# Opposition Brief — Transportation Communications Union v. Baltimore & Ohio Railroad

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1135%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 484 U.S. 1008

## Text

| , Court, U.S.

2 fir L ERED

DEC 12 1987
No. 87-776 TB gosepe €, spanion, up.
CLERK

vane

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1987

°

TRANSPORTATION COMMUNICATIONS UNION,

Petitioner,

THE BALTIMORE AND
OHIO RAILROAD COMPANY,

Respondent.

Oo

OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

Ly
Vv

H. Russet SMovusE
D. CHRrIsTOPHER OHLY
; MELNICOvE, KauFMAN, WEINER,
Of Counsel: Smovuse & Garsis, P.A.
36 S. Charles Street, 6th Floor

eee : toe Baltimore, MD 21201
( : (301) 332-8500

CSX Transportation
500 Water Street Attorneys for Respondent
Jacksonville, FL 32202

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964
or cail collect (402) 342-2831

QUESTION PRESENTED

WHETHER THE COURT OF APPEALS WAS COR-
RECT IN HOLDING THAT, BY COMPLETELY IG-
NORING CRITICAL CONTRACT TERMINOLOGY,
WHICH REQUIRED THAT AN AWARD BE MADE IN
FAVOR OF THE RESPONDENT, THE NATIONAL
RAILROAD ADJUSTMENT BOARD RENDERED A
DECISION WHICH DID NOT DRAW ITS ESSENCE
FROM THE PARTIES’ COLLECTIVE BARGAINING
AGREEMENT, AND THEREBY EXCEEDED ITS
JURISDICTION.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

APPENDIX:

Opinion of the Third Division of the National
Railroad Adjustment Board (June 28, 1984)
{| SOMA IER eS

iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES
Page
Amanda Bent Bolt Company v. International
Union, Etc., 451 F.2d 1277 (6th Cir. 1971)... 24
Andrews v. Lowisville & Nashville Railroad Co.,
I i snamssacsencenenennsnnisnennes 22
Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Ry. Co. v. Buell,
107 S.Ct. 1410, — U.S. — (1987) nanan aceasta 22
BRAC v. Kansas City Terminal Ry. Co., 587
5 S ) | eee 16, 19
Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Central
Georgia Railway Co., 415 F.2d 403 (Sth Cir.
AS Dl Scatbhbisiasassn 16, 19, 22, 23, 28
Clinchfield Coal v. District 28, UMW, 720
F.2d 1365 (4th Cir. 1983)_..........3, 17, 18, 25, 27, 28
Detroit Coil v. Int’l Ass’n of Mach., 594 F.2d
575 (6th Cir. 1979) ............... testis aka scien hoa 20, 24, 25
Diamond v. Terminal Ry. Alabama State Docks,
aie ae foe Gar. Aero) 16, 19

Gen’l Drivers, Warehousemen v. Hays &
Nicoulin, 594 F.2d 1093 (6th Cir. 1979).......... 20, 24, 25

Gunther v. San Diego and Arizona Railway
an ce ee fae) 16, 18, 21, 22

Industrial Mutual Association v. Amalga-
mated Workers, 725 F.2d 406 (6th Cir.

aa eer 24
Int’l Ass’n of Mach. v. Hayes Corp., 296 F.2d
I ead 18

Int’l Ass’n of Mach. v. So. Pac. Transp.,
coe fue ae (eee Car. 1960) 16, 19

Int’l U. of Operating Eng., Local No. 9 v.
Shank-Atrukovich, 751 F.2d 364 (10th Cir.
NS cn ES 20, 25

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Koloedey v. Mutual Beneficial Ass’n, etc., 526

Fr. ste The Ce Oe, Bee) 19
Ludwig Honold Mfq. Co. v. Fletcher, 405 F.2d

RED CORR SI, TI iene 16, 20, 28
Mistletoe Express Service v. Motor Express-

mens Union, 566 F.2d 692 (10th Cir.

ED ssesiscnaschcaprnteiadtaliads tetera me tari 17, 20, 24, 25
Monongahela Power Co. v. Local No. 2332,

IBEW, 566 F.2d 1196 (4th Cir. 1976) 0. 20, 25
Morgan Services, Inc. v. Local 323, etc. 724

F.2d 1217 (6th Cir. 1984) fe Seceass
Norfolk Shipping & Pry Dock v. Local No. 684,

671 F.2d 797 (4th Cir. 1982) awd, 20
Northern Pipeline Const. Co. v. Marathon

Pipeline Co,, 102 S. Ct. 2858 (1982) 18

Piggly Wiggly Operators’ Warehouse, Ine. v.
Piggly Wiggly Operators’ Warehouse In-
dependent Truck Drivers Union, Local No.
1, 611 F.2d 580 (5th Cir. 1980) 2... i aeeae 18

Sears Roebuck Company v. Teamsters Local
Union No. 243, 683 F.2d 154 (6th Cir.) cert.

dented, 103 S. Ct. 1274 (1982) 0. 24
Textile Workers Union v. American Thread

Co., 291 F.2d 894 (4th Cir. 1961) 21, 25
Timken Co. v. Local No. 1123, United Steel

Wrkrs., 482 F.2d 1012 (6th Cir. 1973)... 18, 20, 25

Truck Drivers and Helpers Union v. Ulry
Talbert Company, 330 F.2d 562 (8th Cir. 1964). 24

U.T.U. v. Pittsburgh Charters & Y. Ry. Co., 353
Py. Ce tooo (ee Fe, re) 19

Union Pacific Railroad v. Sheehan, 439 U.S.
____ aneiatirtnat iyiiertiowe ss 0S ORs os WEN tote eNO TE 18, 21

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

United Food d& Commercial Workers, Local
No. 222 v. lowa Beef Processors, Inc., 683
en er 19

United Steelworkers of America v. Enterprise
Wheel & Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593 (1960) 17, 18, 19, 28

United Steel Workers of America v. Warrior

and Gulf N. Co., 363 U.S. 574 (1960) on. 17,18
W.R. Grace & Co. v. Local Union 759, 652 F.2d
eS ARR I ahaa oie aera abet et Pgs ae eta 17
Wilson v. Chicago & N.W. Transp. Co., 728
eb ey, Re A.) ee nares 24, 28
STATUTES

Railway Labor Act
Section 3, First, 45 U.S.C. § 153, First ............... passim
LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS
S. Rep. No. 1201, 89th Cong., 2d Sess., [1966]
U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, p. 2887
I a 23,28
MIscELLANEOUS
Champion Papers, Inc., 69-1 ARB {] 8341 0. 20
Schotts Bakery, Inc., 69-1 ARB § 8118 0... 20
Wilner Wood Company, 69-2 ARB { 8734 WW... 20

No. 87-776

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1987

TRANSPORTATION COMMUNICATIONS UNION,

Petitioner,
Vv.

THE BALTIMORE AND
OHIO RAILROAD COMPANY,

Respondent.

OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

ray
Vv

RELEVANT STATUTORY PROVISIONS
Railway Labor Act § 3, 45 U.S.C. § 153 First(q), pro-
vides:

(q) If any employee or group of employees, or
any carrier, is aggrieved by the failure of any divi-
sion of the Adjustment Board to make an award in

a dispute referred to it, or is aggrieved by any of
the terms of an award or by the failure of the division
to include certain terms in such award, then such
employee or group of employees or carrier may file
in any United States District Court in which a peti-
tion under paragraph (p) could be filed, a petition
for review of the division’s order. A copy of the pe-
tition shall be forthwith transmitted by the clerk of
court to the Adjustment Board. The Adjustment Board
shall file in the court the record of the proceedings
on which it based its action. The court shall have juris-
diction to affirm the order of the division or to set
it aside, in whole or in part, or it may remand the
proceeding to the division for such further action as
it may direct. On such review, the findings and order
to the division may be set aside, in whole or in part,
or remanded to the division, for failure of the division
to comply with the requirements of this chapter, for
failure of the order to conform, or confine itself, to
matters within the scope of the division’s jurisdiction,
or for fraud or corruption by a member of the division
making the order. The judgment of the court shall be
subject to review as provided in sections 1291 and
1254 of Title 28.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Although this Court has stated that the standard of
judicial review established by the Railway Labor Act is a
narrow one, it has never held that decisions of the NRAB
are beyond all judicial review, or that the federal courts
must uphold every award, no matter how egregious. An
NRAB award may be set aside for failure of the order to
conform, or confine itself, to matters within the scope of
the division’s jurisdiction, if an award is wholly baseless

ae fe

and completely without reason, if it is actually and in-
disputedly without foundation in reason or fact, or if it
fails to draw its essence from the collective bargaining
agreement.

This Court has already construed the ‘‘ jurisdictional’’
provision of 45 U.S.C. § 153 on several occasions. The
lower federal courts need no further guidance concerning
its meaning. The decision in this case did nothing more or
less than apply well recognized principles. The Fourth
Circuit explicitly recognized and applied the prior de-
cisions of this Court which limit the role of federal courts
in reviewing NRAB awards. Confining itself within those
narrow limits, the Court of Appeals properly held that,
even thovgh a labor contract is a generalized code to
govern the myriad cases which the draftsman cannot antici-
pate, this generalized focus does not permit an arbitrator
to rewrite the provisions of the collective bargaining agree-
ment. The decision in this case was in full conformity
with all of the prior holdings of this Court.

The decision in Clinchfield Coal, upon which both the
trial eourt and the Fourth Circuit relied, held that where
‘*the arbitrator fails to diseuss critical contract termi-
nology, which terminology might reasonably require an
opposife result, the award cannot be considered to draw
its essence from the contract.’’ This holding is fully con-
sistent with the long series of federal cases which have
held that an arbitrator may not re-write a labor contract,
and that if an arbitrator does not follow the express terms
of the agreement, his ruling cannot stand. No conflict

exists among the circuits which must be resolved by this

Court. Full review of the Union’s petition should thus
be denied.

>)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On June 28, 1984, a panel of the National Railroad Ad-
justment Board (NRAB), chaired by Referee Herbert Fish-
gold, issued decisions in six cases, finding that The Balti-
more & Ohio Railroad Company (Railroad) had vioiated its

collective bargaining agreement with the Brotherhood of~

Railway, Airline and Steamship Clerks, now the Transpor-
tation Communications Union (TCU), because yardmasters
rather than clerks tore off and separated five-part switch
lists' received at railroad yards on teletype printers.
Though the task takes just ‘‘seconds to perform’’, and is
incident to the yardmasters’ other duties, Referee Fishgold
ordered that the Railroad pay some sixty individual claim-
ants for three hours’ work, for each day on which yard-
masters tore off switch lists, a sum approaching $3,000,000
for past conduct alone.

The same day, June 28, 1984, another NRAB panel,
chaired by Referee Robert Silagi, issued a decision in an

1. Switch lists are simply compiled lists of railroad cars,
with directions concerning their combination for future use.
These lists are prepared by clerks, but are used by yardmasters.
Incident to their other duties, the yardmasters have been re-
quired to tear off the switch lists which they receive for use in
their employment, and, because these new printers use multi-
part paper, since 1971 they have also been required to separate
each of the four or five parts of the printer paper from one an-
other. The time consumed in tearing off and separating each
such switch list is a matter of seconds. The total time involved
in this activity is less than 5 minutes per day.

eee

identical case, brought by TCU on behalf of two individual
claimants, finding that the Railroad had not violated its
collective bargaining agreement with TCU by assigning to
yardmasters the task of tearing off switch lists teletyped to
Railroad yard office printers.

Beginning in 1974, the Railroad opened Terminal Ser-
vice Centers at various locations in its system. When these
Centers were opened, various yard and agency personnel,
including a number of clerical personnel, were moved from
railroad yards into centralized data processing offices. This
centralization resulted in the creation of a number of new
clerical positions in the Centers, and left only yardmasters
at the Railroad’s yards. As part of this centralization,
printers were placed in an additional number of yardmas-
ters’ offices. The purpose was to permit yardmasters to re-
ceive switch lists electronically from clerical employees who
entered switch list data at a Center in the same city. All
such transmissions to yardmasters’ offices were originated
and received in the same city. In virtually every case,
clerical positions which existed in yardmasters’ offices were
abolished, and new clerical positions were created in Cen-
ters for the affected clerical employees.”

In December 1975, long after yardmasters began to
tear off and separate switch lists, TCU began to submit
claims to the Railroad contending that the Railroad had
violated Rules 1 and 67 of the parties’ 1973 collective bar-

2. In addition, as a result of this centralization, in or about
1976, the Railroad also installed ‘‘telecopier’’ facsimile equip-
ment at a number of Terminal Service Centers and correspond-
ing yardmasters’ offices in the same city. Because of the unre-
liability of this facsimile equipment, its use was discontinued
after a short time. This limited use of facsimile equipment, how-
ever, is also part of the subject matter of the current dispute.

6

gaining agreement (the Agreement), by assigning to yard-
masters the task of tearing off and separating the switch
lists received on the yardmasters’ printers, incident to the
yardmasters’ other responsibilities.’

Rule 1 of the Agreement contains a description of the
scope of work to be assigned to clerks and is commonly
known as the ‘‘Scope Rule.’’ In addition, however, Rule 1
recognizes the Railroad’s right to assign various tasks to
persons other than clerks, incident to their other duties,
provided the total time devoted to such work does not ex-
ceed four (4) hours per day. These so-called ‘‘ Incidental
Work Rules’’ have been uniformly and consistently in the
Railroad’s agreements with the clerks’ collective bargaining
representatives since at least 1924. In relevant part, Rules
1 of the 1973 Agreement provides:

RULE 1
Positions and Employees Affected.

(a) These rules shall constitute an agreement be-
tween The Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Company .. .
and the Brotherhood... and shall govern the hours of
service, working conditions, and rates of pay of all em-
ployees engaged in the work of the craft or class of
clerical, office, station and storehouse employees ...

Assignment of Work.

(b) When the assignment of clerical work in an
office, station, warehouse, freight house, store house, or
yard, occurring within a spread of ten (10) hours from

3. The Railroad also received claims, at or about the same
time, contending that it had violated the same Rules by assign-
ing to non-clerical personnel the task of picking up copies of
such switch lists from baskets, after their receipt by facsimile
equipment.

oN masts, *,

the time such clerical work begins, is made to more than
one (1) employee not classified as a clerk, the total time
devoted to such work by all such employees at a facility
specified herein shall not exceed four (4) hours per
day.

* * *

(c) When a position covered by this Agreement is
abolished, the work assigned to same which remains to
be performed will be reassigned in accordance with the

following:
* = =

(2) In the event no position under this Agree-
ment exists at the location where the work of the abol-
ished position or positions is to be performed, then it
may be performed by a Yardmaster, Foreman, or other
supervisory employee, provided that less than four (4)
hours work per day of the abolished position or posi-
tions remains to be performed; and further provided
that such work is incident to the duties of a Yardmas-
ter, Foreman or other supervisory employee. |

* ” *

(4) Work incident to and directly attached to the
primary duties of another class or craft such as prep-
aration of time cards, rendering statements or reports
in connection with performance of duty, tickets col-
lected, cars carried in trains, and cars inspected or
duties of a similar character, may be performed by em-
ployees of such other craft or class.

* * *

Nothing in Rule 1 assigns the tearing off of switch lists and
the separating of multi-part paper exclusively to clerical
employees. That is the subject of this dispute.

Rule 67 of the Agreement deals generally with the use
of teletype equipment, including the tearing off and sep-

arating switch lists, as a matter of regular clerical activity,
not incident to other work. This rule now provides:

RULE 67

Printing Telegraph Machines.

Positions in telegraph or other offices requiring
the operation of printing telegraph machines or similar
devices that are used for transmitting and receiving,
either or both, information, or communications of rec-
ord, irrespective of title by which designated or charac-
ter of services performed, shall be filled by employees
coming within the scope of this Agreement.

Work in connection with the operation of transmit-
ting, reperforating and receiving units, including tear-
ing off and separating messages and reports, checking
and correction of errors, shall be performed by em-
ployees covered by this Agreement.

Employees assigned as machine or device oper-
ators in relay offices shall not be required to punch or
type longer than two (2) consecutive hours without a
period of at least twenty (20) minutes on other work
and not more than six (6) hours punching in any eight
(8) hour period. Machines or device operators shall be
allowed a short relief of ten (10) minutes in each four
(4) hour period when requested. The remainder of the
day may be assigned to other work under this Agree-
ment.

None of the foregoing applies to the handling of
train orders or Forms A or any communication with a
train dispatcher.

The Agreement also includes Rule 75, which provides,
in relevant part, that ‘‘ Previous interpretations of Rules in
this Agreement, where such Rules have been adopted un-

9

changed from previous Agreements, continue to apply un-
less in conflict with other Rules in this Agreement.’”*

4. While the historical roots and meaning of Rule 1 are
unambiguous, the origin and purpose of Rule 67 are somewhat
confusing, at least at first blush. It was this confusion, which
TCU sought to engender by injecting Rule 67 into this matter,
that sidetracked much of the proceedings before the NRAB.

Beginning in or about 1928, the Railroad entered into
a series of agreements with the Order of Railroad Telegraphers
(Telegraphers). Since the late 1930’s, the Railroad has used
printing teletype machines. Work on such machines was gen-
erally performed by Telegraphers. In 1945, the Railroad entered
into a Memorandum of Understanding with the Telegraphers
concerning the use of teletype machines.

At the same time as the Railroad signed this Memoran-
dum of Understanding, the Railroad began to install teletype ma-
chines in some sales and yard offices, where non-telegraphers
were employed. To ensure that no uncertainty would exist con-
cerning application of the Memorandum of Understanding, in
1947, the Railroad and the Telegraphers executed a document
interpreting the Memorandum.

The Telegraphers’ agreement was reprinted in 1948, and
the terms of the 1945 Memorandum of Understanding, together
with the 1947 Interpretation, were included in the new agree
ment. At that time, clerical employees were covered by a sepa-
rate collective bargaining agreement which contained no provi-
sion relating to handling of teletype transmissions.

Since 1948, the Railroad has had a consistent practice
ot allowing non-telegraphers to operate teletypes in the limited
way that is the subject of this case.

As a result of increased mechanization, by 1955 the Rail-
road began negotiations with the Telegraphers to allow non-
telegraphers to use teletype equipment to transmit train consist
information and other reports from terminals located in one city
to terminals located in other cities. In 1955, the Railroad and the
Telegraphers reached an agreement, covering the use of teletype
machines which appeared in a new collective bargaining agree-
ment. The relevant provisions of the 1945 Memorandum of Un-
derstanding remained unaffected by the newly adopted proce-
dures, and remained in effect throughout the Railroad, without
change, until 1973.

(Continued on following page)

10

The claims requested compensation, on behalf of cler-
ical employees who were already working in the Railroad’s
Terminal Service Centers. Many of the claims submitted by
TCU acknowledged that the work sought by the clerks was
‘‘formally [sic] assigned to abolished positions,’’ making
the provisions of Rule 1 expressly applicable to those
claims. Each of the claims submitted by TCU was denied by
the Railroad and was handled in the usual manner, in ac-
cordance with 45 U.S.C. § 153 First (i). Because no adjust-
ment of these disputes could be achieved in this manner,
TCU petitioned the Third Division of the National Rail-
road Adjustment Board for review.

The first claim actually filed by TCU was the claim of
one D.A. Emmerich, a eiciical employee at the Railroad’s
Cincinnati Terminal who worked, together with a yardmas-
ter, in a yardmaster’s office. Unlike other claimants, Em-

&

(Continued from previous page)

In 1971, the Railroad began to replace some of its old
teletype machines with newer models. As a result of the Tele-
graphers’ 1971 merger with BRAC, on the railroad industry
reached a National Mediation Agreement, which allowed the
Railroad to combine the clerks’ and telegraphers’ seniority ros-
ters, and which permitted BRAC and the Telegraphers to select
provisions from their separate: agreements, without change in
substance, and include those provisions in a single combined
agreement. The railroads had no say in which provisions were
selected.

By 1973, BRAC combined two agreements with the
Railroad. The new agreement, like the previous Telegraphers’
agreements, generally assigned to persons covered by the agree-
ment work involving the use of teletype equipment, in Rule 67.
However, like the previous clerks’ agreements, the 1973 Agree-
ment also contained Incidental Work Rules in Rule 1, which pro-
vided an exception to Rule 67, allowing the Railroad under cer-
tain circumstances to assign clerical work to persons other than
clerks, incident to the other work of such non-clerks.

11

merich worked at a yardmasters’ office at which all clerical
positions were not abolished. Hence, the provisions of Rule
1(b) and 1(c) of the Agreement were not strictly applicable
to Emmerich’s case. The Emmerich claim was decided on
July 22, 1980, by neutral referee Kasher, over the vigorous
dissent of the carrier members of the NRAB.

Referee Fishgold was appointed on April 14, 1982, to
adjudicate claims filed on behalf of the individual Appel-
lants in this case. On May 18, 1982, TCU filed claims on
behalf of two of its niembers employed at the Chicago Term-
inal. The Chicago claims were submitted to Referee Silagi
shortly after April 1, 1983.

Both l"ishgold and Silagi issued their decisions on June
28, 1984. Referee Silagi denied the Chicago claims, finding
that Rule 1(b) of the 1973 Agreement, as well as the past
practice of the Railroad and TCU, could not be ignored.
Recognizing the ‘‘difficulty on this property in having con-
trary awards in different locations on the same issue on the
same basic facts,’’ Silagi felt ‘‘obliged’’ to reach a con-
clusion different from Referee Kasher in the Emmerich
case, Award 22912, and stated:

The origin of Rule 67 may not be disregarded.
Said rule derived from the 1945 memorandum of un-
derstanding between B&O and Order of Railroad
Telegraphers as later elucidated by the 1947 interpreta-
tion. It surfaced as Article 36 in the Telegraphers’
agreement and then metamorphosed into Rule 67 in the
1973 Clerk-Telegrapher agreement. To be sure Article
36 consisted of 18 paragraphs while Rule 67 has but
4 paragraphs. Therefore Award 22912 held that the
rule was not adopted unchanged on June 4, 1973. Yet
a careful comparison of Article 36 with Rule 67 shows
that the essential parts of the former are retained

12

in the latter. As noted earlier, obsolete portions and
those parts which were in conflict with other rules
were deleted. That being the case we are compelled
to construe Rule 67 in the light of Rule 75 which en-
joins upon the parties the obligation to continue to
apply previous interpretations in existence prior to
June 4, 1973. In contract construction a reasonable in-
terpretation should prevail over one which leads to
harsh and unjust consequences, Public Law Board
No. 2895, Award No. 2 (Lieberman).

It is alleged by the Carrier, and not denied by the
Organization, that since 1948, 5-ply paper had been
used for the transmission of switch lists at both towers
in the Barr Yard and that yardmasters tore off and
separated these switch lists. It was not until subse-
quent to 1973 that claims were made that such work
belonged to clerks. Award 22912 states that had the
parties wished to preserve prior agreements they
should have done so specifically. But nothing in Rule
75 negates 25 years of an unabated, unchallenged
practice, Award 20514 (Lieberman). The parties own
conduct for a quarter of a century simply cannot be
ignored, it is the best evidence that there was no in-
tent to terminate this minimal work assignment to
yardmasters. Had they so desired they could have
easily expressed that intent. Rule 67 must be read
as modified by Rule 75.

Without abandoning its position that the Organi-
zation failed to show exclusivity of the work in ques-
tion and that past practice must be considered the
Carrier argues that the remedy of 8 hours pay is not
justified. Even the remedy of 3 hours’ pay, as
granted by Award 22912, is not warranted for tearing
off and separating 5 pieces of paper, a task which
takes but a few seconds. We agree with the Carrier.
It is impossible to harmonize organized labor’s legiti-
mate demand for an honest day’s wages for an honest
day’s work with a pay claim that has the earmarks of

13

a lottery. The record in this case does not reveal that
claimant ever performed the work in question. This
Board is not inclined to award a clerk a windfall of
8 hours pay, or even 3 hours’ compensation, for ser-
vices not performed and which are incidental to the
work of a yardmaster. Such a claim is clearly exces-
sie, Award 18804 (Franden) and should be denied on
this ground alone.

Having given careful consideration to the entire
record, the arguments and to the awards cited by the
parties, it is the opinion of this Board that the dis-
puted work comes within the exception contained in
Rule 1(b). For all the reasons stated above the claim
is denied.

In contrast to Referee Silagi, Fishgold did not men-
tion the provisions of Rule 1(b) in his decisions. Like
Silagi, Fishgold recognized the ‘‘difficulty’’ in reaching
contrary conclusions. However, Fishgold decided to rely
on the Kasher decision in Award 22912, and rejected the
_ Railroad’s arguments concerning the meaning of Rules
67 and 75. Explicitly stating that he had not disregarded
‘‘the origin of Rule 67 nor the clear intent of Rule 75,’’
Fishgold opined:

While the Board is not persuaded that merely be-
cause Article 36 had 18 paragraphs and Rule 67 only
had 4, that Article 36 was not adopted unchanged.
The Board is persuaded that, when read in conjunc-
tion with Rule 75, the failure of the parties to spe-
cifically adopt in Rule 67 the distinction between
‘‘inter-city’’ and ‘‘intra-city’’ communications evi-

5. See, Appendix at 11-12. Reaching this conclusion, Silagi
did not need to note the differences between the Cincinnati
employee, Emmerich, and the employees of the Chicago Ter-~
minal, whose claims Silagi considered.

14

denced by the 1945 Memorandum of Understanding,
undermines the Carrier’s contractual argument. While
the Board can accept that certain obsolete provisions
pertaining to Morse telegraph and restrictions which
conflicted with other rules were deleted in Rule 67
without changing the meaning of Article 36, the Board
cannot conclude that the failure to continue to identify
a specific distinction between ‘‘intra-city’’ and ‘‘inter-
city’? communications means that Rule 67 was un-
changed from Article 36.

Winally, in this regard, the Board does not accept
the Carrier’s further argument that the history and
practice since 1948 of allowing Yardmasters in the
Barr Yard to tear off and separate these switch lists
without any claims by the Clerks until after 1973, con-—
stitutes an unabated, unchallenged practice, which
Rule 75 cannot negate.

Having found that the claims are to be sustained, the
question arises as to what is the appropriate remedy.
As in Award 22912, the Organization seeks eight (8)
hours pay for work that took just a few seconds to
perform, albeit on repeated oceasions. This Beard
agrees with Referee Kasher in Award 22912 that such
a remedv is inappropriate. This Board further con-
eludes that, as in Award 22912: ‘‘A more appropriate
remedy is found in the parties’ Call Rule—Rule 8.
Under this rule Claimant(s) should be compensated
three hours since the work performed was two hours
or lees.”” .. ©

6. Rule 8 of the parties’ 1973 Agreement provides, in rele-
vant part, that “Except as provided in paragraphs (b) and (c) of
this Rule, regularly assigned employees notified or called to per-

(Continued on following page)

15

On August 14, 1984, the Railroad filed a complaint,
pursuant to the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. 4 153 First
(q) (RLA), seeking to review the six Fishgold awards.
No similar complaint was filed by TCU to review the
Silagi award. However, on September 21, 1984, TCU
answered the Railroad’s complaint and filed a counter-
claim, petitioning the District Court to enforce the awards
entered by the Fishgold panel. The Railroad answered
the counterclaim and, on March 1, 1985, moved the Court
for summary judgment. TCU filed its own motion for
summary judgment on February 21, 1985.

On September 12, 1985, an initial hearing on the cross-
motions for summary judgment was held before District
Judge J. Frederick Motz. Demonstrating great care in
exercising his jurisdiction under the RLA, Judge Motz
wrote counsel for the parties on October.8 and again on
November 18, 1985, requesting that they address in writing
certain additional questions bearing on the decision. After
counsel responded, an additiOnal hearing on the motions
was held on January 24, 1986.

Finding that the Fishgold panel had exceeded its jur-
isdiction, had rewritten the Agreement, and had contra-
vened its essence and purpose, ‘‘by simply omitting one of

(Continued from previous page)

form work not continuous with, before, or after the regular work
period or on their designated rest days other than Sundays or
specified holidays shall be allowed a minimum of three (3) hours
for two (2) hours’ work, or less, and if held on duty in excess of
two (2) hours, time and one-half will be allowed on the minute
basis.” The Rule continues to provide that “Regularly assigned
employees who have completed their work period for the day
and been released from duty, required to return for further serv-
ice, may be paid as if on continuous duty.”

16

its critical provisions’’, Judge Motz vacated the awards
entered by the Fishgold panel. In addition, Judge Motz
found that these awards were not compensatory, but puni-
tive in nature, and that, ‘‘by awarding penalty pay the
Fishgold panel was merely ‘dispensing its own brand of in-
dustrial justice’, rather than following the Agreement.
As a result, the court granted the Railroad’s motion for
summary judgment and denied TCU’s. TCU appealed to
the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

The Fourth Cireuit affirmed. Fully recognizing ‘‘that
the scope of review of an NRAB decision is among the nar-
rowest known to law,’’ and that such decisions may only
be set aside under the three restricted circumstances set
forth in 45 U.S.C. § 153 First (q), the Court applied well
established principles:

That the scope of review is highly restricted, how-
ever, does not mean that courts may never set aside an
NRAB award. Awards may be set aside if they are
wholly baseless and completely without reason, Gun-
ther v. San Diego and Arizona Railway Co., 383 U.S.
257 (1965); if they are actually and indisputedly with-
out foundation in reason or fact, Brotherhood of Rail-
road Trainmen v. Central Georgia Railway Co., 415
F.2d 403 (5th Cir. 1969); or if the NRAB decision fails
to draw its essence from the collective bargaining
agreement, International Association of Machinists v.

~ So. Pac. Transp. 626 F.2d 215 (9th Cir. 1980); BRAC
v. Kansas City Terminal Ry. Co., 587 F.2d 903 (8th
Cir. 1978): Diamond v. Terminal Ry. Alabama State
Docks, 421 F.2d 228 (5th Cir. 1970).

The NRAB exceeds its jurisdiction when there is
manifest disregard of the collective bargaining agree-
ment, Ludwig Honold Mfq. Co. v. Fletcher, 405 F.2d
1123 (3rd Cir. 1969), or when an award fails to take
into account any existing common law of the particular

17 3

plant or industry, Norfolk Shipping & Dry Dock v. Lo-
cal No. 684, 671 F.2d 797 (4th Cir. 1982). A collective
bargaining agreement is more than a contract, it is a
generalized code to govern the myriad cases which the
draftsman cannot anticipate. United Steel Workers of
America v. Warrior and Gulf N. Co., 363 U.S. 574
(1960). This generalized focus does not however, per-
mit an arbitrator to rewrite the provisions of the col-
lective bargaining agreement. See, e.g., Mistletoe Ex-
press Service v. Motor Expressmens Union, 566 F.2d
692 (10th Cir. 1977) ;-W.R. Grace & Co. v. Local Union
759, 652 F.2d 1248 (5th Cir. 1981). Thus, this court
has held that where an arbitrator fails to discuss, in
his decision, critical contract terminology, which might
reasonably require the opposite result, the award can-
not be said to draw its essence from the contract.
Clinchfield Coal v. District 28, UMW. 720 F.2d 1365
(4th Cir. 1983).

In the instant case, the NRAB panel noted that
B&O had raised the Seope Rule issue but then the
panel failed to provide any discussion or enalysis of
that issne. Even a cursory reading of the relevant
sections of the Scope Rule would lead the reader to
believe that those practices which BRAC now chal-
lenges are completely proper under the collective bar-
gaining agreement. Because the NRAB panel has pro-
vided no explanation of either the Scope Rule provi-
sions at issue here, or their applicability to the instant
case, Clinchfield Coal, supra, requires that the panel’s
decision be vacated.

Because this holding conforms to the prior decisions of
this Court, and because there is no conflict between the
Fourth Cireuit’s decision in this case and the decisions of
other cireuits, TCU’s petition for a writ of certiorari
should be denied.

}

18

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

[.

Although this Court has stated that the standard of
judicial review established by the Railway Labor Act is a
narrow one, Union Pacific Railroad v. Sheehan, 439 U.S.
89, 91 (1978), it has never held that decisions of the NRAB
are beyond all judicial review, or that the federal courts
must uphold every award, no matter how egregious.’ To
the contrary, this Court has construed the ‘‘jurisdictional’’
provision of 45 U.S.C. § 153 to require that NRAB awards
be set aside if they are ‘‘wholly baseless and completely
without reason,’’ Gunther v. San Diego & Arizona E. Ry.
Co., 383 U.S. 257, 261 (1965), cited in Sheehan, supra, 439
U.S. at 93. Indeed, for a court to uphold a wholly base-
less award would raise constitutional problems under Ar-
ticle III, which guarantees the right to judicial review.
See, Northern Pipeline Const. Co. v. Marathon Pipeline
Co., 102 S.Ct. 2858 (1982).

7. Here, as in Clinchfield Coal, supra, 720 F.2d at 1370,
the Union has argued that the provisions of 45 U.S.C. § 153 fore-
close all judicial review of arbitration. Here, as in Clinchfield,
the Union’s argument “goes too far.’’ Judicial deference to ar-
bitration does not grant carte blanche approval to any decision
that an arbitrator may issue. Piggly Wiggly Operators’ Ware-
house, Inc. v. Piggy Wiggly Operators’ Warehouse Independent
Truck Drivers Union, Local No. 1, 611 F.2d 580, 583 (5th Cir.
1980); Int’! Ass’n of Mach. v. Haves Corp., 296 F.2d 238, 243
(5th Cir. 1961). The integrity of the NRAB arbitration process
and the public interest in having management-labor disputes re-
solved without unnecessary judicial involvement is fully pro-
tected by the limited standard of review described by this Court
in Gunther, Sheehan and similar cases, as well as the Stee/work-
ers Trilogy, upon which Clinchfield relied. See, Clinchfield, 720
F.2d at 1370.

19

The NRAB, like an arbitrator, is ‘‘confined to inter-
pretation and application of the collective bargaining
agreement; [it] does not sit to dispense [its] own brand of
industrial justice.’’ See, United Steelworkers of America
v. Enterprise Wheel & Car Corp., 363 U.S. 593, 597 (1960) ;
United Food & Commercial Workers, Local No. 222 v. Iowa
Beef Processors, Inc., 683 F.2d 283, 285 (8th Cir. 1982).
While an arbitrator or the NRAB ‘‘may of course look for
guidance from many sources .. . his award is legitimate
only so long as it draws its essence from the collective bar-
gaining agreement. When the arbitrator’s words manifest
an infidelity to this obligation, courts have no choice but to
refuse enforcement of the award.’’ Enterprise Wheel,
supra, 363 U.S. at 597 (emphasis added).

Properly construing the ‘‘jurisdictional’’ provision
of 45 U.S.C § 153 First (q), the lower courts have re-
peatedly held, without question by this Court, that an
NRAB award may be set aside ‘‘for failure of the divi-
sion to comply with the requirements of this chapter, for
failure of the order to conform, or confine itself, to mat-
ters within the scope of the divisions jurisdiction,’’ if an
award is ‘‘actually and indisputedly without foundation
in reason or fact,’’ Bhd. of R.R. Trainmen v. Central of Ga.
Ry. Co., 415 F.2d 403, 410 (1969); or if it fails to ‘‘draw
its essence from the collective bargaining agreement.’’ /d.,
415 F.2d at 412. See, also, Int’l Ass’n of Mach. v. So. Pac.
Transp., 626 F.2d 715, 717 (9th Cir. 1980); Bhd. of Ry.
Airline & Steamship Clerks v. Kansas City Terminal Ry.
Co., 587 F.2d 903, 906 (8th Cir. 1978); Diamond v. Ter-
minal Ry. Alabama State Docks, 421 F.2d 228, 233-34 (5th
Cir. 1970); Koloedey v. Mutual Beneficial Ass’n, etc., 526
F.Supp. 1158, 1161 (D. Del. 1981); U.7.U. v. Pittsburgh

20

Charters d Y. Ry. Co., 353 F.Supp. 1305, 1306 (W.D. Pa.
1973).

The NRAB acts outside its jurisdiction when there is
‘‘manifest disregard of the agreement’’, Ludwig Honold
Mfg. Co. v. Fletcher, 405 F.2d 1123 (3rd Cir. 1969); or
when an award fails to ‘‘take into aecount any existing
common law of the particular plant or industry.’’ Norfolk
Shipbuilding & Drydock v. Local No. 684, 671 F.2d 797,
799-800 (4th Cir. 1982). Arbitrators have frequently
recognized restrictions on their own powers and have ac-
knowledged that they may not re-write the provisions of
the contract upon which the parties have agreed. See,
e.g., Schotts Bakery, Inc., 69-1 ARB { 8118, at 3397; Wil-
ner Wood Company, 69-2 ARB { 8734, at 5498 and Cham-
pion Papers, Inc., 69-1 ARB % 8341, at 4168. Similarly,
the federal courts have held that an arbitrator may not
re-write a labor contract. See, e.g., Int’l U. of Operating
Eng., Local No. 9 v. Shank-Artukovich, 751 F.2d 364, 366
(10th Cir. 1985) (if the arbitrator does not follow the ex-
press terms of the agreement, his ruling cannot stand) ;
Gen’l Drivers, Warehousemen v. Hays & Nicoulin, 594
F.2d 1093, 1094 (6th Cir. 1979) ; Detroit Coil v. Int’l Ass’n
of Mach., 594 F.2d 575, 579 (6th Cir. 1979) (an arbitrator
is without authority to disregard or modify plain and un-
ambiguous provisions of an agreement); Monongahela
Power Co. v. Local No. 2332, IBEW, 566 F.2d 1196, 1199
(4th Cir. 1976) (an arbitrator is without authority to dis-
regard or modify plain and unambiguous provisions) ;
Mistletoe Exp. Serv. v. Motor Expressmens Union, 556
F.2d 692, 695 (10th Cir. 1977) (an arbitration award will
not be upheld when it contravenes the express language
of the labor contract); Timken Co. v. Local No. 1123,

21

United Steel Wrkrs., 482 F.2d 1012, 1015 n.2 (6th Cir.
1973) (‘‘It is axiomatic that if the arbitrator undertook to,
in effect, amend the contract, to substitute his own discre-
tion for that of the parties or to dispense ‘his own brand
of industrial justice,’ the enforcement of the award must
be denied.’’) ; Textile Workers Union v. American Thread
Co., 291 F.2d 894, 899 (4th Cir. 1961).

The Union has sought to manufacture confusion from
this consistent line of federal cases, which have faithfully
applied the clear and unambiguous holdings of this Court.
While citing both Sheenan and Gunther, TCU has suggested
that this Court has not yet construed the ‘‘jurisdictional”’
provision of 45 U.S.C. § 153, and that ‘‘the court of appeals
would have been less likely to reach the result it did [in this
case]... if it had been bound by a decision of this Court
definitively construing the dispositive statutory language.’’
Petition, at 13, 18. The Union’s argument only reflects its
dissatisfaction with the result which the Fourth Cireuit did
reach in this case. As this Court held in «/unther, and re-
peated in Sheehan, and as the Fourth Cireuit recognized in
this case, the ‘‘jurisdictional’’ provision of 45 U.S.C. § 153
‘‘means just what it says.’ Jd., 439 U.S. at 93. Contrary to
TCU’s suggestions, this Court has already construed the
‘* jurisdictional’ provision of 45 U.S.C. § 153 on several oc-
casions. The lower federal courts need no further guidance
concerning its meaning.

The decision in this case did nothing more or less than
apply well recognized principles. The Fourth Cireuit ex-
plicitly recognized and applied the prior decisions of this
Court which limit the role of federal courts in reviewing
NRAB awards. Confining itself within those narrow limits,

22

the Court of Appeals nevertheless properly concluded that
these limitations upon the federal courts’ scope of review
do not mean that courts may never set aside an NRAB
award. It held that, even though a labor contract is a gen-
eralized code to govern the myriad cases which the drafts-
man cannot anticipate, this generalized foeus does not per-
mit an arbitrator to rewrite the provisions of the collective
bargaining agreement. The Fourth Circuit appropriately
concluded that, even under this Court’s most restrictive rul-
ings, awards may be set aside if they are wholly baseless
and completely without reason, if they are actually and in-
disputedly without foundation in reason or fact, or if they
fail to draw their essence from the collective bargaining
agreement. See, Petitioner’s Appendix C, at 7a-9a. In
short, the decision in this case did not conflict with the opin-
ions of this Court dealing with judicial review of NRAB
awards. Rather, that decision was in full conformity with
all of the prior holdings of this Court.

II.

The legislative history of 45 U.S.C. § 153 establishes
that Congress intended for the courts to exercise the same
authority to review NRAB decisions which apply to review
of arbitration awards. See, Central of Ga., 415 F.2d at
410-12. When considering 1966 amendments to the RLA,

8. See, also, Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Ry. Co. v. Buell,
107 S.Ct. 1410, 1414, — U.S. — (1987) (referring to the NRAB and
Public Law Boards as arbitration boards); Andrews v. Louisville
& Nashville Railroad Co., 406 U.S. 320, 322 (1972) (finding the
record “convincing” that provisions of the RLA “dealing with
the Adjustment Board were to be considered as compulsory
arbitration in this limited field’); and Gunther, supra, 382 U.S.
at 263 (stating that the Court has given NRAB decisions ‘the
same finality that a decision of arbitrators would have’’). In Cen-

(Continued on following page)

23

the Central of Ga. court noted, the Senate Labor and Public
Welfare Committee stated that the grounds for review of
NRAB awards ‘‘should be limited to those grounds com-
monly provided for review of arbitration awards.’’ The
(‘onmittee continued :

The committee gave consideration to a proposal
that the bill be amended to include as a ground for
setting aside an award ‘‘arbitrariness or capricious-
ness’? on the part of the Board. The committee de-
clined to adopt’such an amendment out of concern that
such a provision might be regarded as an invitation to
the courts to treat any award with which the court
disagreed as being arbitrary or capricious. This was
done on the assumption that a Federal court would
have the power to decline to enforce an award which
was actually and indisputedly without foundation in
reason or fact, and the committee intends that, under
this bill, the courts will have that power. The limited
grounds for judicial review provided in H.R. 706 are
the same grounds that are provided in section 9 of the
Railway Tabor Act and also Publie Law 88-108, which
provided arbitration for the so-called work rules dis-
pute. [1966] U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, p. 2287.

Central of Ga., 415 F.2d at 410.

Applying these Congressionaily mandated standards,
the courts have set aside the decisions of the NRAB or
arbitrators when an award has ignored clear and express

(Continued from previous page)

tral of Ga., supra, the court quoted the Senate Reporf concern-
ing the 1966 amendments to the RLA, as follows: ‘Also, be-
cause the National Railroad Adjustment Board has been char-
acterized as an arbitration tribunal by the courts, the grounds
for review should be limited to those grounds commonly pro-
vided for review of arbitration awards.” /d., 416 F.2d at 410.
The Senate Report thereafter quoted the three grounds for re-
view of NRAB awards set forth in 45 U.S.C. 153.

24

contractual provisions. Such awards have been set aside
most often when an arbitrator has declined to sustain an
employee’s discharge from service, when such discharge
was expressly contemplated by the applicable collective
bargaining agreement. See, e.g., Morgan Services, Inc. v.
Local 323, etc., 724 F.2d 1217, 1222-23 (6th Cir. 1984);
General Drivers, Etc. v. Haynes and Nicoulin, Inc., supra;
Mistletoe Express Service, supra, 566 F.2d at 695 (over-
turning award that disregarded clear language allowing
discharge without ‘‘progressive discipline’’ because award
violated essence of agreement). See, also, Amanda Bent
Bolt Company v. International Union, Etc., 451 F.2d 1277,
1279-80 (6th Cir. 1971); Truck Drivers and Helpers Union
v. Ulry Talbert Company, 330 F.2d 562 (8th Cir. 1964).
See, especially, Wilson v. Chicago & N.W. Transp. Co.,
728 F.2d 963, 967 (7th Cir. 1984) (NRAB exceeded its au-
thority by ignoring provisions mandating dismissal of
charges for railroad’s failure to comply with contractually
specified time limits.)

However, the issue has also arisen outside the dis-
charge area. See, e.g., Sears Roebuck Company v. Team-
sters Local Union No. 243, 683 F.2d 154 (6th Cir.), cert.
denied, 103 S.Ct. 1274 (1982) (arbitrator improperly re-
wrote contract disregarding express provision giving em-
ployer right to subeontract work); Detroit Oil Company,
supra, 594 F.2d at-579-81 (disregard of contractual notice
for grievances constitutes ‘‘clear failure to draw the es-
sence of the award from the agreement’’) ; Industrial Mu-
tual Association v. Amalgamated Workers, 725 F.2d 406,
411 (6th Cir. 1984) (disregard of plain contract provision
placing liability for shortages in accounts).

cipbemenmemnimemnineenmen

25

The decision in Clinchfield Coal, upon which both the
trial court and the Fourth Circuit relied, held that where
‘‘the arbitrator fails to discuss critical contract terminol-
ogy, which terminology might reasonably require an op-
posite result, the award cannot be considered to draw its
essence from the contract.’’ Jd., 720 F.2d at 1368-69. This
holding is fully consistent with the long series of federal
cases which have held that an arbitrator may not re-write
a labor contract, and that if an arbitrator dees not follow
the express terms of the agreement, his ruling cannot
stand. See, e.g., Int’l U. of Operating Enq., Local No. 9
v. Shank-Artukovich, supra; Gen’l Drivers, Warehouse-
men v. Hays & Nicoulin, supra; Detroit Coil v. Int’l Ass’n
of Mach., supra; Monongahela Power Co. v. Local No.
2332, IBEW, supra; Mistletoe Exp. Serv. v. Motor Ez-
pressmens Union, supra; Timken Co. v. Local No. 1123,
United Steel Wrkrs., supra; Textile Workers Union v.
American Thread Co., supra.

Both the trial court and the Fourth Circuit decisions
in this case found that Referee Fishgold was made fully
aware o. the unambiguous terms of Rules 1(b) and (ec) of
the 1973 agreement, by both parties’ ex parte submissions
to the NRAB. Rule 1(b) provides a general exception to
all parts of the 1973 Agreement, applicable by the parties’
practice only at facilities where no clerk is employed. Rule
1({b) authorizes the assignment of clerical work to persons
other than clerks when, during a period of 10 hours after
any such clerical work is begun by a non-clerk, the total
amount of time devoted to clerical work by non-clerks is
less than four (4) hours. Similarly, Rule 1(c) provides a
general exception to all parts of the 1973 Agreement, ex-

26

pressly applicable when, as here, clerical positions are
abolished. Rule 1(c) authorizes the assignment of clerical
work to non-clerks, including yardmasters, where no cleri-
eal position exists at the location where the work of the
abolished clerical position is to be performed, provided the
clerical work is incident to the duties of the non-clerk and
takes less than four (4) hours per day.

The referee was well aware that the claims which he
considered were, in the Union’s words, concerned with
work which was ‘‘formally [sic] assigned to abolished posi-
tions.’’ Application of Rules 1(b) and (c) was clear since
the disputed work ‘‘took a few seconds to perform, albeit
on repeated occasions,’’ and, therefore, did not exceed
four hours per day; because the work was performed by
yardmasters incident to their duties; and since no posi-
tions covered by the 1973 Agreement exist at the locations
where the claimed work of the abolished positions was per-
formed. Nevertheless, as the trial court and the Fourth
Circuit correctly found, the Fishgold decisions failed com-
pletely to mention, let alone consider, the terms of Rules
1(b) and (c).9

9. TCU suggests that the trial court somehow ignored his
proper role and conducted a de novo review of the Fishgold de-
cisions, because the trial court sought diligently to understand the
distinction between “major’ and “minor” disputes under the
RLA. Petition, at 6. Judge Motz readily expressed his own lack
of familiarity with RLA concepts, stating ‘that is something which
| really need advice of counsel who are knowledgeable in the
area... ”. In the succeeding minutes of the hearing quoted by
TCU, however, Judge Motz clearly stated his understanding of
his “job”’—“to apply the law and | am, my mind is not—-my
mind is quite open as to what the final outcome of this case
should be.” Counsel for the Railroad clarified the distinction

(Continued on following page)

27

Notwithstanding TCU’s efforts to distinguish this
case, the Fishgold panel’s decisions are like that of the
arbitrator in Clinchfield Coal, supra, and similar cases.
In Clinchfield, as here, the union argued that, by mention-
ing an issue, without further discussing it, in his list of
questions raised by the employer, the arbitrator must have
considered the employer’s position and rejected it, al-
though his decision did not develop his reasons in detail.
Id., 720 F.2d at 1369. There, as here, the union’s argu-
ment was ‘‘wholly unsatisfactory for it would allow an
arbitrator to shield his award simply by the ruse of stat-
ing an issue without discussing it.’’ Jd. This case, like
Clinchfield Coal, is one where the arbitrator failed to dis-
cuss ‘‘critical contract terminology,’’ which would neces-
sarily lead to an opposite result, and where the arbitrator
thus rendered an award which ‘‘cannot be considered to
draw its essence from the contract.’’ 7/7.

(Continued from previous page)

between major and minor disputes under the RLA, a distinc-
tion which the court quickly grasped. Counsel for the Railroad
then engaged in argument about the appropriate standards of
review and their application in this case. Judge Motz indicated
his complete understanding of the limits of his authority, stating,
in response to counsel’s argument, that if the arbitrator had to be
cautious about “dispensing his own brand of industrial justice”,
the court had to be “even more cautious”. Judge Motz added
that “the fact that [he] think[s] its senseless is something that [he]
had better examine [his] conscience very closely to think [he’s]
just not relating [sic] the contract or overturning the arbitrator’s
decision because of what [his] view is, right or wrong.” While
those remarks may show that Judge Motz “agonized” over the
decision which he rendered, as the Union averred before the
Fourth Circuit, they also show the great care which he brought
to bear in reaching the correct result, and completely disprove
the Union’s contention that the trial court and the Fourth Cir-
cuit conducted a de novo review of the challenged Fishgold
decisions.

28

By ignoring Rules 1(b) and 1(c) the Fishgold deci-
sions did not simply commit ‘‘error’’, or contain some
‘fambiguity’’. Petition, at 11-12. Rather, by ignoring
‘‘eritical contract terminology’’, Clinchfield Coal, 720 F.2d
at 1369, the Fishgold decisions showed a ‘‘manifest disre-
gard of the agreement,’’ Ludwig Honold Mfg. Co. v.
Fletcher, 405 F.2d at 1128; effectively ‘‘attempted to alter
the existing agreement,’’ Wilson v. Chicago & N.W.
Transp. Co., 728 F.2d at 967; and failed to ‘‘draw [their] .
essence’’ from the Agreement. United Steelworkers of
Am. v. Enterprise Wheel & Car Corp., 363 U.S. at 597;
Central of Ga., 415 F.2d at 412. -As a result, as both the
trial court and the Court of Appeals correctly found that,
by ignoring Rules 1(b) and 1(c) of the parties agreement,
the Fishgold panel exceeded the authority of the NRAB
and violated the terms of the Railway Labor Act, within
the meaning of 45 U.S.C. § 153 First (q).

In sum, the decision of the Fourth Circuit in this case _
did not conflict with the decisions of other Courts of Ap-

10. Even a cursory review of Judge Motz’ decision demon-
strates that the District judge did not, as TCU contends, vacate
the Fishgold decisions on the basis that the NRAB had misinter-
preted the contract. Instead, Judge Motz’ opinion rests on the
obviously correct premise that Fishgold ignored Rule 1 and that
“by ignoring Rule 1 the panel contravened the essence and pur-
pose of the 1973 agreement.” Hence, Judge Motz properly
considered the reasons given by the referee, as well as evidence
available to assist the court in determining whether the referee’s
award drew its essence from the Agreement. Such consideration
does not violate any of the standards of review established by
Congress and the courts. To the contrary, if Judge Motz had
failed to make these determinations, he would have abdicated
his judicial responsibility, in the words of Congress, “to decline |
to enforce an award which was actually and indisputedly with-
out foundation in reason or fact .. .” [1966] U.S. Code Cong.

& Admin. News, p. 2287, quoted in Central of Ga., 415 F.2d at
410.

29

peals which have interpreted 45 U.S.C. § 153. To the con-
trary, both the decision of the trial court and the opinion
of the Fourth Cireuit were fully consistent with the deci-
sions of other courts. No conflict exists among the cir-
cuits which must be resolved by this Court. Full review
of the Union’s petition should thus be denied.

f>
a

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Respondent, the Balti-
more & Ohio Railroad Company, respectfully submits that
the decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the
Fourth Circuit was correct, and that the Petition of the
Transportation Communications Union for a Writ of Cer-
tiorari to review that decision should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

H. Russeit SMovuse

D. CuristoPHER OHLY

MELNicove, KaurMan, WEINER,
Smovuse & Garsis, P.A.

36 S. Charles Street, 6th Floor

Baltimore, MD 21201

(301) 332-8500

Attorneys for Respondent
Of Counsel:

Tuomas L. SaMvuEL
Nicuo tas 8S. YovaNnovic
CSX Transportation
500 Water Street
Jacksonville, FL 32202

APPENDIX

App. 1

NATIONAL RAILROAD ADJUSTMENT BOARD

Award Number 24881
Docket Number CL-24747

THIRD DIVISION
Robert Silagi, Referee

PARTIES TO DISPUTE:

(Brotherhood of Railway, Airline and Steamship
( Clerks, Freight cuca Express and Station
( Employes

~ (Baltimore and Ohio Chicago Terminal Railroad
( Company

STATEMENT OF CLAIM:

Claim of the System Committee of the Brotherhood

(GL-9630) that:

(1) Carrier violated, and continues to violate, Clerk-
Telegrapher Agreement beginning with the claim date of
June 1, 1981, when it caused and permits employees not
covered by said Agreement to perform work and functions
in connection with the operation of printing telegraph
(teletype) machines and similar devices used for trans-
mitting and receiving communications, including tearing
off and separating message reports of cars, at Ashland
Avenue and Halsted Street Towers; two (2) locations at
Barr Yard, Chicago, Illinois and

(2) Asa result of such impropriety, Carrier shall be
required to compensate Clerk M. A. Gasper, Barr Yard,
Chicago, Lllinois, eight (8) hours pay commencing June 1,
1981, and continuing each subsequent date until the fore-
going violations of the Agreement cease, and

App. 2

(3) That Carrier shall also, because of its violative
action, compensate Clerk F. Neilson, Barr Yard, Chicago,
Illinois, eight (8) hours pay beginning June 1, 1981, and
continuing each subsequent date until Carrier ceases to
violate the Clerk-Telegrapher Agreement at Barr Yard,
Chicago, Illinois, as heretofore described.

OPINION OF BOARD: The issue presented in this dis-

pute is whether the tearing off
and separating of 5-ply message reports of cars from
teletype machines by yardmasters contravenes Rule 1—
Scope, Rule 18—Installation of Machines or Rule 67—
Printing Telegraph Machines. The relevant portions of
said rules are quoted below.

‘‘Rule 1—Positions and Employees Affected.

(a) These rules shall constitute an agreement be-
tween the Baltimore and Ohio Railroad Company, The
Baltimore and Ohio Chicago Terminal Railroad Com-
pany, and The Staten Island Railroad Corporation
and the Brotherhood of Railway, Airline and Steam-
ship Clerks, Freight Handlers, Express and Station
Employees and shall govern the hours of service,
working conditions, and rates of pay of all employees
engaged in the work of the craft or class of clerical,
office, station and storehouse employees, which shall
include all employees formerly covered by clerical
agreement effective July 1, 1921 (as revised December
15, 1969) as amended, and all employees engaged in
the work of the craft or class of Transportation-Com-
munication Employees, which shall include all em-
ployees formerly covered by the Transportation-Com-
munication Agreements: The Baltimore and Ohio
Railroad-Company effective July 1, 1928, as revised
June 16, 1960, as amended; The Baltimore and Ohio
Chicago Terminal Railroad Company effective June

,
hal ay UNM NY na le lee

App. 3

3, 1963, as amended; and The Staten Island Railroad
Corporation effective August 1, 1959, as amended.’’

‘*Rule 1(b)—Assignment of Work

When the assignment of clerical work in an office, sta-
tion, warehouse, freight house, store house, or yard,
occurring within a spread of ten (10) hours from the
time such clerical work begins, is made to more than
one (1) employee not classified as a clerk, the total
time devoted to such work by all employees at a facil-
ity specified herein shall not exceed four (4) hours
per day.’’

‘*Interpretation of Rule 1(b)

The word ‘employee’ in Rule 1(b) means one in the
employ of this Company, whether coming under the
Scope of this Agreement, another agreement, or out-
side the Scope of any agreement.’’

‘‘Rule 18—Installation of Machines.

(a) When and where new types of machines or me-
chanical devices of any kind are used for the purpose
of performing work previously handled by such ma-
chines, coming within the Scope of this Agreement,
sucuh work will be assigned to employees covered by
this Agreement.’’

‘*Rule 67—Printing Telegraph Machines.

Positions in telegraph or other offices requiring the
operating of printing telegraph machines or similar
devices that are used for transmitting and receiving
either or both, information, or communications of rec-
ord, irrespective of title by which designated or char-
acter or services performed, shall be filled by em-
ployees coming within the scope of this Agreement.

Work in connection with the operation of transmitting,
reperforating and receiving units, including tearing
off and separating messages and reports, checking and

App. 4

correction of errors, shall be performed by employees
covered by this Agreement. “a

The Organization relies heavily upon Rule 67, second
paragraph, which assigns to Clerks the work of ‘‘tearing
off and separating messages and reports’’.. Such lan-
guage is, in the Organization’s view, ‘‘explicit unambigu-
ous, certain, definite and unequivocally clear’’, consequent-
ly it demands an absolute right to insist upon compliance
with the Rule. Conflicting past practices are material and
relevant in the interpretation and application of a con-
tract only when its terms are ambiguous (Awards 21130—
Blackwell; 18287—Dorsey ; 18064—Quinn; and 14338—Per-
elson). Finally the Organization maintains that sustain-
ing Award 22912 (Kasher), a case identical with the one
at bar, is dispositive of the issue. It is, therefore, self
evident that tearing off switch lists from printing teletype
machines in Barr Yard and separating the 5-ply paper
messages is work which must be done by Clerks and none
others.

The Carrier’s argument is three-fold: (a) that the
Organization failed to sustain its burden of proving exclu-
sive right to the work in question, (b) that even if such
right exists, there is an exception under Rule 1(b), and
(c) that Award 22912 (Kasher) has no precedential value.

To better understand the arguments of the parties the
history of the dispute must be examined. A synopsis of
the history follows:

Prior to the mid-1930’s Morse key sabia operators
transmitted administrative messages on Carrier’s sister

railroad, the Baltimore and Ohio. Railroad Company

SRR oe AIRE eta A Sake

Cn ene ee

App. 5

(B&O). In the late 1930’s printing teletype machines were
installed. The operation of the machines was a completely
new assignment. In 1945 B&O and Order of Railroad
Telegraphers entered into a memorandum of understand-
ing assigning such work to telegraphers. Section 5 of said
memorandum is almost identical with the second para-
graph of Rule 67, supra. About this time the Carrier
began to install printing teletype machines in some of its
B&O yard offices where non-telegraph employees used this
equipment to transmit reports and messages. These re-
ports and messages were transmitted from Yard and Sales
offices to a relay office in the same terminal where teleg-
raphers retransmitted this information to other terminals.
At the B&O Cincinnati Terminal the Telegraphers claimed
exclusive rights to operate the teletype machines. To avoid
misunderstanding, in 1947 the parties executed an inter-
pretation of their first memorandum. The parties agreed
that:

‘‘This Memorandum of Understanding does not apply
to intra-city communication by direct key-board tele-
type machines in offices where Morse telegraph has
never been in use and the communication service prior
to the installation of teletype was being handled by
telephone or messenger.

Where intra-city communication by machines referred
to in the above Memorandum of Understanding is per-
formed by other than employees coming within the
Scope of the Telegraphers’ Agreement, the business so
handled except wheel reports, shall not be transmitted
by reperforator tape to intra-city points.’’

In 1948 the B&O Telegrapher’s Agreement was re-
printed. The 1945 memorandum of agreement and its 1947-

App. 6

interpretation appeared as Article 31 of the new agree-
ment.

In 1948 the Carrier installed printing teletype ma-
chines in the Yardmasters’ Towers in Barr Yard. Such
machines were also installed in the Barr Yard Office where
non-telegraphers used them to transmit switch lists to the
yardmasters at their towers in Barr Yard. At both towers
yardmasters tore off the switch lists from the machines in
their offices and separated the 5-ply papers. No dispute
arose between Carrier and Telegraphers nor between Car-
rier and the Organization as to the right of yardmasters
to do these tasks. At this time the telegraphers in Chicago
Terminal were covered by a different working agreement
than that governing employes on the B&O. Said agree-
ment did not contain the equivalent of Article 31. Clerical
employes on both properties were covered by the same
working agreement which contained no rule whatever deal-
ing with the handling of teletype transmissions.

In the mid-1950’s Carrier installed teletype equipment
in yard offices throughout its system. In 1955 Carrier
and Telegraphers negotiated a revision of Article 31 to
cover employes of the Carrier. The Telegraphers’ agree-
ment covering B&O employes was reprinted in 1960 with
the 1955 revision of Article 31 appearing as Article 36
which reads in pertinent part:

‘‘Printing Telegraph Machines.

(a-1) Positions in telegraph or other offices requir-
ing the operation of printing telegraph machines...
shall be filled by employees coming within the scope of
the Telegraphers’ Agreement . . . except as herein pro-
vided. In offices, other than telegraph offices, per-
sons not coming within the scope of the Telegraphers’

App. 7

Agreement may operate machines ... for transmitting
or receiving information directly to or from telegraph
offices in the same terminal. Such persons may oper-
ate such machines . . . for transmitting information
. or receiving information . .. to or from offices,
other than telegraph offices when the information is
confined to reports of the movement of cars to or ser-
vice messages concerning transmission errors, correc-
tions or modifications. . .
(e) Except as provided in paragraph a-1, work in
connection with the operation of transmitting, reper-
forating and receiving units, including tearing off and
separating messages and reports, checking and cor-
rection of errors, shall be performed by employees
covered by the Telegraphers’ Agreement. In emer-
gency cases, individuals used for such service will not
establish seniority.’’

In 1963 the agreement between Carrier and Tele-
graphers was reprinted. Article 36, above, appeared as
Article 2 with two deletions not relevant hereto. After
the 1955 agreement was extended to cover employees of
the Carrier no complaint was made by the Brotherhood in
regard to the use of yardmasters to tear off or to separate
the switch lists sent to them by personnel in the Barr Yard
office.

In 1966 Carrier installed a computer at Barr Yard
which maintained a perpetual freight car inventory of all
cars within defined limits at Chicago Terminal. Yard-
masters continued to receive switch lists from Barr Yard
office by teletype. In 1971 these machines were replaced
by Kleinschmidt Receive Only Printers and in the follow-
ing year Data Fax machines were added. Since then em-
ployes in the Barr Yard office have sent switch lists to

App. 8

yardmasters by use of the Kleinschmidt and Data Fax
machines.

In 1972, negotiations began regarding the consolida-
tion of Clerk-Telegrapher work. The eventual result of
such negotiations was the current consolidated Clerk-Tele-
ecrapher Agreement, effective June 4, 1973. Article 36 of
the former B&O Telegraphers’ agreement was incorpo-
rated into the consolidated agreement, however, deleted
therefrom were certain obsolete provisions pertaining to
Morse telegraph and restrictions which conflicted with
other rules. The revised Article 36 appeared as Rule 67,
reproduced above. In order to provide a continuum of
interpretations of the rules extracted from former con-
tracts the consolidated agreement of 1973 contains Rule 75:

‘‘This Agreement supersedes previous Collective Bar-
gaining Agreements, and interpretations thereof, be-
tween the parties, and existing Circulars, Memoranda
of Agreement and Letters of Agreement are cancelled
unless otherwise agreed between the parties. Previ-
ous interpretations to Rules in this Agreement, where
such Rules have been adopted unchanged from previ-
ous Agreements, continue to apply unless in conflict
with other Rules in this Agreement. Effective Na-
tional Agreements remain in effect unless, or until,
changed in accordance with Railway Labor Act, as
amended.”’

In 1974 Carrier began to open Terminal Service Cen-
ters at various locations throughout its system. In most
eases these new data centers consolidated yard and agency
personne! into one central point leaving only yardmasters
in the individual yards. Wherever a Terminal Service
Center was opened, Kleinschmidt Receive Only Printers
were placed in the yardmasters’ offices so that they could

App. 9

receive switch lists. At each such location yardmasters
tore off the lists and separated the copies. Thereafter
Carrier began to receive claims that such work should be
assigned to Clerks pursuant to Rule 67. Since the dispute
could not be resolved on the property, the Organization
progressed a December 1975 claim in the Cincinnati yard
office and presented it to this Board for adjudication. The
Board sustained the claim in Award 22912 (Kasher) which,
however, reduced the claim of eight hours’ pay ‘‘for work
that took just a few seconds to perform’’ to a three-hour
call. -

The Organization argues forcefully that the merger of
the Clerks’ and Telegraphers’ crafts in 1973 guaranteed to
employes covered by the joint Clerk-Telegrapher agree-
ment the exclusive right to perform all work in all offices
involving teletype machines including tearing off and sep-
arating messages. The Organization acknowledges that
hundreds of demands for eight hours’ pay based upon
claimed violations of Rule 67 were submitted and held in
abeyance pending a decision in Award 22912. The Organi-
zation asserts that Carrier bargained in bad faith when it
refused to honor Award 22912 and apply it to the pending
identical claims. The Organization attacks Carricr’s ref-
erence to former Telegraphers’ Agreements with Carrier
as outmoded for over 30 years. The Organization also
claims that the disputes as to ‘‘communication work’’ over
the years was between Clerks and Telegraphers and not
with Yardmasters, nor have Yardmasters ever contended
for such work. Moreover, the Organization points out
that although the Railroad Yardmasters of America were
named as an interested third party in the proceedings in
the claim leading to Award 22912, the Yardmasters elected

App. 10

not to participate in that case. Nor are the Yardmasters
making any claim to the disputed work in the instant case.
The Organization rejects the notion that any portion of
the operation of a teletype machine, no matter how slight,
may be splintered from the jurisdiction of the Clerks, cit-
ing Awards 1501 (Shaw) and 2282 (Fox).

The Carrier argues with equal vigor that Award 22912
must be overturned. The doctrine of stare decisis, says
the Carrier, is not absolute and should not be followed
when an award is palpably erroneous. The history of col-
lective bargaining must be given due consideration. Past
practice is an important element in disclosing how the par-
ties themselves interpreted their agreement. In any event
claimant’s demand for 8 hours’ pay is harsh and excessive.

Continuity in the interpretation of contract rules is
highly desirable. Such interpretations should not be over-
ruled without strong and compelling reasons, Public Law
Board No. 1790, Award No. 98 (Dolnick). Award 22912
involved the Cincinnati Terminal of the Carrier. Never-
theless,-there is no honest way to distinguish the decision
in this dispute from that decision. The parties are the
same, the agreement is the same and the facts virtually
identical. Certainly there will be difficulty on this prop-
erty in having contrary awards in different locations on
the same issue under the same basic facts. But it is prefer-
able in the overall interest of the parties to give the best
direction to the parties, as this Board sees it, as to how
the rule should be applied, rather than follow the precedent
set in another award, particularly as that decision is re-
cent and, therefore, could not have developed substantial
precedent, Award 22024 (Ables). With due deference to

App. 11

the distinguished referee who wrote the opinion in Award
22912 and to the members of this Board who concurred in
his views, we feel obliged to reach a different conclusion
for the following reasons:

The origin of Rule 67 may not be disregarded. Said
rule derived from the 1945 memorandum of understanding
between B&O and Order of Railroad Telegraphers as later
elucidated by the 1947 interpretation. It surfaced as Ar-
ticle 36 in the Telegraphers’ agreement and then meta-
morphosed into Rule 67 in the 1973 Clerk-Telegrapher
agreement. To be sure Article 36 consisted of 18 para-
graphs while Rule 67 has but 4 paragraphs. Therefore
Award 22912 held that the rule was not adepted unchanged
on June 4, 1973. Yet a careful comparison of Article 36
with Rule 67 shows that the essential parts of the former
are retained in the latter. As noted earlier, obsolete por-
tions and those parts which were in conflict with other
rules were deleted. That being the case we are compelled
to construe Rule 67 in the light of Rule 75 which enjoins
upon the parties the obligation to continue to apply previ-
ous interpretations in existence prior to June 4, 1973. In
contract construction a reasonable interpretation should
prevail over one which leads to harsh and unjust conse-
quences, Public Law Board No. 2895. Award No. 2 (Lieb-
erman).

It is alleged by the Carrier, and not denied by the
Organization, that since 1948, 5-ply paper had been used
for the transmission of switch lists at both towers in the
Barr Yard and that yardmasters tore off and separated
these switch lists. It was not until subsequent to 1973 that
claims were made that such work belonged to clerks.

App. 12

Award 22912 states that had the parties wished to preserve
prior agreements they should have done so specifically.
But nothing in Rule 75 negates 25=vears of an unabated,
unchallenged practice, Award 20514 (Lieberman). The
parties own conduct for a quarter of a century simply can-
not be ignored, it is the best evidence that there was no
intent to terminate this minimal work assignment to yard-
masters. Had they so desired they could have easily ex-
pressed that intent. Rule 67 must be read as modified by
Rule 75.

Without abandoning its position that the Organization
failed to show exclusivity to the work in question and that
past practice must be considered, the Carrier argues that
the remedy of 8 hours’ pay is not justified. Even the
remedy of 3 hours’ pay, as granted by Award 22912, is not
warranted for tearing off and separating 5 pieces of paper,
a task which takes but a few seconds. We agree with the
Carrier. It is impossible to harmonize organized labor’s
legitimate demand for an honest day’s wages for an honest
day’s work with a pay claim that has the earmarks of a
lottery. The record in this case does not reveal that claim-
ant ever performed the work in question. This Board is
not inclined to award a clerk a windfall of 8 hours’ pay.
or even 3 hours’ compensation, for services not performed
and which are incidental te the work of a yardmaster. Such
a claim is clearly excessive, Award 18804 (Franden) and
should be denied on this ground alone.

Having given careful consideration to the entire ree-
ord, the arguments and to the awards cited by the parties,
it is the opinion of this Board that the disputed work comes
within the exception contained in Rule 1(b). For all of
the reasons stated above the claim is denied.

eee)

App. 13

FINDINGS: The Third Division of the Adjustment Board,

upon the whole record and all the evidence,
finds and holds:

That the parties waived oral hearing;

That the Carrier and the Employes involved
in this dispute are respectively Carrier and Employes
within the meaning of the Railway Labor Act, as approved
June 21, 1934;

That this Division of the Adjustment Board
has jurisdiction over the dispute involved herein; and

That the Agreement was not violated.

AWARD

_ Claim denied.

NATIONAL RAILROAD ADJUSTMENT BOARD
By Order of Third Division

ATTEST: /s/ Nancy J. Dever
Nancy J. Dever - Executive Secretary

Dated at Chicago, Illinois, this 28th day of June, 1984

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1135%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
