# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Boat Niagara Falls, Inc. v. Joia

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1106%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 484 U.S. 1008

## Text

—— ‘)
y a7
ar od YP 13 oon

BL
No. - . OCT 30 1987

tie
)PPOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

In the | “ei

Supreme Court of the United States.
OCTOBER TERM, 1987

BOAT NIAGARA FALLS, INC.,
PETITIONER,

Vv.

FRANCISCO JOIA AaNnp
JO-JA SERVICE CORP.,
RESPONDENTS.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for
the First Circuit.

THOMAS E. CLINTON
Counsel of Record
SETH S. HOLBROOK
CLINTON AND MuzykKaA, P.C.
One State Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02109
(617) 723-9165
Attorneys for Petitioner

October 30, 1987

BATEMAN & SLADE, INC BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS

7 ane, An) i i

7 = _

x ae) ai oo
i - | ns

; .
ae _ oo ee eT
Se 1 ae aa

a
_ a ori a
sy > 7

Ay
= = ¥ a a S
= - ne

40

7 ; a ; 7 . | | |
. ae s ee Prey tee Pe Oe ne a a a
:

Question Presented.

The jury at the District Court trial assessed comparative
fault in this seaman’s personal injury action as follows:

The plaintiff — 5%
The co-defendant vessel ee
owner/employee — 30%

An intervening joint tortfeasor
co-defendant — 65%

The trial court entered judgment on the principle of joint
and several liability vitiating the comparative jury finding.

The question presented is:

Whether the application of the Massachusetts’ common law
principle of joint and several liability affirmed by the First
Circuit in an action commenced pursuant to the Jones Act (46
U.S.C. § 688) and the General Maritime Law conflicts with
the reason and principle of United States v. Reliable Transfer
Co., 421 U.S. 397 (1975) and creates a conflict with the
principle of comparative negligence as applied by the Fifth,
Eighth, and Eleventh Circuits.

List of All Parties.

All parties to this action appear in the caption of this Petition.
There are no subsidiaries or affiliates.

ee TT ETT a

Vv

Table of Contents.

Questions presented

List of all parties

Table of authorities

Opinions below

Jurisdiction

Statute involved

Statement of the case
Existence of jurisdiction below
Reasons for granting the writ

I. The decision is in direct conflict with the reason
and principle of United States v. Reliable Trans-
fer Co—

II. The decision of the First Circuit is contrary to
the decisions of the Fifth and the Eleventh Cir-
cuits ;

III. This issue is strongly in need of the Supreme
Court’s voice

Conclusion

9
10

Appendices follows p. 11

Table of Authorities Cited.
CASES.

Bartlett v. New Mexico Welding Supply, Inc., 646
P.2d 570 (N.M. App. 1982)

Edmonds v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, 443
U.S. 256 (1979)

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

Executive Jet Aviation Co. v. City of Cleveland, 409
U.S. 249 (1972)

Fitzgerald v. United States Lines, 374 U.S. 16 (1963)

Gormley v. Van Ingen, 736 F.2d 624 (11th Cir. 1983)

Griffith v. Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Corp., 610 F.2d
116, vacated and remanded, 451 U.S. 156, rein-
stated, 657 F.2d 25 (3d Cir. 1981)

Harrison v. Flota Mercante Grancolombiana, 577 F.2d
968 (Sth Cir. 1979)

Joia v. Jo-Ja Service Corp., 817 F.2d 908 (Ist Cir.
1987)

Jovovich v. Desco Marine Inc., 809 F.2d 1529 (Lith
Cir. 1987) 6,

Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique,
358 U.S. 625 (1959)

Laubach v. Morgan, 588 P.2d 1071 (Okla. 1978)

Leger v. Drilling Well Control, Inc., 592 F.2d 1246
(Sth Cir. 1987) 6, 8,

Pope and Talbot v. Hawn, 346 U.S. 406 (1953)

Smith and Kelly Co. v. S/S Concordia Tadj, 718 F.2d
1022 (11th Cir. 1983)

SNCO Barge Lines v. Sun Transportation Co., 775
F.2d 221 (8th Cir. 1985) .

The Lottawanna, 21 Wall. 558, 22 L.Ed. 654 (1874)

United States v. Reliable Transfer Co., 421 U.S. 397
(1975) 5. @. Fs

Walsh v. Zuisei Kaiun, 606 F.2d 259 (9th Cir. 1979)

Oo ©

oo

~

~

— ©

Vii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED.

STATUTES.

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)

28 U.S.C. § 1333

46 U.S.C. § 183

46 U.S.C. § 688(a)

West's Ann. Cal. Civ. Code, Sections 1431 et seq.

MISCELLANEOUS.

Granelli, “The Attack on Joint and Several Liability,”

71 ABA Journal 61 (July, 1985)
14 Va. L. Rev. 677 (1927-28)

nA >} UM Nw

10

No. -.. 4
In the
Supreme Court of the United States.
OcTOBER TERM, 1987

BOAT NIAGARA FALLS, INC.,
PETITIONER,

FRANCISCO JOIA AND
JO-JA SERVICE CORP.,
RESPONDENTS.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for
the First Circuit.

Opinions Below.

The opinion of the United States District Court for the Dis-
trict of Massachusetts with regard to the application of joint
and several liability was not reported. The opinion of the
United States District Court for the District of Massachusetts
can be found in the Appendix (A. 27a). The opinion of the
United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit is reported
at Joia v. Jo-Ja Service Corp., 817 F.2d 908 (1st Cir. 1987).

2

Jurisdiction.

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the First Circuit
was entered on May 1, 1987 (A. 25a).

The judgment of the Court of Appeals for the First Circuit
denying the Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion of Rehearing
en banc was entered on June 17, 1987 (A. 26a). On September
10, 1987, the time for filing this petition was extended to
October 30, 1987.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28
U.S.C. § 1254(1).

Statute Involved.
The Jones Act, 46 U.S.C.S. Appx., Section 688(a) provides:

Any seaman who shall suffer personal injury in the
course of his employment may, at his election main-
tain an action for damages at law, with the right of
trial by jury, and in such action all statutes of the
United States modifying or extending the common-
law right or remedy in cases of personal injury to
railway employees shall apply; and in case of the
death of any seaman as a result of any such personal
injury the personal representative of such seaman
may maintain an action for damages at law with the
right of trial by jury, and in such action all statutes
of the United States conferring or regulating the right
of action for death in the case of railway employees
shall be applicable. Jurisdiction in such actions shall
be under the Court of the district in which the defend-
ant employer resides or in which his principal office
is located.

3
Statement of the Case.

This is an action in tort for personal injury suffered by the
Plaintiff, Francisco Joia on August 1, 1983, on the fishing
vessel NIAGRA FALLS. The plaintiff’s accident occurred
when he slipped on hydraulic fluid which had overflowed onto
the engine room floor when a Jo-Ja employee mistakenly filled
the hydraulic tank with fresh water. Suit was commenced
against co-defendants Jo-Ja Service Corp. and Boat Niagara
Falls, Inc. on March 14, 1984 in the United States District
Court for the District of Massachusetts.

Trial was held before Mazzone, J., and a jury. The plaintiff
proceeded upon two counts against co-defendant, Boat Niagara
Falls, Inc. and one count against co-defendant Jo-Ja Service
Corp. Both Jo-Ja Service Corp. and Boat Niagara Falls, Inc.
filed crossclaims against each other for indemnification. At
the close of all the evidence, both defendants moved for di-
rected verdicts on the plaintiff ’s Complaint which were denied.

The case was presented to the jury against Boat Niagara
Falls, Inc. on counts alleging Jones Act negligence and-unsea-
worthiness. The case presented to the jury against the defend-
ant, Jo-Ja Service Corp. consisted of a single count alleging
negligence in creating a dangerous condition on the F/V NIAG-
ARA FALLS.

Instructions were submitted to the jury by the Court under
comparative fault principles of maritime law. Accordingly,
special questions were propounded to the jury to determine
the plaintiff ’s and defendants’ percentage of causal negligence.

The jury returned a verdict assessing liability for plaintiff ’s
accident as follows: : |

Plaintiff, Francisco Joia — 5%
Boat Niagara Falls, Inc. —- 30%
Jo-Ja Service Corp. — 65%

4

The jury assessed plaintiff ’s damages in the total amount of
$360,000.00 consisting of the following breakdown:

Pain and suffering $250,036.00
Past Wages | 44,000.00
Future Lost Earnings 65,964.00
Total Damages $360,000.00

The jury also awarded prejudgment interest at the rate of 10%.

Subsequent to the verdict both defendants filed Motions for
Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict which were denied.
The defendant Jo-Ja Service Corp. presented evidence on its
affirmative defense of limitation of liability under 46 U.S.C.
§§ 183 et seq. After a hearing, the trial judge granted limitation
and permitted defendant Jo-Ja Service Corp. as operator of
the waterboat to limit its liability to a stipulated figure of
$50,000.00, the value of the water boat. Judgment was entered
against defendant Boat Niagara Falls, Inc. in the amount of
$292,000.00 and prejudgment interest from August 1, 1983
on past lost wages of $44,000.00 and the defendant Jo-Ja
Service Corp. in the amount of $50,000.00. Following the
trial court’s denial of its Motions for Judgment Notwithstanding
the Verdict and for a New Trial, defendant Boat Niagara Falls,
Inc. timely filed its Notice of Appeal.

On appeal, the United States Court of Appeals for the First
Circuit reversed the finding allowing limitation of liability as
to Jo-Ja Service Corp. It affirmed the District Court’s findings
as to the application of joint liability as to Boat Niagara Falls’
responsibility for the damages even though Boat Niagara Falls
was only 30 percent at fault for plaintiff ’s injuries.

The First Circuit panel based its affirmance of the application
of joint liability on two grounds: the application of Massachu-

5

setts common law and an interpretation of United States v.
Reliable Transfer Co., 421 U.S. 397 (1975). The Court
examined Massachusetts law despite the clear application of
general maritime law to the facts of the case where the incident
involved a traditional maritime activity on a vessel in navigable
waters. The panel’s interpretation of the Reliable Transfer case
clearly ignored the express language of that opinion by Stating,
“Furthermore, there was no indication [in Reliable Transfer]
that the comparative fault rule should apply to a situation other
than a maritime collision or stranding.” (A. 15a).

Jo-Ja Service Corp. has few assets of any value. Its protec-
tion and indemnity insurance coverage has a $50,000.00 limit.
Therefore, the petitioner Jo-Ja Service Corp. is faced with
having to pay far more than its proportionate share of the
damages as assessed by the jury. Specifically, Boat Niagara
Falls, Inc. is forced to pay all of the damages in excess of
$50,000.00 even though it was found to be only 30% at fault.

Existence of Jurisdiction Below.

The United States District Court for the District of Massa-
chusetts had jurisdiction over the toit claims of the respondent
pursuant to the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C.S. Appx. Section 688
and 28 U.S.C. § 1333. ‘

Reasons for Granting the Writ.

This Court should grant certiorari because the decision of
the First Circuit is in direct conflict with the reason and prin-
ciple of United States v. Reliable Transfer Co., 421 U.S. 397
(1975). The First Circuit decision also presents a principle as
to which the Courts of Appeal are in conflict. Leger v. Drilling

6

Well Control, Inc., 592 F.2d 1246 (Sth Cir. 1987), Jovovich
v. Desco Marine, Inc., 809 F.2d 1529 (11th Cir. 1987). The
application of joint and several liability in cases brought by
Jones Act seamen against two or more defendants would have
dramatic consequences for the maritime industry.

I. THE DECISION Is IN DIRECT CONFLICT WITH THE REASON
AND PRINCIPLE OF United States v. Reliable Transfer Co.

This Court in United States v. Reliable Transfer, 421 U.S.
397 (1975) abandoned the admiralty rule of divided damages,
whereby the amount of property damage in a maritime collision
case is equally divided whenever two or more parties involved
are found to be guilty of contributory fault regardless of the
relative degree of their fault. The Court replaced the divided
damages rule with a standard requiring liability for such dam-
age to be allocated among the parties proportionately to the
comparative degree of their fault. 421 U.S. at 411. This Court
noted that “‘a proportional fault rule would simply bring recov-
ery for property damage in maritime collision cases into line
with the rule of admiralty law long since established by Con-
gress for personal injury cases.” Jd. at 409.

The First Circuit panel however, in its opinion of May 1,
1987, referring to Reliable Transfer, stated that “there was no
indication in that the comparative fault rule should apply to a
situation other than a maritime collision or stranding.” (A.
15a.) This is directly contrary to the express language of the
Reliable Transfer opinion.

The Reliable Transfer Court even noted that “in our own
admiralty law a rule of comparative negligence has !ong been
applied with no untoward difficulties in personal injury actions.”

7

421 U.S. at 407, citing Pope and Talbot v. Hawn, 346 U.S.
406 (1953). Therefore, since the First Circuit’s rationale for
the application of joint and several liability was based on an
erroneous reading of Reliable Transfer, the writ should be
granted.

The panel’s decision cited Massachusetts common law in
support of its affirmance of the application of the doctrine of
joint and several liability. However, it is clear that the panel
should not have looked to Massachusetts common law as the
alleged act of negligence occurred on the navigable waters of
the United States. The plaintiff pleaded in his Complaint that
his accident resulted from a traditional maritime activity and
stated that the action was brought pursuant to the Jones Act
and the General Maritime Law. The action therefore, is clearly
within the scope of admiralty jurisdiction. Executive Jet Avia-
tion Co. v. City of Cleveland, 409 U.S. 249 (1972). Under
the Supremacy Clause, the federal maritime law rather than
the state law must be applied. The Lottawanna, 21 Wall. 558,
22 L.Ed. 654 (1874); Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale Trans-
atlantique, 358 U.S. 625 (1959).

The comparative fault rule has been adopted in maritime
personal injury actions and recognized by various circuits in
maritime personal injury cases. Harrison v. Flota Mercante
Grancolombiana, 577 F.2d 968 (Sth Cir. 1979); Griffith v.
Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Corp., 610 F.2d 116, vacated and
remanded, 451 U.S. 156, reinstated, 657 F.2d 25 (3d Cir.
1981); Walsh v. Zuisei Kaiun, 606 F.2d 259 (9th Cir. 1979);
Smith and Kelly Company v. S/S Concordia Tadj, 718 F.2d
1022 (11th Cir. 1983).

The doctrine of joint and several liability is inimical to the
application of a porportionate fault rule. Bartlett v. New Mexico
Welding Supply Inc., 646 P.2d 570, 586 (N.M. App. 1982).
It is important to underscore that the doctrine of joint and
several liability developed under the common law system of

8

contributory negligence where a plaintiff who was guilty of
the slightest negligence was barred from recovery. The law
balanced this possible inequity by allowing a plaintiff who
was found to be legally pure because he was not even siightly
negligent to collect his entire judgment from any defendant
who was guilty of even slight negligence. Laubach v. Morgan,
588 P.2d 1071 (Okla. 1978), 14 Va. L. Rev. 677 (1927-28).
Now that admiralty courts are able to determine degrees of fault,
and a plaintiff can recover regardless of his own degree of fault,
the doctrine of joint and several liability is no longer viable.

The First Circuit correctly noted that the decision of Ed-
monds v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, 443 U.S. 256
(1979) is not controlling in the instant case. The holding of
that decision is distinguished because of the unique remedial
purpose of the Longshoreman’s and Harbor Worker’s Compen-
sation Act and the “delicate balance between the statute and
judge made law.” /d. at 273. There is no such statute involved
in the instant case.

II. THE DECISION OF THE First Circuit Is CONTRARY
TO THE DECISIONS OF THE FIFTH AND
THE ELEVENTH CIRCUITS.

If the First Circuit opinion of May 1, 1987 is allowed to
stand, this holding will be in direct conflict to that of the Fifth
Circuit and the Eleventh Circuit. In Leger v. Drilling Well
Control, Inc., 592 F.2d 1246 (Sth Cir. 1979) the Fifth Circuit
explicitly adopted the rationale of Reliable Transfer in the
application of comparative fault principles where one defendant
has settled before trial. The Leger court extensively discussed
the principles of Reliable Transfer and specifically held that
a defendant should not pay more than its allocated share of
liability. “The reasoning of Reliable Transfer loses none of its

9
cogency in the context of a non-collision personal injury case.”
Id. at 1251. This is directly opposite to the First Circuit’s
reasoning in the instant case.

The Eijeventh Circuit has recently held in Jovovich v. Desco
Marine Inc., 809 F.2d 1529 (11th Cir. 1987) that in maritime
cases, damages are to be apportioned according to fault. In
Jovovich, the issue was whether a settling defendant in a per-
sonal injury action could seek indemnity from non-setting de-
fendants where the settlement was greater than its proportionate
share of liability. The court explicitly noted that in the Eleventh
Circuit the guidelines of Leger apply “to all theories of maritime
liability apportionment including indemnity and contribution.”
Id. at 1532. See, Germley v. Van Ingen, 736 F.2d 624 (11th
Cir. 1983).

Therefore, the First Circuit’s opinion of May 1, 1987 is
directly contrary to that of the Fifth and Eleventh Circuits.
See, SNCO Barge Lines v. Sun Transportation Co., 775 F.2d
221 (8th Cir. 1985). This opinion creates a conflict among the
circuits and is inimical to the uniformity of maritime law which
is of such vital national importance.

III. THis Issue Is STRONGLY IN NEED OF THE
SUPREME COuRT’S VOICE.

The First Circuit opinion also states that the question of the
viability of doctrine of joint and several liability is better left
to the legislature. However, as this Court has stated, “Congress
has largely left to this Court the responsibility for fashioning
the controlling rules of admiralty law.” Fitzgerald v. United
States Lines, 374 U.S. 16, 20 (1963), quoted in Reliable Trans-
fer, 421 U.S. at 409.

If this decision is allowed to stand, a defendant in a maritime
action will be responsible for all of a plaintiff ’s damages even

10

though it was only at fault in a small degree. This will have
the practical effect of imposing a heavy financial burden on
an already troubled industry.

Many states have abolished joint and several liability or
severely modified the doctrine. Granelli, “The Attack on Joint
and Several Liability,” 71 ABA Journal 61 (July, 1985). New

_. Hampshire, Vermont, Ohio, Kansas and New Mexico have
abolished joint and several liability while Nevada, Texas, In-
diana, Louisiana, Oregon, Pennsylvania, lowa, Minnesota and
Oklahoma have placed limitations on its application. /d. at
62. California has recently enacted a statute which drastically
modifies joint liability. West’s Ann. Cal. Civ. Code, Sections
1431 et seq.

This subject is very much in need of the Supreme Court’s
voice. This Court should address this matter which will have
a large impact on the maritime field.

Conclusion.

The Petitioner prays that the Writ of Certiorari should prop-
erly be granted because the issue raised affects uniformity of
maritime law in an industry where federal statutory and general
maritime law control.

11

The impact of a return to state common law principles of
joint and several liability will place seamen personal injury
law in a state of confusion affecting all industries attempting
to seek uniformity for the protection of this class of individual.

Respectfully submitted,

THOMAS E. CLINTON
Counsel of Record

SETH S. HOLBROOK
CLINTON anpD MUZYKA, P.C.
One State Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02109
(617) 723-9165
Attorneys for Petitioner

October 30, 1987

Table of Contents.

Appendix A — Opinion of the United States Court of
Appeals for the First Circuit dated May |, 1987

Appendix B — Judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the First Circuit dated May 1, 1987

Appendix C — Order of the United States Court of
Appeals for the First Circuit dated June 17, 1987

Appendix D — Memorandum and Order on Judgment
of the United States District Court for the District
of Massachusetts dated August 30, 1985

Appendix E — Judgment in a Civil Case of the United
States District Court of the District of Massachusetts
dated September 16, 1985

la

25a

26a

27a

3la

la
Appendix A.

United States Court of Appeals
For the First Circuit

No. 85-1753

FRANCISCO JOIA,
Plaintiff, Appellee,

Vv.

JO-JA SERVICE CORP.,
Defendant, Appellee.

BOAT NIAGARA FALLS, INC.,
Defendant, Appellant.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS
{[Hon. A. David Mazzone, U.S. District Judge]

Before
Campbell, Chief Judge,
Torruella, Circuit Judge,

and Pieras,* District Judge.

Thomas E. Clinton with whom Clinton & Muzyka, P.C.
was on brief for appellant.

Thomas J. Hunt with whom Law Offices of Thomas J. Hunt
was on brief for Francisco Joia.

Richard B. Kydd with whom Michael F. Kuppens and Knee-
land, Kydd & Handy were on brief for Jo-Ja Service Corporation.

May 1, 1987

* Of the District of Puerto Rico, sitting by designation.

2a

PIERAS, District Judge. This is a seamen’s suit for personal
injuries against the employer and a water boat who had a
service contract with the employer. Plaintiff, Francisco Joia
(hereinafter “Joia’”) brought two counts against his employer,
Boat Niagara Falls, Inc. (hereinafter “Niagara’’), the first under
the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688 et seqg., and the second under
the general maritime theory of unseaworthiness. Joia brought
one count of common law negligence, a state law pendent
claim, against co-defendant Jo-Ja Service Corporation,' the
owner of the water boat, (hereinater “Jo-Ja’’). Both co-defend-
ants filed cross claims for contractual indemnity. The case was
tried to a jury on plaintiff's counts, and it returned a verdict
for plaintiff, finding Jo-Ja 65% negligent, Niagara 30% negli-
gent, and plaintiff 5% negligent. The jury awarded plaintiff
damages in the amount of $360,000.00, allocating $44,000.00
for past wages, $65,964.00 for lost future earnings, and
$250,036.00 for pain and suffering. It also awarded prejudg-
ment interest at the rate of 10%.

At the close of plaintiff's case, Niagara moved for a directed
verdict, which was denied. Both codefendants filed motions
for judgment notwithstanding the verdict, which were also
denied. The district court heard Jo-Ja’s motion for limitation
of liability, and by memorandum and order of judgment the
court limited Jo-Ja’s liability to the stipulated value of its
vessel, which was $50,000.00. It entered judgment for plaintiff
in the amount of $342,000.00, $50,000.00 against Jo-Ja, and
$292,000.00 against Niagara. The court allowed prejudgment
interest on the $44,000.00 past lost wages from August 1,
1983, onward. The assigned errors we examine on appeal
relate to the denials of the directed verdict and judgment n.o.v.,
the limitation of liability, joint and severai liability, excessive
damages, and the codefendant’s cross claims.

'The parties settled two counts relating to maintenance and cure, and a
stipulation of dismissal as to these counts was filed on May 29, 1985.
P y

3a
I. Factual Background

On August 1, 1983, Joia was the engineer aboard the F/V
NIAGARA FALLS, an eighty-foot-long steel hull stern drag-
ger owned by Niagara. On that date it was docked in New
Bedford, Massachusetts, having just returned from a fishing
trip. At approximately 5:00 a.m., the water boat CHIPPY,
owned by Jo-Ja, pulled alongside the F/V NIAGARA FALLS
to fill its fresh water tank pursuant to a contract. The operator
of the CHIPPY, Michael Mahoney, had previously filled the
fresh water tank on the F/V NIAGARA FALLS approximately
six to twelve times with no difficulty finding the water recep-
tacle. However, on this date the operator mistakenly pumped
approximately 200 to 300 gallons of water into its hydraulic
oil fill. The hydraulic oil tank thus was over-filled causing a
_ mixture of hydraulic fluid and water to overflow inside the
boat. This fluid mix spilled onto the floor of the engine room.
After realizing his mistake, the operator turned off the water
and proceeded to fill the correct tank. Joia’s claim of unseawor-
thiness against his employer was primarily based upon the lack
of proper markings to identify the separate water and hydraulic
oil fills.

Mahoney called his supervisor, Clifford Davignon, at about
6:30 a.m. and informed him of the accident. Davignon told
the operator that he would take care of it. He arrived at the
vessel at about 6:45 a.m. to find it locked. He contacted his
employer, Thomas Thomas, at about 7:00 a.m., who instructed
Davignon to clean the mess.

Meanwhile, at 9:00 a.m., Joia arrived to start the engine of
the F/V NIAGARA FALLS. Joia walked partway down the
ladder to the engine room and stopped when he saw water and
oil all over the engine room floor. He watched from the ladder
for about 10 to 15 minutes to determine the cause of the mess
and then left the vessel to speak to the owners. He first spoke
to co-owner, Joe Beatriz, who was unaware of the problem.

4a

Joia told Beatriz that he needed a pump to pump the water
out. Beatriz gave Joia no instructions. Joia then spoke with
co-owner Tony Pimental, who told Joia to clean the engine
room. Joia responded that he could not clean the engine room
until he pumped out some of the water.

Joia, ordered by Joe Beatriz, purchased a pump at a supply
store and returned to the vessel at 11:40 a.m. He stepped down
the ladder and into the engine room with the pump, and saw
that the water level on the floor had not changed. Joia knew
from experience that the oil on the floor was hydraulic oil. As
he walked through the oil and water on the deck, he slipped
and fell. He sat on the deck for three or four minutes, got up
and took his tools, and installed the pump. Shortly after his
fall, a representative of Jo-Ja arrived on the vessel. Joia asked
the representative what happened, who responded that he did
not know. Joia then called his wife, who picked him up at the
vessel and took him to a doctor. He suffered back injuries,
and required the surgical removal of a hydrocele in his right
testicle, as well as a laminectomy to remove a herniated disc.

II. Directed Verdict and Motion for Judgment N.O.V.

Niagara contends that the district court erred in denying
both Niagara’s motion for directed verdict and the motion for
judgment notwithstanding the verdict. Its ground of support
was that Joia breached his duty to his employer, Niagara, to
maintain and keep clean the engine room on the F/V NIAGARA
FALLS. The standard of review of a refusal to grant a directed
verdict and a refusal to grant a judgment n.o.v. is the same.
De Mars v. Equitable Life Assur. Soc. of U.S., 610 F.2d 55,
57 (Ist Cir. 1979). A verdict should be granted only where
the evidence could lead reasonable men to but one conclusion,
without evaluating the credibility of the witnesses or consider-
ing the weight of the evidence. /d. at 57. The appeals court
must view the evidence most favorable to the nonmoving party

Sa

and give that party the benefit of all reasonable inference. /d.
Because the standard of review is the same, we consider both
motions together. With these axioms in mind, we now consider
the district court’s rulings.

Niagara argues the evidence shows that Joia is barred from
recovery because his injuries resulted from a breach of his
contractual duty to his employer, that of maintaining and clean-
ing the engine room, citing Peymann v. Perini Corp., 507
F.2d 1318 (ist Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 421 U.S. 914, 95
S.Ct. 1572, 43 L.Ed.2d 780 (1975). In Peymann, the plaintiff
was an engineer on the defendant shipowner’s tug boat. While
conducting an engine overhaul, plaintiff attempted to hook a
chain fall overhead. In order to reach the hook, plaintiff was
required to stand upon something to increase his height. He
looked but could not find a ladder. Instead, he perched “like
a bird” on an iron pipe rail, of which he knew oil constantly
dripped on. He fell from his perch and was injured. The trial
court directed a verdict for the defendant. The appeals court
affirmed, stating that the jury could have found that it was
plaintiff's primary duty to maintain the engine room in a sea-
worthy condition, and that stepping on the rail without wiping
off the oil which was placed there by him, was his sole respon-
sibility. Peymann, 507 F.2d at 1323. Peymann is distinguish-
able from the case at bar. In Peymann, the plaintiff was respon-
sible for creating the condition which caused his injuries,
whereas here, a third party over whom Joia had no control
created the unseaworthy condition on the engine room deck
of F/V NIAGARA FALLS. Joia testified that the maintenance
of the engine room was his responsibility. Co-owner Pimental
directed him to clean the mess, saying: “If you said this is a
big old mess, you go clean it up.” Joia responded that he
needed to pump out some of the water in order to lower the
oil level, otherwise, additional water would cause the oil to
rise over the deck again. He then proceeded to install the

6a

pump in the engine room, where he fell and suffered his in-
juries.

Furthermore, had his employer not given him directions,
this might be a different case. Joia proceeded only under the
general directions of his employer, where in Peymann, the
plaintiff proceeded under his own directions. Indeed, under
these circumstances, it would have seemed futile for Joia to
have first attempted to clean the deck and then to pump the
water, and foolish for his employer to have so directed. We
cannot say that under Peymann, as a matter of law, Joia
breached his duty to maintain a clean engine room. Joia was
directed to clean this mess, understood his responsibility to
maintain the engine room, and proceeded to remedy the prob-
lem in a manner he saw fit. This evidence could not lead
reasonable men to one conclusion. It was for the jury to decide
whether Joia proceeded in a reasonable manner, and it did
decide, finding Joia 5% contributorily negligent.* We find that
the district court properly denied Niagara’s motions for directed
verdict and judment on Joia’s breach of duty to his employer.

III. Charge to the Jury

Niagara next argues that the district court committed preju-
dicial error in refusing to give its requested jury instructions

>This case is somewhat similar to Caddy v. Texaco, Inc., 363 Mass. 36,
292 N.E.2d 348 (1973). In Caddy, supra, a seamen was instructed to clean
up oil and do some other work, but was not told in what order to proceed.
The court held that his performing the other work first would only make him
contributorily negligent, and not bar him from recovery. In Peymann, this
court suggested that if the Caddy seaman had been instructed to clean the oil
first, but instead performed the other work first, he might not recover from
his injuries. 507 F.2d at 1323 n.2. Here Joia had to do two things, pump the
water and clean the deck, though he was not instructed in what order. Joia did
not disobey employer’s orders, but proceeded to clean by pumping water first.
While it may have been advisable, for instance, to place a plank over the deck,
rather than wade through the oil and water, his manner of walking could only
make him contributorily negligent. .

Ta =

regarding Joia’s duty to his employer. The requested instruc-
tions dealt with the rule of Peymann, that is, if the jury found
that the sole cause of Joia’s injuries was his breach of duty to
his employer, he is barred from recovery. That argument need
not detain us long, for we have previously determined that the
rule of Peymann is not applicable here.

While all parties are entitled to an adequate jury instruction
upon the controlling issues, the court need not employ the
precise language urged by any party. Computer Identics Corp.
v. Southern Pacific Co., 756 F.2d 200, 203-04 (1st Cir. 1985).
Moreover, if the district court’s instruction properly apprises
the jury of the applicable law, the failure to give the-exact
instruction requested does not prejudice the objecting party.
McKinnon v. Skil Corp., 638 F.2d 270, 274 (1st Cir. 1981).

Our review of the jury instructions given regarding the duty
issue shows that the district court adequately covered the ap-
plicable rules of law. In charging the jury, the district court
instructed that the defendants were entitled to “rely upon him
(Joia) to exercise reasonable care, knowledge and skill as an
experienced person or as an experienced engineer.” Moreover,
the district court instructed more than once that the jury was
to consider whether Joia’s injuries were caused, in whole or
in part, by his own negligence, and that the jury was to assign
a percentage of any negligence committed by Joia and the
defendants. The jury was instructed that it would assign a
percentage of fault of 1 to 100 to either of the parties and that
the total percentages must equal 100. Further, the jury was
provided special verdict forms, which contained the names of
the parties and a blank space after each for the assignment of
percentages of negligence. Had the jury assigned 100 percent
neligence to Joia, as it was told it could, a fortiori, Joia would
have been denied recovery.

8a
IV. Limitation of Liability and Joint and Several Liability

Both Niagara and Joia argue that the district court erred in
limiting Jo-Ja’s liability pursuant to 46 U.S.C. § 183. After
the jury verdict, and upon motion of Jo-Ja, the court limited
Jo-Ja’s liability to the stipulated value of the vessel, CHIPPY,
to be $50,000.00. The court then entered judgment against
Niagara for $292,000.00 and against Jo-Ja for $50,000.00,
for a total judgment of $342,000.00, stating that but for the
limiiation, judgment would be entered jointly and severally
against both defendants for $342,000.00. The plaintiff was to
bare the brunt of his 5% negligence, or, $18,000.00. Thus,
while the jury assessed 30% fault on Niagara, that court ad-
judged the defendant approximately 81% liable; on the other
hand, Jo-Ja, which was adjudged to have incurred 65% negli-
gence, must pay a maximum of only 19% of the judgment.

But for the limitation of liability, the parties would be jointly
and severally liable in the amount of $342,000.00 on the three
counts. The issue of whether the district court should or should
not have limited Jo-Ja’s liability presents a second, more com-
pelling issue. That is, whether the dollar value of the judgment
against Niagara should exceed its proportionate share of fault.
Niagara argues this court should adopt the proportionate fault
rule, and abolish joint and several liability in this context.
Because Niagara’s ultimate liability depends upon our resolu-
tion of the limitation of liability issue, we will first resolve
the issue of limitation of liability.

The Limitation of Liability Act of 1851, 46U.S.C. § 183(a),
provides that in the event of an accident “done, occasioned,
or incurred, without the privity or knowledge” of the vessel
owner, the liability of the owner shall not exceed the value of
the vessel. To determine the entitlement to limitation, the court
must find what acts of negligence caused the accident. Second,
the court must determine whether the vessel owner had knowl-
edge or privity of those acts, in order to grant or deny limita-

aul

9a

tion. Farrell Lines, Inc. v. Jones, 530 F.2d 7, 10 (Sth Cir.
1976), reh’g denied, 532 F.2d 1375 (Sth Cir. 1976). In the
context of the corporate shipowner, as we have here, the privity
and knowledge scrutiny focuses not only on what the corporate
owner knows, but also on what the corporate owner should
have known. Tittle v. Aldacosta, 544 F.2d 752 (Sth Cir. 1977),
reh’g denied, 546 F.2d 906 (Sth Cir. 1977); Gilmore and
Black, The Law of Admiralty 886 (2d ed. 1975).

The district court found that Thomas, the owner of the water
boat CHIPPY, was unaware of the operator’s negligence in
pumping the water into the hydraulic oil tank, and that Thomas
was not on board the CHIPPY when the pumping occurred.
That analysis is not sufficient to determine the issue, for

An owner cannot close its eyes to what prudent inspection
would reveal. An owner must avail itself of whatever
means of knowledge are reasonably necessary to prevent
conditions likely to cause losses. “If lack of actual knowl-
edge were enough, imbecility, real or assumed, on the
part of owners would be at a premium.”

Waterman S.S. Co. v. Gay Cottons, 414 F.2d 724, 732 (9th
Cir. 1969), quoting The Argent, 1940 A.M.C. 508, 509
(S.D.N.Y. 1915).

Rather, the court must determine whether the shipowner
had knowledge of the “acts of negligence or conditions of
unseaworthiness.” Farrell, 530 F.2d at 10. Undoubtedly,
Thomas, as well as high managerial personnel, Clifford Davig-
non, the managing agent of the waterboat, knew of the pumping
accident well before Joia suffered his injuries. Mahoney called
Davignon and told him of the accident. Davignon contacted
Thomas at approximately 7:00 a.m. and told him of the acci-
dent. Thomas informed Davignon to clean up the mess the
“best way he could.” Davignon posted no warning signs, failed

10a

to inform Joia or others of the accident, and returned to the
engine deck some three hours later, after Joia had injured
himself.

This is not a case where the vessel is at sea and the owner
is unaware of emergencies, thus having to rely on his master.
Instead, the vessel was docked, and the owner, as well as
management, was within calling distance for any eventuality.
It was Thomas who gave the directions to make the vessel
seaworthy. Merely because Thomas did not watch the pumping
accident, does not prevent him from having privity. or knowl-
edge of the circumstances which made the vessel unseaworthy.
As the above facts clearly show, Thomas was aware of the
accident very shortly after it occurred. Because of this lack of
due diligence, the dangerous condition remained to the peril
of others, including Joia.

[W]here the circumstances are such that the owners or
managing agents have a duty to act to see that the vessel
is made seaworthy, a neglect or failure to take such action
will require denial of limitation. Mere instructions to sub-
ordinate employees will not suffice to give the owner the
benefit of the limitation act.

States §.S. Co. v. United States, 259 F.2d 458, 472 (9th Cir.
1957), cert. denied, 358 U.S. 933, 79 S.Ct. 316, 3 L.Ed.2d
305 (1959). The Supreme Court discussed the privity or knowl-
edge of a boat owner in an analogous situation in Spencer
Kellogg and Sons, Inc. v. Hicks, 285 U.S. 502, 52 S.Ct. 450,
76 L.Ed. 903 (1932). Spencer Kellogg operated a factory on
the New Jersey side of the Hudson River. It owned a launch
which it used to ferry employees to and from New York City
across the Hudson. The launch was not seaworthy when ice

lla

was in the river, and so the owner had instructed the manager
of the factory, Stover, to not allow the launch to be used when
ice was in the river. Stover so instructed the launch operator.
Despite this instruction, on a day when there was ice in the
river the launch was used, which resulted in an accident
wherein lives were lost. The owner of the launch, Spencer
Kellogg, sought to limit its liability, claiming it had no knowl-
edge or privity with the negligent acts of the launch operator.
The Supreme Court rejected this argument and found that the
launch owner could properly be charged with knowledge or
privity. The Court observed:

The argument is that as the boat was seaworthy when
there was no ice and instructions had been given to a
competent master not to run her through ice, the owner
did its full duty and cannot be held responsible as having
privity or knowledge of a violation by the master of these
explicit instructions. Cases such as La Brougogne, 210
U.S. 95, 28 S.Ct. 664, 52 L.Ed. 973, which involved
the master’s failure to obey rules and instructions when
on the high seas and disaster attributable to such fault,
are cited. But there is a vast difference between the cases
relied on and the instant one. The launch was used for
ferriage over a distance of about a mile and a third. She
was known to be unseaworthy and unfit if there was ice
in the river. There is no analogy between such a situation
and that presented in the cited cases where the emergency
must be met by the master alone. In these there is no
opportunity of consultation or cooperation or of bringing
the proposed action of the master to the owner’s knowl-
edge. The latter must rely upon the master’s obeying rules
and using reasonable judgment. The conditions on the
moming in question could have been ascertained by

12a

Stover, if he had used reasonable diligence, and we think
the evidence is adequate to support the finding that the
negligence which caused the disaster was with his, and
therefore with the owner’s privity or knowledge.

Spencer Kellogg, 285 U.S. 511-12, 28 S.Ct. at 453. Cf. Napoli
v. [Transpacific Carriers Corp. and Universal Cargo Cariers,
Inc.| Hellenic Lines, Ltd., 536 F.2d 505 (2d Cir. 1976). Under
the circumstances of this case, Jo-Ja is held to have privity
and knowledge as a matter of law and is therefore not entitled
to limit its liability.

As noted above, Niagara contends that the judgment entered
against it should not exceed the proportionate degree of fault
assessed by the jury. The jury did not assess three separate
proportionate values of fault on each count. Rather, it placed
one set of fault values against the parties for all three counts.

Niagara argues that liability should be entered not jointly
and severally, but on the basis of responsibility. We understand
its concern. Had we ruled that Jo-Ja was entitled to limit its
liability, it would have faced a judgment of $292,000.00, an
amount substantiality greater than its proportionate share of
liability assessed by the jury, 30%, or $108,000.00. He argues,
therefore, that this court should abolish or limit joint and several
liability. His argument, however, must fail because the two
bodies -of law governing this case, maritime law and state
common law of negligence, both provide that the defendants
in this litigation are jointly and severally liable for the plaintiff's
losses.

a) Massachusetts Common Law

Under joint and several liability, the plaintiff is entitled to
collect only the amount of the judgment, although he may
recover any part or all of the judgment from one or more of
the tortfeasors. The effect of joint and several liability is that ~

13a

each defendant is liable for the entire amount of damages to
the plaintiff. Generally, the joint tortfeasor who pays more
than his pro rata share of the judgment has a right of contribu-
tion over against the other joint tortfeasors for the excess.

Under Massachusetts law, joint tortfeasors are jointly and
severally liable for a plaintiff's damages. Feneff v. Boston &
Maine R.R., 196 Mass. 575, 82 N.E. 705 (1907). “If two or
more wrongdoers negligently contribute to the personal injury
of another by their several acts, which operate concurrently
so that in effect the damages suffered are rendered inseparable,
they are jointly and severally liable.” Feneff, 196 Mass. at
581, 82 N.E. at 707. When two or more defendants are held
jointly and severally liable, the amount of the judgment is the
same against all joint tortfeasors. Delfino v. Torosian, 354
Mass. 395, 237 N.E.2d 694 (1968). Under Massachusetts
statutory law, a joint tortfeasor who pays more than his pro
rata share of the judgment has an action for contribution against
the other joint tortfeasors. Mass. Gen. L. ch. 231B. However,
proportionate share of liability is determined not upon the
relative degrees of fault, but by the number of joint tortfeasors
involved. MacLachlan v. Brotherhood Oil Corp., 10 Mass.
App. 811, 404 N.E.2d 1272 (1980).

b. The Law Under the Jones Act and General Maritime Law

Joia argues that under the Jones Act and the general maritime
law, joint tortfeasors are jointly and severally liable for a
seamen’s personal injuries, regardless of the defendants’ de-
grees of fault. Edmonds v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantic,
443 U.S. 256, 99 S.Ct. 2753, 61 L.Ed.2d 521 (1979); Cooper
Stevedoring Co. Inc. v. Fritz Kopke, Inc., 417 U.S. 106, 94
S.Ct. 2174, 40 L.Ed.2d 694 (1974). Niagara, on the other
hand; contends that admiralty law has long recognized a pro-
portionate fault rule, United States v. Reliable Transfer Co.,
421 U.S. 397, 95 S.Ct. 1708, 44 L.Ed.2d 251 (1975); Leger v.

l4a

Drilling Well Controi, Inc., 592 F.2d 1246 (Sth Cir. 1979),
or that, in the alternative, this court should recognize a pro-
portionate fault rule in maritime cases involving personal in-
juries to seamen. We examine these contentions in light of the
existing law.

In Reliable Transfer, the Supreme Court overruled the
mutual fault rule established in The Schooner Catharine v.
Dickinson, 58 U.S. (17 How.) 170, 15 L.E. 233 (1855), and
substituted a rule requiring that liability for damages be allo-
cated when possible in proportion to the relative fault of each
party. The mutual fault or equal contribution rule, which was
the law in admiralty collision cases for over a century prior,
required that property damage by equally divided whenever
two or more parties were at fault, regardless of the relative
degrees of fault.

In abolishing the rule, the Court noted that every major
maritime nation had since discarded it and replaced it with the
rule of comparative fault. Reliable Transfer, 421 U.S. at 397-
98. The divided damages rule rested on the assumption that
it provided “rough justice,” because a determination of fault
was difficult to measure. The Court stated that the rule was
no longer viable in those instances where a determination of
fault could be made in a particular collision, but that there are
occasions when degrees of fault cannot be calculated. A com-
parative negligence rule, moreover, would induce vessel own-
ers to be more careful and deter them from harmful conduct
that would result in greater liability. The Court’s holding was
clear:

We hold that when two or more parties have contributed
by their fault to cause property damage in a maritime
collision or stranding, liability for such damage is to be
allocated among the parties proportionately to the com-
parative degree of their fault, and that liability for such

15a

damages is to be allocated equally only when the parties
are equally at fault or when it is not possible fairly to
measure the comparative degree of their fault.

Reliable Transfer, 421 U.S. at 411. The Court’s holding was
limited to collision cases involving property damage. Further-
more, there was no indication that the comparative fault rule
should apply to a situation other than a maritime collision or
stranding.

In Leger v. Drilling Well Control, Inc., 592 F.2d 1246 (Sth
Cir. 1979), the Fifth Circuit extended the proportionate fault
rule of Reliable Transfer to a noncollision personal injury case
involving a seaman, stating that “[t]he reasoning of Reliable
Transfer loses none of its cogeny in the context of a non-col-
lision personal injury case.” 592 F.2d at 1249. In Leger, an
injured seaman brought suit against the defendants, under the
Jones Act and under general maritime law. After two trials,
the jury assigned comparative fault percentages against the
parties, and awarded the seaman damages for his personal
injuries. The award of damages came after the plaintiff settled
with two of the three defendants. In fact, the two defendants
settled for damages higher than their proportionate fault as
assessed by the jury. As it then existed, if the non-settling
defendant paid damages proportionate to his fault, the plaintiff
would recove an amount higher than the jury award. He there-
fore sought on appeal to reduce his damages to an amount
lower than his comparative fault. He was seeking in effect, a
dollar-for-dollar credit of the amounts the plaintiff received in
settlement. The Fifth Circuit rejected this argument, and held
that the nonsettling defendant must pay his portion of the total
damages of the jury award proportionate to his percentage of
negligence. Leger, $92 F.2d at 1248-50. In so holding, the
court based its decision on Reliable Transfer and Cooper
Stevedoring Co. v. Kopke, 417 U.S. 106, 94 S.Ct. 2174, 40

l6a

L.Ed.2d 694 (1974), which allowed contribution in noncolli-
sion maritime cases, but left open the issue of division of
damages. Furthermore, the Leger court saw this approach as
encouraging settlements. Neither did the seaman enjoy a double
recovery. Instead, it considered the plaintiff to have received
a favorable settiement. We decline to take this approach for
the following reasons.

We believe that Edmonds v. Compagnie Generale Transat-
lantique, 443 U.S. 256, 99 S.Ct. 2753, 61 L.Ed.2d 521 (1979),
thought not controlling, states the admiralty rule applicable
here. The plaintiff, a longshoreman, while employed by a
stevedore, was injured while working on a vessel. He recovered
statutory benefits from his employer under the Longshoreman’s
and Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act, 33 U.S.C. § 901 et
seq. (“Act”). He later brought a direct action in negligence
against the shipowner pursuant to § 905(b) of the Act. The
jury found the shipowner 20% negligent, the stevedore-em-
ployer 70% negligent, and the plaintiff 10% negligent. Upon
entering judgment, in accordance with maritime law, the dis-
trict court ruled that the shipowner was liable for all the dam-
ages not due to the plaintiff's own negligence. In other words,
though the shipowner was 20% negligent, it was liable for the
employer’s negligence for a total of 90% of Edmond’s dam-
ages. The Fourth Circuit reversed, holding that 1972 amend-
ments to the Act required the imposition of a proportionate
fault rule whereby the shipowner was liable only for the share
of damages assignable to its fault. The Supreme Court reversed
the appeals court, holding that the 1972 amendments did not
alter the traditional maritime rule thai, in a longshorerman’s
suit against a shipowner, while the award may be reduced by
the plaintiff's negligence, the shipowner is responsible to the
longshoreman for the remainder of the award, even if the
negligence of the stevedores contributed to the injury. Ed-

17a

monds, 443 U.S. at 272. The Court stated that Congress in-
tended the 1972 amendments to eliminate both the shipowner’s
warranty of seaworthiness to the longshoreman and the steve-
dore’s warranty of workmanlike service to the shipowner. Ed-
monds, 443 U.S. at 263. In dealing with the mixture of a
statutory and judge-made loss allocating mechanism, the Court
stated that this maritime rule applicable to a longshoreman’s
tort action is consonant with the common law rule.

This . . . rule is in accord with the common law, which
ailows an injured party to sue a tortfeasor for the full
amount of damages for an indivisible injury~that the
tortfeasor’s negligence was a substantial factor in causing,
even if the concurrent negligence of others contributed
to the incident.

443 U.S. at 261. Manifestly, while the narrow holding of
Edmonds does not govern a seaman’s action, the rule applied
there is the same as the rule applicable here.’

The Court recognized the inequitable burden in shipowner
must shoulder, but held a stronger distaste for the unfairness
a proportionate fault system would create against the longshore-
man in light of the remedial purpose of the Act. 443 U.S. at
271. The loss allocating mechanism employed in Edmonds
and the 1972 amendments are intended to compensate an in-
jured longshoreman as fully as possible for the damages suf-
fered.

We agree with the decision in Ebanks v. Great Lakes Dredge
& Dock Co., 688 F.2d 716 (11th Cir. 1982), cert. denied,
460 U.S. 1083, 103 S.Ct. 1774, 76 L.Ed.2d 346 (1983),

‘The Court cited the Restatement (Second) of Torts § 886 that “under trad-
itional tort law, a plaintiff obtaining a judgment against more than one corcur-
rent tortfeasor may satisfy it against any one of them.” /d. at 261 n.8.

18a

which held that in a maritime negligence action, it was error
for the trial court to submit to the jury special interrogatories
to determine the comparative degrees of fault between a defend-
ant and a non-party. Ebanks, 688 F.2d at 722. The court relied
on the Edmonds decision in holding that since the plaintiff
may receive against either of several joint tortfeasors, the com-
parative degrees of fault is irrelevant. /d. Furthermore, a paying
defendant has a right of contribution against a non-paying
entity that may be decided in a different proceeding. /d.

The joint and several loss allocating mechanism which serves
to provide an injured seaman his full judgment is consonant
with the policy behind the Jones Act, to provide protection to
seamen who are victims of negligence. Cosmopolitan Shipping
Co. v. McAllister, 337 U.S. 783, 69 S.Ct. 1317, 93 L.Ed.
1692 (1949); see also Bennet v. Perini Corp., 510 F.2d 114,
117 (1st Cir. 1975) (Jones Act is to be construed remedially).
The policy underlying the remedial nature of the Jones Act
and the general maritime law necessitates our adherences to
the joint and several rule. The rationale behind Reliable Trans-
fer, which involved property damages, and a seaman’s action,
which involves personal injury, are not the same. The compara-
tive fault rule of Reliable Transfer is designed to achieve a
fair assessment of damages against each party according to
their degrees fault and to deter harmful conduct of vessels.
That rationale loses its strength in a seaman’s tort action. If
comparative fault were the rule, an injured seaman might have
to bear damages higher than his degree of fault, for example
in a case where a tortfeasor is insolvent and/or he or another
tortfeasor has limited his liability according to the limitation
act. Assuming in this case that Jo-Ja were entitled to limited
liability, it would be liable for $50,000.00 in damages, and
Niagara would be liable for $100,000.00 in damages. On a
$360,000.00 judgment, Joia would bear $202,000.00 in
damges, or 51% of the jury award, where he was only 5% at
fault.

19a

While the result we reach today may seem inequitable to a
defendant, including Niagara, ultimately, in a contribution
proceeding, it will be liable according to its degree of fault.
Contribution between joint tortfeasors in admiralty is according
to comparative fault. Maritime Overseas Corp. v. Northeast
Petroleum Indus., 706 F.2d 349, 355 (1st Cir. 1983). There-
fore, in this case if Niagara were to pay a disproportionate
share of the judgment, it could seek contribution against Jo-Ja,
and no inequities would result to either party. Admittedly,
assuming again that Jo-Ja successfully limited liability, under
the joint and several rule, Niagara would bear a larger, dispro-
portionate share of the damages. But the Supreme Court made
clear in Edmonds that the seamen should not suffer this in-
equity.

Under the Court of Appeal’s proportionate fault rule,
however, there will be many circumstances when- the
iongshoreman will not be able to recover in any way the
full amount of his damages determined in his suit against
the vessel. If, for example his damages are at least twice
the benefits paid or payable under the Act and the ship
is less than 50% at fault, the total of his statutory benefits
plus the reduced recovery from the ship will not equal
his total damages.

443 U.S. at 270. Moreover, the Court stated that in the
Longshoremen’s and Labor Worker’s Compensation Act, Con-
gress did not intend to place the burden of the inequity on the
Longshoreman, “whom the Act seeks to protect.” /d. at 270.
Likewise, we do not find that Congress in enacting the Jones
Act intended to place this similar burden on an injured seaman.
Niagara argues that this court should, in any event, follow
“the trend towards the adoption of comparative negligence.
While we decline this invitation, the comparative negligence

20a

system has its merits in a case where one tortfeasor incurs
minimal negligence, and the other tortfeasors are insolvent,
enjoy limited liability, or are otherwise protected by operation
of law, or in instances where the plaintiff incurs substantial
contributory negligence. However, the decision whether to
continue this trend is more properly before a legislature.

We hold that defendants Niagara and Jo-Ja are jointly and
severally liable to plaintiff in the amount of $342,000.00 and
that plaintiff bears the loss of $18,000.00, representing 5%
negligence assigned by the jury.

V. Jury Award for Damages for Pain and Suffering

Niagara contends that the jury award of $250,036.00 for
damages for pain and suffering is unsupported by the evidence
and is excessive, and the district court improperly denied its
motion for a remittitur or a new trial on damages. On appellate
review, a jury’s award will be set aside only when it is so
excessive “that the district court’s refusal to order a new trial
constitutes a manifest abuse of discretion.” Rivera v. Rederi
A/B Nordstjernan, 456 F.2d 970, 975 (1st Cir. 1972), cert.
denied, 409 U.S. 876, 93 S.Ct. 124, 34 L.Ed.2d 128 (1972).
The jury’s verdict must stand unless it is “grossly excessive”
as “shocking to the conscience.” LaForest v. Autoridad de las
Fuentes Fluviales de Puerto Rico, 536 F.2d 443, 447 (1st Cir.
1976). The reviewing court is constrained to view the evidence
in the light most favorable to the plaintiff. Betancourt v. J.C.
Penney Co. Inc., 554 F.2d 1206, 1207 (1st Cir. 1977). We
now turn to the evidence in the record.

In the August 1, 1983 fall, Joia injured both his back and
his right testicle; prier to the injury he had problems with an
enlarged testicle and was treated by a chiropractor for back
problems although the extent of these prior conditions was not
clear. While the pain in his testicle disappeared within min-

Disses

2la

utes, after six days his testicle began to swell, and he consulted
a urologist. After finding blood in his bladder, the urologist
performed a cystourethrascopy on August 21, 1983. Joia tes-
tified that he was nervous about the scope being introduced
into his penis, and he suffered a burning sensation after the
operation. A different doctor operated on his groin in Sep-
tember of 1983. Joia testified that he was nervous about the
operation, and that he was worried about the effects of the
operation. In all, two operations were performed on his testicle,
both resulting in pain and anguish. It is entirely understandable
that a young, married man may have considerable anxiety and
mental distress over the possible consequences of surgery on
his reproductive organs.

Moreover, Joia suffered great pain in his back immediately
after the accident, and his wife had to heip him off the vessel.
He sought treatment from a chiropractor on the day of the
accident, who treated him for a period of one month; during
the time he experienced severe pain. He consulted another
chiropractor, during which time he was in greater pain than
before. He then consulted an orthopedist, who conducted an
EMG. Another doctor conducted a myelogram, which required
a one-week hospital stay, and during that stay he was placed
in traction. Between July 30, 1984 and August 8, 1984, he
was hospitalized for a laminectomy. This treating doctor, Dr.
Ciminello, testified to the pain Joia experienced during this
treatment.

In January 1985, Joia underwent a second myelogram for
incontinence associated with his back injury; he felt ashamed
for having wet his bed. He underwent a second cystoscopic
examination. Joia also testified that since January, 1985, he
has felt discomfort in his back and that his right foot is con-
stantly numb. Dr. Ciminello confirmed that scar tissue remain-
ing from the laminectomy might account for the discomfort
in his back.

22a

In substance, there was ample testimony that Joia experi-
enced bouts of pain and humiliation during the year and one-
half since the accident. Furthermore, there was evidence that
Joia can no longer participate in family activities, including
athletics and dancing.

Under our standard of review, we cannot say that, on the
evidence and testimony presented, the jury award for pain and
suffering was “grossly excessive,” “shocking to the consci-
ence,” nor can we say that the court’s refusal to order a new
trial was a “manifest abuse of discretion.” Concededly, while
the award is very high, the total net award was reduced by
the $18,000.00 attributed to the 5% negligence of Joia.

VI. Crossclaims

Niagara’s final contention is that the district court committed
reversible error in failing to instruct the jury regarding its
crossclaims against Jo-Ja for tort and contract indemnity. Under
a theory of tort indemnity, between joint tortfeasors the whole
loss may be shifted-to the more guilty of the tortfeasors. Araujo
v. Woods Hole, Martha's Vineyard, Nantucket Steamship Au-
thority, 693 F.2d 1, 3 (1st Cir. 1982). A contractual right to
indemnity may arise if there are “unique special factors dem-
onstrating that the would-be indemnitor bear the ultimate re-
sponsibility for the plaintiff's safety . . . or where there is a
generally recognized special relationship between the parties.”
Araujo, 693 F.2d at 2-3 (citations omitted).

The record shows that Niagara failed to make a timely ob-
jection to the court’s failure to give the instructions. Rule 51
States in pertinent part:

No party may assign as error the giving or failure to give
an instruction unless he objects thereto before the jury
retires to consider its verdict, stating distinctly the matter
to which he objects and the grounds of his objection.

23a

Opportunity shall be given to make the objection out of
the hearing of the jury.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 51. This Court has previously stated the
rationale behind the rule:

The object of the rule is to afford the trial judge an oppor-
tunity upon second thought, and before it is too late, to
correct any inadvertent or erroneous failure to charge.
The rule also serves to lessen the potential burden of
appellate courts by diminishing the number of rulings at
the trial which they may be called upon the review.

Marshall v. Nugent, 222 F.2d 604, 615 (ist Cir. 1955).

The record below reveals that after the second day of trial,
the trial court stated to counsel that “I think everything has to
go to the jury, which includes your two crossclaims.” In re-
sponse, Niagara submitted four questions regarding tort and
contract indemnity in the verdict forms. During jury instruc-
tions, the trial court explained that Niagara had its claims
against Jo-Ja, but did not specifically instruct the jury regarding
the crossclaims for tort and contract indemnity. After the trial
court finished reading the special verdict questions, it stated
in open court: “Now, let me ask counsel, before I excuse the
alternates, if they have anything to add?” Thereafter, at the
bench and out of the presence of the jury, counsel for Niagara
made on objection regarding the court’s refusal to read its
proposed instructions 9 through 16, which dealt with the
Peymann issue. Niagara made no objection regarding the omis-
sion of the crossclaims from the special verdict forms. The
jury then retired to deliberate.

Niagara objected to this omission three months after the jury
verdict, at the limitation of liability hearing on August 7, 1985.

24a

Manifestly, Niagara’s objection was not timely under Rule 51.
These are precisely the circumstances that Rule 51 addresses.
Marshall v. Nugent, supra. The trial court gave counsel ample
opportunity to object to omissions in the special verdict form,
and counsel for Niagara made none regarding this issue.
Moreover, it may not rely on statements by the trial court prior
to its conclusion of jury instructions as an excuse for its neglect.
See, e.g. DeHues v. Western Electric Co., 710 F.2d 1344 (8th
Cir. 1983).

As to tort indemnity, along with its procedural problem —
under Rule 51, Niagara’s active negligence precluded it from
recovering against Jo-Ja under that theory beyond its percen-
tage of negligence as found by the jury. “Where the party
seeking indemnification was itself guilty of acts or omissions
proximately causing the plaintiff's injury, tort indemnification
is inappropriate.” Arauso, 693 F.2d at 3. Niagara could not
have recovered under a theory of tort indemnity.

Affirmed in part, reversed in part.

25a
Appendix B.

Gnited States Court of Appeals
FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

No. 85-1753

FRANCISCO JOIA,
Plaintiff, Appellee,

Vv.

JO-JA SERVICE CORP.,
Defendant, Appellee.

BOAT NIAGARA FALLS, INC.,
Defendant, Appellant.

JUDGMENT

Entered: May 1, 1987

This cause came on to be heard on appeal from the United
States District Court for the District of Massachusetts, and
was argued by counsel.

Upon consideration whereof, It is now here ordered, ad-
judged and decreed as follows: The judgment of the district
court is affirmed in part and reversed in part in accordance
with the opinion filed this day.

Appellee Joia’s cost shall be borne one half by Boat Niagara
Falls, Inc., and one half by appellee Jo-Ja Service Corp.

By the Court:

/s/Francis P. Scigliano
Clerk.

26a
Appendix C.

United States Court of Appeals
For the First Circuit

No. 85-1753
FRANCISCO JOIA,
Plaintiff, Appellee,
v. Rec. June 18, 1987
JO-JA SERVICE CORP.,
Defendant, Appellee.

BOAT NIAGARA FALLS, INC.,
Defendant, Appellant.

Before
CAMPBELL, Chief Judge,

COFFIN, BOWNES, BREYER, TORRUELLA, SELYA,
Circuit Judges, and PIERAS,* District Judge.
ORDER OF COURT
Entered: June 17, 1987

The panel of judges that rendered the decision in this case
having denied the petitions for rehearing submitted by appel-
lant, Boat Niagara Falls, Inc. and by the appellee Jo-Ja Service ~
Corp, and their suggestions for the holding of a rehearing en
banc having been carefully considered by the judges of the

| court in regular active service and a majority of said judges
not having voted to order that the appeal be heard or reheard
by the Court en banc,
It is ordered that both petitions for rehearing and the sugges-
tions for rehearing en banc be denied.
By the Court,
/s/Francis P. Scigiliano
Clerk

* Of the District of Puerto Rico, sitting by designation.

27a

Appendix D.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

FRANCISCO JOIA, Civil Action
Plaintiff 84-731-MA

Vs.

BOAT NIAGARA FALLS, INC.,
and JO-JA SERVICE CORP.,

Defendants
MEMORANDUM AND ORDER
ON JUDGMENT
Mazzone, D.J. August 36, 1985

This case, brought pursuant to the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C.
§ 688, and a pendent state law claim, is now before the Court
for a determination of the defense of limitation of liability and
for entry of judgment in accordance with this decision and the
jury verdict returned on May 14, 1985. This case was tried to
a jury, resulting in a verdict for the plaintiff. On the complaint
and cross-claim, the jury found that the plaintiff was 5% neg-
ligent, and the defendant Boat Niagara Falls, Inc. was 30%
negligent, and the defendant Jo-Ja Service Corp. was 65%
negligent. The jury further found the plaintiff's damages to be
$360,000 and it specifically allocated this amount as follows:
$44,090 for past wages; $65,964 for lost future earnings;
$250,036 for pain and suffering. The jury awarded prejudg-
ment interest at the rate of 10%. At a subsequent hearing, the
defendant presented its limitations of liability defensa,

Were it not for the deferise of limitation of the liability of
Jo-Ja Service Corp. , judgment would enter jointly and severally
against the defendants in the amount of three hundred forty two

28a

thousand dollars ($342,000) on Counts I, Il and V. See
Maritime Overseas Corp. v. Northeast Petroleum Industries,
Inc., 706 F.2d 349, 355 (ist Cir. 1983) (“Contribution between
joint tortfeasors in a maritime action for personal injuries is
proper where, as here, neither tortfeasor’s liability is limited
by statute” ) (emphasis added). See also Edmonds v. Compag-
nie Generale Transatlantique, 443 U.S. 256, 260 n.8 (1976).
Further, on the cross-claims of the defendants, the issues have-
ing been tried and decided by the jury, liability would have
been allocated as one hundred eight thousand dollars
($108,000) against the defendant Boat Niagara Falls, Inc., and
two hundred thirty four thousand dollars ($234,000) against
the defendant Jo-Ja Service Corp.

Prejudgment interest at the rate of 10% is allowed from
August 1, 1983 on the $44,000 past-tost wages component
only of the jury verdict. No interest is awarded for the other
components of the damage award. Pino v. Protection Maritime
Insurance Co., 490 F.Supp. 277, 280 (D.Mass. 1980).

Jo-Ja Service Corp. has filed a motion to limit its liability
pursuant to 46 U.S.C. § 183. Under that statute, a vessel
owner may limit his liability of the value of the vessel by
proving that he had no “privity or knowledge” of the cause of
the plaintiff's injuries. See generally Coryell v. Phipps, 317
U.S. 406 (1943). Where, as here, the defendant is a corpora-
tion, liability may be limited to the value of the vessel if the
defendant proves that its managing agents and officers were
without privity or knowledge as to the cause of the plaintiff's
injuries. /d. at 410-12. In this context, privity or knowledge

. . . iS a term of art complicity in the fault that caused the
accident . . .” Petition of United States Dredging Corp., 213
F.Supp. 780, 784 (E.D.N.Y. 1963).

In determmining whether the Jo-Ja Service Corp.’s liability
should be limited to the value of the vessel, I am bound by
the jury’s determination that its negligence contributed to Joia’s
injury. Murray v. New York Central Railroad Co., 287 F.2d

29a

152, 154 (2nd Cir. 1961), cert. denied, 366 U.S. 945 (1961).
See also In re Double D. Dredging Co., 467 F.2d 468, 469
(Sth Cir. 1972); Petition of Trawler Weymouth, Inc., 223
F.Supp. 161, 163 (D.Mass. 1961); Gilmore & Black, Law of
Admiralty, (2d ed. 1975) §§ 10-19, at 874.

The evidence clearly supports a conclusion that Jo-Ja’s em-
ployee, Michael Mahoney, the operator of the waterboat
CHIPPY, negligently filled the hydraulic oil tank instead of
the water tank, causing the overflow onto the engine room
deck where the plaintiff slipped and was injured.

The defendant is entitled to limit its liability to the value of
the vessel, therefore, if the preponderance of the evidence
establishes that no corporate officer or managing agent of the
Jo-Ja Service Corp. had privity or knowledge of the actions
of the vessel’s operator. Herve, it is the privity or knowledge
of Thomas L. Thomas, the owner of the CHIPPY, that is at
issue. I find that Thomas did not have privity or knowledge
of Michael Mahoney’s negligence in pumping water into the
hydraulic oil tank. The evidence showed that Thomas was not
on board the CHIPPY when the accident occurred, and it is
settled that the privity or knowledge of the captain of a vessel
about his own acts of negligence occurring at sea is not imputed
to the vessel’s owner.' See, e.g., Complaint of Bankers Trust
Co., 651 F.2d 160, 169 (2nd Cir. 1981); Agrico Chemical
Co., v. S/S Atlantic Forest, 620 F.2d 487, 489 (Sth Cir. 1980),
aff d, 459 F.Supp. 638, 648 (E.D.La. 1978); Petition of
Kinsman Transit Co., 338 F.2d 708, 715-16 (2nd Cir. 1964),
cert. denied sub nom., Continental Grain Co. v. City of Buf-
falo, 380 U.S. 944 (1965); McDonald v. The 202, 194 F.Supp.

'46 U.S.C. § 183(e) provides that the knowledge of privity of the vessel's
master “. . . at or prior to the commencement of the voyage . . .” shall be
imputed to the vessel owner. This section is not relevant here, as the cause of
the plaintiff's injuries was an action taken after the voyage commenced.

30a

383, 390 (S.D.Ala. 1961). Compare Continental Oil Co. v.
Bonanza Corp., 677 F.2d 455, 467-68 (Sth Cir. 1982).

On the evidence presented at trial and after further hearing
on August 7, 1985, I find that Thomas, the owner of the
CHIPPY, was not complicit in the fault that caused Joia’s
injuries. I therefore rule that the defendant, Jo-Ja Service
Corp., is entitled to limit its liability to the value of the vessel,
which the parties have stipulated is $50,000.

Accordingly, judgment will enter for the plaintiff, Francisco
Joia, in the amount of $342,000.00 against the defendant,
Jo-Ja Service Corporation, in the amount of $50,000.00 and
against the defendant, Boat Niagara Falls, Inc., in the amount
of $292,000.00 with prejudgment interest at the rate of 10%
per annum on $44,000.00 only, from August 1, 1983.

SO ORDERED.

/s/A. David Mazzone
United States District Judge

3la
Appendix E.

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

Auited States District Court

District of Massachusetts
FRANCISCO JOIA,

Plaintiff
Vv. CiviL ACTION No. 84-0731-MA
BOAT NIAGARA FALLS, INC., ET AL
Defendants

Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court and a jury
with the judicial officer named above presiding. The issues
have been tried and the jury has rendered its verdict.

(} Decision by Court. This action came to trial to hearing be-
fore the Court with the judge (magistrate) named above pre-
siding. The issues have been tried or heard and a decision
has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED

in accordance with the jury verdict on May 14, 1985,
the stipulation of dismissal of Count III filed on May
29, 1985 and the Court’s memorandum and order
dated August 30, 1985, judgment for the plaintiff,
Francisco Joia, in the amount of $342,000.00,
against the defendant, Jo-Ja Services Corporation in
the amount of $50,000.00 and against the defendant,
Boat Niagara Falls, Inc., in the amount of
$292,000.00 with prejudgment interest at the rate of

32a

10% per annum from August 1, 1983 on $44,000.00
only in the amount of $9,338.75 for a total of
$301,338.75 against the defendant, Boat Niagara
Falls, Inc.

APPROVED:

/s/ _A. David Mazzone
United States District Judge

NOTE: The post judgment interest rate effective this date is
7.91%

CLERK DATE
GEORGE F. McGRATH Sept. 16, 1985

(By) DEpuTY CLERK
/s/ Helen M. Costello

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1106%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
