# Opposition Brief — Gardiner v. Sea-Land Service, Inc.

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_2398%3A3

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Opposition Brief
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 924

## Text

aE.
Supreme Court, U.S,
: FILED
h
/ SEP 25 1968
No. 86-329 JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,
CLERK
In the Supreme Court
OF THE
United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1986
CORY GARDINER, et al.,
Petitioners,
Vv.
SEA-LAND SERVICE, INC., et al.,
Respondents.
On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit
RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN CPPOSITION
SAMUEL D. DELICH* J. STEWART HARRISON
SANDRA R. MCCANDLESS BROBECK, PHLEGER &
MARTIN H. Dopp HARRISON
GRAHAM & JAMES Spear Street Tower
One Maritime Plaza, Suite 300 One Market Plaza
San Francisco, CA 94111 San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 954-0200 (415) 442-0900
DANIEL J. DOUGHERTY HowarbD L. GANz*
KIRLIN, CAMPBELL & KEATING PROSKAUER, ROSE, GOETZ &
14 Wall Street MENDELSOHN
New York, NY 10005 300 Park Avenue
(212) 732-5520 New York, NY 10022
(212) 909-7000

Counsel for Respondents

September 24, 1986
*Counsel of Record for Respondents

BOWNE OF SAN FRANCISCO INC. «¢ 19O NINTH ST * SF CA 94103 « (415) 864-2300

; : . | | : |
. 3 :
; ins: Soe
5
*
. : |
F 3
- | : |
5 : :
¢)
7.
:
t
| 3
- ; | ;
<
| oe ‘
oS
* ‘oO |
,
‘ |
| ry
«, ’ :
; 4
s
.
: .

Snead 2
eS ‘
Se SEC Be

>
~

QUESTION PRESENTED

It is settled maritime law that seamen may contract with
respect to maintenance and other traditional rights if they are not
overreached and receive quid pro quo for any diminution of such
rights. It is equally settled under federal labor law that courts
should be reluctant to interfere with the private bargaining pro-
cess upon which collect've bargaining rests. Petitioners were
represented by their respective maritime labor unions in collective
bargaining and are the beneficiaries of comprehensive benefits
packages, which include an $8.00 per day maintenance rate,
established in their collective bargaining agreements. Petitioners
do not contend that these overall benefits packages are unfair or
inadequate, but instead argue that, viewed in isolation, the main-
tenance rates are inadequate and unenforceable.

The question presented, therefore, is whether the United States
Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit properly held that:

(a) “when a benefits package includes an express refer-
ence to a precise rate of maintenance, the adequacy of this
rate, considered in isolation, is not a subject for judicial
speculation when the rate is part of a total package of wages
and benefits resulting from the process of collective
bargaining”

and correctly concluded that:

(b) “the national labor policy of encouraging the use and
reliability of collective bargaining agreements, together with
the realistic give and take occurring within the collective
bargaining process, justify enforcement of the specific rate of
maintenance contained in the agreement here.”

Gardiner v. Sea-Land Service, Inc., 786 F.2d 943, 949-50 (9th
Cir. 1986).

il

LIST OF ALL PARTIES

Petitioners are: Cory Gardiner; William E. Bishop; William
Wheat; Yung Kong Ho; Juan P. Sanchez; Eugene A. Carter and
Alfonso Di Fabrizio.

Respondents are: Sea-Land Service, Inc.; Delta Steamship
Lines, Inc.; American President Lines, Inc.; Keystone Shipping
Co.; Lykes Bros. Steamship Co., Inc.; Matson Navigation Co.;
United States Lines, Inc., and Chevron Shipping Company.*

*Pursuant to Rule 28.1 of the Rules of the United States Supreme
Court, respondents hereby list their parent corporations and less than
wholly owned subsidiaries and affiliates. Sea-Land Service, Inc. is a
wholly owned subsidiary of Sea-Land Corporation. CSX Corporation,
through its wholly owned subsidiary CSA Acquisition Corporation, has
offered to purchase all outstanding shares of Sea-Land Corporation,
pending approval of the acquisition by the Interstate Commerce Com-
mission. Buyers Consolidated, Inc., Arabian Container Terminals Lim-
ited and Sea-Land Container Terminal Administration Co., Ltd. are less
than wholly owned subsidiaries or affiliates of Sea-Land Service, Inc.
All other subsidiaries of Sea-Land Service, Inc. are wholly owned.

Delta Steamship Lines, Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of Crowley
Marine International, Inc. which, in turn, is a wholly owned subsidiary
of Crowley Maritime Corporation. Liberian Development Corp. is a less
than wholly owned subsidiary of Delta Steamship Lines, Inc. All other
subsidiaries of Delta Steamship Lines, Inc. are wholly owned.

American President Lines, Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of
American President Companies, Ltd. All subsidiaries of each company
are wholly owned.

Keystone Shipping Co. is owned by Chas. Kurz & Co., Inc. Keystone
Tankship Corporation is the only less than wholly owned subsidiary of
Keystone Shipping Co.

Lykes Bros. Steamship Co., Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of
Interocean Steamship Corp. which, in turn, is owned in various percent-
ages by the following companies: Shore Management, Inc., Carondelet
Street Corp., Edgelake Corp. and McCormick Management Corp.
Lykes Bros. Steamship Co.’s oniy subsidiary is wholly owned.

Matson Navigation Co., Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of Alexan-
der & Baldwin, Inc.

United States Lines, Inc. is a wholly owned subsidiary of First Colony
Farms, Inc. which, in turn, is a wholly owned subsidiary of McLean
Industries, Inc. All subsidiary or related companies of United States
Lines, Inc. are wholly owned by either United States Lines, Inc. or
McLean Industries, Inc.

Chevron Shipping Company intends to file its own brief in opposition
to the petition for writ of certiorari and will provide therein the
information required by Rule 28.1

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page
Pot ye ke 1 6 Ss i
RU AMS WOWEEIEED 6g civ ees cece cess censeeens il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED ................. iv
SrAsmmcms OF THE CASE ....:.. 0... eee eee |
eee eee l
Dm me mapnt 10 Maeimtenance.................000. 2

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT OF CERTIO-
a a as wide dds 4k ese heen kcee.s 4

A. The Court Of Appeals Properly Found, And The

Evidence Showed, That The Maintenance Provisions

Of The Collective Bargaining Agreements Are

Enforceable As One Part Of A Complete Benefits

Package And Cannot Be Judicially Reviewed In
ee Lag 5s 6a 66464-68666 be oa we es 4

B. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Is Consistent With
Federal Labor Law And Policy.................. 8

C. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Is Consistent With
ES 10

D. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Creates No Conflict
With Decisions Of This Court Or The Fifth Circuit 12

as Spi sch as cebebecdeesvenness 14

ates ss ce nee k reer se veeesesese's A-1

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases

Page

Bailey v. Moore-McCormick Lines, Inc., 280 F. Supp. 310
Sr OED) Mss bose bck ase oe shale arden aes 12

Bonici v. Standard Oil Co., 103 F.2d 437 (2d Cir.), cert.
Gomiad, SUB UB. S60 CUT) oc ccc ce ceecccessvs 3, 10, 11

Brown v. Lull, 4 F. Cas. 407 (C.C.D. Mass. 1836) (No.
BM cas ess te eae eee tik bomen bend 3

Clinton v. United States, 254 F.2d 409 (9th Cir. 1958), cert.
ro mS | ee 3, 11

Cortes v. Baltimore Insular Line, Inc., 287 U.S. 367 (1932)
Bae ac tala ae ea ae yn we ee ee ree 12, 13

Covert v. Centennial Queen, 185 F. Supp. 552 (D. Or. 1960) 12
DeZon v. American President Lines, 318 U.S. 660 (1943) 13

Dixon v. Maritime Overseas Corp., 490 F. Supp. 1191
(S.D.N.Y.), affd, 646 F.2d 560 (2d Cir. 1989), cert.

re ee Uh Gk ee Gi ne codec cweeay acca es 1]
Ford Motor Co. v. Huffman, 345 U.S. 330 (1953) ....... )
Gajewski v. United States, 540 F. Supp. 381 (S.D.N.Y.

| RR eres Gamenemnmntpan AR Mikasa ap 12
Gardiner v. Sea-Land Service, Inc., 786 F.2d 943 (9th Cir.

CN Sikes So a 5G hs BRR a ee ees passim
Grove v. Dixie Carriers, Inc., 553 F. Supp. 777 (E.D.

2 er a er ee re FS Ry
Harden v. Gordon, 11 F. Cas. 480 (C.C.D. Me. 1823) (No.

OD ick ook lee ee eee eee ee 3, 10
H.K. Porter Co. v. N.L.R.B., 397 U.S. 99 (1970)........ 8
Hodges v. Keystone Shipping Co., 578 F. Supp. 620 (S.D.

pc, 2 rer rere rer? errr errr A
Irwin v. Carpenters Health & Welfare Trust Fund, 745 F.2d

| Sen oe re Pae A enn A every heart ge 8

Johnson v. United States, 333 U.S. 46 (1948) ........... 8, 14

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

CASES

Page

Ladzinski v. Sterling S.S. & Trading Corp., 300 F. Supp. 947
OS | Peper ere rt een na 12

Law v. United Fruit Co., 264 F.2d 498 (2d Cir.), cert.
pe ROR eG) | rr 3, 11

Mahramas v. American Export Isbrandtsen Lines, 475 F.2d
i Soc | ee rey create ira ate 7-8

McWilliams v. Texaco, Inc., 781 F.2d 514 (Sth Cir. 1986) 13

Meade v. Skip Fisheries, Inc., 385 F. Supp. 725 (D. Mass.
SNE sos dp ease cee ake REE eee ae 12

N.L.R.B. v. Allis-Chalmers Mfg. Co., 388 U.S. 175 (1967) 13
Pedersen v. Diesel Tankers, 280 F. Supp. 421 (S.D.N.Y.

kd da ee Res se dE ee ee eee 12
Reardon v. California Tanker Co., 260 F.2d 369 (2d Cir.
1958), cert. denied, 359 U.S. 926 (1959) ........... 2,9, 12
Rutherford v. Sea-Land Service, Inc., 575 F. Supp. 1365
CO Ss SE oe irs po eras hak 0 ea ee ee
Tague v. American Pres. Lines, Ltc., 1975 A.M.C. 1129
a es goes als ea er eee 12
The Atlantic, 2 F. Cas. 121 (S.D.N.Y. 1849) (No. 620).. 3
Thomas v. Humble Oil & Refining Co., 420 F.2d 793 (4th
Re a i a 55 heer een ee ern iN ela e 11
Toyota Landscape Co. v. Teamsters, 726 F.2d 525 (9th Cir.
SER hd 5 Sao eee as hh cee eRe eer 9
United Steelworkers of America v. Warrior & Gulf Nav.
oe A ey Be re re eee rere 9
Vitco v. Joncich, 130 F. Supp. 945 (S.D. Cal. 1955), afd,
cee Bie. te a) rrr fan 82
Williams v. Barge Foss, 528 F. Supp. 226 (W.D. Wash.
Oe GPR Spree ne re “mmr OA alge Ar MRA rE ge 12

W.R. Grace & Co. v. Rubber Workers Local 759, 461 U.S.
Cree Cs a Ge wea ea ee kee oe ee ek ee 10

v1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

CASES
Page
Zoldan v. American Export Isbrandtsen Lines, Inc., 1969
A.M.C. 471 (S.D.N.Y. 1969), affd per curiam, 1970
Pee BEE? COG TOFOD iis eccs¥ iene vinwaceoe 3, 11

Treatises

Gilmore & Black, The Law of Admiralty (2d ed. 1975) .. 5

No. 86-329

In the Supreme Court

OF THE

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

Cory GARDINER, et al.,
Petitioners,

V.

SEA-LAND SERVICE, INC., et al.,
Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari
to the United States Court of Appeals
for the Ninth Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Procedural Summary

Petitioners are members of various maritime unions and pur-
port to represent several thousand similarly situated union
seamen.’ Petitioners brought suit in August 1983 seeking to
invalidate the “maintenance” provisions of their collective bar-
gaining agreements. Those agreements currently provide for
maintenance to be paid at the rate of $8.00 per day. Respondents
moved to dismiss the action or for summary judgment, arguing

' Petitioners Gardiner, Ho and DiFabrizio are members of the Seafar-
ers International Union (“SIU”); petitioner Sanchez is a member of the
Marine Engineers Beneficial Association (“MEBA”); petitioners
Wheat and Bishop are members of the National Mantime Union
(“NMU”); and petitioner Carter is a member of the Marine Fireman’s
Union (“MFU”).

5

that the collectively-bargained rates of maintenance were binding
upon petitioners as a matter of federal labor and maritime law.
Relying upon its earlier decision in Rutherford v. Sea-Land
Service, Inc., 575 F. Supp. 1365 (N.D. Cal. 1983), the district
court denied the mution and certified the question to the United
States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. pursuant to the
agreement of all parties.

The Ninth Circuit reversed, finding that as a result of the “give
and take” of collective bargaining, petitioners’ unions had negoti-
ated a comprehensive benefits package which included contractu-
ally specified rates of maintenance. The Court of Appeals
concluded that the broad policies which underlie federal labor law
required that the maintenance rates be enforced, holding that:

when a benefits package includes an express reference to a
precise rate of maintenance the adequacy of this rate, consid-
ered in isolation, is not a subject for judicial speculation
when the rate is part of a total package of wages and benefits
resulting from the process of collective bargaining. Gardiner
v. Sea-Land Service, Inc., 786 F.2d 943, 949 (9th Cir. 1986).

Accord Hodges v. Keystone Shipping Co., 578 F. Supp. 620 (S.D.
Tex. 1983); Grove v. Dixie Carriers, Inc., 553 F. Supp. 777 (E.D.
La. 1982). See also Reardon v. California Tanker Co.. 260 F.2d
369 (2d Cir. 1958), cert. denied, 359 U.S. 926 (1959).

B. The Right To Maintenance
Maintenance, as described by the Court of Appeals, is:

the duty of a shipowner to provide food and lodging to a
seaman who falls ill or becomes injured while in the service
of the ship. Calmar S.S. Corp. v. Taylor, 303 U.S. 525. 528,
58 S.Ct. 651, 653, 82 L.Ed. 993 (1938). The night to
maintenance is tied to the right to cure, i... necessary
medical services, and both extend to the point of “maximum
recovery.” Vaughn v. Atkinson, 369 U.S. 527, 531. 82 S.Ct.
997, 999, 8 L.Ed. 2d 88 (1962). In addition, a seaman is
entitled [to] recover unearned wages. The Osceola, 189 U.S.
158, 175, 23 S.Ct. 483, 487, 47 L.Ed. 760 (1903): Norris.
The Law of Seamen § 26.7 at 15-16 (4th ed. 1985). In sum.

3

the elements of the common law maintenance and cure
action included a living allowance during the recovery period
(maintenance), reimbursement for medical expenses (cure),
and unearned wages for the period from the onset of injury or
‘IIness until the end of the voyage. Gilmore and Black, 281,
305, 309. Gardiner, supra, 786 F.2d at 945-46.

Maintenance, like its counterpart “cure,” is a legally imposed
term and condition of the seaman’s contract of employment, first
recognized in the maritime law of the United States by Justice
Story in Harden v. Gordon, 11 F. Cas. 480 (C.C.D. Me. 1823)
(No. 6,047), long before the advent of national labor laws and
unionization of seamen. The court in Harden specifically recog-
nized that seamen can legally contract with respect to mainte-
nance (and other traditional rights) so long as they are not
overreached and receive compensation (1.e., quid pro quo) “en-
tirely adequate to the diminution of the right or privilege on the
part of the seamen.” Id. at 485.

The seaman’s ability to contract with respect to his terms and
conditions of employment, including maintenance, has been con-
sistently recognized and upheld where the seaman has not been
overreached and receives an adequate quid pro quo for any
diminution of his rights. See, e.g., Law v. United Fruit Co., 264
F.2d 498, 499-500 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 360 U.S. 932 (1959);
Clinton v. United States, 254 F.2d 409, 410-11 (9th Cir. 1958),
cert. denied, 358 U.S. 941 (1959); Bonici v. Standard Oil Co., 193
F.2d 437, 438-39 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 308 U.S. 560 (1939);
Brown v. Lull, 4 F. Cas. 407, 409 (C.C.D. Mass. 1836) (Ne.
2,018); Zoldan v. American Export Isbrandtsen Lines, Inc., 1969
AMC. 471, 474 (S.D.N.Y. 1969), aff'd per curiam, 1970
A.M.C. 2177 (2d Cir. 1970); The Atlantic, 2 F. Cas. 121, 128
(S.D.N.Y. 1849) (No. 620). As the district court below expressly
recognized, therefore, maintenance is a proper subject for bar-
gaining between maritime unions and shipowners. Rutherford,
supra, 575 F. Supp. at 1373: Petition for Writ of Certioran
(‘“*Pet.”), Appendix (“App.”) B at B-1.

As set forth below, the Court of Appeals’ decision is based
upon the undisputed evidence inttoduced by respondents, is fully
consistent with settled federal labor and maritime law, and is not

4

in conflict with the decisions of this Court or of other circuit
courts. Accordingly, the Ninth Circuit opinion in Gardiner
presents no issue for consideration by this Court and respondents
respectfully submit that the petition for a wnt of certiorari should
be denied.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI

A. The Court Of Appeals Properly Found, And The Evidence
Showed, That The Maintenance Provisions Of The Collec-
tive Bargaining Agreements Are Enforceable As One Part
Of 4 Complete Benefits Package And Cannot Be Judicially
Reviewed In Isolation

Petitioners have, from the beginning of this action, attempted
to isolate the maintenance provisions of the collective bargaining
agreements in an effort to portray those provisions as “starvation
payments” and as “an inadequate allowance.” Pet. at 4, 6. The
Court of Appeals properly held, however, that the maintenance
provisions cannot be viewed in isolation, but are part and parcel of
a package of benefits which provide for seamen both on board
ship and on shore. Gardiner, supra, 786 F.2d at 949. A review of
those collectively-bargained benefits utterly dispels the notion
that petitioners are poor and friendless, destined to live on a mere
$8.00 per day. The undisputed evidence in the record below
demonstrates that petitioners are the beneficiaries of a compre-
hensive and generous benefits packages negotiated by their unions
which they enjoy shoreside as well as aboard ship.’

Petitioners’ collective bargaining agreements regulate all as-
pects of their employment and indisputably include substantial
benefits packages including wages, overtime pay, full health and
welfare benefits, pensions and liveral vacation benefits in addition
to maintenance.’ Collectively-bargained benefits available to

? Indeed, the Court of Appeals noted that petitioners had made “no
allegation that the collective bargaining agreement as a whole is unfair
or inadequate.” /d. at 949.

> Certain of the benefits available to petitioners are summarized in
Appendix A hereto which has been reproduced from respondents’ reply

5

members of petitioners’ unions include, inter alia, wage rates
which range, exclusive of overtime, from $1,823.29 to $5,262.45
per montii for MEBA members; $1,081.06 to $2,415.90 per
month for SIU members; and $1,026.66 to $2,508.59 per month
for NMU members. Unearned wages* and vacation pay are based
upon these union wage rates. Members also receive premium and
penalty pay for unpleasant tasks, substantial overtime pay and
extremely liberal vacation benefits which range from one vacation
day for each three days worked for SIU members to one vacation
day for each day worked for some MEBA members. Union
members may, and frequently do, receive pay in lieu of vacation
time earned. Upon permanent disability or retirement, members
receive pensions and the SIU and NMU pension plans provide
spousal pensions and annuities, respectively.

Most significantly, the unions have negotiated health and
welfare plans that far exceed the shipowners’ historical duty to
provide “cure” to the ill or injured seaman.” The undisputed
evidence below showed that the MEBA Medical and Benefits
Plan provides MEBA members and their dependents with cover-
age for all hospital confinements and surgical, maternity, major
medical, dental and optical benefits, together with free medical
examinations at Diagnostic Centers established by the Plan and
reimbursement of transportation expenses incurred in traveling to

brief in the Court of Appeals. The evidence of benefits available to
petitioners individually and to maritime union members generally was
undisputed in the courts below.

* Disabled seamen are entitled under maritime law to receive their
unearned wages from the onset of injury or illness to the end of their
contract of employment. Gilmore & Black, The Law of Admiralty, 309-
10 (2d ed. 1975).

* The shipowner is required by maritime law to provide “cure” to the
seaman disabled in the service of the ship only to the point of “maxi-
mum recovery.” Gardiner, supra, 786 F.2d at 946. Accordingly, a
permanently disabled seaman at “maximum cure” is not entitled to
ongoing care at the shipowner’s expense. This is in distinct contrast to
the medical benefits and disability pensions provided to seamen and
their dependents for shoreside as well as shipboard disabilities pursuant
to petitioners’ collective bargaining agreements.

6

such Diagnostic Centers. Significantly, in addition to mainte-
nance, the MEBA Plan provides a $50 per week disability benefit
to a MEBA member unable to perform his regular employment
duties.

The SIU Welfare Plan provides major medical and other
benefits, including hospitalization for any disability, maternity
benefits, an alcoholic rehabilitation and counseling program,
death and dismemberment benefits and a scholarship program for
union members and their dependents. The SIU Welfare Plan also
provides a sickness and accident benefit of $8.00 per day for up to
39 weeks, payable during any period when a disabled seaman
would not otherwise be entitled to maintenance. The NMU
Welfare Plan provides for a comprehensive major medical plan
with a $250,000 lifetime maximum for members and their depen-
dents. Additionally, the health and welfare plans provide that “the
ill or injured seaman receives free transportation to his home port
and a disability pension.” Gardiner, supra, 786 F.2d at 949.

Petitioners themselves were direct beneficiaries of these corn-
prehensive benefits packages. For example, petitioner Sanchez, a
member of MEBA, was injured, and declared not fit for duty, on
the 15th day of an 88-day voyage aboard a Sea-Land vessel. That
same day, he received earned wages of $2,947, after authorized
deductions. Following treatment at a hospital in Manila, Mr.
Sanchez was flown to the United States by tourist class air,
receiving (pursuant to the collective bargaining agreement) a
payment of $831 for the differential between tourist and first class
airfare. He received unearned wages of $2,369 for 73 days and
was credited with vacation benefits of over $6,000 based on the
entire 88-day voyage. In addition to maintenance, he was also
eligible to receive the $50 MEBA weekly disability benefit.
Finally, the MEBA Welfare Plan paid approximately $10,000 for
Sanchez’s hospital and medical bills.

Petitioner Bishop, a Lykes employee represented by the NMU,
became ill and left the service of the ship on the 48th day of a
124-day voyage. He received unearned wages of approximately
$2,800 for the remaining 76 days of the voyage. In addition to
maintenance, and earned wages exceeding $3,000, he also re-

7

ceived vacation benefits of more tha> $3,000 based upon the full
124-day voyage.

Petitioner Wheat signed articles for a 42-day voyage, but left
the vessel after 22 days because of an injury. In addition to earned
wages of more than $2,000 and maintenance and cure, he re-
ceived unearned wages of more than $1,400 and vacation benefits
of approximately $2,200 based upon the entire voyage.

As summarized above, petitioners, like other union seamen,
receive maintenance merely as one part of a comprehensive,
collectively-bargained compensation and benefits package. Con-
trary to petitioners’ intimations, they are neither starving nor
forced to survive on their maintenance benefits alone. Instead,
they enjoy the benefits of their collective bargaining agreements
on shore as well as aboard ship. Like courts before it, therefore,
the Ninth Circuit found that the collectively-bargained mainte-
nance rates were enforceable because those maintenance rates
were “part of an overall benefits package.” Hodges v. Keystone
Shipping, supra, 578 F. Supp. at 622; Grove v. Dixie Carriers,
Inc., supra, 553 F. Supp. at 780.

The Court of Appeals also found that its holding was supported
by the evidence of actual bargaining between the parties over the
rate of maintenance.

A second consideration which persuades us the bargained for
rate should be enforced is that the facts in this case demon-
strate that there was real bargaining over the maintenance
rate. In 1975 the Marine Engineers Beneficial Association
requested an increase in the maintenance rate to $20.00 and
in 1981 the Seafarers International Union asked for an
increase to $12.00. Both proposals were withdrawn as part of
the give and take of collective bargaining. Thus, the parties
have bargained for maintenance as a part of the overall
benefits package. Gardiner, supra, 786 F.2d at 949 (empha-
sis added).

8

In summary, the evidence demonstrated that petitioners and their
unions had barg2**#s! for and received quid pro quo for the
specified rate of ma.iitenance.°

B. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Is Consistent With Federal
Labor Law And Policy

The Court of Appeals correctly held that, pursuant to federal
labor policy, courts should refrain from interfering with the
choice, freely made by petitioners through their unions during
collective bargaining, to accept the specified rates of maintenance
in return for other substantial benefits.

This Court has emphasized that federal labor policy rests upon
the “fundamental premise” of “private bargaining under govern-
mental supervision of the procedure alone, without any official
compulsion over the actual terms of the contract.” H.K. Porter
Co. v. N.L.R.B., 397 U.S. 99, 108 (1970) (emphasis added).
Courts must be reluctant to interfere with the collective bargain-
ing process, for otherwise “[j]udicial rewriting of labor contract
terms that are clear in both the language used and situations
addressed would undermine [the] private bargaining process
which federal labor policy promotes.” /rwin v. Carpenters Health
& Welfare Trust Fund, 745 F.2d 553, 557 (9th Cir. 1984).

The parties to the collective agreement are best able to deter-
mine how their relationship should be structured in the interests
of all because, as this Court has stated, “[t]he mature labor
agreement may attempt to regulate all aspects of the complicated
relationship, from the most crucial to the most minute over an
extended period of time.” United Steelworkers of America v.

* Although not mentioned by the Court of Appeals, the non-union
seaman may recover for maintenance on/y the amount of his own actual
and reasonable expenditures and may not recover if he has incurred no
such expense. Johnson v. United States, 333 U.S. 46, 50 (1948);
Mahramas v. American Export Isbrandtsen Lines, 475 F.2d 165, 172
(2d Cir. 1973). In contrast, the union seaman is not required to offer
proof of actual expenditures or the reasonableness of those expenditures
in order to receive maintenance at the predetermined union contract
rate. Reardon v. California Tanker Co., supra, 260 F.2d at 374-75;
Grove v. Dixie Carriers, Inc., supra, 553 F. Supp. at 781.

9

Warrior & Gulf Nav. Co., 363 U.S. 574, 580 (1960). Thus,
interference by the courts with the decisions made in collective
bargaining is particularly to be avoided because a collective
bargaining agreement is not merely a “private agreement, but
rather an instrument of government.” Toyota Landscape Co. v.
Teamsters, 726 F.2d 525, 529 (9th Cir. 1984). In view of this
comprehensive nature of a collective bargaining agreement, the
“complete satisfaction of all who are represented is hardly to be
expected.” Ford Motor Co. v. Huffman, 345 U.S. 330, 338
(1953). A “wide range of reasonableness must be allowed a
statutory bargaining representative in serving the unit it repre-
sents, subject always to complete good faith and honesty of
purpose....” /d. at 338.

Consistent with the foregoing principies, the Court of Appeals
enforced the maintenance rates, concluding that it could not

fairly say that this [maintenance] rate, as a consequence of
the normal “give and take” process of collective bargaining,
is not entitled to the same reliability accorded to other terms
and conditions within the same agreement.

** *

“The rate of maintenance is but one of many elements
contained within the Union contract and over which the
parties negotiate, and there may be a considerable amount of
‘give and take’ exercised by the parties in coming to a final
agreement on all of the elements.” Grove v. Dixie Carriers,
Inc., 553 F. Supp. 777, 780 (E.D. La. 1982).

* * *

The adequacy of the maintenance rate should not be ex-
amined in isolation by the court because the determination of
its adequacy in relation to the whole scheme of benefits has
already been made by the union and the seamen who voted
for the contract. 786 F.2d at 949.’

’ The Court of Appeals also stressed that “courts which have held that
seamen must receive more than $8.00 for maintenance were deciding on

10

Courts should respect the choices made in coilective bargaining
for the additional reason that doing so promotes industrial stabil-
ity, a hallmark of federal labor policy. Gardiner, supra, 786 F.2d
at 948. Singling maintenance out for judicial scrutiny from the
total package of benefits negotiated by the parties would threaten
industrial stability because “parties to a collective bargaining
agreement must have reasonable assurance that their contract will
be honored.” W.R. Grace & Co. v. Rubber Workers Local 759,
461 U.S. 757, 771 (1983). The Court of Appeals therefore
properly found that the maintenance rates should be enforced
because “[t]he national iabor policy of promoting and encourag-
ing collective bargaining agreements would be unduly compro-
mised were we to conclude otherwise.” Gardiner, supra, 786 F.2d
at 949.

C. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Is Consistent With Settled
Maritime Case Law

The Gardiner opinion presents no issue to be considered by this
Court because it is consistent with settled maritime law, as well as
federal labor law. Virtually every court in the past thirty years
which has considered the enforcement of a collectively-bargained
rate of maintenance has reached the same result.

As discussed above, courts have long held that seamen may
contract with respect to maintenance and other traditional rights
if they receive quid pro quo. Harden v. Gordon, supra, \\ F. Cas.
at 485. Consistent with this quid pro quo principle under mari-
time law, courts agree that the “rate and mode of payment of
maintenance” may be set by contract. Hodges v. Keystone Ship-
ping Co., supra, 578 F. Supp. at 622. Indeed, the district court
below recognized that “parties may surely contract with respect to
the rate of maintenance. .. .” Pet. App. B. at B-1. See also
Rutherford, supra, 575 F. Supp. at 1373 (maintenance is a proper
“subject of bargaining” between unions and employers).°

the adequacy of the rate for nonunicn seamen [citing cases].” /d.
(Emphasis in original. )

* Similarly, a seaman may freely release his claim for maintenance in
settlement of a lawsuit where the release agreement is fair and the
seaman comprehends the rights so waived. Bonici v. Standard Oil Co..,

11

In Hodges v. Keystone Shipping Co., supra, 578 F. Supp. 620,
for example, the court set forth the legal principles underlying the
rule that a maintenance rate established in a collective bargaining
agreement is enforceable. In remitting a jury award of mainte-
nance in excess of the negotiated rate, the court stated:

[P]laintiff's rate of recovery of maintenance is limited by the
NMU contract... . The right to maintenance originates from
an individual’s seaman status and is a term of the employ-
ment which cannot be contracted away.... The rate and
mode of payment of maintenance, however, can be regulated
by contract. The contract between the seaman and his
employer “establishes as a matter of law, the rate of mainte-
nance to be paid.” Jd. at 622 (emphasis added) (citation
omitted).

In reaching its result, the Hodges court relied upon Grove v.
Dixie Carriers, Inc., supra, 553 F. Supp. 777. The plaintiff in
Grove, like petitioners here, sought maintenance in excess of the
$8.00 rate in a collective bargaining agreement. The Grove court
denied the relief requested, stating:

[W]here the seaman, through the Union as his representa-
tive, expressly contracts with his employer for a specific rate
of maintenance, whether it be higher or lower than it would
otherwise be, the contract between the seaman and his
employer establishes, as a matter of law, the rate of mainte-
nance to be paid. /d. at 780.

Similarly, in Dixon v. Maritime Overseas Corp., 490 F. Supp.
1191 (S.D.N.Y.), affd, 646 F.2d 560 (2d Cir. 1980), cert.
denied, 454 U.S. 838 (1981), the jury was instructed that:

supra, 103 F.2d 437; Clinton v. United States, supra, 254 F.2d 409.
Individual seamen may even waive their right to future maintenance if
the release agreement is freely given in return for adequate considera-
tion. See Law v. United Fruit Co., supra, 264 F.2d 498; Zoldan v.
American Export Isbrandtsen Lines, Inc., supra, 1969 A.M.C. 471.
Seamen may also contractually forego the receipt of maintenance per se
in return for a maintenance substitute in a collective bargaining agree-
ment. Thomas v. Humble Oil & Refining Co., 420 F.2d 793 (4th Cir.
1970).

12

Despite inflation or other factors, the union contract estab-
lishes the rate for payment of maintenance and cure at $8.00
per day. That is binding on the plaintiff. /d. at 1193.

Accord Reardon v. California Tanker Co., supra, 260 F.2d at 374-
75, 376 (rate of maintenance set forth in a collective bargaining
agreement is binding on both seaman and shipowner).

In addition to the foregoing cases, numerous other decisions
have consistently recognized the validity of a collectively-
bargained rate of maintenance and have treated such a rate as
binding on the seaman. See, e.g., Gajewski v. United States, 540
F. Supp. 381 (S.D.N.Y. 1982); Williams v. Barge Foss, 528 F.
Supp. 226 (W.D. Wash. 1981); Tague v. American Pres. Lines,
Lid., 1975 A.M.C. 1129 (N.D. Cal. 1975); Meade v. Skip
Fisheries, Inc., 385 F. Supp. 725 (D. Mass. 1974); Ladzinski v.
Sterling S.S. & Trading Corp., 300 F. Supp. 947 (S.D.N.Y.
1969); Bailey v. Moore-McCormick Lines, Inc., 280 F. Supp. 310
(S.D.N.Y. 1967); Pedersen v. Diesel Tankers, 280 F. Supp. 421
(S.D.N.Y. 1967); Covert v. Centennial Queen, 185 F. Supp. 552
(D. Or. 1960); Vitco v. Joncich, 130 F. Supp. 945 (S.D. Cal.
1955), aff'd, 234 F.2d 1161 (9th Cir. 1956).

In sum, the Court of Appeals’ decision in Gardiner is merely
the latest in a long line of decisions which respect the contractual
choices regarding maintenance which have been freely made by
the seamen involved.

D. The Court Of Appeals’ Decision Creates No Conflict With
Decisions Of This Court Or The Fifth Circuit

Notwithstanding that the Court of Appeals’ decision is consis-
tent with long-settled federal labor and maritime law, petitioners
erroneously contend that the decision is in conflict with decisions
of this Court and the Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Petitioners argue that the Court of Appeals’ decision will
permit unions to “bargain away” the right to maintenance and is
therefore violative of the rule stated in Cortes v. Baltimore Insular
Line, Inc., 287 U.S. 367, 371 (1932), that “no private agreement

er *

SE ene ere ea eee

13

may abrogate the right to maintenance.” A simple reading of the
decision belies petitioners’ view of Gardiner. The Court of Ap-
peals acknowledged the foregoing statement from Cortes (786
F.2d at 946) and was careful to point out that it would not enforce
“a mere token amount [which] is designated for maintenance
without a genuine quid pro quo arrived at through collective
bargaining.” Jd. at 950. Indeed, the Court of Appeals expressly
stated that an earlier Ninth Circuit decision, Vitco v. Joncich, 130
F. Supp. 945 (S.D. Cal. 1955), affd, 234 F.2d 1161 (9th Cir.
1956), retained vitality and would control to invalidate any such
token maintenance rate arrived at without quid pro quo.

The Court of Appeals thus accommodated the teaching of
Cortes with federal labor policy which “is built on the premise
that employees can bargain most effectively for improvements in
wages, hours, and working conditions by pooling their economic
strength and acting through freely chosen labor organizatiuns.”
Id. at 948, citing N.L.R.B. v. Allis-Chalmers Mfg. Co., 388 U.S.
175, 180 (1967). In short, the Court of Appeals correctly found
that the negotiated rate of maintenance “does not abrogate a
maritime right. Rather, it expressly recognizes the maritime nght
to maintenance and seeks to preserve it as part of the overall
negotiating process.” Jd. at 950.

Finally, there is no conflict with McWilliams v. Texaco, Inc.,
781 F.2d 514 (5th Cir. 1986), as petitioners’ claim. The court in
McWilliams neither addressed nor even considered the issues
presented in this case or the fundamental federal labor policies
which underlie the decision of the Court of Appeals. The issue
discussed by the Fifth Circuit was whether evidence of food and
lodging costs in the community could be introduced in a mainte-
nance action, irrespective of McWilliams’ actual expenditures for
maintenance. Indeed, to the extent that the McWilliams court
permitted evidence of such costs for maintenance in excess of
McWilliams’ actual expenditures, it contradicted this Court’s

9 It should be noted that neither Cortes nor the other decision cited by
petitioners, DeZon v. American President Lines, 318 U.S. 660 (1943),
involved a collectively-bargained rate of maintenance.

14

holding in Johnson v. United States, 333 U.S. 46 (1948) (no
recovery for maintenance where no expenditures).

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, defendants respectfully request
that the Court deny the petition for writ of certiorari.

SAMUEL D. DELIcH* J. STEWART HARRISON
SANDRA R. MCCANDLESS BROBECK, PHLEGER &
MARTIN H. Dopp HARRISON
GRAHAM & JAMES Spear Street Tower
One Maritime Plaza, Suite 300 One Market Plaza
San Francisco, CA 94111 San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 954-0200 (415) 442-0900
DANIEL J. DOUGHERTY HOwARD L. GANz*
KIRLIN, CAMPBELL & KEATING PROSKAUER, ROSE, GOETZ &
14 Wall Street MENDELSOHN
New York, NY 10005 300 Park Avenue
(212) 732-5520 New York, NY 10022

(212) 909-7000
Counsel for Respondents
*Counsel of Record

Monthly
Base Wages
[1981 Wages]
$5,262.45
(high)
$1,823.29
(low)
[ Indexed to
CPI]
for 8 hours
work
Monday-
Friday

A-]

APPENDIX A
SUMMARY OF SELECTED CONTRACT PROVISIONS
FOR MEBA
Living Health
Conditions Work Rules and Welfare Vacation

Free board and
lodging

Clean linens twice
a week

Engineer's lounge
with TV, VCR,
and movies

Separate state-
rooms wired for
TV

In addition to base wages:

Overtime rate of $15.78 to
$45.56/hour for work in
excess of 8 hours during
weekdays and on weekends
and holidays.

Premium rate of $8.01/hour
for “broken meal” hour,
confinement to vessel in
port, blowing boiler tubes,
welding outside machinery
areas, delayed sailing, doing
work usually done by unli-
censed seamen, etc.

Penalty rate of $8.01/hour for
working in confined or dirty
spaces or dirty work, plus
ten percent if after normal
work hours.

Non-watch allowance of
$1,473.55 to $510.54/ month.

Penalty and overtime pay often
paid simultaneously.

Major Medical
Dental
Hospitalization
$1,500 out-of-pocket
maximum per year
Deductible carry-over
from last quarter of
previous year can
be applied to fol-
lowing year
Optical benefit
$120.00 per year

Increased from 19
days per 30
working days in
1981 to 22 days
per 30 in 1984

Chief Engineers
get | vacation
day for each
day worked

Persion

20 years = $340
or 40% of pay

25 years = $425
or 50% of pay

30 years = $535
or 60% of pay,
whichever is
higher

Over 30 = 2% of
pay per year up
to age 65

Monthly
Base Wages
[1983 Wages]
$2,415.90
(high)
$1,081.06
(low)
[Indexed to
CPI]
for 8 hours
work
Monday-
Friday

A-2

SUMMARY OF SELECTED CONTRACT PROVISIONS

Living
Conditions

Free board and
lodging

TV, VCR, movies

Clean linens once
a week

Varied, posted
menus

Choice of entrees
— meats
cooked to order

Guaranteed meal
times or over-
time (“O.T.”)
is paid

FOR SIU

Work Rules

In addition to base wages:

Premium rates of $9.49 to
$20.39/hr for work per-
formed on Sat., Sun. and
holiday;

Overtime rates: $6.19 to
$10.20/hr for all work in
excess of 8 hrs — Monday
through Friday;

Penalty rates: $4.20 to
$17.82/hr for certain tasks
like cleaning bilges and cer-
tain weekend work; rate of
$8.23 to $15.42/hr for crew
doing longshoremen’s work
Mon. to Fri.; $12.35 to
$23.13/hr if on Sat., Sun. or
holiday;

Rate of $7.27 to $17.82 for
tank cleaning; penalty and
premium pay ior certain
tasks added to OT when
performed between 5:00 p.m.
& 8:00 a.m.

Health
and Welfare

Major Medical, hospi-
tal, surgical, pre-
scription drugs,
optical, medical
exam for Seaman
and dependents

Dental benefits

Death benefits for
beneficiary up to
$15,000

Accidental dismem-
berment benefits

Maternity benefit

Mental disorder bene-
fits

Alcohol rehabilitation

Upgrade and recertifi-
cation education

Vacation

[1981 benefit]

Four months’
base pay for
365 days of
covered
employment

(i.e., one vacation
day for each
three days
worked)

Pension

Regular Normal
Pension = $240
to $1,000
per/mo

Deferred Vested
Pension

Early Normal
Pension

Special Early
Normal Pen-
sion

Disability Pension

Survivor Spouse
Annuity Bene-
fits

Monthly
Base Wages
[1982 Wages]
$2,508.59
(high)
$1,026.66
(low)
[Indexed to
CPI]
for 8 hours
work
Monday-
Friday

A-3

SUMMARY OF SELECTED CONTRACT PROVISIONS

Living
Conditions

Free board and
lodging

Clean linens once
a week

TV, VCR, movies

Varied menu

Guaranteed meal
times or O.T. is
paid

FOR NMU

Work Rules

In addition to base wages:

Overtime rate of $9.56 to
$21.72 per hour for weekday
rate in excess of 8 hours and
weekend and holiday work;

Penalty rates of $5.11 to $3.87
for all work between 5 p.m.
and & a.m., and certain
tasks; making ice cream,
spray painting, etc.

$5.82 for “dirty work”;

14 times penalty rate for
cleaning tanks between 5
p.m. and 8 a.m. on overtime
and penalty rate if between 8
a.m. and 5 p.m.;

Longshore work at rate of New
York Longshore rate, no less
than $14.00 per hour, but no
less than $28/hour if han-
dling explosives;

On-watch rate of 1% times
penalty rate for removing
garbage, manure, cleaning
bilges, working ballast,

Continuous overtime if less
than 2 hours break between
O.T. and next scheduled
work period;

At least one paid day off when
in port.

Health
and Welfare

Hospitalization and
Major Medica!
(Family Coverage)

Life Insurance

Accidental Death and
Dismemberment

Dental Benefits

Optical Benefits

Alcoholism Program

Personal Services
Unit

Free Prescription
Drugs

Upgrading and Train-

ing Program includ-

ing meals, stipend
and travel expenses

Vacation

13-17 days per 30
worked;

Vacation pay
approx. $150-
$300 more than
base monthly
wage

Pension

Regular Pension
Service Pension
Disability Pension
Pro Rata Pension
Partial Pension
Vested Pension
Survivor Spouse
pension

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_2398%3A3. Public record. Not legal advice.
