# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Chicago & North Western Transportation Co. v. Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employes

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1345%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 485 U.S. 988

## Text

87-13 48)) rome

No. 87- i FES
' “a: SPAMIOL, JR,

IN THE iz
Supreme Court of the United Ststes

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

CHICAGO AND NORTH WESTERN
TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,
Petitioner,
V.

BROTHERHOOD OF MAINTENANCE OF WAY EMPLOYES,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

JAMES P. DALEY RALPH J. MOORE, JR.
STUART F. GASSNER (Counsel of Record)
CHICAGO & NORTH WESTERN D. EUGENIA LANGAN
TRANSPORTATION COMPANY SHEA & GARDNER
One North Western Center 1800 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.
Chicago, Illinois 60606 Washington, D.C. 20036
(312) 559-6072 —(202) 828-2000

EDWARD M. GLENNON

THOMAS E. GLENNON
LINDQUIST & VENNUM
4200 IDS Center
80 South Eighth Street
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55402
(612) 371-3211

Counsel for Petitioner
February 11, 1988

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

a

ii

CLERK

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a court may enter an interlocutory injunc-
tion against a unilateral change by a carrier, allegedly
in violation of the “status quo” requirements of the Rail-
way Labor Act, before a trial on the merits with respect
to disputed issues of fact, without “balancing the equi-
ties” —-2.e., without determining (1) that emergency in-
junctive relief is necessary to prevent irreparable injury
to the plaintiff before the trial on the merits, and (2)
that any such injury outweighs injury to the public or
the carrier that will result from granting the injunction.

(i)

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

In addition to the parties listed in the caption to this
petition, the Chicago & North Western System Federa-
tion of respondent Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way
Employes was a party to the proceedings below.

Petitioner Chicago and North Western Transportation
Company is a wholly-owned subsidiary of the Chicago
and North Western Corporation. Petitioner’s subsidi-
aries and affiliates, apart from wholly-owned subsidiaries,
are:

Iowa Transfer Railway Company

Kansas City Terminal Railway Company

MT Properties, Inc.

Peoria & Pekin Union Railway Company

Trailer Train Company

Transportation Data Exchange, Inc.

ACE Limited

Railroad Association Insurance, Ltd.

Transportation & Railroad Assurance Company, Ltd.
TQGroup

West Parcel Venture

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
QUESTION PRESENTED ................. i
LIST OF PARTIES ........ estates hededuiobebesssepueusinisicins il
I ST Ue ED oc snnccccensanaccsconsnatennnasnsacssnesansses iv
ss cschivcunabsndinnaibiaeetonctinanatnnes Se ]
JURISDICTION 2
STATUTE INVOLVED ................ pean 2
STATEMENT ................. RAW Ean ne Reson 3
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .................. 9
CONCLUSION ......... eae eaelial Pes i8

(iii)

iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
American Mercury Vv. Kiely, 19 F.2d 295 (2d Cir.
5 RI ae Re UOT ate RETRO cel nn ae BAR 11
Amoco Production Co. Vv. Village of Gambell,
Alaska, 107 S. Ct. 1896 (1987).............................. 12, 14
Black Law Enforcement Officers Ass’n Vv. City of
Akron, 824 F.2d 475 (6th Cir. 1987) -.................... 13

Brotherhood of Railway, Airline & Steamship
Clerks v. Chicago & N.W. Transp. Co., N.R.A.B.

3d Div. Award No. 25032 (1984) ..........00....0..0...... 5, 6,8
Brown Vv. Chote, 411 U.S. 452 (19738) .................--.--. 12
Canal Authority v. Callaway, 489 F.2d 567 (5th

bes aaa RE A eRe KA ee Ssh ER Re ROLES 11, 13
Chicago & N.W. R. Co. v. Transportation Union,

RS et A ae see Oe 15
Dataphase Systems, Inc. v. C L Systems, Inc., 640

OP ae ee scene ccdhckecocenen 13
Doran v. Salem Inn, Inc., 422 U.S. 922 (1975) -....... 12
Elgin, J. & E. R. Co. v. Burley, 325 U.S. 711

| ER CAP Baa ag Rs SSR NO 4
Foltz v. U.S. News & World Report, 760 F.2d 1300

8 Ae “Ry __RER RiaSTS enemy CN SC URDU NRC 13
Granny Goose Foods, Inc. v. Teamsters, 415 U.S.

I I lieth en cncars acai cea peaninaclatenantts 11
Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321 U.S. 321 (1944) —............. 12, 14
Houghton v. Meyer, 208 U.S. 149 (1908) -.......-.. 11, 12
International Ass'n of Machinists v. Eastern Air

Lines, 826 F.2d 1141 (1st Cir. 1987) -................. 11

Local 553, Transport Workers v. Eastern Air

Lines, 544 F. Supp. 1315 (E.D.N.Y.), aff'd, 695

ep FF, bo ERC Reuter error 10
Local 553, Transport Workers v. Eastern Air

Lines, 695 F.2d 668 (2d Cir. 1982) ........................ 7,9, 10
Locomotive Engineers V. Missouri-K.-T. R. Co., 363
RR Pac aa accent conscnadceriuansblnhodaatannns 14, 15
Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum Comm’n Vv. Na-

tional Football League, 634 F.2d 1197 (9th Cir.

SBR Rese ecieil ae «seh Sed rae 17 Noe ON BA ENR RTO 13
Love v. Atchison, T. & S.F. Ry. Co., 185 F. 321 (8th

Cir.), cert. denied, 220 U.S. 618 (1911) .............. 11

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
North Carolina State Ports Authority v. Dart

Containerline Co., 592 F.2d 749 (4th Cir. 1979)... 13
Ohio Oil v. Conway, 279 U.S. 813 (1929) (per

Ye __ | Yee iW erates isa Mate N ner Oe Ue Ra Ne 6 Ny SIRO RAI 12
Pan American World Airways V. Flight Engineers’

International Ass’n, 306 F.2d 840 (2d Cir.

j INE REL TENE OM pare al wre oe NCS PIPE Dee ale 11
Planned Parenthood League v. Bellotti, 641 F.2d

Fy” 8: Re ee ein 13
Public Service Comm’n V. Wisconsin Tel. Co., 289

Wi ee CS 12
Punnet v. Carter, 621 F.2d 578 (3d Cir. 1980) _....... 13
Railway Labor Executives’ Ass’n Vv. Norfolk &

W. Ry., 833 F.2d 700 (7th Cir. 1987) ....................... 4
Roland Machinery Co. v. Dresser Industries, Inc.,

i BA § Be, Br 5h. | | een 13
Sampson V. Murray, 415 U.S. 61 (1974) 0.000... 12
Shatel Corp. v. Mao Ta Lumber & Yacht Corp.,

GO7 F.24 1268 (iith Cir. 1968) ............................. 13
Shore Line v. Transportation Union, 396 U.S. 142

See I ct De es CC iy MAE Sirs af tx ses lid 6,10, 15
Southern Ry. v. Brotherhood of Locomotive Fire-

men & Enginemen, 337 F.2d 127 (D.C. Cir.

DI ono a ne ee ee 10
Stormy Clime Ltd. v. Progroup, Inc., 809 F.2d 971

Ce ee Shieh a 13
Toledo, A.A. & N.M. Ry. Co. v. Pennsylvania oe

54 F. 730 (C.C. N.D. Ohio), appeal dutesed

sub nom. In re Lennon, 150 U.S. 393 (1895) 11
Tri-State Generation & Transmission Ass'n V.

Shoshone River Power, Inc., 805 F.2d 351 (10th

i es ce eA SS 11,13
Union Pacific R. Co. v. Sheehan, 439 U.S. 89

"y.,_ | ARR SPORSPRSCR eccrine tnnen me or re) 5 4
United Industrial Workers v. Board of Tr ustees of

the Galveston Wharves, 100 F.2d 320 (5th Cir.

1968), cert. denied, 395 U.S. 905 (1969) 17
United States v. Adler’s Creamery, 107 F.2d 987

_ gi Se Reet sesthasisidintens Asaacididaeiess adeno 11

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page
University of Texas v. Camenisch, 451 U.S. 390
(1981) igh anak ine ieee cee 11
Virginian Ry. Co. Vv. System Fe deration, 300 U Ss.
515 (1937) . 13
Weinberger Vv. Romero-Barcelo, 456 U.S. 305
(1982) —_ 14
Yakus v. United States, 321 U.S. 414 (1944) re 13
Statutes:
Railway Labor Act, ch. 347, 44 Stat. 577 (1926),
as amended :
Section 2 Seventh, 45 U.S.C. § 152 Seventh . 23
Section 3 First(i), 45 U.S.C. § 153 First (i)... 1,5
Section 3 First(o), 45 U.S.C. § 153 First (o) 17
Section 5 First, 45 U.S.C. § 155 First —............. 15
Section 6, 45 U.S.C. § 156 . ae 2,3, 15
Section 10, 45 U.S.C. § 160 icaaleesepeteess “ 15
Section 201, 45 U.S.C. § 181 —.............. a 15
Federal Railroad Safety ror Pub. L. No. 91-458,
84 Stat. 971 (1970), as amended:
Section 202(a), 45 U.S.C. § 431(a) 16
Section 209, 45 U.S.C. § 438 ........ an dctadads 16
Interstate Commerce Act, ch. 104, 24 Stat. 379
(1887), as amended:
49 U.S.C.§$11101(a) ~. Renee 2 aa 16

28 U.S.C. § 1254 (1) ..............

to

Legislative History:

Airline and Rail Service Protection Act: Hearing
Before the Senate Committee on Commerce,
Science & Transportation, 100th Cong., Ist
Sess, (1987) ............. 7 =

Rail Safety: Hearing Before the Subcommittee on
Surface Transportation of the Senate Committee
on Commerce, Science & Transportation, 100th
Comes, 190 GGA, CEES estctnnennenue . 17

vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Miscellaneous:

11 C. Wright & A. Miller, Federal Practice & Pro-
cedure (1973)

Developments in the Law: Injunctions, 78 Harv.
L. Rev. 994 (1965)

Note, Probability of Ultimate Success Held Unnec-
essary for Grant of Interlocutory Injunction, 71
Colum. L. Rev. 165 (1971)

19 C.F.R. § 219.1 (a)

16

IN THE
Siypreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1987

No. 87-

CHICAGO AND NORTH WESTERN
TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,
Petitioner,
Vv.

BROTHERHOOD OF MAINTENANCE OF WAY EMPLOYES,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner Chicago and North Western Transportation
Company respectfully requests that the Court issue a
writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit in this
case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App. la) is re-
ported at 827 F.2d 330 (8th Cir. 1987). Its order deny-
ing rehearing (App. 26a) is unreported. The bench
ruling and order of the district court granting a pre-
liminary injunction (App. 14a, 20a) are unreported.
The district court’s opinion denying reconsideration of
its ruling on the preliminary injunction (App. 22a) is
unreported.

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals (App. 25a) was
entered on August 25, 1987. A timely petition for re-
hearing was denied on November 13, 1987. (App. 26a.)
The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
§ 1254(1).

STATUTE INVOLVED

Section 2 Seventh of the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C.
$ 152 Seventh, provides:

“Change in pay, rules, or working conditions con-
trary to agreement or to section 156 forbidden. No
carrier, its officers or agents shall change the rates
of pay, rules, or working conditions of its employees,
as a class, as embodied in agreements except in the
manner prescribed in such agreements or in section
156 of this title.”

Section 6 of the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 156,
provides:

“Procedure in Changing Rates of Pay, Rules and
Working Conditions. Carriers and representatives
of the employees shall give at least thirty days’ writ-
ten notice of an intended change in agreements af-
fecting rates of pay, rules, or working conditions,
and the time and place for the beginning of con-
ference between the representatives of the parties
interested in such intended changes shall be agreed
upon within ten days after the receipt of said notice,
and said time shall be within the thirty days pro-
vided in the notice. In every case where such notice
of intended change has been given, or conferences
are being held with reference thereto, or the services
of the Mediation Board have been requested by ei-
ther party, or said Board has proffered its services,
rates of pay, rules, or working conditions shall not
be altered by the carrier until the controversy has
been finally acted upon, as required by section 155
of this title, by the Mediation Board, unless a period
of ten days has elapsed after termination of con-

3

ferences without request for or proffer of the serv-
ices of the Mediation Board.”

STATEMENT

This case concerns the requisites for emergency in-
junctive relief in suits alleging Railway Labor Act vio-
lations.

Respondent Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Em-
ployes (“BMWE”) commenced this action against peti-
tioner Chicago and North Western Transportation Com-
pany (“C&NW”) in federal court in the District of
Minnesota. BMWE is the collective bargaining represen-
tative of the C&NW’s track maintenance employees. It
alleged that C&NW had violated ‘‘status quo” obligations
under $$ 2 Seventh and 6 of the Railway Labor Act, 45
U.S.C. § 152 Seventh and 156, by unilaterally amending
company “Rule G” in 1986 to provide expressly that rail-
road employees were prohibited from drug offenses while
on or off duty.’

1QOn April 27, 1986, CQNW amended Rule G to provide as follows:

“Employes subject to call fur duty, reporting for duty, on duty
or on Company property are prohibited from using or being
under the influence of alcoholic beverages or intoxicants. Pos-
session of alcoholic beverages or intoxicants is prohibited while
on duty or on Company property.

Employes shall not report for duty, be on Company property or
be on duty under the influence of, or use while on duty or on
Company property any drug or other substance that may in
any way adversely affect their alertness, coordination reaction,
response or safety. This prohibition includes prescription
medications.

The illegal use, illegal possession or illegal sale of any drug
by employes while on or off duty is prohibited.” (Eighth Cir-
cuit Joint Appendix [“J.A.’’] 30.)
Prior to the amendment the rule did not contain the language in
the third paragraph, which expressly prohibits illegal off-duty drug-
related activities. (J.A. 29.)

4

The union moved for a preliminary injunction against
enforcement of the amended rule, and the railroad moved
to dismiss. The railroad argued that the amendment to
Rule G was at least arguably authorized by its estab-
lished past practices, and thus that the union’s challenge
to the amendment presented at most a “minor” dispute
over the interpretation of those practices.” The union’s
motion was not supported by any affidavits. The rail-
road’s motion was supported by an affidavit by its Vice
President of Labor Relations, who stated that rules gov-
erning employee abuse of drugs and alcohol had been
unilaterally issued and implemented by the railroad since
at least as early as 1910, and that Rule G and its prede-
cessors had been unilaterally amended by the railroad on
at least five occasions since then, in 1929, 1953, 1967,
1975 and 1980. (J.A. 19-21.) Copies of these different
versions of the rule attached to the affidavit showed that
the 1910 and 1929 versions provided that “the frequent-
ing of places where [intoxicants] are sold, is sufficient
cause for dismissal” (J.A. 24, 25), and that while the
“frequenting” provision was not contained in the 1953
version of the rule, the rule since 1953 had prohibited
the use of intoxicants or narcotics by employees “subject
to duty” or “subject to call for duty.” (J.A. 26, 27, 30.) *

Under the Railway Labor Act “minor disputes” over the ap-
plication or interpretation of collective bargaining agreements or
matters “omitted” from formal agreements but governed by estab-
lished relations between carriers and their employees are distin-
guished from “major disputes” over proposed changes in collective
bargaining agreements. See, e.g., Elgin, J. & E. R. Co. v. Burley,
325 U.S. 711, 723 (1945); Railway Labor Executives’ Ass’n V.
Norfolk & W. Ry., 833 F.2d 700, 705 & n.4 (7th Cir. 1987); see
45 U.S.C. § 153 First(i). The courts lack jurisdiction over minor
disputes because such disputes are committed to mandatory arbitra-
tion before adjustment boards established under §3. See, e.g.,
Union Pacific R. Co. v. Sheehan, 439 U.S. 89, 94 (1978).

’ Employees who are off duty but may be called are “subject to
duty.” Furloughed employees are not subject to duty.

5

The district court heard argument from the union on
August 14, 1986 and from both parties on September 23,
1986. (J.A. 35, 48-53, 61.) At the September 23 pro-
ceedings, in response to questions by the court as to
whether the railroad had regulated off-duty drug offenses
prior to 1986, the railroad’s attorneys advised the court
that it had done so under the “conduct unbecoming”
rule, and called the court’s attention to a 1984 decision
(83d Div. Award No. 25032) of the National Railroad
Adjustment Board under § 3 of the Railway Labor Act,
45 U.S.C. § 153 First(i), sustaining the dismissal of a
C&NW employee for off-duty sales of drugs. (J.A. 74-
76; App. 27a.)

During the September 23 proceedings the union con-
firmed that the court had copies of Rule G in effect be-
fore and after the April 1986 amendment and a copy of
a letter from BMWE to C&NW dated May 27, 1986,
protesting the change in the rule. (J.A. 63, 89-90; App.
15a.) The union presented no other evidence to the
court. Counsel for the union offered to present evidence,
' stating:

“Your Honor, you can’t have an injunction hearing
without some testimony. I mean, there is no factual
basis at this point in time.”

Counsel dropped the request, however, when the court re-
sponded: “As we used to say, watch me.” (Transcript

4 Rule 7, known as the “conduct unbecoming” rule, provided:

“Employes are prohibited from being careless of the safety of
themselves or others, disloyal, insubordinate, dishonest, im-
moral, quarrelsome or otherwise vicious or conducting them-
selves in such a manner that the railroad will be subjected to
criticism and loss of good will, or not meeting their personal
obligations.” (App. 10a n.3.)

5 The union had also attached to its reply to the railroad’s motion
to dismiss the record of the disciplinary proceeding of Michael
White, an employee who had been discharged following his arrest
for off-duty drug sales. The court ordered White reinstated with
back pay, and refused to stay that order pending the appeal below.
(App. 21a, J.A. 118.)

6

of September 23, 1986 Preliminary Injunction Hearing,
p. 6.)

After the argument the court granted the motion for
a preliminary injunction from the bench, enjoining the
railroad from enforcing the amended rule, and denied
the railroad’s motion to dismiss. (App. 15a, 18a-19a,
21a.) The court found that “although Rule G is not part
of a collective bargaining agreement,” it had regulated
“employee intoxicant use * * * for a sufficient period of
time with the knowledge and acquiescence of both the
company and the union to become in reality a demon-
strable part of the actual working conditions,” citing
Shore Line v. Transportation Union, 396 U.S. 142, 148
(1969). (App. 17a.) The court further found that
“Tsjinee 1910 the railroad has unilaterally regulated em-
ployees’ intoxicant use * * * under Rule G.” The court
nevertheless asserted (notwithstanding N.R.A.B. 3d Div.
Award No. 25032 and the express provisions of the dif-
ferent versions of Rule G described above) that the
“railroad has never regulated the off-duty conduct of an
employee while away from company property until the
change in Rule G, which it unilaterally promulgated
[in] April 1986.” (App. 17a.) Therefore, the court con-
cluded, Rule G, “prior to its change in April of 1986,
constitutes the status quo regarding the company’s regu-
lation of employee intoxicant use,” and that version of
Rule G could not be changed by the railroad unless it
first exhausted Railway Labor Act major dispute pro-
cedures with respect to a proposal to change the rule.
(App. 18a.)

The court’s order did not purport to make any deter-
mination as to the balance of the equities. The court did
not undertake any inquiry as to whether BMWE or its
members would suffer irreparable injury if the railroad
was not enjoined pending a trial on the merits. Nor did
it consider whether any such injury outweighed injury
that the public or the railroad might suffer if an inter-

7

locutory injunction was granted and it later turned out
at the trial on the merits that the union’s claims were
unfounded. (App. 14a-21a.)

The railroad moved for reconsideration, filing a fur-
ther affidavit by its Vice President of Labor Relations
that sought to show that it had in fact engaged in ex-
tensive regulation of off-duty conduct, including off-duty
drug offenses, prior to the 1986 amendment of Rule G,
under a number of unilateral company safety and operat-
ing rules, particularly Rule 7.° (J.A. 78-87.) The court
denied the motion, however, on the ground that facts
regarding the practice under other rules had not been
before it when it granted the preliminary injunction:

“In its reconsideration motion, the railroad fervently
argues that it has traditionally regulated off-duty
conduct through Rule 7, known as the “conduct un-
becoming” rule, as well as through various other
company rules. * * * [O]nly Rule G was before this
court when considering the underlying motion for a
preliminary injunction * * *.” (App. 24a.)

On appeal, the Eighth Circuit affirmed. The railroad
contended that the district court erred in granting the
preliminary injunction in the absence of any showing of
irreparable harm to the plaintiff or determination that
the balance of the equities favored the union. The rail-
road called the court’s attention to Local 553, Transport
Workers v. Eastern Air Lines, 695 F.2d 668, 677 (2d
Cir. 1982), in which the Second Circuit had held that
while there was uncertainty about the showing required
for a permanent injunction in a Railway Labor Act
status quo case following a trial on the merits, there is
“no doubt that a finding of irreparable harm [is] neces-
sary” where a preliminary injunction is sought in such a

6 The affidavit noted two instances in which employees had been
discharged for off-duty drug offenses, as well as several instances of
discharge for other off-duty criminal conduct, e.g., theft, rape, and
passing bad checks. (J.A. 80-81.)

8

case; the very purpose of interlocutory injunctive relief
is to prevent irreparable harm to the plaintiff outweigh-
ing the interests of the public and the defendant until a
trial can be had. The Eighth Circuit rejected that con-
tention, however, holding that such an injunction “may
issue without regard to the usual balancing of the equi-
ties * * *.” (App. 5a, n.2.)

The further holdings of the court of appeals serve to
emphasize the provisional nature of the factual founda-
tion for the preliminary injunction. The railroad con-
tended that the district court’s finding that the “railroad
has never regulated the off-duty conduct of an employee
while away from company property” was clearly erro-
neous, because the union had not presented evidence, and
the railroad’s evidence, including N.R.A.B. 3d Div.
Award No. 25032, was to the contrary. The Eighth Cir-
cuit rejected that contention, however, stating that “al-
though the parties will have the right to supplement the
record in any further proceedings with respect to past
practice under Rule 7, on the basis of the record before
it at the time it granted the preliminary injunction” the
district court’s determination was not clearly erroneous.
(App. 10a, 1la n.4 (emphasis added) ).

The court of appeals rested its holding on the merits
on that provisional foundation. The court rejected the
railroad’s contention that the controversy over the amend-
ment to Rule G was a minor dispute, because in the
court’s view the district court’s findings—that Rule G,
although not a part of the collective bargaining agree-
ment, had regulated employee intoxicant use since 1910,
but the railroad had “never” before regulated off-duty
conduct—“‘elevated [the supposed practice under Rule G
prior to the April amendment} to an implied term of the
collective bargaining agreement,” so that the railroad’s
amendment gave rise to a major dispute. (App. 3a, 7a.)
The court thus rested its legal conclusion entirely on a
factual predicate that it recognized had not yet been

9

finally established, and that will be vigorously contested
when this case is tried on the merits.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents an important issue, as to which
there is a direct conflict between the Second Circuit and
the court below, regarding the requisites for interlocu-
tory injunctive relief in Railway Labor Act status quo
cases prior to the trial on the merits of the underlying
factual issues.

1. The court below held squarely, in a case in which
the underlying factual issues are hotly disputed, that in
a suit to enjoin an alleged violation of the status quo re-
quirements of the Railway Labor Act, a preliminary in-
junction “may issue without regard to the usual balanc-
ing of the equities” (App. 5a n.2.). Indeed, according to
respondent, the court below held that in such a case, if
the district court’s preliminary view of the merits sup-
ports the plaintiff, an “injunction is mandatory without
consideration of the equities.” 7

That holding is directly in conflict with Local 553,
Transport Workers v. Eastern Air Lines, 695 F.2d 668
(2d Cir. 1982). In that case, the district court granted
a preiiminary injunction under § 6 of the Railway Labor
Act, finding, as the district court did here, that the union
was likely to succeed on the merits of its claim that the
carrier’s actions constituted a unilateral change in the
status quo. The Second Circuit affirmed that aspect of
the decision, but then went on to consider whether “the
District Court was entitled to find Local 553’s showing
of irreparable harm sufficient to support a preliminary
injunction * * *-’ 695 F.2d at 677. Noting that “there
is some question whether a showing of irreparable harm
is even necessary before enjoining,a carrier in a major

7 Appellees’ Response to Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc, p. 2.

10

dispute,” the court squarely held that “because the Dis-
trict Court was ordering a preliminary injunction rather
than a final injunction, there is no doubt that a finding of
irreparable harm was necessary.” Jd. at 677, 679 n.11.°
In short, the Second Circuit held that the traditional
equitable criteria governing injunctive relief pendente
lite are applicable in Railway Labor Act status quo cases.
The court then went on to vacate aspects of the prelimi-
nary injunction that were not necessary to prevent ir-
reparable injury during the period prior to trial and af-
firmed the injunction as modified. Jd. at 677-78, 679-
80. Thus the decision below is squarely in conflict with
the decision of the Second Circuit in the Eastern Air
Lines case.

2. The decision below is contrary to fundamental prin-
ciples of equity jurisprudence.

a. The decision below is at war with the fundamental
purpose of an interlocutory injunction: to prevent ir-

8 The district court in the Eastern Air Lines case had quoted from
a decision of the District of Columbia Circuit holding that “a show-
ing of irreparable harm is not required before [a permanent] status
quo injunction may issue, particularly because the question be-
fore us is concerned with far more than the private rights and
duties of the parties.” Southern Ry. v. Brotherhood of Locomotive
Firemen & Enginemen, 337 F.2d 127, 133-34 (D.C. Cir. 1964), quoted
in Local 553, Transport Workers v. Eastern Air Lines, 544 F. Supp.
1315, 1827 (E.D.N.Y. 1982). The basis for that rule, however, is
that once it has been established that a major dispute exists, the
statutory policy favoring “peaceful settlement” of such disputes
supersedes the private interests of the parties. Southern Ry., 337
F.2d at 133-34. In such a case maintenance of the status quo is
obligatory to prevent “the union from striking and management
from doing anything that would justify a strike.” Shore Line v.
Transportation Union, supra, 396 U.S. at 150. But, as the Second
Circuit recognized in Eastern Air Lines, that rationale does not
extend to the preliminary injunction context, where it has not yet
been established that a major dispute that could culminate in a
strike exists, or that the railroad’s actions would frustrate the
ultimate resolution of any such dispute.

| |

11

reparable harm until the case can be tried on the merits.
An interlocutory injunction

“is a drastic procedure. It is a temporary remedy
allowed at a time when the parties have not had full
opportunity to present their case to the court, nor
has the court, conversely, had the benefit of a full
trial and deliberation.”

International Ass’n of Machinists v. Eastern Air Lines,
826 F.2d 1141, 1144 (1st Cir. 1987).°

The only justification for such an injunction, therefore,
is to preserve the “relative positions of the parties until
a trial on the merits can be held.” University of Texas
v. Camenisch, 451 U.S. 390, 395 (1981); Granny Goose
Foods, Inc. v. Teamsters, 415 U.S. 423, 434-35 (1974).
Its purpose is “to preserve the court’s ability to render
a meaningful decision on the merits.” Canal Authority V.
Callaway, 489 F.2d 567, 573 (5th Cir. 1974).

Accordingly, this Court has held repeatedly that the
very basis for the entry of interlocutory injunctions “has
always been irreparable harm and inadequacy of legal

® Accord, Canal Authority v. Callaway, 489 F.2d 567, 573 (5th
Cir. 1974); Pan American World Airways v. Flight Engineers
Ass'n, 306 F.2d 840, 843 (2d Cir. 1962).

10 Accord, Houghton v. Meyer, 208 U.S. 149, 156 (1908) (con-
struing statutory predecessor to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure
65); Toledo, A.A. & N.M. Ry. v. Pennsylvania Co., 54 F. 730, 741
(C.C. N.D. Ohio) (Taft, J.), appeal dismissed sub nom. In re
Lennon, 150 U.S. 393 (1893); Tri-State Generation & Transmission
Ass'n V. Shoshone River Power, Inc., 805 F.2d 351, 355 (10th Cir.
1986); United States v. Adler’s Creamery, 107 F.2d 987, 990 (2d
Cir. 1939); American Mercury v. Kiely, 19 F.2d 295, 297 (2d Cir.
1927); Love v. Atchison T. & S.F. Ry., 185 F. 321, 331 (8th Cir.
1911). See 11 C. Wright & A. Miller, Federal Practice & Procedure,
§ 2947 at 424 (1973); Note, Probability of Ultimate Success Held
Unnecessary for Grant of Interlocutory Injunction, 71 Colum. L.
Rev. 165 (1971); Developments in the Law: Injunctions, 78 Harv.
L. Rev. 994, 1056 (1965).

12

remedies,” '' and has therefore rejected suggestions that
at the interlocutory injunction “stage the District Court
need not [conclude] that there was actual irreparable
injury.” Sampson v. Murray, 415 U.S. 61, 88 (1974)
(citations omitted). Accord, Amoco Production Co. V.
Village of Gambell, Alaska, 107 8S. Ct. 1396, 1402 (1987).

b. Further, the decision below nullifies the established
principle of equity jurisprudence that even when the
plaintiff can show that it will be injured irreparably
during the period preceding trial, the court nevertheless
may deny an interlocutory injunction in the exercise of
sound equitable discretion unless the threatened injury
to the plaintiff outweighs injuries to other parties and
the public interest that may result from a grant of an
injunction pendente lite. As this Court has held, “(t]he
essence of equity jurisdiction has been the power of the
Chancellor to do equity and to mould each decree to the
necessities of the particular case. Flexibility rather than
rigidity has distinguished it.” Hecht Co. v. Bowles, 321
U.S. 321, 329 (1944). Accordingly,

“The award of an interlocutory injunction by courts
of equity has never been regarded as strictly a mat-
ter of right, even though irreparable injury may
otherwise result to the plaintiff. * * * Even in suits
in which only private interests are involved the
award is a matter of sound judicial discretion, in
the exercise of which the court balances the con-
veniences of the parties and possible injuries to them
according as they may be affected by the granting
or withholding of the injunction.

* * * But where an injunction is asked which will
adversely affect a public interest for whose impair-
ment, even temporarily, an injunction bond cannot

11 See Doran v. Salem Inn, Inc., 422 U.S. 922, 931 (1975); Brown
v. Chote, 411 U.S. 452, 456 (1973); Public Serv. Comm'n v. Wis-
consin Tel. Co., 289 U.S. 67, 70-71 (1933); Ohio Oil v. Conway,
279 U.S. 813, 815 (1929) (per curiam); Houghton v. Meyer, supra,
208 U.S. at 156.

13

compensate, the court may in the public interest
withhold relief until a final determination of the
rights of the parties, though the postponement may
be burdensome to the plaintiff. * * * This is but
another application of the principle, declared in Vir-
ginian Ry. Co. v. System Federation, 300 U.S. 515,
552, that ‘Courts of equity may, and frequently do,
go much farther both to give and withhold relief in
furtherance of the public interest than they are ac-
customed to go when only private interests are in-
volved.’” Yakus v. United States, 321 U.S. 414, 440-
41 (1944) (internal citations omitted) .™

12 These equitable concerns haveeled virtually all of the courts of
appeals, including the Eighth Circuit, to hold that the district
courts’ exercise of their power to grant injunctive relief pendente
lite must be conditioned upon consideration of “four factors”: “(1)
whether there is a substantial probability movant will succeed at
trial; (2) whether the moving party will suffer irreparable injury
absent the injunction; (3) the harm to other interested parties if
the relief is granted; and (4) the effect on the public interest.”
Dataphase Systems, Inc. v. C L Systems, Inc., 640 F.2d 109, 112
(8th Cir. 1981). Accord Foltz v. U.S. News & World Report, 760
F.2d 1300, 1305 (D.C. Cir. 1985); Planned Parenthood League of
Massachusetts v. Bellotti, 641 F.2d 1006, 1009 (1st Cir. 1981);
Punnet Vv. Carter, 621 F.2d 578, 582 (3d Cir. 1980); North Carolina
State Ports Authority v. Dart Containerline Co., 592 F.2d 749, 750
(4th Cir. 1979); Canal Authority v. Callaway, supra, 489 F.2d at
572 (5th Cir. 1974); Black Law Enforcement Officers Ass'n v. City
of Akron, 824 F.2d 475, 479 (6th Cir. 1987); Roland Machinery Co.
Vv. Dresser Industries, Inc., 749 F.2d 380, 382-83 (7th Cir. 1984); Los
Angeles Memorial Coliseum Comm'n vy. National Football League, ©
634 F.2d 1197, 1200 (9th Cir. 1980); Tri-State Generation & Trans-
mission Ass'n V. Shoshone River Power, Inc., 805 F.2d 351, 355
(10th Cir. 1986); Shatel Corp. v. Mao Ta Lumber & Yacht Corp.,
697 F.2d 1352, 1354-55 (11th Cir. 1983). See also Stormy Clime Ltd.
v. Progroup, Inc., 809 F.2d 971, 973 (2d Cir. 1987) (“[A] party
seeking a preliminary injunction must establish both possible ir-
reparable injury and either (1) a likelihood of success on the
merits or (2) sufficiently serious questions going to the merits to
make a fair ground for litigation and a balance of hardships tipping
decidedly in the movant’s favor.”’).

14

3. There is no provision in the Railway Labor Act
that deals with injunctive relief, much less that suggests
that Congress intended to allow injunctions before trial
without regard to the necessity of such relief. The deci-
sion below therefore cannot be reconciled with this
Court’s decisions that “such a major departure” from
“the requirements of equity practice with a background
of several hundred years of history” is not to be “lightly”
assumed," and that the Railway Labor Act does not limit
the traditional equitable powers of courts."

a. Just this past term this Court reversed a Ninth
Circuit holding that a preliminary injunction against a
threatened violation of an environmental statute should
be granted without consideration of the traditional equi-
table factors:

““'T)he grant of jurisdiction to ensure compliance
with a statute hardly suggests an absolute duty to
do so under any and all circumstances, and a federal
judge sitting as chancellor is not mechanically obli-
gated to grant an injunction for every violation of
the law. * * * Of course, Congress may intervene
and guide or control the exercise of the courts’ dis-
cretion, but we do not lightly assume that Congress
has intended to depart from established principles
* * * [u]nless a statute in so many words or by a
necessary and inescapable inference, restricts the
court’s jurisdiction in equity * * *.’” Amoco Pro-
duction Co., supra, 107 S. Ct. at 1402-03."

b. Moreover, in Locomotive Engineers v. Missouri-
K.-T. R. Co., 363 U.S. 528 (1960), this Court held that
the Railway Labor Act does not deprive courts enforcing

13 Hecht Co. Vv. Bowles, supra, 321 U.S. at 329-30; Amoco Produc-
tion Co., supra, 107 S. Ct. at 1403.

14 Locomotive Engineers V. Missouri-K.-T. R. Co., 363 U.S. 528
(1960).

15 Quoting Weinberger v. Romero-Barcelo, 456 U.S. 305, 313
(1982) (internal citations omitted).

15

the Act of their traditional equitable powers, and that
courts could impose traditional equitable conditions on
injunctions against strikes over minor disputes subject to
arbitration under the Act. The Court stated that this Act
“contains no express provisions circumscribing the equit-
able powers of the court,’’ and laid down the rule that
the courts are presumed to retain “the power to * * *
ensure that extraordinary equitable remedies will not be-
come the engines of injustice,” unless it can be shown
by “clear implication” from a particular provision that
Congress intended to “truncate” that power. 363 U.S.
at 531-32.

ec. No such “clear implication” can be gleaned from
the status quo provisions of the Railway Labor Act."
Indeed, the Act says nothing about injunctive relief.
Congress omitted any such reference precisely because
it wished to leave the courts free to exercise their tra-
ditional remedial powers flexibly to suit the needs of
particular cases. Chicago & N.W. R. Co. v. Transpor-
tation Union, 402 U.S. 570, 577 (1971). Courts called
upon to enforce the Act by interlocutory injunction ac-
cordingly may exercise traditional equitable powers, and
have no warrant to nullify the very considerations that
are the basis for the exercise of these powers.

4. The issue is of great importance to the railroad
and airline industries,’ warranting this Court’s atten-
tion.

a. Our survey of the federal reporters and labor serv-
ices shows that in recent years unions have called upon

16 These include, in addition to § 6, the provisions in §$ 5 First
and 10 for the mediation and emergency board phases of a major
dispute. 45 U.S.C. $§155 First, 160. These status quo provisions are
all “identical” in their purpose and effect. Shore Line, supra, 396
U.S. at 152.

17 Air carriers are subject to the Railway Labor Act and thus to
the same status quo obligations as railroads are. 45 U.S.C. § 181.

.

¥

———

16

the federal courts in dozens of cases each year seeking
relief for alleged Railway Labor Act status quo violations
by rail or air carriers. Federal courts have enough to do
without the burden of preliminary injunction applica-
tions by such plaintiffs who cannot show that they will
be harmed irreparably during the period prior to trial
if such an injunction is not granted.

b. More fundamentally, the mechanical grant of inter-
locutory injunctions before a trial has established the
facts regarding claimed violations of the Railway Labor
Act, without regard to the balance of harms and the
very purpose of such injunctions, will do serious and
far-reaching mischief; it will cause at least as much ir- |
reparable harm as it prevents. This case illustrates the
matter.

For the past year and a half the railroad has been en-
joined from implementing a rule that, as the record
showed, was part of a code of operating and safety rules
placed into effect by the railroad, in accordance with es-
tablished custom and practice throughout the railroad
industry, to ensure that it will be able to fulfill its stat-
utory duties under the Interstate Commerce and Federal
Railroad Safety Acts to conduct safe operations.” (J.A.
21-22.) The Department of Transportation and the Fed-
eral Railroad Administration have consistently recog-
nized that drug abuse by rail and airline employees poses
a grave threat to safe transportation operations. 49
C.F.R. § 219.1(a); Airline and Rail Service Protection
Act of 1987: Hearing Before the Senate Committee on
Commerce, Science & Transportation, 100th Cong., 1st
Sess. 21 (1987) ‘Statement of Hon. Elizabeth Dole, Sec-
retary of Transportation). Indeed, these agencies and
members of Congress have recently called for more
stringent regulation of drug abuse by carrier employees,
in the wake of the deaths and injuries caused by the

18 See 49 U.S.C. § 11101(a) ; 45 U.S.C. §§ 431(a), 438.

17

catastrophic drug-related Amtrak/ConRail crash at
Chase, Maryland in January 1987, while this case was
pending. See id.; Rail Safety: Hearing Before the Sub-
committee on Commerce, Science & Transportation, 100th
Cong., 1st Sess. 1-4 (1987) (Statements of Senators
Exon, Rockefeller, Danforth, and Pressler) ; id. at 23-24
(Statement of Hon. John Riley, Administrator, Federal
Railroad Administration) ; id. at 51 (Statement of Hon.
James Burnett, Chairman, National Transportation
Safety Board). The district court in this case recognized
that the safety concerns that led the railroad to amend
Rule G in April 1986 were “matters of much grav[i]ty.”
(App. 14a.) Yet the court below deemed irrelevant the
railroad’s contention that the risk of drug-related acci-
dents might increase if it were enjoined from implement-
ing a rule designed to eliminate the possibility that any
of its employees would come to work under the influence
of illegal drugs.

The decision below leaves the public interest out of
consideration. Yet it is not required to prevent ir-
reparable harm to employees. They will be protected,
through an award of backpay if necessary, if a full
hearing on the merits shows that a carrier has unlaw-
fully changed the status quo.” If, on the other hand,
a union’s complaint turns out to present a minor dispute
subject to arbitration by an adjustment board, that board
can order a full make-whole remedy. See 45 U.S.C. § 153
First (o).

The Eighth Circuit rule factoring out of the interlocu-
tory injunction calculus any consideration of carrier and
public concerns such as the safety issues in this case,
even where no injunction is needed to safeguard employee
rights pendente lite, will have grave and substantial
effects on carriers and the public that they serve. Thus,

19 See, e.g., United Industrial Workers v. Board of Trustees of
the Galveston Wharves, 400 F.2d 320, 323 (5th Cir. 1968).

Le —

18

the question whether the status quo requirements of the
Railway Labor Act are among those rare statutory pro-
visions that curb the equitable jurisdiction of the federal
courts to withhold preliminary injunctive relief where
the interests of the public or the defendant overwhelm-
ingly disfavor it is an important one warranting review
by this Court. The conflict between the Second Circuit
and the court below should be resolved.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the writ of certiorari should
be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JAMES P. DALEY RALPH J. MOORE, JR.
STUART F. GASSNER (Counsel of Record)
CHICAGO & NORTH WESTERN D. EUGENIA LANGAN
TRANSPORTATION COMPANY SHEA & GARDNER
One North Western Center 1800 Massachusetts Ave., N.W.
Chicago, Illinois 60606 Washington, D.C. 20036
(312) 559-6072 (202) 828-2000

EDWARD M. GLENNON
THOMAS E. GLENNON

LINDQUIST & VENNUM

4200 IDS Center

80 South Eighth Street

Minneapolis, Minnesota 55402

(612) 371-3211

Counsel for Petitioner

February 11, 1988

la
APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 86-5403

BROTHERHOOD OF MAINTENANCE OF WAY EMPLOYEES, and
CHICAGO AND NORTH WESTERN SYSTEM FEDERATION,
BROTHERHOOD OF MAINTENANCE OF WAY EMPLOYEES,

Appellees,
v.

CHICAGO AND NORTH WESTERN
TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,
Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Minnesota

Submitted: January 15, 1987
Filed: August 25, 1987

Before LAY, Chief Judge, and HEANEY and ARNOLD,
Circuit Judges.

HEANEY, Circuit Judge.

The Chicago & Northwestern Transportation Company
(CNW) appeals an order of the district court granting

2a -

the Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees
(BMWE) a preliminary injunction prohibiting enforce-
ment of one of the CNW’s employee rules subjecting em-
ployees to discipline for possession, use, or sale of illegal
drugs while off duty until such time as the CNW com-
plies with section 6 of the Railway Labor Act (RLA),
45 U.S.C. § 156.
I

On April 27, 1986, the CNW unilaterally implemented
an amendment to its “Operating Rule G” (hereinafter
Rule G) prohibiting use, possession or sale of any illegal
drug by an employee while off duty. The BMWE in-
formally protested the rule change. On June 17, 1986,
Michael White, a BMWE member and CNW employee,
was arrested for possession of marijuana. On June 20,
1986, White was informed that he was suspended from
employment with the CNW. On July 22, 1986, before
White had an opportunity to enter a plea in local court to
the charges against him, the CNW held a hearing to de-
termine whether he had violated Rule G. At the hearing,
White vigorously denied the charges against him. None-
theless, relying solely upon the criminal complaint in the
matter, the CNW terminated White for violating Rule
G on July 25, 1986."

1 Aside from White’s denial of the charges against him, the
only evidence introduced at the hearing pertaining to the violation
of Rule G is found in the testimony of Donald G. Mundth, inspector
of police for the CNW who testified :

Q. Mr. Mundth, in what way did you become involved in
this incident?

A. On Thursday, June 18, 1986, Mr. Terbell approached me
and requested that I assist him in the investigation of an em-
ployee who was arrested at Mankato, Minnesota for possession
of controlled substance. I told Mr. Terbell that I would follow
up and investigate the matter.

Q. In your follow-up did you have any contact with the
local Civil Authorities here at Mankato?

A. Yes, I did.

[Continued]

3a

On July 28, 1987, the BMWE brought a motion in
district court for a preliminary injunction prohibiting
the CNW from enforcing Rule G until it had fully com-
plied with the notice, negotiation, and mediation proce-
dures of the RLA, 45 U.S.C. §§ 151-188. The BWME also
sought to have White reinstated with back pay. After
hearing arguments on the motion on August 14, 1986,
and September 23, 1986, and considering affidavits and
exhibits submitted by the parties, the district court granted
the BMWE’s motion in an oral ruling from the bench.
The court found that although Rule G is not part of the
written collective bargaining agreement of the parties,
the knowledge and acquiescence of the parties over a long
period of time in the rule has elevated it to an implied
term of the collective bargaining agreement of the parties
affecting the actual working conditions at the CNW. In
addition, the court found that the amendment of Rule G
represented a formal change in the agreement of the par-
ties rather than a reinterpretation or application of the
agreement. It concluded that the action represented a

1 [ Continued ]

Q. Did you discuss the charges against Mr. White with the
Civil Authorities?

A. Yes, I did.

Q. And do you have any information of what these charges
are?

A. Yes Ido. Mr. Irwin, I have a copy of the District Court’s
Criminal Complaint which charges Mr. Michael Bruce White
with various charges.

Q. Would you please, for the record, read what these charges
are?

A. The Criminal Complaint consists of three pages. The
first page establishing facts of the matter and determining
what probable cause exists to make the charges. The second
page is actually the page on which the charges are listed * * *.

* * * *

Q. Mr. Mundth * * * are these charges filed against Mr.
White a violation of Rule G?

A. Yes, they are.

4a

major dispute in which it was obliged to enter a status
quo injunction pursuant to section 6 of the RLA, 45
U.S.C. § 156. Finally, as a result of the injunction re-
quiring maintenance of the pre-amendment status quo,

. the court ordered White reinstated with back pay from
the date of his discharge. The CNW appeals.

II

Relations between the BMWE and the CNW are gov-
erned by the RLA, 45 U.S.C. §§ 151-188. Under the RLA,
both sides have an obligation to negotiate whenever a
dispute arises. See 45 U.S.C. § 152 first and second. If
such negotiations prove fruitless, the dispute may take
one of two settlement routes depending upon whether it
is a major or minor dispute. If a dispute is major, the
parties must follow an “almost interminable process”
beginning with the National Mediation Board. See 45
U.S.C. § 155; Detroit and Toledo Shore Line R.R. Co.
v. United Transportation Union, 396 U.S. 142, 149
(1969). If, on the other hand, the dispute is minor, it
must be submitted to arbitration by the National Rail-
road Adjustment Board. See 45 U.S.C. § 153. Addi-
tionally,

[t]he question whether a dispute is major or minor
determines the degree to which a federal court may
become involved in the dispute. If the dispute is
major, the courts have broad powers to enjoin uni-
lateral action by either side in order to preserve
the status quo while settlement procedures go for-
ward. Such an injunction may issue without regard
to the usual balancing of the equities. But if the
dispute is only minor, the court’s power is more lim-
ited since the NRAB has exclusive jurisdiction over
such minor disputes. The traditional power to enjoin
under equitable principles remains, but in the usual
case it is inappropriate to exercise this power since
irreparable loss and inadequacy of the legal remedy

TT

5a

cannot plainly be shown until the NRAB has had an
opportunity to act.

Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees, Lodge
16 v. Burlington Northern R.R. Co., 802 F.2d 1016, 1021
(8th Cir. 1986) (citations omitted) .?

The terms major and minor dispute are not found in
the RLA. Rather, major dispute is a shorthand term
for a dispute falling under 45 U.S.C. § 156 which speaks
of “change|{s] in agreements affecting rates of pay, rules,
or working conditions,” and minor dispute is a shorthand
term for a dispute falling under 45 U.S.C. § 153(i) which
speaks of “disputes . . . growing out of grievances or
out of the interpretation or application of agreements
concerning rates of pay, rules, or working conditions.”

Determining whether a dispute is major or minor is
often a question of degree and turns: upon the facts in
each case. Missouri Pacific Joint Protective Board v.
Missouri Pacific R.R. Co., 730 F.2d 533, 536-37 (8th Cir.
1984). At base, the question is whether the dispute may
be resolved by interpretation or application of the exist-
ing agreement of the parties. If so, it is a minor dispute.
In contrast, if the dispute arises out of an area not con-
templated by the agreement or arises because a party
is seeking to change a term of the agreement, it is a
major dispute. See Elgin, Joliet & Eastern Ry. Co. v.
Burley, 325 U.S. 711, 723-24 (1945); Brotherhood of
Maintenance of Way Employees, Lodge 16, 802 F.2d at
1021 n.3; Independent Federation of Flight Attendants

2In its brief, the CNW contends that the district court erred
as a matter of law in failing to engage in the traditional balancing
of the equities prior to granting the injunction. As the quoted
passage indicates, however, an injunction pursuant to 45 U.S.C.
§ 156 “may issue without regard to the usual balancing of the
equities.” Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees, Lodge
16, 802 F.2d 1016, 1021 (8th Cir. 1986). Therefore, we reject the
CNW’s contention.

6a

v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 655 F.2d 155, 157-58 (8th
Cir. 1981).

It is not, however, for the courts to interpret the
agreement of the parties for the purpose of finally ad-
judicating a dispute between employees and the carrier.
See Order of Railway Conductors of America v. Pitney,
326 U.S. 561, 564 (1946). The RLA clearly leaves this
task to the National Railroad Adjustment Board. See
45 U.S.C. § 153(i). Thus, although for purposes of de-
ciding whether a section 6 injunction should issue a court
must first determine what the agreement of the parties is,
Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees, Lodge
16, 802 F.2d at 1022, this Court has held that a dispute
must be considered minor and a status quo injunction
should not ordinarily issue if the agreement of the parties
is “reasonably susceptible” of the interpretations sought
by both the employer and the employees. Independent
Federation of Flight Attendants, 655 F.2d at 158. On
review, questions as to the content of the agreement of
the parties are factual, and may be reversed only if
clearly erroneous, while the susceptibility of the inter-
pretations of the agreement sought by the employer and
the employees presents an issue of law.

Ill

In applying the RLA to the facts of this case, the
district court found that although not part of the written
collective bargaining agreement, Rule G has regulated
employee intoxicant use for a sufficient period of time
with the knowledge and acquiescence of the CNW and
the BMWE to become part of the implied agreement of
the parties. The CNW contends that this finding is clearly
erroneous. In support of its contention, the CNW argues
that its explicit collective bargaining agreement with the
BMWE is completely silent on employee alcohol or drug
use and that the effect of this silence is to commit the
subject to its discretion. More specifically, the CNW

a

7a

argues that the district court erroneously invoked section
6 of the RLA, 45 U.S.C. § 156, because

[t]here is no * * * agreement between the parties—
written or unwritten—concerning employee drug
involvement, or illegal off duty conduct, since these
subjects * * * historically have been left to C & NW
as a matter of managerial prerogative.

CNW reply brief at 8-9.

We cannot, on the basis of the record before us, accept
the CNW’s argument. As this Court has recently stated:

Since, as a practical matter, it is impossible for the
written collective bargaining agreement to describe
every possible permutation of working conditions
which might arise, it is not unusual for the parties
to a labor agreement to develop working relation-
ships, customs, and practices which are understood to
be the norm, but which are nowhere reduced to a
formal contract term. When longstanding practice
ripens into an established and recognized custom
between the parties, it ought to be protected against
sudden and unilateral change as though it were a
part of the collective bargaining agreement itself.

Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees, Lodge
16, 802 F.2d at 1022.

After reviewing the record existing at this stage in the
case, we find that the district court did not err in holding
that Rule G, by virtue of the parties’ longstanding and
recognized custom and practice, has become an implied
term in the agreement of the parties.

Having found that Rule G constitutes an implied term
in the agreement of the parties, it is necessary to deter-
mine whether the pre-amendment version of the parties’
agreement (the implied term under the “old Rule G’’) is
“reasonably susceptible” to being interpreted in a manner
consistent with the post-amendment version (the implied
term under the “new Rule G”). If the pre-amendment

8a

version is reasonably susceptible to such an interpreta-
tion, the dispute is a minor one and an injunction should
issue only in rare circumstances. See Brotherhood of
Maintenance of Way Employees, Lodge 16, 802 F.2d at
1022; Independent Federation of Flight Attendants v.
Trans World Airlines, 655 F.2d at 158.

In this respect, the district court held that, “[s]ince
the grievances at issue grew out of a formal change to
Rule G rather than out of an interpretation or applica-
tion of that rule, the grievance is a major dispute.” The
CNW contends that this holding is erroneous. The CNW
argues that the amendment to Rule G served only to make
explicit that which was already prohibited by its operat-
ing Rule 7, the “conduct unbecoming rule.” Although we
recognize that the evidence on the issue is not as clear
and complete as the parties may wish, the district court
was correct in rejecting the CNW’s argument with re-
spect to Rule 7 on the basis of the evidence properly
before it when it granted the preliminary injunction.

Determining the state of the record before the district
court at the time it granted the motion for a preliminary
injunction is difficult due to the procedural history of the
case. On August 14, 1986, a hearing was held before the
district court on the BMWE’s motion for a preliminary
injunction and the CNW’s cross motion to dismiss. Both
parties presented briefs in support of their motions. In
its brief, the CNW referred to the conduct unbecoming
rule but focused primarily on its right to unilaterally
amend Rule G. In addition, the CNW presented an affi-
davit of Ronald Cuchna, vice president of labor relations
for the CNW (8/1/86 affidavit). The affidavit made no
mention of any past practice of regulating off duty em-
ployee drug use, possession, or sale under the conduct
unbecoming rule. Attached to the affidavit were copies of
portions of the CNW’s past and present disciplinary rules
depicting the evolution of Rule G and a copy of a board
of adjustment decision in a dispute between Southern

9a

Pacific Transportation Company and Brotherhood of Loco-
motive Engineers holding a rule similar to the amended
Rule G applicable to off duty sale of drugs.

At the August hearing, the BMWE presented its argu-
ment in full to the court. Before the CNW could present
its argument, however, the trial judge suggested that the
remainder of the proceeding be stayed pending efforts by
the parties to resolve their differences privately. On
September 23, 1986, after efforts to settle the dispute
failed, the hearing before the district court was resumed
and the CNW presented its argument. Also at the Sep-
tember hearing, the BMWE offered to supplement the
record with additional exhibits and live testimony. The
trial judge refused the offer and granted the BMWE’s
motion for the preliminary injunction.

The CNW subsequently brought a motion urging the
district court to reconsider its decision. Appended to that
motion was another affidavit by Ronald Cuchna (9/29/86
affidavit) stating:

The Rule G provisions, as promulgated by the C@ONW
on April 27, 1986, regarding the illegal use, posses-
sion or sale of drugs while on or off duty are merely
a specification of General Rule 7 provisions which
are applicable to employees of the C&NW. * * *
General Rule 7 would also prohibit the conduct cited
in the complaint concerning Mr. White.

The district court denied CNW’s motion stating:

In its reconsideration motion, the Railroad fervently
argues that it has traditionally regulated employee
off-duty conduct through Rule 7, known as the “con-
duct unbecoming” rule, as well as through various
other company rules. It is clear, of course, that only
Rule G was before this Court when considering the
underlying motion for a preliminary injunction.
Simply put, the propriety of the company’s regula-

10a

tion of off duty conduct by means other than Rule G
is not at issue in this case.

Although the parties will have the right to supplement
the record in any further proceedings with respect to
past practice under Rule 7, on the basis of the record
before it at the time it granted the preliminary injunc-
tion, we hold that the district court was correct in deter-
mining that Rule 7 was not at issue in the case. At the
time the district court granted the injunction, the record
did not reflect that the CNW applied Rule 7 and the
amended Rule G in a manner that would suggest the two
rules covered the same territory. On the contrary, several
factors strongly suggested that this was not the case.
First, the CNW had found it necessary to amend Rule
G and to insist on the amendment despite strong opposi-
tion in the form of this action. If the two rules actually
covered the same conduct in the same manner, it would be
senseless for the CNW to waste time, energy and money
attempting to enforce amended Rule G. Second, in the
proceedings the CNW brought against him, White was
only charged with violating Rule G and not Rule 7. If
the rules are coextensive, one would think White would
have been charged with violating both. Third, and most
importantly, Rule 7, on its face, is limited to instances
in which the employee’s conduct has an adverse effect on
the carrier, i.e., a loss of good will, potential danger to
other employees, or reduced work performance.’ Rule
G is not so limited. In fact, White’s case provides an
example of the distinction. White was discharged solely
on the basis of a criminal complaint. The CNW, by the

3 Rule 7, in its entirety, states:

Employees are prohibited from being careless of the safety of
themselves or others, disloyal, insubordinate, dishonest, immoral,
quarrelsome, or otherwise vicious or conducting themselves in
such a manner that the railroad will be subjected to criticism
and loss of good will, or not meeting their personal obligations.

Affidavit of Ronald J. Cuchna dated September 29, 1986, exhibit 2.

lla

terms of Rule G, did not have to show loss of good will,
danger to other employees, or reduced job performance.

Alternatively, the CNW argues that Rule G is at most
a minor change in the implicit agreement of the parties
because the past practice of the parties, which itself is
part of the implicit agreement of the parties, shows that
the CNW always possessed the right to make unilateral
changes in Rule G. In other words, the CNW contends
that the agreement of the parties consists not only of
the Rule G in effect at any given time, but also consists
of the right of the CNW to change the rule unilaterally.
The district court, in defining the status quo to be main-
tained during the preliminary injunction, rejected this
position as unreasonable. It stated:

Since 1910 the Railroad has unilaterally regulated
employee’s intoxicant use while on duty, subject to
duty, or on company property, all under Rule G.
The Railroad has never regulated the off duty con-
duct of an employee while away from company
property until the change in Rule G, which it uni-
laterally promulgated in April 1986.

In support of its position, the CNW cites United
Transportation Union, Lodge No. 31 v. St. Paul Union
Depot Co., 434 F.2d 220 (8th Cir. 1970), for the proposi-
tion that an implied term in a bargaining agreement may
include the unilateral power to change the term.* What-

*The CNW also argues that the district court’s factual finding
that “[{t}]he Railroad has never regulated the off duty conduct of
an employee while away from company property until the change
in Rule G” is clearly erroneous. We disagree. The statement must
be taken in the light of the record before the court at the time it
granted the preliminary injunction as well as in the context of the
case. Clearly the court did not intend by the statement that the
CNW had never before regulated off duty employee conduct in any
way. Rather, in the context of the case, it is clear that the district
court was considering only regulation of that off duty conduct
that would be regulated under the amendment to Rule G, that is,
off duty possession, use, or sale of illegal drugs. So understood, the
district court’s finding is not clearly erroneous.

12a

ever the merit of the proposition, St. Paul Union Depot
also requires that an implied term, “demonstrate not only
a pattern of conduct but also some kind of mutual under-
standing, either express or implied.” The case goes on to
state that factors to consider in determining whether a
past practice has become an implied term of a bargain-
ing agreement are, “the mutual intent of the parties,
their knowledge of and acquiescence in the prior acts,
along with evidence whether there was joint participation
in the prior course of conduct, all to be weighed with
the facts and circumstances in the perspective of the
present dispute.” Jd. at 223.

Common sense and this Court’s prior cases indicate
that there are limits on the extent to which the CNW
may amend Rule G consistent with the history and ac-
quiescence of the parties in past amendments. In this
light we agree with the district court that the agreement
of the parties (including any terms necessarily implied
as a result of established past practices and working con-
ditions) is not reasonably susceptible to the CNW’s
proposed interpretation whereby it has the right to uni-
laterally extend its operating rules to regulate off duty
use, possession, or sale of illegal drugs in the manner
contemplated by the amendment to Rule G.°

Thus, we hold that the CNW has failed to meet its
“relatively light burden” of showing that the pre-amend-
ment agreement of the parties, including both express and
implied terms, is reasonably susceptible of being inter-
preted to allow the amendment to Rule G the CNW seeks
to implement unilaterally. See Brotherhood of Mainte-

5 The CNW additionally contends that because it has retained
the right to unilaterally amend Rule G since its inception, the
status quo imposed pursuant to 45 U.S.C. § 156 must also include
that right. The district court rejected this contention. On the basis
of our rejection of the CNW’s assertion that any implied term must
include the absolute power to amend Rule G unilaterally, we affirm
the district court in this regard.

13a

nance of Way Employees, Lodge 16, 802 F.2d at 1022.
The district court correctly concluded that the action rep-
resents a major dispute in which it could issue a status
quo injunction pursuant to 45 U.S.C. § 156.°®

IV

As a final matter, the CNW argues that the district
court exceeded its jurisdiction by entering an order that
enjoins enforcement of Rule G against any of the CNW’s
employees, not just against employees represented by the
BMWE. Since the BMWE did not seek to enjoin the
CNW from enforcing Rule G as amended against any
parties other than those it represents, the district court’s
order, shall be amended to enjoin enforcement of Rule G
only against those represented by the BMWE.

Accordingly, as modified by part IV of this opinion,
the judgment and order of the district court are affirmed.

A true copy.

Attest:

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit.

6 In so holding we note that this case comes to the Court on appeal
from a grant of a preliminary injunction. In the present posture
of the case our review is limited to the record before the district
court at the time it issued the preliminary injunction.

l4a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA

FOURTH DIVISION

Civil Case No. 4-86-575

BROTHERHOOD OF MAINTENANCE, OF WAY EMPLOYEES,
CHICAGO AND NORTHWESTERN SYSTEM FEDERATION,
Plaintiffs,
VS.

CHICAGO AND NORTHWESTERN TRANSPORTATION Co.,
Defendant.

TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS had before the
Hor rable James M. Rosenbaum, on the 23rd day of
Septe:.ber, 1986, in Minneapolis, Minnesota, commencing
at 2:00 o’clock p.m.

7 * * *

[27] THE COURT: The Court as is well known by
the parties heard this matter approximately a month
ago.

After having read and reviewed the briefs and heard
the opening presentation of the Brotherhood of Main-
tenance of Way Employees, the Court prevailed upon
Mr. Glennon as counsel for Northwestern Transportation
Company and on Mr. McClow to avail themselves of an
opportunity to try and resolve these matters between
themselves.

The Court then and the Court again today indicated
that these are matters of much gravety, and matters of
great interest. At the same time issues of concern, how-
ever great, cannot be taken to provide a means whereby
orderly procedures may be circumvented.

With those thoughts in mind it was then and remains
today a matter of concern and the Court hoped that

De eae)

15a

reasoned opponents could resolve things in a fashion both
more amicable and in many cases more expeditious than
the judicial process. The parties for reasons best known
to themselves and as to which the Court makes no inquiry
have found that they were unable to resolve these [28]
matters and so the issues are squarely framed for the
Court’s attention.

The Court has considered the arguments of counsel
and considers the late submissions of the union only for
the purpose of validating the dates which the Court un-
derstood had been in effect and acknowledged previously,
the Court again has been able to obtain the agreement
and concurrence of counsel for the railroad which indi-
cate that the dates were not significantly questioned and
those dates are that there was an effort to promulgate
an amendment to Rule G on April 27, 1986.

At a time subsequent thereto but prior to June 20,
1986, the Plaintiff Brotherhood took informal steps which
did not acknowledge the existence of the newly promul-
gated or newly offered rule but brought to the attention
of the railroad their claim that it was of significance.
It had not been an affirmatively agreed upon rule.

The event concerning Mr. White, however, unquestion-
ably took place well after the notice to the railroad that
there would be a challenge to Rule G as promulgated on
April 27th.

The event of interest regarding Mr. White took place

on June 20, 1986.
[29] The Court having the arguments of counsel, these
facts, the affidavits appended to the briefs and the briefs
in mind the Court determines that the Plaintiff’s motion
for a preliminary status quo injunction is granted.

The Defendant’s motion to dismiss for lack of subject
matter jurisdiction and for failure to state a claim upon
which relief may be granted is denied.

This Court determines that it has subject matter juris-
diction over the action, the Federal Courts have jurisdic-
tion over injunction actions to preserve the status quo

16a

between parties in a major dispute. This was set forth
in a number of places but the Court would indicate
Missouri Pacific Joint Protective Board versus Missouri
Pacific Railroad 730 F 2nd 533, an Eighth Circuit case,
and Independent Federation of Flight Attendants versus
Trans World, et cetera, that’s 650 F2d 155, also an
Eighth Circuit case.

A major dispute is one arising out of the formation
or change of collective agreements covering rates of pay,
rules, or working conditions, which principle is elucidated
in Detroit and Toledo Shore Line Railroad Company
versus United [30] Transportation Union, 396 U.S. 142,
particularly on 145 in the footnote number seven.

Further, of course, I could cite the same Missouri
Pacific and Flight Attendant cases previously noted.

A dispute over working conditions which does not arise
out of a collective bargaining agreement as was acknowl-
edged again today in oral argument may still be char-
acterized as a major dispute subject to a status quo in-
junction so long as it arises out of actual, objective work-
ing conditions which have achieved the level of estab-
lished practice and custom, once again Detroit and Toledo
and Flight Attendants.

For a working condition to have achieved that level
of establish practice and custom the conduct of the par-
ties must encompass a continuity, interest, purpose and
understanding which elevates a standard course of action
to an implied contractual status, once again citing Flight
Attendants.

In this case, the union protests the railroad’s unilateral
change, on April 27, 1986, of Rule G. This new rule
regulates intoxicants used by—or this rule regulates
intoxicant use by [31] Employees. The union asserts
that the rule as changed regulates for the first time an
Employee’s off duty conduct and no longer allows an
employee’s personal physician to determine whether pre-
scription medicines affect his ability to safely perform
his duties.

sco: a inet a taal ammmmmna

17a

The Court determines and finds that this constitutes
a major dispute. Although Rule G is not a part of a
collective bargaining agreement, it does regulate em-
ployee intoxicant use and has done so for a sufficient
period of time with the knowledge and acquiescence of
both the Company and union to become in reality a
demonstrable part of the actual working conditions at
Chicago and Northwestern. See here Detroit and Toledo.

Since the grievances at issue grew out of a formal
change to Rule G rather than out of an interpretation
or application of that rule the grievance is a major dis-
pute and the Court has jurisdiction to hear the Plain-
tiffs motion for a status quo injunction. Cite there
would be Elgin versus Burley, 325 U.S. 711, 1945.

Major disputes must be resolved according to the
notice, negotiation, and mediation procedures outlined in
the Railroad Labor Act, 45 [32] U.S.C. 151, et. seq.
While the Act’s remedies are being exhausted, the status
quo regarding the working conditions at issue must be
maintained, citing again both Detroit and Toledo.

The question here is what is the status quo regarding
the Railroad’s regulation of the employee intoxicant use.
The Railroad maintains that it has unilaterally changed
Rule G without objection by the union on a number of
times since it’s inception in 1910 and as such the status
quo is that the Company may unilaterally change the
rule during the dispute settlement procedures outlined
by the Railway Labor Act. \

The Court concludes that the characterization of the
status quo and Rule G is not reasonably—is not a reason-
able interpretation, cited the United Transportation
Union versus Burlington Northern at 458 F 2nd 354.

Since 1910 the Railroad has unilaterally regulated em-
ployee’s intoxicant use while on duty, subject to duty,
or on company property, all under Rule G. The Railroad
has never regulated the off duty conduct of an employee
while away from company property until the change in
Rule G, which it unilaterally promulgated April 1986.

18a

[33] Therefore, the Court concludes that Rule G prior
to it’s change in April of 1986 constitutes the status quo
regarding the company’s regulation of employee intoxi-
cant use and that the status quo prior to April 27,
1986, is and must be maintained throughout the parties
exhaustion of the settlement procedures mandated by the
Railway Labor Act.

The Court finds it unnecessary and declines to rule
regarding the status quo as to who has the power to
determine whether prescription medicines affect an Em-
ployee’s ability to safely perform his duties, whether it
is his own personal physician or the company’s physician.
This is based on the affidavit of Doctor Thomas Cook and
the Defendant’s memorandum. In that memorandum and
affidavit the Railroad indicates that, to the Court, that
the new rule G has made no change in the status quo.
The Court takes the Railroad at it’s word.

Finally, since the Railroad’s unilateral change of rule
G, or since the Railroad unilaterally changed Rule G
without following the dispute resolution procedures of
the Railway Labor Act and since the company’s unilat-
eral change of [34] Rule G changed or upset the status
quo, the company’s discharge of Mark White, pursuant
to Rule G as they have amended it on their own, is im-
proper and must be rescinded. This is made both because
of the fact of the Rule G change, which the Court has
determined unlawfully changed the status quo—or, I’m
sorry, wrongfully changed the status quo, and secondly
because the Union’s grievance was not a gerrybuilt pro-
cedure designed to try to institute or reinstitute the
employment of it’s brother, the Court determines that the
schedules presently asserted by the Court and agreed to
by the parties are an indication that the challenge to Rule
G well predated Mr. White’s purported transgressions.

On that basis, therefore, Mark White must be reinstated
with back pay from the date of his discharge. The Court
makes it clear that by this ruling it makes no determina-

|

19a

tion regarding Mr. White’s allege involvement in crimi-
nal activity.

Further, the Court makes no ruling in any regard as
to whether or not any other applicable work rule may
be applied or have been applied such that Mr. White
might otherwise have been terminated from the service
of the Railroad.

Further, by this ruling the Court [35] does not pre-
clude the Railroad from discharging Mr. White in ac-
cordance with the provisions of rule G in the form of
the status quo, if applicable, or in accordance with any
other provisions of any agreement among the parties.

Lastly, the Court’s ruling does not prevent the Com-
pany from discharging Mr. White at the end of the
settlement procedures outline by the Railway Labor Act
if Rule G is changed to contemplate such discharge. The
Court simply would reserve the last since the issue is in
no regard ripe and makes no determination at this time.

With this guidance in mind the Court directs the
Plaintiff to prepare an order for preliminary injunction.
It is so ordered. We’ll be in recess.

( Recess)

20a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA
FOURTH DIVISION

Civil No. 4-86-575

BROTHERHOOD OF MAINTENANCE OF WAY EMPLOYES, AND
CHICAGO AND NORTH WESTERN SYSTEM FEDERATION,
BROTHERHOOD OF MAINTENANCE OF WAY EMPLOYEES

Ve

CHICAGO AND NORTH WESTERN
TRANSPORTATION COMPANY

[Filed Oct. 7, 1986]

ORDER

The above-entitled matter came on for hearing before
the Court on August 14, 1986, and September 23, 1986,
upon the motion of plaintiffs Brotherhood of Maintenance
of Way Employes, and Chicago and North Western Sys-
tem Federation, Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way
Employes for a preliminary injunction and upon defend-
ant Chicago and North Western Transportation Com-
pany’s motion to dismiss the complaint, pursuant to Rule
12(b) (1) and 12(b)(6) of the Federal Rules of Civil
Procedure.

Roger J. McClow, Esq., Klimist, McKnight, Sale &
McClow, P.C., Southfield, Michigan, and William Garber,
Esq., Peterson, Engberg & Peterson, Minneapolis, Minne-
sota, appeared for and on behalf of plaintiffs. Edward
M. Glennon, Esq. and Thomas E. Glennon, Esq., Lind-
quist & Vennum, Minneapolis, Minnesota, appeared for
and on hehalf of defendant.

2la

Based upon the parties’ respective motions, memo-
randa, supporting affidavits, arguments of counsel, the
files, records, proceedings and factual stipulations, and
for the reasons stated on the record, the Court finds that
defendant violated the status quo provisions of the Rail-
way Labor Act by, on April 27, 1986, unilaterally im-
plementing a new Rule G that applies to off duty conduct,
and that Michael White was thereafter dismissed pursu-
ant to that Rule. Therefore, IT IS ORDERED that:

1. Plaintiffs’ motion for a preliminary injunction is
granted, and defendant’s motion to dismiss the complaint
is in all respects denied.

2. Defendant, its officers, employees, agents, servants,
and all those in active concert or participation with
defendant, are preliminarily enjoined from enforcing
Rule G as promulgated by defendant on April 27, 1986,
until such time as defendant complies with Section 6 of
the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. 156.

3. Defendant’s termination of Michael White, pursu-
ant to the terms of Rule G as promulgated on April 27,
1986, is hereby rescinded and he is hereby restored to his
former position with full back pay from the date of his
removal from service, but without prejudice to any action
which may be otherwise available to the defendant pur-
suant to any Railroad or work rules or regulations in
effect prior to April 28, 1986.

4. This preliminary injunction shall be effective upon
the plaintiffs’ filing with the Clerk of this Court a bond
pursuant to Rule 65(c), Federal Rules of Civil Proce-
dure, in the amount of $5,000.

Dated: October 7th, 1986

/s/ James M. Rosenbaum
JAMES M. ROSENBAUM
United States District Judge

22a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA
FOURTH DIVISION

Civil No. 4-86-575

BROTHERHOOD OF MAINTENANCE OF WAY EMPLOYES, and
CHICAGO AND NORTH WESTERN SYSTEM FEDERATION,
BROTHERHOOD OF MAINTENANCE OF WAY EMPLOYES

V.

CHICAGO AND NORTH WESTERN
TRANSPORTATION COMPANY

ORDER

This matter is before the Court on defendant’s motion
to reconsider the grant of a preliminary injunction on
October 7, 1986. Defendant further seeks a stay of the
injunction pending reconsideration. Based on the files,
records and proceedings herein, the Court denies both of
defendant’s motions and reaffirms its October 7, 1986,
order.

The Court, today, specifically considers the recent de-
cision in Brotherhood of Maintenance of Way Employees,
Lodge 16, et al. v. Burlington Northern Railroad Com-
pany, Nos. 85-2360, 85-2412 (8th Cir. October 1, 1986).
The Court finds its reasoning inapposite in the present
case.

In Burlington Northern, the company invoked new
drug testing procedures in order to implement its exist-
ing Rule G, which regulated intoxicant use by employees
while on duty. (This is not the Rule G to which challenge

23a

is made in the case at bar.) The Eighth Circuit found
that the use of new chemical testing procedures con-
stituted only a minor change in working conditions. As
such, the appellate court found that these testing changes
could be implemented unilaterally by the company.

In this case, Chicago and North Western Transporta-
tion Company (CNW) also has a Rule G which regulates
employee intoxicant use. The rule was in place up to
April 27, 1986. The rule was changed by CNW, uni-
laterally and without notice, on April 27, 1986. As
changed, it purports to regulate, for the first time, em-
ployee intoxicant use or possession while off duty and
not subject to duty or on company property. This change
goes far beyond the “minor change in working condi-
tions” challenged in the Eighth Circuit’s recent Burling-
ton Northern case. The Rule G amendment under chal-
lenge here would allow CNW to discharge an employee
when that employee posed absolutely no threat to the
safe operation of the railroad.

The safe operation of the railroad is of primary con-
cern to defendant. It is so now and was so in 1910, when
the railroad first enacted the predecessor to Rule G. But
this concern for safe operation must be differentiated
from the company’s regulation of an employee’s off duty
conduct when that employee is neither subject to duty nor
near company property. This new effort at lifestyle regu-
lation, without first affording the employee the notice,
negotiation, and mediation procedures outline in the Rail-
way Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. 151, et seq., constitutes an im-
permissible invasion into the private lives of CNW em-
ployees.

Therefore, the Court previously concluded, and today
affirms, that CNW’s unilateral change of Rule G on
April 27, 1986, constitutes a major change in working
conditions. Such a change requires the use of the Rail-
way Labor Act procedures before it can be implemented.

24a

Until those procedures are exhausted, the status quo, pre-
April 27, 1986, Rule G, remains in effect. See, 45 U.S.C.
156.

In its reconsideration motion, the Railroad fervently
argues that it has traditionally regulated employee off-
duty conduct through Rule 7, known as the “conduct un-
becoming” rule, as well as through various other company
rules. It is clear, of course, that only Rule G was before
this Court when considering the underlying motion for
a preliminary injunction. Simply put, the propriety of
the company’s regulation of off duty conduct by means
other than Rule G is not at issue in this case. The Court
made this clear in paragraph 3 of its October 7, 1986,
order, when it excluded its consideration of any rule or
working condition save Rule G and expressed no opinion
concerning any other railroad work rule or regulation.

For the reasons set forth above, in the October 7, 1986,
order, and at the August 14, 1986, and September 23,
1986, hearings, IT IS ORDERED that:

1. Defendant’s motion for reconsideration is denied.
2. Defendant’s motion for a stay pending reconsidera-
tion is denied.

Dated: October 16th, 1986

/s/ James M. Rosenbaum
JAMES M. ROSENBAUM
United States District Judge

25a

UNITED STATES CUURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 86-5403MN

BROTHERHOOD OF MAINTENANCE OF
Way EMPLOYEES, et al.,
Appellees,
ve

CHICAGO AND NORTH WESTERN
TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,
Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Minnesota

JUDGMENT

This appeal from the United States District Court was
submitted on the record of the district court, briefs of
the parties and was argued by counsel.

After consideration of the premises, it is adjudged and
decreed that, as modified by part IV of this opinion, the
judgment and order of the district court are affirmed.

August 25, 1987
Order entered in accordance with opinion.

/s/ Robert D. St. Vrain
Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit.

26a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 86-5403MN

BROTHERHOOD OF MAINTENANCE OF
WAY EMPLOYEES, et al.,
Appellees,

VS.

CHICAGO AND NORTH WESTERN
TRANSPORTATION COMPANY,
Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Minnesota

Appellant’s petition for rehearing en banc has been
considered by the Court and is denied.

Petition for rehearing by the panel is also denied.
November 13, 1987
Order entered at the Direction of the Court:

/s/ Robert D. St. Vrain
Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit.

27a

NATIONAL RAILROAD ADJUSTMENT BOARD
THIRD DIVISION

Eckehard Muessig, Referee

Award Number 25032
Docket Number CL-25158

PARTIES TO DISPUTE:
Brotherhood of Railway, Airline and Steamship Clerks

Chicago and North Western Transportation Company

STATEMENT OF CLAIM:

Claim of the System Committee of the Brotherhood
(GL-9750) that:

1. Carrier violated the Agreement Rules, particularly
Rule 21, when it dismissed Mr. R. E. Rhodes from its
service, and,

2. Carrier shall now be required to retirn Mr. Rhodes
to its service with all rights unimpaired and compensate
him for all lost time including compensation for any and
all fringe benefits he has been deprived of under any
group health, dental and life insurance plans now in ef-
fect for clerical employes on this property.

OPINION OF BOARD:

The Claimant was dismissed from the service of the
Carrier, after investigation, on the finding that his con-
duct was unbecoming an employee, by being in the pos-
session of marijuana and L.S.D. and selling marijuana
to two youths on September 4, 1981.

While the Board is not unmindful of the Organization’s
assertions, in its advancement of this claim, we find that
Carrier has met its burden with respect to the charges.
This Division has held on numerous occasions that deal-

ee

28a

ing in drugs is a serious matter that may result in nu-
merous adverse consequences with respect to the health
and safety of Carrier’s employes and the public. Given
the facts of record, there is no proper basis for interfer-
ing with the discipline imposed by the Carrier, and the
claim is denied.

FINDINGS:

The Third Division of the Adjustment Board, upon the
whole record and all the evidence, finds and holds:

That the parties waived oral hearing;

That the Carrier and the Employes involved in this
dispute are respectively Carrier and Employes within
the meaning of the Railway Labor Act, as approved
June 21, 1934;

That this Division of the Adjustment Board has juris-
diction over the dispute involved herein; and

That the Agreement was not violated.

AWARD
Claim denied.
NATIONAL RAILROAD
ADJUSTMENT BOARD
By Order of Third Division

Attest: /s/ Nancy J. Deyer

NANCY J. DEYER

Executive Secretary
Dated at Chicago, Illinois this 26th day of September
1984.

iii... :

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1345%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
