# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Connecticut v. Jarzbek

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0460%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1988
- **Citation:** 484 U.S. 1061

## Text

EDITOR'S NOTE

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY
AT THE TIME OF FILMING, IF AND WHEN A
RETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE
WILL BE TSSUED.,

A Supreme Court, U.S.
\ FILE D

87-870 NOV 23 1987
No. .

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,
CLERK

In Che
Supreme Court Of The United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

STATE OF CONNECTICUT,

Petitioner,
Vv.

CHARLES JARZBEK,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF THE
STATE OF CONNECTICUT

JOHN J. KELLY
Chief State’s Attorney,
State of Connecticut

JOHN M. MASSAMENO
Senior Appellate Attorney,

State of Connecticut
Counsel of Record

Division of Criminal Justice
Office of the Chief

State’s Attorney
340 Quinnipiac Street
Wallingford, Connecticut 06492
(203) 265-2373

Printed by

Brescia’s Printing Services, Inc.
66 Connecticut Boulevard
East Hartford, CT 06108

528-4254

QUESTION PRESENTED

WHETHER THE: MINIMAL RESTRICTION OF
CONFRONTATION THAT OCCURRED WHEN
THE TESTIMONY OF THE CHILD SEXUAL
ASSAULT VICTIM WAS PRESENTED BY
VIDEOTAPE WAS JUSTIFIED BY CON-
SIDERATIONS OF PUBLIC POLICY AND
THE NECESSITIES OF THE CASE.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ..*
OPINION BELOW... .
JURIGUICTION . . +. « «
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED
cc Sy il a a
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT. .

es wm SS Cs) a a a a a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGE

California v. Green, 399 U.S. 149
(1970) oe 6 2 bw) @ oe 4 we es ee Be

Commonwealth v. Willis, 716 S.W.2d 224,
(Ky. 1986) ar a ae a ee ee ce ae

Cox Boradcasting Corporation v.
Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975). ..

a oa 4

Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308
(1974) 6 wee te ee ee ae el ae oa a ee

Delaware v. Van Arsdall, 0.8.
106 S. Ct. 1431 (1986) <> + 6 «l- « oe

Ginsberg v. New York, 390 U.S. 629
(1968) ee ere ae ‘ . «2 2 38

Globe Newspaper Co. v. Superior Court,
43:7 @.8. See See. 6s hea Se) Se ee

Iowa v. Coy, 397 N.W.2d 730

(Iowa 1987), prob. juris. noted
sub. nom, Coy v. Iowa, U.S.
107 Ss. Ct. 3260 (1987) js 2.4 So 2 ee

Kentucky v. Stincer, 482 U.S.
S. Ct. 2659 (1987) es gm

CASES (Continued) PAGE

Mattox v. United States, 156 U.S. 237
(1695) . «6 «© «© © © «© © © © © © © 4ABDy 20

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032
(1963) .++«-e«-e«+se-e+ «© « « 825 23, 25

New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747
(1982) ee 6€ © & & & *.s Bee" eee ee

Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56
(1980) oe © © 6 « 6 6 8 HER ees che as

State v. Gaetano, 96 Conn. 306, 114 A.2d
+ {2 @ b> } ® Perr we a ee

State v. Sheppard, 197 N.J. Super. 41l,
484 A.2d 1330 (1984) <: Sere sete ee eee

State v. Tafoya, 105 N.M. 117, 729 P.2d
1371 (Ct. App.) cert. denied, 105 N.M.
94, 728 P.2da 845 (1986) pet. for

cert. filed sub nom. Tafoya v. New
Mexico, 55 U.S.L.W. 3608 cn Feb.

Se Seer) (HO. GG-koGs « « 6 © 6 & 6 re ae
Three Affiliated Tribes Vv. World
Engineering, 467 U.S. 138, (1984) . . 25
United States v. Inadi, 475 U.S. __,
106 S. Ct. 1121 (1986) on &« @ ¢ SOe ae
STATUTES

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53-21 (1987) ... 3

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-73a (1987) .. 3

ii

CONSTITUTIONS PAGE

awh, Comet. Ore. 35S Sele oe ke eS 24

MISCELLANEOUS

Avery, The Child Abuse __ Witness:
Potential for Secondary Victimization,
of Crim. Just. J. 1, 3-4 (1983) ...17

Ordway, Parent-Child Incest: Proof at
Trial Without Testimony in Court by the
Victim, 15. U. Mich. J. of L. Reform
832, 29a CESS) «ew ec ct ee ew ee elt Ce

Parker, The Rights of Child Witnesses:
Is the Court Protector or Perpetrator,
17 New. Enq. L. Rev. 643, 647-56

(1982) see eb he ew Se Se ee eee

Ss. Katz & MM. Mazur, Understanding the
Matin S) Me) 3, : Prey ee

R. Stern, F&F. Gressman & Shapiro,

Supreme Court Practice § 3.10
Caer cea ec eats Ss Se ek tee ee 4

iii

OPINION BELOW
The opinion of the Connecticut
Supreme Court (App. at la-32a) is
reported at 204 Conn. 683, 529 A.2da 1245

(1987).

JURISDICTION
The judgment of the Connecticut
Supreme Court was rendered on August 11,
1987. See App. at 1a. The Connecticut
Supreme Court denied the state's motion
to rearque on September 23, 1987. pee

App. at 33a4.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The Sixth Amendment to the United
States Constitution provides in part:
"In all criminal prosecutions, the
accused shall enjoy the right . » « &©
be confronted with the witnesses against

NEM: 4s Se

STATEMENT

The respondent was convicted in
Connecticut Superior Court of risk of
injury to or impairing the morals of a
child, in violation of Conn. Gen. Stat.
§ 53-71 (1987), and sexual assault in
the fourth degree, in violation of Conn.
Gen. Stat. § 53a-73a (1987). App. at
2a. He was sentenced to a total
effective term of imprisonment of five
years, execution suspended, and five
years probation. Ibid. On appeal to the
Connecticut Supreme Court the respondent
claimed that his confrontation rights
were violated when the testimony of the
child victim was presented at trial by
videotape. The state supreme court
concluded that, before the videotaping
procedure inay be employed, the state

must establish a “compelling need" for

the procedure by “clear and convincina
evidence, App. at 22a. Accordingly, it
remanded the case to the trial court for
further proceedings to determine whether
the state could establish such a
compelling need, and, in the event the
state were to fail to do so, for a new
trial.l App. at 26.

l. Prior to trial, the state
sought permission from the trial court
to present the testimony of the two

child victims in this case.2 At a

1 Because the federal question
presented by this petition has been
finally resolved and further proceedings
on remand could preclude review of that
question this case is ripe for review by
this Court. See Cox Broadcasting
Corporation v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469, 482-
83 (1975); R. Stern, E. Gressman & S.
Shapiro, Supreme Court Practice § 3.10
(6th Ed. 1986).

—_—_—.-

2 Originally the state Charged
that the respondent sexually molested
both of his children. The younger of
the two, however, "froze" during the

hearing on that motion the following
facts were elicited: The respondent was
accused of sexually molesting his two
children, I.J., who was four years of
age at the time of.trial and three years
of age at the time of the alleged abuse,
and T.J., who was five years of age at
the time of trial and four years of age
at the time of the alleged abuse. R. at
2. The incidents of sexual abuse were
alleged to have occurred at the home of
the respondent during the children's
visits with him pursuant to visitation
rights he had been accorded. Ibid.
The respondent would “play a game" with
the children described as “roll around."
During the "“game" both children, who

were naked, would be subjected to sexual

competency hearing and was therefore
found incompetent as a witness. Pre--
trial Tr. (Aug. 20, 1985) at 21-32.

touching. Ibid.

The state claimed that wre
the children to testify in a courtroom,
face-to-— face with the respondent would
harm them psychologically and emotional-
ly. In support of this claim, it
presented the testimony of two clinical
sein 5 cea dh with wide-ranging ex-
perience in child sexual abuse cases.
The first testified in sum that a young
child witness would feel great anxiety
appearing in an ordinary courtroom
facing the abuser-parent and that there
was a "very high likelihood" that a
child in that position would suffer both
short and long-term trauma and emotional
upset. He also concluded that, if the
testimony of such a child could be
presented in a less threatening and more

child-oriented environment, the child's

testimony would likely be tore truthful
and complete. Pre-trial Tr. (July 29,
1985) at 8-14.

The second psychologist, who had
examined the children, rendered in
greater detail a-similar opinion. He
also alluded to the victim T.J.'s fear
of seeing the respondent and of speaking
about the incidents of abuse in front of
him. He concluded that "for either of
them to testify in person before the
accused would be traumatizing." App. at
24; Pre-trial Tr. (July 30, 1985) at 10-
16.

2. After submission of briefs and
oral argument, [7 - trial. court, ov
memorandum decision, granted the state's
motion. R. at 273. [It concluded that

the probable harm to the child victims

by a face-to-face encounter with their

abusing parent constituted “a compelling
needa" to employ the videotaping proce-

Gure and that the opportunity of

effective cross-examination satisfied
confrontation interests. R. at 6-9.
Accordingly, it ordered that the

children's testimony at a competency
hearing and, if found competent, at
trial would be taken at a room com-
parable to a child psychology laboratory
suitable for young children and equipped
with a one-way mirror. Only the judge,
not wearing a robe, the prosecutor,
Gefense counsel and a relative of the
child would be present in the room with
the child. The respondent would be
afforded the opportunity to observe the
proceedings simultaneously on television
in a separate, private room and would be

given equipment by which he could

communicate with his counsel through an
ear attachment. R. at 12-13. The
videotape of the trial testimony would
later be played for the jury. R. at ll.

De The testimony of the children
was thus taken, but only T.J. was found
competent as a witness. I.J. completely
"froze" at the competency hearing and
charges against the respondent pertain-—

ing to him had to be dropped. Pre-trial
Tr. (Aug. 20, 1985) at 21-32.

4. From his later conviction on
charges pertaining to T.J. the defendant
appealed to the Connecticut Supreme
Court, claiming that his confrontation
rights were violated. Although he
relied only upon the federal constitu-
tion in the trial court, on appeal he
appended to his brief without elabora-

tion a citation to the state constitu-—

tion's parallel confrontation guarantee.
Respondent's Brief, State Supreme Court,
at 8.

~ The state supreme court,
divided three to two, first concluded
that the right of confrontation included
the right to an "“eyeball-to-eyeball"
encounter between the accuses and
adverse witnesses. App. at 12a. In
assessing whether the state had es-
tablished a need to restrict this right,
the majority found that “there is no
empirical data that unequivocally
supports" the notion that minor victims
of sexual abuse are "inevitably trauma-
tized" by a face-to-face encounter with
the abuser. App. at 12a. It then
concluded that neither generalized
indications of harm nor _ the specific

testimony of the experts heard by the

10

trial court was sufficient to warrant
dispensing with eyehall-to-eyeball
confrontation.

Instead, the majority decided that :
the videotaping procedure used could be
justified only if the state could prove
by “clear and convincing evidence" that
"the minor victim would he so intimidat-
ed, or otherwise inhibited, by the
Physical presence of the defendant that
the trustworthiness of the victim's
testimony would be seriously called into
question." App. at 23a. Danger to the
well-being of the child, though a
"significant factor" in the analysis,
would alone not justify the procedure;
nor could it be the “primary focus" of
the court's inquiry. Only the enhanced
reliability of the child's testimony

could justify the video procedure. App.

ll

at 23a. ,

Although the majority rested its
analysis exclusively on federal con-
stitutional authority and state author-
ity construing the federal constitution-
al right, it rested its holding “not

only on the mandates of the federal

constitution, but also on independent
and adequate state [constitutional }

grounds," citing Michigan v. Long, 463

U.S. 1032, 1041 (1983). App. at 25a
(emphasis added). The court thus
remanded the case to allow the state to
meet the new standard it had announced
and, if it could not, for a new trial.
App. at 26a.

In a vigorous dissent, two members
of the state court found no federal or
state constitutional support for the

"unprecedented" and "novel" standard

12

ae

devised by the majority. App. at 28a-
29a. Nor could they conclude that
either constitutional provision required
"that the state's interest in protecting
children from psychological harm be
relegated to the status of a secondary
consideration” in this context. App. at
SA «

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case presents an opportunity
for this Court to resolve finally a
recurring and unsettled question of
national significance: whether confron-
tation rights are violated when the
testimony of child victims of sexual
abuse is presented at trial by videotape
to avoid further psychological trauma to
the child.

l. The decisions of this Court

have made it clear that, while the

13

Confrontation Clause expresses a
“preference” for the face-to-face
encounter, there are “competing inter-
ests, [which) if ‘closely examined'

- May warrant dispensing with confronta-

tion at trial." Ohio vv. Roberts, 448

U.S. 56, 63 (1980). Thus, the prefer-
ence for face-to-face confrontation
"*must occasionally give way to con-
siderations of public policy and the
necessities of the case.'" Id. at 64

(quoting Mattox v. United States, 156

U.S. 237, 243 £=(1895)). Many of the
hearsay exceptions, which generally are

based on both a showing of necessity and

alternative means of establishing
trustworthiness, exemplify those
circumstances in which face-to-face

confrontation may be dispensed with.

See, e.g., Chio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56,

14

65-6 (1980); California v. Green, 399

U.S. 149 (1970); United States v. Inadi,
475 U.S. _s . 3806 8. Ct. ik2i (3966).
They satisfy confrontation interests not
only because the defendant usually is
unavailable but because alternative

guarantees of trustworthiness surround

the evidence as well. See Ohio v.

Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 66 (1980); cf.

United States v. Inadi, 475 U.S. °

106 S. Ct. 1121 (1986) (admission of
hearsay evidence without offending
Confrontation Clause does not always
depend on availability of witness).

In this case, the witness was
produced at trial and the restriction on
conventional confrontation was extremely
Limited. The respondent saw the witness
testify contemporaneously through a two-

way mirror; he could observe her

15

demeanor, hear her responses, and was
given the opportunity to communicate
simultaneously with his attorney.
Likewise, the jury was able to observe
the witness, to evaluate her responses
(verbal and non-verbal) to both direct
and cross-examination. Most important-—
ly, the procedure regulated not the
content of the testimony, but merely its
means of presentation. The respondent
was given a virtually unlimited oppor-
tunity for cross-examination, "'[{t)he
main and essential purpose of confronta-

Tien. ** Delaware v. Van Arsdall,

U.S. , 106 S&S. Ct. 1431, 1435 (1966)

(quoting Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308,

315 (1974)).
Moreover, the procedure was
justified by "society's transcendent

interest in protecting the welfare of

16

children." Ginsberg v. New York, 390
U.S. 629, 640 (1968); see New York v.
Ferber, 456 U.S. 747, 786-57 (1982);

Globe Newspaper Co. v. Superior Court,

457 U.S. 596, 607 (1982). The extent to
which the fragile welfare of child
sexual assault victims is jeopardized by
forcing a face-to-face encounter with
their abuser is well documented. See,

e.g., Avery, The Child Abuse Witness:

Potential for Secondary Victimization, 7

Crim. Just. J. Zc 3-4 (1983); Parker,

The Rights of Child Witnesses: Is the

Court Protector or Perpetrator, 17 New.

Eng. L. Rev. 643, 647-56 (1982); S. Katz

& M. Mazur, Understanding the Rape

Victim 200 n.4 (1979). These general
indications of harm were supported by
specific evidence of harm in this case.

Cf. Globe Newspaper Co. v. Superior

17

Court, 457 U.S. 596 (1982) (conclusive
presumption of harm to children testify-
ing in open court in sexual assault case
violative of First Amendment rights of
press and public).3

Surely there were sufficient means
available to the defendant to test the
reliahility of the evidence. The
opportunity for effective cross~-examina-
tion is the “main and essential purpose
of confrontation," Kentucky v. Stincer,
482 U.S. — » £607 8S. Ct. 2639, 2065
(1987), for it is the principal test of
trustworthiness. Ibid.

Given the opportunity for cross-

examination, the question here becomes

3 Compelling need also arose in
this case by reason of the repeated
threats of reprisal and general in-
timidation the respondent visited upon
the victim. See Petitioner's Brief,
State Supreme Court, at 28e>——

18

| |

whether the reliability of the witness'
testimony was significantly diminished
when it was given without a face-to-face
encounter with the accused. In fact,
the reliability of a child's testimony
is actually enhanced by this modifica-—
tion of confrontation in the unique cir-
cumstances of child sexual abuse cases.

Cf. United States _v. Inadi, 475 U.S.

ee 106 Ss. Ct. at 1127 (admission of

co-conspirator's out of court declara-

tions “actually furthers" truth-finding

object of Confrontation Clause). That
is because the very features’ the
Confrontation Clause envisions as

enhancing the truthfulness of testimony
would, in the unique circumstances of
these cases, have the opposite effect.
The trauma child victims experience when

required to confront their abusers face-

19

to-face denigrates, rather than en-
hances, the reliability of their

testimony. See Commonwealth v. Willis,

716 S.W.2d 224, 230 (Ky. 1986); Ordway,

Parent-Child Incest: Proof at Trial

Without Testimony in Court by the

Victin, 23.4. Gs Mich: J. of L. Reform

131, 132 (1981); State v. Sheppard, 197

N.J. Super. 411, 484 A.2da 1330 (1984).

Considerations of public policy and
the necessities of this case surely
justified the limited restriction on
confrontation that occurred here.

The Connecticut Supreme Court's
analysis was clearly defective. Hearsay
exceptions that have been found to
satisfy confrontation interests do not
involve the presentation of evidence
more reliable than live testimony. See,

e.g., Mattox v. United States, 1S6é U.S.

20

237 (1895) (dying declarations); Ohio v.

Roberts, 448 U.S. 56 (1980) (testimony

presented at prior adversarial hearing);

California v. Green, 399 U.S. 149 (1970)

(same). Such a rule is entirely foreign
to this Court's Confrontation Clause
analysis. So, too, is the notion that
jeopardy to the psychological welfare of
child victim's of sexual abuse must be
relegated to a secondary status in this
context.

2. Much of the analysis of the
issue presented in this case will depend
upon this Court's resolution of the

appeal in Coy v. Iowa, Supreme Court No.

86-6757. Iowa v. Coy, 397 N.W.2da 730

(Iowa 1987), prob. juris. noted sub.

nom. Coy v. Iowa, ___ U.S. , 207 8.
Ct. 3260 (1987). A virtually identical

question also is currently before this

21

Court in State v. Tafoya, 105 N.M. 117,

729 P.2d 1371 (Ct. App.), cert. denied,
105 N.M. 94, 728 P.2d 845 (1986), pet.

for cert. filed sub nom. Tafoya v. New

Mexico, 55 U.S.L.W. 3608 (U.S. Feb. i2
1987) (No. 86-1343). Thus, this Court
already has recognized the national
significance of the question presented.
No more need be said here on that issue.

Under the circumstances, this Court
may wish to hold the state's petition in
this case until one or both of those
cases is resolved and then remand this
case for reconsideration “in light of
their resolution.

. There is a substantial likeli-
hood that resolution of the state
constitutional question by the majority
of the Connecticut Supreme Court was

affected by an erroneous interpretation

22

of federal law. Hence, this case does
not present an academic question. See

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032, 1041-42

(1963).

It is true that the majority of the
Connecticut Supreme Court purported to
rest its decision on the “independent
and adequate state {constitutional ]
grounds." App. at 25a. Ordinarily,
federal review would thus be foreclosed.
It should not be here, however, for
several reasons. First, the confronta-
tion issue presented by the respondent
was analyzed exclusively on the basis of
federal ee teek sensi authority or
state cases construing federal constitu-
tional law. Second, no lexicological or
historical difference between the state
and federal confrontation clauses was

identified; no lexicological difference

23

exists. See Conn. Const., art. I § 8.
Third, the justices in the majority
believed that their holding was re-

quired, in part, by "the mandates of the

federal constitution." App. at 25a.
Fourth, the dissenting justices ina
three to two decision believed that
neither constitution supported the
holding of the majority. Finally,
because the parties did not brief the
state constitutional issue, the majority
was unaware of the court's prior
Gecision holding that the interests
underlying the two confrontation
provisions and the principles governing
their application "are identical."
State v. Gaetano, 96 Conn. 306, 310, 114

A.2d 82 (1921).

There is thus a substantial

likelihood that~- an error in the inter-

24

_

pretation of a clause in the federal
constitution would affect the inter-
pretation of the state constitution's
parallel provision. Or, to use the

language of this Court in Three Af-

filiated Tribes v. World Engineering,

467 U.S. 138 (1984), it is “far
less than clear" that the state court's
interpretation of its state constitution

“was not influenced by its understanding

of federal law." Id. at 155 (emphasis

added). See Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S.

at 1044. Under the circumstances, this
question is far from academic. ;

In any event, if this Court were to
hold this petition pending resolution of
the substantially similar confrontation
issue in Coy, a remand to the Connec-—

ticut Supreme Court for reconsideration

in Light of Coy, far from inhibiting the

development of state constitutional law,
would make it clear to all involved that
only state constitutional law is in fact
being developed.
CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the petition
should be granted.

Respectfully submitted.

THE STATE OF CONNECTICUT

Petitioner

By:

OHN M. MASSAMENO

Senior Appellate Attorney

Office of the Chief State's
Attorney

Counsel of Record

With whom on the petition:

JOHN J. KELLY

Chief State's Attorney

Division of Criminal
Justice

340 Quinnipiac Street

Wallingford, CT 06492

(203) 265-2373

26

|

In Che
Supreme Court Of Che United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

STATE OF CONNECTICUT,
Petitioner,

Vv.

CHARLES JARZBEK,
Respondent.

APPENDIX

204 Conn. 683 AUGUST, 1987 683
State v. Jarzbek

STATE OF CONNECTICUT v. CHARLES JARZBEK
(12868)

Peters, C. J.. HEALEY, SHEA, CALLAHAN and Giass, Js.

Convicted of the crimes of risk of injury to or impairing the morals of a
child and sexual assault in the fourth degree, the defendant appealed
claiming that his federal and state constitutional right of confronta-
tion had been violated by the admission of videotaped testimony taken
outside his physical presence. The trial court had permitted the videotap-
ing of the testimony of the alleged victim, the defendant's five year
old daughter, after the state produced expert testimony to the effect
that the child would be psychologically and emotionally traumatized
if she were to be required to testify in open court in the presence of
the defendant. Held that in criminal prosecutions, like that here, involv-
ing the alleged sexual abuse of children of tender years, videotaping
the testimony of a minor victim outside the physical presence of the
defendant is a constitutionally permissible practice if, and only if, the
state proves by clear and convincing evidence a compelling need to
exclude the defendant from the witness room during the victim’s tes-
timony; the required determination of compelling need not having been
made at trial, the matter was remanded for an evidentiary hearing on
that issue.

(Two justices dissenting)
Argued June 10—decision released August 11, 1987

Substitute information charging the defendant with
the crimes of risk of injury to or impairing the morals
of a child and sexual assault in the fourth degree,
brought to the Superior Court in the judicial district
of Middlesex, geographical area number nine, and tried
to the jury before Hale, J.; verdict and judgment of
guilty, from which the defendant appealed: Remanded
for further proceedings.

M. Hatcher Norris, for the appellant (defendant).

John M. Massameno, assistant state’s attorney, with
whom were Roseanne Wagner, legal intern, and, on the
brief, Maureen Platt, former assistant state’s attorney,
for the appellee (state).

684 AUGUST, 1987 204 Conn. 683
State v. Jarzbek

PETERS, C. J. The sole issue in this appeal is whether,
in a criminal prosecution involving alleged sexual abuse
of children, a minor victim may testify through the use
of a videotape made outside the physical presence of
the defendant. The defendant, Charles Jarzbek, was
charged by information with the crimes of risk of injury
to or impairing the morals of a child in violation of Gen-
eral Statutes § 53-21 and sexual assault in the fourth
degree in violation of General Statutes § 53a-73a.! Prior
to trial, the state, over the defendant’s objection,
obtained permission from the trial court to videotape
the testimony of the defendant’s daughter, one of
the alleged victims, outside his physical presence. As
requested by the state, this videotaped testimony was
admitted into evidence at the defendant’s trial. In
accordance with a jury verdict finding the defendant
guilty on both counts, the trial court rendered a judg-
ment sentencing the defendant to a total effective term
of imprisonment for five years, execution suspended,
and five years probation. The defendant has appealed

1 {General Statutes] Sec. 53-21. INJURY OR RISK OF INJURY TO, OR
IMPAIRING MORALS OF, CHILDREN. Any person who wilfully or unlawfully
causes or permits any child under the age of sixteen years to be placed in
such a situation that its life or limb is endangered, or its health is likely
to be injured, or its morals likely to be impaired, or does any act likely to
impair the health or morals of any such child, shall be fined not more than
five hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than ten years or both.”

“(General Statutes] Sec. 53a-73a. SEXUAL ASSAULT IN THE FOURTH
DEGREE: CLASS A MISDEMEANOR. (a) A person is guilty of sexual assault
in the fourth degree when: (1) Such person intentionally subjects another
person to sexual contact who is (A) under fifteen years of age, or (B) men-
tally defective or mentally incapacitated to the extent that he is unable to
consent to such sexual contact, or (C) physically helpless, or (D) less than
eighteen years old and the actor is such person’s guardian or otherwise
responsible for the general supervision of such person’s welfare, or (E) in
custody of law or detained in a hospital or other institution and the actor
has supervisory or disciplinary authority over such other person; or (2) such
person subjects another person to sexual contact without such other per-
son’s consent, or (3) such person engages in sexual contact with an animal
or dead body. fs

“(b) Sexual assault in the fourth degree is a class A misdemeanor.”

A-2

_ 204 Conn. 683 AUGUST, 1987 685
State v. Jarzbek

from that judgment. We remand for a further eviden-
tiary hearing to give the state the opportunity to estab-
lish a compelling need for the videotaping procedure
used in this case.

I

Before we address the merits of the defendant’s
attack on the videotaped evidence taken outside his
physical presence, we must first identify the process
by which that videotape was sought, the videotaping
procedure that the trial court authorized, and the role
that the videotaped testimony played at the defendant’s
trial. A detailed understanding of the record is essen-
tial to put the defendant’s claims into focus.

The trial court permitted videotaping of the testi-
mony of the alleged victims, T, and her brother, I, in
response to a pretrial motion by the state. In support
of its motion, the state presented the testimony of two
clinical psychologists who opined that the children
would be psychologically and emotionally traumatized
if they were to be required to testify in open court in
the presence of the defendant. The defendant called
no witnesses of his own, although he did cross-examine
the state’s witnesses.

In granting the state’s motion, the trial court framed
the issue as ‘‘whether or not the videotaping of the tes-
timony of these four and five year old witnesses out-
side the presence of the defendant and the jury in a
case alleging sexual molesting by their father violates
the defendant’s sixth amendment right of confronta-
tion.” The court noted the widespread prevalence of
child sexual abuse and the ‘‘tremendous rise’’ in the
number of such cases in recent years. Relying upon the
testimony of the psychologists, and upon the state’s
assertion that sexually abused children suffer further
trauma when forced to testify in the presence of their
alleged abusers, the court concluded that the children’s

A-3

686 AUGUST, 1987 204 Conn. 683
State v. Jarzbek

testimony could be videotaped outside the physical pres-

ence of the defendant without violating his constitu-

tional right of confrontation.

The trial court’s order set out specific procedures
designed to balance the needs of the children to tes-
tify without trauma and the right of the defendant to
confront the witnesses against him.? The court desig-
nated those who would be permitted to be present when
one of the children testified: the child’s mother, the
judge, the state’s attorney and one defense counsel. The
court required the videotaping to take place in a set-
ting comparable to a child psychology laboratory, con-
sisting of a witness room connected by a one-way
mirror to a monitoring room. The defendant, in the
monitoring room, would not be visible from the wit-
ness room, but would be able to observe the witness
fully and directly and to hear the testimony as it was
given. The court recognized that the defendant was
entitled to access to his counsel for the purpose of cross-

* Although the court did not rely on General Statutes § 54-86g, because
that statute did not become effective until after the initiation of this action,
the videotaping procedure it approved is essentially the same procedure
now prescribed by § 54-86g.

General Statutes § 54-86g provides: ‘“TESTIMONY OF VICTIM OF CHILD
ABUSE. COURT MAY ORDER TESTIMONY TAKEN OUTSIDE COURTROOM. PRO-
CEDURE. (a) In any criminal] prosecution of an offense involving assault,
sexual assault or abuse of a child twelve years of age or younger, the court
may, upon motion of the attorney for any party, order that the testimony

of the child be taken in a room other than the courtroom in the presence.

and under the supervision of the trial judge hearing the matter and be tel-
evised by closed circuit equipment in the courtroom or recorded for later
showing before the court. Only the judge, the attorneys for the defendant
and for the state, persons necessary to operate the equipment and any per-
son who would contribute to the welfare and well-being of the child may
be present in the room with the child during his testimony. The attorneys
and the judge may question the child. The defendant may observe and hear
the testimony of the child and may consult with his attorney, but the court
shall ensure that the child cannot hear or see the defendant.

“(b) If the court orders the testimony of a child to be taken under sub-
section (a) of this section, the child shall not be required to testify in court
at the proceeding for which the testimony was taken.”

A-4

204 Conn. 683 AUGUST, 1987 687

State v. Jarzbek

examining the witness, and ordered that the witness
room and the monitoring room be electronically linked
by a communications device, such as an ear attachment,
that would permit the defendant to communicate
instantly with his counsel. To further the defendant’s
meaningful participation in cross-examination, the
court also provided that the defendant should have the
assistance of co-counsel while he was observing the
videotaping from the monitoring room.

After a competency hearing, only T, the defendant’s
daughter, was deemed competent to testify at trial.*
T’s testimony was videotaped for trial in accordance
with the court’s order. Although the court’s order
would have enabled the defendant to observe the tap-
ing in the monitoring room, he chose not to attend the
hearing. Defense counsel had a full opportunity to cross-
examine T at the hearing at which her testimony was

taped.

In the videotape that was introduced into evidence
at trial, T described the game of ‘‘roll around,” which
she demonstrated through the use of anatomically cor-
rect dolls. After the dolls’ clothes had been removed,
she placed them together, face to face, demonstrating
genital contact. She stated that she had played the
game with her father ‘“‘many times’”’ and that they had
always played with their clothes off. She further testi-
fied that her buttocks had gotten dirty from the game
and that she had had to take a bath “[s]lo Grammy
{wouldn’t] know.” She also stated that her father had
told her that he would hit her if she told anyone about

the game.

The jury could reasonably have found other evidence
introduced by the state at trial to be corroborative of

* The younger witness, I, appeared at the competency hearing but refused
to testify, despite the efforts of the trial court and the state’s attorney to
elicit testimony from him.

>
'
eg

688 AUGUST, 1987 204 Conn. 683

State v. Jarzbek

T’s videotaped testimony. The games that the defend-
ant played with T came to light when J, her eleven year
old cousin, observed T, then four years old, and I, her
three year old brother, playing in a bedroom of their
Middletown home. J observed the two on the bed, the
victim on top of her brother, face to face, ‘‘rubbing up
and down”’ in an obviously sexual manner. After watch-
ing his cousins for about thirty seconds, to confirm that
he was not misconstruing their behavior, he asked what
they were doing. Although the victim initially tried to
“cover up” their activity, she then acknowledged that
she and her brother had been playing a secret game
that her father had taught her, and that her father had
told her to keep the game a secret or else she “would
never see him again.”

Various adult relatives also testified, at trial, about
conversations with T concerning the games she had
played with her father. The victim had given essentially
the same account, in varying degrees of detail, to her
aunt, her mother, her maternal grandmother, and a
social worker.

In his appeal, the defendant maintains that the trial
court erred in-admitting into evidence the videotaped ©
testimony of his daughter because it was videotaped
outside his physical presence. In challenging the legality
of this videotaping procedure, the defendant has raised _
only two interconnected claims. Notably, he has con-
siderably narrowed the focus of our inquiry because
there are a number of possibly related questions that
he has not pursued. The defendant does not challenge
the competency of the minor victim, T, to testify.‘ Nor

‘ The state’s motion for permission to videotape the evidence to be given
by the children included a request for a videotaped hearing about the chil-
dren’s competency to testify. The defendant has not challenged the propriety
of videotaping a competency hearing outside his physical presence. In
Stincer v. Commonwealth, 712 S.W.2d 939 (Ky. 1986), aff'd, (55 U.S.L.W.
4901, June 16, 1987), the Supreme Court of the United States recently

upheid the constitutionality of such a procedure under the sixth amend-
ment to the United States constitution.

A-6

204 Conn. 683 AUGUST, 1987 689

State v. Jarzbek

does he oppose the use of videotaped testimony per se
at criminal trials. To the contrary, he conceded at oral
argument that, under appropriate circumstances, and
with proper procedural safeguards in place, videotaped
testimony is a constitutionally viable alternative to live
testimony. The defendant likewise does not argue that
the videotaped testimony presented at trial distorted
the appearance or demeanor of the minor victim or
unduly limited the jury’s ability to judge her credibil-
ity. Finally, he does not object to the informal setting
in which the hearing was conducted and he makes no
claim that he was denied a full opportunity to cross-
examine the victim at the pretrial videotaping session.
Rather, the defendant challenges the admissibility of
the videotaped testimony solely on the ground that he
was denied his constitutional right to be in the witness
room, physically confronting the victim, while she tes-
tified. He claims that the trial court’s videotaping order
violated: (1) his constitutional right to confront the wit-
nesses against him, a right guaranteed both by the sixth
and fourteenth amendments to the United States con-
stitution and by article first, § 8, of the Connecticut con-
stitution;® and (2) his right to be present at trial, a right
guaranteed by Practice Book § 968 in the absence of
a finding of waiver, which the trial court in this case

* The sixth amendment to the United States constitution provides in rele-

vant part: “In all criminal procecutions, the accused shall oy the right
. to be confronted with the witnesses against him ... .

The fourteenth amendment to the United States constitution provides
in relevant part: “‘{NJor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty
or property, without due process of law; nor deny to any person within its
jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.”

Article first, § 8, of the Connecticut constitution provides in relevant part:
“In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall have a right . . . to be
confronted by the witnesses against him .. . .”

The defendant effectively withdrew at oral argument his claim that his
constitutional right of confrontation was also violated by virtue of the fact
that the jury was not in the witness room observing the victim during her
testimony.

A-7

690 2 AUGUST, 1987 204 Conn. 683

State v. Jarzbek

did not make.* Because the second claim is analytically
subsumed under the first, we will address the two
claims jointly.

II

We will first address the constitutional origins of the
defendant’s claims. Relying on the right to confronta-
tion guaranteed to him by the federal and state con-
stitutions; U.S. Const., amends. VI, XIV; Conn. Const.,
art. I, § 8; the defendant maintains that his right phys-
ically to confront the witnesses against him was not
satisfied by affording him the opportunity to watch T
testify on videotape and to cross-examine her in the
setting described above. Absent a compelling need,
which has not been established here, he argues that he
has a constitutional right to insist on a face-to-face con-
frontation with adverse witnesses.

It is useful to consider this novel constitutional claim
by dividing it into a number of subsidiary issues. We
must first decide whether the defendant is entitled to
invoke the state constitution, which he did not cite to
the trial court when it ruled on the state’s pretrial
motion for videotaping. Second, we must determine
whether the rights protected by the relevant federal
and state confrontation clauses encompass a right of
physical confrontation in addition to a right of cross-
examination. Third, we must decide whether the rights

* “(Practice Book] Sec. 968. ——-CONTINUED PRESENCE NOT REQUIRED

“The defendant must be present at the trial and at the sentencing hear-
ing, but if he will be represented by counsel at the trial or sentencing hear-
ing, the judicial authority may:

(1) Excuse him from being present at the trial or a part therof or the
sentencing hearing if he waives the right to be present;

“(2) Direct that the trial or a part thereof or the sentencing hearing be
conducted in his absence if the judicial authority determines that he waived
his right to be present; or

(3) Direct that the trial or a part thereof be conducted in his absence
if the judicial authority has justifiably excluded him from the courtroom
because of his disruptive conduct, pursuant to Sec. 892.”

A-8

204 Conn. 683 AUGUST, 1987 691
State v. Jarzbek

conferred by the federal and state confrontation clauses
are absolute and, if not, under what circumstances they
may give way to other compelling interests.

A

The state maintains that the defendant may not, on
appeal, invoke the confrontation clause of our state con-
stitution because he did not rely on that provision at
trial. We disagree. If the record adequately supports
an appellate inquiry, a constitutional challenge that
implicates the fundamental constitutional right of an
accused to confront witnesses against him; Pointer v.
Texas, 380 U.S. 400, 403, 85 S. Ct. 1065, 138 L. Ed. 2d
923 (1965); as well as the fundamental fairness of his
trial; State v. Couture, 194 Conn. 530, 560-65, 482 A.2d
300 (1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1192, 105 S. Ct. 967,
83 L. Ed. 2d 971 (1985); can be raised on appeal for
the first time. This is such a case. Accordingly, we will
review the defendant’s constitutional claims under both
the state and the federal constitutions. State v.
Fullwood, 199 Conn. 281, 283, 507 A.2d 85 (1986); State
v. King, 187 Conn. 292, 309, 445 A.2d 901 (1982); see
State v. Evans, 165 Conn. 61, 327 A.2d 576 (1973).

B

The state and the defendant agree that videotaping
the testimony of a witness against the defendant, out-
side the defendant’s physical presence, implicates the
right of an accused to confront witnesses against him
as guaranteed by the confrontation clause of both the
fedeng! 2nd state constitutions. U.S. Const., amends.
VI, XIV; Conn. Const., art. I, § 8; Davis v. Alaska, 415
U.S. 308, 318, 94S. Ct. 1105, 39 L. Ed. 2d 347 (1974);
Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284, 294, 93 S. Ct.
1038, 35 L. Ed. 2d 297 (1973); Pointer v. Texas, supra,
403-404; State v. Maldonado, 193 Conn. 350, 356, 478
A.2d 581 (1984); State v. Wilson, 188 Conn. 715, 721,
453 A.2d 765 (1980); State v. Hackett, 182 Conn. 511,

A-9

692 AUGUST, 1987 204 Conn. 683
State v. Jarzbek

517, 438 A.2d 726 (1980). The state and the defendant
also agree that each of these confrontation clauses
affords the criminal defendant two types of protections:
“the right physically to face those who testify against
him, and the right to conduct cross-examination.”
Pennsylvania v. Ritchie, U.S. , 1078. Ct. 989,
998, 94 L. Ed. 2d 40 (1987); Delaware v. Van Arsdall,

US. ,106S8S. Ct. 1431, 1425, 89 L. Ed. 2d 674
(1986); Delaware v. Fensterer,474U.S. ,106S.Ct.
292, 294, 88 L. Ed. 2d 15 (1985); State v. Maldonado,
supra; State v. Hackett, supra.

Although most confrontation clause litigation has
involved an alleged infringement on the right of cross-
examination, the right of physical confrontation is an
equally fundamental component of the clauses. As the
United States Supreme Court has asserted, a defend-
ant’s “‘literal right to ‘confront’ the witness at the time
of trial . . . forms the core of the values furthered
by the Confrontation Clause.” California v. Green, 399
U.S. 149, 157, 90 S. Ct. 1930, 26 L. Ed. 2d 489 (1970);
Delaware v. Fensterer, supra; Davis v. Alaska, supra,
315; Dowdell v. United States, 221 U.S. 325, 330, 31
S. Ct. 590, 55 L. Ed. 753 (1911). The clause was origi-
nally conceived as a safeguard “‘to prevent depositions
or ex parte affidavits . . . being used against the pris-
oner in lieu of a personal examination and cross-
examination of the witness in which the accused has
an opportunity, not only of testing the recollection and
sifting the conscience of the witness, but of compelling
him to stand face to face with the jury in order that
they may look at him, and judge by his demeanor upon
the stand and the manner in which he gives his testi-
mony whether he is worthy of belief.”” Mattox v. United
States, 156 U.S. 237, 242-438, 15 S. Ct. 337, 39 L. Ed.
409 (1895); see also 5 J. Wigmore, Evidence (3d Ed.
1940) §§ 1365, 1367. The clause finds its modern justifi-
cation in the perceived role that physical confrontation

A-10

204 Conn. 683 AUGUST, 1987 693
State v. Jarzbek

plays in the truth-seeking process. Confrontation is
intended to enhance that process in a number of ways:
by affording the accused an opportunity for face-to-face
contact with adverse witnesses at trial; by ensuring that
a witness will give his statements under oath, which
impresses upon him the seriousness of the proceedings
and importance that he testify truthfully; by forcing
a witness to submit to cross-examination, a practice
designed to elicit the truth; and by aiding the jury in
assessing the credibility of a witness by observing his
demeanor on the stand. Calzfornia v. Green, supra, 158.

C

The protection that the confrontation clauses afford
to a criminal defendant is not, however, absolute. The
United States Supreme Court has recognized that com-
peting interests ‘“‘may warrant dispensing with confron-
tation at trial.’”’ Ohio v. Roberts, 448 U.S. 56, 64, 100
S. Ct. 2531, 65 L. Ed. 2d 597 (1980); Chambers v.
Mississippi, supra, 295; Mattox v. United States, supra,
243. For example, although the federal confrontation
clause has been interpreted as reflecting a “‘preference
for face-to-face confrontation at trial’; Ohio v. Roberts,
supra, 63; an ‘‘adequate opportunity for cross-examin-
ation may satisfy the clause even in the absence of phys-
ical confrontation.”” Douglas v. Alabama, 380 U.S. 415,
418, 85 S. Ct. 1074, 13 L. Ed. 2d 934 (1965). In this
case, the videotaping procedure at issue was designed
to afford the defendant a full opportunity to cross-
examine the minor victim. See Stincer v. Common-
wealth, 712 S.W.2d 939, 941 (Ky. 1986), aff’d, (55
U.S.L.W. 4901, June 16, 1987). The issue presently
before us, therefore, is to determine what circum-
stances warrant impairment of the second confronta-
tion requirement, the defendant’s right of physical
confrontation.

A-11

694 AUGUST, 1987 204Conn 683

State v. Jarzbek

In claiming that the videotaping procedure unduly
infringed on this constitutional right, the defendant
contends that the state has failed to establish an ade-
quate justification for videotaping the adverse testi-
mony of his daughter where she could not see him.
Although he was permitted to observe the witness dur-
ing her testimony through a one-way mirror, he main-
tains that this arrangement did not satisfy the
constitutional requirement of physical confrontation.
According to him, absent some compelling need, which
the state has not demonstrated here, the federal and
state confrontation clauses require no less than eyeball-
to-eyeball confrontation between the defendant and
adverse witnesses.

The state’s broad response to this claim is that the
constitutionality of the videotaping procedure may be
upheld because the defendant had an opportunity to
participate visually and electronically in the taking of
the testimony that he challenges. The state maintains
that this procedure afforded the defendant the equiva-
lent of face-to-face access to the adverse witness, and
that the confrontation clauses do not require more. See
Ohio v. Roberts, supra, 63; Commonwealth v. Willis,
716 S.W.2d 224, 230 (Ky. 1986); State v. Sheppard, 197
N.J. Super. 411, 484 A.2d 1330 (1984). Interpreting the
clauses in this manner, according to the state, ade-
quately serves the underlying purpose of confrontation,
which is to further the accuracy of the truth-seeking
process. See California-v. Green, supra, 161.

The state’s argument is unpersuasive because it pays
insufficient deference to the constitutional requirement
of an opportunity for physical confrontation, which we
interpret to mean eyeball-to-eyeball confrontation,
between the accused and adverse witnesses. Pennsyl-
vania v. Ritchie, supra, 998; Delaware v. Van Arsdall,
supra, 1435; Delaware v. Fensterer, supra, 294; Califor-
nia v. Green, supra; contra Commonwealth v. Willis,

A-12

204 Conn. 683 AUGUST, 1987 695
State v. Jarzbek

supra, 230; State v. Sheppard, supra, 432. It is widely
recognized that physical confrontation contributes sig-
nificantly, albeit intangibly, to the truth-seeking pro-
cess: ““‘The requirement of personal presence .. .

undoubtedly makes it more difficult to lie against some-
one, particularly if that person is an accused and
present at trial.” 4 J. Weinstein & M. Berger, Evidence
(1979) § 800[01], p. 800-10; Dowdell v. United States,
supra, 330; United States v. Benfield, 593 F.2d 815, 819
(8th Cir. 1979); C. McCormick, Evidence (3d Ed. 1984)
§ 245, p. 727; see H. Sahm, “‘Demeanor Evidence: Elu-
sive and Intangible Imponderables,”’ 47 A.B.A.J. 580
(1961). In addition, physical confrontation furthers
other goals of our criminal justice system, in that it
reflects respect for the defendant’s dignity and the pre-
sumption that he is innocent until proven guilty. The
state therefore cannot prevail in its categorical argu-
ment that the videotaping procedure fully complied
with constitutional confrontation requirements.

The state argues, alternatively, that even if the
videotaping procedure infringed on the defendant's
right of confrontation, that infringement was slight and
can be justified as necessary to combat the widespread
sexual abuse of children that has become a growing pub-
lic concern. See Connecticut Child Abuse Task Force,
Final Report 5 (1986); H. Ward, C. Fletcher, N. Fuzesi
& A. Sayer, Growing Up At Risk in Connecticut (1984)
p. 56. The salient question for us to resolve is whether
the procedures used in this case can be justified on this
narrower ground.

As the state reminds us, the numerous exceptions
to the rule against hearsay illustrate circumstances in
which a defendant’s right of confrontation is not abso-
lute. See generally C. McCormick, supra, §§ 245, 246.
For example, certain hearsay testimony, such as a
dying declaration; Mattoz v. United States, supra, 244;
State v. Onofrio, 179 Conn. 23, 43, 425 A.2d 560 (1979);

A-13

———sw

696 AUGUST, 1987 204 Conn. 683
State v. Jarzbek

or testimony presented at a prior adversarial hearing;
Ohio v. Roberts, supra, 68-70; California v. Green,
supra, 164; see State v. Parker, 161 Conn. 500, 504,
289 A.2d 894 (1971); is admissible even though the
defendant does not have an opportunity to cross-
examine or confront the declarant, who is unavailable
to testify at trial. The state argues that, like the hear-
say testimony that is deemed admissible because it
bears sufficient indicia of reliability, the videotaped tes-
timony of the minor witness in this case possessed ade-
quate guarantees of trustworthiness to justify its
admission.

The state’s hearsay argument does not imply that the
videotaped testimony in this case constituted hearsay.’
Like ordinary courtroom testimony, the testimony of
the minor victim in this case was videotaped at a hear-
ing before the trial judge, held in a modified courtroom,
and conducted specifically for the purpose of preserv-
ing the witness’s testimony for trial. Moreover, both
the state and the defendant had a full opportunity to
examine and cross-examine the witness at the hearing.
Kentucky v. Stincer, supra, 4903; cf. Pointer v. Texas,
supra, 406-407; Barber v. Page, 390 U.S. 719, 725, 88
S. Ct. 1318, 20 L. Ed. 2d 255 (1968). We agree with
the state that the circumstances surrounding the tak-

’ For purposes of this appeal, we rely upon the definition of “hearsay”
set forth in Rule 801 of the Federal Rules of Evidence, which provides in
part that “ ‘{hjearsay’ is a statement, other than one made by the declarant
while testifying at the trial or hearing, offered in evidence to prove the truth
of the matter asserted.” (Emphasis added.) Fed. R. Evid. 801 (c); C. McCor-
mick, Evidence (3d Ed. 1984) § 246. The rule against hearsay reflects the
proposition that hearsay evidence is less reliable than sworn, in-court tes-
timony because the declarant has not been subjected to the safeguards that
advance the accuracy of a witness's testimony: the declarant’s statements
were not made under oath; he is not present at trial so that the jury may
observe his demeanor and thereby judge his credibility; and he cannot be
cross-examined. State v. Barlow, 177 Conn. 391, 396, 418 A.2d 46 (1979),
Cherniske v. Jajer, 171 Conn. 372, 377, 370 A.2d 981 (1976); C. McCor-
mick, supra, § 245, pp. 726-27.

A-14

204 Conn. 683 AUGUST, 1987 697
State v. Jarzbek

ing of the minor victim’s testimony make it inherently
more reliable than the out-of-court declarations charac-
terized as hearsay. Rather than view the videotaped
testimony as hearsay, we therefore consider it to be
the functional equivalent of testimony in court. Com-
monwealth v. Willis, supra, 228; note, ‘““‘The Testimony
of Child Victims in Sex Abuse Prosecutions: Two Legis-
lative Innovations,’’ 98 Harv. L. Rev. 806, 823 (1985).
Contrary to the defendant’s claim, the videotaped tes-
timony is therefore not inadmissible simply because it
does not fall within any of the established exceptions
to the hearsay rule.

A defendant’s right of physical confronta‘ion is also
demonstrably short of absolute when, by his own con-
duct, he has waived the right of confrontation either
directly or indirectly, as by having waived his right to
be present at trial. For most purposes, the state cannot
avail itself of a claim of waiver absent an appropriate
finding by the trial court. Our Practice Book § 968 also
requires such a finding, which the trial court in this case
did not make. The state argues nonetheless that the
defendant constructively waived his right of confron-
tation by virtue of the threats he made against the
minor victim, threats that were testified to by the vic-
tim herself and corroborated by the testimony of
others.

A criminal defendant may waive his sixth amendment
right of confrontation, which encompasses his right to

* Because the defendant's right to be present at trial essentially derives
from the confrontation clause, we consider his claim under Practice Book
§ 968 to be subsumed under his claim grounded on the federal and state
constitutional confrontation clauses. United States v. Gagnon, 470 U.S. 522,
526, 105 S. Ct. 1482, 84 L. Ed. 2d 486 (1985); State v. Simino, 200 Conn.
113, 128-29, 509 A.2d 1039 (1986).

The state argues that, by virtue of the videotaping procedures employed
here, the defendant was in fact ‘‘present’’ during the minor victim’s testi-
mony. Affording the defendant an opportunity to view the proceedings from
behind a one-way mirror, however, is not the equivalent of affording him
a right to be present.

A-15

698 AUGUST, 1987 204 Conn. 683

State v. Jarzbek

be present at trial, by reason of his own misconduct.
Illinois v. Allen, 397 U.S. 337, 342-43, 90 S. Ct. 1057,
25 L. Ed. 2d 353 (1970); State v. Drakeford, 202 Conn.
75, 79, 519 A.2d 1194 (1987); State v. Simino, 200 Conn.
113, 128-29, 509 A.2d 1039 (1986); see also United
States v. Gagnon, 470 U.S. 522, 526, 105 S. Ct. 1482,
84 L. Ed. 2d 486 (1985). Such a waiver implied by law
must be distinguished from an express waiver of a con-
stitutional right, which is ordinarily valid only if there
is ‘‘an intentional relinquishment or abandonment of
a known right or privilege.”’ Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S.
458, 464, 58 S. Ct. 1019, 82 L. Ed. 1461 (1938); see
State v. Drakeford, supra; State v. Simino, supra, 129;
Talton v. Warden, 171 Conn. 378, 384, 370 A.2d 965
(1976). A defendant may waive his right of confronta-
tion in a number of ways, such as by his voluntary and
deliberate absence from trial; Taylor v. United States,
414 U.S. 17, 94S. Ct. 194, 38 L. Ed. 2d 174 (1973);
by disruptive conduct which requires his removal from
the courtroom; Illinois v. Allen, supra; State v.
Drakeford, supra; State v. Simino, supra; see State v.
Johnson, 185 Conn. 163, 178-79, 440 A.2d 858 (1981),
aff'd, 460 U.S. 73, 103 S. Ct. 969, 74 L. Ed. 2d 823
(1983); or by causing a witness to be unavailable for
trial for the purpose of preventing that witness from
testifying. United States v. Mastrangelo, 693 F.2d 269,
272-73 (2d Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1204, 104
S. Ct. 2385, 81 L. Ed. 2d 343 (1984); United States v.
Thevis, 665 F.2d 616, 630-31 (5th Cir.), cert. denied,
sub. nom. Evans v. United States, 456 U.S. 1008, 102
S. Ct. 2300, 73 L. Ed. 2d 1303 (1982); State v. Altrui,
188 Conn. 161, 173, 448 A.2d 837 (1982). The state
argues that the latter situation, whereby the defend-
ant procures a witness’s silence, either by chicanery;
United States v. Mayes, 512 F.2d 637, 648-51 (6th Cir.),
cert. denied, 422 U.S. 1008, 95 S. Ct. 2629, 45 L. Ed.
2d 670 (1975); by threats; United States v. Balano, 618

A-16

204 Conn. 683 AUGUST, 1987 699
State v. Jarzbek

F.2d 624, 628-29 (10th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 449 U.S.
840, 101 S. Ct. 118, 66 L. Ed. 2d 47 (1980); United
States v. Carlson, 547 F.2d 1346, 1358 (8th Cir. 1976),
cert. denied, 431 U.S. 914, 97 S. Ct. 2174, 53 L. Ed.
2d 224 (1977); or by actual violence or murder; United
States v. Thevis, supra; is closely analogous to the facts
of this case. According to the state, here, as in those
cases, the defendant waived his right to confront the
minor victim by intimidating her and threatening to
punish her if she told anyone about the games she had
played with him.

We conclude that the present record does not dem-
onstrate the kind of conduct that constitutes waiver
of a defendant’s right of physical confrontation. In the
waiver cases cited above, the defendant was suspected
of scheming to obstruct justice by tampering with a wit-
ness after the crime in question had occurred, the judi-
cial proceedings against him had commenced, and the
witness allegedly subjected to intimidation had given
pretrial testimony incriminating the defendant. Here,
by contrast, although the threats made by the defend-
ant against the minor victim were similarly designed
to conceal his wrongdoing, they were made during the
commission of the very crimes with which he is charged.
We acknowledge that threats such as those made by
the defendant could potentially inhibit a witness, caus-
ing the witness to testify untruthfully or to refuse to
testify at all. The constitutional right of confrontation
would have little force, however, if we were to find an
implied waiver of that right in every instance where
the accused, in order to silence his victim, uttered
threats during the commission of the crime for which
he is on trial. The state therefore cannot prevail on its
claim that the defendant waived his right of confron-
tation. Cf. State v. Sheppard, supra, 435-41.

A-17

700 AUGUST, 1987 204 Conn. 683

State v. Jarzbek

D

Although we conclude that neither a hearsay argu-
ment nor a theory of waiver provides a persuasive anal-
ogy legitimating the videotaped procedure that was
used in this case, we accept the proposition that other
compelling state interests may justify dispensing with
the constitutionally mandated requirement of physical
confrontation. The state has proffered two possible
interests as justification for an impairment of the
defendant’s constitutional confrontation rights. First,
the state contends that its interest in combating sex-
ual abuse of children and minimizing the trauma expe-
rienced by child victims when they participate in the
judicial process outweighs the interests served by con-
stitutional confrontation requirements. Second, it main-
tains that videotaping the testimony of a minor victim
outside the physical presence of the accused is neces-
sary to encourage minor victims of sex crimes to come
forward and provide accurate testimony. According to
the state, these two interests justify the adoption of
a per se rule, applicable to all prosecutions involving
sexual abuse of children, which would allow the
videotaping of the testimony of a minor victim outside
the physical presence of the defendant.

Interests similar to those asserted by the state in this
case were addressed by the United States Supreme
Court, in an analogous context, in Globe Newspaper Co.
v. Superior Court, 457 U.S. 596, 102 S. Ct. 2613, 73
L. Ed. 2d 248 (1982). There, the United States Supreme
Court declared that a state mandatory closure statute,
which required “trial judges, at trials for specified sex-
ual offenses involving a victim under the age of 18, to
exclude the press and the general public from the court-
room during the testimony of that victim,” violated the
first amendment right of the press and the general pub-
lie to access to criminal trials. Id., 598, 602; see

A-18

EL

Se CCU

204 Conn. 683 AUGUST, 1987 701
State v. Jarzbek

Richmond Newspapers, Inc. v. Virginia, 448 U.S. 555,
577, 100 S. Ct. 2814, 65 L. Ed. 2d 973 (1980). Although
the court struck down the mandatory closure rule, it
held that a “trial court [can] determine on a case-by-
case basis whether closure is necessary to protect the
welfare of a minor victim.”’ Globe Newspaper Co. v.
Superior Court, supra, 609. While that case involved
the rights of the press and the public that derive from
constitutional guarantees of free speech and assembly;
U.S. const., amend. I; Conn. Const., art. I, §§ 4,5 and
14; and this case involves the confrontation rights of
criminal defendants, we find it instructive in analyz-
ing the interests asserted by the state here.

The state’s first rationale rests on the interest of the
state, acting as parens patriae, in safeguarding the wel-
fare of children. The underlying assumption is that sex-
ually abused children who testify in open court, in the
presence of their alleged abusers, suffer severe trauma
and are thereby victimized a second time by the judi-
cial system itself. See J. Parker, ‘The Rights of Child
Witnesses: Is the Court A Protector or Perpetrator?”’
17 New Eng. L. Rev. 643, 647-56 (1982); G. Melton,
“Psychological Issues in Child Victim’s Interaction with
the Legal System,” 5 Victimology 274-75 (1980); D.
Libai, “‘The Protection of the Child Victim of a Sexual
Offense in the Criminal Justice System,” 15 Wayne L.
Rev. 977, 983-84 (1969). That rationale further assumes
that children are uniquely vulnerable witnesses who
must be treated more delicately than adult witnesses
in order to protect their psychological and emotional
well-being. See L. Berliner & M. Barbieri, ‘The Testi-
mony of the Child Victim of Sexual Assault,” 40 J. Soc.
Issues 125, 128 (1984).

We acknowledge that protecting the physical and
psychological well-being of children is a compelling
state interest. New York v. Ferber, 458 U.S. 747,
756-57, 102 S. Ct. 3348, 73 L. Ed. 2d 1113 (1982); Globe

A-19

a eT

702 AUGUST, 1987 204 Conn. 683

State v. Jarzbek

Newspaper Co. v. Superior Court, supra, 607. As the
defendant accurately points out, however, it is by no
means clear that sexually abused children are harmed,
psychologically or otherwise, by the experience of tes-
tifying in the presence of their alleged abusers. To date,
there is no empirical data that unequivocally supports
the state’s sweeping generalization that minor victims
are inevitably traumatized by that experience. To the
contrary, experts in child psychology who have stud-
ied sexually abused children are divided on the issue
of whether they suffer undue trauma and further harm
in facing the accused at trial. G. Melton, supra, 274;
G. Goodman, ‘“‘The Child Witness: Conclusions and
Future Directions for Research and Legal Practice,”’
40 J. Soc. Issues 157, 167-68 (1984); D. Whitcomb, E.
Shapiro & L. Stellwagen, When the Victim is a Child:
Issues for Judges and Prosecutors, National Institute
of Justice (1985) pp. 17-18; L. Berliner & M. Barbieri,
supra. Moreover, recent studies indicate that some
minor victims actually benefit from their participation
in proceedings that give them a sense of power over
those who have violated them and afford them a long
awaited opportunity to achieve vindication. G. Melton,
‘Sexually Abused Children and the Legal System:
Some Policy Recommendations,” 13 Am. J. Family
Therapy 61, 64-65 (1985); L. Berliner & M. Barbieri,
supra, 135; C. Rogers, ‘‘Child Sexual Abuse and the
Courts: Preliminary Findings,”’ Social Work and Child
Sexual Abuse (Conte & Shore Eds. 1982) pp. 145, 150.

Just as the United States Supreme Court, in Globe
Newspaper Co. v. Superior Court, supra, 609, rejected
the generalization that sexually abused children invari-
ably suffer traumatic injury by testifying in the pres-
ence of the press and the general public, we reject the
generalization that these children will be traumatized
by testifying in the presence of the accused. Given the
lack of consensus among recognized authorities as to

A-20

204 Conn. 683 AUGUST, 1987 703

State v. Jarzbek

the effect on a minor victim of a face-to-face confron-
tation with the accused, we conclude that the state’s
interest in protecting the well-being of children, in and
of itself, does not justify a per se rule that infringes
on a defendant’s right of confrontation.

The second rationale proffered by the state focuses
on the difficulty of persuading minor victims to testify
in sexual abuse cases and on the credibility of their tes-
timony. The state claims that allowing minor victims
to testify outside the physical presence of the accused
encourages victims to cooperate with law enforcement
authorities and, more importantly, enhances the relia-
bility of their testimony. The defendant responds that
the state’s claim regarding the enhanced reliability of
testimony <aken outside the physical presence of the
accused is too speculative to justify depriving a crimi-
nal defendant of his constitutional right of confronta-
tion on that basis.

We have decided to pursue a middle ground in order
to accommodate the competing concerns of the state
and the defendant.Taking as our point of departure the
truth-enhancing goals of the confrontation clauses, we
conclude that they should not be construed so strictly
as to preclude the state, in particular circumstances,
from establishing a compelling need to have a minor
victim of tender years testify outside the physical pres-
ence of his or her alleged sexual assaulter. We cannot
discount the possibility that such a witness might be
intimidated, or for any number of reasons inhibited,
by the presence of the accused. For example, a minor
victim may refuse to testify or may distort his or her
testimony because he or she has been threatened by
the defendant or is overwhelmed by feelings of guilt.
In such instances, affording the defendant the right of
physical confrontation would undermine the purpose
of confrontation, instead of advancing its truth-seeking

A-21

704 AUGUST, 1987 204 Conn. 683

State v. Jarzbek

goals. Compare State v. Melendez, 135 Ariz. 390, 393,
661 P.2d 654 (1982); Commonwealth v. Willis, supra,
230-31; State v. Sheppard, supra, 432.

We conclude that, in criminal prosecutions involving
the alleged sexual abuse of children of tender years,
the practice of videotaping the testimony of a minor
victim outside the physical presence of the defendant
is, in appropriate circumstances, constitutionally per-
missible. Our holding that appropriate circumstances
may warrant a departure from strict compliance with
confrontation requirements does not, however, signal
a relaxation of the underlying evidentiary requirement
that appropriate circumstances be proven to exist. We
emphatically reject the proposal of the state that, in
every case allegedly involving the sexual abuse of chil-
dren, we should presume that the credibility of a minor
victim’s testimony will be improved by excluding the
defendant from the witness room during that witness’s
testimony. There is no constitutional justification for
automatically depriving all criminal defendants of the
right of physical confrontation during the videotaping
of a minor victim’s testimony. We instead mandate a
case-by-case analysis, whereby a trial court must bal-
ance the individual defendant’s right of confrontation
against the interest of the state in obtaining reliable
testimony from the particular minor victim in question.
See Globe Newspaper Co. v. Superior Court, supra, 609
and n.25.

Under the approach we adopt today, a trial court
must determine, at an evidentiary hearing, whether the
state has demonstrated a compelling need for exclud-
ing the defendant from the witness room during the
videotaping of a minor victim’s testimony.® In order
to satisfy its burden of proving compelling need, the

* The defendant is entitled to be physically present in the courtroom during
the evidentiary hearing on compelling need.

A-22

204 Conn. 683 AUGUST, 1987 705

State v. Jarzbek

state must show that the minor victim would be so
intimidated, or otherwise inhibited, by the physical
presence of the defendant that the trustworthi :ss of
the victim’s testimony would be seriously called into
question. Furthermore, the state bears the burden of
proving such compelling need by clear and convincing
evidence. Cf. United States v. Wade, 388 U.S. 218, 240,
87 S. Ct. 1926, 18 L. Ed. 2d 1149 (1967) (application
of clear and convincing standard to questions of admis-
sibility involving constitutional requirements going to
the reliability of evidence); United States v. Thevis,
supra, 631 (application of clear and convincing stan-
dard to determine whether defendant waived right of
confrontation by reason of his own misconduct).
Although the trial court may consider the well-being
of the witness as a significant factor in its analysis, the
state cannot prove need simply by demonstrating that
the victim would suffer some harm if forced to testify
in the presence of the accused. We reiterate that, in
light of the constitutional right of confrontation at stake
here, the primary focus of the trial court’s inquiry must
be on the reliability of the minor victim’s testimony,
not on the injury that the victim may suffer by testify-
ing in the presence of the accused.!°

The state maintains that, on the facts of this case,
it proved a compelling need to exclude the defendant
from the witness room during the videotaping of the
minor victim’s testimony. At the hearing on its motion
to videotape the minor victims, the state presented two
clinical psychologists, both of whom are considered
experts in the field of child sexual abuse. The first psy-
chologist, Dr. Sidney Horowitz, never examined the

1° If, after an evidentiary hearing, the trial court finds a compelling need
to exclude the defendant from the witness room during the taping of a minor
victim’s testimony, defense counsel must be afforded a full opportunity,
prior to the videotaping session, to meet privately with the victim in order
to discuss the events in question.

A-23

706 AUGUST, 1987 204 Conn. 683

State v. Jarzbek

children in question, but testified on the basis of his
“experience with many children of similar ages.’’ He
testified, in general, as to the need to videotape the
testimony of child witnesses in sexual abuse cases, and
to do so outside the physical presence of the accused,
in order to minimize the trauma they may suffer. He
offered no opinion, however, as to whether these par-
ticular children would suffer harm or whether the relia-
bility of their testimony would be affected by the
presence of the defendant in the witness room. The sec-
ond expert called by the state, Dr. David Mantell, had
interviewed each of the children individually. He tes-
tified that “‘videotaping the children’s testimony would
be far superior to testifying in court.”” Dr. Mantel] fur-
ther testified that “[w]ith respect to the children in
question . . . for either of them to testify in person
before the accused would be traumatizing’’ and that
it would “‘be easier for the children to tell their ver-
sion of the events . . . if they are not facing their
ee ae es

We express no opinion as to whether the evidence
presently on the record is sufficient to satisfy the state’s
burden of proving, by clear and convincing evidence,
a compelling need to videotape the testimony of the
minor victim outside the physical presence of the
defendant. It is not the role of this court to make such
a factual determination. It is in the sole province of the
trier of fact to evaluate expert testimony, to assess its
credibility, and to assign it a proper weight. Johnson
v. Fuller, 190 Conn. 552, 556, 461 A.2d 988 (1983);
State v. Gordon, 185 Conn. 402, 409, 441 A.2d 119
(1981), cert. denied, 455 U.S. 989, 102 S. Ct. 1612, 71
L. Ed. 2d 848 (1982); State v. Perez, 182 Conn. 603,
610, 438 A.2d 1149 (1981). In the present circum-
stances, the trial court must determine what of the
expert testimony it should reject or accept. Gorra
Realty, Inc. v. Jetmore, 200 Conn. 151, 161, 510 A.2d

A-24

204 Conn. 683 AUGUST, 1987 707

State v. Jarzbek

440 (1986). Since this is a case of first impression and
since the governing standard is one that we have not
previously articulated, the trial court is free to consider
any additional evidence that the parties may want to
present on the issue of compelling need.

In summary, we hold that, in criminal prosecutions
involving the alleged sexual abuse of children of ten-
der years, videotaping the testimony of a minor vic-
tim outside the physical presence of the defendant is
a constitutionally permissible practice if, and only if,
the state proves by clear and convincing evidence a
compelling need to exclude the defendant from the wit-
ness room during the victim’s testimony. This holding
rests not only on the mandates of the federal constitu-
tion, but also on independent and adequate state
grounds. U.S. Const., amends. VI, XiV; Conn. Const.,
art. I, § 8; see Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032, 1041,
103 S. Ct. 3469, 77 L. Ed. 2d 1201 (1983).

As the dissent acknowledges, this court has, on other
occasions, expressly relied on a provision of the state
constitution as an independent and adequate state
ground in support of a decision, even where the lan-
guage of the state constitutional provision essentially
paralleled the language of the relevant federal constitu-
tional provision. State v. Simms, 201 Conn. 395, 405
n.8, 518 A.2d 35 (1986); State v. Burge, 195 Conn. 232,
246 n.15, 487 A.2d 532 (1985); State v. Cohane, 193
Conn. 474, 498-99 n.19, 479 A.2d 763, cert. denied,
469 U.S. 990, 105 S. Ct. 397, 83 L. Ed. 2d 331 (1984);
State v. Ferrell, 191 Conn. 37, 45 n.12, 463 A.2d 573
(1983). These precedents are rooted in a view of fed-
eralism that has received widespread recognition. In
Michigan v. Long, supra, 1040, the Supreme Court of
the United States, noting its respect for the independ-
ence of state courts, urged us to indicate expressly
when a state decision was based on an independent and
adequate state constitutional ground. Such an

A-25

708 AUGUST, 1987 204 Conn. 683
State v. Jarzbek

approach, the court stated, would “provide state judges
with a clearer opportunity to develop state jurispru-
dence unimpeded by federal interference. ‘It is fun-
damental that state courts be left free and unfettered
by us in interpreting their state constitutions. . . .
[Minnesota v.] National Tea Co., [309 U.S. 551, 557,
60 S. Ct. 676, 84 L. Ed. 920] (1940).’ ” Id., 1041. Schol-
arly and judicial commentators alike have recently
reemphasized that state constitutions are an indepen-
dent source of civil rights and liberties. See, e.g.,
Developments in State Constitutional Law (ed. by B.D.
McGraw) (1985).

We therefore remand this case to the trial court for
an evidentiary hearing to determine whether there was
a compelling need to videotape the testimony of the
minor victim, T, outside the physical presence of the
defendant. See State v. Gonzales, 186 Conn. 426,
435-36, 441 A.2d 852 (1982). If the court concludes that
the state has not met its burden of proving such a need
by clear and convincing evidence, the defendant is
entitled to a new trial from which the videotaped tes-
timony of T must be excluded. If the court concludes
that the state has met its burden, the defendant’s con-
viction must stand, subject to any further appeal by -
the defendant to this court concerning the validity of
the trial court’s ruling on this issue.

The case is remanded for further proceedings in
accordance with this opinion.

In this opinion HEALEY and Guass, Js., concurred.

SHEA, J., with whom, CALLAHAN, J., joins, dissent-
ing. I agree with the majority that this case is largely
governed by the decision of the United States Supreme
Court in Globe Newspaper Co. v. Superior Court, 457
U.S. 596, 102 S. Ct. 2613, 73 L. Ed. 2d 248 (1982),
which invalidated a Massachusetts statute mandating

A-26

204 Conn. 683 AUGUST, 1987 709
State v. Jarzbek

closure of the courtroom during the trial testimony of
minor victims of sexual offenses as violative of the right
of the press and the public to attend a criminal trial.
Globe Newspaper Co. recognized, however, that the
interest of the state in “safeguarding the physical and
psychological well-being of a minor—is a compelling
one.”’ Id., 607. ‘That interest could be served just as
well by requiring the trial court to determine on a case-
by-case basis whether the State’s legitimate concern
for the well-being of the minor victim necessitates clo-
sure.’ Id., 609. The determinative issue is “whether
closure is necessary to protect the welfare of a minor
victim. Among the factors to be weighed are the minor
victim’s age, psychological maturity and understand-
ing, the nature of the crime, the desires of the victim,
and the interests of parents and relatives.”’ Id., 608.

The trial court in my judgment followed the criteria
set forth in Globe Newspaper Co. in deciding that the
defendant’s five-year-old daughter and four-year-old
son should be permitted to testify on videotape outside
the courtroom and without his visible presence.
Although the videotaping order satisfied the
specified in General Statutes § 54-86g, which became
effective on October 1, 1985, almost a month after com-
pletion of the trial, the court did not rely upon the gen-
eral presumption of the statute that all sexual abuse
victims less than thirteen years old are likely to be
harmed if required to testify in a courtroom. The court
heard the testimony of two clinical psychologists with
expertise in child abuse cases concerning the “high
probability that the child would be traumatized”’ if
required to testify in the “threatening environment of
the formal courtroom setting.” One of them had exam-
ined the children and had concluded that “for either
of them to testify in person before the accused would
be traumatizing.’’ The court expressly referred to this
testimony in the memorandum granting the state’s

A-27

710 AUGUST, 1987 204 Conn. 683
State v. Jarzbek

motion for videotaping. Thus, the references in the
majority opinion to the ‘“‘generalization that sexually
abused children invariably suffer traumatic injury by
testifying in the presence of the press and the general
public” and to “‘a per se rule” do not apply to the case
before us.

The majority opinion does not challenge the suffi--
ciency of the evidence before the court to support the
conclusion that the ‘‘psychological well-being”’ of the
five-year-old child whose testimony was admitted at
trial would be seriously harmed by the experience of
testifying in a courtroom “eye-ball to eye-ball” with her
father concerning the incidents when he abused her sex-
ually. Nor is it maintained that the criteria for the
“case-by-case” approach established by Globe Newspa-
per Co. were not satisfied. Instead, the opinion engrafts
upon the Globe Newspaper Co. standard for balancing
the likelihood of psychological harm to the child against
the primacy of first amendment values a further
requirement, that the state demonstra‘< by “clear and
convincing evidence”’ that ‘‘the minor victim would be
so intimidated, or otherwise inhibited, by the physical
presence of the defendant that the trustworthiness of
the victim’s testimony would be seriously called into
question.” (Emphasis added.) Furthermore, this
unprecedented standard for determining whether the
testimony of a child sexual abuse victim may be video-
taped is made the “‘primary focus of the trial court's
inquiry,”’ thus relegating to secondary status the risk
of psychological harm to the child, which Globe News-
paper Co. singles out as the relevant consideration
where first amendment infringements are involved.

The majority opinion offers little useful guidance con-
cerning the showing to be made in the trial court neces-
sary to establish that the “trustworthiness” of a child
victim’s testimony would be suspect unless videotaped.
Presumably the determination is to be made ordinar-

A-28

204 Conn. 683 AUGUST, 1987 711
State v. Jarzbek

ily in advance of the trial so that the proceeding will
not be interrupted and sufficient time will be available
to arrange for videotaping, if it is ordered. Without
some actual experience where the child has been una-
ble to testify adequately in a courtroom setting, how-
ever, it is not readly apparent that a “clear and
convincing’ demonstration complying with the
majority’s novel standard can be made, assuming the
usual conflict between the opinions of experts produced
by the state and those of the defendant. As a practical
matter, I fear that many child victims will be obliged
to testify without the benefit of the safeguards designed
by § 54-86g to mollify the impact of the experience of
reliving the crime itself that their testimony entails and
thus to protect their mental health. However serious
the risk of harm to the child, under the majority view,
unless the reliability of the testimony would be substan-
tially impaired by testifying before the defendant in the
normal courtroom setting, the measures intended by
the legislature to lessen the psychological impact of the
testimonial experience upon the child cannot be utilized.

I] am not convinced that this result is required by the
right of confrontation guaranteed to a defendant by
the sixth amendment of our federal constitution. No
impairment of the defendant’s right to cross-examine
can be found in the procedures used by the court to
videotape the testimony of the victim in this case. I dis-
agree with the majority that “the right of physical con-
frontation is an equally fundamental component” of this
sixth amendment right and that physical confrontation
“enhances” the truth-seeking process where the wit-
ness is a child sexual abuse victim and the defendant
is a family member, as in this case. In such instances,
““eye-ball to eye-ball”’ presence of the defendant is likely
to result not only in the traumatization of the child but

” also in the repression or distortion of his testimony.
The legislative judgment embodied in § 54-86g, author-

A-29

eet ennai

712 AUGUST, 1987 204 Conn. 683

State v. Jarzbek

izing videotaping in such cases, reflects a more realis-
tic view of human nature than that of the majority.

We shall never know whether the majority’s reliance
in this case upon the federal constitution is well founded
or otherwise, because the majority opinion has pre-
cluded a more authoritative determination of that ques-
tion by exercising the option given to state courts for
avoiding review of their decisions by the United States
Supreme Court in accordance with Michigan v. Long,
463 U.S. 1032, 1041, 105 S. Ct. 3469, 77 L. Ed. 2d 1201
(1983). The express reliance upon the parallel right of
confrontation contained in our state constitution as an
independent ground for the decision apparently insu-
lates from further review the conclusion of the majority
that the federal right demands a “trustworthiness”
determination as a prerequisite to videotaping a child
sexual abuse victim’s testimony.

Although I have blinked at the practice in the past,
I believe that it ill serves the development of the law
in this country thus to remove decisions of state courts
upon federal constitutional provisions from the scru-
tiny of our highest court. Where a state court rests its
decision upon the federal constitution as an alternative
to a state constitutional ground, that declaration of fed-
eral law should be subject to challenge in order to clarify
whether a state constitutional amendment alone would
be effective. Where there is no substantial textual
difference between the federal and state constitutional
provision, as is true of our parallel right of confronta-
tion clauses, it would be far more appropriate, in the
absence of applicable state precedent, to reserve con-
sideration of the state constitutional provision until
after a definitive resolution of the federal issues has
been obtained. See State v. Opperman, 247 N.W.2d 673,
674-75 (S.D. 1976). The determination can then be
made, if our assumptions regarding the federal coun-
terpart prove incorrect, of whether we should adopt

A-30

arena Un maaan ica aa ai ct

204 Conn. 683 AUGUST, 1987 713

State v. Jarzbek

a different interpretation of the similar state constitu-
tional provision. By prematurely resorting to our state
constitution as an independent ground we create an
unnecessary ambiguity and also deprive ourselves of
the light that further review of our decision would shed
upon the federal precedent we have largely relied upon
in reaching our conclusions in respect to both the fed-
eral and state constitutional grounds advanced in sup-
port thereof.

The majority perceive in our state constitutional pro-
vision a greater emphasis upon the necessity of the visi-
ble presence of the defendant during the testimony of
a witness than the federal constitutional right of con-
frontation may warrant. We have previously read these
parallel provisions to afford the same protection to a
criminal defendant. Although there is no significant tex-
tual difference between them, this court unquestiona-
bly has the power to construe article first, § 8, of our
state constitution to provide greater protection to a
defendant than required by the sixth amendment of the
federal constitution. For the reasons given, however,
I would defer the resolution of that issue until a more
authoritative determination of the scope of federal pro-
tection can be obtained than this court can furnish.
Nevertheless, since the majority has chosen to eschew
the edification upon the federal issue that our highest
court might provide, I am constrained to express my
present view that our state constitutional right of con-
frontation does not require, any more than its federal
counterpart, that the state’s interest in protecting chil-
dren from pyschological harm be relegated to the sta-
tus of a secondary consideration in deciding whether
videotaping without the visible presence of a defend-
ant is appropriate. That interest, where the court prop-
erly finds that a child sexual assault victim is likely to
be seriously harmed by testifying before the defend-
ant in a courtroom, is sufficient to outweigh the defend-

A-31

714 AUGUST, 1987

ant’s traditional right to be present in person during
the testimony of a witness so long as his right of cross-
examination remains unhampered, as the procedures
followed by the trial court in this case have insured.

Accordingly, I would affirm the judgment.

No. 12868

STATE. OF CONNECTICUT : SUPREME COURT

V. : STATE OF
CONNECTICUT
CHARLES JARZREK $ SEPTEMBER 23,
1987
ORDER

THE MOTION OF THE STATE OF CONNEC--

TICUT FILED AUGUST 21, 1987 TO REARGUE

HAVING BEEN PRESENTED TO THE COURT, IT

IS HEREBY ORDERED DENIED.

BY THE COURT,

/S/ CAROLYN CUNBO ZIOGOS
Assistant Clerk-Appellate

NOTICE SENT: 9-23-87

M. Hatcher Norris

David F. Cosham

Maureen Platt, A.S.A.

John M. Massameno, A.S.A.

Hon. Robert Hale

Reporter of Judicial Decisions

Clerk, Superior Court of Middlesex
4

A-33

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0460%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
