# Opposition Brief — Chicago, Milwaukee, St. Paul & Pacific Railroad v. United States

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0181%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 481 U.S. 1068

## Text

In the Supreme Court of the Up itOO SS Ete

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

CHICAGO, MILWAUKEE, ST. PAUL AND PACIFIC
RAILROAD COMPANY, ET AL., PETITIONERS

Vv.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General

RICHARD K. WILLARD
Assistant Attorney General

MICHAEL F. HERTZ

ALAN E. KLEINBURD
Altorneys

Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
(202) 633-2217
ROBERT S. BURK
General Counsel
HENRI F. RUSH
Deputy General Counsel
CHARLES A. STARK
Altorney

Interstate Commerce Commission
Washington, D.C. 20423

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether, in these bankruptcy proceedings, the court of
appeals correctly declined petitioners’ request to vacate the
district court’s finding that the compensation paid to peti-
tioners by private parties for certain rail assets was con-
stitutionally adequate, so as to enable petitioners to seek
additional compensation in a suit against the United States
under the Tucker Act.

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

i i eer eee in hank 6 hed eS AO Ka
aes k ck Shae ee eho ah ie bose Oke OH
SES ES I Ra eae are einen
ELLE EE EP PTE eee eee ETE ET eee
8 GES IER OE RN DS Sa gn

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Ashbacker Radio Co. v. FCC, 326 U.S. 327 (1945) ......
Black v. Cutter Laboratories, 351 U.S. 292 (1956) .......
Burlington Northern, Inc.—Control—Green Bay, 354
EE Se a eae re
Chevron U.S.A. Inc. v. NRDC, Inc., 467 U.S. 837
CRESS EOL re oa ae
Chicago, M., St.P. & Pac. R.R., In re, 701 F.2d 604 (7th
Cir.), cert. dismissed, 463 U.S. 1233 (1983) ...........
Chicago, M., St. P. & Pac. R.R., In re, 713 F.2d 274 (7th
Cir. 1983), cert denied, 465 U.S. 1100 (1984) .........
FPC v. Colorado Interstate Gas Co., 348 U.S. 492
ee eek oa kte eb veeaaeee esse
Hooe v. United States, 218 U.S. 322 (1910) .............
Midwestern Rail Properties, Inc. —Purchase— Rock
ie, OEE bo cw rsd vbescuresvevrs
Mississippi Univ. for Women v. Hogan, 458 U.S. 718
EEA 5 AA RP Sa ee
Mitchell v. United States, 267 U.S. 341 (1925) ..........
Mountain States Tel. & Tel. Co. v. Pueblo of Santa Ana,
Ee
New Haven Inclusion Cases, 399 U.S. 392 (1970) ........
Penn Cent. Merger Cases, 389 U.S. 486 (1968) ..........
Penn Cent. Transp. Co., In re, 520 F.2d 1388 (3d Cir.
ee ae ge ye Weneeieee ees
Railway Labor Executives’ Ass’n v. Gibbons, 455 U.S.
ee i bis age Vwi dek o
Railway Labor Executives’ Ass’n v. Gibbons, 448 U.S.
a ee rs uh cles be eso 8
Railway Labor Executives’ Ass’n v. Gibbons, 448 U.S.
ee ee is i caw Wena sae ae eknes

Cases — Continued: Page

Reconstruction Finance Corp. v. Denver & R.G.W.R.R.,

aE. eee. Gis wh cack tend eben eek ahs eek 5-6, 21
Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases, 419 U.S. 102

|| ere Ceres esy Spurred Pon ore ees 14-15, 18, 19
Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467 U.S. 986 (1984) ...... 15
Schwabacher v. United States, 334 U.S. 182 (1948) ...... 3
Southern Pac. Transp. Co. v. ICC, 736 F.2d 708

'- (D.C. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1208 (1985) ... 3
Tully v. Mobil Oil Corp., 455 U.S. 245 (1982) .......... 16-17
United States v. Commodities Trading Corp., 339 U.S.

Re EE soca s 60a 0k ane REEL e PAN OSS bane me 21
United States v. Locke, 471 U.S. 84 (1985) ............. 13
United States v. North American Co., 253 U.S. 330

EE sc Bo ok oe RR a ee en eres 15
United States v. Varig Airlines, 467 U.S. 797 (1984) ..... 15

Constitution, statutes and rule:

ee ee OM Eo a Se ee ee ke ee 15

Bankruptcy Act of 1898, Ch. 8, 11 U.S.C. (1976 ed.)
202a ef Seq.:

Re is 2 ee Se ror re Se ee res 2, 3, 4, 17
Bey, “| Et 8 emt) | | Ree are yr wenn 3
Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978, Pub. L. No. 95-298,
a kt ee elles flee eer ea reg 2
i 3 ER Re ere eer er ee 2
Federal Tort Claims Act, 28 U.S.C. 2671 ef seq. ........ 1, 15
ee Ae en aw aieas ae 15
eee oss Se oe aus pee ee awe 15
Interstate Commerce Act § 5, 49 U.S.C. 11343 ...... ea Se
Milwaukee Railroad Restructuring Act, 45 U.S.C. 901
él Seq. :
es oo oe CL Kec SK as MA eee 4, 12, 16, 20
See, ee OP ED ce ces ese scs aes 7, 38, 2 oh, oe
ee ear A, ED babes dcae ken eexe cs» 2
See 0 A, SEED ov o't eh vs ca ey bes 2

V
Statutes and rule — Continued: Page
he SS 2th fot Pree eee 22
Be © fe te 66 ere errr re 22
BB 8 gs le eer err errr rer ree 22
§ 7(h)(1)(B), 45 U.S.C. 906(h)(1)(B) ..........00.0. 22
Oe EE ha ces oe awe ens ebee pan reas 22
Bie fos ft ak: eer rere ea 22
BR Rk Ta | ne err eer ere o 22

Rock Island Railroad Transition and Employee Assistance
Act, 45 U.S.C. (& Supp. III) 1000 ef seq.:

Be Oe Bk se ey rere rrr re 19

© SG een EID Sco ade 4k shew db eae eee es 19

S- S20, OO USA. FORGES) on occ ev ceavas 16

§ 124(b), 45 U.S.C. (& Supp. II]) 1018(b) .......... 19

DC ae Ot OE cares an ckcaesvacarnuna 19, 20
Staggers Rail Act of 1980, Pub. L. No. 96-488, §701,

| ie rere VEC Tree 20

Tucker Act, 28 U.S.C. 1491(a)(1) .. 9, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20, 24

Bankr. R. 8-703(a)(6) (11 U.S.C. App. (1976 ed.) at
SUE can kn Sena Rcbae ess Cie eae 4h eee ee eee 8, 13

Miscellaneous:
H.R. Conf. Rep. 96-1430, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. (1980) ... 20

Jn the Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

No. 86-1234

CHICAGO; MILWAUKEE, ST. PAUL AND PACIFIC
RAILROAD COMPANY, ET AL., PETITIONERS

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, ET AL.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF FOR THE RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1-38) is
reported at 799 F.2d 317. The order of the district court
(Pet. App. 41-51) is not reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
August 20, 1986, and a petition for rehearing was denied
on October 20, 1986 (Pet. App. 39-40). The petition for a
writ of certiorari was filed on January 20, 1987. The
jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
1254(1).

STATEMENT

1. In December 1977, petitioner Chicago, Milwaukee,
St. Paul and Pacific Railroad Company (Milwaukee
Road) filed a petition in bankruptcy in the United States

(1)

2

District Court for the Northern District of Illinois, pur-
suant to Section 77 of the Bankruptcy Act of 1898, 11
U.S.C. (1976 ed.) 205.' Thereafter, in 1979, Congress
enacted the Milwaukee Railroad Restructuring Act
(MRRA),? which was intended to facilitate the reorganiza-
tion of the Milwaukee Road.

Section 5(b)(1) of the MRRA empowered the bankrupt-
cy court, independently of any plan of reorganization, to
authorize the sale of lines of the Milwaukee Road to be
used in continued rail operations. See 45 U.S.C. 904(b)(1).
Such a sale could be authorized only if an “appropriate ap-
plication” for the sale had been filed with and approved
by the Interstate Commerce Commission. 45 U.S.C.
904(b)(2). The Commission in the instant case construed
the latter provision to incorporate the requirements of the
Interstate Commerce Act that govern similar applications.
The Commission accordingly concluded that an “ap-
propriate application” under Section 5(b)(1‘ of the MRRA
is subject to Section 5 of the Interstate Commerce Act, 49
U.S.C. 11343, which governs the Commission’s approval
of the purchase of the property of one carrier by a second
carrier. See Chicago, M. St.P. & Pac. R.R. Reorganiza-
tion, Fin. Dkt. No. 28,640 (ICC Sept. 26, 1984), slip op.
44-45, 90 n.111 [hereinafter JCC Decision I); accord,
Midwestern Rail Properties, Inc. — Purchase — Rock
Island, 366 1.C.C. 915, 921 (1983).

' These bankruptcy proceedings were instituted prior to the effec-
tive date of the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978, Pub. L. No. 95-598,
92 Stat. 2549. Accordingly, by virtue of Section 403(a) of that Act (92
Stat. 2683), the proceedings continue to be governed by Section 77 of
the 1898 Act and the former Bankruptcy Rules. See /n re Chicago, M.,
St. P. & Pac. R.R., 701 F.2d 604, 605 n.1 (7th Cir.), cert. dismissed,
463 U.S. 1233 (1983).

> Pub. L. No. 96-101, 93 Stat. 736, codified at 45 U.S.C. 901 ef seq.

3

Under Section 5 of the Interstate Commerce Act, the
Commission must consider whether the terms of the trans-
action are just and reasonable to the shareholders. See
Schwabacher v. United States, 334 U.S. 182, 198-199
(1948); Southern Pac. Transp. Co. v. ICC, 736 F.2d 708,
725-726 (D.C. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1208
(1985). This standard in turn is equivalent to the “fair and
equitable” treatment of shareholders required by Section
77(e) of the Bankruptcy Act of 1898. New Haven Inclu-
sion Cases, 399 U.S. 392, 424-425 (1970). The Commis-
sion concluded in this case that both of these standards re-
quired that the estate be paid the fair market value of the
assets. ICC Decision I, at 90.

2. After several years of operating under the protec-
tion of Section 77 of the Bankruptcy Act of 1898, the
Milwaukee Road received offers from three railroads to
purchase its remaining rail operations. The three were the
Soo Line Railroad (the Soo), the Chicago and North
Western Transportation Company (CNW), and the Grand
Trunk Corporation (GTC). Both the Soo and CNW of-
fered approximately $150 million for the lines, in addition
to an assumption of approximately $420 million in
liabilities; GTC offered substantially less. As required by
Section 5(b) of the MRRA, the three bids were submitted
to the Commission. Petitioner Chicago Milwaukee Cor-
poration (CMC), the entity that was to emerge with the
Milwaukee Road’s non-rail assets, objected that the $150
million offered by the Soo and CNW was insufficient and
that the net value of the rail assets was $360 million. Pet.
App. 3-4.

In a decision dated September 26, 1984, the Commis-
sion held that the Soo and CNW proposals both provided
“fair compensation” for the Milwaukee Road’s rail assets,
but that the GTC proposal offered “inadequate compensa-
tion” (ICC Decision I, at 54-55; see also id. at 90).
Specifically, the Commission found that the $150 million

4

(plus assumption of liabilities) offered by the Soo and
CNW was “fair and equitable” under the standards incor-
porated into Section 5 of the MRRA from Section 5 of the
Interstate Commerce Act and Section 77 of the Bank-
rupcty Act. In the Commission’s view, this conclusion was
especially evident under the price/earnings method of
evaluation, which the Commission regarded as the most
reliable. Applying that methodology, the Commission
found that when compared to the Milwaukee Road’s net
earnings of $8.9 million in 1983 and its projected net earn-
ings of $18.7 million in 1984, the $150 million yielded
price/earnings ratios of 16.9 and 8 for the two years. At
the same time, the Commission rejected as too high peti-
tioner CMC’s proposed net value for the rail assets of $360
million. The Commission explained that CMC’s valuation
was based on the discounted present value of a projected
stream of future earnings, which the Commission deter-
mined “is not a particularly reliable methodology since it
involves speculation about the amount of future earnings”
(ICC Decision I, at 54). The Commission further ex-
plained that CMC’s proposed value would yield a
price/earnings ratio of 40 based on 1983 earnings and 19.3
based on projected 1984 earnings, which far exceeded the
price/earnings ratios for other railroads (as reflected in
sales of their stock) and which the Commission regarded
as unrealistic. Jd. at 54-55, 90; id. App. I, at 19-23; see
Pet. App. 4.°

The Commission also evaluated the applications with
respect to factors other than the adequacy of compensa-
tion. In particular, the Commission found that the CNW
proposal would have “a significant adverse competitive ef-
fect on rail transportation in [three rail] corridors,” which,
the Commission held, would have to be ameliorated by
certain conditions on the acquisition if the CNW proposal

> The Commission also found that CMC’s projection that the
Milwaukee Road would earn $18.7 million in 1984 was “overly op-
timistic” (ICC Decision I, at 54).

5

were to be approved (JCC Decision I, at 61-63, 70). The
Commission found no comparable anticompetitive prob-
lems with the Soo proposal (id. at 63-64, 69). Based on
these and other factors, the Commission concluded that
the Soo’s proposal has “important public interest benefits”
and is “preferable to that of CNW” (id. at 5-6). The Com-
mission therefore approved the Soo proposal. A majority
of the Commission did not reach a definitive decision
regarding the CNW proposal, and the Commission there-
fore neither approved nor disapproved it. /d. at 2, 5-6,
94-95.

3. After the Commission’s decision was issued and the
matter was referred to the district court, CNW increased
its offer by $210 million (Pet. App. 4). CNW’s revised pro-
posal was then referred back to the Commission. In a deci-
sion dated January 11, 1985, the Commission approved
CNW’s offer, subject to certain conditions to ameliorate
anticompetitive impacts. Chicago, M., St.P. & Pac.
R.R.— Reorganization—Acquisition by Grand Trunk
Corp., Fin. Dkt. No. 28,640 (ICC Jan. 11, 1985), slip op.
21-22, 29-30, 34-36 [hereinafter JCC Decision I].

The Commission also expressed the view in its January
11 decision that the Soo’s bid, while less than CNW’s re-
vised bid, remained fair and constitutionally adequate
(ICC Decision II, at 14-15). The Commission acknowl-
edged that an arms length agreement between a willing
buyer and willing seller is one benchmark in determining
the issue of fair and equitable consideration. But it con-
cluded that in this context the amount that the highest bid-
der is willing to pay does not necessarily establish a con-
stitutional entitlement on the part of the stockholders,
because “those who invest their capital in a railroad enter-
prise assume[] the risk that in any reorganization the in-
terest of the public will be considered as well as the in-
vestors” (id. at 14, citing Reconstruction Finance Corp. v.

6

Denver & R.G.W.R.R., 328 U.S. 495, 536 (1946)). The
Commission observed that this Court and the Commission
itself have regarded the constitutional adequacy of con-
sideration in circumstances such as these to turn primarily
on the past, present, and prospective earning capacity of
the railroad. Viewed from this perspective, the Commis-
sion continued to find the Soo’s offer to be fair, because (i)
it provided for a reasonable price/earnings ratio, and (ii) it
exceeded the net liquidation value of the Milwaukee
Road’s rail assets by more than $220 million. JCC Decision
IT, at 14-15.

At the request of the district court, the Commission also
expressed its view of the relative merits of the two pro-
posals. By a 4-3 vote, the Commission concluded, on the
basis of its “review of the entire record,” that “the benefits
offered by the Soo proposal outweigh those of the CNW”
and that the Soo’s proposal was preferable to CNW’s
modified proposal (ICC Decision IT, at 2, 31). The Com-
mission explained that the increased compensation offered
by the CNW did not reflect any changed circumstances af-
fecting the intrinsic value of the Milwaukee Road’s rail
assets, but only a change in CNW’s business judgment
regarding the value of those assets to CNW’s own system.
The Commission also explained that the Soo’s proposal
was less likely to result in downgrading and abandonment
of lines. However, the Commission’s “greatest concern”
was with the anticompetitive effects of CNW’s proposal in
“several critical areas”; those effects, the Commission
stressed, would require ameliorative conditions to the ac-
quisition, while the Soo’s acquisition would serve the
public interest without such conditions. See id. at 31-33;
Pet. App. 5, 62.

4. The district court, after considering the two offers
and the Commission’s recommendations, approved the
sale of the Milwaukee Road’s rail properties to the Soo.

+ The district court made clear that the Commission’s statement of a
preference for the Soo’s proposal was only a non-binding recom-

7

a. In its oral findings delivered on February 8, 1985
(Pet. App. 52-83), the court recognized that “the
stockholders of [petitioner] CMC are entitled to-* * * the
fair value of the line” (id. at 63). But the court credited
what it understood to be the Commission’s finding that the
“fair market value” of the property was “something
below” the Soo’s tota! offer of $570 million (id. at 56). The
court also expressed the view that the Soo and CNW both
had arrived at what they believed was the fair market value
of the property when they submitted their offers prior to
the Commission’s first decision, and that CNW thereafter
had offered an additional $210 million only “because it
thought it could get some other advantages besides the fair
value of the line,” such as “buy[ing] out some of its com-
petition” (id. at 63-64). Finally, the court, like the Com-
mission, found the “main problem” presented by CNW’s
acquisition of the rail lines to be that it “[would] defeat
* * * a substantial amount of competition” (id. at 65; see
generally id. at 65-67). Although the court believed that
these anticompetitive effects could be reduced by the im-
position of trackage rights and other conditions for the
benefit of competitors, it concluded that competition
would best be promoted by an end-to-end acquisition of
the Milwaukee Road’s lines by the Soo, which could then
compete with CNW without regulatory restrictions (id. at
70-75).° |

b. Immediately after the district court delivered its
oral findings on February 8, 1985, CNW informed the
trustee by hand-delivered letter that CNW’s offer was
withdrawn (R. 79). See 2/19/85 Tr. 82-83. Petitioners

mendation solicited by the court (Pet. App. 62). In a submission filed
with the district court on January 21, 1985, the United States sup-
ported CNW’s application and opposed that of the Soo.

5 The court also determined that acquisition by CNW would lead to
substantial abandonment of the Milwaukee Road lines that were
parallel to those of CNW (Pet. App. 66-70).

a

8

took the position that this withdrawal was invalid because
CNW’s offer was to be binding “until rejected by the
reorganization court” (R. 44), which, in petitioners’ view,
could not occur until the court entered a final written
order. 2/19/85 Tr. 83-84. Petitioners therefore filed a peti--
tion for a writ of mandamus or prohibition in the court of
appeals, seeking to bar consummation of the sale and
CNW’s withdrawal of its offer. By order dated February
19, 1985, the court of appeals denied that relief, finding no
“clear cut abuses of discretion or usurpation of power
necessary for [its] use of the extraordinary remedy sought”
(2/19/85 Tr. 84; R. 105). However, the court of appeals
emphasized that its order was without prejudice to the
right of any party to seek other relief, including a stay
(ibid.).

c. The district court entered its written order later in
the day on February 19, 1985 (Pet. App. 41-51). In
paragraph 4 of the section of the order setting forth the
court’s findings and conclusions, the court stated that
after considering the parties’ objections, it approved the
Commission’s findings and decisions because, inter alia,
they were not “contrary to constitutional rights” (id. at
43). In the subsequent section of the order that contained
the district court’s actual decree, the court approved the
sale of the Milwaukee Road lines to the Soo and directed
the trustee to consummate the sale (/d. at 46-51).

d. Bankruptcy Rule 8-703(a)(6) (11 U.S.C. App. (1976
ed.) at 1412) provides that “[uJnless an order approving a
sale of property * * * is stayed pending appeal, the sale to
a good faith purchaser * * * shall not be affected by the
reversal or modification of such order on appeal, whether
or not the purchaser or holder knows of the pendency of
the appeal.” By virtue of this rule, in the absence of a stay,
the sale to the Soo could not have been affected by any ap-
peal taken by petitioners. See Pet. App. 23-26. Never-
theless, although several other parties unsuccessfully

9

moved in the court of appeals for a stay of the district
court’s order on other grounds, petitioners did not seek
such a stay in the court of appeals or in this Court pending
appeal on the question of the adequacy of the compensa-
tion.® The sale to the Soo was then closed on February 20,
1985. Pet. App. 8.

5. Although they failed to pursue a stay, petitioners
took an appeal to the court of appeals. They expressly did
not urge that court to reverse the district court’s decree ap-
proving the sale of the Milwaukee Road’s rail properties to
the Soo. See 85-1683 C.A. Appellant’s Br. 2, 5. They also
expressly did not challenge the district court’s finding that
the public interest favored the acquisition of the
Milwaukee Road’s core assets by the Soo, rather than
CNW. 7d. at 5. Petitioners sought only to have the court
of appeals vacate the district court’s finding that the con-
sideration paid by the Soo was fair and constitutionally
adequaie. /d. at 5-6, 21-22, 27, 30. Petitioners’ stated pur-
pose in seeking vacation of that finding was to put
themselves in a position to file an action against the United
States in the Claims Court under the Tucker Act, 28
U.S.C. 1491(a)(1), claiming that the district court’s ap-
proval of the sale to someone other than the highest bidder
resulted in a “taking” of their property by the United
States to the extent of the difference between the two of-
fers. 85-1683 C.A. Appellant’s Br. 2, 32. Petitioners
acknowledged that because of the district court’s finding
that the compensation they received was constitutionally
adequate, they would be collaterally estopped, absent a
reversal or vacation of that finding, from relitigating
the constitutional issue in the Claims Court. At no
previous time in these proceedings — either before the In-
terstate Commerce Commission or the district court — did

® Petitioners did seek a stay from the district court, but that request
_was denied (2/19/85 Tr. 96).

10

petitioners argue that the United States might be liable in a
Tucker Act suit for compensation in addition to that paid
by the Soo.

The court of appeals unanimously denied petitioners’ re-
quest to vacate the district court’s finding that the compen-
sation petitioners received was constitutionally adequate
(Pet. App. 3-21). The court first declined petitioners’ sug-
gestion that it vacate that finding without deciding
whether there had actually been a “taking” by the United
States, in order to permit petitioners to present their
taking argument to the Claims Court. The court explained
(id. at 12): ;

[T]he valuation was fully litigated before the ICC,
which issued mountainous valuation studies and two
full opinions, and the district court. The parties in-
vested their all; with $210 million on the table, no one
held back. The parties are entitled to the benefit of
the judgment for which they fought, not least because
the transaction would not have occurred if the district
court had found the Soo’s bid insufficient. The
disputed finding was an essential ingredient of the
transaction; had the district court made a different
finding, the CNW would own the rail assets and there
would be no claim of taking. The reliance interests of
the parties—including the United States, which
through the ICC could have blocked the deal if it
thought the decision exposed the Treasury to a $210
million award —are substantial.

The court of appeals also declined to vacate the district
court’s finding on the merits, holding that even if the
district court’s ruling regarding the adequacy of the com-
pensation was erroneous, that ruling would not give rise to
a claim for compensation against the United States (Pet.
App. 16-20). The court said, “a judicial error in the

: 11

implementation of a program is not a taking, if a correct
implementation of the program would not be a taking”
(id. at 18). The court found this conclusion to be sup-
ported by the general rule that accidental and unintended
injuries inflicted by governmental actors are treated as
torts, not takings, and that torts are compensable only to
the extent permitted by the Federal Tort Claims Act (id. at
16-18). So, too, the court reasoned (id. at 18-19):

The government is not absolutely liable for mistaken
implementation of a law that does not otherwise take
property. Were it otherwise, the Treasury would
guarantee the accuracy of all administrative and
judicial decisions. That was certainly not the
understanding in 1791, when the Takings Clause was
added to the Constitution; to the contrary, there was
consensus that the sovereign could not be sued for er-
rors save with its consent.

Applying these principles to this case, the court of ap-
peals held that the MRRA “neither requires nor authorizes
a judge to transfer property for compensation that is less
than the constitutional minimum,” and it therefore
“makes adequate compensation a condition of any sale”
(Pet. App. 20).’? Here, both the Commission and the
district court found that the Soo’s application provided for
the payment of fair market value. If the district court was
correct in this ruling, there could be no taking of peti-
tioners’ property. In the court’s view, it followed that “a
judicial error in answering [this] constitutionally ap-
propriate question does not subject the United States to a
claim of taking” (ibid.).

? The court concluded that the MRRA “is thus unlike the statute at
issue in the Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases, [419 U.S. 102
(1974),} which not only required a transfer without a prior finding of
adequate value, see 419 U.S. at 155, but also could have caused a
taking by the erosion of value during the judicial proceedings, id. at
122-25” (Pet. App. 20).

|

12

; ARGUMENT

The adequacy of the consideration petitioners received
for the Milwaukee Road’s rail assets was fully litigated
before the Interstate Commerce Commission and the
district court. The district court’s finding that the compen-
sation satisfied constitutional requirements was an essen-
tial ingredient of its decision to approve the sale to the
Soo, because the MRRA did not authorize the court to ap-
prove the sale for consideration that was not constitu-
tionally adequate. The court of appeals correctly declined
to vacate that finding in order to enable petitioners, who
enjoy the benefit of the sale to the Soo, to relitigate the
compensation question in the form of a taking claim
against the United States based on the alleged error of the
district court in making the finding on which the sale was
predicated. The court of appeals’ decision does not con-
flict with any decision of this Court or of another court of
appeals, and it arose in unique circumstances and under
statutory provisions that are now effectively obsolete. Fur-
ther review by this Court is not warranted.

1. a. Petitioners concede (Pet. 4, 7, 10, 11, 12) that
the district court, like the Commission, found that the
consideration paid by the Soo for the Milwaukee Road’s
rail assets satisfied constitutional requirements. Peti-
tioners do not ask this Court to reverse that finding on the
merits. Rather, petitioners urge this Court to vacate the
district court’s finding — while leaving the rest of its decree
standing —so that they can relitigate the just compensation
issue in a separate action against the United States in the
Claims Court, in which they will claim that the court-
ordered and now unrescindable sale to the Soo took their
property because the valuation finding was erroneous.
There is no basis for such a collateral attack on the orderly
administrative and judicial procedures that Congress
fashioned in Section 5 of the MRRA. Petitioners had a
statutory right, under the MRRA, not to have their prop-

13

erty transferred except for constitutionally adequate con-
sideration as determined in advance by a court, subject to
appellate review in the prescribed manner. They do not
have any entitlement to compensation from the United
States on the ground that the constitutionally adequate
process reached the wrong result.

If the district court’s valuation finding had been ap-
pealed on the merits and reversed, the logical course would
have been to bar the sale to the Soo on the ground that the
compensation was inadequate—not to award petitioners
additional amounts from the United States Treasury. The
reason why the logical course was unavailable here was
Bankruptcy Rule 8-703(a)(6) (11 U.S.C. App. (1976 ed.) at
1412), which provided that once the sale to the Soo had
been consummated reversal of the decree would not undo
it, together with petitioners’ failure to seek and obtain a
stay pending appeal.® The fact is that after denial of their
petition for mandamus, petitioners had no interest in
reversing the valuation finding and blocking the sale to the
Soo: CNW had withdrawn its higher offer, and petitioners
therefore could not anticipate receiving greater compensa-
tion from CNW or any other private party even if the sale
to the Soo were set aside. Instead, after the CNW option
was eliminated by the voluntary actions of CNW and peti-
tioners themselves, petitioners’ evident strategy was to

8 There can be no claim of a “taking” by the United States when a
person’s alleged property interests are lost as a result of his own failure
to follow established procedures. United States v. Locke, 471 U.S. 84,
107-108 (1985). It is entirely possible that such relief pendente lite
would have been granted here if petitioners had advanced in stay pro-
ceedings the claim of irreparable constitutional deprivation that they
now wish to present to the Claims Court. Compare Railway Labor
Executives’ Ass’n v. Gibbons, 448 U.S. 909 (1980); Railway Labor Ex-
ecutives’ Ass’n v. Gibbons, 448 U.S. 1301 (1980) (Stevens, Circuit
Justice). It is true that stay requests by other parties were denied by the
court of appeals, but those other parties did not advance constitu-
tional objections to the February 19 order (see Pet. App. 21-38).

14

split the baby and take both halves—both to obtain the
benefits of the Soo sale and to obtain from the United
States in a separate action under the Tucker Act the $210
million that they failed to obtain from CNW. Petitioners
are not entitled both to forgo an appeal (and accept the
benefits) of the decree, and yet at the same time have the
court of appeals vacate a finding that was an “essential in-
gredient” of that decree and the transaction it approved
(Pet. App. 12). See FPC v. Colorado Interstate Gas Co.,
348 U.S. 492, 502 (1955) (a plaintiff “cannot * * * be
allowed to attack an officially approved condition of the
merger while retaining at the same time all of the
benefits”); cf. Mississippi Univ. for Women v. Hogan, 458
U.S. 718, 723 n.7 (1982); Black v. Cutter Laboratories,
351 U.S. 292, 297 (1956). For this reason alone, the court
of appeals correctly rejected petitioners’ attempt to open
the way for a “taking” claim against the United States.

2. Furthermore, petitioners do not appear to challenge
the court of appeals’ central holding on the taking
issue—namely, that an erroneous determination by a
federal district court that the compensation paid for
private property was constitutionally adequate would not
be a “taking” of property by the United States (Pet. App.
16-21). This holding is, at all events, clearly correct.

The district court was authorized to ascertain whether
the consideration offered by a private party—the
Soo — for the Milwaukee Road’s assets was constitutional-
ly adequate. The court was not authorized by Congress to
exercise the power of eminent domain or acquire any part
of the property for the United States. Any legal or factual
error in determining the amount of compensation con-
stitutionally due was subject to correction in the usual
manner. It did not —any more than any other judicial er-
ror —constitute a taking or give rise to a claim for compen-
sation from the United States. This Court made clear in
the Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases, 419 U.S.

15

102 (1974), upon which petitioners principally rely, that
“ ‘(t]he taking of private property by an officer of the
United States for public use, without being authorized, ex-
pressly or by necessary implication, to do so by some act
of Congress, is not the act of the Government,’ and hence
recovery is not available in the Court of Claims.” 419 U.S.
at 127 n.16 (quoting Hooe v. United States, 218 U.S. 322,
336 (1910)); see also Ruckelshaus v. Monsanto Co., 467
U.S. 986, 1016 (1984); Mitchell v. United States, 267 U.S.
341, 345 (1925); United States v. North American Co., 253
U.S. 330, 334 (1920).

As the court of appeals observed, accidental and
unintended injuries inflicted by ordinary governmental ac-
tors generally are treated as torts, not as takings, and torts
are compensable by the United States only to the extent
permitted by the Federal Tort Claims Act, 28 U.S.C. 2671
et seq. (Pet. App. 16-18). The discretionary function ex-
ception to the FTCA, 28 U.S.C. 2680(a), would preclude
liability for an error made in an administrative adjudica- —
tion. United States v. Varig Airlines, 467 U.S. 797,
809-810, 813-814 (1984). A fortiori, an error committed by
an Article III court in the adjudication of a case or con-
troversy does not give rise to liability under the FTCA,
since the courts are not covered by the FTCA. See 28
U.S.C. 2671. The remedy for an erroneous judgment by a
district court is an appeal (to the extent Congress has made
an appeal available), not an independent suit against the
United States for compensation, whether under the FTCA
or under the Tucker Act.

The court of appeals therefore properly concluded that
“a judicial error in the implementation of a program is not
a taking, if a correct implementation of the program
would not be a taking” (Pet. App. 18). In this case, a cor-
rect decision under the MRRA that the compensation paid
for rail properties was constitutionally adequate would by
definition not result in a taking of that property by the

16

United States. It follows that an error in that decision
likewise would not be a taking. “Were it otherwise, the
Treasury would guarantee the accuracy of all ad-
ministrative and judicial decisions. That was certainly not
the understanding in 1791, when the Takings Clause was
added to the Constitution; to the contrary, there was con-
sensus that the sovereign could not be sued for errors save
with its consent” (id. at 19).

3. a. Petitioners acknowledge the legitimacy of the
court of appeals’ concern that if a taking claim would lie
against the United States whenever a district court erred,
“the floodgates would be opened” (Pet. 10). Petitioners
argue that this case is special because, they allege, the
MRRA gave the district court no authority to address the
issue of whether the compensation was adequate. In peti-
tioners’ view, Congress intended the question of the ade-
quacy of compensation to be decided only in a suit against
the United States under the Tucker Act.

The real question presented by the petition is therefore
whether the MRRA, as a statutory matter, authorizes
bankruptcy court review of the adequacy of compensation
prior to transfer of assets. That narrow question does not
merit this Court’s review. The Commission, the district
court, and the court of appeals unanimously concluded
that the adequacy of the compensation was properly con-
sidered in these proceedings under Section 5. In particular,
the court of appeals held that the MRRA “neither requires
nor authorizes a judge to transfer property for compensa-
tion that is less than the constitutional minimum,” and
that the MRRA therefore “makes adequate compensation
a condition of any sale” (Pet. App. 20). The Seventh Cir-
cuit has extensive experience in cases arising under the
MRRA (see also 45 U.S.C. 1018(a)(2)), and its interpreta-
tion of that Act therefore is entitled to special weight.
Mountain States Tel. & Tel. Co. v. Pueblo of Santa Ana,
472 U.S. 237, 254-255 (1985); Tully v. Mobil Oil Corp.,

17

455 U.S. 245, 248 (1982). In addition, Section 5(b) of the
MRRA dealt only with the sale of the Milwaukee Road’s
rail assets, and it therefore is of no continuing importance.
The Seventh Circuit’s resolution of the statutory question
at issue here therefore does not warrant review by this
Court.

b. In any event, the Seventh Circuit’s interpretation of
the statute is clearly correct. Section 5(b) of the MRRA
provided for a prospective purchaser of the Milwaukee
Road’s lines to file an “appropriate application” with the
Commission. Because the MRRA did not define the term
“appropriate application,” the Commission had the
responsibility for giving content to that term. Chevron
U.S.A. Inc. v. NRDC, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 842-845 (1984).
The Commission reasonably determined that such an ap-
plication should be governed by standards that have
evolved under Section 5 of the Interstate Commerce Act
and Section 77 of the Bankruptcy Act of 1898, which
apply to essentially similar transactions and proceedings
and which require that the acquisition be fair and
equitable to the stockholders. Petitioners have not shown
that this interpretation is “arbitrary, capricious, or
manifestly contrary to the statute.” Chevron, 467 U.S. at
844. There is, for example, nothing in Section 5(b) to sup-
port the proposition that either the Commission or the
bankruptcy court was required to approve a sale without
regard to whether the debtor would receive adequate con-
sideration. Indeed, common sense virtually compels the
conclusion that Congress would not have intended to re-
quire the court and the Commission to blind themselves to
so critical a feature of a proposed sale as the adequacy of
the consideration. Common sense further suggests that
Congress would not have intended to require that the com-
perisation Owing be paid by the public, through a Tucker
Act suit, rather than by the private railroad that will

18

acquire and receive the benefit of the assets. The inter-
pretation given Section 5(b) by the Commission and both
courts below therefore is correct.

c. Petitioners rely extensively on the Regional Rail
Reorganization Act Cases tor the proposition that they
should be entitled to seek additional compensation in a
Tucker Act suit. This case, however, is wholly different
from the Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases.
Through the Regional Rail Reorganization Act, Congress
mandated that the rail properties of several bankrupt
railroads be transferred to a new private railroad, Conrail.
The Act also created a new Government corporation, the
United States Railway Association, to identify the rail
properties to be conveyed and the value of those proper-
ties. 419 U.S. at 111-117. As ihe court of appeals said, the
Regional Rail Reorganization Act “not only required a
transfer without a prior [judicial] finding of adequate
value, see 419 U.S. at 155, but also could have caused a
taking by the erosion of value during the judicial pro-
ceedings, id. at 122-25” (Pet. App. 20). By contrast, Sec-
tion 5(b) of the MRRA did not mandate the transfer of the
Milwaukee Road’s rail assets to a new entity. It merely
allowed the court to provide for the sale of the debtor’s
property to another private party during the bankruptcy
proceedings.

The Regional Rail Reorganization Act authorized an ex-
traordinary process—transfer of the properties in ex-
change for Conrail securities first, and then valuation of
the properties with the bill for any shortfall sent to the
United States—precisely because Congress wanted the
properties transferred promptly to an entity whose
securities might not have constitutionally adequate value;
in essence the Court ruled that Congress was prepared to
buy part (it turned out to be essentially all) of the railroad.
By contrast, there is no evidence that in the MRRA Con-
gress sought to have the Milwaukee Road’s properties

19

transferred to any transferee not able and willing to pay
consideration equal to their value — and no reason to think
that Congress wanted to foot the bill itself rather than
have that value determined as a precondition to transfer.
The Regional Rail Reorganization Act Cases do not
demonstrate that the transfer-first, value-later approach
was required under the MRRA, and certainly do not sup-
port the notion that persons who have litigated their con-
stitutional claims and lost are entitled to relitigate the same
claims in a Tucker Act suit on the theory that the defeat
itself constituted a taking.?

d. Petitioners contend (Pet. 11-12), however, that a
congressional intent to afford them a Tucker Act remedy
is reflected in 45 U.S.C. 1018(c). This contention is
without merit. Section 1018 was enacted in 1980 as an
amendment to the Rock Island Railroad Transition and
Employee Assistance Act (RITEA), 45 U.S.C. 1001 et seg.
It addresses the question of judicial review under the
RITEA and the MRRA. Section 1018(a) provides that ap-
peals of decisions concerning the constitutionality of
either Act must be taken to the Seventh Circuit. Section
1018(b) establishes certain procedures for such appeals.
Section 1018(c) then provides:

Nothing in [the RITEA] or in the Milwaukee Railroad
Restructuring Act (45 U.S.C. 901 et seq.) shall limit
the right of any person to commence an action in the
United States Court of Claims under section 1491 of
title 28 (commonly referred to as the Tucker Act).

By its terms, Section 1018(c) merely provides that any
cause of action that is otherwise available under the

* Petitioners’ reliance (Pet. 13-14) on Jn re Penn Cent. Transp. Co.,
520 F.2d 1388 (3d Cir. 1975), is equally misplaced. That case likewise
involved the Regional Rail Reorganization Act, and it therefore
likewise did not present a situation in which there had been a judicial
determination, prior to the transfer, that the compensation was con-
stitutionally adequate.

20

Tucker Act shall not be precluded. It does not purport to
grant a right to recover a money judgment from the
United States where such a right would not otherwise
exist. In this case, no such cause of action otherwise exists.

The legislative history of 45 U.S.C. 1018(c) likewise
lends no support to petitioners’ contention. That provision
was enacted as part of the Staggers Rail Act of 1980, Pub.
L. No. 96-488, §701, 94 Stat. 1959, not as part of the
MRRA in 1979. It therefore cannot be read to establish
congressional intent that under Section 5(b) of the MRRA,
the bankruptcy court was required to approve a sale of the
Milwaukee Road’s lines without regard to whether the
compensation was constitutionally adequate. Further-
more, the legislative history shows that 45 U.S.C. 1018(c)
was enacted in specific response to an injunction that had
been entered by the district court in the Rock Island
reorganization litigation, which barred implementation of
a labor protection statute that effectively directed the pay-
ment of $75 million from the bankrupt estate. The persons
whose property allegedly was taken as a result of that
statute would have received no compensation for their
loss. Congress therefore enacted 45 U.S.C 1018(c) to en-
sure that compensation would be available under the
Tucker Act for any taking that might be found, thereby
saving the constitutionality of the special Rock Island
labor protection statute against a taking claim. See H.R.
Conf. Rep. 96-1430, 96th Cong., 2d Sess. 137 (1980);
Railway Labor Executives’ Ass’n v. Gibbons, 455 U.S.
457, 463-464 (1982); Railway Labor Executives’ Ass’n v.
Gibbons, 448 U.S. 1301, 1305 (1980) (Stevens, Circuit
Justice). The legislative history does not mention a sale of
assets under Section 5 of the MRRA as another occasion
on which a cause of action should be available under the
Tucker Act. Moreover, the legislative history in fact con-
firms that Congress intended to make the Tucker Act
available where the statutory provision involved did not

21

otherwise assure the payment of just compensation. As we
have explained, Section 5(b) of the MRRA, as applied by
the Commission and the courts below, did provide for the
payment of just compensation.

4. While the merits of petitioners’ valuation claim
were not reached below,'® and are not presented by the
petition, we note that we strongly disagree with peti-
tioners’ contention that the owners of. a railroad are
statutorily or constitutionally entitled to sell it to the
highest bidder without regard to the public interest.
Although the owners cannot be required to donate their
property to the public, the nature of their property in-
terests is affected by the fact that they “invested their
capital in a public utility that does owe an obligation to the
public,” and “by their entry into a railroad enterprise,
assumed the risk that in any depression or reorganization
the interests of the public would be considered as well as
theirs.” Reconstruction Finance Corp. v. Denver &
R.G.W.R.R., 328 U.S. at 535-536; see also New Haven In-
clusion Cases, 399 U.S. at 431-433; Penn Cent. Merger
Cases, 389 U.S. 486, 499, 510-511 (1968); cf. United States
v. Commodities Trading Corp., 339 U.S. 121, 123 (1980).

In this case, the Commission performed a comprehen-
sive financial analysis of the Soo’s application and deter-
mined, based on projected earnings, that the Soo proposal
exceeded the comparable market values of other interstate
railroads and far exceeded the net liquidation value of the
Milwaukee Road’s rail assets. At the same time, both the
Commission and the district court concluded that the
public interest, including the interest in competition,
would be better served by sale of the assets to the Soo than
by sale to CNW. See pages 5-7, supra. The Constitution

'© Contrary to petitioners’ intimations (Pet. 4, 9), the court of ap-
peals did not hold that the compensation they received was constitu-
tionally inadequate. The court of appeals declined to reach that ques-
tion. See Pet. App. 12-13.

aii a i |

22

did not entitle the owners of the Milwaukee Road to sell
their lines to the high bidder without regard to these public
interest determinations. Cf. Ashbacker Radio Co. v. FCC,
326 U.S. 327, 333 (1945); accord Burlington Northern
Inc. —Control—Green Bay, 354 1.C.C. 458, 498-499
(1977).!!

Petitioners also did not have a constitutional right to
have the review process under Section 5(b) of the MRRA
restructured so as to fit the time demands of a bidder who
quickly got cold feet. Petitioners, as well as the Soo,
CNW, and GTC, had every reason to believe that bids
reflected in the “appropriate applications” submitted to
the Commission for approval on the first occasion would
be regarded as final offers. All parties concerned also had
every reason to believe that one or more of those offers
would be found to be constitutionally adequate. CNW did
not thereafter increase its offer until October 9, 1984, after
the Commission had already found that the Soo’s offer

'! Furthermore, a complete assessment of the just compensation
issue in these circumstances could not ignore the substantial counter-
vailing benefits petitioners realized under the MRRA. The Milwaukee
Road and the unions representing its employees entered into a special
labor protection agreement pursuant to special authority in the
MRRA (45 U.S.C. 908, 912, 914), which resulted in reductions in the
Milwaukee Road’s labor protection obligations that amounted to
perhaps hundreds of millions of dollars. See Jn re Chicago, M., St.P.
& Pac. R.R., 701 F.2d 604, 607 (7th Cir.), cert. dismissed, 463 U.S.
1233 (1983); In re Chicago, M., St. P & Pac. R.R., 713 F.2d 274, 278
(7th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1100 (1984). In addition, Sec-
tions 7(d) and (e) of the MRRA authorized the Secretary of Transpor-
tation to guarantee trustee certificates of the Milwaukee Road to cover
its losses attributable to maintenance and continuation of services dur-
ing a specified period. See 45 U.S.C. 906(d) and (e). Section 7(h) then
provided that all obligations of the Milwaukee Road under those
guarantees would be cancelled if more than 50% of its rail system was
purchased. 45 U.S.C. 906(h)(1)(B). The district court’s February 19
order in fact cancelled liabilities totalling more than $100 million, in-
cluding interest, under that provision (Pet. App. 45).

23

and CNW’s own initial offer would satisfy constitutional
standards. CNW soon developed misgivings about the
wisdom of its revised offer. CNW accordingly withdrew
its offer immediately after the district court rendered its
oral findings on February 8, 1985, and petitioners sought
mandamus and prohibition relief in the court of appeals in
part for the specific purpose of preventing CNW from
withdrawing its bid. The statutory procedures Congress
has prescribed for evaluating the relative merits of com-
peting applications to purchase rail lines are not rendered
unconstitutional merely because one of the bidders was
unwilling to pursue those procedures further in order to
obtain the official governmental approval that is required
for any person to acquire rail lines.

Petitioners also contend (see Pet. 9 & n.5) that in any
event the CNW offer is controlling evidence of fair market
value. But the history of CNW’s revised offer, just
described, substantially undermines petitioners’ conten-
tion that that offer reflected what a “willing” buyer would
pay for the assets at the time the district court formally
entered its order on February 19, 1985. The Constitution
did not require that CNW’s short-lived offer be given con-
trolling weight, to the exclusion of what the court of ap-
peals described as the ICC’s “mountainous valuation
studies and two full opinions” (Pet. App. 12), in deciding
the compensation question.

5. Finally, we note that petitioners never argued
before the Commission or the district court that the
United States would be liable for any difference between
the consideration paid by the Soo and that offered by
CNW. Rather, petitioners, like the other parties, litigated
the question of the value of the assets and the adequacy of
consideration on the premise that petitioners would
receive only what they were paid by whichever applicant
was permitted to acquire the property. Indeed, when peti-

24

tioners sought a writ of mandamus or prohibition in the
court of appeals on February 12, 1985—which was after
the district court concluded in its oral findings of February
8 that the consideration offered by the Soo was ade-
quate — petitioners argued that they would “be without an
effective remedy” if the sale to the Soo was authorized and
CNW’s offer was withdrawn. Emergency Original Petition
for Writ of Mandamus and/or Prohibition at 3. If peti-
tioners had raised the Tucker Act issue before the Com-
mission and the district court, the United States and the
Commission could have considered the potential liability
of the public for as much as $210 million when weighing
the relative merits of the Soo’s and CNW’s proposals. Peti-
tioners should not be permitted to trap the United States in
that manner, by raising the issue only after the pro-
ceedings in district court were completed and the sale to
the Soo could not be set aside.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted.

CHARLES FRIED
Solicitor General
RICHARD K. WILLARD
Assistant Attorney General
MICHAEL F. HERTZ
ALAN E. KLEINBURD
Attorneys
ROBERT S. BURK
General Counsel
HENRI F. RUSH
Deputy General Counsel
CHARLES A. STARK

Attorney
Interstate Commerce Commission

MAY 1987

US GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE: 1987— 181-483/40319

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0181%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
