# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kondrat v. O'Neill

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0238%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 484 U.S. 819

## Text

86 1817

— me,

Scores Court, US,

} f
MAY 13 987

JOSECH F. SPANION, JR,

No. = CLERY

In the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1986

ROBERT J. KONDRAT,
Petitioner,

VS.

JOSEPH E. O’NEILL, JOSEPH DONOFRIO and
EDWARD A. COX,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
To the United States Court of Appeals
For the Sixth Circuit

ROBERT J. KoNpDRAT, Pro Se
29121 Chardon Road
Willoughby Hills, Ohio 44092
(216) 944-0140

Petitioner

“THE GATES LEGAL PUBLISHING CO., CLEVELAND, OHIO—TEL. (216) 621-5647

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does the act of entrapment when used by judicial
officers violate the Fourteenth Amendment, due process
of law?

2. Does the act of entrapment apply only to a defense
in criminal action, or is the act applicable also to civil causes
of action?

3. Are judicial officers who engage in entrapment
protected by immunity?

a4

TABLE OF CONTENTS

NN FUG ooo ncicecscniiswicacceneeeebccneenaannaaan
SIE TINIE snsiinsscessesscvccsnncceiniressiniertacncnepatonaecanmtinsaelaneanatan
MI sissies isis so saschscnncentaicessnsnepsnnbiicdaigndamelamaanmuadiaaal
Constitutional Provisions Involved ...............222...::1::.eee00-+-
SIE GE GN CI incase dctosinentanceneseenan
Reasons for Granting the WYit -........2....eeecceeeeeeeeceeeeeeeees

1. That the act of entrapment is not restricted to

a defense in criminal action but is applicable
te civil lew O6 WOR) .................c.usceeneeeeee
2. That the use of entrapment in a civil cause of
action is a deprival of due process, in violation of
of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United
States Constitution. .............ccnsssnnceusennane
3. That judicial immunity from civil liability aris-
ing out of the discharge of judicial functions can-
not be provided to judicial officials who acted
WIRD DUOUROGIIATII . ~--sccciccnenconcoomeene

IAIN 5nninissnsnncicnsnnesssaniiasseviiostdielaaieaieshsinlnnaninanacataaaaaaaaiaiaaale
Appendix:

Order (February 17, 1987) and Mandate of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth
Circuit (March 11, 1987) ........... Sl aac.

Judgment of the United States District Court,
Northern District of Ohio, Eastern Division
CHR TT, RII) sceciesnsevicccsarsssninsvn teenies

Memorandum Opinion and Order of the United
States District Court, Northern District of Ohio,
Eastern Division (March 17, 1986) .........00000000....

Complaint Filed in United States District Court,
Northern District of Ohio, Eastern Division ........

Al

A3

A4

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Constitutional Provision

U. S. Const., Amend. XIV

No.

In the Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1986

ROBERT J. KONDRAT,
Petitioner,

VS.

JOSEPH E. O’NEILL, JOSEPH DONOFRIO and
EDWARD A. COX,
Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
To the United States Court of Appeals
For the Sixth Circuit

The Petitioner Robert J. Kondrat respectfully prays
that a Writ of Certiorari issue to review the Order of the
United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit
entered in this proceeding on February 17, 1987.

OPINIONS BELOW

The Order of the Court of Appeals is unreported and
appears in the Appendix hereto. The Judgment, Memo-
randum Opinion and Order rendered by the District Court
for the Northern District of Ohio, Eastern Division, are
also unreported and also appear in the Appendix hereto.

JURISDICTION

A Petition for Writ of Certiorari is sought of the Order
of the United States Court of Appeals, Sixth Circuit en-
tered February 17, 1987. This Court’s jurisdiction to re-
view the Order by Writ of Certiorari is Article III of
the Constitution of the United States which created the
Supreme Court of the United States as a constitutional
court giving judicial power to all cases, in law and equity,
that arise under the Constitution.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The constitutional provision involved is the Fourteenth
Amendment to the United States Constitution as follows:

Amendment XIV
Section I

All persons born or naturalized in the United States,
and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens of the
United States and of the State wherein they reside. No
State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge
the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United States;
nor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or
property, without due process of law; nor deny to any
person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of the
laws.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On April 10, 1985, the Petitioner brought action in
the United States District Court, Northern District of Ohio,
Eastern Division, against the Respondents who are three

3

judicial officers of the Ohio State Appellate Court system,
see App. p. A6. The complaint alleged entrapment of the
Petitioner by the Respondenis; and denial of due process,
Fourteenth Amendment. The District Court terminated
the action for lack of jurisdiction and failure to state a
claim upon which relief can be granted, see App. p. A4.

Thereafter, the Petitioner filed an appeal to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in which,
among other things, he argued that he was not ask-
ing a federal court to review a state court judgment.
The issues in the case were the constitutionality of the
use of entrapment by judicial officers and whether this
denied rights guaranteed by the Fourteenth Amendment
of the U. S. Constitution. The Sixth Circuit Court of Ap-
peals affirmed the District Court’s judgment stating that
a District Court cannot review a state court decision; that
entrapment is not a civil cause of action; and that judges
are absolutely immune. A copy of the Sixth Circuit Court’s
decision is contained in the Appendix, see App. p. Al.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. That the act of entrapment is not restricted
to a defense in criminal action but is applicable to civil
law as well.

William C. Burton’s Legal Thesaurus defines “EN-
TRAP” as follows:

“allure, bait, beckon, befool, beguile, bring unawares
into danger, bring unawares into evil, catch, catch by
artifice, deceive, decoy, draw as by a lure, draw by
artful inducements, draw in, dupe, enmesh, ensnare,
entangle, entice, fool, hold out allurements, hold out

4

for temptation, inveigle, lay a snare for, lay a trap
for, lead astray, lead by inducement, lead into dan-
ger by artifice, lead into temptation, lead on, lure,
lure into a compromising act, set a snare for, set a
trap for, snare, take in, tempt, trap, trip up.”

The Petitioner brought civil action in the state courts.
The defendant in the state court action counterclaimed
alleging that his reputation had been damaged because the
Petitioner had not kept the pleadings privileged. Although
the defendant in the state court action, and the Respon-
dents had known for years, prior to the action, the Peti-
tioner’s practice of not keeping the pleadings privileged,
the defendant in the state court action and the Respondents
never challenged, questioned or objected to the Petitioner’s
practices. Instead of the Respondents stepping forward
with an order for Petitioner to cease his practice, the Re-
spondents maintained a conduct which was to deceive and
set a trap, leading the Petitioner to an apprehension of a
condition other and different from that which exists. The
Respondents knew that the Petitioner was not an attor-
ney, and knew that the Petitioner had been forced into
representing himself.

The Petitioner relied upon the Respondents to make
known the court procedures not acceptable. By accepting
pleadings considered privileged, and remaining secret, the
Respondents misrepresented their official duty, luring the
Petitioner into a trap from which the Respondents could
then render a decision which would be unfavorable to the
Petitioner. The Court of Appeals’ ruling that entrapment
is not a civil cause of action is erroneous and not consis-
tent with fairness and justice. If entrapment is to be
restricted to only a defense to criminal action, then ju-
dicial bodies involved in civil litigation would be in the

h)

position to deceive any pro se candidate in quest of justice,
thus discouraging and shutting off access to the civil courts
to anyone who is not represented.

2. That the use of entrapment in a civil cause of
action is a deprival of due process, in violation of the
Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitu-
tion.

The Respondents’ deception is an abnormal course of
law administration in the court system. Entrapment is
not a part of those rules and principles which have been
established in our systems of jurisprudence for the en-
forcement and protection of private rights. The right of
the Petitioner to be informed that pleadings are priv-
ileged was not given by the Respondents. Tis was not an
orderly proceeding wherein the Petitioner was notified that
pleadings were privileged, where Petitioner had the oppor-
tunity to be heard and given the right to protect his rights
before a court. The Respondents kept silent leading the
Petitioner into believing that his actions were in accordance
with the law, and then at the opportune time; the Respon-
dents sprung the trap on the Petitioner affirming an award
of damages, rendered without the benefit of a trial, and
rendered in light of the fact that the defendant in the state
court action admitted to the truth of the allegations. This
is not due process of law.

3. That judicial immunity from civil liability
arising out of the discharge of judicial functions can-
not be provided to judicial officials who acted with
premeditation.

From previous cases, the Respondents knew that Peti-
tioner’s pleadings were not privileged. At no time during
this period was any notification given or order issued to

6

Petitioner that the pleadings were privileged. Thus, the
Respondents’ entrapment was started outside the framework
of the case judged. Respondents cannot claim absolute im-
munity for an act initiated while not under the umbrella
of judicial immunity. The fact that there have been
judges who have been removed from office; some who are
behind bars; and some who have made restitution for their
wrongs, would tend to disprove the argument of absolute
immunity from civil liability. No judge can be permitted
to commit a wrong arising while not in the discharge of
judicial functions, and then be allowed to run for the
judicial immunity umbrella as the Respondents have done.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, a writ of certiorari should issue
to review the Order of the Sixth Circuit.

Litigation is not an evil. Over the course of centuries,
our society has settled upon civil litigation as a means of
redressing grievances, resolving disputes, and vindicating
rights when other means fail. That our citizens have ac-
cess to their civil court is not an evil to be regretted;
rather, it is an attribute of a system of justice in which
we ought to take pride. This quotation is even more true
today. .

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT J. KONDRAT, Pro Se
29121 Chardon Road
Willoughby Hills, Ohio 44092
(216) 944-0140

Petitioner

Al

APPENDIX

ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

(Filed February 17, 1987)

MANDATE OF THE UNITED STATES COURT
OF APPEALS

(Issued March 11, 1987)

No. 86-3263

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
For THE SIXTH CiRCUIT

ROBERT J. KONDRAT,
Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.
JOSEPH E. O’NEILL; JOSEPH DONOFRIO;

EDWARD A. COX,
Defendants-Appellees.

[NOT RECOMMENDED FOR FULL-TEXT
PUBLICATION ]

ORDER

BEFORE: Martin and NELson, Circuit Judges; and
Contig, Senior Circuit Judge.

Appellant appeals pro se from the district court’s
dismissal of his complaint for lack of subject matter ju-
risdiction and failure to state a claim upon which relief

A2

can be granted. The appeal has been referred to a panel
of the Court pursuant to Rule 9(a), Rules of the Sixth
Circuit. After an examination of the record and briefs, this
panel agrees unanimously that oral argument is not needed.
Rule 34(a), Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure.

Appellant alleges that the district court erred in con-
struing his complaint of entrapment by three Ohio court
of appeals judges as a request to review a state court
decision.

The district court properly construed the complaint
and properly dismissed it. A district court cannot review
a state court decision. District of Columbia Court of Ap-
peals v. Feldman, 460 U.S. 462, 482 (1983).

Entrapment is not a civil cause of action; entrapment
is only a defense to a criminal action. U.S. v. McLernon,
746 F.2d 1098, 1109 (6th Cir. 1984). Furthermore, judges
are absolutely immune to a suit for damages for actions
committed within their jurisdiction. Stump v. Spark-
man, 435 U.S. 349, 356-357 (1978).

Accordingly, the district court’s judgment is affirmed
pursuant to Rule 9(d)(3), Rules of the Sixth Circuit.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE
COURT

/s/ JoHN P. HEHMAN
Clerk

ISSUED AS MANDATE: March 11, 1987

A3

JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT

(Filed March 17, 1986)

No. C 85-1070

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO
EASTERN DIVISION

ROBERT J. KONDRAT,
Plaintiff,

Vv.

JOSEPH E. O’NEILL, et al.,
Defendants.

JUDGMENT
LaMsros, District Judge

In accordance with the memorandum opinion and
order of this date in the above-captioned case, defendants’
motion to dismiss pursuant to Rule 12(b)(1) and (6) is
hereby granted. This action is dismissed and terminated.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

/s/ THomas D. Lamsros
United States District Judge

A4

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER OF THE
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

(Filed March 17, 1986)

No. C 85-1070

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT. OF OHIO
EASTERN DIVISION

ROBERT J. KONDRAT,
Plaintiff,

V.

JOSEPH E. O’NEILL, et al.,
Defendants.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER
Lamsros, District Judge

This is a pro se complaint brought against three judges
of the Ohio Court of Appeals to recover compensatory
and punitive damages for an alleged “entrapment” of plain-
tiff through the Court’s affirmation of a state trial court
judgment rendered against plaintiff. Present for con-
sideration is defendants’ motion to dismiss pursuant to
Rule 12(b) (1) and (6), Fed. R. Civ. P.

Pro se pleadings are to be liberally construed. Estelle
v. Gamble, 429 U.S. 97, 106 (1976). Such liberal con-
struction is necessary to compensate for the pro se litigant’s
lack of skill and experience in pleading.

A5

In considering a 12(b)(1) or (6) motion, the Court
must focus on whether the claimant is entitled to offer
evidence to support the claims made in the complaint,
rather than whether the plaintiff will ultimately prevail.
Scheuer v. Rhodes, 416 U.S. 232, 236 (1974). Plaintiff in the
case at bar is in reality asking this Court to review a
state court judgment. This is the province of the state
court system and not a United States District Court even
if the constitutionality of the state court’s action is raised.
District of Columbia Court of Appeals v. Feldman, 460
U.S. 467, 482 (1983). Hence, this Court must abstain
from considering plaintiff’s complaint.

Accordingly, defendants’ motion to dismiss is granted
and this action is dismissed for lack of jurisdiction over the
subject matter as well for failure to state a claim upon
which relief can be granted. Rule 12(b)(1) and (6),
Fed. R. Civ. P. .

This action is terminated.
IT IS SO ORDERED.

/s/ THOMAS D. LAMBROS
United States District Judge

A6

COMPLAINT FILED IN THE UNITED STATES
DISTRICT COURT

Case No. C 85-1070

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO
EASTERN DIVISION

ROBERT J. KONDRAT,
Plaintiff,

VS.
JOSEPH E. O’NEILL, JOSEPH DONOFRIO,
EDWARD A. COX,
Defendants.

COMPLAINT OF ENTRAPMENT BY JUDICIAL
OFFICERS; AND COMPLAINT OF DENIAL OF
DUE PROCESS, FOURTEENTH
AMENDMENT

JURY TRIAL DEMANDED
COMPLAINT

The Defendants in the captioned case are three ju-
dicial officers of the Ohio Appellate Court. On April 1,
1985, the Defendants’ Judgment Entry and Opinion in
case no. 9-179 was filed in the clerk of court’s office in
Painesville, Ohio.

Case no. 9-179 was initiated in Court of Common Pleas
of Lake County. The complaint asked that defendant
Barry Byron, Law Director for the city of Willoughby

AT

Hills, return all monies derived from his exposed scheme
of fabricating criminal activity against Plaintiff, and
others, resulting fram the Recall of city officials in 1976.

Because Plaintiff had sent copies of the complaint to
others, Byron counter-claimed alleging injury to his repu-
tation. Without a hearing, trial or proof of injury, the
court of Common Pleas made an award and rendered a
decision in favor of Byron. Plaintiff appealed the decision
to the Court of Appeals of Ohio, Eleventh District, citing
the Fourteenth Amendment, due process of law.

On June 28, 1983, oral argument was heard by the
Eleventh Appellate District court in Painesville, Ohio.
The Plaintiff gave oral argument. The Defendant remained
silent, neither denying Plaintiff’s allegations nor giving
argument. After twenty months, the Appellate Court re-
turned a decision affirming the lower court’s decision on
judgment and damages.

On January 16, 1979, in a false arrest and malicious
prosecution case, a notice of appeal was filed in which the
last paragraph read as follows:

“Due to the number of people who are interested, but
appear to be uninformed about this case and others
which have stemmed from the Recall, a copy of this
notice and all future briefs and data on all cases will
be sent to the news media so that it may be reported
on, should the media wish to do so. In addition, the
Appellant’s files on any and all cases are open to the
media interested in knowing and/or reporting on past
events. Because of the Constitutional issues involved,
the people are as much a part of these cases as the
Appellant. Consequently, it is hoped that the people
will be kept informed and not clouded in an air of
secrecy.” (emphasis added)

A8

The foregoing paragraph appeared nearly thirty-nine
months prior to Byron’s counter-claim. Both Defendants
and courts were aware of the copies being sent. At the
time of appearance of the above paragraph no defendant
challenged or objected to the paragraph. Byron was aware
of what was going on. No court told the Plaintiff that he
was forbidden to send copies. And, all knew that Plain-
tiff was no lawyer. Consequently, the defendants and
courts accepted Plaintiff’s action. Furthermore, there is
no evidence to substantiate injury brought about by
Plaintiff.

However, the Defendants in the captioned case ruled
otherwise. Plaintiff alleges that the Defendants O’Neill,
Donofrio and Cox perpetuated an entrapment of Plaintiff
for the purpose of rescuing defendant Byron in case no.
9-179. Plaintiff alleges that the Appellate Court was aware
of the copies being sent, accepted it, then waited for the
proper time to entrap Plaintiff. Entrapment was the same
tactic employed by Byron, and other officials, to fabricate
criminal activity against Plaintiff, and others, in the Will-
oughby Hills Recall of 1976.

The use of entrapment by law enforcement agencies
such as the F.B.I. in the apprehension of criminals can
be condoned. The use of entrapment-by public officials to
fabricate criminal activity for the purpose of creating crim-
inals is barbaric and cannot be excused. And, the use
of entrapment by judicial officers to rescue and protect
those public officials is traitorous and a betrayal to the
honorable judiciary and to the American way of life. No
jury in this land would permit such behavior by public
officials or the judiciary.

As a result of the captioned Defendants’ actions which
continue to deprive Plaintiff due process of law and justice,

Ag

Plaintiff is injured and made to suffer emotional and bodily
harm and great mental anguish; and compelled to expend
money, time and expense related to the Defendants’ ac-
tions. Plaintiff asks judgment against Defendants, each
of them, jointly and severally, for compensatory damages
in the amount of $25,000,000 (Twenty-Five Million), for
punitive damages in the amount of $10,000,000 (Ten Mil-
lion), attorneys fees and all costs.

Respectfully Submitted,

/s/ Ropert J. KoNDRAT

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0238%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
