# Reply Brief — Kerr v. El Paso Times, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0144%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Reply Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 480 U.S. 932

## Text

re _ Supreme Court, U.S.
: io 2 2 ee:

No. 86-1192 MAR 3 1987

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.

TLERK

no

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE
UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

JAMES W. KERR, JR., PETITIONER
-

EL PASO TIMES, INC., RESPONDENT

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT CERTIORARI TO THE
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH DISTRICT
OF TEXAS

PETITIONER'S REPLY MEMORANDUM

Jerry A. Gibson#

600 Interfirst Fin. Ctr. N.W.
P.O. Box BHOO2

San Antonio, Texas 78201
(512) 734-7092

Carrie K. Catalani

600 Interfirst Fin. Ctr. N.W.
P.O. Box BHOO2

San Antonio, Texas 78201
(512) 734-7092

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONERS
*Counsel of Record

— a OT a Fina 7 aes

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Sep se O... Riese «6 © «4 « + » «© BS

Argument

I.

te

oe eee a eo ee ee ee ee
The Clear and Convincing

Evidence at Trial Establshed

that The "Cheating" Accusation
Was Made with Actual Malice .. 2
The Supreme Court Does Not

Have Jurisdiction To Rule On
Texas Law In This Petition

For Writ of Certiorari .... 10

ONG LIOR a. kk Oo ES ES Ce Se EG

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Carson v. Allied News Co.,

529 F. 2d 206,
(7th cir. 1976) .

Chandler v. Florida, 449 U.S.

560, 101 S.Ct. 802, 66
ce. Be OO (99061) -..« ...

Cochran v. Indianapolis Newspaper,

iInc., 372 N.E. ed 1211

Ee oy: 3 ee a ae

Curtis Publishing Co., v. Butts,

=e 0.8; -130, 87 8.ct.
18, L.Ed. 2d 1094,

rehearing denied, 389 U.S.

889 1975 (1967) ..

El Paso Times, Inc., v. Kerr,

706 S.W. 2d 797
(Tex.App. - El Paso 1986,
writ ref'd n.r.e.)

Goldwater v. Ginzburg, 414 F. 2d

324 (2d cir. 1979),

cert. denied, 396 U.S. 1049,

ii

4,8

+s 3,6

90 S.Ct. 701, 24 L.Ed. 2d

695, rehearing denied, 397

Usd. OTS COTO) sce cs win ue be 6G,9

International Longshoremen's Assoc.,

DoF alten ng GsdeOs Ve Davis,

U.S. » 106 S.Ct. 1904,

90 L.Ed. 24 389 (1966) . . «-« «sil

Morrison v. Nissan Motor Co.,

601 F. 2d 139
(4th cir. 1979) e e ° * . e * a . © 6
New York Times Co., v. Sullivan,

376 U.S. 254, 84 S.Ct. 710, 11

LeEd. 24 686 (19604) 2. 2s we ee a #

Sprouse v. Clay Communications, Inc.,

211 S.E. 2d 674

(W.Va. 1975), cert. denied, 423

U.S. 882, 965 S.Ct. 185, %6

L.Ed. 2d 107, rehearing denied,

N23: U.6. FOL (ITS) 6 ee ew 8 6 YG

St. Amant v. Thompson,

$96..0.5.. 727, 08 6 .c¢.

L3234 20 Like. 26 262 (2966). °8.° 7

>

Vandenburg v. Newsweek, Inc.,

507 F. 2d 1024
CSU Che so 20S as ia el ee a ee ee
28 U.S.C.A. §1257 (3) (West 1984) ... il

iv

No. 86-1192

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE
UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

JAMES W. KERR, JR., PETITIONER
Ve

EL PASO TIMES, INC., RESPONDENT

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT CERTIROARI TO THE
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH DISTRICT
OF TEXAS

PETITIONER'S REPLY MEMORANDUM

Respondent, in its opposing brief in
No. 86-1192, raises two new questions
which were not addressed in Petitioner's
Petition for a Writ of Certiorari.

Respondent has urged this court to

consider whether or not the newspaper
article was published with actual malice
and whether Texas law required
judgment for Respondent. (Brief In
Opposition, p.12-20).

Petitioner presents this Reply
Memorandum to respond to the two new
arguments. Neither argument is properly
brought before this court. The Court of
Appeals for the Eighth District of Texas
did not consider the sufficiency of the
evidence on the issue of actual malice.
Even so, the trial court record is filled
with clear and convincing evidence of
Respondent's actual malice in support of
the jury's finding of such. Furthermore,
this court does not have jurisdiction to
consider whether Texas law was properly
applied by a Texas court.

I.

The Clear And Convincing Evidence

At Trial Established That The "Cheating"

=n Don

a eT wm

Accusation Was Made With Actual Malice.

Preliminary, the question regarding
sufficient evidence of actual malice is
not properly before this court because it
was not the basis of the holding in the
Court of Appeals for the Eighth District

of Texas. See El Paso Times, Inc., v.

Kerr, 706 S.W. 2d 797, 798(Tex.App. - El
Paso 1986, writ ref'd n.r.e.) (appellant's
points of error regarding whether the
article was a constitutionally protected
expression of opinion were "determinative
of this appeal"). The Court of Appeals
based its decision only on the
constitutional distinction between a
Statement of fact and a statement of
opinion. Thus, Respondent's newly raised
question as to actual malice is improper
for consideration by this court.
Petitioner recognizes that in order
for the article to be actionable, the

Respondent must have acted with actual

malice in making the cheating accusation,
such that the accusation was made with
knowledge of its falsity or was made in

reckless disregard of its truth or

falsity. New York Times Co., v. Sullivan,
376 U.S. 254, G4 &.Ct. 710, 11 L.A. 20
686 (1964). Many pieces of evidence of
actual malice, however, were presented
to the jury at the trial court level which
cumulatively joined together to meet the
clear and convincing burden of proof.
Other courts have recognized that
cumulative evidence can be clear and
convincing proof of actual malice. See

Curtis Publishing Co. v. Butts, 388 U.S.

130, 157-59, 87 S.Ct. 1975, 1992-93, 18
L.Ed. 2d 1094, rehearing denied, 389 U.S.

889 (1967) (finding of actual malice
affirmed where evidence showed story was
not "hot news", story should have been
investigated but was not, and independent

Support for story was not gained);

Goldwater v. Ginzburg, 414 F. 2d 324,

339-40, cert. denied, 396 U.S. 1049, 90

S.Ct. 701, 24 L.Ed. 2d 695, rehearing

denied, 397 U.S. 978 (197G) (2d cir. 1979)
(jury finding of actual malice affirmed
where evidence showed story was not "hot
news", defendants were aware of possible
harm, and only sketchy investigation was
done). A brief summary of some of the
evidence presented to the jury in the
current case shows that the jury's finding
of actual malice was supported by clear
and convincing evidence.

For example, Ron Dusek the newspaper
reporter for the article in question,
testifed that he intended the readers to
believe that Petitioner (Kerr had
conducted himself unethically during the
trial, but that he had no evidence that
Kerr had cheated with regard to the
handling of the code name list in the de

la Torre trial. (S.F. 68, 118-120). The

Appellate Court which heard this case also
recognized that "[Lals far as the record
before us in concerned, there is no
evidence that Kerr either lied or

cheated." El Paso Times, ine., V. Kerr,

706 S.W. 2d at 799. Petitioner urges this
court to consider that the jury heard
Dusek's testimony and had the opportunity
to watch his mannerisms. Proof that Dusek
accused Kerr of cheating when Dusek knew
it was false depended to some extent "on
the credibility of the witness[{], which
can best be determined by the trier of
facts after observation of the demeanor of
the witness{] during direct and cross

examination." Morrison v. Nissan Motor

Co., 601 F. 2d 139, 141 (4th cir. 1979).
Respondent told this court that Dusek
believed everything he printed was true.
(Brief in Opposition, p.12-16). However,
this Honorable Court has recognized that:

"(t]he defendant in a defamation

i

action ... cannot... automatically
insure a favorable verdict by
testifing that he published with the
belief that the statements were
true. The finder of fact must
determine whether the publication was

indeed may in good faith." St. Amant

v. Thompson, 390 U.S. 727, 732, 88

S.Ct. 1323, 20 L.Ed. 2d 262 (1968).
The evidence also established that
El Paso Times, iInc., published the
article with reckless disregard for its
truth. It was established for the jury
that there were no time constraints to
publish this article, since it was not a
"hot news" item. The jury could fairly
consider the absence of time pressure when
deciding on the presence of actual

malice. See Carson v. Allied News Co.,

[ae fs we 200, 211 (Tth cir. 1976);

Vandenburg v. Newsweek, Inc., 507 F. ed

1024, 1026 (5th cir. 1975) ("when the

story is not hot news ee the
investigation must be more thorough").

Ed Foster, a former editor for the
El Paso Times , denied having edited the
article even though Dusek testified that
the article was placed on Foster's desk
for his review. (S-F. 336). Foster
testified that he was unaware of anyone
inquiring into the accuracy of the
article, although the charges in the
article were so startling and obviously
damaging that he would have initiated a
serious inquiry before publication.
(S.FP. 316, 325).

In addition, the article as a whole
evidences that it was a hatchet job on the
law enforcement agencies discussed, which
is a factor to be considered when
determining if the publication was a

knowing and reckless falsehood. See C.K.

Curtis Publishing Co. v. Butts, 388 U.S.

at 169 (defendant had adopted a program of

nt

"sophisicated muckraking designed to
provoke people, and make them mad");

Goldwater v. Ginzberg, 414 F. 2d at 342

(evidence of ... motive and intent may

help establish actual malice); Cochran v.

Indianapolis Newspapers, Inc., 372 N.E. ed

1211, 1220 (Ind. 1978) (desire to get
plaintiff is relevant and is admissible as
evidence in determining whether defendant
possessed a state of mind highly condusive
to reckless disregard of falsity). The
Supreme Court of West Virginia agreed with
such analysis when it stated:
"(p]Jersonal motives on the part of a
newspaper, or participation of a
newspaper in a plan or scheme _ to
injure is evidence of recklessness
and willful disregard for truth which
may be considered along with other
evidence on the question of actual

malice." Sprouse Vv. Clay

Communications, Ine., 211 S.E. edd

674, 688 (W. Va. 1975), cert. denied,

423 U.S. 882, 96 S3.0e. 3605, a6 1. eo,

2d 107, rehearing denied, 423 U.S.

991 (1975).

This is only a partial list of the
evidence which was presented to the jury
at the trial court level on the issue of
actual malice. When each of these pieces
are added together, Petitioner clearly met
his burden of showing by clear’ and
convincing evidence that Respondent
published the cheating accusation knowing
that it was false or in reckless disregard
of its truth or faleicy, Thus, no
constitutional protections are available.

II.

The Supreme Court Does Not Have

Jurisdiction To Rule On Texas Law In This

Petition For Writ of Certiorari.

The jurisdiction of the Supreme Court

to review a judgment by the highest court

of a state by writ of certiorari is

defined in 28 U.S.C.A. §1257 (3) (West
1984). The statute clearly states that
the Supreme Court's jurisdiction is
limited to questions regarding the "the
validity of a treaty or statute of the
United States ... or where the validity of
a state statute is drawn in question on
the ground of its being repugnant to the
Constitution". a8. 8.3.6.4. $1257 (3)
(West 1984).

Respondent's request for the court to
consider Texas law on the Petition for
Writ of Certiorari is inappropriate. This
court has recognized that it does not have
the jurisdiction to evaluate a state
court's interpretation of state law. See

International Longshoremen's Assoc.,

Auk ole = Sak sVe Ve Davis, pets 0.5. a 106

S.Ct. 1904, 1910, 90 L.Ed. 2d 389 (1986)
(Supreme Court has "no authority to review
state determinations of purely state

law"); Chandler v. Florida, 449 U.S. 560,

=jl-

569, 101 S.Ct. 802, 807, 66 L.Ed. 2d 740
(1981) ("in reviewing a_ state-court
judgment, [the Supreme Court is] confined
to evaluating it in relation to the
Federal Constitution").

Regardless of the foregoing,»
Petitioner asserts that Texas law does not
require judgment for Respondent.
Petitioner would refer this court to the
Brief for Appellee which Petitioner filed
in the Court of Appeals for the Eighth
District of Texas. The argument and
authorities under Appellee's Reply
Point No. 3 clearly state that there was
factually sufficient evidence of
compensable mental anguish and injury to
Kerr's reputation. (Brief for Appellee,
p.35-48).

The only proper federal question
before this court is whether a newspaper
article statement which falsely and

maliciously accused Petitioner, James

-12-

W. Kerr, JP es of cheating in the
prosection of a drug smuggling case was an
actionable statement of fact or was a
protected expression of opinion. Neither
of the new matters which Respondent raised
in his Reply Brief were the basis of the
decision made by the Court of Appeals for
the Eighth District of Texas. They are
inappropriate for consideration by this
court. The trial court record establishes
actual malice by clear and convincing
evidence anyway. Furthermore,
Respondent's argument regarding Texas law

is clearly beyond the jurisdiction’ of the
Supreme Court.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, as
well as those which have been urged in the
Petition, Petitioner respectfully prays
that this Petition for Writ of Certiorari
should be granted to review the Judgment

and Opinion of the Court of Appeals for

-13-

Jerr son
600 /lr rPPMirst Fin. Ctr. N.W.
./ BOR” BHO02

Samy Antonio, Texas 7820
Counsel of Record

Carrie K. Catalani

ava T os D4 . AI old
4V interfrirst rin. ver « NW.
i.

rr ry a
We DOX BHOO2

‘ 4 2 ‘TT -~ wrTrQnn
wan Antonio, ‘lexas 520

ru O

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0144%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
