# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Donley v. Commissioner

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_2372%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 885

## Text

Supreme Court, U.S,

FILED

86-292

= ‘yee

| AUG 25 1966
JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR,
i CLERK
No. (
IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1986

STEVEN E. DONLEY,

. Petitioner,

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,
Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

MARTIN A. SCHAINBAUM
A PROFESSIONAL LAW CORPORATION
MARTIN A. SCHAINBAUM
KATHLEEN A. MILLER
One Market Plaza
Steuart Street Tower, Suite 2310
San Francisco, CA 94105
(415) 777-1040

JAMES E. RITCHIE

One Market Plaza

Steuart Street Tower, Suite 2310
San Francisco, CA 94105

(415) 777-1040

ATTORNEYS FOR PETITIONER

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1.

tw

Whether the Tax Court committed
error as a matter of

law in granting Respondent-
Appelise's Motion to Dismiss for
Lack of* Jurisdiction.

Whether the notification letters,
issued by Respondent-Appellee
pursuant to Revenue Procedure 83-
78, 1983-2 C.B. 595 constitute
"notices of deficiency" within the
contemplation of 26 U.S.C. Section

6212 and 6213.

f-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

REPORTS OF OPINIONS....--ee-se0.
JURISDICTION... . cc cece vveccece
STATUTES INVOLVED.....-eeeeevees
STATEMENT OF THE CASE.......e--
ARGUMENT... cc cccccccvccsccevcens

THE TAX COURT COMMITTED
ERROR AS A MATTER OF LAW

BY GRANTING THE GOVERNMENT'S
MOTION TO DISMISS TAXPAYER'S
CONSCLIDATED PETITION FOR
LACK OF JURISDICTION........

THE IRS LETTERS, DATED
NOVEMBER 2, 1984, ARE
"POST-FILING" RATHER THAN
"PRE-FILING" NOTIFICATION
LETTERS... cccccccccccccccces

IRS REVENUE PROCEDURE 83-78,
1983-2 C.B. 595 (MODIFIED

BY REV. PROC. 84-84, 1984-2
C.B. TB2) ccccvccsescssesss

APPELLEE IS ARGUING FORM vs.
SUBSTANCE WITH RESPECT TO

WHETHER THE NOTIFICATION

LETTERS CONSTITUTE NOTICES

OE WP SCEENCE ccc cc cccccccecs 30

NEW PENALTY PROVISIONS

ASSERTED IN NOTICEDS OF

DEFICIENCY DO NOT ASSERT

Bee MPPOUNAB ewe ccccccsesces 39

APPELLANT IS ENTITLED TO

DUE PROCESS OF THE LAWS AND
JUDICIAL DETERMINATION OF THE
NOTIFICATIONS RECEIVED WITH

RESPECT TO THEIR 1983

py 8 es ag 2 | 41

THE GOVERNMENT MAY BE SUBJECT

TO DAMAGES AS IN THE CASE OF
MID-SOUTH MUSIC CORPORATION v.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.... so

PUPS Se 6 bb Sc reccresecceces 52

iii

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Barth Foundation,
BOLZ@LS (LEOEL) cccocvsevsecesvens

Barnes v.
1385, 1385S

Commissioner,
(9th Cir.

644 F.2d
1981)...

Barnes Theatre Ticket, v.
NN ee ee eae ee ee eee

Commissioner v. Forest Glen
Creamery Co., 98 F.2d 968,
re 42ee Cale JOG) wc chncewdeons

Commissioner of Internal Revenue
v. Court Holding Company, 324
Mo@e 2am CAPES) occ sbeebs svsnvecinc

Commissioner v. Stewart, 186
FueG 239, 241 (608 Cir. 1981...

Corbett v. Frank,
502 (C.A. 9,

193 F.2d 501,

DaBoul v. Commissioner, 429 F.2d
i Ee ae oo eee

Estate of Adamczyk, T.C. Memo
1981-259 41 T.C.M. 1596 (1981)..

iv

13,34

35
12

30

12

Cases

Estate of Eversole v.
Commissioner, 39 T.C.
PRG) 6-6 6-b 5 66 06 8) be 8 oes OS

Foster v. Commissioner,

24, 289794230 (1983) cvcssesces

Greenperag's Express,

Commissioner, 79 T.C.
ae? - Ces ba cows ecee tie

Gregory v. Helvering,

293 U.S.

BGS SamOe eee re cerca cs keees

Hannan v. Commissioner,

o2 T.C.

7B7 (L969) w-ccces te oo PRMD OO BS

Jarvis v. Commissioner,

646, 655-656 (1982).........

Jones v. Commissioner,

G62 7T.C.

(40 78) 60 40:0 cae p eee eh ees haces

Llorente v. Commissioner,

F.2G@ 352, 155, nn. 4,

(24 Cir. 29043.6 05604

Laing v. United States,

423 U.S.

AGL (ERTS 2 6 cco ves ereaesvscvnse

Page

34

a3,37

30

10,11

Cases Page

Mayerson v. Commissioner, 47 T.C.
340, 349 (1966) -cccvccccvcecceves sa,a4

Mid-South Music Corporation v.
Kolak, et al., 579 F.2d 23

Peet CAE.» SESE cece aststvaelons oe 48

Mid-South Music Corporation v.

United States, F. Supp. ;

56 AFTR 2d 85-6250

(USDC, M.D. Tenn., 1985) ..csesecs 44,45,
46

Olsen v. Helvering, 88 F.2d 650,

GSl 20 Cif. ASST) ce sckcvatsovenses + PP ee
Kh

Pietz v. Comnissioner, 59 T.C.,

207, 21392146 (ADT7SZ) cocsvcveccasss 33

Riland v. Commissioner, 79 T.C.

aD, 201 (IBGR) céaades eoesece ease 14

Howard S. Scar, et al., 81T.C.

are ts eee rere re eee ee ot
pe

Standard Oil Co. v. Commissioner,
43°8.7.A. O73, O08 €3960ticiicaes S28 |

United States v. Cumberland
Public Service Company, 338 U.S.
ae | ge ee ee 360.33

vi

Cases

United States v. Mid-South
Music Corporation, et al.,
F. Supp. , 56 AFTR 2d

85-6002 (USDC M.D. Tenn. 1985)...

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

Internal Revenue Code (26

Ve sal COI ee hee Kee aren eee see

Internal Revenue Code (26

eS er ar

Internal Revenue Code (26

Re PEA oi oc cans ivdeccccs

Internal Revenue Code (26

Weems) BORO Rebckereeherectesiss

Internal Revenue Code (26

ee ee ae ere

Internal Revenue Code (26

pee ee ae ere eee

Internal Revenue Code (26

Vie) BOREE Ce ke bie d leew seve ess

Vil

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS Page

Internal Revenue Code (26

U.S.C.) $6212 (8) eececccccccvcces >
a3, 22
13,34

Internal Revenue Code (26

RP ee tet aie ) errr rere 19

Internal Revenue Code (26

U.B.C.) §$6212(C) (1) ccc vccaccece 25

Internal Revenue Code (26 i

U.B.C.) FSZAD sc ceeccccccccscstvce 6,23,
he)
41

Internal Revenue Code (26

Pe es eee a eee 2.37;
38,39,
41

Internal Revenue Code (26
a ee) eee ee 19

Internal Revenue Code (26
U.S.C.) $6501... ccccves TerTTrT Ts 25

Internal Revenue Code (26
U.6.C.) §6501L(E) we ccccvecses coccee 25

Internal Revenue Code (26
U.8.C.) $6501 (BD) (1) ecevccscacsecs 25

vili

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

Internal Revenue Code (26
Webeis) BOSSI) +6 6h sok ew oc bee es

Internal Revenue Code (26
Mec Os }: SOCRS TR) (a) oa es 6a Kees ess

Internal Revenue Code (26
Use.) PEGSI (HO) C2) wc cccccccsccs

Internal Revenue Code (26
VeBeluy BOSPOCH) vc ceesecescvcss

Internal Revenue Code (26
eave) eo Mie Kc ke ho ale ee dace dks

Internal Revenue Code (26
Vemutee) “See ba os 44s Oe 0 ee wee a 8s

Internal Revenue Code (26
ore Pe) eS ee eee
Internal Revenue Code (26
Cid Gries 8 5 6 656 be Ke eee

Internal Revenue Code (26
Was Ge) Bree tl 65 66 bese eee baw s

Internal Revenue Code (26
Use Gas OF 6 hd eee eae ee ee wwe ‘

1x

10,39,

20,36,

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS Page

Internal Revenue Code (26

U.S.C.) §7431 e*eeeee#s#*¢ eeeeeeee#eee#e#e#*# 45
Rev. Proc. 83-78, 1983-2, C.B.
sk 6 iw « oe 4 sw bres 18,20,
29,44
Rev. Proc. 84-84, 1984-2, C.B. :
CURE 4 as OMe eed 0048 0A KO ee oe 18,29, ,
42,44
MISCELLANEOUS Page
5 Gg ER Gy er 8
RR Ge i 23
-, ~ : o ae k! GE > Se 23
Tax Reform Act of 1976. .cccccccs 10
x

aha

No.
In the
Supreme Court of the United States
October Term, 1986
Steven E. Donley,
Petitioner,
Vv.
COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO
THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

This is a case of first impression
involving a question of procedural due
process affecting the uniform administration

f the Internal Revenue laws. Petitioner
hereby respectfully prays a Writ of
Certiorari issue to review the decisions of

the United States Court of Appeals for the

:
~~

Fifth Circuit, which susv.*»ined the decision
of the United States Tax Court dismissing
Petitioner's Consolidated Petition.
PARTIES

The parties in this case are Petitioner-
Appellant:

STEVEN E. DONLEY
REPORT OF OPINION

The Judgment and Opinion of the Fifth
Circuit Court of Appeals in this case and the
Judgment and Opinion of the U. S. Tax Court
are reproduced in the Appendix.
JURISDICTION

The decision sought to be reviewed
herein was entered by the Fifth Circuit Court
of Appeals on June ll, 1986, Docket No. 85-
4663, Tax Court Docket No. 2645-85.

The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked under Title 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

The following statutes are involved in
this case:

26 6 -U.8.€. (Internal Revenue Code of
1954, as amended) §6212(a):
(a) IN GENERAL. ---If the Secretary
determines that there is a deficiency in
respect of any tax imposed by subtitle A or B
or chapter 41, 42, 43, 44, or 45, he is
authorized to send notice of such deficiency
to the taxpayer by certified mail or
registered mail.

26 U.S.C. §6213(a):
(a) TIME FOR FILING PETITION AND RESTRICTION
ON ASSESSMENT.--Within 90 days or 150 days if
the notice is addressed to a person outside
the United States, after the notice of
deficiency authorized in section 6212 is
mailed (not counting Saturday, Sunday, or a

legal holiday in the District of Columbia as

-4i-

the last day) the taxpayer may file a
petition with the Tax Court a redetermination
of the deficiency. Except as otherwise
provided in section 6851 or section 6861 no
assessment of a deficiency in respect of any
tax imposed by subtitle A, or B, chapter 41,
42, 43, 44, or 45 and no levy or proceeding
in court for its collection shall be made,
begun, or prosecuted until such notice has
been mailed to the taxpayer, nor until the
expiration of such 90 day or 150, as the case
may be, nor if a petition has been filed with
the Tax Court, until the decision of the Tax
Court has become final. Notwithstanding the
provisions of section 7421(a), the making of
such assessment or the beginning of such
proceeding or levy during the time such
prohibition is in force may be enjoined by a

proceeding in the proper court.

<~Pepe ae

-5-

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On November ay 1984, the Internal
Revenue Service issued "Post-Filing
Notification Letters" to the Taxpayer-
Appellant herein. Said notices advised that

with respect to Appellant's investment with
Liberty Financial in 1983, the Internal
Revenue Service believes "that the purported
tax ded'ctions and/or credits are not
allowable." These notices purported to
disallow deductions taken, or refunds claimed
based on the Liberty Financial 1983
Government Securities Trading Strategy.
Pursuant to the determination evidenced
by the notice, all that remains for the
Internal Revenue Service ("Service" or "IRS")
to do is merely calculate the exact amount of
the deficiency for the taxpayer having
received the notices and who claimed the

deduction. In addition, the aforementioned

~

IRS notices indicate appropriate penalties
are to be imposed. The Service @id not
propose to allow the deduction in any
respect, or issue a refund based on the
deduction in any amount. All that the IRS
proposed, is an administrative effort to
easily collect the deficiency is to have the
taxpayer voluntarily amend their, her or its
own income tax return.

Appellant filed a Consolidated Petition
in the United States Tax Court on January 28,
1985 in response to said notice, alleging
therein that the notices constitute notices
of deficiency within the contemplation of 26
U.8.C. Sections 6212 and 6213, thus
fulfilling the prerequisite for the taxpayer
receiving said notice to petition the United
States Tax Court for judicial review.

Thereafter, on April 4, 1985, Appellee

(Respondent-Commissioner of Internal Revenue

-J=

Service) filed a Motion to Dismiss
Appellant's Consolidated Petition for Lack of
Jurisdiction. The Appellee failed to
properly serve Appellant (taxpayer) or
Appellant's counsel with copies of said
motion. The Tax Court granted the
Government's motion on April 12, 1985 without
allowing the taxpayer an opportunity to
respond either orally, or in writing, to the
Internal Revenue Service's motion to dismiss.

Judge Dawson vacated his order of
dismissal on April 16, 1985 and directed that
the parties file memoranda of points and
authorities on or before May 15, 1985. The
matter was also set for hearing in
Washington, D.C. on May 22, 1985.

On May 15, 1985, both the Appellant and
the Appellees filed his respective memoranda
of points and authorities with the Tax Court.
Thereafter, on May 22, 1985, the hearing was

held before Judge Dawson.

-8-

On June 17, 1985, Judge Dawson filed his
opinion holding for the Government’ and
dismissing the case without a judicial review
of the underlying merits of the issues
presented by the "Post-Filing Notification"
notices (hereinafter PFN). The following
day, June 18, 1985, Judge Dawson's order
dismissing taxpayer's consolidated petition
for lack of jurisdiction was entered in the
Tax Court's records.

On June 18, 1985, taxpayer filed a
motion for reconsideration of the findings of
fact or opinion. This motion was denied by
the Tax Court on July 29, 1985.
Subsequently, on August 29, 1985, Appellant
renewed his motion for reconsideration based
upon the receipt of a notice by one of the
111 co-Petitioner that said taxpayer's refund
for his 1984 income tax year was being

withheld solely due to the prior issuance of

-9=

the "pre-filing notification letter." The
Tax Court denied Appellant's renewal of his
motion for reconsideration on September 11,
1985.
ARGUMENT
THE TAX COURT COMMITTED ERROR AS A MATTER OF
LAW BY GRANTING THE GOVERNMENT'S MOTION TO
DISMISS TAXPAYER'S CONSOLIDATED PETITION FOR
LACK OF JURISDICTION

The court's Order of Dismissal prior to

\

its vacation contained the following

citations: DaBoul v. Commissioner, 429 F.2d

38 (9th Cir. 1979); Jones v. Commissioner, 62

T.C. 1 (1974); Rule 13, Tax Court Rules of
Practice and Procedure. Rule 13 restates the
basic principle that issuance of a notice of
deficiency is the condition precedent to Tax
Court jurisdiction. Both DaBoul and Jones
are distinguishable from the facts and
Circumstances herein. In those cases no
notice was issued. Further, the situation in

Jones was subsequently overruled by the

-10—

United States Supreme Court in Laing v.
United States, 423 U.S. 161 (1976).
Thereafter, the Tax Reform Act of 1976 added
a provision now known as 26 U.S.C. Section
7429, granting a taxpayer falling within that
provision administrative and judicial review.
Here notices were issued. such notices set
forth the taxable year and item questioned by
the IRS. the exact amount of the deficiency
for the taxpayer is a mere arithmetic
mechanical function, no different than the
mechanics attributable to determining certain
additions to the tax now being asserted by
the Internal Revenue Service in certain
notices of deficiency (see 26 U.S.C. Section
6653(a) (2), 6653(b) (2), 6659(b), and 6621(a).
Thus, the notices at bar, while not in the
standard form for notices of deficiency, are
nevertheless in substance notices of

deficiency granting the Tax Court

2 an 8 A BER

ore

-ll-

jurisdiction with respect to the
determination contained in such notices. The
reasons follow.

It is unquestioned that the Tax Court's
jurisdiction to determine a tax liability
prior to payment is predicated upon the
existence of a "deficiency" within the
meaning of 26. -U,8,¢: Section 621l(a).
Further, it is necessary that the IRS issue a
notice of deficiency within the contemplation
of 26 U.S.C. Section 6212(a). Consequently,
notices of deficiency have been characterized

as “tickets to the tax court." Corbett v.

Frank, 293 F.2d $012, S02 (C.A. 9, 1961);

Laing v. United States, supra at 206.

In the 1983 Tax Court case of Howard S.

scar, et al., 81 T.C. 855 (1983), the court

addressed the issue of whether a writing
issued to the taxpayer stating that a

deficiency had been determined for his 1978

~
taxable year in a specified amount
constituted a statutory notice of deficiency
pursuant to 26 U.S.C. 6212(a).

The Court expounded on the requisites of
a notice of deficiency at (860-861) as
follows:

* * *

We start from the established
principle that no particular
form is required for a
statutory notice of deficiency.
Commissioner v. Forest Glen
Creamery Co., 98 F.2d 968, 971
(7th Cir. 1938); Jarvis v.
Commissioner, 78 T.C. 646, 655-
656 (1982). As Judge Learned
Hand stated in Olsen v. Helvering,
88 F.2d 650, 651 (2d Cir.
1937), “the notice is only to
advise the person who is to pay the
deficiency that the Commissioner
means to assess him; anything that
does this unequivocally is good
enough." See also Commissioner
v. Stewart, 186 F.2d 239, 241 (6th
Cir. 1951), revg. a Memorandum
Opinion of this Court.

The requirements of section
6212(a) are met if the notices
of deficiency sets forth the
amount of the deficiency and
the taxable year involved.

-13-

See Foster v. Commissioner, 80
T.C. 34, 229-230 (1983). It
need not contain any particulars
or explanations as to how the
deficiencies were determined.
See Barnes v. Commissioner,
644 F.2d 1385, 1389 (9th

Cir. 1981), revg. on other
grounds a Memorandum of this
Court. (Footnote omitted.)
‘(Emphasis supplied.)

The Tax Court in Scar, supra, went on to

articulate its jurisdictional basis at page

861:

* * *

We are satisfied that
the deficiency notices herein
meets the aforementioned
standards: insofar as any
question of our jurisdiction
is concerned. The fact that is
subsequently develops even
prior to trial that there was
no deficiency on the basis of
the grounds set forth in
the deficiency notice is
irrelevant. See Hannan v.
Commissioner, 52 T.C. 787
(1969). The definition of a
"deficiency" co.cained in
section 6211(a) does not require
a different conclusion. As we

-14=-

see it, this definition simply
outlines the method by which
the notices of deficiency
should be constructed and do
not affect the jurisdiction

of this Court. To conclude
otherwise would make it
mandatory for the Court to go
behind the deficiency notice
where the petitioner raises the
question of whether respondent
utilized their tax return in
constructing the notice. Such
a procedure would fly in the
fact of the long-established
principle this Court will
ordinarily not look behind a
deficiency notice. Riland v.
Commissioner, 79 T.C. 185, 201
(1982); Greenberg's Express,
Inc. v. Commissioner, 62 T.C.
324, 327 (1974). Clearly, no
constitutional considerations are
involved herein which might
justify an exception to this
general rule. Riland v.
Commissioner, supra; Greenberg's
Express, Inc. v. Commissioner,
Supra at 328. Moreover, we

note that, even in situations
where the courts have gone behind
a deficiency notice, they

have not ruled that such notice
was null and void, which would
be the result herein if we
accepted Petitioner's conten-
tions. See Greenberg's Express,
Inc. v. Commissioner, supra at
328. But cf. Llorente v.
Commissioner, 649 F.2d 152, 155,

-15-

n. 4, 157 (2a Cir. 1981),
modifying 74 T.C. 260 (1980).
Emphasis added.)

* * *

As the Tax Court stated in Scar, supra,

it will not look behind a deficiency notice.
Here, Appellee is requesting that the court
do just that by stating that the Commissioner
of Internal Revenue intended the PFNs to be
merely advisory. Thus, if the intent in
issuing the notices as a notice of deficiency
rather than the substantive impact of such
notices is the standard, then the Tax Court
is therefore required to look behind the
notices to determine the intent. This
examination, rather than analyzing the four
corners of the notices, is contrary to the
existing law as postulated to date by the Tax
Court.

Respondent issued the "post-filing"™

notification letters on November 2, 1984, a

-16-

date subsequent to the time Appellant's i983
tax returns were required to have been filed.
(26 U.S.C. Sections 6072 and 6081.) It is
therefore clear that Appellee's Internal
Revenue Service had, by such notices,
determined that additional tax was due and
owing from the Appellant based upon his 1983
investment with Liberty Financial. A simple
numerical calculation is all that remains to
be done to determine the amount of the
additional tax for each taxpayer.

That the Appellee's Internal Revenue
Service had, at the time of mailing said
notices, determined tax deficiencies is
further evidenced by the fact that the
Internal Revenue Service has withheld a 1984
tax refund of one of the taxpayer-
Petitioner. The Service made the
determination that said refund was being

withheld solely based on the prior issuance

-17-

of the post-filing notification letter dated
November 2, 1984, relative to the Liberty
Financial deduction. The notice of
withholding of refund, dated August 8, 1985
is Exhibit A to Renewal of Petitioner's
Motion for Reconsideration of Findings of
Facts or Opinion.
THE IRS LETTERS, DATED NOVEMBER 2, 1984, ARE
"POST-FILING" RATHER THAN "PRE-FILING"
NOTIFICATION LETTERS

The Tax Court's Opinion in this case,
dated June 17, 1985, contains a very glaring
error. It repeatedly refers to the November
2, 1984 letters to Appellant as "pre-filing"
notification letters; in fact, such letters
are "“post-filing" notification letters. The
distinction is dramatic inasmuch as the
deduction, relative to Appellant's 1983
investment with Liberty Financial, had
already been claimed on his tax returns when

said notices were mailed. The latest

-18-

possible valid extension of time to file the

1983 Form 1040 would have expired on October

4
15, 1985. (26 U.S.C. Sections 6072 and
6081). The notification letters were based

on actual deductions claimed and not the
potentiality or probability that such
deductions would be claimed on returns to be
filed for the taxable year at _ issue.
Consequently, the amounts of the deductions
were certain, and the amounts additional tax
due pursuant to a disallowance of said
deductions are easy to calculate.
IRS REVENUE PROCEDURE 83-78, 1i9 . &
(MODIFIED BY REV. PROC. 84-84, 1984-2 C.
782)

Revenue Procedure, 83-78, 1983-2 C.B.
595, sets forth the procedure by which the
Internal Revenue Service may issue pre and
post-filing notification letters.

Furthermore, Revenue Procedure 84-84, 1984-2

C.B. 782, at Section 1.01 describes:

-19-

- . » the Abusive Tax
Shelter Detection Program
implemented by the
Internal Revenue Service
at Internal Revenue
Service Centers. Under
this program the Service
will detect and identify
those returns that
Claimed benefits from
abusive tax shelter
promotions before
processing and before -
refunds are paid (front-
end identification), will
reduce refunds of
investors when
appropriate, and will
offset deficiencies
assessed under the
provisions of section
6212(b) (3) of the
Internal Revenue Code
against scheduled refunds
resulting from tentative
carryback adjustments
under section 6411(b).
Returns subject to review
under this program
include those in which
pre-filing notification
letters have been

issued to the investors
and returns that are
selected based upon
certain criteria with
emphasis on identifying
particularly abusive tax
shelter promotions. For

-20-

purposes of this revenue
procedure, an income tax
return showing a refund
due is considered a claim
for refund.

* * *

Counsel for Appellee explains the
background and reason for Revenue Procedure
83-78, supra (modified by Rev. Proc. 84-84,
supra) as follows:

* * *

Subsequently, the
Service issued Revenue
Procedure 83-78, in which
it outlined three steps
that it would be taking
with regard to abuse of
tax shelters, namely, the
assertion of monetary
penalties under section
6700, injunction
procedures under section
7408, and the issuance of
prefiling notification
letters to investors in
shelters which the
Service had determined
were abusive. (Emphasis
supplied.)

* * *

(R.T., page 3, lines 14-24.)

-2 l-

Government counsel proceeded to state
that the notification letters are merely
"advisory" inasmuch as it only alerts the
taxpayer that the Service will audit his
returns based upon his deduction with respect
to the "abusive shelter." Counsel
articulates three situations which she
perceives as consequences of a judicial
determination that the notification letters
constitute notices of deficiency. ze 6is
noteworthy that not one of the initial
alternative consequences contemplated by the
Internal Revenue Service, even « cer further
examination of the taxpayer's return,

results in ultimately allowing the

-22-
deduction.1

The three coametieasianin are discussed
below.

First, it is argued that the Internal
Revenue Service will assume the burden of
proof in Tax Court if other issues are
subsequently raised upon further scrutiny of

the return. This is correct. However, it is

not unfair to have the Government assume the

1 However, the Court should compare
Government Counsel's additional, and
apparently inconsistent remarks, as follows
(R.T., page 24, lines 1-6):

MS. WHATLEY:
Your Honor, it is quite

possible that upon
examining the returns in
question, the Service
could conclude that it
was a no change
situation. It is quite

possible that, upon an
examination, the Service
could determine that
there are other items on
the return that would
entitle the taxpayer to a
refund.

ieee

=290

burden of proof if, as between the taxpayer
and the Internal Revenue Service, the latter
implemented a procedure which allowed
taxpayer an opportunity for judicial review
of the Government's action, and the
Government during that judicial proceeding
added new issues. The Tax Court's Rules of
Practice and Procedure, Rule 142(a) provides

for this situation as follows:

* * *

(a) General: The
burden of proof shall be
upon the petitioner,
except as otherwise
provided by statute or
determined by the Court;
and except that, in
respect of any new
matter, increases in
deficiency, and
affirmative defenses,
pleaded in their answer,
it shall be upon the
respondent. As to
affirmative defenses, see
Rule 39.

* * *

i

-24-

Sécond, Government Counsel argues that
if the Court determines the notification
letters to be notices of deficiency, then
others who received such notices without
petitioning the Tax Court will be subjected
to collection actions. This is not correct.
The Internal Revenue Service can issue
additional notices of deficiency, which are
not duplicative, for a particular tax year up
to the time the statute of limitations

expires for that year. (26 U.S.C. Sections

REE I me

-25-

6501 and 6212(c) (1). 2 Cf. Barth Foundation

47 B.Ce 1008, 1012-13 (1981). In the
circumstance at bar, the 1983 income tax year
statute of limitations for assessment would,
for individuals, not expire at the earliest
until April 15, 1987 (26 U.S.C. Sections
6072(a), 6501 (a) and (b) (1) and for
corporations not until March 15, 1987 (26
U.S.C. Sections 6072(b), 6501(a) and (b) (1).
Third, a determination that notices of

deficiency were in facts issued does not

2 Note Section 6212(c)(1) prohibits
additional notices of deficiency for a given
income tax year, if a notice has been sent
and the taxpayer files a timely petition in
the Tax Court. The PFN creates a "catch 22"
situation if the IRS succeeds in its
position. Under the IRS approach a PFN is
not a notice of deficiency, but it is IRS
will attempt collection as to taxpayers who
did not timely petition the Tax Court. The
IRS, apparently, is not considering the more
fair procedure of issuing a timely
traditional notice of deficiency prior to the
expiration of the statute of limitations for
assessment.

-26-
conflict with the holding in Estate of
Adamczyk, T. C. Memo 1981-259, 41 T.C.M. 1596
(1981). The letters herein are not akin to
"30 day letters," which Appellant agrees do
not constitute notices of deficiency. There
is a significant due process distinction
between the so called "30 day letters' and
the PFN herein. The reason the PFN is
different from a "30 day letter" is that a
"30 day letters" gives a taxpayer an
opportunity administratively to protest the
IRS adjustments, after having proceeded
trrough a revenue agent's examination,
presenting evidence and argument as to items
scrutinized by the revenue agent during the
examination. Further, the "30 day letter" is
a product of the net proposed adjustment
after the give and take of a revenue agent
examination of the mertis. By way of

contrast, the PFN is a gross determination,

-27<
without the taxpayer first having an
opportunity to present evidence to the IRS at
the individual level. Instead, the PFN, as
in fact utilized by the IRS herein, has
determined on its cwn that the particular tax
benefit is disallowed. Thereafter, the
determination made is used as a basis, ina
substantive manner, to impose penalties or
withhold refunds, without first permitting
the taxpayer administrative or judicial
review. This procedure smacks of
unfairness, as it is simply without due
process, repugnant to the guarantees provided
by 26 U.S.C. Section 6213(a), which states

inter alia:

* * *

- »« Except as otherwise
provided in section 6851
or section 6861 no
assessment of a
deficiency in respect of
any tax imposed by
subtitle A, or B, chapter
41, 42, 43, 44, or 45 and

-28-

no levy or proceeding in
court for its collection
shall be made, begun, or
prosecuted until such
notice has been mailed
to the taxpayers, not
until the expiration of
such 90-day or 150 day
period, as the case may
be, nor, if a petition
has been filed with the
Tax Court, until the
decision of the Tax Court
has become final.
Notwithstanding the
provisions of section
7421(a), the making of
such assessment or the
beginning of such
proceeding or levy during
the time such prohibition
is in force may be
enjoined by a proceeding
in the proper court.

* * *
It is noteworthy at least one refund has been
withheld pursuant to the PFN without the
taxpayer first having an opportunity to be

heard, solely on the basis that a PFN had

—

-29°-

been issued. 3 The conduct of the Internal
Revenue Service in issuing the PFNs at bar
demonstrates clearly that the notices are
utilized by the Service, unlike the
classi¢al, i.e., "90 day letters," to deprive
taxpayer of concurrent administrative review
as well as the actual taking of property, to
wit: refusal to pay refunds based solely on
the issuance of PFNs. It is submitted that
this IRS course of conduct is unfair and
denies taxpayer due process of the law.

The Internal Revenue Service by the
procedures, articulated in Rev. Proc. 83-78,
supra, and Rev. Proc. 84-84, supra, is

attempting to vitiate Appellant's legal and

3 The essence of this action clearly
demonstrates that the PFN is in fact being
used in a substantive manner as a "notice of
deficiency," outside the established
statutory procedure of 26 U.S.C. Section 6212
and 6213, enacted by Congress to protect
taxpayer rights.

-30-

administrative rights, without affording due
process to permit judicial review of its
action by the Tax Court. The essence of the
Government's position is that for judicial
review purposes the PFNs are not notices of
deficiency or "tickets of admission" to the
Tax Court, but for collection of the
additional revenue it alone believes due, the
IRS considers PFNs as "notices of
deficiency."

APPELLEE IS ARGUING FORM vs. SUBSTANCE WITH

RESPECT TO WHETHER THE NOTIFICATION LETTERS
CONSTITUTE NOTICES OF DEFICIENCY

The Supreme Court has, in many cases,
utilized the "form vs. substance" doctrine in
determining whether a particular situation or
transaction is proper and valid under the tax

laws. Gregory v. Helvering, 293 U.S. 465

(1935); Commissioner of Internal Revenue v.

Court Holding Company, 324 U.S. 331 (1945);

United States v. Cumberland Public Service

-3l-

Company, 338 U.S. 451 (1950). Basically,
this doctrine looks behind the form of the
transaction to determine whether its actual
substance, and not the apparent form, is in
accordance with the tax laws. By analogy,
this doctrine can be applied to the situation
at bar. The "form" of the PFN letters is not
the form that a notice of deficiency usually
takes, but the substantive impact is the
same. Counsel for the Internal Revenue
Service argues (R.T., pages 4-5) that said
notification does not contain the requisite
elements to be "notice of deficiency."
However, the notification letters set forth
the following:

1. Taxpayer,

2. Year; and

: Adjustment.

All that remains is a simple mathematical

calculation to determine the dollar amount of

-32-
the deficiency. The notification letters
clearly states, inter alia:

We plan to review your
return to determine
whether you claimed such
deductions and/or
credits. If you did so,
we will examine your
return and reduce the
portion of any refund due
to you which is
attributable to the tax
shelter promotion.
(Emphasis supplied.)

In substance, the notices which contains
the above statement, effectively disallows
Appellant's deduction relative to the Liberty
Financial investment. The amounts can be
clearly determined upon a brief analysis of
the individuals' tax return, who have
received the PFN, after such PFN letters are
not in the classical form a notice of
deficiency traditionally takes, st, in
Substance, does qualify as a notice of

deficiency, since it contains the judicially

recognized elements necessary for such a

-33-
notice of deficiency as contemplated by 26

U.S.C. Sections 6212 and 6213:

Neither section
6212(a), which authorizes
the sending of the notice
of deficiency, nor any
other section of the
Internal Revenue Code
prescribes the form of a
notice of specifies the
contents or information
required to be included
therein. Jarvis v.
Commissioner, 78 T.C.
646, 655-656 (1982). The
Treasury regulations are
also silent. See, e.g.,
Sec. 301.6212-1, Proced.
& Admin. Regs. All that
we have required is that
the notice fulfill its
purpose of providing
formal notification that
a deficiency in tax has
been determined. Pietz
v. Commissioner, 59 T.C.
207, 213-214 (1972);
Mayerson v. Commissioner,
47 T.C. 340, 349 (1966);
Standard Oil Co. v.
Commissioner, 43 B.T.A.
973, 998 (1941), affd.
129 F.2d 363 (7th Cir.
1941). Accord Olsen v.
Helvering, 88 F.2d 650,
651, (26: Cir. .1937).

-34-

In Jarvis v. Commissioner, 78 T.C. 646,

655-656 (1982) which is cited in the
Government's Motion to Dismiss, the Tax Court
was called upon to determine the sufficiency
of the "notices of deficiency." The Court
analyzed the facts and articulated its

position as follows:

* * *

The principal
contention raised in the
petition is that the
notice of deficiency is
"defective and
unenforceable cause the
Respondent does not cite
which statutory law the
Petitioner violated."

The Internal Revenue Code
of 1954 in neither
section 6212(a) nor
elsewhere prescribes the
form of a notice or the
specifics to be contained
therein. Mayerson v.
Commissioner, 47 T.C.
340, 348 (1966); Estate
of Eversole v.
Commissioner, 39 T.C.

1113, 1119-1120 (1963) ;
Barnes v. Commissioner,

-35-

408 F.2d 65, 68 (7th Cir.
1969), affg. Barnes
Theatre Ticket Service,
Inc. v. Commissioner, a
Memorandum Opinion of
this Court. The notice
of deficiency herein
involved was sufficient
to fairly advise
petitioner that
deficiencies in income
taxes and additions to
the tax had been
determined and the years
and amounts thereof. See
Olsen v. Helvering, 88
¥.20. 660, 651 (2¢d Cir.
1937), where the court
cogently stated, "the
notice is only to advise
the person who is to pay
the deficiency that the
Commissioner means to
assess him; anything that
does this unequivocally
is good enough." Thus,
the Commissioner was not
required to cite the
statutory law which
petitioner had violated.
The notice is not invalid
and does not deprive
petitioner of due process
of law and equal
protection of the law 16
or violate the Fifth
Amendment.17 (Footnotes
omitted) (Emphasis
supplied)

-36-

Here the notification letter did in fact
advise the taxpayer that the Internal Revenue
Service means to assess a tax, inasmuch as it
states that any refund due pursuant to a
deduction claimed with respect to the Liberty
Financial investment will be reduced by such
amount. The Internal Revenue Service has
also unequivocally demonstrated its actual
position, and true intent, by withholding the
1984 refund of one of the taxpayer-co-
Petitioner, based solely on receipt of the
PFN letter, without first granting such
taxpayer the opportunity to have the IRS
assertion administratively or judicially
reviewed. Thus, the Government's position at
bar contemplates no administrative or
judicial review, but is summary unilateral

action. This new procedure denies due

process.

-37-

Similarly, in Foster v. Commissioner,
supra at 229-230, the Petitioner argued that
the notice of deficiency was invalid because
it failed to specify the corporate and
partnership expenses which were being
disallowed. The Tax Court stated that all
the notices is required to do is: ag ©
fairly advise the taxpayer that the
Commissioner has, in fact, determined a
deficiency and (2) specify the year and
amount."' Taxpayer further submits that the
notification herein meet these requirements,
for all that remains to determine the precise
dollar amount of the deficiency is a simple
mathematical calculation.

In addition, taxpayer submits that in
"substance," the notification letters contain
the same required information and has the
same effect as "traditional" notices of

deficiency, for pK 2 is clear that no

-38-

particular form is required for a notice of
deficiency. Consequently, as a matter of
substance in the context of protecting
taxpayer's due process rights as provided by
26 U.S.C. Section 6213(a), the "post-filing
notification" letters at bar contain all the
necessary elements ef notices of deficiency
granting taxpayer the right to have the IRS
assertions presently judicially reviewed.
Further indication that such notices are
equivalent to notices of deficiency is the
Commissioner's act of withholding taxpayer's
subsequent year's tax refund based solely on
such notices. Consequently, the doctrine of
substance versus form, when applied in the
due process context, dictates that this Court
determine that notwithstanding the new forn,
the notification letter at bar is in

substance notices of deficiency as

contemplated by 26 U.S.C. Sections 6212 and

=-39-

6213. Given this view, taxpayer would he
assured of his due process rights, since the
Tax Court would have jurisdiction of his 1983
income tax deficiency case. (26 U.S.C.
Section 6213(a).)

NEW PENALTY PROVISIONS ASSERTED IN NOTICES
OF DEFICIENCY DO NOT ASSERT EXACT AMOUNTS

The Internal Revenue Service would like
to have it both ways. On the one hand, the
Service contends that the notification
letters do not qualify as notices of
deficiency as they do not assert a deficiency
or specify the amount of tax due. On the
other hand, the IRS is also. presently
asserting penalties, for example, in
deficiency notices pursuant to Sections
6621(d) and 6653(a)(2) (26 U.S.C.) without
specifying the amount(s) of the penalties and
simply stating that the penalties asserted
are in “amounts to be determined." As to

these notices, the IRS has not been

=46-
contending any legal infirmity as a notice of
deficiency for taxpayer-appellant based on
the disallowance of his 1983 deduction
relative to his Liberty Financial investment
as it is for the IRS to calculate the amounts
of the penalties, such as the one determined
in Sections 6621(d) and 6653(a) (2), by way of
example.

Obviously, such amounts cannot be
calculated until it is determined (1) that
such penalties are applicable, (2) the amount
of each adjustment, and (3) the total amount
of tax due. These simple mathematical
calculations are made either when the case is
settled with the Appeals Office of Appellees'
Internal Revenue Service or by judicial
decision. Thus, if the Government's theory
as to why the PFN at bar are not notices of
deficiency are applied to notices of

deficiency actually being issued in the

agi
classical form with such penalties being part
of the notices, those notices would also not
be notices of deficiency as contemplated by
26 U.S.C. Sections 6212 and 6213. The
Government is making no such argument in the
non PFN notice situations.

APPELLANT IS ENTITLED TO DUE PROCESS OF THE
LAWS AND JUDICIAL DETERMINATION OF THE

NOTIF.CATIONS RECEIVED WITH RESPECT TO THEIR
1983 TAXABLE YEARS

By issuing the post-filing notification
letters, but denying that such notices
constitute notices of deficiency within the
contemplation of Section 6213(a), from which
a taxpayer may seek immediate judicial review
in the Tax Court, such procedure denies
taxpayer due process. This procedure, if
allowed to stand, is therefore violative of
the guarantees provided by the United States
Constitution in Amendments 5 and 14.

Appellee in essence argues that the

notification letters were intended as other

-42<

than notices of deficiency. This is contrary
to the evidence. One of the taxpayer-
Petitioner received a notice from the IRS
advising him that his 1984 refund was being
withheld because he "should have received a
pre-filing notification letter regarding the
Liberty Financial Services." His refund is
not being frozen or placed in suspense, it
actually has been taken (denied) pursuant to
Rev. Proc. 84-84, supra, solely on the basis
of issuance of a PFN.

The Government is attempting to create a
no-win situation for taxpayer. If the letter
is a "pre-filing" notification, taxpayer
would more than likely be chilled from
claiming the subject deduction. in fact,
counsel for the Internal Revenue Service
indicated at the oral hearing that the
Internal Revenue manual states that one of

the purposes of the letter is to "encourage

-43-

investors to file a correct return" (R.T.,
page 3, lines 21-24). 4 The consequence is
that if no deduction is claimed, then no
administrative or judicial redress is
afforded the taxpayer, since the IRS will
deem such a return is correct and no
examination is necessary. Consequently, the
IRS has achieved by this procedure what it
could not otherwise achieve if it had used
traditional procedures, as contemplated by 26
U.S.C. Section 6213(a). In the traditional
situation, the IRS would have first examined
the return, permitting the taxpayer
administrative review and then issued a
classical form notice of deficiency
permitting the taxpayer to petition the Tax

Court. The Government argues that "post-

4 Apparently, a “correct return" as
determined by the Internal Revenue Service is
one where no deduction for the Liberty
Financial Investment is claimed.

-44=-

filing notification" does not permit taxpayer
immediate right of judicial review. Rather,
in the Internal Revenue Service's version of
due process, taxpayer can challenge its
actions sometime in the future, when it
resumes adhering to the usual procedures. In
the meantime, under the new procedures
provided by Rev. Proc. 83-78, supra, and Rev.
Proc. 84-84, supra, taxpayer's due process is
suspended and not operative since the PFN is
not considered as a notice of deficiency
because the IRS did not intend that result.
The actual net result, however, is a
subjugation of taxpayer's rights and a
disregard of fair play and due process.

THE GOVERNMENT MAY BE SUBJECT TO DAMAGES AS

IN THE CASE OF MID-SOUTH MUSIC CORPORATION V.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

This case is particularly important in

light of the case of Mid-South Music

Corporation v. United States of America,

-45-
F. Supp. , 56 AFTR 2a 85-6250 (USDC,
M.D. Tenn. 1985) on remand from C.A. 6, 756

F.2d 23 (1984). In said case, Mid-South was

awarded general damages of $174,000.00 and
punitive damages of $1,000.00 from the United

States of America. In Mid-South, as in the

case at bar, the Government issued pre-filing
notification letters prior to a
determination, as a matter of law, that Mid-
South was an abusive shelter.

The District Court, upon remand from the
Sixth Cizcuit, awarded the plaintiff
compensatory damages in the amount of
$174,000.00 and punitive damages in the
amount of $1,000.00 for disclosure of
plaintiff's tax return information in pre-
filing notification letters (PFNS) issued to
customers of the plaintiff-taxpayer, pursuant
to the authority of 26 U.S.C. Section 7431.

The history of the case is as follows.

-46-

Initially, Mid-South brought suit in
District Court against the United States and
various officials of the Internal Revenue
Service, claiming (1) deprivation of due
process of law pursuant to the Fifth
Amendment of the Constitution, and (2) that
the IRS violated the non-disclosure
provisions of Internal Revenue Code Section
6103(a). As in the case at bar, the IRS had
issued PFN's to Mid-South's clients prior to:
(1) determining that Mid-South was an
"abusive" tax shelter, (2) determining
promoter penalties pursuant to Section 6700,
or (3) initiating injunction proceedings

against Mid-South pursuant to Section 7408.

In its initial opinion, found at 579 F.
Supp. 481 (1983), the District Court held

that Mid-South had no valid constitutional

claim against the IRS agents for his failure

to follow mandatory procedures as set forth

7

in the Internal Revenue Code. 5 The Court
was of the view that nothing precluded the
Service from issuing the PFNs rather than
utilizing the injunction procedure. The
Court further held that plaintiff was
foreclosed from suing the individual agents
of the United States' Internal Revenue
Service, as the only proper entity to sue was
the United States. Finally, the Court held,
as a matter of law, that the PFNs did not
disclose return information of the plaintiff,
or otherwise indicate whether plaintiff's

return was the subject of examination or

> However, footnote 4 of its opinion
states:

"The Court expresses no opinion as
to whether any failure of the IRS
to have followed any prescribed
statutory procedures would have
amounted to a deprivation of the of
the plaintiff's right to due
process of law under the Fifth
Amendment of the Constitution."

~48<
investigation.

Taxpayer appealed this decision to the
Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. See
Mid-South Music Corporation v. Kolak, et al.,
756 F.2d 23 (6th Cir., 1984). That Appellate
Court upheld the District Court decision
insofar as it held that Mid-South had no
Fifth Amendment Property interest and that
the United States was the proper party-
defendant. However, it remanded to the
District Court the issue of whether issuance
of the PFNs violated the non-disclosure
Provisions of Internal Revenue Code Section
6103(a). The Appellate Court held that Mid-
South's allegations that the PFNs revealed
its identity as a taxpayer and that it was
under IRS investigation, stated a colorable

Claim.

Thereafter, the Government, initiated an

-49-
and its president, pursuant to Section 7408
and sought promoter penalties pursuant to

Section 6700. See United States v. Mid-South

Music Corporation, et a r.
Supp. , 56 AFTR 2d 85-6002 (USDC M.D.
Tenn. 1985) The District Court determined

that Mid-South and its president had made
gross valuation overstatements of its master
sound recordings and enjoined Mid-South and
its president from further engaging in
conduct subject to penalties pursuant to
Sections 6700 and 7408. The impact of this
determination is that it was not until 1985,
some two years after the PFNS had been
issued, not it was determined as a matter of

law that Mid-South Music Corporation promoted

an “abusive tax shelter," as contemplated by
26 U.S.C. Sections 6700 and 7408.
In the fourth proceeding of the case

concerning Mid-South, found at F.

(ee

-50-

Supp. , 56 AFTR 2d 85-6250 (USDC, M.D.
Tenn., 1985), upon remand from the Sixth
Circuit, the District Court held that the
Government had in fact violated the non-
disclosure provisions of Section 6103(a) vis
a vis issuance of the PFNs prior to a
judicial determination that Mid-South was a
so-called "abusive tax shelter." The
District Court stated in its Findings of
Fact, paragraph 13, inter alia:

",..personnel of the Internal

Revenue Service acted in bad

faith in sending such letter for

the intended purpose of

destroying the tax shelter

promotion of Mid-South before its

abusiveness was established as a
matter of law."

The language and effect of the PFNs
issued to the clients of Mid-South and those
issued to Appellant herein are nearly
identical. Further, the PFNs here were

issued in the same manner, i.e., before a

-5l=-

determination had been made as a matter of
law as to whether Liberty Financial violated
Section 6700, or any other provision of the
Internal Revenue Laws, in any manner.

Indeed, the harshness or the
Government's course of conduct against the
Appellant-Taxpayer is revealed by the fact
that to date there has been no formal
determination as a matter of law that Liberty
Financial is an “abusive tax shelter" within
the contemplation of 26 U.S.C. Sections 6700
and 7408. Notwithstanding this lack of
determination, as a matter of law, that
Liberty Financial is an "abusive tax
shelter," the IRS unilaterally initiated the
issuance of the PFNs at bar purporting to
disallow deductions, tax refunds and other
benefits, without the benefit of judicial

review.

-52-

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this petition

should be granted and a writ of certiorari
should be issued to review the decisions
below.

Respectfully Submitted,

MARTIN A. SCHAINBAUM
A Professional Law Corporation

Martin A. Schainbaum
Kathleen A. Miller

One Market Plaza

Steuart Streat Tower, Suite 2310
San Francisco, Ca 94105

(415) 777-1040

JAMES E. RITCHIE

One Market Plaza

Steuart Street Tower, Suite 2310
San Francisco, CA 94105

(415) 777-1040

Attorneys for Petitioner

-53-

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

This is to certify that three (3) copies
of: PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEAL FOR THE FIFTH
CIRCUIT were served by mail, on the 22nd day
of August, 1986, in an envelope with postage
prepaid, to Counsel for Respondent-Appellee,
as follows:

Michael L. Paup, Esq.
Richard Farber, Esq.
Gary D. Gray, Esq.
Tax Division
U. S. Dept. of Justice
Washington, D.C. 20530
and
Solicitor General

U. S. Department of Justice
Washington, D.C. 0

\

CATHEY E. TAYLOR §#£#$'|!

APPENDIX

-la-

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

STEVEN E. DONLEY,

Petitioner-Appellant,

Vv. No. 85-4663

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL
REVENUE,

OPINION

Respondent-Appellee.

me ee ee ee ee ee ee ee”

Filed June 11, 986
Before: John R. Brown, Thomas M. Reavley and
Edith H. Jones, Circuit Judges.
Per Curiam
Appeal from the Decision of the United States

Tax Court

SUMMARY

-2a-

Taxation

Appeal from a Tax Court decision.
Affirmed.

The appeal arises from a letter sent to
appellant Donley by the Internal Revenue
Service (IRS) notifying him that it believed
certain tax deductions, which it did not
specify, were not allowable. The letter gave
him opportunity to adjust his return before
the review so as to avoid any penalties. The
Tax Court dismissed his suit for lack of
jurisdiction.

(1] Before a taxpayer can invoke the
jurisdiction of the Tax Court he must have
been notified by the IRS that his return is
deficient. Notice must at a minimum (1)
advise the taxpayer that the IRS has
determined that a deficiency exists for a

particular year, and (2) specify the amount

-3a-
of the deficiency or provide the information
necessary to compute the deficiency.
OPINION
PER CURIAM:
The Internal Revenue Service (IRS) sent
petitioner Steven E. Donley a letter

notifying him that it believed certain tax

-4a-

deductions were not allowable.! The letter

1 The letter, also sent to a number of
other taxpayers, read as follows:

Re: Liberty Financial 1983 Government
Securities Trading Strategy.

Dear Taxpayer:

Our information indicates that you
invested in the above tax shelter during the
above tax year. Based upon our review of
that promotion, we believe that the purported
tax deductions and/or credits are not
allowable.

We plan to review your return to
determine whether you claimed such deductions
and/or credits. If you did so, we will
examine your return and reduce the portion of
any refund due to you which is attributable
to the above tax shelter promotion. If an
examination results in adjustment to your
return, you will be afforded the opportunity
to exercise your appeal rights. The Internal
Revenue Code provides, in appropriate cases,
for the application of the negligence penalty
under section 6653(a), the overvaluation
penalty under section 6659 and/or the
substantial understatement of income tax
penalty under section 6661 of the Internal
Code and other appropriate penalties. our
examination will determine whether these
penalties are appropriate. See the back of
this letter for an explanation of these
penalties.

If you claimed deductions and/or credits
on a return already filed, you may wish to
file an amended tax return.

-5a-

stated that the IRS was planning on reviewing

his tax return in the future to determine if
he claimed such deductions, and it gave him

the opportunity to adjust his return before

the review so as to avoid any penalties. The

letter did not refer to any specific
deficiency in Donley's tax return or suggest
in any way the IRS had already determined
that Donley had miscalculated the tax due.
Donley, along with other taxpayers,
challenged the letter by filing suit in the
Tax Court of the United States, which
dismissed the suit for lack of jurisdiction.

Abrams v. Commissioner 84 T.C. 1308 (1985).

Donley now appeals that dismissal.2 We

affirn.

2 Other taxpayers filed appeals in the
Second, Fourth, Sixth, Seventh, Eighth,
Ninth, Tenth and Eleventh Circuits.

-6a-

[1] The United States Tax Court is a
court of limited jurisdiction. 26 U.S.c. /§
7442 (1982). Before a taxpayer can invoke
the jurisdiction of the Tax Court he must
have been notified by the IRS that his tax
return is deficient. DaBoul v. Commissioner,
429 F.2d 38 (9th Cir. 1970). Although there
is no prescribed form for a deficiency
notice, the notice must at a minimum (1)
advise the taxpayer that the IRS has
determined that a deficiency exists for a
particular year, and (2) specify the amount
of the deficiency or provide the information
necessary to compute the deficiency. Cf.
Commissioner v. Stewart, 186 F.2d 239, 242
(6th Cir. 1951). The Second, Fourth, Eighth |
and Eleventh Circuits have determined that
letters identical to the one received by
Donley meet none of these requirements. See

Spector v. Commissioner, No. 85-2133 (8th

-J7a=-

Cir. May 7, 1986); Benzvi v. Commissioner,
787 F.2d 1541 (llth Cir. 1986); Eggleston v.
Commissioner, 787 F.2d 939 (4th Cir. 1986);
Neal v. Commissioner, No. 85-4147 (2nd Cir.
March 17, 1985) (unpublished order). We
agree. The Tax Court properly dismissed
Donley's suit for lack of jurisdiction.

AFFIRMED.

-8a-

84 T. C. No. 71

UNITED STATES TAX COURT
RICHARD L. ABRAMS, ET AL.,1 Petitioners v.

COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE, Respondent

Docket No. 2645-85 Filed June 17, 1985.

A pre-filing notification letter was
sent by a district director for respondent to
each taxpayer who had invested in a certain
tax shelter. The letter stated that the
taxpayer's return would be reviewed and any
deductions taken in regard to the shelter

would be disallowed, with consideration given

1 There are 110 additional petitioners
listed in the caption of the consolidated
petition filed in this case.

-9a-

to the determination of appropriate
"penalties". The taxpayers filed a
consolidated petition with this Court on the
ground that the pre-filing notification
letter constitutes a notice of deficiency.
Respondent filed a motion to dismiss for lack
of jurisdiction. Held, the pre-filing
notification letter is not a notice of
deficiency within the meaning of secs.

6212 (a) and 6213(a), I.R.C. 1954. Therefore,
this Court lacks jurisdiction. Respondent's
motion will be granted.

Martin A. Schainbaum and Kathleen A.

Miller, for the petitioners.

Kathleen E. Whatley and Elizabeth I.

Abreu, for the respondent.
OPINION
DAWSON, Judge: This case is before the
Court on respondent's Motion to Dismiss for

Lack of Jurisdiction filed on April 4, 1985.

-l0a-

Without a hearing an order was entered on
April 12, 1985, granting respondent's motion.
This order was vacated and set aside on April
16, 1985, and a hearing on the motion was
held on May 22, 1985, at the Motions Session
in Washington, D.C. The parties filed
memoranda of points and authorities. After
considering the memoranda and the arguments
made by the parties at the hearing, the Court
took respondent's motion under advisement.

On November 2, 1984, the District
Director of the Laguna Niguel District sent a
letter to each of the petitioners herein
which provided, in pertinent parts, as
follows:

Re: Liberty Financial 1983 Government

Securities Trading Strategy
Dear Taxpayer:

Our information indicates that you

invested in the above tax shelter during the

ee ee ee ee ee ee

-lla-

above tax year. Based upon cur review of
that promotion, we believe that the purported
tax deductions and/or credits are not
allowable.

We plan to review your return to
determine whether you claimed such deductions
and/or credits. If you did so, we will
examine your return and reduce the portion of
any refund due to you which is attributable
to the above tax shelter promotion. If an
examination results in adjustments to your
return, you will be afforded the opportunity
to exercise your appeal rights. The Internal
Revenue Code provides, in appropriate cases,
for the application of the negligence penalty
under section 6653(a), the overvaluation
penalty under section 6659 and/or the
substantial understatement of income tax
penalty under section 6661 of the Internal

Revenue Code and other appropriate penalties.

-l2a-

Our examination will determine whether these
penalties are appropriate. See the back of
this letter for an explanation of these
penalties.

If you claimed deductions and/or credits
on a return already filed, you may wish to

file an amended tax return.

The—letter was signed by the District
Director. |

In response to such letters, petitioners
on January 28, 1985, filed a consolidated
petition in this Court. They contend that
the letters are notices of deficiencies
because the language indicates that any
deductions taken with respect to Liberty
Financial Government Securities Trading
Strategy would be disallowed. As support for
their contention, petitioners argue that ail

respondent needs to do is make a mathematical

sal aia ae

-l3a-
computation. Hence, they assert that the
prerequisites for invoking the jurisdiction
of this Court were satisfied when they filed
a timely petition in this case?

Respondent explains that the
issuance of pre-filing notification
(PFN) letters is a practice begun by the
Internal Revenue Service to combat the
increasing number of abusive tax
shelters. See Rev. Proc. 83-78, sec.
6.02 1983-2 C.B. 595, 597; and Rev.
Proc. 84-84, sec. 3.01 I.R.B. 1984-52,
77, 78. He contends that the PFN letter
sent to each of the petitioners is not a
notice of deficiency because the letter

does not set forth an amount of tax due

2 Petitioners have presented other
arguments that we have not addressed because
we view them as tangential to the crucial
issue of whether the letters they received
are notices of deficiencies.

-l4a-

or make a final determination, citing

Foster v. Commissioner, 80 T.C. 34, 229-

230 (1983), affd. on this issue 756 F.2d

1430 (9th Cir. 1985), and Scar v.

Commissioner, 81 T.C. 855, 860-861
(1983). He argues that the letter does
not purport, nor was it intended, to be
a notice of deficiency.

Section 6212(a)3 authorizes the
issuance of a notice of deficiency. No

particular form is required. Scar v.

Commissioner, supra at 860; Jarvis v.

3 Section 6212(a) provides as follows:

(a) IN GENERAL.--If the Secretary
determines that there is a deficiency in
respect of any tax imposed by subtitle A or B
or chapter 41, 42, 43, 44, or 45, he is
authorized to send notice of such deficiency
to the taxpayer by certified mail or
registered mail.

All section references are to the
Internal Revenue Code of 1954, as amended,
unless otherwise indicated.

-15a-
Commissioner, 78 T.C. 646, 655-656
(1982). However, the notice must
fulfill the purpose of providing formal
notification that a deficiency in tax
has been determined. Foster v,
Commissioner, supra at 229. The notice
is “only to advise the person who is to
pay the deficiency that the Commissioner
means to assess him; anything that does
this unequivocally is good enough."
Olsen v. Helvering, 88 F.2d 650, 651 (2d
Cir. 1937) (emphasis added). The notice
must (1) advise the taxpayer that the
Commissioner has, in fact, determined a
deficiency and (2) specify the year and

the amount of the deficiency. Foster v.

Commissioner, supra at 2229-230.
The PFN letters do not satisfy

these requirements. They do not rise to

the level of notices of deficiencies.

-l6a-
They do not state that they are notices
of deficiencies. They do not state that
a determination has been made.4 They
do not specify an amount. The language
of the letters is tentative. It says
that respondent plans to examine
petitioners' returns in the event
petitioners claim the specified
deductions. And, as respondent has

pointed out, the letters were not

4 See Terminal Wine Co. v. Commissioner,
1 B.T.A. 697, 701 (1925), where it was
stated:

The determination from which a
taxpayer may appeal is one which fixes
the amount of deficiency in tax. It is
the final decision by which the
controversy as to the deficiency is
settled and terminated, and by which a
final conclusion is reached relative
thereto and the extent and a measure of
the deficiency defined.

-l7a-
intended > to be notices of
deficiencies. See Leher v.
Commissioner, 52 T.C. 358, 363-365
(1969).
We do not agree with petitioners
that all that remains for respondent to

do is to make a mathematical

> Petitioners argue that our opinion in
Scar v. Commissioner, 18 T.C. 855 (1983),
requires that the letters in this case be
treated as notices of deficiencies. In Scar
the taxpayer received a letter that was
intended by the Commissioner to be a notice
of deficiency. The letter stated clearly
that it was a notice of deficiency and that
determination had been made. The letter also
provided an amount. The issue in Scar
involved whether the notice was valid because
of the errors contained in it. We held that
the notice was valid because it was proper in
form although it contained substantive
errors. In contrast, the letters received by
petitioners here were not intended by
respondent to be notices of deficiencies. In
addition, as stated previously, the letters
did not purport to be notices of deficiencies
and they did not state that a determination
had been made or provide an amount. We think
our Scar opinion provides no support for
petitioners' position in this case.

-18a-

calculation. Subsequent to the issuance
of the PFN letters, respondent may
decide that other adjustments should be
made to petitioners' returns and may
even decide that petitioners are
entitled to overpayments; or respondent
may decide upon audit of the returns
that no adjustments should be made. The
bottom line is that respondent has not
yet examined petitioners' returns and
has not made any determination.

This case is not controlled by

Laing v. United States, 423 U.S. 161

(1976). The Supreme Court held in Laing
that taxpayers who are subject to a
termination assessment must receive a
notice of deficiency. It said that a
taxpayer should be afforded access to
the courts when the termination occurred

because substantial rights were

-19a-

affected. Under section 6851, as it
existed for the years covered by Laing,
when a termination occurs, the
taxpayer's taxable year is closed and
the tax is due immediately. In sharp
contrast, PFN letters have no immediate
effect upon the substantial rights of
petitioners except to warn them of the
possible disallowance of deductions and
to encourage them tc reevaluate the
propriety of any deductions they may
Claim.

In Estate of Adamczyk v.

Commissioner, T.C. Memo. 1981-259, the

taxpayers received a "30-day letter"
which informed them of adjustments to
their tax return. They were given the
Opportunity to agree to the adjustments,
to provide additional information, or to

request a conference. They were also

-20a-
informed that if they did not respond |
within 30 days, a notice of deficiency
would be issued. This Court concluded
that a 30-day letter merely proposes
adjustments and is therefore not a

notice of deficiency because it is not a

final determination. PFN letters do
not even rise to the level of a 30-day
letter. They certainly do not
constitute notices of deficiencies.

Accordingly, we hold that the pre- |

-2la-

filing notification letters® in this
case are not notices of deficiencies, ’
which are required by sections 6212(a)
and 6213(a) as prerequisites to this

Court's jurisdiction. Therefore, we

6 PFN letters were recently discussed in
Mid-South Music Corp. v. U.S. Dept. of the
Treasury, 579 F. Supp. 481 (M.D. Tenn. 1983).
In that case the taxpayer sued the Government
and the District Director for civil damages.
The taxpayer alleged that the issuance of a
PFN letter was not procedurally correct and
therefore deprived him of due process. It
also alleged that the issuance of the letter
violated the nondisclosure provisions of
section 6103(a). The District Court granted
the government's motion to dismiss, stating
that it was unaware of any provision in the
Internal Revenue Code that precluded the
issuance of PFN letters, and that the letters
were a reasonable method utilized by the
Secretary as part of his broad latitude to
collect taxes.

7 To hold otherwise would open the
floodgates for almost any communicaticn
between the Internal Revenue Service and a
taxpayer to be treated as a notice of
deficiency. With regard to PFN letters
alone, as of April 30, 1985, approximately
22,629 have been issued by the Internal
Revenue Service.

-22a-

will grant respondent's motion to

dismiss for lack of jurisdiction.

mn appropriate orde

will be entered.

-23a-

UNITED STATES TAX COURT

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20217

RICHARD L. ABRAMS,
ET AL.,

Petitioners.

Vv. Docket No. 2645-85

COMMISSIONER OF
INTERNAL REVENUE,

Respondent.

ee ee ee eee eee

ORDER OF DISMISSAL FOR LACK OF JURISDICTION

On April 4, 1985, respondent filed a
motion to dismiss for lack of jurisdiction.
The Court entered an order on April 12, 1985
granting respondent's motion. On April 16,
1985, the order was vacated and set aside,
and a hearing was set for May 22, 1985.
After review and consideration of the

parties' positions and pursuant to the

-24a-

Opinion 84 T.C. No. 71, filed herein on June

iv, aeee, 26 36
ORDERED: That respondent's motion is
granted. It is further

ORDERED: That this case is dismissed

for lack of jurisdiction.

Howard A. Dawson, Jr.

Judge

Entered: Jun 18, 1985

*

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_2372%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
