# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Arnaiz v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0257%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 484 U.S. 820

## Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent,

vs
ISMAEL FELIPE ARNAIZ

Petitioner,

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

FRANK A. RUBINO, ESQUIRE
3940 Main Highway

Coconut Grove, FL 33133
(305) 444-5411

Counsel for Petitioner

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent,

vs
ISMAEL FELIPE ARNAIZ

Petitioner,

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

FRANK A. RUBINO, ESQUIRE
3940 Main Highway

Coconut Grove, FL 33133
(305) 444-5411

Counsel for Petitioner

QUESTIONS FOR REVIEW

DID THE COURT ERR IN DENYING THE MO-
TION OF ISMAEL FELIPE ARNAIZ, TO DIS-
MISS, BASED ON GROUNDS OF DOUBLE

JEOPARDY?

DID THE COURTS DETERMINATION THAT A
MISTRIAL WAS REQUIRED, OVER OBJECTION
OF ISMAEL FELIPE ARNAIZ, MEET THE STAN-

DARDS OF "MANIFEST NECESSITY"?

DID THE COURTS DECISION CONFLICT WITH
DECISIONS OF THE UNITED STATES SUPREME

COURT?

IS IT A VIOLATION OF THE DOUBLE JEOPAR-
DY CLAUSE OF THE UNITED STATES CON-
STITUTION TO ALLOW THE GOVERNMENT TO

RETRY ISMAEL FELIPE ARNAIZ

TABLE OF CONTENTS

1 QUESTION FOR REVIEW
2 TABLE OF AUTHORITIES iv

3 DECISIONS NINTH CIRCUIT
COURT OF APPEAL 1

4 GROUNDS FOR JURISDICTION 1

5 CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS 3
6 STATEMENT OF CASE +
7 JURISDICTION OF DISTRICT COURT 9
8 ARGUMENT:

INTRODUCTION 10

| DID THE COURT ERR IN
DENYING THE MOTION OF
ISMAEL FELIPE ARNAIZ,
TO DISMISS, BASED ON
GROUNDS OF DOUBLE
JEOPARDY? 16

I! BID THE COURTS DETER-
MINATION THAT A MIS-
TRIAL WAS REQUIRED,
OVER OBJECTION OF
ISMAEL FELIPE ARNAIZ,
MEET THE STANDARDS OF
"MANIFEST NECESSITY"? 18

10

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Continued

DID THE COURTS DECISION
CONFLICT WITH DECISIONS
OF THE UNITED STATES
SUPREME COURT?

IS IT A VIOLATION OF
THE DOUBLE JEOPARDY
CLAUSE OF THE UNITED
STATES CONSTITUTION
TO ALLOW THE GOVERN-
MENT TO RETRY ISMAEL
FELIPE ARNAIZ

CONCLUSION

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

PAGE

20

22

24

26

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FIFTH AMENDMENT OF THE
UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

ABNEY v. UNITED STATES,
‘ 77)

ARIZONA v. WASHINGTON,
434 U.S. 497 (1978)

DOWNUM v. UNITED STATES
372 U.S. 734

EGAN v. CITY OF AURORA,
ILLINOIS, 365 U.S.
514, (1961)

UNITED STATES v. JORN,

UNITED STATES v. PEREZ,
owe eat 3
6 L.Ed. 165 (1824)

WILKINSON v. UNITED STATES,
365 U.S. 399, (1961)

UNITED STATES v. DAVIS,
4 t ir. 1981)

17

17

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Continued

10 UNITED STATES v. McKOY,
591 F.2d 218 (3rd Cir. 1979)

11 UNITED STATES v. SMITH,
621 F.2d 350 (9th Cir. 1980)

12. TITLE 28 UNITED STATES
CODE, UNITED STATES
SUPREME COURT RULE 17

PAGE

22

22

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent,

vs
ISMAEL FELIPE ARNAIZ

Petitioner,

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PETITION

Petitioner Ismael Felipe Arnaiz seeks a writ of certiorari
to review the decision of the Ninth Circuit Court of
Appeals which affirmed the denial of his motion to
dismiss on grounds of Double Jeopardy.

a iia diniaiianaiaaaiaiiiiaeae

MEMORANDUM AND DECISIONS OF THE

NINTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals issued
an unpublished memorandum under date of Janu-
ary 5, 1987, denying the appeal of Ismael F. Arnaiz
from the District Court's denial of his Motion to
Dismiss on grounds of double jeopardy. The Ninth
Circuit's memorandum is enclosed in the appendix to
this petition.

A Petition For Rehearing By Panel And
Suggestion For Hearing En Banc was rejected by
the Ninth Circuit Court on March 5, 1987. This

Petition for Writ of Certiorari follows.

JURISDICTION

This case should be reviewed on writ of
certiorari since the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals
has decided a question of Fifth Amendment Right
that is in conflict with the applicable decision of the
United States Supreme Court. The Circuit Court's
decision was rendered on January 5, 1987, and the
Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for Review

En Banc was denied by the court on March 5, 1987.

The Appellant court decided an _ issue

dealing with Double Jeopardy on grounds that are
inconsistent with the view of the United States
Supreme Court and other Circuit Courts of Appeals.
The settlement of this questions wiil be important to
the public at large by establishing a clear and
concise rule of law in regards to the issue of
"Manifest Necessity".

Jurisdiction for writ of certiorari is
granted by Title 28 United States Code, United

States Supreme Court Rule 17, Egan v. City of

Aurora, Illinois, 81 S.Ct. 684, 365 U.S. 514, 5

L.Ed2d 741 (1961), and Wilkinson v. United States,

81 S.Ct. 567, 365 U.S. 399, 5 L.Ed.2d 633 (1961).

The Jurisdiction in the Circuit Court of
Appeals was Title 21, United States Code 1291,
which makes the denial of a motion on grounds of
double jeopardy a "final decision", and is immedi-

ately appealable and Abney v. United States, 431

U.S. 651, 655-56 (1977).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION

The Fifth Amendment of the United States
Constitution states.
"[Njor shall any person be subjected

for the same offense to be twice put
in jeopardy of life or limb."

United States v. Jorn, 400 U.S. 470, 91

S.Ct. 547, 27 L.Ed.2d 543 (1971) states.

"The Fifth Amendment's prohi-
bition against placing a defendant
'twice in jeopardy' represents a
constitutional policy of finality for’
the defendant's benefit in federal
criminal proceedings... A power in
government to subject the individual
to repeated prosecutions for the
same offense would cut deeply into
the framework of procedural pro-
tections which the Constitution
establishes for the conduct of a
criminal trial. And society's aware-
ness of the heavy personal strain
which a criminal trial represents for
the individual defendant is manifest-
ed in the willingness to limit the
Government to a_= single criminal
proceeding to vindicate its very vital
interest in enforcement of criminal
laws."

ia is |

STATEMENT OF CASE

The Defendant, Ismael Felipe Arnaiz, and

twenty-three (23) other individuals were indicted

by a federal grand jury in the District of Arizona
on March 20, 1984 for various narcotics-related and
currency violations.

The indictment alleged the existence of a
large narcotics importation and distribution conspir-
acy spanning four (4) years. Trial commenced on
April 2, 1985 in the United States District Court for
the District of Arizona before the Honorable Richard
Bilby.

The government emphasized to the jury
that unindicted co-conspirators Larry Bridges and
Russell Crump played an integral role in the inves-

tigation leading to Defendants' arrest. The govern-

ment's evidence also included testimony and reports
of personnel from the Drug Enforcement Adminis-
tration (DEA), Internal Revenue Service (IRS),
United States Customs Department (Customs),

Florida Department of Law Enforcement (FDLE),

City of Miami Police Department, and the Federal
Bureau of Investigation (FBI).

Part of the government's argument and
proof was that there was a connection between two
alleged narcotics organizations: one, which was
called the Barona group which was the subject of
an investigation by Marion County, Florida, Sheriff
Deputy Patty Lumpkin; and, two, the Arnaiz group
which were from Miami, Florida.

Case agent Harold Davidson observed
co-defendant Raul Rodriguez meet with co-
conspirators Simcha Kelman, Randy Newel, and Jay
Betancourt in Tuscon in May of 1982. This meeting
was allegedly for the purpose of importation and
distribution of cocaine and marijuana on behalf of
Luis Villageliu, known as Mr. B., who was a part
of the Arnaiz organization. Davidson also inves-
tigated a Mr. B. known as Hector Barona, Sr., and
his alleged narcotics organization. According to
Davidson, Jay Betancourt met with a "Frank" on
behalf of a Mr. B. in Phoenix, Arizona, on June
25, 1982. The alleged purpose of this meeting, as

established by Davidson through informant Larry

Bridges, telephone communications, and photograph-
ic surveillance was to set up a narcotics importation
and distribution ring in Arizona. Davidson later
established that the two Mr. B. organizations were
completely separate and that the "Frank" in Tucson
was Frank Pogliani,. Hector Barona's right-hand
man. Davidson prepared an investigative report on
the Luis Villageliu meeting and organization which
Sheriff's Deputy Patty Lumpkin of Marion County,
Florida used to obtain a wiretap on Hector Barona,
Sr. in Marion County, Florida. Neither Davidson,
nor the government in any capacity, offered the
report which contained this false information to
defense counsel. In fact, only through a separate
investigation on the part of Frank Rubino, counsel!
for Bacallao, did the mishap come to light.

On May 4, 1985 Deputy Lumpkin testified
to explain the two Mr. B's situation and the fact
that a wiretap was authorized based on an affidavit
she prepared using false information provided by
case agent Davidson.

Harold Davidson testified on May 1 and

May 2. On May 1, on cross-examination by counsel

for Defendant Arnaiz, Davidson testified that he
was not aware of the details surrounding the killing
of two people by Larry Bridges, the government's
main informant. Davidson testified that he did not
notify authorities in Mexico about the _ killings
because it would not have been helpful to them and
because he did not think any United States laws
were violated.

On May 4, 1985, Deputy Lumpkin men-
tioned that Geto, "within the last thirty days"
called her to explain some confusion surrounding
the killings and only through subsequent re-
examination of Lumpkin on May 15 did counsel for
the Defendants and the District Court jearn that
Davidson called Lumpkin on the night of May 1
during the middle of cross-examination of the case
agent.

On May 13, 1985, the trial judge dis-
missed the case against co-defendant Gregory
Clifford after the court discovered that the FBI
"obliterated" the sequestration rule. At this time
defense counsel moved to dismiss the case against

all remaining defendants, due to the prosecutorial

misconduct. The trial judge, in responding to
counsel for Defendant Arnaiz's request to specifical-
ly admonish Davidson and the remaining government
witnesses concerning the Rule, stated that they
needed no warning, and if one more Rule violation
was discovered, the case would be dismissed against
all remaining defendants, with prejudice.

On May 16, the egregious nature of case
agent Davidson's Rule violation (withholding of
crucial Brady material) and the FBI's withholding
and late disclosure of Brady material (the FBI had
reports describing co-defendant Raul Rodriguez as
a person "obviously not the man in the courtroom")
caused the trial judge to terminate the case. The
trial judge specifically found violations of Brady
and the Rule and at this time declared a mistrial.

The defendants moved for dismissal of the
case with prejudice since the trial judge had in-
dicated that he would do so if any more violations
occurred. At this time, all defendants objected to

the granting of a mistrial sua sponte.

On January 13, 1986 a hearing was held

on the motion to dismiss the indictment on grounds ,

of double jeopardy. Judge Bilby denied the motion
stating that on May 16, 1985 there was "manifest
necessity" to grant the mistrial.

Appeal to the Ninth Circuit Court on the
issue of double jeopardy resulted in denial. . Peti-
tion for Review and Suggestion for Rehearing En
Banc was also denied. This Writ of Certiorari
follows.

The jurisdiction of the District Court for
the District of Arizona was invoked by the indict-
ment of Ismael F. Arnaiz, charging him with various

violations of Title 18, Title 21 and Title 31 of the

United States Code.

ARGUMENT

Introduction

This case involved a six-week trial in
which the government called approximately 100
witnesses and admitted over 500 exhibits.

The government alleged that one overall
conspiracy existed, however, as the evidence
unfolded, it depicted two different groups of indi-
viduals and two conspiracies.

The evidence and testimony disclosed that
case agent Harold Davidson and Deputy Patty
Lumpkin of the Marion County Florida Sheriff's
Department had, in fact, traded information about
the two separate groups.

Information from Davidson to Lumpkin was
withheld from the prosecutor and therefore not
disclosed to defense counsel as Brady material.

- It was further learned that Deputy
Lumpkin had used the information she received from

Agent Davidson in order to obtain a wiretap for the

Hector Barona telephone, a member of the other

10

, ,

group. Deputy Lumpkin obtained the wiretap for
the Barona organization in April, 1983. After
several more contacts between Agent Davidson and
Deputy Lumpkin, Deputy Lumpkin testified that she
eventually learned that Agent Davidson was now
claiming that the subject Tucson trip was the basis
for the wiretap on behalf of the Arnaiz organization
rather than the Barona organization as first indicat-
ed by Davidson. Deputy Lumpkin learned of this
change in information after she obtained her search
warrant and after Petitioner and others were indict-
ed in this case.

In addition to the government's failure to
disclose the wiretap affidavit of Patty Lumpkin to
the defense counsel, the trial court found other
violations of Brady. An FBI report delivered to
the court on the last day of trial indicted that a
description was given of Defendant Rodriguez.
This description was completely contrary to the
actual appearance of Rodriguez. The report would
indicate that perhaps the Raul mentioned several

times in earlier testimony and reports was not the

11

same Raul as the one who was on trial for the
offenses alleged.

To exacerbate these problems, there were
several violations of the rule of exclusion by the
government agents. On May 13, 1985, the trial
court dismissed with prejudice the charges against
co-defendant, Gregory Clifford. The trial court
dismissed these charges after it learned that FBI
agents had violated the rule of exclusion by talking
with each other about their testimony outside of the
courtroom. Mr. Clifford had called these agents as
possible witnesses to show that he was, in fact, a
police informer and not a co-conspirator. The
agents talked about their testimony at length before
being called to testify in behalf of Mr. Clifford.
Following this revelation the trial court stated on
the record that if there were any more violations of
the rule of exclusion, the entire case against all of
the defendants would be dismissed. The trial court
had on the third day of trial warned the prosecutor
and Agent Davidson that if there was a violation of

the rule, he would lose his case.

12

On May 15, 1985, it came to light that
Agent Davidson had again violated the rule by
having a_ telephone’ conversation with Deputy
Lumpkin during the trial. The defense was able to
present the following evidence: On May 1, 1985,
Agent Davidson was on the witness stand and being
cross-examined about his activities after he learned
that the government's second principal informant,
Larry Bridges, had possibly murdered two Ameri-
cans in Mexico. Agent Davidson testified that after
he learned of this’ information, he immediately
telephoned Agent Lumpkin in Florida concerning
that information. Actually, Agent Davidson did not
relate the information concerning the murders to
Deputy Lumpkin until May 1, 1985, at approximately
11:00 P.M. Tucson time (approximately 2:00 A.M.
Miami time). Agent Davidson, after testifying on
May 1 in Tucson, called Deputy Lumpkin in Miami
and discussed the testimony concerning the murders
by Larry Bridges.

Deputy Lumpkin acknowledged to the trial
court that Agent Davidson had called her late that

night and told her that she may be a witness and

13

Sein

gave her additional information about the murders
committed by Larry Bridges. Agent Davidson also
told Deputy Lumpkin during that late night tele-
phone conversation that she would probably be
questioned about her information concerning the
Florida wiretap affidavit. Agent Davidson attempted
to explain his late night call by claiming that he
was merely returning an earlier call made by
Deputy Lumpkin. The District Court found that
Agent Davidson's call to Deputy Lumpkin during the
trial was, indeed, a violation of the rule of exclu-
sion.

On May 16, 1985, the trial court declared
a mistrial over defendants' objections. The Ninth
Circuit Court of Appeal has upheld the action of
the trial court.

The present case is appropriate for a
hearing by this court because it is one of great :
guarantee that a defendant not be placed twice in
jeopardy. The issues posed in the appeal and the

petition for re-hearing by panel and en banc should

14

be of gravest concern to district judges, appellate
judges, and all who favor the preservation of
constitutional liberty.

The constitutional guarantee against being
placed twice in jeopardy is a fundamental one, and
the burdens of a double trial also impinge other
constitutional guarantees of effective assistance of
counsel, of trial by jury, of effective cross-
examination and of meaningful due process.

The importance of this question should
not be hidden from scrutiny by an unpublished
memorandum opinion, but should be evaluated in the
solvent of judicial and public opinion. If constitu-
tional liberties are to be diluted by judicial deci-
sion, then this dilution should be in the open for
all to see.

The important question to be resolved is
whether the standard of "manifest necessity" is
really the standard to be applied in the Ninth
Circuit. If a trial judge must apply this standard
in declaring a mistrial over a defendant's objection,
then this standard should not be nullified by the

subterfuge of a standard of review, which allows a

15

district judge to imagine a rationale to justify a
patently irrational decision.

On the day of the mistrial the trial court
did not find "manifest necessity", he specifically

found violations of Brady and the Rule.

| LIMITED SCRUTINY IS NO SCRU-

TINY, A TRIAL COURT SHOULD

NOT BE ALLOWED TO RATIONALIZE

A VIOLATION OF THE CONSTITU-

TION, RATIONALIZATION IS IRRE-

SPONSIBLE:

The violation of any law, even the United
States Constitution, may be rationalized by those
who violate it. Limited scrutiny on a rational basis
standard is no scrutiny. But even the _ limited
scrutiny standard rationally requires that. the
standard be exercised responsibly, and to contrive
a justification over counsel's objection under the
facts of the present case was irresponsible.

Responsibility involves being called upon
to answer for one's acts or decisions, to fulfill

one's obligations, and to choose between right and

wrong. A contrived answer or excuse is none at

16

all. A superficial review of a double jeopardy claim

is no review. A statement that "manifest necessity"
compelled a mistrial, in light of the facts that it
clearly did not, is prevarication, and to deprive a
presumably innocent man of the constitutional
guarantee against being placed twice in jeopardy is
wrong.

The manifest necessity standard was first
announced by the United States Supreme Court in

United States v. Perez, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat) 579,

580, 6 L.Ed. 165 (1824):

"We think, that in all cases of this
nature, the law has invested courts
of justice with the authority’ to
discharge a jury from giving any
verdict, whenever, in their opinion,
taking all the circumstances’ into
consideration, there is a manifest
necessity for the act, or the ends of
public justice would otherwise be
defeated. They are to exercise a
sound discretion on the subject; and
it is impossible to define all the
circumstances, which would render it
proper to interfere. To be sure,
the power ought to be used with the
greatest caution, under’ urgent
circumstances, and for very plain
and obvious causes. . ."

The standard of review for the granting

of a mistrial is whether the district court abused its

17

discretion. United States v. Davis, 663 F.2d 824,

833 (9th Cir. 1981); Cawley, 630 F.2d at 1348.
The double jeopardy clause of the Constitution may
preclude the retrial of a defendant if a mistrial has
been declared without the consent of the defendant
and in the absence of a manifest necessity.

Arizona v. Washingion, supra. As long as_ the

record reflects a manifest necessity, it is not
essential that the district court state that the
mistrial is being declared due to a manifest necessi-

ty. Washington, 434 U.S. at 517-518.

I THE DECISION IS CONTRARY TO
THE UNITED STATES SUPREME
COURT STANDARD PERMITTING
MISTRIAL ONLY IN EXTRAORDI-
NARY AND- STRIKING CIRCUM-
STANCES

Discretion to discharge a jury before it
has reached a verdict is to be exercised only in

very extraordinary and_ striking circumstances,

Downum v. United States, 372 U.S. 734, 83 S.Ct.

1033, 10 L.Ed.2d 100.

18

The record supports the facts that the
judge did not apply this standard to the ‘instant
case.

The opinion of the Ninth Circui: Court
filed under date of January 5, 1987, at page 4,
states.

"Although the matter is not free
from doubt, we find that the requi-
site manifest necessity existed in
this case. The district judge found
that the violations of both Brady and
the witness sequestration rule,
although probably good faith mis-
takes, affected the defense lawyers'
ability to defend their clients, and
that there was no way he could cure
the resulting prejudice. Under
these circumstances the judge ex-
ercised sound discretion in declaring
a mistrial."

If this court found doubt and that the
actions of the government did affect the defense
lawyers' ability to defend their clients, how could
the judges decision be in compliance with the U.S.
Supreme Court's decision in Downum?

In Downum the Supreme Court stated,

"We resolve any doubt in favor of

the liberty of the citizen, rather

than exercise what would be an

unlimited uncertain and = arbitrary
discretion."

19

lll WHERE A MISTRIAL IS DECLARED
BECAUSE OF ERRORS OR OMIS-
SIONS BY THE COURT OR THE
GOVERNMENT RATHER THAN MAT-
TERS BEYOND THE CONTROL OF
EITHER, THE STANDARD OF RE-
VIEW IS STRICT SCRUTINY

The panel decision relies upon Arizona v.

Washington, 434 U.S. 497, (1978) and attempts to

justify the application of "Limited Scrutiny". In
Arizona, mistrial was declared because of improper
conduct by the defense. In the present case, the
judge declared a mistria! based on the conduct of
the government.

The Court stated:

"All right. It is the finding of the
Court that there has been violation
of both Brady and the Rule in this
case.

The materials of the FBI file which
show that Mr. Clifford had described
Mr. Rodriguez as a six foot one, 220
pound man, when he is approximate-
ly five foot eight and 150 pounds are
obviously Brady material.

Likewise, the Lumpkin affidavit
constituted Brady material, and was
available at least during the Spring,
sometime between March and June of
1984, and should have been pro-
duced. ;

20

Agent Davidson's talk with Detective
Lumpkin, although the Court finds
that it was not done with any ulteri-
or or bad motive, nonetheless con-
stituted a violation of the rule.

| have tried to prepare this with
what | did in the Knoll case, and |
find that in Knoll | was able to cure
it by limiting such matters to the
tape, but that rebounded to the
Defendants in many ways.

Here there is no way that | can do
that, and | don't believe that Defen-
dants should have to bear the bur-
den of mistakes, whether in good or
bad faith, and | find in this in-
stance, | think they were probably
just good faith mistakes, but none-
theless they were mistakes. They
were mistakes that affect a lawyer's
ability to defend his client. (RT
5/16/85 2-3)."

Conduct by the government is within both
the court's and the government's control. Certainly
this type of conduct should not be allowed. Sanc-
tions should be imposed against the government and

surely not be utilized as a justification for denying

a defendant his constitutional rights.

21

IV THE PANEL DECISION IS _ CON-
TRARY TO THE REASONING IN
OTHER APPELLATE DECISIONS
WHICH HAVE CAREFULLY BAL-
ANCED THE NEED FOR A MISTRIAL
AGAINST THE RIGHTS OF THE
DEFENDANTS

In United States v. Smith, 621 F.2d 350

(9th Cir.) the Ninth Circuit Justices Thornberry,
Choy and Pragerson, stated:

"When a court, in the absence of
manifest necessity declares a mis-
trial, without the defendant's con-
sent, the double jeopardy clause
forbids retrial."

"The record gives no indication that
the court here even considered the
possibility of a continuance before
ordering a mistrial. Since the court
did not consider, or have before it
the facts necessary for a thorough
consideration of, an obvious alterna-
tive to a mistrial, we cannot say that
there was a ‘manifest necessity’ to
terminate the trial at that time."

In United States v. McKoy, 591 F.2d 218

(3d Cir. 1979) the Third Circuit speaks to the
considerations that must be given the Defendant:

"The Supreme Court recently enu-
merated some of the _ significant
interests served by the Double
Jeopardy Clause in the court's sua
sponte declaration of a mistrial over
a defendant's objection.

22

ole na ae ng

— ec iene te domed abdar i:

Because jeopardy attaches before the
judgment becomes final, the constitu-
tional protection also embraces the
defendants' valued right to have his
trial completed by a_- particular
tribunal. The reasons why this
'valued right' merits constitutional
protection are worthy of repetition.
Even if the first trial is not complet-
ed, a second prosecution may be
grossly unfair. It increases the
financial and emotional burden on the
accused, prolongs the period in
which he is stigmatized by an unre-
solved accusation or wrongdoing,
and may even enhance the risk that
an innocent defendant may be con-
victed. The danger of such unfair-
ness to the defendant exists whenev-
er a trial is aborted before it is
completed. Consequently, as a
general rule, the prosecutory is
entitled to one, and only one, op-
portunity to require an accused to

stand trial. Arizona v. Washington,
434 U.S. 497, 503-505, 98 S.Ct. 824,

54 L.Ed.2d 717 (1978)."

"Under the Court's analysis in Jorn,
supra, the government generally
must demonstrate that, under the
circumstances confronting the trial
judge, he had no alternative to the
declaration of a mistrial. 400 U.S.
at 487, 91 S.Ct. 547. See also

Arizona v. Washington, supra, 434
U.S. at 515-16, 33 S.Ct. ; and
only by considering the exhausting
all other possibilities can the judge
ensure that the defendant has re-
ceived the full protection of the trial
court, our duty is to see that alter-
natives to declaring a mistrial were
completely canvassed. See
Dunkerlyey v. Hogan, 579 F.2d 141,

23

146-47 (2d Cir. 19.3); United States
v. Grasso, 552 F.2d 46, 52 (2d Cir.

1977); United States v. Tinney, 473
F.2d 1085, 1089 (3d Cir} cert
denied, 412 U.S. 928, 93 S.Ct.
2752, 37 L.Ed.2d 156 (1973)"

CONCLUSION

It is respectfully submitted that the trial
judge's decision to grant sua sponte a mistrial was
done so without the consent of Mr. Arnaiz and was
predicated upon the judge's erroneous conclusion
that "Manifest Necessity" existed for the mistrial.

The judge should have dismissed this case
due to the governmental misconduct which is what
the trial judge stated on May 16, 1985. Timely
motions to dismiss based on double jeopardy
grounds were filed. When the trial judge denied
these motions after hearing on January 13, 1986, he
stated that manifest necessity now existed. This
rational is in retrospect and there wes not "Manifest

Necessity" to mistry this case on May 16, 1985.

The court now tries to justify its decision by

saying the defendant's attorney conduct’ was

24

unprofessional. The court had other alternatives,
but abused its discretion in granting the mistrial.

This court should review the appeal of
the Defendant, look at the issues again and see the
facts and case law that has been overlooked and
reverse the decision rendered on January 5, 1987.

Besides being petitioner's last resort, this
court is the only tribunal that can make a final
determination concerning the application and the
rights guaranteed a citizen under the United States
Constitution.

WHEREFORE, Petitioner respectfully prays
that a Writ of Certiorari be issued to vacate and/or
to review the decision of the Ninth Circuit Court of
Appeal.

Respectfully submitted,
FRANK A. RUBINO, ESQUIRE
3940 Main Highway

Coconut Grove, FL 33133
(305) 444-5411

25

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

| HEREBY CERTIFY that a true and
correct copy of the foregoing on this 4th day of

May, 1987 was mailed to:

Stephen M. McNamee,
United States Attorney
John M. Roll,

Assistant U.S. Attorney
United Bank Plaza Box 73
120 Broadway

Post Office Box 1951
Tucson, Arizona 85702-1951

A.P. Walters, Esquire
235 Cataloni Avenue |
Coral Gables, FL 33134 |

David Chesnoff, Esquire
3885 S. Decatur Bivd. #2000
Las Vegas, Nevada 89103

William H. Smith, Esquire
520 S. Fourth Street
Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

James D. Himelic, Esquire
10 East Broadway
Tucson, Arizona 85701

Charles Fried,

Solicitor General
Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530

26

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1987

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent,

vs
ISMAEL FELIPE ARNAIZ

Petitioner,

ON WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE NINTH CIRCUIT

APPENDIX

FRANK A. RUBINO, ESQUIRE
3940 Main Highway

Coconut Grove, FL 33133
(305) 444-5411

Counsel for Petitioner

eae eenaeeteeaemnenaall

aaerreseaerinriaemeraeannineeinmmemainiieiaiitenes

TABLE OF CONTENTS

| ORDER DENYING PETITION FOR REHEARING
AND SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING EN BANC

(NINTH CIRCUIT)

I MEMORANDUM DENYING APPEAL (NINTH

CIRCUIT)

poses

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, )
)
Plaintiff-Appellee, ) Nos. 86-1034,
) 86-1035,
Vv. ) 86-1036,
) 86-1038,
ALFREDO MOYA, RAUL ) 86-1075,
ALFONSO RODRIGUEZ, ISMAEL )
FELIPE ARNAIZ, NELSON )
BACALLAO, STEPHEN FROMM, ) ORDER
)
Defendants-Appellants. )
)
)

Before: WRIGHT, SNEED, and KOZINSKI, Circuit
Judges.

The panel as constituted in the above
cases has voted to deny the petitions for rehearing
and to reject the suggestions for rehearing en
banc, filed January 20, 1987, =for appellant
Rodriguez in Case No. 86-1035, and for appellant
Arnaiz in Case No. 86-1036.

The full court has been advised of the
suggestions for en banc rehearing, and no judge of
the court has requested a vote on them. Fed. R.

App. P. 35(b).

The petitions for rehearing are denied,

and the suggestions for rehearing en banc are

rejected.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, )
)
Plaintiff-Appellee, ) Nos. 86-1034,
Cross-Appellant. ) 86-1035,
) 86-1036,
Vv. ) 86-1038,
) 86-1075,
ALFREDO MOYA, RAUL )
ALFONSO RODRIGUEZ, ISMAEL ) DC# CR-84-061-RMB
FELIPE ARNAIZ, NELSON )
BACALLAO, STEPHEN FROMM, _)
) MEMORANDUM*
Defendants-Appellants. )
Cross-Appellees. )
Ms )

Appeal from the United States District Court
for the District of Arizona
Richard M. Bilby, Chief District Judge, Presiding
Argued and Submitted November 10, 1986
San Francisco, California

Before: WRIGHT, SNEED, and KOZINSKI, Circuit
Judges.

Five codefendants appeal the district
court's denial their motions to dismiss_their indict-

ments on double jeopardy grounds. In a companion

¥This disposition is not appropriate for publication
and may not be cited to or by the courts of this
circuit except as provided by 9th Cir. R. 21.

case, the government appeals the district court's

order regarding a sanction for a violation of the
Jencks Act. We affirm the district court's grant of
a mistrial rather than a dismissal and the district
court's sanction order limiting testimony.

bs

FACTS AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

On March 20, 1984, the five codefendants
and nineteen others were charged in a sixteen-
count indictment. They were charged with various
controlled substance and currency violation § that
stemmed from an alleged conspiracy to import and
distribute cocaine, methaqualone, and _ marijuana.
During the course of the triai, the district court
found that the government violated the witness
sequestration rule on three occasions. The court
also found that the government committed two

violations of Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83

(1963), which requires the government upon specif-
ic request to disclose evidence favorable to the
accused. The court concluded that the Brady

violations "were probably just good faith mistakes,"

a

Sn sae owes

but that they were of the type that hurt the de-
fense.

It further ruled that the government had
violated Jencks Act, 18 U.S.C. § 3500. The vio-
lation occurred in the following manner. The
government attorney and a case agent took notes of
an interview with Thomas Knoll. Knoll had entered
into plea agreement in which he agreed to cooperate
with the government in two unrelated matters, and
to discuss the instant case with the prosecutor.
After an _ initial interview between Knoll and the
governmert attorney, Knoll's attorney requested
that a recording be made for Knoll's protection.
The government attorney, going through his notes,
summarized their previous discussion on_ tape.
Knoll stated that the attorney's summary was accu-
rate. The notes of the interview were subsequently
lost. Later, Knoll agreed to testify in the instant
case. The district court ruled that Knoll had, in
the recording, adopted the notes as his statement
within the meaning of the Jencks Act. The judge

sanctioned the government by _ limiting Knoll's

testimony to items covered in the recording. The
government appeals this sanction order.

On May 16, 1985, the district court sua
sponte granted mistrial because of manifest necessi-
ty. In a minute order, the court cited government
violations of Brady, the Jencks Act, and _ the
witness sequestration rule as reasons for declaring
the mistrial. At a hearing on January 13, 1986,
the court stated that defense counsel misconduct
contributed to the mistrial decision. After the
declaration of a mistrial, the defendants moved for
dismissal on grounds of double jeopardy. The
court denied their motion, and they appealed.

I.
DISCUSSION

A. Double Jeopardy

In a jury trial jeopardy attaches when the

jury is empaneled and sworn. Crist v. Bretz, 437

U.S. 28, 29 (1978). However, reprosecution is not
barred if the trial was terminated because of "man-

ifest necessity." Arizona v. Washington, 434 U.S.

497, 505 (1978). The "words [manifest necessity]

do not describe a standard that can be applied

eel eller

mechanically or without attention to the particular
problem confronting the trial judge." Id. at 506.
The Court has stated that there are "degrees of
necessity," id. at 506, and that the degree of
deference to be given the trial judge's declaration
of a mistrial varies according to the circumstances
of each case, id. at 507-10. On the one hand,
decisions where the accused claims the mistrial was
intentionally caused by the prosecution are strictly
scrutinized; on the other hand, a trial judge's
decision that a mistrial is required because of a

deadlocked jury or possible juror bias is given

great deference. Id. at 507-11; see United States

v. Jarvis, 792 F.2d 767, 769 (9th Cir.), cert

denied, 107 S. Ct. 182 (1986). This case falls

som ,..here between these two ends of the spectrum.
Along the spectrum of trial problems that may
warrant a mistrial the difficulties that gave rise to
the mistrial in this case falls within an area in
which the trial judge is entitled to exercise his

sound discretion. ' See United States v. Jorn, 400

U.S. 470, 485-87 (1971) (plurality opinion),

modified on other grounds, Oregon v. Kennedy, 456

U.S. 667, 672-78 (1982).

Although the matter is not free from
doubt, we find that the requisite manifest necessity
existed in this case. The district judge found that
the violations of both Brady and the witness se-
questration rule, although probably good faith
mistake affected the defense lawyers' ability to
defend their clients, and that there was no way he
could cure the resulting prejudice. Under these
circumstances the judge exercised sound discretion
in declaring a mistrial.

The defendants understandably insist that
they should not be retried because government
misconduct was the primary cause of the mistrial.
The Supreme Court, however, has’ refused to
provide the shield of double jeopardy when a mis-
trial is due to mistakes of the government, United

States v. Jorn, 400 U.S. at 486, except when the

deciaration of mistrial was “on the basis of a rule
or a defective procedure that would lend itself to

prosecutorial manipulation," Illinois v. Somerville,

410 U.S. 458, 464 (1973). Given the absence of

intentional prosecutorial misconduct and the pros-
ecutor's plea for the case to go to the jury, we
conclude the prosecutorial lapses do not lend them-
selves to "prosecutorial manipulation." We hold that
the declaration of a mistrial rather than a dismissal
was proper.

We also note that the conduct of some of
the defense attorneys, although not cited as a
ground for the court's declaration of a mistrial until
nine months after the mistrial was granted, was
unprofessional, to say the _ least. The record
reveals that, on approximately thirty occasions, the
prosecutor complained to the trial court of the
heckling by certain defense counsel during the
prosecutor's arguments to the court. - We emphat-
ically disapprove of the misconduct of certain
defense counsel in this case. Attorneys of defen-
dants charged with crimes have a great stake in
maintaining the fairness of trials; they cannot
expect that society will long tolerate trials generally
unfair to the state. Defense counsel misconduct

contributed to the manifest necessity for a mistrial.

B. Sanction Under Jencks Act

The government raises two issues on
appeal from the Jencks Act sanction. It argues,
first, that the prosecutor's notes, taken during the
interview, were never adopted by the witness and
thus do not constitute Jencks Act material. The
government also argues that even if the notes were
Jencks Act material, the sanction for the govern-
ment's violation of the Jencks Act constitutes an
abuse of discretion. We have jurisdiction under 18
U.S.C. § 3731 to decide these issues because we
find that retrial of the defendants would not violate

the double jeopardy ciause. See United States v.

Layton, 720 F.2d 548, 553-54 (9th Cir. 1983), cert.
denied, 465 U.S. 1069 (1984).

A trial judge's decision that interview
notes are a witness's own statement is a question of
fact. We should not disturb his finding unless it is

clearly erroneous. United States v. Goldberg, 582

F.2d 483, 486 (9th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 440

U.S. 973 (1979), modified on other grounds, United

States v. Shaffer, 789 F.2d 682, 687-88 (9th Cir.

1986). The standard of review employed with

iS tl A I a mm

respect to most rulings on Jencks Act issues is

abuse of discretion. United States v. Miller, 771

F.2d 1219, 1229 (9th Cir. 1985). That is also the
standard for reviewing the imposition of sanctions.

United States v. Valencia, 656 F.2d 412, 415 (9th

Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 877 (1981).

The Jencks Act defines a "statement" as
"a written statement made by [a] witness and
signed or otherwise adopted or approved by him."
18 U.S.C. § 3500(e)(1). The Supreme Court has
held "statements" of a witness that are written by a
government attorney are within the scope of the

Jencks Act. Goldberg v. United States, 425 U.S.

94, 98 (1976). Thus the notes can be a "state-
ment" under 18 U.S.C. § 3500(e)(1).

Although the prosecutor's notes were not
signed by Knoll, the trial judge ruled that Knoll
had “otherwise adopted" these notes. It was not
error to so rule. In determining whether a state-
ment has been adopted by a witness it is important
to ascertain whether the notes were read back to

the witness. United States v. Goldberg, 582 F.2d

at 487. Here, the recording consisted of the
government attorney doing precisely that.

The district court sanctioned the govern-
ment by limiting Knoll's testimony to items contained

in the tape. The government argues ‘hat the

sanction is unduly harsh because the loss of the
notes was unintentional, and the status of Knoll as
a witness was unanticipated at the time of of the
interview.

The Jencks Act authorizes the trial judge
to strike the testimony of a witness when the
government elects not to comply with an order of
the court. 18 U.S.C. § 3500(d). The court is
required, in making its decision whether to strike a
witness's testimony, to consider the culpability of

the government and the injury resulting to the

defendants. United States v. Sterling, 742 F.2d .

521, 524 (9th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 105 S. Ct.

232 (1985). The trial judge in this instance con-
sidered the lack of government culpability and lack j
of prejudice to the defendants and then imposed a
sanction less harsh than that authorized by the

Jencks Act. His ruling was not an abuse of

discretion. We therefore affirm the district court's
order limiting Knoll's testimony to the subjects
covered in the tape-recorded statement.

AFFIRMED.

FOOTNOTE

1. The “sound discretion" standard has its ori-
gins in Mr. Justice Story's classic formulation of
the test for manifest necessity. See United States

v. Perez, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 579, 580 (7824).

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0257%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
