# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — LoDuca v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1713%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 486 U.S. 1057

## Text

87-1827 Supreme Court, U.g,
FILED
MAY 5 1988
JOSEPH ESPANIO :
= CLERK _
In Che
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1988
PETER LODUCA,
Petitioner,
VS.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

MURRAY APPLEMAN
A Member of the Bar
of the United States Supreme Court
Attorney for Petitioner

225 Broadway

39th Floor

New York, NY 10007

(212) 349-6966

Dick Bailey Printers. 203 Richmond Avenue @ Staten Island, New York 10302
Tel.: (212) 608-7666 — (718) 447-5358 — (516) 222-2470 — (914) 682-0848

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. May the Government, fully aware of its duty and
obligation to protect the Constitutional rights of all
citizens and fully cognizant that no basis existed in its files
and reports under its control, be instrumental in introduc-
ing supporting affidavits for pretextual allegations that an
individual is a ‘‘known narcotics trafficker’’ in order to at-
tempt to legitimitize a blatant violation of Fourth Amend-
ment’s rights against unreasonable searches and seizures,
without violating the Fifth Amendment to the Constitu-
tion i.e., Due Process and this Court’s principles stated in
Brady v. U.S., 373 U.S. 83 (1963) and U.S. v. Agurs, 427
U.S. 97 (1976)?

2. Did Petitioner obtain effective assistance of
Counsel, when the latter

(a) Incorrectly informed petitioner that his plea of guilty
could be withdrawn

(b) Notified Court at guilty plea that petitioner, with a Se-
cond Grade education from Italy and no additional educa-
tion in the United States, who could not read or write
English, had no defense to Code Section 7206(1) violation
i.e., Subscribing income tax return under penalty of per-
jury knowing same to be false

(c) Did not see or seek any documents that Government
relied on

(d) Made no motions, specifically to suppress information
obtained from Fourth Amendment violations, which
represented the origin for the investigation’s exploitation
of illegal police action and became the ‘“‘but for’’ source of
Government’s case.

or were LoDuca’s rights under the Sixth Amendment to
the Constitution to effective assistance of counsel violated
since the aforementioned reveals that the range of com-
petence demanded of attorneys in criminal cases was not
met?

i
LIST OF PARTIES
Petitioner, PETER LODUCA, was the defendant in

the United States District Court and appealed to the Se-
cond Circuit United States Court of Appeals.

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Pave
SS CPUMUOIO 4 occicccidosedecacsdscscsessecnnscssasntesaues }
te), ces snsaheessansauavasceetsnee i
ER cudgaeiossaeaussssprneasadae’ i
NE Uo ve saeuces Pee atte ee eauissteteaeeadesatiaeae eer IV
The Opinion of the Court Below .................0cccee eee e ees ]
RE FOE OPER PEEL PEPET SUPT TE PITT EAT POET 2

The Principal Constitutional And Statutory Provi-

eer tas ole abe eataeneraadcase tes aeoune Zz
a nn snedecivusveseceecowsdsecnsess F
Reasons for Granting the Petition ................ Eke Genecen 6

POINT I—Whether the Fifth Amendment's Due Pro-

cess Clause was vioated ....... Fadi bayaaeyou baa dimipaiabneeTa 7
POINT I]—Whether Petitioner did not obtain effec-
tive assistance of counsel in violation of the Sixth
Amendment to the COnsutuuion ............. 6.0 e cee cece eee 14
6 I 17

Appendix A—Order of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Second Circult ................eseeeee eee la

1V
CITATIONS
Pages

Anti-Facist Committee v. McGrath, 341 U.S. 123,

Glas 1s Ak, Cty Oe Fe Mics EF os cn cierivensdaxakesnes eee
Bagley v. U.S., 473 U.S. at 682, 105 S.Ct. 3384 ........... 12
ge Ae ie ee Ee) | ee 14
Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83; 83 S.Ct. 1194; 10
Sc EE ENED Au is coed chedossdhabindctsieseaeks Fe etaeks
. Briscoe v. LaHue, 460 U.S. 325 (1986) ................00008- 13
Daniels v. Williams, 106 S.Ct. 662 (1986) .................065 7
Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S. 648; 99 S.Ct. 1391; 59
Beets BN bb di cviivadenkcnastvanncunaciodincensaobuanacdts eee 9
Dunaway v. U.S., 442 U.S. 200; 99 S.Ct. 2248; 60
cs TE ied pactcnkdcdacadadesetoipnxceuaressdeviaanausasts 8,11
VARS ¥:. LACORS US. Bet CHEE aint eeridsncdsssiecel cs 14
Gissendanner v. Wainwright, 482 F.2d 1293, 1296-7
CSG Ta FTO bn tsnetndenicasccarsdicddnesiasepenseeeee 1]
Fiolt v. Castaneda, $32 F .26 123 (1967) «0... cccccscc00c0c000. 13
Ives v. South Buffalo Ry Co., 201 NY 271, 293, 295-6.....8
Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. 335 (1986) ................ eee ee: 13

FOS VEN, Fe FOR Baa BOE vearecdncsacuvelccatdvcasesses 8

Vv

Snyder v. Mass., 291 U.S. 97, 105; 54 S.Ct. 330-2; 78

EB, CFG ii ccsnscostsnccnarnscdanseaemas Soi tese ans iis 8
Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S. 668 (1984) ........... 14
U.S. v. Agurs, 427 U.S. at 110; 96 S.Ct. at

DOGS caisicncnsriontuiaskusviconeactesseeareeeeenaes i,7,13,82,15
U.S. v. DiTomasso, 817 F.2d 201 (2d Cir. 1987) .......... 1]
Wong Sun v. U.S., 371 U.S. 417 ....ccceececseccsesseesecones 10

Amendment IV to the Constitution of the United
Cie. akuceasanvekobebeuwias iene 2,6

Amendment V to the Constitution of the United
ieee ukccckwat dase anit idionsks i eecsaaaaeeee 2,6,7,8

Amendment VI to the Constitution of the United
Re a pac davesteesancebeatana eae 2,6

U.S. Code Section Ta tl) skate tee 2s

3n The
®upreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1988

PETER LODUCA,
Petitioner,
VS.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
SECOND CIRCUIT

Peter LoDuca prays that a Writ of Certiorari issue to
review a final judgment and order of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit decided March 9,
1988 (Appendix A) infra, which affirmed the judgment of
the United States District Court for the Eastern District of
New York (I. Leo Glasser, J.) denying a motion to
withdraw plea of guilty to a charge of income tax violation
pursuant to 26 U.S.C. §7206(1).

THE OPINION OF THE COURT BELOW

The opinion of the Court below, namely the United
States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, affirming
the decision and judgment, is set forth in Appendix A, in-
fra as aforesaid.

2
JURISDICTION

The order of the judgment of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Second Circuit, the Court below is
dated March 9, 1988. Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked,
made and conferred under 28 U.S. Code §1254(1).

THE PRINCIPAL CONSTITUTIONAL AND
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Fourth Amendment to the Constitution
Fifth Amendment to the Constitution
Sixth Amerdment to the Constitution
Title 26 U.S. Code Section 7206(1)

STATEMENT OF fHE CASE

Government files revealed that on October 21, 1983,
solely due to the petitioner receiving and placing a brown
paper bag in the trunk of his car on:the service road of the
Whitestone Expressway at the intersection of Linden
Place, Drug Enforcement agents (DEA) followed and
stopped LoDuca after he had driven a short distance. The
bag was received from one Salvatore Finazzo, subsequent-
ly pretextually deemed a ‘‘known narcotics trafficker.’’ A
search of the trunk revealed that the brown bag contained
$100,000.00, which LoDuca upon being questioned
responded that it represented gambling winnings.

The bag of money and LoDuca were transported to
the 109th Precinct, where the money was counted, seized
and a receipt given to LoDuca. The latter was then return-
ed to his auto and the money vouchered at DEA Regional
Office, 555 West 57th Street, New York, New York. At a
subsequent date the money was returned to LoDuca.

3

Solely as a result of this confrontation, Internal
Revenue Service Agents since that time conducted an “‘in-
tensive investigation’’ which focused upon LoDuca’s
business and real estate holdings, which revealed various
alleged omissions of rental and interest income for the
years 1980 to 1982. But for this stop and arrest, without
‘‘reasonable suspicion’’ or ‘‘probable cause’’ that some il-
legal activity occurred, and its discovery of monies, the In-
ternal Revenue Service had no basis to initiate an in-
vestigation of LoDuca. Papers submitted all pointedly
reveal that this was the triggering device for the investiga-
tion.

Subsequently as a result of this investigation, solely
triggered by the aforementioned facts, two indictments,
originally violation of Title 26 U.S. Code §7206(1) for the
year 1980 and superseding charging violation of con-
spiracy and income tax evasion, Title 18 U.S. Code §371
and Title 26 U.S. Code §7206(1), respectively for the years
1980 to 1982 were handed down.

To the initial indictment, a plea of Not Guilty was
entered by the undersigned, who was at that time retained.
Subsequently, William I. Shore, Esq., represented the
defendant and plead him guilty to a one count violation of
Title 26 Section 7206(1).

Violation of Title 26 U.S. Code §7206(1) requires:

(a) Specific intent to make a material false statement on a
tax return and

(b) Subscribing tax return under penalties of perjury (1.e.,
knowingly)

At the plea transcript on July 1, 1987, William Shore,
Esq., attorney for defendant-petitioner stated he knew of

4

no reason why the defendant-petitioner should not plead
guilty. At that hearing, the transcript reveals at p. 11,
Judge Glasser stated:

With respect to this plea agreement, I see no reason why I
shouldn’t approve it but I will defer that until I have seen
the pre-sentence report and if for any reason I reject this
agreement, I will permit Mr. LoDuca to withdraw his plea
of guilty he has entered this morning, is that satisfactory
Mr. Shore.

William Shore submitted a written motion to
withdraw guilty plea of LoDuca stating on September 17,
1987:

Your Honor, the defendant has informed me that he
wishes to withdraw his plea of guilty, and I would like to so
move. Your Honor previously said you would accept the
plea with leave to withdraw it. I know it is kind of late but I
ask leave

Court: I don't think I ever said that. I never said I would
accept the plea with leave to withdraw it.

Shore: There was a statement that you had made
something with respect to leave to move to withdraw it.

Court: I said in the event I do not approve of the plea
agreement which was entered into.

Shore: I misunderstood.

On October 13, 1987 on a motion to withdraw plea of
guilty, Shore stated that the defendant was ‘‘functionally
illiterate’’ and that due to the fact that the Government
advised him that documentary evidence existed that the
defendant was literate, he advised the defendant that a
viable defense did not exist. For the first time, despite the
government’s claim that they spent six hours detailing the
evidence against LoDuca to Shore, the latter stated that he
recognized, based on the documents submitted in opposi-
tion to his motion to withdraw the guilty plea, he initially
recommended, that the document submitted i.e.,

Naturalization Petition, merely indicates minimal re-
quirements of literacy. Further, that although the govern-
ment did not show him any documents, Assistant U.S. At-
torney Pileggi related that the government had documen-
tary evidence of LoDuca’s literacy which he assumed was
a letter or something else written in English by the defen-
dant. The Government did not controvert these facts at
this hearing.

The government at a subsequent motion to withdraw
plea of guilty stated:

Mr. Shore came into my office and for hours went thru
documentation and obtained far more discovery than |
customarily provide in criminal cases.

directly controverting what Shore related previously as to
his reliance solely on Government’s representation, which
Originally met no objection.

It should be noted that at a Fatico hearing prior to
sentencing LoDuca to a three month term of incarcera-
tion, a fine of $5,000 to be followed by a two-year-nine-
month period of probation, the Court, after hearing the
Government’s witness pertaining to Finazzo’s pretextually
being ‘‘a known narcotics trafficker’’ shown to have no
credence or basis and the direct testimony of Finazzo de-
nying any knowledge of narcotics, obliterated any
reference pertaining to narcotics from the record.

Nevertheless, the record points out that prior thereto,
demonstrating a shocking disregard for the concept of due
process and simple fairness, the Government was in-
strumental in submitting an affidavit alleging that Finazzo
was a ‘‘known narcotic trafficker’’ although its records
and files reveal that no foundation or basis existed for this
allegation. ‘‘Vigilante Justice’’ is abhorrent to our concept

a a

6

of jurisprudence whether the end product be a body dangl-
ing from the end of a rope, or a person charged with a
crime as a result of lawless conduct on the part of an
overzealous prosecutor. The latter indeed is reprehensible
since both society and the accused are victimized by one
sworn to uphold the law.

A prosecutor cannot be permitted to turn away or re-
main passive when information showing that patently
misleading testimony was submitted to the Court, which is
obvious from the record and files in these proceedings.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

1. Although the government is not responsible for
and hence not able to prevent attorney errors that will
result in reversal of a conviction or sentence, if the at-
torney errors are due to governmental camouflage and
deceptive practices to conceal Constitutional deprivations
by law enforcement officials, must due process provision
of Fifth Amendment be applied in these situations?

2. The issues are important to safeguarding liberties
and protections afforded by the Fourth, Fifth and Sixth
Amendments to the Constitution.

3. The plea did not represent a voluntary and in-
telligent choice among alternative choices of actions open
to defendant.

4. Based on lack of knowledge of law and investiga-
tion of facts by attorney, plea was unintelligent nor was it
within standards set forth in McMann, 397 U.S. 759, 771
(1970).

5. To assure that the Court’s promulgation and
obligation via Brady material is strictly adhered to.

-
POINT I

WHETHER THE FIFTH AMENDMENT’S DUE
PROCESS CLAUSE WAS VIOLATED

The Government, fully aware of its duty and obliga-
tion to protect the Constitutional rights of all citizens and
fully cognizant that no basis existed in its files and reports
under its control, cannot be instrumental in introducing
supporting affidavits for pretextual allegations that an in-
dividual is a ‘‘known narcotics trafficker’’ in order to at-
tempt to legitimitize a blatant violation of Fourth Amend-
ment’s rights against unreasonable searches and seizures,
without violating the Fifth Amendment to the Constitu-
tion, i.e., Due Process and this Court’s principles stated in
Brady v. U.S., 373 US 83 (1963) and U.S. v. Agurs, 427
U.S. 97 (1976).

The due process clause of the Fifth Amendment to the
Constitution doés limit what evidence a Court may con-
sider, but it does require that a defendant be afforded the
opportunity to assure that accurate and reliable informa-
tion is presented and that judgment is imposed on the basis
of materially true statements and accurate information.

A prosecutor’s duty is to seek justice, not merely to
convict. He or she is a quasi-judicial officer, who
represents the people and is presumed to act impartially
solely in the interests of justice and whose primary duty is
to see that justice is done, and the rights of all—defen-
dants included—are safeguarded. There is a positive
obligation to see that no Constitutional violations occur.

Chief Justice Rehnquist stated in Daniels v. Williams,
106 S.Ct. 662 (1986) ‘‘the aim of the due process clause is
to curb abusive power by the State in the form of either
oppression or procedural unfairness.”’

8

It has been said that ‘‘due process, unlike some legal
rules, is not a technical conception with a fixed content
unrelated to time, place and circumstances.’’ Anti-Fascist
Committee v. Mc Grath, 341 U.S. 123, 162; 71 S.Ct.624,
643; 95 L.Ed.817 (Frankfurter, J., concurring). It em-
braces fundamental rights and immutable principles of
justice and use of the term is but another way of saying
that every person’s right to life, liberty and property is to
be accorded the shield of inherent and fundamental prin-
ciples of justice. Jves v. South Buffalo Railway Co., 201
N.Y.271, 293, 295-6. Due process of law guarantees
respect for personal immunities so rooted in the tradition
and conscience of our people as to be ranked as fun-
damental. Snyder v. Massachusetts, 291 U.S.97, 105; 54
S.Ct.330, 332; 78 L.Ed.674 (Cardozzo, J.). It imposes
upon Courts the duty to foster that fundamental fairness
essential to the very concept of justice. People v. Leyra,
302 N.Y.353, 364.

In the extant situation the sole triggering device for
the intensive tax investigation was the exploitation of the
illegal discovery of money in LoDuca’s automobile based
on the myth that it was received from ‘‘a known narcotic
trafficker’’. Although not involving a confession this
_ situation is virtually a replica of Dunaway, 442 U.S.200,

99 S.Ct. 2248, 60 L.Ed.2d 824. No intervening events
broke the connection between the illegal seizure and the in-
come tax investigation. To admit the results of the in-
vestigation, whose origin was the money located by illegal
search and seizure would permit law enforcement officers
to violate the Fourth Amendment with impunity.

The limitations of the due process clause of the Fifth
Amendment come into play only when the government ac-
tivity in question violates some protected right of the
defendant.

Fourth Amendment

There is no question that the stop and detention of
LoDuca were not constitutionally justified.

The stopping of an automobile and detaining its occu-
pant constitutes a seizure within the meaning of the Fourth
Amendment, even though purpose of stop is limited and
resulting detention quite brief. Delaware v. Prouse, 440
U.S. 648, 99 S.Ct. 1391; 59 L.Ed.2d 660.

No articuable suspicion of criminal activity existed in
the transfer of the brown paper bag, other than the pretex-
tual allegation without a scyntilla of evidence that Finazzo,
who gave a brown bag to LoDuca, was a ‘“‘known nar-
cotics trafficker’’, for the forcible stop of petitioner’s
vehicle on a Queens street or the coerced search of its
trunk. The prospect of police officers stopping a moving
vehicle without any suspicion of wrongdoing is an in-
timidating and coercive situation in and of itself.

A warrantless automobile search requires both pro-
bable cause to believe that the vehicle contains contraband
or other evidence subject to seizure and exigent cir-
cumstances. To justify a particular intrusion upon a
citizen’s constitutionally protected interests, ‘‘the police
officer must be able to point to specific and articuable
facts, which taken together with rational inferences from
these facts warrant intrusion.’’ Jerry, 392 U.S. at 2l.

It is clear when considering the fact that the record is
barren of any evidence to deem Finazzo a ‘‘known nar-
cotic trafficker’’ that solely due to one receiving a brown
paper bag and placing that in his automobile trunk, that
the drug enforcement agents acted unreasonably in for-
cibly stopping LoDuca’s vehicle. After being stopped by

10

the team of enforcement officers and in this coercive sur-
rounding allegedly being ‘‘requested’’ to open the trunk, it
is clear that petitioner’s liberty had been completely cur-
tailed before any information regarding the contents of
the brown bag became known. Subsequent events i.e.,
seizure of money and transportation to the 109th precinct,
buttress this fact.

Petitioner’s conduct i.e., receiving a brown paper bag
and placing same in trunk of car, did not unequivocally
reflect criminal purpose and by subsequent evidentiary
facts, the quantum of knowledge sufficient to induce an
ordinarily prudent and cautious man under the cir-
cumstances to believe that criminal activity is at hand was
non-existent. Under the totality of circumstances in this
case, no reasonable suspicion can be gleaned that the peti-
tioner was involved in criminal activity. The scenario
demonstrates innocent, lawful conduct, not a basis for a
reasonable suspicion of illegal conduct especially when the
false allegation as to a ‘‘known narcotics trafficker’’ is
removed.

Insufficient basis for seizing LoDuca, money or stop-
ping car existed. Therefore any property recovered as a
result of this unreasonable and unlawful seizure must be
suppressed as the fruit of that unconstitutional action by
law enforcement personnel. Wong Sun v. U.S., 371 US.
417. This solely being the triggering device for the inten-
sive investigation by the Internal Revenue Service, it must
be deemed that ‘‘but for’’ the illegal action, no investiga-
tion by Internal Revenue Service would have been in-
itiated. As was related during argument in the United
States Court of Appeals by Justice Pratt, ‘‘What interest
would the Internal Revenue Service have solely in a brown
paper bag?”’

1]

As was stated in Dunaway v. New York, 99 S.Ct. at
2259 (1979) ‘‘following Wong Sun, the Court eschewed
any per se or ‘but for’ rule, and identified the relevant in-
quiry as to ‘whether Brown’s statements were obtained by
exploitation of the illegality of the arrest.’’ 422 U.S. at
600, 95 S.Ct. at 2260. When there is a close casual connec-
tion between the illegal seizure and the confession, not on-
ly is exclusion of the evidence more likely to deter similar
police misconduct in the future but also use of the
evidence is more likely to compromise the integrity of the
Courts.

Attenuation under Gissendanner v. Wainwright, 482
F.2d 1293, 1296-7 (Sth Cir. 1973) is inapplicable since
therein it was a third party’s constutitional rights that were
violated and the defendant was deemed not to have stan-
ding and in U.S. v. DiTomasso, 817 F.2d 201 (2d Cir.,
1987), no basis existed to support a motion to suppress in
the record.

There can be no doubt that the actions herein require
that the evidence should have been quarantined to prevent
further spread of any poisonous taint i.e., exploitation of
the illegality.

Brady Material

The rule of Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83, 83 S.Ct.
1194; 10 L.Ed.2d 215 (1967) is as follows: ‘‘the suppres-
sion by the prosecution of evidence favorable to an accus-
ed upon request violates due process where the evidence is
material either to guilt or to punishment, irrespective of
the good or bad faith of the prosecution.’’ The prosecutor
is charged with knowledge of the significance of evidence in
his file even if he has actually overlooked it. U.S. v.
Agurs, 427 U.S. at 110, 96 S.Ct. at 2400. Further the rule

12

in Brady has been expanded to cover situations in which
no request has been made by the defendant for items of ex-
culpatory evidence. Rather in some cases certain evidence
may be of such probative value as to require the pro-
secutor to reveal it to the defendant absent any demand
for it.

It is conceded that the record indicates that Shore
made no motions or requests, except that the government
recommend probation. However, based on Agurs, supra,
the fact that no basis existed for deeming Finazzo, ‘‘a
known narcotics trafficker’? was material to whether a
plea would be taken there can be no doubt that this infor-
mation would have alerted any responsible attorney as to
the violations of petitioner’s Fourth Amendment rights
and would call for more than a possible ‘‘boilerplate’’ mo-
tion.

Although not requested, due to its constitutional
underpinnings, government counsel was under a duty to
give notification of the non-existence of the claim and the
lack of any basis therefor, rather than pursue a course to
attempt to mislead the Court and defense counsel. As was
stated in Bagley, 473 U.S. at 682, 105 S.Ct. at 3384
‘evidence is material only if there is a reasonable pro-
bability that had the evidence been disclosed to the
defense, the result of the proceedings would have been dif-
ferent’’ which is vividly portrayed based on the facts
herein.

Sanctions
Government counsel and agents evidentally with im-

punity can submit or make any conclusory remarks
without sanctions.

13

In Briscoe v. LaHue, 460 U.S. 325 (1986) this Court
held that police officers are absolutely immune from
liability under 42 U.S.C. 1983 for testifying falsely at trial.
The Ninth Circuit held that a police officer who gives per-
jurious testimony during adversarial pre-trial proceedings
is entitled to absolute immunity. Holt v. Castaneda, 832
F.2d 123 (1987). In Malley v. Briggs, 475 U.S. 335 (1986)
the Court held that a police officer who made false
statements to obtain an arrest warrant is entitled to only
qualified immunity.

To the credit of the government in this case, no
testimony was asserted as to any alleged grounds for
deeming Finazzo ‘‘a known narcotic trafficker’’.
However, the camouflage to mislead defense counsel who
asserted he did not see any of the records in this case suc-
ceeded despite Brady and Agurs, supra and other rights
granted by the Fourth and Fifth Amendments to the Con-
stitution.

The Court would be paying mere lip service to the
principle of due process if it sanctioned this prosecution in
face of the revelations in this record.

14

POINT I

PETITIONER DID NOT OBTAIN EFFECTIVE

ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL IN VIOLATION OF

THE SIXTH AMENDMENT TO THE CONSTITL-
TION

A defendant is entitled to the effective assistance of
counsel. Evitts v. Lacev, 469 U.S. 387 (1985). The United
States Supreme Court in Strickland v. Washington, 466
U.S. 668 (1984) established a two-part test for ineffective
assistance of trial counsel - that counsel's performance fell
below an objective standard of reasonabieness and that
there is a reasonable probability of a different result in the
proceedings but for counsel's errors.

Pre-trial discovery procedure evinces a determinai on
that the trial of a criminal charge should not be a spurting
event where each side remains ignorant of the facts in t -
hands of the adversary until events unfold at trial and
enables a defendant to make a more informed plea deci-
sion, minimizes tactical and often unfair advantage to one
side, and increases to some degree the opportunity for an
accurate determination of guilt and innocence.

The criteria for prosecutorial propriety is found in the
classical verbiage of Berger v. U.S., 298 U.S. 78, 88-89
(1938).

‘*The United States Attorney is the representative not
of an ordinary party to a controversy, but of a
sovereignty whose obligation to govern impartially is
as compelling as its obligation to govern at all; and
whose interest therefore, in a criminal prosecution is
not that it shall win a case, but that justice shall be
done. As such, he is in a peculiar and very definite

15

sense the servant of the law, the two-fold aim of
which is that guilt shall not escape or innocence suf-
fer. He may prosecute with earnestness and vigor - in-
deed, he should do so. But while he may strike hard
blows, he is not at liberty to strike foul ones. It is as
much his duty to refrain from improper methods
calculated to produce a wrongful conviction as it is to
use every legitimate means to bring about a just one.”’

It becomes apparent that the U.S. Attorney has an af-
firmative duty to make diligent good faith efforts to ascer-
tain the existence, if any, of constitutional deprivations. If
any is found to exist, to reveal same to the Court and
defense counsel.

Counsel for petitioner herein based on the record,
unequivocally demonstrates a complete lack of investiga-
tion Or preparation whatsoever on the basic defenses
available, constitutional deprivations, illiteracy, failure to
look at or recognize government's discovery, his sole ef-
forts being an attempt to obtain the government’s consent
to recommending probation with regard to a guilty plea.

Although assertedly aware that LoDuca’s primary
defense was illiteracy, i.e., his inability to read or write
English except for his name, no effort was ever made to at-
tempt to ascertain the basis for the government's claim of
documentary evidence that petitioner was literate. He
assumed that the government had a letter or something
else written in English by LoDuca. Only at the hearing on
October 13, 1987, based on the government’s documents
submitted in opposition to his motion to withdraw guilty
plea, did Shore become aware that it was based on a
naturalization petition, the latter he deemed merely in-
dicative of minimal requirements of literacy.

16

Counsel’s comprehension of the guilty plea was so
convoluted that he on September 17, 1987, again in a mo-
tion to withdraw plea of guilty, stated that the Court had
accepted the plea with leave to withdraw it until corrected
by the Court. This original interpretation was transmitted
to the defendant.

It should be noted that this record unequivocally
demonstrates that Shore took no time to review and
prepare both the law and the facts relevant to the defense
and evidently is unfamiliar with or able to employ at trial
basic principles of criminal law and procedure. In the ex-
tant situation, his sole purpose, plea bargaining, being in-
different as to the guilt or innocence of his client.

It must be concluded that based on the cumulative er-
rors particularized above, on basic points essential to any
investigation or representation, mandates the conclusion
that petitioner was denied his right to effective assistance
of counsel and was prejudiced by erroneous advice.
Original counsel, upon being clobbered recognized his er-
roneous advice. But for counsels unprofessional errors,
the result of this proceeding could not have withstood con-
Sstitutional challenges and/or the evidence.

17
CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

MURRAY APPLEMAN
A Member of the Bar
of the United States Supreme Court
Attorney for Petitioner

225 Broadway

3%h Floor

New York, NY 10007

(212) 349-6966

ee

la

APPENDIX A—ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated Term of the United States Court of Ap-
peals for the Second Circuit, held at the United States
Courthouse in the City of New York on the 9th day of
March, one thousand nine hundred and eighty-eight.

PRESENT:
HON. WILFREi? FEINBERG, Chief Judge
HON. GEORGE C. PRATT, Circuit Judge
HON. PETER C. DORSEY, District Judge, for the
District of Connecticut, sitting by designation.

ee eee eee eee eee

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Appellee,
-agalnst-
PETER LO DUCA,

No. 87-1483

This case came on to be heard on a transcript of the
record and was argued.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now
ordered that the judgment appealed from be and hereby is
AFFIRMED.

Appellant Peter Lo Duca appeals from a judgment of
the United States District Court for the Eastern District of
New York (I. Leo Glasser Judge), denying his motion to
withdraw his guilty plea to a charge of understating in-
come in violation of 26 U.S.C. §7206(1). Lo Duca claims

2a

he was denied effective assistance of counsel based on a
variety Of purported failures by trial counsel, including a
failure to move to suppress evidence and correctly to ad-
vise him with regard to the consequences of his plea.

None of Lo Duca’s arguments has merit. Any sup-
pression motion with regard to evidence seized at the time
of Lo Duca’s arrest would have been irrelevant at best,
since the government had no intention of introducing the
evidence at trial, a fact known to defense counsel prior to
acceptance of the plea agreement. Moreover, the failure to
move to suppress the evidence was not raised in the motion
below and therefore is not properly before us.

As to the claim that Lo Duca did not understand the
consequences of his plea because of his limited facility in
English and the failure of counsel to explain the ramifica-
tions, the record amply supports the conclusion that Lo
Duca—an extremely successful and sophisticated
businessman—did, in fact, understand English sufficiently
well to grasp the plea agreement, as well as the income
Statement on which he understated his income. The plea
allocution was conducted in conformity with rule 11, and
therein Lo Duca made clear that he understood what he
was doing and the potential consequences.

We have considered the remaining arguments raised
by Lo Duca and find them to be without merit.

s/ Wilfred Feinberg
Wilfred Feinberg, U.S.C.J.

s/ George C. Pratt
George C. Pratt, U.S.C.J.

S/ Peter C. Dorsey
Peter C. Dorsey, U.S.D.J.

3a

N.B. THIS SUMMARY ORDER WILL NOT BE
PUBLISHED IN THE FEDERAL REPORTER AND
SHOULD NOT BE CITED OR OTHERWISE RELIED
UPON IN UNRELATED CASES BEFORE THIS OR
ANY OTHER COURT.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1713%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
