# Opposition Brief — Energy Cooperative, Inc. v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 108 S. Ct. 294 (1987) (No. 87-0479)

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0942%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987

## Text

-
A

No. 87-479 JOSEPH E SPANIOL, JR.

a, ee ane eee

ERILED
OCT 1 87

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

@ctober Term, 1987

ENERGY COOPERATIVE, INC.,
JAY A. STEINBERG, TRUSTEE,

Petitioner,

PHILLIPS PETROLEUM COMPANY,

Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

PAMELA S. HOLLIS

(Counsel of Record)
Counsel for Respondent

HINSHAW, CULBERTSON, MOELMANN,
HosBan & FULLER
69 West Washington Street
Chicago, Illinois 60602
(312) 630-4400

Pandick Technologies, inc., Chicago @ (312) 236-0200

aa

——

No. 87-479
In The
Supreme Court of the United States

@rctober Germ, 1987

ENERGY COOPERATIVE, INC.,
JAY A. STEINBERG, TRUSTEE,
Petitioner,

PHILLIPS PETROLEUM COMPANY,
Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

RULE 28.1 LIST

PHILLIPS PETROLEUM COMPANY’S DI-
RECT AND INDIRECT SUBSIDIARIES AND
AFFILIATES OWNED LESS THAN 100%’

Alaska Pipeline Service Company
Artic LNG Transportation Company

“Does not include companies required to issue one or more
shares to directors or officers.

ii
Canada Western Cordage Company, Limited
Canyon Reef Carriers, Inc.
Chisholm Pipeline Company
Cochin Refineries Limited
Colonial Pipeline Company
Dixie Pipeline Company
East Texas Salt Water Disposal Company
Explorer Pipeline Company
Great Yarmouth Port Labour Company Limited
Heat Transfer Research, Inc.

Iranian Marine International Oil Company—
IMINOCO

Kenai LNG Corporation

Long Beach Oil Development Company

Multinational Gas and Petrochemical Services
Limited

Norland GMBH fur Grundbesitz and
Industrieanlagen

Norpipe A.S

Norpipe Petroleum UK Limited

Norsea Gas A/S

Norsea Gas GMBH

Norsea Pipeline Limited

Oil Insurance Limited (New)

Papago Chemicals, Inc.

Phillips Carbon Black Limited

Phillips Petroleum Chemicals

Phillips Petroleum International Andina, S.A.

Phillips Petroleum Singapore Chemicals (Private)
Limited

Phillips Petroleum Tanker Management, Inc.
Phillips Petroleum Toray Inc.

iii
Phillips-Imperial Petroleum Limited
Polar L*’% Shipping Corporation
Renolit-Haus GMBH
Solar Gas, Inc.
SPODCO Limited
SPODCO-USA, Inc.

The Salk Institute Biotechnology/Industrial
Associates, Inc.

Venezoil, C.A.

Western Desert Operating Petroleum Company
(WEPCO)

White River Shale Oil Corporation

Bissendorf Biosciences GMBH

Insurance & Reinsurance Brokers (Bermuda)
Limited

Multinational Gas and Petrochemical Company

iv
TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Nk elk ks ks x ak wy Sao cae ke ew be es i
pe eg sy I iv
aAmeds OF AUTHORITIMS. ... 2.2... ct cca Vv
STATEMENT OF THE CASE................... 1
REASONS FOR DENYING WRIT................ 2
I. There Is No Conflict Among The Circuits As
To The Criteria Used For Defining A Cause of
on SER T EE EEE PU ee Oe ae 2
II. There is No Special or Important Reason For
Defining a Cause of Action in This Case........ 6

III. Since The Dismissal Order Provides That Cred-
itors Received Notice, ECI’s Due Process Argu-
ment Is A Collateral Attack On The Final Judg-

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page
Baltimore Steamship Co. v. Phillips, 274 U.S. 316

CE sd cok Rae ea eden ae eae 9
Expert Electric, Inc., v. Levine, 554 F.2d 1227 (2nd

Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 903 (1977) ..... a, 2, 5, 7
Federated Dept. Stores, Inc., v. Moitie, 452 U.S. 394

CORED ys 6a 8s a eh ee ee ee ee eee 9
Gulf Oil Corp. v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501 (1947)........ 5
Harper Plastics v. Amoco Chemicals Corp., 657 F.2d

Se Ce ee De 5. Cie Sa a ee ee 4
Harris v. Jacobs, 621 F.2d 341 (9th Cir. 1980)... 3, 4,5
Herendeen v. Champion Intern. Corp., 525 F.2d 130

(i ee ee nc ee ee ee 3, 5
In Re Patel, 43 B.R. 500 (Dist.Ct.Ill. 1984)......... 10

Kremer v. Chemical Construction Corporation, 456
U.S. 481 (1982), reh’g denied, 458 U.S. 1133 (1982)... 7

Nash Cty. Bd. of Ed. v. Biltmore Co., 640 F.2d 484
(4th Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 878 (1981), reh’g.
Seiad GGG VW. REET COED bc heme elie ee eee» 3

Nevada v. United States, 463 U.S. 110 (1983), reh’g
dented, 464 USB. G75 (19GB) . os wc ccc es 2, 5-7

Nilsen v. City of Moss Point, Miss., 701 F.2d 556 (5th
Se ho is oe a te ae ee ea ae ae a ae 3

Purter v. Heckler, 771 F. 2d 682 (3rd Cir. 1985).. 3,5, 7

Sierra Club v. Secretary of Transp., 779 F.2d 776 (1st
er a 5 oh a ee ee ee ee ee 4

vi

Cases: Page

United States v. Memphis Cotton Oil Co., 288 U.S. 62
REA sna a es ak aa bh ee ee 2

Williamson v. Columbia Gas & Electric Corp., 186
F.2d 464, cert. denied, 341 U.S. 921 (1951) ........ 6

Bankruptcy Court Rules
ee 10

Treatises
Restatement (Second) of Judgments (1982) § 24.... 4,6

No. 87-479

In The
Supreme Court of the United States

@ctober Term, 1987

ENERGY COOPERATIVE, INC.,
JAY A. STEINBERG, TRUSTEE,
Petitioner,

Vv.

PHILLIPS PETROLEUM COMPANY,
Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Respondent Phillips Petroleum Company submits the
following Brief in opposition to the petitioner Energy Coop-
erative, Inc., Jay A. Steinberg, Trustee’s Petition For A
Writ Of Certiorari To The United States Court Of Appeals
For The Seventh Circuit.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Petitioner’s Statement of the Case is inaccurate
in two respects. The dismissal of the first suit against
Phillips occurred in 1982 and not 1985. (Contrast page 4
of the Petition with the dismissal order at Appendix F.)

2

More significantly, the assertion on page 4 of the Petition
that “No notice or opportunity to be heard was given to all
creditors and other parties in interest . . .” is not supported
by any reference to the proceedings below and conflicts
with the dismissal order’s finding that all creditors of ECI
were present and consented to the entry of the dismissal.
See, lines 7-9 of order at Appendix F.

The District Court dismissed this second action against
Phillips on a basis independent of the doctrine of res judi-
cata, finding that ECI’s conduct in settling the first suit
equitably estopped it from bringing this second action.
Appendix B at pp. 3-4; Appendix D at p. 2.

In its briefs to the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals,
ECI relied “. . . primarily on cases applying Illinois res judi-
cata law...” Seventh Circuit Opinion, Appendix A, p.6.
ECI’s petition for rehearing before the Seventh Circuit did
not directly challenge the federal rules for defining a cause
of action, and ECI did not seek a rehearing en banc to chal-
lenge the federal rule applied. The petition to this Court
questions the federal rule for defining a cause of action for
the first time.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. There Is No Conflict Among The Circuits As

To The Criteria Used For Defining A Cause of

Action.

This Court and others have commented that the test
for determining a cause of action is not subject to any
mathematically precise definition. Nevada v. United States,
463 U.S. 110, 130-131, n. 12 (1983), reh’g denied, 464 U.S.
875 (1983); United States v. Memphis Cotton Oil Co., 288
U.S. 62, 67-68 (1933). In Expert Electric, Inc., v. Levine,
554 F. 2d 1227 (2nd Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 903 (1977),
the Second Circuit stated:

While often cast in terms of “identity of issues”,
the determination as to whether claims are

3

duplicative is not a matter of precision, nor subject
to the application of any mechanical formula.

554 F. 2d at 1234

The Ninth Circuit agreed in Harris v. Jacobs, 621
F. 2d 341 (9th Cir. 1980):

What constitutes a “cause of action” for purposes
of res judicata “cannot be defined with precision,” 1
B Moore’s Federal Practice and Procedure, 0.410[(1)
at 1154, or “determined precisely by mechanistic
application of a simple test.”

621 F. 2d at 343

Instead of applying one inflexible test, the federal
courts have adopted a uniform set of considerations or
criteria to reach a decision on whether claims constitute
the same cause of action. These common factors are (1)
whether the primary right, duty and wrong are the same
in each action; (2) whether the theory of recovery is the
same; (3) whether the same evidence would be required in
both actions and (4) whether the two suits arise out of the
same nucleus of facts or transaction.

Cases in the Second, Third, Fourth, Fifth and Ninth
Circuits recite all of these factors at once and have used
one or more in the same case when reaching their decision.
See, for example: Herendeen v. Champion Intern. Corp.,
525 F. 2d 130, 133, 134-135 (2nd Cir. 1975) and Expert
Electric, Inc., v. Levine, 554 F. 2d 1227, 1234 (2nd Cir.),
cert. denied, 434 U.S. 903 (1977); Purter v. Heckler, 771
F. 2d 682, 690 (3rd Cir. 1985); Nash Cty. Bd. of Ed. v.
Biltmore Co., 640 F. 2d 484, 488 (4th Cir.), cert. denied,
454 U.S. 878 (1981), reh’g. denied, 454 U.S. 1117 (1981);
Nilsen v. City of Moss Point, Miss., 701 F. 2d 556, 559-
560, also n.4 (5th Cir. 1983); Harris v. Jacobs, 621 F. 2d
341, 343 (9th Cir. 1980).

While cases in the remaining circuits may not have
applied all four factors at the same time, the criteria used
did not deviate from the four considerations above. For

4

example, the First Circuit in Sierra Club v. Secretary of
Transp., 779 F. 2d 776 (1st Cir. 1985) adopted the transac-
tional test espoused in the Restatement (Second) of Judg-
ments (1982) § 24, comment b, but compared evidence to
determine whether the facts in each suit were the same.
Id. at 779-780. As noted on page 9 of ECTs petition, the
Sixth Circuit has used at least three of the four factors,
including the transactional approach. The Seventh Circuit
has used at least two of the factors: whether both suits
arise out of the same basic factual situation, and whether
the right, duty and wrong are the same in both actions.
Harper Plastics v. Amoco Chemicals Corp., 657 F. 2d 939,
944 (7th Cir. 1981).

ECI’s own analysis of the remaining circuits reveals no
material deviation from the four considerations, although
not all may be used in one case. The Eighth Circuit
used the right-duty and operative facts approaches and
stated in a recent case that it recognizes the “transaction-
al” view. (Petition at pp. 10-11). The Tenth Circuit relied
on the right-duty and same evidence factors. The Eleventh
and District of Columbia Circuits employed the right-duty
method and an analysis of the similarity of the facts. The
Federal Circuit also compared similarity of facts.’ Jd. at
13.

The Courts’ reliance on the four considerations to vary-
ing degrees in each case is no more a conflict than in other
settled areas of the law which depend on multiple factors
for resolution. For example, in deciding a forum non con-
veniens issue, a court may consider the ease of access to
sources of proof, availability of compulsory process for wit-
ness attendance, enforceability of judgments, expense of

‘In Respondent’s view, no meaningful distinction can be made
between the “transactional” approach and an analysis comparing
the similarity of facts under the “operative” or “common nucleus”
of facts approach.

5

alternative locations and the location of the injury or where
the parties reside or do business. Gulf Oil Corp. v. Gilbert,
330 U.S. 501 (1947). Arguing that a court’s reliance on
compulsory witness attendance and enforceability of judg-
ments conflicts with another case relying on location of the
parties or business records, is similar to ECI’s position that
the operative fact approach conflicts with the same evi-
dence method. Analyzing rights and duties, comparing the
same evidence or facts and/or deciding if a single transac-
tion is involved are all established methods of determining
a cause of action. Depending on the context, a court may
apply one or more of these considerations.”

Many of the cases cited in ECI’s Petition expressly
refer to the above four factors as the “relevant criteria”
for determining a cause of action and not as conflicting
tests. See, Herendeen v. Champion Intern. Corp., 525 F.
2d 130, 133 (2nd Cir. 1975); Expert Electric, Inc. v. Levine,
554 F. 2d 1227, 1234 (2nd Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 903
(1977); Purter v. Heckler, 771 F. 2d 682, 690 (3rd Cir.
1985); Harris v. Jacobs, 621 F. 2d 341, 343 (9th Cir. 1980).
Two of these cases stated that all four of the considerations
are similar: “The crucial element underlying all of these
standards is the factual predicate of the several claims
asserted. For it is the facts surrounding the transaction or
occurrence which operate to constitute the cause of action,
not the legal theory upon which a litigant relies.” Expert
Electric at 1234; Harris v. Jacobs at 343. None of ECI’s
authorities recognized the four approaches as inconsistent
or in conflict.

This Court has recognized there is more than one considera-
tion in determining a cause of action. See, Nevada v. United
States, 463 U.S. 110, n.12 at 130 reh’g denied, 464 U.S. 875
(1983): “Although the ‘same evidence’ standard was ‘one of the
tests’ used at the time [Citation omitted], it was not the only

”

one.

6

Indeed, with the exception of the Tenth Circuit, ECT’s
Petition confesses that circuits using less than all four fac-
tors have employed the “broader” transactional approach
as one test. Hence, the probability that a court may bar
a case by determining that two suits arose from the same
transaction will not surprise any one who has done their
legal homework. Transactional analysis has been per-
formed in nearly all the circuits, appears in the Restate-
ment (Second) of Judgments (1982) §24 as settled law
and was approved by this Court as “a more pragmatic
approach”. Nevada v. United States, 463 U.S. 110, n.12 at
130 (1983).

II. There is No Special or Important Reason For
Defining a Cause of Action in This Case.

Increasingly, courts are deciding claim preclusion
issues by determining whether there was a full and fair
opportunity to litigate claims in the first suit as opposed to
defining a cause of action under a rigid test. In Williamson
v. Columbia Gas & Electric Corp., 186 F. 2d 464, cert.
denied, 341 U.S. 921 (1951), the Third Circuit said:

~ ? We do not think that the definition of “cause of
action” in these cases is controlling on the ques-
tion before us. The determination of the mean-
ing of “cause of action” for purposes of deciding
whether or not a person has slept on his rights is
of little aid in deciding whether a prior judgment
is a bar to the present action.

The purpose of the principle of res judicata
is to end litigation. .The theory is that parties
should not have to lit#Pate issues which they have
already litigated or had a reasonable opportunity
to litigate.

186 F. 2d at 469

This Court employed a similar analysis in Nevada v.
United States, 463 U.S. 110 (1983), reh’g denied, 464 US.
875 (1983):

7

Definitions of what constitutes the “same
cause of action have not remained static over
time. [Citations omitted] We find it unnecessary
in this case to parse any minute differences which
these differing tests might produce, because what-
ever standard may be applied the only conclusion
allowed by the record in the Orr Ditch case is that
the Government was given an opportunity to liti-
gate the Reservation’s entire water right...

463 U.S. at 131

See also Kremer v. Chemical Construction Corporation, 456
U.S. 461, 485 (1982), reh’g denied, 458 U.S. 1133 (1982) and
Purter v. Heckler, 771 F. 2d 682, 690 (3rd Cir. 1985).

A “full and fair opportunity” inquiry is more influen-
tial in determining whether a second action is barred than
the criteria used to define a cause of action. It is reveal-
ing that ECI’s petition concentrates solely on the abstract
language characterizing each test but fails to compare
the facts and results in cases using different guidelines.
Regardless of the tests employed, these cases yielded sim-
ilar results. None of the decisions permitted a plaintiff
to bring a second suit involving the same facts or transac-
tion but relying on a different legal theory. Regardless of
which of the four considerations defining a cause of action
are used, ECI had a full and fair opportunity to raise the
preference theory in the first suit. ECI’s bankruptcy had
been pending nearly a year and a half before the first suit
against Phillips was dismissed. This is more than enough
time to investigate all of its claims against Phillips.

Selecting one test to determine a cause of action would
not affect the result in this case for an additional rea-
son. The District Court’s holding that this suit was barred
under equitable estoppel principles was independent of its
decision to apply res judicata. Appendix B at pp. 3-4;
Appendix D at p. 2. Moreover, the Seventh Circuit based
its claim preclusion ruling on the right-duty factor as well
as deciding both suits were based on the same transac-

8

tion. See, Appendix A, pp. 9-12 where the Court held that
Phillips’ right to set off claims in the second action against
the first sufficiently “linked” the claims together.

None of the “parade of horribles” listed by ECI warrant
the attention of this Court. For example, ECI complains:
“Plaintiffs now must join all claims they may join.” (Pet.
at 15) This is just what res judicata is designed to promote.
ECI further protests it will have to scrape the “bottom of
the barrel” to add all its claims to the first suit. Certainly
this is more desirable than confronting ECI’s scrapings in
a series of lawsuits. If ECI insists on dredging up baseless
claims, it should reach the bottom of the barrel in the first
suit and not in this one.

Ill. Since The Dismissal Order Provides That
Creditors Received Notice, ECI’s Due Process
Argument Is A Collateral Attack On The Final
Judgment.

The dismissal order in the first action against Phillips
expressly stated that all of ECI’s creditors were present
and consented to the dismissal with prejudice:

This matter coming on to be heard at the
status report fixed herein; due notice having pre-
viously been given to all parties entitled thereto;
counsel for the plaintiff having orally advised the
court that the defendant has delivered to plain-
tiff all of the gasoline referred to in the complaint
herein and that plaintiff has sold such gasoline
for the benefit of this estate and all of its creditors
and counsel for plaintiff having orally moved for
the entry of this order; there being no objection to
the entry of this order; and the court being fully
advised in the premises;

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the above-
captioned adversary proceeding be and it is hereby
dismissed with prejudice, each party to bear its
own costs.

Appendix F (Emphasis added)

9

As the above order reflects, all the parties entitled to
notice received it. Significantly, the Bankruptcy Court’s
order recites that all of ECI’s creditors were present and
orally moved for entry of the dismissal. It is pure mystery
how ECI argues that no creditor received notice of the dis-
missal and thus due process rights were violated. There is
absolutely nothing in the record regarding notice except for
the above order, and ECI does not cite to any reference in
its Petition supporting its assertions that creditors received
no notice. Pet. at 4 and 17.

Even if ECI could show no notice, the dismissal order
unambiguously found notice to all of ECI’s creditors and
that they joined ECI in moving for a dismissal. Hence,
ECI’s attempt to challenge that finding is a prohibited col-
lateral attack on the judgment order. As this Court held in
Federated Dept. Stores, Inc., v. Moitie, 452 U.S. 394, 398-
399 (1981):

Nor are the res judicata consequences of a final
unappealed judgment on the merits altered by the
fact that the judgment may have been wrong or
rested on a legal principle overruled in another
case. [Citations omitted] As this Court explained
in Baltimore Steamship Co. v. Phillips, 274 U.S.
316, 325, 71 L.Ed. 1069, 47 S. Ct. 600 (1927), an
“erroneous conclusion” reached by the court in the
first suit does not deprive the defendants in the
second action “of their right to rely on the plea
of res judicata... A judgment merely voidable
because based upon an erroneous view of the law
is not open to collateral attack, but can be cor-
rected only by a direct review and not by bringing
another action upon the same cause of action.” We
have observed that “the indulgence of a contrary
view would result in creating elements of uncer-
tainty and confusion and in undermining the con-
clusive character of the judgments, consequences
which it was the very purpose of res judicata to
avert.” [Citation omitted]

10

Also assuming the dismissal order could be collater-
ally attacked by ECI’s bare assertion that there was no
notice as required under the Bankruptcy Code, there is still
no due process issue. While it may be debated whether
creditors of a bankruptcy estate have a “constitutional”
right to notice of any and all compromises, it is at least
clear that there is no constitutional right to receive notice
under the specific procedure set forth in Bankruptcy Rule
9019. This is because a bankruptcy judge may waive notice
to creditors for good cause shown, and the order approv-
ing the compromise need not contain an express finding of
good cause but may be implied. Jn Re Patel, 43 B.R. 500,
503 (Dist.Ct.Il. 1984). Consequently, the fact that ECTs
creditors had actual notice of the compromise, and orally
moved for its entry along with ECI, satisfies any due pro-
cess requirements which may be applicable.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition For A Writ Of
Certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

PAMELA S. HOLLIS
(Counsel of Record)
Counsel for Respondent

HINSHAW, CULBERTSON, MOELMANN,
HoBAN & FULLER
69 West Washington Street
Chicago, Illinois 60692
(312) 630-4400

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0942%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
