# Opposition Brief — American President Lines, Ltd. v. Zachry-Dillingham

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1660%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 487 U.S. 1218

## Text

| 5 Supreme Court, us,
) RILED
No. 87-1761 ’ JUN . 1988

4

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

AMERICAN PRESIDENT LINES, LTD.,
Petitioner
V.

ZACHRY-DILLINGHAM, A JOINT VENTURE,

Respondent

On Writ of Certiorari to the Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Supreme Judicial District
San Antonio, Texas

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Of Counsel:
GROcE, LOCKE & HEBDON THOMAS H. CROFTs, JR.
A Professional Corporation 2000 Frost Bank Tower
2000 Frost Bank Tower San Antonio, Texas 78205
San Antonio, Texas 78205 (512) 225-3031
(512) 225-3031 Attorney for Respondent,
Zachry-Dillingham,
A Joint Venture

WILSON - Erase Printine Co., INc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The only questions are:

(1) whether the Texas intermediate court incorrectly

(2)

held that the Shipping Act (including the “filed
rate doctrine’) does not preempt redress (pro-
vided by state fraud law and deceptive practice
statutes) against a carrier for inducing a shipping
commitment by knowingly misrepresenting that
the quoted rate would be made effective by filing
new tariffs with the Federal Maritime Commis-
sion; and

whether the alleged state court action is preempted
by general federal maritime law.

(i)

ii
LIST OF PARTIES

1. American President Lines, Ltd.
2. Zachry-Dillingham, a Joint Venture."

* Zachry-Dillingham, a Joint Venture, is composed of H. B.
Zachry Company, a Delaware corporation, and Dillingham Con-
struction International, Inc., a Nevada corporation.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
UB Pty PPRRRCIOIN BEGD .....2.00..0nen-cscccccncecececessssecensee i
ss ii
J A A ie et 3 | iv
STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION .....0000.0..0000000000000.... 1
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .......000000000... 1
menue ne GP Beem CASE on. oicc conn. ccccccccceeccsecee 2

REASONS FOR DENYING PETITION FOR WRIT
a a na ucsnssancoaivespnansomsnaeansiunss 5

I. Redress for inducing a shipping commitment

through fraudulent and statutorily deceptive

representations that new tariffs would be filed

is properly a matter of state law not preempted

by the Shipping Act (including the ‘“‘filed rate
CEPI an SR Ele 5

A. Since the state law claim is not for misrep-

resentation of the “proper freight rate to be

charged,” the lowér court’s decision is not
in conflict with circuit court decisions........ 5

B. After analyzing the criteria for determining

federal preemption, the lower court cor-

rectly concluded that Congress did not in-

tend for the Shipping Act’s tariff regulation

to preempt state law redress for the conduct
a 8

C. The lower court’s holding is not contrary to
decisions of this Court .......00..022......2...........0--- 11

II. Zachry-Dillingham’s state action is not pre-
empted by general maritime law ......00000000.. 15
aad acon cleaisatlavatnaivdkaasuddastunannicas 16

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
Aero Trucking, Inc. v. Regal Tube Co., 594 F.2d

RD Ee es TD a eich ci iesisacenns ice nemomasivonts 6, 9, 10
Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co. v. Hall, 453 U.S. 571

§. | 2 Seen eee: a A Ne MEME Co NOS RAEN Pee ORS 12, 14
Askew v. American Waterways Operators, Inc.,

411 U.S. 325, 36 L.Ed.2d 280 (1973) ................. 15
Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Co. v.

Bouziden, 307 F.2d 230 (10th Cir. 1962) ........ 7

Brown v. American Transfer & Storage Co., 601
S.W.2d 931 (Tex.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1015

I ss hts cae eee degnaeatentomccanna 8, 9, 10
Carnation Co. v. Pacific Westbound Conference,
383 U.S. 213, 15 L.Ed.2d 709 (1966) ................ 12

Chicago and North Western Transportation Co.

v. Kalo Brick & Tile Co., 450 U.S. 311 (1981)... 12, 13
Chick Kam Choo v. Exxon Corp., 817 F.2d 307

(5th Cir.), cert. granted, U.S. ——, 98

SE, FU WD iach eckcconccsessasom-cceoemnananen 16
Consolidated Freightways Corp. v. Terry Tuck,

Inc., 612 F.2d 465 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 447

i Bf RNIN RRrcNeneeg mee snerse in calc OW BRR aT ELE NR NOSED 7
Florida Lime & Avocado Growers, Inc. v. Paul,
373 U.S. 182, 10 L.Ed.2d 248 (1963) ................. 8

Illinois Central Gulf Railroad Co. v. Golden Tri-
angle Wholesale Gas Co., 586 F.2d 588 (5th Cir.

be ERTIES ROLLE OORT OO LINCOLN TN ILE» AE 7
Inter-Island Steam Navigation Co. v. Hawaii, 305

Be, BS Tie BO AGO) cies... 12
Keogh v. Chicago and Northwestern Railway

ec Te Es Ue, NINE washcrsccnterercnnenseensantesccons 12, 13
Missouri Pacific Railroad Co. v. Rutledge Oil Co.,

O56 Fa Sey tee 4a. ISS) i.......-s i... yj
Offshore Logistics, Inc. v. Tallentire, 477 US.

, (Me Bee b By! ae. | Seemann mnnen Ia 16
Oil, Chem. & Atomic Workers, Int’l Union v. Mobil

Oil Corp., 426 U.S. 407, 48 L.Ed.2d 736 (1976)... 16

Paulson v. Greyhound Lines, Inc., 804 F.2d 506
fo SR. | Ren arte ner re vn owas eked 7

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
Roco Worldwide, Inc. v. Constellation Navigation,
GEO F.2 BOS CEE Cai TIED occ snvincvtcisnccc, 3
Romero v. International Term. Operating Co.,
358 U.S. 354, 3 L.Ed.2d 368 (1959) ...................... 15
Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238, 78
See Gk, AED cece eae 8
Smith v. Baldwin, 611 S.W.2d 611 (Tex. 1980)... 9

Square D Co. v. Niagra Frontier Tariff Bureau,
Inc., 467 U.S. 409, 90 L.Ed.2d 413 (1986)........ 12, 13
United States Navigation Co. v. Cunard S.S. Co.,

284 U.S. 474, 76 L.Ed. 408 (1932) .........22202...... 12

Woods v. Littleton, 554 S.W.2d 662 (Tex. 1977).. 9
Other Authorities:

y Pik Tee D. ” - ) y a CP RIE Me neeee en ge 1

y Rik Fo Y .. ER NNR pe UI UNR NE remy NOL Amora 1

OE Bre es PI paca tiiethctidnsecheeanrornianiadcdcecciass 9,13

Tem. Woe. Be Coe, Carle SUT BS nc ssssceietseiessceeescnznn 9

Tex. Bus. & Com. Code § 17.46 (a)
Tex. Bus. & Com. Code § 17.46(b) (5) (7) (9) (11)
CRD CRF CCR wedasaicsedeccseie sc dc hcncnnnbctoccadobasses 2
Tex. Bus. & Com. Code § 17.50(a) (1) (3) _.00000.0.. 2
Tex. Bus. & Com. Code § 17.50(b) (1) 2
H.R. Rep. No. 53, 98th Cong., reprinted in 1984
U.S. Code Cong. and Ad. News 1838-84 ......00.0...... 11

IN THE
Siuyprenw Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

No. 87-1761

AMERICAN PRESIDENT LINES, LTD.,
Petitioner
Vv.
ZACHRY-DILLINGHAM, A JOINT VENTURE,
Respondent

On Writ of Certiorari to the Court of Appeals
for the Fourth Supreme Judicial District
San Antonio, Texas

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

Petitioner American President Lines, Ltd. incorrectly
cited 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) as a source of jurisdiction.
That statute concerns appeals by writ of certiorari from
federal courts of appeal. Jurisdiction is conferred, how-
ever, by 28 U.S.C. § 1257(3), which governs review of
state court decisions by writ of certiorari.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

In addition to the Shipping Act of 1916, cited by Peti-
tioner, the following provisions of the Texas Deceptive
Trade Practices—Consumer Protection Act (as amended
and as in effect in 1982) are involved: Tex. Bus. & Com.

2

Code § 17.46(a); $17.46(b) (5), (7), (9), (11), (12),
(14), (19), and (23); $17.50(a)(1) and (3); § 17.50
(b) (1). These statutes are set forth in Appendix A.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The lower court’s opinion, which is appended to the
Petition for Writ of Certiorari, correctly describes this
summary judgment case, but Petitioner’s Statement of
the Case is inaccurate and incomplete. Contrary to Peti-
tioner’s opening paragraph, this dispute does not concern
misrepresentation of “the freight rate to be charged.”
Respondent’s pertinent liability allegation is that fraud
and statutory deception, in the form of Petitioner’s know-
ing misrepresentation that new tariffs would be filed,
induced a shipping commitment that otherwise would not
have been made. Respondent’s other claims of breach of
contract and negligence have no role in this review be-
cause the lower court resolved them in Petitioner’s favor.

For the purpose of constructing a major USAID proj-
ect, Zachry-Dillingham needed to ship heavy construction
equipment and other supplies to Colombo, Sri Lanka.
Zachry-Dillingham’s retention of a freight forwarder
(WTS of Houston, Inc.) te make rate studies led to
negotiations with Petitioner American President Lines,
Ltd. (hereafter APL). APL made oral and written rep-
resentations “guaranteeing” that, prior to the time for
shipment, APL would file with the Federal Maritime
Commission new tariffs necessary to validate the quoted
rate. Under the Shipping Act, the new tariffs would have
become effective immediately upon publication and filing.

In reliance on those representations, Zachry-Dillingham
committed its plans and schedule to ship with APL.
Timely arrival of the equipment and supplies in Sri
Lanka was critical to Zachry-Dillingham’s performance
of the USAID contract. As the shipping date approached,
APL informed Zachry-Dillingham that the new tariff fil-
ing had been delayed but that it would be effective “by

3

the end of the following week.” Nevertheless, APL did
not file the new tariffs before shipment or at any time.
APL demanded payment of the pre-existing tariff rate
when the shipment reached Sri Lanka, and, under pro-
test, Zachry-Dillingham paid the demand in order to meet
its construction obligation. The Federal Maritime Com-
mission’s District Director later observed that APL’s
failure to amend the tariffs did not appear to be the
result of inadvertence, noting also APL’s unwillingness
to participate in an administrative waiver proceeding
that the Shipping Act authorizes to implement inadver-
tently late-filed tariff amendments.' The Director’s deci-
sion, on which the United States District Judge partially
based the remand to state court, is set out in Appendix
B.

In its state court suit, Zachry-Dillingham pleaded,
among other things, that it committed the arrangements
to ship with APL because of APL’s representations guar-
anteeing a new tariff filing and that APL’s misrepresenta-
tions to induce that commitment constituted fraud and
violation of specified deceptive trade practice statutes.
The Texas deceptive trade practice statutes (Appendix A)
provide a private remedy.in damages for certain know-
ing deception, misrepresentations, misleading statements
concerning price reductions, false advertising and uncon-
eionable conduct.

APL’s petition for removal asserted that Zachry-
Dillingham’s action-was based on federal maritime law
that was within the exclusive jurisdiction of federal
courts. In granting Zachry-Dillingham’s motion to re-
mand, the United States District Judge ruled otherwise,
emphasizing that the Federal Maritime Commission had
previously denied jurisdiction over the controversy. In

1 The opinion in Roco Worldwide, Inc. v. Constellation Navigation,
660 F.2d 992 (4th Cir. 1981), contains a practical discussion of the
utility of the Shipping Act’s 180-day post-shipment grace period
to correct inadvertent clerical error.

4

concluding that civil litigation appeared to be the only
recourse, the Commission’s Director had noted, prior to
the initiation of Zachry-Dillingham’s suit, that there did
not appear to be a violation of the Shipping Act and that
administrative resolution was not appropriate since ‘no
error or inadvertence in filing appears to have occurred
and APL is not willing to enter such a proceeding at
this time.” (Appendix B).

APL’s motion for summary judgment in state court
was based on the same argument previously urged as the
ground for removal. In reversing the trial court’s sum-
mary judgment that Zachry-Dillingham take nothing, the
Texas court of appeals held that the Shipping Act pre-
empted Zachry-Dillingham’s alternative theories of breach
of contract and negligence but not the fraud and statu-
tory counts:

The Shipping Act’s tariff filing requirements empha-
size the rights of shippers. There is no evidence of
congressional intent to grant immunity to carriers
for their fraudulent acts. The grant of immunity
from the Texas DTPA would provide carriers with a
shield whose existence is not directly related to the
accomplishment of the purpose of the tariff filing re-
quirements. Immunity from the Texas DTPA is not
necessary to the accomplishment of any congressional
objective expressed by the Shipping Act.

Both the language of the Shipping Act and its
legislative history, indicate that it was intended to
prevent unfair discrimination against shippers, not
to create a defense to unfair competition by carriers.
The Shipping Act and the Texas law are comple-
mentary. Enforcement of a tariff in circumstances
where there is collusion between a shipper and
earrier would work to the unfair detriment of the
shipper, while enforcement of the Texas law pro-
hibiting fraud and unfair business practices fosters
competition by protecting the shipper against unfair
business practices of a carrier, 739 S.W.2d 420, 423

5

(Tex. App. -—— San Antonio 1987, writ den’d) (Pe-
tition Appendix 7a).

There is neither claim nor indication that Zachry-
Dillingham’s suit is in furtherance of collusion or a
scheme to consummate a rebate of the pre-existing tariff
charges.

APL repeatedly characterizes- this case as a dispute
over the “rate to be charged.” That is not the case at
all. During negotiations all parties were aware of the
pre-existing tariffs; the dispute is over fraudulent state-
ments that new tariffs would be filed. Moreover, since
APL did not file the new tariffs, Zachry-Dillingham does
not contest its obligation under the “rate filed doctrine”
to pay for shipping at the pre-existing rate. This dispute
centers on Zachry-Dillingham’s claim that APL’s fraud
and deception, based on APL’s guarantee that new tariffs
would be filed, caused Zachry-Dillingham to commit to a
detrimental shipping situation that, but for the fraud
and deception, it would not have done.

REASONS FOR DENYING PETITION
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

I. Redress for inducing a shipping commitment through
fraudulent and statutorily deceptive representations
that new tariffs would be filed is properly a matter of
state law not preempted by the Shipping Act (includ-
ing the “filed rate doctrine”)

A. Since the state law claim is not for misrepresenta-
tion of the “proper freight rate to be charged,”
the lower court’s decision is not in conflict with cir-
cuit court decisions.

APL’s unwillingness to acknowledge the controlling
feature of Zachry-Dillingham’s claim leads to APL’s mis-
placed reliance on purported conflict that does not exist.
As the lower court wrote:

6

Plaintiff [Zachry-Dillingham] alleged that defendant
was guilty of common law fraud by inducing plain-
tiff to enter into the shipping contract through false
representation that (1) it would file new tariffs... .
Plaintiff also alleged that defendant’s misrepresenta-
tions constituted a violation of . . . the Texas Decep-
tive Trade Practices Act. 739 S.W.2d 420, 421 (Tex.
App.—San Antonio 1987, writ den’d) (Petition Ap-
pendix 3a).

The state law claim in question is obviously not based on
mere variance between a quoted “rate to be charged” and
applicable tariffs. On the other hand, APL’s circuit court
decisions (Interstate Commerce Act cases) concerned mis-
representations of the “rate to be charged,” which were
equivalent to representations that existing tariffs were
something other than what they actually were. Because
of that paramount distinction, APL’s suggestion that a
conflict needs resolution has no validity.

In the case cited for direct conflict, Aero Trucking,
Inc. v. Regal Tube Co., 594 F.2d 619 (7th Cir. 1979),
a shipper defended a carrier’s suit to collect freight deten-
tion tariffs, contending that the carrier should be estop-
ped for having induced the transaction with a fraudulent
representation that such charges would not be made. Z/d.
at 621. The court properly rejected the defensive conten-
tion for the reason indicated in APL’s Petition:

The short answer to this contention is, as it is in
all undercharge cases, that the applicable tariffs are
by law incorporated into the contract between ship-
per and carrier. Since the shipper is presumed to
have knowledge of the applicable tariff rates, Regal
cannot rely on Aero’s statement that no detention
charges would be assessed.

495 F.2d at 622. The essence of Aero Trucking, like the
other circuit court decisions clustered on page 6 of APL’s
Petition, is that the “filed rate doctrine” carries with it
constructive knowledge of (and implied agreement to pay

7

in accordance with) tariffs effective at the time of ship-
ping—regardless of the price the carrier represented and
regardless of whether the shipper had actual knowledge
of filed tariffs.* Clearly, Congress’ intent to establish a
predictable, non-discriminatory uniform rate structure
could never be accomplished if the effective tariff were
subject to avoidance at the will of a carrier. Thus, al-
though the results are consistently recognized to be harsh,
these circuit courts correctly concluded that enforcement
of effective tariffs cannot be defeated (on theories of
fraud, estoppel, breach of contract or anything else) by
carrier misconduct in representing that the shipping
costs would be measured on some basis other than filed
tariffs.

The present case is a world apart. Unlike the others,
Zachry-Dillingham does not contend that the transaction
was induced by representations that non-tariff rates
would govern and does not seek to avoid the obligation
imposed by filed tariffs, of which it had not only con-
structive but also actual knowledge. The consequence of
APL’s existing tariffs was the very focus of Zachry-
Dillingham’s negotiations with APL, and, indeed, it was
misrepresentations that those tariffs would be changed
that gave rise to this controversy. None of the decisions

2 Four of the circuit cases cited on page 6 of APL’s Petition
(for supposed indirect conflict) involved similar unsuccessful at-
tempts to defend a carrier’s suit to collect tariffs: Jllinois Central
Gulf Railroad Co. v. Golden Triangle Wholesale Gas Co., 586 F.2d
588 (5th Cir. 1978); Missouri Pacific Railroad Co. v. Rutledge Oil
Co., 669 F.2d 557 (8th Cir. 1982); Consolidated Freightways Corp.
v. Terry Tuck, Inc., 612 F.2d 465 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 447 U.S.
907 (1980); Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railway Co. v. Bouziden,
307 F.2d 230 (10th Cir. 1962). The fifth, Paulson v. Greyhound
Lines, Inc., 804 F.2d 506 (8th Cir. 1986), involved a shipper’s suit
for damages resulting from late delivery, in which the shipper
contended that the transaction was induced by the carrier’s guaran-
tee of delivery within a time certain. Paulson lost because Grey-
hound’s published tariff foerebade time-of-delivery guarantees.
Zachry-Dillingham has no quarre! with the inapposite holdings for
which those decisions are cited by APL.

8

offered by APL precludes application of state consumer
law to protect against misrepresentations that existing
tariffs would be amended and to remedy the effect of
being bound to a shipping commitment that, but for that
kind of fraudulent conduct, would not have occurred. It
is one thing to say that a filed tariff sets the exclusive
shipping charge, but quite another to say that the exclu-
sivity of tariff charges can be used successfully as both
a sword of fraud and a shield from responsibility. This
is the precise reasoning of the Texas court of appeals
against whom the writ is sought.

B. After analyzing the criteria for determining fed-
eral preemption, the lower court correctly concluded
that Congress did not intend for the Shipping Act’s
tariff regulation to preempt state law redress for
the conduct in question.

This Court has held that, in the absence of congres-
sional declaration of preemptive intent, state law is pre-
empted only when Congress indicates an intent to occupy
a given field or when state law actually conflicts with
federal law. Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S.
238, 78 L. Ed. 2d 448, 452 (1984). Preemption to the
extent of conflict arises when compliance with both state
and federal laws is a “physical impossibility” or when
the state law “stands as an obstacle to the accomplish-
ment and execution of the full purposes and objectives
of Congress.” See Florida Lime & Avocado Growers,
Inc. v. Paul, 373 U.S. 132, 10 L. Ed. 2d 248, 256-57
(1963). This Court has applied a strong presumption
against federal preemption, particularly when the state
is exercising its police power through the legislation in
question. See id. at 256. Because the Texas deceptive
trade practice statutes represent an exercise of state
police powers, the strong presumption applies in this
case. See Brown v. American Transfer & Storage Co.,

9

601 S.W.2d 931, 938 (Tex.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 1015
(1980) .?

It is undisputed that the Shipping Act does not ex-
pressly preempt state law. Moreover, there is no lan-
guage in the Shipping Act remotely indicative of a con-
gressional intent to prohibit Texas from exercising police
power to protect its citizens against the kind of fraud
and deception allegedly perpetrated by APL. As the
lower court correctly reasoned, the overriding emphasis
of the Shipping Act is on the contractual responsibilities
and liabilities of carriers and shippers, particularly the
relationship between filed tariffs and charges for trans-
porting property and persons by water. Decisions like Aero
Trucking, supra, may properly rest on Congress’ creation
of uniform rules to govern the tariff-charge relation-
ship, but the Shipping Act evinces no intent to eliminate
state law recourse for fraud of another realm, that is,
fraud that does not adversely impact the exclusivity of
tariff-filed charges. See 46 U.S.C. §§ 801, 812-17. In an
analogous setting, the Supreme Court of Texas held that
the Carmack Amendment to the Interstate Commerce
Act did not preempt the deceptive practice statutes with
respect to misrepresentations occurring before formation
of the shipping contract. See Brown v. American Trans-
fer & Storage Co., supra, at 938.

3 The broad purpose of these statutes is to provide consumers
with protection from deceptive, false, misleading business practices
including unconscionable actions and breach of warranty. See Tex.
Bus. & Com. Code Ann. § 17.44 (Vernon 1987). In addition, the
Texas Legislature sought “to provide consumers [with] a cause of
action for deceptive trade practices without the burden of proof
and numerous defenses encountered in a common-law fraud or
breach of warranty suit. (Citations omitted).” Smith v. Baldwin,
611 S.W.2d 611, 616 (Tex. 1980). Furthermore, the possibility of
additional damages for a knowing violation of the statutes creates
an incentive for individual consumers to seek redress for deceptive
practices and also acts as a deterrent to such conduct. See Woods
v. Littleton, 554 S.W.2d 662, 670-71 (Tex. 1977).

is

10

Other than imposing penalties for providing discrimi-
natory services at less than the tariff rate, the Shipping
Act does not purport to regulate the general liability of
a common carrier such as APL. See 46 U.S.C. §§ 801,
812, 814-17. There is nothing in the Shipping Act or in
the decisions construing it suggesting that uniformity was
sought with respect to legal liability for fraud and decep-
tive practice preliminary to the function of the tariff-
charge relationship. Cf. Brown, supra, at 938. Unlike
the Aero Trucking situation, state law liability for the
fraudulent and deceptive conduct alleged against APL
would not intrude upon any goal or purpose of the Ship-
ping Act. Specifically, if Zachry-Dillingham prevails in
its state action, the Shipping Act’s tariff-charge rela-
tionship would remain inviolate, but protection left to
the police powers of the states would be afforded. For
those reasons, both the federal district court and the
Federal Maritime Commission refused to exercise juris-
diction over this controversy.

Nowhere does Texas remedial law purport to regulate
the shipping industry or the rates to be charged for
shipping goods. Texas law is implicated in the relation-
ship between a shipper and a carrier only if one of the
parties engages in conduct that would be actionable on
the part of anyone else similarly situated. Contrary to
APL’s thinly-veiled assertion on page 12 of its Petition,
liability under the statutes would not effectively “re-
quire a carrier to charge a rate different from the rate
in the published tariff... .” The statutes merely prevent
deceptive or unconscionable conduct from unjustly enrich-
ing a carrier or anyone else. In this respect, the stat-
utes foster, rather than conflict with, the aim of the
Shipping Act to:

enable American carriers and shippers te conduct in-
ternational ocean commerce transportation in a
stable, efficient and competitive manner within a fair
trade environment in which malpractices can be
found and punished.

a Ne

11

H.R. Rep. No. 53, 98th Cong., reprinted in 1984 U.S.
Code Cong. and Ad. News 183-84. It is thus certainly
clear that Texas law sought to be implemented here does
not frustrate Congress’ purpose in enacting the Shipping
Act. It would not be impossible for a carrier to comply
with both Texas law and the Shipping Act’s tariff-filing
system. In this instance, APL could have either re-
frained from representing that new tariffs would be filed
or filed the new tariffs as promised.

APL’s position is so grossly inequitable and overreach-
ing that it cannot possibly represent congressional intent.
According to APL, the actually filed tariff is the end-all
point for any discussion of the legal relationship between
a shipper and a carrier. Under its theory, a carrier has
carte blanche to misrepresent that a new tariff will be
filed to match a rate quotation better than competitors’
tariffs. After obtaining business in a fraudulent manner,
a carrier is supposedly fully protected by the Shipping
Act from state law liability even though it lifted no
finger to file the new tariff. In essence, APL argues that
Congress has bestowed upon carriers an absolute im-
munity to fraudulently induce contracts because nothing
in the Shipping Act prevents it or punishes for its ac-
complishment. Contrary to APL’s thesis, the Shipping
Act does not preempt private remedy for this kind of
fraud, and the states may impose liability for it against
a carrier just as they can against everyone else. The
Texas court of appeals correctly and forcefully rejected
APL’s “immunity” arguments.

C. The lower court’s holding is not contrary to deci-
sions of this Court.

APL’s “filed rate doctrine” argument is fragmented in
parts I and III of the Petition, both of which mention
decisions of this Court said to be dispositive on the same
subject. In this section of its brief, Zachry-Dillingham
will dispel APL’s notion that the following decisions of

ais

12

this Court compel a contrary result: Keogh v. Chicago
and Northwestern Railway Co., 260 U.S. 156, 163
(1922); Square D Co. v. Niagra Frontier Tariff Bu-
reau, Inc., 467 U.S. 409, 90 L.Ed.2d 413 (1986) ;
Chicago and North Western Transportation Co. v. Kalo
Brick & Tile Co., 450 U.S. 311 (1981); Arkansas Lowisi-
ana Gas Co. v. Hall, 453 U.S. 571 (1981).

Emphasizing that the Shipping Act was modeled after
the Interstate Commerce Act, this Court held that ‘“Con-
gress intended that the two Acts, each in its own field,
should have like interpretation, application and effect.”
United States Navigation Co. v. Cunard S.S. Co., 284
U.S. 474, 76 L. Ed. 408, 412 (1932), quoted in Inter-
Island Steam Navigation Co. v. Hawaii, 305 U.S. 306, 83
L. Ed. 189, 194 (1938) (Shipping Act did not preempt
Hawaiian regulation imposing fee on common carrier by
water). On that basis, APL contends in Parts I and III
of its Petition that this Court’s Interstate Commerce Act
decisions in Keogh v. Chicago and Northwestern Railway
Co., supra, and Square D Co. v. Niagra Frontier Tariff
Bureau, Inc., supra, demonstrate federal preemption for
the fraud and deception made the basis of Zachry-
Dillingham’s state action. APL is wrong.

The issues posed in Square D were whether Keogh
precluded anti-trust penalty damages and, if so, whether
the preclusion should remain viable. Jd. at 420. In an-
swering affirmative to both questions, the Court charac-
terized Keogh as establishing an anti-trust no-injury
rule based on the Interstate Commerce Commission’s ap-
proval of the tariffs in question, rather than a rule of
preemptive immunity from federal anti-trust laws. See
id. at 422, 425. In Square D, the Court retained the
Keogh rule because Congress had reenacted the appli-
cable laws without change subsequent to the Keogh in-
terpretation. Jd. at 425. Recognizing the narrow appli-
eation of the Keogh rule, the court impliedly reaffirmed
Carnation Co. v. Pacific Westbound Conference, 383 U.S.

a

13

213, 15 L.Ed.2d 709 (1966), noting that, in the absence
of Commission rate approval, “rate making accivities are
not immunized from antitrust scrutiny simply because
they occur in a regulated industry.” Id. at 425.

APL couches its argument on the following excerpt
from Keogh: “the rights as defined by the tariff can-
not be varied or enlarged by either contract or tort of
the carrier.” See Petition at 5. Aside from the limited
imprimatur given Keogh in Square D, the simple fact
of the matter is that Zachry-Dillingham’s state court ac-
tion does not seek to enlarge rights defined by the tariff.
Moreover, differences between the Interstate Commerce
Act and the Shipping Act make clear that the Keogh
rationale does not apply here. The Federal Maritime
Commission_does not establish just and reasonable rates.
See 46 U.S.C. $$ 815-17. In Square D, this Court noted:

Indeed, the Shipping Act gives the Federal Maritime
Commission far more limited authority over rates
than the Interstate Commerce Act gives the Inter-
state Commerce Commission. See 760 F.2d, at 1363
(“Although the [Federal Maritime Commission] can
and does take effects on competition into account in
approving conference agreements under 46 U.S.C.
§ 814 [46 U.S.C.S. § 814], . .. the Shipping Act
does not give the Commission any mandate to regu-
late rote competition and, indeed, the statutory
scheme was designed to minimize the role of the
FMC in this regard’’).

Id. at 425 (n.29).

This court’s decision in Chicago & North Western
Transportation Co. v. Kalo Brick & Tile Co., supra, in-
volved a tort action for damages caused by cessation of
rail service. See id. at 264. That common law action was
held preempted because not only had the Interstate Com-
merce Commission approved the cessation, but the ICC
had already considered every issue being raised in the
state court action. See id. at 270-71. Thus, not only was

—————————————————

14

cessation specifically regulated by federal law, but also
it had actually been litigated by a federal administra-
tive agency. See id. at 270. Here, there is no such specific
regulation, and not only did the Federal Maritime Com-
mission expressly decline to exercise jurisdiction, but the
Federal District Judge ruled that Zachry-Dillingham’s
suit did not belong in federal court.

Arkansas Louisiana Gas Co. v. Hall, supra, is a Fed-
eral Energy Regulatory Commission case. In a state
breach of contract suit, a seller of gas sought to enforce
contractual payment of sums at odds with its own tariffs.
This Court held that the state law “breach of contract”
action was preempted by the Commission’s authority over
rates through tariff-filing requirements. That decision
does not undermine the validity of the lower court’s opin-
ion in the present case, because the lower court similarly
ruled that Zachry-Dillingham’s breach of contract action
was preempted by the Shipping Act.

APL apparently relies on Hall because this Court dis-
missed as a factor the seller’s contention that the pur-
chaser’s fraudulent failure to disclose other purchases
prevented the seller from obtaining a higher permissible
rate. Again, difference in the roles of the two Com-
missions is critical. In Hall, this Court rejected the pur-
chaser’s non-disclosure as a factor partly because whether
the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission would have
approved a higher rate was purely a matter of specula-
tion. Important to that decision was the Court’s recogni-
tion that the Commission had the right to fix rates when
new schedules are proposed by the regulated party. See
id. at 863. There is no comparable provision in the Ship-
ping Act; in fact, the new tariffs promised by APL would
have been effective upon filing. Since Zachry-Dillingham’s
action is based on the regulated party’s fraud and decep-
tion in not filing new tariffs, the facts are so far removed
from those in Hall that the fraud question reserved in
Hall is clearly not presented by this case.

ee

15

II. Zachry-Dillingham’s state action is not preempted by

general maritime law.

In the lower courts, APL never identified the manner
in which the Texas law in question excessively burdens
or irreconcilably conflicts with maritime law. In es-
sence, APL’s motion for summary judgment and appel-
late briefs globally invoked “maritime law” and “ad-
miralty jurisdiction” as creating absolute bars. APL’s
argument in its Petition is but a shade or phase of the
“filed rate doctrine.”

APL’s position is contrary to decades of Supreme
Court decisions. “To claim that all enforced rights to
matters maritime are rooted in federal law is a destruc-
tive over-simplification of the highly intricate interplay
of the States and National Government in their regula-
tion of maritime commerce.” Romero v. International
Term. Operating Co., 358 U.S. 354, 3 L.Ed.2d 368
(1959). There are very few areas where federal and
state regulation overlap more than in maritime matters.
States have been permitted to use police powers to enact
laws on virtually every aspect of maritime laws. See id.
at 383.

Accordingly, it is well established that states may en-
act laws, pursuant to police powers, on a “wide-scope”
of maritime matters without impermissibly intruding
upon federal regulation of admiralty or maritime mat-
ters. See Askew v. American Waterways Operators, Inc.,
411 U.S. 325, 36 L.Ed.2d 280, 289 (1973); Romero,
supra at 382. When discussing the narrow preemptive
effect of maritime law, Justice Potter Stewart once
stated:

It is unnecessary here to delineate the “wide scope”
within which the States may legislate about things
maritime. To refute the notion that the high seas
are a species of federal enclave, it is sufficient to point
out that the Court has found state legislation pre-
empted on/y when the nature of the problem required
the application of a uniform rule or when the state
law unduly hampered maritime commerce. ... The
Court has never struck down a state law on the

16

ground that the States are jurisdictionally incom-
petent to legislate over matters that occur within
the ocean “territory.” (Citations omitted) (emphasis
by Justice Stewart).
Oil, Chem. & Atomic Workers, Int’l Union v. Mobil Oil
Corp., 426 U.S. 407, 48 L.Ed.2d 736, 755 (1976)
(Stewart, J. dissenting).

APL’s reliance on Offshore Logistics, Inc. v. Tallentire,
477 U.S. 207, 91 L.Ed.2d 174 (1986) is not at all
persuasive. The holding in Tallentire was based on de-
tailed expression of congressional intent, contained in the
Death on the High Seas Act, to occupy the field of litiga-
tion over wrongful death on the high seas. There is noth-
ing comparable in the Shipping Act, and APL points to
no other maritime law requiring a “uniform” resolution
of this dispute. The question pending in Chick Kam Choo
v. Exxon Corp., No. 87-505, appears to involve an obvious
clash between a well-defined rule of maritime forum non
conveniens and a state open-fcrum statute. See Chick
Kam Choo v. Exxon Corp., 817 F.2d 307 (5th Cir.), cert.
denied, USS. , 48 L.Ed.2d 369 (1987). We re-
spect to the present case, there are no laws in conflict.

CONCLUSION

APL’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be de-
nied. The Texas court of appeals did not err in holding
that redress for the conduct in question is not preempted
by the Shipping Act or maritime law. The lower court’s
decision is clearly not contrary to the rulings of this

Court. Respectfully submitted,
Of Counsel:

GROcE, LOCKE & HEBDON THOMAS H. CROFTs, JR.

A Professional Corporation 2000 Frost Bank Tower
2000 Frost Bank Tower San Antonio, Texas 78205
San Antonio, Texas 78205 (512) 225-3031

(512) 225-3031 Attorney for Respondent,

Zachry-Dillingham,
A Joint Venture

OOO

la
APPENDIX A
TEXAS BUSINESS AND COMMERCE CODE

§ 17.46. Deceptive Trade Practices Unlawful

(a) False, misleading, or deceptive acts or practices
in the conduct of any trade or commerce are hereby de-
clared unlawful and are subject to action by the con-
sumer protection division under Sections 17.47, 17.58,
17.60, and 17.61 of this code.

(b) Except as provided in Subsection (d) of this sec-
tion, the term “false, misleading, or deceptive acts or
practices” includes, but is not limited to, the following
acts:

(5) representing that goods or services have
sponsorship, approval, characteristics, ingredients,
uses, benefits, or quantities which they do not have
or that a person has a sponsorship, approval, status,
affiliation, or connection which he does not;...

(7) representing that goods or services are of a
particular standard, quality, or grade, or that goods
are of a particular style or model, if they are of
another;...

(9) advertising goods or services with intent not
to sell them as advertised; ...

(11) making false or misleading statements of
fact concerning the reasons for, existence of, or
amount of price reductions;

(12) representing that an agreement confers or
involves rights, remedies, or obligations which it
does not have or involve, or which are prohibited by
law;...

(14) misrepresenting the authority of a salesman,
representative or agent to negotiate the final terms
of a consumer transaction;...

2a

(19) representing that a guarantee or warranty
confers or involves rights or remedies which it does
not have or involve, provided, however, that nothing
in this subchapter shall be construed to expand the
implied warranty of merchantability as defined in
Sections 2.314 through 2.318 of the Business & Com-
merce Code to involve obligations in excess of those
which are appropriate to the goods;...

(23) the failure to disclose information concern-
ing goods or services which was known at the time
of the transaction if such failure to disclose such
information was intended to induce the consumer
into a transaction into which the consumer would not
have entered had the information been disclosed; ...

$17.50. Relief for Consumers

(a) A consumer may maintain an action where any
of the following constitute a producing cause of actual
damages:

(1) the use or employment by any person of a
false, misleading, or deceptive act or practice that
is specifically enumerated in a subdivision of Subsec-
tion (b) of Section 17.46 of this subchapter; .. .

(3) any unconscionable action or course of action
by any person;...

‘b) In a suit filed under this section, each consumer
who prevails may obtain:

(1) the amount of actual damages found by the
trier of fact. In addition the court shall award two
times that portion of the actual damages that does
not exceed $1,000. If the trier of fact finds that the
conduct of the defendant was committed knowingly,
the trier of fact may award not more than three
times the amount of actual damages in excess of
$1,000;...

3a
APPENDIX B

FEDERAL MARITIME COMMISSION
P.O. Box 30550
New Orleans, La. 70190
GULF DISTRICT

January 31, 1983

In Reply
Refer To: 73-INC-1-174

Mr. Jim Shaw

WTS of Houston, Inc.

2050 North Loop West, Suite 100
Houston, Texas 77018

Dear Mr. Shaw:

After review of the correspondence you furnished, it ap-
pears that the basic dispute between WTS of Houston,
Inc. and American President Lines (APL) seems to fall
upon a lack of clear communication between the for-
warder and carrier.

Inasmuch as we would like to be of assistance in this
matter there does not appear to be a violation of the
Shipping Act, 1916 on which a formal complaint might
be successfully lodged. Nor does there appear to be re-
course available under CFR 502.91 et seg. for special
docket application since no error or inadvertence in filing
appears to have occurred and APL is not willing to
enter such a proceeding at this time. The only recourse
apparently available is through civil suit for resolution
of this dispute.

We regret we cannot be of further assistance in this
matter, however if you have any further questions, please
contact Gulf District Investigator Jules Johnson at (504)
589-6662.

Sincerely,

GEORGE B. HARRY
Director, Gulf District

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1660%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
