# Reply Brief — Sanger-Harris v. Richards

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0333%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 484 U.S. 824

## Text

—=ree

supreme Uourt, U
2s ee

JUL 161987

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL. JR.

0.
)

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1986

No. 86-1937 \5)

SANGER-HARRIS, A Division of Federated Department

Stores, Inc.,
Petitioner,
v.
ANN RICHARDS, Treasurer of the State of Texas,
Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
To the United States Court of Appeals
for the Fifth Circuit

PETITIONER’S REPLY TO RESPONDENT'S BRIEF
IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR A
WRIT OF CERTIORARI

.

CHARLES J. SULLIVAN
Counsel of Record
5005 Woodway
P.O. Box 2482
Houston, Texas 77252
(713) 871-1185

ANTHONY J. SADBERRY
5005 Woodway
P.O. Box 2482
Houston, Texas 77252
(713) 871-1185
Attorneys for Petitioner

-—-

Bee Acana ia ae

TABLE OF CONTENTS

eee ES ie a hr i
I 50 ooh rl 8 a Nie a Es cal ii

Petitioner’s Response to Respondent’s Reasons for
EE ons heed aay a ee ek A Whee ey a 3

**

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
PAGE
Cafeteria and Restaurant Workers Unions v. McElroy,

367 US. Wb, 6 (0) .. ikke 5
Ex parte Pennsylvania Co., 137 U.S. 451 (1890) ...... 3, 4, 6
Getty Oil Co. v. Richards, No. C-85-335, (S.D.Tex.

pS | er Be et Sit Re 6
Gravitt v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., 430 US.

Pci 0) 2 | Pn wer eT eeereN Ey errs Poe 3, 4, 6
Heniford v. American Motor Sales Corp., 47\ F.Supp.

Salk, Bae CER. TOPO on cs cn ica nen beeen 4, 5,6

Joint Anti-Fascist Refugee Committee v. McGrath, 34}
U.S. 123, 162 (1951) (Frankfurter, J., concurring) .. 5

McVeigh v. United States, 78 U.S. (11 Wall) 259, 267

BRO rarest ah ea 7
Marketing Showcase, Inc. v. Alberto-Culver Co., 445

F Supp. 755, 760 (S.D. N.Y. 1978) ..........5.05. 4,6
Matthews v. Eldridge, 424 U.S. 319 (1976) .......... 5
Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471, 481 (1972) ....... 5
Silverthorne Lumber Co. v. United States, 251 US.

Se See COPD ook CROKE eee 7
Thermtron Products, Inc. v. Hermansdorfer, 423 U.S.

SUID 656 eek Wc ink 6 eae 3, 4, 6
Volvo Corporation of America v. Schwarzer, 429 U.S.

SROs COW OE. oa occ enccakdseaku eee eee 3, 4, 6

Wong Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471, 484 (1963) . 7
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

fh Geo. ARN mine! ee 4
STATUTES
TEX. REV. CIV. STAT. ANN. Article 3272a (Vernon
WED 66 kek het wa eC ee l
TEXAS PROP. CODE ANN,., §§ 71-75 ............. 2

Re Oe |} ee ee te ot 4,5

IN THE

Supreme Qourt of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

36-19
No. 97. 76 ie ar me

SANGER-HARRIS, A Division of Federated Department
Stores, Inc.,

Petitioner,
V.

ANN RICHARDS, Treasurer of the State of Texas,
Respondent.

PETITIONER’S REPLY TO RESPONDENT?’S BRIEF
IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR A WRIT OF
CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

TO THE HONORABLE JUSTICES OF THE
SUPREME COURT:

NOW COMES Sanger-Harris, a Division of Federated
Department Stores, Inc., Petitioner, by and through its attorney,
Charles J. Sullivan, and files this Response to the Respondent’s
Brief in Opposition to Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit.

CLARIFICATION OF FACTUAL CONTENTIONS
OF THE PARTIES

A. The Petitioner has offered to make available for audit
books and records of the Petitioner for relevant time
periods.

Texas enacted its statute pertaining to the escheat of personal
property in 1961, ie., TEX. REV. CIV. STAT. ANN. Article
3272a (Vernon 1961). The Petitioner timely filed the reports
required under Texas’ escheat laws, which reports were accepted

2

as filed or not examined by the State of Texas. In 1986 the
Respondent, citing Sections 71-75 of the Texas Property Code,
which became effective September |, 1985, requested permission
to have an unlimited audit of the Petitioner’s books and records,
i.e., books and records back to 1961. The Petitioner declined to
make available for audit its books and records for periods prior
to September 1, 1981,' which fact the Respondent acknowledged
in Paragraph IV of her declaratory judgment action filed on
July 15, 1986 in the district court of Travis County, Texas.’

B. Other.

On July 28, 1986 the United States District Court for the
Southern District of Texas — Houston Division denied a tempo-
rary restraining order/preliminary injunction in Federated
Department Stores v. Ann Richards, Cause No. H-86-2759 filed
on July 19, 1986 and issued its confirmatory written order on
August 7, 1986. The Court thereafter dismissed Cause No.
H-86-2759 on March 25, 1987.

‘ The dormancy period under the Texas Escheat Act was seven years
until September 1, 1985 at which time the dormancy period
became three years. The decisions in Southern Pacific Transport
Co. v. Texas, 380 S.W.2d 123 (Tex.Civ.App.-Houston 1964, writ
ref'd) and Shell Oil Co. v. Texas, 442 S.W.2d 457 (Tex.Civ.App.-
Houston [14th Dist.] 1969, writ refd. n.r.e.) established the rule of
law that claims against a debtor that were barred by a statute of
limitations shorter than the seven year dormancy period of the
Texas Escheat Act were not subject to escheat to Texas for the
reason that Texas’ escheat claim against the debtor was unenforce-
able just as the original creditor’s claim was unenforceable.

? The filing date reference to footnote No. 2 in the Petition for Certi-
orari in respect to Richards v. Sanger-Harris, No. 400,639, 126th
District Court of Texas was incorrectly stated as October 3, 1984.
The correct filing date is July 15, 1986.

3

PETITIONER’S RESPONSE TO RESPONDENT’S
REASONS FOR DENYING WRIT

J. The Respondent seeks to ignore the due process guaranty of
the Fifth Amendment.

The Respondent in her Brief in Opposition ignores:

1) the fact that it was the Respondent’s actions that caused
the absence of notice to the Petitioner and the denial to the
Petitioner of an opportunity to be heard in respect ty the
remand motion; and

2) the due process consequences of the absence of notice to
and opportunity for the Petitioner to be heard in respect to
the remand motion.

The Respondent’s election to avoid addressing the due process
issue in her Brief in Opposition, is not dispositive of the due
process issue. It constitutes an implied confession and avoidance,
i.€., an admission that there is a problem and an attempt to avoid
it under a “no new question” and a “no discretionary review”
standard.

2. The issuance of a remand order upon the motion of a party
without notice/hearing te the opposing party is a remand
question not previously addressed by the Court.

The Respondent urges this Court to deny the petition for writ
of certiorari on the grounds that no new question has been
presented to the Court for resolution. The due process issue of
absence of notice and the granting of a hearing to the opposing
party in a removal/remand situation was not presented to or
decided by this Court in Ex parte Pennsylvania Co., 137 US.
451 (1890); Thermtron Products, Inc. v. Hermansdorfer, 423
U.S. 336 (1976); Volvo Corporation of America v. Schwarzer,
429 U.S. 1331 (1976); or Gravitt v. Southwestern Bell Tele-
phone Co., 430 U.S. 723 (1977).

4

A non-resident defendant’s statutory right to remove a case
from state court is a substantial right and privilege to secure a
presumably unprejudiced forum. Heniford v. American Motor
Sales Corp., 471 F.Supp. 328, 335 (D.S.C.-1979); Marketing
Showcase Inc. v. Alberto-Culver Co., 445 F.Supp. 755, 760 }
(S.D. N.Y. 1978).

The Respondent has not challenged the Petitioner's contention
that the remand order was issued at the Respondent's request
without the Petitioner having notice of the Respondent's remand
motion or being extended an opportunity to be heard in respect
to such motion. The Respondent has neither assumed, nor dis-
Claimed responsibility for the unfair consequences of her failure
to comply with the service requirement of FED.R.CIV.P. S(a),
but instead has adopted the position that the issuance of the
remand order is a fait accompli which falls within the ambit of
this Court’s prior decisions in the Pennsylvania, Thermtron.,
Volvo and Gravitt cases.

The Respondent's “new question” argument does not address
the question of the overriding effect of the Fifth Amendment's
guaranty of due process. Since its adoption on December 15,
1791, the Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution
with its guaranty of due process has been a limitation applicable
to every statute and a legal beacon relied upon by this Court in
delineating permissible and impermissible conduct. The Respon-
dent does not suggest that the due process requirement of notice
and hearing in removal/remand cases is new. Instead the
Respondent stresses the teachings of remand cases which did not
involve due process notice and hearing questions.

The due process issue in this case is the fact that the Petitioner |
was not extended due process at a//. The issue simply stated is \
“Was the Petitioner denied due process when the trial court
terminated the removal of the case upon the motion of the
Respondent who failed to give the Petitioner notice of the filing

aaa sincacianaitith es neaemaniniiiiaiaatiiiitile

of the remand motion and did not seek a hearing at which the
Petitioner could be heard?”

The due process concerns in this case do not revolve around a
“technical conception with a fixed context unrelated to time,
place and circumstance™ or the fashioning of flexible “proce-
dural protections as the particular situation demands.” Joint
Anti-Fascist Refuge Committee v. McGrath, 341 US. 123, 162
(1951) (Frankfurter, J. concurring); Cafeteria and Restaurant
Workers Unions v. McElroy, 367 U.S. 886, 895 (1961);
Morrissey \¥. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471, 481 (1972)

At some future date if the Fifth Circuit's decision remains
unchanged, the courts may be confronted with questions as to
whether there had been deception and an intentional failure to
serve notice on the opposing party pursuant to FED.R.CIV.P
5(a) on the premise that remand orders were not reviewable.

By her citation of Matthews v. Eldridge, 424 US. 319

* (1976), the Respondent indicates her understanding that the

Petitioner was entitled to notice and a fair hearing. It is not

clear, however, how the Respondent can in a “mistake or inad-

vertence”™ situation’, adopt a fait accompli attitude and cite as

justification for her position rules developed in cases that did not
involve a due process notice/hearing issuc.

The question before the Court is not whether the failure to
give notice and extend an opportunity for hearing is the result of
intentional, inadvertent or mistaken conduct, but instead is
whether a remand order issued at the behest of a party is fatally
defective when notice to and an opportunity for the opposing
party to be heard is absent. The latter question is new and has
not been encompassed in this Court's prior decisions.

* The Petitioner has accepted and acted upon the proposition that the
false/incorrect certification as to service of the remand motion
upon the Petitioner was the result of “mistake or inadvertence” and
not the result of crafty trial tactics. Heniford at 338.

6

3. Discretionary review is not only appropriate but is essen-
tial to the on-going functioning of our legal processes.

The Respondent suggests that there is no special or important
reason why this Court should exercise its discretion and grant its
writ of certiorari.

The proper application of the due process guaranty in and of
itself is a special responsibility. The guaranty is neither tentative
nor discretionary. The gua~anty is part of the fundamental fab-
ric of our legal system.

The Fifth Circuit has held in this case that a constitutionally
deficient remand order is not reviewable pursuant to the prohibi-
tions outlined in the Thermtron case. It is important in light of
the Fifth Circuit’s decision that this Court exercise its super-
visory jurisdiction tc make it clear that the decisions in the Penn-
sylvania, Thermtron, Volvo and Gravitt cases did not exclude
due process requirements from removal/remand cases or create
a due process exception for removal/remand cases.

The due process issue in this case is not one involving the
adequacy of due process at the state court level. The issue is
whether the complete absence of notice to the Petitioner with the
resultant denial to the Petitioner of the right to be heard in
respect to the remand motion resulted in the denial to the Peti-
tioner of a substantial statutory right and privilege, that is, the
right, as a non-resident defendant, of having its case heard in a
presumably impartial, unprejudiced tribunal. Heniford at 335;
Marketing Showcase at 760.

Just as the non-resident Plaintiffs in the Getty case concluded
that trial of their challenge to Texas’ escheat laws would be best
heard in federal court, the Petitioner, a non-resident defendant,
determined that the resolution of its dispute with the Respon-
dent about the Respondent’s audit rights would be best accom;
plished in federal court. After the Petitioner elected to avail
itself of its statutory right of removal, the Respondent, through

mistake or inadvertence failed to give notice to the Petitioner of
the filing of the remand motion which placed in operation the
judicial processes which resulted in the remanding of the case
without the non-resident Petitioner being heard in respect to the
removal/remand situation

The failure by the Respondent to give the Petitioner notice of
the filing of the remand motion accompanied by the trial court's
action on such motion without giving the Petitioner an opportu-
nity to be heard violated “the first principle of the social com-
pact and of the right administration of justice.” McVeigh v.
United States, 78 U.S. (11 Wall) 259, 267 (1870).

The double lament of the Respondent that there has been
delay in the resolution of the issue raised by the Respondent's
declaratory judgment action and that “it is not time for the
Respondent to have her day in court” ignores the fact that the
problem arose because of the Respondent's false/incorrect certi-
fication that her remand motion had been served upon the Peti-
tioner. The Respondent’s fait accompli reliance upon the
issuance of a remand order is not justification for excluding due
process considerations from or for carving out a due process
exception in a removal/remand case. Just as evidence obtained
in a constitutionally deficient manner must be excluded to pre-
vent the use of the “fruits of the agents’ unlawful action’, the
remand order in this case obtained pursuant to a constitutionally
deficient process should be reviewable and should be reversed.
Silverthorne Lumber Co. v. United States, 251 U.S. 385, 392
(1920), Wong Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471, 484 (1963).

CONCLUSION

There can be no due process for a litigant in the absence of
notice and an opportunity for a meaningful hearing.

This case should not be allowed to stand in its present form. If
the Fifth Circuit’s decision is allowed to stand without change or
modification, the foundation will have been laid for future due

8

process attacks to the effect that since there is a known
removal/remand exception to the due process guaranty, there
must be other exceptions which are simply awaiting
identification.

In situations involving improper practices there will be the
unsavory problem of proving that the due process guaranty may
have been compromised by fraud, deception, etc.

WHEREFORE, it is prayed that this Court exercise its super-
visory authority, reverse the decisions of the Fifth Circuit and
the trial court and require the trial court to conduct a hearing in
respect to the remand motion.

Dated July 4, 1987.
Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES J.
Counsel of Record for Petitioner
5005 Woodway
P.O. Box 2482
Houston, Texas 77252

(713) ny Ke Sa

ANTHONY J. : by <$
5005 W
P.O. Box 2482
Houston, Texas 77252
(713) 871-1185

WILLIAM F. HENRI
SULLIVAN, KING & SABOM,
a professional corporation
5005 Woodway
P.O. Box 2482
Houston, Texas 77252
(713) 871-1185
Of Counsel

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

| hereby certify that service of the Petitioner’s Reply to
Respondent's Brief in Opposition to Petition for a Writ of Certi-
orari to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit
has been made on opposing counsel by mailing a copy, certified
mail, return receipt requested, to Mr. Jerry L. Benedict and to
Mr. Patrick J. Wiseman, Office of the Attorney General, P.O.
Box 12548, Austin, Texas 78711-2548 this /Z.~ day of July,

Chile

CHARLES J.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0333%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
