# Amicus Curiae Brief — Alaska Miners Ass'n v. Trustees for Alaska

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0859%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Amicus Curiae Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 484 U.S. 941

## Text

a eS -

Supreme out U8.
N\ @® iL BD
Nos. 87.265, 87-206 and 87-371 MAY 4 1986

SPANIOL, JR,

! In the Supreme Court of the Gni

| OCTOBER TERM, 1987

ALASKA MINERS ASSOCIATION, PETITIONER
v.

TRUSTEES FOR ALASKA, ET AL.

STATE OF ALASKA, PETITIONER
v.

TRUSTEES FOR ALASKA, ET AL.

TRUSTEES FOR ALASKA, ET AL., CROSS-PETITIONERS
Vv.

STATE OF ALASKA, ET AL. :

ON PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ALASKA

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General

ROGER J. MARZULLA
Assistant Attorney General

LAWRENCE G. WALLACE
Deputy Solicitor General
EDWIN S. KNEEDLER
Assistant to the Solicitor General

PETER R. STEENLAND, JR.
Altorney

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Section 6(i) of the Alaska Statehood Act provides that
mineral interests in lands selected by the State of Alaska pur-
suant to Section 6(a) or (b) of that Act may be disposed of only
by “lease,” and that any lands or minerals disposed of in viola-
tion of Section 6(i) shall be forfeited to the United States in a
suit brought by the Attorney General of the United States in the
United States District Court for the District of Alaska.

The United States will address the following questions:

1. Whether respondents have the standing necessary to per-
mit this Court to exercise jurisdiction under Article III of the
Constitution.

2. Whether private parties such as respondents are barred
by Section 6(i) from bringing an action in state court seeking a
declaratory judgment that the State’s mining laws governing the
disposition of mineral interests in selected lands do not comply
with Section 6(i).

3. Whether Alaska’s mining laws violate the restriction in
Section 6(i) of the Alaska Statehood Act that minerals may be
disposed of only by a “lease” because they permit a person to ex-
tract “hard rock” minerals under a location system, similar to
that established by the federal Mining Act of 1872, without pay-
ment of rents or royalties to the State.

4. Whether the restriction in Section 6(i) of the Alaska
Statehood Act that permits minerals in lands selected by the
State under that Act to be disposed of only by lease is limited to
those lands that were known to be mineral in character at the
time they were selected by the State from the United States.

(I)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Statement:
rr l
mm. Bere POCOOUINGS I UNIS GREE... ww. ww cee )
re ean hs ches aveens eke ed vee des 12
a ee ae da subd wks Ae 6 kee cae 30
NE er la
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737 (1984) ............... 13, 15, 16
Andrus v. Utah, 446 U.S. 500 (1980) .................. 3
Barnes v. Kline, 759 F.2d 21 (D.C. Cir. 1984), vacated as
Ce 17
Bill Johnson’s Restaurants, Ji >. v. NLRB, 461 U.S. 731
eC S apices dsassadscececees 21
C.D.M., In re, 627 P.2d 607 (Alaska 1981) ............. 18
California v. Sierra Club, 451 U.S. 287 (1981) .......... 19
California Motor Transport Co. v. Trucking Unlimited,
Ls. uudabe een ¥ssaaecceses 21
Cannon v. University of Chicago, 441 U.S. 677 (1979) ... 19, 23
Chambers v. Harrington, 111 U.S. 350 (1884) .......... 27
Commonwealth Edison Co. v. Montana, 453 U.S. 609
TE Se re 21
Er 17, 19, 20
County of Skamania v. State, 102 Wash.2d 127, 685
EE 22
Crane v. Cedar Rapids & Iowa City Ry., 395 U.S. 164
ES EG 20
Daily Income Fund, Inc. v. Fox, 464 U.S. 523 (1984) .... 19
Doremus v. Board of Education, 342 U.S. 429 (1952) .14, 16, 17
Downer v. Graham, 21 F.2d 732 (8th Cir. 1927) ......... 20
Fidelity Nat’l Bank & Trust Co. v. Swope, 274 U.S. 123
cae eye eck scusesceneses 17
Pee VW. Cee, 29nd. BICEPS) 2. ccc ees i)
Frothingham v. Mellon, 262 U.S. 447 (1923) ........... 14-15
Gulf Offshore Co. v. Mobil Oil Corp., 453 U.S. 473
REE CI SS 23

IV
Cases — Continued: Page
Hagar v. Reclamation Dist. No. 108, 111 U.S. 701
DP Ot ci tiee Ghd vse keh us bead ese Cae rae eee ke ed 24
Hillsborough County v. Automated Medical Labora-
es a Oe Gels, He CE on hc cdkacedanceniaes 21
Jackson Transit Auth. v. Transit Union, 457 U.S. 15
SEE cs cks ene ekidka beaker de nce akon eas eke 19
Jefferson v. Asplund, 458 P.2d 995 (Alaska 1969) ....... 18
Kadish v. Arizona State Land Dep’t, 747 P.2d 1183
SI rs Go ee ae ee ot eg 22
Kanaly v. State by and through Janklow, 368 N.W.2d 819
IG TI Wisc gsc eA ated eo ee AL Riad ie cok 22

Keaukaha-Panaewa Community Ass’n v. Hawaiian
Homes Comm’n, 588 F.2d 1216 (9th Cir. 1978), cert.

Po eR 20
Massachusetts Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Russell, 473 U.S.

GPRS A a Cat OE Se renga mn ly Fee Leconte 19
Merkwan v. State by and through Janklow, 375 N.W.2d

Es cides os apenas SoPeun oh esa dae an 22
Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Thompson, No.

ee og OR RR ee ares .. 18,19
Middlesex County Sewerage Auth. v. National Sea

Clammers Ass’n, 453 U.S. 1 (1981) ............0..... 19
Mills County v. Railroad Cos., 107 U.S. 557 (1883) ...... 24
Moore v. Chesapeake & O. Ry., 291 U.S. 205 (1934) ..... 20
National Railroad Passenger Corp. v. National Ass’n of

Railroad Passengers, 414 U.S. 453 (1974) ............ 19
Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. Transport Workers, 451 U.S.

PP EE a Fak tek 36 ARES Oboe eee Dekh bw a eae es 19
Oklahoma Education Ass’n v. Nigh, 642 P.2d 230 (Okla.

CN a chek dead RAR AR Was MOAN RUS e Kae oe 22
Papasan v. Allain, No. 85-499 (July 1, 1986) ........... 3
Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797 (1985) .... 16
Price v. Hawaii, 764 F.2d 623 (9th Cir. 1985), cert. denied,

Pe ay EE Seals Ca bales Kode nd cadshdeaaa 20
Revere v. Massachusetts General Hosp., 463 U.S. 239

SRE Ki.oeUld ered s-ok ad ae eee yee ak yells wk 16

Ross v. Trustees of University of Wyoming, 30 Wyo. 433,
a oss crac ck Glee ee ee esew eee ieee 22

Cases — Continued: Page
Schlesinger v. Reservists Committee to Stop the War,
PE ee are eer eee rt 14
Secretary of State of Maryland v. J.H. Munson Co.,
eT EE wc tins cade veka hanebahedeanyan 16
Siggelkow v. State, 731 P.2d 57 (Alaska 1987) .......... 18
Simon v. Eastern Kentucky Welfare Rights Org., 426 U.S.
Bn raed ere peer «Ee eer ee ee 15, 16
Springfield Township v. Quick, 63 U.S. (22 How.) 56
ES Lita dacdadadnesicakaheks ee ERT UES RAT EaO ee 22
State v. Lewis, 559 P.2d 630 (Alaska), appeal dismissed,
og eR 8. re ee eer re re 3, 4, 6, 14
State ex rel. Ebke v. Board of Educational Land & Funds,
154 Neb. 244, 47 N.W.2d 520 (1951) ................ 22
State ex rel. Hughes v. State Board of Land Commis-
sioners, 137 Mont. 510, 353 P.2d 331 (1960) .......... 22
Texas Industries, Inc. v. Radcliff Materials, Inc., 451 U.S.
RE ere res rr ern eee 19
Thompson v. Thompson, No. 86-964 (Jan. 12, 1988) .... 17,
19, 20
Toomey v. State Board of Land Commissioners, 106
RE, Sere ee Pe CUE in sxe Scabies acseucnss 22
Touche Ross & Co. v. Redington, 442 U.S. 560 (1979) ... 19
Transamerica Mortgage Advisors, Inc. v. Lewis, 444
RE ee as oe awe tne Reee eA 19
Udall v. Kalerak, 396 F.2d 746 (9th Cir. 1968), cert.
I, Be es WD on oo backs evades xaccins 2

United States v. Atlantic Richfield Co., 435 F. Supp.
1009 (D. Alaska 1977), aff'd, 612 F.2d 1132 (9th Cir.),

cert. denied, 449 U.S. 888 (1980) ................... 2
United States v. Gratiot, 39 U.S. (14 Pet.) 526 (1840) .... 25
United States v. Locke, 471 U.S. 84 (1985) ............. 2
United States v. Mason, 412 U.S. 391 (1973) ........... 23
United States v. Richardson, 418 U.S. 166 (1974) ....... 14, 15
United States v. Sweet, 245 U.S. 563 (1918) ............ 3, 29
United States v. Wyoming, 255 U.S. 489 (1921) ......... 29
Universities Research Ass’n, Inc. v. Coutu, 450 U.S. 754

a Sah WE Cs Cae ee he ita h 19

Valley Forge Christian College v. Americans United for
Separation of Church & State, Inc., 454 U.S. 464
SE ok barks Soka Cee APES E Ran BAe yg LA eee 13, 15

VI
Cases — Continued: Page
Winpisinger v. Watson, 628 F.2d 133 (D.C. Cir. 1980) ... 15
Wyoming v. United States, 255 U.S. 489 (1921) ......... 3

Constitutions, statutes and rule:

U.S. Const.:
eke unedaavdevan 12, 13, 14, 18, 17

Alaska Const.:
Art. VIII:

OE Sh Re ere ee Pee 4,5
GUAT i otis oe nh eek ane dek aden es 4
EET Ter err err err rre 5
Act of June 6, 1900, ch. 786, § 26, 31 Stat. 329, 30 U.S.C.
lie naa os hskd hh eve ehh O00 oe bakes 6
Act of Jan. 25, 1927, ch. 57, § 1, 44 Stat. 1026-1027, 43
i aga atséeakdeechepabevereons 3
ccc. aivctsaes cabasaewe sheaeses’s 3, 25
Administrative Procedure Act, 5 U.S.C. (& Supp. IV)
BN eS a ee Ee i 22

Alaska Coal Leasing Act of 1914, ch. 330, 38 Stat. 741... - 4
Alaska Statehood Act, Pub. L. No. 85-508, 72 Stat. 339:

cos sco 5 p4cde st aredeeavaseens oe *

6, 9, 28, 29

ie one ob Winn webs ban bd Shee 1, 4,

6, 9, 28, 29

ns cost he Kees. ew enesaweenn passim

es aise 6 bs beaceheUensesenedes 5
Arizona-New Mexico Enabling Act, ch. 310, 36 Stat.

Te esas asec tke yp sé hse dcescuuaeseves 20

Na hs bab ck dave veeeeare vas 20, 24
Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, 21 U.S.C.

ae cada ha pense dees nebeaeass 19
Mineral Lands Leasing Act of 1920, ch. 85, 41 Stat. 437,

Be es Gee . BEE) BGT GE SNG, 2.0.6 cccrccceseces 2
ee i veehehinchisaceadees 2
I So Seid d's 5.6 dd e's wa Gees 4 2
ey oo kb aad b doa saa eh we ide Sw atalee 2
ate ae a we above wae eees 2

Vil
Statutes and rule — Continued: Page
IR ca wnbadacdedesnvetecuecerass4s 2
SOE BA, Ge. TEED DOMED oon ccc cccccceccesenes 2
SEE ewinecsakseadcdcdecevereesnebaend 2
EY Ss gc 5 na KOe 504s s sR ase ee eu ded ens 2
Mining Act of 1872, ch. 152, 17 Stat. 91, 30 U.S.C. 22 ef
UR dnd ckd pac cacnc ceektsedce chdddenvausnandweds 2
GT ME cil aeh seus saa Var Sasbebuvkoaneaeus 2
OE 55g ib dak bed aan ded sens ea eeneh eoaben 13
SE ob ac hndessdcueactdrcserseackaupeeties 17, 19
1999 Almsie Goss. Laws 229-267 . oo ccc ccnsccccacasss 6
oR ED RP Or errr rere Prep 6
BS cau ea ccs sh AKee Reese beeen wesw eeekeus 7
iS as owe aw enb ee eh Mes aS C4 SEA ShER RS 6
1981 Alsska Sees. Laws Gi. 106 20.2 cc cicccscsccnccees 7
Alaska Stat.:
SE sc isececesensscnkoeavaesee 18
Pe EE cco cbeeesccdcccscencssenesa 18
§§ 38.05.135-38.05.184 (1984) ...............005. 6
ee cia pe caaveccececécsvcetesss 7,8
§§ 38.05.185-38.05.275 (1984) ...............005- 6
Sc cv eecneeetenssesesasueas 7, 8,9
Sasa k nb ens sees o¥ebbswede 8
S DE Clisvwisbesccsuccectesteces 8
Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 27-234 (Supp. 1987) ............ 25
Colo. Rev. Stat. § 36-1-113 (Supp. 1987) .............. 25
Idaho Code § 47-704 (Supp. 1987) ...............00055 25
Mont. Code Ann. (1988):
i read bakes baces scat asenechenhedes 25
SE eta yah Ge a6 oka en saend an eee Onen es 25
Pe, Ts es ENED Cc cccvcccasrceencecun 25
N.M. Stat. Ann. (1985):
tS eg Ter oe acu e eu cease dence end 25
SS SPS res eee PT ETT CTT RCrTT IT TTT eer 25
Utah Code Ann. § 65-1-18 (1986) ..................5.. 25
Me ee rr ee PEP Eee eT reer re eer ee rye 29

Vill

Miscellaneous: Page
3 American Law of .dining (Rocky Mtn. Min. L. Inst.
eC Le eC en ened th ateetenieseccénnlcests 25
P. Bator, et al., Hart & Wechsler’s The Federal Courts and
ee IE ncn dcicekcdscenscéarsscec 17, 20
V. Fischer, Alaska’s Constitutional Convention (1975)... 4, 5
Letter from the Alaska Attorney General to Governor Jay
S. Hammond cre b ist eehbeankewad &o-8 8,9

Statehood for Alaska: Hearings on H.R. 50, et al. Before
the Subcomm. on Territorial and Insular Affairs of
the House Comm. on Interior and Insular Affairs,

Se ig ME IT 6 0 6 dab a céchecedncenedecs 5, 25
Status of Mining Claims Staked on State Selected Lands,
1981 Alas. Att’y Gen. Op. 113 (1981) ................ 6,7

L. Tribe, American Constitutional Law (2d ed. 1988) .... 17

In the Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

No. 87-205
ALASKA MINERS ASSOCIATION, PETITIONER
v.

TRUSTEES FOR ALASKA, ET AL.

No. 87-206
STATE OF ALASKA, PETITIONER
v.

TRUSTEES FOR ALASKA, ET AL.

No. 87-371
TRUSTEES FOR ALASKA, ET AL., CROSS-PETITIONERS
v.

STATE OF ALASKA, ET AL.

ON PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF ALASKA

BRIEF FOR THE UNITED STATES AS AMICUS CURIAE

This brief is filed in response to the Court’s invitation to the
Solicitor General to express the views of the United States.

STATEMENT
A. The Statutory Framework

Sections 6(a) and (b) of the Alaska Statehood Act authorized
Alaska to select 103,350,000 acres of land from the vacant, un-

(1)

2

appropriated and unreserved public lands of the United States.
72 Stat. 340. The “primary purpose” of this grant “was to ensure
the economic and social well-being of the new state” (86-206
Pet. App. B51 [hereinafter Pet. App.], citing Udall v. Kalerak,
396 F.2d 746, 749 (9th Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 393 U.S. 1118
(1969); United States v. Atlantic Richfield Co., 435 F. Supp.
1009, 1016, 1021 n.47 (D. Alaska 1977), aff'd, 612 F.2d 1132
(9th Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 888 (1980)). This case concerns
the validity of the statutory scheme by which Alaska permits the
extraction of so-called “hard-rock” minerals from lands selected
pursuant to Section 6(a) or (b).

1. a. Both the Alaska Statehood Act and the state statutory
scheme were enacted against the background of the distinction
that then existed (and still exists) under federal law between the
system of mineral /ocation under the Mining Act of 1872, ch.
152, 17 Stat. 91, 30 U.S.C. 22 et seqg., and the system of mineral
leasing under the Mineral Lands Leasing Act of 1920, ch. 85, 41
Stat. 437, 30 U.S.C. (& Supp. III) 181 et seg. Under the Mining
Act of 1872, “ ‘[dJiscovery’ of a mineral deposit, followed by the
minimal procedures required to formally ‘locate’ the deposit,
gives an individual the right of exclusive possession of the land
for mining purposes, 30 U.S.C. § 26; as long as $100 of assess-
ment work is performed annually, the individual may continue
to extract and sell minerals from the claim without paying any
royalty to the United States, 30 U.S.C. § 28.” United States v.
Locke, 471 U.S. 84, 86 (1985). The 1872 Act also authorizes the
claimant to obtain a patent by paying a nominal sum to the
United States. 30 U.S.C. 29, 37; Locke, 471 U.S. at 86. By con-
trast, under the Mineral Lands Leasing Act of 1920, a person
seeking to extract minerals from federal land may only lease the
land, and he must pay an annual rental fee and royalties on any
minerals extracted. 30 U.S.C. (& Supp. III) 207(a), 212, 226(b)
and (d), 241(a), 262, 283. The location system under the 1872
Act applies to so-called “hard rock” minerals, such as gold,
silver, copper, lead, zinc, tin and tungsten, while the leasing
system under the 1920 Act applies to coal, oil, gas, oil shale,
phosphate, sodium and potassium. 30 U.S.C. 181.

——

3

The Alaska Statehood Act and the state statutory scheme also
were enacted against the background of provisions in other
statehood acts that granted lands for school purposes. See
Papasan vy. Allain, No. 85-499 (July 1, 1986), slip op. 1-4.
Under those other acts, this Court held that lands that were
known to be mineral in character at the time of statehood were
excluded from the school grants unless Congress expresssly pro-
vided otherwise. United States v. Sweet, 245 U.S. 563 (1918);
Wyoming v. United States, 255 U.S. 489, 500-501 (1921). In
response, Congress passed the Act of January 25, 1927, ch. 57,
§ 1, 44 Stat. 1026-1027, 43 U.S.C. 870, which extended the
school grants to embrace numbered sections that are mineral in
character. Andrus v. Utah, 446 U.S. 500, 509 (1980). The 1927
Act further provided that the mineral rights in such lands must
be retained by the State and “shall be subject to lease by the
State as the State legislature may direct, the proceeds and rentals
and royalties therefrom to be utilized for the support or in aid of
the common or public schools” (43 U.S.C. 870(b)).

Section 6(i) of the Alaska Statehood Act (72 Stat. 342) makes
applicable to the lands granted to Alaska a set of restrictions
that are expressly patterned after those in the 1927 School Lands
Act. See Pet. App. B30-B32, B39-B46; State v. Lewis, 559 P.2d
630, 636 (Alaska), appeal dismissed, 432 U.S. 901 (1977). Sec-
tion 6(i) provides:

All grants made or confirmed under this Act shall include
mineral deposits. The grants of mineral lands to the State
of Alaska under subsections (a) and (b) of this section are
made upon the express condition that all sales, grants,
deeds, or patents for any of the mineral lands so granted
shall be subject to and contain a reservation to the State of
all of the minerals in the lands so sold, granted, deeded, or
patented, together with the right to prospect for, mine, and
remove the same. Mineral deposits in such lands shall be
subject to lease by the State as the State legislature may
direct: Provided, That any lands or minerals hereafter
disposed of contrary to the provisions of this section shall
be forfeited to the United States by appropriate pro-

cea

4

ceedings instituted by the Attorney General for that pur-
pose in the United States District Court for the District of
Alaska.

The only distinction between Section 6(i) and the 1927 Act is
that Section 6(i) does not require that “the proceeds and rentals
and royalties” of mineral leasing be utilized only for school pur-
poses, since the basic grants under Section 6(a) and (b) of the
Alaska Statehood Act are not limited to school purposes.

b. The requirement that minerals on selected lands be
disposed of only under a “lease” encountered substantial op-
position from mining interests and others in Alaska when the
question of statehood for Alaska was under consideration by
Congress in the mid-1950s. This opposition is reflected in the
text and background of the Alaska Constitution, which was
proposed by a Convention in 1956 and approved by the people
of Alaska later that year. See Lewis, 559 P.2d at 636. The basic
restrictions of the 1927 School Lands Act had already been in-
corporated into the pending Alaska statehood bill when the
Convention convened. Pet. App. C10; V. Fischer, Alaska’s
Constitutional Convention 134 (1975). As the Alaska Supreme
Court explained, those restrictions “were controversial because
they signalled a change from the existing location-patent system
to a leasing system” for hard-rock minerals (Pet. App. B46). As
a result, the Alaska Constitution, as approved by the voters in
1956 and still in effect, retains the distinction between mineral
leasing and mineral location. Article VIII, § 12 states that the
Legislature “shall provide for the issuance, types and terms of
leases” for oil, gas, coal and other minerals that were then sub-
ject to the Mineral Lands Leasing Act of 1920 or the Alaska
Coal Leasing Act of 1914, ch. 330, 38 Stat. 741. But Article
VIII, § 11 provides that “[d]iscovery and appropriation shall be
the basis for establishing a right in those minerals reserved to the
State which, upon the date of ratification of this Constitution
by the people of Alaska, were subject to location under the
federal mining laws.”'

' Section 11 further provides that continuation of rights in those minerals
“shall depend upon the performance of annual labor, or the payment of fees,

The Alaska Supreme Court explained that Art. VIII, § 11 was
included by the Convention at the instance of delegates who
favored a location-patent system for hard-rock minerals, in the
hope that Congress might recede from the universal leasing re-
quirement in the pending bill (Pet. App. B49). “ ‘Most
{delegates} also saw the provision as a demonstration to miners
* * * that any restrictions applicable to alienation of mineral
lands were being imposed from outside and were not the con-
vention’s own doing’” (ibid. (quoting V. Fischer, supra, at
134)). But because the benefits of statehood were thought to
outweigh the disadvantages of the “lease” requirement, the Con-
stitution proposed by the Convention and approved by the
voters in 1956 expressly consented in advance to such terms or
conditions as Congress might attach to the grant of federal
lands to Alaska (Art. XII, § 13; see Pet. App. B46-B47 & n.22).

Congress did not recede from the universal “lease” require-
ment when it enacted Section 6(i) of the Statehood Act in 1958.
However, in light of the opposition to that requirement in
Alaska,? Congress provided in Section 8(b) of the Statehood
Act that Alaska’s admission to the Union was conditioned upon
the voters’ consent at a special election to all provisions of the
Statehood Act “reserving rights or powers to the United States,
as well as those prescribing the terms or conditions of the grants
of lands or other property therein made to the State of Alaska”
(72 Stat. 344). Section 8(b) further provided that if the voters
approved this proposition, the Constitution of Alaska “shall be

rents, or royalties, or upon other requirements as may be prescribed by law,”
and that “[d]iscovery and appropriation [of such minerals] shall initiate a right
* * * to patent of mineral lands if authorized by the State and noi prohibited
by Congress.”

? After the proposed Constitution was approved by the people of Alaska in
1956, petitioner Alaska Miners Association (AMA) urged Congress to recede
from the mandatory mineral leasing provision now embodied in Section 6(i)
and instead to permit the State to implement the mineral location system con-
templated by Art. VIII, § 11 of the proposed Constitution for minerals that
were subject to location under the federal mining laws. See Statehood for
Alaska: Hearings on H.R. 50, et al. Before the Subcomm. on Territorial and
Insular Affairs of the House Comm. on Interior and Insular Affairs, 85th
Cong., Ist Sess. 217-245 (1957).

eva, i

6

deemed amended accordingly” (ibid.). The people of Alaska
voted in favor of the proposition at a special election on August
26, 1958 (559 P.2d at 639), and Alaska was admitted to the
Union on January 3, 1959.

2. Inthe early years of statehood, state officials did not in-
terpret the “lease” requirement in Section 6(i) to apply to all
lands selected by the State pursuant to Section 6(a) and (b) of
the Statehood Act. Rather, they interpreted it to apply only
where the surface estate was soid or otherwise disposed of by the
State, with a reservation of mineral interests to the State. Under
that construction, Section 6(i) did not restrict the manner in
which the State disposed of minerals in those selected lands
(presumably the vast majority) that were retained by the State,
and the State therefore was free to apply a mineral location
system to such lands. See Status of Mining Claims Staked on
State Selected Lands, 1981 Alas. Att’y Gen. Op. 113, 154-155
(1981) [hereinafter 1981 Alas. Att’y Gen. Op.].

The State’s narrow construction of Section 6(i), and the
distinction embodied in the Alaska Constitution between
mineral leasing and mineral location, were implemented in a law
enacted by the Alaska Legislature in 1959 to govern the ad-
ministration of lands owned by the new State. 1959 Sess. Laws
of Alaska (SLA) 229-247. The 1959 legislation provided for the
leasing of state lands and the payment of rents and royalties for
the extraction of coal, oil, gas and other minerals that are
governed by the Mineral Lands Leasing Act of 1920. Art. VIII,
§ 3, 1959 SLA at 241-244; see Alaska Stat. §§ 38.05.135-
38.05.184 (1984). But “all minerals [that were] subject to loca-
tion under the mining laws of the United States” were made sub-
ject to discovery, appropriation and location under the relevant
sections of Alaska’s mining laws, which in turn had been derived
directly from the federal mineral location laws. Art. IX, § 1,
1959 SLA at 246.3 The only difference was that a claimant
under the State’s location system could not receive a patent to

> The laws of the United States relating to mining claims were extended to
the Territory of Alaska by Section 26 of the Act of June 6, 1900, ch. 786, 31
Stat. 329, 30 U.S.C. 49a. The State’s mining laws are now codified at Alaska
Stat. §§ 38.05.185-38.05.275 (1984).

7

the mineral interests. However, as required even by the State’s
narrow construction of Section 6(i), minerals that were reserved
to the State when the surface estate in selected land was sold by
the State could be extracted only under a lease, on terms ap-
proved by the Commissioner of the Department of Natural
Resources. Art. IX, 1959 SLA at 246.

3. a. Section 6(i) became the subject of considerable in-
terest in Alaska at the beginning of this decade, when the At-
torney General of Alaska undertook an extensive analysis of the
scope of Section 6(i) for the Commissioner of Alaska’s Depart-
ment of Natural Resources. 1981 Alas. Att’y Gen. Op., supra.
In his final opinion, rendered in 1981, the Attorney General
concluded, inter alia, that state officials had erred in inter-
preting the “lease” requirement in Section 6(i) to apply only to
mineral interests that were reserved to the State when the sur-
face estate was sold (id. at 156-157). In his view, the “over-
whelming weight” of the legislative history established that “the
leasing restriction [in Section 6(i)] was to apply to all mineral
lands” (ibid.), while “[t]he approach offered by state officials
was not contemplated by anyone prior to passage of the
Statehood Act” (id. at 157).4 However, reversing the position he
had taken in a publicly circulated draft of the opinion (id. at
158), the Attorney General further concluded that Section 6(i)
applies only to lands that were known to be mineral in character
at the time they were selected by the State (id. at 157-166).

b. In response to the Attorney General’s opinion, the State
Legislature revised the State’s mining laws in 1981. 1981 SLA
ch. 108. The 1981 amendments provide that hard-rock minerals
must be extracted under a lease, even on lands retained by the
State. However, this special leasing requirement for hard-rock
minerals applies only if the Commissioner first finds that the
lands in question were known to be mineral in character at the
time they were selected by the State. That finding can be made
only through the issuance of a formal land classification order
(Alaska Stat. §§ 38.05.185, 38.05.205), and we have been in-

+ We believe that the Attorney General’s interpretation of Section 6(i) in this
respect is clearly correct, and petitioners do not challenge it here.

formed by the Office of the Attorney General of Alaska that no
such classification orders have been issued. As a result, even on
lands that were known to be mineral in character at the time
they were selected, hard-rock minerals continue to be governed
solely by the State’s mineral /ocation system, which does not
provide for the payment of rents or royalties to the State.‘

Moreover, the special hard-rock leasing provisions (unlike the
State’s general mineral leasing laws applicable to oil, gas and
coal) do not provide for the payment of royalties to the State for
the extraction of minerals. And although the special leasing pro-
visions do prescribe an annual rental fee, that fee is set at the
amount of annual labor necessary to maintain a mining location
claim (now $200 per year, Alaska Stat. § 38.05.210(a)), and the
lessee is entitled to a credit against his rent for the labor actually
performed (§ 38.05.205(b)). The net effect of these provisions is
that even if the Commissioner should trigger application of the
special hard-rock leasing provisions in the future, the State still
would not realize any cash rents or royalties for the leasing or
extraction of hard-rock minerals from those lands.

c. In 1982, the Alaska Legislature again amended the State’s
hard-rock mining laws in response to the Attorney General’s
1981 opinion. As explained by the Attorney General in a June 3,
1982 opinion letter to Governor Jay S. Hammond,® the 1982
amendments responded to the concern that the State’s mineral
location system does not satisfy the “lease” requirement in Sec-
tion 6(i) because it does not provide for particularized review by
the State of individual mining claims and does not contain a
mechanism by which the State conveys a mining right or other
interest to each claimant. The Attorney General observed that
although the granting of rights in a special tract “may not be a
necessary element of a leasing system, it could be the deciding

> State law also provides for the mining of hard-rock minerals under a lease
if the Commissioner determines that the mining would conflict with potential
uses of state land (Alaska Stat. § 38.05.185). This provision is not addressed to
Section 6(i), and we have been informed by the Office of the Attorney General
of Alaska that the only mining leases issued under Section 38.05.205 have been
premised on a finding of conflicting uses.

® We have lodged a copy of this opinion letter, which was furnished to us by
the Office of the Attorney General of Alaska, with the Clerk of this Court.

9

factor in a judicial determination of whether Alaska’s location
system is really a leasing system” (Letter at 3). The 1982 amend-
ments authorize the Commissioner to issue a “production
license” to each locator of a mining claim who wishes to extract
hard-rock minerals. Alaska Stat. § 38.05.205. Although a pro-
duction license likewise is not conditioned upon payment of
rents or royalties, the Attorney General was of the view that the
1982 amendments brought the State into compliance with the
Statehood Act because a production license could be regarded
as a “lease” for purposes of Section 6(i). Letter at 3-4. The At-
torney General acknowledged that it would be better if the
license were expressly termed a “lease,” but he explained that
“this additional cosmetic change proved impossible due to the
miners’ adamant and vocal opposition to the term” (id. at 3).

B. The Proceedings In This Case

1. This suit was filed in state Superior Court in 1983 by the
respondent environmental organizations, Native village cor-
porations, and fishing association. They sought a declaratory
judgment that the state statutory scheme for the mining of hard-
rock minerals on land selected pursuant to Section 6(a) or (b) of
the Statehood Act violates the “lease” requirement in Section
6(i) because the State does not receive rents or royalties in return
for production licenses or leases and because the State construes
the “lease” requirement to apply only to lands that were known
to be mineral in character when they were selected. Comp.
44 40-46, 57-59; Prayer for Relief 44 1-3, 7.’

The trial court granted summary judgment in favor of peti-
tioners (Pet. App. Al-A15). The court first held that respond-
ents do not have standing to seek judicial review (id. at AS-A9),
because “[o]n the evidentiary record in this case, [respondents]
have * * * failed to establish the requisite individualized harm,
direct interest, or personal stake in the mineral resources being
managed under the statutory scheme challenged here” (id. at
A5-A6). The court also found that respondents do not have

’ Respondents raised certain claims under the State Constitution as well
(Compl. 4§ 47-56, 60-62), but the Alaska Supreme Court did not reach the
state-law claims (Pet. App. B85) and they are not at issue here.

10

standing under a distinct state-law doctrine that permits a
citizen or taxpayer to challenge state governmental action (id. at
A6-A9). On the merits, the trial court held that because Section
6(i) provides that minerals are “subject to lease by the State as
the State legislature may direct,” the Alaska Legislature had
discretion to permit the consideration for a lease (or production
license) to be in the form of “services” (the annual labor
necessary to maintain a mining claim), rather than cash rents or
royalties (Pet. App. A9-A12).

2. On respondent’s appeal, the Supreme Court of Alaska
reversed and remanded for entry of a declaratory judgment that
the state statutory scheme violates Section 6(i) and for other ap-
propriate proceedings (Pet. App. B1-B86). The Supreme Court
noted that respondents “assert that they have standing as
citizens or taxpayers, rather than because their interests are in-
jured” (id. at B9), and it held that respondents have standing in
the former capacity (id. at B6-B26). The court rejected the
State’s argument that respondents are not appropriate plaintiffs
as citizens or taxpayers because the Attorney General of the
United States has authority to challenge the State’s hard-rock
mining system in a forfeiture proceeding brought under Section
6(i) of the Statehood Act. The court reasoned that respondents
“are interested in preserving to the state the economic value of
these lands,” while the Attorney General “would be bringing an
action for forfeiture of these lands, contrary to [respondents’}
interest” (id. at B25-B26). The court also rejected the State’s
related contention that the authorization in Section 6(i) for the
Attorney General to bring a forfeiture action constitutes an im-
plied, federal-law preclusion of this declaratory judgment ac-
tion in state court (Pet. App. B26-B31). The court pointed out
that there has been much litigation in the courts of other States
concerning restrictions on federal land grants (id. at B26-B27 &
n.11), and it did not read the forfeiture provision in Section 6(i)
to require a different result for Alaska (id. at B29-B31 & n.13).
Indeed, the court believed that “{i]t would be unusual in the ex-
treme if a state court could not construe the meaning of its
state’s Statehood Act” (id. at B31).

On the merits, the Supreme Court found Alaska’s hard-rock
mining statutes to be substantively “indistinguishable” from a

1]

mineral location system (Pet. App. B70-B71), and it held that
the state statutes “do not meet the leasing requirement of section
6(i)” because Section 6(i) “mandates a system under which the
state must receive rent or royalties for its mining leases” (id. at
B66-B67). Based on its exhaustive review of the legislative
history of Section 6(i) (see Pet. App. B33-B67), the court con-
cluded that “Congress * * * granted Alaska the mineral estate
with the intention that the revenue generated therefrom would
help fund the new state’s government” (id. at B56). In the
court’s view, “[t]he leasing restriction in section 6(i) was in-
tended to further the goal of state revenue production” (id. at
B58-B59), especially since Congress equated it with the leasing
procedures under the Mineral Lands Leasing Act of 1920, which
“reject[ed] the location system for certain minerals in order to
provide revenue to the United States” (id. at B64-B65). The
court also found it significant that the lease requirement in Sec-
tion 6(i) was “copied advisedly” from the 1927 School Lands Act
(id. at B59-B63), because the 1927 Act’s leasing requirement
“was expressly intended to be productive of proceeds, rents, and
royalties” (id. at B64-B65) and because the laws of the States
subject to the 1927 Act “are uniform in requiring the payment
of rent, or royalties, or both” (id. at B65). Finally, the court re-
jected the contention that the performance of annual labor
worth $200 satisfies the requirement of rents or royalties, since
annual labor is required as evidence of good faith that the claim
will be worked and “is not a source of revenue to the
landowner” (id. at B70). The court did, however, agree with
petitioners that the leasing requirement in Section 6(i) applies
only to lands that were known to be mineral in character when
they were selected by the State (id. at B71-B84).

3. After the petitions and conditional cross-petition for a
writ of certiorari were filed in this Court, the Superior Court, on
remand, issued an order and declaratory judgment dated
November 9, 1987 (App., infra, la-8a). Because the Supreme
Court’s decision referred only to rents or royalties, the Superior
Court rejected respondents’ contention that the declaratory
judgment should state that Alaska’s statutory scheme must pro-
vide for payment of rents and royalties (id. at 3a-4a). The
Superior Court also rejected respondents’ contention that the

12

State must charge rents or royalties that reflect the “fair market
value” of the hard-rock minerals in the land (id. at 4a). The
court reasoned that Section 6(i) was intended to assure the State
Legislature “substantial flexibility and discretion in fashioning
some appropriate leasing system” (ibid.), and it read the
Supreme Court’s opinion to hold only that “the State has to
charge some rents or royalties for extracted minerals, i.e., that
the State was not free to impose no such charges on miners ex-
tracting minerals from state mineral lands” (ibid. (emphasis in
original)). Finally, the Superior Court denied, as premature,
respondents’ request for an injunction barring the State from
allowing extraction of mineral deposits from covered state lands
after May 15, 1988 if the State Legislature did not enact a leas-
ing system conforming to the Alaska Supreme Court’s inter-
pretation of Section 6(i) by that time (App., infra, Sa-6a).

DISCUSSION

Respondents do not satisfy the standing requirements of Arti-
cle lil of the Constitution, and this Court therefore does not
have jurisdiction to entertain the petitions or cross-petition for a
writ of certiorari. In any event, the issues raised by petitioners
do not warrant review. The Supreme Court of Alaska correctly
held that the courts of that State are not precluded by Section
6(i) of the Alaska Statehood Act from entertaining an action
seeking a declaratory judgment regarding the validity of the
State’s hard-rock mining laws under Section 6(i). The courts of
a number of other States have entertained similar suits, and a
declaratory judgment action does not conflict with the Attorney
General’s distinct authority under Section 6(i) to bring an action
for forfeiture of lands or minerals that are disposed of in viola-
tion of that Section. On the merits, the Alaska Supreme Court
reasonably characterized the State’s hard-rock mining laws as
essentially a mineral location rather than a mineral leasing
scheme, reasonably construed the “lease” provision in Section
6(i) to require the payment of at least some rents or royalties for
the extraction of minerals, and reasonably concluded that the
State’s mining laws fail to satisfy that requirement because
Alaska (unlike other western States) does not receive any cash
payments for the extraction of hard-rock minerals. This unani-

13

mous holding that the State’s own mining laws are inconsistent
with the Alaska Statehood Act presents no issue warranting
review by this Court.

By contrast, we find considerable merit in respondents’ con-
tention in their cross-petition that the Alaska Supreme Court
erred in limiting the “lease” requirement in Section 6(i) to lands
that were known to be mineral in character when they were
selected by the State. However, because respondents request
this Court to grant their cross-petition only if it grants the prin-
cipal petitions, and because we believe that those petitions
should be denied, the cross-petition should be denied as well.

1. Before addressing the questions presented in the petitions
and cross-petition, we shall first address an important threshold
question not raised by the parties: whether respondents have the
Article III standing necessary to permit this Court to review the
decision of the Alaska Supreme Court.* The “core component”
of standing under Article III is that the plaintiff “must allege
personal injury fairly traceable to the defendant’s allegedly
unlawful conduct and likely to be redressed by the requested
relief.” Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. 737, 751 (1984); Valley Forge
Christian College v. Americans United for Separation of
Church & State, Inc., 454 U.S. 464, 472 (1982). In our view,
respondents face obstacles under all aspects of this test.

The Superior Court found that respondents “have * * * failed
to establish the requisite individualized harm, direct interest, or
personal stake in the mineral resources being managed under the
statutory scheme challenged here” (Pet. App. AS5-A6).
Respondents did not challenge that finding, and the Alaska

* The holding below that respondents’ declaratory judgment action is not
barred by Section 6(i) and that Alaska’s existing hard-rock mining laws are in-
consistent with Section 6(i) would appear to be sufficiently “final” for pur-
poses of this Court’s review under 28 U.S.C. 1257, even though the Supreme
Court remanded for the Superior Court to enter the declaratory judgment and
that judgment on remand addressed several additional issues regarding the
meaning of Section 6(i) that might be relevant to the validity of future amend-
ments to the State’s mining laws. Our only reservation on the finality issue
arises from the fact that neither court below has yet addressed the availability
of injunctive relief, which could raise additional federal issues under Section
6(i). See note 18, supra.

14

Supreme Court did not overturn it. In fact, the Supreme Court
acknowledged that respondents “assert that they have standing
as citizens or taxpayers, rather than because their interests are
injured” (id. at B9).° Moreover, in holding that respondents
have standing as citizens and taxpayers (id. at B8-B26), the
Alaska Supreme Court did not rely upon the possibility that
Alaska’s hard-rock mining laws might have a financial impact
on the taxpayers who are members or constituents of the
respondent organizations. Rather, it appears that under the
special standing doctiine applied by the Supreme Court, the
mere status of an individual as a citizen or taxpayer is sufficient
to give him a derivative interest or stake in significant legal
issues concerning the performance of state governmental func-
tions. Althought the courts of the States are not barred by the
Federal Constitution from recognizing standing on-such a
theory, this Court has consistently held that an individual does
not satisfy-the standing requirements of Article III based on
nothing more than his status as a citizen who is interested in the
conduct of his government. Schlesinger v. Reservists Committee
to Stop the War, 418 U.S. 208, 215-221 (1974); United States v.
Richardson, 418 U.S. 166, 171-175 (1974); Doremus v. Board
of Education, 342 U.S. 429, 433-435 (1952); Frothingham v.

* The standing portions of respondents’ brief (at 25-31) and reply brief (at
2-11) in the Alaska Supreme Court discussed only the taxpayer-citizen doctrine
recognized by the Alaska Supreme Court in State v. Lewis, supra, and related
cases. The briefs did assert that respondents had a “personal stake” in the out-
come. But those assertions were made in the framework of the taxpayer-citizen
standing doctrine under state-law precedents, and the “personal stake” that
respondents alleged was entirely derivative of what respondents alleged to be
the State’s interest in realizing income from rental fees and royalties and
avoiding the possible forfeiture of the land. See Appellants’ Br. 25-26, 27;
Reply Br. 2-3, 5 That stake is not “personal” in the sense of being unique to
respondents; it is the interest shared by all taxpayers and citizens of Alaska in
having their state government retain its assets and maximize its income from
those assets.

Respondents also alleged in the Superior Court that their members or
residents used state lands for recreational, commercial and subsistence pur-
poses; that mining adversely affected those uses; and that placer mining
polluted streams used by respondents’ members and residents. Compl.
44 1-12. Neither the Superior Court nor the Alaska Supreme Court referred to
those allegations of injury, and respondents did not rely on them in their briefs
in the Alaska Supreme Court.

15

Mellon, 262 U.S. 447 (1923); cf. Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. at
754-755, 756 n.21; Valley Forge, 454 U.S. at 482, 489-490 n.26.

Nor have respondents alleged that the State has spent tax
revenues pursuant to a statute in direct contravention of a
specific constitutional (or statutory) provision, such as the
Establishment Clause, that restricts such expenditures. Com-
pare Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83, 102-103 (1968); see Valley
Forge, 454 U.S. at 479-480; United States v. Richardson, 418
U.S. at 175. In fact, respondents do not challenge the
lawfulness of any taxes or expenditures as such. They merely
object to the failure of the State to collect additional, non-tax
revenues from other persons. If that theory of standing were
adopted, any taxpayer could challenge any actions that have
monetary consequences for the government.

Under Article III, “{t}he injury must be ‘fairly’ traceable to
the challenged action, and relief from the injury must be ‘likely’
to follow from a favorable decision” (Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S.
at 751, quoting Simon v. Eastern Kentucky Welfare Rights
Org., 426 U.S. 26, 38, 41 (1976)). In this case, respondents
neither alleged in their complaint nor argued in the Alaska
Supreme Court that there was a direct correlation between the
amount of income the State receives from hard-rock mining on
state lands and the amount of money that respondents’
members and residents pay in state taxes. Compare Allen v.
Wright, 468 U.S. at 758. Respondents accordingly do not deny
that if the State in the past had received the increased mining
revenues that respondents seek to compel in this suit, it is possi-
ble that the State Legislature would not have amended the
State’s tax code but instead would have used the increased
revenues to furnish additional services, reduce a budget deficit,
or increase a budget surplus. Any “injury” respondents’
members and residents suffer as a result of the current rates of
taxation therefore is not fairly traceable to the challenged action
of the State in failing to charge rents and royalties. See United
States v. Richardson, 418 U.S. at 171-172; Flast v. Cohen, 392
U.S. at 92-93; Frothingham v. Mellon, 262 U.S. at 487-488; see
also Winpisinger v. Watson, 628 F.2d 133, 139(D.C. Cir. 1980).
Nor would respondents necessarily receive relief from that

16

“injury” as a result of a decision in their favor in this case. To
the contrary, respondents seek an injunction barring all hard-
rock mining on state lands under the existing state
statutes—relief that obviously would not generate additional
revenues. Moreover, even if this suit should cause the State
Legislature to amend the state statutes to impose rents and/or
royalties in the future, many persons holding mining claims
might forgo mining rather than make the payments. Compare
Allen v. Wright, 468 U.S. at 758-759; Eastern Kentucky
Welfare, 426 U.S. at 40-46. And even if some claimants did con-
tinue to mine, the increased revenues might not lead to lower
taxes.

In sum, the decision of the Supreme Court of Alaska in this
case was, for federal jurisdictional purposes, essentially an ad-
visory opinion. That opinion might provide useful guidance to
the Alaska Legislature as it seeks to conform its hard-rock min-
ing laws to Section 6(i) of the Alaska Statehood Act, just as the
1981 Opinion of the Attorney General of Alaska led the Alaska
Legislature to amend the State’s hard-rock mining laws in 1981
and 1982 (see pages 7-9, supra). But the opinion is not subject to
review here. This Court held in Doremus (342 U.S. at 434):

We do not undertake to say that a state court may not
render an opinion on a federal constitutional question even
under such circumstances that it can be regarded only as
advisory. But, because our own jurisdiction is cast in terms
of ‘case or controversy,’ we cannot accept as the basis for
review, nor as the basis for conclusive disposition of an
issue of federal law without review, any procedure which
does not constitute such.

See also Phillips Petroleum Co. v. Shutts, 472 U.S. 797, 804
(1985); Secretary of State of Maryland v. J.H. Munson Co., 467
U.S. 947, 954 & n.4 (1984); Revere v. Massachusetts General
Hosp., 463 U.S. 239, 243 (1983). We therefore suggest that the
Court deny certiorari because of this jurisdictional defect, as
well as for the other reasons set forth below. If the Court denies
review, then in any future suit in federal court—including a
forfeiture action brought by the Attorney General of the United
States — both petitioners and respondents presumably would be

17

free to relitigate the issues of federal law that were addressed by
the Alaska Supreme Court in this case, since the district court in
any such suit could not accept a proceeding in state court that
did not constitute a case or controversy “as the basis for con-
clusive disposition of an issue of federal law” (Doremus, 342
U.S. at 434). See P. Bator, et al., Hart & Wechsler’s The Federal
Courts and the Federal System 128-129 (1973); cf. Fidelity Nat’l
Bank & Trust Co. v. Swope, 274 U.S. 123, 13%-131 (1927).'°

2. Petitioners’ principal contention in this —ourt is that the
state courts should not have entertained this suit, because
respondents do not have an “implied right to action” under the
Alaska Statehood Act to enforce the “lease” requirement of Sec-
tion 6(i) and because the authorization for the Attorney General
of the United States to bring a forfeiture action implicitly
forecloses all private suits arising under Section 6(i). 87-206 Pet.
20-33; 87-205 Pet. 6-9. Both arguments fail.

a. We may assume for present purposes that, under the ap-
proach followed by this Court in Cort v. Ash, 422 U.S. 66, 78
(1975), and its progeny (see, e.g., Thompson v. Thompson, No.
86-964 (Jan. 12, 1988), slip op. 4-5), respondents do not have an
implied private right of action under Section 6(i) that could be
brought in federal district court under the general grant of
federal question jurisdiction, 28 U.S.C. 1331. See Pet. App.
A8-A9. Thus, we may assume that Section 6(i) was not enacted

'0 It has been suggested that the language in Doremus quoted in the text
could be read to mean that dismissal of the petition or appeal is appropriate
only if the state supreme court rejected the federal constitutional challenge in a
proceeding in which the plaintiff did not satisfy Article III’s standing re-
quirements, and that this Court properly could vacate a state court decision
that sustained the federal constitutional challenge in such a proceeding. See
Barnes v. Kline, 759 F.2d 21, 63 n.16 (D.C. Cir. 1984) (Bork, J., dissenting),
vacated as moot, No. 85-781 (Jan. 14, 1987); L. Tribe, American Constitu-
tional Law 114 n.20 (2d ed. 1988). We disagree. In our view, the Doremus
passage makes clear that a federal court will not give preclusive effect to the
unreviewed state court decision in a future case, not that this Court could
vacate the state court decision on direct review in the same case, despite the
absence of a case or controversy. The latter suggestion would have been incon-
sistent with the Court’s explicit disclaimer of any suggestion that a state court
is barred from rendering an advisory opinion on a federal constitutional ques-
tion where Article II] standing is lacking. 342 U.S. at 434.

18

for the special benefit of respondents or their members and
residents, that the indicia of legislative intent do not reveal an
affirmative congressional purpose to provide a private right of
action under federal law, that a federal cause of action would
not further the purposes underlying Section 6(i), and that re-
spondents’ cause of action is typically relegated to state law.
Compare Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc. v. Thompson,
No. 85-619 (July 7, 1986), slip op. 6-7. But the absence of a right
to sue directly under federal law in federal court does not sug-
gest that the state courts erred in entertaining this suit.

The Alaska Supreme Court did not hold that respondents
have an implied private cause of action, as a matter of federal
law, directly under Section 6(i). In fact, the Alaska Supreme
Court did not discuss this Court’s implied-right-of-action cases.
Nor, as the State concedes (87-206 Pet. 31), did respondents
assert that federal law afirmatively granted them a cause of ac-
tion in the Superior Court; instead, respondents relied on the
authority of that court, as one of general jurisdiction (see
Alaska Stat. § 22.10.020(a) (1982)), to grant relief to the citizens
of Alaska who are injured by the State’s violation of federal
law. See Appellants’ Alaska Sup. Ct. Br. 31-32''; Reply Br. 6-9.
In other words, respondents argued (and the Alaska Supreme
Court apparently agreed) that state law provided respondents
with a cause of action to challenge the validity of the State’s
hard-rock mining laws and to seek a declaratory judgment
regarding the meaning of Section 6(i).

Because the Alaska Supreme Court did not purport to find a
right of action under federal law, petitioners’ contention cannot
be that that Court misapplied this Court’s implied-right-of-
action precedents. Rather, it is that the Alaska Supreme Court

'! Quoting Jn re C.D.M., 627 P.2d 607, 610 (Alaska 1981) (emphasis in
original):
Where a court is one of general jurisdiction, such as the superior court in
the case_at bar, it has traditionally been regarded as having the power to
hear all controversies which may be brought before a court within the
legal bounds of rights or remedies, except insofar as has been expressly
and unequivocally denied by the state’s constitution or statutes.

Accord Siggelkow v. State, 731 P.2d 57, 61 (Alaska 1987). The Superior Court
has broad authority to issue declaratory judgments. See Alaska Stat.
§ 22.10.020(b); Jefferson v. Asplund, 458 P.2d 995 (Alaska 1969).

19

should have applied Cort v. Ash and its progeny, and that had it
done so, it would have found that respondents do not have a
cause of action under Section 6(i). See 87-206 Pet. 27-31; 87-206
Reply Br. 4-14; 87-205 Pet. 7-9. However, Cort v. Ash and this
Court’s other implied-right-of-action cases over that last fifteen
years, including those cited by petitioners, all involved the ques-
tion whether a plaintiff could bring an action in federal court
based on a violation of a federal statute.'? Petitioners cite no
authority (and we are aware of none) for the proposition that
Cort v. Ash and its progeny also restrict the power of a state
court to entertain a state-created cause of action that includes as
an element the violation of a federal statute. In fact, Merrell
Dow demonstrates otherwise.

The plaintiffs in Merrell Dow brought a state-law tort suit in
State court, seeking damages based on the alleged mislabeling of
a drug i.. violation of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic
Act (FDCA), 21 U.S.C. (& Supp. IV) 301 et seg. Merrell Dow,
slip op. 1-2. The Court assumed that the FDCA did not grant
the plaintiffs an implied cause of action that could be brought in
federal court under 28 U.S.C. 1331 (slip op. 6-7), and the Court
held that the plaintiffs’ state-law cause of action likewise could
not be removed to federal court merely because of the presence
of a federal issue (the alleged violation of the FDCA) (id. at 1, 7,
10). However, the Court made clear that the plaintiffs could
proceed with their suit in state court, even though they sought to
recover damages based on a violation of the FDCA in cir-
cumstances where the FDCA itself did not provide an implied
right of action for damages (id. at 11-12 & n.14; id. at 15

'2 See, e.g., National Railroad Passenger Corp. v. National Ass’n of
Railroad Passengers, 414 U.S. 453 (1974); Cannon v. University of Chicago,
441 U.S. 677 (1979); Touche Ross & Co. v. Redington, 442 U.S. 560 (1979);
Transamerica Mortgage Advisors, Inc. v. Lewis, 444 U.S. 11 (1979); Univer-
sities Research Ass'n, Inc. v. Coutu, 450 U.S. 754 (1981); Northwest Airlines,
Inc. v. Transport Workers, 451 U.S. 77 (1981); California v. Sierra Club, 451
U.S. 287 (1981); Texas Industries, Inc. v. Radcliff Materials, Inc., 451 U.S.
630 (1981); Middlesex County Sewerage Auth. v. National Sea Clammers
Ass’n, 453 U.S. 1 (1981); Jackson Transit Auth. v. Transit Union, 457 U.S. 15
(1982); Daily Income Fund, Inc. v. Fox, 464 U.S. 523 (1984); Massachusetts
Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Russell, 473 U.S. 134 (1985); Merrell Dow Phar-
maceuticals, Inc. v. Thompson, supra; Thompson v. Thompson, supra.

20

(Brennan, J., dissenting)). See also Thompson v. Thompson,
supra (no implied right of action in federal court to enforce full-
faith-and-credit rules in custody disputes, although rules must
be enforced in state ccurt); Crane v. Cedar Rapids & Iowa City
Ry., 395 U.S. 164, 166-167 (1969) (nonemployee’s remedy for
violation of Safety Appliance Act is state common-law tort suit,
brought in state court and subject to state defenses and stand-
ards of causation); Moore v. Chesapeake & O. Ry., 291 U.S.
205 (1934) (same); Hart & Wechsler, supra, at 488 (“federal law
does not create the cause of action” under Crane and Moore).
Accordingly, petitioners err in relying on this Court’s decisions
concerning the availability of an implied cause of action in
federal court.!3

b. The relevant question for present purposes therefore is
not whether Congress has affirmatively granted respondents a
right to sue directly under Section 6(i) of the Statehood Act, but
whether Congress has affirmatively foreclosed the state courts
from entertaining a state-created cause of action in which the in-
terpretation of Section 6(i) is at issue—i.e., whether the state
cause of action is preempted by the Statehood Act. Compare
Moore, 291 U.S. at 216 (proper question is whether federal
statute “precludes” incorporation of federal safety standard into
state law). In our view, the Alaska Supreme Court correctly held
that Section 6(i) does not bar this declaratory judgment action
in state court. See Pet. App. B26-B31.

'3 For the same reason, Alaska also errs in relying on three appellate deci-
sions finding no implied private right of action in federal court to enforce the
provisions of two statehood Acts. See 87-206 Pet. 23-25, citing Keaukaha-
Panaewa Community Ass’n v. Hawaiian Homes Comm’n, 588 F.2d 1216 (9th
Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 826 (1979); Price v. Hawaii, 764 F.2d 623,
631 (9th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1055 (1986); Downer v. Graham, 21
F.2d 732 (8th Cir. 1927). In the first two of these cases, the Ninth Circuit ap-
plied the Cort v. Ash analysis. Downer arose prior to Cort v. Ash. Although
language in Downer suggests that restrictions in the Arizona-New Mexico
Enabling Act (ch. 310, 36 Stat. 557) could not be enforced in a suit brought by
a private party against a state official, that Act could not be read to foreclose
such a suit in state court: as Alaska points out (87-206 Pet. 26 n.7), Section 28
of that Act (36 Stat. 575), which was not mentioned in Downer, expressly
preserves the power of the State or any of its citizens to enforce the Act. See
pages 23-24, infra.

21

Preemption of state law of course “ ‘is not favored “in the
absence of persuasive reasons—either that the nature of the
regulated subject matter permits no other conclusion, or that
the Congress has unmistakably so ordained.” ’’” Common-
wealth Edison Co. v. Montana, 453 U.S. 609, 634 (1981) (cita-
tions omitted); see also Hillsborough County v. Automated
Medical Laboratories, Inc., 471 U.S. 707, 715 (1985). A court
should be especially reluctant to find preemption here. This is
not a routine state-law damages action between private parties
in a commercial or other context that is actively and pervasively
regulated by federal law, such that entertaining a cause of action
in state court might disarrange the federal regulatory scheme.
This case, rather, involves the power of a State to confer on its
citizens the right to invoke the jurisdiction of the state courts to
sue the State itself, concerning the State’s administration of vast
expanses of land that were granted to it by Congress for the
maintenance of the state government and the ultimate benefit of
its citizens. Respondents’ suit does not intrude upon any active
and pervasive regulatory scheme of the Federal Government,
which has no continuing jurisdiction over the more than
100,000,000 acres granted to the State; respondents seek merely
to enforce certain requirements that were imposed directly on
the State by the Statehood Acct itself. It would be ironic indeed if
the Statehood Act, whose very purpose was to accord sovereign
status to the newly admitted State, were construed implicitly to
withdraw from the State so central a sovereign prerogative as
the power to permit its citizens to petition their government,
through its courts,'* for redress of grievances concerning an en-
tire subject matter of such importance to the State and its peo-
ple.'s ;

Petitioners point to no evidence that Congress intended that
extraordinary result. Moreover, the courts of a number of
States have entertained suits by taxpayers and other alleging

'4 Cf, Bill Johnson’s Restaurants, Inc. v. NLRB, 461 U.S. 731, 741 (1983);
California Motor Transport Co. v. Trucking Unlimited, 404 U.S. 508, 510
(1972).

'S The Supreme Court of Alaska similarly observed that “[i]t would be
unusal in the extreme if a state court could not construe the meaning of its
state’s Statehood Act” (Pet. App. B31).

22

that actions by state officials with respect to lands granted by a
statehood act are inconsistent with the statehood act. See, e.g.,
Springfield Township v. Quick, 63 U.S. (22 How.) 56 (1860)
(plaintiff township’s citizens were beneficiaries of school land
grant); Kadish v. Arizona State Land Dep’t, 747 P.2d 1183
(Ariz. 1987) (taxpayer plaintiffs); Merkwan v. State by and
through Janklow, 375 N.W.2d 624 (S.D. 1985) (taxpayer);
Kanaly v. State by and through Janklow, 368 N.W.2d 819 (S.D.
1985) (taxpayers and citizens); County of Skamania v. State,
102 Wash. 2d 127, 685 P.2d 576 (1984) (county beneficiary of
school land grant); Oklahoma Education Ass’n v. Nigh, 642
P.2d 230 (Okla. 1982) (education association); State ex rel.
Hughes v. State Board of Land Commissioners, 137 Mont. 510,
515-519, 521-523, 353 P.2d 331, 335-336, 338 (1960) (apparently
a citizen); Toomey v. State Board of Land Commissioners, 106
Mont. 547, 559-563, 81 P.2d 407, 413-415 (1938) (taxpayer);
State ex rel. Ebke v. Board of Educational Land & Funds, 154
Neb. 244, 47 N.W.2d 520 (1951) (disappointed lease applicant);
Ross v. Trustees of University of Wyoming, 30 Wyo. 433, 222
P. 3 (1924) (university that was beneficiary of school land
grant).

Contrary to petitioners’ contention (87-206 Pet. 19, 26-30),
there is no reason to believe that Congress intended a different
and unique rule in Alaska simply because Section 6(i) authorizes
the Attorney General of the United States to bring an action for
forfeiture of any lands or minerals that are disposed of contrary
to Section 6(i). Petitioners cite no legislative history suggesting
that this authorization was intended to preclude other litigation,
in state court, concerning the meaning of Section 6(i).'® It is, in

'¢ The potential breadth of petitioners’ preclusion argument is unclear. For
example, in a suit under a state equivalent of the Administrative Procedure
Act (5 U.S.C. (& Supp. IV) 701 ef seq.), a disappointed applicant might wish
to chailenge the state agency’s award of a mining permit or lease to another ap-
plicant on the ground that it failed to comply with state standards as well as
Section 6(i); could Congress have meant to foreclose the state court from con-
sidering the federal issue in the action for judicial review? If land was
mistakenly conveyed to a private party without reservation of mineral interests
to the State, would the Attorney General of Alaska be barred from bringing
an action in state court to cancel the patent on the ground that it was void
under Section 6(i)? Would the state courts be barred from entertaining a quiet
title action between private parties where the issue of ownership turned on a
construction of Section 6(i)? i

23

fact, most unlikely that Congress intended to divest the state
courts of their authority to guide the State in the performance
of its trust responsibilities (cf. United States v. Mason, 412 U.S.
391, 399 (1973)) and instead to vest the Attorney General of the
United States with the exclusive (and paternalistic) responsibili-
ty to oversee all aspects of the State’s performance.

Nor does private litigation—and especially a declaratory
judgment action—interfere with the Attorney General’s en-
forcement authority under Section 6(i), any more than the opin-
ions of the Attorney General of Alaska in 1981 and 1982 con-
struing Section 6(i) interfered with that authority. Forfeiture
under Section 6(i) obviously was intended as an ultimate sanc-
tion to protect the interests of the United States if the restric-
tions it imposed are violated; respondents, by contrast, seek to
prevent a violation of those restrictions from occurring and
thereby to avoid any occasion for forfeiture, so that the land
may be preserved for the State and its citizens, as Congress in-
tended (Pet. App. B25-B26). The Attorney General does not
have the resources necessary to monitor the administration and
disposition of the millions of acres of land that were granted to
the States. Suits by private parties and beneficiaries of the trusts
can furnish an important means for ensuring that the limitations
imposed by Congress are respected. Compare Cannon v.
University of Chicago, 441 U.S. at 687-688 n.8, 704-708
(discussing the relationship between private suits to enforce
anti-discrimitation provisions and fund-termination actions by
federal agencies).'’

In addition, in the Arizona-New Mexico Enabling Act, which
was the last statehood act passed by Congress prior to the
Alaska Statehood Act, Congress authorized the Attorney
General to bring any action (not merely one seeking forfeiture)
to enforce its provisions and expressly provided that nothing in
the Act “shall be taken as in limitation of the power of the state

'7 For similar reasons, there is no reason to believe that Congress would
have wanted the federal courts to have exclusive jurisdiction over suits under
Section 6(i). See 87-205 Pet. 10-11, citing Gulf Offshore Co. v. Mobil Oil
Corp., 453 U.S. 473 (1981). As this case demonstrates, state courts are not in-
hospitable to federal claims under Section 6(i), and there is no distinct need for
uniformity or for the expertise of federal judges. See 453 U.S. at 483-484.

24

or of any citizens thereof to enforce the provisions of this Act”
(§ 28, 36 Stat. 575). This provision sanctions the availability of
whatever remedies might be afforded outside the Enabling Act;
it does not confer a right directly under that Act, as Alaska con-
tends (87-206 Pet. 26 n.7). There is no reason to believe that.
Congress intended to treat the State and citizens of Alaska any
differently, by foreclosing a right action that would otherwise
be available in the courts of Alaska concerning lands granted by
the Alaska Statehood Act.!®

3. In addition to arguing that the state courts were without
authority to entertain this suit, petitioners also contend (87-206
Pet. 33-38; 87-205 Pet. 12-13) that the Alaska Supreme Court
erred in holding that the State’s hard-rock mining laws do not
satisfy the “lease” requirement in Section 6(i) because they do
not provide for payment of cash rental fees or royalties to the
State. In our view, however, the Alaska Supreme Court’s
unanimous ruling on this issue is correct, and indeed petitioners
offer virtually no rebuttal to that Court’s extensive analysis. For
this reason, and because the ruling below does not conflict with
the decision of any other state or federal court, review on this
issue is not warranted.

'8 The State relies (87-206 Pet. 21-22) on a passage in Mills County v.
Railroad Cos., 107 U.S. 557 (1883), that discussed the requirement in the
Swamplands Act that the proceeds of the States’ sales be used for reclamation
of such lands; the Court stated that whether that condition was faithfully per-
formed was “a question between the United States and the States, and is
neither a trust following the lands, nor a duty which private parties can en-
force as against the State” (107 U.S. at 566). Mills County did not purport to
lay down a general rule that all statutory grants to the States are unenforceable
in suits by private parties; the decision turned in part on the Court’s conclusion
that the particular grant there at issue committed expenditures largely to the
State’s discretion, as evidenced by the directive to use the funds for reclama-
tion “as far as mecessary.” See Hagar v. Reclamation Dist. No. 108, 111 U.S.
701, 713 (1884). Here, in contrast to Mills County, the “lease” requirement in
Section 6{i) is not discretionary, and the grant of 103,000,000 acres to Alaska
pursuant to the Statehood Act did create a relationship in the nature of a trust.
In addition, the state courts in this case have so far awarded only declaratory
relief; they have not yet actually “enforced” Section 6(i) by granting injunctive
relief. Finally, Mills County arose prior to Congress’s express recognition of
private suits to “enforce” restrictions on federal grants to the States when it
enacted the Arizona-New Mexico Enabling Act in 1910.

25

a. Use of the term “lease” in Section 6(i) itself suggests a re-
quirement that the State realize at least some revenue, because
“{t}he legal understanding of a lease for years is, a contract for
the possession and profits of land for a determinate period, with
the recompense of rent.” United States v. Gratiot, 39 U.S. (14
Pet.) 526, 538 (1840). This interpretation of Section 6(i) is rein-
forced by the various factors identified by the Alaska Supreme
Court: (1) the legislative history demonstrating that Section 6(i)
was intended to assure financial support for the State (Pet.
App. B51-B67); (2) the parallel drawn in the legislative history
between the “lease” requirement in Section 6(i) and the Mineral
Lands Leasing Act of 1920, which requires payment of both
rentals and royalties (Pet. App. B64-B65 & n.27)'%; (3) the pat-
terning of Section 6(i) after the 1927 School Lands Act, which
expressly contemplates that the States will realize “proceeds and
rents and royalties” from the leasing of mineral lands (43 U.S.C.
870(b); see Pet. App. B29-B30, B39-B43, B63-B64); and (4) the
fact that Section 6(i) was intended to put Alaska on a par with
other western States, which uniformly require the payment of
rents and/or royalties (see Pet. App. B63 n.25, B65-B66,
quoting 3 American Law of Mining § 63.05[4}[d] (Rocky Mtn.
Min. L. Inst. 2d ed. 1987)).?°

b. In addition, the history of the State’s hard-rock mining
laws (see pages 2-7, supra) demonstrates that they were not
enacted with a view toward complying with the basic re-
quirements of the “lease” provision in Section 6(i). Congress
deliberately declined to authorize mining under a mineral loca-
tion system, as petitioner AMA and many delegates to the
Alaska Constitutional Convention had urged. See pages 4-6,
supra; Pet. App. B34-B36 & n.16, B39-B54. Nonetheless, the
Alaska Legislature enacted the State’s hard-rock mining laws in
1959 as a mineral location system, not a mineral leasing system.

'9 See also 1957 Hearings, supra note 2, at 222-223 (witness for petitioner
AMA acknowledges that under the “mandatory leasing” provisions of Section
6(i), a lease “would be probably on a royalty basis”).

20 See, e.g., Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 27-234 (Supp. 1987); Colo. Rev. Stat.
§ 36-1-113 (Supp. 1987); Idaho Code § 47-704 (Supp. 1987); Mont. Code
Ann. §§ 77-3-115, 77-3-116 (1988); Nev. Rev. Stat. § 322.030 (1985); N.M.
Stat. Ann. §§ 19-8-21, 19-8-22 (1985); Utah Code Ann. § 65-1-18 (1986).

26

And the Legislature followed that course not on the premise
that a location scheme complied with Section 6(i), but on the
premise that the “lease” requirement in Section 6(i) was inap-
plicable, except in those limited instances in which selected lands
were subsequently sold (for which the Legislature authorized a
special leasing scheme) See pages 6-7, supra.

The Attorney General of Alaska concluded in 1981 that the
State’s original interpretation of the “lease” requirement in Sec-
tion 6(i) was incorrect and that it applies to all mineral lands
selected by the State. See page 7, supra. It is that Attorney
General’s opinion, not the decision of the Alaska Supreme
Court in this case, that unsettled whatever expectations mining
interests and others in Alaska might have had. Yet the State
Legislature accepted that interpretation when it amended the
State’s hard-rock mining laws in 1981, and that interpretation is
not at issue here. The 1981 amendments now do provide for
mineral “leases” on all selected lands that were known to be
mineral in character when they were selected by the State; but
those amendments have never been invoked, because the State
has never made the requisite formal finding that any particular
tract was known to be mineral in character when it was selected.
See pages 7-8, supra. Moreover, the Alaska Supreme Court con-
cluded in this case that any leases issued under those provisions
would be “in substance indistinguishable from state mining
locations” (Pet. App. B70-B71 (footnote omitted)), because the
right to lease is conditioned upon a mining location, because no
royalties are charged for the extraction of minerals, and because
the annual rent is set at the amount of labor required to main-
tain a mining location for the same claim (id. at B68-B70).
Thus, the holding below rests in large part on the Alaska
Supreme Court’s determination that the State Legislature in-
tended to and did enact what is fundamentally a mineral loca-
tion system for hard-rock minerals—the very approach Con-
gress rejected when it enacted Section 6(i). We have no reason to
disagree with this assessment by the Alaska Supreme Court of
the Alaska Legislature’s actions.

c. Petitioners rely on a statement in a 1955 memorandum
prepared by a Mr. Slaughter of the Solicitor’s Office in the
Department of the Interior on the then-pending statehood bill

27

(see Pet. App. C1-C11), which stated that what is now Section
6(i) “ ‘does not attempt to prescribe maximum or minimum
rates of royalty’ ” and that it “ ‘leave[s] the terms of leasing
wholly to the discretion of the state legislature’ ” (87-206 Pet.
35-36, quoting Pet. App. C15). Based on this passage, the State
argues (87-206 Pet. 36) that there are no restraints on the Alaska
Legislature in fashioning laws governing the disposition of
minerals (beyond the prohibition against issuing a patent for the
minerals). The Alaska Supreme Court correctly rejected a broad
reading of the Slaughter memorandum that would suggest that
the State need not collect any rents or royalties — especially since
the memorandum also states that “ ‘Alaska should not be ac-
corded greater freedom in the administration of mineral lands
than that accorded existing States having Congressional land
grants’ ” (Pet. App. B69 n.29, quoting id. at C5; see also id. at
C10): other States are governed by the 1927 School Lands Act,
which expressly contemplates the receipt of proceeds and rents
and royalties from mineral leasing. See page 25 and note 20,
supra.?' The Alaska Supreme Court also reasonably concluded
that a mining claimant’s performance of $200 worth of labor an-
nually to maintain his mining claim does not satisfy the require-
ment under Section 6(i) that the State receive at least some rents
or royalties from mineral leasing. As the Alaska Supreme Court
observed, annual labor is required under mineral location laws
“to ensure that the claim is worked so that the miner does not
locate numerous claims and obtain the right to exclude others”;
it “is not a source of revenue to the landowner” (Pet. App. B70,
citing Chambers v. Harrington, 111 U.S. 350, 353 (1884)).

d. Neither the Alaska Supreme Court nor the Superior
Court on remand prescribed a specific amount of rents or
royalties that must be paid pursuant to a lease under Section
6(i). They properly left determination of the amount to the
Alaska Legislature in the first instance, now that Alaska’s
Supreme Court has disabused its Legislature of the notion that
Section 6(i) permits the State to retain a statutory scheme that

2! Moreover, under this interpretation, Alaska presumably would be free,
as a matter of federal law, to dispense with the payment of rents and royalties
for the extraction of oil and gas from the substantial reserves underlying lands
granted to the State by the Statehood Act.

28

is, in substance, a mineral location system, rather than a true
“lease” system. Resolution of any questions concerning the per-
missible contours of a true “lease” system under Section 6(i)
should await future amendments by the Alaska Legislature.

4. There is considerable force to respondents’ contention in
their cross-petition (87-371 Cross-Pet. 9-20) that the Alaska
Supreme Court erred in holding that Section 6(i) applies only to
lands that were known to be mineral in character when they
were selected by Alaska (Pet. App. B71-B84). Section 6(i) states
that “[ajll grants” made by the Act “shall include mineral
deposits”; that the grants under Section 6(a) or (b) are made on
the condition that all dispositions shall be subject to a reserva-
tion of mineral interests to the State; and that “{mlineral
deposits in such lands shall be subject to lease by the State as the
State legislature may direct.” There is no indication that this all-
inclusive language was intended to apply only to those lands
whose mineral character was known when they were selected.
To the contrary, as respondents point out (87-371 Cross Pet.
16-17), a provision that would have required the mineral
character of the land to be determined when the patent issued to
the State was deleted by the House Committee. See Pet. App.
B79-B82. Moreover, the underlying purpose of Section 6(i)—to
furnish a substantial financial base for the State — suggests that
its all-inclusive language means what it says.

Despite the reference in the first sentence of Section 6(i) to the
inclusion of mineral deposits in “{aJll grants,” the Alaska
Supreme Court held that deposits unknown at the time of selec-
tion were not covered by Section 6(i) and instead were included
in the grants of land made by Section 6(a) or (b). The Court
reasoned that lands that were not known to be mineral in
character were included in the original grants of school sections
to other States and that the purpose of the 1927 Act, on which
Section 6(i) was based, was only to include known mineral lands
in those grants. See Pet. App. B43-B45, B72-B76. In those other
States, however, the exclusion from the 1927 Act of lands whose
mineral character was not known at the time of statehood did
not reflect a decision by Congress to exempt the mineral
deposits in such lands from all restrictions on their use and
disposition. Lands whose mineral character was unknown at the
time of statehood were not covered by the 1927 Act because

29

they were already part of the original grant of school lands
made by the relevant statehood Act itself (cf. United States v.
Wyoming, 255 U.S. 489, 500-501 (1921); United States v. Sweet,
245 U.S. 563, 572-573 (1918)); for this reason, any mineral
deposits that were later discovered in such lands while they re-
mained in state ownership presumably were already subject to
the requirements in the relevant statehood Act that the lands be
held in trust and be disposed of for school purposes. By con-
trast, the Alaska Supreme Court’s decision limiting the reach of
Section 6(i) appears to have the effect of excluding mineral
deposits in lands whose mineral character was not known at the
time of selection from ail restrictions, and of allowing the States
to give away the hard-rock minerals in such lands — unless Sec-
tion 6(a) or (b) of the Statehood Act also imposes a trust obliga-
tion on the State to exact some rental or royalty payments for
the extraction of minerals from lands selected by the State pur-
suant to those provisions.

Of course, even if the application of Section 6(i) does not turn
solely on knowledge concerning the mineral character of par-
ticular land at the time it was selected (or the patent was issued
(see Pet. App. B84 n.33)), the State might be free to classify
land definitively as either mineral or non-mineral at a later date,
such as immediately prior to a proposed sale or lease. But it does
not necessarily follow that Section 6(i) should be construed to
exclude lands in which mineraldeposits are discovered by a
mining claimant prior to such a formal classification and prior
to any sale, lease or other disposition by the State, simply
because those deposits were not identified at the time the lands
were selected by or patented to the State, perhaps many decades
earlier.

We do not propose here a definitive view of the proper inter-
pretation of Section 6(i) in this regard. Respondents have filed
their cross-petition on a conditional basis, urging that it be
granted only if the Court grants the principal petitions filed by
the State and the Alaska Miners Association. See 87-371 Cross
Pet. 9-10; Trustees Br. in Opp. 10 n.3. Because we believe that
the principal petitions should be denied, we submit that the
cross-petition should be denied as well (see this Court’s Rule
20.5). That course would permit the Alaska Legislature to ad-
dress the issues raised by the cross-petition when it considers

a

30

whatever amendments to the State’s mining laws it believes are
required by the Alaska Supreme Court’s decision on the other
issues in the case.

CONCLUSION

The petitions and cross-petition for a writ of certiorari should
be denied.

Respectfully submitted.

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General

ROGER J. MARZULLA
Assistant Attorney General

LAWRENCE G. WALLACE
Deputy Solicitor General

EDWIN S. KNEEDLER
Assistant to the Solicitor General

PETER R. STEENLAND, JR.
Attorney

MAY 1988

APPENDIX

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT FOR THE STATE OF ALASKA
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Case Civ. No. 3AN-83-9862

TRUSTEES FOR ALASKA; NUNAM KITLUTSISTI; DINYEA
CORPORATION; VILLAGE OF MINTO; ALASKA INDEPENDENT
FISHERMEN’S MARKETING ASSOCIATION; ALASKA CENTER
FOR THE ENVIRONMENT; SOUTHEAST ALASKA
CONSERVATION COUNCIL; FRIENDS OF THE EARTH,
PLAINTIFFS

vs.

STATE OF ALASKA; ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES, ESTHER WUNNICKE, COMMISSIONER,
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES, DEFENDANTS

ALASKA MINERS ASSOCIATION, FAIRBANKS NORTH STAR
BOROUGH, JOSEPH VOGLER, DEFENDANTS — INTERVENORS

ORDER
1. Procedural Background

The issues presented in this action were originally addressed
by this Court through rulings on cross-motions for summary
judgment. Such rulings were then appealed to the Alaska
Supreme Court, which reversed this court’s rulings, and held
that the parties had standing to litigate the issues herein, that the
state’s mineral leasing system violated Section 6(i) of the
Statehood Act insofar as it did not require miners to pay “rents
or royalties” on mining leases, and that the Section 6(i)
restrictions applied only to those lands known to have been
mineral in character at the time the lands were selected by the
state. Trustees for Alaska v. State, 736 P.2d 324 (Alaska 1987).
The Alaska Supreme Court then remanded this action to this
Court with the express direction to “enter a declaration in

(la)

2a

accordance with [its] opinion and for such other and further
proceedings as may be appropriate.” Jd. at 342.

Pursuant to such remand, and on May 24, 1987, this Court
ordered plaintiffs Trustees for Alaska to submit a proposed
order and declaratory judgment form consistent with the Alaska
Supreme Court’s aforementioned decision. Plaintiffs submitted
such proposed order on July 10, 1987, and thereafter, defend-
ant State and defendant-intervenors Alaska Miners Association
opposed the order, objecting to specific portions thereof.

Meanwhile, defendant State and defendant-intervenor sought
further appellate review of the Alaska Supreme Court’s decision
by filing petitions for writs of certiorari with the United States
Supreme Court. Plaintiff Trustees subsequently filed a cross-
petition for a writ of certiorari. The parties’ various petitions are
still pending at this time.

Given the pending petitions before the United States Supreme
Court, defendant and defendant-intervenor filed a Motion to
Suspend Proceedings with this Court on September 11, 1987,
essentially seeking a stay of further proceedings before this
Court until such time as the United States Supreme Court acted
upon the pending petitions.

Arguments on plaintiffs’ proposed declaratory judgment
form and order, and defendants’ Motion to Suspend Pro-
ceedings were heard by this Court on October 28, 1987. In the
instant order, the Court rules on the parties’ objections,
arguments and motion as set forth below.

2. Defendants’ Motion to Suspend Proceedings.

Defendants’ motion is denied.

This court interprets the Alaska Supreme Court’s instructions
on remand to be a direct order from the appellate court to the
lower court to take certain action. Thus construed, this Court
concludes that it has no discretion to refrain from following the
appellate court’s direction, and that it is obliged to attempt to
implement, in good faith, the order of the higher court. Accord-
ingly, this Court has held “such other and further proceedings”
on plaintiffs’ proposed order and declaratory judgment form,

ed athe agi meee

1 i stl Na ath, ES aed lt Reta th chT en a gk A Dh

3a

and defendants’ objections thereto, and has issued a declaratory
judgment which the Court believes to be consistent with the
Alaska Supreme Courts’ decision in this case. In this Court’s
view, any request by any party to stay or “suspend” the im-
plementation of the Alaska Supreme Court’s decision, pending
action by the United States Supreme Court on the parties’ peti-
tions for writs of certiorari, should be addressed to the Alaska
Supreme Court.

3. Proposed Declaratory Judgment Form and Injunction.

The Court has issued a revised version of plaintiffs’ proposed
declaratory judgment form. The parties’ objections, and the
Court’s revisions, are addressed separately below.

a. “Rents or Royalties”

Plaintiffs’ proposed declaratory judgment contains the
language “rents and royalties.” Plaintiffs argue such language
reflects the essence of the Alaska Supreme Court’s holding, and
that the Court intended that the State is not free to adopt one
form of compensation to the exclusion of the other. Defendants
contend that the Alaska Supreme Court used the language
“rents or royalties” with precision in its appellate decision, and
that the Court is, in effect, giving defendant State the discretion
to fashion whatever compensation system it deems appropriate.

This Court agrees with defendants’ interpretation of the
Alaska Supreme Court’s decision. In its opinion, the Alaska
Supreme Court discusses “the leasing systems of other states”,
noting that they differ from the federal leasing system but that
they are “uniform in requiring the payment of rent, or royalties,
or both.” Jd. at 338. (Emphasis added). The Supreme Court
went on to acknowledge and discuss that such state leasing
systems can be categorized into two types: one which requires
the payment of both rents and royalities, but which credits the
former against the latter or which ceases rent payments when
the payment of royalties begins; and the second which separate-
ly requires the payment of both rents and royalties, independent
of one another. /d. In construing Section 6(i) of the Statehood
Act, the Court considered such differing mineral leasing systems

4a

of other states and concluded that Section 6(i) “mandates a
system under which the states must receive rent or royalties for
its mineral leases.” Jd. (Emphasis added). This Court concludes
that, in using such language, the Alaska Supreme Court in-
tended to give the State the flexibility to fashion whichever leas-
ing system it chose—whether allowing the crediting of rents
against royalties or requiring the payment of both rents and
royalties. The only thing which the State is not free to do,
however, is to adopt a system which charges no rents or
royalties for the extraction of minerals from state mineral lands.
Id. at 338 n. 29. .

In this Court’s view, the Alaska Supreme Court carefully
chose, and intended to use, the precise language “rents or
royalties.” Accordingly, this Court has used such language in
the declaratory judgment issued herewith.

b. “Fair Market Value”

Plaintiffs’ proposed declaratory judgment form suggests, and
defendants object thereto, that the leasing system adopted by
defendant State must charge rents or royalties reflective of the
“fair market value of the hardrock mineral resources” of the
State.

As noted above, this Court interprets the Alaska Supreme
Court’s decision in this case as recognizing that the State has
substantial flexibility and discretion in fashioning some ap-
propriate leasing system requiring the payment of “rents or
_ royalties” for the extraction of minerals. The Alaska Supreme
Court did not mandate that a particular valuation approach
must be used by the State in setting such “rents or royalties.”
Rather, the only requirement imposed upon the State, by the
Alaska Supreme Court as this Court interprets the appellate
decision, was that the State has to charge some rents or royalties
for extracted minerals, i.e., that the State was not free to impose
no such charges on miners extracting minerals from state
mineral lands. Accordingly, this Court has declined to incor-
porate any particular valuation standard or requirement, such
as the proposed “fair market value” requirement of plaintiffs’
proposed order, into its declaratory judgment.

Sa

c. Determination of Mineral Character of State Lands

Defendants object to that portion of plaintiffs’ proposed
declaratory judgment form which refers to “all state lands” as
well as “hardrock” mineral resources.

As this Court interprets the Alaska Supreme Court’s decision,
the appellate court specifically considered, and rejected, the
argument that the leasing system should apply to “all lands”
where mineral are found. Jd. at 341. Rather, the Supreme Court
concluded that the restrictions of Section 6(i) “were intended to
apply only to lands whose mineral character was known at the
time of selection.” Jd. Further, the Court characterized such
mineral resources as “mineral deposits.” /d. at 339. Finally, the
Court acknowledged that the “all lands” test might avoid “ad-
ministrative problems” in determining the mineral character of
land at the time of selection, but nevertheless rejected such test
in its final holding on this issue.

This Court, therefore, has substituted the terms “lands whose
mineral character was known at the time of selection” for “all
state lands”, and “mineral deposits” for “hardrock mineral
resources” in plaintiffs’ proposed judgment form. Similarly, the
Court has declined to specify any particular methodology or
process for the identification of such lands, or any definition of
“mineral deposits’, but instead defers to the State and/or the
legislature in this respect.

d. Injunction

Plaintiffs’ proposed declaratory judgment and order contain
a prospective injunction, which would enjoin the State from
allowing the extraction of mineral deposits from appropriate
state lands after May 15, 1988, ifa leasing system conforming to
the Supreme Court’s interpretation of Section 6(i) has not been
adopted or enacted. Defendants contend that no injunction
should issue since no imminent harm is about to occur. Defend-
ants argue that mining activity realistically is not conducted dur-
ing the winter months, that the issuance of an injunction would
be premature at this point, and that the Alaska Legislature

6a

should be given an opportunity to enact an appropriate leasing
system during the next legislative session.

The Court agrees with defendants that the issuance of any in-
junctjon at this time would be premature and inappropriate.
The Court thus declines to issue any injunctive relief in connec-
tion with the instant declaratory judgment. Should the State
and/or Legislature fail to adopt an appropriate leasing system
by the time the next mining season is about to commence, any
party is free to return to this Court with a proper application for
injunctive relief at such time.

4. Attorneys’ Fees.

Insofar as this litigation is a “public interest litigation”, and
plaintiffs are “public interest litigants”, the Court will allow an
award of full, reasonable attorneys’ fees and costs to plaintiffs
regarding this litigation. Plaintiffs shall submit their application
for fees and costs, along with detailed supporting documenta-
tion, pursuant to Rules 82 and 79. All parties will have an op-
portunity to brief such isues in accordance with applicable Civil
Rules.

Dated this 9 day of November, 1987.

/s/ DOUGLAS J. SERDAHELY
Douglas J. Serdahely

7a

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT FOR THE STATE OF ALASKA
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Case Civ. No. 3AN-83-9862

TRUSTEES FOR ALASKA; NUNAM KITLUTSISTI; DINYEA
CORPORATION; VILLAGE OF MINTO; ALASKA INDEPENDENT
FISHERMAN’S MARKETING ASSOCIATION; ALASKA CENTER
FOR THE ENVIRONMENT; SOUTHEAST ALASKA
CONSERVATION COUNCIL; FRIENDS OF THE EARTH,
PLAINTIFFS

vs.

STATE OF ALASKA; ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL
RESOURCES, ESTHER WUNNICKE, COMMISSIONER,
DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES, DEFENDANTS

ALASKA MINERS ASSOCIATION, FAIRBANKS NORTH STAR
BOROUGH, JOSEPH VOGLER, DEFENDANTS — INTERVENORS

DECLARATORY JUDGMENT

Pursuant to the remand in this action by the Alaska Supreme
Court in Trustees for Alaska v. State, 736 P.2d 329 (Alaska
1987), this Court has considered the Supreme Court’s decision,
plaintiffs’ proposed declaratory judgment order and defendants’
and defendant-intervenors’ responses thereto. The Court finds

‘and declares as follows:

1. The State of Alaska’s current system allowing the
extraction of mineral deposits from state lands, AS 38.05.185 ef
seq., violates Section 6(i) of the Alaska Statehood Act because it
does not require the payment of rents or royalties from state
lands whose mineral character was known at the time of state
selection.

2. Tocomply with Section 6(i) of the Alaska Statehood Act,
the State’s mineral leasing system must include some process for
determining which lands were of known mineral character at the
time of selection and must further require the payment of rents

8a

or royalties for the extraction of mineral deposits from such
lands.

3. Plaintiffs, as successful public interest litigants in this ac-
tion, are entitled to their full, reasonable attorneys’ fees and
costs incurred during the litigation of this case. Plaintiffs shall
file a proper application for attorneys’ fees and costs along with
detailed documentation therefor, pursuant to Civil Rules 82 and
79.

DATED this 9th day of November, 1987.

/s/ DOUGLAS J. SERDAHELY

Douglas J. Serdahely
Superior Court Judge

-: US. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1988—202-037/60420

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0859%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
