# Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kuzmiak v. Kuzmiak

> Briefs, arguments, decisions, and more.

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_2349%3A1

## Record

- **Collection:** Supreme Court brief
- **Document type:** Petition for Writ of Certiorari
- **Published:** January 1, 1986
- **Citation:** 479 U.S. 885

## Text

86-255 —

No.
IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED

October Term, 1986

¢ TI x

———

, Supreme Court, U.S,
“Figs
| AUG 18 1986

JOSEPH F. SPANIOL, JR
ATES CLERK

ee

— a,

MICHAEL A. KUZMIAK,
Petitioner,
vs.
PATRICIA KUZMIAK,

Respondent.

mr eee ee ee eee See”

PETITION FOR WRIT OF\ CERTIORARI TO THE

CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT

STEPHEN TIMOTHY BUYNAK, JR.

HATCH AND PARENT

21 E. Carrillo Street
Santa Barbara, CA 93101
(805) 963-9231

Attorney for Petitioner

3

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

i. Whether a California state
court's assumption of jurisdiction, in
marital dissolution proceedings, over a
military member's nondisability retired pay
and Hawaii and Arizona real property
violated the due process clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment, the privileges and
immunities clauses of the United States
Constitution and the Fourteenth Amendment,
and the jurisdictional provisions of the
Federal Uniform Services Former Spouses’
Protection Act, 10 U.S.C. section 1408.

Se Whether federal law or
Congressional intent precludes a California
state court, in marital dissolution
proceedings, fron dividing military
nondisability retired pay that is derived

from a military member's separation pay

under 10 U.S.C. section 1174.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED i
TABLE OF CONTENTS ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES Vv
OPINION BELOW 1
JURISDICTION 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND
STATUTORY PROVISIONS 3

STATEMENT OF CASE 6

REASONS FOR GRANTING A WRIT 18

A. Jurisdiction Of The
California State Courts Over
Quasi-Community Property 18

Certiorari Should Be
Granted As The California
State Court's Assumption Of
Jurisdiction To Divide The
Military Nondisability
Retired Pay And Arizona And
Hawaii Real Properties
Within Material Dissolution
Proceedings Violated The
Constitutional Rights Of
Michael Kuzmiak Under The
Due Process And Privileges
And Immunities Clauses Of
The Constitution And
Fourteenth Amendment. 25

otie

Page

ae Certiorari Should Be
Granted As The Division And
Award Of Out-Of-State Real
Property By A California
State Court Violated The
Settled Doctrine Of Fall

v. Estin, And Thereby, The
"Traditional Notions Of

Fair Play And Substantial
Justice" Under International
Shoe. 30

a Certiorari Should Be
Granted As The Division And
Award Of Military Non-
disability Retired Pay
Violated The Jurisdictional
Provisions Of The Federal
Uniform Services Former
Spouses' Protection Act,
U.S.C. Section 1408(c) (4),
And Thereby, The "Traditional
Notions Of Fair Play And
Substantial Justice” Under

International Shoe. 33
B. Nondisability Retired

Pay. 38
Re Certiorari Should Be Granted

As Division Of Nondisability
Retired Pay Acquired Through
Reinvestment Of Post-Marital
Separation Pay, Conflicts

With The Congressional Intent
Underlying Separation And
Retired Pay. 39

-iii-

Page

ae Certiorari Should Be
Granted As The Transmutation

Of Post- Marital Separation
Military Separation Pay

Into Quasi-Community Property
Amounts To A Taking Of Property
Without Due Process In

Violation Of The Fourteenth
Amendment. 41

CONCLUSION 43

-iv-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

American Railway Express
Co. v. Levee, 263 U.S. 19
(1923)

Addison v. Addison,
62 Cal.2d 558,
399 P.2d 807 (1965)

Estin v. Estin,
334 U.S. 451 (1948)

Fall v. Estin,
245 U.B. 4 (1909)

Fransen v. Fransen,
142 Cal.App.3d 419 (1983)

Free v. Bland,
369 U.S. 663 (1962)

Hamilton v. Regents of the
University of California,
293 U.S. 254 (1934)

Hisquierdo v. Hisquierdo,
439 Ube Ste tanre)

In Re Marriage of Roesch,
83 Cal.App.3d 96 (1978)

In Re Thornton 's Estate,
1 Cal.2d 1 (1934)

International Shoe Company v.
Washington, 326 U.S. 310 (1945)

-V-

Page

20,21, 22
10,22
24,31,32
16,23

39

29

2,39

23

20 ,22,28

29,30

23

Kulko v. California Superior

Court, 436 U.S. 84 (1978)

Kuzmiak v. Kuzmiak,
176 Cal.App.3d 1152
222 Cal.Rptr. 644 (1986)

McCarty v. McCarty,
453 U.S. 210 (1981)

Miller v. Miller,
176 Cal.App.3d 1183 (1986)

Penoyer v. Neff,
95 U.S. 714 (1878)

Perry v. O'Donnell,
749 F.2d 1346
(9th Cir. 1984)

Rozan v. Rozan,
49 Cal.2d 322 (1957)

Shaffer v. Heitner,
433 U.S. 186 (1977)

Smith v. Smith,
45 Cal.2d 235 (1955)

Spreckéis v. Spreckels,
116 Cal. 339 (1987)

Tarvin v. Tarvin,
182 Cal.App.3d 721 (1986)

U.S. v. Wheeler,
254 U.S. 281 (1920)

Wisner v. Wisner,

338 U.S. 655 (1950)

Page

9,24,27

31

32

24,27

36

29

20

28

39

Page

STATUTES
10 U.S.C. sections 632 6,143,433,
37
1174 i3,i6,
17,38,43
1174 (h) (1) i7,.e
1408 (c) (4) Pol Pe y Pe
38
28 U.S.C. sections 1257 (3) 2
2101 (c) 2
2106 2
2403 (b) 2
California Civil Code
sections 4514 J0
4530 (a) a
4800 (a) 4
4800.5 32,00
4803 Si dees
i3Z,20,
aise?
California Civil Procedure Code
section 410.10 9
MISCELLANEOUS
United States Constitution
Article IV, Section 2,
Clause l 3,28

-vii-

Page

Fourteenth Amendment 3,420,246,
28 ,29,30

S. Rep. No. 59-502,

reprinted in 1982 U.S.

Code Cong. & Ad. News,

pp. 1603-1604 34

House Conf. Rep. No. 97-749,
reprinted in 1982 U.S. Code 34
Cong. & Ad. News, p. 1572

H. R. No. 96-1462,
reprinted in 1980 U.S. Code
Cong. & Admin. News, p. 6361 40

Rules of the Supreme Court
of the United States

Rule 21.1(b) l
Rule 28.4(c) 2

California Rules of Court

Rule 12i15(b) and (c) 10
1287 10

2 Witkin, California
Procedure, 3d Ed.,
p. 598 22

3 Stanford Law Review, 622 10,22

-viii-

OPINION BELOW i

The Court of Appeal of the State of
California, Division Six of the Second
Appellate District, issued an opinion in
this case. A copy of this opinion appears
in Appendix A to this Petition at pages 1
through 31. Portions of this opinion were
certified for publication and reported as

Kuzmiak v. Kuzmiak, 176 Cal.App.3d 1152,

222 Cal.Rptr. 644 (i986).

JURISDICTION

The Order of the California Supreme
Court denying review after judgment by the
California Court of Appeal was entered on
May 22, 1986. A Petition for Writ of

Certiorari can be filed within ninety (90)

1/ The caption of the case in this
court contains the names of all parties.
Rule 21.1(b), Rules of the Supreme Court of
the United States.

days of said denial. American Railway

Express Co. v. Levee, 263 U.S. 19 (1923).

Jurisdiction of this court is invoked
pursuant to 28 U.S.C. sections 1257(3),
210l1(c), and 2106, in that the application
of community property principles to
military separation and nondisability
retired pay as well as to out-of-state real
property threatens grave harm to the clear
and substantial federal interests in

federal military forces. McCarty v.

McCarty, 453 U.S. 210 (1981); Hisgquierdo v.

Hisgquierdo, 439 U.S. 572 (1978). Further,

under 28 U.S.C. 2403(b), the constitution-
ality of California Civil Code, section
4803, is drawn in question and appropriate
service has been made. Rule 28.4(c), Rules

of the Supreme Court of the United States.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

The constitutional and statutory
provisions considered in this case are:

a Article IV, Section 2, Clause l,
of the Constitution of the United States,
which provides:

"The Citizens of each State shall be

entitled to all Privileges and

Immunities of Citizens in the several

States."

a The Fourteenth Amendment of the
Constitution of the United States, which
provides, in part:

"No State shali make or enforce any

law which shall abridge the privileges

and immunities of citizens of the

United States; nor shall any State

deprive any person of life, liberty,

Or property without due process of

BOWt « @ ts *

3. 10 U.S.C. section 1408 (c) (4),

which provides:

"A court may not treat the disposable
retired or retainer pa, of a member in
the manner described in paragraph (1)
unless the court has jurisdiction over
the member by reason of (A) his
residence, other than because of
military assignment, in the
territorial jurisdiction of the court,
(B) his domicile in the territorial
jurisdiction of the court or (C) his
consent to the jurisdiction of the
court.”
4, California Civil Code, section
4800(a), which provides, in part:
" . . . the court shall, either in its
judgment of dissolution of the
marriage ... or at a later time if
it expressly reserves jurisdiction to
make such a property division, divide
the community property and the quasi-

community property of the parties

equally.

Ss California Civil Code, section
4803, which provides, in part:

"As used in this part, 'quasi-

community property' means all real and

personal property, wherever situated,

heretofore or hereafter acquired in

any of the following ways:

(a) By either spouse while
domiciled elsewhere which would have
been community property if the spouse
who acquired the property had been
domiciled in this state at the time of
its acquisition.

(b) In exchange for real or
personal property, wherever situated,
which would have been community
property if the spouse who acquired
the property so exchanged had been
domiciled in this state at the time of

its acquisition."

STATEMENT OF CASE

Through marital dissolution
proceedings, the Superior Court of the
State of €siifornia for the County of Santa
Barbara (hereinafter "superior court")
assumed jurisdiction to divide quasi-
community S/ personal and real property of
a career Air Force Officer and his wife.

Michael Kuzmiak was a Captain with the
United States Air Force. 3/ He grew up in
New Jersey and entered Air Force service in
that state on May 6, 1966. (Appendix A, p.

3) The marriage to Patricia Kuzmiak

2/ Quasi-community property is
defined by California Civil Code, section
4803, set forth, in full, at page 5 hereof.

3/ Because Captain Kuzmiak was
"passed over" twice when considered for the
grade of Major, he was involuntarily
discharged on February 28, 1983 from the
United States Air Force under 10 U.S.C.
section 632. He immediately enlisted in
the United States Air Force as an enlisted
member, a Sergeant.

occurred four (4) months later in New
Jersey; but the couple, on the date of the
marriage, moved, under military orders, to
Texas. Subsequently, Captain Kuzmiak
served, under military orders, in Texas,
New York, North Dakota, and commencing in
1975, in California. (Appendix A, p. 3)
While stationed in California under
military orders, Captain Kuzmiak maintained
a New Jersey driver's license, registered
his car in New Jersey, and voted in New
Jersey by absentee ballot. (Appendix A, p.
4) He filed an annual certificate with the
military stating that he was a New Jersey
resident; and he was thereby exempt from
New Jersey income taxation. (Appendix A,
p. 4) Captain Kuzmiak filed California
nonresident income tax returns during the

time that he was in California. (Appendix

A, Pp. 4)

Throughout the marital dissolution
proceedings, Captain Kuzmiak contended and
testified that he was, at all times, a
domicile of New Jersey, not California;
that he moved to and stayed in California
only because of military orders; and that
he never intended to become domiciled in
California. (Appendix A, pp. 3 and 4)

Patricia Kuzmiak, his wife, never
denied or contradicted this evidence or the
testimony of Captain Kuzmiak regarding his
domicile. She testified that she, however,
had "intended to become" a California
domicile. (Appendix A, p. 4) Further,
Since the dissolution of their marriage 4/

she had filed California tax returns,

although she still maintained a New Jersey

4/ This was a bifurcated marital
dissolution proceeding in the State of
California, so that the marital status of
the parties was dissolved almost three
years before orders determining the
division of the quasi-community property.

often

driver's license. (Appendix A, p. 4)

The marital dissolution proceedings
were instituted by wife Patricia xuzmiak
(hereinafter sometimes "Patricia") with the
filing of a petition for dissolution on
June 9, 1980, asserting that she was a
resident of the State of California for at
least six (6) months and of the County of
Santa Barbara for at least three (3) months
"immediately preceding" the filing of her

petition for dissolution. 2/

Husband,
Michael, Kuzmiak (hereinafter sometimes

"Michael") filed a standard Response

5/ These are the designated
jurisdictional "residency" requirements of
the State of California for its court to
grant a judgment of dissolution of
marriage. California Civil Code, section
4530(a).

California's jurisdiction is as broad
as the Constitution permits. California
Civil Procedure Code, section 410.10.
Kulko v. California Superior Court, 436
U.S. 84 (1978).

Ee

(Family Law) $/ and left blank the
residency declarations of said form.

On November 19, 1980, the superior
court entered an Interlocutory Judgment of

Dissolution of Marriage dissolving the

status of marriage of the parties only. Lf

On May 5, 1981, the remaining issues of the
marital dissolution proceeding were to be
heard, subject, however, to a stipulation

between the parties and verbalized on the

6/ In California, petitions for
marital dissolution and responses thereto
as well as many other marital dissolution
pleadings must be on preprinted forms
mandated by the Judicial Council of
California. On Petitions (Family Law) and
Responses (Family Law), see California
Rules of Court, Rule 1215, sections (b) and
(c), respectively.

7/ Interlocutory Judgments are no
longer issued in California. There are now
only judgments of dissolution which specify
an effective date six (6) months after
service or later. California Civil Code,
section 4514; California Rules of Court,
Rule 1287. California marital dissolution
proceedings employ the concept of a
"divisable divorce". Estin v. Estin, 334
U.S. 451 (1948); 3 Stanford Law Review 622.

atie

superior court's record by Michael's trial

counsel, with the agreement of Patricia's

trial counsel, as follows:
"Your Honor, at the .. . pre-trial
conference we had when we were
scheduling the trial, counsel for
petitioner (Patricia) indicated he
would stipulate as to the issue as to
whether Mr. Kuzmiak is a domiciliary
of the State of California and
therfore subject to the jurisdiction
of this Court insofar as the military
retirement benefits and certain
property which was brought into the
State of California from another

8 /

jurisdiction." — (Appendix C, pp. 50

and 51)

8/ Although not very specific, this
refers to the Arizona and Hawaii real
properties of the parties purchased while
they were stationed in North Dakota.

«3i«

The trial of the remaining issues proceeded
on May 5 and 6, 1981, before an assigned
municipal court judge who, at the
conclusion of the trial, found that

". . . the parties are residents of

California and New Jersey" (Emphasis

added, Appendix B, p. 32)
and entered various orders regarding
custody and visitation, support, and
California real property, reserving certain
issues for further trial proceedings.

Said further trial proceedings never
occurred. Instead, a stipulation by the
parties and subsequent court order of
October 5, 1982 vacated ali orders, except
those pertaining to child custody,
visitation, child and spousal support and
status. (Appendix B, p. 38)

On December 2 and 5, 1983, with each
of the parties having new trial counsel and

with a regular superior court judge, the

at 2e

remaining issues were tried. A portion of
the trial was devoted to the domicile of
Michael and the resultant jurisdiction of
the Superior Court over his military

9/

separation pay — and the real property in

Hawaii and Arizona. The Order After

Hearing (Appendix B, pp. 34 through 46)

determined, in its pertinent parts hereto,
", . » That Mr. Kuzmiak is a resident
and domiciliary of the State of
California within the meaning of
California Civil Code, section 4803
and that the property in question is

"

quasi-community in character. ...

(Appendix B, p. 40)

9/ Retirement benefits had become
separation pay. On February 28, 1983,
Michael was involuntarily discharged from
the United States Air Force at Vandenberg
Air Force Base, as he was "passed over" for
selection to the grade of Major. 10 U.S.C.
section 632. He was thereby entitled to
separation pay under 10 U.S.C. 1174.

-13-

". . . That the funds received by the
Husband upon separation from the
United States Air Force, $24,000.00,
was retirement pay or payment in lieu
of retirement pay (subject to quasi-

"

community property division) ...

(Appendix B, p. 40)

". . . That the two (2) pieces of
unimproved real property in Hawaii and
Arizona are equal in value; and the
Wife is awarded the Hawaii property
and the encumbrance thereon and the
Husband is awarded the Arizona
property and the encumbrance thereon

- « « -" (Appendix B, pp. 41 and 42)

An appeal was lodged by Michael to the
Court of Appeal of the State of California,
Division Six of the Second Appeilate

District, whose determination is sought to

wie

be reviewed. (Appendix A, pp. 1-31) The
appellate briefs considered the jurisdic-
tion of the California courts. * The
appellate court 10/ found that Michael was
a domicile of California, as
"A finding of husband's California
domicile is necessary to support a
division of his longevity pension
under FUSFSPA absent his voluntary
residence in the state or his consent

to jurisdiction .. . (Appendix A, p.

23) (and)

". « « & finding of California
domicile of both spouses is necessary
to confer jurisdiction upon the court

to divide any quasi-community property

10/ Portions of the California
appellate court's opinion concerning its
separation pay determinations were
published. Kuzmiak v. Kuzmiak, 176
Cal.App.3d 1152, 222 Cal.Rptr. 644 (1986).

-15-=-

of the marriage. (In Re Marriage of

Fransen, (1983) 142 Cal.App.3d 419,

430. The trial judge's division of

the couple's Hawaii and Arizona

properties as quasi-community property
rests upon this domiciliary jurisdic-

tion." (Appendix A, pp. 24 and 25)
Thereupon, the Court of Appeal determined
that:

l. Michael's military separation pay
under 10 U.S.C. section i174 was his
separate property unless he applies for
military retirement. If such an
application occurs in conjunction with
Michael's enlistment il/ his separate

property would be converted into community

property subject to division by the

1l/ Immediately upon his involuntary
discharge as a Captain from the United
States Air Force at Vandenberg Air Force
Base, California, Michael enlisted, as an
enlisted member in the United States Air
Force, a Sergeant.

ai6<

California superior court. (Appendix A,
pp. 17-21)

y The Hawaiian and Arizona real
properties were subject to division by the
California superior court; but since there
was insufficient evidence of the value of
these properties, the cause was remanded
for a new hearing. (Appendix A, pp. 29 and
30)

A Petition For Rehearing was immedi-
ately lodged by Michael for consideration
of the issue of Patricia's interest, if
any, in Michael's military nondisability
retired pay, acquired with separation pay

12/

after marital separation, —'’ and

12/ The appellate court found that
separation pay under 10 U.S.C. 1174 was
Michael's separate property under McCarty
v. McCarty, 453 U.S. 210 (1981). However,
the appellate court further determined that
by reason of Michael's enlistment, the
separation pay was transmuted into
community property even though the
separation pay was separate property
reinvested by Michael upon enlistment after
marital separation, all by reason of 10

ot Tu

reconsideration of the appellate court's
determination of Michael's California
domicile since it was based primarily on
Michael's enlistment after marital
separation. The Petition for Rehearing was
denied on February 25, 1986.

A Petition for Review by the
California Supreme Court was thereafter
requested by Michael. With one dissent,
the Petition For Review was denied on May

22, 1986. (Appendix B, p. 48)

REASONS FOR GRANTING A WRIT

A. Jurisdiction of the California

State Courts Over Quasi-Community Property.

In these marital dissolution
proceedings between the Kuzmiaks, the

California state court assumed jurisdiction

U.S.C. section 1174(h) (1). Since this
extension of the California court's
authority had not been argued or briefed
earlier, a Petition For Rehearing was
lodged, but denied.

o) $<

to divide the military nondisability
retired pay and the Arizona and Hawaii real
properties on the basis that Michael was a
domicile of the state of California.

The evidence and testimony of Michael
regarding his New Jersey domicile was
uncontroverted. However, the state court
seized upon Michael's enlistment in the Air
Force at Vandenberg Air Force Base,
California, immediately after his
involuntary discharge under 10 U.S.C.
section 632 and determined that he was a
California domicile, even though these
actions took place some three (3) years
after the institution of the state marital

dissolution proceedings. az!

13/ The date when jurisdiction of
California state courts over military
nondisability retired pay is determined is
currently in dispute in California.
Compare Miller v. Miller, 176 Cal.App.3d
1183 (1986) (assuming jurisdiction to
divide retired pay of a nonresident based
on a 1970 judgment of dissolution) with

o19-

The predecessors to the California
statute in question, California Civil Code,
section 4803, 14/ which defines
"“quasi-community property", had a long

histery of unconstitutionality. In re

Thornton's Estate, 1 Cal.2d 1 (1934).

Particularly, the ongoing issue was how
could the State of California in dividing
property brought into this state from
common law states (such as New Jersey),
through marital dissolution proceedings,
avoid the due process and privileges and
immunity clauses of the Constitution and
its Fourteenth Amendment. The statute was

15/

revised in 196l. Addison v. Addison,

Tarvin v. Tarvin, 182 Cal.App.3d 721 (1986)
(declining jurisdiction under similar
circumstances). Review by the California
Supreme Court was denied in Miller, supra.

14/ See page 4-5 for complete
statute.

15/ The 1961 statute was different
from the current version, as it stated
", . . 'quasi-community property' means all

=-20<

62 Cal.2d 558, 399 P.2d 807 (1965)
sustained its constitutionality on the
basis chat
". . « the concept of quasi-community
property is applicable only if a
divorce . .. is filed here after the
parties have become domiciled in
California" (emphasis added).

Addison, supra, 62 Cal.2d 558, 566.

By basing its claim of jurisdiction on

persongl property wherever situated and all
real property situated in this state
heretofore and hereafter acquired..."

Changes were made in 1975, adding real
property to this section; and these changes
have never been judicially challenged. The
current California Civil Code, section
4803, reads, in part: "9

" , . - 'qQuasi-community property'
means all real and personal property,
wherever situated, heretofore or
hereafter acquired in any of the
following ways. . ss

Since the statute was originally enacted in
1891, it underwent changes in 1917 and 1923
until Addision, supra, determined its
constitutionality.

aZin

events happening three (3) years after the
institution of these dissolution ~
proceedings, the California state court

neglected the safeguards of Addision,

supra, and thereby violated the
constitutional rights of Michael Kuzmiak.

In re Thornton's Estate, supra.

An award of marital property to one
spouse in marital dissolution proceedings
is an exercise of "in rem" jurisdiction.

Penoyer v. Neff, 95 U.S. 714 (1878&).

Jurisdiction over the marital "res" or
status does not carry with it suetetnerien
over marital property. Thus, the power to
award property between the contending
marital partners is governed by the general
principles of jurisdiction of a state over
property, 2 Witkin, California Procedure,
3d Ed., p. 598; 3 Stanford Law Review 622,
with each right or property considered

separately. Estin v. Estin, 334 U.S. 451

(1948).

+e

Since the state court was dealing with
“quasi-community property, when considering
the military nondisability retired pay and
the Arizona and Hawaii real properties,
both parties had to be domiciled in
California prior to the institution of the
dissolution proceedings for the court's

jurisdiction. In re Marriage of Roesch, 83

Cal.App.3d 96 (1978); Fransen v. Fransen

142 Cal.App.3d 419 (1983). This case
development in California, which was
emphasized by the appellate court in its
opinion, Appendix A, page 25, is an
application of the principles governing
state jurisdiction over property. Or in

terms of International Shoe Company v.

Washington, 326 U.S. 310 (1945), a

determination of whether there existed
certain minimum contacts with California so
that jurisdiction over the quasi-community

property of the Kuzmiaks, the military

w33<

nondisability retired and separation pay
and the Arizona and Hawaii real property,
did not offend the "traditional notions of
fair play and substantial justice."

Shaffer v. Heitner, 433 U.S. 186 (1977);

Kulko v. California Superior Court, 436

U.S. 84 (1978).

In exploring these "traditional
notions of fair play and substantial
justice", the California state court's
jurisdiction over the Arizona and Hawaii
real properties of the Kuzmiaks must

consider the doctrine of Fall v. Estin, 21

U.S. 1 (1909) and its jurisdiction over th
military nondisability retired and
separation pay must consider, the pro-

visions of 10 U.S.C. section 1408(c) (4).

-24-

a Certiorari Should Be Granted As

The California State Court's Assumption Of

Jurisdiction To Divide The Military

Nondisability Retired Pay And Arizona And

Hawaii Real Properties Within Marital

Dissolution Proceedings Violated The

Constitutional Rights Of Michael Kuzmiak

Under The Due Process And Privileges And

Immunities Clauses Of The Constitution And

Fourteenth Amendment.

By uncontroverted evidence and
testimony, Michael Kuzmiak was clearly a
domicile of New Jersey at the institution
of the California marital dissolution
proceedings in 1980. The mere fact, that
three (3) years subsequent thereto he
enlisted in the Air Force at the same
installation, Vandenberg Air Force Base,
California, as he was involuntarily
discharged from military service, should

not change this conclusion. A military

a 28e

member is not obligated to enlist in his
home state; and it seems somewhat
ridiculous for an individual, all at Unitec
States government expense, to travel via
discharge orders to his home state to
enlist and then to travel via enlistment
orders back to California as Vandenberg Aiz
Force Base was Sergeant Kuzmiak's duty
station. Every indicia of domicile in New
Jersey, that could be maintained, was
accomplished by Michael. (See page 7,
supra.) In addition, the State of
California never questioned and voluntarily
accepted Michael Kuzmiak's nonresident tax
returns, thereby assenting to his
non-resident status.
"The Due Process Clause of the
Fourteenth Amendment operates as a
limitation on the jurisdiction of
state courts to enter judgments

affecting rights and interests of

o%Se

cet?

nonresident defendants."

(Kulko v. California Superior Court,

supra, 436 U.S. 84, 91.

See also Shaffer v. Heitner, supra. The

assumption of jurisdiction by the
California Superior Court over the rights
and interests of Michael Kuzmiak in
quasi-community property thus violated his
due process rights.

Further, when Michael acquired his
interest in the military nondisability
retired pay and in the Arizona and Hawaii
real properties, all rights in that
property given him by the law of his
domicile, vested in him. The application
of California Civil Code, section 4803 to
this property without Michael being
domiciled in California prior to the
institution of marital dissolution
proceedings, constituted a taking of
property without due process, as already
determined by California's own state

ote

supreme court. In re Thornton's Estate,
16/

supra. The California state court was
decreasing Michael's property interest
gained through his common law state of New
Jersey and simultaneously increasing
Patricia's, all in violation of the
Fourteenth Amendment.

Under the privileges and immunities
clause of section 2 of article IV of the
Constitution of the United States, citizens
of each state are given the privileges and

immunities of citizens of all the states.

U.S. v. Wheeler, 254 U.S. 281 (1920). The

State of California cannot change the
application of existing property laws to

affect existing property rights of

16/ This same argument applies to the
California state court's "transmutation" of
Michael's separation pay, which the
California state court determined to be
separate property, into community property,
if Michael elected to enlist in military
service after the date of separation! See
pages 41-42, ante.

o2Gn

California citizens (Spreckels v.

Spreckels, 116 Cal. 339 (1987); and thus,

the California state court change of the
property rights of Michael in regard to his
military nondisability retired pay and
Arizona and Hawaii real property consti-
tutes a violation of the Constitution's
privileges and immunities clause, as again
determined by the California Supreme Court

in In re Thornton's Estate, supra.

In addition, the Fourteenth Amendment
protects the privileges and immunities of
the citizens of the United States, as
opposed to those of the citizens of the

several states. Hamilton v. Regents of the

University of California, 293 U.S. 254

(1934). The California state court, by
reclassifying Michael's property interest
in his military nondisability retired pay
and Arizona and Hawaii real property,
diminished his marital property rights and
thereby infringed upon Michael's rights

-29-

under the Fourteenth Amendment. In re

Thornton's Estate, supra.

In summary, the California state
court's assumption of jurisdiction to
divide Michael's military nondisability
retired pay and Arizona and Hawaii real
property within marital dissolution
proceedings violated his constitutional
rights under the due process and privilege:
and immunities clauses of the Constitution
and the privileges and immunities clause o
the Fourteenth Amendment.

ae Certiorari Should Be Granted As

The Division And Award Of Out-Of-State Rea.

Property By A California State Court

Violated The Settled Doctrine Of Fall v.

Estin, And Thereby, The "Traditional

Notions Of Fair Play and Sybstantial

Justice" Under International Shoe.

By assuming jurisdiction over, and
then dividing, the Arizona and Hawaii real
properties, the California state court

-

hab bans

violated the "traditional notions of the

fair play and substantial justice"
concerning out-of-state real property
as espoused in the doctrine of Fall v.

Estin, supra. As recently stated in Perry

v. O'Donnell, 749 F.2d 1346 (9th Cir.

1984):
"It is well settled that although a
court may have in personam juris-
diction to order one of the parties to
convey to the other party a deed to
property in another state, it cannot
directly affect or determine title to
that real property."

The order of the California trial court, as

impliedly affirmed by the California

17/

appellate court, —’ violated its own

17/ The California appellate court in
returning this case for retrial did not
recognize this reasoning or the application
of California Civil Code, section 4800.5,
but appeared to expect the trial court to

oSi«

statute, California Civil Code section
4800.5, which directs the manner in which
California trial courts are to deal with

out-of-state property. Rozan v. Rozan, 4

Cal.2d 322 (1957). By applying the
seasoned and traditional doctrine of Fall

v. Estin, supra, herein, the California

state court lacked jurisdiction to affect
and determine interests in the Arizona anc
Hawaii real properties in the manner that

was accomplished herein.

divide the Arizona and Hawaii property
directly on the basis of appropriate
evaluation.

-32-

:
~

aa Certiorari Should Be Granted As

The Division And Award Of Military

Nondisability Retired Pay Violated The

Jurisdictional Provisions Of The Federal

Uniform Services Former Spouses' Protection

Act, 10 U.S.C. Section 1408(c) (4), And

Thereby, The "Traditional Notions Of Fair

Play And Substantial Justice” Under

International Shoe.

The jurisdictional section of the
Federal Uniform Services Former Spouses’
Protection Act ("FUSFSPA"), 10 U.S.C.
section 1408(c) (4), provides that a court
may not divide military nondisability
retired pay

". . « unless the court has
jurisdiction over the member by reason
of

(A) His residence, other than

because of military assignment, in the

territorial jurisdiction of the court,

a33—

(B) His domicile in the
territorial jurisdiction of the cour:
or

(C) His consent to the jurisdictix
of the court."

The original version of FUSFSPA based
jurisdiction upon personal jurisdiction,
i.e. minimal contacts with the state.
However, to allay military concerns over
forum shopping spouses of service members,
these provisions were amended in the House
of Representatives to the current version.
Sen. Rep. No. 59-502, reprinted in 1982
U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, pp.
1603-1604; House Conf. Rep. No. 97-749,
reprinted in 1982 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin.
News, p. 1572.

In evaluating the California state
court's basis for jurisdiction, it is clea
that Michael did not consent to the |
jurisdiction of the California state court
This issue of jurisdiction was appropri-

a3ha

n

ately reserved and fully litigated at
trial.

The California Supreme Court has
defined "domicile" and "residence" as
follows:

"Courts and legal writers usually

distinguish 'domicile' and |

‘residence’, so that 'domicile' is the

one location with which for legal

purposes a person is considered to
have the most settled and permanent
connection, the place where he intends
to remain, whenever he is absent, he
has the intention of returning, but
which the law may also assign him to
constructively; whereas 'residence'
connotes any factual place of abode of
some permanence, more than a mere
temporary sojourn. 'Domicile'
normally is the more comprehensive

term, in that it includes both the act

«35a

of residence and. the intention to

remain; a person may have only one
domicile at a given time, but he may
have more than one physical residence
separate from his domicile, and at the

same time." Smith v. Smith, 45 Cal.2¢

235, 229 (lOoers
It was only because of military orders tha’
Michael was in, and continued to be in, the
State of California. As shown on page
7 hereof, Michael had a New Jersey driver':
license, voted in New Jersey, and indeed
maintained every indicia of New Jersey
domicile possible. Further, this evidence
and documentation of domicile went
unchallenged by Patricia; and the State of
California assented and accepted 8 years of
Michael's nonresidencey tax returns,
wherein he claimed to be a New Jersey
domicile. An initial court finding,
Apendix B, p. 32, even determined that he
was a New Jersey domicile. The California

~36<

ve

ie |

=
Se

i
|

superior and appellate courts, however,
found that Michael was a domicile on the
basis of his enlistment in the United
States Air Force at Vandenberg Air Force
Base, 18/ immediately after his
involuntary discharge under 10 U.S.C.
section 632, for his continuous duty
assignment at Vandenberg Air Force Base.
This action was realistically taken for the

19/

benefit of the Air Force and should not

18/ Vandenberg Air Force Base,
California, however, is a federal enclave.
It is a pocket of federal land in
California, subject to federal law and not
California law. Thus, the actions taken by
Michael at Vandenberg Air Force Base were
taken on federal land, were not taken "in
California”, and should not be used against
him.

19/ The United States Air Force
avoided costs of travel, moving, etc. in
conjunction with Michael's enlistment. He
could have been discharged, moved
everything to New Jersey, enlisted, and
then been shipped back out to Vandenberg
Air Force, California. Instead, for the
benefit of the Air Force and service of his
country, he remained in his ongoing duty
assignment at Vandenberg Air Force Base,
California.

oe

be construed as indicative of the intent of
Michael to become a resident of California.

California was not Michael's "residence,

other than because of military assignment"
nor was it his "domicile", as required by
10 U.S.C. 1408(c) (4). Thus, the California
court had no jurisdiction over the military

nondisability retired pay.

B. Nondisability Retired Pay

Under the guidance of McCarty v.

McCarty, supra, the California appellate

court determined that Michael's separation
pay under 10 U.S.C. 1174 was his separate
property. However, the same court went on
to hold that if Michael reinvested his
separate property separation pay in
conjunction with his post-marital
separation enlistment with the Air Force,
and was thus entitled to nondisability

retired pay, his nondisability retired pay

a38~

would revert to the jurisdiction of the
California court and could be divided
between the Kuzimaks.

; Certiorari Should Be Granted As

Division Of Nondisability Retired Pay

Acquired Through Reinvestment Of Post-

Marital Separation Pay, Conflicts With The

Congressional Intent Underlying Separation

And Retired Pay.

McCarty v. McCarty, supra, following

Wisner v. Wisner, 338 U.S. 655 (1950), and

Free v. Bland, 369 U.S. 663 (1962),

determined that personal entitlements of
military members could not be divided by
California state courts, as "it is not the
province of state courts to strike a
balance different from the one Congress has

struck." Hisquierdo v. Hisquierdo, 339

U.S. 572, 590 (1979). As a personal
entitlement of military members, separation
pay is a military member's separate
property, not subject to jurisdiction of,

-39-

and division by, the California state
courts, as determined by the California
appellate court in its published decision.
If Michael chooses to reinvest his
separation pay in a military career, rather
than a civilian career, this result should
not change. The separation pay should not
then become quasi-community property
subject to division by California state
courts, as the California appellate court
determined.

The intentions of Congress in allowing
separation pay were to financially assist
the discharged military member and to allow
him to make a career transition. House
Rep. No. 96-1462, reprinted in 1980 U.S.
Code Cong. & Admin. News, p. 6361. It
literally makes no difference whether this
involves a change to civilian life or
military enlisted life. Rather than
finding a new civilian career, Michael
chose to find a new military career. By

-40-

taking a reduction from being an officer,
Captain, to being an enlisted member, a
Sergeant, Michael will undergo significant
financial losses and his career will change
from one of leadership to that of technical
accomplishments. Further, his retirement
will be substantially less than if he had
made Major. Thus, having once decided that
Congress intended separation pay to be the
personal entitlement of military members,
the California state courts cannot take
this entitlement away by restricting the
manner in which the individual reinvests
his separation pay.

an <r Certiorari Should Be Granted As

The Transmutation Of Post-Marital

Separation Military Separation Pay Into

Quasi-Community Property Amounts To A

Taking Of Property Without Due Process In

Violation Of The Fourteenth Amendment.

The California appellate court
unequivocably determined that separation

-4l-

pay was Michael's separate property and was
not subject to California jurisdiction
because of the Congressional intent in
according said personal benefit.

That should have been the end of the
analysis, as what happens to separate
property not subject to California
jurisdiction is not within the province of
the state court. Its jurisdiction has been
lost. It cannot condition the investment
possibilities open to a discharged military
member without running afoul of the
Fourteenth Amendment's mandate against
taking property without due process.
Herein, the California state courts, under
a published decision, are invoked to
transmute property not subject to their
jurisdiction into quasi-community property
subject to their jurisdiction. Certiorari
should be granted to insure that the
Congressional mandates for separation pay
are honored and to avoid the taking of

-42-

property without due process from military

members in California.

CONCLUSION

Petitioner Michael Kuzmiak prays that
a writ of certiorari be granted so that the
due process rights, privileges and
immunities afforded him and the military
members under the Constitution of the
United States and its Fourteenth Amendment
are honored and so that the personal
entitlements provided him as a discharged
military officer under 10 U.S.C. section

1174 are gained.

Dated: August 15, 1986

Respectfully submitted,

By

EPREN TIMOTHY , JR
Attorney for Petitionér

ah Be

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE BY MAIL

I, S. Timothy Buynak, Jr., a member of
the Bar of the Supreme Court of the United
States and counsel of record for Michael
Kuzmiak, petitioner herein, hereby
certifies that on August 15, 1986 pursuant
to Rule 28, Rules of the Supreme Court of
the United States, I served three (3)
copies of the foregoing Petition For Writ
Of Certiorari together with three (3)
copies of the Appendix thereto, on each of
the parties herein and the State of
California by placing three (3) true copies
thereof enclosed in a sealed enveiope with
postage thereon fully prepaid in the United
States mail at Santa Barbara, California,
addressed as follows:

Attorney General of the

State of California

1515 'K' Street, Suite 51l
Sacramento, CA 95814

-44-

been

Charles G. Ward, Esq.
Attorney at Law

515 E. Ocean Ave.
Lompoc, CA 93436

Patricia Kuzmiak

5717 Callie Lane, Apt. A
Sacramento, CA 95841

All parties required to be served have

served.

Dated: August 15, 1986

—\

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/documents/brief%3Amicro_IA40385018_2349%3A1. Public record. Not legal advice.
