# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Feuerer v. Adamar of New Jersey, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0064%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 986

## Text

Supreme Court, US
Friis

86 - EQ OCT 7 1988
gaa JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR.
No. CLERK

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1986

IN THE MATTER OF:
LINDA FEUERER,
Petitioner
vs.
ADAMAR OF NEW JERSEY, INC.,

Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

GARY GREEN,
Counsel of Record

SIDKOFF, PINCUS & GREEN, P.C.
Attorneys for Petitioner
530 Walnut Street, Twelfth Floor
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19106
(215) 574-0600

ROBERT: A. DAVITCH,
On the Petition

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Did the Third Circuit err and disregard
the Supreme Court's, its own and other
Circuits’ standards for review by
affirming, in a judgment order, the
District Court's ruling that an admittedly
erroneous charge given to a jury on a
substantial and contested issue,
constituted harmless and not reversible
error?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

QUESTIONS Tihs eee we eesee6 ess i
TABLE OF i a iii
OPINIONS 0 a ee 2
CO 2
STATUTE CS 3
STATEMENT OF THE De <- 6eedhéeee 6 © 4
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT...... 16
I. The Third Circuit's Ruling
Affirming The District Court's
Order Denying Feuerer's Motion
For A New Trial Conflicts With
Decisions Of This Court, The
Third Circuit, Other Circuits
And The Highest Courts Of The
State Of New Jersey..cccccceeee 16
(jj. 22 et eee ce éaeéeoseococs 30
APPENDIX:
A -—- Memorandum and Final Order..... la

B - Judgment Deh cceeeeeeeonoesece 8a

C = Order Sur Petition for Panel
TREE LNG cc ccc ccc cece Poccceccotla

iii

TABLE -OF -AUTHORITES

PAGE
CASES

Ayoub v. Spencer, 550 F.2d 164
(3d Cir.), cert. denied, 432
0.8. 907, 97 S.Ct. £3954, $3
Le BG.2G 1079 (1977) ccccvcetssvccceclh Dg 20,
21,22

Bechtel v. Liberty National Bank,
946 FPiae L350 (3G Cifks EPPO) ccoaa 27

Brownlow v. Aman, 740 F.2d 1476
(10th mg oo [Peer rr es. ee ee ee Ye

Ciluffo v. Middlesex General
Hospital, 146 N.J. Super. 476
(A EY L977) ceecsaseeasacsccesestOsgat

Collins v. Metropolitan Life Ins.
Co., inc., (23 F.2G 1402 (1ith
Cina So Pree fe eT ees ee ee ee 27

Kirschner v. Broadhead, 671 F.2d
1034 (7th Cit. ch > ) Pee ee a7

Knutsen v. Brown, et al., 96 N.J.
Super. 229 CR oa Veh POT) vs cee wens iO, 27

Knutsen v. Brown, et al., 93 N.J.
Super. 522 (Law Div.15966) .ccecececlO,l7?

Malat v. Riddell, 383 U.S. 569,

86 S.Ct. 569, 86 S.Ct. 1030.

16 LeEd.2d 102 (1966) .cccccccceeee- 20,21,
22

McCandless v. United States,

230 UcBs 382, FSO Sethe FOSs
SO £L.88. 1205 (1956) si ccecscestcusaaeere
24,25

=

ian OFF | ote tiie Aa) 04 a ii ; aod ery ; ‘ ; : = / : ss | ? ae ly \s 5 in i “> 2 . eds
nth RS aie 8h B- = Aes ST RCRD ere een nt atti. hme On, Ce TA ee eel

iv

Nestier Corp. v. Menasha
Corporation - Lewisystems Div.,
739 F.2d 1576 (Fed.Cir. 1984)..... 27

Paluch v. Erie Lackawanna Railroad
Company, 387 F.2d 996.
(3d of SPOR! 65 bee td cee seaceos oeeee Lleive

Ratay v. Lincoln National Life
Insurance Company, 378 F.2d

209 (3d Cir.), cert. denied,

868 §.Ct. 472, 385 U.S. 973, 19

Be BG22G 865 (1967) ccccsccscccescsee 23

Sunkist Growers, Inc. v. Winckler
& Smith Citrus Products Co.,
STO Ucbe 29p BS Bete. L130,
S eB 2G 305 TEPSS) ccnccccccccvccsdO stiles
22

Ware v. Reed, 709 F.2d 345
(5th Cit. Bes? e660 60206686866 4640 27

Ybarra v. Burlington Northern, Inc.,
Ger V.a0 £67 (OER Ci£ks EPCS) ovccee 27

STATUTES

28 UeBeCs Section RoBi n6e 6eeiawns y
28 9.8.C- Section ie , | eee oe 3

Fed.R.Civ.Pro. > SEURETCERUTCTTT CTT Tt.

Fed.R.App.P. SOUR oc cccdvtecvesccevesnsee

No.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1986

IN THE MATTER OF:
LINDA FEUERER,
Petitioner
vs.
ADAMAR OF NEW JERSEY, INC.,

Respondent

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Linda Feuerer, respect-
fully prays that a writ of certiorari
issue to review the judgment order of the
United States Court of Appeals for the
Third Circuit entered in this proceeding
on June 1l, 1986, and the order of the
Third Circuit entered on July 9, 1986,
denying her petition for a panel
rehearing.

OPINIONS BELOW

Petitioner requests review of the
judgment of the United States Court of
Appeals for the Third Circuit, reproduced
in the appendix at 8a-l10a, affirming a
final order entered by the United States
District Court for the Eastern District of
Pennsylvania. The memorandum decision of
the United States District Court for the
Eastern District of Pennsylvania (McGlynn,
D.J.), has not been reported. ae
reprinted in the appendix at la-7a, infra.

On June 25, 1986, petitioner filed a
petition for a panel rehearing with the

Third Circuit pursuant to Fed.R.App.P.

40(a). On July 9, 1986, the Third Circuit
entered an order denying that petition. A
copy of that order is reproduced in the
appendix at lla, infra.

JURISDICTION

Invoking federal jurisdiction under

28 U.S.C. Section 1332, the petitioner

brought this action in the Eastern

District of Pennsylvania. On September
19, 1985, the District Court entered a
memorandum and final order denying
petitioner's motion~- for a new trial

pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.Pro. 59.

On petitioner's appeal, the Third
Circuit on June 1l, 1986, entered a
judgment order: affirming the District
Court's final order. On June 25, 1986,
petitioner filed a petition for a panel
rehearing which the Third Circuit denied
in an order entered on July 9, 1986.

The jurisdiction of this Court to
review the judgment of the Third Circuit
is invoked under 28 U.S.C. Section
1254(1).

STATUTE INVOLVED

28 G.8.C. Section 1291. Final
decisions of district courts

The courts of appeals (other than the
United States Court of Appeals for the
Federal Circuit) shall have
jurisdiction of appeals from all final

decisions of the district courts of
the United States, the United States
District Court for the District of the
Canal Zone, the District Court of
Guam, and the District Court of the
Virgin Islands, except where a direct
review may be had in the Supreme
Court. The jurisdiction of the United
States Court of Appeals for the
Federal Circuit shall be limited to
the jurisdiction described in sections
1291(c) and (d) and 1295 of this
title.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner, Linda Feuerer (known
herein as "“Feuerer"), commenced this
action in the Eastern District of
Pennsylvania, to recover damages’ for
personal injuries she suffered on December
9, 1981, when she slipped and fell ina
public restroom in the Tropicana Hotel and
Casino in Atlantic City, New Jersey. She
sued respondent, Adamar of New Jersey,
Inc. (known herein as "“Adamar"), a
corporation which owned and operated the
Tropicana. In her complaint, Feuerer
alleged that Adamar was negligent; that

Adamar's negligence was the _ proximate

cause of her accident; and that Adamar's

negligence was also a proximate cause of
her injuries.

Feuerer's case against Adamar
proceeded to trial before a jury on
November 7, 1984. New Jersey law was
applied to the case.

At the trial, Feuerer, who was born
in 1953, presented evidence that Adamar
was negligent in maintaining the restroom,
and that its negligence was the cause of
her fall. Evidence was also presented
that, as a result of her fall, Feuerer
severely injured both of her knees, and
that her knee injuries were progressive
and permanent. The evidence showed that
by the time of trial, Feuerer had already
incurred in excess of $35,000.00 in
medical expenses in connection with the
treatment of her knee injuries; that she
had already undergone three major knee

Operations; and that one of the surgeries

had left her with a large, disfiguring
scar on her right leg. The evidence
showed further that Feuerer had suffered
chronic, progressive knee pain since the
time of the fall; that she will probably
incur more than $100,000.00 in future
medical costs relative to the treatment of
her knee injuries; that she will probably
suffer chronic knee pain for the rest of
her life; that she had been disabled by
her knee injuries since the accident and
will probably be disabled for the rest of
her life; and that she will probably never
again be able to walk normally, or without
the aid of a supportive device such as a
cane or a walker.

The evidence presented at the trial
showed also that two physicians had
treated Feuerer for the knee injuries she
had suffered in her fall. They were Dr.

Maria A. Limberakis, who had treated

Feuerer regularly since the day after the

in

7

accident, and Dr. Ronald B. Greene, who
had treated Feuerer since September of
1983, and had operated on Feuerer's knees
three times since then. Both of these
doctors testified on behalf of Feuerer at
the trial.

There was not a shred of competent
evidence presented at trial by either
party that either of Feuerer's treating
doctors, or both of them, were negligent
Or were guilty of malpractice in treating
Feverer for the knee injuries she _ had
suffered in her fall. The case was not
tried as a medical malpractice case by
either party. No expert was called by
Adamar to testify that either of the two
doctors, or both of them, had deviated
from the applicable standard of care in

treating Feuerer. Indeed, no expert even

testified as to what that standard is.

Nevertheless, on November 16, 1984,

after the close of all the evidence, and

upon the request for counsel for Adamar,

the District Judge charged the jury that,
You can consider whether or not the
treatment by [Feuerer's] doctors
caused or exacerbated the condition
which she now suffers...If there is
intervening negligence of the doctor
Or somebody who treats. her, which
exacerbates the condition, then, the
Tropicana would not be responsible for
that.

Counsel for Feuerer objected, timely and

promptly, to this portion of the charge,

but his objection was overruled.

On November 16, 1984, the jury
returned a verdict in favor of Feuerer and
against Adamar, in the amount of
$50,000.00. In answering special
Interrogatories, the jury found that
Adamar was negligent and that its
negligence was the proximate cause of
Feuerer's fall, as well as a_ proximate
cause of Feuerer's knee injuries. The

jury also found that Feuerer was

comparatively negligent. In apportioning

blame for the accident, the jury found

that Adamar was 75% responsible, and that

Feuerer was 25% responsible. Accordingly,
the District Judge molded the verdict, and
entered a judgment in favor of Feuerer and
against Adamar, in the amount of
$37,500.00.

On November 30, 1984, Feuerer filed a
motion for a new trial with the District

Judge, pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.Pro. 59. In

that motion, Feuerer argued, inter alia,

that the District Judge had committed
reversible error in instructing the jury
that if it found that Feuverer's doctors,
or either of them, were negligent in
treating Feuerer, and if their negligence
had caused an aggravation of Feuerer's
knee injuries, Adamar would not _ be
responsible to Feuerer to the extent that
the doctors had caused her injuries to be
exacerbated. In her motion for a new
trial and supporting briefs, Feuerer

argued that the District Judge's charge

was clearly and fundamentally erroneous,

and might have resulted in the low
verdict. Specifically, Feuerer argued
that,

(1) Under New Jersey law,
Adamar, which was found to be negligent,

was automatically responsible, as a matter

of law, for the negligence of any
physician who treated Feuerer for the
injuries she suffered due to Adamar's
negligence, and for the consequences of
the physician's negligence. The highest
appellate courts of New Jersey had

repeatedly so ruled. See, e.g., Knutsen

v. Brown, et al., 96 N.J. Super. 229, 235

(App.Div.1967); Ciluffo V. Middlesex

General Hospital, 146 N.J. Super. 476, 482

(App.Div.1977); Knutsen v. Brown, et al.,

93 N.J. Super. 522, 542 (Law Div. 1966);
(2) There was no _ evidence
offered by either party that either or

both of Feuverer's treating doctors were

negligent or guilty of malpractice in

treating Feuverer. It is reversible error
for a trial judge to charge a jury on a
matter or an issue on which no competent
evidence is presented. MThe Third Circuit

itself had so ruled. See, e.g., Paluch v.

Erie Lackawanna Railroad Company, 387 F.2d

996, 999, 1000 (3d Cir. 1968); and

(3) The District Judge, by his
erroneous charge, gave the jury the right
to find that one or both of Feuerer's
doctors were negligent in treating her,
and to limit Feuerer's damages
accordingly, even though: (a) no evidence
of malpractice was presented; (b) no
charge on what specific conduct would
constitute malpractice was given; and (c)
the charge completely misstated the law,
which holds Adamar automatically
responsible for the negligence of

Feuerer's treating doctors, and therefore,

12

it should not have been given even if
there was evidence of malpractice. 1
On September 19, 1985, the District

Judge entered a memorandum and order
denying Feuerer's motion for a new trial.
See, Appendix A at la-7a. In rejecting
Feuverer's contention that he had committed
reversible error in charging the jury, the
District Judge acknowledged that he may
have erred, but ruled,

Finally, Plaintiff argues that’ the

court's instruction to the jury that

the defendant would not be responsible

for the intervening negligence of the
treating physician was in error....

As Feuerer argued in her post-trial
motion and supporting briefs, although
no competent evidence of malpractice was
presented, based on the District Judge's
erroneous charge, the jury could have
relied on certain remarks made by
counsel for Adamar in his’ closing
argument, as a basis for reducing the
damages award to $50,000.00. For
example, counsel for Adamar argued that
Feuverer “is no better off today that
before Dr. Greene took the knife to
her", and that Dr. Limberakis had acted
improperly in injecting Feuerer's knees
with Novocaine to temporarily relieve
her chronic pain.

13

[A]s demonstrated by the jury's note
to the court, they were not concerned
with events after December 1982 - at
least nine months before the [first]
operation. Thus, even assuming it was
error to charge on intervening
negligence, said error was harmless.
The District Judge's reference to the
"Jury's note" in his memorandum opinion
was to a written note submitted to the
Court by the jury shortly before the
verdict was returned. In the note, the
jury stated that it had decided to award
Feuerer damages to redress Adamar's
negligence from the time of the fall until
December 24, 1982, which was about one
year after the fall. The District Judge
correctly noted that Dr. Greene did not
operate on Feuerer's knee until September
of 1983, approximately nine months after
the last date on which the jury decided
Feuerer was entitled to recover damages
from Adamar.

On September 30, 1985, Feuerer

appealed to the Third Circuit from the

14

District Judge's memorandum and order
denying her motion for a new trial. In
her brief filed with the Third Circuit on
December 11, 1985, Feuerer argued, inter
alia, that the District Court had
committed reversible error in instructing
the jury that Adamar was not responsible
for any aggravation of her injuries that
were initially caused by the negligence of
Adamar, which aggravation may have
resulted from the negligence of one or
both of her treating doctors. Feuerer
argued also that the District Judge's
ruling that any error he may have made was
harmless, was clearly erroneous.

On June ll, 1986, the Third Circuit
entered a judgment order affirming the
judgment of the District Court. See,
Appendix B at 8a-1l0a. No memorandum or
Opinion was issued by the Third Circuit.

On June 25, 1986, Feuerer filed a |

timely petition for a panel rehearing with

|

15

the Third Circuit under Fed.R.App.P.

40(a). In that petition, Feuverer once
again argued that the District Court had
committed reversible and not harmless
error in charging the jury on the matter
of intervening negligence of her treating
deccors. In the petition for a rehearing,
Feuerer argued further that, in affirming
the District Judge's ruling that he had
not committed reversible error in so
charging the jury, the Third Circuit had
overlooked and misapplied its own
well-established precedents.

On July 9, 1986, the Third Circuit
panel which had considered Feuverer's
appeal, entered an order, without
explication, denying the petition for a
rehearing. See, Appendix cC at lla.
Feuverer is filing this petition within
ninety days after the date of entry of the

Third Circuit's order denying the petition

16

for a rehearing. Accordingly, this
petition is timely.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Third Circuit's Ruling Affirming
The District Court's Order Denying
Feuerer's Motion For A New Trial
Conflicts With Decisions Of This
Court, The Third Circuit, Other
Circuits And The Highest Courts Of
The State Of New Jersey

In affirming the District Judge's
ruling on the propriety of the charge
dealing with the intervening negligence of
Feuerer's treating doctors, the Third
Circuit overlooked, misapplied and/or
disregarded decisions of the Supreme
Court, other Circuits and the highest
courts of the State of New Jersey. The
Third Circuit's decision is also in direct
conflict with the its own well-established
precedents.

Under New Jersey law, which was
applicable to this case, the charge on
intervening negligence was clearly

erroneous and should never have been

17

given. The highest appellate courts of
New Jersey have ruled that a tortfeasor
such as Adamar is automatically
responsible, as a matter of law, for any
aggravation of injuries it caused, which
result from the negligence of a doctor who
treated the Plaintiff for those injuries.

As the Court stated in Knutsen v. Brown,

et al., 96 N.J. Super. 229, 235

(App.Div.1967),

Where a person has suffered personal
injury by reason of another's
negligence, the tortfeasor is liable
for any additional harm caused to the
injured person by the negligence,
mistake or lack of skill of the
attending physician or surgeon.

See also, Ciluffo v. Middlesex General

Hospital, 146 N.J. Super. 476, 482

(App.Div.1977); Knutsen v. Brown, et al.,

93 UJ. Super. 522, 542 (Law Div.
1966) ("Wrongdoers are liable for’ the
reasonably foreseeable consequences of the
tortious act, including the malpractice of

a doctor").

18

Accordingly, the District Judge's
charge misstated New Jersey law, which
holds Adamar automatically liable for any
aggravation of the injury it initially
caused, which aggravation was caused by
the treating doctors' subsequent
negligence. The erroneous charge might
have caused the jury to award Feuerer a
lower amount of damages than it otherwise
would have awarded her. To the extent
that the District Judge ruled that his
charge on intervening negligence was not
erroneous, (the District Judge assumed

arguendo that he had erred without

expressly admitting that he had), his
ruling was patently erroneous. fThe Third
Circuit erred in not finding that the
District Court had committed reversible
error in charging the jury on this matter;
its ruling is therefore in direct and
irreconciliable conflict with decisions of

the highest courts of New Jersey.

ET ee en

The Third Circuit's ruling affirming

the District Court is also in direct
conflict with decisions of this Court on
which the Third Circuit has relied in
ordering new trials in other cases. In

Ayoub v. Spencer, 550 F.2d 164, 168 & n.7

(3d Cir.) cert. denied, 432 U.S. 907, 97

S.Ct. 2952, 53 L.Ed.2d 1079 (1977), the
Third Circuit correctly ruled that where,
as in this case, an erroneous charge is
given to a jury, a new trial must be
allowed if the improper instructions
"might have been responsible for’ the
verdict"; an appellant need not show that

the error was i fact prejudical. The

Court in Ayoub, supra, ruled further that

in determining whether erroneous jury
instructions require the grant of a new

trial, whether the instructions actually

did bring about the verdict is not
dispositive; if the charge "may have

resulted" in the verdict appealed from, a

ESO OT

20

new trial is mandatory. Id. at 550 F.2d
164, 168 & n.7. Clearly, the improper
instruction on intervening negligence
might have contributed to, and could have
been responsible for the low verdict which
the jury returned for Feuerer. See
discussion below. Accordingly, the
District Judge's error was reversible, not
harmless, and the Third Circuit erred in

failing to so find.

In ruling as it did in Ayoub, supra,

the Third Circuit properly relied on the

Supreme Court's decisions in Malat v.

Riddell, 383 U.S. 569, 86 S.Ct. 1030, 16

L.Ed.2d 102 (1966) and Sunkist Growers,

Inc. v. Winckler & Smith Citrus Products

Co., 370 U.S. 19, 82 S.Ct. 1130, 8 L.Ed.2d
305 (1962). In failing to fin@ in
Feuerer's case that the District Judge
committed reversible error in charging the
jury on the issue of intervening

negligence of her treating doctors, the

P|

Third Circuit inexplicably disregarded

these two decisions, as well as its prior
ruling in Ayoub, supra. Its ruling in
Feuerer's case is in direct conflict with

all three of these cases. In Malat v.

Riddell, supra, this Court ruled that

where a lower court applies an incorrect
legal standard, a new trial is mandatory;
an appeals court should not consider
whether the verdict would be supportable
on the facts of the case had the correct
one been applied. 383 U.S. at 572, 86
S.Ct. 1030, 16 L.Ed.2d at 105. Similarly,

in Sunkist Growers, supra, this Court

ruled, at 370 U.S. 30, 82 S.Ct. 1130, 8
L.Ed.2d at 312,

Since we hold erroneous one theory of
liability upon which the_- general
verdict may have rested - a conspiracy
among petitioners and Exchange Lemon -
it is unnecessary for us to explore
the legality of the other theories.
As was stated of a general verdict in
Maryland use of Markley v. Baldwin,
112 US 490, 493, 28 L ed 822, 823, 5
S.Ct. 278 (1884), "[I]ts generality
prevents us from perceiving upon which

ieee

22

plea they found. If, therefore, upon
any one issue error was committed,
either in the admission of evidence,
or in the charge of the court, the
verdict cannot be upheld...."
(Emphasis Added)
In this case, since the jury could have
been misled by the erroneous charge to
believe, and to find that Feuverer was not
entitled to recover damages from Adamar
for the consequences of some or all of the
treatment that was rendered by her two

treating doctors, under the teachings of

Malat, supra and Sunkist Growers, supra,

upon which the Third Circuit correctly

relied in deciding Ayoub, supra, the Third

Circuit should have granted Feuerer a new
trial.

The Third Circuit's affirmance of the
District Judge's ruling is also in direct
contravention of other compelling Supreme

Court authority. In McCandless v. United

States, 298 U.S. 342, 347-48, 56 S.Ct.
764, 80 L.Ed. 1205 (1936), this Court

ruled,

eee

[A]n erroneous ruling which relates to
the substantial rights of a party is
ground for reversal unless it
affirmatively appears from the whole

record that it was not prejudicial.
United States v. River Rouge Co., 269
0.8+ @hhg @2h,5 TCU bs OCs SSR, 206, 66
S.Ct. 144; Fillippon v. Albion Vein
Slate Co., 250 U.S. /6, 82, 63 Le ed.
S53, 856, 39 S.Ct. 4353 Wiiliems v.
Great Southern Lumber Co., 277 U.S.
L3, 205 Fe be GG Tig FETs SE BCE.
Si 7%

In Ratay Vv. Lincoln National Life

Insurance Company, 378 F.2d 209, 212 (3d

Cir.}, cert. denied, 88 S.Ct. 472, 389

U.S. 973, 19 L.Ed.2d 465 (1967), the Third

Circuit correctly relied on McCandless,

Supra, in ordering a new trial. But in
this case, the Third Circuit inexplicably

disregarded McCandless in affirming the

ruling of the District Judge.

Clearly, it does not "affirmatively
appear" from the record in this case that
the District Judge's error in charging the
jury was harmless, and not prejudicial.
The District Judge's finding that if it

erred in charging the jury on- the

—— <x

intervening negligence of Feuerer's
treating doctors, (and it clearly did err,
for the reasons stated above), the error
was harmless, was patently wrong. The
Third Circuit clearly erred and improperly

disregarded McCandless in failing to so

find.

In concluding that its error was
harmless rather than reversible because of
the timing of Dr. Greene's first
operation, the District Court improperly
disregarded the unrebutted evidence which
showed that Feuerer's other treating
doctor, oF. Limberakis, had treated
Feuerer for her knee injuries suffered in
the fall throughout the entire period of
the jury's damages award: December 10,
1981 to December 24, 1982. The erroneous
charge on intervening negligence was broad
enough to include both Dr. Greene and Dr.
Limberakis. The District Judge stated:

"You can consider whether or not the

25

treatment by her doctors caused or
exacerbated the condition..." (Emphasis
Added). Based on the erroneous charge,
therefore, the jury might have reduced (to
$50,000.00) the damages award it otherwise
would have made but for its determination
that Dr. Limberakis was negligent in
treating Feuerer from December 10, 1981 to
December 24, 1982. Accordingly, the fact
that Dr. Greene did not operate on Feuerer
until September of 1983, in no way leads
to the conclusion that the District
Judge's error in: charging the jury was
harmless. Moreover, the jury may also
have decided not to award Feuerer damages
for the operations performed by Dr.
Greene, or for the results of those
operations, based on the erroneous charge;
the District Judge improperly speculated
on what the jury actually found.

Under the teachings of McCandless,

supra, then, the District Judge

L |

26

erroneously and improperly concluded that
its error was harmless and not reversible.
Such a finding is not supported nor
supportable by the record. The Third
Circuit erred and overlooked clear Supreme
Court precedent in affirming that ruling.

In affirming the District Judge's
ruling, the Third Circuit is also in clear
and direct conflict with the decisions of
the other Circuits. As noted above, there
was not a shred of competent evidence
presented at the trial by either party
that Feuerer's treating doctors’ were
negligent or guilty of malpractice in
treating her. The District Judge
acknowleged as much when he stated in his
opinion that he would assume that he erred
in charging the jury on the intervening
negligence of the doctors.

The other Circuits have ruled that it
is fundamental, reversible error for a

judge to charge a jury on a matter on

ll

27

which no evidence or competent proof is

presented. See, e.9g., Nestier Corp. v.

Menasha Corporation - Lewisystems Div.,

4339 2s2@ - i576 (Fed.Cir.1984); Ware v.

Reed, 709 F.26 345 (5th Cir. S983) 5

Kirschner v. Broadhead, 671 F.2d 1034 (7th

Cir. 1982) (It is prejudicial error for a
trial court to give instructions which
find no support in the evidence unless the
record shows that the error is clearly

harmless); Ybarra v. Burlington Northern,

Inc., 689 ¥.2@ 147 (8th Cit. i1962)73

Bechtel v. Liberty National Bank, 534 F.2d

1335 (9th Cir. 1976); Brownlow v. Aman,

740 F.2d 1476 (10th Cir. 1984); Collins v.

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co., Inc., 729 F.2d

1402 (llth Cir. 1984).

In Paluch v. Erie Lackawanna Railroad

Company, 387 F.2d 996, 999, 1000 (3d Cir.

1968), the Third Circuit itself ruled that
it is reversible error for a judge to

charge a jury on a matter on which no

evidence is presented. But inexplicably,

the Third Circuit disregarded Paluch,
supra, and the rulings of the other
Circuits, in affirming the District Judge
in this case. As the Court noted in
Paluch, at 387 F.2d 1000,

The charge to the jury in this case
on an issue on which no evidence had
been offered was such fundamental
error. Allowing the jury to speculate
on contributory negligence and thereby
possibly to diminish the compensation
recoverable, under the circumstances
of this case, was a miscarriage of
justice.

This fundamental error compels a new
trial.

In this case, based on the District
Judge's erroneous charge, and the complete
lack of any competent evidence of
malpractice, the jury was allowed to
"speculate" on the issue of malpractice,
and it may have awarded Feuerer less than
it otherwise would have awarded her but

for its determination that one or both of

the doctors were negligent. This is more

29

than enough to require a new trial.
Accordingly, the District Judge's error
was not harmless, but reversible, and the
Third Circuit's ruling affirming the
District Judge on that issue is in direct

conflict with Paluch, supra, and with the

decisions of the other Circuits.

30

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons,
petitioner respectfully prays that this
Honorable Court issue a writ of certiorari
to review the judgment of the Third
Circuit, and the order of the Third
Circuit denying the petition for a

rehearing.

Respectfully submitted,
tar LEO

GARY GREEN (€ ~~.
Counsel of Record

OF COUNSEL:

SIDKOFF, PINCUS & GREEN, P.C.
530 Walnut Street, 12th Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19106
(215) 574-0600

ROBERT A. DAVITCH
On the Petition

DATED: October 7, 1986

APPENDIX

| anaes aes eames,

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

LINDA A. FEUERER CIVIL ACTION
Ve

ADAMAR OF NEW
JERSEY, INC.

NO. 83-5931
MEMORANOD UM
MCGLYNN, J. SEPTEMBER 17, 1985
Before the court is a motion for a
new trial by plaintiff who was injured
when she slipped and fell in a public
restroom at the Tropicana Hotel and Casino
in Atlantic City, New Jersey. At trial,
the jury assessed damages in the amount of
$50,000 and found that defendant was 75%
negligent and the plaintiff 25%.
In a ninety page opening brief and a
26 page reply brief, plaintiff has
collected an array of arguments based upon
"unrefuted", "unrebutted" and "over-
whelming" evidence in support of the
proposition that the jury's award was

inadequate, arbitrary and contrary to the

a

2a
APPENDIX A
law and the evidence. Consequently, she
would like an opportunity to convince
another jury to take a more generous view
of her claims.

The nature and the extent of the
injuries suffered by plaintiff as a result
of the fall was the primary issue in the
case.

Plaintiff contended that as a result
of the fall, she developed a painful,
progressive and permanent condition in
both knees known as "“Chondromalacia"™ which
is character zed by a degeneration of the
cartilage under the kneecaps. The
defendant, on the other hand, argued that
plaintiff's fall resulted in only minor
injuries, that the chondromalacia was
congenital or that it was triggered or
exacerbated by trauma to her knee suffered
in two subsequent automobile accidents.

No citation is necessary for the

basic principle of law that plaintiff has

a

APPENDIX A

the burden of proof as to damages as well
as liability, and as the court instructed
the jury, they “are not to award damages
for any injury or condition from which the
plaintiff may have suffered unless it can
be established by a preponderance of the
evidence in the case that such injury or
condition was proximately caused by the
accident in question." (Tr. 11/16/84 at
100).

Given the state of the record in this
case which, at the very least, raised
serious questions concerning the credi-
bility of the plaintiff, her experts and
her treating physicians, I cannot find any
basis for overturning or ignoring .the
verdict of the jury.

As the Supreme Court stated in

Tennant v. Peoria & P. & U. Railway

Company, 321 U.S. 29 (1944):

The focal point of judicial review is
the reasonableness of a particular
inference or conclusions drawn by the
jury. It is the jury, not the court,

a

4a
APPENDIX A

which is the fact finding body. It
weighs the contradictory evidence and
inferences, judges the credibility of
witnesses, receives expert
instructions, and draws the ultimate
conclusion as to the facts. fThe very
essence of its function is to select
from among conflicting inferences and
conclusions that which it considers
most reasonable. (citations omitted)
That conclusion, whether it relates to
negligence, causation or any other
factual matter, cannot be _ ignored.
Courts are not free to reweigh the
evidence and set aside the jury
verdict merely because the jury could
have drawn different inferences or
conclusions or because judges feel
that other results are more reason-
able. 321 U.S. at 35.

Plaintiff also challenges the jury's
determination that she was 25% negligent.
On the basis of the evidence, the jury
could have found that she was walking
quickly and not looking where she was
going in a dimly lit area where it is
foreseeable that water would be in her
path. This is sufficient to find a lack
of care on her part.

Finally, plaintiff argues that the
court's instruction to the jury that the

defendant would not be responsible for the

TT

5a
APPENDIX A

intervening negligence of the treating
physician was error. In context, that
portion of the charge properly informed
the jury that it had the right’ to
determine the cause of plaintiff's
injuries. There was evidence from which
the jury could infer that her injuries
from the fall had been cured as of July
1982. There was also evidence from which
the jury could conclude that the
chondromalacia was due to a congenital
malalignment of her knees for which she
was Operated on. Thus, these instructions
were simply an extension of prior
instructions that the defendant should not
be held liable for any injuries unless
they proximately resulted from the fall in
question.

Moreover, as demonstrated by _the
jury's note to the court, they were not

concerned with events after December 1982

6a
APPENDIX A
- at least nine months’ before’ the
operation. Thus, even assuming it was
error to charge on intervening negligence,
such error was harmless.
Plaintiff's motion for a new trial

will be denied.

SG lin 8 | Ie

—

;
#

7a
APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

LINDA A. FEUERER CIVIL ACTION
Ve

ADAMAR OF NEW
JERSEY, INC.

NO. 83-5931
ORDER
AND NOW, this 17th day of SEPTEMBER,
1985, upon consideration of plaintiff's
motion for a new trial and the defendant's
response thereto, it is hereby
ORDERED that the motion be and the

same is hereby DENIED.

BY THE COURT:

Joseph L. McGlynn, J. /s/
JOSEPH L. MC GLYNN, JR., J.

————————————errererrre

8a
APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE THIRD CIRCUIT

NO. 85-1600

LINDA FEUERER,
Appellant
Vv.

ADAMAR OF NEW JERSEY, INC.

On Appeal from the United States
District Court for the Eastern District
of Pennsylvania
Civil No. 83-5931
(Honorable Joseph L. McGlynn, Jr.)

Submitted Under Third Circuit Rule
12 (b)
June 4, 1986

Before: ADAMS, WEISS, and HIGGINBOTHAM,
Circuit Judges

JUDGMENT ORDER

After consideration of all

contentions raised by appellant, it is

9a
APPENDIX B
ADJUDGED AND ORDERED that the
judgment of the district court be and is
hereby affirmed.
Costs taxed against appellant.

BY THE COURT,

Arlin M. Adams /s/
Circuit Judge

ATTEST:

Sally Mrvos /s/
Sally Mrvos, Clerk

DATED: June ll, 1986

10a
APPENDIX B

Page 2

85-1600

July 18, 1986

Certified as a true copy
and issued in lieu of a
formal mandate on July 18,
1986

Test: M. Elizabeth Ferguson
Chief Deputy Clerk, United

States Court of Appeals for
the Third Circuit

lla
APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE THIRD CIRCUIT

NO. 85-1600

LINDA FEUERER,
Appellant
Vv.

ADAMAR OF NEW JERSEY, INC.
(Civil No. 83-5931)

SUR PETITION FOR PANEL REHEARING

Present: ADAMS, WEIS, and HIGGINBOTHAM,
Circuit Judges

The petition for panel rehearing
filed by appellant in the above-entitled
case having been submitted to the judges
who participated in the decision of this
court, and no judge who concurred in the
decision having asked for rehearing, the
petition for panel rehearing is denied.

BY THE COURT: |

Arlin M. Adams /s/
Circuit Judge

DATED: Jul 9 1986

SS

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0064%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
