# Reply Brief — Block Drug Co. v. Hodosh

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1376%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 485 U.S. 1007

## Text

~ Supreme Court, US.

Y RFILED
, E. SPANIOL, JR,
IN THE * OEERK m
Supreme Court of the Unite

OcToBER TERM, 1987

BLOCK DRUG COMPANY, INC., BLOCK DRUG
CORPORATION AND DENTCO, INC.,

Petitioners,
VS.
MILTON HODOSH and RICHARDSON-VICKS, INC.,

Respondents.

REPLY BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION
FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
U.S. COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE
FEDERAL CIRCUIT

MarvIN C. SOFFEN

Epwarp A. MEILMAN
OsTROLENK, FABER, GERB & SOFFEN
260 Madison Avenue

New York, New York 10016

(212) 685-8470 -

James F. Davis

ALAN M. GRIMALDI

Howrey & SIMON

1730 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 783-0800

Attorneys for Petitioners

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TABLE OF CASES, STATUTES AND OTHER
MeFi 5 So ck Reva kN ORa ss ee es iii
I. The Absence of a Final Judgment Does Not
Affect the Importance of Granting the Writ
to Review the Certified Question of Law.... l
II. Respondents’ Brief Does Not Overcome the
Special and Important Reasons for Granting
ha yn baas 6 oe eed eas ak aa4 3
III. The Federal Circuit Decision Would Permit
Patent Monopolies to be Expanded by Such
Commercial Techniques as Marketing and
ea cs ee one es a ee oe ke 5
I 06 5s ss 5a Kg aa ca 4 ER Ae ek 6

TABLE OF CASES, STATUTES
AND OTHER AUTHORITIES

B.B. Chemical Co. v. Ellis, 314 U.S. 495, 498
SSA Sines anna

Dawson Chemical Co. v. Rohm & Haas Co., 448
U.S. 176, 183, 184 n. 3, 185, 187 (1980) ......

Hodosh v. Block Drug, Co., 786 F.2d 1136, 1143
(Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 107 S.Ct. 106 (1986) .

Leitch Mfg. Co. v. Barber Co., 302 U.S. 458
2 ning og dcx K ies S 9 s'0 bw x 0 ss

Rex Chainbelt, Inc. v. Harco Prods., Inc., 512
F.2d 993, 1002 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 423
os ss ies densa bd d6 do 45 oo

Switzer Bros., Inc. v. Locklin, 297 F.2d 39 (7th
Cir. 1961), cert. denied, 369 U.S. 851 (1962) ..

STATUTES AND OTHER AUTHORITIES
PT Eee
ss facia nes cb'veses’

Federico, “Commentary on the New [1952] Patent
Act,” (Published in 35 U.S.C.A. Vol. 1 (1952)) .

Page

No. 87-1394

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1987

BLOCK DRUG COMPANY, INC., BLOCK DRUG
CORPORATION AND DENTCO, INC.,

Petitioners,

vs.
MILTON HODOSH and RICHARDSON-VICKS, INC.,
3 Respondents.

REPLY BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF PETITION FOR A
WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

I. THE ABSENCE OF A FINAL JUDGMENT DOES NOT
AFFECT THE IMPORTANCE OF GRANTING THE
WRIT TO REVIEW THE CERTIFIED QUESTION OF
LAW

In opposing the Petition, respondents urge (Resp. Br. p. 6)
that this Court should not grant the petition for certiorari
because there is no final judgment. However, the present case
raises a special and important question of law, which was
recognized by both the District Court by certifying the ques-
tion and the Court oi Appeals below by granting interlocutory
review of the certified question under 28 U.S.C. §1292(b).

Significantly, in Dawson Chemical Co. v. Rohm & Haas Co.,
448 U.S. 176 (1980), under similar procedural circumstances,
this Court granted certiorari prior to final judgment. Petitioners
in Dawson moved for summary judgment on the patent misuse
issue, arguing that Rohm & Haas misused its patent by gran-
ting the right to practice the patented method only to purchasers
of its propanil-containing composition. The District Court
granted partial summary judgment on the issue of patent misuse,
the Fifth Circuit reversed, and despite the denial of summary
judgment, this Court “granted certiorari, to forestall a possible
conflict in the lower courts and to resolve an issue of prime im-
portance in the administration of the patent law”, 448 U.S. at
185 (citations omitted), while noting that other issues “remain
for development on remand”. 448 U.S. at 184 n.3.

In this case, the reasons for granting certiorari on the misuse
issue are buttressed by the fact that the District Court recognized
the existence of “a controlling question of law as to which there
is substantial ground for difference of opinion and that an im-
mediate appeal . . . may materially advance the ultimate ter-
mination of the litigation.” (App. C-2). The District Court cer-
tified the question. The Court of Appeals for the Federal Cir-
cuit agreed, and permitted the appeal. None of the cases relied
on by respondents (Resp. Br. p. 6) as to interlocutory review by
this Court involved an instance where a district court and a court

of appeals, recognizing that a substantial legal issue existed, were
dealing with a certified legal question under 28 U.S.C. §1292(b).

The District Court, while denying summary judgment,
recognized (App. B-9 to B-13) the law of patent misuse, as
developed in the long line of decisions by this Court and deem-
ed the legal question of the focus in determining whether a pat-
ent monopoly can be expanded, to be of sufficient importance
to certify the question, so it could receive guidance at the ap-
pellate level. This Court should provide such guidance.

Il. RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF DOES NOT OVERCOME THE
SPECIAL AND IMPORTANT REASONS FOR
GRANTING THE WRIT

The reasons offered by respondents for denying the writ are
not persuasive. While respondents argue that Block sells
toothpaste, and not potassium nitrate alone (Resp. Br. p. 8), it
is undisputed that potassium nitrate, a staple, is the essential
ingredient of the toothpaste and the advance over the prior art
(Petition pp. 4, 5 and App. D-1). The toothpaste is unpatented.
It is only the potassium nitrate in a common paste or water or
other carrier which gives relief to hypersensitive teeth.

Respondents’ assertion (Resp. Br. p. 7, n 9) that the non-toxic
paste has something to do with the inventive concept has never
had any factual support, by affidavit, or otherwise. Not only
is this contrary to the teaching of the patent, (Petition pp. 4-6,
App. D-1l) but the toothpaste carrier is an old formula copied
from the prior art. Hodosh v. Block Drug Co., 786 F.2d 1136,
1143 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 107 S.Ct. 106 (1986). *

Respondents’ “Counterstatement of the Question” which
asserts that one should address only “the material actually sold”
without looking further, would preclude a court from any
analysis of that material. It has already been determined that
the nature of the product is such that the potassium nitrate is
the essential ingredient which imparts any novelty to the method.
If it were simply “any ingredient”, there would have been no
basis for certification.

Respondents rely (Resp. Br. pp. 11, 12) on statements made
by Mr. PJ. Federico in his Commentary on the New (1952) Patent
Act. His comments regarding “the thing sold,” however, were
of a general nature, and simply repeated the statutory language.
Mr. Federico was not discussing the specific issue before this
Court, nor did he have before him the Dawson decision which
reiterated the importance of focusing on the “essential” ingredient.
(Petition p. ll)

Interestingly, RVI's Denquel toothpaste packaging refers to only one active
ingredient, ic. potassium nitrate (earlier advertising having designated the
potassium nitrate as the “patented, active ingredient”).

The misuse issue is not simply “the refusal to license Block”
(Resp. Br. p. 3) as respondents assert. It is misuse to grant licenses
only to RVI’s purchasers and thus tie the use of the patented
method to the purchase of unpatented materials, and to bring
a suit against another supplier of such materials. Leitch Mfg.
Co. v. Barber Asphalt, 302 U.S. 458 (1938); B.B. Chem. Co. v.
Ellis, 314 U.S. 495 (1942). All purchasers of toothpaste from RVI
receive a license to use the product, and whether anyone other
than Block has made an express request for a license (Resp. Br.
p. 8) is irrelevant. As stated in Rex Chainbelt, Inc. v. Harco
Prods., Inc., 512 F.2d 993, 1002 (9th Cir.), cert. denied 423 U.S.
831 (1975), if “no other licensing program [is] visibly available”
(other than with the implied license given with the sale of the
unpatented product), then misuse is established. 7

Moreover, respondents’ reliance on Switzer Bros., Inc. v.
Locklin, 297 F.2d 39 (7th Cir. 1961), cert. denied, 369 U.S. 851
(1962) (Resp. Br. p. 8) for the theory that licensing Block would
be misuse, is misplaced. In that case, an antitrust violation
resulted from tying a patent license to many things, including
the use of trademarks and the purchase of materials for the pro-
duction of all fluorescent devices, and Switzer’s misconstruc-
tion of 35 U.S.C. §271l(c) was not considered an excuse for its
far-reaching antitrust violations.

Respondents assert that the plain wording interpretation of
Section 271(c) is unambiguous. (Resp. Br. p. 9) To the contrary,
this Court in Dawson pointed out “the language of §271 is
generic and freighted with a meaning derived from the deci-
sional history that proceeded it.” Dawson, 448 U.S. at 187.

Respondents’ further assertion (Resp. Br. p. 16) that it would
be “a practical impossibility for RVI or Dr. Hodosh to monitor
direct infringement” is the same type of argument that was of-
fered unsuccessfully in B.B. Chemical Co. v. Ellis, 314 U.S. 495
(1942). This Court responded, 314 U.S. at 498:

It is without significance that, as petitioner con-
tends, it is not practicable to exploit the patent rights
by granting licenses because of the preferences of

manufacturers and of the methods by which petitioner
has found it convenient to conduct its business. The
patent monopoly is not enlarged by reason of the fact
that it would be more convenient to the patentee to
have it so, or because he cannot avail himself of its
benefits within the limits of the grant.

Ill. THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT DECISION WOULD
PERMIY PATENT MONOPOLIES TO BE EXPANDED
BY SUCH COMMERCIAL TECHNIQUES AS
MARKETING AND PRICING

The Federal Circuit erroneously left it to the district court
to have the misuse issue decided by questions relating to
marketing and pricing. (App. B-14) Such a basis for determining
the scope of the patent monopoly is inconsistent with the long
line of cases on misuse, and with 35 U.S.C. §271(c), which states
that in order to qualify as a nonstaple the material must not
be “suitable for substantial noninfringing use”. The
staple/nonstaple determination should depend on the inherent
nature of a material.

The Federal Circuit’s decision, if left undisturbed, would
permit patentees to circumvent the limitations inherent in
method-of-use patents and, by marketing and pricing
techniques, obtain monopoly rights which the Patent Office
refused to grant. Such a result was clearly not intended by
Congress in enacting 35 U.S.C. §271. It is also contrary to
Dawson.

Respondents’ reading of the statute would constitute a
significant expansion of Dawson, and would be contrary to the
public policy set forth in the misuse cases decided by this Court.

As stated in the Petition, the Federal Circuit Decision is in
conflict with Dawson and other Supreme Court and Ninth
Circuit precedent on patent misuse.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above and in the Petition for a Writ
of Certiorari, such Writ should issue to the Court of Appeals
for the Federal Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

MARVIN C. SOFFEN

Epwarp A. MEILMAN

OsSTROLENK, FABER, GERB & SOFFEN
260 Madison Avenue

New York, New York 10016

(212) 685-8470

JaMEs F. Davis

ALAN M. GRIMALDI

Howrey & SIMON

1730 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20006

(202) 783-0800

Attorneys for Petitioners

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1376%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
