# Reply Brief — Nixon v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1057%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 484 U.S. 1026

## Text

: | Rika
| ~ ll JAN 5 1988

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JF
No. 87-650 CLERK

IN THE
Suprenw Cart of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

WALTER L. NIXON, JR.,
Petitioner,
v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF

Of Counsel: WILLIAM H. JEFFRESS, JR.
Boyce HOLLEMAN DAVID emnock STEWART
Boyce HOLLEMAN, P.A. (C ounsel of —.
Post Office Drawer 1030 gee
1913 15th Street Bash mn
Gulfport, Mississippi 39502 2555 M Street, N.W., Suite 500
(601 ) 863-3142 W ashington, D.C. 20037
- or (202) 293-6400

ENJAMIN (©. TOLEDANO i E aoF
291 Seat Aeaell Attorneys for Petitioner
Pass Christian, Mississippi 39571
(601) 452-4311

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

Spar + — x RIT st cn

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES

Bronston v. United States, 409 U.S. 352 (1978) ......
United States v. Chapin, 515 F.2d 1274 (D.C. Cir.),
cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1015 (1975) ..............2........
United States v. Lighte, 782 F.2d 367 (2d Cir.
RRR RE calPe AlputSeesr Coens. Ver Pree O RE STE See Maen

5 na
bye Ke ee Fe, Doli

pnt geneent. terre

e
<
fas

Sere

AP

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Wuited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

No. 87-650

WALTER L. NIXON, JR.,

. Petitioner,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

PETITIONER’S REPLY BRIEF

Petitioner Walter L. Nixon, Jr. makes the following
reply to the Brief for the United States:

1. The government’s brief deals only glancingly with
the key legal issue whether a perjury conviction may be
based upon a response to an ambiguous question when the
response was literally true under a reasonable under-
standing of the question. This issue was reserved in Bron-
ston v. United States, 409 U.S. 352 (1973), and there is
a square conflict among the circuits on it. See Petition
for Certiorari, at 15-16.

The government incorrectly implies that the courts that
have reversed perjury convictions based on ambiguous

2

questions have adopted the Second Circuit’s view that the
question must be “fundamentally ambiguous.” See Gov’t
Br. at 11, discussing United States v. Lighte, 782 F.2d
367 (2d Cir. 1986). In fact, none of the other four cir-
cuits and two states has adopted that “fundamentally
ambiguous” standard. See cases cited on pp. 15-16 of
Petition for Certiorari. Similarly, the government incor-
rectly suggests that the Second Circuit’s standard was
elucidated by the D.C. Circuit in United States v. Chapin,
515 F.2d 1274, 1280 (D.C. Cir), cert. denied, 423 U.S.
1015 (1975). In fact, those two courts are in direct con-
flict on this issue. Chapin held that a jury may convict
for perjury even when the question “may have a number
of interpretations,” and thus Chapin allowed “the jury
to determine that the question as the defendant under-
stood it was falsely answered.” Jd. (emphasis in orig-
inal). The Second Circuit in Lighte refused to allow the
jury to make that determination if the question was
fundamentally ambiguous.

2. The government attempts to portray the Petition
as presenting only a factual dispute over Count III of
the indictment. The government argues that the full con-
text of Nixon’s testimony makes clear that Nixon could
not have understood the term “Drew Fairchild’s case” to
refer to federal (as opposed to state) proceedings involv-
ing Drew Fairchild. Gov’t Brief, at 11-13. But it is the
government that ignores the full context of Nixon’s testi-
mony.

The investigation of Nixon was prompted by an allega-
tion that Nixon had steered the Drew Fairchild case from
federal to state authorities. Tr. 316-18, 347. When Nixon
was interviewed by the prosecutor in April of 1984, the
prosecutor stated that he was investigating how Drew
Fairchild’s case “got passed” from federal to state au-
thorities. Pet. App. 46a-47a. The interview returned to
that subject several times. Jd. at 49a, 50a, 52a.

3

Consequently, when Nixon was asked before the grand
jury if he had discussed “Drew Fairchild’s case” with
state prosecutor Holmes, Nixon reasonably understood
the question to address whether Nixon had discussed
with Holmes how the federal case was steered into state
hands. Nixon told the grand jury that the federal courts
have no involvement in state prosecutions, and then added
(in a passage ignored by the government’s brief) that
the federal courts also have no involvement in federal
prosecutorial decisions. Pet. App. 57a-59a. The entire
sequence of testimony reflects Nixon’s understanding—
first established by the prosecutor’s own statements in
the April interview—that, the prosecutor was asking
about how “Drew Fairchild’s case’ “got passed” from
federal to state authorities.

Finally, the government argues that the term “Drew
Fairchild’s case” could not have referred to any federal
action “because at the time of petitioner’s grand jury
testimony there never had been a ‘Drew Fairchild case’
in federal court.” Gov’t Br. at 12. This contention is
contrary to the common parlance of attorneys and is
contradicted by the prosecutor’s statements in the April
1984 interview. |

The federal prosecutor told Nixon in April that the
Drew Fairchild prosecution “originally ... was a federal
case,’ Pet. App. at 46a, that Drew’s “case got picked
up” by the state prosecutor, id. at 50a, and that some-
time between November of 1980 and August 1981, “that
case, on DREW FAIRCHILD and another defendant
who was a fugitive, was passed down... .” Jd. The
prosecutor added that “[Federal District] Judge COX
never had DREW’s case, . . . The case was never in-
dicted [in federal court].” Jd. at 5la (emphases sup-
plied). Thus, in five separate instances the federal pros-
ecutor used the term “case” to describe federal pre-in-
dictment activities concerning Drew Fairchild, and that

4

is precisely what Nixon understood that term to mean
when he testified before the grand jury.’

3. The Petition’s second question concerns whether the
government proved the truth assertion of Count IV, that
Nixon sought to influence state prosecutor Holmes’ han-
dling of Drew Fairchild’s case. The government now ar-
gues that such proof was established by (i) Nixon’s call
to Wiley Fairchild to describe Drew’s preexisting plea
agreement and (ii) Holmes’ statement to Wiley that
Holmes does whatever Nixon asks. Gov’t Br. at 14. But
Nixon’s description to Wiley of the preexisting plea
agreement cannot prove that Nixon attempted to influ-
ence Holmes, particularly since Nixon had no influence
on the plea agreement which had been implemented when
Drew Fairchild pled guilty at least four months earlier.
And Nixon’s flat disavowals of an intent to influence
Holmes—which are established through the testimony of
the government’s own witness, Holmes—cannot be con-
tradicted by Holmes’ admittedly “misleading” statement
to Wiley that he does whatever Nixon asks. Tr. 740.?

4. On the third question, concerning the Fifth Cir-
cuit’s en bane procedures, the government offers no rea-
soning or analysis, but only the flat ipse dixit that the

10QOn an unrelated point, the government misstates the record
when it suggests that “some” of Nixon’s investments with Wiley
Fairchild ‘were made after Drew Fairchild’s troubles began.”
Gov’t Br. at 3, n.3. It is uncontradicted that all three investments
were concluded in February 1980, Tr. 1044, 1118, 1053, 593-94,
while Drew Fairchild’s legal problems did not arise until August
1980.

2The government also misstates Holmes’ testimony when it
asserts that, while visiting Holmes, Nixon “reiterated that he was
simply ‘put[ting] in a good word’ and not asking Holmes to do
anything.” Gov’t Br. at 4. According to Holmes, however, Nixon
stated only that Wiley Fairchild had asked him to put in a good
word. Pet. App. at 16a. No one ever testified that Nixon stated
—much less reiterated—that he actually was “put|ting]” in a
good word. Pet. App. at 15a-l6a.

5

“en bane procedure that Congress has authorized, there-
fore, is fundamentally different from the right to appeal.”
Gov’t Br. at 17. En bane review, of course, differs from
direct appeal because it is discretionary. But that dis-
tinction is irrelevant to petitioner’s claim that he is en-
titled to a fair opportunity to win en banc review, just
as he is entitled to a fair direct appeal. In this case,
only three Fifth Circuit judges (two of whom had served
on the original panel) were not recused from the en banc
proceeding. Because eight votes were needed for Nixon
to win en banc review, he was denied his constitutional
right to a fair opportunity to win en banc review.

CONCLUSION

For all of these reasons, and the reasons stated in the
initial petition for certiorari, the petition should be
granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Of Counsel: WILLIAM H. JEFFRESS, JR.
DAVID OVERLOCK STEWART

BoYcE HOLLEMAN

Boyce HOLLEMAN, P.A. (Counsel of Record)

Post Office Drawer 1030 oe LARROCA

1913 15th Street

(601) 863-3142 Washington, D.C. 20037
(202) 293-6400

recy 9 snc ammagma Attorneys for Petitioner

Pass Christian, Mississippi 39571
(601) 452-4311

January 5, 1988

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_1057%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
