# Opposition Brief — Office of Communication of the United Church of Christ v. Federal Communications Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1451%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 486 U.S. 1032

## Text

Nos. 87-1487,87-1506,
87-1510. and 87-1551;

SPANIOW, ee, -
es ma TERK ;

IN THE saree

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

OFFICE OF COMMUNICATION OF THE
UNITED CHURCH OF CHRIST,
“ Petitioner,
vi
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
AND UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondents.

CORPORATION FOR PUBLIC BROADCASTING, et al.,
Petitioners,
Vv.
CENTURY COMMUNICATIONS CORP., e¢ al.,

Respondents.

Petitioner for Writ of Certiorari to the United States
Court of Appeals For the District of Columbia Circuit

CONSOLIDATED BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS
CENTURY COMMUNICATION CORP., ET AL.
IN OPPOSITION TO THE PETITIONS
FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JOHN P. COLE., JR.*
COLE, RAYWID & BRAVERMAN
1919 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 659-9750
Attorney for Respondents
Century Communications
Corp., et al.
April 18, 1988
*Counsel of Record

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

Those Questions suggested by Petitioners are ar-
gumentative and evasive. The Questions presented

are:

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether FCC regulations which classify

speakers and, upon private-party demand,
mandate distribution and exhibition-for-
mat of the broadcast programming and
commercial advertising messages of select
class members over respondents’ closed-
circuit cable television systems, a causal
effect of which is displacement and exclu-
sion of other “‘equally protected’’ speakers
and communications, exceed the con-
straint imposed, or unlawfully abridge
freedoms protected, under the Speech and
Press Clause of the First Amendment to
the U.S. Constitution.

. Whether FCC regulations which compel

that respondents’ cable television systems,
without compensation, dedicate a signifi-
cant portion of their privately owned, fi-
nite transmission capacity and electronic
distribution facilities to exhibition of the
programming and commercial announce-
ments of prescribed television _broadcast
stations, upon demand of the station li-
censees, constitute a taking of
respondents’ property in contravention of
the Due Process and Just Compensation
Clauses of the Fifth Amendment to the
U.S. Constitution.

il

LIST OF PARTIES

Joint respondents here, joint petitioners in the court
below, each of which owns and operates cable tele-
vision systems, are:

CENTURY COMMUNICATIONS CORP.

CHASCO CABLEVISION, LTD.

CLEARVIEW CABLEVISION
ASSOCIATES II

COLUMBIA ASSOCIATES, L.P.

DANIELS & ASSOCIATES, INC.

LANDMARK CABLEVISION
ASSOCIATES

MONMOUTH CABLEVISION
ASSOCIATES

MASADA COMMUNICATIONS, INC.

NATIONAL CABLESYSTEMS, INC.

OCB CABLEVISION, INC.

OCEAN ASSOCIATES

RIVERVIEW CABLEVISION
ASSOCIATES

ST. CHARLES CATV, INC.

UNITED CABLE TELEVISION CORP.

The stock of respondents Century Communications
Corp. and United Cable Television Corp. are publicly
traded. All other respondents are privately-held busi-
ness entities. Collectively, these joint respondents op-
erate more than 200 separate cable television systems
throughout the United States serving in excess of 2.5
million subscribing homes.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
ee: | Te i
eee ii
I MINIT 5.15 ccacccancnscccsnscmesencdseunsacceesce ill
TABLE OF AUTBORITIES .........:00:cccccccsccccccocccccccccecsss iv
SI RII oc cacscnetnssicesscnnnovssensencocbumcaanacers
STATEMENT OF THE CASE o...........ccccccccsesessessesecceees 3
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT .........ccccccccccceeeee 10

1. O'Brien, On Its Face, Is Inapposite to Re-
view of those FCC Regulations at Issue .... 10

A. The “Constitutional Power of the Gov-

Et FRET ea ea ce Ee 11
B. The “‘Substantiality” of the ‘““Governmen-

I 13
C. The Relationship of the ‘Governmental

Interest” to Speech .............cccccccccscccsccees 14
D. Must-Carry As an “Incidental Restriction

on Alleged First Amendment Freedoms”

2. The Court Below Reached the Correct Con-
clusion, and Indeed the Only One It Could,
on the First Amendment Question ............. 23
3. There Are No Conflicting Decisions Ren-
dered by Other Federal Courts on the Same
SHRI actos SOO Ne OO 26

a 28

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page
Black Hills Video Corp. v. F.C.C., 399 F.2d 65

(Sth Cir. 1968) .......ccscesseeseeseesseereseeseeseeeeensenaeees 26,27
Bolling v. Sharpe, 347 U.S. 497 (1954) «.-...-s+++0+ 16
Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1 (1976) ..........+-.. 12,15,17,24
C.B.S., Inc. v. Democratic National Committee,

A412 U.S. 94 (19738) ................ccseeeeeeeeecorees 15,23,24,38
Capital Cities Cable, Inc. v. Crisp, 467 U.S. 691

(1984) ..esceccescesscessesseereescesseesesssceneeseennssneensenes 27

Century Communications Corp. v. F.C.C., 835 F.2d
292 (D.C. Cir. 1986), clarified, 837 F.2d 517

(D.C. Cir. 1988) .....sccscesceeceseesseerseeseneesesnetenseees passim
City of Los Angeles v. Preferred Communications,

Inc., 476 U.S. 488 (1986) ........ssscceseeereeeereeeenesees 3,4,5
Consolidated Edison v. Public Service Commission

of New York, 447 U.S. 530 CTBBD) nncerccccosncecs 25
Elrod v. Burns, 427 U.S. 347 (1976) .......:sseeeeeeees 19
FCC. v. Florida Power Corp., 107 S.Ct. 1107

(1987) ..sccesccssssccsssssssenseescescescsssesersensesnssnsenesnees 25
F.C.C. v. Midwest Video Corp., 440 U.S. 689

(1979) ..escescssscesccsssecsenscsesssccsscssssensensesncsncssnssess 27
First English Lutheran Church v. Los Angeles

County, 107 S.Ct. 2378 (1987) -.--.seseeerseeeeees 25
First National Bank of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S.

TOD (1978) ...esscsescessssececeesseeeeeeereccenesernessnsenerens 12
Fortnightly Corp. v. United Artists, 392 U.S. 390

(1968) ....esccsscesscsssesceerenscesccessssennssssennesennescnes 23
Houchins v. KQED, Inc., 438 U.S. 1 (1978) ........ 21
Lilly v. United States, 238 F.2d 584 (4th Cir.

1956) ....esccssccsscccsecserceesersnscenerssessenssssncenneennnes 23
Louisiana ex rel. Gremillion v. N.A.A.C.P., 366 USS.

293 (1961) ....scceseccescscceseeeeereesereseneeesensensnneones 18
Metromedia, Inc. v. San Diego, 453 U.S. 490

(1981) ......s-cccccssseececeeccrscssnsncersessssnsncocssscccsnseers 16

Table of Authorities Continued
Page
Miami Herald Publishing Co. v: Tornillo, 418 U.S.
RE TT inhibits ae 12,14,19

Midwest Video Corp. v. F.C.C., 571 F.2d 1025 (8th
Cir. 1978), aff'd. on other grounds, 440 U.S.
Ge GION - snacicteintaiessienihinesdieeibatesiideiceniaedn it 26

Minneapolis Star and Tribune Co. v. Minnesota
Commissioner of Revenue, 460 U.S. 573

SUPT uisticheidhianbsenaPhaitisbeiniiis nediegls tated ee ee 12,25
National Broadcasting Co. v. United States, 319
Jd. BUNGEE cédnctinesseousdciaieadtaiananine 23

Quincy Cable TV, Inc. v. F.C.C., 768 F.2d 1434
(D.C. Cir. 1985), cert. denied sub nom. National
Association of Broadcasters v. Quincy Cable

TV, Inc., 476 U.S. 1169 (1986) ooo eeeecceeeee 3,9
Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. F.C.C., 395 U.S.

Pe CIE pibuikksanbiashatetennesneiaial acne name 15,23,24
S.E.C. v. Chenery Corp., 318 U.S. 80 (1948) ......... 23,26
Teleprompter Corp. v. C.B.S., 415 U.S. 394

COUT dncsnisinsionnscdeenidaiaieaa eee 23
United States v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367 (1968) ..... passim
United States v. Southwestern Cable Co., 392 U.S.

See GONE > idcedis ee ee 27
Young v. American Mini Theatres, 427 U.S. 50

PION dleiabtasnssaidessaueinne a kee eee 12

FCC DECISIONS

Report and Order in MM Docket No. 85-349, 1 FCC
Red 864 (1986) (“Report and Order” or

WEEE OP dcbbisdeid dann eon ee passim
U.S. CONSTITUTION
Ces SIs IEF iio conccncenccrincocarnisioionbaeeecra passim
Us CO SE FF heck eee ee 25
STATUTE

5 Wn UU csiiensiadoonsnnoedasee ee 14

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

FCC REGULATIONS
GT CPB. GIGB cercrcccccccccccscccscsssccesccecsscsecsscssosenscess 5,6
GT CB Bes BOOT cccccevencsceccecsceseseccnsccnssececensesesenseses 5
GT CHB, GIGI ccecscesceseovccccccsecessncsessrsscvessonseseveess 5,6
BT CTP BR TRG cccecsecseccesccctsscescsesessviscssuscscnnsvenses 5,6
GE CE. BUCID ceciecncsctscoseccescessssesscesensovecsesnscseenes 5
GT CHP. GIGI ccccccccccccsccocscsoscsccssentnccosseossssscsseses ake
BT GPR GIGI ccccccssscsssecsscctesasvcscrssteiansisemnnenee 5
QT CP RR. GIGI ccccecccccccscccscssescescocvesessssonesassosssonss 5
MISCELLANEOUS
Webster’s Third New International Dictionary

CRIED — ccacenccnceteccossonssecnseseccesuscnsnnseusansnsessennabeese 17

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1987

Nos. 87-1487, 87-1506,
87-1510 and 87-1551

OrFriceE Or COMMUNICATION OF THE
UnrTep CHURCH OF CHRIST,
Petitioner,
Vv.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION
and UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.
Respondents.

CORPORATION FoR PUBLIC BROADCASTING, et al..
Petitioners,

V.

CENTURY COMMUNICATIONS CorP., et al..,
Respondents.

Petitions for Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
For the District of Columbia Circuit

CONSOLIDATED BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS CENTURY
COMMUNICATIONS CORP., ET AL. IN OPPOSITION TO
THE PETITIONS FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Respondents Century Communications Corp., et al.
(hereinafter ‘“‘Century”’ or “‘respondents’’), owners and

operators of cable television systems throughout the
United States and the lead petitioners in the court
below, oppose those separate petitions of (1) Office
of Communication of the United Church of Christ, (2)
Corporation for Public Broadcasting, et al., (3) Na-
tional Association of Broadcasters, and (4) Association
of Independent Television Stations, Inc. (hereinafter
jointly referred to as “‘petitioners’’).'

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals, dated Decem-
ber 11, 1987, is reported at 835 F.2d 292 (D.C. Cir.
1987) and reprinted in the Petitioners’ Appendix
(“‘App.””) at la-28a. On January 29, 1988, the same
court issued a “‘clarifying’’ Order, which is reported
at 837 F.2d 517 (D.C. Cir. 1988) and also reprinted
in the Appendix at 29a-3la. The D.C. Circuit opinion
reviewed the FCC’s Report and Order of August 7,
1986 adopting must-carry rules, 1 F.C.C. Red. 864
(1986) (““R&O’’) reprinted in Petitioners’ Appendix

‘ While three of the four petitioners designate Century, et al.
as respondents, petitioner Office of Communication of The United
Church of Christ (No. 87-1487) names here the Federal Com-
munications Commission and the United States as ‘‘respondents’’.
Yet United Church’s primary contention was below and is here
to support the underlying constitutionality of the rules at issue.
Its only difference with the FCC is that such rules do not go
far enough in detail to satisfy it and the fact that they were
designated “‘interim’”’ (i.e., to expire five (5) years after adop-
tion). The thrust of United Church’s petition seems to be that
the underlying concept of the must-carry reguiations is consti-
tutionally sound and should have been sustained below, at least
conceptually, on statutory grounds. United Church, we reiterate,
is a vigorous promoter of must-carry regulation and stands fun-
damentally on the side of the FCC in this case.

32a-204a, reconsid. denied, 2 F.C.C. Red. 3593 (1987),
Appendix 205a-330a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves rulemaking by the Federal Com-
munications Commission (““FCC’’) which produced a
new set of content-based regulations referred to as
“‘must-carry” rules.2 Century Communications Corp.,
et al., respondents here but petitioners below, jointly
challenged the lawfulness of these rules on a variety
of constitutional (First and Fifth Amendment) and
statutory grounds, and the court of appeals, finding
it necessary to decide only the First Amendment
question, vacated the regulations as unconstitutional.
The subject petitions followed.

The Court recently has had occasion to review cable
television within the framework of franchising by local
governmental authority, including market-entry fac-
tors, all within the context of First Amendment im-
plications.* Preferred presented the question of the
power of a municipality to require one to obtain a
municipal “franchise” permitting installation of a per-
manent cable television distribution system within the
community. More particularly, Preferred raised issues
relating to the nature of such ‘‘franchising’’ authority
and the extent to which cities might go in condition-

* The first set of must-carry rules, which had been effective
over two decades, was declared unconstitutional as incompatible
with the First Amendment in Quincy Cable TV, Inc. v. F.C.C.,
768 F.2d 1434 (D.C. Cir. 1985), cert. denied sub nom. National
Association of Broadcasters v. Quincy Cable TV, Inc., 476 U.S.
1169 (1986).

* City of Los Angeles v. Preferred Communications, Inc., 476
U.S. 488, (1986).

ing entry and use of public rights-of-way by a cable
operator. Finding there that the activities of cable
systems “plainly implicate First Amendment inter-
ests’, 476 U.S. at 494, the Court, citing United States
v. O’Bren, 391 U.S. 367 (1968), further noted that
‘“‘where speech, and conduct are joined in a single
course of action, the First Amendment values must
be balanced against competing societal interests’, 476
U.S. at 495. The Court concluded that those particular
issues before it in Preferred involved considerably
more than just communicative activity in that they
also encompassed physical establishment and main-
tenance of a complex of cable-lines and other facilities
over and under public streets and rights-of-way. Re-
manding that case for a fully developed record, the
Court stated:

We think that we may know more than we
know now about ... the present uses of the
public utility poles and rights-of-way and how
[the cable operator] proposes to install and
maintain its facilities on them.

Preferred, 476 U.S. at 495.4

Preferred, therefore, combined that ‘‘element of
conduct” (e.g., permanent installation of cable plant
within city streets) with “‘some of the aspects of
speech and the communication of ideas as.do the tra-
ditional enterprises of newspapers” (476 U.S. at 494),
thereby joining ‘‘in a single course of action” ‘‘com-
municative activity’”’ and ‘‘conduct’’. As such, the

4 See also id. at 496 (Blackmun, J. concurring) (The Court’s
opinion in Preferred ‘“‘leaves open the question of the proper
standard for judging First Amendment challenges to a munici-
pality’s restriction of access to cable facilities’).

O’Brien standard of review plays there a pivotal role
in fashioning the parameters of permissible regulation
even though the exercise of speech freedom may
thereby be incidentally restricted. The Preferred-type
issue is yet to be resolved in any definitive sense by
the Court and is one undoubtedly to be revisited.

The instant case, however, raises First Amendment
questions quite different and apart from those con-
fronting the Court in Preferred. This case involves
only federal regulation of communicative activity via
the medium of established cable television lines. It is
facial content-regulation by Government that is here
at issue. That element of relevant ‘‘conduct’’, essen-
tial to an O’Brien analysis, is nowhere present. Fol-
lowing Quincy, the FCC promulgated a new set of
“must carry” rules, the purpose and function of which,
once again, was directly to control the content and
distribution-format of those communications trans-
mitted over cable lines. The rules in question are
relatively simple and are codified at 47 C.F.R. §§
76.5, 76.55, 76.56, 76.58, 76.60, 76.62, 76.64 and 76.66
(1987). They also are reprinted in the Petitioners’
Appendix at 177a-187a.

By this current version of must-carry regulation,
the FCC again frontally supervises ‘‘content”’ through
classifying various speakers and then designating cer-
tain speech sources which must be distributed and
exhibited on a highly favored basis over cable-tele-
vision media.® Specifically, these FCC rules favor:

5 See, e.g., Rule §76.62, App. 184a. It is noted that all parties
below concurred in the proposition that all of the ‘‘speech” and
all of those ‘‘speakers’”’ presently or potentially affected by the
must-carry rules at issue are fully and equally protected under
the First Amendment.

¢ The speech of certain ‘‘qualified’’ “‘local’’
broadcast licensees over that of “‘distant”’
television stations (Rule §§76.5(d) and
76.56).

e The speech of the more popular, financially
secure ‘‘local’’ broadcast licensees over that
of other smaller, less popular and less af-
fluent ‘‘local’’ licensees (Rule §76.5(d)).®

e The speech of ‘‘public’”’ (non-commercial)
“‘local’’ broadcast licensees over that of

other local stations, and indeed over all
speakers (Rule §76.56(a)1)).

e The speech of “‘local’”’ broadcast licensees,
provided they satisfy the established “‘pop-
ularity”” standard, over that of all non-
broadcast speakers regardless of location
or popular appeal (Rule §§76.5(d) and
76.56).

e The speech of newly operational “‘locai
broadcast licensees, at least for one year,
over the speech of new cable programmers
(and indeed over everyone except a non-
commercial station) (Rule §76.5(d\ii)).

e The speech of a prescribed quota of local
“‘qualified’’ television licensees over the dis-
cretion of cable operators in their capacity
as speaker, editor, arranger and distributor
(Rule §76.56(a)(2)).

See also Rule §76.58 (App. 182a-83a) whereby the
FCC confers itself with the power to resolve all dis-

® See also Report and Order, 44144-146, App. 115a-117a.

putes regarding speech distribution and to impose.
monetary forfeitures upon those who fail to comply
with its directives.’

The FCC candidly acknowledged that these new
regulations constitute a comprehensive supervision of
speech activity and that their primary function is di-
rectly to intrude upon and compromise editorial dis-
cretion. As represented by the Report and Order
giving birth to these rules:

¢ “This editorial function whereby cable op-
erators select and tailor their program mix
to meet viewer interests or other objec-
tives is akin to that performed by publish-
ers of print media.” (R&O, 4120, App.
97a).

e “(W]e recognize must carry rules are a
stringent form of regulation that intrude
on cable operators’ free speech rights”’
(R&O, 4138, App. 110a-111a).

e ‘“‘We note that the interim rules are less
intrusive on cable operators’ editorial dis-
cretion than the former rules ...” (R&O,
4138, App. 111a).

7 The Court, we trust, will note the remarkable extent to which
the subject petitions avoid all discussion of the workings of those
rules which are the subject of this case. Their reason is obvious:
The stated purpose and methodology of the regulations consti-
tute a per se indictment of their lawfulness.

® Must-carry does not, as such, censor the content of any par-
ticular message but rather intrudes to classify speakers and to
mandate and supervise the presentation of the speech of des-
ignated class-members over cable TV media.

e “{W]e find persuasive the more recent
court analyses which conclude that cable’s
First Amendment rights are subject to a
stringent review [as would apply in the
case of a newspaper] (R&O, 4184, App.
141a).

e “‘Whereas [incidental burdens on speech]
are assessed under the balancing standard
enunciated in [O’Brien], content-based reg-
ulations are subject to a far more stringent
standard” (R&O, 9185, App. 142a-48a).

e “Like the court in Quincy, we recognize
that the same O’Brien test would apply to
newspapers in assessing the constitution-
ality of a content-neutral rule” (R&O, 9187
n. 150, App. 144a).

e “{The] must-carry rules are configured ...
so that the effects on cable operators’ ed-
itorial discretion and cable programmers’
access to the public are no more severe
than necessary ...” (R&O, 4189, App.
146a).°

As was the case with the prior, unconstitutional rules,
certain favored licensees of television stations are once
more ‘‘guaranteed the right to convey their messages
over the cable system while [non-broadcast] cable pro-
grammers [and now ‘‘unqualified”’ local stations] must.

*The FCC did not further elaborate upon the source of its
authority to judge the permissible “‘severity’’ of a restraint placed
by it on the “‘cable operators’ editorial discretion’.

vie for a proportionately diminished number of chan-
nels’’.}°

The FCC and the court below, reaching dramati-
cally different conclusions, relied upon this Court’s
O’Brien standard as the appropriate test in examining
the constitutionality of these regulations.'! The
petitioners here, with the exception of the Office of
Communication of the United Church of Christ, sim-
ilarly assert that O’Brien is the appropriate standard
of judicial review, but they further urge upon the
Court that the D.C. Circuit erred in imposing ‘an
unreasonably heavy evidentiary burden on the FCC
to demonstrate’’ compliance with the O’Brien crite-
ria.}?

10 Quincy Cable TV, 768 F.2d at 1451. While respondents, each
a cable-system operator, assert here an invasion of their editorial
discretion, there is the separate constitutional perspective of the
independent programmer (including the ‘‘unqualified’’ local sta-
tion) seeking to distribute its message over the cable medium
and who is directly frustrated by that governmental preference
officially accorded the favored class of speakers. In both in-
stances, exercise of a constitutionally protected activity is fron-
tally and consciously restricted by a regulation designed to
achieve just such end. The crucial question, equally applicable
to the “rights’’ of cable operators and cable programmers alike,
is whether the constraint and protections of the First Amend-
ment foreclose such regulation.

11 The court below took the position that it was “‘unnecessary”’
to “resolve [the] vexing question” of the appropriate standard
of constitutional review since “‘the new, scaled-back edition [of
must-carry rules] fails to satisfy even the less demanding first
amendment test of United States v. O’Brien whose use here is
advocated by the FCC’’. Century, App. 15a. Nonetheless the
appeals court opinion does heavily lean toward O’Brien as the
appropriate standard (e.g., Jd., App. 17a-18a, and see App. 31a).

12 Petition of Corporation for Public Broadcasting, p. i. See

a

10

Respondents urge, as they have from the outset,
that O’Brien is inapposite to review of the regulations
at bar. All parties appear to agree (or, at least, con-
cede) that if O’Brien is perchance an improper stand-
ard by which to measure the constitutionality of the
FCC’s must-carry regulations, the rules must fall as
incompatible with the First Amendment.

REASONS FOR DENYING
THE WRIT

1. O’Brien, On Its Face, Is Inapposite to Review of
those FCC Regulations At Issue

That the activity of communication by cable tele-
vision, in the context of a Preferred examination, calls
for application of an O’Brien standard of review does
not mean that such standard is universally to be the
test in all matters involving cable and the First
Amendment—especially where, as here, it is exclu-
sively content regulation that is at issue. In O’Brien,
the Court reiterated the principle ‘‘that a government
regulation [of a nonspeech element of conduct] may
be sufficiently justified [even where First Amendment
freedoms are incidentally restricted] if’:

(i) “it is within the constitutional power of
the Government”’;

(ii) “it furthers an important or substantial
governmental interest’;

also Petition of Association of Independent Television Stations,
Inc., p. 1. The position taken by petitioner United Church is that
a mix of statutory obligations imposed on the FCC by Congress
takes precedence over these constitutional concerns.

11

(iii) “‘the governmental interest is unrelated
to the suppression of free expression;
and”’

(iv) “the incidental restriction on alleged
First Amendment freedoms is no greater
than is essential to the furtherance of
that interest’.

United States v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. at 376-77. Applli-
cation of an O’Brien evaluation requires that each of
these four criteria be independently satisfied. Jd. at
377. It is a threshold examination; and, as demon-
strated infra, must-carry regulation fails at each junc-
ture. Other than the asserted O’Brien rationale,
neither the FCC nor petitioners suggests a basis upon
which to justify direct, content-intrusive regulation of
speech and media.

We examine, in order, each of those four (4) O’Brien
qualifying criteria specifically in the context of the
must-carry regulations under review.

A. The ‘Constitutional Power of the Govern-
ment’”’: The first, and most critical, hurdle to be
crossed is a showing that the rules on their face are
presumably constitutional in terms of consistency of
purpose and means. This minimally comprehends some
preliminary analysis of the regulatory scheme and its
mechanics, and a reasoned judgment. Must-carry (i.e.,
mandating content as well as a facial classification
and prioritization of fully protected speech and speak-
ers for distribution and publication over independently
owned, fully protected communications media) is, in
its most favorable light, presumptively not ‘‘within

12

the constitutional power of the Government’’."* The
thesis, openly espoused by the FCC, is that Govern-
ment, provided only that its objective is deemed “‘rea-
sonable” or ‘necessary’, may directly supervise
content to substantively discriminate between equally
protected speakers. Such regulation, we submit, is per
se unconstitutional.'* Must-carry unquestionably con-
stitutes a form of ‘“‘censorship’’.* Instead of preli-
minarily considering the underlying constitutionality

13 The avowed function of must-carry regulation, albeit under
the cover of a public purpose, is to “‘restrict the speech of some
elements of society in order to enhance’’ that of the favored
licensee class, a concept universally condemned in principle by
the Court as ‘‘wholly foreign to the First Amendment”. Buckley
v. Valeo, 424 U.S. 1, 49-50 (1976). See also First National Bank
of Boston v. Bellotti, 435 U.S. 765 (1978); Minneapolis Star and
Tribune Co. v. Minnesota Commissioner of Revenue, 460 U.S.
573 (1983).

‘4 While a “‘compelling’’ State interest or the application of a
relevant “categorization” doctrine might possibly serve to justify
direct governmental control over the dissemination and reception
of protected speech, no such claim has been asserted here by
the FCC, the agency relying instead upon a subjective weighing
of various ‘‘factors”’ to justify its acknowledged ‘‘intrusion’”’ and
“restrictions” on the exercise of protected freedoms. The theory,
candidly advanced by the FCC, is that the ‘‘objective’’ of its
policy sufficiently outweighs, and therefore ‘‘justifies’’, the re-
straint. According to the Commission, it is Government’s purpose
in directly supervising speech and favoring certain speakers that
may adequately validate the chosen means—boot-strapping of the
most primitive, objectionable variety.

‘5 Fg. Young v. American Mini Theatres, 427 U.S. 50, 64
(1976) (“The essence of .. . forbidden censorship is content con-
trol’). See also Miami Herald Publishing Co. v. Tornillo, 418
U.S. 241, 256 (1974XA law requiring publication ‘‘operates as a
command in the same sense as a statute or regulation forbidding
[distribution of] specified matter’’).

13

of must-carry, as O’Brien prescribes, the FCC, with-
out examination or articulation, asswmes the validity
of its regulation. Thereby, that preemptive assess-
ment, which must affirmatively and rationally be re-
solved if the ‘“‘balancing’”’ scales of O’Brien are to
play any further role in the constitutional analysis, is
quietly (i.e., without mention) avoided. By so preor-
daining its judgment and thereby arbitrarily abbre-
viating the process, the FCC fatally discounts ab initio
the First Amendment. That which follows only com-
pounds the error.

B. The ‘‘Substantiality’’ of the ‘Governmental
Interest”: The stated ‘‘governmental interest” of
must-carry is to protect and promote the speech of
a select class of broadcast licensees vis-a-vis all other
speakers. The means chosen to perfect such “‘inter-
est” is establishment of “‘qualifying’’ criteria for entry
into the favored class and the award to class members
of special distribution rights for their speech. FCC
Rule §76.5(d), App. 180a-182a. The court below, comb-
ing the agency record, found no requisite “‘substan-
tiality’”’ of governmental interest nor even a
demonstrated ‘‘need”’ for the regulation. To the con-
trary, it did hold that the rules are “predicated not
upon substantial evidence but rather upon several
highly dubious assertions. . . .”” Century, App. 18a. See
also id. at 4a (finding “‘that the new must-carry rules
are [un]necessary to advance any substantial govern-
mental interest ...’’). Thus, must-carry, in isolation,
flunks even this most lenient segment of constitutional
examination.'®

6 The ‘“‘substantiality’ of the government’s “‘interest’’, we
urge, is demonstrably not a relevant consideration where the

14

C. The Relationship of the ‘‘Governmental Inter-
est’”’ to Speech: The designated target of must-carry
is not any “‘nonspeech element”’ of a cable operator's
conduct, but is rather speech (i.e., the operator’s ex-
ercise of “editorial discretion’ in the selection and
distribution of protected communications). The FCC
concedes that its ‘‘must carry rules are a stringent
form of regulation that intrude on cable operators’
free speech rights” (R&O, 4138, App. 111a), but, ac-
cording to the agency, “‘the effects on cable operators’
editorial discretion and cable programmers’ access to
the public are no more severe than necessary ...”
(R&O, 9189, App. 146a).!7 Not only do such repre-
sentations directly contradict substantial First
Amendment values, they constitute here extraordi-
nary admissions of constitutional infirmity.'* ‘‘Con-

regulation at issue squarely confronts the command of the First
Amendment (as here, a direct, content-based intrusion on edi-
torial discretion).

‘7 Freely admitting that the rules directly intrude on “free
speech rights” and “editorial discretion’’ thereby frontally re-
stricting these protected freedoms, the FCC does not discuss its
underlying authority to adopt such extraordinary regulations.
See, e.g., 47 U.S.C. §326—the anti-censorship provision of the
Communications Act. The Constitution aside, the Act itself would
seem organically to deny the administrative agency such awe-
some powers.

8 Miami Herald Publishing Co., 418 U.S. at 258 (‘“‘[W]hether
fair or unfair [].... [i]t has yet to be demonstrated how gov-
ernmental regulation of [editorial discretion] can be exercised
consistent with First Amendment guarantees of a free press as
they have evolved to this time’). The FCC strays so far afield
as to represent: “Like the court in Quincy, we recognize that
the same O’Brien test would apply to newspapers in assessing
the constitutionality of a content-neutral rule” (R&O, 4187 n.
150, App. 144a).

15

duct’”’, in the O’Brien sense or context, is nowhere
to be found in the must-carry scenario.'* The focus
of the FCC’s “‘interest” is the direct supervision of
speech distribution and, with even more particularity,
the conscious advancement and protection of the
speech of an already privileged class.” The essential
theme of the rule is to favor the speech of a select
few and, correspondingly, to suppress that of others.
That the FCC may subjectively declare its regulatory
goal ‘‘noble” or public-interest spirited, even if true,
does nothing to cosmeticize or ameliorate the full im-
plications of the First Amendment.” Neither may a
laudatory purpose, however genuine, obviate here the
mandate to track the prescription of O’Brien.” There

'% See, e.g., Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. at 16-17 (“Some forms
of communication ... involve speech alone [and] some involve
conduct primarily ...’’ (Jd. at 17). And it is only the latter that
“reduce[s] the exacting scrutiny required by the First Amend-
ment” (Jd. at 16)). Must-carry unquestionably comprehends the
regulation of “‘speech’’..

2 See, e.g., C.B.S., Inc. v. Democratic National Committee, 412
U.S. 94, 101 (1973). See also Quincy Cable TV, 768 F.2d at
1452-53 (“{MJust-carry rules transfer control to local broad-
casters who already have a delivery mechanism granted by the
government without cost and capable of bypassing the cable
system altogether’). “[A]dvantages [of a broadcast license] are
the fruit of a preferred position conferred by the Government
..." Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v F.C.C., 395 U.S. 367, 400
(1969).

21 Houchins v. KQED, Inc., 438 U.S. 1, 13 (1978) (Decision-
makers ‘“‘must not confuse what is ‘good’, ‘desirable’ or ‘expe-
dient’ with what is constitutionally commanded by the First
Amendment. To do so is to trivialize constitutional adjudica-
tion’’).

22 Even conceding there to be some measure of potential merit
in the FCC’s must-carry regime, such cannot serve to coalesce

16

is nothing “‘indirect’’, “neutral” or ‘“noncommunica-
tive” in the Government’s “interest” or in the reg-
ulation’s application to speech activity. ‘‘Neutrality”’
can hardly be viable contention where the primary
purpose of Government is officially to establish and
promote, as between equally protected speakers, a
preferred class of speaker. This aspect of the rule,
standing alone, would appear per se to breach as well
that venerable principle of Equal Protection Under
the Law. Bolling v. Sharpe, 347 U.S. 497 (1954). If
one class of speaker is to be governmentally created
and then favored over other speakers—the raison
d'etre of must-carry—the scheme is by definition di-
rectly related ‘‘to the suppression of free expression’”’,
thus precluding use of an O’Brien evaluation.*> Gov-

the O'Brien standard of constitutional review into essentially a
public-interest judgment where administrative expertise and
agency discretion constitute the weight of authority.

*8 Compare, e.g., Metromedia, Inc. v. San Diego, 453 U.S. 490,
502 (1981) (“{T]he government has legitimate interests in con-
trolling the noncommunicative aspects of the medium ..., but
the First and Fourteenth Amendments foreclose a similar in-
terest in controlling the communicative aspects’’).

* The theory of the FCC is that by affirmatively compelling
cable distribution of the message of the preferred “‘broadcast”’
speaker, unspecified First Amendment “values” will be achieved
thereby off-setting the infringement. Such altogether ignores the
bedrock principle that the role of the Speech and Press Clause
is foremost to foreclose Government from such intrusive regu-
lation, whatever the goal or rationale.

*5 See, e.g., Consolidated Edison v. Public Service Commission
of New York, 447 U.S. 530, 533-536 (1980) (Even a restriction
based on a “compelling state interest’’ must manifest an inher-
ent ‘‘neutrality’’). If the “concept that government may restrict
the speech of some ... in order to enhance the relative voice
of others is [indeed] wholly foreign to the First Amendment”,

17

ernment, we submit, is powerless to fevor by sub-
stantive regulation the message of one class of
speaker over another where both possess equal en-
titlement to the protections of the First Amendment.
The unique mechanics of must-carry—official estab-
lishment of a speaker-hierarchy and creation of sys-
tematic speech preferentials—would seem therefore to
warrant something more than reliance upon O’Brien.

D. Must-Carry as an “Incidental Restriction on
Alleged First Amendment Freedoms’’: There is
nothing conceivably “incidental” about must-carry’s
intended application to and actual effect upon the
freedom of speech and press.”* The modus operandi
of the rule is directly to govern the make-up and flow
of communications over a concededly protected me-
dium pursuant to FCC specifications.’ The rule was
promulgated with the specified purpose of promoting
the speech of some and constricting the recognized
speech freedoms of others. The Government’s calcu-
lated objective is to mandate content through the ac-
knowledged, extraordinary device of restricting the

Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S. at 49-50, it would seem that this
aspect of must-carry regulation would invite some discussion
from proponents of the regime. No one (not even the court
below) faces up to this glaring infirmity in the regulation.

2 “Incidental” is defined as “‘subordinate, nonessential, or at-
tend:at in position or significance: occurring merely by chance
or without intention or calculation ...”. Webster’s Third New
International Dictionary, Unabridged (1976). The court below,
inexplicably, never does consider whether must-carry constitutes
merely an “incidental infringement of speech”. See Century, App.
4a.

27 “Incidental” does not mean, as the beneficiaries of the rule
imply, that the abridgment should, in degree, be subjectively
“acceptable” and, therefore, judicially overlooked.

18

communicator’s editorial discretion. Neither is there
anything problematic or ‘‘alleged’’ regarding those
guaranteed freedoms here at issue. It is indeed the
FCC that accurately characterized the subject regu-
lation as a “stringent ... intru[sion] on cable oper-
ators’ free speech rights” (R&O, 4138, App. 111a).*
Thus, there is nothing fortuitous or subliminal about
those rights intended to be interdicted by must-carry.
Government may not contextually contend that the
intrusion “is no greater than is essential’? without
first logically finding that the speech restrictions
worked by the rule fall only as an “‘incidental”’ effect
of a legitimate, noncommunicative regulation. To do
so is to invert the O’Brien process and thereby to
immobilize the First Amendment.”? That restriction
placed by must-carry regulation on established First
Amendment freedoms is, on its face, intentional, sub-

28 Imagine the virility that Mr. O’Brien’s defense would have
taken on had the Government there acknowledged that a pri-
mary (or even secondary) purpose of that law banning destruc-
tion of draft cards was to intrude upon and limit his speech
freedoms. Compare O’Brien, 391 U.S. at 378-381.

*? The FCC’s concept of O’Brien, supported by petitioners, is
universally to apply agency discretion to assess all restrictions
on speech freedoms—whether incidental or direct. In such fash-
ion, a law prohibiting intentional mutilation of a draft card is
treated identically to a law directly supervising media content.
According to this theory, it is only the magnitude of the restraint
measured against the regulator’s objective that is relevant to
the constitutional examination. Compare Louisiana ex rel. Grem-
illion v. N.A.A.C.P., 366 U.S. 293, 297 (1961) (Even ‘“‘sophis-
ticated” regulation ‘“‘cannot be employed in purpose or in effect
to stifle, penalize or curb the exercise of First Amendment
rights’). That blunt confrontation of must-carry with the com-
mand of the First Amendment is anything (or everything) but
‘‘sophisticated’’.

19

vv

stantial, direct and communicative—any one of which
forecloses, at the threshold, an O’Brien justification.®
When the fact that the rule is facially speaker-partial
is added to this calculus, any case the FCC may have
had for First Amendment compatibility evaporates.

ses te te te Pe & & &

It is only when each of the foregoing questions is
affirmatively resolved that the decision-maker may
properly invoke the scales of O’Brien to weigh the
relative merits of the Government’s “incidental re-
striction” on ‘‘alleged’’ speech freedoms vis-a-vis that
‘objective’ to be achieved by the ‘‘presumably con-
stitutional”’ regulation of ‘‘conduct’”’. O’Brien, there-
fore, has nothing whatever to do with a regulation
directly and purposefully restricting speech free-
doms.*!

In O’Brien, this Court, with exceptional precision,
emphasized:

[T]he Nation has a vital [, constitutionally
legitimate] interest in having a system for

30 Were ‘“‘must carry” to be applied conceptually to the print
medium, there would be no question but that O’Brien is irrel-
evant. Miami Herald, supra. Yet, the FCC, dispelling all doubt
as to its novel concept of the First Amendment, insists ‘‘that
the same O’Brien test would apply [equally] to newspapers ...”’.
R&O, 4187 n. 150, App. 144a.

31 See also Elrod v. Burns, 427 U.S. 347, 362 (1976) (Under
constitutional challenge, the burden rests affirmatively upon the
government to justify any restraint). Twisting this established
order, the FCC, as well as the beneficiaries of the regulation,
blithely assume First Amendment compatibility thereby shifting
sub silentio their obligations to those subjected to the abridg-
ment.

20

raising armies .... [T]he Government has a
substantial interest in assuring the continu-
ing availability of issued Selective Service
certificates.

[T]he continuing availability of issued Selec-
tive Service certificates [is reasonably as-
sured by] a law which prohibits their willful
mutilation or destruction. ** * * The [law]
prohibits such conduct and does nothing more
.... [B]oth the governmental interest and
the operation of the [draft card law] are lim-
ited to the noncommunicative aspect of [Mr.]
O’Brien’s conduct.

O’Brien, 391 U.S. at 381-82 (citations omitted). The
Court thus determined unconditionally, and at the out-
set, that the Selective Service law there under ex-
amination was noncommunicative in scope and that
it furthered reasonably a constitutionally legitimate
objective. Only after such finding is the door opened
to that carefully guarded “‘balancing”’ evaluation.”

In stark contrast to that “draft card’ law at bar
in O’Brien, the FCC’s must-carry regulation is aimed
directly and only at communicative activity for the
express purpose of partially controlling the exercise
of editorial discretion and, thereby, content over a

82 The rationale of O’Brien is never to disarm the protections
of the First Amendment but rather to extend them in context
to also entail examination of certain forms of “‘conduct’’ where
“speech” rights are “alleged” to be implicated (e.g., a symbolic
burning of one’s draft card with the intention of conveying an
anti-war statement). In the FCC’s view, O’Brien provides a rec-
ipe for avoidance of the Amendment’s constraint on Government
as well as a means to penetrate directly those constitutional
protections conferred thereunder.

21

fully protected medium of communication.** Must-carry
has literally nothing to do with the ‘“noncommunica-
tive aspect’’ of a cable operator’s ‘‘conduct”’ nor, for
that matter, anyone’s ‘‘conduct’’.** Supervision of con-
tent, including, inter alia, classification and protection
of preferred speakers and explicit control over dis-
tribution format, is not rationally to be considered an
“incidental” by-product or “‘accidental’’ side-effect of
the FCC policy. It is the policy!*

The command of the First Amendment that ‘‘Con-
gress shall make no law ... abridging the freedom
of speech, or of the press” is read by the FCC to
imply the qualifier, “‘except where such abridgment
may be related by Government to a public purpose’’.**
Neither O’Brien nor any other precedent of the Court
supports such inference.*’

33 Only under the most forgiving of examinations could must-
carry be considered anything less than presumptively unconsti-
tutional.

% Neither the FCC nor petitioners ever identifies, or even
alludes to, that relevant “‘conduct” to which the regulation is
supposedly directed. Nor do they purport to consider whether
the rule may be “communicative” in purpose or reach. Yet, all
insist that O’Brien is the appropriate standard of review.

6 Ignoring the essential thesis of O’Brien, the FCC relies on
the case as substantive ‘authority’ to assert direct regulatory
control over purely “communicative” activity—a patent distor-
tion of the Court’s holding. Indeed, the general rule, with only
rare exception, is that such subject matter is foreclosed to reg-
ulation. See supra, note 23.

% Discounting the freedoms of some so as to enhance those
of a favored class—the slant which the FCC places upon this
constitutional issue—is the very antithesis of First Amendment
principle.

37 Throughout its Report and Order, the FCC places great

22

The FCC construes O’Brien to confer upon it a
broad, virtually unfettered discretion to assert juris-
diction over communicative functions and to apportion
the values of the First Amendment, all bounded by
little more than the agency’s own prognostic powers
and momentary perception of the public interest.*
This, at best, is constitutional folly. Whatever O’Brien
(or its progeny) may say or mean, it is not a ticket
to undermining the potency of the First Amendment.

Therefore, O’Brien can play no role in the consti-
tutional analysis of a restraint consciously placed on
the exercise of fully protected speech freedoms under
conditions where, as here, the restriction is direct,
substantial and communicative in both application and
effect. And without the asserted O’Brien rationale,
the FCC rules at issue are bare of purported justi-
fication from any quarter. Thus, the abridgment of

emphasis upon the fact that its must-carry program is “interim”
since it currently specifies a sunset (i.e., five years following
adoption), and it urges that this limited life of the intrusion is
constitutionally significant. R&O, ¢4136-38 (App. 109a-111a),
{188-89 (App. 145a-46a). Respondents know of no precedent or
rationale suggesting that an abridgment of one month or five
years is constitutionally more palatable than one of unspecified
or open-ended duration. It is the act of abridgment that is the
focal point of the constitutional examination. If Government has
the authority to abridge First Amendment freedoms for five
years, then it follows that such abridgment may be extended or
renewed under the same authority. See, e.g., Report and Order,
Separate Statement of Commissioner James B. Quello, App. 194a
(‘‘I want to make absolutely clear that I will use my best efforts
to block any sunset of our must-carry rule ...”).

38 Neither the FCC nor petitioners even consider that ‘‘con-
straint’”’ squarely placed by the First Amendment upon the agen-
cy’s jurisdiction. Compare C.B.S., Inc. v. Democratic National
Committee, 412 U.S. 94, 114 (1973).

23

must-carry is, on this record, unconstitutional per se
as incompatible with the First Amendment.*

2. The Court Below Reached the Correct Conclusion,
and Indeed the Only One it Could, on the First
Amendment Question

The fundamental flaw underlying all of the subject
petitions is that each assumes, without articulation,
that licensees of television broadcast stations, as First
Amendment speakers, are entitled to uniquely favor-
able treatment solely because of their status. That
underlying assumption is wrong; and, indeed, it is the
converse thesis which this Court has consistently ap-
plied. A broadcaster’s privileged occupancy of the
_ scarce, limited spectrum justifies and excuses a di-
minished First Amendment status, since ‘i]t is the
right of the viewers and listeners, not the right of
broadcasters, which is paramount.’ Red Lion Broad-
casting Co. v. F.C.C., 395 U.S. 367 390 (1969).* See
also National Broadcasting Co. v. United States, 319
U.S. 190, 226-27 (1948); Columbia Broadcasting Sys-

39 See, e.g., S.E.C. v. Chenery Corp., 318 U.S. 80, 87 (19438)
(“The grounds upon which an administrative order must be

judged are those upon which the record discloses that its action
was based’’).

“This Court, albeit in a copyright context, has functionally.
equated cable television reception and distribution of broadcast
signals to that of a television viewer. Fortnightly Corp. v. United
Artists, 392 U.S. 390, 400 (1968) (‘‘The function of CATV sys-
tems has little in common with the function of broadcasters ....
CATV systems receive programs and carry them by private
channels to additional viewers’’ (footnotes omitted)). See also,
Teleprompter Corp. v. C.B.S., 415 U.S. 394, 408 (1974); and see
Lilly v. United States, 288 F.2d 584, 587 (4th Cir. 1956), (Cable
service is ‘‘a mere adjunct of the television receiving sets with
which it was connected ...’’).

24

tem, Inc. v. Democratic National Committee, 412 U.S.
94, 101 (1973) (‘‘Because the broadcast media utilize
a valuable and limited public resource there is also
present an unusual order of First Amendment val-
ues.’’). “{A]dvantages [of a broadcast license] are the
fruit of a preferred position conferred by the Gov-
ernment’, Red Lion Broadcasting Co., supra, 395
U.S. at 400, requiring a balancing of the licensee’s
rights as a “‘public trustee”, C.B.S., Inc., 412 U.S.
at 118.

Petitioners contend, or at least imply, that by virtue
of their special status as privileged broadcast licensees
entitled to speak via the public’s scarce airwaves, they
thereby are further conferred with superior First
Amendment rights vis-a-vis that of the viewer or
“ordinary’”’ citizen speaker, viz., the right to demand
that their speech be governmentally preferred over
that of all other speakers. We are aware of no prec-
edent of this Court condoning a systematic prioritiz-
ing by government of, or between, fully -protected
speech sources.*! Compare Buckley v. Valeo, 424 U.S.
1, 49-50 (1976) (“T]he concept that government may
restrict the speech of some elements of our society
in order to enhance the relative voice of others is
wholly foreign to the First Amendment ... ””).42 See

“The FCC’s must-carry mentality—overt discrimination be-
tween speakers—is novel and without parallel to any other media
application or context.

* See also C.B.S., Inc. v. Democratic National Committee, 412
U.S. 94, where the Court, at the instance of the broadcasting
industry, established the principle of the licensee’s “right to
exercise editorial judgment” (412 U.S. at 111) and to accord or
deny access to its communications facilities “based on its own
journalistic judgment of priorities and newsworthiness” (412 U.S.

25

also Minneapolis Star, 460 U.S. at 592 (‘no interest
... can justify” governmental discrimination between
media).

Regulation which, without subtlety, enables one en-
trepreneur, by simple demand and without charge, to
commandeer the media facilities of another for pur-
poses of distribution and publication of commercial
speech would seemingly, if not manifestly, create
presumptive problems under both the First and Fifth
Amendments to the Constitution.“* Petitioners bother
not even to discuss these fundamental flaws inherent
in the ‘‘must carry” scheme.

Licensees of broadcast television stations, like
teachers, peace officers, sanitation workers, publish-
ers and cable television operators (and sometimes even
lawyers), unquestionably make a valuable contribution
to the commonweal. But such licensees, however priv-
ileged or economically advantaged by their govern-
mental grant, do not constitute a media elite elevated
above the more pedestrian concerns of the First
Amendment. The message of a broadcaster, commer-
cial or otherwise and however entertaining, is con-
stitutionally entitled to no more governmental
protection than that accorded all speakers. The fun-
damental fallacy of the must-carry rule, like those

at 118). Ironically, the broadcaster petitioners here would have
the Court deny cable operators and programmers that same
measure of editorial autonomy.

8 See, e.g. First English Lutheran Church v. Los Angeles
County, 107 S.Ct. 2378, 2389 (1987). And see F.C.C. v. Florida
Power Corp., 107 S.Ct. 1107, 1112 (1987) (Distinguishing, in a
“takings” context, between regulations that “‘require” that ac-
cess to private property be given to others and those which
merely govern ‘‘economic relations” between consenting parties).

26

arguments of the petitioners, is the failure even to
consider this bedrock principle of constitutional law.“

3. There Are No Conflicting Decisions Rendered By
Other Federal Courts on the Same Question

Contrary to the assertions of petitioners, there is
no conflict among the circuits nor is there any
Supreme Court precedent in conflict with the holding
of the opinion below. The Eighth Circuit’s opinion in
Black Hills Video Corp. v. F.C.C., 399 F.2d 65 (8th
Cir. 1968), petitioners’ strongest case in support of
their circuit-conflict argument, was repudiated by that
same court ten years later. The Eighth Circuit had
upheld the FCC’s must-carry rules in Black Hills on
the grounds that ‘[t]he Commission’s effort to pre-
serve local television by regulating CATVs has the
same constitutional status under the First Amend-
ment as regulation of the transmission of signals by
the originating television stations.” 399 F.2d at 69.
However, in Midwest Video Corp. v. F.C.C., 571 F.2d
1025, 1056 (8th Cir. 1978), affd. on other grounds,
440 U.S. 689 (1979), that same court stated:

[W]e have seen and heard nothing in this
case to indicate a constitutional distinction
between cable systems and newspapers in the
context of the government’s power to compel
public access.

If the Commission has any authority to in-
trude upon the First Amendment rights of
cable operators, that authority, as above in-

+4 Respondents do not recommend the opinion of the court
below as representing a model of constitutional analysis or sound
reasoning. We urge only that the ultimate result reached was
“correct”. See S.E.C. v. Chenery Corp., 318 U.S. at 88.

27

dicated, is less, not greater than its authority
to intrude upon the First Amendment rights |
of broadcasters.

In a footnote, the Eighth Circuit there limited Black
Hills to its facts. 571 F.2d at 1054, n. 71.

Nor is there any precedent of this Court arguably
upholding the constitutionality of the must-carry rules.
Although the Court upheld the FCC’s jurisdiction over
cable television in United States v. Southwestern Cable
Co., 392 U.S. 157 (1968), and its preemption of certain
state regulation in Capital Cities Cable, Inc. v. Crisp,
467 U.S. 691 (1984), it has never purported even to
consider the constitutionality of the cable must-carry
rules. To the extent that a First Amendment chal-
lenge to cable regulations of a content-character has
even been discussed by the Court, the issue was
termed “not frivolous” in F.C.C. v. Midwest Video
Corp., 440 U.S. 689, 709, n. 19 (1979).

There is no dispute here as to the FCC’s jurisdiction
over cable or its authority to preempt state regula-
tion. The only decision made by the court below is
that the current must-carry rules which are content-
based are “incompatible with the first amendment’.
Century, App. 4a. There is no surviving judicial prec-
edent in conflict with this holding.

* In Capital Cities, the Court declined to consider the claim
that the FCC’s signal carriage rules violate the First Amend-
ment rights of cable operators (467 U.S. at 700, n. 6). Similarly,
the Court in Southwestern pointedly noted the absence of a
constitutional claim in that case (392 U.S. at 181).

28

CONCLUSION
The petitions should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN P. COLE, JR.*

COLE, RAYWID & BRAVERMAN
1919 Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 659-9750

Attorneys for Respondents
CENTURY COMMUNICATIONS
CORP., et al.

April 18, 1988

* Counsel of Record.

m

fs 5

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1451%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
