is

ORDERED by the court that the Emergency
Motion for Stay of order be denied. See

Wisconsin Gas Co. v. FERC, 758 F.2d 669,

674 (D.C. Cir. 1985). The arguments advanced

(Sa

No. 88-5035 - Reshard v. Burnley

by appellant in this motion will be considered
as arguments on the merits along with the
other arguments made by both parties regarding
the appellee's Motion for Summary Affirmance.
It is

FURTHER ORDERED that the Motion to
Expedite be denied. Appellant has not
demonstrated "strongly compelling"’ reasons

for expedition. See D.C. Cir. Handbook

of Practice and Internal Procedures 40 (1987).

Per Curiam

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
CONNIE RESHARD,
PLAINTIFF,
V. C.A. No. 87-2794

JIM BURNLEY, SECRETARY
U.S. DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

DEFENDANT.

MEMORANDUM ORDER

The plaintiff filed this action pursuant
to Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of
1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C. s2000e et seq.

The case is now before the Court on
plaintiff's motion for a preliminary in-
junction, plaintiff's motion for a_ stay,
plaintiff's motion for temporary restraining
order, and plaintiff's motion for declaratory
judgment. The Court heard arguments. on
January ll, 1988 and January 22, 1988.
After giving careful consideration to _ the
motions, the oppositions thereto, the record

in this case, in this case, and the arguments

[7la

of counsel} the Court concludes that the

plaintiff's motions must be denied.

I

The plaintiff, who is black, contends
that she is the victim of discrimination
based on her race. She is an Economist,
GM-0110-14, in the Trade, Facilitation and
Technical Issues Division, Office of Inter-
national Transportation and Trade, Department
of Transportation. It appears from _ the
record that her claim of discrimination
is based primarily on an incident, in which
a supervisor suggested that she discuss
a matter of economics with M. Dennis Marvich,
who —ts--a GM-0110-13, Economist, in the same
Division. During oral argument on one of
motions, the plaintiff stated that she felt

it was a "racial slur" to ask her to solicit

lithe plaintiff, pro se, is an attorney.
She represents that she graduated from the Georgetown
Law Center and that she is a member of the bar of the
State of Pennsylvania.

comments Or advice from Mr. Marvich, who

is white and has a lower grade. Mr. Marvich
is currently a doctoral candidate in Economics
at George Washington University, and is
currently writing his doctoral thesis.
The plaintiff refers to this "racial slur"
in a number of her papers.

The plaintiff was suspended from duty
and pay for a period of 14 calendar days
in October 1987 for, among other things,
rude, disrepectful, and insubordinate conduct
toward the Director,"' "refusal to accept
and/or acknowledge official correspondence

from both (her | first and second level

TT

supervisors," failure to attend staff meetings
as directed,""' and absence without’ leave."'
Defendant's Motion Exhibit 1 Plaintiff
admits to her failure to attend staff meetings,
and it appears that she does not deny most
of the other allegations. With respect
to her refusal to attend staff meetings

she advised her supervisor that she would

be "pleased to attend staff meetings that
[9 Ja

LS

7 Po

[her supervisor has! seen fit to advise

[her | of on several different occasions,
provided that [she] receive a written apology
from [her supervisor] and that this written
apology is read to the staff."" Defendant's
Motion Exhibit 2, Attachment 1. The apology
she seeks is for the incident involving
Mr. Marvich.

Plaintiff's allegations concerning
her treatment at the agency are _ set forth
in her memorandum addressed to Arnold Levine
dated October 5, 1987. Defendant's Motion
Exhibit 1, Attachment.

After the action was filed, plaintiff
moved from a temporary restraining order
complaining that the defendant wrongfully
placed her on absent without leave status
and that the defendant's staff engaged in

intentional and systematic harassment against

her. The Court denied the motion without
a hearing. See Order filed October 22,
1987.

(10]a

When the plaintiff continued to refuse

to attend staff meetings and allegedly disobey-
ed other orders from her supervisors, the
defendant sent her a "Decision to _ Remove"
notice dated December 21, 1987. A copy
was placed on plaintiff's desk, another
copy was sent to her at her home, certified
mail, and another copy was left with the
receptionist at her apartment building.
Plaintiff would not accept any of the packages,
although it appears that she had _ physical
possession of at least one of them and that
she simply refused to open the package.

She seeks the same relief in all of

her motions; reinstatement to her job.

II
In order to be entitled to injunctive
relief or a stay, the plaintiff must demon-
strate that she is likely to prevail on
the merits, that she will suffer irreparable
harm if injunctive relief is denied, that

the other parties will not suffer substantial

[1l1ja

ee ee ae ea ee eT

injury if injury if injunctive relief is
granted, and that the public interest favors
the granting of such relief is not adverse

to the public interest. Washington Metro-

politan Area Transit Commission v. Holiday

70ure,., I96<.; 182 U.S.App.D.C. 220, 222,

559 F.2d 841, 843 (1977).

Thus far, plaintiff has failed to
demonstrate that she is likely to prevail
on the merits. This Court has repeatedly
asked her to state the nature of the alleged
"racial slurs'' referred to in her papers.
In response, the plaintiff refers the Court
to the incident involving Mr. Marvich.

Additionally, the plaintiff, while
for the most part conceding that she has
disobeyed orders from her supervisors and
refused to attend staff meetings, fails
to demonstrate that the requests of her
supervisors were umreasonabie or different
from requests made of other employees in

her office.

Finally, at this point in time, it
appears that the plaintiff has been properly
served with the Decision to Remove.

With respect to the likelihood of

irreparable harm, it appears that the plaintif
has an adequate remedy at law. If she
ultimately prevails in this action, the
Court can order her reinstated and awarded

all back pay and allowances. See Sampson

v. Murray, 415 U.S. 61, 94 S.Ct. 937 (1974).

The Court is concerned that, without
a change in attitude on the part of the
plaintiff, that her return to work could
lead to disruption of her office, and in
the long run, may prove counterproductive

to her cause.

“The Court does not suggest that the
Plaintiff will be unable to prevail in this
case or that ner case lacks merits. But, not-
withstanding that the parties are in litigation,
there seems no reason why the plaintiff could
not have complied with the reasonable directives
of her supervisors during the pendency of this
action.

[13]a

Last, the public interest does not
require her return to work.

For all of the above reasons, the Court
concludes that the plaintiff's motions for
preliminary injunction, temporary restraining
order and for a stay must’ be denied. The
plaintiff's motion for declaratory judgment

must also be denied.

III
This Court is not without sympathy
for the plaintiff's plight. In an effort
to bring the parties together, the, Court

on January 28, 1988, held two on the record

telephone conversations, by conference calls
with the plaintiff and counsel for _ the
defendants. The Court proposed that it

hold the motions in abeyance and make arrange-
ments for them to meet with a Senior District
Judge or a Magistrate to determine whether

they cannot agree to a resolution of this

[14]a

1
case. The parties took several hours to

consider the Court's suggestion. Counsel
for the defendant advised the Court that
the defendant is willing to have the motions
held in abeyance and engage in discussions
with the plaintiff, while the plaintiff
advised the Court that she wanted a ruling
on the motions first, but that thereafter,
she is willing to engage in a meeting to
discuss settlement.

The Court will seek to arrange a settle-
ment conference for the parties.

It is hereby

Ordered that the plaintiff's motions
for a sty, a preliminary injunction, and
a temporary restraining order and for
declaratory judgment are denied.
Jan 29 1988 /s/

i: 36 Pee. John Garrett Penn
U.S. District Judge

sSince this case is non-jury, the Court
will not discuss settlement with the parties.

x —

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

CONNIE RESHARD,

PLAINTIFF,
VS. Civil No. 87-2794
JIM BURNLEY, FILED
ACTING SECRETARY, U.S. Oct 22 1987

DEPT. OF TRANSPORTATION,

DEFENDANT.

ORDER

This comes before the Court on the
motion for a temporary restraining order
filed by plaintiff. In her complaint filed
October 15, 1987, she claims that she is
the victim of discrimination because of
her race, in violation of Title VII of the
Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, 42
U.S.C. s2000e et seg. In her motion, she
seeks to compel the defendant to pay the
plaintiff for forty-eight hours that _ she
alleges defendant wrongfully placed her

on absent without leave status and to prohibit

the defendant from continuing alleged in-

[16Ja |

tentional and systematic harassment in re-
taliation of plaintiff's racial discrimination
complaint.

After giving careful consideration
to the motion, the Court concludes’ that
the motion should be denied.

In order to prevail on the motion the
plaintiff must demonstrate that she is likely
to prevail on the merits, that she will
suffer irreparable harm if injunctive relief
is denied, that the other party will not
suffer substantial in jury if injunctive
relief is granted and that the public interest
favors or is at least not opposed to the

granting of the injunction. See Washington

Metropolitan Area Transit Commission v.

Holiday Tours, Inc., 182 U.S.App.D.C. 220,
222, 559 F.2d 841, 843 (1977).
Here, on the face of the complaint

and in the motion, the plaintiff has failed
to demonstrate that she will suffer irreparable

injury. While the Court accepts, for the

[17]a

purpose of the motion, the reasons why she
feels that defendants actions have harmed
her, these are matters that can be remedied
if she ultimately prevails in this case.
Moreover, the harm alleged in her motion
for a temporary restraining order is. sub-
stantially the harm described in her initial
complaint, therefore plaintiff does have
an adequate remedy at law.
In view of the above, it is hereby

ORDERED~ that plaintiff's motion for

a temporary restraining order is denied. !
Oct. 21, 1987 /s/
6:48 P.M. JOHN GARRETT PENN
UNITED STATES DISTRICT
COURT
1

The Court concludes that a hearing is not
required. Plaintiff submitted her motion on
the papers.

(18 ]a

EXCERPTS FROM 42 U.S.C. 2000e

Section 2000e-2 Unlawful employment practices
(a) It shall be an unlawful employment
practice for an employer -

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to
discharge any individual, or otherwise to
discriminate against any individual with
respect to his compensation, terms, conditions
or privileges of employment, because of
such individual's race, color, religion,
sex, or national origin; or

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify
his employees or applicants for employment
in any way which would deprive or tend to
deprive any — individual of employment opport-
unities or otherwise adversely affect his
status as an employee, because of such in-
dividual's race, color, religion, sex, or
national origin.

Section 2000e-3 Other unlawful employment
pracitices

(a ) It shall be an unlawful employment
[19] a

practices for an employer to discriminate
against any of his employees or applicants
for employment, for an employment agency,
or joint labor-management committee controlling
apprenticeship or other training or retraining,
including on-the-job training programs,
to discriminate against any individual,
or for a labor organization to discriminate
against any member thereof or applicant
for membership, because he has’ opposed any
practice made unlawful employment practice
by this subchapter, or because he has made
a charge, testified, assisted, or participated
in any manner in an investigation, proceeding,
or hearing under this subchapter.
Section 2000e-5 Enforcement provisions

(g) If the court finds that the respondent
has intentionally engaged in or is in-

tentionally engaging in an unlawful employment
practice charged in the complaint, the court

may enjoin the respondent from engaging

in such unlawful employment practice, and

[20]a4

order such affirmative action as may be
appropriate, which may include, but is not
limited to, reinstatement or hiring of em-
ployees, with or without back pay (payable
by the employer, employment agency, or labor
Organization, as the case may be, responsible
for the unlawful employment practice), or
any other equitable relief as the court
deems appropriate. Back pay liability shall
not accrue from a date more than two years

prior to the filing of a charge with the

Commission.
Section 2000e-16 Employment by Federal
Government

(a) All personnel actions affecting

employees or applicants for employment (except)
with regard to aliens employed outside the
limits of the United States) in military
departments as defined in section 102 of
Title 5 , im executive agencies as defined
in section 105 of Title 5 (including employees
and applicants for employment who are paid

from — re 2 pad in the United
21

States Postal Service and the Postal Rate
Commission, in those units of the Government
of the District of Columbia having positions
in the competitive service, and in those
units of the legislative and judicial branches
of the Federal Government having positions

in the competitive service, and in the Library

Congress shall be made free from any

.@)
rh

discrimination based on race, color, religion,
sex, or national origin.
(b) Except as otherwise provided in
this subsection, the Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission shall have authority

to enforce the provisions of subsection

(a) of this section through appropriate
remedies, including reinstatement. . .
(c) Within thirty days of receipt of

notice of final action taken by a department,
agency, or unit referred to in subsection
(a) of this section, or by the Equal Employment
Opportunity Commission upon an appeal from

a decision or order of such department,

[22h

—————&&<<m<mmo lm

agency, or unit on a complaint of discrimi-
mation based on race, color, religion, sex
or national origin, brought pursuant to
subsection (a) of this section, Executive
Order 11478 or any succeeding Executive
orders, or after one hundred and eighty
days from the filing of the initial charge
with the department, agency, or unit or
with the Equal Employment Opportunity
Commission on appeal from a decison or order
of such department, agency, or unit until
such time as final action may- be taken by
a department, agency, or unit, an employee
or applicant for employment, if aggrieved
by the final disposition of his complaint,
or by the failure to take final action on

his complaint, may file a civil action as

provided in section 2000e5 of this title,
in which civil action the head of the depart-
ment, agency, or unit, as appropriate, shall

be the defendant.

Section 1613.203 of 29 C.F.R. Ch.XIV (1987)
The head of each agency shall exercise personal
leadership in establishing, maintaining,
and carrying out a continuing affirmative
program designed to promote equal opport-
unity in every aspect of agency personnel
policy and practice in the employment, develop-
ment, advancement, and treatment of employees.
Under the treatment of employees. “Under
the terms of its program, an agency shall:
(b) Conduct a continuing campaign to eradicate
every form of prejudice or discrimination
based upon race, color, religion sex, national
origin, from the agency's personnel policies
and practices and working conditions, including
disciplinary action against employees who
engage in discriminatory practices.
(g) Review, evaluate, and control managerial
and supervisory performance in such a manner
as to insure a continuing affirmative appli-
cation and vigorous enforcement of the policy

of equal opportunity, and provide orietation,

[24]a

training, and advice to managers and supervisor

to assure their understanding and implementation
of the equal employment opportunity policy

and program.

* ££ ©

Department of Transportation Procedures
for Processing Complaints of Discrimination

in Employment Practices, DOT Order 1000.8A,
(7-10-76) Paragraph 8(a) (3)

No action adverse to an employee shall be
initiated and no change shall be made in
the duties, assignments or supervision of
any employeee after that employee seeks
counseling with Equal Employment Opportunity
Counselor without prior consultation with
the appropriate Equal Employment Opportunity

Officer.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1772%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
