# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Manson v. Alston

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0055%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1987
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 1084

## Text

86-563
No.

In Che 4

Supreme Court Of Che United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

JOHN R. MANSON, COMMISSIONER,
CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS,

Petitioner,
v.

MICHAEL ALSTON,
Respondent.

JOHN R. MANSON, COMMISSIONER,
CONNECTICUT DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS,

Petitioner,
Vv.

JAMES HASKINS,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
WITH ATTACHED APPENDIX

JULIA DiCOCCO DEWEY
Assistant State’s Attorney

State of Connecticut

Division of Criminal Justice
340 Quinnipiac Street
Wallingford, Connecticut 06492
(203) 265-2373

Counsel for Respondent

Printed by
Brescia’s Printing Services
66 Connecticut Boulevard

East Hartford, CT 06108
525-6029

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

IN ITS ANALYSIS OF THE CONNECTICUT
JURY SELECTION PROCESS, DID THE COURT
BELOW PROPERLY CONCLUDE THAT THE
OPERATION OF CONNECTICUI'S FORMER
STATUTORY JURY QUOTA SYSTEM BROUGHT
ABOUT UNDERREPRESENTATION OF POTENTIAL

BLACK JURORS?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIGNS PRESENTED . 1 «© s&s és oS
TABLE OF CONTENTS .« 2s se eo © eee
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES . .... eoiii

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY
PROVISIONS e a a 7 e e e . . . eiv

OPINIONS BELOW. . e e e e e . . ~ix
JURISDICTARN. « 2 ees © ee eee
STATEMENT OF THE CASE . . « « « « 1
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT. . .3

THE USE OF STATISTICAL

MODELS TO PROVE CLAIMS

OF DISCRIMINATION WAS

IMPROPERLY *¥TENDED

TO A CLAIM INVOLVING

A CHALLENGE TO THE

CONNECTICUT JURY SELEC-

TIGN PROCESS 2 6 6s & 8 e © SF
CONCLUSION . 62% & © & © eee
APPENDIX. es * * oe e * aa e ° e 6 . A

OPINION OF THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT. ..A

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Alston v. Lopes, 621 F.Supp.
at een TPOR)s » «+ « + « 08

Castaneda v. Protida, 430 U.S.
482 (1977). o e o . 7 - . o * -10

State v. Haskins, 188 Conn. 432
_. 6s Bo ML > 2 PP

Vasquez v. Hillary, U.S.
a we eee BEF LOPE )e « te le 610

iii

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Amendment
VI;

In all criminal prosecutions, the
accused shall enjoy the right to a
speedy and public trial, by an impartial
jury of the State and district wherein
the crime shall have been committed,
which district shall have been pre-

viously ascertained by law ....

United State Constitution, Amendment
XIV:

~--No State shall make or enforce
any law which shall abridge the pri-
vileges or immunities of citizens of the
United States; nor shall any State
deprive any person of life, liberty or

property, without due process of law;

iv

— |

nor deny to any person within its
jurisdiction the equal protection of
laws.

Connecticut General Statute (1974),
Section 51-220

The number of jurors to be chosen
for each town shall be as follows: In
towns whose population as determined by
the last-completed census of the United
States is less than seven hundred and
Fifty, fifteen; in towns whose popuia-
tion so determined is at least seven
hundred and fifty but not more than one
thousand five hundred, thirty; in towns
whose population so determined is more
than one thousand five hundred but not
more than twenty-five hundred, fifty-
Six; in towns whose population. so
determined is more than twenty-five

hundred but no more than five thousand,

ninety; in towns whose population so
determined is more than five thousand
but not more than ten thousand, one
hundred twenty; in towns whose popula-
tion so determined is more than ten
thousand but not more than twenty-five
thousand, two hundred twenty-five; in
towns whose population so determined is
more than twenty-five thousand but not
more than fifty thousand, three hundred
thirty-seven; in towns whose population
so determined is more than fifty
thousand but not more than one hundred
thousand, six hundred seventy-five; in
towns whose population so determined is
more than one hundred thousand, one
thousand and twelve; provided, for the

purposes of this section, the population

vi

of a town shall not include the patients
of any state institution located in such

town.

Rule 17.1

Revised Rules of the Supreme Court
of the United States

Considerations Governing
Review on Certiorari-

1. A review on writ of certiorari
is not a matter of right, but of
judicial discretion, and will be granted
only when there are special and impor-
tant reasons thereof. The following,
while neither controlling nor fully
measuring the Court's .discretion,
indicate the character of reasons that

will be considered.

vii

(a) When a federal court of
appeals has rendered a decision in
conflict with the decision of another
federal court of appeals on the same
matter; or has decided a federal
question in a way in conflict with a
state court of last resort; or has so
far departed from the accepted and usual
course of judicial proceedings, or so
far sanctioned such a departure by a
lower court, as to call for an exercise

of this Court's power of supervision.

(b) When a state court of last
resort has decided a federal question in
a way in conflict with the decision of
another state court of last resort or of

a federal court of appeals.

(c) When a state or federal

court of appeals has decided an impor-

viil

tant question of federal law which has

not been, but should be, settled by this
Court, or has decided a federal yuestion
in a way in conflict with applicable

decisions of this Court.

ix

No.

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

JOHN R. MANSON, Commissioner,
Connecticut Department of Corrections
Petitioner,

Ve
MICHAEL ALSTON,

JAMES HASKINS,
Respondents

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to
The United States Court of Appeals
For the Second Circuit

Petitioner respectfully request a
writ of certiorari be issued to review
the decision and judgment of the United
States Court of Appeals for the Second
Circuit, entered on May 23, 1986, which
judgment reversed the respondent's

convictions.

OPINION BELOW

The Opinion of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

is attached hereto as Appendix A. >,

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
was entered on May 23, 1986. This Court
has jurisdiction to review that judgment
by writ of certiorari pursuant to 28

0.$.E. 3 4837.
xi

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The charges against the respondents
arose out of their participation with
others in the robbery of the New Haven
Savings Bank in Westville section of New
Haven, Connecticut on May 3, 1974.

The respondents were arrested on
May 15, 1974 pursuant to a_=e bench
warrant; bond was fixed at $300,000.00.
Shortly after being charged in the state
court, they were indicted on federal
bank robbery charges in the United
States District Court for the District
of Connecticut.

Following the imposition of
sentence in federal court, respondents
were brought to trial in state court in
relation to the same incident. Eviden-

tiary hearing on motions, jury selec-

time, and trial consumed approximately
eight months resulting in a verdict on
August 28, 1975 of guilty of one count
of assault in the first degree and one
count of assault in the second degree.
The respondents were sentenced to a term
of not less than ten nor more than
twenty-years imprisonment to run
consecutively with the federal sentence.

State v. Haskins, 188 Conn. 432, 450

A.2d 828 (1982);

Before their state trial, on
appeal before the Connecticut Supreme
Court and in their habeas’ corpus
‘actions, the respondents’ challenged
several aspects of the Connecticut jury
selection process. In particular they
challenged a town quota system estab-

lished by the former Connecticut General

Statutes § 51-220. The United States

Dietrict: Ceurt for the Ofetrict ef
Connecticut found that this statute
mandated under-representation of blacks
on jury arrays in violation of the Equal

Protection Clause. Alston v. Lopes, 621

F. Supp. 992 (D. Conn. 1985). In the
subsequent appeal, the United States
Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

affirmed. This petition followed.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Question of Whether a Statis-
tical Deviation Analysis Can
Properly Be Used To Prove Claims
of Discrimination In A State Jury
Selection Process’ Is a Topical
Issue of Persuasive And Substan-
tial Proportions Which Needs
Clarification By This Court

The central contention of the
respondents in this case has been that
the estimated number of blacks repre-

sented in the criminal jury panel was a

direct result of the state's former
method for summoning potential jurors.
This conclusionwas available, however,
only through use of the Statistical
Decision Theory. In the present case,
use of that statistical formulationwas
seriously flawed. |

Although this Court has in the past
utilized a statistical formula in
evaluating equal protection claims, in
all previous cases there was no doubt of
the actual number of minority members

summoned for jury duty. See Vasquez v.

Hillery, 106 S$. Ct. 617. - C4962)

Castaneda v. Partida, 430 U.S. 482

(1977). In the present case, the court

below mistakenly relied upon an estima-

tion of both the number of minority
members eligible for jury duty and the

number of those selected. These

=

estimations alone are not sufficient to
establish an equal protection violation.

Similarly, the courts below failed
to take into account the fact that the
Connecticut jury selection process
involved a random selection process.
Under this random procedure, a presump-
tion of discriminatory intent is
particularly inappropriate See J. Nowak,

R. Rotunda and Young, Constitutional

Law 602 (2d ed. 1983). The actual

operation of the state jury selection
process is the more appropriate focus
for judicial consideration.

In the present case the courts
below were wholly unconcerned with the
operation of the state's jury selection
process, relying instead upon theory and
conjecture. A selection system in

effect since at least 1875 was invali-

dated, despite the obvious legislative
rationale. The fact that a better
system might have existed,was insuf-
ficient reason to reverse these respon-

dents' convictions.

1 ante

i
l

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above,
the petition for writ of certiorari

should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

ULIA DiCOCCO DEWEY,
Assistant State's
Attorney

Appellate Unit

Office of the Chief
State's Attorney

Connecticut Division of

Criminal Justice

P.O. Box 5000

340 Quinnipiac Street

Wallingford, Connecticut
06492

(203) 265-2373

RN

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

++

Nos. 942, 943—August Term, 1985
(Argued March 20, 1986 Decided May 23, 1986)
Docket Nos. 85-2358, 85-2361

+

MICHAEL ALSTON,

Petitioner-Appellee,
~ —against—

JOHN R. MANSON, Commissioner,
Connecticut Department of Correction,

Respondent-Appellant.

JAMES HASKINS,
Petitioner-A ppellee,
—against—

JOHN R. MANSON, Commissioner,
Connecticut Department of Correction,

Respondent-Appellant.

3559

Before:

KAUFMAN, TIMBERS and MINER,
Circuit Judges.

—s

John R. Manson, Commissioner of the Connecticut
Department of Correction, appeals from judgments of
the United States District Court for the District of Con-
necticut (T. F. Gilroy Daly, Chief Judge), granting
Alston’s and Haskins’s petitions for writs of habeas
corpus.

Affirmed.

Judge Miner dissents in a separate opinion.

a

DAVID N. ROSEN, New Haven, Conn., for
Petitioner-Appellee Alston.

JOHN R. WILLIAMS, Esq., New Haven,
Conn., for Petitioner-Appellee Haskins.

JULIA DICocco DEWEY, Assistant State
Attorney, New Haven, Conn., for Defen-
dant-Appellant.

+

KAUFMAN, Circuit Judge:

Drawn from hamlet and metropolis alike, jurors daily
give life to the ancient right, enshrined in the Magna

3560

Carta and the Constitution, to a trial by jury of one’s
peers. Although now summoned by statute instead of the
medieval sheriff’s writ of venire facias, a representative
jury array remains the expression of the community’s role
in securing this fundamentai right. Accordingly, both the
sixth and fourteenth amendments mandate that prospec-
tive jurors be chosen free of the taint of racial discrimina-
tion.

It is the interplay of these two provisions that is now
before us. The State of Connecticut appeals from judg-
ments of the United States District Court for the District
of Connecticut, granting Alston’s and Haskins’s petitions
for writs of habeas corpus. Using modern statistical data,
the district court ruled that the jury selection system
employed in 1975 in Connecticut state court, where the
petitioners were tried, violated the equal protection
clause. Agreeing with Chief Judge Daly’s analysis, we
affirm. |

BACKGROUND

A brief factual statement is necessary to understand the
law in this complex area. In Connecticut, each county
compiles a jury array. Conn. Gen. Stat. §§ 51-217 et seq.
Each town in the county, in turn, furnishes a number of
prospective jurors. Unfortunately, section 51-220 estab-
lished a strict quota system which favored representation
of the smaller towns. As an illustration, the smallest town
in New Haven County, Beacon Falls, contributed 4.2% of
its adult population to the array. In contrast, New Haven,
the largest town, was limited by statute to assigning a
mere 1.1% of its adults. It is undisputed that a larger
concentration of the black population in Connecticut

3561

lives in the more populated urban settings. Accordingly,
§ 51-220 was repealed in 1982. Conn. Public Act 82-307
§ 2.

The jury that convicted Michael Alsion and James
Haskins, however, was chosen from an array skewed in
favor of the white majority. Alston, Haskins, and a
co-defendant were convicted in state court of assaulting
two police officers while fleeing the scene of a New
Haven bank robbery. Each had previously been convicted
in federal court of the underlying robbery. Both Alston
and Haskins appealed their convictions to the Connecti-
cut Supreme Court, presenting, inter alia, the same con-
stitutional grounds supporting their subsequent habeas
corpus petitions. The supreme court ruled that the jury
selection system passed constitutional muster. State v.
Haskins, 188 Conn. 432, 436-41 (1982). Currently, Alston
“js on parole from both his state and federal convictions.
Haskins is still incarcerated in federal prison and has not
yet begun to serve his state sentence of ten years.

Subsequently, Alston and Haskins filed habeas corpus
petitions in United States district court. The petitions
contended, inter alia, that the statutory scheme for select-
ing the array evidenced an intent to discriminate against
blacks in contravention of the equal protection clause.
They also argued that blacks were substantially under-
represented among the potential jurors, a violation of the
sixth amendment. At a later hearing, a professor of
statistics from Yale University testified to the adverse
effect upon black representation produced by the existing
town quotas. The statistician estimated the number of
blacks summoned was 368. In the absence cf § 51-220,
however, the number would have been closer to 501. The
total number in the array was 8,405.

3562

Relying on these figures, the district judge decided the
Connecticut plan violated the fourteenth amendment.
Employing the three-prong test set forth in Castaneda v.
Partida, 430 U.S. 482 (1977), Chief Judge Daly found the
petitioners had established a prima facie case of racial
discrimination, and that the State had failed to rebut this
showing. Alston v. Lopes, 621 F.Supp. 992 (D.Conn.
1985).

The district court easily found the first and third
branches of the Castaneda test had been satisfied. The
first requirement is that the excluded group be cogniza-
ble. Because blacks comprised the group underrepre-
sented, this standard was clearly met. Similarly, the third
part of the standard, establishing that the selection proce-
dure was not racially neutral, was also on firm footing.
All parties agree a high proportion of blacks live in the
City of New Haven, and that the quota system could not
help but partially exclude them.

The district court, therefore, devoted most of its anal-
ysis to the second Castaneda standard: whether the
underrepresentation of blacks was substantial. Through
the use of an established and accepted data device,
Statistical Decision Theory, the district judge determined
that the odds against chance alone accounting for the low
number of blacks were simply astronomical. Indeed,
Chief Judge Daly noted the likelihood of only 368 blacks
appearing as potential jurors was three chances in one
billion.

Having found that Alston and Haskins had established
a prima facie case of intentional discrimination, the
district court then inquired whether the State had rebut-
ted that showing. Connecticut, however, persisted in

3563

asserting that the discrepancy was due to the voter regis-
tration lists instead of the town quota system. But, Chief
Judge Daly observed that blacks would be under-
represented even if the use of voter rolls was abandoned,
and accordingly deemed the State’s argument inapposite.
As a result, the district court found that Connecticut
presented no evidence of a neutral intent motivating the
system and granted the petitions for habeas corpus. These
appeals followed.

DISCUSSION

Before us now is the seemingly narrow question
whether the underrepresentation of blacks in the 1975
array was “substantial.” Specifically, we must determine
whether the presence of an estimated 368 blacks instead
of 501 gave rise to a presumption of discriminatory
intent. Our answer, however, requires a careful delinea-
tion of the constitutional standards governing selection of
potential jurors.

The equal protection clause of the fourteenth amend-
ment condemns underrepresentation of minorities only if
it is the product of intentional discrimination. The Su-
preme Court, however, has squarely held that substantial
underrepresentation of a cognizable group can establish a
prima facie case of discriminatory purpose. Castaneda v.
Partida, supra, 430 U.S. 482. In Castaneda, a habeas
corpus petitioner alleged that his indictment by a grand
jury on which Mexican-Americans were underrepresented
violated the fourteenth amendment. The High Court
established a tripartite analysis for analyzing this claim. A
prima facie case is made, stated the Court, if a cognizable
group is substantially underrepresented and if the selec-

3564

tion ._procedure is not racially neutral. Jd. at 494-95. In
Castaneda, as here, the Court found that the State was
unable to rebut the presumption of discrimination raised
by statistical evidence. Jd. at 501.

We agree with the district court that the three branches
of the Castaneda test were satisfied. Blacks, of course,
form a cognizable group. Carter v. Jury Commission, 396
U.S. 320 (1970). Moreover, the third requirement of
Castaneda—that the jury selection system is not racially
neutral—is also fulfilled. The ineluctable effect of the
statutory scheme was to reduce the number of potential
jurors drawn from large towns, especially New Haven,
where it is undisputed that a larger proportion of blacks
resided.

Turning to the central issue of this appeal, we hold that
blacks were substantially underrepresented as a result of
Connecticut’s earlier jury selection system. The reliable
tool referred to as Statistical Decision Theory is an
appropriate instrument for analyzing whether minority
underrepresentation in the jury array is substantial. The
goal of such an inquiry is to determine if chance alone
could account for a meager representation of minorities.
See, e.g., Castaneda, 430 U.S. at 494 n. 13; Smith v.
Texas, 311 U.S. 128, 1331 (1940). The Statistical Decision
Theory formulation resulted from an effort to determine
what one effect, chance, could have on the flux of events,
and is therefore an appropriate and acceptable augmenta-
tion to the legal arsenal. It has been adopted in the
context of employment discrimination. See Board of
Education v. Califano, 584 F.2d 576, 584 n.29 (2d Cir.
1978). Moreover, modern statistical approaches have been
employed by other courts in jury selection cases. Cas-
taneda, 430 U.S. at 496 n.17; Moultrie v. Martin, 690

3565

F.2d 1078 (4th Cir. 1982); Villafane v. Manson, 504
F.Supp. 78 (D.Conn. 1980); see generally Finkelstein, The
Application of Statistical Decision Theory to the Jury
Discrimination Cases, 80 Harv. L.Rev. 338 (1966)
(mathematical description of theory).

The Statistical Decision Theory formulation may be
Summarized as a set of mathematical calculations that
indicate whether an observed outcome could reasonably
be ascribed to chance. The district court found, for
example, that the expected number of blacks in the array
was 501. Surely, however, a violation would not be found
if the actual number turned out to be 5V0 or 490. Such a
result could easily have resulted from random factors. In
contrast, the estimated number of blacks who would have
actually served on the array in light of the quota system
was 368. The odds of such a result occurring through
happenstance are an incredible three in one billion. Ac-
cordingly, in light of the scant likelihood of the Connecti-
cut result, the district court correctly ruled that the State
had the burden of producing a plausible justification for
§ 51-220.!

Although not disputing the figures relied upon below,
the State objects that the proper standard was the abso-
lute disparity of blacks excluded. Under this view, one
would first note that the array should have been 5.96%
black. Instead, 4.38% of the prospective jurors were

I Our dissenting brother’s point is that the quota system, applied in
tandem with the voter registration requirement, might in practice not
exclude blacks. The State, however, had the burden of proving the
validity of this claim. In Castaneda, as here, the percentage of
minority potential jurors was compared to the minority percentage of
the population, despite the existe ce of a presumably licit voter
registration requirement. 430 U.S. at 485-86. Moreover, the estimated
number of blacks summoned was more than fair to the State, as Judge
Miner agrees.

3566

black. Connecticut argues the resulting discrepancy of
1.58% is not significant. United States v. Jenkins, 496
F.2d 57 (2d Cir. 1974), cert. denied, 420 U.S. 925 (1975).

The State, however, has confused equal protection and
sixth amendment standards. In an analysis pursuant to
the sixth amendment, a disparity can constitute a per se
violation of an accused’s right to trial by jury. Duren v.
Missouri, 439 U.S. 357 (1979). In Jenkins, supra, we
ruled that a difference of one black in a pool of 60 jurors
was not substantial. 496 F.2d at 66. In the instant case,
however, the use of statistics was not to establish a
violation itself, but to raise ihe presumption of dis-
criminatory intent. The Statistical Decision Theory anal-
ysis is ideally suited for shedding light on this issue
because it reveals the possible role of chance and works
well where a small sample is involved, as here. Villafane,
supra, 504 F.Supp. at 86.

Nonetheless, in light of Jenkins, our result might
appear anomalous. The State argues that the town quota
system would not violate the sixth amendment, although
it is generally thought to set forth a more stringent
standard than the equal protection clause. The sixth
amendment is stricter because it forbids any substantial
underrepresentation of minorities, regardless of whether
the State’s motive is discriminatory. The fourteenth
amendment, however, imposes the additional requirement
of discriminatory purpose. In this case, it appears that a
constitutional transgression was more easily established
pursuant to the equal protection clause, despite the added
burden of proving intent.

The answer to this seeming quandary is easily available.
First, as the appellees strenuously urge, the absolute

3567

disparity approach employed in Jenkins may be out-
moded and should be discarded. In light of our four-
teenth amendment analysis, however, we need not reach
this question, and therefore decline to do so. Nonetheless,
if this Court should subsequently apply modern statistical
theory to the sixth amendment as well as the fourteenth,
then the tw) constitutional analyses would be more con-
gruent. In that case, it would be unlikely that a jury
selection system would be found to violate the equal
protection clause, but not the sixth amendment.

More importantly, the.statistics herein employed raised
only a presumption of discrimination. The State was free
to rebut this presumption, but failed to do so. Indeed,
Chief Judge Daly flatly stated that “[n]o attempt has been
made to demonstrate that the town quota system serves a
legitimate state purpose.” 621 F.Supp. at 998.

Accordingly, the judgments of the district court grant-
ing Alston’s and Haskins’s petitions for habeas corpus
are affirmed.

aos

MINER, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

Because I believe that the statistical analysis employed
by the petitioners was seriously flawed and therefore
insufficient to raise the presumption of discriminatory
intent, I respectfully dissent.

Since the Connecticut quota system for summoning
jurors favored representation of the smaller towns, the
district court concluded that the statute discriminates
against blacks, who reside predominately in the more
populated regions of the county. The conclusion was

3568

based entirely on the expert testimony of a Statistician,
who estimated that 368 blacks would be summon.d under
the quota system instead of the 501 who would appear if
they were summoned in proportion to their representation
in the entire county population.

Apparently lacking information as to the number of
blacks registered to vote and therefore eligible for jury
duty, the statistician presumed black voter registration (as
well as white voter registration) to be 100% of the adult
population for the purposes of his model. This approach
was believed to be more than fair, because the effect of
the voting registration requirement was to decrease the
number of blacks actually summoned. Indeed, the State
conceded that the use of voter lists “has traditionally
resulted in an under-representation of blacks for blacks as
a group tend to register to vote less frequently than do
whites.” Brief for the Appellant at 5.

In order to find intentional discrimination on the part
of the State of Connecticut, however, it is not enough
simply to demonstrate an underrepresentation of blacks
in the array of jurors. What must be shown is that the
Connecticut statute brought about that underrepresenta-
tion. In the absence of actual information as to the
number and distribution of blacks registered to vote, i.e.,
eligible for jury service, in the county population, that
showing cannot be made. The reason it cannot is that the
black proportion of those registered to vote in the towns
may be greater than the black proportion of those regis-
tered to vote in the city, and the statute, since it favors the
towns, would therefore have no pernicious effect insofar
as jury service by blacks is concerned. Underrepresenta-
tion of blacks, if found under those circumstances, would

3569

be due to some factor other than the statute challenged by
these petitioners.

Two other considerations favor the denial of the writ
sought by the petitioners. First, the number of blacks in
the array summoned under the challenged statute is esti-
mated. In previous cases involving fourteenth amendment
violation claims, the actual number of the minority mem-
bers summoned was known. Vasquez v. Hillery, 106 S. Ct.
617 (1986) (total absence of blacks from grand juries was
known fact); Castaneda v. Partida, 430 U.S. 482 (1977)
(actual number of Mexican-Americans summoned over
an extended period was “observed”); Villafane v. Man-
son, 504 F. Supp. 78 (D. Conn.) (actual percentage of
Puerto Ricans in the electorate, as well as actual number
summoned, was known), aff’d mem., 639 F.2d 770 (2d
Cir. 1980). Here, not only is the actual number of blacks
summoned under the quota system unknown, but the
estimate is not even based on the universe of blacks
eligible for jury duty. Second, the use of statistical models
to prove claims of discrimination in jury selection proce-
dures has been limited heretofore to cases involving a
subjective selection process. J. Nowak, R. Rotunda & J.
Young, Constitutional Law 602 (2d ed. 1983); see Brown
v. Allen, 344 U.S. 443 (1953). When, as here, jurors are
selected randomly, in accordance with objective statutory
criteria, there is no basis for the use of statistical analysis
to raise a presumption of discriminatory intent. Under
these circumstances, we are required to presume that the
Statute meets constitutional standards, absent a showing
of discriminatory intent on the part of the legislature.
Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan Housing Development
Corp., 429 U.S. 252, 265 (1977).

3570

We deal here with two people who stand convicted of
serious crimes involving the wounding of police officers
by gunfire in the course of a robbery. Their convictions
were affirmed after appeal to the Connecticut Supreme
Court, where the same argument presented here was
advanced and rejected. Before granting the writ to these
petitioners, thereby making possible the release of an
unknown number of offenders convicted by juries drawn
under the challenged statute, | would at least remand to
the district court for further findings as to the actual
operation of Connecticut’s statutory jury quota system.

357]

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385019_0055%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
