# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Arnaiz v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0387%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 484 U.S. 820

## Text

86 19980) [ Freep "
: JUN 12 BOT

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,
CLERK

No.

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM 1987

NELSON BACALLAO and

STEPHEN FROMM,

Petitioners,
VS

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ALBERT PETER WALTER, JR. DAVID CHESNOFF

235 Catalonia Avenue 3885 S. Decatur Bivd.

Coral Gables, Fla. 33134 Suite 2000

(305) 442-1919 Las Vegas, Nevada 89103
(702) 367-2505

Counsel of record for

Petitioners Of counsel

a)

2)

3)

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

DID THE THREE-JUDGE PANEL OF THE NINTH

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS APPLY THE WRONG

- STANDARD OF REVIEW - SOUND DISCRETION AS

OPPOSED TO STRICT SCRUTINY.

CAN THE DISTRICT COURT DECLARE A MISTRI-
AL, AS OPPOSED TO DISMISSAL WITH PREJU-
DICE, ONLY TO AVOID THE DOUBLE JEOPARDY

BAR TO A SECOND TRIAL.

UNDER DOUBLE JEOPARDY ANALYSIS, CAN
MANIFEST NECESSITY EXIST WHERE THE
GOVERNMENT MAINTAINS AT TRIAL AND ON
APPEAL THAT THE DISTRICT COURT'S SUA
SPONTE DECLARATION OF MISTRIAL WAS NOT

MANIFESTLY NECESSARY.

Il

LIST OF PARTIES IN APPELLATE COURT

NELSON BACALLAO,
STEPHEN FROMM,

ISMAEL ‘FELIPE ARNAIZ,
RAUL RODRIGUEZ, and
ALFREDO MOYA,

Appellants,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee.

ii

man.

I.

Il.

III.

IV.

Ws

VI.

VII.

VIII.

IX.

A.

B.

Cc.

X.

XI.

XI.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW. . .
LIST OF PARTIES IN APPELLATE COURT.
TABLE OF CONTENTS . . . «+ «© «© « «

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ...... .

REFERENCE TO OPINIONS OF LOWER COURTS

JURISDISTIONAL STATEMENT. . ... .
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION. .... .
STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...... .
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT... .

The District Court cannot declare a

mistrial, as. opposed to dismissal

with prejudice, only to avoid the

double jeopardy bar to .a_ second

(io? > ee

The three-judge panel ‘of the ‘ninth

circuit court of appeals used the

wrong standard of review - sound

Giscretion as opposed to _ strict

scrutiny. .

Under double jeopardy analysis,

manifest necessity cannot exist

where the government maintains at

trial and on appeal that the

district court's sua sponte

declaration of mistrial was not

manifestly necessary.

Co FU a a a a
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE. . ....- -
oS ee a ee ee ee

iii

10

14
16
18
3

IV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Arizona v. Washington, 434 U.S. 497

Page

(A97S)s 6 6 ee we we tw 8 RROESH16

Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963).

° 8

Lee v. United States, 432 U S. 23 (1976) .9-10

Oregon v. Kennedy, 456 U.S. 667... .

. Bo

United States ex rel. Clauser v. McCevers,

731 F.2d 423 (7th Cir. 1984...

United States v. Jorn, 400 U.S. 470

(AP Fees 6 ee ek 6 oe 8 eee

2 - oo

10-11-i5

United States v. Perez, 9 Wheat. 579 (1824) 12

STATUTES

a8 U.8.0. § 22960} os oe ew ee

ae, Gks Be oes 6s ee Oe Se ae

iv

pen teaay eal

Vv

REFERENCE TO OPINIONS OF LOWER COURTS

The unpublished opinion of the Ninth
Circuit Court of Appeals, the order denying
datentiints petition for rehearing, also in
the appellate court, and the district court's
order denying defendant's motion to dismiss
the indictment and motion for reconsideration

are reproduced in the Appendix.

VI

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

The judgment of the Ninth Circuit Court
of Appeals was entered on January 5, 1987,
affirming the January 13, 1987, denial of
defendant's motion to dismiss. The Court of
Appeals denied the timely petition for rehear-
ing on April 14, 1987. The jurisdiction of
this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§1254(1).

VII

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION

The Double Jeopardy Clause of the Fifth

Amendment to the United’ States Constitution

states:

"(NJor shall any person be subject for
the same offence to be twice put in jeopardy

of life or limb."

vi

No.

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM 1987

NELSON BACALLAO and
STEPHEN FROMM,

Petitioners,
vs

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

NELSON BACALLAO and STEPHEN FROMM, Petitioners
herein and Appellants and Defendants in the courts below,
submit this Petition for Writ of Certiorari, in accordance
with Rule 21 of the Supreme Court Rules.

VIII

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The jurisdiction of the district court
was invoked pursuant to the indictment filed
in the United States District Court for the
District of Arizona.

References herein shall be made to the
Docket Number of papers filed in the district
court, designated as "CR" and to the tran-
script record (month, date, year and page
number) of the trial and hearing on the motion
to dismiss, designated as "RT."

In this Statement of the Case, "Petition-
ers" and "Defendants" shall be used inter-
changeably.

The Petitioners, Nelson Bacallao and
Stephen Fromm, and twenty two other individu-
als were indicted by a federal grand jury in
the District of Arizona on March 20, 1984 for
various narcotics-related and currency viola-

tions. (CR 1).

Defendants Bacallao and Fromm~= were
charged in only two counts. (CR 1).

The indictment alleged the existence of a
large narcotics importation and distribution
conspiracy spanning four years. (cR i}.
Trial commenced on April 2, 1985, in the
United States District Court for the District
of Arizona before the Honorable Richard Bilby.

Part of the government's argument and
proof was that there was a connection between
two alleged narcotics organizations: one,
which was called the Barona group which was
the subject of an inveitisedsies by Marion
County, Florida, Sheriff Deputy Patty Lumpkin;
and, two, the Arnaiz group of which
co-defendant Luis Villageliu was allegedly a
member. Both Barona and Mr. Villageliu were
known as Mr. B.

Davidson later established that the two
Mr. B organizations were completely separate
and that the "Frank" in Tucson was Frank

Pogliani, Hector Barona's right-hand man. (RT

-2-

Pe Se

he i. cep

5/4/85 46). Davidson prepared an investiga-
tive report on the Luis Villageliu meeting and
organization which Sheriff's Deputy Patty
Lumpkin of Marion County, Florida used to
obtain a wiretap on Hector Barona, Sr. in the
State of Florida. (RT 5/4/85 65-69). Neither
Davidson, nor the government in any capacity,
offered the report which contained this false
information to defense counsel. In fact, only
through a separate investigation on the part
of Frank Rubino, counsel for Bacallao at the
trial level, did the mishap come to light.
(RT 5/4/85 75; RT 5/1/85 65).

On May 4, 1985, Deputy Lumpkin testified
to explain the two Mr. B's situation and the
fact that a wiretap was authorized based on an
affidavit she prepared using false information
provided by case agent Davidson. (RT 5/4/85
71-131).

Harold Davidson testified on May 1 and
May 2. On May 1, on cross-examination by

counsel for Defendant Arnaiz, Davidson

~

testified that he was not aware of the details
surrounding the killing of two people by Larry
Bridges, the government's main informant. (RT
5/1/85 71; RT 5/2/85 5).

On May 4, 1985, Deputy Lumpkin mentioned
that Davidson, "within the last thirty days"
called her to explain some confusion surround-
ing the killings. (RT 5/4/85 123). Only
through subsequent re-examination of Lumpkin
on May 15 did counsel for the Defendants and
the district court learn that Davidson called
Lumpkin on the night of May 1 during the
middle of cross-examination of the case agent.
(RT 5/15/85 12-13).

On May 13, 1985, the trial judge dis-
missed the case against co-defendant Gregory
Clifford after the court discovered that the
F.B.I. “obliterated” the sequestration rule.
(RT 5/13/85 88-89). Defense counsel moved to
dismiss the case against all remaining defen-
dants, due to the prosecutorial misconduct.

(RT 5/13/85 56, 78, 114). The trial judge, in

-4-

ee Oe ee ae eT eT ee eT ee ee ee

responding to counsel for Defendant Arnaiz's

request to specifically admonish Davidson and
the remaining government witnesses concerning
the Rule, stated that they needed no warning,
and if one more Rule violation were discov-
ered, the case would be dismissed against all
remaining defendants, with prejudice. (RT
5/13/85 106).

On May 16, the egregious nature of case
agent Davidson's Rule violation, his withhold-
ing of crucial Brady material, and_ the
F.B.I.'s withholding and late disclosure of
Brady material (the F.B.I. had reports de-
scribing co-defendant Raul Rodriguez as a
person “obviously not the man in the court-
room") caused the trial judge to terminate the
case. (RT 5/15/85, 275, 278, 280, 283, 285,
291, 321). The trial judge specifically found
violations of Brady and the Rule and declared
a mistrial. (RT 5/16/85 2, 3).

Defendants moved for dismissal of the

case with prejudice as the trial judge had

-5-

indicated would occur (RT 5/13/85 56, 78, 114;
RT 5/14/85 43; RT 5/15/85 307, 313, 314) and
objected to the granting of a mistrial. (RT
5/16/85 6, 11).

At the January 13, 1986, hearing on
Defendants' motion to dismiss the indictment
based on double-jeopardy grounds, the trial
judge stated that on May 16, 1985, there was
"manifest necessity" to grant the mistrial.
(RT 1/13/86 27, 28).

At this hearing, the government argued
that there was no "manifest necessity" to
declare the mistrial.

On appeal, a three-judge panel of the
Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed the
district court's order denying defendants'
motion to dismiss the indictment based on
double jeopardy grounds. The panel held that
the trial judge properly exercised his “sound
discretion" in finding "manifest necessity"

and that the government's argument against a

ra ti ta a Pt a dat

declaration of mistrial supported the trial

judge's decision.

IX

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The appellate court decision affirming
the district court's order denying petition-
ers' motion to dismiss the indictment based on
double jeopardy grounds conflicts with deci-
sions of other federal courts of appeals on
the same matter, with decisions of this Court,
and sanctions such a departure by the district
court, as to call for an exercise of this
‘Court's power of supervision.

A. THE DISTRICT COURT CANNOT DECLARE A
MISTRIAL, AS OPPOSED TO DISMISSAL WITH
PREJUDICE, ONLY TO AVOID THE DOUBLE
JEOPARDY BAR TO A SECOND TRIAL.

The three-judge panel of the Ninth

Circuit ignored Petitioners' argument that the
trial court erred in declaring a mistrial, as
opposed to a dismissal with prejudice, and
this oversight constitutes a clear abuse of

discretion.

Six weeks after the trial commenced, the
trial judge dismissed the charges agairst
co-defendant Gregory Clifford after the court
determined that agents from the Federal Bureau
of Investigation involved in the case somehow
discussed the case among themselves in viola-
tion of the rule against sequestration of
witnesses. (RT 5/13/85 35). Petitioners
contemporaneously demanded dismissal of their
charges. The trial judge denied these motions
but stated that he would dismiss the case with
prejudice as to .all defendants if one more
violation of the sequestration rule was
discovered. (RT 5/13/85 106). Two days later
the trial court discovered that case agent
Harold Davidson discussed the case during the
middle of his cross-examination with another
witness, Deputy Patty Lumpkin, and that this
constituted a serious violation of the
_ sequestration rule. At the same time, the
trial judge discovered numerous government

violations of Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83

~~

SS CEB rt (Rn rte Ty

(1963), which requires the government’ to
disclose evidence favorable to the accused.
Petitioners repeatedly requested that the
trial ‘court take the course of action the
court stated it would take should any more
government violations occur, namely, dismissal
of the case with prejudice. (RT 5/15/85 307,
suns Bad, 3164, 318). The trial court sua
sponte declared a mistrial just prior to
sending the case to the jury.

The critical question in determining the
impact of an order terminating trial does not
turn on whether the district court labels its
action a "dismissal" or a "declaration of
mistrial" but whether the order contemplates
an end to all prosecution of the defendant for

the offense charged. Lee v. United States,

432 U.S. 23, 30 (1976). In the trial of this
cause, the trial court set the stage for a
dismissal with prejudice, but when the curtain
call came, the trial judge declared a mistri-

al. The Petitioners consciously sought a

~

dismissal with prejudice, as opposed to a
mistrial and its concomitant implications of a
second trial. (RE 5/13/63 48, 36, 78, 1124;
5/14/85 10 (co-defendant MOYA), 43).

The trial court's sua sponte declaration

of mistrial just prior to a jury verdict in
this situation is functionally indistinguish-
able from a dismissal with prejudice. Lee v.

United States, 432 U.S. at 29. As the Ninth

Circuit totally ignored this portion of
Petitioners' argument, this Court must grant
this request. for certiorari so that Petition-
ers will have an audience to debate this

travesty of justice.

B. THE THREE-JUDGE PANEL OF THE NINTH
CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS USED THE WRONG
STANDARD OF REVIEW - SOUND DISCRETION AS
OPPOSED TO STRICT SCRUTINY

The Ninth Circuit misapplied the teach-

ings of this Court in United States v. Jorn,

400 U.S. 470 (1971) and contrived a new
standard of review in examining a trial
judge's declaration of mistrial. At page 4 of

-19-

the Ninth Circuit's memorandum decision (page

6 in the Appendix), the appellate court held:

"Along the spectrum of trial problems that may
warrant a mistrial, the difficulties that gave
rise to the mistrial in this case fall within,
an area in which the trial judge is entitled

to exercise his sound discretion. See United

States v. Jorn, 400 U.S. 470, 485-487 (1971)

grounds, Oregon v. Kennedy, 456 U.S. 667,

) (plurality opinion), modified on other

672-78 (1982)." However, the actual language
in Jorn to which the Ninth Circuit refers does
not describe a degree of deference a reviewing
court applies to a declaration of mistrial
over a defendant's objection, nor does it
describe a degree of deference or latitude a
trial court is entitled to deciding whether a
mistrial is manifestly necessary.

The pertinent language in United States

Vv. Jorn states: "When one examines the

circumstances surrounding the discharge of

this jury, it seems abundantly apparent that

et ee ee Tout

-ll-

,

the trial judge made no effort to exercise a
sound discretion to assure that, taking all
the circumstances into account, there was a

manifest necessity for the sua sponte declara-

tion of this mistrial." Jorn, 400 U.S. at
487. Thus, "sound discretion" refers to the
quantum of discretion a trial judge is re-
quired to exercise before declaring a mistri-
al. Manifest necessity stands as a command to
trial judges not to foreclose the defendant's
option whether or not to take the case from
the jury until a scrupulous exercise of
judicial discretion leads to the’ conclusion
that the ends of public justice would not be
served by a continuation of the proceedings.
Jorn, 400 U.S. at 485 (emphasis added); see

also United States v. Perez, 9 wheat. 579, 580

(1824) ("To be sure, the power [to exercise .

sound discretion] ought to be used with the
. greatest caution, under urgent circumstances,

and for very plain and obvious causes").

o12<

The Ninth Circuit correctly restated the
two levels of appellate review - great defer-
ence when the grounds for mistrial relate to
juror prejudice, and strict scrutiny where the
accused claims the mistrial was caused by
government misconduct. The appellate court
inappropriately contrived a third level of
review - sound discretion - where no other
court in this nation has ever mentioned such a
standard of judicial review. The Ninth
Circuit's adoption of the "sound discretion"
standard was critical to its decision affirm-
ing the trial court's finding of manifest
necessity. The Ninth Circuit held at page 4
of its memorandum decision (page 6 of the
Appendix): "Although the matter is not free
from doubt, we find that the requisite mani-
fest necessity existed in this case."

In the appellate court, the Petitioners
Claimed that strict scrutiny was the appropri-
ate standard of review. The trial judge

declared a mistrial in this case because of

-13-

government misconduct. When the accused

claims that the mistrial was intentionally «

caused by the prosecution, the trial judge's
declaration of mistrial should be strictly

scrutinized. Arizona v. Washington, 434 U.S.

497, 507-510 (1977).

This Court: must exercise its supervisory
power to ensure that no federal court of
appeals, including the Ninth Circuit, adopts

the sound discretion standard of review.

C. UNDER DOUBLE JEOPARDY ANALYSIS, MANIFEST
NECESSITY CANNOT EXIST WHERE THE GOVERN-
MENT MAINTAINS AT TRIAL AND ON APPEAL
THAT THE DISTRICT COURT'S SUA SPONTE
DECLARATION OF MISTRIAL WAS NOT MANIFEST-
LY NECESSARY.

The Ninth Circuit affirmed the trial
court's finding of manifest necessity for the
declaration of mistrial. The government at
trial, at the hearing on the motion to dis-
miss, and on appeal maintained there was no
manifest necessity for the court's mistrial

declaration. However, it is axiomatic that

"the government must establish that the

-14-

ee ee

Le |

termination (of trial) was occasioned by
‘manifest necessity' in order to avoid the
Fifth Amendment double jeopardy bar to

reindictment and retrial." United States ex

rel. Clauser v. McCevers, 731 F.2d 423, 426

(7th Cir. 1984) (emphasis added).

"Because jeopardy attaches before the
judgment becomes £inal, the constitutional
protection. also embraces the defendant's
"valued right to have his trial completed by a

particular tribunal'." Arizona v. Washington,

434 U.S. 497, 503 (1978) (quoting United

States v. Jorn, 400 U.S. 470, 484 (1971)

(Brennan, J. concurring) ).

[Because] of the importance of
[this] right, and the fact that it
is frustrated by any mistrial, the
prosecutor must shoulder the burden
of justifying the mistrial if he is
to avoid the double jeopardy bar.
His burden is a heavy one. The
prosecutor must demonstrate "mani-
fest necessity" for any mistrial
declared over the objection of the
defendant. The words "manifest
necessity" appropriately character-
ize the magnitude of the prosecu-
tor's burden.

-15-

,

Arizona _v. Washington, 434 U.S. 497, 505

(1978) (footnote omitted).

Again, the Ninth Circuit ignored Peti-
tioners' argument that the prosecutor could
not meet his heavy burden of demonstrating
manifest necessity if he consistently argues
Against any finding of manifest necessity. By
so doing, the appellate court has so far
departed from the accepted and usual course of
judicial proceedings, as to call for an

exercise of this Court's power of supervision.

X
CONCLUSION

"A review on writ of certiorari is not a
matter of right, but of judicial discretion,
and will be granted only when there are
special and important reasons therefor." Sup.
Ct. R. 17. This is such a case. This Court's
. power of supervision represents the last

opportunity for the vindication — of

-16-

Petitioners' fundamental right against double
jeopardy.
DATED: June 12, 1987.

- Respectfully Submitted,

ALBERT PETER WALTER, JR.
235 Catalonia Avenue
Coral Gables, Fla. 33134
(305) 442-1919

Counsel of Record for
Petitioners

SS Lae Sel (|

ALBERT PETER WALTER, JR.

DAVID CHESNOFF

3885 S. Decatur Blvd.
Las Vegas, Nevada 89103
(702) 367-2505

Of Counsel

-17=

XI
CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I HEREBY CERTIFY that three copies of the
foregoing Petition for Writ of Certiorari have
been mailed by deposit with the United States
Post Office, first class postage prepaid on
this PAS day of.June, 1987 to:

John M. Roll, Esq.
Assistant U. S. Attorney
United Bank Plaza Box 73
120 Broadway

P. O. Box 1951

Tucson, Arizona 85702-1951

David Chesnoff, Esq.
3885 S. Decatur Blvd. #2000
Las Vegas, Nevada 89103

James D. Himelic, Esq.
10 East Broadway
Tucson, Arizona 85701

Frank A. Rubino, Esq.
3940 Main Highway
Coconut Grove, Fla. 33133

Charles Fried, Esq.
Solicitor General

Department of Justice
Washington, D. C. 20530

SSS
A. P. WALTER, JR.

=18-<

IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM 1987

NELSON BACALLAO and
STEPHEN FROMM,

Petitioners,
vs

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

APPENDIX

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

CASE NOS.: 86-1036, 86-1035
86-1036, 86-1038
86-1075
D.C.: CR-84-0061-TUC-RMB
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,
Cross-Appellant.

-vs- MEMORANDUM*

ALFREDO MOYA, RAUL ALFONSO
RODRIGUEZ, ISMAEL FELIPE
ARNAIZ, NELSON BACALLAO,
STEPHEN FROMM,

Defendants-Appellants,
Cross-Appellees.
/

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Arizona
R. M. Bilby, Chief District Judge, Presiding
Argued and Submitted November 10, 1986
San Francisco, California

Before: WRIGHT, SNEED, and KOZINSKI, Circuit
Judges

*This disposition is not appropriate for
publication and may not be cited to or by the
courts of this circuit except as provided by
Sth Cir. BR. Zi.

Five codefendants appeal the district
court's denial of their motions to dismiss
their indictments on double jeopardy grounds.
In a companion case, the government “appeals
the district court's order regarding a sanc-
tion for a violation of the Jencks Act. we
affirm the district court's grant of a mistri-
al rather than a dismissal and the district

court's sanction order limiting testimony.

I

FACTS AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On March 20, 1984, the five codefendants
and nineteen others were charged in a sixteen-
count indictment. They were charged with
various controlled substance and currency
violations that stemmed from an alleged
conspiracy to import and distribute cocaine,
methaqualone, and marijuana. During the
-course of the trial, the district court found
that the government violated the witness

sequestration rule on three occasions. The

o3=

PB Am a9 eno) Nia

court also found that the government committed

two violations of Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S.
83 (1963), which requires the government upon
specific request to disclose evidence favor-
able to the accused. The court conniuaed that
the Brady violations "were probably just good
faith mistakes," but that they were of the
type that hurt the defense.

It further ruled that the government had
violated the Jencks Act, 18 U.S.C. § 3500.
The violation occurred in the following
manner. The government attorney and a case
agent took notes of an interview with Thomas
Knoll. Knoll had entered into a plea agree-
ment in which he agreed to cooperate with the
government in two unrelated matters, and to
discuss the instant case with the prosecutor.
After an initial interview between Knoll and
the government attorney, Knoll's attorney
requested that a recording be made for Knoll's
protection. The government attorney, going

through his notes, summarized their previous

«Jo

discussion on tape. Knoll stated that the
attorney's gummary wan accurate. The notes of
the interview were subsequently lost. Later,
Knoll agreed to testify in the instant case.
The district court ruled that Knoll had, in
the recording, adopted the notes as his
statement within the meaning of ‘the Jencks
Act. The judge sanctioned the government by
limiting Knoll's testimony to items covered in
the recording. The government appeals this
sanction order.

On May 16, 1985, the district court sua
sponte granted a mistrial because of manifest
necessity. In a minute order, the court cited
government violations of Brady, the Jencks
Act, and the witness sequestration rule as
reasons for declaring the mistrial. At a
hearing on January 13, 1986, the court stated
that defense counsel misconduct contributed to
the mistrial decision. After the declaration

of a mistrial, the defendants moved for

Lael

dismissal on grounds of double jeopardy. The

court denied their motion, and they appealed.

Il

DISCUSSION

A. Double Jeopardy

In a jury trial jeopardy attaches when

the jury is empaneled and sworn. Criat #2,

Beets. 437 U:i8. 26;:' 29 tigre). However,
reprosecution is not barred if the trial was
terminated because of "manifest necessity."

Arizona _v. Washington, 434 U.S. 497, 505

(1978). The "words [manifest necessity] do
not describe a standard that can be applied
mechanically or without attention to the
particular problem confronting the trial
judge." Id. at 506. The Court has stated
that there are "degrees of necessity," id. at
506, and that the degree of deference to be
given the trial judge's declaration of a
mistrial varies according to the circumstances

of each case, id. at 507-10. On the one hand,

-5-

decisions where the accused claims the mistri-
al was intentionally caused by the prosecution
are strictly scrutinized; on the other hand, a
trial judge's decision that a mistrial is
required because of a deadlocked jury or
possible juror bias is given great deference.

Id. at 507-11; .see United States v. Jarvis,

792 F.2d 767, 769 (9th Cir.), cert denied, 107

S. Ct. 182 (1986). This case falls somewhere
between these two ends of the spectrum. Along
the spectrum of trial problems that may
warrant a mistrial, the difficulties that gave
rise to the mistrial in this case fall within
an area in which the trial judge is entitled

to exercise his sound discretion.* See United

States v. Jorn, 400 U.S. 470, 485-87 (1971)

(plurality opinion), modified on other

grounds, Oregon _v. Kennedy, 456 U.S. 667,

672-78 (1982).
Although the matter is not free from
doubt, we find that the requisite manifest

necessity existed in this case. The district

a6~=

judge found that the violations of both Brady
and the witness sequestration rule, although
probably good faith mistakes, affected the
defense lawyers' ability to defend their
clients, and that there was no way he could
cure the resulting prejudice. Under these
circumstances’ the judge exercised sound
discretion in declaring a mistrial.

The defendants understandably insist that
they should not be retried because government
misconduct was the primary cause of the
mistrial. The Supreme Court, however, has
refused to provide the shield of double

jeopardy when a mistrial is due to mistakes of

the government, United States v. Jorn, 400

U.S. at 486, except when the declaration of
mistrial was “on the basis of a rule or a
defective procedure that would lend itself to

prosecutorial manipulation," Illinois Vv.

Somerville, 410 U.S. 458, 464 (1973). Given

the absence of intentional prosecutorial

misconduct and the prosecutor's plea for the

~

‘case to go to the jury, we conclude the
prosecutorial lapses do not lend themselves to
“prosecutorial manipulation." We hold that
the declaration of a mistrial rather than a
dismissal was proper.

We also note that the conduct of some of
the defense attorneys, although not cited as a
ground for the court's declaration of a
mistrial until nine months after the mistrial
was granted, was unprofessional, to say the
least. The record reveals that, on approxi-
mately thirty occasions, the prosecutor
complained to the trial court of the heckling
by certain defense counsel during the prosecu-
tor's arguments to the court. We emphatically
disapprove of the misconduct of certain
defense counsel in this case. Attorneys of
defendants charged with crimes have a great
stake in maintaining the fairness of trials;
they cannot expect that society will long

tolerate trials generally unfair to the state.

Defense counsel misconduct contributed to the
manifest necessity for a mistrial.

B. Sanction Under Jencks Act

The government raises two issues on
appeal. from the Jencks Act’ sanction. It
argues, first, that the prosecutor's notes,
taken during the interview, were never adopted
by the witness and thus do not constitute
Jencks Act material. The government also
argues that even if the notes were Jencks Act
material, the sanction for the government's
violation of the Jencks Act constitutes an
abuse of discretion. We have jurisdiction
under 18 U.S.C. § 3731 to decide these issues
because we find that retrial of the defendants
would not violate the double jeopardy clause.

See United States v. Layton, 720 F.2d 548,

553-54 (9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S.

1069 (1984).
A trial judge's decision that interview
notes are a witness's own statement is a

question of fact. We should not disturb his

_

finding unless it is clearly erroneous.

United States v. Goldberg, 582 F.2d 483, 486

(9th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 973

(1979), modified on other grounds, United

States v. Shaffer, 789 F.2d 682, 687-88 (9th

Cir. 1986). The standard of review employed
with respect to most rulings on Jencks Act

issues is abuse of discretion. United States

v. Miller, 771 #.2€@ 1219, 1229 (9th Cir.

1985). That is also the standard for review-
ing the imposition of sanctions. United

States v. Valencia, 656 F.2d 412, 415 (9th

Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 877 (1981).

The Jencks Act defines a "statement" as
"a written statement made by [a] witness and
Signed or otherwise adopted or approved by
him." 18 U.S.C. § 3500(e)(1). The Supreme
Court has held “statements” of a witness that
are written by a government attorney are

within the scope of the Jencks Act. Goldberg

v. United States, 425 U.S. 94, 98 (1976).

=a16—

Thus the notes can be a "statement" under 18
U.S.C. § 3500(e)(1).

Although the prosecutor's notes were not
signed by Knoll, the trial judge ruled that
Knoll had “otherwise adopted these notes. It
was not error to so rule. In determining
whether a statement has been adopted by a
witness it is important to ascertain whether
the notes were read back to the witness.

United States _ v. Goldberg, 582 F.2d at 487.

Here, the recording consisted of the govern-
ment attorney doing precisely that.

The district court sanctioned the govern-
ment by limiting Knoll's testimony to items
contained in the tape. The government argues
that the sanction is unduly harsh because the
loss of the notes was unintentional, and the
status of Knoll as a witness was unanticipated
at the time of the interview.

The Jencks Act authorizes the trial judge
to strike the testimony of a witness when the

government elects not to comply with an order

«ij.

of the court. 18 U.S.C. § 3500(d). The court
is required, in making its decision whether to
strike a witness's testimony, to consider the
culpability of the government and the injury

resulting to the defendants. United States v.

Sterling, 742 F.2d 521, 524 (9th Cir. 1984),

cert. denied, 105 S. Ct. 2322 (1985). The

trial judge in this instance considered the
lack of government culpability and lack of
prejudice to the defendants and then imposed a
sanction less harsh than that authorized by
the Jencks Act. His ruling was not an abuse
of discretion. We therefore affirm the
district court's order limiting Knoll's
testimony to the subjects covered in the
tape-recorded statement.

AFFIRMED.

-12-

he The "sound discretion" standard has
its origins in Mr. Justice Story's classic
formulation of the test for manifest necessi-
ty. See United States v. Perez, 22 u.s. (9
Wheat.) 579, 580 (1824).

a1 3=

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

CASE NO.: 86-1036

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, D.C. 3
CR-84-061
TUC-RMB
Plaintiff-Appellee,
-Vs- ORDER
ALFREDO MOYA, RAUL ALFONSO FILED
RODRIGUEZ, ISMAEL FELIPE April 14, 1987
ARNAIZ, NELSON BACALLAO,
STEPHEN FROMM, C.A. Catterson
Clerk .
Defendants-Appellants, U.S.Court of
Appeals

Before: WRIGHT, SNEED, and KOZINSKI, Circuit
Judges

The panel as constituted in the above
case has voted to deny the petition for
rehearing en banc.

The full court has been advised of the
suggestion for en banc rehearing, and no judge
of the court has requested a vote on the
suggestion for rehearing en banc. Fed. R.
App. p. 35(b).

The petition for rehearing is denied, and
the suggestion for rehearing en.banc is

rejected.

Oe eh See

"Gas Wed) ees ew ater ee

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

D.C.: CR-84-061-TUC-RMB
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Plaintiff,
-vs- ORDER
ISMAEL FELIPE ARNAIZ,

Defendants.

Counsel for the Defendants have urged
upon the Court that it reconsider its ruling
denying their Motion to Dismiss on the basis
of double jeopardy. They claim that their
review of the record after the hearing on
January 13, 1986 shows the Court had entered
an OrGmy on May 13, 1985, that if it found any
additional violations of the rule, it would
dismiss the counts as to all of the Defen-
dants. They specifically point to the lan-
guage of the Court on Page 106, May 13, 1985,

and the findings of the Court on May 16, 1985,

that there had been a rule violation involving
Deputy Lumpkin.

After reviewing the transcripts in
question and refreshing its memory, the Court
denies the Motion for Reconsideration. What
counsel say is true, the Court waS very
agitated on the 13th, and stated that if there
was. an additional violation of the rule, it
would dismiss the case. No new violations
occurred after that time. However, it was
brought to the Court's attention that an
additional violation had occurred prior to May
13, 1985, but was not discovered until after
May 13, 1985, when it was brought to the
Court's attention. Based on this, the Court
determined that there was a manifest necessity
for declaring a mistrial, but decided not to
dismiss the case for two reasons: 1) the
violation of the rule had not occurred after
‘May 13, 1985, and 2) the broad, open file
policy of the United States Attorney's Office

in Tucson indicated that the prosecutor had

= 2a

done nothing improper, and had made a good
faith effort to comply with Jencks, Brady, and
the rule of the Court. —er instance, the
violations occurred by the investigative
agencies, FBI, DEA, and the Miami Police
Department. Under all these circumstances,
the Court felt, and still feels that there was
a manifest necessity for declaring a mistrial,
but that a dismissal was too harsh a remedy
under all of the circumstances of the case.

DATED this 14th day of January, 1986.

Richard M. Bilby, Judge
United States District Court

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0387%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
