# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Florida v. Eber

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0784%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 484 U.S. 897

## Text

Supreme

AUG 13 1997

8 v4 2 7 JOSEPH F SPANIOL, UR,

NO.

Court, U.S.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

THE STATE OF FLORIDA,
Petitioner,
Vs.
SETH EBER, ROBERT RIZZIERI, CHARLES
DELMONICO, SHELDON SPECTOR and
BURTON WOLCOFF,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE FLORIDA THIRD DISTRICT COURT
OF APPEAL

BRIEF OF PETITIONER ON JURISDICTION

ROBERT A. BUTTERWORTH
Attorney General
Tallahassee, Florida

RICHARD E. DORAN

Assistant Attorney General
Of Counsel:

CHARLES M. FAHLBUSCH

Assistant Attorney General

Department of Legal Affairs

401 N. W. 2nd Avenue,

Suite 820

Miami, Florida, 33128

(305) 377-5441

CLERK

.
am.

i
QUESTION PRESENTED

WHETHER THE OPINION OF THE
THIRD DISTRICT COURT OF
APPEAL OF FLORIDA DISREGARDED
THE OPINION OF THIS COURT IN
FRANKS v. DELAWARE, 438 U.S.
154, 98 S.CT. 2674, 57
L.ED.2D 667 (1978), ADOPTED
BY FLORIDA IN’ ANTONE V.
STATE, 382 SO.2D 1205 (FLA.
1980); CERT. DENIED, 449 U.S.
912; 101 S.CT. 287, 66
L.ED.2D 141 (1980) AND MAN-
DATED BY ARTICLE I, SECTION
12 OF THE FLORIDA CONSTI-
TUTION (1982).

ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED... cccccccccccce i

WHETHER THE OPINION OF THE
THIRD DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
OF PLORIDA DISREGARDED THE
OPINION OF THIS COURT IN FRANKS
V. DELAWARE, 438 U.S. 154, 98
S«eGre 26/4, 57 L.ED.2D 667
(1978), ADOPTED BY FLORIDA IN
ANTONE V. STATE, 382 SO.2D 1205
(FLA. 1980) CERT. DENIED, 449
U.S. 913; 101 S.cT. 287, 66
L.ED.2D 141 (1980) AND MANDATED
BY ARTICLE I, SECTION 12 OF THE
FLORIDA CONSTITUTION (1982).

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES..... cecccccces ii
OPINIONS BELOW... ccccccccccccccccce 1
JURISDICTION... ccccce cecccccccccecs 2
RELEVANT CONSTITUTIONAL AND

STATUTORY PROVISIONS...... ecccee 3-5
STATEMENT OF THE CASE.....ccccccece 6-8

REASONS FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI..9-15

CONCLUSION. .cccc e*eeee#s eeeeeeee#ee#2e#8e?e#2e#ee# 16

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

United States Cases Page

United States v. Martin,
615 F.2d 318
CSO ie; SO oc kwcdacwd holes 14

United States v. Thomas,
489 F.2d 664 (5th Cir. 1973)
cert. denied, 423 U.S. 844,
96 S.Ct. 7/9,
46 t.; BO.98 G6 (iS7S) cuss o ne 14

Franks v. Delaware,
438 U.S. 154, 98 S.Ct. 2674,
S7 £..886.28 G67? CiStOdcscctds 9,10,
Liisa

CASES

Antone v. State,
382 So.2d 1205 (Fla. 1980);
cert. denied, 449 U.S. 913,
101 S.Ct. 287, 66 L.Ed.2d 141
BS PP ere rer ere er 9,19,

Hudson v. State,
368 So.2d 899
(Fla. . a - |, o, See 8,10,

State v. Eber,
502 So.2d 32

[Pia; Be OER 2OOS) ook é as'vdds 1
OTHER AUTHORITIES
Rule 1/(c) of the Supreme Ct..... 2
ee Oe}: fo ) eee 2

Filia. Const. (1962) Art. I, $12... 9,34

1

I.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Florida Supreme
Court declining conflict jurisdiction is
not yet reported (A.1).+

The opinion of the Florida Third
District Court of Appeal on Petitioner's
direct appeal from the trial court order
granting motions to suppress evidence
from electronic surveillance is repored

as State v. Eber, 502 So.2d 32 (Fla. 3d

DCA 1984) (A.3).

The order of the trial court
granting motions to suppress from
electronic surveillance is unreported

(A.18).

1 The symbol "A" is used _ to
designate the appendix to this brief.

2

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is
invoked pursuant to the provisions of
Rule 17 (c) of the Rules of the Supreme
Court and 28 U.S.C. §1257(3). The
opinion of the Florida Third District
Court of Appeal was filed on January 20,
1987 (A.3). A timely filed Motion for
Rehearing and Clarification was denied
on February 25, 1987 (A.16). A timely
filed Petition for Review to the Florida
Supreme Court was denied on June 19,

1987 (A.1).

3

III

RELEVANT CONSTITUTIONAL AND

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The applicable provisions of the

United

States Constitution read

follows:

AMENDMENT IV
The right of the people to be
secure in their persons,
houses, papers, and effects,
against unreasonable searches
and seizures, shall not be
violated, and no Warrants
shall issue, but upon pro-
bable cause, supported by
Oath or affirmation, and
particularly describing the
place to be searched, and the
persons or things to be

seized.

as

ae

4
The applicable provisions of the
Constitution of the State of Florida

read as follows:

ARTICLE I
SECTION 12. Searches and
seizures. - The right of the

people to be secure in their
persons, houses, papers and
effects against unreasonable
searches and seizures’ and
against the unreasonable
interception of »rivate com-
munications by any means,
shall not be violated. No
warrant shall be issued
except upon probable cause,
supported by affidavit, par-
ticularly describing the
place or places to be
searched, the person or
persons, thing or things to
be seized, the communication
to be intercepted, and the
nature of evidence to be
obtained. This right shall
be construed in conformity
with the 4th Amendment to the
United States Constitution,
as interpreted by the United
States Supreme Court. Arti-
cles or information obtained
in violation of this right
shall not be admissible in
evidence if such articles or

re eS ee

5

information would be inad-
missible under decisions of
the United States Supreme
Court construing the 4th
Amendment to the United
States Constitution.

ee

6

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The respondents were charged in the
Circuit Court of Dade County, Florida
with multiple charges relating to
Extortion, Grand Theft and Dealing in
Stolen Property.” The respondents filed
a joint motion to suppress evidence
obtained by electronic’ surveillance
(A.18). The primary ground for the
motion was alleged errors and omissions
contained in the affidavits in support
of the warrants concerned (A.26-31).

The trial court found that a number
of errors and omissions, in affidavits

concerning different warrants, were,

when added together, material to the

2 ‘The charging documents are
multiple and somewhat lengthy = and,
therefore, are omitted from the
appendix. Should this Court accept
jurisdiction, they will be provided as a
portion of the Record-on-Appeal.

7
establishment of probable cause and,
therefore, required reversal under the

standard of Hudson v. State, 368 So.2d

899 (Fla. 3d DCA 1979). MThis standard
requires that the affidavits concerned
be invalidated, ". . .if the errors in
the affidavit were committed with intent
to deceive the magistrate, whether or
not the errors were material to a show-
ing of probable cause, or if the errors
were made nonintentionally, but the
erroneous statements are material to the
establishment of probable cause...."
(A.26).

The Third District Court of Appeal
reversed the trial court as to one (1)
defendant, who was found not to have
standing, but affirmed it as to all
other defendants, implicity approving

the trial court's order and the appli-

clei a ead

8

cation of the standard in Hudson v.

State, 368 So.2d 899 (Fla. 3d DCA 1979).

The Petitioner applied to’ the
Florida Supreme Court for discretionary
review, on the grounds of direct and

express conflict with Antone v. State,

382 So.2d 1205 (Fla. 1980); cert denied,

449 U.S. 913, 101 S.Ct. 287, 66 L.Ed.2d
141 (1980), which applied to the State

of Florida the standard of Franks Vv.

Delaware, 438 U.S. 154, 98 S.Ct. 2674,

57 L.Ed.2d 667 (1978). However, the
Florida Supreme Court denied juris-

diction on June 19, 1987 (A.1).

9

V

REASONS FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI

Appeal has

fact,

PROPOSITION I

The decision of the trial
court, approved by the Third
District Court of Appeal, to
apply the standard of Hudson
v. State, 368 So.2d 899 (Fla.
3d DCA 1979) to the issue of
whether alleged errors’ and
omissions contained in affi-
davits in support of warrants
for electronic surveillance
is in direct and express con-
flict with the decision of
this Court in Franks v.
Delaware, 438 U.S. 154, 98
S.Ct. 2674, 57 L.Ed.2d 667
(1978), which was applied to
the State of Florida in
Antone v. State, 382 So.2d
1205 (Fla. 1980); cert.
denied, 449 U.S. 913, 101
S.¢e. 267, 4 b.88.24 141
(1980) and is mandated by
Article I, Section 12 of the
Florida Constitution (1982).

incorrectly applied and,

The Florida Third District Court of

in

rejected the standard this Court

set for review of alleged errors and

|

10
omissions in affidavits in support of
warrants for electronic surveillance in

the case of Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S.

154, 98 S.Ct. 2674, 57 L.Ed.2d 667
(1978).

The order of the trial court
properly set forth the standard for
reviewing such affidavits pursuant to

Hudson v. State, 368 So.2d 899 (Fla. 3d

DCA 1979). That is;

...-Affidavits in support of
a wiretap order are invalid
if the errors in the affi-
davit were committed with
intent to deceive the magis-

trate, whether or not the |
errors were material to show-
ing of probable cause, or if

errors were made noninten-

11
tionally, but the erroneous
statements are material to
the establishment of probable

cause. Hudson v. State, 368

So.2a 899 (3d DCA 1979)....

(A.26).

This is in clear contradiction to

the standard set in Franks, as follows;

There is, of course, a pre-
sumption of validity with
respect to the affidavit sup-
porting the search warrant.
To mandate an evidentiary
hearing, the challenger's
attack must be more than
conclusory and must be sup-
ported by more than a mere
desire to cross examine.
There must be allegations of
deliberate falsehood or of
reckless disregard for the
truth, and those allegations
must be accompanied by an
offer of proof. They should
point out specifically the
portion of the warrant affi-
davit that is claimed to be
false; and they should be

12

accompanied by a statement of
supporting reasons. Affi-
davits or sworn or otherwise
reliable statements of wit-
nesses should be furnished,
or their absence satisfac-
torily explained. Alilega-
tions of negligence or
innocent mistake are insuf-
ficient. The deliberate
falsity or reckless disregard
whose impeachment is- per-
mitted today is only that of
the affiant, not of any
nongovernmental informant.
Finally, if these require-
ments are met, and if, when
material that is the subject
of the alleged falsity or
reckless disregard is set to
one side, there remains
sufficient content in the
warrant affidavit to support
a finding of probable cause,
no hearing is required. On
the other hand, if the
remaining content is insuffi-
cient, the defendant is
entitled, under the Fourth
and Fourteenth Amendments, to |
his hearing. Whether he will

prevail at that hearing is,

of course’ another issue.

(footnote omitted).

Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S.
154, l?l-l?2 (1978).

a a

13
The Hudson case had relied on the

prior standard of United States v.

Thomas, 489 F.2d 664 (5th Cir. 1973);

cert. denied, 423 U.S. 844, 96 S.Ct. 79,

46 L.Ed.2d 64 (1975) which was replaced

by the Franks standard. United States

v. Martin, 615 F.2d 318, 328 (5th Cir.

1980).

Further, there can be no question
that Federal Law, not State Law was
applied. First, the Franks opinion was
adopted as the law of Florida in Antone

v. State, 382 So.2d 1205 (Fla. 1980);

cert. denied, 449 U.S. 913, 101 S.Ct.

287, 66 L.Ed. 2d 141 (1980).
Second, the application of Franks

is mandanted by the 1982 revision of the

Florida Constitution, as follows:

SECTION 12. Searches and
seizures. - The right of the
people to be secure in their

§12.

14

persons, houses, papers and
effects against unreasonable
searches and seizures, and
against the unreasonable
interception of private
communications by any means,
shall not be violated. No
warrant shall be issued
except upon probable cause,
supported by affidavit,
particularly describing the
place or places to be
searched, the person or
persons, thing or things to
be seized, the communication
to be intercepted, and the
nature of evidence to be

obtained. This right shall
be construed in conformity

with the 4th Amendment to the

United States Constitution,

as interpreted by the United

States Supreme Court. Arti-
cles or information obtained
in violation of his right
shall not be admissible in
evidence if such articles or
information would be inad-
missible under decisions of
the United States Supreme
Court construing the 4th
Amendment to the United
States Constitution. (empha-
sis added).

Florida Constitution (1982) art.

I,

15
Therefore, the Third District Court
of Appeal of Florida implicity overruled

this Court's Franks decision in this

case.

16
vi

CONCLUSION

This Court is therefore urged to
accept this case to resolve the conflict
concerned in the instant issues of
compelling national importance.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED on this
day of August, 1987 at Tallahasse,

Florida.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT A. BUTTERWORTH
Attorney General
State of Florida

RICHARD E. DORAN
Assistant Attorney General
Dept. of Legal Affairs

401 N. W. 2nd Avenue

Suite 820

Miami, Florida 33128

ee i

NO.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

THE STATE OF FLORIDA,
Petitioner,
vs.
SETH EBER, ROBERT RIZZIERI, CHARLES
DELMONICO, SHELDON SPECTOR and
BURTON WOLCOFF,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE FLORIDA THIRD DISTRICT COURT
OF APPEAL

APPENDIX TO BRIEF OF PETITIONER ON
JURISDICTION

ROBERT A. BUTTERWORTH
Attorney General
Tallahassee, Florida

RICHARD E. DORAN

Assistant Attorney General
Of Counsel:

CHARLES M. FAHLBUSCH

Assistant Attorney General

Department of Legal Affairs

401 N. W. 2nd Avenue,

Suite 820

Miami, Florida, 33128

(305) 377-5441

A-1
SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA
FRIDAY, JUNE 19, 1987

STATE OF FLORIDA,

Petitioner,

Vv. CASE NO.
70,217

SETH EBER, ROBERT RIZZIERI 3d DCA
CHARLES DELMONICO, SHELDON Case Nos.
SPECTOR, RICHARD SAN ROMAN 86-65,

and: BURTON WOLCOFF, 86-70,
86-71
Respondents. 86-72
86-75

/

This cause having heretofore been
submitted to the Court on jurisdictional
briefs and portions of the record deemed
necessary to reflect jurisdiction under
Article V, Section 3(b), Florida Consti-
tution (1980), and the Court having
determined that it should decline to
accept jurisdiction, it is ordered that

the Petition for Review is denied.

A-2
No Motion for Rehearing will be

entertained by the Court. See Fla. R.

App. P. 9.330(d).
EHRLICH, Acting C.J. SHAW, BARKETT,
GRIMES and KOGAN, JJ., concur

Respondents' Motion to Strike Brief
of Petitioner on Jurisdiction is hereby

denied.
EHRLICH, Acting C.J. BARKETT, GRIMES and
KOGAN, JJ., concur SHAW, J., dissents

A True Copy H
TEST:

Sid J. White
Clerk Supreme Clerk

cc: Hon. Louis J. Spallone,
Clerk, Hon. Richard P. Brinker,
Clerk, Hon. D. Bruce Levy, Judge,
Charles M. Fahlbusch, Esquire,
Mel Black, Esquire,

Burce Rosenthal, Esquire

Craig Stella, Esquire

Arthur W. Tifford, Esquire

Neal Sonnett, Esquire

By _ yon
Deputy Clerk

A-3
IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OF
FLORIDA THIRD DISTRICT
JANUARY TERM, 1987
THE STATE OF FLORIDA,
Appellant,

vs. CASE NO.
SETH EBER and ROBERT RIZZIERI, 86-65

Appellees.

THE STATE OF FLORIDA,

Appellant,
vs. CASE NO.
CHARLES DELMONICO 86-70
Appellee.

THE STATE OF FLORIDA,

Appellant,
vs. CASE NO.
SHELDON SPECTOR, 86-71

Appellee.

aaa ai ai bi

THE STATE OF vunghee”
Appellant,
vs. CASE NO.
“4 86-72
RICHARD SAN ROMAN,
Appellee.
THE STATE OF FLORIDA,
Appellant,
vs. CASE NO.
BURTON WOLCOFF, 86-75
Appellee.

Opinion filed January 20, 1987.

Appeals from a non-final order from
the Circuit Court for Dade County, D.
Bruce Levy, Judge.

Robert A. Butterworth, Attorney
General, and Charles M. Fahlbusch,
Assistant Attorney General for
appellant. .

Mel Black, for appellee Eber;
Bennett H. Brummer, Public Defender, and
Bruce A. Rosenthal, Assistant Public
Defender, for appellee Rizzieri; Black
and Furci and Roy E. Black, and Maria

A-5
Tinkler Mendez, for appellee Delmonico;
Bierman, Sonnett, Shonat and Sale and
Benedict PP. Kuehne, for appellee
Spector; Arthur Tifford, for appellee
San Roman; C. Craig Stella (Fort
Lauderdale), for appellee Wolcoff.

Before BARKDULL and DANIEL S.
PEARSON and JORGENSON, JJ.

PER CURIAM.

The trial court's order granting
the defendants’ consolidated motions to
suppress evidence gathered by court
authorized electronic surveillance,
being amply supported by substantial
competent evidence and controlling case
law, is affirmed as to all defendants,
except Richard San Roman. Unlike the
other defendants, San Roman is not an
aggrieved person as that term is defined
in Section 934.02(9), Florida Statutes

(1981),+ and has no standing to complain

1 Section 934.02(9) reads:

(Continued )

A-6
of infringements on the constitutional

rights of others. Alderman v. United

States, 394 U.S. 165, 89 S.Ct. 961, 22

L.Ed.2d 176 (1969); Sarno v. State, 424

So.2d 829 (Fla. 3d DCA 1982), rev.

denied, 434 So.2d 888 (Fla. 1983); State

v. Ferguson, 411 So.2d 963 (Fla. 3d DCA

1982).

Although the trial court = appa-
rently--and correctly--concluded that
San Roman was neither a party to any
unlawfully intercepted wire or oral
communication nor a person against whom
such interception wire or oral communi-
cation nor a person against whom such
interception was directed, it neverthe-

less suppressed the evidence as to San

"*Aggrieved person' means a
person who was a party to any
intercepted wire or oral communi-
cation or a person against whom
the interception was directed."

A-7
Roman on the theory that because he was

"arrested pursuant to a search warrant,
which in turn, grounded its probable
cause on information gained from the
Cunlawful] wiretap, [he] had standing to
contest the wiretap order." The case
relied upon by the trial court for its

ruling, Scheider v. State, 389 So.2d 251

(Fla. lst DCA), rev. denied, 397 So.2d

779 (Fla. 1980), which invelved defen-
dants whose telephone conversations were
intercepted during the tap in question,
simply does not support the trial
court's decision in this regard.

Affirmed in part; reversed in part.

A-8
IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL
OF FLORIDA THIRD DISTRICT

CASE NO. 86-65, 86-70,
86-71, 86-72, 86-75

THE STATE OF FLORIDA, )
Appellant, ) MOTION
FOR RE-
vs. ; ) HEARING
AND
CLARIFI

SETH EBER, ROBERT RIZIERI, ) CATION

CHARLES DELMONICO, SHELDON
SPECTOR, RICHARD SAN ROMAN,
and BURTON WOLFF,

— ~~

Appellees. )

The Appellee, THE STATE OF FLORIDA,
through its undersigned attorneys,
pursuant to Rule 9.330 Fla.R.App.P.,
hereby moves this Court for rehearing
and clarification of its order of
January 20, 1987 on the following

grounds:

A-9
i. Although this Court properly

found that defendant Richard San Roman
did not have standing to contest the
validity of the warrants concerned, it
overlooked the fact that none of the
defendants except Charles Delmonico were
“aggrieved persons" under the statute to
contest the validity of the "body bug"
warrant of August 18, 1982. There is no
question that none of the other defen-
dants were named targets of the warrants
Or were overheard on the bug, clearly
removing them from the definition of
persons who have standing to contest the
warrant under F.S. §934.09 (9)(a).

» Second, this court overlooked
the fact that the trial court applied an
incorrect standard in finding that cer-
tain errors and omissions in the

supporting affidavit precluded a finding

A-10
of probable cause. The trial court

expressly applied the standard of Hudson

v. State, 368 So.2d 899 (Fla. 3d DCA

1979), as shown by its attached opinion,
which required only a showing that the
errors were either intentional or
material. This standard has long since
been replaced by the standard of Franks

v. Delaware, 438 U.S. 154 (1978),

adopted by this state and district in

Antone v. State, 382 So.2d 1205 (Fla.

1980); cert. denied, 449 U.S. 913 (1980)

and Vetter v. State, 395 So.2d 1199

(Fla. 3d DCA 1981). This standard
requires that deliberate falsity or
reckless disregard for the truth and
materiality be established to even be
entitled to a hearing.

3. This court also overlooked the

fact that the one (1) omission of the

oe

A-11
eleven (11) alleged errors and omissions

cited by the trial court which was
actually supported by the evidence, that
the affiant failed to notify the issuing
magistrate that the informant was paid,
is completely immaterial to any finding
of probable cause. The courts of this
state have held that there is no prac-
tical difference between a lay informer

and a paid informer. State v. Harring-

ton, 307 So.2d 466 (Fla. 2d DCA 1975).
Further, admissions against eiotine:;
many of which were contained in the
statements of the informant concerned,
have been held to provide sufficient
indicia of an informant's credibility to
support the issuance of warrants. State

v. Patterson, 309 So.2d 555 (Fla. 2d DCA

1975): See, also, United States v.

Harris, 403 U.S. 573 (1971); United

A-12
States v. Pate, 451 F.2d 1381 (7th Cir.

1971).
Certainly, there is no question
that there was any violation of the

standards of Cruz v. State, 465 So.2d

516 (Fla. 1985) or State v. Glosson, 462

So.2d 516 (Fla. 1985) where there was no
evidence, whatsoever, that payment to
the informant was contingent upon his

testimony. State v. Ruiz, 495 So.2d 256

(Fla. 3d DCA 1986); State v. Prieto, 479

So.2d 320 (Fla. 3d DCA 1985).

WHEREFORE, the Appellee, THE STATE
OF FLORIDA, through its undersigned
attorneys, hereby moves this court for
rehearing and for clarification of its

opinion on the above bases.

Respectfully submitted,

A-13
ROBERT A. BUTTERWORTH
Attorney General

CHARLES M. FAHLBUSCH
Assistant Attorney General
Dept. of Legal Affairs

401 N. W. 2nd Ave., # 820
Miami, Florida 33128
(305) 377-5441

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and
correct copy of the foregoing MOTION FOR
REHEARING AND CLARIFICATION was furn-
ished by mail to ROY E. BLACK, ESQ., 100
Chopin Plaza, Suite 1300, Miami, Florida
33131, HOWARD LUBEL, ESQ., Assistant
Public Defender, 1351 N. W. 12th Street,
Miami, Florida, 33125, ARTHUR W.
TIFFORD, ESQ., 1385 N. W. 15th Street,
Miami, Florida 33125, MEL BLACK, ESQ.,
3050 Biscayne Blvd. Suite 1002, Miami,

Florida 33137, CRAIG STELLA, ESQ., 524

S. Andrews Avenue, Suite 204E, Fort

‘eae

A-14
Lauderdale, Florida 33301, and NEIL

SONNETT, ESQ., 200 S.E. lst Street,
Suite 500, Miami, Florida 33131, on this

4th day of February, 1987.

CHARLES M. FAHLBUSCH

Assistant Attorney General

ml

A-15
IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF APPEAL OF
FLORIDA THIRD DISTRICT
WEDNESDAY FEBRUARY 25, 1987
THE STATE OF FLORIDA,
Appellant,

vs. CASE NO.
SETH EBER and POBERT RIZZIERI, 86-65

Appellees.

THE STATE OF FLORIDA,

Appellant,
vs. CASE NO.
CHARLES DELMONICO 86-70 ©
Appellee.

THE STATE OF FLORIDA,

Appellant,
vs. CASE NO.
SHELDON SPECTOR, 86-71

Appellee.

A-16
THE STATE OF FLORIDA,

Appellant,
vs.
RICHARD SAN ROMAN,

Appellee.

CASE NO.
86-72

THE STATE OF FLORIDA,
Appellant,

vs.

BURTON WOLCOFF,

Appellee.

CASE NO.

86-75

Upon consideration,
motion for rehearing and

is hereby denied.

A True Copy
ATTEST:
LOUIS J. SPALLONE

Clerk District Court of
Appeal, Third District

appellant's

Clarification

A-17

By Evelyn A. Hillman

cc:

/hb

Deputy Clerk

Charles M. Fahlbusch
Roy E. Black

Howard Lubel

Arthur Tifford

Mel Black

Craig Stella

Neil Sonnett

A-18
IN THE CIRCUIT COURT OF THE
ELEVENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT, IN
AND FOR DADE COUNTY, FLORIDA

CASE NOS. 84-2627, 84-2628
84-2629, 84-2630, 84-2631

STATE OF FLORIDA,

Plaintiff, ORDER
vs. P TO SUPPRESS

SETH EBER, ROBERT RIZZERI, TRONIC
BURTON WOLCOFF, CHARLES SURVEILLANCE

DELMONICO, RICHARD SAN
ROMAN & SHELDON SPECTOR,
Defendants.

/

THIS CAUSE came to be heard

pursuant to the Defendants' joint
motions to suppress evidence gathered by
court authorized electronic surveillance
pursuant to Chapter 934 of the Florida
Statutes. This Court held an eviden-
tiary hearing, lasting three days, from
the 18th to the 20th day of June, 1985,

and has also reviewed all the numerous

. A-19
written memoranda submitted by both

sides.

Chapter 934 sets up strict
requirements with regard to electronic
surveillance, which must be adhered to
in order to prevent improper govern-
mental easedropping and safeguard the
individual's right to privacy. Based on
the requirements of Chapter 934, and the
following Findings of Fact and Conclu-
sions of Law, this Court must suppress
all the evidence of the eedadeone
wiretaps pursuant to the June 10th, and
all subsequent applications, and the
body plug placed on informant CI-V16,
along with all the testimony derived
therefrom.

The events leading up to this case
originated in March of 1982. On March

10, 1982, the chief investigating

A-20
officer and affiant in this case, Metro-

Dade Det. Sgt. John Collins, first met
with Moshe Perlman, shortly after
Perlman was arrested for receiving
stolen property. Perlman agreed to
cooperate with Sgt. Collins in the
investigation of Charles Delmonico, and
his associates, who the Miami Beach
Police Dept. believed to be involved in
the receiving of, and dealing in, stolen
jewelry. The Miami Beach Police Depart-
ment had been investigating this case
for some time before deferring to the
superior investigative resources of the
Organized Crime Bureau of the Metro Dade
Police Department.

Perlman was then set up in his own
jewelry store on Miami Beach by the
Metro Dade Police Department. Based on

information the police received from

A-21
wiretaps on Perlman's phones, and the

easedropping equipment in his store, the
police, with Sgt. Collins as_— the
affiant, applied for a court order to
place wiretaps on certain phone lines of
Charles Delmonico, and other alleged
conspirators, to monitor their conver-
sations pertaining to receiving stolen
jewelry. This first application was
dated June 10, 1982, and was granted by
Judge Robert Kaye.

Additionally, the police gathered
information by placing a body bug on
Robert Distillator, who had been
involved with most of the named
Defendants. He agreed to work as an
information after some of the Defen-
dants' allegedly tried to "“strongarm"
him to scare him into repaying his

debts.

A-22
STANDING

The first issue to be determined is
whether each of the Defendants has
standing to contest the legal
sufficiency of these wiretaps and other
electronic easedropping in this case.
Standing to challenge intercepted
communications is governed by §934.09(9)
(a), Florida Statutes. Any “aggrieved
person,” pursuant to §934.02(9), Florida
Statutes, is a person, who was a party
to any intercepted wire or oral
communication, or a person against whom
the interception was directed.

Under this standard, the Defen-
dants, Charles Delmonico, Seth Eber and
Robert Rizzieri have standing to contest
the validity of the wiretapped telephone
conversations. Delmonico, Eber and

Rizzieri were either named in the

A-23
applications for wiretaps and/or were

parties to intercepted conversations.

In addition, the Defendants,
Sheldon Spector and Burton Wolcoff, have
standing to contest the validity of all
the wiretapped phone’ conversations,
since both were specifically named in
Attachment "A" to the July 9, 1982,
application and order. This applica-
tion, from the information gained from
the June 10th and 17th orders, and the
information derived from the July 9
order itself, subsequently was used to
support the August 11 and 18th orders.
The standing of Spector is’ further
strengthened by the fact that according
to Sgt. Collins, Spector, despite being
unidentified, frequently conversed with
Delmonico in the intercepted conversa-

tions on the subjects of dealing in

A-24
stolen property and loansharking/

extortion.

The standing of the Defendant,
Richard San Roman, is a bit’ more
tenuous. But, based on the authority of

Schneider v. State, 389 So.2d 251 (Fla.

1 DCA 1980), rev. denied 397 So.2d 779,

which held that despite the fact defen-
dants failed to show a proprietary, or
possessory interest, in the tapped
telephone, defendants who were arrested
pursuant to a search warrant, which, in
turn, grounded its probable cause on
information gained from the wiretap, had
standing to contest the wiretap order,
this Court finds that the Defendant, San
Roman, also has standing to contest the
wiretaps at issue here.

Also supporting the standing of San

Roman, and the other Defendants, is the

A-25
fact the affiants failed to show that

other more normal investigative techni-
ques, could not have been successfully
used in lieu of wiretaps in the stolen
property (jewelry) case. This topic
will be discussed further below.

Lastly, all defendants have
standing to contest the validity of the
Placement of an electronic monitoring
device (body bug) on the body of
informant CI-V16, which turned out to be
Distillator since the order, applied for
on August 18, 1982, provided for the
monitoring of any conversation between
DISTILLATOR and DELMONICO and/or any

other party that may occur at

Delmonico's residence.

A-26
PROBABLE CAUSE

Under §934.07, Florida Statutes,
authorizations for interceptions’ for
wire or oral communications must be
supported by a strong showing of
probable cause. Affidavits in support
of a wiretap order are invalid if the
errors in the affidavit were committed
with intent to deceive the magistrate,
whether or not the errors were material
to showing of probable cause, or if
errors were made nonintentionally, but
the erroneous statements are material to
the establishment of probable cause.

Hudson v. State, 368 So.2d 899 (3d DCA

1979). In this case, the affiant made
several key omissions and misstatements
of facts in his affidavits, which, when
added together were certainly material

to the establishment of probable cause,

A-27
and thus these wiretaps must be

suppressed due to a lack of probable
cause in support thereof.

The affiant, Sargeant Collins, made
numerous material omissions of fact and
unsupported conclusions in his
affidavits. One example is his account
of a telephone conversation. between
Perlman and Delmonico, where Collins
reported that Delmonico toid Perlman to
say, "Hello, Moshe's Jewelry. This is
where we do the stealing and every-
thing," when he answered the phone in
Perlman'‘s jewelry store. Collins
included this to show Delmonico's
disregard for the law, but Collins
doesn't fully disclose the surrounding
circumstances that existed when
Delmonico said this. In fact, Delmonico

was joking with Perlman about his glum

A-28
manner in answering the phone. Sgt.

Collins took these joking words out of
context instead of presenting the full
picture to Judge Kaye. (See transcript
of hearing, pp. 64-70).

Next, when intercepting conversa-
tions between Perlman and Delmonico
concerning the price they sold goods
for, and the amount of profits they
earned, Collins concludes in his affi-
davit that these discussions indicated
that stolen goods were being dealt in,
without giving any real explanation to
support his conclusions and interpreta-
tions. (See transcript, pp. 74-81).
For example, it appears that Collins has
editorialized the use of the word
"score" in intercepting the discus-
sions. On examination, Collins admits

that a large profit alone would not show

A-29
an item was stolen and admits that a

large profit alone would not show an
item was stolen and admits that some of
his conclusions may be unfounded.
Collins also concludes that Delmonico
indicated he had control over Perlman,
while another interpretation may have
been that Delmonico was counseling
Perlman on effective retail sales
techniques. (Tr. p. 79).

Next the affidavits omitted the
fact that Distillator, who Wolcoff
allegedly extorted money from, is a
“junkie and a thief," and that Wolcoff
had threatened to call Distillator's
probation officer (Tr. pp.127-136).
They also omit the fact that Delmonico,
Eber and Rizzieri are all laughing and
joking when talking about "oiling the

guns." (Tr. pp. 136-148). The affiant

A-30
further fails to tell the judge that he

is using the same facts to support his
August llth application as he used for
earlier applications. (See Tr. pp. 149-
501).

Sgt. Collins also omits the fact
that Delmonico, at one point in a
conversation with Eber, turned down a
deal to get stolen safe deposit box keys
(fe. m. 167). He also admits that
Delmonico told Eber to get a lawyer and
go to the State Attorney's Office to
file charges against Perlman for
bouncing a $10,000 check (Tr. pp. 194-
204).

Lastly, Collins failed to disclose
to Judge Kaye that he was paying Perlman
about $18,000 to cooperate with the
police, a fact which seriously questions

Perlman's credibility and reliability as

A-31
a confidential informant (Tr. pp. 211l-

214).

When taken together, these omis-
sions and unfounded conclusions were
material and essential to the finding of
probable cause. The judge should have
been presented with all the facts in the
application and affidavits and _ been
allowed to draw his own conclusions.

Since the court rules that all of
the applications, including the original
of June 10, 1982, standing alone lack
probable cause, it is unnecessary to
determine whether the subsequent
applications could have been validated
by “tacking" them onto the original June
10th application. Most likely, they
could not have been so validated. See

Bagley v. State, 397 So.2d 1036 (5 DCA

1981).

A-32
NECESSITY

In addition to probable: cause,there
is an exhaustion requirement under
§934.09(1)(c) that requires an applica-
tion for a wiretap order to include a
complete statement as to whether other
investigative techniques have been tried
and/or why they reasonably appear to be
unlikely to succeed if tried, or to be

too dangerous. See State v. Weedon, 425

So.2d 125 (4 DCA 1982). In this case,
the affiant failed to satisfy this
procedural exhaustion requirement in the
August 18 application. Sgt. Collins
failed to state other investigative
techniques that could have been used
(See Tr. pp. 188-194).

This exhaustion requirement is
substantive, as well as procedural. The

judge must make a determination that

A-33
normal investigative techniques have

been tried and failed, or reasonably
appear to be unlikely to succeed if
tried, or to be too dangerous $934.09(3)
(c). In this case, the affiants have
both failed to prove that prior normal
investigative techniques they used have
failed, and that the future use of more
normal investigative techniques would
fail. This ground, in and of itself,
requires suppression.

Even without the wiretaps, the
police gained extensive information on
the alleged stolen property activities
of the Defendants. Moshe’ Perlman
cooperated fully with the police. He
let them set him up in his own jewelry
store for the the sole purpose of
gathering evidence against Delmonico.

Perlman consented to wear body bugs,

A-34
have electronic easedropping equipment

placed in the store, and to have the
phone in his jewelry store wiretapped.
The police gathered a great deal of
evidence from Perlman's cooperation (See
Tr. pp. 215-227).

Further, the Miami Beach Police had
extensive surveillance of Delmonico for
a long time as did the OCB at a later
time. During the period of the
wiretaps, the police accumulated eighty
(80) pages of surveillance reports (see
Tr. om~. 238),

In this case, there was simply no
need for a wiretap. As was established
during the hearing on the Motion to
Suppress, the State's investigation of
the alleged stolen property organization
was progressing successfully. The real

motivation of the State was to conduct

A-35
intelligence gathering with regards to

Defendant, Delmonico, and his suspected
underworld connections. As of May,
1982, the State had ample evidence to
arrest and prosecute those individuals,
who were involved in the alleged stolen
property ring.

The State has failed to show why
continued and more extensive surveill-
ance of Delmonico would be unsuccessful
and have thus failed to prove they
couldn't have made a case by using
other, normal investigative techniques
without resorting to court ordered
wiretaps. They have thus failed to meet

the necessity requirements of §934.09.

THE BODY BUG ISSUE

Lastly, the evidence of the body

bug placed on the informant, Distil-

A-36
lator, which was used to listen to

conversations in Delmonico's house, and
the testimony derived therefrom, must be
suppressed. Although there was a signed
order, dated August 18, 1982, autho-
rizing the body bug, the application
contained several defects in that it was
not signed by the elected State
Attorney, was silent regarding alter-
native investigative techniques, and did
not provide for automatic termination.
See §934.09 Florida Statutes. This
evidence thus must be suppressed under

the authority of Sarmiento v. State, 397

So.2d 643 (Fla. 1981), and Article I,
Section 12, of the Florida Consti-
tution. The constitutional amendment to
Article I, Sec. 12 of the Florida
Constitution (approved in 1983) cannot

be applied retroactively. State v.

A-37
Lavazzoli, 434 So.2d 321, 323 (Fla.

1983).

In conclusion, the Court finds that
it must suppress all evidence of all
electronic surveillance pursuant to the
applications of June 10, 1982, and all
subsequent applications in this case, as
well as all testimony derived from such
evidence. When taken in its totality,
the police did not adhere to the strict
requirements of Ch. 934 in this investi-
gation. They failed to demonstrate
sufficient probable cause and necessity
to justify the intrusive use of wiretaps
in the stolen property investigation
which is at issue here.

Perhaps he greatest intrusion to a
citizen's constitutionally protected
right to privacy is the interception of

his private lives of our citizens.

A-38
In light of the about Findings of

Fact and Conclusions of Law, it is
hereby
ORDERED AND ADJUDGED- that the
Motions to Suppress are hereby granted.
DONE AND ORDERED at Miami, Florida,

this 20 day of December, 1985.

D.BRUCE LEVY

CIRCUIT COURT JUDGE

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0784%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
