# Opposition Brief — Letterman Bros. Energy Program 1980-2 v. BancTexas Dallas, N. A.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0110%3A2

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 480 U.S. 918

## Text

~

86-1154

Supreme Court, U.S.
riLleise

FEB 11 1987

Supreme Court
of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

LETTERMAN BROTHERS ENERGY PROGRAMS

1980-2, et. al.,
Petitioners,
v.
BANCTEXAS DALLAS, N.A.,
Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

WINSTEAD, MCGUIRE,
SECHREST & MINICK
910 Travis Street
Suite 1410
Houston, Texas 77002-5895
(713) 655-0392

W. Tep MINICK*

IvAN M. Scott, JR

Attorneys for Respondent

BancTexas Dallas, N.A.

*Counsel of Record

SOUTHWESTERN LAW PRESS DALLAS, TEXAS 75208

‘
; ~ >
‘
She.
;
‘ _
i
a, >
y
:
. ' ‘
7 oe
ce Seat <9
* “ sd G
= ; “, a =
:
«
— ‘ oe
* | eee 4
; ae ‘ :
’ . y $
3 ; &. x
,
t \
S s
j
a 3 ;
> } hi ‘
§ =
”
* 6 i %
~. 7
: ‘ ;
- ~ ithe / >)
t j * ,
ad N
: Sees ee ;
$ :; * :
§ : i ;
‘ ; >
: ;
d J
/ =~ he ~ Pie ;
. 7 ”
‘
*

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether a plaintiff who relied on the out-of-pocket mea-
sure of damages in the trial court but failed to introduce
any evidence from which damages could be determined
under that measure should be allowed to recover under the
recission measure of damages.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

PETITIONERS:

Letterman Brothers Energy Program 1980-2,
a California limited partnership.

Letterman Brothers Energy Program 1980-5,
a California limited partnership.

Letterman Brothers Energy Program 19804,
a California limited partnership.

Letterman Brothers Energy Program 1980-10,
a California limited partnership.

Letterman Brothers Energy Program 1981-1,
a California limited partnership.

Letterman Brothers Energy Program 1981-3,
a California limited partnership.

Letterman Brothers Energy Program 1981-5,
a California limited partnership.

Letterman Brothers Energy Program 19814,
a California limited partnership.

Letterman Brothers Energy Program 1981-7,
a California limited partnership.

Letterman Brothers Energy Program 1981-8,
a California limited partnership.

Letterman Brothers Energy Program 1981-9,
a California limited partnership.

RESPONDENT:

BancTexas Dallas, N.A., formerly known as
National Bank of Commerce of Dallas, Texas, a
National Banking Association

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
TD ESSERE Ee PTO SRE ee ANS i
Pertien Go Te FE. 5 ok oc cece ii
a a sascmnteseeaennpeieieciiniananii iil
II a iaicilicicitieictanintidtnnind aeaiaabns iv, V
Statutory Provisions Involved ...................22200.....22200000-++- vi
SI i svistecacnmnncnsnsansonbatentns 1
Reasons for Denying the Writ ...................000...2222020...--- 5-14

1. There are no Special or
Important Reasons Calling for
an Exercise of this Court’s
gp df ae 5

2. Petitioners Could Have
Presented Evidence on Damages

Under the Out-of-Pocket
Measure but Failed to do so. ..........-....---.--. eee 5-9
2. There is no Conflict Among
EE EA ee Oe SEP 10-14
SEE a RR 8. SY ES TR SE 14-15
APPENDIX

Excerpt of the Transcript of the Trial ...................0002.... A-l

iv

Table of Authorities
Cases Page
Chasins v. Smith, Barney & Co., Inc., 438 F.2d
Sr Ce is SI yo bv ny be eda ediecnss dausa nn oeess. 6, 10
Esplin v. Hirschi, 402 F.2d 94, 104 (10th Cir.
1968), cert. denied, 394 U.S. 928 (1969) .............. 11

Garnatz v. Stifel, Nicolaus & Co., Inc., 559 F.2d
1357 (8th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S.
ae il avg oe RES 5 Fe cA GTR R ae teaw iA Ad ek O03 11

Harris v. American Investment Co., 523 F.2d 220,
226 (8th Cir. 1975), cert. denied,
Se SF le Ny oa ok» edie dekbienceladesnssa 14

Herzfeld v. Laventhol, Krekstein, Horwath &
Horwath, 378 F. Supp 112, 129 (S.D.N.Y.
1974), modified, 540 F.2d 27 (2d Cir. 1976)........... 13

Huddleston v. Herman & MacLean, 640 F.2d 534,
554 (5th Cir. 1981), aff'd in part and rev'd
and remanded on other grounds, 459 U.S. 375,
on remand, 705 F.2d 775 (5th Cir. 1983)............. 12

In re Letterman Brothers Energy Securities
Litigation, 799 F.2d 967, 972 (5th Cir. 1986) ... 7, 10,

Randall v. Loftsgaarden, 478 U‘S. ......, 106 S.Ct.

Pe SE Shs bank k oo aeek danse ta eaaaersessien 6-7
Rondea v. Mosinee Paper Corp., 422 U.S. 49,
- CRI 5. fasxccanestetvssteee hesweieecnte aries 6
Statutes
S12 of the 1908 Act... 16 UBL. O771 wu. oo cae aes 12
OD Rea io oss osikbaea oes ss 14

eS og } . + ei enegeMer Teen iim Se 5

Vv

Table of Authorities - (Continued)

Other Authorities Page

Note, The Measure of Damages in Rule 10b-5 Cases
Involving Actively Traded Securities,
OE I, ee I OE one gad pavccscccccscccenss 11

Thompson, The Measure of Recovery Under
Rule 10b-5: A Restitution Alternative to Tort
Damages, 37 Vand. L. Rev. 349 (1984) ............... g

vi

STATURY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

BancTexas disagrees that the statutory provisions set
forth by Petitioners are involved in this Petition. The only
statutory provision involved is the portion of section 28(a)
of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 which deals with
damages as follows:

[N]o person permitted to maintain a suit for damages
under the provisions of this chapter shall recover,
through satisfaction of judgment in one or more
actions, a total amount in excess of his actual dam-
ages on account of the act complained of.

15 U.S.C. §78bb(a).

In The

Supreme Court
of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

LETTERMAN BROTHERS ENERGY PROGRAMS

1980-2, et. al.,
Petitioners,
v.

BANCTEXAS DALLAS, N.A.,
Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO
PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Much of Petitioners’ Statement of the Case is pure
argument unrelated to the issue of law presented.
Moreover, Petitioners misstate and mischaracterize the
evidence in a blatant attempt to bias the Court.

The sole question presented by Petitioners involves the
applicable meaure of damages under Section 10(b) of the
Securities Exchange Act of 1934 and Rule 10b-5 there
under. Contrary to the implications of Petitioners, there
has been no finding of fraud under such act. Rather, at the

conclusion of the Petitioners’ evidence, the trial court
granted BancTexas’ Motion for Directed Verdict because
Petitioners had failed to prove damages. Significantly, at
trial, Petitioners did not seek the application of any
measure of damages other than the “‘out-of-pocket”’
measure. In fact, Petitioners argued that their proof
qualified under that measure.!

Petitioners seek to make it appear that the Letterman
Brothers, who syndicated the eleven petitioning partner-
ships, were inexperienced in oil and gas and relied entirely
upon BancTexas. This is inaccurate. Bryce and Scott Let-
terman were stockbrokers who commenced oil and gas ac-
tivities in 1978. They thoroughly checked out the operators
of their oil and gas programs prior to deciding to use them.

Before BancTexas had ever heard of Letterman Broth-
ers, Bryce Letterman had met with Barry Battelstein; had
visited Wells-Battelstein’s offices in Houston; had met all
their key people; had visited Wells-Battelstein’s offices,
machine shops, truck yards, leases in Kansas; had talked
to Wells-Battelstein’s suppliers, contractors, and geolo-
gists, had requested and received a financial statement;
and had requested and received a drilling history.

Letterman had contacted the Bank in Ohio that had
financed some of his prior programs about financing
investments with Wells-Battelstein and was told that they
would not finance these programs. He then went to Banc-
Texas. On May 1, 1980, Letterman met with Terry Stuart
of BancTexas. Bryce Letterman testified that Stuart told
him (1) Wells-Battelstein was one of the Bank’s most suc-
cessful customers, (2) he thought Wells-Battelstein was

! Only post trial have Petitioners sought application of some other
measure. In summary, Petitioners are not asking this Court to correct
or modify the application of law, but to correct Petitioners’ failure of
proof.

3

a very high integrity company, (3) the bank thought a lot
of them as a customer, and (4) they were very credit-
worthy. Stuart also told him Wells-Battelstein had a
$1,000,000 line of credit that would soon be increased to
$2,500,000. These statements form the basis of Petitioners’
claims that BancTexas defrauded the partnerships
(formed over the next eighteen months) to invest in the
Kansas mineral leases.

Before entering into any of the ventures, Letterman
hired independent petroleum geologists to review the geo-
logical information provided by Wells-Battelstein. This
geologist was retained by each partnership to determine
whether it should invest in the prospect. Letterman had
attorneys investigate Wells-Battelstein to insure that the
information contained in the offering circular, which
would be presented to the State of California and to poten-
tial investors, was accurate.

In their attempt to gloss over their failure of proof, Peti-
tioners ignore many relevant facts in their arguments that
the oil and gas leases purchased by them were worthless.
Petitioners ignore the fact that actual reserves were far
less than hoped for. Petitioners ignore the fact that oil and
gas prices, rather than going up to the anticipated $60.00
per barrel, went down. Petitioners also characterize their
position as being “locked into contractual liabilities under
the operating agreements” when, in fact, Petitioners had
the right and ability to remove Wells-Battelstein as the
operator on the leases. Most importantly, Petitioners
ignore the fact that some of the programs actually gener-
ated profits.

The truly relevant facts in this case can be briefly sum-
marized. Letterman Brothers became interested in form-

ee nn anes en ee

ing oil and gas development partnerships involving Wells-

Battelstein. Wells-Battelstein was a customer of Banc-

Texas. Bryce Letterman came to BancTexas seeking loans

to enable him to put together the programs he desired to

promote and sell after other banks had decided not to

finance these programs. Letterman Brothers were paid

substantial fees by the programs. All these programs were

very highly leveraged. Interest rates went up consid- P)
erably, very little oil and gas was found, and oil prices

dropped. As a result, Petitioners were unable to pay their .
debt to BancTexas. The investors looked to Letterman 7
Brothers and several suits were filed against them. Wells-

Battelstein went bankrupt. By agreeing to waive the stat-

ute of limitations, Letterman Brothers were able to get the

investors to halt prosecution of their suits while they

pursued this suit on behalf of all investors against Banc-

Texas. Only then did the Energy Programs institute suit

against BancTexas.

BancTexas asserted numerous grounds in support of its
Motion for Directed Verdict on the 10b-5 claim. As stated
by the District Court, the measure of damages was “just
one of the problems that we have on the 10b-5 claim.” A-10
Appendix. However, the District Court did not reach the
other issues after concluding that there was no evidence
on the proper measure of damages. Before this Court, Peti- |
tioners omit the first two pages of the Transcript concern-
ing the measure of damages in which Petitioners’ counsel
agreed that the out-of-pocket measure is appropriate. Peti-
tioners also took the liberty of presenting the end of the
argument as the first two pages in their Appendix D. A
corrected excerpt of the Transcript beginning on page 2038
in the order that it actually occurred is included as Appen-
dix A.

iittala

5

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

1. THERE ARE NO SPECIAL OR IMPORTANT
REASONS CALLING FOR AN EXERCISE OF
THIS COURT’S POWER OF SUPERVISION.

Certiorari lies only where there are special and impor-
tant reasons. Sup. Ct. R. 17.1, 28 U.S.C. There are none in
this case. There is no conflict between decisions of the
courts of appeals on the proper measure of damages appli-
cable to this case. The Fifth Circuit has not so far departed
from the accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings
or sanctioned such a departure by the district court. The
Fifth Circuit did not decide an important question of fed-
eral law which has not been, but should be, settled by this
Court. Finally, the Fifth Circuit did not decide a federal
question in a way in conflict with applicable decisions of
this Court. Id.

2. PETITIONERS COULD HAVE PRESENTED
EVIDENCE ON DAMAGES UNDER THE
OUT-OF-POCKET MEASURE BUT FAILED
TO DO SO.

Petitioners elected to rely upon the out-of-pocket measure
of damages in the district court.2, However, Petitioners
failed to present evidence of the fair market value of the
alleged securities on any relevant date.? This is true
whether the traditional out-of-pocket measure is used or

2 Appendix A-1. Mr. Wineberg: “Yes, Your Honor; and what we were
submitting is not an argument over the fact that we have the out of
pocket damages as being our test.”

3 District Court Opinion, Petitioner’s Appendix B-15.

OEE

6

the modified out-of-pocket measure as applied in Chasins
v. Smith Barney & Co., Inc., 438 F.2d 1167 (2d Cir. 1970) is
used.‘ Petitioners had an adequate opportunity to present
evidence at trial on the proper measure of damages. Dis-
trict Court Opinion, Petitioner’s Appendix B-16. Petition-
er’s failure to present evidence on the proper measure of
damages did not result from a technical error or any con-
duct of BancTexas but rather from Petitioners’ own deci-
sion. Jd. Finding themselves precluded from recovery
because of their failure to prevent evidence on damages,
Petitioners now seek to get this Court to sanction utiliza-
tion of the rescission measure of damages in the case at
bar if not all cases. The thrust of Petitioners’ argument is
that the “securities laws . .. must be construed flexibly to
effectuate their remedial purposes . .. and the courts must
adjust the remedies so as to grant the necessary relief
where federally secured rights are invaded.”® This invita-
tion should be declined. The fact that a party is pursuing a
cause of action which has been generally recognized to
serve the public interest provides no basis for concluding
that it is relieved of showing the usual prerequisites to
recovery. Rondea v. Mosinee Paper Corp., 422 U.S. 49, 64-
65 (1975).

Relying on this Court’s recent statement that “(t]he
issue whether and under what circumstances .. . a rescis-
sionary measure of damages is available under §10(b) is
‘an unsettled one,” Petitioners argue that this case presents
an excellent opportunity to address that issue. See Randall

* See Id. and discussion of Chasins, infra.

5 Petition at 14. It should be noted that there are serious questions as to
both whether any federally secured rights were involved or invaded.

v. Loftsgaarden, 478 U.S. _..... 106 S.Ct. 3143, 3152 (1986)).
There is nothing unusual about this case which warrants
a deviation from the generally accepted out-of-pocket mea-

sure which was recognized in Randall v. Loftsgaarden. Id.
at 3153.

Petitioners inaccuratley argue that utilization of the out-
of-pocket measure of damages leaves them with no
remedy. BancTexas’ Motion for Directed Verdict was
granted because Petitioners merely failed to introduce any
evidence from which such damages could be determined.
This was either an oversight or a consciuos decision on
Petitioners’ part. It does not call for an expansion or liber-

alization of the appropriate measure of damages to be app-
lied in Rule 10b-5 cases.

The Fifth Circuit, recognizing that a rescissional meas-
ure of damages is applicable in some cases, properly held
that BancTexas was not within the category of parties
against whom rescissional damages may be awarded. In
re Letterman Brothers Energy Securities Litigation, 799
F.2d 967, 972 (5th Cir. 1986). As recognized by the Fifth
Circuit, to hold BancTexas liable under a rescissional
measure of damages would place on it the entire burden of
any decline in value of the security even though only a
portion of the decline may have been caused by the con-
duct complained of. Id. at 972-73.

Petitioners misquote the Fifth Circuit by saying that the
decision below recognized that the evil was the induce-
ment, not the price. In stating that Petitioners might have
pursued a claim for consequential damages, but failed to
present such evidence, the Fifth Circuit actually said that

8

“any misrepresentation BancTexas might have made
went not to the value of the leases and equipment acquired
but to the decision to choose Wells-Battelstein as the oper-
ator.” Id. at 973 n. 5. Thus, the Court was not saying that
BancTexas induced the investments. It should also be
noted that Petitioners could have replaced Wells-
Battelstein as the operator. However, they would have suf-
fered the same fate because the leases simply proved to
have inadequate reserves to be profitable in a period of
high interest rates with low oil prices.®

Petitioners’ argument that if what they received must be
valued at the date of the contract then it must be con-
cluded that they received exactly what they paid for and
thus suffered no damages under the out-of-pocket measure
is simply wrong. Petitioners were not precluded from re-
covering because no damages could be shown under the
out-of-pocket measure but rather because Petitioners failed
to present any evidence thereon. Petitioners did receive
tangible property and rights which had value. Petitioners
merely failed to present evidence of the value of what they
received absent Wells-Battelstein as th operator and
choose to seek recovery of all their losses including those
caused by the economy and mother nature. Petitioners cite
no authority which would sanction such a result but
rather ask this Court to create such authority and allow all
10b-5 claimants to elect this measure of damages.

Petitioners cite Thompson, The Measure of Recovery
Under Rule 10b-5: A Restitution Alternative to Tort Dam-

6 Mr. Wineberg himself argued that the leases would have been prof-
itable had oil prices gone up to the projected $60 per barrel price. Ap-
pendix A-7.

ages, 37 Vand. L. Rev. 349, 351 (1984)-as authority that
“recent decisions evidence a trend toward the use of the
rescissionary measure.” Pet. at. 15. Professor Thompson

actually said

Recent decisions in securities cases evidence a trend
toward a result that combines elements of both out of
pocket and rescission theories. Courts increasingly
are awarding ... the difference between the value of
what [plaintiff] gave up . . . and the value of what
[plaintiff] received, measured at a reasonable time
after discovery of the fraud.

Id. This is actually the modified out-of-pocket measure of
damages and Petitioners failed to offer any evidence on
the value of what they received “at any relevant date.”
District Court Opinion, Petitioners’ Appendix B-15.

Professor Thompson’s article on the Measure of Recov-
ery under Rule 10b-5 actually deals mostly with the differ-
ence between tort theories of recovery, out-of-pocket, and
unjust enrichment theories. Unjust enrichment in securi-
ties law is often called disgorgement. However, reviewing
the article and trying to apply each of the measures dis-
cussed illuminates the fact that Petitioners cannot recover
under any measure but rescission because there is no evi-
dence from which damages can be calculated. Petitioners
cannot recover under the out-of-pocket measure or the
modified out-of-pocket measure because there is no evi-
dence of the value of the interests purchased on any rele-
vant date. Petitioners cannot recover under an unjust
enrichment or disgorgement measure because there is no
evidence of any profits to BancTexas. In fact, BancTexas
lost millions of dollars.

10

3. THERE IS NO CONFLICT AMONG
THE CIRCUITS

Petitioners argue that any time the alleged misrepresen-
tation goes to the decision to invest rather than the price,
the rescissional measure of damages should be applicable.
Petitioners urge this Court to extend the applicability of
the rescissional measure to all cases.

There is no conflict between the decision below and the
cases relied upon by Petitioners. The Fifth Circuit
expressly recognized that the rescission measure could be
applied where there is privity or where the defendant owes
some fiduciary duty such as that owed by a broker to his
customer.’ In re Letterman Bros., 799 F.2d 967, 972 (5th
Cir. 1986). These conditions exist in the cases relied upon
by Petitioners. Further, the cases relied upon by Petition-
ers do not apply the rescission measure but rather apply
the modified out-of-pocket measure.

Petitioners rely principally upon Chasins v. Smith Bar-
ney & Co.,, Inc., 4388 F.2d 1167 (2d Cir. 1970) where the
defendant was a broker. Chasins did not apply a rescis-
sion measure of damages as advocated by Petitioners but
rather used the modified out-of-pocket measure. Under the
Chasins measure, a buyer recovers the fair value of the
consideration paid less the fair value of the security
within a reasonable time after the buyer discovered or
should have discovered the fraud. In Chasins, value was
determined by the price received when the Plaintiff sold
the securities before learning of the manipulative conduct.

? Petitioners attempt to confuse the issue by questioning when a bank
might be acting in a situation closely analogous to that of a broker. In
fact, the district court held that there was no fiduciary relationship
between Petitioners and BancTexas and this was affirmed by the
Fifth Circuit. In re Letterman Bros., 799 F.2d at 975.

11

Id. at 1173. Petitioners, however, have failed to provide
sufficient evidence of fair market value on any relevant
date. District Court Opinion, Petitioners Appendix B-15.

Garnatz v. Stifel, Nicolaus & Co., Inc., 559 F.2d 1357
(8th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 951 (1978) also does
not conflict with the decision in the case at bar. The
defendant in Garnatz was a broker. The Fifth Circuit
expressly recognized that the rescission measure could be
applied in such a case. Like Chasins, the Court in Garnatz
also recognized that the plaintiff must bear any decline in
value after actual or constructive knowledge of the alleged
conduct and applied the modified out-of-pocket measure.
Garnatz, 559 F.2d at 1361. There also was evidence of such
value, which is absent in the case at bar.

In Esplin v. Hirschi, 402 F.2d 94, 104 (10th Cir. 1968),
cert. denied, 394 U.S. 928 (1969) there was privity and the
court awarded recovery under the modified out-of-pocket
measure. There was evidence and a jury finding of this
value. Id.

Contrary to the Petitioners’ position that only the Fifth
Circuit requires privity or a fiduciary relationship before
applying the rescissional measure of damages, “[e]very
case awarding defrauded buyers a rescission measure of
damages displays a distinctive element . . . [they] are
accented either by privity or by the special duty owed by
brokers to their customers.” Note, The Measure of Dam-
ages in Rule 106-5 Cases Involving Actively Traded Secu-
rities, 26 Stan. L. Rev. 371, 376-77 (1974). Nor are these
requirements irrational and inappropriate as suggested
by Petitioners. If the relationship limits are broadly ex-
panded as requested by Petitioners, rescissionary dam-

12

ages “should he deemed inappropriate” unless “a work-
able meens of distinguishing risks and losses is developed
and applied. ...” Id. at 377. Petitioners wholly failed to
provide any evidence to distinguish the risks and losses
hcping tc recover every dollar invested even though much,
if not ail, of their losses were due to economic and natural
forces which risks they assumed. Further, the equitable
principals underlying utilization of the rescission or unjust
enrichment measures should not be applied where the
defendant was not unjustly enriched nor more culpable
than merely negligent. Jd. at 385. While Petitioners try
mightily to make the Court feel that BancTexas is guilty
of fraudulent conduct, that issue never reached the jury.

There are patent difficulties inherent in the application
of the rescissional measure to transactions between pur-
chasers and parties who were not sellers. Huddleston v.
Herman & MacLean, 640 F.2d 534, 554 (5th Cir. 1981), aff'd
in part and rev'd and remanded on other grounds, 459 US.
375, on remand, 705 F.2d 775 (5th Cir. 1983). Even under
§12 of the 1933 Act, 15 U.S.C. §771, which expressly pro-
vides a rescissional measure of damages, such recovery is
limited to situations where the plaintiff purchased from
the defendant. See Id. A defendant who was not the seller
is unable to return the price paid because he did not receive
it and cannot rescind a transaction to which he was not a
party. Huddletson, supra at 555. More importantly, appli-
cation of a rescissional measure in such a case places upon
the defendant the burden of any decline in value including
those resulting from factors unrelated to the alleged
wrong. /d. Under these circumstances, a rescissional mea-
sure is unjust because it compensates a plaintiff for the

13

risks which he assumed by entering the market. Jd. These
losses bear no relationship to the benefits derived by the
defendant nor to the blameworthiness of the alleged con-
duct. Id.

Petitioners ask this Court to adopt a theory expressly
rejected by Huddleston that “but for” the alieged actions of
BancTexas they would not have purchased and hence
would have suffered no losses. Jd. In this case, the proper
measure of damages to reflect the loss proximately caused
by the alleged misconduct of BancTexas is the out-of-
pocket measure. This would merely require valuing the
assets and rights purchased with an operator other than
Wells-Battelstein. If this in fact is zero as Petitioners state,
then Petitioners have established that their losses are due
to economic changes and the fact that the oil reserves
proved to be less than hoped for, all of which are risks
inherent in speculating in the oil and gas business.

Petitioners cite Herzfeld v. Laventhol, Krekstein, Hor-
wath & Horwath, 378 F. Supp. 112, 129 (S.D.N.Y. 1974),
modified, 540 F.2d 27 (2d Cir. 1976) for the proposition that
the securities can be valued as of the time of trial. The
Court in Herzfeld did not make such a holding. Rather, the
court, on its own motion, reduced the damages by the
value of the securities. Jd. Defendant had attacked only
the award of interest and thus no issue was presented or
discussed as to the proper date on which value should be
fixed. In this same discussion, Petitioners twist the deci-
sion in the case at bar by saying that the Fifth Circuit has
precluded them from recovering because there is no privity
or fiduciary duty. Petitioners’ inability to recover results

14

from their own failure to introduce sufficient evidence of
the value of the assets and rights received as of any rele-
vant date.

Harris v. American Investment Co., 523 F.2d 220, 226
(8th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 1054 (1976) is a sum-
mary judgment case and does not address the issue of
when the recissionary measure of damages is applicable.
In fact, Harris merely discusses dates that might be used
for determining value under the out-of-pocket measure and
concludes that it may be proper to determine value as of
the date the public discovers the fraud because only then
would the market price of the stock reflect the true value
absent the misrepresentations. Jd. at 226. This is merely
looking at the markef price of a stock on a subsequent date
as evidence of its true value on the date the plaintiff
purchased.

Acceptance of Petitioners’ arguments would extend the
rescissiona! measure of damages to all cases. It is difficult
to imagine a case when a Plaintiff could not argue that but
for the fraudulent conduct he would not have purchased.
Such an expansion is unwarranted.

CONCLUSION

The Securities Exchange Act of 1934 provides that “no
person... shall recover... a total amount in excess of his
actual damages on account of the act complained of.” 15
U.S.C. §78bb(a) (emphasis added). Petitioners ask this
Court to ignore this requirement of causation and estab-
lish a standard which will allow recovery from a non seller
of all amounts spent. Petitioners ask this Court to estab-

15

lish this liberal standard so that they may avoid the effect
of their own failure to offer evidence on the value of the
property purchased by them as of any relevant date so
that damages could be determined under the out-of-pocket
measure upon which they relied. There are no special or
important reasons calling for review on writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

WINSTEAD, McGuIRE,
SECHREST & MINICK
910 Travis Street
Suite 1410
Houston, Texas 77002-5895

(713) 655-0392

Wl Pada) de.
W. TED MINICK
IvAN M. Scott, JR

Attorneys for Respondent
BancTexas Dallas, N.A.

Dated: February 11, 1987

16

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on this day of February, 1987,
three copies of the Brief in Opposition to Petition for Writ
of Certiorari were mailed, postage prepaid, to William A.
Wineberg, Broad, Schulz, Larson & Wineberg, One Cali-
fornia Street, 14th Floor, San Francisco, California 94111,
counsel for Petitioners; J. Albert Kroemer, Esq., Matthews
and Kroemer, One Main Place, Suite 2000, Dallas, Texas
75202-3977; Richard A. Sayles, Esq., Carrington, Coleman,
Sloman & Blumenthal, 110 East Davis Street, McKinney,
Texas 75069. I further certify that all parties required to be
served have been served.

W. Tep MINICK
IvAN M. Scott, Jr

WINSTEAD, McGuIRE,
SECHREST & MINICK
910 Travis Street
Suite 1410
Houston, Texas 77002-5895

(713) 655-0392
Counsel for Respondent

BEST AVAL

ABLE COPY

In The
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS
Dallas Division

In Re: ( M.D.L. No. 560
(

LETTERMAN BROTHERS ( CA3-82-1032-D

ENERGY PROGRAM ( (CA3-83-1051-D

SECURITIES LITIGATION ( CA3-83-2098-D
Dallas, Texas
March 29, 1984

9:00 a.m.

. Excerpt of the Transcript of tne Trial
~ Before Phe Honorable Robert M. Hill and a Jury
(page 2038 line 5 through page 2048 Jine 18)

THE COURT: Okey. Mr. Wineberg, I think the thing
we need to address first is the measure of damages. That
has been raised as a most serious ground, I would assume,
and that would apply to your 10b-5 claims or your Act
claims, and also it would probably apply to the Texas
Security Act, because it’s a mirror image of the 12 b, Sec-
tion 12 b, rulings, the 10b-5.

He has got this — I assume you read the Huddleston
case. The Fifth Circuit says — The Huddleston case says
that the measure of damages in a 10b-5 case is the, quote,
out of pocket measure, end quote, and that’t the difference
between the price paid and the real value of the security. In
other words, the fair market value and the misrepresenta-
tions and the critical language, I guess, is, quote, at the
time of the initial purchase by the defrauded buyer, end
quote.

MR. WINEBERG: Yes, Your Honor; and what we

A-2

were submitting is ne# an argument over the fact that we
hae out the pocket csseuges as being our test.

THE COURT: Does your evidence —

MR. WINEBERG: The question is how we measure it,
as was recognized by the Court in the Austin Lovegar
decision, which is Eighth Circuit. But one of the leading
cases in this area says the measure is not a talisman but a
function of the court to fashion the remedy best suited to
the harm. You have to look at what type of securities are
being purchased.

THE COURT: Well, these are oil and gas.

MR. WINEBERG: These are oil and gas interests,
which is very different than if you were buying General
Motor stock on the New York Stock Exchange.

THE COURT: Let me stop you right there. The Fifth
Circuit in Huddleston footnotes cites some cases that sup-
port their definition of out of pocket expenses, and one of
those cases, the North Texas — North, dash, Texas —
Agency versus Jones, which is an oil and gas undivided
interest purchase in an oil and gas investment.

I know about the case. I tried it ten years ago.

MR. WINEBERG: I didn’t get a chance to read it last
night, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Well, it’s an oil and gas case where
plaintiff purchased an undivided interest in some oil and
gas prospects, and the measure of damages in the case
was that expressed in the Huddleston case, and they have
cited that as the support of that statement.

In addition, in this last case — there is Judge Higgen-

a |

A-3

botham’s case in 1984, February 27 — Siebel, S-i-e-b-e,
versus Scott, and he reaffirms that where he says where
all of the elements of a Section b violation are proven,
quote, the proper measure of damages to reflect the loss
proximately caused by the defendants’ defeat is the out of
pocket rule.

That rule is the traditional measure of damages in a
Rule 10b-5 action, and got the — He was quoting Huddles-
ton, and then he goes on to say, “It is the out of pocket rule
allows damages, quote, the difference between the price
received on the value of the securities at the time of the
fraudulent transaction, end quote, citing Alley, A-]-l-e-y,
versus Miramom, M-i-r-a-m-o-m, another Fifth Circuit
case, 1980.

So, it’s pretty well established in this Circuit — I’m not
saying what the Eighth Circuit would do, but in this Cir-
cuit this is the test.

MR. WINEBERG: And we feel and would be happy to
go to the jury on that question based on the truth that we
have.

THE COURT: What evidence do we have, then, as to
the value as represented and the value had the representa-
tions not been made?

MR. WINEBERG: There is evidence in the record.
They have the evidence of what was paid, what was paid
on each of the programs. We also have the evidence in the
record in which a juror can find from substantial evidence
that these were worthless properties that they purchased.
These properties were the sort where you were buying not
only an interest; you were buying liability. You entered into
an agreement in which you had to pay certain expenses.

A4

THE COURT: What evidence do we have that on the
date they acquired their investments and made their
investments with Wells-Battelstein that those properties
were valueless?

MR. WINEBERG: What we had — We weren’t buying
the properties, Your Honor. We were buying an oil and gas
— a fraction of an oil and gas drilling lease that was going
to be developed.

THE COURT: Now what evidence do we have that as
of that date that they were valueless, that they have had
no value? What evidence do we have of a their value and
the misrepresentations, alleged misrepresentations.

MR. WINEBERG: What you have to do, Your Honor
— And as the Court said in Falstaff Brewing Company,
you have to use the best evidence you have in order to
determine what that value was, and the best evidence —

THE COURT: Now that’s an anti-trust suit?

MR. WINEBERG: I believe it was, Your Honor. It also
applies in securities cases.

THE COURT: Well, now Huddleston applies to
securities.

MR. WINEBERG: But the question is the general
principal, Your Honor, what the amount, exact anticipated
amount, of the damages is difficult.

THE COURT: Why is it difficult?

_ MR. WINEBERG: Because they were worthless, Your
Honor. You can’s —

THE COURT: Who said they were worthless?

MR. WINEBERG: The facts prove they were worth-
less. They were bought and sold because of misrepresenta-

A5

tions and omissions.

THE COURT: Well, now how do we know that they
were worthless?

MR. WINEBERG: Because as the evidence shows, as
soon as the price of the package was established, they
were losers, and it resulted in liability to the partnership.

THE COURT: How do we have they were losing? We
have to look at subsequent events and transactions.

MR. WINEBERG: You have to do that in order to
prove they were worthless at the time.

THE COURT: What did we look at to prove they were
worthless? |

MR. WINEBERG: You look at the amount paid, you
look at the expenses that were charged, you look at the
cash flow, you look at the liability that is assumed for
operating expenses, and you find out that — as Mr. Let-
terman testified — they are incurring liabilities because
the costs are exceeding the income, and the purchaser is
constantly losing money because of the liability.

THE COURT: Well, it’s just a bad investment. That’s
what you are saying is that it was a bad inverstment.

MR. WINEBERG: It was a bad investment, but you
can’t get out of the fact that it was a fraudulent invest-
ment. You can’t forget the fact that there were
misrepresentations.

THE COURT: All right. Now what value did the
property have on the date it was acquired?

MR. WINEBERG: I submit —
THE COURT: What real value can it have?

A4

MR. WINEBERG:, I submit it had none, Your Honor,
and the record is clear that at the price — in the context of
these securities that was sold, you have property that has
to be developed. There has been testimony that these can
be economical, and Mr. Terry Stewart testified to it, and
Mr. MacFarlane testified to it, and they both said it on the
stand.

If you have a very small operation where you can drill
the well for five thousand dollars and have a iocal person
go out and keep you on your low operating expenses, these
leases at one or two barrels a day have value. We asked
them at the stand if they had any value, other than that
type of operation with a turnkey drilling price of twenty-
five thousand dollars a well, and with a big company with
per well charges, a Wells-Battelstein, was charging
expenses, and Mr. MacFarlane testified, no. In that case
he said it depended on the operating costs.

Mr. Stewart talked about them being marginal proper-
ties at best. We have evidence that there was a ten thou-
sand dollar profit built into the security on the turnkey
drilling that the bank knew about in advance. There was
also a profit built into the drilling company which was
affiliated with Wells-Battelstein that was built into it.

THE COURT: What are the properties worth today?

MR. WINEBERG: I would like to get them off our
back, Your Honor, because they are costing us money. We
are incurring — The Trustee claims that we owe them
money.

THE COURT: What evidence do we have as to the
value of those properties?

MR. WINEBERG: Scott testified that they were value-

A-7

less. Mr. Letterman got up and testified that they were
valueless, and that the Trustee was billing them, and they
had a negative liability, that they had to pay forty-five
thousand dollars for last year.

THE COURT: What would be the value on equipment
on the leases?

MR. WINEBERG: Negligible, Your Honor.

THE COURT: How do we know that? What effect did
the price of oil have on this operation? What effect do you
think the price of oil going down had on this operation?

MR. WINEBERG: I don’t think it had any. It couldn’t
have made it, even at thirty-five dollars or thirty-eight dol-
lars a barrel. We would have the exact same result at that
price. If oil had gone to fifty or sixty dollars, yes.

We have a situation — I did submit and was ruled on,
and they were not admitted. I submitted the bills that the
Trustee has submitted for operating expenses, which
admittedly we contest. They show over a million dollars in
expenses that the Trustees has submitted to us, which are
bills that the Trustee has submitted to Letterman Brothers
on these programs.

THE COURT: Do you want to make any comment?
Let me ask you, Mr. Kroemer. You are directly involved in
this too. Do you want to make any comment in addition?

MR. KROEMER: It seems to me, Judge, that it’s clear
from the entire testimony of the trial that but for the
misrepresentations by Wells-Battelsiein that the proper-
ties would have had no value, because they couldn’t have
sold them without those misrepresentations.

THE COURT: What value did they have?

A8

MR. KROEMER: In the hands of Wells-Battelstein, I
think, based on the testimony, in the hands of Wells-
Battelstein they didn’t have any value, because Wells-
Battelstein could not do what they have represented they
can do. All they could do is drill holes and create liabilities,
and so I think in the hands of Wells-Battelstein these
properties did not have any economic value, and the sub-
sequent events have proven that, Judge.

And so I agree with Mr. Wineberg. I think the jury can
look at that and reach a reasonable determination. I don’t
think it requires an expert to come in here and tell us in his
opinion, as to these misrepresentations, that those proper-
ties could have done X, because you would have to look at
it the way it was.

THE COURT: Well, can’t an expert look at an oil and
gas property and give us an opinion as to the value that
properties on a given date?

MR. WINEBERG: I think we have learned in this case
that’s very chancy, Your Honor. It depends upon operat-
ing expenses, and it depends upon a lot of things.

There is one other test I wold like to mention to Your
Honor, which is something that is directly in the record,
and that is that Mr. Letterman was asked the question in
the examination how much would he have paid for these
properties if he had had a full disclosure, but for the disclos-
ures that were made to him, if he had known, if they had
told him that there were doing a ten thousand dollar profit
on turnkey drilling, if they had told him this the operating
expenses would run sixty-five te a hundred percent on the
property, and his answer was, “I wouldn’t have paid a
penny.”

A-9

And that’s the context that you will also have to con-
sider as to what the damages were. It’s the whole package
that must be considered on the investment, Your Honor,
rather than just the lease.

THE COURT: Well, reading from Huddleston, the
court says neither the application or the out of pocket meas-
ure too complex to be applied in this case. The use of the
out of pocket rule will require that a true or real value, ice.,
the value the securities would have had absent the misre-
presentations, be established for each date on which
members of the class purchased during the ninety day
class period.

“Once those values are obtained, possibly with the help
of expert witnesses or a special master, then the determi-
nation of each individual plaintiff's recovery becomes a
simple matter of subtraction of the true value of the secur-
ity on the date of the plaintiff's purchase from the pur-
chase price paid by the plaintiff on that date.

“The issue of damages is thus an individual matter to be
determined separately from each member of the plaintiff
class.”

Now in this case we don’t have — Well, in a sense we do
have a class. We have a class of programs, and each pro-
gram would have to establish the true value of that prop-
erty on the date it acquired the property. There just isn’t
any evidence, none. It doesn’t exist in this case.

MR. WINEBERG: Your Honor, I would submit the
language as to the misrepresentation would be the value.

Do we have evidence that absent of the misrepresentation
there would be no value.

THE COURT: No; we don’t have evidence of that.

A-10

Now they may have mismanaged the property. They may
have spent too much money. I don’t know whether they
did or they didn’t. There is no proof. They spent X amount
of dollars, but we don’t know whether that’s reasonable or
unreasonable. We have no way of knowing. It might have
taken every dime they spent to develop these properties. It
was just a bad deal. They couldn’t be developed.

But that’s the kind of evidence that you need, somebocy
to come in here as an expert and give us an opinion. I don’t
think there is any evidence on the measure of damages.
That’s just one of the problems that we have on the 10b-5
claim.

I am not excluding the other issues, but that is the big
issue that we don’t have any evidence on. I have to grant
their Motion on 10b-5.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0110%3A2. Public record. Not legal advice.
