# Opposition Brief — City of Long Beach v. Southwest Aircraft Services, Inc., 108 S. Ct. 2848 (1988) (No. 87-1787)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1682%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988

## Text

Supreme Coutt, US,
FILED
() | wav 26 1908
Meal
No. 87-1787 woeuiear "eae:

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1987

City oF LONG BEACH,
“= Petitioner,

VS.

SOUTHWEST AIRCRAFT SERVICES, INC.,

Respondent.

OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTI-
ORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

RICHARD K. DIAMOND*
DANNING, GILL, GOULD, DIAMOND
& SPECTOR
1800 Century Park East,
7th Floor
Los Angeles, California 90067
(213) 277-0077

Attorneys for Respondent

* Counsel of Record

Bowne of Los Angeles, Inc., Law Printers + (213) 742-6600

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TE GO SAREE ioc ce sec cncsesecccceses 1
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT ................... 4
pd , PEPE STE PENT TET TTEE LEP UTOE TELE 6

A. This Petition Raises No Special And Impor-
tant Reasons For The Court To Exercise Its

Discretion To Grant Certiorari............. 6
B. The Decision Below Raises No Conflict
Between The Circuit Courts Of Appeal...... 10

C. The Decision Below Does Not Decide An
Important Question Of Federal Law In A Man-
ner Conflicting With The Prior Decisions Of
po Rr ere ee eee re 11

D. Rather Than Disrupt The Bankruptcy System,
The Decision Of The Lower Court Will Pro-
mote Administration Of Cases Consistent
With Congressional Intent................. 18

a | ee eeey eee eer ee rT er eee 20

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases
Page
Bethesda Hosp. Ass’n v. Bowen, 108 S.Ct. 1255, 1259
CHORD 6.6 04nd dn ca\ edn ven whee eee as 13
Burns Fabricating Co., In re, 61 Bankr. 955 (Bankr. _
BR es Dk cu cow dncdcacimaseueeeees 17
By-Rite Distributing, Inc., In re, 55 Bankr. 740
CE WR: Be ob dane nccsArewerecuneens 10, 16, 17
Calhoon v. Harvey, 379 U.S. 134 (1964) .......... 11
Cleveland Board of Education v. La Fluer, 414 U.S.
GER, GOUGE Oi COO hs hak caakceccantsesus 11
Church of the Holy Trinity v. United States, 143 U.S.
457, 460 CIGGR) ..0..0kcnccucs Siem bawe eer oaks 14
INS v. Cardoza-Fonseca, 107 S.Ct. 1207, 1213 n.12
fs ere ee ot ee NAY Ok 13
Musikahn Corp., In re, 57 Bankr. 938 (Bankr.
| iS | rer ee et pp aie 15, 16
Perry v. Commerce Loan _Co., 383 U.S. 392, 400
(TOES) oi on cn ceed ccacds Oba eee eee eas 15
Rector, Etc., of Holy Trinity Church v. U.S., 143
Uw. GBT, Ge Cee xa h beaches coe 14, 15
Rice v. Sioux City Memorial Park Cemetery, Inc., 349
ie Se Fe | ey ere ee Oe eel eee 7
Tigr Restaurant, Inc. v. Rouse 8.I. Shopping Center,
Inc., 79 Bankr. 954 (E.D. N.Y. 1987) ........... 10, 1
Train v. Colorado Public Interest Research -:roup,
GG U.. 1 CRP sd a 4s weeks ten ee ksi 12,13
Unit Portions of Delaware, Inc., In re, 53 Bankr.
SB Ciba. TDD. WET. Biles ohc 6 sa wncisa scence 15,17

United States v. James, 106 S.Ct. 3116, 3121 (1986) 13

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Page

U.S. v. American Trucking Assns., 310 U.S. 534, 542
a Tr ER RS rags a8 A a a 15

Victoria Station, Inc., In re, 840 F.2d 682 (9th Cir.
ee ee an Pee ie ics b ok bdee sees 10
Ward v. Illinois, 431 U.S. 767, 770-771 (1977) .... = 11
Watt v. Alaska, 451 U.S. 259 (1981) ............. 13, 14

Statutes

Nok esc eked eeesesease 5
EE 19
ee kaa c ks eases adc eekeevaes 19
i SE) rer 4,5, 10, 15, 18
Cee Te ee ey kan eeu wane wu de ee ¥s 19
Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978 ................ 19

Bankruptcy Amendments and Federal Judgeship
oS 2 | a ee CO AEA fae ea 19

Rules
Rules of the Supreme Court, Rule 17............ 4,7,8
Miscellaneous

130 Cong. Rec. S-8894-95 (remarks of Senator

Hatch) reprinted in U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.
ue al. es aw 6 wh 04 Ose Ow kA 16

No. 87-1787

In The Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

October Term, 1987

City oF LONG BEACH,
Petitioner,

vs.

SOUTHWEST AIRCRAFT SERVICES, INC.,
Respondent.

OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

STATEMENT OF CASE

On June 1, 1971, the City of Long Beach (‘Petitioner’)
and Bob’s entered into a lease (hereinafter the “lease’’)
whereby Bob’s Aircraft and Industrial Cleaning Co., Inc.
(‘‘Bob’s’’) leased certain business premises located at the
Long Beach Airport for a period of twenty-five (25)
years. At this time, the lease term has approximately
eight (8) years remaining. In compliance with the lease’s
requirements, Bob’s improved the premises with a con-
erete and asphalt-covered washrack facility for washing,
stripping paint from, painting, cleaning and maintaining

aircraft.

2

On January 31, 1976, Bob’s assigned its interest in the
lease to Southwest Aircraft Services, Inc. (“Respon-
dent’’). By the assignment, Respondent agreed to assume
Bob’s obligations under the lease. Petitioner consented to
the assignment but did not release Bob’s from its obliga-
tions under the lease.

Respondent’s normal business activities require the
spraying of various chemicals on airplanes which cannot
be accomplished without some overspray travelling onto
adjoining property. From 1971, when the lease was first
entered into, until 1982, the adjoining property was va-
cant or used for purposes which would not result in injury
by the overspray. In 1982, the City leased the adjoining
properties to Aerolease-Long Beach and thereafter, by
sublease, to Atlantic Aviation Corporation (‘Atlantic’)
for the purpose of developing a new jet facility at the
airport.

The new jet facility’s operation is entirely inconsistent
with the continued operation of respondent’s business
because of the inevitable overspray. As a result, Atlantic
commenced an action seeking to enjoin Respondent from
spraying airplanes on its premises and Respondent com-
menced two actions against Petitioner seeking damages
for inverse condemnation. Not only has the change in use
of the adjoining property made Respondent’s business
inconsistent with its new neighbors, it has also made
Respondent’s leasehold more valuable and the termina-
tion of the lease of significant interest to Petitioner. The
termination of the lease will permit the further develop-
ment of the jet facility onto Respondent’s present prem-
ises. Thus, the effect of an order rejecting the lease and
deeming it terminated would be to grant a considerable
windfall to Petitioner which, given Respondent’s contin-
ued willingness to pay all of the accrued rent under the

3

lease, Petitioner would not be entitled to receive but for
the effect of such an order.

On April 18, 1985, Respondent commenced its Chapter
11 case by filing a voluntary petition for relief. Prior to
the commencement of its Chapter 11 case, Respondent
had paid the monthly rental due under the lease for the
periods through and including the month of February
1985 and had tendered checks in payment of the March
and April rent. However, after the commencement of the
Chapter 11 case, the checks for the March and April rent
were returned to Petitioner not honored because the
account upon which they were issued was closed at the
commencement of the case and all the funds were trans-
ferred to new accounts established in the name of the
Chapter 11 estate. Respondent did not make any pay-
ments to Petitioner after the commencement of the Chap-
ter 11 case as a result of a misunderstanding as to its
obligation in this regard.

On June 14, 1985, Respondent filed its Motion to
Extend Time to Assume or Reject Executory Contracts
and Unexpired Leases (“Motion to Extend Time’)
whereby it sought to extend the time within which it could
assume or reject the lease for a period of 180 days after
June 17, 1985, the sixtieth day following the filing of the
Chapter 11 case. A hearing on the motion was held on
July 17, 1985. At that hearing, both Bob’s and Respon-
dent tendered payment of all outstanding rental pay-
ments then due under the lease. However, the City
rejected these tenders. The bankruptcy court ruled that it
lacked authority to grant the Motion to Extend Time
after sixty days from the commencement of the Chapter
1] case even though the motion seeking such relief had
been filed within that sixty day period. The Bankruptcy
Appellate Panel for the Ninth Circuit affirmed this deci-

4

sion. However, the Ninth Cireuit Court of Appeals
reversed.

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals held that if cause to
extend the time to assume or reject a lease arises within
the sixty day period and a motion is made within that
period, the bankruptcy court may grant the extension
even after the sixty days has expired. It is this decision
which Petitioner seeks to have reviewed by the grant of
the present Petition for Writ of Certiorari (the
Petition”).

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Petition notably fails to cite Rule 17 of the Rules of
the Supreme Court. A review of the Petition makes the
reason for this omission clear; none of the special and
important reasons required by the Rule for granting the
petition exist in this case. The decision of the Ninth
Cireuit Court of Appeals determined the purely procedu-
ral issue of whether a timely filed Chapter 11 trustee’s or
debtor-in-possession’s motion to extend the time to as-
sume or reject a lease of nonresidential real estate must
be determined by the court within sixty days after the
commencement of the case or, as the lower court decided,
such a motion could be ruled upon by the Court, if filed
within the sixty days and establishing cause for an exten-
sion arising within that time, although heard thereafter.’

'Seetion 365(d) (4) provides as follows:

“Notwithstanding paragraphs (1) and (2), in a case under any
chapter of this title, if the trustee does not assume or reject an
unexpired lease of nonresidential real property under which the
debtor is the lessee within 60 days after the date of the order for
relief, or within such additional time as the court, for cause,
within such 60-day period, fixes, then such lease is deemed

5

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals decided the case as
a matter of first impression and is the only Court of
Appeals to have considered the issue. Thus there is no
conflict between the circuits. Moreover, the only other
appellate decisions interpreting the code section, which
are district court decisions, are consistent with the deci-
sion below. Thus, there is not even a conflict of any
appellate law at issue.

The only grounds for granting the Petition asserted by
petitioner are that the Ninth Cireuit Court of Appeals
allegedly failed to adhere to this Court’s prior decisions
concerning the proper method to interpret statutes and
that the circuit’s new method of construction, if applied to
eliminate other time frames in the Bankruptcy Code, 11
U.S.C. § 101 et seq., will disrupt the administration of
bankruptcy cases.

The Petitioner is wrong in these assertions. The Ninth
Circuit Court of Appeals followed well established prece-
dent in interpreting Section 365(d) (4) of the Bankruptcy
Code, 11 U.S.C. § 365(d) (4). Petitioner believes that the
statutory language required: no interpretation and that,
therefore, to resort to legislative history was inappropri-
ate. However, the rule of strict construction it espouses is
erroneous for several reasons. First, the statutory lan-
guage is ambiguous and susceptible to various interpreta-
tions thus requiring resort to extrinsic sources to
determine congressional intent. Second, even in the ab-
sence of any ambiguities this Court’s prior precedents,
both those cited by Petitioner and others, permit a court
to examine legislative history as well as other sources to
ascértain if the statutory language reflects the legislative
purpose and intent. Finally, the legislative history, in-

rejected, and the trustee shall immediately surrender such non-
residential real property to the lessor.

6

eluding that to which Petitioner points, establishes that
the purpose of the statute, to provide certainty to land--
lords while protecting the bankruptcy estate’s need to
investigate and preserve its assets, is carried into effect
by the rule adopted below but would be frustrated by
Petitioner’s interpretation. The Ninth Circuit’s recogni-
tion of the requirement that a motion to extend the time
to assume or reject a lease must be filed and served within
the sixty day period after the commencement of the case
insures that the landlord will have the prompt notice of
the trustee’s or debtor’s intent. Thus, the certainty which
Congress desired, as evidenced by the legislative history,
is accomplished by the interpretation of the statute
adopted by the decision below.

Petitioner’s attempt to broaden the scope of the deci-
sion below to effect other time limits in the Bankruptcy
Cede is a thinly disguised effort to make the decision of
greater moment than is merited by the facts of the case,
the language of the decision or the court’s holdings. This
slippery slope argument ignores the actual holding and
the court’s analysis as well as the obvious distinctions
between the different statutes, circumstances, legislative
histories and congressional purposes involved. The deci-
sion does not in any way impact on the other statutes
cited and none of the issues thus raised would be before
this Court on review.

ARGUMENT

A. This Petition Raises No Special And Important
Reasons For Thé Court To Exercise Its Discretion
To Grant Certiorari.

Review of the decision in this matter by writ of certio-
rari is a matter solely within the Supreme Court’s discre-

E

7

tion and a petition for writ of certiorari should be granted
only upon a showing of a need for the Court to exercise its
role as the ultimate arbiter of the nation’s laws. Thus,
certiorari should be granted only when the petition raises
issues the resolution of which are of significant impor-
tance to the public as distinct from the parties. Rice v.
Sioux City Memorial Park Cemetery, Inc., 349 U.S. 70
(1955). As the court explained in the Rice opinion,

“A federal question raised by a petitioner may be ‘of
substance’ in the sense that, abstractly considered, it
may present an intellectually interesting and solid
problem. But this Court does not sit to satisfy a
scholarly interest in such issues. Nor does it sit for
the benefit of the particular litigants...

‘Special and important reasons’ imply a reach to a
problem beyond the academic or the episodic.”

Id. at 74 (citations omitted).

The court in Rice concluded its opinion with the follow-
ing quote from Judge Taft:

“TI]t is very important that we be consistent in not
granting the writ of certiorari except in cases involv-
ing principles the settlement of which is of impor-
tance to the public, as distinguished from that cf the
parties, and in cases where there is a real and
embarrassing conflict of opinion and authority be-
tween the Circuit Courts of Appeals. Layne & Bowler
Corp. v. Western Well Works, Inc., 261 U.S. 387, 393,
43 S.Ct. 422, 423, 67 L.Ed. 712.”

Id. at 79.

These considerations are embodied in the Rules of the
Supreme Court, Rule 17. That rule provides as follows:

8

“Rule 17. Considerations Governing Review on
Certiorari

.1. A review on writ of certiorari is not a matter of
right, but of judicial discretion, and will be granted
only when there are special and important reasons
therefor. The following, while neither controlling nor
fully measuring the Court’s discretion, indicate the
character of reasons that will be considered.

(a) When a federal court of appeals has rendered
a decision in conflict with the decision of another
federal court of appeals on the same matter; or has
decided a federal question in a way in conflict with a
state court of last resort; or has so far departed from
the accepted and usual course of judicial proceed-
ings, or so far sanctioned such a departure by a lower
court, as to call for an exercise of this Court’s power
of supervision.

(b) When a state court of last resort has decided
a federal question in a way in conflict with the
decision of another state court of last resort or of a
federal court of appeals.

(ec) When a state court or a federal court of
appeals has decided an important question of federal
law which has not been, but should be, settled by this
Court, or has decided a federal qvestion in a way in
conflict with applicable decisions of this Court.

.2. The same general considerations outlined above
will control in respect of petitions for writs of certio-
rari to review judgments of the United States Court
of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, the United States
Court of Military Appeals, and of any other court
whose judgments are reviewable by law on writ of
certiorari.”

EE

9

The language of this rule governing the circumstances
under which review by certiorari is appropriate has re-
mained essentially unchanged for over 60 years. The
principles which are embodied in it have guided the
Court’s exercise of its discretionary power of review in
order to shape the body of Supreme Court decisions
around those issues which impact on the development of
national law and involve principles of significant public
interest. Yet the Petitioner in this case has neither cited
the rule nor pointed to a single “special and important
reason” for granting certiorari, whether of the kind illus-
trated in the rule or otherwise. The reason for this
omission is obvious; while the Ninth Circuit Court of
Appeals’ decision is of significant importance to Peti-
tioner in that it prevents it from reaping the windfall
described hereinabove, no issue of national importance is
raised in that decision. The decision determines the man-
ner of application of a time deadline to a minor procedu-
ral issue in federal bankruptcy practice. Simply put, the
Court of Appeals has decided that a motion seeking an
extension of time must be filed and cause for the exten-
sion must exist by a date certain but the bankruptcy court
can decide the motion, within its normal procedures for
controlling its calendar, after that date. Notwithstanding
Petitioner’s protestations, neither the consistent adminis-
tration of federal bankruptcy law nor the foundations of
statutory interpretation have been threatened by this
result. Rather, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals
adopted a rule of sufficient certainty to provide consistent
administration of the law through an exercise of statutory
construction well within the precedents of this court.

10

B. The Decision Below Raises No Conflict Between
The Circuit Courts Of Appeal.

The decision below is the only decision yet issued by
any of the Circuit Courts of Appeal on the issue of the
interpretation of the provisions of 11 U.S.C. § 365(d) (4)
concerning the time limitation for the filing and determi-
nation of a motion to extend the time to assume or reject
a lease. Indeed, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals is also
the only Circuit to address the closely related issue of the
effect of the section on a motion to assume filed within
sixty days but decided after the time limit. In re Victoria
Station, Inc., 840 F.2d 682 (9th Cir. 1988). Thus, there
exists no conflict between the Circuits which would pre-
sent a need for resolution by this Court in order to insure
a uniform application of federal law.

Moreover, the only decision by any courts acting in an
appellate capacity are consistent with the decision below.
In In re By-Rite Distributing, Inc., 55 Bankr. 740 (D. Utah
1985) District Judge Jenkins reviewed the holding of the
bankruptcy court previously relied upon by the Bank-
ruptey Court in the present case. The district court’s
decision, which is consistent with In re Victoria Station,
Inc., supra, held that 11 U.S.C. §365(d)(4) did not
require approval of a motion to assume a lease within
sixty days from the commencement of the case if the
motion was filed within that time. Similarly, in Tigr
Restaurant, Inc., v. Rouse S8.I. Shopping Center, Inc., 79
Bankr. 954 (E.D. N.Y. 1987). District Judge Dearie
acting in an appellate capacity, reversed the bankruptcy
court and held that subsequent extensions of the time to
assume or reject were allowed if motions were filed within
the time of earlier, properly granted extensions.

Thus, every appellate court considering the section in
question has interpreted it consistently with the decision

11

below to require a motion which is filed within sixty days
to be decided by the bankruptcy court after that time. The
only conflicting decisions are at the trial court level and
certainly raise no issue of national importance to be
resolved by this court. See, Cleveland Board of Education
v. La Fluer, 414 U.S. 632, 638-639 n.8 (1974); Ward v.
Illinois, 431 U.S. 767, 770-771; (1977); Calhoon v. Harvey,
379 U.S. 1384 (1964).

C. The Decision Below Does Not Decide An Impor-
tant Question Of Federal Law In A Manner Con-
flicting With The Prior Decisions Of This Court.

The Petitioner does not directly assert either that the
Ninth Cireuit’s holding raises an undecided substantial
issue of federal law which should be determined by this
court or that it is in conflict with prior decisions of this
court. Rather the asserted reasons for granting the Peti-
tion are to correct what Petitioner describes as the formu-
lation of a supposedly new cannon of statutory
construction which if applied to other provisions of the
Bankruptcy Code not here at issue, will have a disruptive
effect. However, neither of Petitioner’s premises is viable.

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals followed long
settled legal principles of interpretation in reaching its
decision. The “slippery slope” of disrupted bankruptcy
administration which Petitioner forsees is simply the
untenable misinterpretation and misapplication of the
principles upon which the lower court’s decision was
based.

The only conflict with this Court’s decisions pointed out
by Petitioner is a supposed disregard for the proper
method of statutory construction. Petitioner’s argument
is that Congress’ intent may be determined solely by
reference to the language of the statute itself and that

12

reference to any extrinsic source, including legislative
history, to determine that intent was improper. However,
Petitioner’s position in this regard is erroneous in two
respects.

First, as the decision below points out, the statutory
language is not free from ambiguity. It is susceptible to
multiple meanings as a result of the placement and
punctuation of the modifying clause “within such 60-day
period.” It is unclear simply from the statute’s language
whether the clause modifies the time period during which
cause for extension must exist or the period within which
the court must act, or both. If the first meaning were
intended, it would have better been expresed by omitting
the comma following the word “cause.” If the second
meaning is correct, the phrase would best be placed after
the work “fixes.”” If the phrase was meant to condition
both the existence of cause and the entry of the court’s
order, the word “fixes” would better have been placed
after “court.” In any event, while one can argue which of
the available interpretations is “stronger’’, this is not a
ease where Petitioner’s “plain meaning” rule could apply.

More importantly, this Court’s prior decisions do not
enunciate the strict literalist approach presented by Peti-
tioner. Neither the cases cited ‘n the Petition nor the
balance of the vast body of Supreme Court precedent
addressing statutory construction adopt a rule which
precludes seeking the intent of Congress from sources
other than the language of the specific code section at
issue. Indeed, such a position has been specifically re-
jected by this Court. Train v. Colorado Public Interest
Research Group, 426 U.S. 1 (1976). In that ease the Ninth
Cireuit Court of Appeals, regarding the statutory lan-

13

guage as unambiguous, did not concern itself with legisla-
tive history. This Court reversed stating:

“To the extent that the Court of Appeals excluded
reference to the legislative history of the FWPCA in
discerning its meaning, the court was in error. As we
have noted before: ‘When aid to construction of the
meaning of words, as used in the statute, is available,
there certainly can be no ‘rule of law’ which forbids
its use, however clear the words may appear on
‘superficial examination.’ ”’

Id. at 9.

Indeed, in each of the cases relied upon by Petitioner,
many of which were relied upon by the court below, the
Supreme Court did review sources of legislative intent
beyond the statutory language concluding from those
materials that the congressional purpose was reflected in
the language used. The cases cited do not stand for the
proposition asserted by Petitioner that no such review is
permitted. See, e.g., INS v. Cardoza-Fonseca, 107 S.Ct.
1207, 1213 n.12 (1987); United States v. James, 106 S.Ct.
3116, 3121 (1986); Bethesda Hosp. Ass’n v. Bowen, 108
S.Ct. 1255, 1259. Rather, the proper method of statutory
analysis, which was the course followed by the Ninth
Circuit Court of Appeals in this matter, was explained by
the Court in Watt v. Alaska, 451 U.S. 259 (1981) as
follows:

“We agree with the Secretary that ‘[t]he starting
point in every case involving construction of a statute
is the language itself.’ Blue Chip Stamps v. Manor
Drug Stores, 421 U.S. 723, 756, 95 S.Ct. 1917, 1935,
44 L.Ed.2d 539 (1975) (POWELL, J. concurring).
See, Rubin v. United States, 449 U.S. 424, 1010 S.Ct.
698, 66 L.Ed.2d 633 (1981). But ascertainment of
the meaning apparent on the face of a single statute

14

need not end the inquiry. Train v. Colorado Public
Interest Research Group, 426 U.S. 1, 10, 96 S.Ct. 1938,
1942, 48 L.Ed.2d 434 (1976); United States v. Ameri-
can Trucking Assns., Inc., 310 U.S. 534, 543-544, 60
S.Ct. 1059, 1063-1064, 84 L.Ed. 1345 (1940). This is
because the plain-meaning rule is ‘rather an axiom of
experience than a rule of law, and does not preclude
consideration of persuasive evidence if it exists.’
Boston Sand Co. v. United States, 278 U.S. 41, 48, 49
S.Ct. 52, 54, 73 L.Ed. 170 (1928) (Homes, J.). The
circumstances of the enactment of particular legisla-
tion may persuade a court that Congress did not
intend words of common meaning to have their literal
effect.” E.g., Church of the Holy Trinity v. Umted
States, 143 U.S. 457, 459, 36 L.Ed. 226 (1892); United
States v. Ryan, 284 U.S. 167, 175, 52 S.Ct. 65, 68, 76
L.Ed. 224 (1931).

“Sole reliance on the ‘plain language’ of § 401(a)
would assume the answer to the question at issue.”
Id. at 265. (footnote omitted)

The Supreme Court has held that a court has a duty to
look beyond the language of a statute where a literal
reading would produce absurd, unintended, or manifestly
unjust results. In the case of Rector, Etc., of Holy Trimty
Church v. U.S., 143 U.S. 457, 460 (1892), the Supreme
Court stated as follows:

“Tf a literal construction of the words of a statute be
absurd, the act must be so construed as to avoid the
absurdity.”

The Supreme Court went on to state as follows:

“{A]nother guide to the meaning of a statute is
found in the evil which it is designed to remedy; and
for this the court properly looks at contemporaneous

ls

15

events, the situation as it existed, and as it was
pressed upon the attention of the legislative body.”
143 U.S. at 513.

In the case of U.S. v. American Trucking Assns., 310
U.S. 534, 542 (1940), the Supreme Court expanded upon
the function of a court in construing statutory language
where literal adherence would be absurd, futile, or
unreasonable:

“In the interpretation of statutes, the function of the
courts is...to construe the language so as to give
effect to the intent of Congress.... Often [the]
words [of the statute] are sufficient in and of them-
selves to determine the purpose of the legislation. In
such cases we have followed their plain meaning.
When that meaning has led to absurd or futile re-
sults, however, this Court has looked beyond the
words to the purpose of the act... [EH ]ven when the
plain meaning did not produce absurd results but
merely an unreasonable one ‘plainly at variance with
the policy of the legislation as a whole’ this Court has
followed that purpose rather than the literal words.”
Id. (emphasis in original.)

The Supreme Court reaffirmed the holdings of Holy
Trimty and American Trucking in its decision in Perry v.
Commerce Loan Co., 383 U.S. 392, 400 (1966), and those
decisions have been consistently adhered to by courts
when confronted by statutory language found to produce
absurd, unintended or unreasonable results.

The Ninth Cireuit Court of Appeals construction of 11
U.S.C. § 365(d) (4) in this case is consistent with the
congressional intent in enacting the statute. In re Unit
Portions of Delaware, Inc., 53 Bankr. 83 (Bankr. E.D.N.Y.
1985); In re Musikahn Corp., 57 Bankr. 938 (Bankr.

16

E.D.N.Y., 1986); Tigr Restaurant, Inc. v. Rouse S8.I. Shop-
ping Center, Inc., supra. The legislative history of Section
365 (d) (4) indicates that the problem the section “would
remedy is the long-term vacancy or partial operation of
space by a bankruptcy tenant.” 130 Cong. Rec. S-8894-95
(remarks of Senator Hatch) reprinted in U.S. Code Cong.
& Admin. News 599 (1984). The section was designed to
eliminate the extended period of uncertainty as to the
debtor’s intention which could exist under prior law and
was originally directed at shopping center lease. Although
expanded to all nonresidential leases, the section was not
designed to provide landlords with protection from every
adverse consequence of a tenant’s bankruptcy. See, In re
By-Rite Distributing, Inc., 55 Bankr. 740 (Bankr. D. Utah
1985).

As the bankruptcy court in In re Unit Portions of
Delaware, Inc., supra, stated:

“By requiring the trustee to make a decision concern-
ing the lease within the 60-day period, or show cause
why he needs additional time to do so, the statute
protects adverse parties against delays caused by the
trustee’s failure to investigate whether the lease
should be assumed. No possible statutory purpose is
served by terminating the estate’s interest in the lease
merely because the court could not hear or decide the
issue within the 60-day period.

“A trustee who has requested a hearing for an
extension of time within the prescribed period, and
who makes a prima facie case of his need for the
additional time has done ali he can to obtain the
extension. It would be absurd to deny his request and
cause the estate to forfeit a potentially critical asset
merely because the trustee’s motion was not decided
until after the expiration of the 60-day period. The

—————

17

court finds no evidence in the legislative history or in
the overall statutery scheme to indicate Congress in-
tended such a result.” 53 Bankr. at 85 (emphasis
added, citations omitted).

The conclusion reached by the court in Unit Portions of
Delaware, Inc., supra, was agreed with by the United
States District Court for the District of Utah in its
decision reversing the Bankruptcy Court decision primar-
ily relied upon by the City, and the Bankruptcy Court in
this ease. The District Court in Jn re By-Rite Distributing,
Inc., supra, held as follows:

“The bankruptcy court’s interpretation of section
365(d) (4) would actually defeat the stated legisla-
tive intent by giving the trustee less than the full
sixty days to make up his mind. If the trustee has to
get court approval within the sixty days, he would
have to decide whether or not to assume the lease
and file his motion for assumption much earlier, to
allow time for the required notice, the filing of any
objections and the required hearing. See Bankruptcy
Rule 6006. In complex cases especially, such a re-
quirement would unduly tax the trustee, who must
also calculate assets and debts, determine creditors
and file schedules soon after the filing of the petition.
The result would likely be that trustees would rou-
tinely file for extensions of the sixty-day period,
leading to the very evil that section 365(d)(4) was
meant to cure — costly delay.” 55 Bankr. at 745
(emphasis in original).

See also, In re Burns Fabricating Co., 61 Bankr. 955
(Bankr. E.D. Mich. 1986). :

While petitioner might wish congressional intent to
have been to provide lessors with every protection con-

18

ceivable, the scope of Section 365(d) (4) is not so broad.
As the court below recognized, the section’s intent was to
provide certainty to the relationship between landlords
and tenants in bankruptcy cases, while preserving the
estate’s ability to demonstrate a need for additional time
to assume valuable leasehold interests which might be
erucial to a reorganization. The decision of the Ninth
Cireuit Court of Appeals properly ascertained and imple-
mented that intent.

D. Rather Than Disrupt The Bankruptcy System, The
Decision Of The Lower Court Will Promote Ad-
ministration Of Cases Consistent With Congres
sional Intent. ,

Petitioner, apparently in an effort to elevate to a level
of national importance a dispute actually concerning the
purely procedural issue of the scheduling of hearings,
raises the specters of increased uncertainty for lessors
and a host of as yet unvisited evils in other areas of
bankruptcy law unrelated to the present case. The peti-
tioner’s arguments in this regard misconstrue the deci-
sion below in order to create uncertainties where none
exist and attribute to the lower courts an unfounded
predilection toward destructiveness not evident in this or
other decisions. The parade of horribles predicted by
petitioner are neither mandated by the holding of the
decision sought to be reviewed nor are they foreseeable
based upon the lower court’s analysis.

With respect to the decision’s actual holding that the
bankruptcy court may determine a motion for an exten-
tion filed within sixty days of the commencement of the
ease after the expiration of that time, petitioner asserts
that the congressional purpose of providing certainty for
landlords is frustrated because “any debtor or trustee

—

19

who misses or miscalculates one of these time limits may
seek to avoid the consequences of its own inaction.”
Petition, p. 18. However, the Ninth Cireuit Court of
Appeals’ holding does not create any such risk. The
opinion requires the motion to be served and filed within
the sixty day period. Thus, the landlord must receive
notice of the debtor’s or trustee’s intention within the
sixty day time frame as Congress envisioned. In the
unlikely event that the hearing on the motion is unduly
delayed by the debtor, the Ninth Cireuit Court of Ap-
peal’s decision, at worst, shifts the obligation to advance
the hearing date to the landlord. However, the notice
procedure adopted is precisely analogous to the legisla-
tive history accompanying the enactment of the section
and to that of prior versions recited at page 14 of the
Petition. The landlord will receive notice within the first
sixty days of the trustee’s or debtor’s intentions.

The supposed impact of the decision on Sections 108,
362 and 1124 of the Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. $§ 108,
362 and 1124, is simply specious. The decision has no
impact on those sections whatsoever. The statutory lan-
guage, legislative history and related statutory frame-
work are entirely distinct from that considered below.
Those sections were enacted as a part of the original
Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978, not the Bankruptcy
Amendments and Federal Judgeship Act of 1984 and
reflect entirely distinct statutory language, legislative
purposes and goals. Petitioner's attempt to read the
decision below as affecting these sections is simply an
attempt to distort the decision’s scope beyond any war-
ranted by the pertinent facts, the lower court’s holding or
the language used in order to magnify the decisions
supposed impact and thus the importance of review. This
effort shouid be rejected.

20

CONCLUSION

The petition demonstrates no special and important
reasons for granting review by certiorari in this case. The
issue of the scheduling of hearings on motions to extend
the time to assume or reject leases in bankruptcy cases is
not inherently of national importance and there is no
conflict among the circuits.

Moreover, the Ninth Cireuit Court of Appeals neither
adopted a new method of statutory construction in the
abstract nor did it apply existing precedent erroneously.
Rather, it properly ascertained Congressional intent and
adopted a rule effectuating that intent. The decision
below provides a rule of certainty and fairness which
requires no further review. Therefore, the Petition for
Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit filed on behalf of the City of Long
Beach should be denied.

DATED: May 26, 1988
Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD K. DIAMOND*
DANNING, GILL, GOULD, DIAMOND
& SPECTOR

By RICHARD K. DIAMOND
Attorneys for Respondent

* Counsel of Reeord.

PROOF OF SERVICE BY MAIL

I am a citizen of the United States and a resident of the
City and County of Los Angeles; I am over the age of
eighteen years and not a party to the within action; my
business address is: 1706 Maple Avenue, Los Angeles,
California.

On May 26, 1988, I served the within Opposition To
Petition for Writ of Certiorari in re: “City of Long Beach
vs. Southwest Aircraft Services, Inc.” in the United
States Supreme Court, October Term 1987, No. 87-1987;

On the Parties in said action, by placing Three copies
thereof enclosed in a sealed envelope with postage fully
prepaid, in the United States post office mail box at Los
Angeles, California, addressed as follows:

John R. Calhoun, City Attorney

Roger P. Freeman, Deputy City Attorney
City of Long Beach

333 West Ocean Boulevard, Suite 1100
Long Beach, California 90802

Robert H. Shutan*

Bruce A. Markell

Jennifer L. Corston

Sidley & Austin

2049 Century Park East, Suite 3500
Los Angeles, California 90067

(213) 553-8100

Thomas A. Freiberg, Jr.

Richards, Watson & Gershon

333 South Hope Street, 38th Floor

Los Angeles, California 90071
Counsel for Petitioner

All parties required to be served-have been served.

I certify, under penalty of perjury, that the foregoing is
true and correct.

Executed on May 26, 1988, at Los Angeles, California

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1682%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
