# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Office of Communication of the United Church of Christ v. Federal Communications Commission

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1451%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 486 U.S. 1032

## Text

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

OFFICE OF COMMUNICATION OF THE
UNITED CHURCH OF CHRIST,
Petitioner,
Me
FEDERAL CQMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION and
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ef. al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

HENRY GELLER
Counsel of Record
Of Counsel: DONNA LAMPERT
ANDREW J. SCHWARTZMAN DANIEL R. OHLBAUM
Media Access Project 1776 K Street, N.W.
2000 M Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20006
Washington, D.C. 20036 (202) 429-7360

Counsel for Petitioner

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Two issues rest on the outcome of this case: (1)
whether, in regulating the carriage of television
broadcast signals by cable television systems, the Fed-
eral Communications Commission has impermissibly
discarded the Congressional policy of preserving free
local off-the-air television service and (2) whether reg-
ulation of cable systems’ use of broadcast signals in
a manner reasonably related to the achievement of
goals decreed by Congress in the Communications Act
of 1934 is valid under the First Amendment.

PARTIES BELOW

The petitioner here, Office of Communication of the
United Church of Christ, was an intervenor below.
Respondents Federal Communications Commission
and United States of America were respondents be-
low. Century Communications Corporation, Richard S.
Leghorn, Hubbard Broadcasting Inc., Chasco Cable-
vision, Ltd., Clearview Cablevision Associates II, Co-
lumbia Associates, L.P., Daniels & Associates, Inc.,
Landmark Cablevision Associates, Monmouth Cable-
vision Associates, Masada Communications, Inc., Na-
tional Cablesystems, Inc., OCB Cablevision, Inc.,
Ocean Associates, Riverview Cablevision Associates,
St. Charles CATV, Inc., and United Cable Television
Corp. were petitioners below. Also intervenors below
were: Independent Television Stations, Inc., Spanish
International Communications Corp., Univision, Inc.,
The National Association of Broadcasters, Lincoln
Broadcasting Co., National Cable Television Associ-
ation, et al., Corporation For Public Broadcasting,
National Association of Public Television, Public
Broadcasting Service, National Broadcasting Co., Inc.,
and Spanish International Communications Corp.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ..........0..c0eeceeee
PI OE MRRTREEEUIND cn cccsccccccssccestscccssassccccacncseses
OPINIONS BELOW ......... icckatiitinkh dat aihthinissnceneaebedesentabhs
en. cc ciudespasonsannusiisacsuss

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND STATUTES
Sr a oe aspaladansabnsdube en

IRN OO” TUN GAB io occevcdvovescncccicccseccncecessaoses

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ..........ccccce. -cceoe

1. The Court below erred in not finding that
the Commission's new policy contravened
the Communications Act ..............:cceeeeeee

2. The constitutional premises of the Com-
mission’s action are incorrect and, unless
reversed, render infeasible any must carry
rule to fulfill the Congressional
ee ees a ccecesdenenesiesunedas

a UES Hs Re PO

APPENDIX (separately bound)
Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the District of Columbia Circuit .....................

Supplemental Order of the Court of Appeals of Jan-
EER LR SR TR

Report and Order of the Federal Communications
EE RET cE a

Memorandum Opinion and Order of the Federal
Communications Commission denying
Neen iced, osscclasnnsauncncsepienans

Judgment of the Court of Appeals .....................0.

bo

bo

10

1]

32a

205a
33la

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES: Page

Black Hills Video Corporation v. FCC, 399 F.2d 65
cele LA EOE I RE RIA 18-19,23

Capital Cities Cable, Inc. v. Crisp, 467 U.S. 691
CREE Sphhtuicaisubiiiattatiaptiniinsicietaiar tk Lane cat. 23

Carter Mountain Transmission Corp. v. FCC, 321
F.2d 359 (D.C. Cir. 1963), cert. denied, 375

Sieh. MR NN ihend cnc stdentdiaandi arsine. - 4,8,15
City of Los Angeles v. Preferred Communications,

BMC., 106 SICL. BOBS (DDG) nnccccccccanocecacenssanesess 7,22
City of Renton v. Playtime Theaters, Inc., 475 U.S.

Ee: QO siiicunansnssbeutinseninscamaciutabenns neu 21
Clark v. Community for Creative Non-Violence, 468

SAS, SE NE i ccicchns egestas ches den oe sent 21
FCC v. League of Women Voters of California, 468

Us See ee ee ee ea A 21
FCC v. Pottsville Broadcasting Co., 309 U.S. 134

SRN nA Rie LAR LS a el Te TMT 16
FCC v. RCA Communications, Inc., 346 U.S. 86

ERIE snrsdostiindashesseeanicinvacetnersaauacuccscausetatacicisd 14
Miami Herald Publishing Co. v. Tornillo, 418 U.S.

Pe MN iaieaaldicctccesubbadeatanintie nt 6,20

Midwest Video Corp. v. FCC, 571 F.2d 1025-(8th
Cir. 1978), affd on other grounds, 440 U:S.

DE CUPID ecsniicinicsscseisisnicaacttalagi tn tA - 19
National Broadcasting Co. v. United States, 319
Rois UN SIE ccapcttitiniccteduncstite in bats 18

Quincy Cable TV, Inc. v. FCC, 768 F.2d 1434 (D.C.
Cir. 1985), cert. denied sub nom. NAB v.
Quincy Cable TV, Inc., 106 S.Ct. 2889

GIINEN sncanhecliciunidedenmnsinanecianadciataaads 6-7,15-16,20-21
Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367
GOT scrashsonsemgusscesibiciiioacabeamateet tenet taoe- 18,19-20

United States v. Albertini, 472 U.S. 675 (1985) .... 21
United States v. O'Brien, 391 U.S. 367 (1968) ... 6,20-21

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

United States v. Southwestern Cable Co., 392 US.

157 (1968) ..........sssccccsscerceesseecensereeeeeees 11,15,16,18,23
STATUTES:
17 U.S.C. § LIMCML) ..cccceeeccceeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeenneseeneeeees 4
Cable Communications Policy Act of 1984, 98 Stat.

2780, 47 U.S.C. § 521, et. seq.:
Section 531 ...........cccccccsssssssccecccceeeeesssscnscscseceoncssosecs 22
Section 532 ......cccssssesssssssseseseecceecceceeceuaeanennennsessoosees 22
Section 544(f2) ......ccceeseeeeesssseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeneneeeaserseens 11
Communications Act of 1934, 48 Stat. 1064, as

amended, 47 U.S.C. § 151 et. seq.:

Section 303(S) .....cccccsessssecccceeessseeeeeeeeeeseseeeeeterenaeeesees 11
Section 307(b) .....ccccccccessesssserseeeeeeeeeeseeseeeeaaaeesseesenes 11
Section 330(a) .......cceccsesccccceessseeeeeeeeseeeesseeneesaaeeesenens 11
FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION REGULATIONS:
AT CFR § 76.56 ......csccccsssscsesrscesssceessreessensesssnesacsnees 12,17
AT CFR § 76.64 ou...ccceccccssssseceseseeceeessseseessnaneserereeenes 12
AT CFR § 76.66 .......:cssssccsssecssseesesseseseseseseesssneees 13

AGENCY DECISIONS AND REPORTS:

Cable Television Report and Order, 36 F.C.C. 2d
143 (1972), reconsideration denied, 36 F.C.C.
2d 326 (1972), aff'd sub nom. American Civil
Liberties Union v. FCC, 523 F.2d 1344 (9th

Cir. 1975) .........ccccsserccsssssscceeresssscossrcssssnecssenseess 4-5
First Report and Order in Docket No. 14895, et al.,

38 F.C.C. 683 (1965) ........ccceeeeessseereeeeeeeeeeeeeees 5
Memorandum Opinion and Order, 55 Rad. Reg. 2d

(Pike & Fischer) 13865 (1984) ....--.s:ssseseeseeees 6

Notice of Inquiry and Notice of Proposed Rulemak-
ing, 50 Fed. Reg. 48232 (19GB) ...2.cnccaceoreaceeees 7

vi

Table of Authorities Continued

Page
Second Report and Order in Docket No. 14895, et
al., 2 F.C.C. 2d 725 (1966) o...cccccccccccoseeeses,.... 5
MISCELLANEOUS:
Broadcasting Mag., January 11, 1988, ay ‘ensieuasane 22
Communications Daily, Jan. 12, 1988. Ds Te neudsecsacs 16

H.Rept. No. 98-934, 98th Cong., 2d Sess.. p.70 ... 1]

S.Rept. No. 98-67, 98th Cong., Ist Sess.. pp.11-
EID scevieveosenssansechensanseidanieras te teen ae cae 1]

IN THE
Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

No.

OFFICE OF COMMUNICATION OF THE
UnIteED CHURCH OF CHRIST,
Petitioner.
We

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION and
Unitep STATES OF AMERICA, ef. al.,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (App. la) is
reported at 835 F.2d 292. The Report and Order of
the Federal Communications Commission (App. 32a)
is reported at 1 F.C.C. Red 864, 61 Rad. Reg. 2d
(Pike & Fischer) 792. The Commission’s Memorandum
Opinion and Order denying reconsideration (App.
205a) is reported at 2 F.C.C. Red 3593, 62 Rad. Reg.
2d (Pike & Fischer) 1251.

to

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered
on December 11, 1987 (App. 331a).* The jurisdiction
of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C. §§ 1254(1)
and 2350(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND
STATUTES INVOLVED

First Amendment to the Constitution of the United
States:

Congress shall make no law .. . abridging the
freedom of speech, or of the press; ...

The pertinent portions of the Communications Act
of 1934, 48 Stat. 1064, as amended, 47 U. S.C. § 151
et. seg. are as follows:

Section 303(s) (47 U.S.C. § 303(s)):

Have authority to require that apparatus de-
signed to receive television pictures broad-
cast simultaneously with sound be capable of
adequately receiving all frequencies allocated
by the Commission to television broadcasting
when such apparatus is shipped in interstate
commerce, or is imported from any foreign
country into the United States, for sale or
resale to the public.

Section 307(b) (47 U.S.C. § 307(b)):

In considering applications for licenses, and
modifications and renewals thereof, when and

* The court of appeals had jurisdiction pursuant to section
402(a) of the Communications Act of 1934, as amended, 47 U.S.C.
§ 402(a), and 28 U.S.C. § 2342.

OO

insofar as there is demand for the same, the
Commission shall make such distribution of
licenses, frequencies, hours of operation, and
of power among the several States and com-
munities as to provide a fair, efficient, and
equitable distribution of radio service to each
of the same.

Section 330(a) (47 U.S.C. § 330(a)):

No person shall ship in interstate commerce,
or import from any foreign country into the
United States, for sale or resale to the public,
apparatus described in paragraph (s) of sec-
tion 303 of this title, unless it complies with
rules prescribed by the Commission pursuant
to the authority granted by that subsection:
Provided, That this section shall not apply to
carriers transporting such apparatus without
trading in it.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This petition involves questions of the statutory and
constitutional standards governing regulation by the
Federal Communications Commission (Commission) of
the carriage of broadcast signals by cable television
systems. Cable television today is a hybrid service.
Cable systems deliver to their subscribers the signals
of television broadcast stations, both local and dis-
tant.! The modern cable system also distributes non-

‘Cable systems obtain local signals off-the-air with a high
antenna. They obtain distant signals through use of tall towers,
microwave radio relay facilities or, most commonly today, a com-
munications satellite. Congress in 1976 gave cable television sys-

broadcast cable programs, usually obtained from a
distant source via a communications satellite, and en-
gages in some local program origination. This case
deals with cable’s first and traditional role of distrib-
uting television broadcast signals.

1. The must carry rule; its origin.

Until 1975, cable’s function was almost entirely to
bring television broadcast signals to its subscribers.
This supplied added diversity, particularly in the
smaller television markets. However, the Commission
found that if a cable system failed to carry the local
station in such markets, it would imperil local service,
and the public interest would be adversely affected.
In the lead case, Carter Mountain Transmission Corp.
v. FCC, 321 F.2d 359 (D.C. Cir. 1963), cert. denied,
375 U.S. 951 (1963), involving the sparsely populated
Riverton, Wyoming, area, the Commission was sus-
tained in refusing to grant a microwave relay license
to serve a cable system (then called community an-
tenna television) unless it carried the sole local sta-
tion. The Commission had concluded that the cable
system’s failure to carry the local station would result
in 438,000 rural homes (out of 74,000 homes in the
market) being left without any television service at
all.

Upon the basis of this and other experience, the
Commission adopted rules directly applicable to cable
systems requiring them to carry local stations—the
must carry rules. The main basis of the rules is thus
to assure that local stations ‘“‘... are not denied ac-

tems a compulsory license, at rates fixed by law, to retransmit
broadcast signals they are authorized by the Commission to carry.
See 17 U.S.C. § 111(cX1).

999

cess to the audience they are licensed to serve....
This protects the economic viability of local stations
and the availability to the public of local service; it
also insures that no local station is placed at a con-
petitive disadvantage vis-a-vis distant signals or such
local stations as the cable system voluntarily carries.°

2. Must Carry in the period 1975-1985; the Quincy case.

The must carry rules continued in force through
the 1970s and the early 1980s. The nature of cable
changed. Cable capacity increased and, in addition to
the carriage of broadcast signals, cable systems now
presented a substantial number of non-broadcast pro-
grams delivered to the cable system by the new sat-
ellite technology (e.g., Home Box Office, Cable News
Network). This resulted in explosive cable growth,
especially in the major markets, by systems with much

> Cable Television Report and Order, 36 F.C.C. 2d 143, 173
(1972), reconsideration denied, 36 F.C.C. 2d 326 (1972), affd
sub nom. American Civil Liberties Union v. FCC, 523 F.2d 1344
(9th Cir. 1975).

3 See First Report and Order in Docket No. 14895, et al., 38
F.C.C. 683, 700-1, 705-06, 713-15 (1965) (First Report); Second
Report and Order in Docket No. 14895, et al., 2 F.C.C. 2d 725,
734-37, 770-78 (1966). The Commission rejected the notion of
relying on an input selector, or ‘‘A/B’’, switch in order to assure
local station access to the cable audience. The Commission
pointed out that even assuming people retain and maintain out-
door antennas necessary for good reception of the off-the-air
signal, ‘the sheer inconvenience of switching is an obvious de-
terrent to its use by the subscriber.’’ First Report, supra, 38
F.C.C. at 702-03.

The A/B switch is installed at the VHF terminals of the
television receiver, enabling the subscriber to receive channels
2-13; cable facilities are not attached to the UHF terminals at
the back of the receiver.

greater channel capacity. But systems continuing to
operate with limited capacity could not carry all the
new cable programmers if they were required to carry
too many local signals.

In 1984 the Commission denied petitions to elimi-
nate the must carry rules, holding that the increased
number of cable subscribers made the potential con-
sequences of non-carriage more significant and that
the increasing cable capacity rendered compliance with
the rule less burdensome.’

Ur on review, the D.C. Circuit concluded that the
Commission had failed to meet its “‘heavy burden”’ of
justifying the constitutionality of the must carry rules
under the First Amendment. Quincy Cable TV, Inc.
v. FCC, 768 F.2d 1434, 1462-63 (D.C. Cir. 1985), cert.
denied sub nom. NAB v. Quincy Cable TV, Inc., 106
S.Ct. 2889 (1986) (Quincy). The court held that broad-
cast First Amendment standards are inapplicable to
cable since the latter does not use the radio spectrum.
The court suggested that the must carry rules may
well come within the stringent standard applicable to
print of Miami Herald Publishing Co. v. Tornillo, 418
U.S. 241 (1974), but asserted that it need not decide
whether the rules are more than an “‘incidental re-
striction’”’ on speech within the terms of United States
v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367, 376-77 (1968), because the
rules also failed the O’Brien test in that they had not

* Memorandum Opinion and Order, 55 Rad. Reg. 2d (Pike &
Fischer) 1365 (1984). As to reliance instead on the A/B switch,
the Commission again said that its “‘extensive experience” in-
dicated that ‘‘even relatively minor receiver/tuner obstacles to
reception may create significant impediments to viewing of sta-
tions and thus have substantial impact on their economic via-
bility.” Id., at 1367.

been shown to serve a substantial governmental in-

se6

terest and were “ ‘grossly’ overinclusive.”’ Id., 768
F.2d at 1460. The court concluded, however, that its
decision did not foreclose the agency from adopting
new must carry rules consistent with the O’Brien
requirements.

A petition for a writ of certiorari filed by the Na-
tional Association of Broadcasters (NAB) was held by
the Court until one week after its decision in City of
Los Angeles v. Preferred Communications, Inc., 106
S.Ct. 2034 (1986),° and then denied.

In 1985, the Commission commenced a rulemaking
proceeding on must carry.® During the proceeding,
the NAB reached an agreement with the National
Cable Television Association,’ and submitted it to the
Commission. Petitioner opposed the agreement as not
serving the public interest, and urged that, so long
as cable made use of broadcast signals, the Commis-
sion could, and indeed must, impose certain basic car-

* This case presented the issue of whether a city franchising
authority could, consistent with the First Amendment, grant a
de facto exclusive cable television franchise. The Court held that
each medium must be assessed for First Amendment purposes
by standards suited to it, and that there was a need to resolve
the constitutional issues in the Preferred situation in a concrete,
full factual setting. On this ‘‘narrower ground”’ (/d., at 2036),
it remanded the case to obtain such full facts.

* Notice of Inquiry and Notice of Proposed Rulemaking, 50
Fed. Reg. 48232 (1985).

* The agreement exempted all cable systems with 20 or fewer
channels from must carry requirements; other systems would
have to devote up to 25% of their capacity to such requirements,
but with complete discretion as to the signals to be carried.
Report, par. 92 (App. 81a).

riage requirements in line with clear Congressional
mandates: (1) carriage of local stations in sparsely
populated areas (the Carter Mountain situation); (2)
in other markets, where cable has limited channel
capacity, only those stations in need of carriage (i.e.,
the local noncommercial station(s), community sta-
tions, and UHF independent stations); and (8) where
cable has no channel capacity problem, all local signals
on a non-discriminatory basis.

In its 1986 decision,* and 1987 opinion denying re-
consideration,’ the Commission rejected the approach
urged by petitioner.'® It ignored the critical consid-
eration that cable is enmeshed with the broadcast
system, carrying both distant and local signals.'! In-
stead, it said that it was adopting a wholly new ap-
proach in light of cable’s tremendous growth—‘“‘that
it is no longer appropriate ... to protect local broad-
cast television service from competition with [the co-
equal] cable service.’’ Report, par. 119 (App. 97a). The
Commission also relied heavily upon the constitutional
considerations set out in Quincy. Indeed, it stated
that cable is akin to print and found that “‘stringent’”’
First Amendment standards apply rather than the
standards applicable to broadcasting. Report, pars.
120, 171, 184 (App. 97a, 131a, 141a). The Commission
therefore stated that it would afford maximum dis-

* Report and Order (Report), 1 F.C.C. Red 864. (App. 32a.)

* Memorandum Opinion and Order (Reconsideration), FCC 87-
105, 2 F.C.C. Red 3593, summary in 52 Fed. Reg. 17574 (May
11, 1987). (App. 205a.)

Report, par. 177 (App. 135a); Reconsideration, pars. 40-49
(App. 228a-233a).

11 See Report, at notes 123, 134, 143 (App. 136a, 139a, 141a).

cretion to the cable operator to choose programming
of the greatest interest to its subscribers. See, e.g.,
Report, pars. 119, 120, 128, 177 (App. 97a-98a, 102a,
135a).

However, in light of the perceived expectations of
subscribers of continued cable carriage of all local
signals, an expectation the Commission said was built
up under the prior must carry regime, and the record
before it showing that some local broadcast signals
had been, and would be, dropped,'* the Commission
decided upon an interim policy. It adopted must carry
rules based largely on the industry agreement, but
‘“‘sunset’’ the requirement after five years. Further-
more, during that period and continuing thereafter,
the cable operator is to engage in a ‘‘consumer ed-
ucational program”’ as to the sunset and the possible
need for an ‘‘A/B”’ switch and an antenna to receive
local signals not carried by the cable.!* The switch
was the focus of the new program to ‘“‘maximize con-
sumers’ viewing choices.’ Report, pars. 121-134, 136,
140-42, 160-68 (App. 98a-105a, 109a, 112a-114a, 125a-
130a).

Several cable operators sought review of the new
rules, arguing that they also were unconstitutional.
Petitioner intervened, urging reversal and remand for
the failure of the Commission to follow its approach.

The lower court, in an opinion by Chief Judge Wald
joined by Judges Mikva and McGowan, rejected

2 Report, par. 131, n. 159 (App. 104a, 149a); Reconsideration,
par. 59 (App. 239a).
'3 Report, par. 136 (App. 109a-110a). The Exhibit hereto re-

produces a non-record notice sent to its subscribers by a cable
system pursuant to the consumer education requirements.

10

petitioner’s position as foreclosed by Quincy. (See
App. 16a, n.4.) The court held that the interim must
earry rules still failed to meet the O’Brien require-
ments because the need for tne rules “‘... is more
speculative than real,’’ and the new regulations, in
view of their lengthy (five year) duration, are too
broad. (App. 18a, 28a.) In a supplemental Order of
January 29, 1988 the court made clear that it was
striking down only the interim must carry rules and
not the Commission’s consumer education program
(App. 29a).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

With its rapidly increasing penetration of American
television households (i.e., over 50% today), cable tel-
evision is becoming the gateway for television pro-
gramming. Cable thus remains enmeshed with
television broadcasting, extensively carrying both lo-
cal and distant television signals. Indeed, cable, in
effect, tells its subscribers that they are getting what
is most popular in television. If the cable operator
fails to carry a local television station, such as one
in a rural area or a new UHF independent or public
broadcasting station, it drastically affects those sta-
tions. It also skews the clear Congressional goals: the
maintenance of local off-the-air service and promotion
of UHF and public television. Yet the Commission
has now proclaimed that it is indifferent to these
goals.

The Commission is much influenced in its decision
by constitutional concerns for allowing the cable op-
erator maximum discretion, erroneously holding that
regulation of cable television’s carriage of broadcast
signals does not come within established constitutional

1]

standards applicable to television. The court below
refused to correct the agency’s errors on these two
issues, both of which warrant review by this Court.

1. The court below erred in not finding that the Com-
mission’s new policy contravened the Communica-
tions Act.

Cable television systems uniformly utilize the sig-
nals of television broadcast stations as the core of
their program offerings, making cable an indivisible
part of an interstate stream of communication. The
Commission, therefore, has authority to regulate cable
in a manner “reasonably ancillary to the effective
performance of the Commission’s various responsibil-
ities for the regulation of television broadcasting.”’
United States v. Southwestern Cable Co., 392 U.S.
157, 178 (1968). In doing so, the Commission has the
responsibility, inter alia, to exercise its regulatory
authority so as to preserve ‘‘a system of [free] local
broadcasting stations. ... Jd., at 174-75. The must
carry rules have been the keystone of the exercise of
the Commission’s attempt to preserve the access of
local stations to their full potential audience and to
enable them to compete on equal terms. Must carry
requirements are particularly critical to the Congres-
sional goals of promoting the development of the UHF
portion of the spectrum (necessary for a nationwide
television broadcast system) and the use of television
for noncommercial purposes. Jd., at 174-75."

14 See 47 U.S.C. §§ 303(s), 307(b), 330(a). Congress has re-
cently reaffirmed its dedication to local television service. See
S.Rept. No. 98-67, 98th Cong., 1st Sess., pp.11-12; H.Rept. No.
98-934, 98th Cong., 2d Sess., p.70, on the Cable Communications
Policy Act of 1984, 47 U.S.C. §544(f)2).

12

Paradoxically, the Commission now cites “‘the
changed structure of the overall video market re-
sulting primarily from the emergence of the cable
industry as a means for distributing new program
services ...’’ Report, par. 119 (App. 97a),’° as justi-
fication for a new “‘assessment of the federal inter-
est’”’ and the conclusion that “it is no longer
appropriate ... to protect local broadcast television
service from competition with cable service.” Jbid.
Instead, the agency has adopted a new policy de-
signed to maximize cable subscribers’ program choices.
Report, pars. 119, 161 (App. 97a, 126a).

The new “‘policy,”’ aside from limited ‘“‘interim”’ (five
year) must carry rules designed to preserve stability
while cable subscribers were informed of the new pol-
icy,’ consists entirely of a mandated ‘‘consumer ed-
ucation”’ program to be undertaken by cable systems.
Report, pars. 135-39 (App. 109a-112a). The essence of
this program is a requirement that cable systems no-
tify their subscribers that the system will not be re-
quired to carry any broadcast signals beyond five
years, that subscribers may purchase and _ install
(through the cable system or otherwise) an A/B switch
on their television receivers to receive off-the-air sig-
nals not carried by the cable systems (the expense to
be borne by the subscriber except for the installation

‘5 The Commission found that from 1972 to 1986, cable sys-
tems had more than doubled, from 2841 systems, passing 17%
of homes, to 6844 systems, passing 76% of the nation’s homes.
Subscribers numbered 22,000,000. Table 1 (App. 106a). Cable
penetration by 1986 was 47% of homes, Jbid. (App. 106a), rising
by 1984 to as much as 57.9% in smaller communities. Table 2
(App. 107a).

6 Rule §§ 76.56, 76.64 (App. 180a, 3l4a, 184a).

13

charge for new subscribers),'’ and that “‘[iJt may be
necessary to use an antenna, in conjunction with an
input selector switch, to access broadcast signals
available off-the-air and not carried by the cable sys-
tem. ...”’ Rule § 76.66 (App. 316a).

The emphasis throughout the Commission’s often
murky discussion of its new policy is upon the choice
offered cable subscribers; indeed, if:

a competitive market [does] not lead cable
operators to carry all of the television signals
that can be received off-the-air in their com-
munities ... such a result furthers the public
interest if cable systems are able to replace
an off-the-air signal with a signal from an-
other source for which their subscribers
would have a greater preference. Moreover,
as long as cable subscribers are aware that
they can receive the signal off-the-air, their
overall program choices are maximized. (Par.
128, App. 102a.)

While the Commission stated that ‘‘[nloncable sub-
scribers’ viewing choices also will be substantially en-
hanced to the extent that cable subscribers use input
selector switches to access all off-the-air broadcast-
ing,’ Report, par. 162 (App. 126a), the Commission

‘7 The Commission, at the urging of the cable industry, re-
moved requirements adopted in its primary Report that cable
systems supply and install switches for new subscribers without
charge and offer switches to existing subscribers with oniy an
installation charge. Rule § 76.66 (App. 185a, 316a), largely be-
cause of the ‘‘substantial financial burdens on cable operators.”
Reconsideration, par. 81 (App. 257a). This left the financial bur-
den upon the cable subscribers.

14

found that ‘‘cable subscribers in general currently do
not have the antennas in place to provide satisfactory
reception of off-the-air broadcast stations that are not
carried on cheir cable systems.” Report, par. 125 (App.
100a). But the Commission professed no prediction,
based upon data before it or anything in its experi-
ence as an expert body, that any substantial number
of cable subscribers could be expected to pay a some-
times considerable sum for switches and antennas to
receive off-the-air stations dropped by a cable sys-
tem.'* See FCC v. RCA Communications, Inc., 346
U.S. 86, 96-7 (1953).

The stations which are most likely to be dropped
are those which are most in need, i.e., new UHF
independents, community, and noncommercial §sta-
tions. Without cable carriage, the Congressional policy
of insuring the viability of these needy stations will
be in serious jeopardy.

* Nor does the sudden reliance on the A/B switch excuse this
failure to follow Congressional mandates. The Commission sev-
eral times, and as recently as 1984, stressed that the switch
was not effective because of its experience that even minor
inconvenience caused major problems for viewers in receiving
signals. (Supra, note 4, p. 6.) Indeed, the Commission frankly
acknowledged that it was now turning to the switch because of
its perception of serious constitutional concerns with a perma-
nent must carry rule. Report, par. 163 (App. 127a). Most sig-
nificantly, as stated above, the switch is often useless without
an antenna, and the Commission never put itself in a position
to know whether cable subscribers, given the usual large ‘‘menu”’
of television signals on the cable, will go to the trouble and
expense not only of purchasing and maintaining a switch but
also of obtaining the outdoor antenna so often needed for re-
ception of UHF stations like Channel 50 or Channel 32 in Wash-
ington, D.C., or the VHF station in Riverton.

easement

15

The Commission is now saying that if in the Carter
Mountain situation (supra, p. 4) the cable system car-
ries only distant television stations from Denver and
not the local Riverton, Wyoming, station, even though
that may well leave over 40,000 people without tel-
evision service, such a result is permissible under the
public interest standard of the Communications Act.
Or, in Washington, D.C., under the Commission’s ap-
proach, it is consistent with the Act to have the cable
system carry distant television signals and all local
stations except, for example, the new UHF station
on Channel 50 or the public broadcasting station of
Howard University on Channel 32. But this clearly
frustrates Congressional goals of promoting UHF and
public broadcasting, upon which Congress has spent
hundreds of millions of dollars to maintain as an al-
ternative service. See Southwestern Cable, supra, 392
U.S. at 174-75."

The court of appeals recognized that the ‘‘most sa-
lient feature of the new rules was that the Commis-
sion substantially altered its stated justification for
imposing must-carry rules at all. ...”” (App. 9a.) The
lower court erred in accepting the Commission's basic
change of policy as valid.’ The Commission’s new

'* Thus, if a cable system with limited capacity chooses to
become enmeshed with television broadcasting, it must meet the
Congressional directive as to needy rural local service, public
television, and UHF independent service, and then it can carry
all other broadcast signals it desires (expanding capacity if nec-
essary). Similarly, a modern system with no capacity problems,
when it drops any local station, is simply discriminating against
the station, and putting it at a competitive disadvantage.

* The court below thought that its earlier decision in Quincy
Cable TV. Inc. v. FCC, supra, 768 F.2d 1434, foreclosed any

16

policy baldly repudiates the Congressional policy of
preserving and promoting free local service recog-
nized by this Court in Southwestern Cable, supra, 392
U.S. at 174-75.2!

argument that must carry rules are “permanently needed to
safeguard the diverse programming generated by protecting lo-
cal broadcasts,”’ and stated that the Commission had “conceded”’
that A/B switches and antennas will ultimately insure such di-
versity. (App. 16a-17a, n.4.) But Quincy foreclosed nothing; in-
deed the Quincy panel merely found that the Commission, in
adopting its earlier must carry rules, had “ ‘failed to put itself
in a position to know’ ” the need for protection of local broadcast
signals (/d., at 1457), and it specifically stated that “‘it is for
the Commission and not this court to ascertain which broad-
casters or classes of broadcasters are sufficiently at risk to war-
rant protection.’ Jd., at 1462. The Commission was necessarily
left free by the Quincy panel to do so. FCC v. Pottsville Broad-
casting Co., 309 U.S. 134 (1940). And, of course, the Commission
could not “concede” that its new policy would insure diversity
for the non-cable subscribing public.

*! The D.C. Circuit also found it purely speculative that local
stations will not be carried. (App. 25a.) But not all local public
television or new UHF stations are carried. Thus, the Commis-
sion found, on the basis of “evidence in the record[,] that some
cable systems have ceased to carry individual broadcast stations,
refused to carry new stations, and/or requested payment for
carriage of stations."’ Report, par. 131 (App. 104a); Reconsider-
ation, par. 59 (App. 239a). The Commission further took into
account that many cable operators ‘‘thus far may have been
hesitant to act” as to carriage of local stations because of appeals
and Congressional interest. Jbid. The Commission specifically
noted the appeal of NCTA leaders to members that they con-
tinue to carry local signals until the matter is settled. Jbid. That
attitude continues today. See Washington Post, December 12,
1987, at A7 (‘Noting that the decision [in Century Communi-
cations] might be appealed, [NCTA] advised members to behave
for the time being as if the rule were still in effect’’). And
Communications Daily, Jan. 12, 1988, p. 3, reported that 196

aaa |

17

In sum, the Commission, jettisoning the bedrock
Congressional goal of protecting local television ser-
vice, has put free local television service in the hands
of its chief competitor. No claim: of agency discretion
will support this flouting of Congress’ will. The im-
portance of this issue would be apparent even if this
Court had not already declared that the Commission’s
responsibility ‘“‘for the orderly development of an ap-
propriate system of local television broadcasting’’ was
a matter whose ‘“‘significance ... can scarcely be ex-
aggerated. ...’’ Jd., at 177.

2. The constitutional premises of the Commission's ac-
tion are incorrect and, unless reversed. render in-
feasible any must carry rule to fulfill the
Congressional mandates.

The Commission’s decision to abandon must carry
requirements was largely impelled by concern “‘that
the First Amendment rights of cable operators not
be abridged,”’ rights it saw as akin to those of pub-
lishers of print media. Report, par. 120 (App. 97a).
Thus, the Commission stated that no permanent rules
are ‘‘sustainable”’ (Report, par. 138, App. 1lla), and
turned to the much rejected A/B switch because of
constitutional concerns. Report, pars. 163-64 (App.
127a). Even as to the interim rule, the Commission
afforded no must carry relief for needy local service
in rural areas” because of “the strong constitutional
concerns. ...” Jd., at par. 171 (App. 181a). It found
that there must be maximum discretion to the cable

noncommercial stations have been dropped by cable systems since
the must carry rules were deleted.

*2 These are areas where there are systems with 20 or fewer
channels, and thus exempted from all interim must carry re-
quirements. See Rule § 76.56 (App. 180a).

18

operator to choose programming, including broadcast
signals, of the greatest interest to its subscribers,
despite considerations of the needs of UHF or public
television stations as against powerful VHF stations.
Most important, the Commission found, contrary to
the urging of petitioner, that the regulation of cable
carriage of broadcast signals does not come within the
constitutional First Amendment standards applicable
to broadcast regulations, and the court below failed to
reverse this critical holding.

It is true today as it was forty-five years ago that,
‘{ujnlike other modes of expression, radio inherently
is not available to all. That is its unique characteristic,
and that is why, unlike other modes of expression, it
is subject to governmental regulation” which, if valid
under the Communications Act, is not a denial of free
speech. National Broadcasting Co. v. United States,
319 U.S. 190, 226-27 (1948). See Red Lion Broad-
casting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 867, 388 (1969) (sus-
taining the right of the government to require that
broadcasters open their facilities to divergent view-
points on public issues). Thus, no First Amendment
issue was even raised in United States v. Southwestern
Cable Co., supra.

As the eighth circuit said in Black Hills Video Cor-
poration v. FCC, 399 F.2d 65, 69 (8th Cir. 1968),
sustaining must carry rules against attack under the
First Amendment:

The Commission’s effort to preserve local
television by regulating CATVs [as cable was
originally called] has the same constitutional
status under the First Amendment as regu-
lation of the transmission of signals by the

19

originating television stations. It is irrelevant
to the Congressional power that the CATV
systems do not themselves use the air waves
in their distribution systems. The crucial con-
sideration is that they do use radio signals
and that they have a unique impact upon,
and relationship with, the television broad-
cast service.

Must carry rules simply hold that cable, if it chooses
to become enmeshed with the broadcast system, must
not—in its carriage of broadcast signals—undermine
Congressional goals by destroying or crippling large
parts of the broadcast service it feeds upon. ‘‘The
public interest in preventing such a development is
manifest.” Black Hills Video Corporation, supra, 399
F.2d at 69.

Nor do must carry rules limit the cable operators’
free expression of ideas.** This Court’s characteriza-
tion of fairness requirements applicable to broadcast-
ing, which it sustained against constitutional attack,
is pertinent here

There is no question here of the Commis-
sion’s refusal to permit the broadcaster to
carry a particular program or to publish his

23 Black Hills, supra, deals directly with must carry rules. In
Midwest Video Corp. v. FCC, 571 F.2d 1025 (8th Cir.1978), aff'd
on other grounds, 440 U.S. 689 (1979), the eighth circuit ex-
pressed doubts on, without deciding, the constitutionality of rules
requiring access on cable systems’ channels not used to transmit
television broadcast signals.

24In adopting interim must carry rules the Commission rec-
ognized that must carry requirements are content-neutral, Re-
consideration, pars. 64-66 (App. 243a-245a).

20 wa

own views; of a discriminatory refusal to re-
quire the licensee to broadcast certain views
which have been denied access to the air-
waves; of government censorship of a par-
ticular program contrary to § 326; or of the
official government view dominating public
broadcasting.

Red Lion Broadcasting Co. v. FCC, 395 U.S. 367, 396
(1969). Indeed, a cable system can carry any broad-
cast signals it desires, simply by expanding its channel
capacity. It was plainly erroneous, therefore, for the
Commission to term must carry rules “a stringent
form of regulation that intrude on cable operators’
free speech rights,’’ and to proceed on the basis that
“cable's First Amendment rights are subject to a
stringent review. ... Report, pars. 138, 184 (App.
110a-llla, 141a).

The Commission’s refusal even to consider per-
manent must carry rules because of its misjudgment
of First Amendment concerns was apparently prem-
ised largely upon the decision of the D.C. Circuit in
Quincy, supra. That decision refused to follow the
‘“‘broadeast’’ mode of review of First Amendment
claims, 768 F.2d at 1448-50, and strongly suggested
that the exacting standard of Miami Herald Publish-
ing Co. v. Tornillo, 418 U.S. 241 (1974), adopted for
review of infringements of newspapers’ editorial judg-
ment, should be applied to must carry rules. See 768
F.2d at 1452-54. The Quincy court believed that cable
‘“‘shares attributes of the more traditional press,’’ 768
F.2d at 1450, and doubted that the burden on speech
of must carry rules is “‘incidental’’ and thus review-
able under United States v. O’Brien, 391 U.S. 367
(1968). 768 F.2d at 1450-54. Thus, while it nonetheless

21

purported, and no doubt intended, to apply O’Brien,
the Quincy court struck down the must carry rules
as constitutionally infirm by repeatedly referring to
a “heavy burden’”’ of justification which the 1ules failed
to meet, 768 F.2d at 1457, 1459, 14638, a test nowhere
appearing in O’Brien, which required only that an
incidental burden on speech be shown to further an
important or substantial governmental interest, 391
US. at ST7.*

We believe the Commission’s judgment was skewed
by the above dictum and by this ‘‘toughening”’ of the
O’Brien standard in Quincy. Certainly the Commis-
sion rejected permanent must carry rules out of hand
as ‘“‘unsustainable’’ not only because of its disincli-
nation to preserve free television in the face of grow-
ing cable service but also because it tended to view
cable as akin to the printed press. But properly
founded and limited permanent must carry rules” are
sustainable under the “‘broadcast’”’ standard which, we
urge, is properly applicable and which the Commission
and the court of appeals both refused to adopt.*’

*> See also City of Renton v. Playtime Theaters, Inc., 475 U.S.
41 (1986); Clark v. Community for Creative Non-Violence, 468
U.S. 288 (1984); United States v. Albertini, 472 U.S. 675 (1983).

°° See supra, at 7-8, for the rules urged by petitioner.

7 In FCC v. League of Women Voters of California, 468 U.S.
364 (1984), the Court, after noting that it traditionally followed
a different approach in evaluating First Amendment issues in
the broadcast field, did assess a provision of the Communications
Act suppressing speech (i.e., proscribing editorializing by non-
commercial stations) under a “substantial interest’ and ‘‘nar-
rowly tailored” test. See particularly Jd., at 374-381.

The rules suggested by petitioner v ould clearly pass muster
under this analysis also. Such rules, along the lines suggested,

22

The court below is plainly wrong in stating that its
ruling is ‘‘narrow’’ and that the Commission remains
free to try again to devise a sound must carry rule.
(App. 28a.) The Commission’s incorrect constitutional
holding will continue to control this situation, and no
permanent must carry rules are permissible under that
ruling.’ Clearly, only by resolving the First Amend-
ment issue will it be practicable to fashion policy in
this important area consistent with Congressional de-
sires in the Act.

The constitutional issue is limited to this one facet—
cable’s carriage of broadcast signals and whether the
Commission can impose reasonable regulation as to
priority of such carriage to meet specific Congres-
sional goals in the broadcast field. This case does not
present the constitutional issue of the First Amend-
ment’s applicability to the non-broadcast aspects of
cable’s operation—de facto exclusive franchising; re-
quirements of public or leased channel access under
local franchises or the Cable Communications Policy
Act of 1984.°° This issue remains for another day and
case, on the concrete factual record required by City

would be within the agency’s authority, serve an important and
substantial governmental interest, have only incidental impact
on speech (readily remedied by expanding the system’s capacity),
and be narrowly tailored to accomplish the governmental inter-
est.

** It could not be seriously argued that a newspaper could be
required to set aside a substantial portion of its capacity for a
governmentally prescribed purpose. Significantly, the Chairman
of the Commission has just stated his doubt that any rules are
constitutionally permissible. See Broadcasting Mag., January 11,
1988, p.37.

22 See 47 U.S.C. §§ 531, 532.

23

of Los Angeles v. Preferred Communications, Inc.,
supra.

Correspondingly, however, resolution of the above
issue will not control this case. Assuming that the
newspaper model does govern cable franchising or
access requirements, that still would not mean that
the First Amendment broadcast regulatory standard
does not govern as to cable’s carriage of broadcast
signals. That issue thus stands on a different footing
and is fully ripe for resolution now.

CONCLUSION

The decision below, failing to reverse the Commis-
sion action, undermines clear and important Congres-
sional goals, only recently stressed by the Congress.*°
It renders nugatory the decisions of this Court in
Southwestern Cable, supra, and Capital Cities Cable,
Inc. v. Crisp, 467 U.S. 691 (1984) and conflicts with
the correct decision of the eighth circuit in Black
Hills, supra. The petition for certiorari should be
granted.

3° See note 14, supra, p. 11.

31 The Court there held that state rules requiring cable op-
erators to delete alcoholic beverage commercials from broadcast
signals they were carrying were invalid under the supremacy
clause, because the Commission’s regulation of broadcast signal
carriage by cable systems, and specifically its must carry rules,
established the existence of an ‘‘important and substantial’ fed-
eral interest justifying preemption. Jd., at 713-16.

Respectfully submitted,

HENRY GELLER
Counsel of Record

Of Counsel: DONNA LAMPERT
ANDREW J. SCHWARTZMAN DANIEL R. OHLBAUM
Media Access Project 1776 K Street, N.W.
2000 M Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20006

Washington, D.C. 20036 (202) 429-7360

Counsel for Petitioner
March 1988

EXHIBIT

EXHIBIT

TELEVISION SIGNAL AND INPUT SELECTOR SWITCH
AVAILABILITY NOTICE

The FCC, in 1986, adopted new requirements concerning
cable system carriage of local television broadcast stations.
Beginning June 10, 1987, a cable system has been required
to carry one or more local broadcast stations, but not
necessarily all such stations, until June 10, 1992. After
that date, carriage of local broadcast stations will be at
the discretion of the cable operator. As a result, at this
time or at a later date, you may not be able to receive
all local television stations over your cable system. At this
time, MetroCable is not carrying the following local broad-
cast stations; WTTX Ch.-66, WFTY Ch.-50 and WNVC
Ch.-56.

To ensure that you will retain the capability of receiving
all of the broadcast stations that are available off the air,
which might not be carried on the cable system, either
now or in the future, it may be necessary to use an input
selector switching device in conjunction with an antenna.
This device, which connects both to your cable service and
your antenna, will enable you to select between cable ser-
vice and off the air television signals. You may already
have such switching capability either in a separate device
or as a built in feature of your television receiver. If you
already have this capability you do not need an additional
switch. However, if you do need the switch, Arlington
Cable Partners (MetroCable TV) will install one at a cost
of $39.95 or will provide you a switch with written self-
installation instructions at a cost of $14.95. Such switches
are also available from other local suppliers. A wide range
of switching options is available, including, but not limited
to, mechanical, electronic, multiple input, and remote con-
trol switches which can be adapted to fit most needs.

Please direct any questions to the MetroCable Customers
Service manager at 841-7700.

COREE EEE EERE EERE EERE EEE EEE EEE EEE EEE EERE HEHEHE EEE EEE OH

If you wish to obtain an input selector switch, check the
appropriate box below and return to our business office
at 2707 Wilson Blvd., Arlington, Virginia 22201.

{ ] I wish to have an input selector switch installed.
I understand that I will be charged $39.95 for
this service.

{ ] 1 wish to receive an input selector switch with
installation instructions. I understand that I will
be charged $14.95 for this service.

Please print your name, address and phone num-
ber in the space provided below.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1451%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
