# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Gordon v. National Labor Relations Board

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_2451%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 931

## Text

8 6 a 8 92 } Supreme Court, U.S,

FILED
AUG 27 \986

N
IN THE * | JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,
CLERK

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

Wa 2806 NO mee

October Term, 1986

No.

ELI GORDON, GERALD TILLINGER and
SEYMOUR TILLINGER, A COPARTNERSHIP
d/b/a BALSAM VILLAGE MANAGEMENT

COMPANY,
Petitioner,

—against—

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

JOEL SPIVAK, ESQ.

SPIVAK & MEISELAS. ESQS.
Attorneys for Petitioner

1010 Northern Boulevard

Great Neck, New York !1021
(516) 829-3939

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether when three unlawfully discharged employees are
offered unconditional reinstatement prior to the National Labor
Relations Board’s (hereinafter “NLRB”) hearing and all three
voluntarily refuse to accept reinstatement and the new work force
consists of six new uninvolved employees, none of whom have
chosen union representation, a bargaining order remedy is
appropriate.*

This question raises the following issues left unanswered by this
Court in NLRB vy. Gissel Packing Co., 395 U.S. 575 (1969):

|. What type of detail and explanation must be provided by
the NLRB when it issues a bargaining order?

2. What conduct and under what circumstances is a bargaining
order appropriate?

3. What is the appropriate test or standard for issuing
bargaining orders?

4. What is the effect of unusual and extraordinary turnover of
employees before and/or after the NLRB hearing on the issuance
of a bargaining order?

*Petitioner also disagrees with the finding that it violated Sections &(a) (1)
and (3) of the National Labor Relations Act (hereinatter the “"NLRA”) by dis-
charging the three emplovees. However. in view of judicial discretion, Petitioner
seeks review only of the NLRB's bargaining order remedy which the Second
Circuit affirmed.

INDEX
Page
PEST TET ELS TEE EET TELE Preface
cisco hiner esesececcs OEE TT eee TT TET ee 2
REE 5 apd abe bebe 4 ses vaccareeseseses 2
EE ee 2
EERIE Oe eee eee ee eee ee 3
ES 8 Sr 3
B. The NLRB’s Findings of Violations

ere Geb ee 6 es esse esse ce essteeas 4
i I IIIT © EPUDOOPEE ow ccc ccc cc cece sncccs 5
DD. tee Court of Appeals’ Decision .................0.. 6
eS 8
Tee Weed Tor Claritication of Gissel ...... 2. ccc ccc ceeees 8

The NLRB’s and Second Circuits Application
IIE CURIE bcc cece cess ecceccccces 10
Application of the Foregoing Principles ................. 13
EEE SEE 17
EERO ET Pe ey Tee eee eee eee eee
Appendix A — Court of Appeals’ Decision ..............

Appendix B — NLRB's Decision ..................0005-

CITATIONS

Cases:
Chandler Motors, Inc., 236 NLRB 1565,

SI OE OPI i oa ie es ge ee ee od 8
Franks Bros. Co. v. NLRB, 321 U.S. 702.

ES I werent dain ose SACs io bcd we ee 15
Gourmet Foods, 270 NLRB 578 (1984) .............. 11, 14
John Cuneo, Inc. v. NLRB, 459 U.S. 1178 (1983),

denving cert., 681 F.2d 11 (D.C. Cir. 1982) ............ 10
Justak Bros. & Co. v. NLRB, 664 F.2d 1074

UME AIII: SN Sick ate te ee 13
Kenworth Trucks of Philadelphia, Inc. v. NLRB,

Sr We Pe, I a i iin os oxen ny sds coed ebeuswa 9
Leggs Products Inc., 619 F.2d 1337

I Gaertn Gl as pe ok eee eke 13
Linden Lumber Division, Sumner & Co. v. NLRB.

ee es ee, OER nos dws ony saa eee acanaeieeceis lI
Marchese Metal, 270 NLRB 293 (1984)................2.6. 9
NLRB v. Armcor Industries, 535 F.2d 239

Oe age eee ee eeu ke tec ton un ecee' 9
NLRB v. Fansteel Metallurgical Corp., | ;

TN: PR oo oo ik abe Pk wb ke won ewe dawnt 15
NLRB v. Gissel Packing Co., 395 U.S. 575,

es WN PN i npc cuseea ncn diosde oes 6. 8. 10. 11. 12. 13
NLRB vy. Horizon Air Services, 761 F.2d

ee ig ak hk cen oo os whee 68 ed een 13
NLRB v. Keystone Pretzel Bakery, Inc.,

eee ae OF RR POD one dissin vvasebcccaces 13
NLRB y. J. Coty Messenger Service, Inc.,

pe ©.20 92, WOO (20 Cir. 1965) 6. occ ccc ccc cecwes 12
NLRB v. Jamaica Towing, Inc., 632 F.2d 208.

ee, EI WD og os 5 uo a0 kk ve Soe wk hec keen 12

NLRB v. L.B. Foster Co., 418 F.2d |
PON Sa Kabra eae teak Kos oa eee Paden 14

iil

NLRB v. Knogo Corp., 727 F.2d 55, 60

(2d Cir. 1984) ....cccccccccsecrcvevecenscssrcesceces 12
NLRB v. Pace Oldsmobile, Inc., 739 F.2d
108 (2d Cir. 1984) .... cece cee eee ee eee eee 5, 12, 13, 14

NLRB vy. Solboro Knitting Mills, Inc.,
572 F.2d 936, 944 (2d Cir.), cert. denied

439 U.S. 8646 (1978) occ ccvcsscccccsccccscccsccsecess 12
NLRB v. Western Drug, 600 F.2d 1324

(Sth Cir. 1979) ....ccccccccccesccsvcccccccsscses 13, 14
NLRB v. Windsor Industries, 730 F.2d 860

(2d Cir. 1984) 2. ccc ccccccccecccncvenecccsesecvecceces 5
Regency Manor Nursing Home, 275 NLRB

Mo. 171 (4965) on ccc cece ces reccccceccssessnssesesecse e)
Trading Port, Inc., 219 NLRB 298,

; 8 Fo. rer err reer nee eee eee eee ee ees 11
STATUTES:

National Labor Relations Act, 161 Stat. 136,
29 U.S.C. Section I51, ef seq.:
Sections 8(a) (1) and (3) of the NLRA,
29 U.S.C. Sections 158(a) (1) and (3).......-.-- 2, 4, ¥é

Judiciary and Judicial Procedure,
WB U.S.C. Section 125441) 2... 2 cc ccccevcvcccvcceaseres 2

IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

No.

EL! GORDON, GERALD TILLINGER and
SEYMOUR TILLINGER, A COPARTNERSHIP
d/b/a BALSAM VILLAGE

MANAGEMENT COMPANY,
Petitioner,
—|\ —
NATIONAL LABOR
RELATIONS BOARD,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Eli Gordon, Gerald Tillinger and Seymour Tillinger, a Co-
Partnership d/b/a Balsam Village Management Company
(hereinafter the “Petitioner” or “Company”) petitions fora Writ of
Certiorari to review the judgment of the United States Court of
_ Appeals for the Second Circuit in this case.

i es

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (App. A., infra, pp. A-1-
A-I1) is reported at 792 F.2d 29 (2nd Cir. 1986). The decision and
order of the National Labor Relations Board (App. B, infra.
pp. B-I-B-30), is reported at 273 NLRB No. 66 (1984).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on May 30,
1986. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.
Section 12541).

STATUTES INVOLVED

Section 8a) (1) and (3) of the NLRA, 29 U.S.C. Section
158(a) (1) and (3) (1982) provide:

“Section 8(a)—It shall be an unfair labor practice for
an employer—

(1) “to interfere with, restrain, or coerce employees
in the exercise of the rights guaranteed in section
, fas

XXX

(3) “by discrimination in regard to hire or tenure of
employment or any term or condition of employ-
ment to encourage or discourage membership in
any labor organization...”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE
A. The NLRB’s Findings of Fact*

Petitioner owns and manages a 270-unit garden apartment
complex in Queens County, New York. In January 1983, it
employed a total of three employees—superintendent Carlos Casal
(hereinafter “Casai”) and porters Mario Aguila (hereinafter
“Aguila”) and Daniel Santos (hereinafter “Santos”). Together they
were responsible for the upkeep and maintenance of the premises.

On January 20, 1983, the three employees joined Local 32B-32J,
Service Employees International Union (hereinafter the “Union’”).
On or about January 27 or 28, 1983, the Union erroneously mailed
the receipts for the union initiation fees to the Company’s office.

On February 4, Casal was summoned to a meeting with owners
Gerald Tillinger (hereinafter “G. Tillinger”) and Eli Gordon
(hereinafter “Gordon”). He was told that the Company could not
afford unions. Casal was instructed to try to persuade Aguila and
Santos to leave the Union. When Casai replied that Aguila and
Santos would not renounce the Union, Gordon instructed him to
tell them that unless they renounce the Union they will lose their
jobs. Gordon also told Casal that if Casal did not cooperate and get
them out of the Union, the Company would have to accept Casal’s
resignation.

Casal conveyed Gordon's message to Aguila and Santos, both of
whom toid Casal they would remain in the Union. When Casal
relayed this response to Gordon and added that he too would

* Petitioner does not agree with all of the NURB’s Findings of Fact. However,
because the only issue being appealed is the remedy. the facts are set forth here as
found by the Administrative Law Judge and adopted by the NLRB. (See App.
pp. B-7-B-17).

%

remain in the Union, Gordon told Casal, “if you're going to stick to
the union, ... then I accept your resignation also.” He continued to
urge Casal to renounce the Union himself and to persuade the other
two to renounce it also. Later that afternoon, when Aguila and
Santos went to the Company’s office to pick up their pay checks,
they were discharged—told by Gordon that their jobs were being
eliminated.

On February 8, 1983, the discharged employees began picketing
the Company's premises. On February 25, 1983, Gordon ap-
proached them on the sidewalk and told them that they could
return to their jobs if they renounced the Union. They continued to
picket until mid-April. In the meantime, the Union sent the
Company a request to meet and bargain; the Company did not
respond. Over time, the Company hired six different persons to
perform the work of the three discharged employees. One was hired
in February, two in April, and the others in June and August.

On June 8, 1983, prior to the August 1983 NLRB hearing, the
Company offered unconditional reinstatement to Casal, Aguila
and Santos. All declined. (See the Administrative Law Judge's
Decision (hereinafter “ALJD”), Appendix p. B-11).

B. The NLRB’s Finding of Violations and Its Remedy

On December 14, 1984, the NLRB issued a Decision and Order
in which it unanimously adopted the Administrative Law Judge's
findings and conclusions that Petitioner threatened and discharged
Santos, Aguila and Casal in violation of Sections 8(a) (1) and (3) of
the NLRA. The NLRB ordered the Company to make whole the
three employees, but did not order their reinstatement. The
employees already had declined reinstatement.

With one member dissenting, the NLRB also concluded that
these violations warranted, inter alia, the issuance of a Gissel,

supra, bargaining order remedy. The majority decided that the
discharges for the purpose of avoiding collective bargaining war-
ranted the issuance of a bargaining order remedy, despite the 100
percent employee turnover. Reasoning that the turnover was of the
employer’s making, withholding a bargaining order would reward
the employer. Thus, a bargaining order remedy was warranted.

C. Chairman Dotson’s Dissent

The NLRB’s blatant error in imposing a bargaining order
remedy is best explained in Chairman Dotson’s dissent:

“Chairman Dotson finds the issuance of a bargaining order
in this case arising in the Second Circuit to be contrary to the
law of that Circuit. See, NLRB v. Pace Oldsmobile, Inc., 739
F.2d 108 (2d Cir. 1984); NLRB v. Windsor Industries, 730
F.2d 55 (2d Cir. 1984), and cases cited therein. While recog-
nizing the severity of the Respondent's misconduct, Chair-
man Dotson finds that a bargaining order would impair the
rights of the Respondent’s current work force. In so finding he
notes that the unlawfully discharged employees declined rein-
statement to their former jobs. Thus, there is no continuity in
the Company’s work force before and after the unfair labor
practices. Further, the record fails to show that the
Respondent: asked the replacement employees about their
Union sentiments, that the replacement employees exhibited
any interest in the Union, or that the Union attempted to
organize the new employees. No showing was made that the
current employees discussed the Respondent’s prior mis-
conduct or that the Respondent has engaged ia further
antiunion activity. In view of the circumstances of this Second
Circuit case, Chairman Dotson finds a bargaining order in-
appropriate.” (NLRB Decision, p. 2-3. f.n., 5, App. p. B-11).

D. The Court of Appeals’ Decision

The Second Circuit enforced the NLRB’s order in all respects. It
concluded that there was substantial evidence in the Record to
support the NLRB'’s findings that the Company threatened to, and
did, in fact, discharge Casal, Santos and Aguila because of their
Union membership. Petitioner does not agree with this portion of
the Second Circuit’s opinion. However, it has chosen not to seek
review of that decision here.

The Second Circuit also concluded that the NLRB adequately
articulated its basis for issuing a bargaining order and that.the 100
percent employee turnover did not mitigate against the issuance of
a bargaining order remedy. It is this bargaining order remedy
portion of the Second Circuit's opinion and judgment which
Petitioner seeks to reverse.

The Second Circuit discussed this Court's decision in Gissel,
supra, which held that the NLRB has discretion to issue a bargain-
ing order remedy where serious unfair labor practices have made it
unlikely that a fair representation election could be conducted. To
justify a bargaining order, there has to be substantial danger that
current employees would be inhibited by the employer's prior
conduct. The NLRB must demonstrate that an election would
likely not reflect the uncoerced preference of the current bargain-
ing unit.*

*The significance and distinction between Gisse/ category one and two
conduct has never been defined by this Court. Since that decision, the Courts of
Appeal have differed between themselves and the NLRB on the meaning and
interpretation of the apparently different Gisse/ standards. This Court has not
explained how these possibly different tests should be applied, how much or
what type of NLRB discussion is required, and what consideration shouid be
given to abnormal and different changes in circumstances (including turnover)
between the commission of the violations, the hearing and the NLRB decision.

—<

The Second Circuit affirmed the NLRB’s finding that the
Company committed “hallmark” NLRA violations. As a result, a
bargaining order was appropriate. The fact that there was a 100
percent turnover did not mitigate against the issuance of a bargain-
ing order because the turnover did not establish that a fair election
could now be held. The following reasoning for this conclusion,
however, was insubstantial and is erroneous as a matter of law. The
Second Circuit stated:

“The new employees presumably are thus aware of the
employer’s past treatment-of its employees who chose to be
repesented by a union, and the Board was within the bounds
of discretion to view that history as making the likelihood of
an untainted election remote.” Court of Appeals Decision
(App. p. A-10) (emphasis added).

The Second Circuit’s presumption is unwarranted. This con-
clusionary language also totally disregards and is contrary to the
record. Beyond that, knowledge alone would not establish that a
fair election cannot be held. As NLRB Chairman Dotson stated in
his dissent, the record failed to establish the impact of the violations
on the new work: force.

Finally, the Second Circuit erroneously concluded that a
bargaining was warranted because the turnover was caused by the
Company's unfair labor practices (App. p. A-10). The Court relied
on its belief that the offers of reinstatement were not made in good
faith (App. p. A-I1). However, these conclusions contradict the
NLRB’s and Second Circuit's other findings. The June 1983 offers
of reinstatement were made a short four months after the
employees were discharged and before the NLRB conducted its
hearings. Further, whether or not the offers were properly
motivated, they certainly were validly made and refused. Indeed.
based on these offers, the NLRB cut off the back pay and did not
order reinstatement of the three employees.

In these circumsta*e#s, the turnover was not of the employer's

making. but the empioyees’. The unfair labor practices did not
cause the turnover once valid offers of reinstatement were made
and refused. Accordingly, the Second Circuit was wrong when it
concluded that the employee turnover was of the Company's
making and did not justify withholding a bargaining order
remedy.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
The Need for Clarification of Gissel

A Writ of Certiorari should be granted because this case raises
serious and important questions which recur with frequency
before the NLRB and federal Courts of Appeal. Our case also
raises crucial issues of federal labor law left unanswered by this
Court in Gissel, supra. Moreover, the Courts of Appeal are in
conflict with eachother and the NLRB over the correct standard
to be applied before the NLRB imposes a bargaining order. More
particularly, this Court must explain Gisse/ and decide finally the
correct standard for imposing bargaining orders, whether unusual
and abnormal turnover is a mitigating circumstance to consider
and the degree and type of discussion required of the NLRB.

This need is highlighted by the NLRB’s decision in Chandler
Motors, Inc., 236 NLRB 1565, 1566, fn. 8 (1978), where the NLRB
stated:

We have deemed it necessary in this case to set forth in
detail the reasons why we find it appropriate to grant a
Gissel bargaining remedy, rather than to adopt and rely
on the findings of the Administrative Law Judge. How-
ever, we do not thereby accede to the position of the U.S.
Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit in such cases as

NLRB vy. Armcor Industries, 535 F.2d 239 (3rd Cir.
1976) and Kenworth Trucks of Philadelphia, Inc. v.
NLRB, 580 F.2d 55 (3rd Cir. 1978). With all deference to
the court, we believe that the administration of the Act,
for which we are responsible, requires that we await a
final disposition by the Supreme Court of the issue in
order to resolve the conflict with other circuits on this
important issue. We wish to make it clear that our
adherence is intended as nothing more than respectful
disagreement with the view of the Third Circuit on the
matter as an attempt to protect, until the conflict is
resolved by the Supreme Court, what we consider to be a
substantial legal issue.

Further, in Regency Manor Nursing Home, 275 NLRB No. 171
(1985), Member Dennis stated in her concurring opinion:

“Former Chairman Miller observed more than a
decade ago. and it remains true today, that no decisional
task ‘has more perplexed this Board, or confounded the
courts which review our decisions,” than determining
‘whether an order to bargain is an appropriate remedy
for employer interference with rights protected by
Section 7 of the Act.”

“The Board has not made its perplexing task any less
difficult by its proclivity for issuing or not issuing
bargaining orders ‘without rhyme, reason or differ-
entiating factors other than ... conclusory statements’.
The result has been inconsistent decisions, arbitrary
results, and repeated circuit court refusals to enforce
Board bargaining orders on the ground that they lack
reviewable standards and analysis.” Slip up., at p. 5-6.*

*See also, Marchese Metal, 270 NLRB 293 (1984). where each Board member
expressed a different view concerning when bargaining orders are appropriate.
p 8 : £ p

iQ

In John Cuneo, Inc, v. NLRB, 459 U.S. 1178 (1983), denving
cert., 681 F.2d 11 (D.C. Cir. 1982), this Court denied certiorariina
bargaining order case. However, as the Honorable Judge
Rehnquist stated in his dissenting opinion:

“The Court spoke plainly in Gissel, however, em-
phasizing that in addition to finding that the employees’
union preference would be better protected, before a
bargaining order is issued it must be determined that ‘the
possibility of erasing the effects of past practices and of
ensuring a fair election (or a fair rerun) by the use of
traditional remedies though present, is slight’...”

“The so-called Gisse/ bargaining order was never
intended to be used routinely. It isa remedy designed for
cases where traditional remedies are insufficient. Since
in this case the bargaining order has been sanctioned
without a finding that the special circumstances required
hy Gissel exist, we should determine whether this newly
adopted approach is a proper one.” 459 U.S. at 1181.
{Emphasis added. }

The NLRB’s and Second Circuit's Application
of an Erroneous Standard

In our case, the NLRB’s and Second Circuit's decisions are faulty
because they are premised on the erroneous analysis that the crucial
issue is how badly the employer acted and whether he should be
rewarded or punished for his conduct.* In Gisse/, this Court stated
that the appropriate standard is whether a fair election can be
conducted involving the current work force. Thus, by applying the
wrong test, the Second Circuit and NLRB ignored the statutory
rights of the new employees.

*Even applying this standard, the NLR Band Court findings were wrong. (See
discussion, infra.)

An employer is not obligated to recognize and bargain with a
union merely upon a showing of authorization card majority or
other evidence of majority short of a NLRB certification. An
employer may refuse to bargain and wait until the union files fora
NLRB-conducted secret ballot representation election. It need not
respond in any fashion to a demand for recognition. Linden
Lumber Division, Sumner & Co. v. NLRB, 419 U.S. 301, 310
(1974). However, a bargaining obligation may be imposed on an
employer by means other than an NLRB conducted election.
Gissel, supra.

If an employer, presented with a demand for recognition
supported by actual majority support of unit employees, responds
by committing exceptional, outrageous unfair labor practices of
sufficient severity to have made a fair election impossible (category
!) or less pervasive cases which nevertheless make the holding of a
fair election likely, the NLRB. in its discretion, may find as a
remedy that the employer has waived its right to an election and
must bargain with the union. Gissel, 395 U.S. at 610. 614.* See,
e.g., Trading Port, Inc., 219 NLRB 298, 300, 301 (1975). Bur see,
Gourmet Foods, 270 NLRB 578 (1984). (NLRB lacks authority to
issue a bargaining order in the absence of a majority.)

*The differences between the two categories have not fully been explained. In
our case, the Second Circuit did not categorize the untair labor practices except
to call them “hailmark™ violations. However. naming them does notexplain why
a fair election cannot be held in the current bargaining unit.

In certain cases, the NLRB and courts have held that violations

such as threats of loss of employment and discharge of union
adherents in violation of Section 8(a) (3) of the NLRA warranted
the issuance of a bargaining order. However, also relevant is
whether the unfair labor practices are pervasive—that is, extensive
and effective throughout the entire voting unit rather than those
unknown to a large group of employees in the unit.* NLRB v.
Jamaica Towing, Inc., 632 F.2d 208, 213 (2nd Cir. 1980). Accord,
Gissel, 395 U.S. at 614; NLRB v. Solboro Knitting Mills, Inc., 572
F.2d 936, 944 (2d Cir.), cert. denied 439 U.S. 864 (1978). Simply
calling a violation “hallmark” is not enough of a justification.** It
is also especially important for the NLRB to carefully articulate its
reasons for a bargaining order, where, as here, one Board member
dissents. NLRB v. J. Coty Messenger Service, Inc., 763 F.2d 92, 100
(2d Cir. 1985).

The NLRB must include in its analysis of the propriety of issuing
a bargaining order an examination of subsequent circumstances,
such as a change in the employer’s management, turnover in the
work force and the passage of time. Indeed, as is relevant here, the
rights of subsequently hired employees to make their own choice
whether to be represented by a union must be considered. VLRBv.
Knogo Corp., supra, 727 F.2d at 60; NLRB v. Jamaica Towing,

*An unanswered question ts whether this principle applies to the employees in
the former work force or the new one which would vote if an election were
directed when the NLRB issues its decision.

** The Second Circuit stated in VLRBv. Pace Oldsmobile.
“Moreover, the Board's statement that substantial turnover does

not militate against a bargaining order where the employer has
engaged in ‘hallmark violations’ is wrong as a matter of law.”

Inc., supra, 632 F.2d at 214.*

Application of the Foregoing Principles

It is undisputed that in our case, all three alleged discriminatees
were offered and refused reinstatement prior to the NLRB hearing.
The NLRB did not order reinstatement of these former employees.
In addition, the record failed to establish (a) continuity of the work
force; (b) prior, subsequent or other unlawful conduct; (c) that
replacements were asked about their union sentiments; (d) that
replacements expressed any interest in the union; or (e) that current
employees have any knowledge of the union proceedings. These
findings were observed by Chairman Dotson in our case and
parallel the Second Circuit's findings in NLRB v. Pace Oldsmobile,
Inc., supra, where a bargaining order remedy was denied enforce-
ment. Nevertheless, in our case the NLRB majority imposed a
bargaining order and the Second Circuit enforced the NLRB’s
order.

In light of the record concerning the current work force, it is
evident that the NLRB and Second Circuit ignored Gisse/ and
applied an inappropriate test when they concluded that a bargain-
ing order remedy was appropriate. The Second Circuit and NLRB
did not adequately explain the standard they applied and why any
presumption created by the violation was not rebutted by the
record. Neither the NLRB nor the Second Circuit discussed the
different Gisse/ categories of unlawful conduct and what they
mean. Nor did they provide a rational basis for issuing a bargain-
ing order.

*Compare controlling Second Circuit opinions with the tollowing cases
refusing to consider employee turnover: VL RB v. Horizon Air Services, 761
F.2d 22 (Ist Cir. 1985); VLRBv. Kevstone Pretzel Bakery, Inc., 696 F.2d 257
(3rd Cir. 1982); Justak Bros. & Co. v. VRB, 664 F.2d 1074 (7th Cir. 1981);
Leggs Products Inc., 619 F.2d 1337 (9th Cir. 1980). Bur see. VL RBwv. Western
Drug, 600 F.2d 1324 (9th Cir. 1979).

14

In our case, the NLRB and Court ignored the current work force
when they imposed a bargaining remedy. They disregarded the lack
of impact of the unlawful conduct on the new work force as fully
explained by Chairman Dotson. The sole reference made to the
new work force was the erroneous presumption that they knew of
the past conduct. Beyond that, the Court did not discuss or even
consider how mere knowledge would have an impact or would
prevent the holding of a fair election. There is absolutely no expla-
nation why a fair election cannot be held now in the new work force
which was not employed when the violations occurred and which
has never. indicated any interest in union reprsentation. See
generally Gourmet Foods, supra. \n these circumstances, the
NLRB and Second Circuit have not articulated a rational basis for
imposing a bargaining order. Further, they have engaged in a
flawed analysis of when to issue bargaining order remedies. Based
on the foregoing, a Writ of Certiorari must be granted.

Beyond the foregoing, the consequences of employee turnover
must be examined by this Court. In the first instance, the NLRB
and Second Circuit do not agree on the effect of employee turn-
over in deciding bargaining ord*r cases.* Nor do the various
Courts of Appeal agree.**

Unlike our case, the Ninth Circuit has expressed a contrary view
concerning extreme turnover. That Court has issued bargaining
orders despite employee turnover. See NLRBv. LB Foster Co., 418
F.2d | (9th Cir. 1969). However, in NLRB v. Western Drug, supra.
the Ninth Circuit denied enforcement of a Board bargaining order
where, as here, the three bargaining unit employees (who were not
discharged) resigned prior to the NLRB hearing. Like our

situation, the Company did not delay to take advantage of the

*See v.g.. NLRB v. Pace Oldsmobile, supra.

**See Cases cited on page | 3.

15

passage of time and the record did not establish that the employer
would continue to violate the NLRA. Accordingly, a bargaining
order remedy was not appropriate. This difference concerning an
important legal principle must be decided by this Court.***

Finally, contrary to the Second Circuit’s conclusion in our case,
the former employees are not working now by their own choice.
Even if they were unlawfully discharged, they were cffered un-
conditional reinstatement which they voluntarily refused. Sig-
nificantly, the NLRB’s order does not provide for future rein-
Statement. In these circumstances, the Company's motive for
offering reinstatement is irrelevant. The Second Circuit's rationale
that “there was no meaningful offer of reinstatement” (see App., at
p. A-I1) applies another erroneous test. Whether or not the offers
were made in good or bad faith, they were valid and unconditional.
They were also refused. Had the offers not been valid, the NLRB
would not have cut off the employees’ back pay and would have
ordered them reinstated. In light of these NLRB findings, it is
apparent that no matter what the motive, the offers were valid. By
refusing such offers, the employees terminated their employment
by their own choice. The unfair labor practices did not cause the
termination of their employment. The termination was of the
employees’—and not the employer’s—making.

Thus, our case is like VLRBv. Fansteel Metallurgical Corp., 306
U.S. 240 (1939), where this Court refused to issue a bargaining
order because of employee turnover. There, as here. lawful termi-

***Our situation unlike traditional turnover cases. involves offers of rein-
statement which were made and refused shortly after the unlawful discharges
and before the NLRB's hearing. Thus. there is no reason to believe that the
Company delayed the proceeding in the hope of future turnover which would
Mitigate against the imposition of a bargaining order. Our case also involves
unusual, abnormal and extreme, rather than common turnover. Indeed. our
situation ts wholly different from Franks Bros. Co. VIRB, 321 U.S. 702. 705
(1944).

nations were the cause of the employee turnover. Analogously, in
our situation, the three former employees are not working by their
own choice. In these circumstances, contrary to the Second
Circuit’s conclusion, the turnover was not caused by the unfair
labor practice. Rather, it was caused by the employees’ subsequent
volutary termination of employment after they were offered rein-
statement. This turnover has resulted in six new uninvolved
employees who have shown no union interest. In these circum-
stances, to impose a bargaining order remedy would be to deny the
new employees their statutory rights and to punish them and
prevent them from making their own choice.

In sum the NLRB and Second Circuit did not sufficiently
articulate or apply-an appropriate standard or test to justify the
imposition of a bargaining order remedy. Nor did they correctly
consider the impact of the 100 percent employee turnover in the
current bargaining unit. Finally, the record did not establish why a
fair election cannot be held in the current all new unit. As a result,

the imposition of a bargaining order remedy was an abuse of
discretion by the NLRB. In light of the foregoing, and to resolve
these issues and the conflict between and among the NLRBand the
Courts of Appeal, it is necessary that this Court review the Second
Circuit’s opinion and current NLRB laws in this area.

aS be

17

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, it is respectfully submitted that this
petition for a Writ of Certiorari be granted.

Dated: Great Neck, New York
August 8, 1986

Respectfully submitted,

Joel Spivak, Esq.

Spivak & Meiselas, Esqs.
1010 Northern Boulevard
Great Neck, New York 1102!
(516) 829-3939

A-|
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

i

No. 770—August Term, 1985
(Argued: January 27, 1986 Decided: May 30, 1986)
Docket No. 85-4157

—

NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD,
Petitioner,
—_—V—

ELI GORDON, GERALD TILLINGER and SEYMOUR
TILLINGER, A COPARTNERSHIP d/b/a/ BALSAM
VILLAGE MANAGEMENT COMPANY,

Respondents.

Before:

MESKILL, NEWMAN, and KEARSE,
Circuit Judges.

+

Petition by NLRB for enforcement of bargaining order
entered on ground that employer had committed unfair
labor practices, in violation of §§ 8(a)(1) and (3) of the

3751

A-2

National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 158(a)(1)
and (3), by threatening to discharge and discharging its
three maintenance employees.

Board order enforced.

MARGARET BEZOU, Washington, D.C.
(Rosemary M. Collyer, General Counsel,
National Labor Relations Board, John E.
Higgins, Jr., Deputy General Counsel,
Robert E. Ajilen, Associate General
Counsel, Elliott Moore, Deputy Associ-
ate General Counsel, Elinor Hadley
Stillman, Michael David Fox, Attorneys,
Washington, D.C., on the brief), for
Petitioner.

LAWRENCE SOLOTOFF, Great Neck, New
York (Joel Spivak, Solotoff & Spivak,
Great Neck, New York, on the brief), for
Respondent.

* i alk tae

aes

KEARSE, Circuit Judge:

Petitioner National Labor Relations Board (the
‘‘Board’’) seeks enforcement of its order issued on j
December 14, 1984, finding principally that respondents
Eli Gordon, Gerald Tillinger, Seymour Tillinger, and
their partnership, Balsam Village Management Company :
(collectively the ‘‘Company’’), had committed unfair

3752

A-3

labor practices in violation of §§ 8(a)(1) and (3) of the
National Labor Relations Act (the ‘‘Act’’), as amended,
29 U.S.C. §§ 158(a)(1) and (3) (1982), by threatening to
discharge and discharging three Company employees for
their pursuit of union membership. The Board order
required the Company principally to cease and desist
from interfering with its employees’ statutory rights and
to bargain with Local 32B-32J, Service Employees In-
ternational Union, AFL-CIO (the ‘‘Union’’), as the bar-
gaining representative of its employees in an appropriate
unit. In opposition to the petition for enforcement, the
Company. contends principally that the Board’s finding
that it engaged in unfair labor practices should be over-
turned and that, in light of 100% employee turnover in
the bargaining unit, a bargaining order is inappropriate.
We reject both contentions and grant the petition for
enforcement.

I. BACKGROUND

Prior to February 1983, the Company employed a
three-person maintenance crew, consisting of Carlos
Casal, Mario Aguila, and Daniel Santos, for the care of a
45-building apartment complex operated by the Com-
pany. Each of the three had been employed by the
Company for a number of years without any substantial
complaint as to their performance. According to the
testimony of these employees, which was expressly cred-
ited by the Board’s Administrative Law Judge (‘‘ALJ’’),
the following events occurred in early 1983.

A. The Events

In January 1983, Casal, Aguila, and Santos joined the
Union and signed cards authorizing the Union to repre-

3753

A-4

sent them in collective bargaining. The Union mailed
receipts for the employees’ initiation fees to Casal at the
Company’s office, mistakenly believing this to be Casal’s
home address. The receipts, in an envelope showing the
Union’s name and return address and bearing the words
“ENCLOSE YOUR UNION BOOK! DO NOT SEND
CASH”’ in capital letters, arrived at the Company’s office
not later than January 27 or 28, when Casal saw the
envelope on Gerald Tillinger’s desk.

The envelope was not given to Casal until Wednesday,
February 2./-On February 4, Casal was summoned to a
meeting with Gerald Tillinger and Gordon and was told
that the Company could not afford unions. Casal was
instructed to try to persuade Aguila and Santos to leave
the Union.. When Casal replied that Aguila and Santos
would not renounce the Union, Gordon instructed him to
tell them that unless they renounced the Union ‘‘they will
lose their jobs. They have families to support and I’m
sure they don’t want to lose their jobs. . . . [E]xplain to
them that there will be no job if they join the Union.’’
Gordon also told Casal that if Casal did not cooperate
and get them out of the Union, the Company would have
to ‘‘accept’’ Casal’s ‘‘resignation.’’

Casal conveyed Gordon’s message to Aguila and San-
tos, both of whom told Casal they would remain in the
Union. When Casal relayed this response to Gordon and
added that he too would remain in the Union, Gordon
told Casal, ‘‘if you’re going to stick to the union, .. .
then I accept your resignation also.’’ He continued to
urge Casal to renounce the Union himself and to persuade
the other two to renounce it also. Later that afternoon,
when Aguila and Santos went to the Company office to

3754

sl}?

Ptccrve* Sieh Reda ed dae ak haat shiek ei tid

ered BAe gh cat a

A-5

because of their union membership. He found that the
Company had violated §§ 8(a)(1) and (5) of the Act by
refusing to recognize and bargain with the Union. He
recommended that the Company be ordered (1) to make
the discharged employees whole, (2) to cease and desist
from interfering ‘vith employees’ exercise of their statu-
tory rights, and (3) to bargain with the Union upon
request.

In a Decision and Order dated December 14, 1984
(‘‘Board Decision’’), the Board unanimously agreed with
the ALJ that the-Company had violated §§ 8(a)(1) and (3)
of the Act and adopted the ALJ’s first two recommenda-
tions. With one member dissenting, the Board concluded
that these violations warranted the issuance of a ‘‘Gissel’’
order, see NLRB vy. Gissel Packing Co., 395 U.S. 575
(1969), requiring the Company to bargain with the
Union. The Company was ordered principally to cease
interfering with employees’ exercise of their statutory
rights, and to bargain with the Union. The Board peti-
tions for enforcement of this order.

II. DISCUSSION

In opposition to the Board’s petition for enforcement
of its order, the Company contends principally (1) that
the finding that the Company unlawfully threatened or
discharged the three workers was unwarranted, and (2)
that a bargaining order was improper. We find no merit
in either contention, and we enforce the order.

The Company’s challenge to the findings that it
engaged in unfair labor practices by threatening to dis-
charge and discharging Casal, Aguila, and Santos because
of their adherence to the Union need not detain us long.

3756

A-6

pick up their pay checks, they were discharged—told by
Gordon that their jobs were being eliminated.

The Company’s version of these events, presented prin-
cipally by Gordon, was that Gordon told Casal that
Aguila and Santos would be discharged because the
Company did not need employees to do cleaning, and
that because of this, Casal resigned. Gerald Tillinger,
who, according to both sides, was present during the
pertinent events, did not testify. The ALJ found Gordon
to be ‘‘a poor quality witness.’’

On February 8, the discharged employees began picket-
ing the Company’s premises. On February 25, Gordon
approached them on the sidewalk and told them that they
could return to their jobs if they renounced the Union.
They continued to picket until mid-April. In the mean-
time, the Union sent the Company a request to meet and
bargain; the Company did not respond. The Company
proceeded to hire six persons to perform the work of the
discharged employees. One was hired in February, two in
early April, and the others in June and August. None of
the replacements was a union member.

On June 8, the Company offered reinstatement to
Casal, Aguila, and Santos. All declined.

B. The Board’s Order

Unfair labor practice charges were filed by the Union,
and a complaint was issued by the Board’s Acting Re-
gional Director. Following a hearing, the ALJ found the
facts as set forth above and concluded that the Company
had violated §§ 8(a)(1) and (3) of the Act by threatening
to discharge the three employees unless they renounced
their support for the Union and by discharging them

3755

OY Ce eee ee eee

Li. eee ee! a | eee en. eo ee

aw gata BL Sal RPA IE RY siCe MRLs

ewe

A-7

The Board’s findings that an employer has committed
unfair labor practices in violation of the Act are entitled
to affirmance on review if they are reasonable and sup-
ported by substantial evidence in the record as a whole.
Universal Camera Corp. v. NLRB, 340 U.S. 474, 488
(1951); NLRB v. Pace Oldsmobile, Inc. , 681 F.2d 99, 100
(2d Cir. 1982) (per curiam) (‘‘Pace P’’). When its findings
are based on the ALJ’s assessment of the credibility of
the witnesses, they will not be ‘‘overturned unless they are
‘hopelessly incredible’ or they ‘flatly contradict’ either the
‘law of nature’ or ‘undisputed documentary testi-
mony.’ ’’ NLRB v. J. Coty Messenger Service, Inc., 763
F.2d 92, 96 (2d Cir. 1985) (quoting NLRB v. American
Geri-Care, Inc., 697 F.2d 56, 60 (2d Cir. 1982), cert.
denied, 461 U.S. 906 (1983)).

In the present case, the employees testified to the events
as described in Part I above. Their testimony, which was
supported by the timing and sequence of events not in
substantial dispute, was neither inherently incredible nor
disputed by any documentary evidence, and it was ex-
pressly credited by the ALJ. The contrary testimony by
Gordon, discredited by the ALJ, and the Company’s
office manager was insufficient to require the ALJ to
disbelieve the versions of the events testified to by Casals,
Aguila, and Santos. In light of all the testimony, there
was plainly substantial evidence in the record to support
the Board’s findings that the Company threatened to and
did discharge its three maintenance employees on account
of their union membership.

The Company argues that a bargaining order is none-
theless inappropriate principally on the grounds that (1)
the Board did not adequately articulate its basis for
issuing a Gissel bargaining order, and (2) there has been

3757

A-8

100% turnover in the maintenance staff, with none of the
new employees having expressed an interest in the Union,
and that this turnover was caused by the discharged
employees’ rejection of the Company’s offers of rein-
statement. These arguments have no merit.

Under NLRB y. Gissel Packing Co., 395 U.S. 575, the
Board has discretion to order an employer to bargain with
a union not theretofore recognized by the employer if the
Board reasonably concludes that serious unfair labor
practices by the employer have made it unlikely that a
representation election can be conducted free of the taint
of those practices. Because a Gissel-type bargaining order
may impose on the employees a union they have not
actually chosen to represent them, we require that such an
order be entered ‘‘ ‘{[o]nly where there is a substantial
danger that employees will be inhibited by the employer’s
conduct from adhering to the union,’ ’’ NLRB v. Pace
Oldsmobile, Inc., 739 F.2d 108, 110 (2d Cir. 1984) (‘‘Pace
IT’) (quoting J.J. Newberry Co. v. NLRB, 645 F.2d 148,
154 (2d Cir. 1981)), and ‘‘ ‘only when the Board demon-
strates that an election is unlikely to reflect the uncoerced
preference of the bargaining unit,’ ’’ Pace IJ, 739 F.2d at
110 (quoting NLRB v. Marion Rohr Corp., 714 F.2d 228,
230 (2d Cir. 1983)). Fundamental intrusions into em-
ployee rights—‘‘ ‘hallmark’ violations’’—‘‘will support
the issuance of a bargaining order unless some significant
mitigating circumstance exists.’” NLRB v. Jamaica Tow-
ing Inc., 632 F.2d 208, 212 (2d Cir. 1980). Threats of
discharge of union adherents are hallmark violations, id.
at 212-13; employee turnover may be a mitigating circum-
stance, NLRB v. Windsor Industries, Inc., 730 F.2d 860,
867 (2d Cir. 1984).

Further, we have refused to enforce Gisse/ bargaining
orders in cases where the Board has not set forth findings

3758

ath Wee Genkacd, oda kaa. -

Maid ne i tieel” Ln.” ken cee

nee

A-9

and analysis that support the imposition of such an order.
See, e.g., Pace IT, 739 F.2d at 110-12; NLRB v. Heads &
Threads Co., 724 F.2d 282, 289 (2d Cir. 1983); Pace /,
681 F.2d at 101-02. We consider it sufficient, however, if
the ALJ has provided such findings and analysis and the
Board has indicated its adoption of them. See NLRB v.
Windsor Industries, Inc., 730 F.2d at 866; NLRB v.
Horizon Air Services, Inc., 761 F.2d 22, 24 n.1 (1st Cir.
1985); Kenworth Trucks of Philadelphia, Inc. v. NLRB,
580 F.2d 55, 62-63 (3d Cir. 1978). All of the requirements
for enforcement of a Gissel order have been met here.

The rationale for the present order was spelled out in
the Board’s decision principally in its adoption of the
ALJ’s decision. The ALJ noted, inter alia, that at no time
had the Company challenged the status or authority of
the Union to represent the employees, that it had deliber-
ately flouted the Act for the express purpose of avoiding
its statutory bargaining obligation, and that its actions
had a continuing ‘‘restraintful [sic] and coercive’’ effect
after the discharge of the old employees and the hiring of
the new. The Board adopted the ALJ’s findings and
reasoning, elaborating as follows:

For the reasons the judge stated, we agree that a
Gissel bargaining order is clearly warranted to rem-
edy the Respondent’s unfair labor practices, which
the judge aptly described as the ‘‘unlawfui discharge
of an entire bargaining unit, lock, stock and barrel,
for the express purpose of avoiding the statutory
bargaining obligation.’’ We also agree with the
judge’s rejection of the Respondent’s argument that
a bargaining order should be denied becauss all three
discriminatees declined reinstatement, and thus there
has been substantial ‘‘employee turnover.’’ As the

3759

judge pointed out, the Respondent’s contention has
‘*a hollow ring’’ because the ‘‘employee turnover”’ in
this case was a direct and obvious product of the
Respondent’s own unlawful conduct.

Board Decision at 1-2 (footnotes omitted). This sufficed
to explicate the Board’s decision to issue a Gisse/ bargain-
ing order.

We find no abuse of discretion in the conclusions of the
Board and the ALJ that such an order was appropriate.
The Company’s threats to discharge Aguila and Santos if
they did not repudiate the Union, its threat to discharge
Casal if he did not persuade them to do so and did not
renounce the Union himself, and its discharge of the men
upon their refusals, were plainly ‘‘hallmark’’ violations.
The fact that the Company’s maintenance work force has
had a 100% turnover is not, in the circumstances of this
case, a mitigating factor. First, the fact that there has
been such turnover does not necessarily mean that a fair
election could now be held. Three of the six new employ-
ees were hired while the discharged employees were pick-
eting the Company. The new employees presumably are
thus aware of the employer’s past treatment of its em-
ployees who chose to be represented by a union, and the
Board was well within the bounds of discretion to view
that history as making the likelihood of an untainted
election remote.

More important, the 100% turnover here is not a factor
that mitigates against a bargaining order because the
turnover was caused by the very unfair labor practices
sought to be remedied. It would defy reason to permit an
employer to deflect a Gisse/ bargaining order on the
ground of employee’ turnover when that turnover has

3760

“te Tease ee ee ee

a ee

A-I1

resulted from the employer’s unlawful discharge of all of
the members of the bargaining unit.

Finally, we reject the Company’s contention that re-
sponsibility for the 100% turnover should be placed on
the discharged employees and not on the Company on the
premise the employees were offered, and declined, rein-
statement. There was no meaningful offer of reinstate-
ment here. Gordon’s first ‘‘offer’’ to the discharged
employees was conditioned upon their renunciation of the
Union. It plainly could not alleviate the unlawfulness of
the discharge, which was likewise bottomed on the em-
ployees’ refusal to renounce the Union. The June 1983
offers of reinstatement, made more than four months
after the employees were discharged, were so belated that
the Board was justified in not construing them as a good
faith attempt to rehire these men. The Company knew the
men had families to support; it had cited this fact in
initially threatening discharge. It was reasonable to expect
that they could not wait four months before seeking
alternative employment. Further, by the time these offers
were made, the Company had already hired three persons
to replace the three discharged employees. Accordingly,
the purported offers of reinstatement did not constitute a
mitigating circumstance sufficient to prevent issuance of a
bargaining order.

We have considered all of respondents’ arguments in
opposition to the petition for enforcement and have
found them to be without merit.

CONCLUSION

The Board’s order of December 14, 1984, is in all
respects enforced.

3761

DZDe

273 NLRB No. 66 D—2467
New York, NY

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

BEFORE THE
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD

ELI GORDEN, GERALD TILLINGER AND
SEYMOUR TILLINGER, A COPARTNERSHIP,
d/b/a BALSAM VILLAGE MANAGEMENT
COMPANY

and Case 29—CA-10276

LOCAL 32B-32J. SERVICE EMPLOYEES
INTERNATIONAL UNION, AFL-CIO

DECISION AND ORDER

On October 17 1983 Administrative Law Judge Stanley N.
Ohlibaum issued the attached decision. The Respondent filed
exceptions and a supporting brief.

The National Labor Relations Board has delegated its
authority in this proceeding to a three-member panel.

The Board has considered the decision and the record in
light of the exceptions and brief and has decided to affirm the

ect is Ube Si oom sane aad

aa Me Net a nt A

ae ee Oe ee en eS tee

B-2

D—2467

judge’s rulings, findings,' and conclusions and to adopt the
recommended Order.

For the reasons the judge stated, we agree that a Gisse?
bargaining order is clearly warranted to remedy the
Respondent’s unfair labor practices, which the judge aptly
described as the “unlawful discharge of an entire bargaining
unit, lock, stock and barrel, for the express purpose of
avoiding the statutory bargaining obligation.’3 We also agree
with the judge’s rejection of the Respondent’s argument that a
bargaining order should be denied because all three discrimi-
natees declined reinstatement, and thus there has been
substantial “employee turnover.” As the judge pointed out,
the Respondent’s contention has “a hollow ring” because the
“employee turnover” in this case was a direct and obvious
product of the Respondent’s own unlawful conduct.

Our dissenting colleague claims that a bargaining order is
inconsistent with decisions of the Second Circuit. We
disagree. In its Jamaica Towing opinion,’ the court
specificaliy cautioned against “rewarding an employer for his
own misconduct,” and limited consideration of the turnover
factor to “cases where later relevant events are not of the

'The Respondent has excepted to some of the judge’s credibility findings. The
Board's established policy is not to overrule an administr«tive law judge’s
credibility resolutions unless the clear preponderance of all the relevant
evidence convinces us that they are incorrect. Standard Drv Wall Products, 91
NLRB 544 (1950), entd. 188 F.2d 362 (3rd Cir. 1951). We have caretully
examined the record and find no basis for reversing the findings.

>NLRB v. Gissel Packing Co., 395 U.S. 575 (1969).

‘We find it unnecessary to pass on the judge's alternative rationale for issuing
a bargaining order.

*NVLRB v. Jamaica Towing, 632 F.2d 208. 214 (2d Cir. 1980).

273 NLRB No. 66

D—2467

employer’s making.” Here, the “employee turnover” was “of
the employer’s making,” and withholding a bargaining order
on that ground would be “rewarding an employer for his own
misconduct.” Accordingly, for all of the above reasons, we
adopt the judge’s recommendation that a Gisse/ bargaining
order be issued.°

SChairman Detson finds the issuance of a bargaining order in this case arising
in the Second Circuit to be contrary to the law of that circuit. See VNLRBv. Pace
Oldsmobile. Inc., 739 F.2d 108 (2d Cir. 1984); NLRB v. Windsor Industries, 730
F.2d 860 (2d Cir. 1984); VLRBv. Knogo Corp., 727 F.2d 55 (2d Cir. 1984), and
cases cited therein. While recognizing the severity of the Respondent's mis-
conduct, Chairman Dotson finds that a bargaining order would impair the
rights of the Respondent's current work force. In so finding he notes that the
unlawfully discharged employees declined reinstatement to their former jobs.
Thus, there is no continuity in the Company's work force before and after the
unfair labor practices. Further, the record fails to show that the Respondent
asked the replacement employees about their union sentiments, that the
replacement employees exhibited any interest in the Union, or that the Union
attempted to organize the new employees. No showing was made that the
current employees discussed the Respondent's prior misconduct or that the
Respondent has engaged in further antiunion activity. In view of the circum-
stances of this Second Circuit case, Chairman Dotson finds a bargaining order
inappropriate.

am hel lB dog 1m

i bans Lire tak OE De chats AOI es

ORDER

The National Labor Relations Board adopts the recom-
mended Order of the administrative law judge and orders
that the Respondent, Eli Gordon, Gerald Tillinger and
Seymour Tillinger, a Copartnership, d/b/a Balsam Village
Management Company, New York, New York, its partners,
agents, successors, and assigns, shall take the action set forth
in the Order.

Dated, Washington, D.C. 14 December 1984

Donald L. Dotson, Chairman

Don A. Zimmerman, Member

Patricia Diaz Dennis, Member
(SEAL) NATIONAL LABOR

RELATIONS BOARD

JD-412-83
Brooklyn, NY

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
BEFORE THE
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
DIVISION OF JUDGES
WASHINGTON, D.C.

ELI GORDON, GERALD TILLINGER
AND SEYMOUR TILLINGER, A
COPARTNERSHIP, d/b/a BALSAM
VILLAGE MANAGEMENT COMPANY,
Respondent,

and Case No. 29-CA-10276

LOCAL 32B-32J, SERVICE EMPLOYEES
INTERNATIONAL UNION, AFL-CIO,
Charging Party.

Meredith A. Fisher, Esq.,
Brooklyn, N.Y., for NLRB
General Counsel.
Joel Spivak, Esq. (Messrs. Solotoff & Spivak, Attorneys).
Great Neck, N.Y., for Respondent.
Michael Geffner, Esq. (Messrs. Israelson,
Manning & Raab). New York, N.Y., for
Charging Party

B-6

JD-412-83
DECISION

I. Preliminary Statement; Issues

OHLBAUM, Judge:—This proceeding |/ under the
National Labor Relations Act as amended, 29 U.S.C. 151 er
seq. (“Act”), was litigated before me in Brooklyn, New York,
on August I5 and 17, 1983, with all parties participating
throughout by counsel afforded full opportunity to present
evidence, arguments, and briefs (received on October 7, 1983).
Ail have been carefully considered.

The basic issues presented are whether Respondent
violated Section 8(a) (1), (3), and (5) of the Act by threatening
employees with discharge and other reprisals for joining or
supporting the Charging Party Union, by discharging (and,
for a time, refusing to agree to reinstate) three employees for
joining the Union and engaging in concerted activities
protected under the Act, and by refusing to recognize and
bargain with the Union as the authorized collective bargain-
ing representative of Respondent’s employees. Respondent
denies all of these allegations.

Upon the entire record and my observation of the
testimonia! demeanor of the witnesses, | make the following:

|/ Based upon complaint issued April 5. 1983. by the Acting Regional
Director for NLRB Region 29, growing out of charge filed on February 18.
1983, by the above Union.

JD-412-83

FINDINGS AND CONCLUSIONS

II. Parties; Jurisdiction

At all material times, Respondent, a copartnership con-
sisting of Eli Gordon, Gerald Tillinger and Seymour Tillinger
doing business under the firm name and style of Balsam
Village Management Company, has continuously engaged
and now engages in the management, operation and rental of
a garden apartment complex known as Balsam Village, at 88-
15 133d Avenue, Borough and County of Queens, City and
State of New York, at which address Respondent has also
maintained and maintains its principal office and place of
business. During the representative year immediately
preceding issuance of the complaint, Respondent derived
gross revenues exceeding $500,000 in and from those business
operations; and, further therein, caused to be transported to
and received at its said premises for its use in said business,
goods and materials valued at over $5,000, purchased from
other enterprises in New York who in turn had purchased and
received them directly in interstate commerce from and
through other states.

I find that at all material times Respondent has been and is
an employer engaged in commerce within the meaning of
Section 2(2), (6), and (7) of the Act; and thaf at all of those
times Charging Party Union has been and is a labor organi-
zation as defined in Section 2(5) of the Act.

ee, ee ee

B-8

JD-412-83
III. Alleged Unfair Labor Practices |

A. Facts as Found

Respondent operates and manages an apartment house
complex in Queens County, New York, covering some 7 city
blocks, consisting of 270 apartment units located in 45
6-family buildings. Prior to events to be described, upkeep,
maintenance and cleanup of the grounds, walks, and portions
of the buildings used in common (hallways, stairs, doors,
cellars, furnaces, etc.), as well as minor repairs (e.g., minor
plumbing), were done by three employees who figure
prominently in the events to be described. These were Carlos
Casal, the “superintendent” (but not a supervisor within the
Act’s definition, since he lacked authority over and had no
subordinates, and possessed no other characteristic of
supervisorship listed in the Act) who tended some 118 boilers
and water heaters and also made minor repairs within his
capability; and Mario Aguila and Daniel Santos, who took
care of the ground (mowing lawns, keeping grass and walk-
ways debris-free, etc.) and general cleanup chores (hallways,
stairways and rails, hall ceilings, windows, doors, mailboxes,
vacuuming and waxing floors, laundry rooms, parking lots,
project office, etc.). Major refurbishing was accomplished by
outside contractors, including firms of the Tillinger brothers
or Eli Gordon, the partners comprising Respondent
partnership. 2/ Until around the summer of 1982, Mattie
Tillinger, wife of Respondent partner Seymour Tillinger, was
in overall charge and management of the housing project.
When she (Mrs. Seymour Tillinger) ceased functioning in that

2/ Some painting was occasionally done by one or the other of the foregoing
three employees, on their own time, for extra or separate pay.

JD-412-83

capacity, Respondent partner Eli Gordon commenced over-
seeing the project unt:l Respondent partner Gerald (“Jerry”)
Tillinger assumed that responsibility on a full-time basis in
October 1982 (with Gordon continuing to participate on a
part-time basis). The project office bookkeeping, cor-
respondence, and related chores were handled by office
manager/ secretary Helen Lober in an office she shared with
Jerry Tillinger (and Gordon). Respondent partner Seymour
Tillinger has not taken an active part in Respondent’s
operations at the times here involved.

Because of dissatisfaction with the terms and conditions of
their employment (including a cutback in medical insurance
for dependents), in early December 1982 interest in the
possibility of joining a union to bargain collectively,
developed among these three employees, who (except for an
occasional student here and there utilized occasionally and
sporadically to assist with a chore), a part-time night watch-
man/ guard, and the office manager/sectetary), comprised
the entire workforce at the project. It was stipulated at the
outset of the hearing that these three employees constituted
the only employees in the bargaining unit alleged in the
complaint, a conventional bargaining unit which I find
appropriate for collective bargaining under the Act (and so
admitted at the trial by amendment to the answer).

After meeting with a business agent (Anthony Poccio) of
the Charging Party Union in January, 1983 and, after
discussion with him being satisfied to proceed along that line,
Respondent's three employees joined the Union (paying the
required initiation fees) and on January 20 (1983) signed cards
(the meaning and significance of which they each clearly

B-10

JD-412-83

understood) authorizing the Union to represent them in
collective bargaining. On January 25 or 26 the Union mailed
receipts for these initiation fees to Casal at the project (in the
mistaken belief that he lived there), although Casai lived off
the project premises. That mail, in a window envelope
showing the name of return address of the Union, and bearing
the capitalized words “ENCLOSE YOUR UNiON BOOK!
DO NOT SEND CASH!,” thus arrived at the project office,
where it landed up on the desk of Project Manager Jerry
Tillinger, where it was observed by Casal on January 27 or 28
(Thursday or Friday). The envelope, perhaps opened 3/, was
handed to Casal by office manager Lober on February 2
(Wednesday).

When the three employees discussed the pros and cons of
union affiliation with Union business agent Poccio, the latter
specifically warned them that “joining the Union could mean
losing [your] jobs if the Employer [is] not in agreement with
it.” Unfortunately, this prediction of Poccio was precisely and
rapidly fulfilled. On February 4 (Friday) payday, two days
after the Union envelope with the Union initiation fee receipts
of Casal and his two fellow-employees was handed to Casal
by Lober, the three employees were summarily discharged.

Casal as well as Aguila had been in Respondent’s employ
uninterruptedly for some 6 years, since 1977; and Santos from
1980, with an hiatus from late 1980 to mid-1982 followed by
rehire and continuous employment since then. As testified by

3; Casal could not recollect one way or the other, since, as he testified. he was
considerably unnerved by the incident—/.e., delivery of the envelope bearing the
Union name, address(ed] to him, at the project office, clearly disclosing
connection with the Union.

JD-412-83

these three individuals, whom I credit based upon my close
observation of their testimonial demeanor, no dissatisfaction
had been expressed by management with the work of any of
them. 4/ At no time has Respondent furnished any of these
employees with any wniting stating any reason or basis for his
discharge, and unemployment insurance benefits 5/ to them
were applied for and paid without objection or protest from
Respondent.

The circumstances of the actual discharges were as follows.
In the early afternoon of February 4 (Friday), office manager
Lober summoned Casal to the project office, where he was
met by project manager Jerry Tillinger and his partner
Gordon. Gordon opened up at Casal with, “This is not
Manhattan. We cannot afford Unions here, and [you all]
should have came and talked to me about this before you
done anything about it. *** We cannot afford Unions and you
should talk the [the other two] men out of getting into
Union... [We need your] cooperation for all of us to work
together to try to bring the place back into shape and the
Union will not let us do that. ***[G]o and talk to them [i.e.,

4, Some alleged correspondence from a very few alleged tenants out of the
very large number of tenants, produced by Respondent, details certain alleged
complaints to management. These. however (including nonreceipt of a copy of
the lease. and various structural or outside repairs desired), from but few of the
very large number of tenants in the project and constituting seemingiy the usual
kind of complaints from tenants, either obviously fall outside the scope of the
duties or competence of the three employees or have not been shown to be
ascribabie in any way to any neglect, misfeasance, or nonfeasance on their part;
nor is there any showing that any of these alleged conditions was ever reported
or assigned to any of those employees for rectification, nor, if it was, that it was
not taken care of.

5; As is well known, such benefits are not payable in case of discharge for
cause ascribable to the empioyee.

ee ee ee, See ee

B-!2

JD-412-83

his two fellow-employees] and talk them out of the Union... if
[you all] bring the Union [I’m] going to have to fire them and
[I’m] going to have to accept your resignation....” When Casal
explained to Gordon and Tillinger that “it’s too late, the men
want the Union. We have talked about it,” Gordon persisted,
“Well just go and talk to them, just tell them that they will lose
their jobs. They have families to support and I’m sure they
don't want to lose their jobs. Just go and talk to them and
explain to them that there will be no job if they join the
Union.” Gordon also told Casal, “You have to decide
whether you guys want to work here or you guys don't want
to work here ... unions are no good for the company ... once
you have a union you cannot work as a family any more ... if
the men don't want to give up the union, then they don’t have
a job. ****if [you don't] cooperate and get them out of the
union, [we will] have to accept [your] resignation. **** You
have a family also... and [you have] to think about [your]
family.” Casal thereupon conveyed the foregoing to Aguila
and Santos and told them that “you have to make a decision if
you want the Union or not because he’s firing you if you want
the Union.” Both Aguila and Santos indicated that they
“wanted” and were “sticking with the Union.” Casal returned
to the project office and relayed this decision to Gordon and
Tillinger, adding that “I’m sticking with the union with the
men.” Gordon then urged Casal to “come off the union
[yourself] and [Ill] straighten it out with the men.” When
Casal reiterated, “no, I’m sticking with the union with the
men,” Gordon responded, “well, if you’re going to stick to the
union, ...then I accept your resignation also.” At no time did
Casal accept the invitation to “resign.” Gordon proceeded to
remonstrate with Casal again, urging anew that they give up
the Union, this time adding, “You [Casal] know that you are

B-13

JD-412-83

the key for them to be in the Union. You know that if you
don't join the Union they have no chance. They don’t speak
English. They will never be able to do anything, but you are
the key.” Gordon concluded by inviting Casal and his wife to
join him for dinner that evening “and then we will all be a
happy family again.” As for Aguila and Santos, Gordon said,
“they are finished. [I] cannot keep them any longer.” And,
when they came for their pay later in the afternoon, Gordon
did indeed abruptly terminate them, stating that their jobs
were “not going to be performed any longer ...[We] are not in
the business to clean hallways. ...[We are] doing a rental
business and things [are] not doing well and besides... [you]
don't speak English and we cannot use you for anything else.
[f you spoke English maybe we could try to put you doing
something else.”

Follqwing the discharge of these three employees on
February 4, the Union on February 7 formally requested to
meet and bargain with Respondent (GC Exh. 2), a request
received by Respondent on February 10 but to which
Respondent has at no time responded. On February 8, con-
tinuing until mid-April, the three discharged employees
picketed Respondent’s premises. During the course of this
picketing, replacement employees were observed to be doing
the work they had formerly done. 6/ Also during the course
of this picketing, on February 25 Gordon approached the
pickets and informed them that if they renounced the Union
they could return to their jobs—a condition not accepted by
the employees, who continued their picketing.

6/ Confirmed by Respondent's own personnel records, as testified to by
Respondent's office manager Lober. Gordon also conceded that after the
discharge of Aguila and Santos, their work continued to be done by other
employees hired to replace them; and that of the six hired. none was a union
member.

B-14

JD-412-83-

It was stipulated at the trial that on June 8, 1983
Respondent offered the three employees here reinstatement,
which they declined.

**e * *

It is evident from the foregoing facts as found that General
Counsel has established a clear prima facie case of inhibitory,
restraintful, coercive, discriminatory and retaliatory
discharge of the three employees in question, in violation of
Section 8(a)(1) and (3) of the Act. The three had been
satisfactory employees for a long time but were precipitately
fired right after they joined the Union and Respondent
learned about it. Respondent’s knowledge is clear not only
from its receipt of the unfortunately misdirected Union
envelope containing the receipts for the three employees’
initiation fees, but also, of course, from Gordon's remarks to
Casal, detailed above, importuning Casal to persuade his
fellows to drop out of the Union, on penalty of being
discharged.

Generai Counsel having established a prima facie case, the
burden shifts to Respondent to establish by a preponderance
of evidence that the discharges in question were not for
reasons violative of the Act. See N.L.R.B. v. Transportation
Management Corp., U.S., 113 LRRM 2857 (June 15, 1983).
It is accordingly necessary to address Respondent’s defenses.

B. Respondent’s “Defenses”

Respondent advances several contentions by way of
defense. Each is readily and simply answered.

B-15

JD-412-83

To begin with, Respondent contends that it no longer had
need for the discharged employees’ services. This is belied by
the fact that no previous mention had been made to that
effect, prior to their advent into unionism; by the nature of
Respondent’s business, which had not changed and which
clearly continued to require such services; by Respondent's
prompt hire of replacements for the discharged employees;
and by Respondent’s offer of reinstatement to the discharged
employees.

Respondent next contends that it discharged Aguila and
Santos because they could not speak English. The answers to
this are that Respondent was aware of this when it hired
them; that they remained in Respondent’s employ for years
without complaint or incident on that (or other) score; that
knowledge of English was not required in the work they did,
and ignorance of English in no way affected their job per-
formance; and that they could and did carry on two-way
conversations with project manager Tillinger in Spanish,
which he spoke and understood.

Respondent further contends that Casal resigned his job
voluntarily. This is simply untrue. Upon comparative
testimonial demeanor evaluation, without more (as well as on
the plain inherent probabilities of the situation under the
circumstances described), I clearly prefer and accept the
version of Casal (a most impressive witness) over that of
Gordon (a poor quality witness, as the record also will dis-
close) as to the statements, circumstances and events
surrounding the employees’ discharges on February 4.

Respondent also contends that the employees were dis-

~~. ee ee ee a ne

ee ee ee a ee eee Le eee ee ET

ee ene

B-16

JD-412-83

charged for inefficiency or inability to do the needed work.
This also is belied by their long-term employments, during
which Respondent had expressed no dissatisfaction with
their work. 7/

As for other “defenses” darkly hinted at in Respondent's
opening statement, suffice it to say that they did not emerge
from that darkness at the trial, and that they therefore con-
tinue to be invisible and not deserving of mention, much iess
credit. Perhaps it is fair, however, to regard them as reflective
of the fictive or pretextual nature of the other “reasons”
contrived to attempt t« justify the discharges of under the
circumstances shown.

Finally, it is to be observed that Jerry Tillinger, although
deeply implicated in events that have been described, elected
without explanation not to testify.

*x** * *

Under these circumstances, Respondent having failed by a
preponderance of the evidence to overcome General
Counsel’s prima facie case (Transportation Management,
supra), it is found that Respondent threatened to and then
discharged the three employees in question on February 4,
1983 because of their Union membership and their desire to
bargain collectively, rights guaranteed to them under Section
7 of the Act; that but for such Union membership and their

7’ | have already commented on the insignificant. irrelevant, or inconclusive
nature of the few paltry “complaints” of a small number of tenants, many if not
most of which related to matters not within these employees’ duties or
competence. and as to which there was no proof that they were communicated
to these emplovees for their action, nor that they were not attended to by them.
Supra n. 4.

B-17

JD-41 2-83

exercise of such rights they would not have been discharged,
and that Respondent thereby violated and continues to
violate Section 8(a)(1) and (3) of the Act; and, further, that by
failing and refusing to bargain with Charging Party Union as
the duly authorized collective bargaining representative of an
appropriate bargaining unit of Respondent’s employees,
Respondent has violated and continues to violate Section
8(a)(5) and (1) of the Act.

Upon the foregoing findings and the entire record, | state
the following:

IV. Conclusions of Law
A. Jurisdiction is properly asserted here.

B. By threatening to discharge and by discharging its
employees Carlos Casal, Mario Aguila, and Daniel Santos, at
the times and under the circumstances described and found in
“III,” supra, Respondent has discriminated in regard to the
hire, tenure, and terms and conditions of employment of its
ernployees, and has, further, interfered with, restrained, and
coerced employees in the exercise of rights guaranteed in
Section 7, thereby violating Section 8(a)(3) and (1), of the Act.

C. By failing and refusing to recognize and bargain col-
lectively with Local 32B-32J, Service Employees Interna-
tional Union, AFL-CIO, as the duly designated bargaining
representative of all of Respondent’s employees in the
following appropriate collective bargaining unit, under the
circumstances described and found in “III,” supra,
Respondent has violated Section 8(a) (5) and (1) of the Act: —

B-18

JD-412-83

All building service employees, including porters,
handymen and superintendents employed by
Respondent at its Queens facility, exclusive of all
office clerical employees, guards, and all super-
visors as defined in Section 2(11) of the Act.

D. The aforesaid unfair labor practices and each of them
have affected, are affecting, and unless permanently
restrained and enjoined will continue to affect, commerce
within the meaning of Section 2(6) and (7) of the Act.

V. Remedy

Respondent having been found to have discharged
employees, after threatening to do so, and to have interfered
with, restrained and coerced them in the exercise of their
Section 7 rights, in violation of Section 8(a)(3) and (1) of the
Act, should, as is usual in cases of that variety, be ordered to
cease and desist from continuing or other such violations and
to make each of the employees whole through payment of
backpay and interest computed as explicated by the Board in
F.W. Woolworth Company, 90 NLRB 289 (1950), Jsis
Plumbing & Heating Co., 138 NLRB 716 (1962), and Florida
Steel Corporation, 231 NLRB 651 (1977). In this connection
it is to be noted that the parties have stipulated that the three
discharged employees here were offered, but declined, rein-
statement on June 8, 1983, and that with regard to the
calculation of backpay General Counsel seeks no more for the
three by way of recompense than the backpay due them until
then. Respondent should also, as usual, be required to
expunge any relevant deleterious references to these
employees from its records; to preserve and open its books

JD-412-83

and records to the Board’s agents for computation and
compliance determination purposes; and to post the con-
ventional informational Notice to Employees.

There arises the additional question of whether, as General
Counsel demands, a bargaining order should be issued in this
case. In this connection it is to be noted that, at the time of
their unlawful discharge as well as at the time of the Union’s
demand for recognition and collective bargaining, the three
employees here constituted the entire, that is to say 100% of,
the bargaining unit. It is further to be noted that at no time
was the status of the Union as such bargaining agent in any
way challenged or questioned by Respondent—indeed, to the
contrary, Respondent insisted that the three employees and
Union members relinquish their Union membership as a
condition to being permitted to remain in Respondent's
employ; and when they refused to do so they were for that
reason promptly discharged. Employees who are discharged
in violation of the Act remain employees within the Act’s
definition (Section 2{3]). Since the three unlawfully dis-
charged employees were thus employees, as well as the only
members of the bargaining unit, when Respondent received
the Union's demand to bargain, the Union represented all of
the employees in the bargaining unit at that time. In no way
did Respondent challenge or raise any question concerning
the Union’s authority as bargaining representative, and at no
time did Respondent request an election. The Act does not
require an election as a precondition to Union recognition.
An employer who doubts a Union’s representative status
without an election should in some way so indicate. But here
there was no doubt in Respondent’s mind regarding the
Union's status and authority. After a direct confrontation,

B-20

JD-412-83

the employees expressly refused to abandon the Union, when
Respondent demanded that they do so as the cost of retaining
their jobs. What better proof of their Union desires (or of
Respondent’s knowledge thereof) was required? Thus, there
was no question in Respondent’s mind of the Union’s status
as the duly designated bargaining representative of a// of the
unit employees at the time the Union sought to bargain on
their behalf. The fact that, on top of its discharge of these
employees (or joining the Union and seeking to bargain
collectively, Respondent later replaced them with a new and
larger crew, does not change this. We have been long and
consistently been instructed by the Supreme Court that mere
turnover—even, unlike here, where wholly legitimate—does
not oust a union as bargaining representative. See NLRB v.
P. Lorillard Co., 314 U.S. 512, 513 (1942); Franks Bros. Co.
v. NLRB, 321 U.S. 702 (1944); NLRB v. Katz, 369 U.S. 736,
748 n. 16 (1962); NLRB v. Gissel Packing Co., 395 U.S. 575,
610 (1969). And, of course, an employer cannot disestablish a
bargaining unit or avoid his obligation to bargain by simply
unlawfully discharging all of the unit members—this is so
plain that it requires no citation of authority. Even if, after the
bargaining obligation was perfected, the three employees
here had left of their own accord and had been replaced by
non-Union employees, the existing bargaining obligation
would not thereby have been erased. Gisse/ and other cases
cited supra. It is no different just because the three here
subsequently declined reinstatement, for reasons good and
sufficient to them, such as disinclination to give up other jobs
they had sinc. obtained. An employer cannot be permitted
(as Respondent here attempted to do) to disestablish a
bargaining unit through the simple expedient of discharging
all of its members. Such a result would constitute an

JD-412-83

intolerable affront to the basic purposes of the Act. And since
the effects of Respondent’s actions remain restraintful and
coercive, they continue to require remediation so that
deliberate flouting of core purposes of the Act not be
encouraged by being suffered to go unremedied. 8/

Respondent's refusal to recognize and bargain with the
Union as the bargaining representative of all of its unit
employees, without raising any question as to the Union's
status or demanding an election, constituted a violation of
Section 8(a)(5), as found above. In this situation, resort to
Gissel to support an electionless bargaining order is un-
necessary, for to withhold a bargaining order in this situation
would leave the Section 8(a) (5) violation wholly un-
remedied. 9/ However, even under Gisse/ a bargaining order
would be appropriate under the circumstances shown—/.e.,
unlawful discharge of an entire bargaining unit, lock, stock
and barrel, for the express purpose of avoiding the statutory
bargaining obligation. In Gissel, supra, the Supreme Court
described the conditions where an electionless bargaining
order is appropriate under the Act. The instant case fits
comfortably within the Court’s instructions there. | find that
Respondent’s described unlawful actions in discharging the
three employees, comprising the entire bargaining unit, for
attempting to exercise the statutorily guaranteed right to
bargain collectively, was deliberate, egregious and pervasive,
thrusting at the heart of the Act’s purposes and guarantees,

8) For this reason (in addition to the Section 8{a] [5] violation described
above), it matters not that the three unlawfully discharged employees do not
desire reinstatement. since if no effective remedy is provided Respondent will
have succeeded in its deliberate flouting of the Act.

9; Neither a bargaining demand (or petition) nor a Section 8(a) (5) violation
is a prerequisite fora Gisse/ electionless bargaining order. Gisse/, supra at 610
and 614.

B-22

JD-412-83

that it had and will “have the tendency to undermine majority
strength and impede the election processes” (Gisse/, supra at
614); that it was and continues to be of “ ‘such a nature that
[its] coercive effects cannot be eliminated by the application
of traditional remedies, with the result that a fair and reliable
election cannot be had’ ” (id. at 614); that, under the circum-
stances described and found, “the possibility of erasing the
effects of [Respondent’s] past practice and of ensuring a fair
election ... by the use of traditional remedies ... is slight and
that employee sentiment once expressed through cards
would, on balance, be better protected by a bargaining order”
(id. at 614-15); and that there is “insufficient indication that
an election ... would definitely be a more reliable test of the
employees’ desires than the card count taken before the unfair
labor practice occurred” (id. at 616). 10/

An employer who discharges the entire bargaining unit
because its members have designated a union to bargain
collectively for them, is hardly in a position to complain if
required to bargain with the union without that fair election
which it set out deliberately to abort by riding roughshod
over its employees’ rights and the law’s requirements. |1/
Respondent’s current tongue-in-cheek protestation against
an electionless (“Gisse/”) bargaining order on the ground that
it would deprive its present employees of the “free choice” of
bargaining representative has a hollow ring, since it was

10; See also Amsterdam Wrecking & Salvage Co., inc., 196 N.L.R.B. 113
(1972), enforced, 472 F.2d 153 (2d Cir. 1973); Medley Distilling Company, 187
N.L.R.B. 84 (1970), enforced, 453 F.2d 374 (6th Cir. 1971): Gibson Products
Company, 185 N.L.R.B. 362 (1970).

11, As has been pointed out, discriminatory discharge “goes to the very heart
of the Act” (4.J/. Arajewski Mfg. Co., 180 N.L.R.B. 1071: 1970) and is the
“surest method of undermining a union’s majority of impeding an election
process” (VLRBv. Sitton Tank Company, 467 F.2d 1371, 1372 [8th Cir. 1972]):
and, accordingly, a bargaining order is upon that basis alone warranted.

JD-412-83

Respondent itself who, by discharging all of its union
employees, attempted to deprive them of that free choice
through an uncoerced and fair election without unlawful
interference on its part. Respondent’s current argument,
purportedly “seek[ing] to vindicate the rights of his
employees” (Brooks v. NLRB, 348 U.S. 96, 103 [1954]; see
also ILGWU [Garwin Corporation] v. NLRB, 374 F.2d 295,
308 [D.C. Cir. 1967], cert. denied, 387 U.S. 942 [1967) who
themselves seek no such “vindication,” would be more
appealing if Respondent had not deliberately terminated its
union employees and replaced them with nonunion
employees, thereby deranging the statutory election system
by putting a heavy hand on the election scales. Respondent
has changed the electorate to one of its own design. Its
position is thus at odds with the principles enunciated by the
Supreme Court 14 years ago in Gisse/. Respondent’s
contention that it should no longer be required to bargain
since, as a result of its unlawful discharge of the three
employees here, it no longer empioys any union personnel,
smacks like that of the orphan who, convicted of murdering
his parents, pleaded for mercy on the ground that he was a
poor orphan. See Franks Bros. Co., supra at 704.

Accordingly, upon Gisse/ principles as well as because of
Respondent’s flat-out violation of Section 8(a) (5), a bargain-
ing order is warranted and required here, and should be
issued.

In view of the serious, egregious nature of Respondent’s
violation, thrusting at “the very heart of the Act” 12/,

12, A.J. Krajewski Mfg. Co., 180 N.L.R.B. 1071 (1970).

B-24

JD-412-83

Respondent should also be required to cease and desist from
any violation of the Act. 13/

VI.

Upon the foregoing findings of fact, conclusions of law,
and the entire record in this proceeding, and pursuant to
Section 10(c) of the Act, I hereby issue the following: 14/

ORDER

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, that Respondent Eli
Gordon, Gerald Tillinger and Seymour Tillinger, a co-
partnership, doing business as Balsam Village Management
Company, and their agents, successors and assigns, shall:—

A. Cease and desist from:

!. Discouraging or encouraging membership in any
labor organization by discharging, terminating, laying off,
furloughing, suspending, failing to recall or reinstate or
rehire, threatening so to do, or otherwise discriminating in
regard to the hire or tenure of employment or any term of
condition of employment of any of its employees.

13; NLRB vy. Enwistle Mfg. Co., 120 F.2d 532, 536(4th Cir. 1941): Hick mot
Foods, Inc., 242 N.L.R.B. 1357 (1979).

14; In the event no exceptions are filed as provided in Section 102.46 of the
Rules and Regulations of the National Labor Relations Board. the findings.
conclusions, and recommended Order which follows herein shall. as provided in
Section 102.48 of those Rules and Regulations, be adopted by the Board and
become its findings, conclusions, and Order. and all objections thereto shall be
deemed waived for all purposes.

JD-412-83

2. Interfering with, restraining, or coercing any of its
employees in the exercise of any of the rights guaranteed in
Section 7 of the Act, through discharge, termination, layoff,
furlough, suspension, failure to recall or reinstate or rehire, or
other economic retaliation or threat thereof.

3. In any other manner interfering with, restraining, or
coercing any employee in the exercise of the right to self-
organization; to form, join, or assist any labor organization;
to bargain collectively through representatives of his or her
own choosing; to engage in concerted activities for the
purpose of collective bargaining or other mutual aid or
_ protection; or to refrain from any and all such activities.

B. Take the following affirmative actions necessary to
effectuate the policies of the Act:

|. Make the following employees whole for any loss of
pay (including overtime, holiday, and vacation pay, and
insurance benefits and reimbursements if any), together with
interest, in the manner set forth in “The Remedy” portion of
the decision of which this Order forms a part:

Carlos Casal
Mario Aguila
Daniel Santos.

2. Forthwit.. expunge from the personnel and employ-
ment records of each of said employees all statements or
references that they (or any of them) were terminated or laid
off by Respondent for any work-related fault, deficiency, or

B-26

JD-412-83

reason; refrain from so reporting to any employer,
prospective employer, employment agency, reference seeker,
or credit or character inquiry, or that such action by
Respondent was in any way related to any union or other
lawful activity by any of said employees under the Act; and
notify said employees in writing that such entries in
Respondent’s records have been expunged and that evidence
of said terminations or layoffs will not be used as a basis for
future pérsonnel actions against them.

3. Preserve and upon ‘request make available to the
Board or its agents, for examination and copying, all payroll
records, wage scale records and notations, social security
payment records, timecards, personnel records and reports,
and also all other records and entries necessary and
appropriate to determine the amounts of backpay and other
sums and benefits due under and the extent of compliance
with the terms of this Order.

4. Upon request, bargain collectively in good faith with
Local 32B-32J, Service Employees International Union,
AFL-CIO, as the exclusive bargaining representative of
Respondent’s employees in the following appropriate
collective bargaining unit, with respect to rates of pay, wages,
hours of employment, and other terms and conditions of
employment, and embody in a signed agreement any under-
standing reached:

All building service employees, including porters,
handymen and superintendents employed by
Respondent at its Queens facility, exclusive of office

JD-412-83

clerical employees, guards and all supervisors as
defined in Section 2(11) of the Act.

5. Post at its premises at 88-15 133d Avenue, Borough
and County of Queens, City and State of New York, copies.of
the Notice attached hereto marked “Appendix.” 15/ Copies
of said Notice, on forms provided by the Board’s Regional
Director for Region 29, shall, after being duly signed by
Respondent’s authorized representative, be posted by
Respondent immediately upon receipt thereof and main-
tained by it for 60 consecutive days thereafter in conspicuous
places, including all places where notices to employees are
customarily posted. Reasonable steps shall be taken to insure
that said Notices are not altered, defaced, or covered by any
other material.

6. Notify said Regional Director, in writing, within 20
days from the date of this Order, what steps Respondent has
taken to comply herewith.

Dated: October 17, 1983

Stanley N. Ohlbaum
Administrative Law Judge

15; In event that the Board’s Order is enforced by a Judgment of a United
States Court of Appeals. the words in the Notice “POSTED BY ORDER OF
THE NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD” shall be changed to
“POSTED PURSUANT TO A JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS ENFORCING AN ORDER OF THE NATIONAL
LABOR RELATIONS BOARD.”

B-28
JD-412-83
APPENDIX
NOTICE TO. EMPLOYEES

POSTED BY ORDER OF THE
NATIONAL LABOR RELATIONS BOARD
an Agency of the
UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT

After a hearing at which all sides had the opportunity to
present evidence and arguments, the National Labor
Relations Board has decided that we have violated the
National Labor Relations Act. We have therefore been
ordered to post this Notice and do what it says.

The National Labor Relations Act gives all employees
these rights:

—To engage, in self organization

—To form, join, or help unions

—To bargain collectively through representatives
of their own choosing

—To act together for collective bargaining or other
mutual aid or protection

—To refrain from any or all of these things.

Accordingly, we assure you that:—

WE WILL NOT violate these rights of yours.

JD-412-83

WE WILL not terminate the employment of, discharge,
lay off, suspend, or refuse to reinstate, rehire or reemploy you,
or threaten to do so, because you seek to bargain collectively
with us, or because you join or apply for membership in,
affiliate with, designate as bargaining representative, or act on
behalf of or in sympathy with, any labor organization, or
because you exercise or seek to exercise any right under the
National Labor Relations Act.

WE WILL NOT in any other manner interfere with,
restrain, or coerce you in the exercise of your right to self-
organization; to form, join, or assist any labor organization;
to bargain collectively through representatives of your own
choosing; to engage in concerted protected activities for the
purpose of collective bargaining or other mutual aid or
protection; or to refrain from any and all such activities.

WE WILL make whole the following employees for any
wages and benefits lost by them because of their discharge by
us on February 4, 1983, plus interest: —

Carlos Casal
Mario Aguila
Daniel Santos.

WE WILL at once eliminate from our records all
indications that any of the above employees was discharged
or laid off for any deficiency in work performance, or for
union membership or activity, WE WILL NOT so report to
any employer, prospective employer, employment agency, or
credit or character inquiry, WE WILL NOT use such termi-

B-30

nations or layoffs as a basis for future personnel actions
against said employees; and WE WILL so notify those
employees in writing.

WE WILL, upon request, recognize and bargain
collectively with Local 32B-32J, Service Employees Inter-
national Union, AFL-CIO, as the exclusive bargaining
representative of our employees in the following appropriate
unit, and embody in a signed agreement any understanding
: reached:

All building service employees, including porters,
handymen and superintendents employed by us at
our Queens facility (Balsam Village), exclusive of
office clerical employees, guards and all super-
visors as defined in Section 2(11) of the Act.

ELI GORDON, GERALD TILLINGER
AND SEYMOUR TILLINGER, A
COPARTNERSHIP, d/b/a BALSAM
VILLAGE MANAGEMENT COMPANY

(Employer)

Dated By

(Representative) (Title)

RECEIVED
DEC 19, 1984

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_2451%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
