# Opposition Brief — Pender County Board of Education v. Piver

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1671%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 487 U.S. 1206

## Text

1

No. 87-1773

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1987

4.
—

PENDER COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION, et al.,

Petitioners,
vs.

EDWIN G. PIVER,
Respondent.

he

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT
OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

sa.
4

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT
IN OPPOSITION

7%
—_

WILLIAM R. SHELL
P. 0. Box 382
Wilmington, NC 28402-0382

(919) 343-1567
Attorney for Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-696
OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Court of Appeals decision violated
established precedent by failing to make any holding as
to whether the speech in question was a substantial or
motivating factor resulting in the complained of trans-
fer, and as to whether the respondert would have been
transferred irregardless of his protected activities?

2. Whether the Court of Appeals’ application of the
Pickering balancing test substantially complied with
the accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings as
the decision (1) was based on facts in evidence and
furthermore was not based on unresolved questions of
material facts decided in the first instance by the Courv
of Appeals in Respondent’s favor without benefit of
factual findings by the District Court and (2) is not
inconsistent with this Court’s recent decision in Rankin
v. McPherson and other decisions of this Court and
several of the Circuit Courts?

3. Whether the Court of Appeals held that the commu-
nity interest in the content of a public employee’s
speech provides that speech with absolute first amend-
ment protection, regardless of its form or context, and
whether the Fourth Circuit erroneously interpreted
this Court’s decisions and is in conflict with other Fec-
eral Circuit Courts?

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTIONS PRESEN A ats oso scs sss ciscaenevens i
TABLE OF CORTICES o6 06 scccadusevedensenkbass li
TABLE OF AUER BOD «i ccscccuteacanucayanes iv
STATEMENT OF FACED «6 ss0cccissscdwncnsuansas 1
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT........... 10

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS DECISION DID
NOT VIOLATE ESTABLISHED PRECEDENT
BY FAILING TO MAKE ANY HOLDING AS
TO WHETHER THE SPEECH IN QUESTION
WAS A SUBSTANTIAL OR MOTIVATING
FACTOR RESULTING IN THE COM-
PLAINED OF TRANSFER, AND AS TO
WHETHER THE RESPONDENT WOULD
HAVE BEEN TRANSFERRED IRREGARD-
LESS OF HIS PROTECTED ACTIVITIES... 11

II. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ APPLICATION
OF THE PICKERING BALANCING TEST
DID NOT SUBSTANTIALLY DEPART FROM
THE ACCEPTED AND USUAL COURSE OF
JUDICIAL PROCEEDINGS AS THE DECI-
SION (1) WAS BASED ON FACTS IN EVI-
DENCE AND FURTHERMORE WAS NOT
BASED ON UNRESOLVED QUESTIONS OF
MATERIAL FACTS DECIDED IN THE FIRST
INSTANCE BY THE COURT OF APPEALS
IN RESPONDENT’S FAVOR WITHOUT BEN-
EFIT OF FACTUAL FINDINGS BY THE DIS-
TRICT COURT AND (2) IS NOT
INCONSISTENT WITH THIS COURT’S
RECENT DECISION IN RANKIN uv.
McPHERSON AND OTHER DECISIONS OF
THIS COURT AND SEVERAL OF THE CIR-
CURT CORRES « aosccnnvaudbueeenaecanaeeees 18

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS-Continued
Page

III. THE COURT OF APPEALS DID NOT HOLD
THAT THE COMMUNITY INTEREST IN
THE CONTENT OF A PUBLIC EMPLOYEE’S
SPEECH PROVIDES THAT SPEECH WITH
ABSOLUTE FIRST AMENDMENT PROTEC-
TION, REGARDLESS OF ITS FORM OR
CONTEXT, AND THE FOURTH CIRCUIT
DID NOT ERRONEOUSLY INTERPRET
THIS COURT'S DECISIONS AND IS NOT IN
CONFLICT WITH OTHER FEDERAL CIR-
I in 0G kes 6 0 6 Ges bo ead we ws vo 22

ed cease sk kao ase wok +a kw AS KA 24

lv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Page

Burger v. Battaglia, 779 F.2d 992 (4th Cir. 1985) ....23

Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138 (1983)
:5 kas aE Eka ee 12, 13, 14, 15, 19, 22, 23

Givhan v. Western Line Consolidated School Dis-
Me BO Be), | re re 15

Hamer v. Brown, 831 F.2d 1398 (8th Cir. 1987) ....17
Jurgensen v. Fairfax County, 745 F2d 868 (4th

See ENT 0 Gc Laie ane ie eee eae eee Ran s 14
Mt. Healthy Cty. School District v. Doyle, 429

Se Oe OE oi oo ta PEA KK SRE ROO CA 15, 17
Perry v. Sinderman, 408 U.S. 593, (1972).......... 12
Pickering v. Board of Education, 391 U.S. 563

ER ica ca eh end deecaseueesa cee 10, 12, 13, 18
Piver v. Pender County Bd. of Educ., 835 F.2d

Risen Ce OE 6.5 sc cao ne ewe sa hese 12
Rankin v. McPherson, 97 L.Ed.2d 315 (1987)

FE EE Oe ee er ete Lead ap ety Che Ali 13, 18, 21, 22

No. 87-1773

4.
a4

In The

Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1537

y%
vw

PENDER COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION, et al.,

Petitioners,

V.

EDWIN G. PIVER,
Respondent.

A.
-

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT
OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED
STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

+.
vv

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT
IN OPPOSITION

,%
—_

The Respondent, Edwin G. Piver, opposes Peti-
tioners’ Request for a Writ of Certiorari to review the
judgment and opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Fourth Circuit and respectfully submits
this Response:

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

Edwin G. Piver, the Respondent, has been
employed as a social studies teacher in the Pender
County School system since the year 1966-67. His
teacher evaluations have always been favorable and
have usually been outstanding (R. 342-344). There had

1

ail iiacccnalianilil

never been any problems with Piver as a teacher. At the
time of the events complained of in this case, he was
Chairman of the Social Studies Department at Topsail
Junior-Senior High School.

In the late part of 1981 and early 1982, the Pender
County School Board, according to the deposition testi-
mony of the Board members, had received complaints
about Ralph Jourdan, the principal at Topsail Junior-
Senior High School, at a time when it was in the pro-
cess of deciding whether or not he should be granted
tenure. While principal Jourdan had been given good
evaluations by M. D. James, the Pender County School
Superintendent (R. 210). In early 1982 a number of
meetings were held by the School Board itself and also
in conjunction with the Topsail Advisory Council (R.
210).! The Respondent was a loyal supporter of Jour-
dan, his principal, whom he felt to be a good, profes-
sional educator.

In March, 1982, the plaintiff and his wife, Kay
Piver, met with Board Chairman J. J. Smith three
times to speak in support of Jourdan but were told by
Smith that Jourdan was not going to be granted tenure
(R. 817, 918-922).2 The Topsail Advisory Council met-
March 22 and 29, 1982 regarding Jourdan’s tenure.

1 The School Board had set up “Advisory Councils”
within each school district in the county to advise it on
matters which related to the schools in the particular
district.

2 Smith is related to Mrs. Piver by marriage.

—

The Pender County Board of Education then called
a joint public meeting of the Pender County Board of
Education and the Topsail Advisory Council for April 8,
1982 regarding Jourdan’s tenure. Prior to that meeting
a number of the teachers at the school met with Piver
and asked him to be their spokesman in support of
Jourdan (R. 936). Another teacher who supported Jour-
dan placed Piver on the agenda for the meeting and
Piver then prepared his own speech to be read at the
meeting (R. 937). The joint meeting was held at Topsail
High School in executive session without the presence
of Jourdan; speakers, both pro and con were called in
individually to speak (R. 937). At the appropriate time
Piver gave his speech, which was supportive of Jour-
dan, in a respectful manner (R. 601). Piver had pre-
pared the speech himself and had reviewed it with a
number of the teachers to obtain their approval (R.
601). The meeting with the teachers, for which Jourdan
had granted permission, was the only time Piver was
ever out of his classroom on anything regarding Jour-
dan’s tenure and it was done during the teachers’ plan-
ning periods (R. 211).

At the hearing of April 8th, Piver also presented to
the Board a petition which had been initiated by a
student in Piver’s government class (R. 947). Piver had
no role in the preparation or circulation of this petition;
Hoffman had come to Piver and had asked what would

be wrong with the students initiating a petition on
behalf of Jourdan to which Piver responded that it
would be his right to do so under the First Amendment
(R. 947).

Board Chairman Smith had encouraged people who
had complaints against Jourdan to come to the meeting
of April 8th and speak (R. 598). Smith acknowledged
that there were a number of people in the school in
support of Jourdan but he viewed the plaintiff as the
leader because of his speech on April 8th (R. 628-629).

Immediately after the hearing of April 8, 1982, the
plaintiff had a conversation with Superintendent of
Schools, M. D. James who stated “Glenn, you would
have been better off if you hadn’t come here tonight.”
(R. 942). The Board of Education made no decision on
the night of April 8, 1982, but met again on Easter
Monday, April 12, 1982, in executive session (R. 435).
At that time Wanda Cherry, guidance counselor at the
school, who had been a vocal critic of Jourdan and who
had been encouraged to attend the meeting by both
Smith and James, spoke out against Jourdan (R. 951).
Miss Cherry was the only faculty member who ever
spoke before the Board against Jourdan (R. 618). At the
meeting the Board voted four to one not to grant Jour-
dan tenure. Although Jourdan could have remained as
a teacher in the school system, he was told by James
that he should resign or James would make it so diffi-
cult on him that he would never be able to find another
principal’s job (R. 213, 961).

Several of the Board members and Superintendent
James in their depositions made vague references to
the fact that they had received “complaints” regarding
Piver’s activities in support of Jourdan at the school.
However, in none of their depositions were any one of
them able to cite a single specific complaint which had

been made about Piver’s activities. The vague refer-
ences in their depositions were to Piver ostensibly hav-
ing circulated a petition in his class in support of
Jourdan, trying to unduly influence a student to sup-
port Jourdan, having taken some students off of a
school bus in the morning and into the library to
request them to sign a petition, and advising students
to picket a school function. None of these activities ever
occurred (R. 212).

After the Board terminated Jourdan, Piver and
other persons living in the Topsail area met on a
number of occasions and planned efforts to persuade
the Board to reverse its decision; Piver spoke in support
of Jourdan at several of the meetings which were held
at the school (R. 963-964). Members of this group,
including Piver, collected signatures on a petition to
present to the Board asking that Jourdan be retained,
and on May 3, 1982, representatives of the group met
with the Board which refused to reverse its decision (R.
968).

During the period of time between March and May,
1982, when the Jourdan matter was proceeding to a
conclusion, Piver occasionally talked to his students
both individually and as a group about the Jourdan
issue although he never initiated any of the discussions
in his social studies classes (R. 969-970). The discus-
sion would be initiated by a student and might proceed
for five or ten minutes on occasions (R. 971). Though a
petition in favor of Jourdan was brought into Piver’s
classroom at one time, Piver did not permit its circula-
tion during class (R. 972). Never at any time during the
process did Piver leave his class unattended while he

was discussing the issue of Jourdan’s contract with any
one (R. 974).

Piver’s impression was that after the Board had
made its final decision, most everyone at the school
tried to put it behind them and get on with the end of
the school year (R. 980). As far as Piver was concerned
once a decision had been made, even though he dis-
agreed with it, he was ready to put it behind him (R.
981). No directions were ever given by the Board of
Education to Superintendent James as to what if any-
thing he was to do about Piver. The Board, in fact, took
no action of any kind during this period of time either
regarding Piver or any other teacher (R. 640). Smith
did indicate however in his testimony that James was
“concerned about suppressing the situation” and that
James had admitted in so doing he might be stepping
on some people’s constitutional rights (R. 631).

The School Board election was scheduled for June,
1982. At that time the defendants J. J. Smith, R. E.
Brown and Wilbert Henry were up for re-election. In
the election Smith was opposed by Twila Jones, Brown
by Dr. Brenda Rivenbark and Henry by a Mrs. Harrell
(R. 991). Piver supported all three of the challengers
(R. 991). He talked to other individuals in his commu-
nity and solicited their vote against the incumbents
and for the challengers (R. 991). The Board members
knew there was opposition to Smith and Brown in the
Topsail community both before and after the election
(R. 375, 642-644). Smith talked to fellow Board member
Henry about it and specifically stated that he thought
that the plaintiff and his family were working to defeat

him because Smith had been against Jourdan (R.
376-377).

In addition to Piver’s support of the challengers in
the June, 1982 School Board election, his wife, Kay,
worked for the challengers, Jones and Rivenbark (R.
711).

After the election, Smith accused Kay Piver of elec-
tion irregularities and filed a protest (R. 726). The
hearing on the alleged election irregularities was held
before the Board of Elections of Pender County one of
whose members was Etha Piver, Piver’s mother, and
the lone Republican member of the Board of Elections
at that time. After the hearing, the protest was disal-
lowed by the local Board of Elections and upheld by the
State Board of Elections.

The school year ended in early June, 1982. The
School Board and Superintendent then proceeded to
hire a new principal for the Topsail Junior-Senior High
School. The new principal was Thomas Benton, who
was hired as of July 1, 1982. Neither the School Board
members nor Superintendent James discussed with the
new principal anything about any difficulties which
they might anticipate at the Topsail Junior-Senior High
School with Piver or his possible transfer to another
school with the exception that the Chairman Smith had
approached Benton about the matter and Benton told
him specifically that Piver should not be transferred (R.
214). Benton anticipated no problems with Piver during
the 1982-1983 school year and there were none (R.
214). No one at anytime, either from the Pender County
School Board or from the office of the Superintendent

ever conferred with Piver regarding the possibility of
any anticipated difficulties or a possible transfer (R.
423, 653). Piver never had any notice or indication that
his employment would be discussed at the July 26, 1982
meeting; it was not even on the agenda. No investiga-
tion whatsoever was ever made by the Board or any of
its members regarding any alleged complaints, diffi-
culties, or other problems which might have either been
associated in the spring of 1982 or anticipated during
the 1982-83 school year regarding Piver and his
employment as a teacher at the Topsail Junior-Senior
High School. At the meeting on the 26th James made
no recommendation that Piver be transferred. The mat-
ter of Piver’s transfer was handled very quickly when
after some brief discussion the Board voted unani-
mously to transfer him to Atkinson Junior High School
with Smith making the motion (R. 656). This was out of
the course of the normal operations regarding transfers
of school personnel between one school as such trans-
fers are usually handled administratively by the Super-
intendent and none of the Board members in their
testimony could recall any other transfer having been
made by the Board without some recommendation by
the Superintendent during their respective tenures (R.
660-661). None of the other teachers supporting Jour-
dan were transferred nor was Miss Cherry (R. 661).
Piver lived in the Topsail community within one (1)
mile of the Topsail School and the transfer to Atkinson
Junior High School resulted in an eighty (80) mile
round trip for him (R. 1001). A letter dated July 27,
1982, was sent to Piver by Superintendent James stat-
ing that he was transferred to Atkinson; the letter did

not state what Piver would be teaching at that school
(R. 340). Piver was certified to teach social studies only
on a secondary level and according to his teacher’s
certificate was not certified to teach anything in junior
high school (R. 1001-1004). Piver talked to Gary Lesh,
the principal at Atkinson, to find out what he would be
teaching since school would be starting shortly; Piver
found out that the only courses available to teach would
be in seventh grade science and physical education (R.
1002). Piver had no courses in teaching science or phys-
ical education and in addition has an artificial foot, loss
of several fingers on one hand from an accident and
arthritis (R. 1002). When Piver visited Lesh at Atkin-
son Junior High School, Lesh had a letter typed up to
the Assistant Superintendent stating that the only
courses available at Atkinson were courses in seventh
grade science and physical education (R. 1002).

Approximately one week after the transfer had
been made, Evelyn Wells of Hampstead, North Caro-
lina, called Smith and asked why Piver had been trans-
ferred; Smith called her back and said that it was
“politics” (R. 208-209). Smith also stated to Mrs. Wells
that if he could have found a place for Kay Piver he
would have transferred her also (R. 1016).

The plaintiff proceeded to file a grievance and hired
the law firm of Trawick and Pollock as his attorney (R.
1005). After a meeting with the School Board on August
10, 1982, he was told that if he would sign a loyalty

10

oath he would be retransferred to Topsail (R. 340,
1036).3

The plaintiff believed that the loyalty oath
deprived him of his First Admendment rights to free
speech and his better judgment told him not to sign it;
however, his wife was extremely upset and he realized
the hardship on her as well as the additional hardship
and expense of having to make an 80 mile round trip to
Atkinson and signed the statement against his better
judgment; the letter was then placed in his personnel
file (R. 1039-1040). The 1982-83 school year proceeded
smoothly and there were no problems between Mr. Ben-
ton, the new principal, and Piver. Later Piver requested
that the letter be removed from his personnel file, but
the School Board refused by a three to two vote. The
letter was finally removed over a year later after Piver
was represented by new counsel and again requested
its removal.

»
_

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

In a long line of decisions beginning with Pickering
uv. Board of Education, 391 U.S. 563 (1968) this Court

3 The statement dated August 10, 1982, read as follows:
Gentlemen:

You have my assurances that I will cooperate fully with
Mr. Thomas C. Benton, the new principal at Topsail High
School, that I will perform my teaching duties and assigned
responsibilities to the best of my ability, and that I will
support the Board of Education in the implementaion of its
policies and decisions.

Sincerely yours,
/s/ Edwin G. Piver

11 *

set forth the standards which determine whether a
public employees’ speech is protected by the First
Amendment. The analysis essentially is made using the
standards on a case by case basis depending upon the
factual situation presented by each case. Though such
an analysis may, at first blush, seem to at times pro-
duce results which might not always be completely
reconcilable, it is not because, as Petitioners would
contend that there is confusion among the Circuit
Courts on the proper procedure to be followed, but is
instead due to the many varied factual situations pre-
sented to the courts, such as the one here. In this case,
Petitioners ask this Court to issue its Writ to resolve
what appear to be essentially factual matters. The
proper procedure has been well defined by this Court.
The manner in which the Fourth Circuit Court of
Appeals decided this case, based on the issues before it,
was in accord with the proper procedure as delineated

- by this Court and with the other Circuit Courts of

Appeal.

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS DECISION DID
NOT VIOLATE ESTABLISHED PRECEDENT
BY FAILING TO MAKE ANY HOLDING AS TO
WHETHER THE SPEECH IN QUESTION WAS
A SUBSTANTIAL OR MOTIVATING FACTOR
RESULTING IN THE COMPLAINED OF
TRANSFER, AND AS TO WHETHER THE
RESPONDENT WOULD HAVE BEEN TRANS-
FERRED IRREGARDLESS OF HIS PRO-
TECTED ACTIVITIES.

The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals has deter-
mined by applying the analysis set forth in a long

12

series of cases decided by this Court that the Respon-
dent’s speech addressed an issue of public concern* and
that the Respondent’s speech, in applying the balanc-
ing test, outweighed any perceived harm caused to the
Petitioners’ interests in running the Pender County
School system.5 This ruling is not in conflict with any
decision of other Circuit Courts or the decisions of this
Court.

In a long series of cases this Court has clearly
delineated the analysis to be followed in balancing a
public employee’s rights to free speech under the First
Amendment to the Constitution and the government’s
interest in promoting the efficiency of public services.
It is clearly established that a state may not discharge
an employee on the basis that infringes on that
employee’s Constitutionally protected interest in free-
dom of speech. Perry v. Sinderman, 408 U.S. 593,
(1972). A determination of whether a public empleyer
has properly discharged an employee for engaging in a
speech requires “a balance between the interests of the
[employee] as a citizen in commenting upon matters of
public concern and the interests of the State, as an
employer, in promoting the efficiency of public services
it performs through its employees.” Pickering, 391 U.S.
at 568; Connick v. Myers, 461 U.S. 138, 140, (1983).
This policy recognized that “vigilence is necessary to
insure that public employers do not use their authority

4 Appendix to Petition at P. 9a, Piver v. Pender County
Bd. of Educ., 835 F.2d 1076, 1080 (4th Cir. 1987).

5 Appendix to Petition at P. lla, ZJd., at 1082.

13

over employees to silence discourse not because it ham-
pers public functions but simply because superiors dis-
agree with the content of the employee’s speech.”
Rankin v. McPherson, 97 L.Ed.2d 315, 324 (1987).

The threshold question in analyzing the question
as set forth in Pickering and in Connick is whether the
employee’s speech may be “fairly characterized as con-
stituting speech upon a matter of public concern.” Con-
nick, 461 U.S. at 146. “Whether an employee’s speech
addresses a matter of public concern must be deter-
mined by the context, form and content as revealed by
the whole record.” Jd., at 147-148. In this case, the
District Court found that the Respondent’s speech did
not address a matter of public concern and stopped its
inquiry at that point by granting summary judgment in
the favor of the Petitioners. The Court of Appeals
disagreed and held that the Respondent’s presentation
of his thoughts on the Jourdan tenure issue at a public
School Board meeting called for the purpose of solicit-
ing input on the issue, the guiding of class discussion
and participation in his social studies class and private
conversations with the Chairman of the School Board
and other teachers addressed an issue of public con-
cern.? This Court’s review of the determination of the
Courts below is limited by its obligation to assure that
the record supports that particular Court’s conclusion.
Rankin v. McPherson, 97 L.Ed.2d at 325. The record in
this case clearly reveals that the conclusion of theCourt
of Appeals is amply supported as it clearly

6 Appendix to Petition at P. 21a.
7 Appendix to Petition P. 8a-9a, Jd., at 1082.

1A

ravoala the erronenmus derision of the District Court on
this threshold issue “Whether an employee's speerh
aiidresces a matter of public concern must be leber
miner by the tontewt, form and content of a given
chatemeont. as revealed by the whole record” Connich,
AG) TiS gt 1A7 148 ‘This is the exact analysis per
formod by the Court of Appeals as it earned on an
eeoropabicen of the rontont, froren and rontext 7 the
Hecpondent’s speech and compared that contest, form
anidecontont with the employee's speech in Jurgensen v
Vairfae County, TAS Fd BGR Ath Cin 196K), relied on
both petitioners and then concluded as a matter of law
that the Hespondent’s speeth was an issue of pousbolae

efopee orn

Though the District Court had granted summary
juelgent in favor of the petitioners based tpon ite
ronelusions that the Hespondent’s speech was nob on
matter public concern and therefore did not reach the
cerond half of the two pronged analysis to determine
the protected apeerch the “balancing” inquiry thie
CourtolAppeale addressed it as a question of law and
reparded the record below as sufficient to enable it to
rile on the issue correctly The record before the Court
of Appeals included the deposition testimony of all of
the Hehool Hoard members, Huperintendent James,
Wanda Cherry, Gary Prawickh, Kay VPiver, Assistant
Miineipal Robert Kermon and the Respondent, along
with the alfidavita of Nvelyn Wella (RO 2OK), Ralph
Jourdan CH YI) and Thomas Tenton who succeded

Jourdan ae the principal Gld) plus the Reapondents

0

Appendia te Petition af Po Ma, lid. at TORO

answers to the Petitioners’ Interrogatories and Request

for Production of Documents (RK. 215). In other words
the Court of Appeals, just as the District Court, had
before it the testimony of practically everyone with any
relevent knowledye of the facts of this case. In addition,
the parties thoroughly briefed the issues, of the “bal
ancing” inquiry before the Court of Appeals. With the
record before the Court of Appeals, its conclusion that
the balance tipped in favor of the Respondent was well
supported by the evidence in the record. The inquiry
into the protected status of speech is one of law, not
fact. Connich, 461 U.S. at 144, n. 7

The Petitioners now complain and urge on this
Court as reason to grant the Writ that the Court of
Appeals did not employ what the Petitioners would
term four-pronged analysis and complain essentially
of the lack of a holding by the Court of Appeals itself or
an affirmative direction on remand by the Court of
Appeals to the District Court to decide (1), whether the
Respondent's speech was a substantial or motivating
factor in the decision to transfer him and, (2), if so,
whether the School Board would have taken the same
action based on other grounds. Petitioners rely on the
language in Mt. Healthy Cty. School District vo. Doyle,
AZO US. 774 1977), and Gihan v. Weatern Line Con
solidated School Diatrict, 439 U.S. 410 (1979). As to
these two questions the Court of Appeals merely made

no holding on either, both of which are questions of fact

After discussion which led the Court of Appeals to
determine the Respondent's speech was a matter of
public concern and that the balance tipped in favor of

the Respondent in the balance inquiry, it then went on

16

to address two other issues which had been raised by
the Petitioners before that Court, that is, whether
there were any compensatory damages and whether the
Respondent had compromised and settled his claim.9
Both of these issues had been raised in the Court of
Appeals by the Petitioners. The Court of Appeals then
remanded for a determination of the compromise and
settlement issue and damages stating that on remand
that if the District Court determined that the Respon-
dent did not compromise and settle his claim against
the defendants then the District Court must analyze
the damages that Respondent incurred on the basis of
the injury to the interests protected by the First
Amendment.!®° The opinion in no respect failed to
require Respondent to prove that his protected free
speech activities were a substantial or motivating fac-
tor in his transfer or precluded the Petitioners from
offering a defense that Respondent would have been
transferred irrespective of his protected activities. The
opinion simply did not address those two factual issues
for they had not been raised by the Petitioners in either
their Memorandum in Support of Defendants’ Motion
for Summary Judgment before the District Court (R.
116-156) nor in their brief before the Court of Appeais.

Furthermore, and even more importantly, the
record is completely devoid of any evidence which
would even raise a material issue of fact as to whether
the Respondent’s speech activities were a substantial or
motivating factor in his transfer or that he would have

® Appendix to Petition at P. lla-15a, Id., at 1082-83.
10 Appendix to Petition, P. 13A, Zd., at 1083.

17

been transferred for some other lawful reason oth-
erthan him exercising his protected activities. To the
contrary, all of the competent evidence in the record
points unerringly to one conclusion which is that the
Respondent was transferred for his protected activities
and that but for those activities he would not have been
transferred. No other reason for the transfer was ever
offered at any place in the record of this case. This is
quite unlike the factual situation of the employee in Mt.
Healthy who had made an obscene jesture to female
students, or in Hamer v. Brown, 831 F.2d 1398 (8th Cir.
1987), cited by the Petitioners where the reason for not
renewing the contract of the public employee professor
was a marked and pronounced decline in enrollment
which occurred prior to his speech activities and where
there was evidence that the University Chancellor did
not even know about the Professor’s speech until the
termination of the appeal process had been done. In
this case there is no evidence to the contrary that but
for the protected speech of the Respondent as discussed
in the opinion of the Court of Appeals, no adverse
personnel action would ever have been taken with
regard to his employment.

The Petitioners therefore mislead this Court by
attempting to obtain a reversal of the decision of the
Court of Appeals on an issue which factually does not
exist nor one which they have ever raised and therefore
cannot be heard to say that the Court of Appeals’ deci-
sion is in conflict with the decisions of this Court nor
the other Federal Circuits. The Court of Appeals had no
obligation on remand to direct the District Court to
review two nonexistent issues.

’ |

18

Il. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ APPLICATION OF
THE PICKERING BALANCING TEST DID
NOT SUBSTANTIALLY DEPART FROM THE
ACCEPTED AND USUAL COURSE OF JUDI-
CIAL PROCEEDINGS AS THE DECISION (1)
WAS BASED ON FACTS IN EVIDENCE AND
FURTHERMORE WAS NOT BASED ON UNRE-
SOLVED QUESTIONS OF MATERIAL FACTS
DECIDED IN THE FIRST INSTANCE BY THE
COURT OF APPEALS IN RESPONDENT’S~—
FAVOR WITHOUT BENEFIT OF FACTUAL
FINDINGS BY THE DISTRICT COURT AND
(2) IS NOT INCONSISTENT WITH THIS
COURT’S RECENT DECISION IN RANKIN v.
McPHERSON AND OTHER DECISIONS OF
THIS COURT AND SEVERAL OF THE CIR-
CUIT COURTS.

Though the District Court granted the Petitioners’
motion for summary judgment on the basis of its hold-
ing that the Respondent’s speech did not involve a
matter of public concern and did not address the Pick-
ering balancing inquiry, the Petitioners in their brief
before the Court of Appeals raised the issue of the
Pickering balancing test and urged it as an alternative
basis for affirming the decision of the District Court.
One must surmize that the Petitioners must have con-
sidered the record sufficiently developed so as to afford
the Court of Appeals the opportunity to decide the issue
as a matter of law. The decision having now been made
by the Court of Appeals adversely to the Petitioners,
they complain that the Court of Appeals made the
decision at all and seek reversal by this Court.

As set forth in Rankin, cited by the Petitioners, the
role of the reviewing court is to insure that the record
supports the lower court’s conclusion that the

19

employee’s statements and the circumstances under
which they were made are of a character which the
principles of the First Amendment protect. The Court
of Appeals in this case correctly recognized, when the
issue was raised by the Petitioners, that when the
-employees’ and audiences’ interests in the speech at
issue outweigh the harm caused by the speech to the
Petitioners’ interests in running the school system, the
speech is constitutionally protected. It correctly recog-
nized that the Respondent’s speech consisted of speak-
ing once before an open meeting of the School Board
and the Topsail School Advisory Council, attending a
Board meeting after the decision not to grant Jourdan
tenure, meeting privately with the Chairman of the
Board of Education on Jourdan’s behalf on three occa-
sions, guiding discussions on the issue during his gov-
ernment classes and allowing a petition in support of
Jourdan to be circulated. As the speech was all directed
to a matter which was clearly of public concern in the
community it was entitled to greater weight in the
balancing test then that of the employee in Connick
where the Court emphasized that “we caution that a
stronger showing may be necessary if the employee’s
speech more substantially involved matters of public
concern.” Connick, 461 U.S. at 152.

Viewing the evidence as taken from the record of
the whole, the Respondent’s speech in this case did,
without question, more substantially involve a matter
of public concern as it did not involve at all the per-
sonal employment situation of the Respondent and was
brought about as a matter of heightened community
interests throughout the Topsail community and the

20

Topsail School by the Board itself when the Board and
its members solicited public input and the efforts to
deny Jourdan tenure became public knowledge. It is
obvious from the record that Board Chairman Smith
was soliciting adverse comment on Jourdan, as he even
showed Respondent letters he had collected, and fur-
thermore both he and Superintendent James had
encouraged Wanda Cherry, the Guidance Counselor at
the school, to attend and speak against Jourdan at the
Board of Education meeting on April 12, 1982, at which
Jourdan was denied tenure. During the time when the
decision on Jourdan’s tenure was a matter of concern
throughout the community, it Jikewise became a matter
of concern among the students at the school who as
could be expected were interested in the outcome. As
correctly found by the Court of Appeals, the Respon-
dent allowed students to circulate a petition, clearly
their right, and at their request presented that petition
when he spoke at the School Board meeting and also
allowed from time to time short discussions on the
issue, again a relevant topic to the students, especially
those in a government class. There is no evidence in the
record that the Respondent was disruptive in any way,
though the Petitioners seek to continue to characterize
his conduct as “disruptive”. During their deposition
testimony, the School Board members and Superinten-
dent James made vague references that they had
received certain “complaints” about the Respondent’s
activities, but not one of them in their testimony could
identify a single, solitary specific complaint nor could
either one of them point to a single disruptive incident
caused by the Respondent. The record clearly reveals

21

that neither the Board nor the Superintendent ever
made any investigation into the alleged complaints
prior to the Respondent’s transfer on July 26, 1982. To
the contrary, the Respondent testified to exactly what
his activities consisted of, which were as set forth in
the opinion of the Court of Appeals, and there is no
competent evidence in the record to refute it. After the
Jourdan tenure decision was made, the school year
proceeded normally until the close of the year around
the first of June; there is no competent evidence to
refute that. Nothing happened until Board Chairman
Smith and Board member Brown were defeated in the
June election. Then at the very next meeting of the
School Board on the 26th, the Respondent was sum-
marily transferred despite the fact that Superintendent
James had not recommended it, the only time that the
School Board members and Superintendent James
could recall a transfer being made without a recommen-
dation by the Superintendent, and in spite of the rec-
ommendation of the new principal, Thomas Benton, to
Chairman Smith that the Respondent not be
transferred.

The Court of Appeals therefore did not base its
decision on facts not in evidence nor did it resolve
disputed facts in the Respondent’s favor. The issue of
the balancing test is a matter of law and the Court of
Appeals correctly, just as urged by the Petitioners,
viewed the record before it as sufficient to decide the
issue as a matter of law. In so doing, the Court of
Appeals likewise did not violate any of the directions of
this Court as set forth in Rankin in conducting its
review of this case. The review conducted by the Court

22

of Appeals was of a record sufficient to rule as a matter
of law. It correctly examined the statements in issue
and the circumstances under which they were made to
see whether they were of a character so as to be pro-
tected by the Fourteenth Amendment. Rankin, 97
L.Ed.2d at 325. The balance was then struck in favor of
the Respondent as a matter of law. The record supports
the Court of Appeals conclusion and it should not be
disturbed by this Court.

—

Ill. THE COURT OF APPEALS DID NOT HOLD
THAT THE COMMUNITY INTEREST IN THE
CONTENT OF A PUBLIC EMPLOYEE’S
SPEECH PROVIDES THAT SPEECH WITH
ABSOLUTE FIRST AMENDMENT PROTEC-
TION, REGARDLESS OF ITS FORM OR CON-
TEXT, AND THE FOURTH CIRCUIT DID
NOT ERRONEOUSLY INTERPRET THIS
COURT’S DECISIONS AND IS NOT IN CON-
FLICT WITH OTHER FEDERAL CIRCUIT
COURTS.

On this issue, the Petitioners indeed clutch at
straws. As correctly recognized by the Petitioners in
their petition this Court in Connick, 461 U.S. at 138,
ruled that employees speech would be protected if it
was on a matter of public concern and that the “public
concern” issue was a threshold question to be decided
as a matter of law. Contrary to the position of the
Petitioners, the Court of Appeals made no holding that
“community interest in the content of a public
employees speech provides that speech with absolute
First Amendment protection regardless of its form or

23

content.” To the contrary, the Court of Appeals scru-
pulously applied the direction of this Court in analyz-
ing the “content, form and context, of the Respondent’s
speech.”!1

The Court of Appeals had previously recognized in
Burger v. Battaglia, 779 F.2d 992, 998-99 (4th Cir.
1985) that cases involving “private personnel griev-
ances” should be excluded from First Amendment pro-
tection and should be screened out when the aggrieved
employee has spoken out about his own employment
situation when the employment situation holds little or
no interest for the public at large.!2 The decision in
Burger, and in this case, were therefore in accord with
the long line of decisions of this Court, including Con-
nick. The Court of Appeals in this case never held that.
the level of community interest determines (emphasis
added) whether the issue is a matter of public concern,
though, as that court correcily recognized, that such
community interest is a factor in comparing cases like
this with others which are mere private personnel
grievances. In fact, the Court of Appeals applying the
“content, form and context” approach as directed by
Connick and analyzing in that light each of the speech
activities of the Respondent, found those activities to
be a matter of public concern and not a mere private
personnel grievance not entitled to First Amendment
protection.

>

11 Appendix to Petition at P. 8a, Jd., at 1080.
12 Appendix to Petition at P. 7a, Jd., at 1080.

24

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should not be
issued to review the judgment and opinion of the
Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals.

William R. Shell

Attorney for Respondent

P. 0. Box 382

Wilmington, NC 28402-0382
(919) 343-1567

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1671%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
